Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on December 21, 2009, 01:22:42 PM

Title: Baptiste to go on trial at Ipswich Town
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 21, 2009, 01:22:42 PM
Baptiste to go on trial at Ipswich Town
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Joe Public and National Team striker Kerry Baptiste will join countrymen Stern John and Carlos Edwards and English club Ipswich Town as he goes on a one-week trial at the club which has expressed interest in signing him on loan.

Baptiste, scorer of 40 plus goals in the domestic season and a double versus Mexico in October, is excited over the opportunity to impress before Ipswich head coach Roy Keane.
“As a club, Joe Public Football Club has always been committed to getting players exposed to the highest level and uncovering football talent at grass roots level – as such, I am really looking forward to this opportunity to further my skills and put my club and country further on the International landscape,” said Baptiste ahead of his arrival at Portman Road, Ipswich, Suffolk

Mr. Joseph Sam Philip, General Manager, Joe Public Football Club, commented; “We’re always looking for possible opportunities for our players, youth and senior level, as well as to  develop and support the great football talent that our club, Joe Public FC, has to offer.”

“ Apart from Barcelona FC and their winning of six titles, this is the only club that I can think of that has won more than Joe Public Football Club in one calendar year in recent memory and we are so delighted to be noticed from one of the more prestigious football clubs with rich history in the United Kingdom.”

Commenting on the initiative, CFU President and FIFA Vice President, Jack Warner, said; “This is the first of many initiatives with Joe Public Football Club and rest assured that the other soon to be announced initiatives shall be as equally as beneficial to Joe Public Football Club and club football in Trinidad and Tobago.”

“I would like to thank my corporate partners (bMobile, Francis Fashions Shoe Locker, Vemco, and Blue Waters Limited) for their continued assistance since none of this would have been possible without their assistance to Kerry and the rest of the lads at Joe Public Football Club during the 2009 season.”  (JPFC,Dec 21.2009.Photo:Anthony Harris)
Title: Re: Baptiste to go on trial at Ipswich Town
Post by: christiano on December 21, 2009, 02:02:50 PM
Roy Keane - JOE PUBLIC- JACK WARNER - clown ?????

Interesting to see if Baptiste will be signed !
Post by: grimm01 on December 21, 2009, 02:21:38 PM

“ Apart from Barcelona FC and their winning of six titles, this is the only club that I can think of that has won more than Joe Public Football Club in one calendar year in recent memory and we are so delighted to be noticed from one of the more prestigious football clubs with rich history in the United Kingdom.”

???
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 21, 2009, 02:50:00 PM

???

:devil: people should keep they mouth shut ....
Post by: royal on December 21, 2009, 04:44:04 PM

???

:devil: people should keep they mouth shut ....

Yea dat statement is so laughable.How dem men does analyse things jokey yes.
Post by: Ngozi on December 21, 2009, 04:48:25 PM
Post by: Deeks on December 21, 2009, 05:18:26 PM
Guys,
         I go buss  all yuh mouth if all yuh mess with Sam. That is meh 74 team mate. I know the statement is tiny, tiny, tiny bit over the top.
Post by: Spursy on December 21, 2009, 05:43:11 PM
I am happy for Baptiste.. Bad TNT coaching has left some of the major talents in the country quiet for tooo long.

I am really really happy for him, he deserves it.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 21, 2009, 06:45:26 PM
 Eat a food Kerry !
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 21, 2009, 07:15:23 PM
I hope it works out and Ipswich signs him. But, if Ipswich signs him, those fans will be pissed.
Post by: dreamer on December 21, 2009, 09:23:32 PM
Go Kerry. You ARE! de man. Nobody deserves a break more than you as the hardest working, hungriest, most disciplined, ridiculously most prolific and the most inspiring player in T&T. The exact type that the UK coaches like. A total non-slacker.
Bus' dem up breddah. Iz yours.

Keano, ah hope yuh reading dis' as I know yuh iz a website stalker. Yuh damn well know T&T have something special and iz T&T players that go save Ipswich backside this year.
Post by: julie_mango on December 21, 2009, 09:29:35 PM
Baptiste will no doubt be selected, he has more talent than all de odder players from TnT in the EPL right now....
Post by: Dutty on December 21, 2009, 09:30:52 PM
Ipswich Town becomming the new Sunderland for trinbago nat'ls

ah tellin allyuh Hardest go get de call soon
Post by: Ngozi on December 21, 2009, 10:06:10 PM
The truth is this a real option for him. They need a striker bad! ... the man score 48 goals he have something this is his chance and as much as we love or hate Keano  ...people willing to work is people Keano like. Kerry is a worker with Carlos and Stern there , TT not qualifying for the WC its a good option to get an undiscovered player for cheap .. he'd have to struggle badly to miss out this opportunity.
Post by: elan on December 21, 2009, 10:33:22 PM
Them players need some strength to help in preventing injuries and or recovering faster. Them fellas need to start understanding the strength and conditioning side of the game. To many of these fellas to small and nashy.
Post by: Trinidogg on December 21, 2009, 10:50:29 PM
Goodluck hope he impress... But what this means for Stern  ??? like he fall off hard...
Post by: kingman on December 21, 2009, 11:16:18 PM

You serious? Is simple things like this that makes the general public look at the league and managers/owners look like a bunch of clowns. Steupsssss!

Anyways, I wish Kerry all the best.

Post by: triniairman on December 22, 2009, 12:25:19 AM
I hope it works out and Ipswich signs him. But, if Ipswich signs him, those fans will be pissed.
Why you say that? 
On another note do you all think he would be able to cope with that cold weather?
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 22, 2009, 01:03:25 AM
Why you say that?
If I'm an Ipswich fan looking for somebody with pedigree to help us out of trouble, signing some nobody (to them) from some nothing league (to them) in a nowhere country (to them) would be infuriating. Championship fans look down on League One players with scorn, much less our PFL.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 22, 2009, 08:20:33 AM
he is 28 he has to really impress to get signed ....
Post by: Big Magician on December 22, 2009, 08:52:40 AM
jess play yuh fitball Kerry
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 22, 2009, 01:36:42 PM
Cyar see the man lasting in England without a big target man playing alongside him...he too nashy ;D
Post by: Ngozi on December 22, 2009, 03:21:10 PM
Why you say that?
If I'm an Ipswich fan looking for somebody with pedigree to help us out of trouble, signing some nobody (to them) from some nothing league (to them) in a nowhere country (to them) would be infuriating. Championship fans look down on League One players with scorn, much less our PFL.
And if this "nobody" scoring for them ... make sense nah .... nobody care where somebody from long as they doing it ...
Post by: theworm2345 on December 25, 2009, 03:22:29 PM
Keane said that he was not aware that Trinidadian international midfielder or striker Kerry Baptiste is set to join the Blues on trial, as reported in the Caribbean earlier in the week.
http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=15759
Post by: kounty on December 25, 2009, 03:40:34 PM
Keane said that he was not aware that Trinidadian international midfielder or striker Kerry Baptiste is set to join the Blues on trial, as reported in the Caribbean earlier in the week.
http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=15759
i tellin yuh.  yuh doesn' know if to laugh or cry...plenty plenty times.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 25, 2009, 04:06:49 PM
Geez
Post by: Ngozi on December 25, 2009, 04:26:55 PM
Whoaa ....
Post by: spideybuff on December 26, 2009, 06:32:30 AM
I feel Kerry went on vacation by Stern or Carlos for a two weeks and thought he coulda get a lil trial while he there
Post by: MEP on December 26, 2009, 12:46:53 PM
what an embarrassment.....
Post by: Bakes on December 26, 2009, 01:23:02 PM
what an embarrassment.....

Our intrepid "media officer" at his best.
Post by: Coop's on December 26, 2009, 02:29:16 PM
Why you say that?
     This is the most shyt i ever hear in a long time. :devil:
Post by: Big Magician on December 26, 2009, 02:33:02 PM
is it 2010 ???
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 26, 2009, 02:44:33 PM
Why you say that?
OK.
Post by: Daft Trini on December 26, 2009, 03:56:32 PM
somebody tell me this is a flecking joke.....!
Post by: Bakes on December 26, 2009, 04:02:54 PM

Makes a lot of sense, actually... no surprise that you're confounded by it.
Post by: Babalawo on December 26, 2009, 04:20:06 PM
I would doubt a maga man like that would get any interest from an English team
Post by: spideybuff on December 28, 2009, 08:02:44 AM
somebody tell me this is a flecking joke.....!

This is a flecking joke ...!

Merry christmas
Title: Freezing weather delays Baptiste’s Ipswich trial
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2010, 07:37:43 AM
Freezing weather delays Baptiste’s Ipswich trial
T&T Guardian

The freezing weather in England which forced the postponement of five Premier League matches yesterday has also forced the delay of bmobile Joe Public’s Kerry Baptiste trial with Ipswich Town. The 28-year-old Baptiste who scored 48 goals during the domestic football season was due to leave today for England where he was expected to begin a one-week trial at the club which has expressed interest in signing him on loan. Fellow national players Stern John and Carlos Edwards are both attached to the club.

Despite the delay Baptiste who has been doing his personal training to stay in top shape after the local season concluded last month said he was looking forward to the opportunity to play in England. “I have been doing a lot of training and I am really looking forward to this opportunity to further my skills and put my club and country further on the international landscape,” said Baptiste ahead of his arrival at Portman Road, Ipswich, Suffolk.
Title: Freezing weather delays Baptiste’s Ipswich trial
Post by: Flex on January 10, 2010, 09:53:37 AM
Freezing weather delays Baptiste’s Ipswich trial.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The freezing weather in England which forced the postponement of five Premier League matches yesterday has also forced the delay of bmobile Joe Public’s Kerry Baptiste trial with Ipswich Town.

The 28-year-old Baptiste who scored 48 goals during the domestic football season was due to leave today for England where he was expected to begin a one-week trial at the club which has expressed interest in signing him on loan.

Fellow national players Stern John and Carlos Edwards are both attached to the club.

Despite the delay Baptiste who has been doing his personal training to stay in top shape after the local season concluded last month said he was looking forward to the opportunity to play in England.

“I have been doing a lot of training and I am really looking forward to this opportunity to further my skills and put my club and country further on the international landscape,” said Baptiste ahead of his arrival at Portman Road, Ipswich, Suffolk.
Post by: dreamer on January 10, 2010, 11:06:40 AM
Niceness.  :beermug:

All de self loathing jackasses, bring orn all yuh negative talk now.

Yuh could almost hear the sick glee in the minds of local crabs-in-a-barrel ill-wishers who coming to the premature conclusion that "shittong" Baptiste cause a false alarm saying he geyyin' trial in Ipswich.

Go Kerry and tell them to HAYMC.
Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2010, 07:16:04 PM

Yuh shoulda juss stop right dey.
Post by: vb on January 10, 2010, 11:42:12 PM

Yuh could almost hear the sick glee in the minds of local crabs-in-a-barrel ill-wishers who coming to the premature conclusion that "shittong" Baptiste cause a false alarm saying he geyyin' trial in Ipswich.

Post by: Ngozi on January 11, 2010, 12:13:32 PM
lol nobody eh say ah word and  man gone off yes  .... lol  man seeing demons yes lol
Post by: Bakes on January 11, 2010, 01:16:52 PM
lol nobody eh say ah word and  man gone off yes  .... lol  man seeing demons yes lol

De man fire ah rounds... just in case nah.
Post by: dreamer on January 11, 2010, 08:33:22 PM

..... Yuh could almost hear the sick glee ....

Post by: spideybuff on January 12, 2010, 08:10:48 AM

I picking  a fight here  :devil:
Besides Kerry Baptiste, anybody else say he have a trial at Ipswich? All the reports is based on speaking with Baptiste.
Post by: dreamer on January 12, 2010, 07:39:33 PM
Doh frighten' buff. Daiz de right way to address the issue without disrespecting de player.
Post by: Flex on January 14, 2010, 05:51:24 AM
Baptiste to leave for Ipswich trial Feb 10.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T and bmobile Joe Public’s Kerry Baptiste will now leave for his one-week trial with English Championship Division club, Ipswich Town on February 10, according to the club’s Managing Director, Darryl Warner.

The 28-year-old Baptiste was due to leave on Sunday last for his trial at the club with the view to a possible loan deal, however the freezing weather in England which forced the postponement of a number of football league matches forced the trials to be pushed back.

Warner said yesterday, “Kerry will be leaving on February 10 and returning home on February 19 from his trial at Ipswich. We have been in contact with their club officials who have informed us that with the freezing weather most clubs are having their training sessions indoors.

“This would have made it difficult for Kerry to get a fair assessment of his ability so they expected that by the second week in February the weather will be much better and he would be able to get in a few matches outdoors to impress their coaching staff.”

During the 2009 Pro League, Baptiste scored a record 48 goals while captaining the club to a historic five titles locally including the league and FA.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 13, 2010, 04:39:36 PM
So can anyone confirm if Baptiste has actually joined Ipswich on trial?  Theres nothing on their site.
Post by: dreamer on February 13, 2010, 06:06:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YiWOXBjmCw&NR=1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wG_CwgzHHc&NR=1
Post by: Rastaman on February 13, 2010, 07:41:49 PM
After watching those videos I can see how he scored so many goals thus year....... POOR DEFENDING !!!!!
Don't want to take too much away from the man because by right he punished them for their mistakes....but..... The Pro League defending is no match the the Championship...much less the Premier League....

Good luck to you Kerry ... you go need every bit of it.
Post by: Pointman on February 16, 2010, 06:18:31 PM
Them players need some strength to help in preventing injuries and or recovering faster. Them fellas need to start understanding the strength and conditioning side of the game. To many of these fellas to small and nashy.

I've been preaching that for years now...well said.

Anyway all the best Kerry!! stay hungry, score goals, make the big bucks(or pounds in this case).!!!
Post by: samo on February 16, 2010, 08:06:45 PM
Ah hear what you saying Rastaman, but as you said his job is to punish the defenders, and he has done so better than anyone else in the pro-league. unless the pro league defenders have gotten worse, I believe he has accomplished alot for a pro league striker... And doh forget the goal he score in WCQ
Post by: elan on February 16, 2010, 08:55:56 PM
This trial longer than the OJ Simpson trial.  :devil:
Post by: theworm2345 on February 16, 2010, 08:58:03 PM
This trial longer than the OJ Simpson trial.  :devil:
Ipswich have a reserve game tomorrow, if he's on trial he'll most likely play in that.  If I had to guess, I'd say he's still in T&T.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 17, 2010, 10:49:36 AM
Ipswich have a reserve game tomorrow, if he's on trial he'll most likely play in that.  If I had to guess, I'd say he's still in T&T.
It doesn't seem as though Baptiste played
http://www.itfc.co.uk/page/Reserves/0,,10272~1969103,00.html
Post by: Daft Trini on February 17, 2010, 11:20:12 AM
It doesn't seem as though Baptiste played
http://www.itfc.co.uk/page/Reserves/0,,10272~1969103,00.html

May cause he is not there....
Post by: Flex on February 18, 2010, 08:57:11 AM
Baptiste will be flying to UK next Monday (22nd) to commence his trial with ITFC (initially postponed due to arctic conditions.
Post by: dreamer on February 18, 2010, 06:13:05 PM
Baptiste will be flying to UK next Monday (22nd) to commence his trial with ITFC (initially postponed due to arctic conditions.

Yess!!!
Post by: chelsealife on February 19, 2010, 05:10:56 PM
I will believe it when/if it happens
Post by: Mose on February 19, 2010, 09:19:50 PM
When he reach back, let me know how it went.
In de meantime, best of luck to him.
Title: Town trial for T&T winger Baptiste
Post by: Tallman on February 22, 2010, 06:05:01 AM
Town trial for T&T winger Baptiste
By Carl Marston (Green'Un24)

ROY Keane has confirmed that Trinidad & Tobago winger Kerry Baptiste will be coming to Ipswich for a trial this week.

Baptiste, who has scored at a healthy rate for his club in the Caribbean, Joe Public, is an international team-mate of Carlos Edwards. He can also operate up front.
Post by: weary1969 on February 22, 2010, 11:42:26 AM
When he reach back, let me know how it went.
In de meantime, best of luck to him.

AKA wake meh up when it ovah. U iz d ole Bas.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 22, 2010, 06:21:46 PM
Ipswich Reserves play Wycombe on Wednesday morning, that will be his chance to shine.
Title: Baptiste determined to take his chance
Post by: Tallman on February 23, 2010, 05:35:20 AM
Baptiste determined to take his chance
twtd.co.uk

Trialist Kerry Baptiste says he plans to make the most of this week’s trial with Town, an opportunity which he has waited for during more than a decade in football. The 28-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international will be looking to win a place in the Blues squad alongside international team-mate Carlos Edwards.

Prior to flying out from Trinidad, the striker or right midfielder said: “It’s been 11 years now I’ve been waiting for an opportunity like this and I intend to make the most of it.”

If Baptiste, who currently plays for Joe Public in his home country, impresses the Town management he wouldn’t be able to officially join the Blues until the transfer window opens in the summer.
Title: Baptiste determined to take his chance.
Post by: Flex on February 23, 2010, 07:28:02 AM
Baptiste determined to take his chance.
TWTD.co.uk.

Trialist Kerry Baptiste says he plans to make the most of this week’s trial with Town, an opportunity which he has waited for during more than a decade in football.

The 28-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international will be looking to win a place in the Blues squad alongside international team-mate Carlos Edwards.

Prior to flying out from Trinidad, the striker or right midfielder said: “It’s been 11 years now I’ve been waiting for an opportunity like this and I intend to make the most of it.”

If Baptiste, who currently plays for Joe Public in his home country, impresses the Town management he wouldn’t be able to officially join the Blues until the transfer window opens in the summer.

Boss Roy Keane says Baptiste will be looking to emulate the likes of Arran Lee-Barrett and Shane O’Connor in impressing him enough to win a deal: “He’s due over this week, I’m sure he’ll be pleased with the weather. He’s due in for a few days.

“We’ll have a look at the boy, Carlos knows him. We look forward to him having a few days with us, like Arran had a few days with us or Shane had a few days with us.”

An international team-mate of Edwards and former loanee Stern John with 43 caps and eight goals, Baptiste was previously with Trinidad clubs San Juan Jabloteh and North East Stars.

The striker or right winger is the all-time top scorer in the TT Pro League, Trinidad and Tobago's top division, having scored 102 goals, 48 of them coming last season.
Post by: Cocorite on February 23, 2010, 11:33:11 AM
C'mon Baptiste, baptise them in a torrent of goals. We got your back.
Post by: Tallman on February 25, 2010, 06:24:25 AM
Ipswich Reserves play against Wycombe yesterday, but I eh see Baptiste name on de roster:

Town team: R Wright, Ainsley, Dunbar, Quinn, Brown, Eastman, Yao (Hyam 65), Upson, Murray, Martin, Lambe. Unused subs: McLoughlin, Cawley, McKeown.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 26, 2010, 11:53:12 AM
Quote from: Roy Keane
Keane confirmed that Trinidadian international trialist Kerry Baptiste is at the club but says he’s not yet seen a lot of him: “He’ll be training with us today. I’ve not seen much of the boy this week, a lot of players were off yesterday and he couldn’t play in the reserves match. But he’ll have another few days with us and we’ll have a look at the boy.

“We’ll speak to Carlos who knows him, he’ll certainly train with the first team today and we’ll have a good look at him in training.”
http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=16077
Post by: elan on February 26, 2010, 02:11:01 PM
Keane confirmed that Trinidadian international trialist Kerry Baptiste is at the club but says he’s not yet seen a lot of him: “He’ll be training with us today. I’ve not seen much of the boy this week, a lot of players were off yesterday and he couldn’t play in the reserves match. But he’ll have another few days with us and we’ll have a look at the boy.

“We’ll speak to Carlos who knows him, he’ll certainly train with the first team today and we’ll have a good look at him in training.”

That eh sound to right. Man on trial and you eh see him or talk to him? Players missing and he cannot play in a reserve game (maybe the weather?) Keane doesn't sound like he interested  :(
Post by: theworm2345 on February 26, 2010, 03:11:57 PM

That eh sound to right. Man on trial and you eh see him or talk to him? Players missing and he cannot play in a reserve game (maybe the weather?) Keane doesn't sound like he interested  :(
(http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/5750/keane2.png)
Post by: vb on February 27, 2010, 05:15:18 AM

Boss read it again nah.

Like allyuh men is only see what u want to see yes.

Post by: Daft Trini on February 27, 2010, 07:01:32 AM
Chain up.....! Chain Up......! Chain Up......!  >:(

Give me his contact info and I will personally get him some Under Armor Cold Gear...!
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 27, 2010, 07:38:10 AM
would he qualify for a work permit?
Title: Ipswich extends Baptiste trial
Post by: Tallman on February 28, 2010, 06:40:13 PM
Ipswich extends Baptiste trial
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Soca Warriors striker, Kerry Baptiste will spend four extra days on trial at Coca-Cola English Championship Division, Ipswich Town, according to Joe Public managing director, Darryl Warner. The 29-year-old Baptiste, who netted 48 goals in leading Joe Public to an historic five domestic titles last year, left here on Monday for a one-week trial at the club managed by former Ireland international Roy Keane. But the long journey seemed to have taken a toll on Baptiste, who did not feature in the reserve team’s 2–1 loss to Wycombe on Wednesday due to jet lag. Warner said Baptiste did not play because he was suffering from jet lag. But the club requested that he stay a further four extra days.

Baptiste will be hoping to join fellow T&T international Carlos Edwards on a permanent basis at Ipswich. Baptiste, who was in the stands when the club battled to a 1–1 draw with Sc**thorpe, said he has been waiting 11 years for an opportunity like this and intends to make the most of it. In addition to Ipswich, Baptiste has also attracted interest from US Major League Soccer clubs, FC Dallas and Toronto FC. However, the T&T striker, who scored a pair of goals in a 2 –2 draw with Mexico in a Fifa World Concacaf World Cup qualifier last October, is totally focussed on impressing Ipswich boss, Keane.
Post by: elan on February 28, 2010, 06:48:34 PM

Boss read it again nah.

Like allyuh men is only see what u want to see yes.

What you on about? Keane said he has not seen much of him. Most likely that;s on the pitch that's why I said it may be too cold. Alyuh does on;y see what alyuh want to see yes.
Title: Re: Ipswich extends Baptiste trial
Post by: theworm2345 on March 01, 2010, 07:11:21 PM
Ipswich extends Baptiste trial
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Soca Warriors striker, Kerry Baptiste will spend four extra days on trial at Coca-Cola English Championship Division, Ipswich Town, according to Joe Public managing director, Darryl Warner. The 29-year-old Baptiste, who netted 48 goals in leading Joe Public to an historic five domestic titles last year, left here on Monday for a one-week trial at the club managed by former Ireland international Roy Keane. But the long journey seemed to have taken a toll on Baptiste, who did not feature in the reserve team’s 2–1 loss to Wycombe on Wednesday due to jet lag. Warner said Baptiste did not play because he was suffering from jet lag. But the club requested that he stay a further four extra days.

Baptiste will be hoping to join fellow T&T international Carlos Edwards on a permanent basis at Ipswich. Baptiste, who was in the stands when the club battled to a 1–1 draw with Sc**thorpe, said he has been waiting 11 years for an opportunity like this and intends to make the most of it. In addition to Ipswich, Baptiste has also attracted interest from US Major League Soccer clubs, FC Dallas and Toronto FC. However, the T&T striker, who scored a pair of goals in a 2 –2 draw with Mexico in a Fifa World Concacaf World Cup qualifier last October, is totally focussed on impressing Ipswich boss, Keane.

Apparently he is not eligible to play in any reserve matches (including tomorrow's), but may play in a training match.
http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=16092
Post by: Sando prince on March 01, 2010, 11:13:45 PM
Good luck Kerry..just go out dey and do yuh best
Post by: spideybuff on March 02, 2010, 08:35:34 AM
The man is 29 years old with no experience in English Football. Seriously.
Post by: Ngozi on March 02, 2010, 01:39:37 PM
This not starting off well he not dealing with the weather well or the jet lag hmmm step up lad this is thwe conditions he needs to be able to play under and still maintain them goals.
Post by: theworm2345 on March 03, 2010, 05:29:35 PM
Trialist Returns Home

Trinidadian international striker or winger Kerry Baptiste has returned home after his trial with the Blues. The 28-year-old spent a week with Town trying to win a contract at Portman Road alongside his international team-mate Carlos Edwards.

Reports in the Caribbean over the weekend claimed that Baptiste, who currently plays for Joe Public in his home country, had been asked to stay for an extra four days but that hasn't been the case and the former San Juan Jabloteh and the North East Stars player has returned home after a week as initially planned.

http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=16106&title=trialist_returns_home
Post by: FF on March 03, 2010, 05:58:29 PM
Trialist Returns Home

Trinidadian international striker or winger Kerry Baptiste has returned home after his trial with the Blues. The 28-year-old spent a week with Town trying to win a contract at Portman Road alongside his international team-mate Carlos Edwards.

Reports in the Caribbean over the weekend claimed that Baptiste, who currently plays for Joe Public in his home country, had been asked to stay for an extra four days but that hasn't been the case and the former San Juan Jabloteh and the North East Stars player has returned home after a week as initially planned.

well yes
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 03, 2010, 06:01:14 PM
I remember when peltier went he made waves 3 years ago ...  there must be a reason why he came home early
Post by: Flex on March 03, 2010, 08:12:58 PM
Keane offers Baptiste another trial.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

Ipswich Town manager Roy Keane is said to be very interested in Bmobile Joe Public and Trinidad and Tobago attacker Kerry Baptiste.

Baptiste returned to Trinidad on Tuesday following a ten-day trial at the Coca-Cola Championship Division club under the eyes of the former Manchester United captain, Keane.

“It’s very positive,” said the 29 year-old Baptiste. “Roy (Keane) liked what he saw and wants me back following the season which ends in May.”

The 2009 TT Pro League top goalscorer continued, “He (Keane) wants to see me in a game before making a decision.”

Baptiste only trained at Ipswich without featuring for the Reserves against Wycombe after failing to settle early due to jet lag.

Baptiste, a nominee for the First Citizens Sport Foundation Sports Personality of the Year on Wednesday night said the Ipswish trial experience was a great one.

“It was great. The entire trial was properly planned. I watched the game over the weekend against Bristol City which ended goalless with over 20 thousand people in the stands and I was saying to myself, I can’t wait to score a goal and run into the crowd,” he giggled.

He added, “I’m back home with Joe Public for now and will return to training this week. I will also continue working hard on my game.

Speaking on his nomination for the Sports Personality of the Year, Baptiste simply said, “Great rewards come with hard work. It’s great to be nominated based on my achievements and I will continue to do my best for myself, my family and football.”
Post by: samo on March 03, 2010, 09:48:35 PM
Good Luck.. hope it works out... Looks like he has his head on his shoulders...
Post by: theworm2345 on March 03, 2010, 10:11:54 PM
Unfortunately, I await another article "despite reports from the Caribbean saying Keane wants Baptiste back, the Ipswich manager has made no such indication"  ::)
Post by: Big Magician on March 03, 2010, 10:12:52 PM
yea man KB...keep going,,play yuh fitball
Post by: vb on March 04, 2010, 12:08:00 AM
Trialist Returns Home

When you copy articles like this, quote the source please.

Post by: theworm2345 on March 04, 2010, 01:08:31 AM
Trialist Returns Home

When you copy articles like this, quote the source please.

Sorry http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=16106&title=trialist_returns_home
Post by: jai john on March 04, 2010, 01:13:46 PM
it eh have no more straws in Trinidad the way peeps here grabbing just about anything . The coach want to see him again ?? where he was ? You send him home and you want to see him next season ?..allyuh eh reading the play or what ?

Is de english who does tell yuh go to hell and have you look forward to doing so.
Keane doh want to hurt the relationship with Trinidad and why should he ...telling a man you will have another look sometime in the future is just a nice way  saying he eh ready now !
I am sure many of us knew that but were hoping for a miracle ..well I hoping for a miracle too ...dat some ah we go wake up... it have coffee brewing.

the talent pool need some serious work ...
instead ah making latapy a developmental coach and working with de yutes ..so he could have a chance to replicate himself we make him senior coach where he eh have no experience . So he go get ah short contract up to de caribbean tournament and if he do good he there till close to de WC..if he do bad he out . Instead of having him there for a longer term working with players 12-19 passing on his experience gained from Brazil, portugal and Scotland..feeding into a senior system.

We does watch TV ...look at Pep Guardiola ..he was producing young talent for Barcelona for years then at a point they thought lets see what he can do with the same players he helped to develop. The programme is up and running though so he could be free to try another experience..What we have in place ?
t
Argentina does the same ting ...when Pekerman  was made WC coach more than half de squad had pased through his hands winning the WC for under 20 repeatedly.....things were in place

its really amazing how warner does shuffle de pack and have everybody thinking it new ! all of a suden yuh hearing from Lincoln phillips ..he just reach or what ? he have voice now ? and you seeing Camps in ah press conference ..to warm chair ....

The extent to which we fall for warner's manipulations bears trong correlation to the exent to which we grab at these straws ..hoping just hoping ..we will discover another yorke or Latapy.

Same ting warner trying in politics ...bring back who was dey before and call it new ...leh me see how dat go work out.
look I gone yes ... I say all ah dis too many times aready !

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 04, 2010, 01:56:36 PM
But Jai even if Keane liked him he cah sign him until de season over so why it cah be legit?
Post by: jai john on March 04, 2010, 04:31:18 PM
But Jai even if Keane liked him he cah sign him until de season over so why it cah be legit?
Why ask him to come now ..off season for him and not the right time for you ? Nah keane is just being the diplomat ..it will blow away ....
Post by: kounty on March 04, 2010, 06:22:40 PM

dread, I ent tink we have enough evidence to reject the baptiste  story, yes enough to doubt.  but I jus wanted to say I real enjoy reading your post horse!  from midway to end I couldn't put it any better.
Post by: vb on March 05, 2010, 02:39:56 AM
Keane is many things, I don't know if diplomatic is one of them.

Don't know how he got that far in football with that attitude :-)

Yeah maybe he give a f*&* about TT football - he being diplomatic  ;D

Post by: just cool on March 05, 2010, 04:02:39 AM

I couldn't say it any better! roy keane doh give ah fat monkey's a$$ about hurting no one's feelings. i firmy believe that kerry would be @ ipswich town come august, that's if he remains healthy and no one else snatches him up.
Post by: jai john on March 05, 2010, 05:22:47 AM

I couldn't say it any better! roy keane doh give ah fat monkey's a$$ about hurting no one's feelings. i firmy believe that kerry would be @ ipswich town come august, that's if he remains healthy and no one else snatches him up.

I do hope you are right and it will be a good strike for the hit and miss approach. I cant say I know anything for sure but at 29+ baptiste could count all the stars in the sky as on his side if he succeeds. Where there is life there is hope I guess ..
Post by: theworm2345 on March 06, 2010, 06:27:15 PM
Some good news amongst the "not selecteds" and "unused subs"

Keane confirmed that Trinidadian international Kerry Baptiste has been asked to return for a second trial, having flown home on Tuesday after a week training at Playford Road: “The timing wasn’t great because he couldn’t play in a reserve match, but I spoke to him and we’re hoping that he’ll come back in a month or two to play in a game.

“The boy didn’t do himself any harm. He’s a nice kid, he trained really well, looks a talented boy and we’re keen to bring him back.”

http://www.twtd.co.uk/news.php?storyid=16111

If he ages like Yorke or Latas he could still have 7-8 good years in the tank
Title: Trialist Baptiste Could Return
Post by: theworm2345 on August 21, 2010, 09:00:02 AM
Trialist Baptiste Could Return
TWTD.co.uk

Blues manager Roy Keane says former trialist Kerry Baptiste could still return to the Blues for a further spell. The Trinidadian international impressed Keane during his previous trial at the club back in March.

The Town manager says there is no date yet set for the 28-year-old striker or winger's second stint with the club: “No news on that. We said we’d probably bring him back but at the time it was a bit quiet - we didn’t have any games for the boy. We’re going to keep an eye on that on and hopefully get the boy back over because he did well in terms of training.”

Baptiste, an international team-mate of Carlos Edwards and Town target Jason Scotland, is still with the Joe Public club in his home country, where he is captain.

Keane says Brazilian trialist Marcus Picciarelli, who played in the reserves friendly at Leiston, has not been offered a contract.

Meanwhile, reported Town target Brett Pitman’s £600,000 move to Blackpool has broken down. The Blues are amongst a number of clubs said to be eyeing the 22-year-old striker. Pitman is now said to be close to completing a move to another club.

Elsewhere, Marcus Evans’s THG company have won a contract from the FAI to provide official corporate hospitality at the new Aviva Stadium in Dublin, utilising Town’s ticketing facilities for sales.
Post by: dreamer on August 21, 2010, 11:33:48 AM
Niceness Kerry.
Keep up the form and stay healthy and injury free.