May 20, 2024, 10:36:37 PM

Author Topic: Jose considers Drogba for defensive switch  (Read 3222 times)

Jose considers Drogba for defensive switch
« on: December 28, 2006, 01:49:29 PM »
www.soccer365.com

Jose Mourinho has admitted that only a shortage of strikers has stopped him switching Didier Drogba to central defence.

The Ivory Coast man has been Chelsea's player of the season and has become the Premiership's leading scorer.

But Mourinho has considered using his talents in other areas after injury to John Terry and the poor form of Khalid Boulahrouz.

It's a pity I have also problems in attack because if in this moment I have other strikers playing at a great level I would play Didier as central defender," Mourinho said in the Daily Mirror.

"He is one of the best players in the team at the moment. He is playing fantastic.

"He scores goals and he also fights for the team. He was also good in defensive areas. He is playing absolutely brilliant.

"But I cannot do it because in attack I have also a lot of problems.

"I have no Joe Cole, I have no Robben...and I have Andrei Shevchenko playing very, very far from his level.

"In this moment I have just Didier as the only attacking player and I cannot play him as a central defender."

Chelsea are now inevitably being linked with other defenders, with Micah Richards and Matthew Upson the first names mentioned.

Re: Jose considers Drogba for defensive switch
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2006, 02:21:20 PM »
Basically the man saying that the only attacking option he has is Drogba, what a diss to Shevchenko. Obafemi Martins has started to adapt to the EPL style and doing well, so Sheva's excuses are running out.

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2006, 02:30:06 PM »
Basically the man saying that the only attacking option he has is Drogba, what a diss to Shevchenko. Obafemi Martins has started to adapt to the EPL style and doing well, so Sheva's excuses are running out.

Excellent point!!

He real dis sheva dey boy!!

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2006, 02:39:02 PM »

Sheva's excuses are running out because Obafemi is having a better season than he is ?

So Obafemi is Sheva's benchmark for adaptability and vice versa ? Why ? because they both came from Serie A ?

Come on now.....there are way too many factors in the equation for it to be looked at so simply.

Every player is different, they are playing in different systems and naturally each will take a different amount of time to adapt.

« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2006, 02:57:59 PM »
i agree with you kicker, but at the end of the day, sheva is a goal scorer and his job is to adapt to whatever system he plays in and scores goal.

he has been at chelsea for more than 5 months now and i think that he needs to start banging in some more goals.

With that said, i think sheva is a bit unlucky in the premier league.

I have been watching all of chelsea's games and i could tell you that he has hit the post and has had brilliant saves and near misses many times.

If luck was on his side, he would have had at least ten goals by now.

« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2006, 03:37:13 PM »
i agree with you kicker, but at the end of the day, sheva is a goal scorer and his job is to adapt to whatever system he plays in and scores goal.

no doubt....I just don't think that using Oba's recent success as an indictment on Sheva is fair.

« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2006, 03:37:24 PM »
and he finally do it....
taken from Skysports.com

Chelsea captain John Terry has undergone a successful operation on his back.

Terry has missed the club's last four games with the complaint, but underwent surgery on the problem on Thursday.

The club have confirmed the operation was a success, but have not put a timescale on when the defender will be fit to return.

"Chelsea Football Club can confirm that today (Thursday) club captain John Terry underwent successful surgery following his back injury," read a statement on the club's official website.

"The operation took place in France following consultation between the Chelsea medical department and a leading neurosurgical specialist.

"The operation to remove a sequestrated lumbar intervertebral disc was successful and everyone at the club wishes John a speedy and full recovery."

During Terry's absence, Chelsea have kept just one clean sheet in four games - the 1-0 Carling Cup win over Newcastle United.

In the three Premiership fixtures Terry has missed, The Blues have conceded two goals in each match and now trail Manchester United by four points in the title race.

« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2006, 03:40:28 PM »
 Sheva too slow for EPL..Not speedwise but in reaction...Martins get a hang of it and is doing very well....His finishing need a little polishing though but I think next year in EPL he would have a very big season...Sheva feel he would get time and space to set up them sharp shooting chances like in Serie A...Martins has speed to compensate also he much better at finding himself in the channels for scoring than he was in Serie A(my opinion)...

« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2006, 03:53:53 PM »
Martin's game is a better fit for the Prem. He is quick, has a decent touch, but is not as technical as Sheva.  His work rate seems to be a cut above Sheva's and his manager stuck with him when everyone else was on his back.  Mourinho needs to stand by his man, cause he paid a lot of money for Sheva.  Class is permanent.

« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2006, 03:54:50 PM »
drogba so ungainly at times, just imagine him as a defender, i feel he will concede tons of free kicks, penalties...

« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2006, 04:09:14 PM »

I agree with Jayerson.  And sayin that Shevchenko hit the post and get saved brilliantly means nothing because it happen to Martins too. That and being called back for offside just because he so fast.
Shevchenko just not performing and if he need half a season or more to adapt then he can't complain when the manager benches him.

Offline 1989

« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2006, 05:28:39 PM »
Steups, allyuh eh hear a word the man say.

The man said that he moving Drogba to make room for Stern! ;D

Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2006, 07:11:59 PM »
hmmmmm Desperate eh Jose?

Terry out at least a month ;)

did surgery today..successful but  still hurts Chelski..  they reallll lucky that the Transfer Window opens soon

I'm guessing we will be seeing Cannavaro in a blues shirt soon then lol

« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2006, 07:15:59 PM »
drogba so ungainly at times, just imagine him as a defender, i feel he will concede tons of free kicks, penalties...
Drogba is a defender who was converted to striker.

« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2006, 12:23:00 AM »

schupssssss, how you go even phantom moving drogba to defender? ??? mourinho is an idiot to say dat, martins is a boss, i could have tell him dat from b4..

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2006, 01:35:40 AM »
d man is not a idiot...it have ways to heap praise on a player than just say "HE IS A GREAT PLAYER"....hence y all the restating of how brilliant he palying(it is jsutified tho he is playing tops).

as for martins and shevchenko...martins doing the job credit to him...happy for him....and tho the excus of henry not firing at first seemed a smilar one for sheva it no longer exists...i think sheva is working hard and it shows whn he plays ..just he is a striker and as such will be judged as a striker and with his record and current performances ...he cant complain about riding pine..

I do say one thing tho...it reminds me of how a striker with a good record of scoring for his country was doubted by many but came through whn it needed most...almost gives me a brief yet STERN thought  ;D

« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2006, 07:42:27 AM »
Is not just the EPL Sheva have to adapt to..it's the style of play of the team. When u accustomed getting ball from Kaka and Seedorf at milan...to adapt to Lampard and Essien and Ballack running into the same channels as you and more adept at sending direct balls than short passes...it not that easy.

Martins have a side that playing with width and if you notice, he start to score when Dyer back in the side, a man who is run at the defence and create space. If Robben and Joe Cole were playing and Chelsea were playing like they did last year, Shevchenko would probably perform better.

Last year, when Chelsea played with wide men Drogba was the distraction allowing Lampard to make late runs into the box and score the goals.This year, he become the beneficiary because of the change of style and a more narrow approach.

« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2006, 09:09:00 AM »
While I would agree that Shevchenko needs to step up I don't think the comparison is fair. As stated earlier they are completely different players playing on completely different teams.

From the very first time I saw Martins play I thought he would do well in England- speed, acceleration, bravery and a not too horrible touch. I think he's got the ingredients to light up that league in the coming years. Even with all those qualities it took him some time to get started.

Shevchenko on the other hand is a more tactical player and better finisher than Martins. I think he needs to step up his running of the ball and let his natural ability take it from there.

« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2006, 09:26:37 AM »
If you look at Drogba's physical attributes and never heard of his goalscoring prowess, he'd qualify as a defender. He is powerfully built and not so easily shoved off the ball, he wins headers, he is constantly running...on shoulder-to-shoulder he usually gets the ball as well - most of the same physical principles on which K. Jones used to be a defender.

That said, it makes no sense putting him in defense as he is the best striker for Chelsea, if not in the EPL right now.

« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2006, 10:14:22 AM »
While Jose laughs at how easy it is to confuse the critics he has made a stunning change in putting Essien in the right back position and allowing BALLACK ROOM IN MIDFIELD. Essien really surprised me how easily he adapted to the position. He might even be in the running to cement that position on a select team at the end of the season. If jose really wantted to move a player Essien is a better fit in the centre of the defence than Drogba. I suspect that like always Jose is just giving the reporters something to grumble about. drogba has saved Chelsea so many times this season I dont think Jose will easily forget that.