Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on February 13, 2012, 10:40:13 AM

Title: U-15 quartet issues come and get me plea to the TTFF.
Post by: Flex on February 13, 2012, 10:40:13 AM
U-15 quartet issues come and get me plea to the TTFF.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

Chaz Burnett, Josh Burnett, Jassiem Wahtuse and Earnest Mitchell were born in the United States through Trinidadian parentage and would love the chance to play for Trinidad and Tobago one day.

The players came forward and made themselves known to the TTFF and expressed their desire and eligibility to don the T&T colors.

Ted Burnett, the father of both Josh and Chaz spoke with the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) about his sons and also disclosed that he will welcome an invitation from T&T.

Chaz Burnett, 13, a midfielder/forward got picked for a US national U-14 select team and will depart for Spain next week where they will play the youth teams of UE Cornellà & RCD Espanyol, FC Barcelona and Atlético Madrid in friendly games. He will then depart for Scotland where he will meet up with his brother for another training camp.

All the players on this select team are automatically included on the US National U-14 team pool under the US Soccer Federation, and a US Soccer Federation National U-14 coach also travels with the team. Technically, though, the Spain International Tour is organized and conducted by US Club Soccer, an Association member of the US Soccer Federation.

Last December both players went to the North America youth final in the United Soccer Leagues (USL) with soccer club Central Jersery Spartans, a selected state team. At the end of the tournament Chaz was named on the U-13 Super Y League Tournament all star team after his team made it to the 2011 Super Y-League North American Finals.

Josh Burnett, 12, a dominant central defender was also invited by the US U-13 national team camp last summer at the Home Depot center under the direction of U-14 BNT head coach Manny Schellscheidt. Josh did enough to impress the coach and is said to be keeping a close eye on the young defender.

Both players are part of the Players Development Academy (PDA), an academy for US soccer development programs, which MLS teams also partake in.

Two of Josh and Chaz teammates at the PDA academy are also Americans born to Trinidadian parentage.  They are striker Jassiem Wahtuse, 14, and midfielder Earnest Mitchell, 13, who’s father (Cecil Mitchell) represented Trinidad and Tobago in the 400M.

All four players will be going to Scotland for a 10 day training program where they will also get the opportunity to play against Glasgow Celtic youth team, they leave on the 24th of February. Last year they spent 10-days training with Italian giants Inter Milan.

They were also part of the TrinJersey Soccer Club at Under 9 level. Trin Jersey is a club based in New Jersery and host many past players from Trinidad and Tobago including; Michael Chance, Martin Lindsay, Steve Yearwood and Howard George to name a few.

Who knows what the future holds for these players as far as T&T is concerned and with the National under 15 team expected to be in training soon-, it’s over to you TTFF.

Title: Re: U-15 quartet issues come and get me plea to the TTFF.
Post by: elan on February 13, 2012, 11:34:43 AM
Flex these fellas cyah handle all this info, yuh go kill them.
Post by: Big Magician on February 13, 2012, 04:16:06 PM
class Flex
Post by: morvant on February 13, 2012, 05:26:47 PM
flex yuh good.......... :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on February 13, 2012, 08:09:33 PM
Flex these fellas cyah handle all this info, yuh go kill them.

4 shrrrrrr
Post by: Coop's on February 13, 2012, 08:38:54 PM
Now i don't mean to upset anyone by my statements here but why are we encourageing people to come to T&T to represent this country at this time.

Our Federation is colapsing,the TTFF in court,our administration staff is in acting positions,we have an office with no furniture,Coaches and players are yet to be paid,all developement programs have come to a hault,two national teams struggleing to survive,sponsors keeping far away,a Pro league that's anything but a Pro league etc etc

Now look at the situation these aspireing Youths coming into,they are leaving a bed of roses to come into this and then their parents will complain of mistreatment,look at the the environment these kids coming from to try and play for T&T a place where no one cares,a place where you are on your own.   

Post by: elan on February 13, 2012, 08:54:58 PM
Now i don't mean to upset anyone by my statements here but why are we encourageing people to come to T&T to represent this country at this time.

Our Federation is colapsing,the TTFF in court,our administration staff is in acting positions,we have an office with no furniture,Coaches and players are yet to be paid,all developement programs have come to a hault,two national teams struggleing to survive,sponsors keeping far away,a Pro league that's anything but a Pro league etc etc

Now look at the situation these aspireing Youths coming into,they are leaving a bed of roses to come into this and then their parents will complain of mistreatment,look at the the environment these kids coming from to try and play for T&T a place where no one cares,a place where you are on your own.   

Because Coop's in relationships their are arguments, fights, falling out and even divorce creating extended families, but at the end of the day, family is family.  :-\
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 13, 2012, 11:16:53 PM
If I had a child prodigy like these kids i would want them to play for Trinidad, to.....accepthing the fact that it would mean a step (or two, or thre or four) back in development for them as would be the case with these kids.  Even when ttff was functioning at its highest possible level and there wasn't all this turmoil and disarray, these kids would be sacrificing their growth and development to come and play for TnT.
Post by: Coop's on February 14, 2012, 02:41:50 PM

Because Coop's in relationships their are arguments, fights, falling out and even divorce creating extended families, but at the end of the day, family is family.  :-\
       I am sooo glad to hear that coming from you. :beermug:
Post by: Sando on February 14, 2012, 07:16:45 PM
If you guys reading this.

Please stay far from T&T once the current staff members are in power.

Corneal's, Groden, Shabaaz and Watson.

Run as far as you can.

Post by: elan on February 14, 2012, 09:35:31 PM

I am sooo glad to hear that coming from you. :beermug:

I'm not dellusional yuh know Coop's. I know exactly what is what.
Post by: weary1969 on February 15, 2012, 07:09:47 AM
If you guys reading this.

Please stay far from T&T once the current staff members are in power.

Corneal's, Groden, Shabaaz and Watson.

Run as far as you can.

Run short of taking steroids 4 speed run as fast as possible away from the TTFF.
Post by: Flex on August 01, 2012, 04:29:28 PM
Quick update.

Josh Burnett has been called up by the U.S. Under-14 Boy's National Team that will train from Aug. 5-12 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

They both were in Trinidad last month and their father made know they wanted to play for T&T and was available for a trial while there.

Youth manager Christopher Gouveia just never bothered returning calls or emails. The parent got fed-up and left, he said their lost...

Post by: Sam on August 02, 2012, 04:57:29 AM
De father right, them lost, f00ck em...

Post by: KND2 on August 02, 2012, 08:25:13 AM
This is just political
At the youth level they know they can swing back and forth between nations.

At the end of the day if teh US wants them I am sure they will pick the US over TnT

playing for tnt will be a way to get leverage on the US team

At the end of the day these are american kids they learn to play football in an american system and will continue to play there.

Going to a 2 month camp and playing for tnt in a youth world cup would be a great experience but it does nothing for the development of the game in TnT

all we are proving is that american fring players are better than trinidad players.

making a world cup at youth level is not doing anything to develop football in tnt.

we have made several youth world cups , is our football quality better off for it?

We should develop the football and the world cup is a by product.
Post by: Sam on August 02, 2012, 09:10:44 AM
Asshole KND, is de point behind it, the way they handle things.

And why the TTFF just dont come out and say they not trialing players, they dont want any foreign born players then,,,, instead of wasting people time and money.

Think nah c0nt, think !!!

Post by: Rastaman on August 02, 2012, 10:14:22 AM
Quick update.

Josh Burnett has been called up by the U.S. Under-14 Boy's National Team that will train from Aug. 5-12 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

They both were in Trinidad last month and their father made know they wanted to play for T&T and was available for a trial while there.

Youth manager Christopher Gouveia just never bothered returning calls or emails. The parent got fed-up and left, he said their lost...

TnT does not have any U14 team in Training now so what trial he want to attend ???
Post by: injunchile on August 02, 2012, 10:48:51 AM
Hi COOP's although I share your sentiments, I thought that your returning home would help in making right some of the wrongs. All it takes is one visionary to make a difference. I really believe that you can be the light amidst the darkness and in a T&T world of footballing indifference, you can make the difference.
 My friend we know the problems , we need answers. This is no quick fix but the longest journey begins with a first step.
Post by: weary1969 on August 02, 2012, 12:44:54 PM
Quick update.

Why this story sound so familiar.

Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 02, 2012, 02:15:13 PM
So with this info can we conclude that it was a similar issue with Aaron Maund, or was that situation different?
Post by: Flex on August 02, 2012, 04:30:40 PM
TnT does not have any U14 team in Training now so what trial he want to attend ???

1. They were home and wanted to staff to view them so they would know who they are and what they can do for future references.

2. The older brother for the U-17's. He is pretty decent and was in the US U-16 pool.

Post by: weary1969 on August 02, 2012, 05:18:38 PM
So with this info can we conclude that it was a similar issue with Aaron Maund, or was that situation different?

Nah he fther did lie when he said d same ting.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2013, 05:36:11 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/1GRwfNjkoRA
Post by: AB.Trini on March 24, 2013, 09:36:54 AM
It took a saviour  not of this world to save the world it may take outside influences to save our football. In my opinion, the thing that has stymied our progress, is our lack of common courtesy.  What would it have cost  us to meet with the parents and players and encourage them to represent TnT; to get their impressions and to foster a positive relations?

That may have planted an impression for future decisions by these players. It matters not if we do not have a team in training at this level but  so as to avoid  the Robbie Findlays and Nick Deleon complex of shunning the possibility of representing TnT, let us seek to build future possibilities.

Is not only in football it seems like once you leave the soil and achieve a level of success, coming back to be accepted  in your homeland is like coming back to  one set of  bureaucracy, petti jealousy and lack of acknowledgement. Is like people think yuh coming to take away something from them!!!!!! 'SMALL MINDEDNESS' does really  impede our progress.
Post by: Flex on July 23, 2013, 11:53:03 AM
Both Chaz and Josh just won National titles with U-13 and U-15 PDA teams in Colorado.

http://www.usclubsoccer.org/

Post by: KND2 on July 23, 2013, 12:11:54 PM
good to see trinis in jersey doing good
if they dont make the US team they may be able to strengthen our next U17 team.

Post by: Fyzoman on July 23, 2013, 03:58:05 PM
Who score two beauties for we in the U-17 tournament??

Why shouldn't we snatch them up to play youth football for us? If they use it as leverage or whatever, oh well...let we THEM to make our youth teams better???
Post by: Sando on July 24, 2013, 05:12:18 AM
If these Burnett brother serious about T&T they might be good options for our Under 17 team. They seem good prospects. I just hope Ross Russell is not the coach because he will overlook them like he did Shaquille Moore who is now the US team captain.

These local coaches have a complex problem with foreign players.

They have to pick the best players available, weter foreign or local simple as that.

Post by: Flex on August 08, 2013, 11:36:34 AM
Glen Ridge's Burnett brothers thrive on national level
BY  NELSON DEPASQUALE
SPORTS EDITOR
GLEN RIDGE VOICE

The Burnett brothers,, Chaz and Josh, are fresh off National Championship-winning performances for their club soccer teams. Josh was the named the Most Valuable Player for this play in the National Tournament in Aurora, Co. Chaz also was a huge help to his team's title as the club's second-leading scorer.

Both Glen Ridge residents play for the Players Development Academy, with Chaz on the U15 team and Josh on the U13.

Josh Burnett scored four goals and had four assists in just five games in Aurora and lead his team to an undefeated 4-0-1 record in the five-game tournament.

"It feel very good to know that out of everyone else, you stood out in the tournament and played your best," said Josh Burnett, soon to be a freshman at Glen Ridge High School. "That's pretty much exactly what you aim for as a player. Just play your best and help the team win."

Josh had the only goal in a 1-0 victory against FC Dallas Pre-Academy. His strike from just inside the box in the 26th minute proved to be the game-winner as teammate and goalie Hunter Pinho earned the shutout.

It took penalty kicks for Chaz's U15 team to defeat the Chicago Magic PSG. After a 1-1 stalemate, PDA won 5-3, in penalty kicks, to take the title.

Chaz scored his team's only goal in the 20th minute to go up 1-0. Chicago scored 10 minutes later and held on until penalty kicks. That goal was Chaz's fifth (to go along with three assists) in five games. In those five games, PDA outscored opponents 18-1 en route to the championship

Chaz didn't win the MVP this season, but last year he won two Most Valuable Players awards, in two separate Tournament Championship runs; one in Chicago, the other in Florida.

"It's all about how hard we work during practice," said Chaz. "It paid off toward the end of the year when we got to biggest tournament of the year. It was an honor for me to get MVP out of the whole tournament."

International Talents

Throughout their years with the PDA, which is based in Somerset but has players from all around, Chaz and Josh have gotten the chance to play soccer with people from all around the world.

Three years ago, Josh won awards for 'best new player' and 'most improved' for his play with the PDA in Italy. The brothers also played in Spain and Scotland.

"It's a good experience to play with kids from other countries,' said Chaz. "In Scotland we actually stayed with Celtic, which is a big club in Scotland. We played their kids and it was different to see how they played and lived their lives. They basically lived there. They play soccer like four times a day. It was very intense."

"The competition is better, so it gives you more opportunities to get better and it's a great experience to travel," said Josh.

Some of their best soccer memories came when they were competing abroad.

"In Italy I had some great memories because I played against a lot of the older kids and I still did well and stood out," said Josh, who is used to playing up a year or two. "They were 15 and I was around 12."

"For me it was the first game we played in Scotland," said Chaz. "It was the first time I've ever played in a big stadium, which was cool. I wound up scoring four goals in one game and that was exciting to do in Scotland … I just had a really great game that day."

Bright Futures

Both Chaz (15) and Josh (14) have a lot of soccer to play before they think about life after high school, but the matter has crossed their minds before.

"I really want to go to college to play Division 1 soccer before I get a chance to go pro," said Josh. who was already approached by Chelsea (a major soccer club in England) when he was 11 years-old. "You never know, plus it's great experience. And after your first or second year of division one college, a player can get drafted, so I'd love that."

"I'd also like to go to a division one school for soccer," said Chaz. "But If I had the opportunity for a professional contract before that, I would definitely consider it."

Chaz will be a sophomore and Josh a freshman at Glen Ridge High School this fall.

They both are selected to play for the U16 U.S. Soccer Development Academy, a season which runs in synch with the school's season in the fall.

They will be able to play on both squads as long as they can get a waiver from the U16 Academy team, which are limited.

"It's difficult because the Academy team is only allowed to give a certain amount of waivers out," said Josh. "And they specifically have to give kids from private schools a waiver."

Hopefully the brothers will make more headlines with the GRHS soccer team, and even more during their careers in college and beyond.

(http://media.northjersey.com/images/300*481/Burnetts_080813_GR_tif_.jpg)
Glen Ridge's Chaz (left) and Josh (right) Burnett, both helped their club team, PDA, to a National Championship this season. Josh won the 2013 MVP award and Chaz won two MVPs in 2012.

(http://media.northjersey.com/images/300*400/Burnetts2_080613_GR_tif_.jpg)
Chaz and Josh, pictured with their younger brother, Travis, just after the National Final concluded in Aurora, Colorado.

Post by: Trini _2026 on August 08, 2013, 11:53:11 AM
So flex have they been approached yet by anton corneal and cooper ?
Post by: Flex on August 08, 2013, 12:04:02 PM

They waiting for them to be cap by the US first...

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 08, 2013, 03:40:56 PM

They waiting for them to be cap by the US first...

as usual lol
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 17, 2014, 10:04:35 AM
So whats the deal has he  been invited to a camp ?
https://www.youtube.com/v/jbWGk882f-A
Post by: Flex on August 28, 2014, 01:42:57 PM
Chaz and Josh Burnett US Soccer Development Academy U16 Playoffs Highlights 2014 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jERDmOsgrG4#t=16)

Post by: Tallman on January 21, 2016, 06:26:34 PM
Joshua Burnett has been named to the USA's U-18 training camp roster (http://www.ussoccer.com/stories/2016/01/20/13/27/160120-u18-mnt-head-coach-omid-namazi-names-36-player-roster-for-2016-january-camp)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2016, 06:32:21 PM
Joshua Burnett has been named to the USA's U-18 training camp roster (http://www.ussoccer.com/stories/2016/01/20/13/27/160120-u18-mnt-head-coach-omid-namazi-names-36-player-roster-for-2016-january-camp)

Was waiting on someone to notice.  :)
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 21, 2016, 09:19:08 PM
he was on the usa blue or red team before
Post by: Flex on September 23, 2016, 02:50:20 AM
US-based Burnett keen to step up.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

United States Players Development Academy director of operations and Under 18 coach Sam Nellins has given rave reviews on T&T youth team duo Chaz and Josh Burnett.

The brothers have already been enrolled into the national youth team programme with Chaz being called up to the current Under 20 team ahead of the CFU final round in Curacao next month while Josh has been included in the US National Under 18 set up after  playing with the previous national under 17 team.

“They’re just super talented,” Nellins said. “One has got the world at his feet in Joshua. The other one, he’s a bully. He’s a big, strong boy.”

Their father Ted Burnett was born in Trinidad & Tobago but moved to the United States when he was 15. Years later, his sons represented his home country at the 2015 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship in Honduras.

“That had a big impact on them,” Nellins said. “They saw how other players prepare,” a report on SoccerWire.com stated

Chaz graduated from Glen Ridge High School in June. He has dual citizenship with the United States and T&T. He has also made commitment to play on the collegiate level at Rutgers University and he is hugely excited about playing for T&T at the CFU qualifiers.

“I’m looking forward to competing at the next level,” said Chaz.

Post by: Trini _2026 on May 03, 2021, 06:49:58 AM
Did the NYRBII player ever   issue a come get me plea  to the ttfa saw the game on friday... caught my attention...
Post by: Tallman on May 03, 2021, 12:16:38 PM
Did the NYRBII player ever   issue a come get me plea  to the ttfa saw the game on friday... caught my attention...

The probability of players actively seeking to play for T&T in this current climate is slim. And those that do, by definition, are probably desperate themselves and may not be at the required level. In order to recruit foreign-born players who can contribute meaningfully to our program, we have to be proactive and consistent in our follow through.