May 13, 2024, 03:12:50 PM

Author Topic: RETURN OF GREEN SANDS  (Read 25643 times)

Re: RETURN OF GREEN SANDS
« Reply #30 on: April 03, 2007, 02:51:48 PM »
Greensands
Non alchaholic sandy with apple and lime extracts. This product pours smells and tastes like bear, but it is totally non alchoholic 330ml cans.
this not very clear and it use to come in a bottle also..see if this will jog allyuh memeory. i SO happy it come back! ah go get drunk  :D

hmmm if ah remember well, the original had a little alcoh in it..cya remember how much, but it was ah mix of lager beer and lime.

« Reply #31 on: April 03, 2007, 03:01:07 PM »
ponders Green Sands....
oh yeah i remember that
meh fadda ban meh from drinking it....
and by dey time ah get big oman dey stop selling

so is safe fur meh to say ah never drink it  :-\

Hun, yuh real miss out on ah great drink  ;D was drinking dat since ah was 12  :beermug: dey say it was safe even for pregnant women..alcoh content very minimal  ;D

ya know something...when ya call meh "Hun" ah does feel reel nice for about 6 minutes
den ah does remember dat oman in Trinidad...dey one nah...pfft >:(

wha oman is dat hun?   ??? and ah serious eh...anyways...dis is about green sands..ah wish ah could get one now oui.  ;D

oh ya ain't throw waist for carnival ??
well ah like ya again..... ;D :-*

Offline noname

« Reply #32 on: April 03, 2007, 07:54:40 PM »
Greensands
Non alchaholic sandy with apple and lime extracts. This product pours smells and tastes like bear, but it is totally non alchoholic 330ml cans.
this not very clear and it use to come in a bottle also..see if this will jog allyuh memeory. i SO happy it come back! ah go get drunk  :D

Unless Green Sands change their recipe, it always had alcohol in that drink. I think it was close to 1.5% alcohol content.

« Reply #33 on: April 03, 2007, 11:02:12 PM »
Greensands

not for me nah...on de other hand dem fellers up in de Yukon might like it

de real Green Sands have alco in it and have no animal flavour  :D

« Reply #34 on: April 04, 2007, 03:37:53 AM »
Unless Green Sands change their recipe, it always had alcohol in that drink. I think it was close to 1.5% alcohol content.
since the end of 2002 it has been non-alcoholic
http://www.multibintang.co.id/
click on products then click on Green Sands
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #35 on: April 04, 2007, 05:50:52 AM »
Whaaattt??!!!...Green Sands had alcohol in it??....well nobody never tell my mother cuz de amount I drink growing up.....ah eh goh lie dat was a boss drink....Shandy cyar walk in Green Sands shoes....or should dat be....poured in Green Sands bottle.... ;D

Thank you Lord Green Sands is back!!!....
« Last Edit: April 04, 2007, 07:45:19 AM by brownsugar »

« Reply #36 on: April 04, 2007, 07:00:53 AM »
Somebody fill in the blanks nah ... when did G/Sands appear/disappear from the market?

Yuh know, it never occurred to me that the beverage was NOT a local product ...

Offline noname

« Reply #37 on: April 04, 2007, 07:21:05 AM »
since the end of 2002 it has been non-alcoholic
http://www.multibintang.co.id/
click on products then click on Green Sands

Thanks for that link. Now I go be hesitant to try that new recipe. I'm not an alcoholic but I cant imagine it will be as good as I remember if its basically a softdrink.
I've always wondered bout who made it though.

« Reply #38 on: April 04, 2007, 11:55:57 AM »
Somebody fill in the blanks nah ... when did G/Sands appear/disappear from the market?

Yuh know, it never occurred to me that the beverage was NOT a local product ...

From what I remembered, back in the day when it had STAG made and bottled by the National Brewing Company, they also used to distribute our much loved Green Sands (a european product). Then sometime in the late 80's or early 90's Carib Brewery took over National Brewing Company and Stag. They suddenly stopped distributing Green Sands and started making Shandy (took the name from Green Sands Shandy) meaning ah mixture of lager beer and something. They could not make one with lime cause did not have the license for it..so they started their own...Shandy Ginger and Sorrel.

Dais my story  ;D

« Reply #39 on: April 04, 2007, 11:59:27 AM »
I hear they havign a fete to relaunch it. in anchorage!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #40 on: April 04, 2007, 12:00:55 PM »
I hear they havign a fete to relaunch it. in anchorage!!

You serious ? ;D dat bigger than I thought...and to think the TTFF cya even make money with ah fete  :devil:

« Reply #41 on: April 04, 2007, 12:31:22 PM »
Just let the wife know it's coming back - but she's telling me she still likes the sweet sorrel shandy over this...

the old labels:

« Last Edit: April 04, 2007, 12:38:56 PM by E-man »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #42 on: April 04, 2007, 03:20:22 PM »
yes yes yes..all de talk all yuh talking. Who senning me ah case??  :beermug:

« Reply #43 on: April 04, 2007, 04:54:08 PM »
umm me ain't greedy like Queen. All i want is just one...meh never taste it :(

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #44 on: April 04, 2007, 05:38:49 PM »
send meh a case. Ah go email one fuh Cana

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #45 on: April 04, 2007, 05:46:46 PM »
First time I hearing bout dis Green sands ting  :(
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #46 on: April 04, 2007, 11:32:40 PM »
Just let the wife know it's coming back - but she's telling me she still likes the sweet sorrel shandy over this...

the old labels:

Nice find e-man

This one was the real thing

It had a tiny touch of alco it. I remember all dem Convent and SAGHS girls used to hide and drink it in school and feel dey rebelling

« Reply #47 on: April 06, 2007, 02:14:22 PM »
Any trini peeps try it out yet? is it as good as the original? ah want to know..

« Reply #48 on: April 06, 2007, 02:21:08 PM »
Hear wha I is get nearly everyting in the chinese stores from pomarac to tunnocks caramel,...chances are it go be in a malaysian store  ;)
« Last Edit: April 06, 2007, 02:44:15 PM by Compre »

« Reply #49 on: April 06, 2007, 05:09:59 PM »
Hear wha I is get nearly everyting in the chinese stores from pomarac to tunnocks caramel,...chances are it go be in a malaysian store  ;)
Ya Lie!!!
i goin day now fa now
Tanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #50 on: April 06, 2007, 05:15:40 PM »
Ya Lie!!!
i goin day now fa now
Tanks
lol yeah ah lie  ;D ,but ah tink my sister say they have ...

« Reply #51 on: April 06, 2007, 07:35:14 PM »
i never knew Green Sands had alco in it
then was only afew years ago after reading a Shandy label i realize it had alco in it lol

try this..take a beer and add 7up or Sprite, mix to taste and tell meh what it taste like  ;)

« Reply #52 on: April 08, 2007, 12:01:57 PM »
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay SAH!!  Please allyuh, ah hope allyuh eh mamguyin' meh here yuh know!!  Green Sands coming BACK!!                                         
    :party: :wavetowel: :party: :wavetowel: :party: :wavetowel:

I happier than a runaway slave!!  All Cannings have to do now is bring back "Mango" and I go be happier than a runaway slave.....wit' property!!

« Reply #53 on: April 08, 2007, 12:34:17 PM »
Alright Folks lemme give yuh the Scoop....I mean Sip.

Hi Lo Maraval.

They had none on the shelves, everyone say it sold out...but I find three cases hiding behind a shelf in the aisle with the biscuit and crix.

I buss the top case easy easy and minus 6 bottles and I gorn by the cashier.

The cost of a bottle of this ting is $7.29 Plus Vat.

So after placing it in my freezer for 90 Minutes here is the verdict.

I pull it out with a thin layer of frost on the bottle.....

The top was semi icy and it was perfect.

That said, first things first......The Smell from the cap and bottle has changed. It is not longer the nice Lemon Smell. It smelling like Shady Lime.

Consistency, not thick and aleish like the Green Sands of old...it a tad watery.

Taste, a bit watered down, not like the original, not lemony, but tasting a bit like Shandy lime.

The label has been modernised, with some grey and green shading,

It is 1.2% Alchol volume and it Says a refreshing blend of  Larger beer and Lemonade.

Ingredients: Water, Beer, Sugar, Lime Extract

Produced and Bottled by WInward & Leeward Brewery LTD. St. Judes Highway, Box 237 Vieux Fort, St. Lucia

Distributed by Heinekin Trinidad and Tobago Ltd.

Chaguanas Trinidad W.I.

Final Verdict.

I disappointed....once the novelty wear off I will stick to Stag and Sorrel Shandy.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2007, 12:38:42 PM by Touches »

« Reply #54 on: April 08, 2007, 07:06:33 PM »
oh gorm touches yuh coulda lie to we

two pages of people droolin for dis ting and yuh kick it dong in one swoop  :D

ah still go buy ah case if ah see it

« Reply #55 on: April 08, 2007, 11:23:18 PM »
Waayys sah... :( dais ah green sands jr, not de real thing..or is it dat it's been so long dat the taste buds change?  ;D

« Reply #56 on: April 11, 2007, 07:14:45 PM »
Folks i have to change meh verdict

This is because after sipping on a few....purchased at different locations and at different temperatures I would say they still experimenting.

I get a thickish one with the rich taste of old and that was at normal fridge temperature.

Then I get one ice cold frosty that tasted different.

I have to try it hot with some ice in a glass to give alyuh that sample.

Other than that it tasting decent and I will give it a 6.5-7 out of ten.

It all over now so getting one should be easy.

Only thing it kinda pricey ..... cold is nearly 9.50 and dat is in a HiLo.

I feel Bar price could be around 12$ so.

Also for those who never taste it Angostura LLB...Lemon Lime and Bitters is a nice drink too.

« Reply #57 on: August 03, 2007, 12:19:18 PM »

Also for those who never taste it Angostura LLB...Lemon Lime and Bitters is a nice drink too.

On my recent trip to T&T I tried all them new/reintroduced things. LLB I have to say was the best. I have one can left I brought back sitting in the fridge - when that's gone it's gone.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #58 on: August 03, 2007, 12:20:56 PM »

On my recent trip to T&T I tried all them new/reintroduced things. LLB I have to say was the best. I have one can left I brought back sitting in the fridge - when that's gone it's gone.

E-man...it have LLB in Toronto...come fuh some nah!!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #59 on: August 03, 2007, 12:22:26 PM »

E-man...it have LLB in Toronto...come fuh some nah!!!

Maybe I will find some in NY - I'm going there in a couple weeks