Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 30, 2006, 07:16:21 AM

Title: ‘Gally’ slams Leo’s no show.
Post by: Flex on June 30, 2006, 07:16:21 AM
‘Gally’ slams Leo’s no show.
By: Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Former Trinidad and Tobago striker and coach Everard “Gally” Cummings has criticised outgoing national coach Leo Beenhakker for not returning with the team from Germany last Thursday.
The Soca warriors came back to a hero’s welcome at the Piarco International Airport after making their FIFA World Cup Finals debut.
The footballers were unable to advance from Group “B” grouped with England, Sweden and Paraguay.
Cummings was speaking at the airport while the team were feted by hundreds of their adoring fans.
“My view about this whole scenario is that he should’ve been here. He’s the leader of the team.
“If the Prime Minister (Patrick Manning) invited all of us back, he should be the first man stepping off the plane,” Cummings added.
“I think it was a total disrespect to our people.”
Beenhakker left the team base in Rotenburg for home in the Netherlands after Trinidad and Tobago took their exit from the World Cup.
While in Germany he held talks with Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Secial Advisor Jack Warner over a new contract.
Out of the discussions, assistant coach Wim Rijsbergen will take over coaching duties for the next two years, until Beenhakker returns to guide the team during their quest for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.
“I don’t know what contractual talks he was doing, but if he’s the leader of a group, I think he should be here,” Cummings said.
Cummings, along with members of the 1973 national team — who missed qualifying for the 1974 World Cup in West Germany — were in Germany for the current tournament due to an arrangement by the firm Mykon Travel Limited. “It was a special moment because of the fact that I have been always involved in trying to get the team there (in 1973 and as coach of the Strike Squad in 1989) and seeing that these youngsters do so good, to the country and representing us as good ambassadors, it was really heartfelt by me,” Cummings said.
Reflecting on Trinidad and Tobago’s debut encounter against Sweden on June 10, Cummings admitted, “It gave all of us goose-pimples.
“I was always wondering when that time would have come,” he added. “And sitting there watching that game, I wouldn’t have given it up for anything in this world. It was a special, special occasion.”
Like so many local fans and critics, the outspoken Cummings was high in praise of the team, but felt the squad was too defensive in their matches against Sweden and England five days later.
He is also concerned about the future of the team, with midfielder Russell Latapy entering his international retirement while captain Dwight Yorke and goalkeeper Shaka Hislop hinting that they will be hanging up their boots shortly.
“We have always been a country of hype and then, after that, the balloon is deflated,” Cummings pointed out.
“I think the balloon is now filled with air and keep that air in it, if we want it to fly all over the place. But if we keep punching pins into the balloon, then the air will come out.
“I think it’s a golden opportunity to keep that air in there and keep things filled, keep things organised, and if we do just that, I can’t see us having a problem,” he said.
“If we just let this hype fall apart and we go back to the old stage where we have a football association who’s not organised properly and people are just looked at in respect to, not ability but friendship, I think things wouldn’t work at all,” Cummings said.
Where was Russell Latapy?
By: Bc Pires (Express).

Former Trinidad & Tobago striker and coach of the Strike Squad that just failed to qualify for the 1990 World Cup, Everald "Gally" Cummings talks freely about the Soca Warriors and the World Cup.

Q: Were you satisfied with the Soca Warriors' performance?
A: Satisfied to the point that we were not disgraced; but our way of playing, I was not satisfied with.

What would you have done differently?
A: I'd have put in more offence. World Cup is about showcasing your style of play but I don't think we were allowed to play our Trinbagonian way. We do have our own style of play, contrary to what a lot of people believe. I proved that in 1989.

But we were successful in drawing the first game v Sweden?
A: It's a great achievement to tie your first World Cup game; but I thought we should have played a little more football after. The Africans showed they're not afraid to match their skills with anybody. They looked like heroes.

1.3 million people want to know why Russell Latapy didn't play in the England game?
A: I would have played him. In the last 15 minutes, England was frustrated, you could have seen it. If we had put Latapy on before [English coach Sven-Goran] Erikkson substituted his own, Erikkson would have had to put on a defender, not an attacker. In a way, when Latapy is on the field, is a threat to Beenhakker.
The team is a better team when Latapy is on the field; we all know that, we all saw that! But Beenhakker wants that team to play defensive and Latapy is offensive; and because of Latapy's leadership qualities and his inspiration as a player and a person, he knows the team will go forward too much. So he has to keep it out! In other words [chuckling], Latapy has such a strong personality that Beenhakker is afraid of him.

It was a deliberate ploy to retain control by the coach?
A: That's my feeling! That's what I see!

But Latapy came on in the last game and we lost?
A: Because he came on when we were one-down! Latapy was the last substitution in the last game! He should have started.

He smokes 40 cigarettes a day, though, and doesn't have the lungs?
A: Rubbish! How much did Ronaldinho run in this tournament? And he's still the best player in the world. Didn't Latapy play the whole game against Guatemala? And we won? Stern John scored. Stern John, Dwight Yorke, are better players, the entire team is a better team when Latapy's on the field.
Latapy's experienced enough, whether he smokes cigarettes or not. If you let the ball do the work, you're not going to be tired. We coaches all see things differently but I think there times in games that were earmarked for him [like] the last 20 minutes.

But you were pleased with us getting to the World Cup?
A: Oh yeah. Since I left Fatima college I've dedicated myself to our football, nothing else. Some people do it part-time and halfway. If is one person who has been involved in football all my life, is Gally Cummings. I didn't go away and coach foreign teams, I stayed right here and worked with our boys for our football and it was a dream to see our team get to the World Cup; and it finally came true.
Sitting there in the stadium looking at the first game, you couldn't help but come to tears, seeing your boys performing for the whole world. The cultural contingent was also making us proud. It was like a Jouvert morning. I saw my country, for the first time in a long time, doing the thing I've always advocated: marriage of culture and sport.

We lost the football and won the party?
A: Reminds me of 1989 when we lost the game and won the country!

So do we become the next Costa Rica or Jamaica?
A: We qualify without a proper structure in place. If you had looked at England, you'd have seen [future England coach Steve] McLaren sitting down next to Erikkson. I've always advocated that, if you bring a foreigner here, have somebody [local] there who can carry on. And the right person, not just somebody' friend. We shortlist coaches very funny in this country. I don't understand who does it or how.
Somebody mightn't like BC Pires but the thing about it is, they must like what you can do for the country. Sometimes Beenhakker says to newspapers, "I'm only going to talk to you for two minutes". And nobody says anything. I know Lincoln Phillips has been trying to do a job but I can say it has been done before.
I was technical director on two occasions and had a proper structure in place from the Under-15s go right up to the national team. So there ain't nothing new that Lincoln is doing. We must focus on the national team. We don't want to end up like Jamaica. Costa Rica and those Latin countries have always had structures and that is why they always go to the World Cup. And they're all on the same page: one agenda. In Trinidad we have too much vindictiveness, politics and bickering interfering with the issue itself.

If you could make one change, what would it be?
A: I would change the philosophy of our football administration and its vindictiveness.

What stage of the World Cup produces the best games?
A: When teams get into the second round. During finals, you don't see the best games. Anybody could win, really. It has to do with which team scores the first goal, or what decision a referee might make. In the middle of the tournament is where you see the good football.

What can FIFA do to improve the quality of play from quarter-finals on?
A: Make sure that, before World Cup, players are rested properly. If you looked at Brazil, some of them looked very tired.

There's another question: what happened to Brazil this year?
Is not what happened to Brazil; is what happened to France! France had been playing a kind of lackadaisical, slow, boring kind of football but [against] Brazil, it was different. People say Brazil didn't play well against France but it was [more like] France didn't allow Brazil to play well. France have three [midfielders] of world standing: [Claude] Makelele, [Zinedine] Zidane and [Patrick] Vieira.
Those are six-footers! And you're trying to bring up little fellas like Kaka and Ronaldinho against them. Zidane, on a good day, is the best footballer you could see. France closed the middle with those players and forced Brazil to the sides, where they have their more aged players, Cafu and Roberto Carlos.

So who do you like for the final today, then?
A: Well, boy, to be honest, I always like Zidane and these guys how they play. But they have a team where things ain't bound to go right.
Because they focus on [Thierry] Henry in front alone. Whereas Italy have different people who could score goals and they play until the fat lady sings. I would say France has a better all-round team; but Italy have what it takes to win.

So you're hedging your bets?
A: [Nodding, smiling] I hedging.

Will we see penalty kicks to decide the game?
A: I think this one will be decided, maybe late in the game, but I don't feel we'll go to penalty kicks. I don't think penalty kicks is a nice way to lose a World Cup.

But there's no greater excitement for the viewer?
A: As a coach, I could tell you penalty kicks is nerve-wracking. Preparation and having the best players don't guarantee you success. England proved that! But I think this was one of the best World Cups I've seen. Being in Germany, I thought it was one of the most organised, with respect to security, to people having fun, representing their country in a free spirit. I was at the Fan Fest.
My wife, Roslyn Khan-Cummings, is the deputy PS of the Ministry of Culture and the chef de mission of the cultural contingent. I was there through Mykon Travel Ltd and I saw for myself. I travel in the buses with the Strike Squad and the '73 team-and when I mention those players, I feel very sad. I don't think they were treated properly. I really thought we, the '73 and '89 squads, would have gotten the opportunity to visit our Soca Warriors and wish them all the best in Germany but that wasn't to be.

Was that bad organisation or bad mind?
A: It wasn't badly organised at all. I wouldn't use, "bad mind", I would use [pauses, shrugs shoulders] actually, yeah, it was bad mind in truth because it started from here. If a [private] company [Mykon Travel Ltd] have to take you there and your football association don't' really care, it's a bad thing for the youngsters to see. I'm a living example of that. You hear all kinds of names calling in football and you don't hear mine, and I have done more than most.
I've given my life to the country and others have given theirs abroad-and they come back and hold big jobs and I'm out only because I have an opinion of my own, and it appears you can't have that these days. People in this country seem to always go for people they can control. I've seen foreign coaches come here when they want, make all the money, go on vacation when they want-and be treated like kings.
The kind of way we treat our own has to change. I proved myself. I don't think anybody did the kind of job I did with the kind of resources I had in '89. I've done enough to be holding an office. I'm not begging for anything; I deserve it!
Title: Re: ‘Gally’ slams Leo’s no show.
Post by: MickeyRat on June 30, 2006, 07:19:19 AM
Very insulting.  Gally show some class.

Post by: Dutty on June 30, 2006, 07:24:31 AM
"I think the balloon is now filled with air and keep that air in it, if we want it to fly all over the place. But if we keep punching pins into the balloon, then the air will come out."

The irony of his quote in relation to the topic is overwhelming

Then again, de man never hold water in he mouth from back in de days...so ah cyah vex

Ah wonder who else go have ah axe to grind in de next few weeks
Post by: chinee boi on June 30, 2006, 07:30:35 AM
man Gally you hear anybody else complaining??? Beenie take we to de big show and dis is de respect yuh give de man.......STEUPSSSSSSSSSSS
Post by: MickeyRat on June 30, 2006, 07:31:26 AM
man Gally you hear anybody else complaining??? Beenie take we to de big show and dis is de respect yuh give de man.......STEUPSSSSSSSSSSS

For Gally is ah case of "sour mango"
Post by: Jahyouth on June 30, 2006, 07:34:45 AM
As I said in a post many months ago, Gally is clearly campaigning for the job as Head Coach of the Senior Team.  Clearly.

This last comment shows little class.  Leo Beenhakker and coaches of his kind are "hired guns".  You bring them in to do a job: they do it and go home.  These types of coaches have no real allegiance to any team or country except maybe the one they were born in, and never participate in the fanfare. 
Post by: MickeyRat on June 30, 2006, 07:37:56 AM
As I said in a post many months ago, Gally is clearly campaigning for the job as Head Coach of the Senior Team. Clearly.

This last comment shows little class. Leo Beenhakker and coaches of his kind are "hired guns". You bring them in to do a job: they do it and go home. These types of coaches have no real allegiance to any team or country except maybe the one they were born in, and never participate in the fanfare.

After seeing the skill Bennie has as a coach, Gally better off looking for ah wok coaching a Senior Comp.  He cah make. 
Trinidad & Tobago moving on to  bigger and brighter things.
Post by: lihalquay on June 30, 2006, 07:43:46 AM
That is why I am even more convinced that we need a foreign coach.  For the last week we have been mired in celebration and confusion.  There has been no serious discussion as to where do we go from here.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 30, 2006, 07:50:51 AM
As I said in a post many months ago, Gally is clearly campaigning for the job as Head Coach of the Senior Team.  Clearly.

This last comment shows little class.  Leo Beenhakker and coaches of his kind are "hired guns".  You bring them in to do a job: they do it and go home.  These types of coaches have no real allegiance to any team or country except maybe the one they were born in, and never participate in the fanfare. 

Very true Jahyouth Gally even said that in an interview some months ago that it is still his dream to be first local coach to lead the team to a World Cup.  De RAT he was coaching at a Senior Compin central  last season ;D but ah forget how they did
Post by: MickeyRat on June 30, 2006, 07:52:17 AM

Very true Jahyouth Gally even said that in an interview some months ago that it is still his dream to be first local coach to lead the team to a World Cup.  De RAT he was coaching at a Senior Compin central  last season ;D but ah forget how they did

See wha ah mean.   :D
Post by: andre samuel on June 30, 2006, 07:54:03 AM
this was very stupid on Gally's behalf.........
Post by: grskywalker on June 30, 2006, 08:00:28 AM
nothing else to complain about so this is the best thing he could come with
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 30, 2006, 08:00:38 AM
Gally didn't realise that Don Leo not into all that picture and interview sh*t.  De man take we to de WC and after all dat he need a break.  What so wrong with dat???
Post by: Observer on June 30, 2006, 08:39:25 AM
Before Gally spoke, I wonder if he considered that Leo may have popped home to see his family. Then returned to the WC to study it, as so many coaches who can afford to are doing.

Activate yuh brain before yuh mouth is great advice  :-\
Post by: Storeboy on June 30, 2006, 08:53:10 AM
That is the stupidest thing I have heard.  Gally Cummings should be ashamed of himself.
 First of all, Beenie is from Holland.  He has given a lot to us and wants to go back to his family for a break.  he deserves that.
Second,  he is not from Trinidad and his contract is domne.  he does not need to come back here
Third, he has always trried hard to give the team the limelight and obviously did not want his presence to rain on the parade.

Gally should just shut up and stop being petty.  Those kind of criticsms are totally uncalled for after such a splendid performance by the team and coaching staff.
Post by: berris on June 30, 2006, 08:56:28 AM
Gally just trying to get his name back up in the coaching for TnT but he cyar Beenie jock strap as far as coaching is concern.Wham he hah nuttin else to complain bout ....SOUR GRAPES
Post by: football king on June 30, 2006, 09:33:55 AM
Everyone entitled to their opinion but gally should maybe find out why before he jump on the man.  Personal, family, health whatever the case is, can't just come out and jump on the man just so.
Post by: Jefferz on June 30, 2006, 09:59:54 AM
steeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwpssssssssss Gally is so desperate for Job he will say anything... its shameful.
Post by: Tenorsaw on June 30, 2006, 10:03:14 AM
No disrespect, but all mudslingers must hold dey corner.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on June 30, 2006, 11:50:04 AM

For Gally is ah case of "sour mango"

and pommecythre
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on June 30, 2006, 11:54:31 AM
GALLY IS A BIG ASS FOR SAYING CRAP LIKE THAT. IF BEENIE DID NOT WANT TO SHOW, AND DECIDE ON A MORE QUIETER SETTING TO GET BACK TO REALITY IT IS HIS CHOICE. HE IS DUTCH, NOT TRINI. HOLLAND IS HIS HOME, AND IF HE FELT LIKE TAKING A BACK SEAT AND LET THE TRINI'S TAKE THE SPOTLIGHT, RESPECT THE MAN! DAMN!

>:(
Post by: palos on June 30, 2006, 12:00:06 PM
Bless dem.....we sportin heroes did we proud on de field of play...but lawd....they do themselves no favours at all when they step outside of their area of expertise.

More ammunition for those who vehemently oppose the idea of a local taking the reins in any World Cup endeavour now or in the near future.
Post by: Grande on June 30, 2006, 12:06:10 PM
“I think it’s a golden opportunity to keep that air in there and keep things filled, keep things organised, and if we do just that, I can’t see us having a problem,” he said.
“If we just let this hype fall apart and we go back to the old stage where we have a football association who’s not organised properly and people are just looked at in respect to, not ability but friendship, I think things wouldn’t work at all,” Cummings said.

He hit the nail on the head with that one though
Post by: A.B. on June 30, 2006, 12:16:29 PM
That is one of them things that even if you think it, you can't say, because the regular man who scrunting who will not see a million in he lifetime go watch you and reduce what u did to its bare minimums, he not going to see the representation, the ambassadorship, the tourist benefits, the flag-flying, because he wasn't there to see it.

He will see

1. You all score nothing
2. You all win nothing
3. You all came home after round 1
4. You vex over a million dollars and a national medal.

And that, is going to rub him the wrong way.   I really hope no-one ent really quoted saying that, and is just a misunderstanding, especially INCE who didn't see a minute in Germany
Post by: UK_Soca_warrior on June 30, 2006, 12:19:46 PM
That is one of them things that even if you think it, you can't say, because the regular man who scrunting who will not see a million in he lifetime go watch you and reduce what u did to its bare minimums, he not going to see the representation, the ambassadroship, the tourist benefits, the flag-flying, because he wasn't there to see it.

He will see

1. You all score nothing
2. You all win nothing

And that, is going to rub him the wrong way.   I really hope no-one ent really quoted saying that, and is just a misunderstanding, especially INCE who didn't see a minute in Germany

I AGREE THERE. BECAUSE THE REALITY AFTER ALL THE FAN FARE, FUN AND WELL DONE,  IS THE FACTS!

ESPECIALLY POINT'S 1 & 2

GUYS BETTER BE HUMBLE!

Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 30, 2006, 12:30:12 PM

He hit the nail on the head with that one though

My problem is if Don Leo decide that this is too much crap and doh want to come back to coach de team.  Sooner or later it is going to effect his decisions
Post by: trinbago on June 30, 2006, 12:50:19 PM
Gally better HYMC before Beenie change he mind and doh come back !
Post by: sprog on June 30, 2006, 12:56:47 PM
 :bs:Gally hush yuh mouth nah, why all yuh so bitter :cursing:
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 30, 2006, 01:05:28 PM
:bs:Gally hush yuh mouth nah, why all yuh so bitter :cursing:

I doh know the man personally but he did his part for TnT football.  That was then, we have to look forward and plan for the young ones that coming up.  This is the time and place to adopt a player and groom him to play high levels of football.  That is what Gally should be planning for, make sure that basic football is hammered into the minds and hearts of the new players.  Gally should forget about all this bitter sh*t and move on.  I really hope that he checks WN and see what footballers and everyone thinks about his stupid comments.  Long live Don Leo.
Post by: supporter on June 30, 2006, 01:11:34 PM
beenie is sixty-something yrs old. leave him alone if he cant make all these long trips.
Post by: berris on June 30, 2006, 03:12:20 PM
That is one of them things that even if you think it, you can't say, because the regular man who scrunting who will not see a million in he lifetime go watch you and reduce what u did to its bare minimums, he not going to see the representation, the ambassadorship, the tourist benefits, the flag-flying, because he wasn't there to see it.

He will see

1. You all score nothing
2. You all win nothing

....wha dis hah to do wid the topic 'Gally slams Leo's no show'.....
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on June 30, 2006, 03:27:19 PM
f**k off gally    with yuh local based stupid BSC idiotic ways
Post by: Rastaman on June 30, 2006, 03:54:16 PM
Why is it that men jumping on Gally so. I ent find he do nothing worng. He just gave his opinion, isnt that what we all do and have been doing all the time before during and after the world cup ?
He gave his opinion on an emotional topic at an emotional time (just off the plane from Germany)

All the man say is that he thinks that Leo should have come back....so what ...big deal..that is just his opinion !!!

Our mentality is that somebody always have something to say and everybody does be vex when we say it. Nobody does remember that the shoe does be on the other foot at some time and somebody will not like out opinion.
Post by: pass(10trini) on June 30, 2006, 04:23:05 PM
One setah alyuh f..kers up in here does jes wa f..kup ah man thoughts.

Alyuh hear meh and hear meh good.....

Gally Cummings could talk all he want about wa going on in tnt because it eh have another Trinidadian in here who love TNT more than Gally. When Gally open he mouth and say something is from he heart and isah true love for he ppl. Some ah  Alyuh wasn't even around when de strike Squad was biggin up de place. So de johnnies come lately an alyuh shushhhhhh.................

All who was bigging up Jack Warner as ah hero in here las November shouldn't even begin to utter a word  on Gally because yuh just showing that yuh ignorant on the happenings on footbal in trini.

Gally is an ambassador and should be treated with great respect for what he has done for his ppl. Is only because of TTFF and dey f..kery and ah few other things that cause he not to have taken the strike squad to Italy. But that is something else.

Have some respect for ah man who put he soul out there for he country. 

GALLY YOU ISAH BOSS.

Hold it dong !
Post by: warmonga on June 30, 2006, 04:27:26 PM
everybody get 3 and 4 chances to coach de national team but Cummings. I mean Bertille got about 3 chances.. Cornmeal get fire and rehire twice without even coaching de team...  De coach for St Vincent (I forget he name)  ..he got fired about 3 times..what about shabazz ? ) Cummings took a bunch of locals and almost got us into de world cup .. He f**ked up in de last game and was never called back.... I feal Warner have sumthin personal against him..Maybe Cummins and Manning is good friends or sumthin..
warmonga..
I backing Cummings for our next coach..
I honestly will love to see Cummings coach a carribean country..St Vincent, St Kitts or even Suriname.. He coud do good for there football wid his time spent here in de U.S.. Talk yu talk fada I aint saying yu right but talk yu talk..

Post by: scooby on June 30, 2006, 05:39:01 PM
all yur check that why there was that stupid horse and pony show in 89 with that nonsense bus ride up to the game when we should been in staying some where in port of spain, look cummings who had your chance, please wash yur foot n go in yur bed thanks for your service stop, till we need you again
Post by: injunchile on June 30, 2006, 07:44:36 PM
Give Gally a Youth team to coach- I still believe that he can contribute.
Post by: palos on June 30, 2006, 08:12:11 PM
One setah alyuh f..kers up in here does jes wa f..kup ah man thoughts.

Alyuh hear meh and hear meh good.....

Gally Cummings could talk all he want about wa going on in tnt because it eh have another Trinidadian in here who love TNT more than Gally. When Gally open he mouth and say something is from he heart and isah true love for he ppl. Some ah  Alyuh wasn't even around when de strike Squad was biggin up de place. So de johnnies come lately an alyuh shushhhhhh.................

All who was bigging up Jack Warner as ah hero in here las November shouldn't even begin to utter a word  on Gally because yuh just showing that yuh ignorant on the happenings on footbal in trini.

Gally is an ambassador and should be treated with great respect for what he has done for his ppl. Is only because of TTFF and dey f..kery and ah few other things that cause he not to have taken the strike squad to Italy. But that is something else.

Have some respect for ah man who put he soul out there for he country. 

GALLY YOU ISAH BOSS.

Hold it dong !

So wiat a second.....nobody deny that de man is a die hard Trinbagonian or have T&T flag tattoo on he flikkin heart.

So wha yuh sayin....is because he is a patriot and loyal servant peeps mus remain quiet when he open he mout and solid waste emerge?

To say he torkin TATA when he torkin TATA is somehow disrespeckin de man?

Tank GOD fuh Beenie yes....because alyuh so woulda go dong fightin dah a Trini know bess lyrics and den it wouldn't have flikkin no welcome to come back home to....jes de usual gum bumpers and beak flappers chattin a setta dotishness bout how makin WC go never happen in we lifetime.

Allyuh have good intentions and wrong execution.
Post by: arrow on June 30, 2006, 08:24:58 PM
everybody get 3 and 4 chances to coach de national team but Cummings. I mean Bertille got about 3 chances.. Cornmeal get fire and rehire twice without even coaching de team...  De coach for St Vincent (I forget he name)  ..he got fired about 3 times..what about shabazz ? ) Cummings took a bunch of locals and almost got us into de world cup .. He f**ked up in de last game and was never called back.... I feal Warner have sumthin personal against him..Maybe Cummins and Manning is good friends or sumthin..
warmonga..
I honestly will love to see Cummings coach a carribean country..St Vincent, St Kitts or even Suriname.. He coud do good for there football wid his time spent here in de U.S.. Talk yu talk fada I aint saying yu right but talk yu talk..

Wait nuh das you Warmonga?  How yuh lorse yuh Jakan accent dry so?
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on June 30, 2006, 08:28:40 PM
It should be a time to build on what has been accomplished, not cause internal rifts.  Shame on Gally
Post by: warmonga on June 30, 2006, 09:22:34 PM
warmonga..

arrow I aint know man does hear mi when mi type on mi keyboard .. link mi , mi wah Know how dat does happen. I know is only type mi typing mi nuh know sey a hear yu hearing mi now.. dat is bran new fi mi... wah type a technology yu have innah yu PC? like dat is some new software dem a sell now.. link mi so mi could purchase sum of dat software so when A certain member typing I could figure out if he is A man or A oman (since A certain member a trace like pantyman innah this forum)
mi gone..
warmonga..
Post by: warmonga on June 30, 2006, 09:29:19 PM
f**k off gally    with yuh local based stupid BSC idiotic ways
SM wid all due respect for a man like you who loves TNT fotball so much I am  shock to see dat comment by you..Then again maybe you was to smalll to see de tears dat dat Nov 19th game left in our eyes and what Cummings did wid a bunch of no name players.. ..\ at dat time Cummings had nothing to go wid.. who from fareign wanted to play for Trinidad eh? we had no one ..we know no one. because of Cummings the dream was kept alive for Dwight and latapy to enter this world cup and put us where we have been waiting for since dat Haiti Nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I honestly felt dat,  you of all person will show respect to our OWN people!!!!!!!
war gone..

Post by: Latent on June 30, 2006, 09:34:14 PM
First of all, let me say that I have great respect for Everal Gally Cummings. I believe, as many as you do, he is one of the best local footballers of all time and perhaps even one of the best local coaches of all time (He took a local, home grown side, refused to use any foreign base players and nearly got us to the World Cup).

However, Gally should understand that it is Beenhakker's choice to choose if he wants to come or not. Beenhakker has come, done his job and achieved his objectives. It is up to Beenhakker to decide if he wants to come back for the cermonies or go back to Holland.

Gally should not criticise the man for his choice. Beenhakker has done his job.

Post by: warmonga on June 30, 2006, 09:57:32 PM
fellas keep saying dat cummings refuse fareign players in our stike squad.. Can someone name theese players for me. Iwill really like to know of who theese big time fareign born players we had at dat time dat Cummings refuse.... maybe there kids could represent our country now..
war..
Post by: arrow on June 30, 2006, 10:00:51 PM
warmonga..

arrow I aint know man does hear mi when mi type on mi keyboard .. link mi , mi wah Know how dat does happen. I know is only type mi typing mi nuh know sey a hear yu hearing mi now.. dat is bran new fi mi... wah type a technology yu have innah yu PC? like dat is some new software dem a sell now.. link mi so mi could purchase sum of dat software so when A certain member typing I could figure out if he is A man or A oman (since A certain member a trace like pantyman innah this forum)
mi gone..
warmonga..

Didn't take you long to get back to incomprehensible
Post by: Latent on June 30, 2006, 10:05:39 PM
One of these foreign based players he refused to play was David Nakhid. He had just signed on to play in the MLS under the New England Revolution Club. He wanted to play for the Strike Squad but Gally refused because he beliveved that it would have interfered with the chemistry of the Strike Squad.
Post by: arrow on June 30, 2006, 10:12:20 PM
One of these foreign based players he refused to play was David Nakhid. He had just signed on to play in the MLS under the New England Revolution Club. He wanted to play for the Strike Squad but Gally refused because he beliveved that it would have interfered with the chemistry of the Strike Squad.

Is this the same MLS that started playing in 1996  ???
Post by: warmonga on June 30, 2006, 10:14:30 PM
latent gave mi sum correct info nuh dread.. MLS wasnt up and running when Cummings tell nakhid to haul he ass.. MLS started after the 1994 world cup dat was hosted in de USA..
is true Nakhid was a star player at dat time when Cummings tell him to haul his ass.. He was also a citizen for sum arabian country and no way he was going to play in front of star bwoy latapy..also Nakhid mouth to flicking hot..
warmonga..
Post by: Latent on June 30, 2006, 10:15:42 PM
Well, I do not think that it was called the MLS at the time, but he was playing in the American league at the time just before he went to Scotland. Sorry, I did not mean to type MLS. America did possess a league at the time. Remember Pele played in the American league at some time. I think the team Pele played for was call Metro Stars, I think.
Post by: Tallman on July 01, 2006, 04:36:13 AM

Well, I do not think that it was called the MLS at the time, but he was playing in the American league at the time just before he went to Scotland. Sorry, I did not mean to type MLS. America did possess a league at the time. Remember Pele played in the American league at some time. I think the team Pele played for was call Metro Stars, I think.

At the time of the Strike Squad, Nakhid was playing for Grasshoppers in Sweden.
Post by: arrow on July 01, 2006, 05:30:29 AM

Tallman yuh slipping  ;) Grasshoppers is a Swiss club
Post by: fishs on July 01, 2006, 06:09:59 AM

Unlike de masses , Gally puts Beenhakker as an equal , wrong or right , so he say he thing an if yuh really think about it there was no real reason given by Beenhakker why he did not come back to TT with the team. So maybe there was a lil dis there.
But doh get too vex with Gally an cuss him , remember he went from hero to zero in '89 an  some who was on dat ride will remember dat.
Post by: jose on July 01, 2006, 06:20:19 AM
like gally have sour grapes,like he wha beenie job
Post by: fishs on July 01, 2006, 06:24:54 AM
beenie is sixty-something yrs old. leave him alone if he cant make all these long trips.

When yuh flying business class ?

And dat is ah lame excuse. If he had say dat he want de team to be honored without him as a distraction then fine.
Post by: dombasil on July 01, 2006, 06:35:34 AM
Quote from: Tallman link=topic=18336.msg188281#msg188281
[quote
Yeah, he was playing for Grasshoppers in the Swiss 1st division being coached by one  Mr. Leo Beenhakker. Allyuh might of heard of him.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 01, 2006, 06:49:26 AM
I was just a lad at the time of the stirke squad but by all accounts they were special team. I always belive in honouring those who excelled so I wouldn't even try to devalue the achievements of that team. However I can't help but feel that eveytime this Cummings fella talks he spews a load of the most pungent stuff. Ok if its his opinion that the coach should have been here I wouldn't get carried away by that. The tone of it however comes across as bitter and overstated.

Furthermore I would like to disagree with the honourable coach's assertion that we were too defensive. Perhaps Mr Cummings did not see that even playing backs to wall defense did not prevent England from creating and  subsequently missing at least 4 sitters. The same can be said of the Sweden contest albeit in smaller numbers.  Imagine what the scoreline could have been. We played counter attack in the first 2 games and were it not for some key saves from defenders and the absence of a little luck we would have scored. and everyone saw the last game we attacked and just didn't happen but dais football.

Here is my opinion on local coaches. Until the day all of these talkers could actually find a pro-league team to coach and have team qualify to the concacaf Championship and consistently produce results against those teams then we could them seriously. I'm sorry to sound like this but we can't expect to play Champagne football with a Mauby coach. I heard Gally on the radio a few months before Leo took the job saying that football hadn't changed in terms of speed, tactics or strategy in the last 20 years. I couldn't belive what I was hearing. I'm no elder but I've seen enough football to know that nothing could be further from the truth. I felt bad not only for him but for every other coach in Trinidad. After all Gally is supposed to be an elder statesman in his trade. 

Post by: brucekeros on July 01, 2006, 07:53:46 AM
gally is ah madman, by the way tallman ah from elizabeth st boy in cocoyea by clark dem.
Post by: fishs on July 01, 2006, 07:57:51 AM
I was just a lad at the time of the stirke squad but by all accounts they were special team. I always belive in honouring those who excelled so I wouldn't even try to devalue the achievements of that team. However I can't help but feel that eveytime this Cummings fella talks he spews a load of the most pungent stuff. Ok if its his opinion that the coach should have been here I wouldn't get carried away by that. The tone of it however comes across as bitter and overstated.

Furthermore I would like to disagree with the honourable coach's assertion that we were too defensive. Perhaps Mr Cummings did not see that even playing backs to wall defense did not prevent England from creating and  subsequently missing at least 4 sitters. The same can be said of the Sweden contest albeit in smaller numbers.  Imagine what the scoreline could have been. We played counter attack in the first 2 games and were it not for some key saves from defenders and the absence of a little luck we would have scored. and everyone saw the last game we attacked and just didn't happen but dais football.

Here is my opinion on local coaches. Until the day all of these talkers could actually find a pro-league team to coach and have team qualify to the concacaf Championship and consistently produce results against those teams then we could them seriously. I'm sorry to sound like this but we can't expect to play Champagne football with a Mauby coach. I heard Gally on the radio a few months before Leo took the job saying that football hadn't changed in terms of speed, tactics or strategy in the last 20 years. I couldn't belive what I was hearing. I'm no elder but I've seen enough football to know that nothing could be further from the truth. I felt bad not only for him but for every other coach in Trinidad. After all Gally is supposed to be an elder statesman in his trade. 

LOL.

yuh should meet Gally, allyuh going tuh have a time wid de kicks
Post by: Jefferz on July 01, 2006, 11:22:23 AM

And dat is ah lame excuse. If he had say dat he want de team to be honored without him as a distraction then fine.

Fish, patner... I think this question of allegiance would best be answered if Beenie stays with us... otherwise now is probably best let fellahz slug it out... and really.. yuh must admit... it would have been better for Cummings to keep it to himself... I know he did alot for us... but we all know hes bitting for the job and really... hes not making himself looking any better when he is obviously looking for any and every reason to take a chomp at Beenhakker...

I thought Beenie made a few mistakes in our Campaign too... but the facts are clear...

The man has done so much for us that I think it would be unfair to hit him so hard in such a celebratory time.
Post by: marcpurcell on July 01, 2006, 12:45:20 PM
I am personally happy that Beenie took us to the World Cup. We can finally put to rest the ghost of that Strike Squad that has haunted not only T&T football but sport in general.

While the strike squad were my first generation of heroes; it was time they become part of T&T past. Prior to this year the failure of strike squad just hung around us like a plague. Every failure by T&T athlete was puntuated with November 19th.

Gally represents part of the past who failed pure and simple. We have learned and moved on. We are considerably more talented and professional in our approach.

It is time we move on past that failure of the Strike Squad that has become a stain on T&T football.

The Soca Warriors under Leo has done that. Job well done Leo.

Post by: Tongue on July 01, 2006, 03:19:27 PM
has any of the local coaches given Don Leo any credit for getting the team to the WC? all ah hearing is ah seta critercising
Post by: Tallman on July 01, 2006, 04:43:42 PM

Tallman yuh slipping  ;) Grasshoppers is a Swiss club
Yuh damn right, ah deserve ah ticket for dat. Ah must be still studying dem Swedish ting who was in Germany  :devil:.
Post by: Rastaman on July 01, 2006, 04:47:16 PM

Jahgol you start of by saying that you were just a lad in the days of the Strike Squad and I respect that you made this clear.
Answer me this. How can you tell the tone of someone is saying when it is printed in a newspaper?
Then you start another point saying "Here is my opinion..." Tell me. Why is it ok for you to give your opinion but not Gally.
One more question when Gally was talking about football not changing in the last 20 yrs, was he speaking about world football or TnT football ? Just want to know as I am not there to hear it myself.
Post by: fishs on July 01, 2006, 04:56:03 PM

Fish, patner... I think this question of allegiance would best be answered if Beenie stays with us... otherwise now is probably best let fellahz slug it out... and really.. yuh must admit... it would have been better for Cummings to keep it to himself... I know he did alot for us... but we all know hes bitting for the job and really... hes not making himself looking any better when he is obviously looking for any and every reason to take a chomp at Beenhakker...

I thought Beenie made a few mistakes in our Campaign too... but the facts are clear...

The man has done so much for us that I think it would be unfair to hit him so hard in such a celebratory time.

Ah hear yuh.
De Wc finish now for de warriors, time to move on an only positive vibes fuh Jo Burg, Capetown, Durban etc
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 01, 2006, 05:28:39 PM

Ah hear yuh.
De Wc finish now for de warriors, time to move on an only positive vibes fuh Jo Burg, Capetown, Durban etc

yuh survive germany fishs, how was de johnny walker black? :devil:
Title: gally slams leo
Post by: dreadlocks on July 02, 2006, 01:46:19 AM
gally is on jealous son of a bitch he saying beenhakker disrespect tnt by not coming back to trinidad with the boys he just want to coach tnt again and saying we played to defensive he trying to get leo out of the country he will never coach tnt again hes an complete failure i want leo and whim back let it burn his stomach.
Post by: fishs on July 02, 2006, 10:51:47 AM

Ah hear yuh.

yuh survive germany fishs, how was de johnny walker black? :devil:

Man , why yuh give mih ah drink an den run from mih ?

But de black had mih walking.

Germany was ah true drinkfest, everynight in de irish pub (Victoria) in Nuremburg. Ah give de english ah run fuh dey money. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: elan on July 02, 2006, 01:12:08 PM
Posted by: Rastaman 
Insert Quote
Quote from: Jah Gol on July 01, 2006, 08:49:26 AM

Jahgol you start of by saying that you were just a lad in the days of the Strike Squad and I respect that you made this clear.
Answer me this. How can you tell the tone of someone is saying when it is printed in a newspaper?
Then you start another point saying "Here is my opinion..." Tell me. Why is it ok for you to give your opinion but not Gally.One more question when Gally was talking about football not changing in the last 20 yrs, was he speaking about world football or TnT football ? Just want to know as I am not there to hear it myself.

The same reason it was not okay for Nakhid to say what he thought.
Post by: Rastaman on July 02, 2006, 05:13:33 PM
Posted by: Rastaman 
Insert Quote
Quote from: Jah Gol on July 01, 2006, 08:49:26 AM

Then you start another point saying "Here is my opinion..." Tell me. Why is it ok for you to give your opinion but not Gally.One more question when Gally was talking about football not changing in the last 20 yrs, was he speaking about world football or TnT football ? Just want to know as I am not there to hear it myself.

The same reason it was not okay for Nakhid to say what he thought.
Sorry you lost me there....