Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: E-man on June 28, 2010, 02:58:47 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 57 - Quarter-finals: Holland vs Brazil
Post by: E-man on June 28, 2010, 02:58:47 PM
Match 57 - Quarter-finals - 02 July
Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth - Port Elizabeth Stadium

Head-to-Head

NED:BRA
wins 2:3
draws 4
goals 13:14

TEAM NEWS (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/matches/match_57/default.stm)

Brazil will be without playmaker Elano, who is suffering from a bruised bone in his right ankle. Felipe Melo (ankle) and Julio Baptista (knee) are doubtful to make the starting line-up. Fellow midfielder Ramires is suspended, leaving coach Dunga with limited options.

The Netherlands go into the match with a clean bill of health and are expected to field the same line-up that beat Slovakia in their last 16 encounter.

Suspended: Ramires (Brazil); one booking from suspension: De Jong, Van Persie, Van der Wiel, Kuyt, Van der Vaart, Van Bronckhorst, Robben, Stekelenburg (Netherlands); Fabiano, Juan, Melo, Kaka (Brazil).

MATCH PREVIEW

The Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium hosts the teams ranked first and fourth in the world, in a fascinating quarter-final encounter. Will it be jogo bonito versus total football, or winning ugly at the expense of the beautiful game?

Brazil and the Netherlands have come to South Africa to win, not to entertain. Pragmatic, workmanlike and efficient may be dirty words in both countries, but coaches Dunga and Bert van Marwijk aren't listening. "We came here to win," said Van Marwijk. "If we can win with beautiful football then fine, but I said when I took this job that we would also have to learn how to win ugly games."

You can see Van Marwijk's point. In years gone by, the Dutch would delight and dismay in equal measure, but they head into Friday's match on a all-time national record, 23-game unbeaten run and have won all eight of their games in 2010. The likes of Robin van Persie, Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart are yet to dazzle in South Africa, but the Dutch defence, cited as the team's weak spot before the tournament, has yet to concede a goal from open play (the two goals scored against them were penalties).

Dunga captained Brazil to World Cup glory in 1994 - beating the Netherlands along the way - with a team that was criticised for its negative approach, and is immune to sniping about his current side, perhaps with good reason. Only Germany and Argentina have scored more goals and, according to Fifa, Brazil have created more goal opportunities than any other side.

MATCH FACTS

Head-to-head

- This will be the 10th meeting between these sides. Brazil have won three to the Netherlands' two, with four draws.

- They have met at the World Cup on three previous occasions: the Netherlands reached the 1974 final thanks to a 2-0 win in the second group stage; Brazil won 3-2 in the 1994 quarter-finals; and the 1998 semi-final ended in a 1-1 draw, with Brazil progressing on penalties.
Netherlands

- The Netherlands have won four consecutive World Cup matches, equalling their best-ever run. The last time they managed this was in 1974, when they reached the final.

- Van Marwijk's side are on a 23-match unbeaten run, a record for the Dutch. Their last defeat was in September 2008 (a 2-1 loss to Australia in Eindhoven).

- They have only conceded four goals in their last eight World Cup matches, keeping four clean sheets in the process.
Brazil

- Brazil are competing in the last eight for the 16th time in 19 World Cups.

- The Brazilians have only lost one of their last 30 games. That came in their penultimate qualifier, a game played at altitude in Bolivia after qualification had already been achieved.

- They have participated in all 18 previous World Cups, and have won the most world titles (five).
MATCH OFFICIALS

Referee: Yuichi Nishimura (Japan)

Assistants: Toru Sagara (Japan) and Jeong Hae-sang (South Korea)

Fourth: Khalil Al-Ghamdi

Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 57 - Quarter-finals: Holland vs Brazil
Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 03:06:29 PM
Brazil going down >:(
Post by: Brownsugar on June 28, 2010, 03:09:53 PM
D.H.W boy like is me and you alone but say what...

GO ORANJE!!!

:praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: DeSoWa on June 28, 2010, 03:18:22 PM
Nah, remember ah is ah wagonist..ah jump of the Brasil ship for this one and jump on the Orange badwagon...Ah just feeling this is their year   :beermug:

Post by: FF on June 28, 2010, 03:33:28 PM
Brownsugar... we just letting allyuh get the first set of post in this thread...

because allyuh certainly wouldn't be getting the last  :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on June 28, 2010, 06:19:44 PM
Well let me not disappoint,

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

Post by: Toppa on June 28, 2010, 06:57:08 PM
Well let me not disappoint,

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

Dise sour orange? How it yellow so?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 28, 2010, 07:01:43 PM
Aye, aye, it too early....wait till about Thursday nah.... :devil: ;D
Post by: rickstaa on June 28, 2010, 08:32:57 PM
Brasil is so beatable right now & they will be overconfident going into this game they GOING DOWN.........jus give the cup to Holland & send the rest ah teams home stop wasting time :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 08:49:30 PM
 :D
Post by: AirMan on June 29, 2010, 01:05:49 AM
I have a feeling this game would be close, may even go to penalties. Robben would be a handful for Brazil.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 29, 2010, 05:31:40 AM
I have a feeling this game would be close, may even go to penalties. Robben would be a handful for Brazil.

Yeah, he'll be a handful. Yuh know how yuh could take a fortune cookie and crush it into a handful of crumbs?
Wha is holland (mis)fortune fuh Friday?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 29, 2010, 05:33:02 AM

Yeah, he'll be a handful. Yuh know how yuh could take a fortune cookie and crush it into a handful of crumbs?

Look it too early in the day eh.....
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 29, 2010, 05:42:20 AM

...well then doh get meh started!!  Besides, I have Tobagonian in meh, too, so I could battle wit de best! (so send dem.  You eh (and holland) ready)  :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on June 29, 2010, 05:47:32 AM

...well then doh get meh started!!  Besides, I have Tobagonian in meh, too, so I could battle wit de best! (so send dem.  You eh (and holland) ready)  :devil:

:challenge: :challenge: :duel: :duel:

I ready, let we take it outside!!!.... ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 29, 2010, 05:59:17 AM

:challenge: :challenge: :duel: :duel:

I ready, let we take it outside!!!.... ;D

dem sword yuh have dey too short and too dull.......cyah even split a good dumpling wit dat.  :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 29, 2010, 07:40:45 AM
2-1 Brazil.
Post by: AirMan on June 29, 2010, 08:17:55 AM
Khaka worried about disciplinary record..http://ctntworld.com/SportArticles.aspx?id=22150
Post by: Trini Madness on June 29, 2010, 04:43:28 PM
too many south american teams i seeing here...some of them have to go home  ;D
Post by: trinindian on June 29, 2010, 04:55:21 PM

Orange Army all the way
Post by: D.H.W on June 29, 2010, 05:32:37 PM

Orange Army all the way

Post by: Storeboy on June 29, 2010, 08:14:56 PM
Robben go be a handful..but Kaka and Robinho and Fabiano go be on the ground sleeping?  Is Brazil all the way!
IMHO
Post by: JDB on June 30, 2010, 05:42:51 AM
I pick Holland to win this game before the World Cup.

Crazy pick yes but I figure that the outright favourites rarely win the WC and if Brazil is going to get knocked out the only team that is likely is Holland. Their path seems even easier with either Ghana or Uruguay facing them in a potential semi.

In other words if Brazil win this game yuh could mark they name on the cup one-time. As much as I love Argentina and Diego this rounds this Brazil is a bad match-up for them and Brazil would roll them.

Spain would be an interesting clash but again the prospect of 1st and 2nd favourites both making it to the final just seems to o unlikely for me.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 30, 2010, 11:22:20 AM
Am I the only one that thinks this Brazilian team is boring.....?? Dem so boring me aint know half of d players and dont really care to

I just feel like this is an assembled engine of unknown car parts from Eastern Europe with d gearbox about to smoke up.

I'm certain for Brazilian supporters this is one of d least exciting teams...imagine no Ronaldinho....steups....
Post by: Observer on June 30, 2010, 11:33:19 AM
Am I the only one that thinks this Brazilian team is boring.....?? Dem so boring me aint know half of d players and dont really care to

I just feel like this is an assembled engine of unknown car parts from Eastern Europe with d gearbox about to smoke up.

I'm certain for Brazilian supporters this is one of d least exciting teams...imagine no Ronaldinho....steups....

Like how Ronaldinho was so exciting in 06, he had yuh off yuh seat :devil:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 30, 2010, 11:36:02 AM

if u want excitement there is FIFA 10 and road to world cup available on XBOX and PS.
Post by: palos on June 30, 2010, 11:37:18 AM
Interesting how de peeps who bumpin dem gum on dis thread is all de Holland jock straps...oops...supporters.

We'll see if dem go still be flappin dem beak come Friday  :devil:
Post by: Marcos on June 30, 2010, 11:41:18 AM

We beat dis topic to death. So far Dunga proving he was right, but it only takes one slip.
Title: Re: Brazil Legend Pele Criticises Dunga and Diego Maradona
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 30, 2010, 11:49:32 AM
Brazil Legend Pele Criticises Dunga and Diego Maradona

Brazil legend Pele has once again come out with strong criticism for Argentina coach Diego Maradona, questioning how his Albiceleste side has been playing in this World Cup.

The outspoken former World Cup hero also had harsh words for his own team, and in particular Canarinha boss Dunga.

Pele and Maradona have had several verbal sparring matches throughout this tournament, with insults ranging from professional to the very personal.

And the Brazilian was at it against as he spoke to German newspaper Der Tagesspiegel.

"What kind of football is that which tries to control the game with a forward?" he posed rhetorically, referring to the pivotal role Lionel Messi has in the Albiceleste side.

"I don't have a problem with Maradona, I just do not think he is a good coach. He has an outlandish lifestyle and rarely is that a positive thing for the team."

The Brazilian went on to criticise countryman Dunga, saying that he believed the current Selecao style of play was unacceptable.

"I myself was a forward and I always wanted to score goals. That was the most important thing, because it encouraged the fans. The current team on the other hand plays on the counter attack, it does not control the ball well.

"The will and the domination to control the opponent and have the ball are no longer there."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pele is ah real backside bordering on being a dunce..why he dont coach a side then talk.
Post by: AirMan on June 30, 2010, 11:51:52 AM
^^ If maradona wins the world cup I will not be surprised if Pele refuse to admit he was wrong.
Post by: dinho on June 30, 2010, 11:56:55 AM
Pele criticizing Brazil and Argentina points to a Braz v Arg final. thats the way it normally tends to work when he open he mouth.
Post by: KND2 on June 30, 2010, 11:57:48 AM
Brazil will win this game easy.

Brazil defense is tough cannot see holland dominating possesion

and most of all cannot see Holland defending well for most of the game.

Their defense is relatively inexperienced at this level. Nerves will kill them.

3-0 brazil

only risk is if roben hit them on the break
but dunga too smart for that.

Post by: palos on June 30, 2010, 12:10:08 PM
^^ If maradona wins the world cup I will not be surprised if Pele refuse to admit he was wrong.

Pele safe den  8)
Post by: kicker on June 30, 2010, 04:11:44 PM
Brazil is only boring by their own standards.  They've been by far a greater joy to watch than Holland. 
Post by: Socapro on June 30, 2010, 09:11:27 PM
Yuh overlooking that Pele will also be wrong if Brazil wins the World Cup since he critise Dunga's style as well!  ;)
Post by: kicker on June 30, 2010, 09:14:45 PM
Pele bad-talking Brazil makes me feel better about Brazil's chances.

Post by: dinho on June 30, 2010, 11:10:41 PM
Yo Brownsugar, rush hour traffic is at 3pm in South Africa.

So tell yuh side after they get they ass buss that they have to hurry up and pack when they get back to the hotel if they want to get to the airport on time for the Amsterdam flight.. Of course i know this since the Italy scene lol.
Post by: Spursy on July 01, 2010, 02:02:22 AM

Head-to-Head

draws 4

Holland have met Brazil three times at a fifa world cup. Both sides have a win and a single draw however the orange has one more goal scored in 5 vs brazil 4.
In International friendlies Brazil have the edge with 2 wins vs hollands solo win in six encounters.
Brazil scoring 10 total goals in friendlies, 2 less than holland.

Under 20 team has met once at fifa world cup only to draw.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/statisticsandrecords/headtohead/team1=bra/team2=ned/index.html

Tough, but we shall see whom is more important, Julio/Maicon/Lucio or Sniejder

Post by: JDB on July 01, 2010, 04:15:35 AM
Brazil is only boring by their own standards.  They've been by far a greater joy to watch than Holland. 

I agree with that. I have criticized Brazil but only because we always imagine the 82 and 86 teams. As we all know them teams win zought. Tactically and in practice this is one of the most professional and effective teams I have ever seen play football. They have an effective gameplan, they have the players to execute it and they execute it. There is a lot of patience and confidence in the way they play and a lot of that confidence is in the fact they know that if they are forced to turn it on(as in the US game last year) they have a better chance than any other team of scoring goals.

I am also tired of all the cries for Ronaldinho. Elano is a much more effective player in this side. Doesn't slow down play,  defends well and does set pieces. A much more disappointing choice was the omission of Ganso. That fella is the truth and at 20 is a much better player to bring in as a back-up for Kaka than Dinho.
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 06:00:24 AM
I pick Holland to win this game before the World Cup.

Crazy pick yes but I figure that the outright favourites rarely win the WC and if Brazil is going to get knocked out the only team that is likely is Holland. Their path seems even easier with either Ghana or Uruguay facing them in a potential semi.

In other words if Brazil win this game yuh could mark they name on the cup one-time. As much as I love Argentina and Diego this rounds this Brazil is a bad match-up for them and Brazil would roll them.

Spain would be an interesting clash but again the prospect of 1st and 2nd favourites both making it to the final just seems to o unlikely for me.

World Cup Football is not for the weak of heart .....you could not " love Argentina nad Diego " and doubt them . Why you love them in the first place ? if it is because they electrify the audience with quick precise passing and dribbling skills and score goals ... how could you fear any match up ? Argentina played germany before this world cup, when they were struggling ...you know the result of that game ? well you could leave the ship ..it have plenty looking to jump on now.

Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 06:05:45 AM
Brazil has the most balanced team so far ..as long as kaka plays ...that is only because maradona has not yet settled on his ideal team . Argentina has the most stars in this WC ...test will be the management. Holland has always produced a thrteat to brazil .....I seed Holland as the threat to Argentina ..ha ha ha ...
Luis fabiano is the deadliest striker on the planet ......when Messi is sleeping of course. The game will come down to which stars  show up to brighten the world cup skies ....
Post by: weary1969 on July 01, 2010, 06:09:20 AM

So tell yuh side after they get they ass buss that they have to hurry up and pack when they get back to the hotel if they want to get to the airport on time for the Amsterdam flight.. Of course i know this since the Italy scene lol.

Post by: Brownsugar on July 01, 2010, 06:20:44 AM

Yuh real idle for true yes.... ;D
Post by: Midknight on July 01, 2010, 01:08:58 PM
Brazil has the most balanced team so far ..as long as kaka plays ...that is only because maradona has not yet settled on his ideal team . Argentina has the most stars in this WC ...test will be the management. Holland has always produced a thrteat to brazil .....I seed Holland as the threat to Argentina ..ha ha ha ...
Luis fabiano is the deadliest striker on the planet ......when Messi is sleeping of course. The game will come down to which stars  show up to brighten the world cup skies ....

So yuh big coach done play 4 half the tournament already (plus 20 plus qualifiers and friendlies) and ent identify he ideal side yet? Dat must be one hell of a pool to choose from.

Also, wake up Striker Smurf and tell him the World Cup going on eh...
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 04:19:21 PM

So yuh big coach done play 4 half the tournament already (plus 20 plus qualifiers and friendlies) and ent identify he ideal side yet? Dat must be one hell of a pool to choose from.

Also, wake up Striker Smurf and tell him the World Cup going on eh...

To respond I may have to explain the strategy of war ...and football is war ...you plan your strategy according to your opponent ...try and get out of the trinidadian and west indies mode ...we eh have to know bout dem ...dey have to know bout we ... yuh pick de same team whether is 20/20, 50 overs or test ...strategy .

start looking at things with a critical eye ...it is the only way to progress ...
analyse, plan , implement ..pick horses for courses ...a player may shine with his club but be less successful for his country ...one cristiano comes to mind. ..all these things are to be considered ..all the coaches who had their settled team ..Italy etc. are home now ..

P.s ..argentina has the european champions top scorer, the scorer of the most goals in the history of Boca juniors,  on the bench, also the leading scorer in spain, the leading scorer in the olympics , the top scorers for their clubs in south america and Europe ...I would say they have one hell of a pool to choose from ...wouldn't you ?
Post by: Marcos on July 01, 2010, 04:32:41 PM

True dat... But this Brazil side still stale.
Post by: Socafan on July 01, 2010, 06:28:06 PM
Cyar see Holland winning this. They will be overpowered by a bigger, stronger faster side. They have enough quality to make it interesting though.
Post by: che on July 01, 2010, 07:47:01 PM
Brazil wins 2-1.
Post by: weary1969 on July 01, 2010, 08:11:59 PM
Brazil wins 2-1.

Said dat on d radio 2day
Post by: Brownsugar on July 01, 2010, 08:14:44 PM
Brazil wins 2-1.

Said dat on d radio 2day

Nah the reverse happening.... :devil: :devil: ;D
Post by: Socapro on July 01, 2010, 08:37:12 PM
3 - 0 to Brazil if Holland doh score in the 1st half & 2 - 1 to Brazil if Holland manages to score 1st.
In other words if Holland allows Brazil to score 1st they dogs dead!!
As much as I like orange juice I can't see the Orange men scoring against this Brazilian team unless Brazil goes a man down by losing one of their defenders to a Red card!! Also Khaka needs to be extra careful as them referees out to get him!  ;)
Post by: Jah Gol on July 01, 2010, 09:36:06 PM
The only weakness on Brazil is Melo. I find he's a goat to be honest. Otherwise this game real hard for Holland. The truth is this Brazil team cutting up any side that doesn't have a water tight defence. Watching them play is like you know if they get ONE CHANCE they will take it. Brazil will take this one too.

I favour Robben v Bastos but Lucio and Juan there to stop anything coming in.
Post by: richpy on July 01, 2010, 10:56:28 PM
Holland need to move the football quickly, AND score any chance. They doh have the personnel to withstand Brazil's counter-attack.

Give it to Robben let him run at Bastos, but when double-teamed, swing it quickly to Schneijder and co.

They HAVE to score first, and if they do, continue attacking, not try to defend the lead.

Them have real problems tomorrow.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 05:15:54 AM
Brazil, Brazil, Brazil.....blah, blah, blah.....steups!!!

GO ORANJE!!!!!!
Post by: giggsy11 on July 02, 2010, 05:35:43 AM
Brasil all the way-to bad this is not the finals. Brasil has an easier path to the finals and I see a Germany vs Brasil finals which will be just as entertaining. Germany has the organization, attack and footballing brain tuh mash up Aregentina's weak arse defense as well as Spain's.
Post by: che on July 02, 2010, 06:01:37 AM
Brazil, Brazil, Brazil.....blah, blah, blah.....steups!!!

GO ORANJE!!!!!!

This post is hard on the eyes  :o
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 06:09:46 AM
Brasil all the way-to bad this is not the finals. Brasil has an easier path to the finals and I see a Germany vs Brasil finals which will be just as entertaining. Germany has the organization, attack and footballing brain tuh mash up Aregentina's weak arse defense as well as Spain's.

aaahhh yeeesss....FIFA at work....dais nutten....

GO ORANJE!!!
Post by: che on July 02, 2010, 06:31:08 AM
Brazil, Brazil, Brazil.....

JOGO BONITO!!!!!!

Ah much better. ;D
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 07:13:20 AM
nothing for brazil
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:00:43 AM
Holland side is a serious side on paper...but Brazil can deal....

Hoping for a great game.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 08:00:54 AM
Brazil, Brazil, Brazil.....

JOGO BONITO!!!!!!

Ah much better. ;D

Steups, pale sickly colour....Orange is so much brighter and healthier!!!... ;D ;D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 02, 2010, 08:07:05 AM
Wham to robihno in troot boi?!
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 08:11:19 AM
The Dutch under pressure!

as I type Robinho Scores!
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 02, 2010, 08:11:31 AM
GOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BRAZIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 08:12:15 AM
F&*&#!!  F*(&#!!  F*(&%!!

That was just too easy!!!... :banginghead: :frustrated: :banginghead:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 08:12:54 AM
If at 1st u dont succeed try and try again ROBINHOOOOOO
Post by: lefty on July 02, 2010, 08:13:24 AM
F&*&#!!  F*(&#!!  F*(&%!!

That was just too easy!!!... :banginghead: :frustrated: :banginghead:

wham sugar sumting bad happen ??? ::) ::) :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 08:19:24 AM
Robinhio need 2 take a couple chill pills.
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 08:23:25 AM
(http://travelblog.portfoliocollection.com/FeaturedImage/vuvuzela.jpg)
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:26:39 AM
Ref screwing the game with a setta soft foul calls...let them play.

Foul on Kaka in the box...De Jong was lucky
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 08:28:00 AM
Kuyt need to see a chiropractor after Alves twist up he back.

Ref screwing the game with a setta soft foul calls...let them play.

Foul on Kaka in the box...De Jong was lucky

Is either the fouls soft and let them play, or is fouls and yuh blow the whistle. That was a good tackle by De Jong
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 08:32:35 AM
Allyuh still missing the flair?
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:35:41 AM

Is either the fouls soft and let them play, or is fouls and yuh blow the whistle. That was a good tackle by De Jong

No it wasn't he went through the man i.e. played the legs first...You have to play the ball first
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:41:41 AM
Too many niggling fouls in this game are breaking up the rhythm...
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 08:42:40 AM
OH GOD AH NOW REACH... KISSMEHARSE MEETING ON A FRIDAY WHEN BRAZIL PLAYING.. DESE KISSMEHARSE PEOPLE

Brazil wining  ;D

wine wine wine wine wine wine
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:43:38 AM
Kaka playing according to his price tag today...
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:48:11 AM
1st 45- Brazil is the better side, deserved lead, could actually be more...
Post by: Peong on July 02, 2010, 08:49:11 AM
See this is what happens when yuh have smart defenders. Robben wanted to cut left to shoot and all they had to do is cover that side, Robben couldn't do anything.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 08:50:01 AM
Commentator on TV 6

"Steely in defence fluid in attack, its a heady mixture....."

Lawd the truth hurts.... :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead:

Come on Oranje, break down dat big blue wall!!.... :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 08:51:26 AM
Commentator on TV 6

But it shall set u free
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 08:52:02 AM
dutch winning still  :devil:
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 08:52:08 AM
Ah drinking some Tropicana Orange Juice right now...

like it have plenty for everybody  ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 08:52:34 AM
Commentator on TV 6

But it shall set u free

You and FF just leave me alone.... ;D
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 08:54:18 AM
wha bout Robben go watch de coach after the goal and bawl "How dais my man?"

Post by: doh_stick on July 02, 2010, 08:55:58 AM
wha bout Robben go watch de coach after the goal and bawl "How dais my man?"

he did not use his speed that time huh
Post by: fari on July 02, 2010, 08:56:06 AM
wonder what changes van marwijk could make half time...game going good man, brazil playing like beast!
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 02, 2010, 08:56:31 AM
I just watched the highlights of the Brazil goal and I must say it was atrocious defending by the Dutch. Robinho lost his marker way too easily and should not have been allowed to make that run into the Dutch penalty area.
Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 09:00:20 AM
wonder what changes van marwijk could make half time...game going good man, brazil playing like beast!

He could bring on Van Der Vaart to bring something creative in the middle..

He could bring on Huntelaar for some physical presence up front..

He could bring on Elia to take a run at dem.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:01:01 AM
I just watched the highlights of the Brazil goal and I must say it was atrocious defending by the Dutch. Robinho lost his marker way too easily and should not have been allowed to make that run into the Dutch penalty area.

Apparently the defender in question is a last minute replacement for the regular guy who got injured in warm up.  A weak defence weakened even further....
 :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated:
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 09:09:44 AM
Dani Alves is not a central midfielder... too careless with the ball. 

I can't count how many times he's coughed up the ball in the middle of park...very very risky. 
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:10:28 AM
keep d faith 1-1 :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:11:00 AM
OWNNNNNNNNNN GOALLLLLLLLLLLLLL LOUDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:11:10 AM
STEUPS
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 09:11:12 AM
Game ON!!!

Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 09:11:46 AM
brownsugar brukkin out..
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 02, 2010, 09:11:54 AM
Please educate me...what is the fascination of supporting Brazil.....???
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:13:27 AM
(http://www.f-up.net/annoying/pics/orange.jpg)
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 02, 2010, 09:13:31 AM

Come like being a Lakers fan, everybody like de most celebrated, bandwagon business nah
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:15:54 AM
Is ah own goal but mih care....

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:16:00 AM
Game change. The Dutch oozing confidence now. Brazil on the back foot.
All the intricate passing and flicks gone suddenly
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:16:59 AM

ENTTTTTTTTTTT
STEUPSSSSSSSS
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:17:17 AM

Temporarily I'm sure....it'll be back....unfortunately....

In the meantime though...

:wavetowel: :wavetowel:   ;D ;D
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 02, 2010, 09:17:43 AM
i love Lakers...but F___________________ Brazil....
Post by: lefty on July 02, 2010, 09:20:22 AM
(http://www.f-up.net/annoying/pics/orange.jpg)
dat fuuckin ting creepy boy
Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 09:20:28 AM

Some people identify with the flair, the style and their ethnic proximity to us trinis..

But for the most part its an easy "everybody" side you can back without investing too much thought.. same goes for Man Utd, Real Madrid, Yankees, Cowboys, Lakers, Federer, Tiger... you ketch the drift?
Post by: Bourbon on July 02, 2010, 09:21:27 AM
Is ah own goal but mih care....

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Yuh see....Brazil realise Holland cyar score....so dey decide to give dem some help.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:25:07 AM

Come like being a Lakers fan, everybody like de most celebrated, bandwagon business nah

Some of us wit dem teams through thick and thin all d yrs of heartbreak. We wit dem and it has been nuff heartbreak over d yrs.
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:25:26 AM
OH GAWD.. de juice turning sour  :-[
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:25:38 AM
WELL WELL
Post by: E-man on July 02, 2010, 09:25:40 AM
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 09:25:51 AM
Let's go Dutch baby!

Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:26:00 AM
dutch power  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:26:08 AM
(http://travelblog.portfoliocollection.com/FeaturedImage/vuvuzela.jpg)
(http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/UqNV37p5KQo/0.jpg)
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 09:26:21 AM
OH GAWD.. de juice turning sour  :-[

Go Drink some Blue Waters  :devil:

Post by: 100% Barataria on July 02, 2010, 09:26:43 AM
whine brownsugar, whine whine whine, juk juk juk juk, reverse
Post by: College on July 02, 2010, 09:27:00 AM
oorranngeeee!!!!!!!
Post by: Socafan on July 02, 2010, 09:27:51 AM
Well yes....all now so Brownsugar running naked in the street.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:28:18 AM

Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:28:50 AM
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:30:27 AM

Not yet!!!

And now Brazil get a red!!!
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:30:35 AM
WHAT DE ARSE IS THIS??
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 09:30:49 AM
That could be lights out for Brazil.  
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:31:32 AM
MELO like d mascot 4 d 2007 WC a waste
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:31:46 AM
Fire Dunga Now!!!

Doh even wait for the final whistle. Kim Jong Il go let you use the invisible phone
Post by: Socafan on July 02, 2010, 09:31:52 AM
Brazil disintegrating.....Pressure.
Post by: E-man on July 02, 2010, 09:31:54 AM
Melo is the weakest link. Goodbye brazil
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:33:40 AM
Brazil winning still... the red card playing right into de game plan  :praying:
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:35:15 AM
Robben is a real pest.
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 09:37:28 AM
Brownsugar I know yuh wining low  :angel:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:39:07 AM
 :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:39:50 AM
Robben is a real pest.

ent!!!

go dutch  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Marcos on July 02, 2010, 09:42:18 AM
Kicker where yuh???????????

Dis Brazil side is shiteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Where the creativity coming from when yuh down??????

Baptista!!!!!!!
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 09:42:18 AM
I find like the dutch attacking end wetter and softer than the Brazil Attacking end.  :-\
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 02, 2010, 09:42:52 AM
F..................................................uck   Robinho......... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:43:28 AM
I find like the dutch attacking end wetter and softer than the Brazil Attacking end.  :-\

i does tell that to all my dates  ;)
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:43:52 AM
Brazil winning still... the red card playing right into de game plan  :praying:

U want 2 share  dat plan wit d players
Post by: Socafan on July 02, 2010, 09:44:38 AM
This look like game done.....wow.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:45:54 AM
This look like game done.....wow.

GO GHANA unless dis free kick does it
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:47:08 AM
Socrates etal go b happy like pappy d dunga brand fails
Post by: Marcos on July 02, 2010, 09:48:13 AM

i go be happy
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:50:02 AM
good ting america lorse... i woulda be inconsoleable
Post by: Marcos on July 02, 2010, 09:50:33 AM
siiiiiiiiiiddddddddeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 09:50:40 AM
And Brazill are EFFICIENTLY on their way home.
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:50:46 AM
(http://www.madtomatoe.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/Annoying-Orange-2.jpg)
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 09:51:04 AM
My bracket is ALIVE  ;D

Post by: E-man on July 02, 2010, 09:51:30 AM
Stick that in your fricken dike. Holland wins!!!
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:51:36 AM
fire bun brazil  :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

DUTCH POWER
Post by: Socafan on July 02, 2010, 09:52:03 AM
Have to say......didn't see that coming.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:53:28 AM

NIETHER DID I
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 09:53:43 AM
Gullit in the studio can barely contain himself
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 02, 2010, 09:54:19 AM
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:54:29 AM

STEUPSSSSSSS They do what he could not do.
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 09:54:41 AM

NIETHER DID I

What alyuh was watching. Brazil eh play anything all WC.
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 09:54:44 AM

I thought allyuh ent like each other...

germany and holland?
Post by: Sando prince on July 02, 2010, 09:54:49 AM
Palos will go into hiding fuh a few days now  :D
Post by: Trinimassive on July 02, 2010, 09:55:26 AM
KAKA play KAKA

Let's Go GHANA :beermug:

Post by: Observer on July 02, 2010, 09:55:55 AM
amazing the most un-Dutch team has pulled off the upset.
Congratulations to Holland. Weak referee and the Dutch adapted better to the
refereeing than the Brazilians.
Once again Brazil undone by a set play,
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 02, 2010, 09:56:16 AM
When Dani Alves playing central midfielder yuh destined to receive yuh boarding pass early.
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:57:16 AM
dutch winning still  :devil:

cant say alyuh was not warned  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 09:58:19 AM

NIETHER DID I

Beg 2 disagree d defence was shambles in this game.
Post by: Sando prince on July 02, 2010, 09:58:23 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl:  Brazil had no answer for Robben today
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 02, 2010, 09:58:35 AM

So much for objectivity right?
Post by: Marcos on July 02, 2010, 09:58:48 AM
DEY EH NEED RONALDINHO ATALLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 09:58:53 AM
ALL MIH ORANJE PEOPLE!!!!  WHEY ALL YUH??!!!   IS A GOOD DAY TO BE

ORANGE!!!!
Post by: JDB on July 02, 2010, 09:59:40 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

Oh God my belly will buss with laugh.

Rember yuh heard it here first.

I fort to add...

Doh cry too much eh palos.

Hahahahahahahahaha
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 09:59:47 AM

ORANGE!!!!

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 10:00:01 AM

ORANGE!!!!

Orange yuh happy today!  :D  ;D

Post by: E-man on July 02, 2010, 10:00:06 AM

germany and holland?

Personally I've got nothing against the Dutch, but my bracket has Germany beating Holland in the final. Anyway I'm also looking for Germany to pull ahead of Brazil in number of times in the final.
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 10:01:04 AM

NIETHER DID I

Beg 2 disagree d defence was shambles in this game.

See before this game no team really took it to them. They finally get a team that playing them and they fall to pieces. They have nothing to comlain about they were shyte. Can't sit back and counter attacker a Dutch team.
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 10:01:07 AM

So much for objectivity right?

He never say "we" he stall calling them "The Dutch"
McManaman was like, we drinkin after right?
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 10:01:16 AM
robben was a fleckin pest today  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: College on July 02, 2010, 10:01:29 AM
The only thing I hate is the fact that Lalas called it ....
Post by: Sando prince on July 02, 2010, 10:01:40 AM
Interesting how de peeps who bumpin dem gum on dis thread is all de Holland jock straps...oops...supporters.

what happen yuh forget yuh log in password ?
Post by: fari on July 02, 2010, 10:02:42 AM
KAKA play KAKA

Let's Go GHANA :beermug:

rahhhhh
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 10:03:08 AM

what happen yuh forget yuh log in password ?

He musbe still sleeping, it still kinda early here on the West Coast  :devil:

Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 10:03:53 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

Yuh really say it.. I killing myself with laugh here too, all dem brazil waggonists crying.

Ghana taking this cup ah tell yuh, "Seven miles of black star liner cominggg"

brownsugar must be scrubbing de floor wid bomsee.. lol
Post by: Sando prince on July 02, 2010, 10:04:22 AM
2-1 Brazil.

yeh keep making predictions..I see some predictions of Germany beating Argentina..dem predictions will have the same outcome as yours  :D
Post by: maxg on July 02, 2010, 10:04:31 AM

:devil: the un-dutch style beat a un-brazilian style... ???  :wavetowel:
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 10:04:44 AM
Me and billions watch the dutch turn it a notch and run Brazil out ah S.A. look ah going fuh meh Vuvuzela yesssss Orange party on!!Now...
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 10:05:17 AM
Brazil showed their biggest weakness today- not creativity, not flair, not defense...their weakness is all mental.

They beat themselves today- they were cruising, and as soon as things got tense they lost their composure and began to look like a bunch of scrambling schoolboys- it was painful to watch.

They should be very disappointed that they lost to a team that was clearly inferior to them until their complete meltdown...

Congrats to the Dutch, but in all honesty, I eh see nothing convincing from the Dutch.  Really hard to say that they played well more so than Brazil shat the bed...

So it goes- 2014 fuh Brazil... The Dutch march on...

Post by: sammy on July 02, 2010, 10:06:04 AM

:devil: the un-dutch style beat a un-brazilian style... ???  :wavetowel:

and the un-german style will prevail tomorrow :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 10:06:18 AM
TOTAL FOOTBALL IS ALYUH SAMBA ASS

Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 10:07:09 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

Yuh really say it.. I killing myself with laugh here too, all dem brazil waggonists crying.

ORANGE!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: palos on July 02, 2010, 10:07:52 AM
Congrats to Holland

Definitely the better team in the 2nd half.

Brazil flat out wilted under pressure. And for the much vaunted defence, they were shocking at set pieces today.

At the end of the day, Brazil had nobody that could match the brilliance of Robben on the day.

Brazil is my team and will always be my team, but we were well beaten today despite a stellar first half.

Well done Holland and good luck in the semis.
Post by: jai john on July 02, 2010, 10:09:02 AM
Palos ..on orange alert !!! make dat red !!  :rotfl:
Ah tell yuh Brazil doh win WC when they are favourites .....now you could go and pray we lorse tomorrow  :devil:
Now all de talk bout argentina weak defense go done now as your team gave up to schoolboy goals today ...after taking de lead !!
Messi ! Messi !
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 02, 2010, 10:09:14 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkAnw8NydUo,
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 10:10:23 AM
Congrats to Holland

Brazil flat out wilted under pressure. And for the much vaunted defence, they were shocking at set pieces today.

At the end of the day, Brazil had nobody that could match the brilliance of Robben on the day.

Brazil is my team and will always be my team, but we were well beaten today despite a stellar first half.

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:11:03 AM

germany and holland?

Personally I've got nothing against the Dutch, but my bracket has Germany beating Holland in the final. Anyway I'm also looking for Germany to pull ahead of Brazil in number of times in the final.

Brazil showed their biggest weakness today- not creativity, not flair, not defense...their weakness is all mental.

They beat themselves today- they were cruising, and as soon as things got tense they lost their composure and began to look like a bunch of scrambling schoolboys- it was painful to watch.

They should be very disappointed that they lost to a team that was clearly inferior to them until their complete meltdown...

Congrats to the Dutch, but in all honesty, I eh see nothing convincing from the Dutch.  Really hard to say that they played well more so than Brazil shat the bed...

BRAZIL 2014
Congrats to Holland

Post by: Preacher on July 02, 2010, 10:11:56 AM
Congrats to Holland

Yeah at the end.  Players make the real difference not coaches.  Hope Dunga learn that now.  
Post by: Fyzoman on July 02, 2010, 10:12:53 AM
Dunga is ah cacahole, so yuh pull off one red-card-waiting-to-happen and leave in Melo? really? lemme see, he score against he own team, he escort Kuyt for he flick-on header, and he get ah red card. It good for Brazil (my side)....seriously though, Holland eh beating nobody else.
Post by: FF on July 02, 2010, 10:13:22 AM

germany and holland?

LOL... is de bracket you backing hard so...  ;D nice
Post by: jai john on July 02, 2010, 10:13:35 AM
Congrats to Holland

Palos yuh prove yuh is a big man here  :beermug:
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 10:16:04 AM
Dunga always looks unhappy about everything which is not good for a team at a time like this. most people talking bout them (Brazil) as if no other team was playing.
I always knew they were weak at the back and they get exposed big time today, Run dey arse outa S.A
Post by: Bourbon on July 02, 2010, 10:21:49 AM
Congrats to Holland

Endorsed.

I trying to ketch myself in work. My phone ringing off de hook...messenger lighting up....facebook...lawd...
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 10:23:41 AM
Congrats to the Oranje and their supporters (Brown Sugar that means you lol). Good luck in the next round.

Brazil were throughly schooled in the second half, particularly after the equalizer, and more importantly lost their heads, as epitomised by an inexcusable piece of indiscipline from Felipe Melo. In a similar manner, Bastos could have been sent off just before the goal.

Could have even been 3-1 at the end, if the Dutch didn't decide to play small goal on a 3 against 1...

It's quite ironic that Brazil lost this match on what Dunga attempted to make their stron point, their rock solid, disciplined defence. No communication between Melo and Julio Cesar on the first goal, non existent marking on the second. In hindsight, it doesn't seem that there was much the presence of a Ronaldinho could have done to avert this defeat, but one could also argue that they would have been up by that second goal at halftime with the likes of him on the pitch.

I think this match underlines something that few (particularly Brazil fans like myself) have had the courage to mention before...not only was this Brazil side defensive, and bridled, but they have also been fairly cynical.

In a way, it caught up with us.

Oh well, at least this way we still have a guarantee that the best team will win the tournament.
Post by: giggsy11 on July 02, 2010, 10:28:07 AM
Jumped on the wagon in 78'. Have not watched the game yet but I am stunned by the result. Brasil for this tournament had to many passengers Kaka leading that list. Dunga needs to go. Brasil forever; we will be back stronger and better in 2014! Holland like they are national side version of Bayern Munich of this year; just doing enough to advance while making the most of their talent.
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 10:29:01 AM
Very sad! all my teams get beat. ah guess ah just watchin for watchin sake.
Post by: Babalawo on July 02, 2010, 10:29:43 AM
BRAZIL GO HOME. AND TAKE ALLYUH WAGGONISTS FANS WITH YUH  :cheers:
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:31:09 AM
Congrats to Holland

Endorsed.

I trying to ketch myself in work. My phone ringing off de hook...messenger lighting up....facebook...lawd...

Boi is meh 3 phone ringin pressure
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 10:33:19 AM
All who blamin dunga must be mad!! the game was an evenly matched game, the dutch wasn't no push overs, they was on this run since qualifying. dinho and marcos, allyuh just suckin on sour grapes BC ronaldinho was left out the team. sstuueeppssss.

like gullet said, some time luck does beat skill, the dutch got lucky twice, plus they had ah little help from the cockeye jap of ah referee.

Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 10:33:40 AM

Dread you didnt realise that the Brazilians racist too, especially to the black ethnic class in the inner cities?
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:34:22 AM
Jumped on the wagon in 78'.

Have been on it ever since
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 10:36:11 AM
Hate tuh say it, but brazil was the only team that could stop argentina, now watch them take the cup, Bc neither germany, spain, ghana nor holland could beat them.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 10:36:47 AM

... And too bad allyuh missed out in '74 but 2010 they are it
Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 10:37:12 AM
All who blamin dunga must be mad!! the game was an evenly matched game, the dutch wasn't no push overs, they was on this run since qualifying. dinho and marcos, allyuh just suckin on sour grapes BC ronaldinho was left out the team. sstuueeppssss.

like gullet said, some time luck does beat skill, the dutch got lucky twice, plus they had ah little help from the cockeye jap of ah referee.

I agree, just yesterday it was "Brazil is a machine", "Nobody passing Lucio, Juan and Maicon", "Efficient!"..

Today its, "Brazil is cynical", "No creativity", "Defensive lapses"...

The dutch get a bit lucky on the first goal that changed the game, and men saying the ref was whistling plenty but most of the fouls to me were fouls, the man must blow he whistle. Best to just credit the Dutch on a game well played, rate up Robben and pong Melo, because in truth and fact the score could have been easily 4-1 with all the goals they throw away in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 10:37:42 AM

Dread you didnt realise that the Brazilians racist too, especially to the black ethnic class in the inner cities?
Talk sense nah man!
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 10:37:52 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

Like yuhself. Who's your side again ::) ?
Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 10:38:47 AM
Braaaaa Zeeeeel.

Like yuhself. Who's your side again ::) ?

The one with a shinier world cup trophy than brazil..  ;)
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:43:04 AM

I was 4 so cyah remember if we had tv back then.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 10:43:53 AM
Hate tuh say it, but brazil was the only team that could stop argentina, now watch them take the cup, Bc neither germany, spain, ghana nor holland could beat them.

look at their game against Mexico again and rethink your assessment about Argentina
Post by: trinindian on July 02, 2010, 10:44:34 AM

And the orange army marches one

(http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs275.snc3/23261_660410342_1520_n.jpg)
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 10:45:09 AM

I agree, just yesterday it was "Brazil is a machine", "Nobody passing Lucio, Juan and Maicon", "Efficient!"..

Today its, "Brazil is cynical", "No creativity", "Defensive lapses"...

Doh mix me up in that, dread. You will not find one post where I was overly impressed with my side. I was supporting, but i wasn't blindly flag waving.

Truth is it have real snake on that side, who was camouflaging themselves on the construction site Dunga build. Today the hounds got found out.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:46:30 AM

look at their game against Mexico again and rethink your assessment about Argentina

Got 2 pass eman and dem 1st not convince it goin 2 happen.
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 10:47:52 AM
Doh mine it was browns and me alone backing d dutch, now the waggon get full now  :devil: GO HOLLAND  :beermug:
Post by: ribbit on July 02, 2010, 10:48:46 AM
guardian call this joga bullshito  ;D

Talk sense nah man!

dey also racist toward the indigenous indians.
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:49:13 AM
Doh mine it was browns and me alone backing d dutch, now the waggon get full now  :devil: GO HOLLAND  :beermug:

I thought u was in d Portugual camp?
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 10:50:20 AM

it was modern tech back then as matter of fact it was technicolor.

and guess yuh had a snatty nose as well  :devil:
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 10:51:03 AM
because in truth and fact the score could have been easily 4-1 with all the goals they throw away in the last 10 minutes.

If you using the last 10 mins of scrambling football with Brazil down to 10 men, throwing caution to the wind, and the Dutch packing the box and hoofing it up to the loafers up front.. to make any reasonable assessment of what the score could have been in that game, then you talkin' football from a real novice perspective- I eh look fuh yuh dey at all.  
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 10:52:00 AM

it was modern tech back then as matter of fact it was technicolor.

and guess yuh had a snatty nose as well  :devil:

Nah was over d snatty nose phase by 4
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 02, 2010, 10:53:56 AM

Dais d biggest weakness dey!!

(http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/carlos_0.jpg)
Post by: Marcos on July 02, 2010, 10:55:23 AM
because in truth and fact the score could have been easily 4-1 with all the goals they throw away in the last 10 minutes.

If you using the last 10 mins of scrambling football with Brazil down to 10 men, throwing caution to the wind, and the Dutch packing the box and hoofing it up to the loafers up front.. to make any reasonable assessment of what the score could have been in that game, then you talkin' football from a real novice perspective- I eh look fuh yuh dey at all.  

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Brazil fans hurtin bad boy.

F dat side
Post by: Bitter on July 02, 2010, 11:01:36 AM

You not backing Ghana? or they racist too?
Post by: Cantona007 on July 02, 2010, 11:03:59 AM

:beermug: :beermug: Albiceleste!
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 11:05:14 AM
2-1 Brazil.

yeh keep making predictions..I see some predictions of Germany beating Argentina..dem predictions will have the same outcome as yours  :D
I real coasting . Still in shock. I thought they had enough quality. I also said Melo was a goat and that play out true to form.
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 11:13:29 AM
guardian call this joga bullshito  ;D

Talk sense nah man!

dey also racist toward the indigenous indians.
Why don't you tell me all about it bight byoi. :waiting:
Post by: Cantona007 on July 02, 2010, 11:13:37 AM
robben was a fleckin pest today  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Not Robben... Sneijder was the demon.
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 11:14:00 AM

I thought u was in d Portugual camp?

Holland and Portugal.
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2010, 11:14:29 AM

You not backing Ghana? or they racist too?
Yeh and yuh sister is ah racist, but ah does still BACK she!    :whip:
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 11:15:00 AM
 ::) :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 11:16:14 AM
Forced into a substitution he didn't plan on making (Michel Bastos), Dunga got the 2d sub (Luis Fabiano) spot on ... Fuh my $$$ Dunga had a 45-60 minute max squad on the field ... poor Nilmar.

A lot of factors conspired to get this loss ... some are

1. Ramires not being able to play today in some form due to card. Not going to comment on Elano. Very related to Felipe Melo's extended presence on the field.
2. Kaka was rough ... his sharpness is clearly off ... he should have put the game away to make it 2-0. And, he made a woefully errant pass that defined a mental state in a frenzy. So too his decision to take Ooijer outside rather than inside.
3. The lack of depth in the set-play dep't was shown-up ... if not Dani Alves who? Alves was NOT the man to go to today (only Van Persie was worse) ... and, given the XI on the field I couldn't think who could reliably deliver a quality Brazilian ball from central areas (fuh like 15 seconds ah wished Ronaldinho could have morphed into Alves body)
4. Obviously Melo's card created gaps on the field ... these were almost exploited as well as Greece did v Nigeria.
5. The Dutch could have imploded, but they took halftime to quell their issues
6. Brownsugar
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 11:18:06 AM

Really!!! Go here, ah orn de fuss pg midway down:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49645.0
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 11:20:26 AM

Really!!! Go here ah orn de fuss pg:

my apologies  ;D  :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 11:20:54 AM

Coming prepared to dive doesn't take much :) ... Nah, fuh sure they did, and it might be due to the fact they didn't have much confidence in him to begin with.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 11:22:15 AM
Forced into a substitution he didn't plan on making (Michel Bastos), Dunga got the 2d sub (Luis Fabiano) spot on ... Fuh my $$$ Dunga had a 45-60 minute max squad on the field ... poor Nilmar.

1. Ramires not being able to play today in some form due to card. Not going to comment on Elano. Very related to Felipe Melo's extended presence on the field.
2. Kaka was rough ... his sharpness is clearly off ... he should have put the game away to make it 2-0. And, he made a woefully errant pass that defined a mental state in a frenzy. So too his decision to take Ooijer outside rather than inside.
3. The lack of depth in the set-play dep't was shown-up ... if not Dani Alves who? Alves was NOT the man to go to today (only Van Persie was worse) ... and, given the XI on the field I couldn't think who could reliably deliver a quality Brazilian ball from central areas (fuh like 15 seconds ah wished Ronaldinho could have morphed into Alves body)
4. Obviously Melo's card created gaps on the field ... these were almost exploited as well as Greece did v Nigeria.
6. Brownsugar
I nearly choke on my lunch .  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: lefty on July 02, 2010, 11:25:00 AM

6. Brownsugar
I nearly choke on my lunch .  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: I nearly choke period :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 11:26:35 AM
Well this is the point where I either lose interest in the cup or try to find a side worth supporting.

I would support Ghana just because is Africans, but they haven't impressed me for most of this tournament. In any case I will take them over Uruguay anyday.

As far as the pick to win the tournament, it will be the winner of the Germany-Argentina match (yes Jai John, ah know what that implies); I not putting mih money on Spain.
Post by: Fyzoman on July 02, 2010, 11:27:01 AM

Dais d biggest weakness dey!!

Exactly boss! men could talk all dey want, but dis clown with he effing clothes designed by he daughter was the weakness.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 11:31:19 AM

i go be happy

He should stay in the job. He brought something to the table. The loss was not something yuh could place firmly at his feet jes so ... although dahis where the buck stops.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 11:37:52 AM
Well this is the point where I either lose interest in the cup or try to find a side worth supporting.

I would support Ghana just because is Africans, but they haven't impressed me for most of this tournament. In any case I will take them over Uruguay anyday.

As far as the pick to win the tournament, it will be the winner of the Germany-Argentina match (yes Jai John, ah know what that implies); I not putting mih money on Spain.

Ah feel yuh ... have to say doh, Uruguay is a more balanced squad than they are given credit for. One reason they appear ultra-defensive is because they have transition issues in the middle of the park ... but I think their attacking possibilities (even what's on the bench) is just about 'there' with the defensive posture of the team.

Feel yuh on Ghana and feel yuh on Spain ... as the match evolves, if Ghana plays creditably I'll feel comfortable shedding my CONMEBOL credentials ... gawd, to lose two CONMEBOL participants in one day is tears ... buh say wha, the Dutch win was good for football!
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 11:39:20 AM
On meh way to Accra I must stop off in Amsterdam for a while to celebrate success of either teams.
Post by: elan on July 02, 2010, 11:39:49 AM

Daiz not how Brazil beat everybody else in the WC ???
Post by: dinho on July 02, 2010, 11:44:12 AM

you loss me with this one yes, i not even going and bother trying..
Post by: DeSoWa on July 02, 2010, 11:49:03 AM

Really!!! Go here ah orn de fuss pg:

my apologies  ;D  :beermug:

And look at the 2nd post after that one  ;D

Post by: ribbit on July 02, 2010, 11:55:35 AM

from dunga
to (now) dung
and (soon) to dungone!

brazil to benefit.
Post by: Observer on July 02, 2010, 11:57:19 AM
I have always been fascinated with Brazil from when I first saw their players with Santos 1969 Coutinho, Pele, Clodoraldo and then Brazil in WC 1970.
The style of the individual player was what we all wished to imitate. I remember watching
Rivelinho doing two moves we had never seen. Spanner was the first to adapt it to his game.
Well Pele was Pele, no imitation there he did everything well, left, right, head, pass, dribble, shoot.
Ever since I have supported Brazil, win or lose. Today they lost! That is football! No excuses!
Post by: kicker on July 02, 2010, 12:00:28 PM
Ever since I have supported Brazil, win or lose. Today they lost! That is football! No excuses!

That's it in a nutshell...
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 12:01:55 PM

That's it in a nutshell...

ENTTTTTTTT STILL VEX THOU
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 12:02:37 PM
I have always been fascinated with Brazil from when I first saw their players with Santos 1969 Coutinho, Pele, Clodoraldo and then Brazil in WC 1970.
The style of the individual player was what we all wished to imitate. I remember watching
Rivelinho doing two moves we had never seen. Spanner was the first to adapt it to his game.
Well Pele was Pele, no imitation there he did everything well, left, right, head, pass, dribble, shoot.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 02, 2010, 12:05:30 PM
... And today dey get they arse cut and get run out of S.A. right now  the airport over loaded with Brazilian fans,de sky caps and ticket agents busy,busy,busy!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 01:57:52 PM
Dis is for mih CEO who when ah tell him earlier in the year that ah backing Holland the man watch mih with such disdain and contempt as though ah cussing the football gods. 

Its also for mih co-worker who when, just last week Friday, I asked "which team yuh backing??" he give mih de ever popular "Brazil duh...."

ORANJE!!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 02:12:11 PM

6. Brownsugar

I now seeing this....:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Spursy on July 02, 2010, 02:47:53 PM

Head-to-Head

draws 4

Holland have met Brazil three times at a fifa world cup. Both sides have a win and a single draw however the orange has one more goal scored in 5 vs brazil 4.
In International friendlies Brazil have the edge with 2 wins vs hollands solo win in six encounters.
Brazil scoring 10 total goals in friendlies, 2 less than holland.

Under 20 team has met once at fifa world cup only to draw.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/statisticsandrecords/headtohead/team1=bra/team2=ned/index.html

Tough, but we shall see whom is more important, Julio/Maicon/Lucio or Sniejder

SNEIJDER BEST MIDFIELDER IN THE WORLD
Post by: Toppa on July 02, 2010, 04:34:50 PM
 :-\
Post by: Toppa on July 02, 2010, 07:10:27 PM
 :-[

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs038.snc4/34245_1460577229576_1087778023_1319391_2349490_n.jpg)
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 07:23:39 PM
lol...to paraphrase de PNM supporters...and sum up both Weary and Observer

"Ah Vex...but ah still backing Brazil!  ;D
Post by: giggsy11 on July 02, 2010, 07:27:54 PM
Dunga quit!
Post by: giggsy11 on July 02, 2010, 07:33:54 PM
Dunga set the tone for how Brasil reacted when they experienced adversity. His complaining and prancing on the sidelines when Brasil didn't calls set a very poor example!
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 07:53:26 PM
lol...to paraphrase de PNM supporters...and sum up both Weary and Observer

"Ah Vex...but ah still backing Brazil!  ;D

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Midknight on July 02, 2010, 08:16:04 PM
life (and football) strange oui?

imagine you is one of the less heralded players on your team. You set up the goal in the 10th minute and then your team cruising.

you come out at half time with your coach praising you.

Next thing you know, you score ah own goal, your team behind and you get send off and the same coach won't even look at you...

And doh even talk bout yuh own people when you come off the plane

Jeezan...
Post by: weary1969 on July 02, 2010, 08:43:13 PM
Dunga quit!

gr8 all d lovers of flair will find a coach to take we 2 d top in Rio. I bookin meh seat 4 d final
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 08:49:23 PM
Dunga quit!
He said that wasn't going to continue after the World Cup some time ago.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 08:56:20 PM
life (and football) strange oui?

imagine you is one of the less heralded players on your team. You set up the goal in the 10th minute and then your team cruising.

you come out at half time with your coach praising you.

Next thing you know, you score ah own goal, your team behind and you get send off and the same coach won't even look at you...

And doh even talk bout yuh own people when you come off the plane

Jeezan...
(http://www.windrifthill.com/Images/Farm/goat3a.jpg)http://www.youtube.com/v/F7WVGBdnqA8
Post by: Bakes on July 02, 2010, 09:19:07 PM

Spot on.  Brazil's weakest link was mental.  This is a squad so used to winning that they seemed to be on cruise control after Robinho's early goal... and get beat real foolish on that free kick.  I ent personally like that Robben make ah meal of the non-foul, but it was a good call, even without contact.  I surprise nobody calling out Julio Cesar (in addition to the defense) on that play.  Was real surprised at how easily they lost their composure after that.

Doh mine it was browns and me alone backing d dutch, now the waggon get full now  :devil: GO HOLLAND  :beermug:

Of course... de two ah allyuh is de diehards and everybody else is waggonists.

Anyways... I only juss finish watching de game and it was a bit anti-climactic after getting the news earlier.  Part of me still can't believe the Dutch actually rose to the occasion... but another part reminds me that Brazil is always the most underachieving team at the World Cup.  There is a sense of entitlement to their play (which they rightly deserve to flaunt to be fair) and their fans (particularly the Brazilians themselves) always look at the Cup as theirs to lose.  Much of that is justified based on their talent, pedigree and track record... but for all of that they don't deliver nearly as much as they should.  In that context this loss is no surprise... but on the strength of their dominance this Cup one almost felt as though they were toying with the competition, waiting to turn it up when necessary. Unfortunately for them "when necessary" came after they were already down a goal... and soon after, down a man.

Go Oranje... between allyuh and Spain, somebody go shake off the "underachiever" label this World Cup :beermug:
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 02, 2010, 09:25:38 PM
Congrats, in particular, to BrownSugar because she drinkin' she oranje juice from day one.  Take some vodka in yuh glass, Gyul!  :beermug:......and congrats to the netherlands and their fans.  

In sports as in life yuh hadda take de good wit de bad but today is a rel bad day to be a supporter of Brazil and Africa in the world of football.  While the officiating was poor and arjen robben, van bommel and ooijer was getting away with murder with their respective theatrics and persistent foul play, Brazil did themselves in by giving in to their emotions and believing they can beat europeans at the only game europeans can beat Brazil at on a football field and that is theatrics and semantics.  The Germany '06 game between holland and portugal as well as robben's history of semantics should have had Dunga and Brazil better prepared, mentally, and better prepared, strategically, to win this game by doing what they do best and that is beating all other nations at just playing football.   The first half showed how easy it would have been but Brazil didn't stick to what was working best for them.  A whole lot of praise has to be showered upon maartin stekelenburg, as well.  There's a reason why he is keeping Kenneth Vermeer on the bench at Ajax and he showed it today.  Them two brilliant saves on those shots by Kaka and Maicon were fine examples of agility, reflexes and positioning and they kept his team from being 3-0 down at the half.

For the people that want to be overly hard on Michel Bastos have to remember, Dunga insist on playing the man out of position.  He is NOT a left back and most of those fouls called against him on robben was more him being a victim of robben's theatrics than anything.  Back to taking the good with the bad....under Dunga, Brazil has been relatively succesful.  They won Copa America, Confederations Cup and topped CONMEBOL in qualifying.  They lost out in the ever-elusive Olympics.  Unfortunately, they lost today in the most important tournament in the world and dunga insisted on doing it his way.  Well....."his way" have them writing "vuvuzelas" on the "anything to declare" section on their customs forms while that tournament is still going on.  I don't care what anybody says, Ronaldinho would have made a difference with this team over the course of the tournament and I think it would have made a difference today.  Good night, all.                
Post by: julie_mango on July 02, 2010, 09:46:57 PM
So in other words Brazil shouldah win but Dunga mess them up?  Typical Brazillian fan....

Congrats, in particular, to BrownSugar because she drinkin' she oranje juice from day one.  Take some vodka in yuh glass, Gyul!  :beermug:......and congrats to the netherlands and their fans.  

In sports as in life yuh hadda take de good wit de bad but today is a rel bad day to be a supporter of Brazil and Africa in the world of football.  While the officiating was poor and arjen robben, van bommel and ooijer was getting away with murder with their respective theatrics and persistent foul play, Brazil did themselves in by giving in to their emotions and believing they can beat europeans at the only game europeans can beat Brazil at on a football field and that is theatrics and semantics.  The Germany '06 game between holland and portugal as well as robben's history of semantics should have had Dunga and Brazil better prepared, mentally, and better prepared, strategically, to win this game by doing what they do best and that is beating all other nations at just playing football.   The first half showed how easy it would have been but Brazil didn't stick to what was working best for them.  A whole lot of praise has to be showered upon maartin stekelenburg, as well.  There's a reason why he is keeping Kenneth Vermeer on the bench at Ajax and he showed it today.  Them two brilliant saves on those shots by Kaka and Maicon were fine examples of agility, reflexes and positioning and they kept his team from being 3-0 down at the half.

For the people that want to be overly hard on Michel Bastos have to remember, Dunga insist on playing the man out of position.  He is NOT a left back and most of those fouls called against him on robben was more him being a victim of robben's theatrics than anything.  Back to taking the good with the bad....under Dunga, Brazil has been relatively succesful.  They won Copa America, Confederations Cup and topped CONMEBOL in qualifying.  They lost out in the ever-elusive Olympics.  Unfortunately, they lost today in the most important tournament in the world and dunga insisted on doing it his way.  Well....."his way" have them writing "vuvuzelas" on the "anything to declare" section on their customs forms while that tournament is still going on.  I don't care what anybody says, Ronaldinho would have made a difference with this team over the course of the tournament and I think it would have made a difference today.  Good night, all.                
Post by: ribbit on July 02, 2010, 10:12:38 PM
the one time brazil was behind in the tournament, they couldn't find a way back. in this respect, they join spain, portugal and chile in that they were ultimately unsuccessful chasing the game. seems both uruguay and the netherlands have been able to reverse an early deficit - sets up an interesting SF.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 10:30:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/xsqpekepa_c

http://www.youtube.com/v/AiqvbMFPoYU
Anybody could translate ?
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 02, 2010, 10:40:20 PM
the one time brazil was behind in the tournament, they couldn't find a way back. in this respect, they join spain, portugal and chile in that they were ultimately unsuccessful chasing the game. seems both uruguay and the netherlands have been able to reverse an early deficit - sets up an interesting SF.

I eh so sure that being behind is what the issue was......I think that the Brazilians let (in their minds) the officiating get to them.  You could see their frustration building as the game progressed, even before holland  scored the first goal.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 10:42:02 PM

I eh so sure that being behind is what the issue was......I think that the Brazilians let (in their minds) the officiating get to them.  You could see their frustration building as the game progressed, even before holland  scored the first goal.
Dunga looked like he was ready to explode since the first half.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 02, 2010, 10:43:22 PM
http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/Dunga+stupid+Stunned+Brazilians+blame+coach+lack+style+Brazil+crashes/3228895/story.html (http://www.vancouversun.com/sports/Dunga+stupid+Stunned+Brazilians+blame+coach+lack+style+Brazil+crashes/3228895/story.html)

"Felipe Melo shouldn't spend his vacation in Brazil," Ronaldo, the striker who led Brazil to its most recent World Cup title in 2002, wrote on his Twitter.

Post by: Mango Chow! on July 02, 2010, 10:51:05 PM

Yeah, and alot of people are blaming the team's losing their cool on his sideline reactions. 
well, it's not the first time I've seen Brazil react this way to losing a game like this.  I've also seen them lose games fair and square without all the diving and theatrics (to France, 3 times) and they took their losses with even tempers. If you believe that a team is a reflection of their coach, then I guess one can argue it.....but I think under the circumstances even Del Bosque would have been as animated as Dunga was, today.   holland was really overdoing the theatrics, but, again, Dunga should have worked on getting his team to expect that from the dutch.  Who knows.....maybe he did.  :( 
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 02, 2010, 11:09:15 PM
So in other words Brazil shouldah win but Dunga mess them up?  Typical Brazillian fan....

Dunga muss be a "typical Brazilian fan", too." 

"..."We are all responsible for this situation but I have the greatest responsibility,"

His words.
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 12:50:27 AM

Yeah, and alot of people are blaming the team's losing their cool on his sideline reactions. 
well, it's not the first time I've seen Brazil react this way to losing a game like this.  I've also seen them lose games fair and square without all the diving and theatrics (to France, 3 times) and they took their losses with even tempers. If you believe that a team is a reflection of their coach, then I guess one can argue it.....but I think under the circumstances even Del Bosque would have been as animated as Dunga was, today.   holland was really overdoing the theatrics, but, again, Dunga should have worked on getting his team to expect that from the dutch.  Who knows.....maybe he did.  :( 

ah just finished watching the game. imho, the officiating didn't really seem to be a problem until brazil was behind. van bommel definitely should have picked up a card later in the game for persistent fouling. however the ref seemed to be calling arm-in-the-back and body positioning consistently. the one time a brazillian player (i think it was gilberto melo) get in front of robben, the ref call the foul on robben. bastos have a new daddy.

throughout the game, ah find way too many brazillian attacks were on the ground and up the middle (i.e. through kaka). kaka wasn't moving much at all. after that first goal, holland woke up and closed down that middle; after this going through the middle made holland's job easier. brazil looked better when maicon was going down the wing, but this didn't happen much at all. also, alves did nothing with set pieces. i didn't see the chile game, but ah feel things would have been very different with elano instead of alves.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 05:17:10 AM

Doh mine it was browns and me alone backing d dutch, now the waggon get full now  :devil: GO HOLLAND  :beermug:

Yes.  When me and DHW taking pound whole week, where yuh was eh?  eh?   :devil: ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 05:37:39 AM

ah just finished watching the game. imho, the officiating didn't really seem to be a problem until brazil was behind. van bommel definitely should have picked up a card later in the game for persistent fouling. however the ref seemed to be calling arm-in-the-back and body positioning consistently. the one time a brazillian player (i think it was gilberto melo) get in front of robben, the ref call the foul on robben. bastos have a new daddy.

throughout the game, ah find way too many brazillian attacks were on the ground and up the middle (i.e. through kaka). kaka wasn't moving much at all. after that first goal, holland woke up and closed down that middle; after this going through the middle made holland's job easier. brazil looked better when maicon was going down the wing, but this didn't happen much at all. also, alves did nothing with set pieces. i didn't see the chile game, but ah feel things would have been very different with elano instead of alves.

Nah, jed, the officiating was a problem from the earlies.  Efan Ekoku commented from early in the first half about Dunga and his semantics on the sideline.....you could see Luis Fabiano was one of the men getting frustrated from the first half......the tension was mounting even though Brazil was in control of the game.    Most of the fouls the Brazilians committed were (rightfully) called but there was a lot of theatrics that went rewarded for the dutch and a lot of fouling that they got away with and even when he did call them on some of their fouls, certain players that were supposed to get yellow carded for persistent foul play from early on were not. nigel de jong and andre ooijer are the first ones that come to mind.....van bommel could be added to that list but he seemed to have stepped up his fouling in the second half when Brazil imploded.  Brazil has never been a team to mentally/emotionally handle a game "not going their way", which, imho is a euphemism for "not getting their calls/poor officiating".  I've seen them lose many, many games before.  Big games, from Olympic knockout games in Atlanta, Sydney, etc, WC games and qualifiers to Argentina and they've taken their losses in stride.  When they have lost AND the officiating didn't favour them....I've seen yesterday happen the same way before, as well.  Maybe it's a cultural thing but they need to learn to keep their emotions in check in them kindsa circumstances.  This ref did a poor game, no doubt, but they shouldn't just expect the game to play out for them the way they expect it to.  Anymore. 
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 06:03:05 AM
Melo could be let off the hook with this one....well sort of....

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1266860/index.html#sneijder+credited+with+first+goal+dutch+quarter+final+victory (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1266860/index.html#sneijder+credited+with+first+goal+dutch+quarter+final+victory)

Sneijder credited with first goal in Dutch quarter-final victory
(FIFA.com) Saturday 3 July 2010

Who should get the credit for a goal? At times it is not 100 per cent clear, but in the case of a FIFA competition, it is the FIFA Technical Study Group who ultimately decide.

Shots which are on target (i.e. goal bound) and come off a defender, or shots which rebound from the goal-frame and bounce-off a defender or goalkeeper may be considered as an own goal, but in the instance of the Netherlands opening goal against Brazil, the TSG have decided to credit the goal to the attacking player.

Therefore, Netherlands midfielder Wesley Sneijder now has 4 goals so far in the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, taking him level with Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina), Robert Vittek (Slovakia) and David Villa (Spain) at the top of the goal scoring chart.

Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 07:32:53 AM

Yes.  When me and DHW taking pound whole week, where yuh was eh?  eh?   :devil: ;D

tell him  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2010, 08:58:05 AM

Yuh eh see I scarce all tournament  :-\

This de most amount ah games I miss watching live since I watching World Cup.  But I cyah compare tuh you with yuh passion fuh yuh team, lol
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 08:59:56 AM

Yuh eh see I scarce all tournament  :-\

This de most amount ah games I miss watching live since I watching World Cup.  But I cyah compare tuh you with yuh passion fuh yuh team, lol

Alright, alright, ah forgive yuh... ;D
Post by: che on July 03, 2010, 10:25:12 AM
Pele criticizing Brazil and Argentina points to a Braz v Arg final. thats the way it normally tends to work when he open he mouth.

looks like goat mouth Pele was right for a change.
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 10:29:56 AM

looks like goat mouth Pele was right for a change.

Well spotted!  ;)
Post by: Sando prince on July 03, 2010, 11:21:57 AM

say what  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 11:37:08 AM

say what  :rotfl: :rotfl:

It's all good, lil fella.  God willing, I will be right dey wit dem when dey lift de cup in Rio in four years.
Post by: Midknight on July 03, 2010, 07:49:42 PM
Melo could be let off the hook with this one....well sort of....

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1266860/index.html#sneijder+credited+with+first+goal+dutch+quarter+final+victory (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1266860/index.html#sneijder+credited+with+first+goal+dutch+quarter+final+victory)

Sneijder credited with first goal in Dutch quarter-final victory
(FIFA.com) Saturday 3 July 2010

Who should get the credit for a goal? At times it is not 100 per cent clear, but in the case of a FIFA competition, it is the FIFA Technical Study Group who ultimately decide.

Shots which are on target (i.e. goal bound) and come off a defender, or shots which rebound from the goal-frame and bounce-off a defender or goalkeeper may be considered as an own goal, but in the instance of the Netherlands opening goal against Brazil, the TSG have decided to credit the goal to the attacking player.

Therefore, Netherlands midfielder Wesley Sneijder now has 4 goals so far in the 2010 FIFA World Cup™, taking him level with Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina), Robert Vittek (Slovakia) and David Villa (Spain) at the top of the goal scoring chart.

ah wonder if ah go retroactively get the points for mih fantasy side? :thinking:

I doubt it.
Post by: YoursTruly on July 04, 2010, 03:01:44 PM
Brazil confirm Dunga dismissal

The Brazilian Football Federation (CBF) has confirmed that Dunga has been dismissed following the country's quarter-final exit.

Dunga signed a four-year deal in 2006 and he led Brazil to success in the 2007 Copa America as well as last year's Confederations Cup, but he received frequent criticism for his defensive approach to the game.

Following the surprise 2-1 defeat to Netherlands, Dunga said: "Everyone knows that I came into the Brazil job for a four-year period."

However, on his return to his Porto Alegre home on Sunday, he had indicated that he could stay on. "I am going to rest for one or two weeks, and when the CBF president (Ricardo Teixeira) returns from Africa, we can talk. Things will depend on what he says. I worked with an excellent group of players and we lost just six games. We were the Copa America champions."

The CBF, though, has released him from his contract and now plans to announce his replacement in the near future.

"The CBF announces that the technical committee of the national team has been released," a statement on the CBF's official website read. "The new technical committee will be announced later this month."

Former AC Milan boss Leonardo is believed to be the main contender to replace Dunga.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/805999/ce/uk/?cc=3888&ver=global
Title: World Cup 2010 - Melo forced to hide from angry fans
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 05:29:48 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/08072010/58/world-cup-2010-melo-forced-hide-angry-fans.html

Brazil star Felipe Melo has gone into hiding to avoid furious fans blaming him for his country's early exit at the World Cup.

The Juventus midfielder flew to Brazil before pre-season starts in Italy, but instead of returning home he shut himself off with his family in a rented house in the resort of Buzios to get away from the abuse of fans and media.

The 27-year-old needed an armed guard on his arrival back at Rio de Janeiro airport when thousands of angry fans surged towards the Brazil team to voice their displeasure at a disappointing World Cup.

Melo was sent off for an impetuous foul during Brazil's 2-1 quarter-final defeat by the Netherlands, and had earlier been awarded an own goal.

The goal was later credited to Dutch playmaker Wesley Sneijder, but Melo is still regarded as a villain throughout the football-mad country.

It marks the end of a nightmare season for Melo, who disappointed at Juve after his £21 million move to the Turin giants last summer.
Eurosport