Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 26, 2006, 06:05:26 AM

Title: Superstar ! Quavas Kirk.
Post by: Flex on January 26, 2006, 06:05:26 AM
Superstar ! Quavas Kirk.

8/26/05  - U.S. Under-17 midfielder Quavas Kirk is always smiling. No, really, ALL the time. One of the top players on the team, Kirk was ready to lead the U-17s into the qualifying tournament last April until a broken foot sidelined him from making the trip to Costa Rica. Was he depressed? Yes. Sad? Yes. Disappointed? Yes. Frowning? No. Despite his own misfortune, Kirk knew he needed to stay positive in the hopes it would rub off on his teammates who were now saddled with the job of qualifying without his services. It worked and now, due to the help of his teammates, he is going to his first World Championship. Yep, you guessed it, he’s grinning from ear to ear.

On a hot streak. In the zone. On fire. En fuego.

Call it what you want, Quavas Kirk was all of the above during the early part of this year. The lanky U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team midfielder with the gazelle-like pace was putting on a clinic every time he stepped on the field. The Los Angles Galaxy had just drafted him and through the first 18 games of 2005 with the U-17s, Kirk compiled 14 goals and five assists. He had as many goals as starts, a statistic helped by the fact he registered three multi-goal games, which included one hat trick and two two-goal performances.
If there ever was a good time to peak, the first third of the year was the time. The U-17s were two weeks from kicking off the CONCACAF Qualifying Tournament in Costa Rica and playing their final tune-up match, an international against Haiti on April 3 in Hialeah, Fla.  The team’s first international match of the year, Kirk had the chance to prove his impressive scoring rate wasn’t a fluke and that he could continue it on the world stage.
Done and done. A “no-he-didn’t” header and another finish into the upper right corner in the 82nd minute to finish off Haiti 4-0, solidified that the Aurora, Ill., product wasn’t just “in the zone,” “on fire” or “en fuego.”  Rather, he was just reaffirming the reason he was one of the most highly touted players brought into U.S. Soccer’s Residency Program in the fall of 2003: he’s just darn good.
With just two minutes left against Haiti, everything was set for the U.S. to cruise into Costa Rica, win three games and continue the streak as the only country to qualify for every World Championship at this age level. And then, “CRACK!”
“I don’t really know how it happened,” said Kirk, shaking his head as if he’s still can’t believe he was injured for the past four months. “I think I just turned (with the ball) and when I turned the guy clipped me on the back of my heel, crunching down on it like an accordion. I heard the crack. It wasn’t pleasant.”
The cracking noise was Kirk’s fifth metatarsal on his left foot breaking, which instantly put the guy everyone in Residency looked up to in a cast and crutches, and immediately put questions into his teammates’ minds. Kirk was steadfast in his belief his injury wouldn’t affect what they had been working towards for two years. He went to practice everyday, even if it took him twice as long to get there on his crutches, and continued to lead from the sidelines.
“(Getting injured) was definitely devastating,” said Kirk. “It’s something you don’t want to go through, but I tried to take it the right way. I tried to make it so my injury wasn’t a burden. I didn’t sit around and mope, and was always happy about everything. I talked to players individually and tried to get guys relaxed so they weren’t so tense when they went out there.”
“Even without me, I knew we were going to take a good team to qualifying. It didn’t worry me at all. I knew we were going to qualify.”
He was right. The U.S. won Group A with a dramatic 2-1 victory against host Costa Rica in their third and final match and booked their spot in the 2005 FIFA U-17 World Championship, which kicks off on September 16 in Peru.
“It was just relief because it just felt like that game went on for hours,” said Kirk, who followed the match on ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker in Bradenton with the younger Residency players. “We were all huddled around this projector screen, waiting silently for the next play and then the next play. It was so stressful. When they finally blew the final whistle we just went crazy. Everybody just started jumping around.”
Kirk acknowledges that his teammates gave him the chance to play in his first World Championship and he’s looking to pay them back by returning to the form he had in the beginning of the year.
“Before the injury, I guess something just clicked,” said Kirk. “All the stress and everything from the draft all just stopped after I was chosen by L.A., and I was able to concentrate more on playing. I had more fun playing compared to before when I’d get a lot more frustrated.”
Kirk believes the stress from rehabbing is also gone as he’s almost back to 100 percent, even playing 90 minutes (he was expected to only be able to go 25 at most) in his first game back against Uruguay during the U-17s trip to Brazil in mid-July.
“I did a lot of different things in my rehab to make sure I’d get back before the World Championship,” said Kirk. “I’m not exactly back to where I was before the injury, but I think I’ll get there before we leave. I’ll definitely be putting the ball in the back of the net in Peru.”

(http://www.mlsnet.com/imgs/bios/photos/kirk_q.jpg)
name: Quavas Kirk
position: F
height: 6-1 weight:165
Birthdate: April 13, 1988
Hometown: Aurora, IL
last club: Chicago Magic
U-17 Caps/Goals: 25/7

U.S. National Teams: Since joining U.S. Soccer’s Residency Program with the U-17 ’88 MNT in September 2004, Kirk has been one of the team’s most productive forwards … Has been compared to a young Eddie Johnson when the MNT forward was going through the Residency Program … U.S. Under-17s: Considered the best player on the U-17 squad … One of the hardest working players on the field, he has a never-say-die attitude for the entire 90 minutes … Was recently drafted by the L.A. Galaxy in the 2005 SuperDraft … 2005: Was on an hot streak during the beginning of the year, scoring 16 goals and five assists in 15 games … His production was suddenly halted when he broke his foot late in the team’s match against Haiti in early April … The injury forced Kirk to miss the 2005 CONCACAF Qualifying Tournament … Has bounced back quicker than expected from the injury and has once again found his form, scoring two goals against China in a World Championship preparation match … 2004: Was one of the leading scorers on the team with 11 goals … Played in 39 games, starting 37 … Played and started in 17 international matches, notching three goals and one assist … 2003: Along with two other players, led the team in appearances with 19 and was second on the team with 16 starts … Led the team in scoring with 29 points … Leading goal scorer during the year with 11 strikes … Second on the team in assists with seven … Scored his first with U-17s on Sept. 15 against the Manatee Magic U-18 … Scored first multi-goal game with two strikes against West Pines U-19 on Nov. 16 … 2004: Tied for the team lead in appearances and starts with 31 … Leads team with 24 points with team high 10 goals … Second on the team with four assists … Second on the team with three international goals … Had tying goal in 1-1 draw with Italy in opening goal of Montaigu Vendee Tournament in Montaigu, France on April 7 … Scored winning goal in 2-1 victory over Peru in opening match of Copa Telefonica Tournament in Piura, Peru.

High School/Club: Went to West Aurora High School for one year … The team lost in Regionals … He got the chance to play with his brother, Colin, during his freshman year … Played for the York United soccer club before moving to Chicago and joining the Chicago Magic soccer club … Has played with the Magic since U-11 and during that time has won state four times.   

Personal: Full name is Quavas Alan Kirk … Was born in York, Pa., before moving to Aurora, Ill. … Parents names are Sylvan and Julia … Has two brothers, Colin (19) and Bryson (25), who both played soccer … Sister Isha (29) did not play soccer, but was a cheerleader … His dad is from Trinidad & Tobago and taught him and his brothers the game … His parents met in York … Enjoys playing video games, especially Tekken … Didn’t play other sports growing up and likes to watch unique sports such as ping-pong and lacrosse … Calls being drafted the Galaxy the best soccer moment of his career …. His favorite player is Eddie Johnson … Likes all types of music … Names his parents as his role models … Nickname is Q.

Source:
ussoccer.com
Title: Re: Superstar ! Quavas Kirk.
Post by: Big Magician on January 26, 2006, 06:28:59 AM
red white and blue...sorry...black
Post by: Jayerson on January 26, 2006, 06:31:12 AM
I'm really suprised that this guy has decided to be in the mix for T&T even though he obviously has a good chance of being in the US MNT mix in the future.
Post by: truetrini on January 26, 2006, 06:37:10 AM
I'm really suprised that this guy has decided to be in the mix for T&T even though he obviously has a good chance of being in the US MNT mix in the future.

He has the chance to play NOW!

See dat break foot?  Anything can happen in the future including more accidents.

Play well now, the world sees him and he is off tuh some big club!

I wonder why Beenie allowing him tuh try out, but say dat de Durtch youth too young?  Makes no damn sense!
Post by: Sam on January 26, 2006, 06:43:25 AM
I dont think de Duch youth could play for T&T, according to Canadian citizen Triniman. Kirk is a good player and deserve a trial especially since we will be in the US. We need to cap him, a good one for 2010 if anything.....
Post by: arrow on January 26, 2006, 06:47:26 AM
I wonder why Beenie allowing him tuh try out, but say dat de Durtch youth too young?  Makes no damn sense!

Too young?  I thought he said he was too Surinamese?
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2006, 06:56:49 AM

See dat break foot?  Anything can happen in the future including more accidents.

yuh that dutch youth was shocked to death don leo was looking at him. He said his parents are from suriname.
Post by: FF on January 26, 2006, 10:25:04 AM
This youth was on Fox Soccer USA a couple months ago as well.... with some other project 40 players I think
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 26, 2006, 10:39:03 AM

yuh that dutch youth was shocked to death don leo was looking at him. He said his parents are from suriname.

who said he from suriname? where did i hear dat triniman?

See dat break foot? Anything can happen in the future including more accidents.

I wonder why Beenie allowing him tuh try out, but say dat de Durtch youth too young? Makes no damn sense!

tuh answer dis, if de boy is trini and has played for holland, u think beenhakker will do dat 2 he homeland, he may b our coach, but he is still dutch, nothin will change dat my friend, he helpin he nation, despite being our coach
Post by: Ponnoxx on January 26, 2006, 10:52:05 AM
 Beenhakker not going to take that Dutch boy because he don't want to disrupt a Dutch prospect...
Post by: Jefferz on January 26, 2006, 01:28:06 PM

I'd rather be led by Beenie than Bush.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2006, 01:40:31 PM

who said he from suriname? where did i hear dat triniman?

See dat break foot? Anything can happen in the future including more accidents.

I wonder why Beenie allowing him tuh try out, but say dat de Durtch youth too young? Makes no damn sense!

tuh answer dis, if de boy is trini and has played for holland, u think beenhakker will do dat 2 he homeland, he may b our coach, but he is still dutch, nothin will change dat my friend, he helpin he nation, despite being our coach

oh trini infinite check this link below

http://www.versatel.nl/tv/voetbal/nieuws/articles/2006/01/18/75955/index.xml

use this to translate

http://www.babelfish.altavista.com/

copy paste the article then choose dutch to english there are many other articles in which he say he has no links to the island
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 27, 2006, 02:38:52 PM
a lil bird tell meh kirk show up edu in the US trials, kirk was de star, much better than Edu de forceripe starboy, diz how talented kirk is in reality
Post by: Jefferz on January 27, 2006, 02:40:42 PM
a lil bird tell meh kirk show up edu in the US trials, kirk was de star, much better than Edu de forceripe starboy, diz how talented kirk is in reality

BECUASE HE HAVE f**kIN TRINI BLOOD RUNIN TRU HE BLESSED VEINS.

das why!

plain an simple.
Post by: truetrini on January 27, 2006, 02:45:26 PM

ah bird?..like yuh is f**king dr. dolittle now?
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 27, 2006, 02:46:30 PM
nah, ah leave dat 4 u, ah remember u sayin de same damn ting b4, so hush yuh mouth  :devil:
Post by: FF on January 27, 2006, 02:46:41 PM
And like it was ah brazilian bird?

who is Edu... the on from Arsenal or ah next one?
Post by: Jefferz on January 27, 2006, 02:47:12 PM

TT bredrin is called Schizophrenia
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 27, 2006, 02:51:57 PM

TT bredrin is called Schizophrenia

family, why yuh dont hush yuh mouth nah, de only ting i suffering wit is hearin u be treutrini echo, when tt talk, u like de friggin echo, mr.friggin echo  :devil:
Post by: Jefferz on January 27, 2006, 02:54:36 PM
Echo... shall is regurgitate every Hradest crusade post.

you hearin echo from ytuh crackvine an yuh one eyed pirate bird.

;D yuh bobolee doh mek me call mami fuh yuh.

oh an "Mr.friggin echo" is not nearly as well polished as mrs.hardest so yuh cyah never beat meh dey.
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 27, 2006, 03:00:20 PM

oh an "Mr.friggin echo" is not nearly as well polished as mrs.hardest so yuh cyah never beat meh dey.

im sorry lemme correct myself mrs.echo ;D
Post by: Jefferz on January 27, 2006, 03:02:57 PM
sorry TI...

its still not wroking... yuh hadd clean it up more.

ask the Mr. for sum inspiration...

(http://www.filehigh.com/serve/12675/100299.jpg)
Post by: futbolfan on January 27, 2006, 03:09:21 PM

me eh no bout no Edu in de US trials, but kirk did out perform Adu at de US trials....ah also heard kirk was ah handfull at IMG in Fla......if he could only stay healthy (a few foot injuries) and commits....,he will be a player for de future...
Post by: truetrini on January 27, 2006, 03:23:30 PM

im sorry lemme correct myself mrs.echo ;D

Doh put me and de youth man in hyuh HARD BACK bullah ting breds.

Post by: jai john on January 27, 2006, 05:37:26 PM
Superstar ! Quavas Kirk.

8/26/05  - U.S. Under-17 midfielder Quavas Kirk is always smiling. No, really, ALL the time. One of the top players on the team, Kirk was ready to lead the U-17s into the qualifying tournament last April until a broken foot sidelined him from making the trip to Costa Rica. Was he depressed? Yes. Sad? Yes. Disappointed? Yes. Frowning? No. Despite his own misfortune, Kirk knew he needed to stay positive in the hopes it would rub off on his teammates who were now saddled with the job of qualifying without his services. It worked and now, due to the help of his teammates, he is going to his first World Championship. Yep, you guessed it, he’s grinning from ear to ear.

Flex...could you say if this guy is related to Leyton Kirk ... a former St Georges College and Ebonites player who migrated to the us in the 70´s ?
Always admire those who choose to identify with their roots rather than go for the money .......Big up to fellas like Ato ...shame on de hurdler though...what´s his name again ???
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2006, 08:36:49 PM
Ah man on bigsoccer say dat Kirk is ah hooker and traitor (http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296553)

Other people say it's a slap in de face fuh USA (http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=296130)
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 28, 2006, 01:51:40 AM
by de statements dese fellahs sayin kirk is shit? not mls material, didnt shine in de u17? are dese tre facts tallman?
Post by: Brej on January 28, 2006, 07:54:40 AM
i dont know how true that is
but a man like tiger fitzpatrick didnt really shine anywhere an yet he is mls material so i'm sure this guy  could make
Post by: Brej on January 28, 2006, 08:02:41 AM
Quavas Kirk is eager to show Galaxy coaches and teammates what he can do, but his left foot won't cooperate.

He broke it last April and it's still giving him problems during the Galaxy's opening week of training camp at Home Depot Center.

Kirk, the team's third-round choice in the 2005 draft, was able to compete in last year's FIFA Under-17 World Championships in Peru, where he helped the United States advance to the quarterfinals. But he can't run or shoot without experiencing pain. He also strained ligaments in the foot late last year, and he estimated he is no more than 70 percent recovered.

That's why he had to turn down an invitation to train with the Trinidad and Tobago national team, which is preparing to play in this year's World Cup, early next month in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Kirk was eligible to play for Trinidad and Tobago because his father was born in that country.

"I can't do it ... I have to recover first," the 6-foot-1, 180-pound forward said after practice on Friday. "I have to take it easy for now."

Kirk, who was born in Aurora, Ill., and has scored 22 goals for the U-17 national team, clearly is a player to watch in the Galaxy's future. When that future will be realized remains to be seen.

"I'm trying to come in, being so young, and trying to show the guys I can play, and I haven't even played yet," he said. "It's been kind of rough on me, not being able to show anyone what I can actually do.

"I guess I'm going to have to fight through that."
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 28, 2006, 10:58:08 AM
People Love Chat Shit. Check Last Line

http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7334482&postcount=25
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 28, 2006, 11:08:53 AM
de US are ones tuh talk, when dey thief adu from ghana, why dey didnt look for players in de states, dey could haul dey ass, kirk need 2 come back 2 his roots
Post by: Zeppo on January 31, 2006, 10:38:00 AM
by de statements dese fellahs sayin kirk is shit? not mls material, didnt shine in de u17? are dese tre facts tallman?

It's yet to be seen what he will do in MLS.

But it's also true that he was nothing special at the U-17 WC.
Post by: Lightning on January 31, 2006, 10:47:22 AM
A player who leads the US U 17 residency group in goal scoring in the lead up to a tournament can't be half bad..... The coach will need to decide if he fits in with the team picture.
Post by: Zeppo on February 03, 2006, 09:49:21 AM
So is he "injured", or is he starting to think this whole T&T thing over again?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=133016904
Post by: Zeppo on May 06, 2006, 02:55:02 AM
Well, it looks like you guys can forget about this one. He's back playing with the U.S. U-20s again.

http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/viewArticle.jsp_280915.html

Oh well....
Post by: Sam on May 06, 2006, 04:04:55 AM
I am not worried about loosing Quavas Kirk. He cant even make an L.A Galaxy side, or maybe he might get a run when Glen leaves for the World Cup.
Post by: Carib-Briton on May 06, 2006, 04:14:23 AM
Well, it looks like you guys can forget about this one. He's back playing with the U.S. U-20s again.

http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/viewArticle.jsp_280915.html

Oh well....
Ur Hard,lol
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 06, 2006, 08:14:21 AM
I am not worried about loosing Quavas Kirk. He cant even make an L.A Galaxy side, or maybe he might get a run when Glen leaves for the World Cup.

This is what you call sour grapes
Post by: Zeppo on July 01, 2006, 10:37:37 PM
Just an update on Quavas for you guys.

He recently got called up to the U.S. U-20s for a couple of friendlies coming up in early July:
http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/viewArticle.jsp_281111.html

And he played tonight for the LA Galaxy in a 2-0 win over Kansas City. They used him on the right side of midfield and he apparantly had a good game.

He assisted on Donovan's second goal. (http://www.mlsnet.com/MLS/news/mls_news.jsp?ymd=20060701&content_id=64425&vkey=news_mls&fext=.jsp)
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 01, 2006, 11:03:57 PM
Yeah this is his second or third start for the season .well we missed out on this youth time to move on.

Donavon now find his scoring boots eh  ;D
Title: Quavas Kirk scores his first professional goal
Post by: Tallman on August 02, 2006, 08:06:11 AM
Kirk's first sends Galaxy through
By Greg Daurio (MLSnet.com)

CARSON, Calif. -- The Los Angeles Galaxy got the defense of their U.S. Open Cup title off to the right start on Tuesday, as goals in each half from Quavas Kirk and Alan Gordon finally ended the run of amateur side Roma FC in a 2-0 fourth-round victory.

The Dallas-based amateur team shocked Chivas USA in the third round of the U.S. Open Cup, but on Tuesday the Galaxy left little doubt, outshooting Roma FC 20-8 and dominating possession throughout the contest.

The Galaxy came out pressing from the opening whistle, forcing Roma FC to drop all 10 field players into their own half in an attempt to thwart the Galaxy attack. The tactic worked for much of the half, as the Roma defense absorbed much of the Galaxy pressure and Roma FC 'keeper Nestor Merlo came up big when called upon.

It took until the 34th minute for the Green-and-Gold to break through. Listening to the direction from the sidelines, Kirk ventured away from the touchline to the middle of the field where Pete Vagenas found him with a nice pass. The teenager looked up and hit the ball with the outside of his right foot, bending the ball into the top corner.

The goal was the first of the young man's professional career, and the smile on his face following the game spoke a thousand words.

"Everyone on the sidelines was telling me to cut inside, so I made a run inside and Pete played me the ball," said Kirk. "I just hit it. I wasn't expecting it to actually go in. I feel great. I never expected (my first professional goal) to come this early."

Galaxy head coach Frank Yallop had a lot of praise for his young midfielder following the game as well.

"It was a fantastic goal. We had just mentioned to him a bit earlier to come off the line, because he hugs the line pretty well," said Yallop. "He changed his game up a bit, Peter (Vagenas) found him with a great pass, and hey, what a finish."

It would have been easy for Roma FC to just roll over at that point. But the two sides went into the half with just the single goal separating them, and Roma came out of the locker room looking for an equalizer.

"It was a fantastic effort," said Yallop about Roma FC following the game. "In the second half, at one-nil, they had a couple of opportunities to do better."

Admiration for the effort put in by Roma FC permeated throughout the Galaxy side following the game.

"(Roma FC) were definitely tough. I give thanks to them," said Kirk. "They played their hearts out against us, and it was an amazing game. It felt great to come out and play against a side that good."

While Kirk's goal was the game-winner, Gordon added an insurance goal in the second half. In an otherwise stellar performance by Merlo, one blunder led to the goal that sealed the fate of the amateur side. Merlo tripped over the ball in his own penalty area, allowing Gordon to strip him of possession and walk into the net all alone.

The goal essentially sealed the game for the Galaxy. The added cushion allowed Los Angeles to breathe a collective sigh of relief, especially on a night when the Galaxy were heavy favorites, adding a lot of pressure onto the Galaxy's shoulders. Roma FC played like a team with nothing to lose, and made a game of things on a night when their should have been no contest.

Gordon admitted that he's happy to have the first game of the Galaxy's U.S. Open Cup campaign behind them.

"We didn't want to be another MLS side to lose to these guys. (Roma FC) did well to get here," said Gordon. "We knew they had something. They definitely did well against two teams, and we didn't take them for granted, which I think was a plus for us."

With the win, the Galaxy advance to the quarterfinals, where they will face the winner of Wednesday's match between the Colorado Rapids and Real Salt Lake. But next up for the Galaxy is the All-Star break. The Green-and-Gold don't have another competitive game until Aug. 9, when they travel to Houston.
Title: Re: Quavas Kirk scores his first professional goal
Post by: elan on August 02, 2006, 08:14:44 AM
Thats really great for him. Seeing that he has scored so early he may actually make great leaps in improving his game, cause this goal would have given him all the confidence he needs.   :applause:
Post by: marcpurcell on August 02, 2006, 10:10:34 AM
Who is Quava Kirk? Is he Trini?
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 02, 2006, 10:15:45 AM

Dat's what I want to know! (ducks from anti-waggonnist missiles  :whistling:)
Post by: ballpiyong on August 02, 2006, 10:23:20 AM
Who he??. Is he a trini?????
Post by: Flex on August 02, 2006, 10:29:24 AM
Parents are Trini, had plans to join T&T, but changed his mind soon after.
Post by: Trinimassive on August 02, 2006, 10:32:38 AM
We need to cap him while he still eligible. Cause the US might just cap him fuh spite like with Adu then discard him for ah couple years.

Dat's what I want to know! (ducks from anti-waggonnist missiles :whistling:)

He qualify to play for we. Although he born US.

Wey allyuh waggonist come from :rotfl:  

Just jokin ah know reds and grandpa marc ent no waggonist fuh sure lol
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 02, 2006, 10:34:18 AM

Not meaning to sound bad, but, if he changed his mind and decided not to play for T&T, why are we creating posts reporting on him and his activities?

No offense to him, but why are we bothering with players who not bothering with we?

Anyways, just a thought, carry on. ;D
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 02, 2006, 10:36:52 AM

I though he was injured thats why he did not join. Well he better follow  keep his  options open ..
Post by: Trinimassive on August 02, 2006, 10:43:30 AM

Not meaning to sound bad, but, if he changed his mind and decided not to play for T&T, why are we creating posts reporting on him and his activities?

No offense to him, but why are we bothering with players who not bothering with we?

Well the last I know is that he got invited by Leo Been to the camp in Florida. He accepted then within a few days he said he was injured and couldnt make the camp.  That was the last I heard from him concerning T&T.

So he kinda on the fence like many others.  But I wasn't aware of him coming out and saying thanks but no thanks
Post by: Filho on August 02, 2006, 10:51:15 AM

Two words..Shaka Hislop  ;)

Ok...I don't know the story, so I was and I am still not sure if Quavas actually blanked us....but even if he did, he is a youth. We've been blanked in the past and the players change their minds for whatever reasons..PLus, is a football site.We regularly discuss footballers who don't even know where T&T is on a map, so we could post about a youth with T&T roots, regardless of who he chooses to play for. bless
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 02, 2006, 10:55:00 AM
it will give me TESTICULITIS if that youth play fuh de states,worse yet if he have skillz.
Post by: Filho on August 02, 2006, 10:59:37 AM
it will give me TESTICULITIS if that youth play fuh de states,worse yet if he have skillz.

Post by: doublet750 on August 02, 2006, 11:20:03 AM
quavas kirk was actually injured and thus at that point it didnt matter wheter or not he balnk us .. i think what could have been the deciding factor is had the TTFF who were chasing him kept up with him and stayed courteous to him during his hard times then we would have a player for the future.....however it was the US that kept smiling on him so it made sense as to where his decision would be....rember we need top prospectws ot rival the likes of that mexico under 17 team that won the world cup who will feature for 2014 (dos santos and vella)
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 02, 2006, 01:06:47 PM
quavas kirk was actually injured and thus at that point it didnt matter wheter or not he balnk us .. i think what could have been the deciding factor is had the TTFF who were chasing him kept up with him and stayed courteous to him during his hard times then we would have a player for the future.....however it was the US that kept smiling on him so it made sense as to where his decision would be....rember we need top prospectws ot rival the likes of that mexico under 17 team that won the world cup who will feature for 2014 (dos santos and vella)
dos santos hot too bad.brazilian daddy and mexican mammy.de best from both zones.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 02, 2006, 01:17:40 PM

GIOVANNI dosantos has a younger brother named  jonathan

His profile
Jonathan dos Santos Ramírez (born in 1991 in Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico) is a Mexican football midfielder who plays for FC Barcelona Juvenil B.

He is the son of former football player Gerardo "Zizinho" Dos Santos, who played on the Mexican soccer teams América and Monterrey in the early 1990s.Has two older brothers, Eder recently hired by Club León of mexican Primera A and Giovanni, the FC Barcelona and mexican football prodigy.

Together with his brother Giovanni dos Santos he is one of the most promising FC Barcelona players, both brothers are always being compared, some say that Jonathan is more talented than Giovanni. The truth is that they play different roles on the field and complement each other.

Post by: doublet750 on August 02, 2006, 04:48:11 PM
breds leave them wikipedia descriptions alone lol...but wat i ahve honestly heard is that jonathan and giovanni will be the future of the mexican national team...along iwth the likes of carlos vela (arsenal but on loan at celta de vigo bcuz of age limitation)
Post by: berris on August 02, 2006, 08:31:56 PM
hes a sellout, plain and simple, him and a few other trinis have a choice to play for their roots, if they choose the US, tuh hell wit dem, let dem haul dey ass, anyone choosing somewhere over tt could stay dey and doh bother saying they trini >:(

That holds good for if yh living in Canada also  ??? ???
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 02, 2006, 08:33:16 PM
hes a sellout, plain and simple, him and a few other trinis have a choice to play for their roots, if they choose the US, tuh hell wit dem, let dem haul dey ass, anyone choosing somewhere over tt could stay dey and doh bother saying they trini >:(

That holds good for if yh living in Canada also ??? ???

haul yuh ass berris, my mother and dem brought me here when i was younger, it wasnt my choice, where de hell u is? ???
Post by: berris on August 02, 2006, 08:37:29 PM

haul yuh ass berris, my mother and dem brought me here when i was younger, it wasnt my choice, where de hell u is? ???

me eh ask yuh all yuh business dread, is just ah joke relax nah man... wham!!
Post by: TrinInfinite on August 02, 2006, 08:40:25 PM

me eh ask yuh all yuh business dread, is just ah joke relax nah man... wham!!

i am relaxed, who said i taking on ur picong, i talkin 2 hard fuh yuh :devil:
Post by: spideybuff on August 03, 2006, 06:30:01 AM
I though he was injured thats why he did not join. Well he better follow  keep his  options open ..

Last we heard, he was the star for the US U-20 team so they definitely grooming him, but his pops want him to play for trini. He get invited to the training camp in Florida but got injured, so the man didn't make a decision either way.

Parents have real influence though...so once we keep the setup professional, we have a good chance. But come with any third world crap with pay your own ticket to link up with us in england or no insurance or ice etc at training and we could say good bye! (Remember when Sancho and them had to strike for things like ankle bands and ice? And now we is a World Cup team....wow)
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 03, 2006, 07:37:34 AM

where was he born where  did he grow? where did he learn to play football? his mother is american !! where does sell out come into play here
Post by: doublet750 on August 03, 2006, 10:31:49 AM
yea rember he is a born n breed american.....he mother american he father trini.....he explored the oprtionf of playing here along with don leo but then his leg got broken and you never see nobody try to keep up with him.....now TI picture u in canada u just reach the so call legal age and you get a chance to go to the world cup...canada help hone ur skills but u goin wit sweet sweet TNT ....and then yuh break ya leg and d next time u ever hear TnT is prolly yuh father sayin i go take you to see d place one day ......YUH EH GO FEEL LIKE A $2 SUIT 
Title: Quavas Kirk sealed as US player
Post by: Storeboy on January 17, 2007, 09:14:00 PM
U.S. Tops Haiti 4-1 to Open CONCACAF U-20 Qualifying   

Akpan Scores a Pair to Pace U.S.

Andre Akpan scored twice for the U.S. vs. Haiti.
Trent Davol / U.S. Soccer 
Photo Gallery 

PANAMA CITY, Panama (Jan. 17, 2007) - Andre Akpan scored a hat trick as the Under-20 Men's National Team defeated Haiti 4-1 to earn three points in their opening match of the 2007 CONCACAF Under-20 Qualifying Tournament.

The U.S. opened the scoring in the 26th minute when Andre Akpan redirected a long, looping cross from Anthony Wallace around Haiti goalkeeper Peterson Occenat and into the net. The scored doubled before halftime, as Akpan's point blank shot on a corner kick went off the post and trickled across the goal line as Occenat scrambled to try to stop it.

Four minutes after the half, Wallace and Akpan were involved again in a U.S. goal as left forward Robbie Rogers sent a cross that Akpan dummied and Wallace drove home. Rogers set up Akpan on the final goal with a back-post cross that Akpan finished inside the opposite post.

Haiti's lone goal came in the 74th minute when Etienne Yveson score a penalty that was awarded when Quavas Kirk pulled the shirt of the mark as he tried to get between the attacker and the goal.

The U.S. next faces Guatemala on Friday, Jan. 19 at 6:30 p.m. ET live on GolTV and MatchTracker.

A complete report from Panama City will be available shortly.
      -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been seeeing  alot of reports about Kirk's eligibility.  I guess this means we can forget about him representing the Soca W arriors or do we still have a chance of getting him at the Senior level.
Title: Re: Quavas Kirk sealed as US player
Post by: StoreBayLimer on January 17, 2007, 10:19:34 PM

I have been seeeing  alot of reports about Kirk's eligibility.  I guess this means we can forget about him representing the Soca W arriors or do we still have a chance of getting him at the Senior level.

I also want to know the answer to that question.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 17, 2007, 11:40:29 PM
He can still play for our senior team. He has to decide before his 21st (I think) birthday.
Post by: Peong on January 17, 2007, 11:45:03 PM
It doh look like he want to play for us.  Good luck to him though.
Post by: Zeppo on January 18, 2007, 08:53:03 AM
He can still play for our senior team. He has to decide before his 21st (I think) birthday.

True.

Also, if he plays for the U.S. at senior level before he turns 21 then he is permanently tied to the USA.
Post by: MEP on January 18, 2007, 09:36:29 AM
maybe de youth jes going where the opportunities lie.....at age 18 especially if you were born in the states what country would you rather play for? however if you google his name and look at his myspace page....you'll see the trini roots strong...
Post by: Rodney on January 18, 2007, 09:41:45 AM
Can't imagine why he would want to play fuh T&T while he still has a future with the USA. Very unlikely that this fella gonna have a change of heart...as he already playing U-20 and should get strung along with the U-23's (Olympic team) before the US has to even bother considering if he is worth a senior team cap or to discard him. By then he go be ineligible.

Keep Local T&T....don't go TO the Foreign born/based, if they want to play, they should be coming to us. Ingnorance of eligibility is not a valid excuse anymore.
Post by: doublet750 on January 18, 2007, 01:15:45 PM
rodney as a foreign based player..palying in a div3 school but captain of my under19 team i can tell u that calling home to enquire about representing oyur country will render as a futile attempt...either the person not there...or the team you trying to get in not training...or most times if you dotn get onto the particualr person to deal with those things(mr rampersad) nobody else know what d hell to tell yuh
Post by: Zeppo on January 19, 2007, 05:45:29 AM
Don't forget Kirk already flirted with the idea of playing for T&T, but then he backed out. It was just last year.

Check out this thread for more on that:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=10816.0
Post by: Zeppo on March 18, 2007, 05:15:51 PM
KIRK LOOKING FOR REVENGE AGAINST BRAZIL

When the draw for the U20 World Cup set the U.S. in the same group as powerhouse Brazil, the Galaxys Quavas Kirk, one of two key Los Angeles players for the youth squad, couldnt believe it.

I was just shocked, admitted the midfielder, who performs for the U20 squad as a right back.

Kirks surprise didnt mean he was intimidated, however.

Im actually ready to play them again, though, because last time we played them, they spanked us in their country, explained Kirk.

(continue) (http://www.lasoccernews.com/article.php?article_id=1265)

Post by: Zeppo on May 01, 2007, 02:29:12 PM
GALAXY LOSE KIRK IN CLASICO
Midfielder suffers injury relapse

A late substitute into the game versus Chivas USA, Quavas Kirk helped his team secure the 3-1 victory versus their crosstown rivals.

But afterwards, Kirk was limping on crutches.

"I guess I just maybe strained something again in the same spot in my heel again," said the young midfielder. "Were going to get some pictures on Monday. But it doesnt seem like good news."

(continue) (http://www.lasoccernews.com/article.php?article_id=1455)

Post by: Daft Trini on May 01, 2007, 10:10:43 PM
de US are ones tuh talk, when dey thief adu from ghana, why dey didnt look for players in de states, dey could haul dey ass, kirk need 2 come back 2 his roots

Dem parents need to forget about Child Protection Services an beat dem kids. This is madness that people have children and know we football could compete on big stages and still let dem play for dem capitalist and colonialist. People beat your kids if they have Trini roots and they turning dey back on we!  :(

Two hard tap behind they head go set dem straight.

I remember Ato in a training session in de National stadium saying that he could have rep de US, but he knows that his medals, how big or small means something more to his home land and its people. That if he was an American athlete and won his medals, people would say good, but his medals are displayed in TnT for all to see and inspire de people and de yutes.

Quevas you have Trini blood, stop playing de darn fool and comeback.

Post by: Fantastic on May 02, 2007, 12:18:09 PM
Yuh mad or what? Yuh feel de youth man doh read socawarriors forum or wha? People reading bout Jack exploits and going to come play for Trini? Imagine a 19 or 20 yr old facing the end of he national career for falling out with Jack. So much more money and opportunities if yuh could make de US team. De only real reason to play for Trini is really as Ato say, to represent de land yuh really love and give something back. But when yuh think bout it, he hasn't grown up as a Trini, so please tell mih why a youth man should commit to de kinda politics, corruption, and up and down circus that is Trini football? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Zeppo on May 03, 2007, 03:19:52 AM

I remember Ato in a training session in de National stadium saying that he could have rep de US, but he knows that his medals, how big or small means something more to his home land and its people. That if he was an American athlete and won his medals, people would say good, but his medals are displayed in TnT for all to see and inspire de people and de yutes.

Quevas you have Trini blood, stop playing de darn fool and comeback.

But Ato Boldon was born in T&T and lived there until he was 14. It's understandable that he still felt like a Trini when he was living in the USA.

Kirk, however, was born and raised in the U.S.

Big difference.

Post by: Weh-it-is on May 03, 2007, 04:41:34 PM

That's all they've have been doing in thee past. Adu was here living in Maryland with he familyas soon as they notice he could play some ball Immigration show up by he door yes. He didnt even have to wait in line for papers like we.  :rotfl: In America if Bin Ladin could ah play they would ah give him he citizenship. They in ah mess. ::)
Title: Kickin' it with ... Quavas Kirk
Post by: E-man on February 03, 2009, 10:40:14 PM
Sounders FC camp highlights, Day 10
By Jose Miguel Romero, Seattle Times staff reporter

A Q&A with Sounders forward Quavas Kirk and a rundown of the Major Soccer League expansion team's training camp.

Today's Sounders FC Q&A is with newly-arrived forward Quavas Kirk, who was drafted into Major League Soccer at age 16 in 2005.

Kickin' it with ... Quavas Kirk

Pos.: Forward

Ht.: 6-1

Wt.: 190

Hometown: Aurora, Ill.

Last club: D.C. United (MLS).

Question: So how did you end up leaving D.C. and joining Seattle?

Quavas Kirk: "I can never really explain how I end up in places, I just end up there. I guess D.C. didn't like my style of play. They liked me as a person but didn't like me as a player."

Q: With a unique name like yours, do you have a nickname?

QK: "I just go by 'Q.' I was 'Big Brown' in D.C. That was from Ben Olsen [ex-teammate]."

Q: How did you get your first name?

QK: "My dad named me. It was actually a beach in Trinidad and Tobago. He's from Trinidad and Tobago, so he named me after the beach. It's actually called Las Cuevas Beach. Mine's just spelled 'Q-U-A-V-A-S. Quay-vus.' But everybody thinks its 'Quah-vas.'"

Q: Have you been to Seattle before?

QK: "I've only been to Seattle one time, and I haven't been out in the city of Seattle. I was just in a hotel. So I don't even know what it's like, but everybody tells me it's pretty nice. I'm ready to get out there and see what it's like."

Q: What do you think of the Sounders FC colors?

QK: "Come on now, these are some fly colors right here. Nice and bright. You got to be able to see me when it gets too dark. You need to see at least the jersey running around here. The jersey and a smile."

Day 10 highlights:

After a late workout at nearby Ventura College upon arrival in Southern California Monday, Tuesday was the first two-a-day set of practices. That will continue all this week at Oxnard College.

Seattle had several new faces at practice Kirk, defender-midfielder Ryan Caugherty (last club: FC Unirea of Romania), forward Jeff Clark, a rookie from Concordia College (Calif.); defender and third-round draft pick Jared Karkas, forward Vini Oliveira (SuperSearch winner), midfielder Ryan Pore (last club; Kansas City Wizards), Bosnian defender Nicola Andelic and goalkeeper Jordan King (University of California-Riverside). Midfielder-forward Lamar Neagle from UNLV is on the roster but not with the team, goalkeeper Jordan Jennings has been dropped from the roster and defender Mandou Bojang will rejoin the club in Seattle when it returns later this month.

There were enough players to form three teams of 9-on-9 plus goalkeepers Tuesday morning. Blue team: Defenders Evan Brown, Tyson Wahl, Karkas, and Patrick Ianni, midfielder Steven King, forward Steve Zakuani, forward Roger Levesque and midfielders Leighton O'Brien and Khano Smith. Orange team: Forwards Kirk, Oliveira and Clark, midfielders Pore, Caugherty and Sanna Nyassi and defenders Zach Scott, Adam West and Kyle Schmid, the son of coach Sigi Schmid, who was with the team Monday. Green team: forwards Fredy Montero, Nate Jaqua and Sebastien Le Toux, midfielders Osvaldo Alonso and Brad Evans and defenders James Riley, Taylor Graham, Nathan Sturgis and Danny Jackson.

Kyle Schmid isn't just a camp body, he'll get a longer look. The younger Schmid played college soccer at Cal-Irvine.

Ianni was limited in the afternoon practice, which ended in near darkness.
Title: Re: Kickin' it with ... Quavas Kirk
Post by: Big Magician on February 03, 2009, 11:27:01 PM
send moer quirk ??..all de bess bredda
Post by: Zeppo on February 04, 2009, 09:07:44 AM
Strange that they list him as a forward.

He's been playing as a right winger for the past several years now.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 04, 2009, 09:23:31 AM
How much has he developed ... Has the ttff ever approached this kid
Post by: E-man on February 04, 2009, 09:28:58 AM

He was approached during the Beenhakker era, but begged off when he picked up an injury.
Injury also prevented his participation on the US U-20 squad, so  he hasn't been part of a national setup since U-17.
Post by: acb on February 04, 2009, 09:46:14 AM
Is a good thing they clear up the name issue.
I thought he was named after guava.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 04, 2009, 09:49:48 AM

He was approached during the Beenhakker era, but begged off when he picked up an injury.
Injury also prevented his participation on the US U-20 squad, so  he hasn't been part of a national setup since U-17.

Never seen him play though if he plays right wing we need options on that side
Post by: E-man on February 04, 2009, 09:54:08 AM

Never seen him play though if he plays right wing we need options on that side

Let me amend that: he did start in two U-20 qualifiers but didn't make the world cup due to the injury.

Here is a goal he scored last year (http://dcunited.mlsnet.com/media/player/mp_tpl.jsp?w=mms%3A//a1503.v115042.c11504.g.vm.akamaistream.net/7/1503/11504/v0001/mlbmls.download.akamai.com/11504/2008/open/topplays/08/082308_cordcu_kirk_goal_400.wmv&_mp=1)
Title: Rhinos sign Quavas Kirk
Post by: Tallman on March 29, 2011, 04:43:09 AM
Rhinos sign Quavas Kirk
rhinossoccer.com

The Rochester Rhinos announced that they have come to terms with defender Quavas Kirk.  Kirk brings to Rochester 43 appearances in Major League Soccer with the L.A. Galaxy and DC United as well as 33 games with the Minnesota Thunder and Portland Timbers of the USL First Division.

Kirk originally was drafted in the 3rd round (34th overall) of the 2005 MLS SuperDraft by the Los Angeles Galaxy. In 2006, he made his MLS debut tallying his first professional goal in U.S. Open Cup play in a 2-0 win over Dallas Roma.

In February, 2008, the Aurora, Illinois native was traded to DC United where he would score his first career league goal on August 23, 2008 in a 3-0 DC win over the Colorado Rapids.

The 61 185 pounder was waived by DC United early in 2009 and picked up by the Minnesota Thunder.  There he appeared in 15 matches with the Thunder before signing with the Portland Timbers in December, 2009.

In addition to MLS and USL play, Kirk has been a standout in the United States' under-17 national team, scoring 22 goals in 53 games. He also played in the 2005 U-17 World Championships.

The Rhinos also announce the signing of midfielder Yveson Etienne. Etienne played the 2010 season with Don Bosco in the Haitian First Division Soccer League and was spotted by Rhinos head coach Bob Lilley at the ASM Soccer's Talent Showcase Event in January.
Post by: royal on March 29, 2011, 05:37:56 AM
 He's a defender now ???
Post by: Zeppo on March 29, 2011, 01:05:33 PM
He's a defender now ???

Yes. He was a decent forward at youth level, but it didn't take very long to see his deficiencies at that position once he got to MLS (with the Galaxy), so he was moved to right back, where (I believe) he's been ever since.
Title: Kirk returns to the Rhinos
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2012, 06:21:30 AM
Rhinos back four is all q-ed up
rhinossoccer.com

The Rochester Rhinos have exercised their contractual option on Quavas Kirk for the 2012 USL PRO season pending league and United States Soccer Federation approval.  Kirk played in twenty matches and made fifteen starts mainly at outside back last season.  He logged 1,061 minutes in USL PRO last season and helped anchor the best home defence and third best defence overall.  Kirk recorded two assists.

Quavas has been and remains one of the great young talents in American soccer.  His previous experience in MLS and his athletic ability are unmatched.  Rhinos coach Jesse Myers said.  This season we are going to ask Quavas to continue to develop his game, and to play a role in helping us try to win a championship.

Quavas Kirk put together one of the most impressive resumes of any player in the USL before joining the Rochester Rhinos last season.  Kirk entered residency with the Under-17United States Mens National Team in 2003 and played with the team until 2005.  He made fifty-three appearances with the U17s and scored twenty-two goals with the team in all competitions.  He played in the 2005 U17FIFA World Cup in Peru.

After the World Cup he signed with Major League Soccer under the Project 40 program at age sixteen, and was drafted by the Los Angeles Galaxy in the third round of the MLS Superdraft.  He made thirty-three appearances for the Galaxy and counted Rhinos captain Troy Roberts, USMNT star Landon Donovan, and former Manchester United and Real Madrid superstar David Beckham among his teammates.  In 2008 D.C. United traded Greg Vanney to the Galaxy for Kirk.  Kirk went on to make ten appearances for United and scored his only MLS goal with the team.

Kirk will be joining fellow returnees Troy Roberts and Tyler Bellamy as well as newcomers Michael Zaher and Jack Traynor in the back for the Rhinos in 2012.

(http://rhinossoccer.com.ismmedia.com/ISM3/std-content/repos/Top/News/Quavas%20release.jpg)