Sports => Football => Topic started by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 07:41:58 AM

Title: Let me ask allyuh who hating ah serious question.
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 07:41:58 AM
If you had one (1) place on the Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors team, and two men to choose from.

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

Who allyuh go pick in all honesty?  And why?

Forget what allyuh feel bout de USA..and de match commentators.

Talk from ah footballing point aha view and keep de personal biasness out.

Title: Re: Let me ask allyuh who hating ah serious question.
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 08:04:33 AM
I like dis kinda talk

I would choose Donovan.

Why?

Because his deficiencies as a player would be easily hidden given the other TT players around him.

I also think he brings as much to a team if not a little more than Cornell Glen.

e.g.

He can play fwd, wing, center mid.

He can defend as well as finish and he has a good fitness rate.

He can head a ball consistently

He has a free kick

Stronger frame and better presence on the field

Also I think he is a little more intelligent than Cornell and has a better footballing brain.

I find Cornell to do some "Dunce" things on a field from time to time...making the wrong decisions and over dribbling.

Lastly Donovan has a better first touch and control over Cornell. Cornells speed makes up for his poor touch.....watch him closely.

Now ask yourself this...Can Cornells deficiencies as a player be covered by his supporting TT cast members effectively?

If I was the coach I taking Donovan.....he is a more complete player.

Alright alyuh bash meh...hit meh the unpatriotic ranks, Donovan just as fast or a tad slower than Glenn and less flashy...But in criticising my assessment lay out and substantiate your arguement like I have above.
Post by: dcs on April 17, 2006, 08:15:00 AM

Well yes.....why restrict it to one player then?

double agent
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 08:24:09 AM
Donovan.....

No need for indepth analysis, he is just simply a much better player....at this point at least......

but I guess this question was not for me, because I wasn't hating..........

I like dis kinda talk

I would choose Donovan.

Why?

Because his deficiencies as a player would be easily hidden given the other TT players around him.

Explain what you mean by that Touches.....like an example...
Post by: warmonga on April 17, 2006, 08:28:39 AM
If you had one (1) place on the Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors team, and two men to choose from.

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

Donovan and Glen is two different players. I feal Donovan aint no foward so I cya compare both of them at all.. I feal Donovan is a Natural Midfielder and Glen is a work horse up front...  
Anyway Donovan playing wid Glen this year in de MLS ,   I gurantee Glen scoring at leat 17 goals with ease this year.. Its all about service,  and Donovan could ball..Yu see dat flick him pass for Glen ..Trus mi , this year nufff passes like dat a gwan.. and Nuff goals Glen go score!!!!!
Warmonga..
Post by: Andre on April 17, 2006, 08:31:11 AM
given the lack of depth in midfield and abundance of forwards the warriors have...dare i say landon "i need rogaine or a headshave bad" donavan?
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 08:31:55 AM

Donovan and Glen is two different players. I feal Donovan aint no foward so I cya compare both of them at all.. I feal Donovan is a Natural Midfielder and Glen is a work horse up front...  
Anyway Donovan playing wid Glen this year in de MLS ,   I gurantee Glen scoring at leat 17 goals with ease this year.. Its all about service,  and Donovan could ball..Yu see dat flick him pass for Glen ..Trus mi , this year nufff passes like dat a gwan.. and Nuff goals Glen go score!!!!!
Warmonga..

answer the question....

no one asked who you think is the better player, he asked who you would choose on the Warriors team if there was one place left......

Which player do you think would have the greater effect on our team ? or are you saying they would have an equal effect so you can't choose ?
Post by: JDB on April 17, 2006, 08:35:02 AM

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

Nobody is disputing that Donovan is a better player. Also most men give him his credit for being a good player, the only knock against him being that he chooses to play in a league with no great players.

But as you say Donovan's qualities are a different thing from the commentary and that is what most people commented on.

Just as we could give Donovan credit when due the commentator's failure to acknowledge Glen (and it was only one of them whoi did this) was glaring.

I don't see a problem with men noticing and even commenting on this.
Post by: davidephraim on April 17, 2006, 08:57:42 AM
How great did Donavon look abroad, normal to sayh the least. Donavan looks  good playing in the MLS and Hardest looks good(when he sweatin) playin in de PFL. But what about de bigger leaques?  Why is Donavan playing in de MLS? I think Cornell is who I want because he is on an upswing in momentum. He is getting better as he tries to make personal improvements and this is reflected in his work rate.  Kinda like a lesser Dwight Yorke. Donavan played at a higher level and has been downgraded. Training is Trainig so Im sure he working as hard on de field but in ones head a downgrade doesnt constitute the best platform to achieve unless directly tacked onto to upgrading again which means he lookin for a club which I dont think.
If Cornell agent say Europe calling, I sure he gone. ... and dont give me the schmuck about its not de big club that counts because if so E'to 's news wouldnt be such a surprise.
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 08:58:00 AM
Kicker

Every player has to perform a Primary role in a team, be it defending, striking, tackling etc....that is his or her strength.

But for the team to be effective the qualities that the player does not bring to the table must be covered or done by the teammates.

Now if a person is deficient in a particular area, more work will have to be done by the teammates in order for balance to be restored.

Its another way of saying...given his supporting cast, how would they cover the things he doe do good.

e.g. With Latapy in the midfield you have little defensive cover coming out of him...yes he may pelt a tackle and track back, but you not expecting that out of him. So who do you have in the middle to balance it out...Birchall Primary, Yorke Secondary and then WHitley.

Now if a mans weakness is glaring....then his teammates have more wuk to do, or their role is changed....e.g Whitley is a runnning, beating attacking Phenom for Jabloteh, but in TT colours he have to humble heself and play defensive mid or not as attacking because the Boss Latapy run things.

Now going back to the Glenn/Donovan issue....If you look at each players deficiencies...and how it will impact on work being done by the teammates
around them a sensible coach would go for the option that results in less load or work per supporting player. Thus the supporting players can concentrate on their primary role.

Lets give another example...Stern.

He will not run for no ball and you do not expect him to take any ball and run at a defence. He is a trap and screen man and goal poacher...........He is totally deficient at being a counter attack man  or penetrative player.

Thus to hide his lack of speed you change the formation to suit Sterns strengths or you place players around him with the attributes he does not have. Hence Scotland, Cornell, Kenwyne etc if playing a 4-4-2 are his striking partners.

Cornell nor Donovan are "stars" to dictate how we play around them....thus they would both be players who have to get with the system.

The logic of my thought process follows that Donovan is more of a complete player hence lessening the workload on his teammates allowing them to perform their roles more effectively.
Post by: Pointman on April 17, 2006, 09:00:36 AM
CORNELL GLEN cause he's Trini...end of story ::).
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 09:01:17 AM

Nobody is disputing that Donovan is a better player. Also most men give him his credit for being a good player, the only knock against him being that he chooses to play in a league with no great players.

But as you say Donovan's qualities are a different thing from the commentary and that is what most people commented on.

Just as we could give Donovan credit when due the commentator's failure to acknowledge Glen (and it was only one of them whoi did this) was glaring.

I don't see a problem with men noticing and even commenting on this.

The commentator was biased for sure.....because to me, Cornell's finish on the second goal was a class finish...not any and every striker was scoring that...honestly though I've heard non-American announcers make similar comments.....many commentators cannot totally hide their bias....even some of the British ones during the W.C. and Euro competitions...anyone denying that is deaf.

And yes, us on the forum commenting on the bias is no scene.....but you and I know better JDB. We didn't just notice it and comment on it. We used at as another excuse to hate on the U.S & Donovan.....read the posts.

I almost wanna bet that if Latas had run through a side and set up Donovan for that same goal.....and the commentators said "forget Donovan, look at the work that Latapy did to create that goal yadda yadda etc.......), there would be no complaint....in fact I almost wanna bet that we would jump on that statement, and start bawlin' how Donovan is nothing without Latas, and how the U.S. never create a player who could do that...blah blah...ole talk ole talk etc etc........it is in our nature.....in this case we use our own bias to complain about others' biases.....

it comes down to what I always say....there is no love for U.S. soccer on this site....full stop......I not saying it's right, but it is what it is, so doh try to be diplomatic about it, and make it sound like it was just a case of us noticing and commenting on some bad commentary...there was alot more to it than that.
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 09:03:13 AM
This thread real jokey..only me , andre and kicker answer truetrini original question yes.

Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 09:03:53 AM
Kicker

Every player has to perform a Primary role in a team, be it defending, striking, tackling etc....that is his or her strength.

But for the team to be effective the qualities that the player does not bring to the table must be covered or done by the teammates.

Now if a person is deficient in a particular area, more work will have to be done by the teammates in order for balance to be restored.

Its another way of saying...given his supporting cast, how would they cover the things he doe do good.

e.g. With Latapy in the midfield you have little defensive cover coming out of him...yes he may pelt a tackle and track back, but you not expecting that out of him. So who do you have in the middle to balance it out...Birchall Primary, Yorke Secondary and then WHitley.

Now if a mans weakness is glaring....then his teammates have more wuk to do, or their role is changed....e.g Whitley is a runnning, beating attacking Phenom for Jabloteh, but in TT colours he have to humble heself and play defensive mid or not as attacking because the Boss Latapy run things.

Now going back to the Glenn/Donovan issue....If you look at each players deficiencies...and how it will impact on work being done by the teammates
around them a sensible coach would go for the option that results in less load or work per supporting player. Thus the supporting players can concentrate on their primary role.

Lets give another example...Stern.

He will not run for no ball and you do not expect him to take any ball and run at a defence. He is a trap and screen man and goal poacher...........He is totally deficient at being a counter attack man  or penetrative player.

Thus to hide his lack of speed you change the formation to suit Sterns strengths or you place players around him with the attributes he does not have. Hence Scotland, Cornell, Kenwyne etc if playing a 4-4-2 are his striking partners.

Cornell nor Donovan are "stars" to dictate how we play around them....thus they would both be players who have to get with the system.

The logic of my thought process follows that Donovan is more of a complete player hence lessening the workload on his teammates allowing them to perform their roles more effectively.

I know what you meant, I just wanted an example of what you think is one Donovan's weaknesses, and how you saw it being covered up.........and by whom......
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 09:06:31 AM
Kicker....

Why you so....if yuh know what I saying.

Or is it you wanted me to read and spell for the benefit of those who couldnt comprehend the question.
Post by: arrow on April 17, 2006, 09:07:45 AM
I would pick Donovan and he would be the best player on the Soca Warriors 11 hands down.  At this point in time he is better than Dwight, Latas, Carlos, Stern everybody.
Post by: FF on April 17, 2006, 09:10:05 AM
Nah Kicker not at all... not at all....

you making it sound like the US/Donovan hate was de only reason men jump on the commentary....

Dem men went OVERBOARD rite dey... and dat is de real reason why men cyah stand US/Donovan/US commentary...

all dey had was to say was... great goal... and GREAT pass... wonderfully weighted... good vision.... but them like dey couldnt wait to "break" on dey self and run down on de pitch to shower donovan with praises and gifts...

and dis is not a one off... their commentary in de last world cup... WCQ and all up to de Jamaica game last week leaves alot to be desired...

Also this kind of biased, fawning commentary... de US do not have a monopoly on dat at all... yuh ever heard of de english Clive Tydesly .... Man U men go know... dat man sickening

p.s. ah so shame so i ent go type it.... I go pick L....
Post by: kingman on April 17, 2006, 09:11:00 AM
I would pick Donovan and he would be the best player on the Soca Warriors 11 hands down.  At this point in time he is better than Dwight, Latas, Carlos, Stern everybody.

:rotfl: ;D You guys really know how to come on board and talk some good sutff. LOL. He better than everybody hands down?...LOL.

Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 09:14:28 AM
I would pick Donovan and he would be the best player on the Soca Warriors 11 hands down.  At this point in time he is better than Dwight, Latas, Carlos, Stern everybody.

HEHEHEHEHE  :rotfl:

Arrow breds yuh jest rile up the whole board with that statement  ;D

Post by: davidephraim on April 17, 2006, 09:18:52 AM
This thread real jokey..only me , andre and kicker answer truetrini original question yes.

Touches, this statement reeks of waggonism. like yuh put down  a wuk and then went back to de scene to see how de police and people felt about it.... I dont think your product knowledge was threatened here......why de sprinkles over meh bannana split!!

I'd still go with Cornell Glen.His Passport and Nationality  supports his ability to be a Soca-warrior.  Donavan cant be a warrior so I deem this a  hypathetical non-dimensional question at best.

. Did I anwser de question now.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:  Cheers
Post by: Pointman on April 17, 2006, 09:19:00 AM
I would pick Donovan and he would be the best player on the Soca Warriors 11 hands down.  At this point in time he is better than Dwight, Latas, Carlos, Stern everybody.

It too early to smoking breds ::)
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 09:24:09 AM

you making it sound like the US/Donovan hate was de only reason men jump on the commentary....

Dem men went OVERBOARD rite dey... and dat is de real reason why men cyah stand US/Donovan/US commentary...

all dey had was to say was... great goal... and GREAT pass... wonderfully weighted... good vision.... but them like dey couldnt wait to "break" on dey self and run down on de pitch to shower donovan with praises and gifts...

and dis is not a one off... their commentary in de last world cup... WCQ and all up to de Jamaica game last week leaves alot to be desired...

Also this kind of biased, fawning commentary... de US do not have a monopoly on dat at all... yuh ever heard of de english Clive Tydesly .... Man U men go know... dat man sickening

not the only reason....but a major part of it......

A major part of it as well, was the fact that Glenn scored the goal.....if it were another striker (an american for eg....we wouldn't care as much)....that's why I say it's not just the commentary......

like I say iz no scene to me....I agree the commentary on that goal was bad.....and it struck a sensitive nerve in me too,....... one because I like Cornell Glenn and two, because to me the finish was class.....(notice I always use "we"....I don't fully abscond myself from the Trini bias...iz our nature)

but lewwe not sugar coat our intentions and make it sound like all of a sudden we have this strong ethical conscience about biased commentary............you and I know better.

Kicker....

Or is it you wanted me to read and spell for the benefit of those who couldnt comprehend the question.

Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 09:24:29 AM
Ephraim yuh moving lil touchy today breds...

I'd still go with Cornell Glen.His Passport and Nationality  supports his ability to be a Soca-warrior.  Donavan cant be a warrior so I deem this a  hypathetical non-dimensional question at best.

. Did I anwser de question now.

ARGHHMMM  NO

Post by: Dutty on April 17, 2006, 09:28:31 AM

It too early to smoking breds ::)

Nah man he hadda be swingin sarcasm dey...de man cyah be serious
Post by: dwn on April 17, 2006, 09:30:58 AM
Answer: Donavan. He is a more complete player. The only thing Glen has over Donavan is speed. And Im not even 100% sure about that cause Donavan has real speed too.
Post by: TrinInfinite on April 17, 2006, 09:31:51 AM
wat is de point of this thread? what are u trying to achieve tt by asking this question, wats de objective? :thinking: :waiting:
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 09:38:00 AM
I really don't see the issue here. Everybody knows that T&T fans will always hate US football. This sort of thing happens all over the world. Rivalries are good so long as things never get violent. If we hate US football we hate US football ! How different is that from Brazillians hating Argentine football? When Tevez went to Corinthians he made a statement about Maradona being the best ever that offended many Pele afficianados. The Scotts hate the English, the Dutch hate the Germans etc, etc.

I'm one of those people who think that Donavon is overrated. I think he's a good player but I don't think he's a great player.Please remember that he plays in the MLS and even then he's not as dominant as US media would have us believe. Its not  fair to mention his European experience with Leverkusen since he was young at the time. That being said, I still expected much more from this player. He has a good touch and plenty heart(A prerequisite of all American players) not much more. He'd often vanish from games and can be marked easily by any committed defender. During the World Cup, Donavon will come up against Gatusso of Italy, Essien of Ghana and Jarosik of the Czech Republic. How many Donavon fans can say that these players don't routinely play against attackers who are superior ?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 17, 2006, 09:38:52 AM
donavan

because he is a brilliant player...and has such class....... glenn to me isnt dat hott ...he is very overated in my books
Post by: Jefferz on April 17, 2006, 09:40:22 AM
Pops...

This question go break me down into tears... I love meh fellow socawarrior Glen and I hate that big head Donovan... but...

Landon Donovan is a very good player now... however I still believe with more exposer Glen has the potential to be far better...

simply becuase...

1. He's faster.

2. He has a more powerful shot and a far superior volley shot.

3. He is has alot more strength than Donovan on and off the ball.

What Donovan currently has him on those is...

1. A Higher level of dribbling skills.

2. Sharper, more inovative passing.

So I'de still have to go with Glen.

VP of the Glen for Goals committee

RIGHT THROUGH

Post by: john_public on April 17, 2006, 09:41:00 AM
well dat it 2 different kinda players, and have different roles, but to make a choice i going wit glen, any trini over any other player in the world.

trini 2 d bone  
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 09:44:58 AM
That stateme

Rather than laughing this off I would would like you to explain the rationale behind this statement ?
Post by: arrow on April 17, 2006, 09:52:46 AM
That stateme

Rather than laughing this off I would would like you to explain the rationale behind this statement ?

Donovan has been the best player on the US team since the last world cup.  Someone should ask Bruce Arena if he'd rather have a 34 year-old Yorke (who has been effectively neutralized everytime he's played against the US) or a 24 year-old Donovan who starred for the US in the 2002 World Cup and throughout the 2006 qualifiers and see what he thinks
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 10:04:13 AM
They are different teams and the players are used in different roles. I think it is unfair to compare the head to head performance of the teams in the context of they being at different levels of development.

In my opinion Latapy can do everything Donavon can do. I will concede that Latapy's speed and endurance does not matchup with Donavon's but I do believe he possesses qualities that compensate for this deficiency.

I don't think he's better than Yorke either.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 17, 2006, 10:07:48 AM
Would have to take donovan over Glen...Donovan is a more complete player right now and would bring a lot more to the team than glen cud (at this current time). Don't like donovan one bit but hadda face it that he is one of the best US players. He has good vision and passin as can be seen from the ball he gave to glen.
Post by: dcs on April 17, 2006, 10:08:12 AM
Arena would not say he would take Rooney over Donovan.

Take the question to the extreme nah.

Would you trade the SocaWarriors for Sam's army......patriotism, nationality and all that jazz aside    ::)

The hating on the commentary was completely warranted.  Nobody need to defend themselves on that.
Hating on Donovan....completely understandable.  Not just becuase he is a yank but his personality is like one of those that people love to hate....like Kobe.

And I do not agree that we would have done the same thing.  That is selling us short.  I think it is quite the contrary and we tend to be alot more diplomatic and fair dealing with opponents....some say that is a weakness on our part.  Anybody who say the US commentary wasn't OVERLY bias...beyond normal need to wake up.

Sorry, can't put his nationality aside to answer the question.  Maybe if you said to play on a club side but not for the SocaWarriors....playing on that team is more than just ability.
Post by: Warrior till death on April 17, 2006, 10:08:56 AM
we coulda neva get Landon Donovan to play fuh we
end of story
Post by: dwn on April 17, 2006, 10:17:43 AM
I really don't see the issue here. Everybody knows that T&T fans will always hate US football. This sort of thing happens all over the world. Rivalries are good so long as things never get violent. If we hate US football we hate US football ! How different is that from Brazillians hating Argentine football? When Tevez went to Corinthians he made a statement about Maradona being the best ever that offended many Pele afficianados. The Scotts hate the English, the Dutch hate the Germans etc, etc.

Just cause u hate US football doesnt mean you cant objectively compare Donavan to Glen.

Corinthians fans love Tevez now.

However once Tevez put on a Argentina jersey is a diff story.  I not saying it cant spill over but those rivalries are more on a national than an individual level.

Trinidad and Jamaica are rivals but I sure many will agree that Gardner is better than Avery. (Or is it just me?)

I doubt Brazilians taking offense to Maradona being considered better than Pele is strictly a Brazil v Argentina thing. If Tevez and Maradona were Trinidadian it probably would have offended people too.
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 10:23:40 AM
They are different teams and the players are used in different roles. I think it is unfair to compare the head to head performance of the teams in the context of they being at different levels of development.

In my opinion Latapy can do everything Donavon can do. I will concede that Latapy's speed and endurance does not matchup with Donavon's but I do believe he possesses qualities that compensate for this deficiency.

I don't think he's better than Yorke either.

You are comparing Donovan to the Yorke and Latapy of the past...talking about Latapy can do everything that Donovan can do except he's not as fit and fast.....EXACTLY !!! Fitness and speed are huge assets in the game......what's your point ? We're not talking about Yorke in his prime...or Latapy at his prime......we're talking about now....

and Latapy's other qualities do not compensate, otherwise he'd be running 90 mins for T&T.......and he'd be playing at a better team than Falkirk....This is not an indictment on Latas...Latas is king, but he is 37....it's that simple.....and Yorke is over the hill as well......

In terms of ability at their prime Latapy is better player than Donovan, hands down.. and so is Yorke......but now ? Donovan is far more valuable than Latapy right now....and I hate to say it, but he is as capable if not more capable than Yorke presently as well........

I am no Donovan fan, and I might never admit this in an ole talk argument with an American just for the sake of National pride and gun talk....but amongst Trinis plain talk eh no bad manners......a player of Donovan's ability would be the go-to guy on our National team.........
Post by: doc on April 17, 2006, 10:26:27 AM
Would have to take donovan over Glen...Donovan is a more complete player right now and would bring a lot more to the team than glen cud (at this current time). Don't like donovan one bit but hadda face it that he is one of the best US players. He has good vision and passin as can be seen from the ball he gave to glen.
I had the impression that Donovan wanted to go for it. Glen had pulled away from his marker to the right of Donovan, where he could have played him through. When Glen realized Donovans intention, he made the run across the defense to free up space for Donovan to attack, and ran into an even better space on the weak side. The delivery of the pass was more difficult, than seeing it. So I would conclude that Glen made it happen ... he made it easy for Donovan. :devil:
Post by: JDB on April 17, 2006, 10:28:21 AM

Thanks FF. I am probably not as up to date on the thread as others but I didn't see any "standard" US hating.

As a United fan I could tell yuh that Tydesly (sp) is awful. Nont one game will pass by wher he will not mention "that magical night in Barcelona"

To me the answer ios obvious so I didn't mention it. DOnovan will get pick and as arrow say he would be the best player on the side.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 10:36:27 AM

Just cause u hate US football doesnt mean you cant objectively compare Donavan to Glen.

Corinthians fans love Tevez now.

However once Tevez put on a Argentina jersey is a diff story.  I not saying it cant spill over but those rivalries are more on a national than an individual level.

Trinidad and Jamaica are rivals but I sure many will agree that Gardner is better than Avery. (Or is it just me?)

I doubt Brazilians taking offense to Maradona being considered better than Pele is strictly a Brazil v Argentina thing. If Tevez and Maradona were Trinidadian it probably would have offended people too.

Sorry about that one. I didn't answer the question. I think Donavon is a better player then Glen.

I got lost in what was in my opinion the disgust for T&T fans hating US footall. As if its wrong or something.
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 10:39:14 AM

Thanks FF. I am probably not as up to date on the thread as others but I didn't see any "standard" US hating.

Fair enough

maybe not "standard".......whatever that means......

if one can't sense any undertone of Trini-US-Donovan griping in that thread, then I'll concede that it was just my imagination.......
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 10:44:15 AM
Kicker

This post just make man realise that if Donovan currently better than all we players..............we side real good boy!  ;D
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 10:47:38 AM
Kicker

This post just make man realise that if Donovan currently better than all we players..............we side real good boy!  ;D

haha...thing is, just because Donovan might be better than most/all our players, doesn't necessarily extrapolate that we couldn't handle him in a head to head match......

Ronaldinho could walk on any side in the world...doesn't mean that Brazil or Barcelona is invincible.
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 10:51:07 AM
You studying me...

I on kicks with all these sensitive people on board!

Post by: FF on April 17, 2006, 10:52:00 AM
Kicker

aye.... is not "ah side" anymore... we have a team... and dat team could be world beaters!!  ;D
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 10:58:38 AM
IN truth FF

we graduate from...... Tin pot outfit......to dem fellahs.....to side........to team.

Now Bomb squad status.....considering we players retiring, we under 21s getting whet from Haiti and we under 17s cyar score a goal in a Youth Tornament.

We go have to wait a REEEEEEEAAALLLLLL long time for that.  :devil:

For now I go be happy with a team.

p.s........look how we hijack TT thread nah.
Post by: Marcos on April 17, 2006, 11:59:28 AM
I watch the galaxy game on Sat.
Donovan eh look special.
His best asset is speed.
Cornell eh look too great in the game yet had two good finishes. I even think he mis-kick the second but it still went in d goal.
The commentators all over Donovan d*__ so don't always believe the reports. He wasn't that special on the night

As a side note he is also a better crosser and dead ball kicker than anyone we have on our side so he would actually be the key player on our team if we had him.
Noone in our team can deliver a ball  with pace and curl like he does.
I think I gonna start a popst about that
Post by: saga pinto on April 17, 2006, 01:05:35 PM
Wait nah, If I remember correctly it's the quality of the pass that brings out a quality finish and vice versa.
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 01:06:39 PM
Donovan eh look special.
His best asset is speed.
Cornell eh look too great in the game yet had two good finishes. I even think he mis-kick the second but it still went in d goal.
The commentators all over Donovan d*__ so don't always believe the reports. He wasn't that special on the night

As a side note he is also a better crosser and dead ball kicker than anyone we have on our side so he would actually be the key player on our team if we had him.

Go see ah eye doctor..or get ah anntennae fuh yuh TV.

Donavan was de BEST player on de fuh he side and prob on de best on de field.

I doh like he personally, but he is ah very good baller.

Man saying dat he playing in de MLS and he eh good odderwise he woulda be in Europe...well what dat say about Glen?

Speed fuh speed me wh know who faster..but ah know dat Landon real fit and does run full game..at top speed too.

Cyar say dat bout NO T&T player...none!  Not even de super fit Yorke.

Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 01:08:51 PM

yuh know him personally or ?  ;D
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 01:22:52 PM

yuh know him personally or ?  ;D

Nah ah shoulda say I doh like him because Kicker doh like him?

Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 01:29:03 PM

Nah ah shoulda say I doh like him because Kicker doh like him?

well if I had the ability to influence people like that....and if I actually said that, that would be cool.....otherwise, how you feel about him personally will suffice...jk  :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on April 17, 2006, 03:03:01 PM
I doh like no USA players and yes, is hate. But i spend nuff time in the Oval/Stadium getting licks to build a healthy hatred. And it have no giving jack he jacket. USA could win the world cup and they would still be a shit side to me. Just like Fatima is a shit squad of rare and odious shittiness.

That being said, the commentary thing is somethign I've noticed more and more over the past few years. A guy like Martin Tyler will call whatever he see on the field, end of story. And plenty of us grow up seeing that and expecting that.  But we also grow up seeing NBA coverage where everytime magic or Jordon make a layup Marv (bite them in the..) acting like is the greatest shot of all time.

Now you seeing it on FSW and GolTV and ABC/ESPN. The fool who does colour commentary on La Liga. He does be having orgasms every time Ronaldino touch the ball. He used to sweat Zidane, but now he have a new love. Is the fact that it out of context and that other men on the field doing similar things, and that Martin Tyler would never get on so that make it that much more grating.

And when you do see something truly great, they done spend so much time shouting that it gets lost in the rush. Is best they put Sedley Joseph on.

Post by: Marcos on April 17, 2006, 03:15:19 PM
Donovan eh look special.
His best asset is speed.

Man saying dat he playing in de MLS and he eh good odderwise he woulda be in Europe...well what dat say about Glen?

Speed fuh speed me wh know who faster..but ah know dat Landon real fit and does run full game..at top speed too.

I watch d man try to beat and get jam a good few times.
His "assist" to cornell for the first goals wasn't no dred assist. IIt looked as much look as skill
His second assist was very good.
Yorke eh look superfit in a while if you ask me.

Actually, without goin into specifics,
I disagree WHOLEHEARTEDLY with your entire post.
By the way we don't use antennas.
Post by: elan on April 17, 2006, 03:15:53 PM

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

I feel you all over analyzing. The player I would choose would be Glen. Why? Because he would adapt to the way we play much quicker than Donovan would. See as a coach you would not just look at the individual to the team, but at the team to the individual also. In this case Glen would be the best person to compliment the TRINIDAD and TOBAGO SOCA WARRIORS.

Yes Donovan deficiencies which he has now will be hidden playing with our team because he would be technically superior, but new deficiencies would be exposed by him playing with us. His inability to play the small sided game within the bigger game would be exposed.
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 04:06:31 PM

I watch d man try to beat and get jam a good few times.

hahahaha...that is a real Trini analysis of a man's performance
Post by: 1989 on April 17, 2006, 04:38:01 PM
That stateme

Donovan has been the best player on the US team since the last world cup.  Someone should ask Bruce Arena if he'd rather have a 34 year-old Yorke (who has been effectively neutralized everytime he's played against the US) or a 24 year-old Donovan who starred for the US in the 2002 World Cup and throughout the 2006 qualifiers and see what he thinks

Do you really think that Yorke would be shut down with the current team?  Maybe on the BSC team or the Beenhakker team before Latapy, but the team from Mexico onwards?  You have to be joking.  
Further you cannot compare Donovan to Stern - plain and simple.  Look at the stats please.  The only active duty footballer IN THE WORLD that has such a high score rate (with mess or brilliance as midfield service - mostly mess) is Stern John.
Next, be wise, don't compare Donovan to Latapy.  I am sure that you could compare some no-name footballer to Pele and say that he is better just because he is younger.  For that matter you could say that Arena would pick Donovan over Pele today, but really, that is not an argument.  
The fact is that young Donovan IS STILL NOT a better player than 37 year old Latapy - and yes Latapy CAN STILL play for 90 minutes (remember Mexico?).

Please do not diss our players with your set of mis-information.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 17, 2006, 04:42:08 PM
Latapy cannot play 90mins at WC level partner....read the thread bout beenie interview and he said Latapy himself admits that...dont be blinded by yuh patriotism
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 04:54:56 PM
Donovan eh look special.
His best asset is speed.

truetrini i was waiting for you and others to go here(if this one so good,how come they not in europe)
first of lemme answer your question..I would choose Glen...because of his thustyness to get better and work on his deficiencies as a player/striker..even though his confidence is BOOMING right now due to the goals he scored..he has admitted to me and to himself that he played sh%t on saturday..poor finishing..lack of composure etc. and intends to address these issues.

Now about what i started my post about...Cornell has english representation in de agent department for a while now and english teams have been knocking on his door for QUITE some time..matching and in some cases making his mls salary look like pocket change to accquire his services...inspite of this..HE has choosen to remain playing in the 'so called' sh%t league..because personally he feels that he's not ready for that BIG step yet(europe) and still has some fine tuning in his game to do.cause he refuses to be one those players that makes that step and then goes over there and sh%ts on himself..as for the other player mentioned in this thread...i don't know if he had similar reasons for choosing the mls over bayern munich...but..from the research that i've done it seems that financial persuasion had alot to do with his choice,also the fact that he knew with the likes of Ballack and others around he wouldn't see much playing time...which leads be back to my original comments Glen..Glen and more Glen ;D

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee

What yuh say eh make ah lick ah sense.

He want to improve so he decided to stay in ah inferior league, with inferior players to improve he game before moving abroad.

makes as much sense to me as triniman dating a supermodel.

steups. 

I like Glen, I was an advocate fuh de man from long..but doh blow smoke up meh arse nah fella.
Post by: kicker on April 17, 2006, 05:21:13 PM

He want to improve so he decided to stay in ah inferior league, with inferior players to improve he game before moving abroad.

steups.

I like Glen, I was an advocate fuh de man from long..but doh blow smoke up meh arse nah fella.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:........TT boy, right or wrong...ah hadda admit, when yuh were gone, ah really missed posts like this....

If speedy is de man partner, and talkin' straight from the horses mouth, ah hadda give his feedback some credibility though........as counter-intuitive as it may seem........ :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: dwn on April 17, 2006, 05:30:19 PM
Do you really think that Yorke would be shut down with the current team?  Maybe on the BSC team or the Beenhakker team before Latapy, but the team from Mexico onwards?  You have to be joking.  
Further you cannot compare Donovan to Stern - plain and simple.  Look at the stats please.  The only active duty footballer IN THE WORLD that has such a high score rate (with mess or brilliance as midfield service - mostly mess) is Stern John.
Next, be wise, don't compare Donovan to Latapy.  I am sure that you could compare some no-name footballer to Pele and say that he is better just because he is younger.  For that matter you could say that Arena would pick Donovan over Pele today, but really, that is not an argument.  
The fact is that young Donovan IS STILL NOT a better player than 37 year old Latapy - and yes Latapy CAN STILL play for 90 minutes (remember Mexico?).

1. If a man feel Donovan is better than our players or that he find the US is able to neutralize Yorke why is that a diss?

2. The Pele example not making no sense because Latapy is still a player. Latapy in his prime was better than Donovan, Latapy at 37 is ______ (fill in the blank with whatever you want)

3. Latapy's intensity over 90 minutes is not high.

4. When they had world player of the year it was ronaldinho, etoo and lampard. They are all different kinds of players but you can still have an opinion on who you find is better. My point - you can compare Stern and Donovan. Also Etoo had the best scoring record and he didnt win.
Post by: lickslikefire on April 17, 2006, 05:33:49 PM

steups.

BWAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 05:34:03 PM
He turning big pay tuh ketch ass in MLS???? ::)
Post by: Trinimassive on April 17, 2006, 05:50:35 PM
Well MLS is ah step up from the PFL...we know that.

So maybe Glen doh want to end up like Rahim and presentlyTheobald and ride the pine.

If he think he not ready and want to take things a step at a time...nothing wrong with that man.

Take it easy fellas :chilling:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 17, 2006, 05:52:44 PM
Jefferz i hope u never become a business man dread lol  for your own sake

u d VP of d glenn goal scoring comitee

de man doe score goals............. b4 dis 2 goals    how much he score......  good luk with dat 1

he is a fellow soca warrior and i like d ma  buh allyuh overrating d man dread
Post by: Touches on April 17, 2006, 06:10:34 PM

I want to challenge yuh with this statement yuh make here

Do you really think that Yorke would be shut down with the current team?  Maybe on the BSC team or the Beenhakker team before Latapy, but the team from Mexico onwards?  You have to be joking. 

Yorke in he Prime...for Manchester United...Top scorer....Playing against the best defenders in the world.... Get properly manneresed and schooled by the biggest shithound the USA ever fielded...Jeff Agoos. Them wildmen for JA, Goodison and new boys like Scarlet and Marshall when Yorke was in he prime used to manners him.

Breds did you look at the Bahrain games..........yes after Mexico, when we boy could not run past the Bahraini players....which in he ManU and Villa days he woulda do with ease.

Breds Yorke could get shut down with ease if he play fwd. Because he is playing defensive mid other teams will not risk putting a man marker so far up and leaving a gap in they midfield.

It is his position on the field that gives him the leeway, but he lost a step. What he gain though is a fighting spirit that he never had before....that is what I admire him for. The new yorke ent playing sorfie and girly girly like he Manu days . He leading by example and the experience showing.

89 Any player could get shut down...from Pele, Maradonna to Ronaldinho. All yuh need is the correct player with badmind to mark him.

Watch and see we defence go do it come June to better players than Yorke........yuh ent need skill, its just fitness bad mind and Blade.

Post by: #8 on April 17, 2006, 06:19:03 PM

steups.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:........TT boy, right or wrong...ah hadda admit, when yuh were gone, ah really missed posts like this....

If speedy is de man partner, and talkin' straight from the horses mouth, ah hadda give his feedback some credibility though........as counter-intuitive as it may seem........ :rotfl: :rotfl:
bossman....you could interpret and twist what i say however you choose and say that blowing smoke etc..etc...at de end of de day..he developing slowy but surely..his choice to stay in de mls has been his decision..inferior league..look at glen's club history..was he playing better football at futgof or jabloteh or at adsanjanese(spelling)??.. if you do your research he has grown as player and is still growing from then to now(yuh ask a question..i give my answer and reasoning behind my answer..and just so is..'i blowing smoke')  ...so he should've jumped when de english clubs came calling knowing fully well that he wasn't/isn't mentally,physically ready..so that he could flop?? all yuh good yes!! like de home page on this site say 'talk yuh talk' bossman. :beermug:

Post by: supporter on April 17, 2006, 06:25:46 PM
allyuh arguing over commentary from an american league?? get a grip people.

Donovans praise was well deserved (he won the game for them in the final secs of a derby), he is the better player. no one is disputing that. But that doesnt matter if he deserves the praise or not from a  goal. but who cares anyway? someone rename this the 'how good is donovan thread'
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 06:27:21 PM
breds, there are much better places to grow and develop as a player dan de USA..and one ah dem places is de UK!

I done talk..I feel yuh on shit with clubs knocking on de door making he MLS pay look like pocket change and he turning dat down tuh get ah bad tackle and end he career without a big payday?

Steups!

He need ah agent and ah counsellor..because if what you say is true..he dotish!

Now I will again tell yuh me eh fighting dong de man eh/...I want him tuh burn up de MLS..be all star and leading goal scorer in de damn ting.

But ah cyar understand de logic ah dat DOTISH arse move at all, at all.

And de fact is Landon is ah better baller dan Glen, but dat eh mean dat playing together he and Glen eh go tear up de damn league.

two pace men, one as a feeder and one as a predator!

But fella dat old talk cyar be true.....if England calling with BIG money why he eh gorn already?

Post by: dcs on April 17, 2006, 06:28:24 PM

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

He didn't just ask who was better.

Why he say Soca Warriors Team and not the LA Galaxy?  Yuh tink that was co-incidence.
Yuh playing  de :devil:
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 06:29:53 PM

1.  Landon Donavan
2.  Cornell Glen

He didn't just ask who was better.

Why he say Soca Warriors Team and not the LA Galaxy?  Yuh tink that was co-incidence.
Yuh playing  de :devil:

hahahahahahaha

Look how man cyar answer ah simple question?

Like ah give allyuh ah real hard maths test ah wha?

Post by: dcs on April 17, 2006, 06:32:41 PM

You is a real trouble maker when yuh ready   
Yuh know Glen reading yuh fawker  :rotfl:

I choosing Glen the way yuh frame the question.

Ask it another way and people *might* say Donovan.

Post by: #8 on April 17, 2006, 06:32:53 PM
He turning big pay tuh ketch ass in MLS???? ::)
'ketch ass in MLS????'..shed some light on that comment for me..cause if is money yuh talking bout...APPARENTLY..you know something that i don't. last time i checked his salary has gone up plus bonuses/incentatives with every mls team he's moved to..and last but not least his puma endorsement contract. :beermug:

Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 06:44:08 PM
ok breds take win.

i is as ah glen fan...so ah done eh.

ah glad he making big money..but wait nah!

Is you who say de money he get offered make de mls money look like pocket chnge..unless he pocket dem big like h crocus bag....???

I finish I wish de man all de best
Post by: #8 on April 17, 2006, 06:46:01 PM
breds, there are much better places to grow and develop as a player dan de USA..and one ah dem places is de UK!

I done talk..I feel yuh on shit with clubs knocking on de door making he MLS pay look like pocket change and he turning dat down tuh get ah bad tackle and end he career without a big payday?

Steups!

He need ah agent and ah counsellor..because if what you say is true..he dotish!

Now I will again tell yuh me eh fighting dong de man eh/...I want him tuh burn up de MLS..be all star and leading goal scorer in de damn ting.

But ah cyar understand de logic ah dat DOTISH arse move at all, at all.

And de fact is Landon is ah better baller dan Glen, but dat eh mean dat playing together he and Glen eh go tear up de damn league.

two pace men, one as a feeder and one as a predator!

But fella dat old talk cyar be true.....if England calling with BIG money why he eh gorn already?

i not gonna continue going back and forth with this bossman..yuh ask yuh question...i give my answer and reason for it..it is what it is...and as for de statement yuh make about 'my old talk cyar be true...if England calling with BIG money why he eh gorn already'..i'll let him answer that question for you...himself..as soon as he has his galaxy press day and sends me the pictures so that i can attach them to the interview..i'll be posting it..so you could get it from de horse's mouth..because apparently i have a A level in ole talk when it comes to facts about my boy. :beermug:

Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 06:47:27 PM
more like ah B.S.    :devil: :devil:

borse again, me eh fighting down de man.

bless up
Post by: Filho on April 17, 2006, 07:53:53 PM
Cornell. He is used to we Trini slack-man, roller coaster football and eh go get frustrated like Donovan  ;D ;D Trinidad has NO speed up front. Right now the future of our forward line looking like Kenwyne and Sealy. They are good players but I have a bias towards pure speed and bad bad mind. Cornell is not cool at all...dat man will run you into the ground. I watch Cornell play Mexico in a high altitude...de man was bun inside 5 minutes and still run like he it had jep on de field for 90 minutes....Boss we need Samuel and Glen up top in the future...THAT IS FIRE. Two fast, bad mind, hard as nails men. No defense could rest on dat. THey still raw, but I taking dat. All dem shitty long ball from Dog...dem men reachin' dat.

Truth be told, Donovan is the better, more complete player. As a coach, building a team..I would probably build it around Donovan before I build it around Glen. Watching what we need right now..I going with Glen
Post by: davidephraim on April 17, 2006, 08:59:10 PM

Next, be wise, don't compare Donovan to Latapy.  I am sure that you could compare some no-name footballer to Pele and say that he is better just because he is younger.  For that matter you could say that Arena would pick Donovan over Pele today, but really, that is not an argument. 

Like music to my ears.. Donovan cya tie Latapy boots. You wanna talk about Messi maybe. Maybe a young Messi is as good as a young Latapy but if allyuh forget who Russell Latapy is go buy some tapes and Learn. No one since Steve David, De Leon and dem boys time have we seen talent like Russell Latapy.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 09:24:07 PM
"Let me ask allyuh who hating ah serious question." This is the name of the topic started by TT. True Trini, to me it comes across that your somehow upset that we like Donavon. I don't agree with those who would undervalue him to elevate Glenn but I don't see anything wrong with despising any American  player simply because he is  American. We (The fans) hate them for what happened 1989 and thats our right. It doesn't mean that we don't acknowledge their strengths or the fact that they have made considerable progress over the years. If T&T play USA tommorow every trini fan who knows anything about football knows Donavon and  Beasely is the two most dangerous men. Every time Donavon get bat we would celebrate and every time he he run pass a man we would scared out of minds. We just don't like them; its as simple as that.

I understand that some of the men on the board living up there for years now but I hope you as Soca Warrior understand that when it comes to football we hate America like Barca hate Real. So don't get too offended if some of the men say Donavon is overrated ( a view to which I happen to suscribe.) He is overrated by the American media.
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 09:32:12 PM
"Let me ask allyuh who hating ah serious question." This is the name of the topic started by TT. True Trini, to me it comes across that your somehow upset that we like Donavon. I don't agree with those who would undervalue him to elevate Glenn but I don't see anything wrong with despising any American  player simply because he is  American. We (The fans) hate them for what happened 1989 and thats our right. It doesn't mean that we don't acknowledge their strengths or the fact that they have made considerable progress over the years. If T&T play USA tommorow every trini fan who knows anything about football knows Donavon and  Beasely is the two most dangerous men. Every time Donavon get bat we would celebrate and every time he he run pass a man we would scared out of minds. We just don't like them; its as simple as that.

I understand that some of the men on the board living up there for years now but I hope you as Soca Warrior understand that when it comes to football we hate America like Barca hate Real. So don't get too offended if some of the men say Donavon is overrated ( a view to which I happen to suscribe.) He is overrated by the American media.

Allyuh hate Haiti?  Jamaica?  Costa Rica?  Mexico? Cuba?  Canada? Hounduras?

All dem team we before..and some ah dem beat we up and stop we from making it tuh de World Cup before.

If yuh want tuh hate hate where it is due.

Look at the shit dat went on before and during de 1989 campaign and hate accurately.

Ask why players was in ah cramp up maxi (wait is de yankees dem who make dat call?)  Ask why we was in de country and dem in ah hotel close tuh de grounds (wait is dem same yankees who make we do dat ent?)

Steups allyuh could say he over-rated..but in dem league he is ah small god and rightly so.

If allyuh find de league is shit,,,wehy follow it?

Why do we have players fighting tuh play in dat shit league?

So Landon eh make it overseas..Latapy eh make it in England either.  And it have plenty ah we players who cyar even get ah pick on ah MLS team.  And even some who playing in England playing fuh teams dat most MLS teams could run with.

All I saying is forget de commentaor who make dat remark!

Give credit where credit is due...dey own we and we never beat dat same US in any meaningful encounter.

Dem and Jamaica and Costa Rica does school we each time..(we did come from behind and beat CR in de Gold Cup) but in WC qualifying dem three teams OWN we!
Post by: Jah Gol on April 17, 2006, 09:57:42 PM

Allyuh hate Haiti?  Jamaica?  Costa Rica?  Mexico? Cuba?  Canada? Hounduras?

All dem team we before..and some ah dem beat we up and stop we from making it tuh de World Cup before.

If yuh want tuh hate hate where it is due.

With Hait were cheated but that was in 1973. Most Trinidadians don't even know about it and that includes football fans . The 1989 experience is more real to us and as such triggers greater emotion. That would explain the posture we have towards US football.
Post by: arrow on April 17, 2006, 10:24:34 PM
That stateme

I'm not even going to touch your Pele analogy because as DWN pointed out that agrument makes no sense because Pele is no longer a player.
But what are the facts you mention that prove a young Donovan not better than a 37-year old Latapy?  Is it the fact that Latas got subbed early in the 1st Bahrain match?  Or benched in the 2nd?  Or benched against Iceland?  Or benched the last 4 games for Falkirk?

1989 when you ready to join us in the year 2006 then we could talk
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2006, 11:10:14 PM
arrow I doh worry with de old talk too much now nah.

Man saying football fans eh know nutten bout Haiti.

So what about CR and Jamaica?

Dem does treat we like biatches all de time in WC qualifying.

But is de USA dey hate...and dey say is because ah 1989.

Steups, yet dey refuse to address the tactical errors we made leading up to dat game.

The over selling ah tickets and de placement ah de camp, de stop in de church, de crowds who swell around de players, de pressure and de maxi ride.

Dat part ah de fiasco eh stick fresh in nobody mind...but de one Caliguri goal stick.

Steups.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 18, 2006, 06:09:20 AM

Steups.

Why summarily dissmiss the point ? Ask the average football fan before 2005 what was the closest T&T ever got to qualifying and they would say 1989.
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 06:26:11 AM

So what about CR and Jamaica?

Dem does treat we like biatches all de time in WC qualifying.

But is de USA dey hate...and dey say is because ah 1989.

Steups, yet dey refuse to address the tactical errors we made leading up to dat game.

The over selling ah tickets and de placement ah de camp, de stop in de church, de crowds who swell around de players, de pressure and de maxi ride.

Dat part ah de fiasco eh stick fresh in nobody mind...but de one Caliguri goal stick.

Steups.

Nov '89 is only one tiny part of the reason alotta Trinis have a grudge with U.S. football. Doh study that excuse. People use it because it's the only one they can use under the umbrella of being a passionate football fan....outside of football iz one setta of unsubstantiated rum shop talk that smart people could call them out on......People let their sentiments of U.S. politics, society, and other hypocritical reasons to trickle over into how they feel about U.S. football.....It's a serious jealousy that Trinis have, because as far as we're concerned, they shouldn't be good at football...just listen to how people iz talk about U.S. ball.....jealous jealous and living in the past ........and most times people just utterin' pure diarrhea......Like ah say doh study that '89 talk....Iz only a tiny piece of it, but it's the only excuse that can be used without straying from the topic of football and sounding like an absolute idiot (barely).....because they know the whole o' Trini is sentimental to that day, and will let that excuse pass........If CR had knock us out of the WC in '89, there would be very little difference if any about how Trinis feel about US ball......plain talk eh no bad manners.....and at the end of the day it doh matter why Trinis eh like US ball....it is how it is.
Post by: dcs on April 18, 2006, 06:28:15 AM

People have to justify why they don't like a rival?

steupse

defend allyuh country
Post by: truetrini on April 18, 2006, 06:58:49 AM
Kicker eh lying!

Defend yuh country..yes!  But why denigrate another becasue of falsities?

The reason I put jamaica and CR dey is because I KNOW dey using 1989 as ah scapegoat!

Nutten more nutten less.

Ask the average football fan why dey dislike US ball yuh go get ah plethora ah excuses from Iraq tuh football tuh yankee cockiness.

The trute is people like tuh root fuh de underdogs..and bash the top dog.

I prefer tuh hate on Mexico anyday.

dem call we niggers, spit on we players (ask Angus Eve).

In fact I doh believe the majority ah T&T football fans dislike America...because ah football at all..I with Kicker on dat point.

Also it is my belief that many NEW T&T football fans (age or waggonists) doh know nutten about Haiti because dey jes arrive.

In fact not one ah those who hate USA can explain why dem must take full blame for de 1989 FIASCO.

Why not de TTFA now TTFF?

Dem send de players in de country, had dem ride maxi tuh de game, stop in ah church etc.  causing ah bunch ah uptight and tight players for de most crucial game in the country's history fuh ah long time!

Face de facts
Post by: dcs on April 18, 2006, 07:15:49 AM

In fact I doh believe the majority ah T&T football fans dislike America...because ah football at all..I with Kicker on dat point.

And nothing is wrong with that either.
In any case the US is too big a country with too many different faces to say people hate them as a whole.  They hate many things about them.  If the things they dislike outweigh the things they like they say....I doh like dem.
Anything wrong with that?
Post by: truetrini on April 18, 2006, 07:21:35 AM

In any case the US is too big a country with too many different faces to say people hate them as a whole.  They hate many things about them.  If the things they dislike outweigh the things they like they say....I doh like dem.

specifics.

I live here and I find mericans jes like people anywhere else.

Dey have dey fools, criminals and very good people too.

What yuh dislike so much?

leh we do ah comparison between T&T and de USA.

USA = asshole politicans
T&T= ditto

USA= failing schools
T&T= ditto

USA= have criminal businessmen
T&T= Ditto

USA= abusive and criminal soldiers (Abu Gharib Guantanamo)
T&T= badit soldiers and police too (uniforms sold, man getting shot down etc.

anad we can go on and on and on
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 07:25:22 AM

Many football rivalries have origins outside of football (often political)....so like I say, it doesn't really matter why you have a football grudge...

What Truetrini is getting at is that when people try to articulate and justify why they dislike the U.S., they end up sounding like fools, alotta times because they state reasons that they could state for any other team/country.....and alotta times because they try to sound knowlegeable about things they don't know the first thing about......and in the end, they just cop out and disguise all of their often ill-guided & biased feelings under the Nov 19th umbrella.......

So TT is just callin' such people out

So dcs, the point that you made earlier is valid...... you don't need to "justify" the rivalry.....in fact, you might be better off just chalkin' it up to an unjustified grudge, that just is what it is.....no one can challenge that.....if you go beyond that, you (people in general) might just end up sounding alot dumber that you intended.......
Post by: Dutty on April 18, 2006, 08:14:58 AM

Many football rivalries have origins outside of football (often political)....so like I say, it doesn't really matter why you have a football grudge...

What Truetrini is getting at is that when people try to articulate and justify why they dislike the U.S., they end up sounding like fools, alotta times because they state reasons that they could state for any other team/country.....and alotta times because they try to sound knowlegeable about things they don't know the first thing about......and in the end, they just cop out and disguise all of their often ill-guided & biased feelings under the Nov 19th umbrella.......

It also might be the holier than thou dismissive attitude of their coach and some of thier players
That level of arrogance may work to give them a mental edge...but to the recipient it is grindingly irritating

Especially in light of the fact that they dont have much of a footballing history to 'carry' the arrogance.
Brazilian football is considered the best, but to my knowledge they never have that arrogance of media sound bites from coaches or players.

I'm sure there are smaller islands in the carribbean that are as equally irritated by the arrogance of Trini supporters

Some of it may be political like you said, people simply just understand and acknowledge when Argentina take de field vs England it does be effin WAR!!!,,partly because of de Maradonna hand incident,,but moreso because of the Falklands issue

Some of it may be purely irrational...kinda like the reason ah man CANNOT walk down any street in Boston wearin ah New York Yankees striped Juzzy...not even ah hat self

I doh hate de u.s....but I dislike dey football team, because even at Int'l level dey does still call it USSoccer
Plus as we does say..'.mih blood jus eh take dem'

Perception is reality
Post by: dumpalewie on April 18, 2006, 08:27:40 AM

not the only reason....but a major part of it......

A major part of it as well, was the fact that Glenn scored the goal.....if it were another striker (an american for eg....we wouldn't care as much)....that's why I say it's not just the commentary......

like I say iz no scene to me....I agree the commentary on that goal was bad.....and it struck a sensitive nerve in me too,....... one because I like Cornell Glenn and two, because to me the finish was class.....(notice I always use "we"....I don't fully abscond myself from the Trini bias...iz our nature)

but lewwe not sugar coat our intentions and make it sound like all of a sudden we have this strong ethical conscience about biased commentary............you and I know better.
Kicker....

Kicker I don't understand why you feel the need to harp on our biasness.

I bet on the US Soccer website they dismissing Cornell and praising Landon right now. Why don't you go there and argue with them.

This is SW.net. If there was any place for people to be bias about our team, then it is HERE.

I want Cornell on my team. F@#K all them US players.
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 08:55:19 AM

I bet on the US Soccer website they dismissing Cornell and praising Landon right now. Why don't you go there and argue with them.

This is SW.net. If there was any place for people to be bias about our team, then it is HERE.

I eh arguin' wid anyone boss, I eh dis nobody, and notice I always use the word "we" which means that I include myself in the bias..................so I'm not sure where you're coming from......

I was exchanging a view with JDB & FF.....that's all.....sorry if SW.net is not the place for that...

You soundin like your head hot, but yuh barkin' up de wrong tree........ras-peck
Post by: dcs on April 18, 2006, 09:15:44 AM

Ok kicker.

Well diss dem or something...prove yuh not a double agent    ;D

You sounding like an under-cover CIA   lol
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 09:22:29 AM

Ok kicker.

Well diss dem or something...prove yuh not a double agent    ;D

You sounding like an under-cover CIA   lol

ssshhh !!! it have real $$ in this business......I just wanna eat like everybody else  :beermug:
Post by: dumpalewie on April 18, 2006, 09:42:21 AM

I eh arguin' wid anyone boss, I eh dis nobody, and notice I always use the word "we" which means that I include myself in the bias..................so I'm not sure where you're coming from......

I was exchanging a view with JDB & FF.....that's all.....sorry if SW.net is not the place for that...

You soundin like your head hot, but yuh barkin' up de wrong tree........ras-peck
Nah dred no hothead here.

I think that we as Trinis are sometimes to concilliatory to our opponents and give them too much respect. Sportsmanship is not only about friendly attitudes but also includes those times when we have to fight.

Historically, we are good at the former but not the latter. Remember how good we treated the yankies in 1989!

One thing I noticed about the yardies is that they fight from start to finish. I think that if we as  a people can adopt some more of that attitude, our sports teams will benefit.

That's why we should be upset at the commentators approach. This is not really about Donovan vs Glen. It is about us accepting disrespect.
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 10:12:40 AM

Nah dred no hothead here.

I think that we as Trinis are sometimes to concilliatory to our opponents and give them too much respect. Sportsmanship is not only about friendly attitudes but also includes those times when we have to fight.

Historically, we are good at the former but not the latter. Remember how good we treated the yankies in 1989!

One thing I noticed about the yardies is that they fight from start to finish. I think that if we as  a people can adopt some more of that attitude, our sports teams will benefit.

That's why we should be upset at the commentators approach. This is not really about Donovan vs Glen. It is about us accepting disrespect.

point taken  :beermug:
Post by: FF on April 18, 2006, 10:14:58 AM
Kicker eh lying!

Defend yuh country..yes!  But why denigrate another becasue of falsities?

The reason I put jamaica and CR dey is because I KNOW dey using 1989 as ah scapegoat!

Nutten more nutten less.

Ask the average football fan why dey dislike US ball yuh go get ah plethora ah excuses from Iraq tuh football tuh yankee cockiness.

The trute is people like tuh root fuh de underdogs..and bash the top dog.

I prefer tuh hate on Mexico anyday.

dem call we niggers, spit on we players (ask Angus Eve).

Also it is my belief that many NEW T&T football fans (age or waggonists) doh know nutten about Haiti because dey jes arrive.

In fact not one ah those who hate USA can explain why dem must take full blame for de 1989 FIASCO.

Why not de TTFA now TTFF?

Dem send de players in de country, had dem ride maxi tuh de game, stop in ah church etc.  causing ah bunch ah uptight and tight players for de most crucial game in the country's history fuh ah long time!

Face de facts

:'( :'( :'( :'(

Truetrini why yuh doh hush and leave we with we scapegoat please  :-X

We like we scapegoat
We want we scapegoat
We NEED we scapegoat  :'(

Please and thanks  ;D
Post by: dcs on April 18, 2006, 05:53:15 PM

In a recent interview Gally said the team decided to stay at forest reserve as they did not want to change from their normal routine.

We lost that game because the US scored and we did not.  No excuses.
Post by: truetrini on April 18, 2006, 07:09:28 PM

In a recent interview Gally said the team decided to stay at forest reserve as they did not want to change from their normal routine.

We lost that game because the US scored and we did not.  No excuses.

well fella if yuh know de whole story yuh woukd know is ah whole lot more tuh it dan dat.
Post by: Touches on April 18, 2006, 09:54:04 PM
West Coast go and get the book by player author  Marlon Morris.

The historic attempt of Trinidad and Tobago to qualify for the 1990 World Cup in Italy.

If the warriors had meh in they training camp I woulda write a best book just so...

But for now alyuh print out meh match reports.........hrm  $$$ maybe with some editing I might have a money spinner here.

The Warriors on their way to Germany.....Ehy if I get them match report and fix them up alyuh would buy it!