General => General Discussion => Topic started by: WestCoast on September 27, 2006, 11:29:16 AM

Title: Mento Music
Post by: WestCoast on September 27, 2006, 11:29:16 AM
look wha i stumbled across today...Mento Music from Jamaica
I have ah feeling is ole time Calypso oui ;D ;D
http://www.mentomusic.com/WhatIsMento.htm
Title: Re: Mento Music
Post by: Dutty on September 27, 2006, 11:32:53 AM
dey should put dat music in a bottle ah diet coke
Post by: WestCoast on October 16, 2006, 03:18:39 PM
Some Mento Compilations

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/Mambo_Bang_Bang.mp3  66,1MB  Calypso/Mento 'Night Food' & 'Africa' Classics dis one have Holly Betaudier as de MC.  ;D ;D

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/Bam_Bam.mp3   60,3MB  Bam Bam (Jamaican Mento Mixxx), a collection of mento classics

http://www.siebethissen.net/Dr_Auratheft/Mom_Radio/index.htm
Post by: Jumbie on October 16, 2006, 03:32:07 PM
Last nite on soca therapy "Nurse Karen" mentioned a form of music (she from St Vincent I think) ... but I couldn't remember the name. Supposedly it was created by the local people ( slaves that were shipwrecked on the island who mixed with the local (native) indians).

Does anyone know the name of this music (similar to calypso, but in their native language)?

Post by: Tallman on October 16, 2006, 03:49:15 PM
Last nite on soca therapy "Nurse Karen" mentioned a form of music (she from St Vincent I think) ... but I couldn't remember the name. Supposedly it was created by the local people ( slaves that were shipwrecked on the island who mixed with the local (native) indians).

Does anyone know the name of this music (similar to calypso, but in their native language)?

Ah tink is Garifuna, but it mostly associated wit Belize now. De first time ah hear about it was on de show Caribbean Rhythms on BET. Dey was profiling Machel in Belize.
Post by: Jumbie on October 16, 2006, 05:57:22 PM

Ah tink is Garifuna, but it mostly associated wit Belize now. De first time ah hear about it was on de show Caribbean Rhythms on BET. Dey was profiling Machel in Belize.

Thx. Yep, thats exactly what she mentioned..about it being also in Belize and other central american countries where it was taken to or developed.
Post by: WestCoast on October 16, 2006, 08:27:39 PM
I have not heard this music before......thanks Jumbie

here is the National Geographic story (http://worldmusic.nationalgeographic.com/worldmusic/view/page.basic/genre/content.genre/garifuna_music_722)

music link ( samples here also)
http://www.garinagu.com/music/
there must still speak West African language (not sure what it is called) there then, as none of songs are in english or spanish.

here you will find some Garifuna Language links
http://www.native-languages.org/garifuna.htm

and endless history links here
http://www.centrelink.org/Belize.html