Sports => Football => Topic started by: jub02 on July 13, 2006, 11:51:08 AM

Title: Juve to be relegated..?
Post by: jub02 on July 13, 2006, 11:51:08 AM
http://wc2006.telegraph.co.uk/Document.aspx?id=A33A4D11-C6E2-4CC4-A5A6-6CBDDD97FCFB

Looks like it?

Title: Re: Juve to be relegated..?
Post by: Organic on July 13, 2006, 12:04:21 PM
and i quote" this link is to start ah new thread"   ;)
Post by: jub02 on July 13, 2006, 12:11:31 PM
wuh?!?! it aint for me.
Post by: Padams on July 13, 2006, 12:17:37 PM
Well boys........let de flood-gates open....rel man headin for Real, Barca and Chelsea
Post by: dwn on July 14, 2006, 08:37:50 AM
<a href="http://www.worldsoccer.com/news/Juventus_Fiorentina_Lazio_to_be_demoted__report_news_88918.html" target="_blank">Source: WorldSoccer.com[/url]

According to a report in today's Gazetta dello Sport newspaper, Juventus, Fiorentina and Lazio will be relegated to the Italian second division, while Milan will retain their Serie A status, albeit with a points deduction.

"The verdict will be this: Juventus, Fiorentina and Lazio will be relegated to division two," said Gazetta.

"Milan will stay in the first division but will not be allowed to take part in the Champions League."

The newspaper did not reveal its sources but claimed it also knew what point deductions each team would receive.

Juventus will be docked 20 points from the start of their Serie B campaign with Fiorentina penalised 10 and Lazio six or seven. Milan will lose 10 to 15 points from their Serie A challenge as well as being excluded from next season's Champions League.

The president of the Italian Football Confederation (CAF) Cesare Ruperto is due to read out the verdict on the newspaper's sister television station at1800 (GMT).

The teams will then have three days to appeal before a federal court of arbitration and a final decision will be given by July 24.

The scandal surrounds former Juve general manager, Luciano Moggi, interfering with the appointment of referees for Serie A fixtures.
Post by: lickslikefire on July 14, 2006, 09:02:10 AM
doesn't seem any verdicts have been decided yet....nothing on milan or juventus' websites either

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/5746032

Associated Press
Posted: 5 hours ago     

ROME (AP) - The sports trial in Italy's soccer scandal wrapped up Friday as the seven judges retired to deliberate on the fate of four top soccer clubs facing demotion to lower divisions on match-fixing charges.

MATCHFIXING MADNESS

Lead judge Cesare Ruperto said it could take from three to 15 days for verdicts.

Post by: grimm01 on July 14, 2006, 09:32:17 AM
didn't Fiorentina get relegated back to Serie C some years ago for some other bobol?
Post by: jub02 on July 14, 2006, 10:06:16 AM
They shud be relegated more than one divison
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 14, 2006, 10:06:51 AM
dey said dey will announce the verdict shortly after 16 00 BST.....  which is what in Eastern time?//
Post by: sinned on July 14, 2006, 10:09:08 AM
dey said dey will announce the verdict shortly after 16 00 BST.....  which is what in Eastern time?//

11:00 am
Post by: Pompey on July 14, 2006, 10:10:18 AM

It's 17:09 now. if that helps. I think they are announcing it at 18:00, 50 minutes time.
Post by: Falkirk and proud on July 14, 2006, 10:11:26 AM
Yes the announcement is being made at 1800BST
Post by: Brej on July 14, 2006, 10:55:24 AM
so in 5 mins?
Post by: Blue on July 14, 2006, 11:42:50 AM
The announcement delayed.

But my money is on Juve, Fiorentina and Lazio to B (with Juve also docked points). Milan stays in A, but will be docked points and stripped of Champs League.

announcement should come shortly.
Post by: Blue on July 14, 2006, 01:15:35 PM
Check my earlier prediction  ;D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/5164194.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/5164194.stm)

Italian trio relegated to Serie B  
Serie A sides Juventus, Lazio and Fiorentina have been demoted to the second division for their involvement in Italy's match-fixing scandal.
AC Milan will stay in Serie A but will lose 15 points and will be kicked out of the Champions League.

Juventus were also stripped of their last two titles and had 30 points deducted meaning that they are almost certain to stay down for two seasons.

Lazio were penalised seven points while Fiorentina suffered a 12 point penalty.

More to follow.

Post by: Israel on July 14, 2006, 01:17:17 PM
well is a big shopping spree now
Post by: sinned on July 14, 2006, 01:22:34 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/5164194.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/5164194.stm)

Serie A sides Juventus, Lazio and Fiorentina have been demoted to the second division for their involvement in Italy's match-fixing scandal.
AC Milan will stay in Serie A but will lose 15 points and will be kicked out of the Champions League.

Juventus were also stripped of their last two titles and had 30 points deducted meaning that they are almost certain to stay down for two seasons.

More to follow.

i wonder if that "prediction" did come from all that speculation in the Gazza since early this morning which had reports saying this same thing  ::)
Post by: Blue on July 14, 2006, 01:26:10 PM

More to follow.

i wonder if that "prediction" did come from all that speculation in the Gazza since early this morning which had reports saying this same thing  ::)

if u mean la gazzetta dello sport, then no, i haven't been reading that

but i have been doing some research over the past few days  ;D
Post by: sinned on July 14, 2006, 01:28:44 PM

More to follow.

if u mean la gazzetta dello sport, then no, i haven't been reading that

but i have been doing some research over the past few days ;D

haha yeah i meant the gazetta (..my bad) yeah i was followin it closely too
Post by: sprog on July 14, 2006, 01:38:31 PM
hope not in the interest of the italian league, i'll like to see them in the top flight next season as well as europe.
Post by: Swede on July 14, 2006, 01:45:53 PM
Juventus - Serie B - 30 minus points
Fiorentina - Serie B - 12 minus points
Lazio - Serie B - 7 minus points 
Milan - Serie A - 15 minus points
Title: Italian trio relegated to Serie B
Post by: Rastaman on July 14, 2006, 03:30:05 PM

AC Milan, Fiorentina, Juventus and Lazio were implicated
Juventus were also stripped of their last two Serie A titles and had 30 points deducted, meaning they are likely to stay down for two seasons.

AC Milan will stay in Serie A but will start the season docked 15 points.

All are barred from competing in Europe - Juventus, Milan and Fiorentina the Champions League; Lazio the Uefa Cup.

Lazio were penalised seven league points while Fiorentina suffered a 12-point penalty.

All four clubs hit out at the verdict and hinted they would appeal.

They have three days to appeal to the Federal Court, but they may find they will run out of time to rescue their European places regardless of the outcome of any appeal because the deadline for entry is only 11 days away.

The FIGC (Italian football's governing body) must hand its European counterpart Uefa the lists of teams that will be involved in its competitions by 25 July.

I'm not saddened for myself but for the teams involved and for their fans

Luciano Moggi

Juventus president Giovanni Cobolli Gigli said: "This verdict is unheard of. We expected a balanced sentence not only in form but in substance, our expectations were different ones.

"We could have expected relegation to the second division but to be also handed a 30-point deduction is almost like relegation to the third division. We will appeal."

A statement on Fiorentina's official site called the decision "profoundly unjust".

It added: "Fiorentina wishes to reiterate the absolute correctness of the club and of their own executives.

"Fiorentina will fight with every means possible so that the truth of the facts are revealed."

An AC Milan statement said: "AC Milan retains the decision by the CAF of extraordinary injustice.

"We will appeal once the documents of the verdict will be available, with the certainty that the procedure will be radically modified by appeal."

Lazio president Claudio Lotito, who was banned for three years for his part in the scandal, was fuming following the verdict.

"I think this sentence is provisional as it's based on a theorem which is completely ridiculous," he said.

606 VIEW
The biggest transfer market in history has just opened its doors

NDS
606: Have your say 

"I will not make any decisions until a final sentence is given."

Inter, Roma, Chievo and Palermo, who finished third, fifth and seventh and eighth are in line to take the places of the penalised clubs in next season's Champions League.

Subject to any appeals Lecce, Messina, and Treviso will avoid relegation to Serie B and keep their places in the top flight as a result of the verdict.

Those directly involved with the scandal were also penalised, with former Juventus general manager Luciano Moggi suspended from all football for five years and Adriano Galliani, who was AC Milan vice-president, suspended for one year.

Moggi reacted by saying: "I'm not saddened for myself but for the teams involved and for their fans."

The tribunal in Rome investigated charges that the clubs, their management, football officials and referees tried to influence the outcome of matches by interfering with the appointment of officials.

In May, transcripts were published of telephone conversations between Moggi and Italian Football Association officials, discussing refereeing appointments in the 2004-05 season.

FIGC prosecutor Stefano Palazzi also charged 26 individuals for sporting fraud and violating fairness and probity.

All four clubs implicated denied the accusations.

Thirteen of Italy's World Cup-winning squad play for the clubs involved, with five at Juventus, who also number Patrick Vieira, Lilian Thuram, David Trezeguet, Pavel Nedved and Zlatan Ibrahimovic in their ranks.

Many of them are expected to seek transfers to other leading clubs in Italy or Europe to limit the damage to their careers.

www.bbc.co.uk/sport
Title: Re: Italian trio relegated to Serie B
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 14, 2006, 03:33:16 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 14, 2006, 03:34:20 PM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

come pavel... lol
Post by: fari on July 14, 2006, 03:39:11 PM
this is shaping up to be a big fire sale b/c there is sure to be a mass exodus of players.  i wonder who will go where???...
Post by: Bourbon on July 14, 2006, 03:41:21 PM
Any word on reasons how/why AC sentence so light compared to the others?
Post by: Lower St. John on July 14, 2006, 03:53:20 PM
Viera going back to Arsenal will be a dream for Gunners fans.

Blessings
Post by: Organic on July 14, 2006, 04:10:38 PM
jah doh sleep..dme italians go salt for dey season....and u se ehwo thigns is..all of ah sudden thet coudl rule...thye mudda ass and dem was waiting till wc done. ...no italian teams in uefa and champions leage...how sad no diving  :P
Post by: jub02 on July 14, 2006, 04:11:39 PM

More to follow.

hardly ur quote man i read dat everywher this morning
Post by: PantherX on July 14, 2006, 04:45:41 PM
Not true the Euro places will go to the next teams in line Inter, Roma, Chievo and Palermo for the CL and probably Livorno and Parma for the UEFAQ cup.

The relegated teams get to stay up as well so it's Christmas for a lot of teams.....depending on the outcome of the appeal of course.
Post by: kicker on July 14, 2006, 06:35:50 PM
Let's see how Inter manages to not win the scudetto next season....They're usually good at finding ways not to win...
Post by: freakazoid on July 14, 2006, 06:47:36 PM

firstly u cant match fix without players, so the clubs demoted but playas are free to go where ever they may.this is very interesting indeed
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on July 14, 2006, 08:34:08 PM
Let's see how Inter manages to not win the scudetto next season....They're usually good at finding ways not to win...

and yuh know wah, roma might beat  dem tuh it  :rotfl:
Post by: trinidad badboy on July 14, 2006, 08:55:50 PM

dat og be funny seeing men in the lower league.

wa happening to the titles and who will win the titles now or are they nullified
Post by: Trini Madness on July 14, 2006, 09:35:10 PM
well if de players stay,  them other teams gonna make some $$$$ anytime fiorentina,  juve and lazio come onto they turf. watch ac milan still come out on top.
Post by: Grande on July 14, 2006, 11:27:30 PM
I wonder if players like Zlatan, Emerson, Nedved, Cannavaro and dem will stick with the team to get them out of Serie B
Post by: Trinimassive on July 15, 2006, 12:00:35 AM

firstly u cant match fix without players, so the clubs demoted but playas are free to go where ever they may.this is very interesting indeed

I think you could match fix without players.

You only need the referee to get it done.  Unless you saying that Trinidad and Tobago players were involved with thiefing Haiti ???

Post by: Trinimassive on July 15, 2006, 12:03:24 AM
I wonder if players like Zlatan, Emerson, Nedved, Cannavaro and dem will stick with the team to get them out of Serie B

NO

Juve and the rest ah dem teams gone thru.  Now we know how they won so many titles.

With all them good players why they have to cheat...makes no sense.
Post by: doublet750 on July 15, 2006, 12:28:52 AM
hear my words well...some players may show loyalty.....however others will leace...in the case of juventus there will be loan deals for the valuable palyers .....it would be great to see viera back at arsenal...but dont imagine the sales ...imagine if thy lose too many catalyst players for a year and cant get back into serie A the very next season ...then thy will surely lose these players,,,,,buffon will leave,...canavaro on loan to madrid....barca may get thuram....one big player you all are gorgeting...LUCA TONI of fiorentina....not too much of a shabby world cup BUT IN DA LAST FEW SEASONS HE HAS SHATTERED THE SCORING RECORD IN ITALY..... :o :o :o
Post by: JDB on July 15, 2006, 07:25:09 AM
I saw an article recently with a break down of who going where.

Viera dn Trezeguet to Lyon.

They offered reduced wages to several key players Nedved and Del Piero accepted staying in the 2nd Division.

Buffon rejecetd and is going to Milan, I think that camoranesi also turned them down might be going to Inter.

Cannavaro, Zambrotta and Emerson to Madrid with Capello.

Others going out on loan.

I found another article here (http://football.guardian.co.uk/continentalfootball/story/0,,1820046,00.html) with a aplayer by player breakdown.

Sale of the century: What could happen to the cream of Serie A

Fabio Cannavaro Juventus, Centre-back
Age 32 Caps 100 for Italy
He was voted the second-best player of the World Cup behind Zinédine Zidane. His former coach Fabio Capello has said he would be the perfect signing for Real Madrid
Possible destination Real Madrid

Zlatan Ibrahimovic Juventus, Striker
Age 24 Caps 41 for Sweden
He has reportedly reached an agreement with Internazionale
Possible destination Internazionale

Mauro Camoranesi Juventus, Right-winger
Age 29 Caps 26 for Italy
The Argentina-born winger has received a good offer from Valencia in Spain. Liverpool have also been linked with him.
Possible destinations Valencia, Liverpool

Emerson Juventus, Midfielder
Age 30 Caps 73 for Brazil
Fabio Capello's favourite player should again follow his coach to Real Madrid after following him from Roma to Juventus two years ago.

Gianluca Zambrotta Juventus, Full-back
Age 29 Caps 58 for Italy
One of the best players in the World Cup, he can play on either flank or as a winger. His former coach Fabio Capello wants him at Real Madrid

Patrick Vieira Juventus, Midfielder
Age 30 Caps 95 for France
Internazionale have targeted the former Arsenal captain to replace Juan Sebastián Verón in midfield

David Trezeguet Juventus, Striker
Age 28 Caps 66 for France
After his disappointing World Cup he could return to France where Lyon have already asked about his availability. Arsenal's coach Arsène Wenger is also an admirer of the French striker after working with him at Monaco
Possible destinations Lyon, Arsenal

Lilian Thuram Juventus, Centre-back Age 34 Caps 121 for France
Barcelona are the favourites to land the 1998 World Cup winner although Tottenham have also been linked with him. His agent, Oscar Damiani, said Thuram is currently on holiday in his native Guadeloupe and is expected to make a decision on his future in two weeks
Possible destinations Barcelona, Tottenham

Gianluigi Buffon Juventus, Goalkeeper
Age 28 Caps 67 for Italy
If Milan manage to avoid demotion then Buffon is likely to join the Rossoneri. His agent claims there has also been an offer from a Premiership club, believed to be Arsenal
Possible destinations Milan, Arsenal

Alessandro Nesta Milan, Defender
Age 30 Caps 77 for Italy
Chelsea are reportedly interested in signing the Milan defender and forming one of the best defensive partnerships in the world with John Terry
Possible destination Chelsea

Gennaro Gattuso Milan, Midfielder
Age 28 Caps 51 for Italy
Manchester United have been interested in signing the combative midfielder for a few seasons now. He admitted himself that his dream is to play at Old Trafford one day but he recently said he will remain loyal to Milan even if the Rossoneri are demoted to Serie B
Possible destination Manchester United

Kaka Milan, Attacking midfielder
Age 24 Caps 44 for Brazil
He was the main target of Real Madrid's new president Ramón Calderón and the new coach Capello is also a huge admirer of the talented Brazilian attacking midfielder

Andrea Pirlo Milan, Midfielder
Age 27 Caps 31 for Italy
Manchester United have reportedly asked about the availability of the playmaker and also the possibility of a loan deal for one season
Possible destination Manchester United

Luca Toni Fiorentina, Striker
Age 29 Caps 24 for Italy
Internazionale are the favourites to land the striker who scored 31 goals in the last Serie A campaign.

Zlatan is leaving too but I can't remember where or whether on loan or sale.
Title: Italian trio relegated to Serie B
Post by: cascabel on July 15, 2006, 07:49:49 AM
I cannot help but find the whole episode ironic: although they won the Cup, the achievement became incidental to the chest-butting incident and now to top it off, they are unravelling from within.    Sad, sad state of affairs.     :devil:
Post by: Pointman on July 15, 2006, 08:31:07 AM
To all you EPL hating;  Serie A , La Liga loving forumites...Take dat in allyuh pwefen!!!!!!!

MAN U forever !!!!!!!
Post by: JDB on July 15, 2006, 08:53:59 AM
To all you EPL hating;  Serie A , La Liga loving forumites...Take dat in allyuh pwefen!!!!!!!

MAN U forever !!!!!!!

Actually of all those proposed moves the ones involving players going to United are the least probable so I wouldn't get too carried away just yet.

This article is the only one that I have seen that mentioned the Pirlo and Gattuso transfers, wheras the Juve and Fiorentina transfers have been mentioned in other articles as well.
Post by: jub02 on July 15, 2006, 10:15:50 AM

but juve gonna be in serie B most likely for 2 seasons if they is deducted 30 points..
Post by: daryn on July 15, 2006, 11:27:01 AM
"We could have expected relegation to the second division but to be also handed a 30-point deduction is almost like relegation to the third division. We will appeal."

this sentence might prove to be worse than demotion to Serie C (with no points deducted) for Juve.  They might very well get relegated anyway, in that case it will just take them an extra year to get back to top flight.
Post by: dcs on July 15, 2006, 11:36:22 AM

They going to appeal so doh be surprised if the punishment is significantly reduced. (points deducted)
Title: nedved, del piero and buffon pledge to Juventus and Serie B
Post by: andre samuel on July 21, 2006, 05:29:56 AM
I just saw this story on foxsport news.  i admire them for this.  Everyone has their own reason for staying!

I understand del peiro, because he grew up at the club.
buffon, because of the huge transfer that they paid for him
Nedved, probably wants to retire a Juve player.

30pts is real pts to make up!!