Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on July 12, 2005, 08:15:49 AM

Title: Fortunes of our 2001 U-17 team
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2005, 08:15:49 AM
Me and Big Magician was talking de odda day and he brought up de topic of players from de 2001  U-17 World Cup. He was lamenting de fact dat nutten much eh really happen wit dem fellas. Ah decided tuh look further into it and ah realize dat not one of dem fellas graduate to a regular role on de senior team. Only one (Jan-Michael Williams) ever get into de mix, I eh counting de bligh Bertille give Devon Leacock against Haiti in Tobago.

What ever happened to dese fellas?

PlayerPosition
Jan-Michael WilliamsGoalkeeper
Marvin PhillipGoalkeeper
Julius JamesDefender
Lee HaynesDefender
Devon BristolDefender
Devin JordanDefender
Kahlil MathuraDefender
Makan HislopDefender
Terrence McAllisterMidfielder
Roderick AnthonyMidfielder
Cyrone EdwardsMidfielder
Devon LeacockMidfielder
Kerron PhillipsMidfielder
Jamal HamidMidfielder
Ochieng AbosiMidfielder
Jerol ForbesForward
Nkosi BlackmanForward
Andre AlexisForward

Ah know Kahlil Mathura at Mercer University, Makan Hislop at University of South Carolina, Julius James at University of Connecticut, Ochieng Abosi at North East Stars, Nkosi Blackman at T&TEC SC, Jerol Forbes at United Petrotrin and Jan-Michael Williams at W-Connection.
Title: Re: Fortunes of our 2001 U-17 team
Post by: football king on July 12, 2005, 08:18:11 AM
ttff is wha happen to them fellas just like they screw up everything else in tt football
Post by: palos on July 12, 2005, 08:20:50 AM
Wasn't Kenwyne Jones part of that team?  Simoes had convert he to a defender for that tournament?  Makan Hislop end up bein captain of de recent Under 20 team.

Ah think Julius James was also part of the same team.  Otherwise, dem fellas eedah playin in PFL, minor leagues, university abroad (e.g. Makan Hislop) or jes drop out of football.

Dis is not uncommon.  Check de Argentina, Brasil, France, or Burkina Faso teams from de same tournament.  How much of their players curently playin for their senior team.  I think Tevez might be the only one.  Pongolle and Le Talec who starred for France havin trouble makin Liverpool bench.
Post by: real madness on July 12, 2005, 08:23:28 AM
I think Marvin Phillip has the potential to be a great keeper if he can improve his discipline.  I know he was banned from football for spitting on a referee.  Also he had several other problems with authority while in school.  I hope he don't turn out to be one of those classic examples of wasted talent.
Post by: Sam on July 12, 2005, 08:54:29 AM
Tallman, Kenwyne Jones was part of that team.

Jerol Forbes and Marvin Phillips may have been in a better position today had it not been for their attitudes.

Nkosi Blackman just lie down after he got injured and never bother again to try and push heself to get better.

I suprise Devon Bristol eh reah no way.... he was good.

Them US based may play one day in de MLS, so yuh never know.
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2005, 09:02:58 AM
Quote from: palos
Wasn't Kenwyne Jones part of that team?  Simoes had convert he to a defender for that tournament?

Tallman, Kenwyne Jones was part of that team.

Dis is true. Fuh some reason he is not listed as part of de squad on de official site (http://www.u17.fifa.com/cda/U17/team_squad/0,1483,EventID%3D93_TeamID%3D150000006_countryCode%3Du17-2001_localeID%3D102_menuSelection%3D2748_siteCategoryID%3D2753_siteID%3D1000,00.html).
Post by: Jayerson on July 12, 2005, 09:11:20 AM
After reading Birchall's story you really realise how our players really have to play catch up. Birchall signed his youth academy contract at age 16 and those guys training 5 hrs a day. Now best case scenario, those guys go the a US university and play ball and eventually drafted to an MLS team, their development would be years behind players in Europe or South America when compared to players their age. It's a real pity so many talented players fall by the way side.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 12, 2005, 09:15:41 AM
Yuh could blame TTFF to a point.

But as an individual you have to take responsibility for your life, your career. Can't keep blaming others for misfortunes.
A lot of those fellas created their own problems.
Do like Dwight and Latas....train yuh ass off, stay focused and party like yuh never party before (after yuh make it).

We still have grown fellas on the senior team that puttin on weight after a few days when they come home. That is plain and simple indiscipline.

We need to work on that.

Sayin all that...as far as the youth teams progressing, the coaches could take some blame for that because we keep calling back fellas that fading (ah eh go call no names) but they not takin the inexperienced fellas and giving them experience even if they not up to international level. The US do it all the time, now look at Beasley, Donovan, and even Gavin and Eddie Johnson he only 20.

Everybody have to play their role with the individual playin the biggest role, desire.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 12, 2005, 09:22:01 AM
After reading Birchall's story you really realise how our players really have to play catch up. Birchall signed his youth academy contract at age 16 and those guys training 5 hrs a day. Now best case scenario, those guys go the a US university and play ball and eventually drafted to an MLS team, their development would be years behind players in Europe or South America when compared to players their age. It's a real pity so many talented players fall by the way side.

Jayerson

Ah don beat that topic till the horse dead....fellas doh think US College ball puttin people behind. So we will continue in the same vein.
Post by: oconnorg on July 12, 2005, 09:31:38 AM
Listen.. I know is sometime hard for them men eh.. And opportunites does be hard to come by.. But if you take a page from Yorke book.. He used to real train hard.. He used to eat, breathe, shit and eat back football.. He used to practice ball controll and skillin ball in an enlosed area like a dustbin or some thing..

Given that, it made it easier for people in authority to make a case for him when he was a youth.. DOH mind when scouts had come down, they did not come to see him initially.. But da is another storey

LUCK IS THE ABILITY TO CAPITALIZE ON OPPORTUNITY..

In order to capitalize on opportunity, you have to prepare.!
Post by: andre samuel on July 12, 2005, 10:40:38 AM
Jerol Forbes and Marvin Phillips may have been in a better position today had it not been for their attitudes.

Nkosi Blackman just lie down after he got injured and never bother again to try and push heself to get better.

Forbes was de best striker in dat team and still is the best in his age group, but he messed up his life while training for the U20 squad in 2003 WCQs.

He had a bad atitude toward training and thinks he to good. He wasnt going training, saying that he was sick bad, but TTT and some members of the TTFF ketch him liming in de stands during ah intecol match.  He was dimissive of the whole issue (typical "ah feel ah too good" mentality).

He was then dropped and branded as a trouble maker! 

Sam, Blackman has tried, but has never rediscovered the touch that made him score one of the goals of the tournament.  He tried out for many Pro league teams but never made the grade.  He put on alot of weight while recovering from injury and has not really lost it (even though some of the fat has turned into muscle) and remains a little too bulky.

Marvin Phillip is an outstanding goal keeper with a lot of confidence in his ability.  He believes that he has talent and backs himself to suceed, but as u say, he has an attitude problem.

The whole spitting incident with Ramesh Ramdan tarnished his image a little even though no one really knows what happened!
Title: What If
Post by: Gladman on November 09, 2005, 12:19:13 PM
What if the core of players who played  4 d national team in the U 17 world cup had still been in trainin as ah unit,wouldn't we of had ah excellent team .Where are these guys now? What ah waste of talent

Jan-Michael Williams
Marvin Phillip

Devon Bristol
Jamal Hamid
Julius James
Kenwyne Jones
Lee Haynes
Makan Hislop

Devon Leacock
Cyrone Edwards
Kahlil Mathura
Ochieng Obosi
Roderick Anthony
Terrence McAllister

Andre Alexis
Jerol Forbes
Kerron Phillips
Nkosi Blackman
Title: Re: What If
Post by: morvant on November 09, 2005, 12:22:45 PM
i saw julius play last wednesday against virginia tech and he still doin it

captain and all

hit ah man ah drag on the line

it last for about 30 secs  it was so long
Post by: oconnorg on November 09, 2005, 12:24:28 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ahahahha.. he might is well kiss de man ! whheeeys
Post by: RasIred on November 09, 2005, 12:25:16 PM
In theory it could work, however there are a number of situations where some players develop very fast while the are  Under 18 but fizzle out by 21.

The reason is they may have been fast bloomers while their peers are growing at a normal rate. When their peers do catch up around age 21, some of the early bloomers are now surpassed by their peers that were inferior at the under 18 stage.

It is a good idea to keep a Under 17 group togther, they will play better amongst themselves, but these players don`t nessecarily become Senior team players. Good idea though  :beermug:
Post by: Pointman on November 09, 2005, 12:41:50 PM
i saw julius play last wednesday against virginia tech and he still doin it

captain and all

hit ah man ah drag on the line

it last for about 30 secs  it was so long

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 09, 2005, 12:42:37 PM
boy them fellas scatter all over the place

I know bout 4 ah them personally

2 playing in NY for college teams and the other 2 went trials when BSC was d coach and get run.
Some had earing and others had ras. The man start to call them Shirley and all kind ah shit and they get vex and never went back.

but I agree is ah waste though.
If them fellas had stick together we might ah have something special for 2010. Even 1 or 2 could ah be on the bench like how Brasil had Ronaldo on the bench for the 94 world cup.
Post by: Andre on November 09, 2005, 01:22:12 PM
nuff man is gone foreign to pay univerisity ball and doh ever come back.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 09, 2005, 03:20:34 PM
I think leacock playing for BSC school
Post by: Observer on November 09, 2005, 04:09:07 PM
Wasn't Kenwyne Jones part of that team?  Simoes had convert he to a defender for that tournament?  Makan Hislop end up bein captain of de recent Under 20 team.

Ah think Julius James was also part of the same team.  Otherwise, dem fellas eedah playin in PFL, minor leagues, university abroad (e.g. Makan Hislop) or jes drop out of football.

Dis is not uncommon.  Check de Argentina, Brasil, France, or Burkina Faso teams from de same tournament.  How much of their players curently playin for their senior team.  I think Tevez might be the only one.  Pongolle and Le Talec who starred for France havin trouble makin Liverpool bench.

palos that is true but our playing population cannot be compared to Argentina and Brazil. If you look at small Nations its different
Post by: Reaper2004 on November 09, 2005, 04:50:59 PM
WOI!!! this was a tournament i supported France and T&T but when T&T got eliminated i stuck with France and i was at the Stadium for the Final between them and Nigeria. THAT WAS A GAME DAMN!!
Post by: Ponnoxx on November 09, 2005, 07:06:30 PM
 Marvin Phillip has alot potential and I could see him on the national side in future....Go T&T
Post by: Trinitim on November 09, 2005, 07:48:21 PM

Yeah that is good talk dey brother, them boy scatter all over de place, I personally know 6 of them them boy went benedict's with me, Nkosi Blackman ( Chucky)  Andre Alexis ( Chinky) Devon Bristol, Lee Hanes, Devon Leacock, all these guys went Benedict's and well Forbes went NAPS. But I tell you some of them is ah attitude problem, others kinda lazy and lack the drive and determination. But that under 17 team was suppose to be a team we build and nurture and mould like clay. We need to realize that footballers yes born with talent but only pratice and hard work will you reach the top. TTFF should have things implemented to harness this yong talent and nuture them. I see somebody post a message about how Arsenal signing a 16 year old guy Vela, look at the ages them fellas breaking in the Premiership,dwight yorke was young too when he was called to play for Aston Villa before moving to Manchester United, my point is that we should have these fellas growing and learning the game from qualified Professionals. Look at it most young premiership deals comes when you showcase your talent at a Youth Championships, Yes and we all know Dwight Yorke was in one of those Youth Championships. Also, Saviola, KAKA, and many of them fellas. Premiership manangers does look in Fifa World Youth Championships to scout for new talent they don't usually come into domestic leagues and say waw we find talent here, no you have to showcase it to the world. We have some very talented and gifted players, but a team cohesion is important , alluyuh ain't hear what Beenhakker say when he came he met 20 very good individual players but nothing resembling a football team. We have to be able to gel together and once we make it to a Youth Championship we in good standing, because the World will see. A senior Team qualification will do some good, in terms of scouting, but ideally you don't want your players being close to 30 before they break in the world's TOP leagues you want them young , fresh quick and eager to learn. So my thing is scout for the talent in T&T , gather them harness the talent and groom them fellas and here what trying to put Trinidad on a MAP will be a thing of the past, no more WHERE TRINIDAD THAT IN AFRICA?. NOW EVERYBODY GO KNOW WHERE THE BEAUTIFUL TWIN ISLAND REPUBLIC COULD BE FOUND AND WELL ACQUAINTED WITH THE PROFESSIONALS WE HAVE HERE IN TNT. REMEMBER TTFF , YORKE , LATAPY HISLOP AND THEM FELLAS PLAYING DAYS COMING TO AN END WE NEED TO FILL IN THE SPACES, PLAYERS ARE NOT BORN OVERNIGHT SO WE HAVE TO SOW NOW SO WE COULD REAP LATER. WE NEED DYNAMIC AND PROFESSIONAL PLAYERS LIKE THESE ARE. SO MY SWEET T&T BLESS UP FOREVER AND I CAN'T WAIT TO REALIZE GERMANY. AND ITS NOT ABOUT JUST REACHING GERMANY BUT PERFORMING CREDITABLY IN GERMANY AND WE HAVE NO INFERIORITY COMPLEX. WE COULD BEAT THEM SO CALLED BIG TEAMS, ITS JUST ABOUT BELIEF AND SELF CONFIDENCE, DISCIPLINE AND DEDICATION. 

I LOVE YOU T&T . BIG UP SOUTH - WHERE ME LA BREA POSSE DEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                                                                                           WHERE ME POINT FORTIN POSSE DEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                                                                                           WHERE MEH SANDO POSSE DEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                                                      GUIDANCE AND BLESSINGS.

T&T  Faithfully  TRINITIM.
Post by: Cowen on November 09, 2005, 08:30:32 PM
Well that was 2001 ....what about they fellas from the National under 20 team from last year. Young Abu Bakr and Tint .... and the next young fella who they say real hot ...(can't remember his name). He was a midfielder.

At Least one ah dem fellas shoulda be somewhere around the senior team now. I know Bakr somewhere in England studying ..but what bout the rest ah dem........

it just shows the kinda support programs we have in place. Same thing gonna happen to the under 15 team and the little white boy who get on real bad will get lost in the jungle too.
Post by: Fantastic on November 09, 2005, 09:19:07 PM
Allyuh fellas ent realize dat it not worth it to come home from dem american schools to try to play football. Dem fellas going to american schools at ages ranging from 17-20. De local leagues not paying enough to make a decent living, so after colleges league why stay to play home if yuh still have to work to handle yuh business, Yuh cyah train at a high level when yuh wukkin whole day. When opportunity come up to play at an American school, it usually mean a degree and a chance to make some decent money. Yuh could take a shot at coming home for a game or 2 if yuh get callback, but yuh could hardly find de time to come home to train for too long without being paid. Times changing lil bit now as de opportunity for younger players to go foreign opening up, and when we buss Bahrain ass it will be even better. All ah really saying is dat dis is a life thing yuh know. Everybody like dey favourite player to continue mashing up people, but who feeding him if some big club doh sign him later?
Post by: Mose on November 09, 2005, 11:17:51 PM
Actuallly NCAA rules don't allow student athletes to be paid to play so while dem fellas away on scholarship dey can't come back and play with them pro-teams. At least not for money.
Post by: skins on November 09, 2005, 11:33:55 PM
I personally know the players on that under 17 team that went benedicts. I thought in them days Nkosi Blackman would have made a good striker. I was there when he scored that brilliant goal against Crotia in the under 17 world cup. After that horrible car accident Nkosi haven't been back to the striking form he was in before that incident. He played for benedicts after that but he gained alot of weight and he seem out of the game. It is sad that a few bad decisions he made caused his downfall. It is sad that the TTFF haven't forgotten about these players.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on November 09, 2005, 11:49:59 PM
Aight good example. Portugal win that youth tournament out of that team how much players yuh hear bout since then. A total of 3......... Figo, Rui Costa and I think Rui Jorge. So it eh surprsing me that yuh doh her bout them fellas again.

The major problem is lack of discipline.

I remember watching an interview with Dennis Bergkamp he said that he never even saw what the inside of a night club looks like. He doesn't drink alcohol. Now what player you know has that disicpline.

You go tell a set of under 17 players "aye stay home tonight and rest yuh have training" or "doh eat that KFC it eh good for yuh body."

Never happen

We need a system like Ajax where all men does do is play football go to school and sleep.
Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 12:21:16 AM
I think there are tons of reasons why it is soo extremy hard to make it to top level and every year harder.
One of the more important reason right now is that there are too many distractions in our 1 world countries.
Its sad but kids now play playstation or Xbox but in certain parts of Brazil and South Africa not.
Every single player that really makes it has to be mad like hell in a first world country.
All the books you read are the same, they are giving it a 100% nothing else can come in their live.
Of course you can make some music, but only after being tired from football. My brother was in school with Dennis and his older brother( Bergkamp). Two great players in their youth but only Dennis made it.
And back then Dennis was already weird and not like a normal kid, never ever he took alcohol or went out. Nothing came between him and his dream, his brother was a bit more 'normal', and didn't make it.
It really helps by the way to have an older brother that can play good, also Maduro here had the same and therefor always played with kids that were 2-3 years older incl. his brother of course every single day.
Then you have to improve your skills fast since you play on concrete and older kids kick hard.
Further the resposibilities, if you look at some african players how their carreer can give food & money  to entire villages, for them football isn't just fun. I mean that makes you take it real serious...like if you can help pay for that operation of your sister or uncle etc etc. Here in A'dam there are also a few street football players that can send any prof. into embarresment with pure technical skills. The best of them get a small contract to appear in Nike commercials or Playstation games, but they know they can't give in the training hours for a normal club career.
my 2 cents

Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 12:41:05 AM

We need a system like Ajax where all men does do is play football go to school and sleep.

Funny how we both thought about Dennis.
Ajax has a good system but since the ''Bosman" arrest I'm not sure if it is still making money.
Not much fun if you train someone since he is 6-7 years till 21 years and then just leaves for nothing.
They have now programs with some foreign clubs ( one is in South Africa, Cape town)
Because of their names Ajax and PSV do (still) get some of the best young players in the world.
Everyone wants to prepare himself like Ronaldo, Romario, but I wonder for how long.
Barca and Arsenal also give the youth a change.
Post by: Observer on November 10, 2005, 08:09:23 AM

Funny how we both thought about Dennis.
Ajax has a good system but since the ''Bosman" arrest I'm not sure if it is still making money.
Not much fun if you train someone since he is 6-7 years till 21 years and then just leaves for nothing.
They have now programs with some foreign clubs ( one is in South Africa, Cape town)
Because of their names Ajax and PSV do (still) get some of the best young players in the world.
Everyone wants to prepare himself like Ronaldo, Romario, but I wonder for how long.
Barca and Arsenal also give the youth a change.

very true!  but you also have to consider that Ajax in the past had the pick of the litter. players use to come from all over Holland & Scandanavian as well. Names like Molby, Petterson, Laudrup and Litmanan to name a few. now everyone has turned to youth academys in a professional way. many following the Ajax example. at one time in Holland, PSV did not worry with youth. the saying was Ajax make them PSV buy them. now PSV producing young players. also with the competition for players came forced rulings demanded by smaller clubs.  such as Ajax can only select Dutch players from a 90 mile radius from Amsterdam.
youth football is a huge part of so many clubs today. so competition for young players have created professionalism but also placed traditional academys on the back foot.

Just another note on that subject. The U17 T&T team coached by Najjar in Guatemala (date???) had Latapy, Yorke, Shaka, Lewis. That team was robbed by the way by some very suspect refereeing.
Post by: NC on November 10, 2005, 08:40:05 AM
Yuh could blame TTFF to a point.

But as an individual you have to take responsibility for your life, your career. Can't keep blaming others for misfortunes.
A lot of those fellas created their own problems.
Do like Dwight and Latas....train yuh ass off, stay focused and party like yuh never party before (after yuh make it) ...

Don't forget that BSC & Jah Lilliwhite respectively played an important role in the development of both players, while keeping them focued.  The other players may not have similiar individuals in their lives making it more difficult for them.  Everyone at an early age need someone to guide and protect them ... this personal responsibality crap normal comes from individuals with "penis envy".
Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 08:54:59 AM
Observer, you're very well informed and right about PSV ( Philips) buying ;D

Still Ajax has big problems since the Bosman arrest and the money they can ask for a player.
Many clubs stoped again with the youth education since Bosman.
Even top clubs like Arsenal and Barca find it more sense to buy the top 16 year olds then to train them from 6 years old. Ajax has this expensive system and can't just stop with it since it still is one of the best.
But it would be really good if now after 10 years ''Bosman'' we get a new rule in the game itself.
A max cap of 4-5 foreign players in the field. That would be good for European football and would force clubs like Arsenal to invest money in a youth program. Eventually it would benefit the entire world if Real, Barca MAnu etc etc had to spend money in a youth program instead of offering millions to 16 and 15 years old.

Ok It would also make the differences between the top 5 and the rest in Europe smaller o, it wouldn't come down to only how deep the pockets are.
Post by: fivers on November 10, 2005, 08:58:24 AM
Disgruntled, ah glad to hear uh say something like that. Any man on this website who went to his coaching school will tell uh. He use to have he people spying on men in party. Uh cyah go clubing and u cyah be seen drinking ah bear. U know, real people had a problem with that. Even I thought it was too extreme, but now I understand why he did those things.
Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 09:14:38 AM
just adding
Our man Leo has a very good nose for good players.
Back here in A'dam it was mr. Beenhakker who managed to get:
Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Mido, Hatem Trabelsi en Maxwell to Amsterdam!MAN HE IS BOSS !!
Since he left it is all downhill over here.  >:(
Especially on the buying part, perhaps if he choice to stay in T&T we could rent him to get players again like Zlatan  :D ...please?
It's a total mess nowedays here in A'dam.

This year Hatem Trabelsi, Maxwell, Steven Pienaar and I think Nigel de Jong will all leave transfer FREE!!!
And Zlatan went for almost free to Juve.
PSV does it a lot better finacially, look what they got for Robben & Ruud and both players didn't even do the PSV school...
Post by: jusme on November 10, 2005, 09:28:07 AM
Aight good example. Portugal win that youth tournament out of that team how much players yuh hear bout since then. A total of 3......... Figo, Rui Costa and I think Rui Jorge. So it eh surprsing me that yuh doh her bout them fellas again.

that is not true, many players from Portugal's youth championship teams went on to great careers as well as long service on the senior team.  the most notable ones off the top of my head are  Paolo Sousa, Joao Pinto, Vitor Baia, Abel Xavier, Fernando Couto, Nuno Capucho and Jorge Costa.   All those except Sousa were on the roster up to the 2002 world cup.
Post by: Observer on November 10, 2005, 09:32:43 AM
Dutchman this is where FIFA have to take more responsibility. FIFA law states that if a club wishes to buy a youth player they have to compensate every club that youth player played for since the age of 12 (maybe 10). Most clubs do not follow that rule. What needs to be done is for all clubs to come to some agreement and or simply sign the players to a minimal two year contract with a buy out clause of say $6000,000.00. This way you get a return on your investment or you have two years in which to decide if the club wishes to sign th eplayer to a proper contract.
Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 10:31:57 AM
You right
And there are even more options.
The NBA basketball has a much better rookie system.
Almost any sport has a better system.

Right now we're only a little lucky with current Brittish immigration laws, that's why Alex is parked at PSV and not with his real Boss ( Roman & Chelsea). The boy first needs to get important with his national team ( Brazil) before he is allowed into the UK. ;D thank god he has some competition in Brazil.
I think T&T is also lucky with current Brittish immigration laws, as from T&T I think you are allowed easier to work at least a few years in England. ( Not ?) That's still the best country to play football nowedays.
But every year the top 6 or 7 are more appart from the rest, every year there will be less surprizes in modern football if they don't change anything. I also really think Ajax will one day (soon) spend less on the 6-14 year olds since it is too expensive if you can't collect later. some young players also just behave bad and get send away from Ajax and then a few month later are playing super for clubs like Arsenal.
Makes you think twice next time a 16 year upcomming star all of a sudden start doing strange things.
Perhaps his dad talked to Roman or some other hot shot with deep pockets, and wants to get to England a.s.a.p, so what is easier then to get send away ?
Current rules aren't good at all, something needs get changed.
Post by: pioneertrini on November 10, 2005, 10:32:37 AM
well what ever happends trinidad need a good youth trainin system. you just have to look at teams who were no bodies like france, turkey, portugal. how they all came through. an investment has to be made. youth academys educate and help players, so they have somthing to fall back if they dont make it. trinidad has too many players with raw talent but no one to turn it into true technical ability. coaches from abroard also need to be brought in. players need to be spotted from 12-15. trinidad is a small island compared to most footballing nations so to scout every league/savanah/school wouldnt be every difficult. remember trinidad is 1.3 million we can never ever win the numbers game so we need to do everything we can to unearth players, im very sure theres a young latapy or yorke there somwhere just needs to be caught. remember to have a good team all u need is 11 decent players and 1 great coach.
Post by: dutchman on November 10, 2005, 10:48:04 AM
You're right pioneertrini
If you translate this back to what is good for T&T then I think that there must be a good advantage for a English or Scottish club to have a satellite club in T&T. Just like Ajax & Capetown.
It benefits them since the immigration laws are easier from T&T and Jamaica... not ?
To set it all up in T&T without any proffesional club being a sponser, mentor and buyer I don't think it will really take off as good. All kids want to have a dream they are willing to give and sacrifice, but it helps a lot if they know that some premier league or 1st division is looking how they preform weekly.
Then they could possibly move over to the Uk at 14 or 15 years old, even at Brittish and T&T families that are willing to take in a kid for a few years.
my 2 cents
Title: U-17 team from 2001...where are they now?
Post by: Bianconeri on December 05, 2006, 03:39:59 PM
was wondering when i was watchin the Barca- Bremen game today and saw Diego...and knew he was here for that tournament...and wasnt even a consistent starter i believe...but watch him now

where our players r....anyone could give some info like was done for the 91 team....

thanks

found this team list...:

Goalkeepers:
Jan-Michael Williams (St Anthony's).
Marvin Phillip (Princes Town SC).

Defenders:
Devon Bristol (Carapichaima Sec).
Jamal Hamid (Arima SC).
Julius James (St Anthony's).
Kenwyne Jones (St Anthony's).
Lee Haynes (St Benedict's College).
Makan Hislop (Signal Hill).

Midfielders:
Devon Leacock (Scarborough Sec).
Cyrone Edwards (Trinity College).
Kahlil Mathura (St Mary's College).
Ochieng Obosi (El Dorado Sec).
Roderick Anthony (capt - Naparima).
Terrence McAllister (El Dorado Sec).

Forwards:
Andre Alexis (St Benedict's College).
Jerol Forbes (Naparima College).
Kerron Phillips (Scarborough Sec).
Nkosi Blackman (St Benedict's).
Title: Re: U-17 team from 2001...where are they now?
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 05, 2006, 03:49:31 PM
Jan-Michael Williams W-Connection
Marvin Phillip Starworld strikers

Defenders:
Devon Bristol United Petrotrin
Jamal Hamid - ??
Julius James UNCON
Kenwyne Jones Southampton
Lee Haynes - United Petrotrin
Makan Hislop -University of South Carolina Columbia

Midfielders:
Devon Leacock   St clair coaching school ah think
Cyrone Edwards ?
Kahlil Mathura ?
Ochieng Obosi ?
Roderick Anthony ?
Terrence McAllister - JOE PUBLIC

Forwards:
Andre Alexis  ?
Jerol Forbes United Petrotrin
Kerron Phillips ?
Nkosi Blackman - done with football
Post by: Bianconeri on December 05, 2006, 03:50:39 PM
jus adding to what i found....
have some of the players that went on to make it big...tevez, sinama-pongolle, torres(didnt know he was here!!)

http://www.fifa.com/en/comp/U17/tournament/0,6288,U17-2007-15,00.html

nkosi cant..or doesnt play again?

because of his injuries from the accident i mean....
Post by: Bianconeri on December 05, 2006, 04:08:39 PM
wayzz..triniman..eh expect a reply that fast jed...

but was lookin at d site...i eh realise that Torres, Mascherano, Zabaleta
Post by: banton on December 05, 2006, 04:28:12 PM
i saw nkosi in a match in point over the weekend he scored two, he looked pretty good,i would not say international level but still show some promise.at present he trainin with people who is at "in my view"a lower level than he is,i also heard a rumour that he employed with atlantic lng and he is their 'Sweeper" :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 05, 2006, 05:02:37 PM
i saw nkosi in a match in point over the weekend he scored two, he looked pretty good,i would not say international level but still show some promise.at present he trainin with people who is at "in my view"a lower level than he is,i also heard a rumour that he employed with atlantic lng and he is their 'Sweeper" :rotfl:

i read that somewhere also
Post by: black chinee on December 05, 2006, 11:14:04 PM
Well Terrence Macalister playing with Joe Public... he was Dale Saunders' understudy till de barrage of overseas players came in... Jamaal Hamid was very promising and doing well at Joe Public also, but had a very bad concussion 2 yrs aback and still doing treatment in the US and Trinidad
Post by: fishs on December 06, 2006, 01:36:27 AM

Palos I doh think Simoes was de coach or involved wid dat team .
Ent it was some kinda Doctor from Nigeria. ?
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 06, 2006, 01:49:56 AM

The Nigerian started with the group and then they brought in Simones.  Can't remember exactly why they got rid of the Nigerian.  Until Simones, we were just not really taking the squad seriously, even though we knew we were the hosts.
Post by: fishs on December 06, 2006, 02:57:59 AM

Thanks Tenorsaw.

I remember watching Trinidad vs Croatia in the HC in de uncovered stands, rain falling bucket ah drop and only bout 1k fans. And this is Trinidad in a WC at home tuh boot !!
 Dais de game Nkosi score with the run from halfline and the wicked bullet.

Ah ran away from work.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on December 06, 2006, 05:10:25 AM
Cyrone Edwards went to QRC. If football didn't have any running in it he would have been of the best Trinidad ever see. He got a bad injury in form one. I don't know if that contributed to his lazy style but he was worthless out of possesion. I think he going to school in Canada now. 
Post by: Jah Gol on December 06, 2006, 05:16:12 AM

Thanks Tenorsaw.

I remember watching Trinidad vs Croatia in the HC in de uncovered stands, rain falling bucket ah drop and only bout 1k fans. And this is Trinidad in a WC at home tuh boot !!
 Dais de game Nkosi score with the run from halfline and the wicked bullet.

Ah ran away from work.  ;D ;D ;D

I went to that game. It was much more than a 1000 fans. It was still disappointing that we didn't full the HC.The other 2 matches were much better crowds. T&T -Brazil U17 was the first time I ever experienced a full stadium. 
Post by: Flex on December 06, 2006, 05:21:35 AM
Nkosi score with the run from halfline and the wicked bullet.

You sure it was a bullet ? I taught he place the ball from a tight angle.... 8) ... nontheless, a good goal.....
Post by: Tallman on December 06, 2006, 06:50:23 AM

The Nigerian started with the group and then they brought in Simones.  Can't remember exactly why they got rid of the Nigerian.  Until Simones, we were just not really taking the squad seriously, even though we knew we were the hosts.
De Nigerian was Chief Adegboye Onigbinde. He get run because he was in charge of de team for at least two years, but there was no improvement and we didn't want tuh embarass we self as hosts of de World Cup. At one point de chief was even T&T's Technical Director.
Post by: fishs on December 06, 2006, 07:36:35 AM

You sure it was a bullet ? I taught he place the ball from a tight angle.... 8) ... nontheless, a good goal.....

Yuh know Flex yuh might be right, but in mih geriatric mind in the pouring rain it look like he hit from the right side top of the box.
But again to me it looked like only about 1000 fans in the stadium but Jah gol say it was much more. Coulda be the gazool too.  ;D ;D
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2007, 09:30:00 AM

Yuh know Flex yuh might be right, but in mih geriatric mind in the pouring rain it look like he hit from the right side top of the box.
But again to me it looked like only about 1000 fans in the stadium but Jah gol say it was much more. Coulda be the gazool too.  ;D ;D

De official attendance was 10,500
Title: Class of U17 World Cup 2001 - Where are they now?
Post by: Andre on September 06, 2007, 02:01:57 PM
we know bout jones phillip and williams. but what happen to the rest of the side?

1   PHILLIP Marvin   08-01-1984   Goalkeeper
2   JAMES Julius   07-09-1984   Defender
3   HAYNES Lee   09-04-1984   Defender
4   BRISTOL Devon   01-10-1984   Defender
5   MC ALLISTER Terrence   05-11-1984   Midfielder
6   JONES Kenwyne   10-05-1984   Defender
7   FORBES Jerol   12-22-1984   Forward
8   ANTHONY Roderick   04-30-1984   Midfielder
9   EDWARDS Cyrone   06-18-1984   Midfielder
10   LEACOCK Devon   11-24-1984   Midfielder
11   PHILLIPS Kerron   05-29-1984   Midfielder
12   HAMID Jamal   08-24-1984   Midfielder
13   MATHURA Kahlil   01-18-1984   Defender
14   ALEXIS Andre   07-31-1984   Forward
15   BLACKMAN Nkosi   04-08-1984   Forward
16   ABOSI Ochieng   06-01-1984   Midfielder
17   HISLOP Makan   09-03-1984   Defender
18   WILLIAMS Jan-Michael   10-26-1984   Goalkeeper
Title: Re: Class of U17 World Cup 2001 - Where are they now?
Post by: Sam on September 06, 2007, 02:17:18 PM
Somebody ask this question already... anyhow...

PHILLIP Marvin   08-01-1984   (W Connection)
JAMES Julius   07-09-1984   (UCONN)
HAYNES Lee   09-04-1984  (United Petrotrin)
BRISTOL Devon   01-10-1984  (United Petrotrin)
MC ALLISTER Terrence   05-11-1984  (Joe Public)
JONES Kenwyne   10-05-1984   (Sunderland)
FORBES Jerol   12-22-1984  (United Petrotrin)
ANTHONY Roderick   04-30-1984   (seeling pudden by Charlie)?
EDWARDS Cyrone   06-18-1984   (Selling snow cone by St Anthonys)?
LEACOCK Devon   11-24-1984   Midfielder (Tobago United)
PHILLIPS Kerron   05-29-1984   Midfielder (touring tourist in Tobago)?
HAMID Jamal   08-24-1984   Midfielder (Join Abu Bakar squad) ?
MATHURA Kahlil   01-18-1984   (selling doubles in NY) ?
ALEXIS Andre   07-31-1984   (United Petrotrin)
BLACKMAN Nkosi   04-08-1984 (still feeling sorry for heself) ?
ABOSI Ochieng   06-01-1984  (In china selling nuts)  ?
HISLOP Makan   09-03-1984    (University of South Carolina)
WILLIAMS Jan-Michael   10-26-1984  (W Connection)
Post by: Trinitim on September 06, 2007, 02:18:17 PM
 I ain't know bout the rest of them fellas but I know Andre Alexis personally matter of fact he lives in the next street. Anyways Chinky is his nick name and he plays for La Brea. I can't remember the name of the team. Is the La brea team in the La Brea league that sponsored by Alutrint. I heading home for the Christmas I go get a update on the youths and them in the area. I have to get some information for Flex regarding Andrei Pacheco so I go do a clean sweep.
Post by: RGarcia on September 06, 2007, 02:30:04 PM
I ain't know bout the rest of them fellas but I know Andre Alexis personally matter of fact he lives in the next street. Anyways Chinky is his nick name and he plays for La Brea. I can't remember the name of the team. Is the La brea team in the La Brea league that sponsored by Alutrint. I heading home for the Christmas I go get a update on the youths and them in the area. I have to get some information for Flex regarding Andrei Pacheco so I go do a clean sweep.

I think its st. madelain strikers. not sure
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2007, 03:12:22 PM

I think its st. madelain strikers. not sure
De name of de team is La Brea All Stars, but as Sam say. he playing for Petrotrin.

Ochieng Abosi - WASA
Kerron Phillips - Tobago United
Title: What happen to these former Young Warriors?
Post by: Midknight on September 10, 2009, 07:27:37 AM
Lee HAYNES
Devon BRISTOL
Roderick ANTHONY
Cyrone EDWARDS
Devon LEACOCK
Kerron PHILLIPS
Jamal HAMID
Kahlil MATHURA
Andre ALEXIS
Nkosi BLACKMAN
Ochieng ABOSI
Ryan O NEIL
Brenton BALBOSA
Stephen KNOX
Daniel JOSEPH
Stephan CAMPBELL
Chike SULLIVAN
Micah LEWIS
Kern CAESAR

I believe that Mathura somewhere in university up in the states, and that Blackman had some health issues, Leacock MAY be in the Proleague but what is the deal with the others?
Title: Re: What happen to these former Young Warriors?
Post by: Controversial on September 10, 2009, 09:09:12 AM
blackman was supposed to be playing club football in brazil thru simoes, lewis father spoke to me almost a year ago, he was suppose to be coming to the states, he was looking for an agent and i passed the word, dont know what happened since
Post by: weary1969 on September 10, 2009, 11:35:38 AM
If things eh change we go b soon askin bout d present under 20's as we did ask wit Yorke bunch.
Post by: Raul on September 10, 2009, 12:46:32 PM
Roderick Anthony was buying some time in 2007 working for Robbie's Engineering on the Point Lisas Estate as a labourer. Robbie's Engineering actually supplied labour to other companies and one of his last stints was working at Shell Trinidad - he actually captained a team for Shell in a inter-company football competition that year, taking them to 4th Place.

While at Shell, I knew he was applying to a foreign university for a partial scholarship. Haven't heard of him since then though.
Post by: Andre on September 10, 2009, 12:53:21 PM
it eh just t&t. plenty youth players is never become pros.

watch the rosters for some of the big side from that world cup and see how much name u eh recognize anymore. then google they ass.
Post by: saint27 on September 10, 2009, 12:56:48 PM
mathura is in the us i think doin his masters ....  ryan o'niel is at jmu on a footbal schol .... the rest who knows .... some may be in turkey with the current u-20 squad
Title: Re: What happen to these former Young Warriors?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on September 10, 2009, 12:57:33 PM
Lee HAYNES
Devon BRISTOL
Roderick ANTHONY
Cyrone EDWARDS
Devon LEACOCK
Kerron PHILLIPS
Jamal HAMID
Kahlil MATHURA
Andre ALEXIS
Nkosi BLACKMAN
Ochieng ABOSI
Ryan O NEIL
Brenton BALBOSA
Stephen KNOX
Daniel JOSEPH
Stephan CAMPBELL
Chike SULLIVAN
Micah LEWIS
Kern CAESAR

I believe that Mathura somewhere in university up in the states, and that Blackman had some health issues, Leacock MAY be in the Proleague but what is the deal with the others?

stephon campbell wasnt on dat squad, he was de under 17 squad that is now de under 20 squad.
Title: The legacy of FIFA's 2001 U-17 World Cup
Post by: Tallman on March 14, 2021, 05:34:24 PM
The legacy of FIFA's 2001 U-17 World Cup
By Joel Bailey (T&T Guardian)

It's been 20 years since Trinidad and Tobago hosted the FIFA Under-17 World Championship, from September 13-30. The legacy of the first-ever FIFA world tournament in T&T can be seen both locally and internationally.

It was a rare occasion that the twin-island republic staged a sporting event of this magnitude, with the construction of four stadia – Dwight Yorke Stadium (Bacolet), Larry Gomes Stadium (Malabar, Arima), Ato Boldon Stadium (Balmain, Couva) and Manny Ramjohn Stadium (Marabella).

France defeated Nigeria 3-0 in the final, at the refurbished Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo. Burkina Faso whipped Argentina 2-0 in the third-place match.

Sixteen teams featured in the competition – T&T, Brazil, Australia, Croatia (Group A); Nigeria, France, Japan, United States (Group B); Argentina, Burkina Faso, Spain, Oman (Group C); Costa Rica, Mali, Paraguay and Iran (Group D).

Among the players from this tournament who became household names were Fernando Torres, Andres Iniesta (Spain); Niko Kranjcar (Croatia); Diego (Brazil); Eddie Johnson (United States); Carlos Tevez, Pablo Zabaleta and Javier Mascherano (Argentina). Surprisingly, the French stars of the tournament, Florent Sinama-Pongolle and Anthony Le Tallec, failed to become world stars after big transfers to Liverpool.

Ex-FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, former T&T men’s team captain Kenwyne Jones, ex-national youth forward Nkosi Blackman, ex-T&T forward Jerol Forbes and former Minister of Sports Manohar Ramsaran recently gave their impressions about the tournament.

T&T were given the rights to host the FIFA Under-17 Championship in 1998.

According to Warner, Patrick Manning requested that T&T host the tournament, during his first tenure as Prime Minister (1991-95). “The UNC government was in power by the time it came about. It was Mr Manning’s request to (then FIFA president) Dr (Joao) Havelange, in my presence, which caused it to be groomed.”

Asked how he felt when T&T was awarded the rights to host the tournament, Warner replied, “I was thrilled, because we had to have some new infrastructure for football. That caused us to have four new stadia and that, for me, was a good achievement. By each stadia, you also had a practice ground – so we got eight new facilities, all well-maintained for this event.”

Ramsaran served as Minister of Sport, under the Basdeo Panday-led UNC government, from September 1998 to December 2001.

He said, “When I came (into the ministry), things were already starting to take shape. Under my watch, we started to build four stadia and refurbish the Hasely Crawford Stadium.”

He added, “The cost was $13 million for all four. It was not built by the Government, it was built by a consortium of companies – Royal Bank, Guardian (Group of Companies) and Mutual (Life). They got together and financed the project. They built the stadia and then they leased it to us under the BOLT (Build Own Lease Transfer) arrangement. We had nothing to do with building, just monitoring and making sure things go well.”

The eyes of the world were on T&T for the World Championship, with the talent on show, and push for sports tourism.

Ramsaran said, “I remembered making speeches at the opening of the (four) stadia, as well as Hasely Crawford (Stadium). I used the term sports tourism then and I talked about how (this) could impact positively on us.”

WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP EXPERIENCE

Jones, who was a student at St Anthony’s College, played as a defender for the T&T team during the tournament.

“It was an amazing experience,” he said. “I was representing the national team, it was a World Cup at home where I’ll get to play in front of fans, family and friends. It was a pivotal moment at the beginning of my career. I was able to experience that level of competition at my age.”

Ramsaran mentioned, “It was a fantastic experience. When you looked at what happened with the players, most of them represented their senior teams.

“T&T put up a good showing,” he added. “It was a proud moment for me, I still feel as if it was yesterday, when I see the excitement created in T&T.”

It was T&T's second appearance at a World Cup, albeit as hosts, after qualifying for the 1991 Under-20 edition in Portugal.

Jones said there was not any added pressure on the team to succeed.

“Not necessarily. It was a momentous occasion. It was pivotal for development in the country, among our young players. It gave us the chance to host a tournament of that magnitude, even though it was the (Under-17) World Cup, for the first time, to experience the world of competition in football.”

Brazilian Rene Simoes, who was the Jamaica’s Reggae Boyz coach for the 1998 FIFA World Cup in Jamaica, had replaced Chief Adedboye Onigbinde of Nigeria as the team’s tactician in May 2001.

In the group stage, T&T were beaten 2-1 by Croatia (September 13), 1-0 by Australia (September 16) and 6-1 by Brazil (September 19).

Former St Benedict's College star Blackman scored arguably the goal of the tournament. The left-footer made a powerful run from his own half past three Croatia players before chipping the advancing goalie to make it 1-1. Forbes was T&T’s lone goal-getter against Brazil.

“(T&T’s) first World Cup goal I scored,” Blackman recalled. “I was happy. Simoes made me understand the game totally different (to other coaches). He (told) me I have size, I have speed, I’m strong, I can do things with the ball. He used to talk to me personally so I can understand defenders. I wanted to show what I have.”

About his goal against Brazil, Forbes said, “To be able to score against Brazil in a World Cup is an overwhelming feeling for me. I’m grateful to God for the doors that He’s open for me. I want the younger generation know that to put God first in everything.”

What will he remember most about Simoes? Jones responded, “Tactically, he exposed us to a new level of football. I’ll give credit to him and also the Nigerian coach we had previously. He did a lot of the groundwork for roughly two-and-a-half years before Simoes came on board. Without his involvement, we would not have been at the level that we were at, as young footballers, and being able to experience the tournament in the way that we did.”

Jones, Jan-Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip, Makan Hislop and Julius James all played international football for T&T, while a few members of the squad played for T&T at the Under-20 and Under-23 levels.

“Playing at that youth World Cup definitely enhanced my appetite for international football,” said Jones. “Through the team, I was able to experience a lot of tours. It opened up my eyes to the world of football even more. After the tournament, it quickly propelled me to the Under-20 level, the Under-23 level and even the senior team level. The tournament did spur on a wonderful generation of players that were able to go on and represent the country at (various) levels.”

TRAGEDY

Blackman, who was tipped to go on to be a star player for the T&T team, had his career cut short after a serious car accident in 2002 that almost cost him his life. His friend Lester Salcik died in the accident. Blackman had went on trials with English clubs prior to the accident and a successful career abroad had looked certain.

His captain Roderick Anthony died in 2020 in a car accident in Tobago,

“The professional landscape in the sport, when you look at the number of people that want to become professional as opposed to the number that become professional, it’s very contrasting,” said Jones. “In their situations, like every human being, (things) happen and we’re not in control of that. Every man’s destiny is not the same. It would have been wonderful for them to become the professional player on the stage that they wanted to be, but it wasn’t to be for a host of reasons.

“It’s very unfortunate that Nkosi had that accident at that time (as well as) the deceased Roderick Anthony. They were good friends of mine and it’s sad to see that they came to such points in their lives. They were both fantastic players, fantastic people (and) long may their legacy and spirit live on.”

A humble Blackman said, “I just give thanks that I’m alive. I still run, take a (football) sweat. I’ll like to do a Nkosi Blackman Fun Day where I can bring back the national (Under-17) team, a St Benedict’s team and a few other teams.

Jones went on to play, and captain, the T&T men’s team, but Forbes had spells with San Juan Jabloteh and United Petrotrin before migrating to England.

“In life you go through different hurdles,” said Forbes. “(T&T) was able to see the things I’ve done in football. I want to mention coaches like Brian Williams, Edgar Vidale, Terry Fenwick (and) Perry Gough, who took me on board with Leatherhead FC (as a player and then a coach).”

Forbes continued, “I’ve even ventured into building construction. I own the Forbes Builders Ltd Company. When I gave my life to Jesus, he has done things that only God can do. I want the younger boys to understand to have a relationship with God.”

Warner also touched on the T&T team’s composition.

“We always had a weak team, but I think the team was flamboyant and I think the coach did a good job based on the players he had at his disposal. More importantly, I think we played in a tough group.”

LASTING MEMORIES

Asked what he will remember most from this tournament, Jones replied, “It’s not from the championship itself. The championship was the end point of the era. Mostly, I remember the journey to that point.

“A lot of people tend to look at the end point as their best moment but the amount of work that we had to put in as a group, going through ups-and-downs, it helped develop the characters of young men and our skillsets as footballers.”

Ramsaran remembered “some of the unknowns in world football, like a couple countries in Africa.”

He added, “They played excellent football. The young guys belied their age with the quality of football. I still remember the French, how they played their final, how they planned it.”

According to Warner, “What stayed in my memory was the fact that we were left with four new stadia. That, for me, was the greatest thing ever.”

The maintenance of the stadia has left a lot to be desired over the years. Is he hopeful that some work will be done to restore their former state?

Warner replied bluntly, “Nothing in this country has been well-maintained, or is being well-maintained, by this government. They have a history of poor maintenance, whether it’s the roads, bridges (or) government buildings. I’m in no way surprised that the facilities at the stadia are also not maintained and they will not be maintained, especially at this point in time.”

STADIA MAINTENANCE

Douglas Camacho, chairman of the Sports Company of T&T, spoke on the issue of maintenance of the four stadia built for the World Championship.

“The Government has the mandate for maintaining the four stadia,” Camacho said. “I know, of the four, the Ato Boldon is the one that’s been most actively maintained because that it is considered to be the ‘office for football’. In the case of the Dwight Yorke, because of where it is physically sited, it’s close to the Atlantic so it gets that prevailing breeze with salt etcetera. They had to do major refurbishment.

“The Manny Ramjohn probably has the best football surface in Trinidad. The track needs maintenance work and the (lighting) need work. In the case of the Larry Gomes, the major thing is the lighting.”

When is the likelihood of things being improved?

“Right now, we do not have funds to do over the Larry Gomes and Manny Ramjohn lighting,” he replied. “For the stadia to be maintained properly, there needs to be proper preventative maintenance programmes to be developed. With the current economic climate, we’re not getting even close to the funds required to maintain those stadia in the proper condition.”
Post by: Deeks on March 14, 2021, 08:54:51 PM
“The cost was $13 million for all four."

13 million for 4 stadium. That was then. Not now.

"It was not built by the Government, it was built by a consortium of companies – Royal Bank, Guardian (Group of Companies) and Mutual (Life). They got together and financed the project. They built the stadia and then they leased it to us under the BOLT (Build Own Lease Transfer) arrangement. It was not built by the Government, it was built by a consortium of companies – Royal Bank, Guardian (Group of Companies) and Mutual (Life). They got together and financed the project. They built the stadia and then they leased it to us under the BOLT (Build Own Lease Transfer) arrangement. We had nothing to do with building, just monitoring and making sure things go well.”.”

This is interesting.

We had nothing to do with building, just monitoring and making sure things go well.”

Yeah right ..... with Jack there?

ex-national youth forward Nkosi Blackman,

Played against this dude in Brooklyn about 10 years ago. He was a handful. He has a good striker's built.
Post by: Tiresais on March 15, 2021, 04:21:05 AM
Jan-Michael Williams   Goalkeeper
Marvin Phillip   Goalkeeper
Julius James   Defender

Lee Haynes   Defender
Devon Bristol   Defender
Devin Jordan   Defender
Kahlil Mathura   Defender
Makan Hislop   Defender
Terrence McAllister   Midfielder

Roderick Anthony   Midfielder
Cyrone Edwards   Midfielder
Devon Leacock   Midfielder
Kerron Phillips   Midfielder

Jamal Hamid   Midfielder
Ochieng Abosi   Midfielder
Jerol Forbes   Forward
Nkosi Blackman   Forward
Andre Alexis   Forward

In bold I think played for pro league teams, any I miss?
Post by: Storeboy on March 16, 2021, 10:00:48 AM
“The cost was $13 million for all four."

13 million for 4 stadium. That was then. Not now.

"It was not built by the Government, it was built by a consortium of companies – Royal Bank, Guardian (Group of Companies) and Mutual (Life). They got together and financed the project. They built the stadia and then they leased it to us under the BOLT (Build Own Lease Transfer) arrangement. It was not built by the Government, it was built by a consortium of companies – Royal Bank, Guardian (Group of Companies) and Mutual (Life). They got together and financed the project. They built the stadia and then they leased it to us under the BOLT (Build Own Lease Transfer) arrangement. We had nothing to do with building, just monitoring and making sure things go well.”.”

This is interesting.

We had nothing to do with building, just monitoring and making sure things go well.”

Yeah right ..... with Jack there?

ex-national youth forward Nkosi Blackman,

Played against this dude in Brooklyn about 10 years ago. He was a handful. He has a good striker's built.
“The Government has the mandate for maintaining the four stadia,” Camacho said. “I know, of the four, the Ato Boldon is the one that’s been most actively maintained because that it is considered to be the ‘office for football’. In the case of the Dwight Yorke, because of where it is physically sited, it’s close to the Atlantic so it gets that prevailing breeze with salt etcetera. They had to do major refurbishment.

So, we didn't have to build them. All we had to do was take care of them and we couldn't do that! Maintenance is always less costly than rebuilding.
Post by: Flex on March 16, 2021, 02:34:25 PM
Nkosi Blackman tears down Croatia's defence and scores a beauty (https://www.facebook.com/SocaWarriorsTV/videos/1487330134657662)

Jerol Forbes vs Brazil at the 2001 FIFA Youth World Cup hosted in T&T (https://www.facebook.com/SocaWarriorsTV/videos/970994096291271)

https://www.facebook.com/SocaWarriorsTV