May 11, 2024, 04:32:08 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland Forever Thread.  (Read 613731 times)

Offline Consultant

Re: Keane and Sunderland part company
« Reply #2100 on: December 04, 2008, 08:28:12 AM »
oooooooooo guuuuuuuuuuuuuddddd  :devil:

pass me some pop-corn  :-X

who's the f**kin clown now?

you

« Reply #2101 on: December 04, 2008, 08:29:42 AM »

you

water off a duck's back. My loyalty to that club is none existant.
If Kenywne Jones or any Trini for that fact were to play for Newcastle United ... I would be a fan of their too.
When Shaka Hislop played for Newcastle United, I was a "fan" of theirs too. Then he left, and I said f**k 'em.
I surmise many of the other forumites here will have similar feelings.
Fact - our loyalty is to our Trini kin over some club in the NE of England that most of us couldn't even point out on a map.

oh gosh man . Steups. u coulda make a better come back than that man.

« Reply #2102 on: December 04, 2008, 08:37:26 AM »
Sunderland owe him a lot.
It seems like, in recent weeks, a lot of their fans forgot that.

Somebody should give Quinn Beenie number. Let him bring back Stern John and sign Bleeder.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2008, 08:45:57 AM by Monkey Genius »

« Reply #2103 on: December 04, 2008, 08:46:31 AM »
Daily Telegraph

Ehy alyuh scroll down to the Newcastle news...Yorkie was getting a deal there. I could see now why he snub them.

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #2104 on: December 04, 2008, 08:53:12 AM »

you

water off a duck's back. My loyalty to that club is none existant.
If Kenywne Jones or any Trini for that fact were to play for Newcastle United ... I would be a fan of their too.
When Shaka Hislop played for Newcastle United, I was a "fan" of theirs too. Then he left, and I said f**k 'em.
I surmise many of the other forumites here will have similar feelings.
Fact - our loyalty is to our Trini kin over some club in the NE of England that most of us couldn't even point out on a map.

Yep understand that but from your perspective it is not necessarily good news.

Keane was loyal very loyal to certain players including the 3 trini's.

KJ has been injured this season but was a massive favourite of Keane's.  He is still finding his fitness / sharpness with his injury but it doesn't alter the fact he played poorly from Liverpool on last season.  A new manager may not be so forgiving, lets face it prem clubs weren't exactly queuing up to buy him, without Keane it is debatable whether KJ would of made the prem or not.  I doubt we will see Yorke or Edwards again in a Sunderland shirt given current form and age.  

The reality is he was right on who he called a clown.

As I said the other week whichever way it fell the club owe Keane a massive debt of gratitude.

Offline kev

« Reply #2105 on: December 04, 2008, 08:54:57 AM »

« Reply #2106 on: December 04, 2008, 08:56:32 AM »

Offline Consultant

« Reply #2108 on: December 04, 2008, 09:01:54 AM »

KJ has been injured this season but was a massive favourite of Keane's.  He is still finding his fitness / sharpness with his injury but it doesn't alter the fact he played poorly from Liverpool on last season.  A new manager may not be so forgiving, lets face it prem clubs weren't exactly queuing up to buy him, without Keane it is debatable whether KJ would of made the prem or not.  I doubt we will see Yorke or Edwards again in a Sunderland shirt given current form and age.  

As I said the other week whichever way it fell the club owe Keane a massive debt of gratitude.

I get your level of love for club.
It's the same with us and our "small" country. Cult following of college is even more serious per Intercol fever.

My reason for not caring is more of a sense of some payback.

Keane gave 3 Trini's a chance.

Keane also hampered Trinidad's progress by DEMANDING Yorke back from National duty for our WCQ versus the US ... and also forcing him to make a choice between club and duty/ loyalty for his country by waving a contract in front of him.

Jack Warner opening up his mouth allowed us further use of Yorke .... and without his services, we would still not be in the running for South Africa 2010.

If it were up to Keane, we would have no Yorke - and no dream of SA.

... and don't be fooled, MANY others here would share the same sentiment.

Offline kev

« Reply #2109 on: December 04, 2008, 09:03:22 AM »

It's the same with us and our "small" country. Cult following of college is even more serious per Intercol fever.

Keane also hampered Trinidad's progress by DEMANDING Yorke back from National duty for our WCQ versus the US ... and also forcing him to make a choice between club and duty/ loyalty for his country by waving a contract in front of him.

Jack Warner opening up his mouth allowed us further use of Yorke .... and without his services, we would still not be in the running for South Africa 2010.

That must be good gear your on

« Reply #2110 on: December 04, 2008, 09:04:03 AM »
blasted shit side

« Reply #2111 on: December 04, 2008, 09:07:02 AM »
blasted shit side that gave two of our players a chance that they might not have got otherwise.....some of you real bitter boy

« Reply #2112 on: December 04, 2008, 09:08:29 AM »
Wow Keene get toss -to bad- ,The Toronto Raptors fire the Coach -yeahhhh- ,good day all that left is for jack to see how pro organisations dispose of coaches who not getting the job done .
To bad Roy didnt leave Carlos with the Wolves .

« Reply #2113 on: December 04, 2008, 09:08:54 AM »
que sera sera.if the man want to go.so be it.this could benefit the team.wait and see.

Offline Consultant

« Reply #2114 on: December 04, 2008, 09:12:55 AM »
Dont forget Keano helped Sunderland survive a 07/8 premiership season and were even 1'st in the championship the year before!

He has done well, but I personally think that Sunderland have to be more consistent in their play, and their backline is in need of a bushbath fullstop. I would like to see Sunderland stay up and I for one wishes the team and Keane the best in the future.  :beermug:

Offline kev

« Reply #2115 on: December 04, 2008, 09:17:34 AM »
blasted shit side

I am sick to death of telling some of the plastic football fans on here, this side is like Real Madrid compared with what I have watched most years I have supported the club. ;D

« Reply #2116 on: December 04, 2008, 09:23:04 AM »
doh worry with them at least you support your local side and go to the games a lot of people here dont do shit for their local side

« Reply #2117 on: December 04, 2008, 10:05:48 AM »
1. Big loss for Sunderland

2. What does this mean for the Warriors if Yorke is an Assistant Manager? Maybe he will be more limited time-wise, which could interfere with our qualification matches.

3. Say what you will about Keane, but he showed true class in putting the club first. He recognized the club was going into darker territory, cares about the legacy and tradition of Sunderland enough to let it go before sinking futher with lower expectations.

« Reply #2118 on: December 04, 2008, 10:07:12 AM »
doh worry with them at least you support your local side and go to the games a lot of people here dont do shit for their local side

you throwing that talk for me

i never miss ah cali game when i in trini. come again

« Reply #2119 on: December 04, 2008, 10:11:17 AM »

youre talking a whole set of shit and couldnt be more wrong and look like more of an ass for it. just stop.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2008, 10:14:19 AM by supporter »

« Reply #2120 on: December 04, 2008, 10:13:06 AM »
At least Yorke can start himself now

« Reply #2121 on: December 04, 2008, 10:19:39 AM »
i was'nt refering to you but if you want to wear the cap go ahead

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #2122 on: December 04, 2008, 10:20:59 AM »
Keane did a lot for the team, the mistake he made was not signing a bruiser...and it shows on the pitch. He needed to find a young player like himself. Sunderland have no bite in d middle, someone to back up richardson.

« Reply #2123 on: December 04, 2008, 10:23:26 AM »

« Reply #2124 on: December 04, 2008, 10:31:48 AM »
Keane did a lot for the team, the mistake he made was not signing a bruiser...and it shows on the pitch. He needed to find a young player like himself. Sunderland have no bite in d middle, someone to back up richardson.
He signed Etuhu, but sold him without signing an improvement or replacement. Etuhu used to mash men up but then give away the ball.

« Reply #2125 on: December 04, 2008, 10:34:25 AM »
Latest odds for the new Sunderland Manager (PaddyPower.com):

Sam Allardyce 2-1, Gordan Strachan 6-1, Alan Curbishley 7-1, Phil Brown 10-1, David O'Leary 12-1.

« Reply #2126 on: December 04, 2008, 10:40:27 AM »

youre talking a whole set of shit and couldnt be more wrong and look like more of an ass for it. just stop.

riiight.

« Reply #2127 on: December 04, 2008, 10:46:43 AM »
Keane should apply to Jack for the Soca Warriors coaching position.... since the Dumbtist looking shakey...

« Reply #2128 on: December 04, 2008, 11:03:55 AM »
I have to admit I'm a lil disappointed  ... Keane is a man known for stepping up his game when the heat is on and now ...when he need to really step up he walks away?  To me it doesn't make sense I never envision him as a quitter ......  I wonder if he lost the dressing room? I can't help but feel this is a loss to sunderland and a big one!

He is a very emotional man.... you get this picture when you read his Biography....

Shame for him to walk away......

I agree with you on this one.

Ditto.

Clearly, there's room for his intelligence to have a conversation with his emotion and gut. On balance, disappointing as it may be, no surprise here really.

Roy while chilling and reflecting ... have a pint and a chat with Martin O'Neill.

« Reply #2129 on: December 04, 2008, 11:04:30 AM »
Keane should apply to Jack for the Soca Warriors coaching position.... since the Dumbtist looking shakey...

Wonder if weary would pay to see that?