May 09, 2024, 05:27:32 PM

Author Topic: Hexagonal Preview: Trinidad and Tobago  (Read 3375 times)

Hexagonal Preview: Trinidad and Tobago
« on: December 16, 2008, 04:55:34 PM »
By Noah Davis (goal.com)

With the final round of CONCACAF qualifying kicking off in February, in the coming weeks, Goal.com will take a look at the six remaining teams in reverse order of their projected finish. Up second: U.S. semifinal round compadre, Trinidad and Tobago.

How The Team Got Here
After squeezing by 3-2 on aggregate against a feisty Bermuda side that took the first match 2-1, Trinidad and Tobago -- coming off its first-ever World Cup appearance in 2006 -- found itself in a semifinal round group with the United States, Guatemala, and Cuba. While many expected Los Chapines to emerge from Group A along with the Bob Bradley's team, manager Francisco Maturana's side consistently outperformed its Central American rival. Bolstered by an excellent day on October 15 that saw a 2-0 win over an already-qualified U.S. squad in Port of Spain and Cuba's surprise defeat of Guatemala, the Soca Warriors secured a spot in the Hexagonal with a second-place finish.

Schedule
Wednesday 11 February
El Salvador-Trinidad and Tobago

Saturday 28 March
Trinidad and Tobago-Honduras

Wednesday 1 April
USA-Trinidad and Tobago

Saturday 6 June
Trinidad and Tobago-Costa Rica

Wednesday 10 June
Mexico-Trinidad and Tobago

Wednesday 12 August
Trinidad and Tobago-El Salvador

Saturday 5 September
Honduras-Trinidad and Tobago

Wednesday 9 September
Trinidad and Tobago-USA

Saturday 10 October
Costa Rica-Trinidad and Tobago

Wednesday 14 October
Trinidad and Tobago-Mexico

Key matches
The Soca Warriors finish up the Hexagonal with four brutally difficult matches (CR, Honduras on the road, U.S. and Mexico at home), and the club can't expect more than a couple points from those games. If T&T makes a case for advancement, it will come early. In all likelihood, its second and fourth matches -- home against Honduras (March 28) and Costa Rica (June 6) -- will determine the team's fate. Six points here, combined with a hopeful three points in its first fixture against El Salvador, gives Maturana's side nine on four games and an outside shot at third or fourth. Stumble even once, however, and the battle for South Africa has been lost almost before it's begun.

Players to Watch

Dwight Yorke
T&T's 38-year-old captain found the fountain of youth, tallying against the U.S. in October. Along with Russell Latapy, who's two years his senior, Yorke's experience helps keep this young team focused on each match, an approach that will be essential if the Soca Warriors have any designs of advancing. As his legs weaken and his skills erode -- they have to at some point, right? -- Yorke will rely more and more upon his years of training and cagey veteran tactics. In what should be his last go-round, it remains to be seen whether the farewell tour will turn sweet.

Keon Daniel

The lightning quick midfielder represents the future for T&T. The 21-year-old helped his side start off the semifinal round with a win, finding the back of the net twice against Cuba in the opening match. He also scored what should have been the game winner in the team's next match, a heart-breaking tie versus Guatemala, and put another past Cuba on matchday six. Daniel will have to raise his game against CONCACAF's big boys, however, as he's yet to show he can compete consistently against the region's toughest squads.

Cornell Glen
Many players on the American team will be familiar with Glen who played on three Major League Soccer teams between 2004 and 2006. He drew praise internationally after a strong performance in three matches during the Germany World Cup. Unfortunately, Glen was injured in the team's final game against Paraguay and has struggled to return to form during the past two years. While he did score his squad's third goal against Cuba in the opening match of the semifinal round, it remains to be seen how effective he will be in the Hex. Without him, T&T's road gets much more difficult.   

Should the U.S. be worried?
With all due respect to T&T's well-earned victory over the Red, White, and Blue in the semifinal round, not really. As the 3-0 dispatching in Chicago showed, the Soca Warriors are no match for Bradley's squad on its home turf. Since the second match comes late in the final round -- matchday eight -- T&T could catch another break and play an already-qualified American team. The more likely scenario, however, is that U.S. can secure a spot in the World Cup with a win in Port of Spain, a task it will achieve.

Projected Hex finish
5th

Re: Hexagonal Preview: Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 04:59:32 PM »
was 2 nil or 2-1

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2008, 05:05:36 PM »
Goal.commentary: Predicting the Hex
By Noah Davis

Over the weekend, the United States Men's National Team found out the road it will travel while attempting to qualify for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. The route provides some interesting challenges (first up, Mexico) and no consecutive home matches, but the team does begin and end on U.S. soil. Judging by the past three Hexagonal rounds, the Americans will need between 14 and 17 points to place in the top three, thus guaranteeing a spot in the Cup. Here's one man's idea of how it will get there.  

February 11 vs. Mexico (Crew Stadium, Columbus)

The most important game of the final round is also the team's first: against Mexico, at home. Win here and the team takes a huge step towards qualification. You can bet Bob Bradley will look to take every advantage he can and this starts with a pro-American crowd cheering in frigid temperatures. Crew Stadium (average February high: 40.5 degrees F) fits the bill perfectly.

Result: 2-1 U.S.  

March 28 vs. El Salvador (Away)

This represents a dream first away match for Bradley's crew. El Salvador comes into the Hex as the weakest team and the Americans shouldn't have too much difficulty dispatching their Central American foes, despite traveling there.

Result: 3-0 U.S.

April 1 vs. Trinidad & Tobago (Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Ill)

Why change things up? During the semifinal round, the U.S. soundly defeated T&T at Toyota Park on the strength of goals from Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, and Brian Ching. Expect the first two names on that list to play a vital role against the Soca Warriors as the Americans improve to 3-0 in the Hex.

Result: 2-0 U.S.

June 3 vs. Costa Rica (Away)

The United States hasn't had much success in Costa Rica, going 0-6-1 lifetime which includes a 3-0 pasting during the last round of qualification. (The Red, White, and Blue was already through, however.) Regardless, expect the American side to struggle against a Ticos squad battling for its World Cup life.

Result: 1-1  

June 6 vs. Honduras (Robertson Stadium, Houston)

Over the weekend, Sunil Gulati said the U.S. Federation " might consider a game in Houston." Given the length of the flight from Costa Rica back to the United States, this could be the match played in Texas. With the Confederations Cup kicking off eight days later, the American staff will be looking to minimize time spent on planes. Holding the match at Robertson Stadium would save valuable in-flight hours and could balance out the disadvantage of holding the game so close to Honduras.

August 12 vs. Mexico (Away)

Ironically, both matches against Mexico fall on single-date fixtures, which will likely influence Bradley's decision-making process on bringing in players. This match, however, will almost certainly be played in Azteca and represents the best chance to simulate a World Cup environment. Expect the U.S. to arrive with it’s A-squad, but come up short.

Result: 2-1 Mexico

September 5 vs. El Salvador (RFK Stadium, Washington D.C.)

The Americans could be on the verge of qualifying at this point (not that Bradley will ever admit it), and a win here could put the team through. Talent-wise, El Salvador boasts a similar squad to the Cuba one the U.S. soundly defeated 6-1 earlier this fall in RFK. A small, if solidly pro-American crowd watched the massive offensive output, and the stadium deserves another fall qualification match.  

Result: 3-0 U.S.

September 9 vs. Trinidad and Tobago (Away)

There's a very good chance that with a victory here, the Americans will stamp their ticket to the World Cup. In the semifinal round, Bradley clearly enjoyed the freedom to experiment in the final two matches, so he should bring the A-team to this match. A win will also provide nice revenge for the loss in October.

October 10 vs. Honduras (Away)

In all likelihood, this game won't matter for the Americans and, therefore, they will leave some better players at home (or in Europe). The home squad, on the other hand, could certainly be in the hunt for a World Cup spot and will fight hammer and tongs for the victory.

Result: 1-0 Honduras

October 14 vs. Costa Rica (Giants Stadium, New York)

I actually doubt the U.S. will play here (Nashville or the Bay area are more likely), but I live in Brooklyn so I can always hope. The enormous Giants Stadium is much better suited to hosting a major international squad (think Argentina) in a match that doesn't matter than a qualification game -- even one that (hopefully) won't have an effect on U.S. qualification. If it does come down to the final game, however, playing in cold weather can't hurt.

Final record: 7-2-1

22 points

Noah Davis covers the U.S. Mens National Team for Goal.com

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2008, 07:03:44 PM »
By Noah Davis (goal.com)

Players to Watch[/b][/u]
Dwight Yorke
T&T's 38-year-old captain found the fountain of youth, tallying against the U.S. in October. Along with Russell Latapy, who's two years his senior, Yorke's experience helps keep this young team focused on each match, an approach that will be essential if the Soca Warriors have any designs of advancing. As his legs weaken and his skills erode -- they have to at some point, right? -- Yorke will rely more and more upon his years of training and cagey veteran tactics. In what should be his last go-round, it remains to be seen whether the farewell tour will turn sweet.

Keon Daniel

The lightning quick midfielder represents the future for T&T. The 21-year-old helped his side start off the semifinal round with a win, finding the back of the net twice against Cuba in the opening match. He also scored what should have been the game winner in the team's next match, a heart-breaking tie versus Guatemala, and put another past Cuba on matchday six. Daniel will have to raise his game against CONCACAF's big boys, however, as he's yet to show he can compete consistently against the region's toughest squads.

Cornell Glen
Many players on the American team will be familiar with Glen who played on three Major League Soccer teams between 2004 and 2006. He drew praise internationally after a strong performance in three matches during the Germany World Cup. Unfortunately, Glen was injured in the team's final game against Paraguay and has struggled to return to form during the past two years. While he did score his squad's third goal against Cuba in the opening match of the semifinal round, it remains to be seen how effective he will be in the Hex. Without him, T&T's road gets much more difficult.   

With all due respect to T&T's well-earned victory over the Red, White, and Blue in the semifinal round, not really. As the 3-0 dispatching in Chicago showed, the Soca Warriors are no match for Bradley's squad on its home turf. Since the second match comes late in the final round -- matchday eight -- T&T could catch another break and play an already-qualified American team. The more likely scenario, however, is that U.S. can secure a spot in the World Cup with a win in Port of Spain, a task it will achieve.

Projected Hex finish
5th

There must be some time dilation effects occuring on my transmission as Keon doesn't seem lightning quick, key part of our line up absolutely but some ways away from lightening quick.  Also, Glenn would do very good to make de bench let alone be a player to watch....these comments truly reveal how footballing aware goal.com is

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2008, 07:05:10 PM »
Prognosticators, prognosticators. What do they know!!!!!!!

Offline Silver Fox

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2008, 07:06:58 PM »
That article is utter rubbish.  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2008, 07:18:37 PM »
By Noah Davis (goal.com)

Players to Watch[/b][/u]
Dwight Yorke

Keon Daniel

Cornell Glen

Projected Hex finish
5th

There must be some time dilation effects occuring on my transmission as Keon doesn't seem lightning quick, key part of our line up absolutely but some ways away from lightening quick.  Also, Glenn would do very good to make de bench let alone be a player to watch....these comments truly reveal how footballing aware goal.com is

Guess what?  They're fans of the game....with an opinion.  Just like you.  They might read your post and comment that you're a footballing neophyte and completely ignorant about the game.

So it go.

« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2008, 08:35:44 PM »
That article is utter rubbish.  :rotfl:
I never see rubish like this in my life to dread. I wonder if one a we local reporter write dat. Di  man rating Glen (A Bredda of mine but  I have to speak di truth here) de man rating glen over Jones and Scotland even over we veteran Stern John. Then he say we win de USA 2-0 . From I read dat I dun know this report as you stated is reporting "utter rubbish" last time I spoke to glen this is exactly what he told me " he say dread I eh attached to no team right now , I hoping to come back and try the usa if this knee of mines allow meh to do it" my honest taughts on Glen is dat I feal dat Grenada game was his last game under maturana .I do not see Glen wearing de red black and white again.

« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2008, 09:15:28 PM »
The man forget Hyland, this is garbage.

« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2008, 09:25:23 PM »
This article makes no sense.  It does not even mention that the us 3-0 win against the Soca Warriors was against a team without Yorke and Latapy, and forgets that Kenwyne has not yet been unleashed against them.  OK, the US does have a good record against us but prognosticators are just that. The game is played on the field and I will still take my chances with a strong TT team, especially if we find a coach who selects a team and plays them consistently so that they bond into a decent team.  Go Warriors and Go Away Maturana!!!

« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2008, 09:57:30 PM »
How come them have USA winning every game.  Isn't it better to look at worst case scenario?  Steeuups. no way the USA winning all their matches.  Mexico and the USA this is Preacher and I want to put allyuh on notice, free paper bun.  If allyuh feel you have T&T figured out good luck. 

WARRIOR   WARRIOR!!!!!!!![/b][/size][/size][/size][/size][/color]

« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2008, 10:05:17 PM »
By Noah Davis (goal.com)

Players to Watch[/b][/u]
Dwight Yorke

Keon Daniel

Cornell Glen

Projected Hex finish
5th

Guess what?  They're fans of the game....with an opinion.  Just like you.  They might read your post and comment that you're a footballing neophyte and completely ignorant about the game.

So it go.

True dat, they are like anuses, we all have one

« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2008, 01:59:47 AM »
piss on dem yes...we going...

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2008, 05:10:55 AM »
No Kenwyne Jones? How could he not be a player to watch?

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2008, 05:49:19 AM »
We just need 2 prove d joker wrong.

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2008, 07:04:43 AM »
Projected Hex finish
5th

Despite all the crap that is written in this article, few can argue his final prediction unless we clean up our act now!

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2008, 07:38:52 AM »
5th if we lucky

Offline Trin

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2008, 08:00:05 AM »
5th if we lucky

So we loss b4 we even start lol
3rd if we lucky

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2008, 08:49:27 AM »
No Kenwyne Jones? How could he not be a player to watch?

No Jason Scotland " Ah doh love it"

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2008, 09:15:49 AM »
Brudder wit d present coach if we get any pts we would have done exceptionally well.

« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2008, 11:53:26 AM »
Goal.commentary: Predicting the Hex
By Kiffysmooth

April 1 USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago (Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Ill)

Why change things up? During the semifinal round, TnT soundly defeated USA at Hasely Crawford Stadium with a strength of goals from Russel Latapy and Dwight Yorke.  Expect the first two names on that list to play a vital role against the United Shithongs of Ame$#%, as the Soca Warriors improve to 3-0 in the Hex.

Result: 3-0 TnT.

September 9 USA vs. Trinidad and Tobago (Home)

There's a very good chance that with a victory here, the Soca Warriors will stamp their ticket to the World Cup. In the semifinal round, MAturana clearly enjoyed the freedom to experiment in the first match against the Yanks, and soon after, he knew which players to eliminate the second time around.  Definitely he will bring the last team that crucified the US at HCS.  A win will also provide nice revenge for that loss in the US some months ago.

Result:4-1 TnT

I actually doubt the US will be a threat to TnT in the hex, TnT has a long list of seasoned professionals who are no stranger to the cold weather.  Let's see if my predictions unfold

Final record: 7-2-1

22 points

Noah Davis covers the TnT Mens National Team for Goal.com

All yuh see how easy it is for ah man to write whatever he feel.  Tell dem predictors to F$%# off (with 15% interest) with dem chupid predictions.  I am not de least bothered at all.  TnT will qualify again, and de critics will swallow dey words......Ah matter ah fact, ah wish de US doh qualify jed.  With dey stock up self. 

« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2008, 03:33:08 PM »
TT with all its first choice players is a match for any team in the Hex and if we win a couple or 3 matches on the road it is no surprise.Where is the proof that they so much better than TT,Jamaica beat Mex and Hond in the qualifying matches,USA struggled to beat Guat in the first match,we beat USA AND IT COULD HAVE BEEN MORE THAN 2-1 as far as I can see this Hex could be a big worry for all the teams coming up against TT home or away.

« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2008, 03:36:14 PM »
April 1 USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago (Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Ill)

Why change things up? During the semifinal round, TnT soundly defeated USA at Hasely Crawford Stadium with a strength of goals from Russel Latapy and Dwight Yorke.  Expect the first two names on that list to play a vital role against the United Shithongs of Ame$#%, as the Soca Warriors improve to 3-0 in the Hex.

Result: 3-0 TnT.

Wait a second .... is that location finalised for the US home-leg in the Hex?
I thought they only mentioned the location for the Mexico game.

« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2008, 05:39:47 PM »
OK by d time ah recah home somebody confirm d venue 4 me nah so I can help meh sis plan she business.

« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2008, 06:31:16 PM »
OK by d time ah recah home somebody confirm d venue 4 me nah so I can help meh sis plan she business.

Most venues have not yet been officially announced.

FIFA.COM

« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2008, 06:51:04 PM »

Most venues have not yet been officially announced.

FIFA.COM

and even on the US site.. no info except for the big Mexico clash..

ussoccer.com

« Reply #26 on: December 17, 2008, 06:52:46 PM »
cool .... I figure/hope somebody will post a new thread IN CAPS when the venue announced.

:praying: is on the East Coast.

« Reply #27 on: December 17, 2008, 06:56:23 PM »
Thanks guys pray 4 DC

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #28 on: December 18, 2008, 07:08:47 PM »
cool .... I figure/hope somebody will post a new thread IN CAPS when the venue announced.

:praying: is on the East Coast.

That would be nice :) I was looking to go to El Sal but then I realised that is a weekday game - cant take too much time off work :(
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.