Sports => Football => Topic started by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 08, 2008, 10:16:41 PM

Title: UEFA CL FC Barcelona v FC Schalke 9/4/08
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 08, 2008, 10:16:41 PM
(http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/9796/barcelonalogobk9.jpg)(http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/4805/100pxschalke04logoal8.png)

Barcelona - Camp Nou
Wednesday kickoff
20:45 Barcelona / 2:45pm U.S. eastern

1st Leg Reminder
Schalke 0-1 FC Barcelona
Bojan 12'

possible line up
(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/schalke.jpg)

R10, Messi and Deco still out injured although Messi did train with the squad but is not on the squad list.

(http://cache4.asset-cache.net/xc/80562941.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CE41B024AE96D64D9353D50F9DCFE6DC284831B75F48EF45)
Barcelona's (L-R) Cameroonian Samuel Eto'o, French Thierry Henry, Argentinian Leo Messi and Iceland's Eidur Gudjohnssen take part in a training session at the Camp Nou stadium on April 8, 2008 in Barcelona on the eve of their Champions League return leg quarter-final football match against Schalke 04.
Title: Re: UEFA CL FC Barcelona v FC Schalke 9/4/08
Post by: elan on April 08, 2008, 10:32:04 PM
Look at Barcelona squad nah... daiz pressure for schalke (hopefully).
Post by: Observer on April 09, 2008, 08:35:30 AM
Barca seem uncomfortable with sides that actually attack them aggressively, rather than sit back and soak up pressure. Schalke have a tendency to throw players forward (almost reckless) when they need goals, it would be interesting to see Barca's reaction tonight.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 09, 2008, 09:47:53 AM
Barcelona coach denies rift with Ronaldinho

Barcelona coach Frank Rijkaard on Tuesday moved to quash speculation about a rift between the club and an injured Ronaldinho which will reportedly see the Brazilian star leave the Spanish club at the end of the season.

"Its a pity that he is not able to join us due to injury. A pity not only for the Champions League but also for the league. As for his future, I can't predict the future but I think he still has a contract with Barcelona," he told a news conference.

Ronaldinho, a former FIFA World Player of the Year, is under contract with Barcelona until 2010.

He has been plagued by injury and fitness problems this season that have made it his worst since joining Barcelona from Paris Saint-Germain in 2003, leading to reports that the Catalan club are looking to offload the player at the end of the season.

Last week Barcelona announced Ronaldinho, 28, would be sidelined for about six weeks because he pulled a muscle in his right leg during a training session.

The Brazilian international started only 13 of the club's 30 league games this season.

Barcelona can progress to the Champions League semi-finals on Wednesday if they avoid a defeat to Schalke 04 at home.

The club beat the German side 1-0 in Gelsenkirchen last Tuesday to take the advantage in their quarter-final clash.

"We're on the right track although we have to play an important match tomorrow against a good team," said Rijkaard.

"We have to be ready to face up to a Schalke side that will certainly be striving for a more direct game to get the result they need," he added.

Barcelona head into the match having been held 0-0 at home by Getafe on Sunday. The result left the club in third palce, seven points behind league leaders Real Madrid.
Post by: elan on April 09, 2008, 09:49:54 AM
Barca seem uncomfortable with sides that actually attack them aggressively, rather than sit back and soak up pressure. Schalke have a tendency to throw players forward (almost reckless) when they need goals, it would be interesting to see Barca's reaction tonight.

That's because they play with their back four way to flat. This allows the opponents to create gaps more easily between the defenders. No one pulls off quick enough or steps forward quick enough to try and stop the pass into the forwards which allow the forwards to turn.
Post by: Observer on April 09, 2008, 10:23:38 AM

That's because they play with their back four way to flat. This allows the opponents to create gaps more easily between the defenders. No one pulls off quick enough or steps forward quick enough to try and stop the pass into the forwards which allow the forwards to turn.

Maybe! but most goals scored on Barca seems to be from crosses in the air. Barca always look second best when contesting for balls in the air.
Post by: Bourbon on April 09, 2008, 12:08:33 PM

Maybe! but most goals scored on Barca seems to be from crosses in the air. Barca always look second best when contesting for balls in the air.

Very true. Most of Barca's Centre Backs not very tall....they dont really have that much of an aerial presence.
Last week i got all the results i wanted....yesterday was a different story. Hopefully today i get all the results i want.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 09, 2008, 01:19:22 PM
Jermaine Jones ... ah have time fuh dis player.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 09, 2008, 01:21:41 PM
Right now Schalke taking it to Barca, some real good opportunities.

Barca had a real good one on one with Iniesta sending ah bess through ball to Xavi who, somehow, managed not to score.
Post by: Jumbie on April 09, 2008, 01:24:29 PM

ah boi, you call it. Schalke pressing the game. Barca will hit them on the counter juss now.
Post by: Toppa on April 09, 2008, 01:31:16 PM
What a shitty goal.
Post by: freakazoid on April 09, 2008, 01:34:26 PM
What a shitty goal.
24 k  all d same
Post by: breezers on April 09, 2008, 01:37:38 PM
What a shitty goal.
24 k  all d same

done kno!!!
Post by: freakazoid on April 09, 2008, 02:17:41 PM
wait wait wait is sub where frank sub bojan

frank pick up back his pipe o wah

Post by: Brownsugar on April 09, 2008, 02:23:24 PM
Aye Freakazoid,  is that the same Bojan yute who played in de U-20 for Spain last year??

Post by: Toppa on April 09, 2008, 02:27:54 PM
Aye Freakazoid,  is that the same Bojan yute who played in de U-20 for Spain last year??

Most likely.

Anyway...Barca played a decent game so far. Look forward to seeing them buss ManU arse in the semis.
Post by: Observer on April 09, 2008, 02:28:22 PM

U17 yuh mean.
Post by: freakazoid on April 09, 2008, 02:29:26 PM
yes on bojan
and yes on them bussing ManU arse in the semis.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 09, 2008, 02:34:08 PM

U17 yuh mean.

Ah yeeeesss...U-17....thanks both of you  :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on April 09, 2008, 02:35:19 PM
Yahoo live commentary...

82' Henry wins possession high up the pitch, but wastes it poorly. What has happened to that man?

hhhhhhmmmmm....
Post by: D.H.W on April 09, 2008, 02:44:35 PM
barca boys we coming :devil:
Title: Small Mag look out WE COMING...............
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 09, 2008, 10:53:59 PM
(http://www.69.by/uploads/posts/2007-09/1191142497_fc_barcelona_wallpapers_66208.jpeg)

Tot el Camp
The whole Stadium
És un Clam
Is chanting
Som la Gent Blaugrana,
We are the "Blaugrana" people
Tant se val d'on venim,
It doesn't matter where we come from
Si del Sud o del Nord,
From the South or from the North
Ara estem d'acord, estem d'acord,
Now we all agree, we all agree
Una bandera ens agermana.
A flag joins us Brotherhood
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,

---------------
Jugadors,
Players
Seguidors
Fans
Tots units fem força
All united we have the strength
Són molts anys plens d'afanys,
So many years full of hard work
Són molts gols que hem critdat,
So many goals we have cheered for
I s'ha demostrat, s'ha demostrat,
and we have shown, we have shown
Que mai ningú no ens podrà tòrcer.
that nobody will be able to break us
Blaugrana al vent,
"Blaugrana" in the wind
Un crit valent,
A valient scream
Tenim un nom,
We have a name
El sap tothom:
The whole world knows it
BARÇA !, BARÇA!, BARÇA!,
Title: Re: Small Mag look out WE COMING...............
Post by: Mr Fix-it on April 09, 2008, 11:48:01 PM
Glory, glory, Man United,
As the reds go marching on, on, on.

Just like the Busby Babes in Days gone by
We'll keep the Red Flags flying high
You've got to see yourself from far and wide
You've got to hear the masses sing with pride

United! Man United!
We're the boys in Red and we're on our way to Wem-be-ly
Wem-be-ly! Wem-be-ly!
We're the famous Man United and we're going to Wem-ber-ly
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

In Seventy-Seven it was Docherty
Atkinson will make it Eighty-Three
And everyone will know just who we are
They'll be singing 'Que Sera Sera'

United! Man United!
We're the boys in Red and we're on our way to Wem-ber-ly
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

Glory Glory Man United
As the Reds Go Marching On! On! On! (3x)

Anderson-son-son
(tune: Agadoo)  Anderson-son-son
He's better than Kleberson;
Anderson-son-son
He's our midfield magician;
To the left, to the right
Do the samba dance tonight;
He is class, with the brass
and he shi*s on Fabregas

That boy Ronaldo He plays on the left
He plays on the right
That boy Ronaldo
Makes England look shi*e!

Fergie Wonderland Mourinho are you listening,
You'd better keep our trophy glistening;
'Coz we'll be back in May, to take it away,
walking in a Fergie Wonderland!

Post by: Toppa on April 10, 2008, 02:33:45 AM

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-be-ly!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

Glory Glory Man United

Anderson-son-son
and he shi*s on Fabregas

He plays on the right
That boy Ronaldo

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Post by: WestCoast on April 10, 2008, 03:25:37 AM
MAN   BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
had to fix that up for you :D

Barca better come good
Post by: redtrinigirl on April 10, 2008, 04:21:55 AM
Allyuh idle no ass!  :rotfl:
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2008, 04:29:34 AM
STUPES YUH KNW PUYOL MISSING THE 1ST LEG
Post by: Jah Gol on April 10, 2008, 04:37:06 AM
 Més Que Un Club (http://youtube.com/watch?v=tSYkWfYhjX8)
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2008, 04:39:11 AM
Rijkaard expects high level semi final

Frank Rijkaard believes that the Champions League semi final against Manchester United will be played at a very high level after FC Barcelona qualified for the semi finals with victory over Schalke 04.

The Dutch coach was looking forward to the encounter with the Red Devils in the semi final after the Blaugran booked their place with a win on Wednesday evening in Camp Nou, thanks to a single goal from Touré Yaya. "I am glad to have this chance to play the semi finals," Rijkaard said. "Now we have to prepare to play two very big games against a team that is in great form. Barça and Manchester United are two teams that play very good football."

No favourites

Staying on theme of the next round, Rijkaard did not want to talk about which side he feels will be the favourites to go through to the final in Moscow next month. "I have never talked about favourites," he continued. "We are happy to play these two matches and I presume that they are too. Then we shall see what happens. What is clear is that the tie will be played at a very high level."

Reflecting on the win over Schalke, Rijkaard explained that his team had more difficulties than they may have expected, but was pleased with the team's second half performance. "It was a complicated match. Due to the result in the first game they had nothing to lose and looked to cause a surprise," he said. "They have played well and the anxiety has showed in the result and that affected our pay. Little-by-little we have improved and in the second half we were better."

Bojan’s change

After the Barça fans whistled their disagreement with the decision to take Bojan Krkic off, Rijkaard said that he knew it was aimed at him. "I am pleased for Bojan because he had a great game and I am happy that the public sympathised with him," he continued, before airing his feelings on the atmosphere that Giovani Dos Santos walked into when he replaced his young team-mate. "I felt sorry for Giovani. The whistles were for me and I accept them and I know that I have to carry on working," Rijkaard explained. "But it was not good as a kid of 18 years who worked very hard and is a generous player all round."

FRANK U still n explain y u sub the best player on d field. not that u need to offer one but  yuh answer was like that of ah politician yuh n really touch on y u sub d man yet
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2008, 04:43:41 AM
(http://blog.ugo.com/images/uploads/300_poster1.jpg)

THIS IS BARCA
Post by: Filho on April 10, 2008, 06:34:18 AM
FRANK U still n explain y u sub the best player on d field. not that u need to offer one but  yuh answer was like that of ah politician yuh n really touch on y u sub d man yet

smart move by Frank. Hadda protect Bojan. Plenty big games needed to finish the season on a high note, and right now Bojan is the crown jewel in the attack. But young players who still growing and developing who play too much can end up like Messi....so yuh up 2-0 on aggregate, have an away goal, weather the 1st half German storm and looking comfotable in the 2nd half, have faith in Puyol and co....well then, best thing to do is take the best player off. No need to risk him getting an injury.
Post by: D.H.W on April 10, 2008, 07:12:02 AM

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-be-ly!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

Glory Glory Man United

Anderson-son-son
and he shi*s on Fabregas

He plays on the right
That boy Ronaldo

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

Man Utd all the way   :challenge: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: RedDevils on April 10, 2008, 07:37:19 AM

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-be-ly!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

United! Man United!
Wem-be-ly! Wem-ber-ly!

Glory Glory Man United

Anderson-son-son
and he shi*s on Fabregas

He plays on the right
That boy Ronaldo

Can't wait for sunday.....

ManU 4 ever.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 10, 2008, 09:35:37 AM
What was the harm in subbing Bojan? I don't believe he "deserved" to come off buh at the end of the day, what was the "harm"?
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2008, 01:59:55 PM

smart move by Frank. Hadda protect Bojan. Plenty big games needed to finish the season on a high note, and right now Bojan is the crown jewel in the attack. But young players who still growing and developing who play too much can end up like Messi....so yuh up 2-0 on aggregate, have an away goal, weather the 1st half German storm and looking comfotable in the 2nd half, have faith in Puyol and co....well then, best thing to do is take the best player off. No need to risk him getting an injury.
filho u  sounding like u never saw the game where we were winning 2 niil then lost 3 - 2. but all's  well that ends well