Sports => Football => Topic started by: jaffa on June 10, 2006, 07:05:26 PM

Title: Why is no one applauding Yorke?
Post by: jaffa on June 10, 2006, 07:05:26 PM
Take nothing away from Shaka - he was the man of the match.  But Yorke was a madman out there - he won plenty of tackles and no one - press or on this board - seem to be singing his praises.
They watch the same game I did - he was a Warrior - doing what it takes to stay alive.
Title: Re: Why is no one applauding Yorke?
Post by: Coach on June 10, 2006, 07:10:57 PM
I think that we all expect this kind of performance from Yorke, but the man was huge today!!
Post by: The_Ice on June 10, 2006, 07:11:28 PM
Yorke get FIFA player of the match i think that good for the man... Shaka didnt get it and we respect the way he paly that's why we biggin him up so much... he saved us from defeat... besides we aint mentioning one man... look carefully and u'll notice everyone getting recognised and talked abt... it was a team effort and everyone should be praised... i wouldnt fully give one man all the credit
Post by: jaffa on June 10, 2006, 07:13:27 PM
I agree that Shaka was man of the match and all deserve credit - no doubt - I am just surprised, I am in the US - that the press hasn't give Yorke more - becuase in my eyes he was a close #2 man of the match.  That man playe dhis heart out and left it all on the field - but so did the rest of the crew - so I see how it hard to praise one man - it just a different role for him then the international soccer world is used to.
Post by: saga pinto on June 10, 2006, 07:14:43 PM
Yorke deserve ah medal fuh dat performance,simply magnificent................
Post by: The_Ice on June 10, 2006, 07:18:48 PM
no offense but i dont take on the US press when it comes to football especially with anything dealing with t&t... they make to many mistakes and like to express their own opinions over what is factual  ;D
Post by: pecan on June 10, 2006, 07:22:16 PM
Budweiser Man of the Match: Dwight Yorke (TRI)

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/060610/1/7bjx.html
Post by: jaffa on June 10, 2006, 07:22:41 PM
No offense taken - and I agree.  But I watch game w/ US press and have been on interent and still don't see the warranted props fro Mr. Yorke.
Post by: jaffa on June 10, 2006, 07:28:32 PM
Budweiser Man of the Match: Dwight Yorke (TRI)

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/060610/1/7bjx.html

I sit corrected - glad to see it -he is deserving.
Title: yorke's play may convince bennie to play latas with him
Post by: ZURITRESS on June 10, 2006, 07:28:55 PM
i think with yorke showing that he can command the middle and hold his own defensively might convice bennie that he and latas can co exist without in balance
Post by: Trininho on June 10, 2006, 10:27:51 PM
I just watched the game again, and Yorke must be applauded for his decision to block the Swedish player from taking a quick free kick.  The ball was in a dangerous position and the player was poised to take the kick quickly, but Yorke stepped in to delay the player.  It cost Yorkie a yellow card, but it gave the defense time to reset.  Good job Yorke.  Superb team effort overall.
Post by: Behbehman on June 10, 2006, 10:34:02 PM
Take nothing away from Shaka - he was the man of the match.  But Yorke was a madman out there - he won plenty of tackles and no one - press or on this board - seem to be singing his praises.
They watch the same game I did - he was a Warrior - doing what it takes to stay alive.

Yes breds...Yorke was playing like ten men almost in every position on the field.
Title: yorke wallpaper on fifa site
Post by: Kingk on June 10, 2006, 10:45:50 PM
(http://us.news1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/fifa/gen/fi/20060610/i/340926697.jpg)
Post by: bratachdubh on June 11, 2006, 12:17:57 AM
From a complete outsider's point of view Yorke was probably second only to Hislop - but Sancha was pretty close too.  To me, the Man of the Match should have gone to the whole team, who stuck together in the second half after Avery's dismissal, and did what they had to do defensively whilst still hitting on the break.

The last ten minutes were nail-biting stuff.

All the best in the next two games, I'll be watching and hoping...
Post by: Brej on June 11, 2006, 01:01:51 AM
besides de obvious shaka and yorke
i think edwards was amazing today offensively and defensively
i can't put in to words how vital he was to our win today
Post by: kicker on June 11, 2006, 01:07:49 AM
Carlos Edwards & Shaka......MVP's
Post by: whayuhsay on June 11, 2006, 01:45:11 AM
After Shaka, Carlos Edwards then Yorke....
Post by: davidephraim on June 11, 2006, 01:57:45 AM

Jaffa, i think others see what you see too.Yorke play like a madman. Any set play, any break through Yorke was marking de "hot man" wether it was Lunjberg or Larsson Yorke was with them toe for toe step for step. Big up to Dwight Yorke for de best game he ever play for TnT.

THere were so many outstanding performances Yorke and others got swept under Shaka's rug but Carlos Edwards played Herculean as well as Cyd Gray who was "formerly known as shit gray" but will no longer where that banner.  Me Mum was a boss today too as well as Samuel had a good start.  But Shaka were de crown.  Man of de next 3 matches...
Post by: davidephraim on June 11, 2006, 02:01:27 AM
Ah forget Sancho also played big man football.
Post by: thane on June 11, 2006, 03:19:23 AM
the whole team....i was honestly suprised....and overflowing with pride....anybody at that stage could pass a ball...and control a ball....but wat we showed here is a defiance of the trini/caribbean mentality...and we showed HEART!!!
Post by: jose on June 11, 2006, 04:56:52 AM
yorke is a boss and will always be,great leadership
Title: Re: yorke wallpaper on fifa site
Post by: jose on June 11, 2006, 05:11:52 AM
de boss
Post by: boss on June 11, 2006, 05:21:44 AM
The Independent this morning compared him to Beckenbauer!!! What a performance!  :beermug:
Post by: shivadee on June 11, 2006, 05:25:34 AM
I dont think people were not applauding him spitefully or anything. For the match we were so busy watching our defence just build a wall for sweeden i think thats where the focus was.
Title: Re: yorke wallpaper on fifa site
Post by: fivers on June 11, 2006, 05:40:22 AM
thanks boss
Post by: trinidad badboy on June 11, 2006, 07:59:28 AM

nothing new for yorke thats his game

just shaka was superb and to me sancho was the best man out there
Post by: JDB on June 11, 2006, 08:38:17 AM
Yorke's contributions were critical.

If anything it was Shaka who did his job. Yorke was a real calming influence on the team. Evrytime we got choked up in the middle and started to look troubled, Yorke glided in and calmed things down and played us out of trouble.

It was clear that off all the players we had on the pitch he was the one with the experience to direct our play. And his work off the ball in positioning himself to get involed in so many plays on defense was magnificant.

That being said, everybod was a giant yesterday. Special mantion to Cyd Gray, Carlos, Sancho, Birchall, Lawrence, Whitley (when he was runnig - I believe he is carrying an injury). Theobald was a little out of his depth. Samule and Stern were not bad. Samuel needs to make a run after he passes the ball and not stand up. Stern's trap and screen game was impressive but you wish he would chase lost causes a little more because it is easy for him to look lazy.

Post by: essexgirl22 on June 11, 2006, 09:00:40 AM
Come on    we are applauding Dwight and all the other warriors :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: #4 on June 11, 2006, 09:54:20 AM
I AM!

and we all must remember that Yorke was once an out-and-out striker. his performance yesterday  just testifies to the fitness, versatility, talent, and overall greatness of our #19.

but also big ups to (of course) Shaka, Sancho, Edwards, Lawrence, Glen, and Grey for playing to their full potential.
Post by: 7 blessings on June 11, 2006, 04:17:11 PM
yeah man yorke was ah big oe fr we on that day.....i find that he playin a real crucial role for we since th beginning of thecampaign in that midfield role......he seems to be really dependable dis rounds.
Post by: trini_chris on June 11, 2006, 04:33:14 PM
yorke played real hard football but men like shaka(of course), carlos and sancho impressed also
Post by: football prof on June 11, 2006, 06:36:41 PM
Yorkie deserves alot of big up! His experience and decision making on the field was superb. That display shows that Yorkie can play in champions league still!
Post by: StoreBayLimer on June 11, 2006, 11:53:50 PM
Yorke's contributions were critical.

If anything it was Shaka who did his job. Yorke was a real calming influence on the team. Evrytime we got choked up in the middle and started to look troubled, Yorke glided in and calmed things down and played us out of trouble.

It was clear that off all the players we had on the pitch he was the one with the experience to direct our play. And his work off the ball in positioning himself to get involed in so many plays on defense was magnificant.

That being said, everybod was a giant yesterday. Special mantion to Cyd Gray, Carlos, Sancho, Birchall, Lawrence, Whitley (when he was runnig - I believe he is carrying an injury). Theobald was a little out of his depth. Samule and Stern were not bad. Samuel needs to make a run after he passes the ball and not stand up. Stern's trap and screen game was impressive but you wish he would chase lost causes a little more because it is easy for him to look lazy.

Well said.  Birchall was O.K, but I guess that after his fantastic performances in the Mex, Bahrain, and Iceland  games (to name a few), I was expecting more out of him.  Maybe after A.John was sent off Beenie gave him instructions to play more of a defensive mid role.
Post by: Yaw on June 12, 2006, 07:07:30 AM
SIr Alex still looking for a man to replace Roy Keane.  If he did only know that he had the right man in Yorke, he woulda never let him go.  Big up Dwight Yorke - midfiled general.  Bravo
Post by: meloTTWARRIOR on June 12, 2006, 10:37:43 AM
I think that is a good question they should give him more praise for what he did in  that game on Saturday I hope he doesn't get any injuries so he come be a part of history making for T&T Football. (http://)
Post by: Yellowman on June 12, 2006, 10:42:47 AM
All the players showed that true fighting warrior spirit....

Of course some players stood out more for me Shaka,Yorke, Edwards and Sancho....

If they keep playing this way and who knows where we'll reach?
Post by: grskywalker on June 12, 2006, 12:55:34 PM
YORKE YORKE YORKE!!!!!! [/b]
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: Pointman on June 12, 2006, 01:07:53 PM
the whole team....i was honestly suprised....and overflowing with pride....anybody at that stage could pass a ball...and control a ball....but wat we showed here is a defiance of the trini/caribbean mentality...and we showed HEART!!!

HEART is the key word dey dread...we showed HEART, BIG CARIBBEAN HEART!!!