Sports => Football => Topic started by: Cartman on March 08, 2007, 03:46:24 AM

Title: Yorke announces international retirement
Post by: Cartman on March 08, 2007, 03:46:24 AM
Dwight departs - Warrior chief calls time.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean's most celebrated football player, Dwight Yorke, yesterday announced his retirement from the international game in a release to his British Championship Division employers, Sunderland Football Club.
Yorke, 35, earlier indicated his availability for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup and was set to represent the "Soca Warriors" in a friendly away to Chile on March 24. The Chile fixture was officially scrapped on Tuesday when the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) announced the suspension of all national football team activity "due to a lack of financial support". The T&TFF also declared that the Warriors' Gold Cup participation was now doubtful.
Within 24 hours, Yorke made his own proclamation by calling time on an international career that began 19 years ago in Port of Spain, just three weeks after his 17th birthday. The Tobago-born player, who commanded just under $183 million in transfer fees during his 18-year professional career, explained that he would now focus on Sunderland's bid for promotion to the English Premier League.
"I believe the time is now right for me to concentrate on my career at Sunderland and hopefully win promotion to the Premiership," Yorke told the club website. "I would like to thank all my fellow teammates from Trinidad and Tobago who have given me such support and our fantastic fans who are unique in the world."
It is the second time that Yorke quit the national team although, almost certainly, it will be the last.
Six years ago, the classy attacker retired alongside gifted teammate and close friend, Russell Latapy, after then national coach Rene Simoes dropped the pair for skipping practice on the eve of a crucial World Cup qualifier at home to Jamaica and four years passed before Yorke made an unlikely return under his former mentor, Bertille St Clair.
Yorke silenced skeptics with his committed leadership as the Warriors clinched a historic spot at the 2006 Germany FIFA World Cup. As a striker-cum-midfield anchor, Yorke did not manage a single competitive goal in the two-year period but won international and local acclaim for his work rate and perceptive reading of the game.
In Germany, he tallied just one shot-and it was wide-but won more tackles (21) than any other player who left the tournament at the group stage, while he was ranked 18th at the completion of the event.
The T&TFF honoured his efforts by naming him their Player of the Year for 2005 and 2006, which, ironically, they failed to do in his pomp.
On the global stage, though, Yorke is best remembered in a Manchester United shirt after his sizzling debut season for the Premiership giants in 1998/99, which ended with an unprecedented treble of European Champions League and English Premiership and FA Cup triumphs.
Yorke, who signed for a then club record 12.6 million pounds, was the Premiership's top scorer that season with 29 goals and was the first "Red Devil" to break the 20-goal barrier in more than a decade and only the second to do so since the legendary George Best.
He lasted another two and a half years at United before a fall out with esteemed manager Sir Alex Ferguson meant that he was offloaded to Blackburn Rovers for two million pounds in 2002. But his club record was an enviable 47 goals from 95 appearances while his capture of domestic and European titles saw him celebrated as the club's 47th most famous player of all time.
Yorke remains the most prolific non-European player and the ninth highest scorer in Premiership history with 134 goals. His club honours include two Premiership crowns and a FA, Champions League and Intercontinental trophy for United, while he won the English League Cup once each with Aston Villa and Blackburn, as well as the Australian A' League title in a one-year stint with Sydney FC.
At international level, he led T&T to the Portugal 1991 FIFA Under-19 World Cup and matched this achievement at senior level in 2006-which he referred to as his "greatest moment"-while he won 59 caps with 26 goals during his international career.
Yorke's time in the red, white and black strip was often plagued by controversy and he made only 36 full international appearances with 23 goals in his first 13 years as a professional.
A year after his debut in a goalless draw against Honduras, Yorke infuriated national coach Everald "Gally" Cummings by leaving for trials with Villa, just weeks before the infamous home qualifier against the United States on November 19, 1989, which saw the "Strike Squad" fall one point short of the 1990 World Cup.
Signed by Villa, he returned home sparingly thereafter as his British bosses were reluctant to release him for international duty. His relationship with the local football body deteriorated further in 1993 when Yorke suffered a broken leg at the Caribbean Cup and felt neglected by his country during his slow recovery.
Yorke played just four times in the 1998 World Cup qualifying effort and scored once-in an 8-0 rout of the Dominican Republic. He did better in the 2002 campaign where he chipped in five goals from 11 outings but still left in acrimonious circumstances and FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner called him "a cancer to the game" for his failure to abide by team rules.
The 2006 campaign was the making of Yorke, though, as he finally won the adulation of his compatriots-a full seven years after he conquered Europe.
His relationship with the T&TFF again appeared strained last October when he was among 13 players who threatened to quit the team in a bonus dispute although Yorke broke ranks with most of his teammates when they opted to seek legal action against the local body.
His last international outing was on October 7 and Yorke curled home a free kick for T&T in a 5-0 win against St Vincent in front of less than 10,000 supporters at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. From now on, Yorke's goals will be the property of Sunderland Football Club.
Yorke announces international retirement.
By: Nick Alexander (SAFC).

Sunderland midfielder Dwight Yorke has announced his retirement from international football. The Trinidad and Tobago captain said he had taken the decision so he can concentrate on the Black Cats promotion bid.
Yorke, 35, said: It's been a great personal and professional honour to play and captain Trinidad and Tobago over the years and I hope that I have contributed to the success of the team over that time.
"I believe the time is now right for me to concentrate on my career at Sunderland and hopefully win promotion to the Premiership.
"I would like to thank all my fellow team-mates from Trinidad and Tobago who have given me such support and our fantastic fans who are unique in the world."
Yorke led the Soca Warriors to their first World Cup last year and had a spell in Australia with Sydney FC before returning to join his former Manchester United team-mate Roy Keane at Sunderland.
Yorke earned 59 official caps for Trinidad and Tobago and scored 26 goals but he also played over 100 matches for his country that were not recognised as international friendlies.
He has made 27 appearances for Sunderland this season, scoring three goals. Yorke was one of six signings made by Keane in the August transfer window, and the most high profile.
Warner to Yorke: Your contribution remains immeasurable.

FIFA Vice President and Special Advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Jack Warner has paid tribute to former National team captain Dwight Yorke, describing his decision to hang up his boots from international football in order to take Sunderland into the Premiership as one that will be respected and supported .
“I only just learnt of your decision to retire from international football, ingesting the not altogether surprising announcement with a mixture of melancholy and warm reflection upon your selfless and sedulous dedication to team Trinidad and Tobago,” Warner stated in a letter to Yorke.
“More than most, I remember in this same vein your initial declaration in 2001 and found myself musing upon both the quantity and quality of water that has flowed under the bridge between that time and your return to the national squad; culminating in the crowning glory of leading the Soca Warriors to and through Germany 2006 – and with distinction at every sequence.
“As you are aware, I have keenly followed your prowess and progress from the early days at Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive School , through engagements with Aston Villa, Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Birmingham City , Sydney FC and now at Sunderland .
“My memories are therefore not limited to only the dazzling flashbacks during your tour of duty as player and captain of team Trinidad and Tobago . Although the 59 official caps and 29 goals scored under that aegis rank for voluminous congratulation, those among us who dutifully monitor your career, will undoubtedly include in the final reckoning the more than 100 matches you played as a T&T flag-bearer, and in considering the larger portfolio consequently admit the inadequacy of merely saying "thank you."
“Your expressed determination to concentrate on the Black Cats' promotion campaign without undue distraction is indeed noble and it is my wish that you achieve the optimal outcome of this pursuit, our loss comforted to some degree by the heartwarming humility of your describing participation in and stewardship of the national team as "a great personal and professional honour," not to mention your thoughtful tribute to "our fantastic and unique fans."
“I feel confident that I speak for at least the entire local football community in giving the assurance that your contribution to the success of team Trinidad and Tobago remains immeasurable. The crucial role you played in the ascendancy of The Soca Warriors extended well beyond astute captaincy and indeed included inspiration to not only your teammates but the nation at large, by bringing your vision and enormous experience to bear on that magnificently led campaign.
“The many and various awards and accolades bestowed on you, naming of the stadium at Bacolet in eternal tribute to your work and continuing nationwide appreciation of your intervention in local football (not to mention 64 goals in 151 games for the legendary “Manchester United team) do not tell even half the story which, I hope, will one day soon be committed to print or equally lasting biographical format.
“Such a move remains in the realm of speculation, quite unlike the certainty that the name Dwight Eversley Yorke will remain indelibly etched in the annals of local football, and occupy no less prestigious a space as history records for posterity, globally acclaimed highlights of the beautiful game,” Warner then signed.
The President of the TTFF also wished the former Blackburn Rovers striker the very best in his future endeavors on behalf of the local footballing fraternity.
Title: Re: Yorke announces international retirement
Post by: g on March 08, 2007, 04:06:26 AM
This was probably triggered by the whole TTFF fracas i honestly would have liked to see him have a final go in the Gold Cup but I think he had his time and I am grateful for his contributions in the early and latter half of his international career putting on my national kit. Thank you Dwight i salute you and good luck with the rest of  your professional career.
Post by: fatman on March 08, 2007, 04:08:44 AM
 dwight definitely is our most successful player ever.I think it would be difficult to say he is the best, as we have been blessed with many talented footballers who for lack of opportunity or poor choices never scaled the heights of dwight . In my opinion  quite a few players have actually performed better than yorke while representing trinbago, russel latapy for instance has out performed yorke while wearing the red and black (NATIONAL COLOURS).yorke's place in our football history however is assured and i thank him for the memories he has given to the supporters of trinidad and tobago ,especially when we did not have much to cheer for.
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11902

Sad day for Trinidad & Tobago, is he your greatest player ever?
Post by: WestCoast on March 08, 2007, 04:11:15 AM
Dwight "Smilin Assasin" Yorke, the pride of Canaan, Tobago.
Thank you for ALL you have done for TnT.
Good going with Sunderland in their push towards the EPL.
Post by: lp on March 08, 2007, 04:18:56 AM
All the best Dwight....well done..... thanks for the memories. Good reason to be at the SOL on 7th April.
Post by: banton on March 08, 2007, 04:23:43 AM
NO yorke you have at least 10 years again :( :( :(
Post by: jai john on March 08, 2007, 05:51:42 AM
NO yorke you have at least 10 years again :( :( :(

this must be for T&T carnival right ? :devil: :devil:
Post by: morvant on March 08, 2007, 05:53:36 AM
this man retire more than he play.

he comming back doh study he

once ah ball hoe always ah ball hoe ;D
Post by: Bourbon on March 08, 2007, 06:01:29 AM
Yorkie Thanks Fuh De Years. All The Best.
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 06:18:53 AM
Oh feck man Yorkie  :-\
Post by: ned_werby on March 08, 2007, 06:19:32 AM
top man, top footballer.

respect his decision.

Post by: rastafari on March 08, 2007, 06:31:05 AM
top man, top footballer.

respect his decision.

Would you respect him, if he decided to retire at the end of this season!

Lets say Sunderland won promotion to the Premiership, would you respect that?

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Big Magician on March 08, 2007, 06:45:46 AM
Thank you dwight....for all the years...cheers mate....will say more soon

it's up to you...  dwight yorke  dwight yorke
Post by: Jah Gol on March 08, 2007, 07:06:02 AM
The end of an era. Thank you Sir Dwight Yorke.
Post by: Jumbie on March 08, 2007, 07:20:00 AM
Good luck in whatever the future holds for you Mr. Yorke. Thanks for helping make one of my dreams come through - Not only seeing TnT make a senior WC, but actually being there to witness the first game ever!

Would be nice to see you end your pro career in the EPL.. all the best.
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on March 08, 2007, 08:01:32 AM

I wonder what the connection is to Yorke retiring and the current mess with the TTFF ?

This is the best chance T&T will ever have to win the Gold Cup.  If the current financial mess is cleaned, it is possible that Yorke could come back.  Afterall, how many times has he retired ?
Post by: Trinitim on March 08, 2007, 08:04:10 AM

Thank You Dwight for putting T&T on the map during your premiership years, everybody wanted to know where you from. You are the most successful footballer to ever represent Concacaf, and arguably the best striker at that period of time, you and Andy Cole was the most feared strinking partnership in England for some years. You really accomplish a lot in the game and HATS OFF TO YOU!!!!. Thanks again for leading our Beautiful Country to the WORLD CUP 2006, I will never forget how I felt when I saw the T&T team and heard our lovely anthem play for the world to see and hear. Precious Memories how they flood my soul. You are a True Ambassador and best of luck in the promotion drive.
Post by: Sando on March 08, 2007, 08:09:39 AM
I believe Yorke will be back for the Gold Cup by then Sunderland will know whether they got promoted or not and besides Yorke may want the chance to play in the US gold cup and add some silverware as T&T might stand a decent chance if they can get their best players together. I hope he comes back for real... he can surely help the younger players to some entent. He always got a bad name in the US and never got the chance to sink USA, now is the chance..... and I am asure MLS scouts will be looking, they want famous players and they spending.

Come on Yorke, one last hurray... big up !!!!!!!!!!!!!! and bring Latapy too, lets win this Gold Cup and create more history !!!!! lets show the world our best two players ever......
Post by: Dr. Rat on March 08, 2007, 08:39:48 AM
(Ole Talk)
Dwight playing for the national team till he's 45 and Latas go hang in there at about 53.  Serious talk, watch.
Post by: RGarcia on March 08, 2007, 09:07:47 AM
top man, top footballer.

respect his decision.

Would you respect him, if he decided to retire at the end of this season!

Lets say Sunderland won promotion to the Premiership, would you respect that?

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

yeah i will because thats my opinion. And everyone has to respect the opinion of others. just a little fruit for thought....... ;)
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 09:22:33 AM

I wonder what the connection is to Yorke retiring and the current mess with the TTFF ?

This is the best chance T&T will ever have to win the Gold Cup.  If the current financial mess is cleaned, it is possible that Yorke could come back.  Afterall, how many times has he retired ?
I agree with you, not for one second i believe this is a permenant retirement, plus
he said it was to focus on promotion with his club
Post by: andre samuel on March 08, 2007, 09:57:50 AM
kudos to a great player!!

you will always be remembered as our most celebrated player!!

Post by: ckhan on March 08, 2007, 10:00:03 AM
"World Class, Naturally Good"...All de best and continued blessings ahead.
Post by: chinee boi on March 08, 2007, 10:03:43 AM
"World Class, Naturally Good"...All de best and continued blessings ahead.

what ad was dat for again....  :rotfl:

was it malta carib???
Post by: Israel on March 08, 2007, 10:10:10 AM
Just yesterday morning I was talking to my bredren about making a road trip to Foxboro for the Gold Cup. We even said if it was possible for Yorke to get Latas to play in this tournament as we didnt see much of him at the WC as this would be their last hurah.

But big ups to my WC skipper. Your professionalism was rejuvenated when u went down under and  u commanded the troops like a real warrior last summer. Thank You for your contribution to our football and best of luck in your future endeavors.
Post by: Ngozi on March 08, 2007, 10:15:15 AM
I hope he doesnt retire but if he does thanks for everything bro outstanding contribution
Post by: Winnipeg Fury on March 08, 2007, 10:19:14 AM

Seriously, how many times has Yorke retired ?
Post by: Brownsugar on March 08, 2007, 10:40:13 AM
Ah feeling sentimental, ah choked up inside *sniff, sniff*....so ah goh post later when ah more composed...*sniff, sniff*... :'( :'(
Post by: che on March 08, 2007, 10:42:59 AM
 :'( :'( :'(
Post by: KND2 on March 08, 2007, 10:50:07 AM
This is the 3rd or 4th time yorke retire from TnT.

I wish i could collect a retirement tax for men who retire and then come back to play.

Good job Yorke and Good luck with life after football
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 10:54:48 AM
This is the 3rd or 4th time yorke retire from TnT.

I wish i could collect a retirement tax for men who retire and then come back to play.

Good job Yorke and Good luck with life after football
the man coming back have faith he jus want time off from d shit tht happening but he cah say tht, so he say he retiring i would get fedup to.  ;)
Post by: WestCoast on March 08, 2007, 10:58:59 AM
if allya, who saying that Mr Yorke has retired many times before, would do some RESEARCH just on this football forum alone, you will understand that the TnT players have had to deal with alot of unnecessary hurdles, limbo bars and other obstacles that the people in the TTFF have been constantly been putting in front of our players for years. I sure Dreamer has provided HALF of what allya need to know about. Check some of his threads.
Do some research please and
Thanks to ALL.
Post by: ricky on March 08, 2007, 11:08:31 AM
if allya, who saying that Mr Yorke has retired many times before, would do some RESEARCH just on this football forum alone, you will understand that the TnT players have had to deal with alot of unnecessary hurdles, limbo bars and other obstacles that the people in the TTFF have been constantly been putting in front of our players for years. I sure Dreamer has provided HALF of what allya need to know about. Check some of his threads.
Do some research please and
Thanks to ALL.

brudda, please quit beattin the dead horse with EVERY post you make...we all know your position with JW
take your own adivce and see why he quit in 2000
respect
AS to you Mr Yorke, I thank you for your time with the National Team and wish you good luck  :beermug:
Post by: fivers on March 08, 2007, 11:31:02 AM
This fella is the only strike that ever put me on my As#$% when I played for soul city and he was playing for Phoenix. I respect that youth. Is amazing to see how much of a leader he has become. I know you will lead Sunderland to promotion. Roy Kean knew what he was doing when he signed you. He knows what you bring on the field and in the locker room. A true leader at best. I was really hoping that we would see you one more time in the goal cup but, what ever you decide to do is ok with all of us. Thanks for making Tobago and Trinidad proud. Good luck "Do flair".
Post by: grskywalker on March 08, 2007, 11:58:55 AM
hope stern doh follow suit and resign too. I VOTING FOR CARLOS TO BE THE NEXT TNT CAPTAIN!!!

WHA ALL YUH SAY
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 12:06:48 PM
hope stern doh follow suit and resign too. I VOTING FOR CARLOS TO BE THE NEXT TNT CAPTAIN!!!

WHA ALL YUH SAY
Yeh i agree he have d talent and experience
Post by: fitzinho on March 08, 2007, 12:29:42 PM
The man retire twice TOPS...alyuh men could exaggerate eh...but seriously, World Class Player, Thanks for the years....and good luck to Trinderland!!!!
Post by: sprog on March 08, 2007, 01:15:29 PM
Ah man got to do what a man got to do, his international ambitions have been achieved and i believe his club ambitons now by far out weigh any ambitions the national football team could have let's allow him to end his club career on a high in the epl.
Post by: DeSoWa on March 08, 2007, 01:34:06 PM
Sad news...buh we all know it was inevitable... :beermug: to a great player  :beermug:

Post by: royal on March 08, 2007, 01:36:12 PM
Thanx Dwight for de committment for so long.I was one of those on the old forum dat bash yuh after Simoes fiasco.But thanks a lot for leading us to our first world cup.After a while all dis sh!t does wear on yuh from Jack and Sons.Again thanx.  
Post by: Cartman on March 08, 2007, 02:26:12 PM
T & T's loss is Sunderland's gain as I was worried about Yorkie missing important games for Sunderland, imho he has been nothing short of magnificent this season, he started slowly and struggled to come to terms with the Championship but he is God in a Sunderland shirt now

He is the coolest man alive
Post by: Big Magician on March 08, 2007, 02:38:48 PM
hey cartman...god is russell latapy....and he wears a falkirk shirt....good luck to sunderland...we are all praying for you all...cheers

LATAPY
Post by: Fantastic on March 08, 2007, 02:54:11 PM
I surprise he ent retire outright from playing ball. Ah hear de man cry from friday 16th till Ash Wednesday!  :D  How much carnival yuh want a real lime, drinks, and nice woman jumbie to miss? Doh study them Yorkie, retire and use all da big money to run down sketel all over de globe.
Post by: weary1969 on March 08, 2007, 02:57:58 PM
Thanxs Dwight as long as I eh get dementure I will neva 4get how I felt when u walked out on that field June 10th 2006. I was there to see it amd my paws does raise everytime I think about it.

All the best 
Post by: A.B. on March 08, 2007, 03:06:16 PM
I too doh feel like he done DONE, but just in case. DY yuh place in history booked, and thanks for all you did. :cheers:
Post by: kiffysmooth on March 08, 2007, 03:23:05 PM
Yorke is by far the most intelligent and composed midfielder dat we was depending on for de gold cup.............right now meh heart still shattered because ah cyah see who could really fill his shoes......ah mean, Denzil developing a similar style, but that experience and respect is ah key factor...........(denzil, Autis, Harddest, Birchall,) tell me who go be de best 2 for dat central position now.....anyway....big up Yorkie, you is world class........and we goh see how de pendulum swing
Post by: FireBrand on March 08, 2007, 03:45:20 PM
I too doh feel like he done DONE, but just in case. DY yuh place in history booked, and thanks for all you did. :cheers:

I also feel that when we need him most he will be there again...I guess time will tell. Anyway all de best Captain T&T, and continued success in your future endeavors!  :salute: :salute: :salute:
Post by: sub1 on March 08, 2007, 03:50:16 PM
Well done good and faithful servant
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 04:14:32 PM

I also feel that when we need him most he will be there again...I guess time will tell. Anyway all de best Captain T&T, and continued success in your future endeavors!  :salute: :salute: :salute:
Its a bird its a plain its SuperYorkie here 2 save d day. He will be back if things goin bad he love we so, doh worry
 ;)
Post by: Observer on March 08, 2007, 04:18:42 PM
Cheers Anna  :beermug: Thanks for the memories. Very proud of this man and his achievements,
boss baller  :applause:  :salute:
Post by: jai john on March 08, 2007, 04:51:55 PM

Coming from a T&T great this is a special compliment. i believe you too made a similar decision to stop when you thought you had achieved all that you could .....
DW ....boss
Post by: Daft Trini on March 08, 2007, 05:34:30 PM
Lawd..........oh..........Lawd..............Lawd.........ah cayr take it.....

First TTFA suspends we football activity and then Dwight retire!....  :(

Dwight thanks bredda, I was a Man U fan since I was a boy, and when you join dem, it was a youth's dream to see one ah we own repping meh team.

Big up and thanks for all you did to put TnT football on de map and to cement our place in Football History. You are truly a great!    :beermug: (a bass ale for yuh)

I vote for Stern John to captain we. I know man go say I lorse meh mind or I drinking too much but, from all de shite he does take on an off de field from TnT. He is one ah de only man capable of bearing with de federation and de fans.

It will be good to see SJ lead the team in his final days too  ;D

Post by: Brownsugar on March 08, 2007, 05:42:57 PM
Ok now dat ah compose mih self lil bit,

Dwight you are responsible for some of my most favourite memories of Intercol football at Signal Hill.  That time in de 80's, right around de heady times of the Strike Squad, make mih fall in love wid de game....(ah didn't exactly come out mih mudder belly loving de game).

Aaaahhh....ah seeing it now in my mind's eye like it was yesterday.....and when yuh take off for jolly old England.....and dey announce in school dat we could see yuh mashing up nets on de TV....de WHOLE AH TOBAGO was just so proud.....

*sniff, sniff*   ah getting sentimental again..... :'(

Good luck in every thing you do from here on in...... :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Trini Madness on March 08, 2007, 05:50:49 PM
i bet if all this drama wasnt happening with de football association,  yorke would of never retire. he know what going on and cyah take no more......thats what i think.
Post by: D.H.W on March 08, 2007, 05:55:49 PM
i bet if all this drama wasnt happening with de football association,  yorke would of never retire. he know what going on and cyah take no more......thats what i think.
I agree with you 100% but i honestly feel if we footbal get sorted out he will come back 
Post by: PATRIOT on March 08, 2007, 06:03:34 PM
Dwight, you helped make one of my greatest dreams come true - Seeing Trinidad and Tobago make it to the World Cup. For this ALONE, I will FOREVER be grateful!!! You played like a TRUE Warrior, and led from in front!! I'd hoped that you would have stayed a bit longer because we (T&T) STILL have to (1) Score our first WC Goal and (2) WIN our first WC game, but THANK YOU for the memories and Best wishes to you in all your future endeavours!!!!
Post by: Dutty on March 08, 2007, 06:10:45 PM
All de bess to Yorkie for he years of yeoman service  :applause:

De vampire finally frustrate him into brinkmanship

ah know he commin back doh
Post by: Pointman on March 08, 2007, 06:16:49 PM
Thanks Dwight, wishing you all the best!!

T&T and the Caribbean's  best  ballman ever.
Post by: Papachunks on March 08, 2007, 06:29:32 PM
Much thanks to Yorkie....i wouldnt be surprised if he makes another appearance down the road. If latas could, dwight might well do so, and he fitter than the magician. But for real, with both of them gone, with them a whole era.

As for a new captain. I like dawg or lawrence. But i dont feel john can carry a team, though i wouldnt mind him trying, i could be well wrong, and edwards doesnt seem to wield authority. Let dawg call on god to help we team now.

For now it lookin like theobald go have to carry yorke position. I have mixed emotions about dat, but wish him de best.
Post by: legal alien on March 08, 2007, 06:36:38 PM
c'mon yorke , don't do this to us !  ???
  when the f@^k will this entire football mess be resolved?
 its around 20 years i seeing you play-at least ever since i know our national team.
 you should at least play in the gold cup, then maybe decide whether to come with us to south africa! 
        i do see him coming back if we strugglin in  the 2010  qualifiers though ..........
Post by: Quags on March 08, 2007, 06:47:27 PM
This is really just too much for me you know ,don't even want to tink about this ........First we have no more National team and now Dwight retire !!. Well thanks Yorkee ,for everyting ,,,I was hoping you woulda play in the GoldCup ,But it look like we ein't go be there either Cheers Breddren  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: To the Greatesssssstt
Post by: banton on March 08, 2007, 06:51:02 PM
concacaf most rated player not blanco,not marqez and certainly not donavon maybe hugo sanchez but not for a player to help a team win everything a year thats just great  :)
Post by: Papachunks on March 08, 2007, 07:59:48 PM
big dat up
Post by: RasIred on March 08, 2007, 09:12:55 PM
Thanks Yorkie !! Plenty memories from Signal Hill days right up to World Cup, now the next goal is to take Sunderland into the Premiership.........along with Carlos and Stern  :beermug:
Post by: WestCoast on March 08, 2007, 09:33:07 PM
brudda, please quit beattin the dead horse with EVERY post you make...
do you know a fella by the name of Trevor Smith? (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=15743.msg162330#msg162330)
well I do, not personally mind you,  as I was in TnT at the time he protested infront of the Roxy Cinema, so doh think for a second that I am not able to Talk my Talk on here. If you see a post of mine in the future just dont read it, ok
Respect.
Post by: ricky on March 08, 2007, 11:11:55 PM
brudda, please quit beattin the dead horse with EVERY post you make...
do you know a fella by the name of Trevor Smith? (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=15743.msg162330#msg162330)
well I do, not personally mind you,  as I was in TnT at the time he protested infront of the Roxy Cinema, so doh think for a second that I am not able to Talk my Talk on here. If you see a post of mine in the future just dont read it, ok
Respect.

??? yuh drunk awa?
Post by: che on March 09, 2007, 08:46:39 AM
Guys don't worry. By the time Gold Cup reach,  Sunderland TTFC  will have been  promoted and the TTFF will slove there problems. So Yorke will play for us In the Gold Cup score the winning goal in extra time over the US aand the world will stand up and say , what a great player he is . And then he will ride off into the sunset the true Champion that he is. ::)
Post by: D.H.W on March 09, 2007, 09:06:19 AM
Guys don't worry. By the time Gold Cup reach,  Sunderland TTFC  will have been  promoted and the TTFF will slove there problems. So Yorke will play for us In the Gold Cup score the winning goal in extra time over the US aand the world will stand up and say , what a great player he is . And then he will ride off into the sunset the true Champion that he is. ::)
Well said
Post by: Xsniper on March 09, 2007, 09:10:01 AM
 ;)

Good move for Sunderland  ;) not so good for TnT  :-\
It is often best to keep ones mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt

:-X
Post by: D.H.W on March 09, 2007, 09:20:38 AM
;)

Good move for Sunderland  ;) not so good for TnT  :-\
It is often best to keep ones mouth shut and appear stupid than open it and remove all doubt

:-X

Enjoy while it last he will b back in t&t colour soon ;)
Post by: StoreBayLimer on March 09, 2007, 08:39:15 PM

Thank You Dwight for putting T&T on the map during your premiership years, everybody wanted to know where you from. You are the most successful footballer to ever represent Concacaf, and arguably the best striker at that period of time, you and Andy Cole was the most feared strinking partnership in England for some years. You really accomplish a lot in the game and HATS OFF TO YOU!!!!. Thanks again for leading our Beautiful Country to the WORLD CUP 2006, I will never forget how I felt when I saw the T&T team and heard our lovely anthem play for the world to see and hear. Precious Memories how they flood my soul. You are a True Ambassador and best of luck in the promotion drive.

Well said
Post by: StoreBayLimer on March 09, 2007, 09:24:31 PM
 In my opinion  quite a few players have actually performed better than yorke while representing trinbago, russel latapy for instance has out performed yorke while wearing the red and black (NATIONAL COLOURS).

The statement is very general. Can you say in what years Latapy played so well for that kind of general statement to be true?  It was not during the 1989 campaign, and certainly not in the recent campaign, and I would guess not after 2000.  Incidentally it is not my intention to take anything away from Latapy. Yorke’s performance in the recent campaign was simply awesome and inspiring; it removed any doubt about ...  whatever  and blows away competing performances by any other player after the 89 campaign.   

In the absence of another Dwight Yorke the road ahead for our football is bleak; that is a simple truth that many cannot face and it is still part of the unspeakable.
Post by: StoreBayLimer on March 09, 2007, 09:30:04 PM

Thank you Dwight, you are the greatest footballer from the Concacaf region.  The truth is as clear as the sun is hot, in Caribbean football Dwight Yorke is our Tiger Woods: a player in a class by himself. No one else even comes close.

Post by: trinbago on March 09, 2007, 09:36:55 PM
Dear Yorkie:

You made a couple of my dreams come through
1. To attend a Word Cup
2. To see sweet TnT, my country, captained by no other but you in its first World Cup.

I will chersih the day I met you briefly in Mannheim, Germany and you signed my Warriors shirt.
You were our Master and Commander in our finest moment and we all thank you for it.

Sincerely
Trinbago

(http://www.socceraddicts.com/Wallpapers/Wallpaper/Dwight_Yorke_1.jpg)

Post by: Papachunks on March 09, 2007, 09:38:30 PM
In what he has displayed in recent leadership yes.....but personally, i believe Latapy was the gem that never got properly polished...what he does on that field gives me goosebumps. IS two different effects, so hard to judge.

But much praise to both of them.
Post by: trinbago on March 09, 2007, 09:59:34 PM
In memory of Yorke:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYLEAt27ndg
Post by: che on March 09, 2007, 10:14:53 PM
In memory of Yorke:

real nice.  :'(
Post by: Cartman on March 10, 2007, 01:32:50 AM
In memory of Yorke:

niceness
Post by: Socapro on March 10, 2007, 06:26:52 AM
Yorke has not retired folks! He is simply playing politics!

Yorke is at the age where he understands what is politics and knows how to play it!

For decades JW has been playing politics with our football so DY is giving him a dose of his own medicine!

Once Camps & Jack rides off into the sunset Yorke will be back to lead us to our 1st historic Gold Cup victory and to continue to pass on his experience to our upcoming Warriors!

And doh be surprised if Latas joins as well as he showing that he still rated as one of the best midfielders up in Scotland!  ;)

By Gold Cup time Sunderland will have earned their automatic promotion spot!

Allyuh watch and see!

Please Camps and Jack, allyuh go please! KND2 or someone will step up to the plate to run the TTFF professionally and money will start coming in from all directions!

Nice move Dwight, you know how to play this game of chess with Jack now, lets hope he rides off into the sunset and takes Camps with him!  :praying:
Post by: Pro-Jayz on March 10, 2007, 11:48:02 AM
Thank you Mr.Yorke...You are one of the many reasons why our football is respected around the world..
Post by: Brownsugar on March 10, 2007, 04:44:52 PM

Once Camps & Jack rides off into the sunset Yorke will be back to lead us to our 1st historic Gold Cup victory and to continue to pass on his experience to our upcoming Warriors!

Uuuuhhh....yuh know Gold Cup is in June 2007??....yuh really feel dat going and happen before June 2007.....

Ok....and now it is time to wake up from dat sleep yuh in.... ;D

Jack ride out and leave he money train???.....never happen... :'(
Post by: D.H.W on March 10, 2007, 05:25:28 PM
In memory of Yorke:
boss doh do me tht nah it bringing tears to me eye :( bring back some good memories boy, tht man was d best boy, look now ah get like Brown sugar Sniff Sniff. I remember coming back from school rushing to see Manchester play. tht man could ah head a ball, I doh if if any body remember Man utd vs Barcelona when Rivaldo was there, it had a goal like d man nearly eat grass to butt d ball and score
Post by: SUPA on March 11, 2007, 06:29:50 PM
Yorke thanks for your great service over the years, and best of luck with the rest of your career. Who say dat big men doh cry?  :'( :'( :'( Supa is ah real positive breddah, trust meh ah still feel he go come back and play fuh we after Sunderland get tuh de EPL, and this embarrassing situation get resolved with our football at home. Yeah ah know men go say he old, so let us wish him all de best and let him move on. Despite his age, de man cud still sweat at ah high level wid dem youths from start tuh finish, and beside dat, who de hell cud step up fuh him on deT&T team? When you have Yorke on de filed, he is not just a great talent, but very important he is ah great leader and motivator, ask his teammates. I don't know if we will ever get all of those things listed in another player, I hope I'm wrong doh, but time will tell. Everybody know dat Latapy is meh idol, but tuh be fare, not even Lattas I think is ah great leader as Yorke, talent no question about dat, but ah leader and motivator as Yorke, ah doh think so. Ah sure is de damn situation at home wid our football dat made it real easy for him to make dat decision. Give thanks. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Cartman on March 12, 2007, 10:52:05 AM
Well said Supa