Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on February 24, 2007, 05:24:46 PM

Title: Thread for the W Connection vs CD Guadalajara Return Game.
Post by: Flex on February 24, 2007, 05:24:46 PM
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the W Connection (http://www.socawarriors.net/w_connection.htm) game vs CD Guadalajara (http://uschivas.com/main.html) (Chivas) of Mexico will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

(http://uschivas.com/images/logos/chivas.gif) VS (http://uschivas.com/images/logos/wc.gif)

Live Links.

Coming Soon

TV Viewing.

FOX Soccer Channel (FSC (http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/6396732)) - US (9:30 EST)

Crew Meet Up.

Live Chat. (http://chat.socawarriors.net/)

Note

Away Goal - Rule ?

W Connection Squad:

Jan Michael Williams (http://www.socawarriors.net/jan_michael_williams.htm), Murilo Da Costa, Brenton De Leon, Devon Bass, Elijah Joseph, Husani Thomas, Jerron Johnson, Kern Cupid, Nickcolson Thomas, Williams Silva de Oliviera, Andrei Pacheco, Christian Viveros, Ronaldo Viana, Dwight Scott, Devon Drayton, Gefferson Goulart, Jose Luis Seabra (http://www.socawarriors.net/jose_luis_seabra.htm), Jonatan Farias, Andre Toussaint (http://www.socawarriors.net/andre_toussaint.htm), Earl Jean (capt), George Isaac, Hughton Hector, Kerron Smith, Shane Calderon.

More Updates To Follow.

28.02.2007: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO; Jalisco Stadium (20:45)
CD GUADALAJARA (MEX) v W CONNECTION FC (TRI)
R: Jose PINEDA (HON)
A1: Pedro REBOLLAR (MEX)
A2: Marvin TORRENTERA (MEX)
FO: Roberto GARCIA (MEX)

Update From Mexico By: Unionfc.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/07/1195479.jpg)

W Connection They leave the Estadio Jalisco (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Estadio_Jalisco) impressed. From 10 thousand spectators to 70 thousand, there is a great difference, and for the players of the W Connection it will be another factor against in the game against Chivas.
The players of the Connection had the opportunity to attend Wednesday the Jalisco Stadium to see Chivas, their rival in Concacaf Champions Cup (http://www.concacaf.com/competitions/match3.asp?id=1&year=2007), which besides the game, could appreciate the monumental Colossus of Calzada Independencia. “Its a fantastic Stadium, and what pleases me the most is that it is an only soccer stadium, is specifically for use of that and nothing else, all my players are very happy to be able to play in this stadium, since it is a field that has much history and they are pleased in having the opportunity to play here, and in addition the field is in perfect conditions”, commented Stuart Charles, Coach of the W Connection.
Its every Brazilian dream to play in such stage, mainly because we saw Pelé (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pel%C3%A9), and not only for us but for all the young players, since this team brings many young people, but hope to do a good game knowing that all people will be supporting Chivas”, Gefferson Goulart commented, one of the best players of the Trini's side.

*Jalisco Stadium was home to the Brazilian NT during the 1970 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1970_FIFA_World_Cup) and 1986 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1986_FIFA_World_Cup) World Cups celebrated in Mexico.

The Trini's where impressed to see themselves already on the main sport pages of the newspapers and the attention the sport gets on this side of the hood.

Head To Head

1. Pachuca CF (http://www.tuzos.com.mx/) (MEX) 2 vs Deportivo Marquense (http://www.deportivomarquense.com/) (GUA) 0
February 28 (Return Leg/Guatemala).
Pachuca CF leads 2:0 on aggregate

2. Puntarenas FC (http://www.puntarenasfc.net/) (CRC) 1 vs Houston Dynamo (http://houston.mlsnet.com/t200/) (USA) 0
March 1 (Return Leg/Texas).
Puntarenas FC leads 1:0 on aggregate

==================================

3. W Connection (http://www.socawarriors.net/w_connection.htm)  (TRI) 2 vs CD Guadalajara (http://uschivas.com/main.html) (MEX) 1
February 28 (Return Leg/Mexico).
W Connection FC leads 2:1 on aggregate

4. DC United (http://dcunited.mlsnet.com/) (USA) 4 vs CD Olimpia (http://www.clubolimpia.com/) (HON) 1
March 1 (Return Leg/Washington).
D.C. United leads 4:1 on aggregate

==================================

Winner 1 vs Winner 2

Winner 3 vs Winner 4
Title: Re: Thread for the W Connection vs CD Guadalajara Return Game.
Post by: dreamer on February 24, 2007, 06:24:13 PM
Nice thread design Flex.

As said on the 95.5 FM show today, it needs to be reinforced, that for W Connection to advance, because of the home and away goals rule, T&T must win or draw with certain favourable mathematical scenarios.

Would somebody like to review this? I was going to start but ah doh want to make a mistake. :'( . For example for the new follower wha' happens if we lose 1-0  :-\, .... and if we lose 2-1 (where in this case we would both have scored identical away goals)?. Wha's de story with extra time and penalty kicks and other final deciders?

Good luck WC. :beermug:
Post by: Flex on February 24, 2007, 06:32:49 PM
I think if W Connection lose 1-0 they will be eliminated as Chivas will go on a 3-2 aggregate.

If Chivas win 2-1 then the game will go into extra time and penalty kicks if needed.
Post by: dreamer on February 24, 2007, 06:42:14 PM
I think if W Connection lose 1-0 they will be eliminated as Chivas will go on a 3-2 aggregate.

If Chivas win 2-1 then the game will go into extra time and penalty kicks if needed.

Sounds right...and furthermore, if we lose by a difference of 1 goal in any other score (ie a high scoring narrow-defeat 3-2, 4-3 etc), we advance.  Of course, the obvious...any draw and we advance.  :beermug:
Post by: Warrior till death on February 24, 2007, 06:52:13 PM
am i blind or does this thread not state the date this game is to be played???

its de 28th Feb rite?
Post by: D.H.W on February 24, 2007, 06:55:01 PM
yip u are right and its 10:30 trinidad time becuase of the time change
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2007, 06:55:35 PM
Yeh, yuh blind  ;D. As ah matter of fact, de date is even bolded.
Post by: D.H.W on February 24, 2007, 06:58:59 PM
Yeh, yuh blind  ;D. As ah matter of fact, de date is even bolded.
Post by: dcs on February 24, 2007, 07:03:55 PM
Doh study it   ;D

I does be fighting up to find it too.

Date:  Feb 28th  9:30 EST
Post by: Warrior till death on February 24, 2007, 07:11:45 PM
it showing 9:30 on fsc in trinidad
Post by: D.H.W on February 24, 2007, 07:14:03 PM
10:30 trinidad time the 1hr difference because of time change (daylight savings)
Post by: dreamer on February 24, 2007, 08:41:10 PM
Champions Cup QF Report: Pachuca Ease Past Marquense
Feb 23, 2007
Goal.com

Pachuca 2, Marquense 0
PAC - Alvarez, 13'
PAC - Caballero, 58'

Pachuca did something fellow Mexican Primera Division side Chivas Guadalajara failed to do, the Tuzos didn't lose. In fact, Pacuhuca tasted victory in the first leg of their CONCACAF Champions Cup quarterfinal, 2-0 over Guatemalan outfit Marquense.

Pachuca, the 2006 Copa Sudamericana champions, got a goal from Damian Alvarez inside 15 minutes, but the Guatemalans  got stellar goakeeping Ricardo Trigueno to stay within a shout and set up a potentially rocky return leg for the Mexicans.

Trigueno's, and Marquense's, resolve, though, lasted less than an hour, as Gabriel Esteban Caballero doubled the Tuzos' advantage in the 58th minute.
Post by: morvant on February 24, 2007, 11:04:55 PM

you should be shame to post in this thread

remember de first thread when yuh fight down connection ::)
Post by: Feliziano on February 25, 2007, 10:27:06 AM

you should be shame to post in this thread

remember de first thread when yuh fight down connection ::)
ah ent think was he Morv..was Trini Warrior lol
but after the 6 or so pages in that thread..i still ent think de man and Touches was fighting them down lol
Post by: dcs on February 25, 2007, 01:58:25 PM
Small Mag yuh get yuh money from the bet yet?
Post by: Warrior till death on February 25, 2007, 06:50:00 PM
Small Mag yuh get yuh money from the bet yet?
daz for dis game comin up
not de previous one
Post by: dreamer on February 25, 2007, 09:55:01 PM
Hey...wait a minute!!  >:(  Am I seeing right? This seems to suggest that the away-goals rule, like in World Cup play-offs, does not apply. People, we have to have we facts straight. Ah hope Fevrier and dem know dey business too. Check it out below. Leh we not be debating dis at the last minute nah and raisin' people blood pressure! Coolo breezo? :'(
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

2007 CONCACAF Champions Cup: Where we stand
February 22, 2007
Howard Hamilton, HexagonalBlog

http://hhamilton.typepad.com/hexagonalblog/2007/02/2007_concacaf_c.html

Here's a summary of where we are in the Champions' Cup.  I'll keep this at the top of the list until the tournament has concluded.

Current phase of tournament is in bold red lettering.  Home team in the first leg is listed first, and their score is listed first for both legs.  Aggregate goals in home-and-away series, no away goals, 30-minute extra time if tied on aggregate after 90 minutes of second leg and penalties if necessary.

QUARTERFINALS

QF1: W Connection FC 2-1 CD Guadalajara (2:1, 28 Feb)
QF2: Puntarenas FC 1-0 Houston Dynamo (1:0, 01 Mar)
QF3: CD Olimpia 1-4 DC United (1:4, 01 Mar)
QF4: Pachuca CF2-0 Deportivo Marquense (2:0, 28 Feb)

SEMIFINALS (13-15 Mar, 03-05 Apr)

SF1: QF3 vs. QF1
SF2: QF2 vs. QF4

FINALS (17-19 Apr, 24-26 Apr)

SF1 vs. SF2

Posted by Howard Hamilton at 07:04 PM
Post by: D.H.W on February 26, 2007, 02:43:39 AM
Yeh dreamer i saw on a forum tht away goals doh apply for this tornament
Post by: Flex on February 26, 2007, 07:01:56 AM
Connection players held up by visa delay.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Visa delay for two of his players is causing anxious moments for W Connection coach, St Lucian-born Stuart Charles-Fevrier.
South Americans Ronaldo Viana and Christian Viveros are to play for Connection in a Concacaf Champions Cup quarterfinal against Mexico’s Chivas in Mexico today.
Team owner David John-Williams, who did not make the journey with the team to Mexico, said that both Viana and Viveros left Trinidad on Monday for Colombia, where they were expected to obtain Mexican visas.
John-Williams noted that because Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday were Carnival days in Brazil, Viana, who was in Brazil, had to fly to Colombia to get his visa application done.
Viveros, Colombian-born, could not get a Mexican visas in T&T and had to return home.
W Connection beat Chivas 2-1 in the first-leg at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella, on February 13 and flew to Mexico on Carnival Monday to prepare for the crucial second-leg match.
Post by: dreamer on February 26, 2007, 04:50:05 PM
Upsetting news Flex. :-\  Ah hope something comes tru.  Good luck WC  :praying: :nailbiting:
Post by: Flex on February 26, 2007, 05:09:45 PM
Upsetting news Flex. :-\ Ah hope something comes tru. Good luck WC :praying: :nailbiting:

I just spoke to David John Williams he said "Everything is ok in Mexico. Little problem with visa for Viveros and Viana. But they will arrive in Mexico tomorrow. The weather is cold at night about 10 Degrees but the guys are adapting well. They will train at Jalisco Stadium tomorrow night. It going to be a massive game for the club"
Post by: dreamer on February 26, 2007, 05:58:20 PM
Upsetting news Flex. :-\ Ah hope something comes tru. Good luck WC :praying: :nailbiting:

I just spoke to David John Williams he said "Everything is ok in Mexico. Little problem with visa for Viveros and Viana. But they will arrive in Mexico tomorrow. The weather is cold at night about 10 Degrees but the guys are adapting well. They will train at Jalisco Stadium tomorrow night. It going to be a massive game for the club"

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Flex, daiz de sweetest news for de day dread. Tank  :praying:  yuh fadda!
Post by: D.H.W on February 26, 2007, 06:05:16 PM
that is rel good news i thought them fellas would not have got their visas on time
Post by: WestCoast on February 27, 2007, 04:36:23 AM
South Americans Ronaldo Viana and Christian Viveros are to play for Connection in a Concacaf Champions Cup quarterfinal against Mexico’s Chivas in Mexico today.
Clarification please, as this article says today, but is the game not on the 28th?
thanks
Post by: Flex on February 27, 2007, 05:43:40 AM
Clarification please, as this article says today, but is the game not on the 28th?
thanks

Remember, that news came from de T&T Guardian/Express and if you don't get at least one mistake per-article yuh lucky..... 8)
Post by: WestCoast on February 27, 2007, 05:44:39 AM
Remember, that news came from de Guardian and if you dont get at least one mistake per-article yuh lucky..... 8)
ahrite ya ketch me
i did forget dat
Thanks ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Flex on February 27, 2007, 05:56:13 AM
I heard Chivas giving away free tickets to their members with Chivas cards for the game vs W Connection tomorrow as they want a sell out crowd. They beat Necaxa 4-2 on Saturday. Omar Bravo said they wasn't expecting to lose in T&T but they did and is now going all out for the kill. ...  ;)
Post by: D.H.W on February 27, 2007, 06:29:08 AM
all out kill eh. that is d kamakasi approach. hope they can brace for the counter attacks.
Post by: kingman on February 27, 2007, 07:21:01 AM
Champs pleased with stadium
Source: - Trinidad Newsday

W CONNECTION, the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) champion club, will be looking to seal a spot in the semi-final round of the 2007 Concacaf Champions Cup when they oppose Mexican league kings Club Deportivo Guadalajara (Chivas) in their second leg quarter-final tie tomorrow.

Connection, the “Savonetta Boys”, earned a come-from-behind 2-1 win over the Chivas outfit in the first leg at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella on February 13, and will be aiming for a win, or at least a draw, in the return leg at the Jalisco Stadium, Guadalajara.

In an interview in the Soca Warriors website, Connection coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier was high in praise over the venue where they will oppose the Mexicans tomorrow.

“It’s a fantastic stadium,” he said, “and what pleases me the most is that it is an only football stadium – is specifically for use of that and nothing else.

“All my players are very happy to be able to play in this stadium, since it is a field that has much history and they are pleased in having the opportunity to play here,” Charles-Fevrier continued. “In addition the field is in perfect condition.”

And team playmaker, Brazilian-born Gefferson Goulart, added, “it’s every Brazilian dream to play in such stage, mainly because we saw Pele.

“Not only for us but for all the young players,” he continued, “since this team brings many young people, but hope to do a good match knowing that all people will be supporting Chivas.”

Connection is making their first appearance in the tournament since 2004. The three-time Pro League kings eliminated Hoppers FC (Antigua), Puerto Rico Islanders (Puerto Rico), Harbour View (Jamaica) and fellow Pro League rivals CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh en route to the Champions Cup.

Guadalajara were the winners of the inaugural Champions Cup in 1962 but the 11-time Mexican title-holders will be competing for the first time in ten years.

The quarter-final winners will advance to the Champions Cup semifinal series, scheduled for March 13-15 and April 3-5. And the semi-final winners will compete for the Concacaf Champions Cup in April, with the overall champ qualifying for the 2007 FIFA Club World Cup in Japan while the runners-up will be one of the three Concacaf teams to the 2007 Copa Nissan Sudamericana.

Teams -

W CONNECTION (from): Kerwin Beckles, Murilo Da Costa (goalkeepers); Kern Cupid, Douglas DaCosta, Elijah Joseph, Nickcolson Thomas, Brenton DeLeon, Devon Drayton, Jerron Johnson, Felinto Dos Santos, Bevon Bass (defenders); William Oliveria, Jose Luiz Seabra, Ronaldo Viana, Gefferson Goulart, Hughton Hector, Andrei Pacheco, Dwight Scott, Christian Ocoro (midfielders); Earl Jean, Andre Toussaint, Jonathan Farias, Shane Calderon, Kerron Smith (strikers); Stuart Charles-Fevrier (coach).

CD GUADALAJARA (from): Alfredo Talavera, Luis Ernesto Michel, Sergio Javier Arias (goalkeepers); Diego Alfonso Martinez, Francisco Javier Rodriguez, Hector Reynoso, Jose Antonio Patlan, Roberto Rivera, Jose Jonny Magallon, Edgar Mejia, Jesus Andres Padilla, Arturo Javier Ledesma, Juan Antonio Ocampo (defenders); Patricio Gabriel Araujo, Omar Alejandro Esparza, Gonzalo Pineda, Ramon Morales, Sergio Gabriel Avila, Manuel Bernardo Sol, Xavier Ivan Baez (midfielders); Adolfo Bautista, Omar Bravo, Alberto Medina, Sergio Alejandro Santana, Jesus Morales, Juan Manuel Garza, Emilio Lopez, Javier Hernandez, Renato Anselmo Rivera, Antonio Salazar (strikers); Jose Manuel De La Torre (coach).

Post by: Reaper2004 on February 27, 2007, 08:34:29 AM

Uhm in contrast to the first part of your comment Flex if W Connection lose 1-0 wouldnt the Aggregate score be 2-2 instead of 3-2 seeing that Connection won the home game 2-1? If they lost by that score they will still go through on the Away Goals rule if the aggregate score is 2-2 cause they got the crucial away goal at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

Am I right so far?
Post by: D.H.W on February 27, 2007, 08:51:16 AM

Uhm in contrast to the first part of your comment Flex if W Connection lose 1-0 wouldnt the Aggregate score be 2-2 instead of 3-2 seeing that Connection won the home game 2-1? If they lost by that score they will still go through on the Away Goals rule if the aggregate score is 2-2 cause they got the crucial away goal at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium.

Am I right so far?
don't think away goal count in this tournament u have to win outright  :(
Post by: D.H.W on February 27, 2007, 10:40:32 AM
Dreamer i just remember something, i remember Max Bretos on fsc say we need a draw to go through was he correct or the away goals rule really doh count. i am kinda confuse  ???
Post by: Reaper2004 on February 27, 2007, 11:50:51 AM

Am I right so far?
don't think away goal count in this tournament u have to win outright  :(

I beg to differ in matches like these the Away Goals rule does come into effect remember the Champions Cup is Caribbean equivalent to the UEFA Champions League. I believe that a win or a draw for Connection will see them through to the semi-finals. Chivas needs to win by 2 clear goals to advance. So I hoping that Connection gets the draw or the victory tomorrow.
Post by: palos on February 27, 2007, 12:07:11 PM
I beg to differ in matches like these the Away Goals rule does come into effect remember the Champions Cup is Caribbean equivalent to the UEFA Champions League. I believe that a win or a draw for Connection will see them through to the semi-finals. Chivas needs to win by 2 clear goals to advance. So I hoping that Connection gets the draw or the victory tomorrow.

I think u might want to read THIS (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=25464.msg280769#msg280769)
Post by: Unionfc on February 27, 2007, 03:45:45 PM
"Close the door "

Was a recurrent word used this morning at the Universidad of Guadalajara campus
were the trini squad had its trainig session, trying determine the strategy they will use
to retain the advantage they got on the previous match
the coach asked reporters for privacy with the promise to give interviews after such session.

Chivas recovers "Pato Araujo" and Omar Esparza"
from the U20 NT after conquering the pass for the U20 WC
while losing Ramon Morales and Magallon to the NT
for the friendly vs Venezuela in San Diego.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/07/1198087.jpg)
Hector Reynoso ( Chivas CB )
W Connection it's not a "piece of cake"
as some might think
they may not be technically advanced but their players are strong and fast
they also got a couple of talented players ( Seabra and Jean Earl ) and can cause damage at any time,
on the last game we were relaxed and thinking that goals were just going to come at any time
then they had a couple of chances and scored, so for this game we cannot give ourselfs
that type of luxury, this time we just have to come out to earn the result, said the defender.

Post by: dreamer on February 27, 2007, 05:17:21 PM
Dreamer i just remember something, i remember Max Bretos on fsc say we need a draw to go through was he correct or the away goals rule really doh count. i am kinda confuse  ???

Yeah die hard,

ah watching all these comments as plenty opinions conflicting in this thread. All I know is the source I typed (saying no away goals rle) to warn the forumites, as I will be glued to the TV Wednesday and I want to have my facts straight before any panic set in towards the end of the game. Hope this is resolved tonight.
Post by: trinikev on February 27, 2007, 09:28:34 PM

Die hard, Max Bretos is right in saying a draw will get W. Connection thru, simply because we won the first leg. A draw in Mexico still leaves us ahead on aggregate, away goals have nothing to do with that.  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on February 27, 2007, 09:35:14 PM

Die hard, Max Bretos is right in saying a draw will get W. Connection thru, simply because we won the first leg. A draw in Mexico still leaves us ahead on aggregate, away goals have nothing to do with that.  :beermug:
yeh you right now tht i look at it that way, this means chivas have to win by 2 clear goals. this game tommorow like a bloody chess game  :-\ as a chivas fan said "we will have to bunker up" lol :D
Post by: Unionfc on February 27, 2007, 09:53:06 PM
I don't what's so complex, it's half time
W Connection is winning 2 - 1
fairly simple really.
Post by: D.H.W on February 27, 2007, 10:50:04 PM
I don't what's so complex, it's half time
W Connection is winning 2 - 1
fairly simple really.
Tht is a good way to look at. makes alot of sense thanks unionfc
Post by: RasIred on February 27, 2007, 11:04:13 PM
Go Williams Connection, one more game to the semis. Keep allyuh head up and have a good showing ! Show them what the Pro Legaue can do. Cah wait for 9:30 pm..Go Connection

ps......FSC and they West Connection.like we from California. ::)..lol. I just send them a email. They could mangle people name too bad
Post by: dreamer on February 27, 2007, 11:08:07 PM
Go Williams Connection, one more game to the semis. Keep allyuh head up and have a good showing ! Show them what the Pro Legaue can do. Cah wait for 9:30 pm..Go Connection

ps......FSC and they West Connection.like we from California. ::)..lol. I just send them a email. They could mangle people name too bad

Good work RI, We cyah have commentators making we look chupidy in front of tens of millions of viewers.
Post by: che on February 28, 2007, 07:14:39 AM
Good luck tonight WC  :challenge:
Post by: Pointman on February 28, 2007, 07:28:25 AM
Stay Focus for 90+ minutes CONNECTION

Vibes it up!!

VIVA TRINIDAD Y TOBAGO!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:32:18 AM
lord ah go be sweating tonight like when world cup qualifiers was going on  :nailbiting:
Post by: Deeks on February 28, 2007, 10:00:34 AM
Go Connection!!!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 10:17:52 AM
what wrong with fsc lol haha. they just advertise the game for today, they big we up and thing.  ;D but they keep saying the west connection  >:(  :frustrated:
Post by: Grande on February 28, 2007, 11:32:33 AM
a man post a link de other day for fox soccer channel online. Somebody please re-post it, I can't locate it using de search function
Post by: whistler91 on February 28, 2007, 11:56:06 AM
a man post a link de other day for fox soccer channel online. Somebody please re-post it, I can't locate it using de search function
I believe this was it, however there seems to be some problems http://www.tvlizer.com/
Post by: Grande on February 28, 2007, 11:58:31 AM
I believe this was it, however there seems to be some problems http://www.tvlizer.com/

thanks whistler, hopefully it begins airing by gametime  :beermug:
Post by: JayTheWrecker on February 28, 2007, 12:36:49 PM
lastest bookies odds

https://www.bwin.com/betsnew.aspx?SportID=4
then click on CONCACAF Champions Cup on the left

1/10 Guadalajara

6/1 The Draw

16/1 Connection
Post by: dcs on February 28, 2007, 12:46:50 PM

Of the 3 major papers online...only newsday have anything about the game in todays paper.

I hope I wrong and just didn't see the article.  Maybe it only in the print version   :-[

Game going to be broadcast globally and not even an article the day of the match?
steupse
Post by: Unionfc on February 28, 2007, 01:10:18 PM
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/07/1198423.jpg)
"Money does't win matches"

"if it was the case Chivas would win the game by a stuffing"
We know there's a big difference between them and us but on we are going to be 11 vs on the pitch
and thats what matters; said brazilian, Jose Luis Seabra.
The trinis earn an average of about 3k monthly to play the game.
Yestarday the W. had a chance to visit the pitch at Jalisco Stadium

"we are going to play with the rules, we are a goal ahead and we are going to try and conserve the result
and if we can, score one more on top of that, said Saebra.
the Caribean team knows that Chivas has't won a game at home since the start of the tournamet and
the Connection has not lost a game in 19 matches:
We know they have't got the results at home, and we plan to do what other teams have
done here, stay back and look for a counter attack.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v33/chivas/07/1181703.jpg)
We are going to play as if it was a Champions League Match.

We have to leave any arrogance behind, and if you have
to go for the ball, don't think twice about it...
and just do what we've been doing and acctually play
the match, we have to learn from this mistakes now
days you can't underestimate anyone and we promise
our fans to play this game as if it was the UEFA Champions League
there for all the meat will the thrown to the fire this time. ( Rodriguez CB )
Rodriguez missed the first match due to injury.

possible starters.

Chivas
23 Michel
2 Martínez
3 "Maza"
4 Reynoso
20 Mejía
5 Araujo
7 Pineda
21 Santana
100 Bautista
10 Medina
9 Bravo
DT: J. Manuel de la Torre

bench
17 Talavera
6 Esparza
14 Patlán
13 Ávila
15 Sol
45 Hernández
48 Arturo Ledesma

W Connection FC
29 Beckles
9 Jean
2 Oliveira
5 Joseph
10 Goulart
13 Thomas
17 Hector
19 Pacheco
20 Scott
27 Drayton
43 Viveros
DT. S. Charles-Fevrier

bench
3 Cupid
4 DaCosta
6 Luiz Seabra
7 Viana
9 Jean
11 Toussaint
12 Farias
Post by: Mose on February 28, 2007, 01:19:36 PM

thanks whistler, hopefully it begins airing by gametime  :beermug:

For those in Canada, Fox Sports World Canada have it listed for tonight at 9:30 eastern time.
Post by: vb on February 28, 2007, 01:45:39 PM
EUROPEAN BASED

Is this game available for those of us based in Europe?? :-\

Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 03:14:11 PM
As the game gettin close d tension building it bringing back memories lol. aye i have a idea it might sound dumb but if somebody with a webcam who have dsl can show d match to d ones who cah see it either through msn or yahoo. what alyuh think?
Post by: Unionfc on February 28, 2007, 03:37:42 PM
For those with "No Connection " =)

courtesy of uschivas.com  :beermug:

http://www.audiogol.com/login_gratis.html

enter user name and pass, enjoy.
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 03:45:10 PM

thanks for the link  :beermug: is it audio or video
Post by: Unionfc on February 28, 2007, 04:05:25 PM

thanks for the link  :beermug: is it audio or video

VIDEO
Post by: vb on February 28, 2007, 04:13:46 PM
u have to log in, but when I clicke the option to do so, all I seeing is the home page, no sign up option.

Post by: RasIred on February 28, 2007, 04:31:54 PM
UnionFC there needs to be more posters like yourself. Even though you are an opposition supporter you have been a good sport !! Muchas Gracias . Alot of the other opposition supporters join the site to talk lala

You provide with a lil insight from Mexico and you now posting links for the game. Honestly alot of Latin Americans like to hate on the Caribbean.so I hope you enjoyed your time on the board and hope you will back the W. Connection in the semi after tonite.Good luck !!
Post by: vb on February 28, 2007, 04:42:36 PM
u have to log in, but when I clicke the option to do so, all I seeing is the home page, no sign up option.

Ah shame  :-[

Login and pw already provided.

Ah hit dem a "Dave Jenny." ;D :-[ ::)

Post by: freakazoid on February 28, 2007, 04:45:43 PM
well right barca take care ah biz in d cup ;D is time 4 w-connection 2 handle now
Post by: Unionfc on February 28, 2007, 04:47:40 PM

user and pass provided there, just hit " Ver el Partido"  ( watch the game ) after that.
Post by: Papachunks on February 28, 2007, 05:40:03 PM
When you get inside the link that Unionfc provided, take off any popup blockers, activex should be installed, and then do the following.....

click on menu in the screen below, and then click live streaming video.

the feed you get is exactly what that man above was asking for, its a webcam trained on a TV with foxsports live.

Bless up !

and thanks for that UnionFC....hope we entertain !
Post by: Pointman on February 28, 2007, 06:03:07 PM

user and pass provided there, just hit " Ver el Partido"  ( watch the game ) after that.

gracias por el link pero ya sabes que vamos a partir la m... ;D
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 06:06:51 PM
waaay fellas i was jus chatting with them chivas supporters on the chat room by the video link, they rel hostile lol  :D fellas say we getting it 3:0 and 11:0 lol haha. rel spanish and english cuss i get hahaha . one of the supporters was shock we have a pro league lol
Post by: davyjenny on February 28, 2007, 06:14:40 PM

Ah shame  :-[

Login and pw already provided.

Ah hit dem a "Dave Jenny." ;D :-[ ::)

???    ::)
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 06:26:20 PM
aye pointman fellas cah take chat boy, they start to bawll is a mexican forum and go somewhere else. it take two trini to soften them up  ;D
Post by: Pointman on February 28, 2007, 06:38:04 PM
aye pointman fellas cah take chat boy, they start to bawll is a mexican forum and go somewhere else. it take two trini to soften them up  ;D

Indeed
Post by: WestCoast on February 28, 2007, 06:59:23 PM
OK fellas I need clarification so I can plan my night
Is the game going to start in 90 minutes from now (time being 07:59:23 PM)?
Thanks
Post by: Texastrini on February 28, 2007, 07:05:43 PM
FSC saying 9 eastern on the online guide.

ah hope connection come thru tonight cos i share real real talk for some mexican partners in work today
Post by: Warrior till death on February 28, 2007, 07:19:33 PM
fsc showing the delayed coverage at 10:30 tt time

match in prog
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on February 28, 2007, 07:21:37 PM
where u gettin info that the match currently in progress?
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 07:23:36 PM

match in prog
the match is not delayed. because off the time change it has a one hour difference hence 9:30  is 10:30 trinidad time
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on February 28, 2007, 07:39:32 PM

match in prog
the match is not delayed. because off the time change it has a one hour difference hence 9:30  is 10:30 trinidad time

thanks die hard...wanted to kno wah madness WTD talkin
Post by: Socafan on February 28, 2007, 07:52:19 PM
Them Mexican fellas in dah message board asking if W-Connection is something made by Microsoft. And if Bill Gates is the Coach :rotfl: Them men real getting kicks off de people team name yes ;D
Post by: Warrior till death on February 28, 2007, 07:56:15 PM

match in prog
noo
i am aware of the time difference
it isnt being covered on fsc live
thats what i have been told
so it shouild be a delayed coverage
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:01:49 PM

match in prog
noo
i am aware of the time difference
it isnt being covered on fsc live
thats what i have been told
so it shouild be a delayed coverage
nah i doh think that right the game starting 10:30 it not delayed
Title: W Connection vs Chivas Return leg LIVE!!!!
Post by: siparia1 on February 28, 2007, 08:05:32 PM
The Return leg between W Connection  vs Chivas is showing live on Fox Soccer Channel
Starting at 9:30pm. Good Luck W Connection!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:05:40 PM
Them Mexican fellas in dah message board asking if W-Connection is something made by Microsoft. And if Bill Gates is the Coach :rotfl: Them men real getting kicks off de people team name yes ;D
yeh them mexicans cuss me up when i went on lol  ;D
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:10:10 PM
to settle the conflict warrior till death check this link http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/6396732
Title: Re: W Connection vs Chivas Return leg LIVE!!!!
Post by: Jay10 on February 28, 2007, 08:11:11 PM
10:30 game SUPPOSED to be...

I see dey bringing the Pachuca game........so I hoping the gonna bring W game as well
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on February 28, 2007, 08:14:48 PM
one las time...it showing 940pm US eastern...so 10 40pm TT
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:18:45 PM
one las time...it showing 940pm US eastern...so 10 40pm TT
yeh boss is like the fifth time aready i have to be telling men is 10:40 lawd  >:(
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 08:35:03 PM
wel...is half 10...

look like our game get postponed again!
steups
d upset win wasnt enuff
steups
Post by: Trinitim on February 28, 2007, 08:35:21 PM
AND 8:30 pm for those whose time falls in the CENTRAL TIME
Post by: dreamer on February 28, 2007, 08:38:00 PM
FSC said the game coming on at 9:40.  Fox soccer espanol showed them warming up on de pitch and showed clips of the trinidad game and interview of big-star Seabra. Doh fret the game starting jess now
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:40:59 PM
ok it on now but d stands lookin empty
Post by: maxg on February 28, 2007, 08:41:32 PM
we go feel like home

add: shim dem wearin red white & black yes
Post by: E-man on February 28, 2007, 08:42:09 PM
come to the chat room http://chat.socawarriors.net
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 08:42:48 PM
my bad...
say i was gettin disappointed like lastt ime

it on now!
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 08:44:02 PM
chivas  playin a 4:3:3 formation like they goin for d kill
Post by: davyjenny on February 28, 2007, 08:51:43 PM
Game on now. FSC
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 09:00:43 PM
one commentator say we not technically sound because we from the caribbean,now more than ever ah want we not just to win,but by a wide margin,them mother f**kers..........
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:01:03 PM
Connection knock looking way better.

Commentator pissing me off though.
Post by: DeLasTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:04:21 PM
one commentator say we not technically sound because we from the caribbean,now more than ever ah want we not just to win,but by a wide margin,them mother f**kers..........

yea i just see that dey on the tv nah. looking for we to hand them a good cutarse. If we keep shutting down their offense it should force them to start making more mistakes cause they looking for that first goal to give them some breathing space.
Post by: legal alien on February 28, 2007, 09:06:34 PM
bautista get a close one for chivas..
Post by: Daft Trini on February 28, 2007, 09:08:20 PM
Come on Connection!
Post by: DeLasTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:09:49 PM
West Connection have to do a better job with there passing and touches. Don't know if its the nerves or what but i hoping they calm down and focus a bit better.
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:11:11 PM
jah
Post by: legal alien on February 28, 2007, 09:11:47 PM
damn! defensive mistake make us concede....
Post by: DeLasTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:12:19 PM
chivas 1 West Connection 0 21st minute
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:14:30 PM
hector yet to make a good pass.

Connection need to mark a little tighter.
Post by: Papachunks on February 28, 2007, 09:15:27 PM
only Jah could bless !    ;)
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 09:17:01 PM
pressure we need a goal :-[
Post by: Papachunks on February 28, 2007, 09:17:29 PM
what happening here is trini football is usually a conceding style of game, with spurt offensive moves...but when concede to team like this....is trouble....but we could reroute after the half, get the coach to shake things up.

remind dem de could be like whitley pulling bull if de get a big contract
Post by: Trini Madness on February 28, 2007, 09:18:54 PM
well its tied up now... CONNECTION WE WANT AH GOAL!!!!!!!
Post by: Papachunks on February 28, 2007, 09:19:37 PM
did toussaint start ??....or is he power subbing ?
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:26:38 PM
Penalty for Chivas. overbar please
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:27:27 PM
bless. That go work.
Post by: Strip on February 28, 2007, 09:27:41 PM
Dat is justice!!

JAH doh sleep!!! Keeper hadda protect heself
Post by: Tenorsaw on February 28, 2007, 09:27:47 PM
God is ah Trini.  What a horrible decision by the referee to award a penalty.
Post by: DeLasTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:27:56 PM
OMFG......u beleive that shit. The keepr was in the right.  That penalty was uncalled for and great save by that  young trini
Post by: legal alien on February 28, 2007, 09:28:18 PM
wow!  chivas penalty! it get saved!
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 09:29:17 PM
that ref get pay off
Post by: gothic on February 28, 2007, 09:29:37 PM
sweet save, no matter what commentators say
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 09:29:51 PM
first goal was de keep fault. lil bit of inexperince showing. he get catch in no mans land.  the ball bouncing...steups
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 09:37:12 PM
Ref make a shit call...real horrible
and ah even worse penalty. keep did what he had to do. but dais a horrible penalty
Post by: WestCoast on February 28, 2007, 09:38:39 PM
Come on W Connection, take it to them
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:38:53 PM
Aight I read where connection say they would be pacing themselves.

I hope the pacing done. They need to get more into the game.
Post by: Trinitim on February 28, 2007, 09:38:59 PM
Connection have no link from Midfield to Fowards. I don't know what Jean doing, Jean is a waste a time, bring Touissant on, Jean slow not effective at all we need Touissant in there and Pacheco. That is my two subs.
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 09:39:56 PM
somebody say conneciton knock lookin better...

ya watchin d game on channel 60 jed??

that one forward eh workin
toussaint STILL injured???

need him bad...jean go kill himself with all that runnin and winning them headers for nothing...

no PK in my opinion...and he shoulda do better on the goal...was in no man's land there...
he young...but guess is his size and possible athleticism have him dere(eh see him make any real saves yet since i see him play)
and when we play dem we eh make him save either...
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 09:41:01 PM
Question....how come Pacheco not there??
isit him and Viveros that were held back cause of Visas(which is real shi...)

they on d bench at least?
heard Viveros was arrivin today or something
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 09:42:17 PM
Aight I read where connection say they would be pacing themselves.

I hope the pacing done. They need to get more into the game.
ok then....well they cnat be any slower cause right now thye hand break up.
i hope they pacing they level of technical ability also.because if dais as good as it gets.  they will do good to get anythign out this game.

best ah luck fellas..cause they will need ah whole heap ah luck
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 09:44:13 PM
all we need is one goal
Post by: WestCoast on February 28, 2007, 09:45:23 PM
all we need is one goal
W Connection.....We Want ah Goal

come out hard in the second half
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 28, 2007, 09:45:59 PM
Connection have no link from Midfield to Fowards. I don't know what Jean doing, Jean is a waste a time, bring Touissant on, Jean slow not effective at all we need Touissant in there and Pacheco. That is my two subs.

yuh yuh tink dem would make a difference
Post by: Deeks on February 28, 2007, 09:48:42 PM
Chivas leading 1-0. Halftime.
Post by: Warlord on February 28, 2007, 09:50:55 PM
Connection will get it right in the 2nd half just as they did in the 1st leg. 8)
Post by: WestCoast on February 28, 2007, 09:51:59 PM
Connection will get it right in the 2nd half just as they did in the 1st leg. 8)
yes of course :applause: :applause:
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 09:53:40 PM
where pacheco and toussaint?

any reason t pacheco eh there

ok toussaint on now
Post by: TdotTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:54:26 PM
Allright, Toussaint in for Hector
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 09:55:40 PM
shhhhhiii...
goal for Chivas...

man say game over yes!
WTF!!!
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 09:56:07 PM
dais how football is played. simple steups
not a clue
Post by: D.H.W on February 28, 2007, 09:56:23 PM
stueps  >:(
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 09:56:35 PM
they need a Def. Mid.. to help that Defence with markin and covering!
damn...

game aint over

Viveros on for Olivera i think
Post by: TdotTrini on February 28, 2007, 09:56:49 PM
Shit, just saying noboby closing in on Chivas forwards, giving them all kind of room to play.
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 09:57:04 PM
That remind me of England goal. The man with the cross had time and half to pick out somebody.
Post by: black chinee on February 28, 2007, 10:00:18 PM
come on guys..... let's do it here
Post by: Tenorsaw on February 28, 2007, 10:00:46 PM
Caligiuri in ah mess.  He offering NOTHING to the commentary.  Yuh woudda though ah man with that kinda experience would provide some better match analysis, but he void of any technical input.
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 10:01:14 PM
when ah man post in de first game that dem fellas had no clue allyuh fight him down. as i said  consistency is what is needed. we wa slucky ind e first game conistency wins as usual.
we we consistent to.
come now allyuh fight meh down. i done talk!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 28, 2007, 10:05:59 PM
when ah man post in de first game that dem fellas had no clue allyuh fight him down. as i said  consistency is what is needed. we wa slucky ind e first game conistency wins as usual.
we we consistent to.

just support before this post come back and haunt yuh
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 10:07:14 PM
we we consistent to.

just support before this post come back and haunt yuh
i am supporting...but i am also...a realistic ..proactive supporter.
we need to imporve out technical ability.
dey could kiss meh black pinto.....
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 28, 2007, 10:10:42 PM
I hope people get of wim case now
Post by: TdotTrini on February 28, 2007, 10:10:59 PM
Them fellas looking real bad in de last 10 minutes >:( >:(
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:11:09 PM
Where the heart and urgency from Connection?
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 10:11:43 PM
should play a man as a winger.....
they have no outlet...need to spread Chivas midfield somehow
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 10:13:10 PM
u does take dem people on in here. steups yes. anybody thik pfl good mad.
now it has impoved but it stillw ayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy below...if we top teams looking like this???
allyuh wtahcing this game. people this is concacaf..lol

Where the heart and urgency from Connection?
heart nice fella u need a lil basics to compliment it.
Them fellas looking real bad in de last 10 minutes >:( >:(
u watchign the same game last 10 misn alone  ??? ???
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 10:14:44 PM
hadda wonder bout his startin lineup...

eh know y he bench pacheco and toussaint...seabra cah play a full game yet effectively...
Post by: dumpalewie on February 28, 2007, 10:15:48 PM
Oliveria is a complete shitsnake.
Post by: Bianconeri on February 28, 2007, 10:18:11 PM
yeh boy...olivera real toots himself...

viveros not gettint hat visa sour d plan....

but pacheco shoulda start...
Post by: Trinitim on February 28, 2007, 10:20:21 PM
Jean is ah GOAT I don't care what nobody say This man is a waste a time. He have no touches whatsover. Not creative he does nothing on the field.
Post by: TdotTrini on February 28, 2007, 10:20:56 PM
Them fellas looking real bad in de last 10 minutes  

u watchign the same game last 10 misn alone  

WC is showing a bit more purpose in their play in the last few minutes. Thank you.
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 10:21:02 PM
Why we does look like we frighten so sometime.........
Post by: g on February 28, 2007, 10:22:17 PM
Who is dat left winger for Connection? Dat man swinging on some stones boy
Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 10:22:55 PM
chivas take thier foot off de x for 5 mins.
now look what going on. man getting brush likeit free
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:23:33 PM
juuuuuuhhhh
Post by: kicker on February 28, 2007, 10:23:53 PM
When yuh consider that W is the best (or close to the best) the pro has to offer...yuh really can't get vex when Wim and them say the local league is shit not cuttin' it....

The most agonizing thing about Trini football is that they'z give yuh a lil glimpse of promise every once in a while that will keep yuh glued to the game when yuh probably better off goin in yuh bed and sleep cause yuh have work in de mornin....

Post by: Organic on February 28, 2007, 10:24:24 PM
this will be an invaluable leanring experince for the conenction youngsters.
hoepfully they relaise how hard they have to work. to raise thier level
Post by: Daft Trini on February 28, 2007, 10:25:22 PM
Chivas 3 - Connection 0
Post by: Pointman on February 28, 2007, 10:25:43 PM
Ah cyar take no more :(

I gone
Post by: okaki on February 28, 2007, 10:26:05 PM
Never give up! :D
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:27:04 PM
The left back in a hot mess.  Come Connection pull back at least one.
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 10:27:37 PM
Ah notice de leon getting killed all night,plus ah notice he hobbling like he injured,but dem mexicans shorter but they out jumping us,we looking bigger but they faster and stronger..........
Post by: dumpalewie on February 28, 2007, 10:28:01 PM
Toussaint is the first W Connection player to look like he belong on this field.
Post by: Reaper2004 on February 28, 2007, 10:29:25 PM
we need a miracle now to go into extra time but as far as I can see it there is no way that will happen. Good effort Connection but tonight isnt our night.
Post by: DeLasTrini on February 28, 2007, 10:30:30 PM
this will be an invaluable leanring experince for the conenction youngsters.
hoepfully they relaise how hard they have to work. to raise thier level

couldn't agree any more with you. What i don't understand is why we wait till last 20 minutes to play like we come to win the match when the part almost done. WHY IS THAT? We should have had them by the throat from the time the whislte blew? the team shows promise but tonight they played like they did not want to take the bull by the horns at all.
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:31:25 PM
maybe Chivas take they foot off the pedal.

One goal is all I want
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 10:32:43 PM
Toussaint is the first W Connection player to look like he belong on this field.

Yeah,but he does complain to much for everything.
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:36:23 PM
One goal. One goal for Connection please.
Post by: Trini Madness on February 28, 2007, 10:40:00 PM
*sigh*...  :-[
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:41:38 PM
This remind me of Intercol and Naps in my early days dread.

Ohhhhh $hit. Ohhh $hit.
Next year for sure.   :waiting:
Post by: Tenorsaw on February 28, 2007, 10:41:53 PM
We club football was better when we wereen't pro. Trintoc, Defence Force and Police did us proud.  These fellas real lacking in terms of composure.  Ah wonder when teams in Trinidad will start looking for a big target man who could hold up play.  That is important when yuh on the road playing against good teams.  Nothing up front.  Nothing in the attacking third.  That is arguably we  best local team and coach.  We got some ways to go.
Post by: dumpalewie on February 28, 2007, 10:42:08 PM
If a fat Brazillian and St Lucian is the best we could do for midfield and forward line then we in trouble.

Toussaint, Pacheco and the Rasta in the back were the best players.
Post by: g on February 28, 2007, 10:43:46 PM
No heart in this performance, which is the most disappointing thing of all, they had no intention of keeping ball possesion
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 10:46:48 PM
I could bring ah side right here in florida,that could beat that connection team,but hard luck still.

On one note doh if you don't bring yuh A game to any team in mexico yuh dead,plus if that doh kill yuh dem commentators go finish yuh off........
Post by: Reaper2004 on February 28, 2007, 10:47:51 PM
Thats it the final whistle has blown an by the look of it we didnt have much of the possession, a couple of shots 1 which was on target and the passing between the players were awful we gave away the ball too many times in midfield.
Post by: che on February 28, 2007, 10:47:56 PM
Pure licks  :-[
Post by: saga pinto on February 28, 2007, 10:49:29 PM
If a fat Brazillian and St Lucian is the best we could do for midfield and forward line then we in trouble.

Toussaint, Pacheco and the Rasta in the back were the best players.

Who the same rasta that give the ball back to bravo in the box when tried to clear it,is that rasta yuh talking bout..........
Post by: Unionfc on February 28, 2007, 10:49:40 PM
good game fellas,( actually pretty boring)  it's tough to lose but in losing you learn from yourself
and gain experience. its a long process but it's better to get it started than crawl in a nutshell
Trini football is growing and I holy hope the best for it, as it will help the concacaf raises its competition level

Cheers to all a ya, the game it's beautiful and meant to develop friendship and not hate.
unless it's the USA of course   ;D

saludos !
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 10:49:58 PM
Connection need to organize a sweat with the other teams that get knock out. Obviously playing only in the PFL not allowing us to develop fast enough. How come they only play some semblance of decent football in the last 20 mins?

Jean purge today. I disappointed. The defensive marking way too loose.

If Wim think he going and talk from off far and defensive players will magically appear he have a harsh reality in front of him.

Post by: maxg on February 28, 2007, 10:53:07 PM
thaks for the heads up Touches....
Sorry Connection and PFL...Good effort still...keep working, cause yuh can't ever give up....Thanks for the represent still
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 28, 2007, 10:53:30 PM
Jean is ah GOAT I don't care what nobody say This man is a waste a time. He have no touches whatsover. Not creative he does nothing on the field.

ah tink jean  and olivera does look good in the pfl like king
Post by: banton on February 28, 2007, 11:02:14 PM
 :o :o :o :o

??? ??? ??? :'

:'( :'( :'(

>:( >:( >:(

oh yeah tousaint and hector play good ;D ;D ;D

next year conn
Post by: Trinitim on February 28, 2007, 11:13:01 PM

Triniman LOL!!!!!!! Well if Jean and Olivera does look good in the PFL as true as that may be it shows the standard of we football in the PFL. I mean I love Triniidad football I want it to grow and develop, I want the local sides to be a force to reckon with, but staying in the PFL with mediocre players not cutting it. Wim say we get better when our British players play with the local boys and I guess that is true thye draw from their experience and confidence. But these foreigners we have here from Brazil and OH St. Lucia ain't doing a dam ting. They look good against we inexperienced players and under exposed guys. SAD indeed. Only Pacheco, Toussaint, Drayton look Ok at times but other than that them Brazilian toots theyself and the list goes on.
Post by: Warlord on February 28, 2007, 11:20:25 PM
Very disappointed that Connection lost this game. They showed no creativity and no individualism throughout except when Toussaint came on.

The defence was responsible for goals 2 and 3. The keeper Beckles has to take the blame for goal no1. I will forgive him because he's only 20 yrs old and was playing the biggest game of his career thus far. He still has a lot to learn but I think he's a good GK. He's better than Jan Williams in my estimation.

Chivas passed the ball well and they looked inventive. Players were running into spaces and they knew where each other was and I think that was the difference. They looked really comfortable on the ball. I think Connection tried to hold on to that one goal lead for too long. That puts pressure on your defense what they needed to do was to hold the ball and frustrate Chivas.

Anyways good luck to Connection next year. Their academy is good. they have very good young players. :applause:
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 11:22:35 PM
I go give Toussaint something. Hector nah.

What happen to the good old teams of old where blade was the  order of the day to soften the opposition and instill some respect?
No heart no urgency etc etc etc.
Post by: Deeks on February 28, 2007, 11:22:48 PM
I saw the games in patches. Yes Connection did not play well. They were outclassed. But I still give them the benefit of the doubt. It easy for you guys to pontificate from behind your keyboards that you could bring this side and that side to beat Connection. But I want anyone of you to just make two sprints without the ball in in that high altitude and see what happens. Very few teams go to Mexico and come out win a win. 3-0 is a respectable score.  Connection just have to play more teams from Mex if they need to progress. No team from the Caribbean will advance until they are able to match the Mex. toe to toe. The only way you can do that is to make more tours to Mex, period.

Go connection. There is always next year!!!!
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 11:27:11 PM
We go be dead and gone and most likely there will still be next year.
I was really hoping to see a couple of players shine in this game. Toussaint show he have something. Other than him I ain't really see nothing. I am a Connection supporter cause I went Naps and live by the Mannie but I feel jabloteh going through may have benefitted the country more because at least locals would have learnt something.
Post by: Warlord on February 28, 2007, 11:28:20 PM

ah tink jean  and olivera does look good in the pfl like king

Jean is 35 yrs old and Oliviera looks too small to play that position. He was always getting bundled over and losing the ball. W Connection is only an 8 year old club and the PFL isn't even nearing 10 years yet some posters expect the standard of play to be similar to that of the MFL.  Check back in history to see how long the Mexican Football League has been around? Better yet do the research on how much history clubs like Chivas, Cruz Azul, Pumas, Necaxa, and Pachuca have ::)
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 11:38:18 PM
I doh mind yuh getting licks but you have to fight going down.  I will take 11 birchall over 11 Hardest any day.

It have TV and have internet to bridge that history gap.  You could watch  and hear men analyse football all day. I doh care how old the MFL is. All I want to see is some level of improvement.  Finding your self in space and giving a man an outlet to pass to have nothing to do with skill. Running down a man when you loss the ball have nothing to do with skill.

11 man behind the ball and nobody marking. Nobody putting in a tackle.  Very little to do with skill. Free headers in the box consistently. Lack of coaching.

Post by: dreamer on February 28, 2007, 11:45:28 PM
The good:

1. Toussaint come out looking very very skillful under tight marking, better than I expected from him. He can definitely remake the national team as he didn't quite shine in Digicel and people were thinking he was hyped up a bit too much. Well he proved himself

2.  Pacheco improved from his poor showing in the first game. He has something that can be developed and seems to have a power shot just waiting to be unleashed

3. Drayton makes mistakes but is somebody to watch for possible blooding in defense for the olympic or national  team with a little more coaching out of his mistakes. Is good in the air and tries hard. Might have more potential than that Joe Public right back who played in Digicel

4. Penalty save was admirable. One thing about Beckles. For a li'l young fella with no exposure to big football, he doesn't get flustered at all in big occasions. He is a courageous fella and I admire that

5. Connection got a look into a world that will change them all for the good. They will cry for a few days then hopefuly geh a li'l philosophical and re-commit to individual and team improvement. Look out for Pacheco, Drayton to improve next year.

The bad:

1. Oliviera just could not get it right today. He was pushed up into midfield where he certainly can play but.......maybe the tight midfield was just too much. He settled better in the 2nd half when he stopped trying to beats and take on man 1 on 1. I know Fevrier was disappointed in his performance. He was missed at left back because he was very good at that in T&T. Maybe that is where he has to stay even though he is allowed to roam in T&T games. I doh want to be too hasty as he is usually the rock of the team

2. Don't like how Beckles seems to be seeing dem crosses coming in and he not coming off his line unless is a high floating cross. Well men was talking plenty goal keeping technique recently so ah go listen for opinions on dat.

3. Beckles's kicks continued to be atrocious in the first half. I guess it got a little better in the 2nd but still not good. He won't be able to go very far with his awkward kicking technique as it detracts from any other talents he may have.

4. I didn't see the value in Hector.

5. Never got to see Viana, didn't notice Viveros if he came on in the end at all

And the ugly:

1.Left back was eating some serious beats. Not sure if he was that slow or the dazzling Mexican right winger was that fast...but the beats was bad boy and getting left behind by yards.

2. The final pass by T&T in the first half especially was very poor. Ah couldn't understand it. Occasion too overwhelming? Stadium too intimidating? Too much noise to cope with communication? Too much tacos last night?

-----------------------------------------------------------

But anyway, thanks Connection for the chance to witness this historic moment. T&T football will gain in ways that we can't quite understand now while the pain of a whipping lingers. Chivas is a reminder of what the Socawarriors will face (even more daunting) when we have to play Mexico in the Gold Cup and World Cup qualifiers. So Jones, Stern, Glen, Scotty, Roberts, Samuel, Carlos, Baptiste, Spann, Birch, Theobald, Toussaint, Sancho, Tallest, Telesford, Gray, Avery, Daniel, (?Drayton  ;D ) Ince, Jack, Jan-Michael, Warner (and one more stopper dat ah cyah find right now  :'( ), take note and geh ready. Presshah!...but still doh frighten.
Post by: rippin on February 28, 2007, 11:49:16 PM
The field was too big hence the poor passing  :o.
Post by: Warlord on February 28, 2007, 11:50:58 PM
I doh mind yuh getting licks but you have to fight going down.  I will take 11 birchall over 11 Hardest any day.

It have TV and have internet to bridge that history gap.  You could watch  and hear men analyse football all day. I doh care how old the MFL is. All I want to see is some level of improvement.  Finding your self in space and giving a man an outlet to pass to have nothing to do with skill. Running down a man when you loss the ball have nothing to do with skill. 11 man behind the ball and nobody marking. Nobody putting in a tackle.  Nothing to do with skill.

That's exactly my point. It's easy to say that you can watch tv and look pon di internet, but football isn't played over the internet or on tv. It's done on a football field. Better players in the league will improve the standard of play. This club is in its initial stages. Every league in its early inception had the same problems as the PFL. MLS did and so did the old english first division and the early part of the premiership.
Post by: dreamer on February 28, 2007, 11:55:04 PM
I don't think Hardest will ever be fit enough for the kinda intensity that is required of midfielders these days with the pace so fast. Sorry TI
Post by: Filho on March 01, 2007, 12:01:55 AM
good game fellas,( actually pretty boring)  it's tough to lose but in losing you learn from yourself
and gain experience. its a long process but it's better to get it started than crawl in a nutshell
Trini football is growing and I holy hope the best for it, as it will help the concacaf raises its competition level

Cheers to all a ya, the game it's beautiful and meant to develop friendship and not hate.

saludos !

that's cool. nice to get some positive vibes from a Chivas fan. Good luck.
Post by: fishs on March 01, 2007, 12:49:12 AM

You and de wimp jus kep on bad talking de local football and do nutten about it .
Ah suppose yuh could get thru life jus talking an doing nutten if yuh is ah comedian.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 01, 2007, 05:02:24 AM

unless it's the USA of course    ;D

saludos !

that's cool. nice to get some positive vibes from a Chivas fan. Good luck.

UnionFC I reeeaalll like you..... :beermug:
Post by: kicker on March 01, 2007, 08:37:54 AM
We club football was better when we wereen't pro.

You stay there and feel so......

Maybe and only maybe relative to the rest of the region (and some parts of the world).....because the game was not as advanced as it is today.......but our club football was never significantly better in absolute terms......poor technique, and inadequate overall development was always a curse in local football...take off yuh blinders.
Post by: JDB on March 01, 2007, 08:42:22 AM
We club football was better when we wereen't pro.

You stay there and feel so......

Maybe and only maybe relative to the rest of the region (and some parts of the world).....because the game was not as advanced as it is today.......but our club football was never significantly better in absolute terms......poor technique, and inadequate overall development was always a curse in local football...take off yuh blinders.

A man in a next thread say that we master flowing footballlong time ago and referred to small goal.

Sometimes we does really sound like island people as if nobody else does play football where man does share beat and skills off on a football field.

I really wonder what people see when they see other countries and clubs playing football.
Post by: grskywalker on March 01, 2007, 08:45:34 AM

saludos !
Buen Partido THERE UNION. Well it showed we still have a lot of work to do to be on par with the rest of the region but I thought Chivas was holding possession extremely well and did a good job closing down the options when W connecton had the ball. Our guys had more attack in the second half but clean passing and finishing is still a problem
Post by: Fantastic on March 01, 2007, 02:27:20 PM
Shit like dirt. Dem man look like dey carry doubles and KFC for de pregame meal. ah know de pace faster, but lack of meaningful technical ability was mostly absent in that performance. Ballmen, take pride in yuh game and work on yuh basics please. Lawd have mercy   :-\ :-\ :-[ :-[
Post by: Warrior till death on March 01, 2007, 06:24:53 PM
The players that looked the best for connection,showed promise in thier attacks and strung together passes and defended well;
Oliveira
Seabra (ist Half)
Goulart (1st Half)
Toussaint

Post by: banton on March 01, 2007, 06:39:00 PM
great report dreamer, tousaint really step up just needed a little help

#43 came on and played good  8)

in my view the brazilians kill our game  >:(

joesph was w conn best player on the night :)

tousaint showed that chivas isnt hard to beat with a faster forward like barthlomew majic could of happened  ;)
Post by: Pointman on March 01, 2007, 07:32:35 PM
The good:

1. Toussaint come out looking very very skillful under tight marking, better than I expected from him. He can definitely remake the national team as he didn't quite shine in Digicel and people were thinking he was hyped up a bit too much. Well he proved himself

2.  Pacheco improved from his poor showing in the first game. He has something that can be developed and seems to have a power shot just waiting to be unleashed

3. Drayton makes mistakes but is somebody to watch for possible blooding in defense for the olympic or national  team with a little more coaching out of his mistakes. Is good in the air and tries hard. Might have more potential than that Joe Public right back who played in Digicel

4. Penalty save was admirable. One thing about Beckles. For a li'l young fella with no exposure to big football, he doesn't get flustered at all in big occasions. He is a courageous fella and I admire that
5. Connection got a look into a world that will change them all for the good. They will cry for a few days then hopefuly geh a li'l philosophical and re-commit to individual and team improvement. Look out for Pacheco, Drayton to improve next year.

The bad:

1. Oliviera just could not get it right today. He was pushed up into midfield where he certainly can play but.......maybe the tight midfield was just too much. He settled better in the 2nd half when he stopped trying to beats and take on man 1 on 1. I know Fevrier was disappointed in his performance. He was missed at left back because he was very good at that in T&T. Maybe that is where he has to stay even though he is allowed to roam in T&T games. I doh want to be too hasty as he is usually the rock of the team

2. Don't like how Beckles seems to be seeing dem crosses coming in and he not coming off his line unless is a high floating cross. Well men was talking plenty goal keeping technique recently so ah go listen for opinions on dat.

3. Beckles's kicks continued to be atrocious in the first half. I guess it got a little better in the 2nd but still not good. He won't be able to go very far with his awkward kicking technique as it detracts from any other talents he may have.

4. I didn't see the value in Hector.

5. Never got to see Viana, didn't notice Viveros if he came on in the end at all

And the ugly:

1.Left back was eating some serious beats. Not sure if he was that slow or the dazzling Mexican right winger was that fast...but the beats was bad boy and getting left behind by yards.

2. The final pass by T&T in the first half especially was very poor. Ah couldn't understand it. Occasion too overwhelming? Stadium too intimidating? Too much noise to cope with communication? Too much tacos last night?

-----------------------------------------------------------

But anyway, thanks Connection for the chance to witness this historic moment. T&T football will gain in ways that we can't quite understand now while the pain of a whipping lingers. Chivas is a reminder of what the Socawarriors will face (even more daunting) when we have to play Mexico in the Gold Cup and World Cup qualifiers. So Jones, Stern, Glen, Scotty, Roberts, Samuel, Carlos, Baptiste, Spann, Birch, Theobald, Toussaint, Sancho, Tallest, Telesford, Gray, Avery, Daniel, (?Drayton  ;D ) Ince, Jack, Jan-Michael, Warner (and one more stopper dat ah cyah find right now  :'( ), take note and geh ready. Presshah!...but still doh frighten.

My thought were quite similar...I liked Beckles(3 goals notwithstanding :D ) he is definitely someone to groom for 2010. He will only get better with the right training regimen. Toussaint too.

Since so many of Chivas' lineup is made up of Mex nationals, I kinda like our chances against them in the upcoming WC qualifiers since our best players are playing abroad and would give them a good run for their money. Connection was outclassed but 3-0 is not too bad for a young inexperienced team(especially with a win against Chivas). Next year fellas...we run tings in the Caribbean!! :beermug:
Post by: Warlord on March 01, 2007, 09:03:29 PM
W Connection will not be there next year. It will be JW's Joe Public FC.
Post by: Deeks on March 01, 2007, 10:08:09 PM
Connection will be in the CFU club championship. They were runner's up.
Post by: Filho on March 01, 2007, 10:39:28 PM
The players that looked the best for connection,showed promise in thier attacks and strung together passes and defended well;
Oliveira
Seabra (ist Half)
Goulart (1st Half)
Toussaint

Oliveira???????? He was pretty bad on the night, especially in the first half. But you could see he fight as hard as he could. He put in his shift for a good spell, but nothing went right for him when he was on the ball. Late in the 2nd half he looked better going forward, but his lack of defense in the 2nd was criminal and exposed the left back time and time again.
Goulart have some skill and composure, but he is not a professional athlete. He just look like a retired baller with some touches.
Seabra is probably better off coming off the bench. Wanted to make thngs happen, wanted the ball to feet, but he is a bit slow and ran out of steam. My MOTM in the 1st leg. He is a fighter but it was not enough against Chivas.
I knew people would like Touissant. He have some touches and energy, but looks like he plays with his head down and therefore ends up dribbling a little needlessly. Or maybe he was just trying to make things happen. I will give him the benefit of the doubt and let those who have seen him play more give a more informed opinion. One thing..he frustrated the Mexicans to the point that they were trying to kick him down everytime he got the ball. But we wasted almost every free kick.

Look...I not hating. Everybody want to hear something positive, but that was a mess last night. If we were Chivas and WC was a squad from St. Lucia or some country that we doh respect in ball, and played like that yuh know everyone on this board would have thought they were absolute shite.

But I disagree with those who say WC did not go down fighting. They just have no clue what it is like to play against a team that is miles ahead of you technically and tactically. I find the fellas put in a shift. And young Beckles look unfazed by the occasion. His head in the right place to go far. He has to keep developing his game and he could do something. De Leon in the back (I think that was his name...kinda short fella)..he was a Lion in the back until he and the rest of the back line ran out of gas and lost all shape in the 2nd half. Ras, when he was  on the right wasn't bad either...Chivas really didn't trouble us too much on that side even though the Chivas left wing was really trying to gallery. Oh well...next time