May 04, 2024, 03:19:11 PM

Author Topic: Tone turns ominous at The Weather Channel (Hurricane Sandy)  (Read 5286 times)

Tone turns ominous at The Weather Channel (Hurricane Sandy)
« on: October 28, 2012, 07:04:53 PM »

NEW YORK (AP) — The Weather Channel had its third straight day of a round-the-clock vigil for the approaching superstorm, and the tone of its meteorologists turned more ominous Sunday with evidence building that their forecasts would come true.

The network is planning to live-stream its television coverage online so people in the eastern United States who lose power can keep up with the news on their mobile devices. The storm is expected to affect some 50 million people.

"We want you to know we are not hyping this storm, OK?" on-air meteorologist Vivian Brown said. "We don't do that at The Weather Channel because we want you to be alert and aware."

Other television networks mixed news of Hurricane Sandy with stories like the presidential campaign. In New York, the local CBS outlet ran a split screen with New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie delivering a storm briefing Sunday afternoon and the New York Jets' game against the Miami Dolphins.

But Hurricane Sandy, which is mixing with other weather systems to create a storm of unprecedented strength in the region, kept the undivided attention of The Weather Channel.

The network's Julie Martin, stationed on a beach in Nags Head, N.C., looked increasingly weary of the wind and rain as she described the storm's staying power in a series of live reports.

Meteorologist Jim Cantore, the network's most visible personality, said it was unlike anything he'd ever seen or covered. He had to take a brief break from his live reports from New York's Battery Park City to move his belongings because his hotel had been evacuated; his publicist's apartment was also in the evacuation zone.

Bryan Norcross, the network's senior hurricane specialist, explained in an interview that the network tries to keep its tone serious yet urgent. The network's computer models have been consistent in their forecasts of the storm and it has been acting as anticipated, perhaps with even more strength.

"Our goal has been to get people to appreciate the magnitude of the storm and try to prove to them that, based on everything we know, that this is going to be a system that is outside of their experience," Norcross said.

The Weather Channel sent a message via Twitter calling it "an extraordinary storm, an extremely serious threat" and urged followers to re-tweet it. The storm "will occupy a place in the annals of weather history as one of the most extraordinary to have affected the United States," the network tweeted.

Quickly, the Business Insider tweeted: "WHOA. The Weather Channel meteorologist just completely freaked out."

Twitter filled with messages of concern for people in its path, as well as a few oddities. Comic Ricky Gervais made an unprintable suggestion as a joke, while media mogul Rupert Murdoch tweeted: "Eerie feeling, but kids getting ready to celebrate no school."

ABC News posted a blog of storm-related news, while another Twitter message contained links to live webcams where computer users could track the storm's progress.

Cosmopolitan magazine tweeted advice for "how to cut your bangs at home (because if you're going to be house-bound for Sandy, why not?)." ''Sesame Street" offered a hurricane toolkit to help children understand what's going on.

Judging by The Weather Channel, there were also people who saw a business opportunity. There were frequent commercials from companies that make generators for people to keep electricity going in their homes if the power lines go down.

Partly to underline the seriousness of the situation, The Weather Channel has refrained from using the "Frankenstorm" nickname coined by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration last week when the storm was a model on its computer forecasts.

"Being cute about this storm is not the right idea," Norcross said.

http://news.yahoo.com/tone-turns-ominous-weather-channel-205402855.html

Re: Tone turns ominous at The Weather Channel (Hurricane Sandy)
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2012, 07:17:42 PM »
All the best north east crew, stay safe

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2012, 07:18:50 PM »
yeah was checkin d news on dat dat fuuckin ting scary, forumites who in the path of dat a wish alyuh d best of luck and god's speed :( :( :worried:

Hurricane Sandy on Twitter...
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2012, 07:43:22 PM »
Hilarious on @Hurricane_Sandy

Re: Hurricane Sandy on Twitter...
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2012, 07:52:54 PM »
Some people have nothing better to do....idleness

« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2012, 07:55:59 PM »
Frankienstorm :nailbiting:

« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2012, 08:43:27 PM »
The weather channel doh hype storms?  :bs:
I does call it weather porn, them fellas (and ladies) does be breakin all over theyself and trying to find someplace in the storm to stand up and tell you how hard it raining and how much the wind blowing. You could tell they disappointed when the storm hit somewhere else.

« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2012, 11:25:19 PM »
Whole city shut down, no public transportation!

i went out tonight just to check the happening and there was no one on the streets in brooklyn, so i drove to the city and there was ah few bars and restaurants open, but not much, and very few ppl on the streets, with no trains and buses available i could see why.

real ghost town on holloween weekend.  :nailbiting:

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2012, 02:12:51 PM »
category 1 doh do much damage.

once in miami the "experts" say one wasn't coming and we gone to work. hurricane come and had to talk through it to reach car. just wind and rain. doh fret brooklyn.

« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2012, 04:06:37 PM »
4 o'clock this mornin i was the only car on the grand central parkway fuh miles

« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2012, 04:24:16 PM »
The mayor is an imps!

he shut down the city since 7 pm yesterday and the storm eh even hit up till now, all this panicking fuh nutten. right now it eh even raining steadily and the wind eh nutten to write home about .

steups he could have @ least waited till this morning to close the city now he will cost the city millions for his foolishness.

« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2012, 04:29:18 PM »
The mayor is an imps!

he shut down the city since 7 pm yesterday and the storm eh even hit up till now, all this panicking fuh nutten. right now it eh even raining steadily and the wind eh nutten to write home about .

steups he could have @ least waited till this morning to close the city now he will cost the city millions for his foolishness.

dread yuh kinda soundin like rowley year before, yuh need to give people enough time to organize deyself

« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2012, 04:45:02 PM »
Quote from: capodetutticapi on Today at 06:06:37 PM

The mayor is an imps!

What the major did was correct.

Re: Re: Tone turns ominous at The Weather Channel (Hurricane Sandy)
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2012, 04:46:19 PM »
category 1 doh do much damage.

once in miami the "experts" say one wasn't coming and we gone to work. hurricane come and had to talk through it to reach car. just wind and rain. doh fret brooklyn.

This ain't yuh cat 1 storm

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2012, 05:20:24 PM »
The mayor is an imps!

better to err on the side of caution

« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2012, 05:25:59 PM »
The mayor is an imps!

dread yuh kinda soundin like rowley year before, yuh need to give people enough time to organize deyself
Horse i livin here and i know why he's playing mr careful, the man facked up with the blizzard three yrs ago, so now he wants tuh blot out his fack up by being super careful, it would have been good if it had something to do with the ppl, but it's all about him and his image.

yesterday i was talking with a few business ppl who is pissed off bc he overreacts all the time, he did the same thing with irene.

i live through one of the worst blizzards in NY's history and the mayor @ the time didn't overreact, he shut down the city @ the appropriate time giving the public and proprietors enough time to be ready for the event.  right now is ah whole day and night waste bc he wants to come off as being on top of things, when in reality he act way to early . stueppsss.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 05:29:34 PM by just cool »

« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2012, 05:45:20 PM »
Jus cool, yuh rite in part, people died durin de blizzard which he handled abysmally, a pregnant woman to boot in Brooklyn.  However is approach now and last year for Irene is correct, but we could agree to disagree on that/  As for storm not hittin yet, well, cyar say I agree wid dat, over 100K lost power in long island and major floodin near de coast, rockaways, long beach etc

All in all, glad yuh safe bro, and all other massive

« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2012, 06:18:23 PM »
The storm is hitting DC good and proper now. I live in an area that has many trees, so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2012, 06:27:28 PM »
friend of mine in staten island i think..moved out of her apartment from her abusive boyfriend last week..speaking to her just now she said that building she used to stay is now heavily under water...u see how things work out...?!!

prayers to eastside tonight/tomorrow

« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2012, 06:57:42 PM »
Storm Sandy makes landfall in eastern US

A major storm bringing torrential rain, high winds, flood surges and heavy snow has made landfall on the east US coast.

Sandy, now a post-tropical cyclone, passed over the New Jersey coast at about 20:00 local time (midnight GMT), packing winds of about 80mph (129km/h).

Up to 60 million people could be affected, with hundreds of thousands ordered to evacuate homes. More than a million people have lost power.

Transport has halted in eastern cities, and thousands of flights are grounded.

The storm killed dozens of people as it passed through the Caribbean.

Sandy lost its hurricane status late on Monday as it neared the coast and collided with winter weather systems.

It made landfall close to Atlantic City.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-20133158

« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2012, 07:34:23 PM »
Battery tunnel under several feet of water, 5 people died in NYS, all bridges and tunnels into and out of NYC closed, 4 feet of water in NYC subways on east side, major flooding along coastlines, 1 million plus w/o power for multiple reasons

Edit: airports closed, major roadways closed (FDR, Bronx River pkwy etc)
« Last Edit: October 29, 2012, 08:00:00 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2012, 07:54:08 PM »
Shit hit the fan now

« Reply #23 on: October 29, 2012, 09:01:33 PM »
Kitchen was leaking water thru the overhead fixture most ah de day, but I cool now.  I run to de store earlier and things was normel normel, but it pick up now, nuff wind and rain in my ass, but we dry so all things considered we good.

« Reply #24 on: October 29, 2012, 10:02:49 PM »
It's been raining here all night, I just walked outside and noticed ice I was like wtf

http://video.msnbc.msn.com/nightly-news/49603171#49603171

« Reply #25 on: October 29, 2012, 10:10:46 PM »
It's been raining here all night, I just walked outside and noticed ice I was like wtf

This is some of the most bizarre weather experiences I have had a long time. Days like this I wish I had kept mih arse in T&T. T&T seems to have a talent for avoiding the big one, or escaping relatively unscathed.

« Reply #26 on: October 29, 2012, 10:32:58 PM »

You in WV... along with Western MD allyuh supposed tuh have snow.

« Reply #27 on: October 29, 2012, 10:34:11 PM »
This is some of the most bizarre weather experiences I have had a long time. Days like this I wish I had kept mih arse in T&T. T&T seems to have a talent for avoiding the big one, or escaping relatively unscathed.

Hurricanes this far north are about as rare as they are as far south as TnT... that talent you refer too musta still been in the infancy stage in 1974.

« Reply #28 on: October 29, 2012, 11:07:37 PM »

Hurricanes this far north are about as rare as they are as far south as TnT... that talent you refer too musta still been in the infancy stage in 1974.

Point taken. I was not alive in 1974, so my original statement was more based on my experiences growing up in T&T. I guess I forget I am a young man sometimes.

« Reply #29 on: October 30, 2012, 05:51:37 AM »
Storm past nice and cool in bklyn, no lost of power, very very few down trees, more branches than anything else. i have to say that bklyn is one of the most secure places in down state where bad weather is concerned.

apart from the communities on the water the rest of brooklyn is basically on a hill so we don't experience flooding and heavy snow accumulation, we also have very good public transportation access.

i guess that's why all these white ppl passing up the suburbs and flocking to bklyn, i guess that's why i move back too.  ;D
« Last Edit: October 30, 2012, 05:53:11 AM by just cool »