May 14, 2024, 07:40:45 AM

Author Topic: A solution for the youths in T&T schools and the pro league.  (Read 2094 times)

A solution for the youths in T&T schools and the pro league.
« on: April 01, 2010, 09:54:56 AM »
I feel the youths in the SSFL should be allowed to sign for a T&T pro team as an amature and play pro league games when the schedule allow them to.

They just wouldn't be getting paid, off course, they will make under the table money, but the books will show they are not pro players.

Which means they can play for a pro team without it affecting their status to go to school and at the same time develpoing them into better players.

Killing two birds with one stone.

Maybe each pro team should be allowed to sign 4.

Whats your thoughts on this (except KND)....

Re: A solution for the youths in T&T schools and the pro league.
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2010, 10:01:24 AM »
maybe the ssfl could join the reserve league or super league as nothing replaces playing ball if you plan to well... be a ball player. Dont think they ready for PFL yet. I know some youngsters who real hot but cant make a PFL team. Quietly the PFL have some nice players. (as you would know) Look at the new signing from Jamrock. Sean somebody. Who on a ssfl team can make in front of dude? Juma?? he gone already.

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2010, 10:14:17 AM »
Foolball change in these mordern times bro, youths playing big man football now.

Messi is the best in the world and he is only 22.

Yorke played big man football at 16.

Walcott make England WC side in his teens.

etc, etc.....

These youths in T&T must step up, if they not ready, then this will prepare them. And they need to be around a professional enviorment so they dont go the wrong way,  do you see what is going on in T&T now, the youths lost, we need to let them know, there is a way out.....

Reserve football is for reserves.

If we want success we have to scarfice and aim high.

Tough love but in de end it will benefit us.

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2010, 12:22:10 PM »
Put the money in a trust and they can only get it if the graduate from school

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2010, 12:36:46 PM »
I feel the youths in the SSFL should be allowed to sign for a T&T pro team as an amature and play pro league games when the schedule allow them to.

They just wouldn't be getting paid, off course, they will make under the table money, but the books will show they are not pro players.

Which means they can play for a pro team without it affecting their status to go to school and at the same time develpoing them into better players.

not a bad idea but NCAA rules doh even allow dat now.As long as you registered with a pro team and playing along pro players although you not a pro per say you illegible to play for a school.Why some men get aware with it now is because who checking? It just take one bad mind Trini to report that person to NCAA and the school in trouble.

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2010, 12:52:07 PM »
Our problem is not the amount of games we play, but in the quality of coaching we receive at a young age.

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2010, 02:09:18 PM »
Who would pay these youths? and pay to train them? Pro League clubs dont have money

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2010, 02:14:08 PM »
Players who thinking about getting scholarship from a US college may not/will not sign, because of NCAA. Maybe they should think UTT instead.

« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2010, 03:55:00 PM »
Foolball change in these mordern times bro, youths playing big man football now.

Messi is the best in the world and he is only 22.

Yorke played big man football at 16.

Walcott make England WC side in his teens.

etc, etc.....

These youths in T&T must step up, if they not ready, then this will prepare them. And they need to be around a professional enviorment so they dont go the wrong way,  do you see what is going on in T&T now, the youths lost, we need to let them know, there is a way out.....

Reserve football is for reserves.

If we want success we have to scarfice and aim high.

Tough love but in de end it will benefit us.

Sam that is how it use to be. It did not have youth football outside of school. Hurricanes had four youths in their line up all under 18 in the FA cup semi final and final in 75-76. All ended up playing for T&T

« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2010, 05:56:20 PM »

When are they gonna get time to study and do home work?  Or are they all gonna turn pro? 

« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2010, 06:11:06 PM »
Observer,
              starting from about 69/70 clubs(at least in POSFL) had youth teams. Then they would stop for a year and start back. I know for a fact that the Technical had a lot of players from Hurricains who use to play for SFA and South u19/23. going on regional tours(Guyana) and beating teams older than them.  And then some of them Hurricains players(Spann, Sutherland, Huggins, Danny Williams) I see them playing for Valiants in UWI(East Super league).

The problem with youth football is that teams fold too quickly. It is not like Euro or South American, you know the team will be around for the next 100 yrs(well anything could happen...). Teams start hot and sweaty and last about 6 years and gone thru after that. How do maintain consistency with youth football with that kind of existence.

« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2010, 09:11:14 AM »
Who would pay these youths? and pay to train them? Pro League clubs dont have money

Read de question again. De youths will get they money under the table.

Furthermore, they can't expect a lot of money for unknown undeveloped players, both club and player will benefit from this.

They have to look at the big picture, money will come later..

Thats the problem with T&T players since de 2006 WC. Everybody looking for money before success.

« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2010, 09:44:37 AM »
Observer,
              starting from about 69/70 clubs(at least in POSFL) had youth teams. Then they would stop for a year and start back. I know for a fact that the Technical had a lot of players from Hurricains who use to play for SFA and South u19/23. going on regional tours(Guyana) and beating teams older than them.  And then some of them Hurricains players(Spann, Sutherland, Huggins, Danny Williams) I see them playing for Valiants in UWI(East Super league).

The problem with youth football is that teams fold too quickly. It is not like Euro or South American, you know the team will be around for the next 100 yrs(well anything could happen...). Teams start hot and sweaty and last about 6 years and gone thru after that. How do maintain consistency with youth football with that kind of existence.

Deeks I played with all those players and yes you are right. Players use to be allowed to play both School and Club (if you remember) and then that was stopped. But I cannot disagree with your assessment.

« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2010, 09:56:10 AM »

all the better ssfl players already aligned with one of the pro league youth teams. So they could play pro ball if they good enough, but only in Jabloteh they actually get a chance (and shahdon winchester)
So the system kinda in place already.

« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2010, 01:15:04 PM »
For those who argue about the NCAA. Is the issue going to school and getting a higher education, or playing football at an NCAA school? For me if going to an NCAA school and getting and education is your individual priority, then make that choice. Much like "Generation Adidas" in the US.

Look at the names. It seems to be working for US National Team
Tim Howard, Josh Wolff, DaMarcus Beasley, Maurice Edu, Carlos Bocanegra, Clint Dempsey, Jozy Altidore, Ben Olsen, Bobby Convey, Bakary Soumare, Sacha Kljestan, Michael Parkhurst, Danny Califf, Freddy Adu, Brad Guzan and Michael Bradley