Sports => Football => Topic started by: dinho on May 14, 2008, 08:51:00 AM

Title: UEFA Cup final: Rangers v Zenit St. Petersburgh
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2008, 08:51:00 AM
This is the first UEFA Cup final I have absolutely no interest in watching..

One side plays some of the worst quality football ever seen..

The other side is racist..

Uefa Cup final

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/7398449.stm

UEFA CUP FINAL
Venue: City of Manchester Stadium Date: Wed 14 May Kick-off: 1945 BST
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 Live and BBC Radio Scotland, full text coverage on BBC Sport website
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smith comes face to face with ex-Rangers boss Advocaat
Rangers face Zenit St Petersburg in Wednesday's Uefa Cup final in Manchester aiming to land the second of a possible four trophies this season.

The Glasgow giants have won a European trophy before - the Cup-Winners' Cup - in 1972, while the Russian champions are chasing a first European honour.

In an added twist, Zenit, the odds-on favourites, are managed by former Rangers boss Dick Advocaat.

More than 100,000 Rangers fans are expected to travel to the game.

That is despite a club ticket allocation of only 13,000, and the fact that the City of Manchester stadium has a capacity of 44,000.

Big screens have been put up in the city to allow ticketless fans to watch the game.

Rangers manager Walter Smith is unconcerned by the critic of his team's tactics as he aims to bring Scotland its first European trophy since Aberdeen beat Real Madrid in the 1983 Cup-Winners' Cup final.

"So far, we've had a lot of negative comments about us," he said.

"We've had a lot of situations where people say that Rangers play anti-football, rubbish football or whatever.

"But, for a first-year team, we've settled in well and, for those teams that have lost to us, if they are that good, why have they not beaten us?"

Panathinaikos, Werder Bremen and Fiorentina have been dispatched, along with Sporting since Rangers qualified via their position in the Champions League group stage.

The Glasgow outfit have also already won the CIS Insurance Cup, will play Queen of the South in the Scottish Cup final and are vying with holders Celtic for the Scottish Premier League title.

It is a far cry from the struggling outfit Smith inherited from Paul Le Guen when the Scot returned for his second spell as Rangers boss in January 2007.

"The European competition is obviously not one we thought we would get as far in, so it's a nice surprise," Smith said.

"But Zenit have also had a terrific season, won their championship and find themselves in the final too. It will be a very difficult game.

"We've carried a little bit of luck on the way, but we have put a lot into the games.

"We've found ourselves a bit ahead of schedule, but there are no complaints there."

UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown said: "I want to sent to Walter Smith and the whole Rangers team my best wishes."

Scotland's First Minister Alex Salmond said: "Rangers' success in reaching the final of the Uefa Cup has been fabulous for the club and has enhanced Scotland's reputation in the footballing world."

When Rangers beat Dundee United on Saturday, it was their third SPL game in seven days of a packed schedule.

Exhaustion will be no excuse for Advocaat's side, who have had their fixtures postponed by a home federation anxious to help Zenit emulate CSKA Moscow's 2005 victory.

Marseille, Bayer Leverkusen and Bayern Munich were among the sides swept away in some style on the way to the final.

"The build-up has been about Zenit being the favourites and I like that - I hope they are right," said Advocaat.

"But Rangers have reached the Uefa Cup final and the Scottish Cup final, they have won the League Cup and will hopefully win the SPL, so they must be a balanced side and they deserve respect in Scotland.

"But having come so far, we have to win the final. We are one game away from making history."

"I told the players: If we have one chance to win the Uefa Cup, this is it. With the quality we have shown, we can play against any team."

Rangers will be hoping that playing Russian opposition is a good omen, their 3-2 victory in Barcelona having been achieved against Dinamo Moscow.

The parallels with that previous success do not stop there.

Willie Waddell's team beat Sporting Lisbon on their way to the final, built their success on high work-rate and a strong defence and they were accused of playing "anti-football" - in their case by the coach of Rennes.

Title: Re: UEFA Cup final: Rangers v Zenit St. Petersburgh
Post by: FLi ! on May 14, 2008, 09:05:57 AM

I couldn't have agreed more. Rangers showed how deficient the SPL is if they scoring as freely as they are there and struggling to get shots on target and score goals through the European campaign.

I couldn't imagine one team having soooooo many goaless draws in the CL, first leg against sporting in the quarters and then BOTH legs against Fiorentina in the semis!!

This game self might well go down to penalties...steups.
Post by: superoli on May 14, 2008, 09:46:32 AM
watch this turn out to be 4-3 goal fest !
Post by: FLi ! on May 14, 2008, 09:51:50 AM
watch this turn out to be 4-3 goal fest !

You watch nah, cuz i not wasting my time
Post by: superoli on May 14, 2008, 10:10:03 AM
you have time to post twice doh !
Post by: fari on May 14, 2008, 10:38:36 AM
i was kinda going for zenit, purely from a football perspective...but then i read this article, saw the fans' mindset and changed my mind altogether:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/7398400.stm

Post by: Big Magician on May 14, 2008, 11:24:05 AM
latapy and Andrews were once Rangers.... even if i is more ah Celtic man for spl...( not when latas was with rangers of course..lol)
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 11:29:38 AM
2:45 et kickoff right?
Post by: Blue on May 14, 2008, 12:32:57 PM
I am a Hearts/Celtic fan, but I will back any Scottish team in Europe  :beermug:

120,000 Rangers fans have travelled to Manchester :o  :o Looks like a fantastic atmosphere on tv, kinda vex I turned down tickets for the game now, but I still gonna watch it...Come on Rangers!!!
Post by: Observer on May 14, 2008, 01:09:10 PM
Rangers is the biggest shit side to get to a final of the UEFA. They may win it because is one game but Zenith playing the whole game in Rangers 1/3. Same old same old.
Post by: Reaper2004 on May 14, 2008, 01:12:38 PM
Zenit has the edge over Rangers cause they got their matches put on hold till after the Final while Rangers have to play their matches one after the other so its Fatigue that will be Ranger's undoing.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 01:13:45 PM
Rangers is the biggest shit side to get to a final of the UEFA. They may win it because is one game but Zenith playing the whole game in Rangers 1/3. Same old same old.
Good game so far...me eh care what nobody say.  Zenith enjoying the bulk of the possession and creating the most opportunities, but is not like Rangers don't belong on the pitch they are defending well in their own third but possession disintegrates from the attacking mid.  Seems like they're playing only one forward even though their shape is more that of a 4-4-2.
Post by: palos on May 14, 2008, 01:27:09 PM
Zenit has the edge over Rangers cause they got their matches put on hold till after the Final while Rangers have to play their matches one after the other so its Fatigue that will be Ranger's undoing.

Couldn't be because they just not good enough eh?
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2008, 01:31:25 PM
Rangers game plan whole season is hoof the ball up to that ox they have in the forward line name Darcheville.

Is a blend of Bolton Wanderers and Liverpool away from home.

Cyah back that brand at all.
Post by: FLi ! on May 14, 2008, 01:33:10 PM
Rangers game plan whole season is hoof the ball up to that ox they have in the forward line name Darcheville.

the strange thing is they have men with touches like novo who can take on men
Post by: Touches on May 14, 2008, 01:33:35 PM
Fari see dat article dey

How yuh find advocat is for coaching so and letting fans determine who he could buy purely on skin colour.

Imagine for 4million a year he keep he views to he self yes. What coach out there does ask the fans first who they want?

Dem fans I sure ent no ketch arse fans nah. It must be some big money fans when yuh see dat.

Post by: Reaper2004 on May 14, 2008, 01:58:08 PM

If they werent good enough they wouldnt have made it past the group stages dont you think?
Post by: Blue on May 14, 2008, 01:58:34 PM
Good game so far...me eh care what nobody say.  Zenith enjoying the bulk of the possession and creating the most opportunities, but is not like Rangers don't belong on the pitch they are defending well in their own third but possession disintegrates from the attacking mid.  Seems like they're playing only one forward even though their shape is more that of a 4-4-2.

They are playing 4-1-4-1...most definitely no second striker....hardly even a first striker
Post by: Blue on May 14, 2008, 02:00:15 PM

If they werent good enough they wouldnt have made it past the group stages dont you think?

the strange thing is they have men with touches like novo who can take on men

they've been playing dis ultra-defensive system for d whole Euro run....Novo doesnt defend so he will only get a bligh in d last 10 minutes or extra time
Post by: Midknight on May 14, 2008, 02:01:59 PM
Good game so far...me eh care what nobody say.  Zenith enjoying the bulk of the possession and creating the most opportunities, but is not like Rangers don't belong on the pitch they are defending well in their own third but possession disintegrates from the attacking mid.  Seems like they're playing only one forward even though their shape is more that of a 4-4-2.

That was true up until you post. From the time Zenit stop to breathe the game went into autopilot until just before the end of the 45 minutes.

I all for good defense but it have a difference between winning the midfield battle off the ball (which Zenith was doing)and bunkering and looking clueless on the counters (Rangers). On top of that they get away with a clear hands in the box.

It hard to have any sympathy for them on that first half performance but they looking much more purposeful since the restart
Post by: Jumbie on May 14, 2008, 02:02:23 PM
ah boy.. this game is real tears to watch. I going and count how much grain ah sugar in this tamarind ball instead oui. Game 4king boring. Not even ah lil crowd violence self.
Post by: Andre on May 14, 2008, 02:09:24 PM
so when i go home, i should just press delete for this on mih DVR?

i hope darcheville score though...for obvious reasons.
Post by: Observer on May 14, 2008, 02:09:38 PM
ah boy.. this game is real tears to watch. I going and count how much grain ah sugar in this tamarind ball instead oui. Game 4king boring. Not even ah lil crowd violence self.
Post by: Reaper2004 on May 14, 2008, 02:17:46 PM
Well Zenit just scored so its 1-0 lets see if Rangers can get an equalizer
Post by: Midknight on May 14, 2008, 02:20:29 PM
They hit the post just after as well. Syrianov should've done better on the control before the shot
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 02:30:48 PM
That was true up until you post. From the time Zenit stop to breathe the game went into autopilot until just before the end of the 45 minutes.

I all for good defense but it have a difference between winning the midfield battle off the ball (which Zenith was doing)and bunkering and looking clueless on the counters (Rangers). On top of that they get away with a clear hands in the box.

It hard to have any sympathy for them on that first half performance but they looking much more purposeful since the restart

yeah their game bogged down even more...they get away with a hand ball as did Zenith in the second half, say nothing of the fact that the keeper tripped the Rangers player in the box on the same play...I wouldn't hold the handball against them.  That said, it was a great set up for a goal by Arshavin...he's class.

I refuse to wish anything but bad on them racist bastards though.
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 02:34:32 PM
permission for heart attack please   :banginghead: :frustrated:
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2008, 02:36:15 PM
Mother f@$k stueps
Post by: Reaper2004 on May 14, 2008, 02:39:34 PM
well game done 2-0 to Zenit they deserved it, the only thing Rangers have to blame is the League Association cause if they have put their games on hold Rangers would have put up more of a fight not that they havent done so during the match itself but you can clearly see they are tired from playing 3-4 League matches one after the other.
Post by: Andre on May 14, 2008, 02:39:47 PM
SCHEUPS!
Post by: MarylandTrini on May 14, 2008, 02:41:55 PM
I at work so couldn't see the game. How was Arshavin? .. he's been linked to Arsenal before
Post by: Observer on May 14, 2008, 02:42:35 PM
Like Rangers and dem Scottish not racist!!!! Dem does pelt banana at Black players taking corner and all kind of thing,  Ask any player who play there.

On the football side of things, I glad no ass Rangers loss wid dat shit they play all Tournament
Post by: Andre on May 14, 2008, 02:43:05 PM
I at work so couldn't see the game. How was Arshavin? .. he's been linked to Arsenal before

Ars shavin?

he is a bodybuilder?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 14, 2008, 02:44:41 PM

He was very good... i have always been a fan.... his assist for the first girl was very sweet... I have to agree he looks like an Arsenal type player though...similar to Hleb
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 03:23:49 PM
Like Rangers and dem Scottish not racist!!!! Dem does pelt banana at Black players taking corner and all kind of thing,  Ask any player who play there.

Well at least Rangers have the balls to give a black man a contract...but big up yuh squad if yuh want.
Post by: FLi ! on May 14, 2008, 03:29:31 PM
Big Melee: Rangers fans apparently clashed with riot police  in the city centre...apparently one of the big screens failed  ::) . cardinal sin number 1 for an event organiser

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7401814.stm
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 03:48:59 PM
Big Melee: Rangers fans apparently clashed with riot police  in the city centre...apparently one of the big screens failed  ::) . cardinal sin number 1 for an event organiser

The news account paints a different picture

Police said the trouble has been very minor and only involved a handful of people.
Post by: FLi ! on May 14, 2008, 03:54:15 PM
I was watching the live broadcasts from the reporter on the scene with the riot police, and which showed earlier footage of RIOTING but seeing as though what I'm viewing is not necessarily accessible to all on the forum, thought it would be a nice gesture to post some sort of source where intiial reports could be viewed; the only such source was the BBC

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/7401188.stm
Post by: dinho on May 14, 2008, 03:55:15 PM
given the desire to avoid repercussions, i wouldnt be surprised if bbc gives a watered down version of the events.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2008, 04:32:12 PM
I was watching the live broadcasts from the reporter on the scene with the riot police, and which showed earlier footage of RIOTING but seeing as though what I'm viewing is not necessarily accessible to all on the forum, thought it would be a nice gesture to post some sort of source where intiial reports could be viewed; the only such source was the BBC

I always prefer to get (and give) a source reference as well...in this case the source you cited contradicted your account.  Probably would have helped if you'd provided context for the discrepancy as you have here, by saying the rioting was broadcast on TV.  Appreciate the clarification all the same...
Post by: Reaper2004 on May 14, 2008, 05:08:41 PM
SPL Hindered Us

From Andrew Dickson in Manchester

CARLOS CUELLAR says the SPL's failure to give Rangers more time to prepare for the UEFA Cup final played a major part in their loss to Zenit St Petersburg.

The Light Blues asked for last Saturday's league meeting with Dundee United to be postponed so that they had a week to get ready for the match in Manchester.

But their request was turned down and they had just four days to rest and recover between their 3-1 win and the clash with Dick Advocaat's men.

Carlos CuellarIn contrast, tonight's victors had 13 full days between matches and the fact they were far fresher than Gers contributed to their 2-0 success.

Cuellar, who was outstanding in defence once more, said: "We have had too many games in such a short space of time and it is crazy.

"Today we had a very good chance to win a European trophy but the SPL did not want to help us.

"I don't understand why that was and if we had not played Dundee United on Saturday, I think we would have looked more comfortable.

"We would have had more recovery time for this match and I think we would have been able to create more chances when we attacked.

"We would have been able to come forward a little faster but as it was, I think we looked a little tired going upfield and we didn't have a lot of opportunities to score.

"This season, I think I have played 62 games and in Spain, I would maybe play 38 or 40 times in a year.

"All we needed was the SPL to help us make history by extending the season by one week only but I don't know why they didn't want to help us win this trophy."
Post by: weary1969 on May 14, 2008, 10:02:37 PM
Since dey get rid of Alex I eh into Rangers then d jokey replacement ged rid of Marvin so salt 4 dem
Post by: Blue on May 15, 2008, 01:26:10 AM

I always prefer to get (and give) a source reference as well...in this case the source you cited contradicted your account.  Probably would have helped if you'd provided context for the discrepancy as you have here, by saying the rioting was broadcast on TV.  Appreciate the clarification all the same...

I can't see how Fli's source is contradictory...he said they rioted, which is pretty much what happened. Both his sources say that too, and its all over the press here this morning.

Noone hurt though
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 02:30:01 AM
was just watching it ths morning some nice battles.......................police not losing though they dressed for business !
Post by: lickslikefire on May 15, 2008, 02:37:14 AM

a russian man get stab.....not life threatening though
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 03:27:21 AM
I can't see how Fli's source is contradictory...he said they rioted, which is pretty much what happened. Both his sources say that too, and its all over the press here this morning.

Noone hurt though

Do you really suppose that nine hours later you read the same information on the website that I did when I posted...or is there a chance that the content may have been updated in the interim?

Before you answer consider the quote in my original post...and see if you can find it anywhere in the accounts that you read.
Post by: FLi ! on May 15, 2008, 03:53:54 AM
To Ryan's defence, I knew as you admit to knowing as well, that these websites update themselves as more information comes their way, which was why i posted that specific link which seemed to be the only website to mention the incident. 

I was viewing the most up to date information on the television and decided to share.

Didn't expect my account to be so swiftly challenged though
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 04:09:34 AM
ouch  >:(

(http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d195/trinioli/rangers2.jpg)

(http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d195/trinioli/rangers3.jpg)

(http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d195/trinioli/rangers5.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 05:44:19 AM
I hope they "neuter" him before he reproduces  :devil:
Post by: Andre on May 15, 2008, 06:25:08 AM

i hope yuh talking about the baldhead man and not d dog.
Post by: WestCoast on May 15, 2008, 06:45:29 AM

i hope yuh talking about the baldhead man and not d dog.
of course ;D ;D
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 10:23:10 AM
To Ryan's defence, I knew as you admit to knowing as well, that these websites update themselves as more information comes their way, which was why i posted that specific link which seemed to be the only website to mention the incident. 

I was viewing the most up to date information on the television and decided to share.

It's unfortunate that that's how you took it...

I was in disbelief that a non-functional scoreboard could spark actual rioting in England, so I checked the link for confirmation and found that the account differed, I simply wanted clarification.  I checked Skysports' site and couldn't find any info, nor did I find any other source to corroborate the story about the rioting...at which time I brought it to your attention that the information didn't match.  I don't frequent the BBC's site...so no, unlike you I didn't expect that there would be such a discrepancy in reports, only to be later updated.  I primarily frequent the nytimes.com site, which not only tells you when the story was updated (eg. "updated 8 mins ago").  Not only that but they'll let readers know of any discrepancy with earlier reports.

To say that I "challenged" your report is....being touchy, to put it mildly.
Post by: FLi ! on May 15, 2008, 10:27:30 AM

It's unfortunate that that's how you took it...

I was in disbelief that a non-functional scoreboard could spark actual rioting in England,

Taking into consideration the history of Rangers fans, bearing in mind more than 100,000 Rangers fans had descended upon Manchester, 3/4 of whom had no tickets, many of whom had paid 3000-4000 pounds to be present and  comprising a sizable majority who had been drinking for 7 hours prior to kick off, I find your statement rather naive.
Post by: superoli on May 15, 2008, 10:37:03 AM
when I left for work at 7:30 in the morning, they had a report from Manchester centre on TV and dem fellas was drinking already !    :o   
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 11:31:27 AM
Taking into consideration the history of Rangers fans, bearing in mind more than 100,000 Rangers fans had descended upon Manchester, 3/4 of whom had no tickets, many of whom had paid 3000-4000 pounds to be present and  comprising a sizable majority who had been drinking for 7 hours prior to kick off, I find your statement rather naive.

75,000 Rangers fans without tickets...

Many of whom paid £3,000- £4,000 to be present...

A sizeable majority of which had been drinking for upwards of 7 hours...

Exactly how the f**k am I supposed to know any of this prior to the reports coming out?

Call it naive or whatever else you want...while you figure out some way to justify your overreaction to a simple question.
Post by: FLi ! on May 15, 2008, 12:00:45 PM

well that information you quote was all very clear in the initial report that I posted  on which you were able to make the statement that you 'were in disbelief that a non-functional scoreboard could spark actual rioting in England'

I think the point is less MY 'overreaction' and more your overly fastidious nature.

Other forumites would have embraced the fact that I was providing timely information, rather than trying to find some sort of inconsistency or contradiction between what I was saying and the initial source that I quoted.

Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2008, 12:27:17 PM

well that information you quote was all very clear in the initial report that I posted  on which you were able to make the statement that you 'were in disbelief that a non-functional scoreboard could spark actual rioting in England'

I think the point is less MY 'overreaction' and more your overly fastidious nature.

Other forumites would have embraced the fact that I was providing timely information, rather than trying to find some sort of inconsistency or contradiction between what I was saying and the initial source that I quoted.

Fella...I read "Big melee....rioting... one ah de big screen failed"....in yuh post.  Or words to the effect.

I say "nah, you serious??  Lemmih go check dat out"

I den see police say it was ah minor thing...and posted that "de reports saying something different?"

You say I being 'overly fastidious'...and looking to find inconsistency and contradiction.  Like I siddung dey and say "okay game done, lemme go see what inconsistency and contradiction I could find on de board dis evening".

Fli boss...if dat make any kinda sense to you then more power yes fella. 

I overs dis.
Post by: mukumsplau on May 15, 2008, 02:57:24 PM
rangers is shit
dey fans is shit
Post by: Deeks on May 15, 2008, 03:21:58 PM
That final should have been played at Old Trafford. It would have been able to accommodate all those Rangers fans.  This is like a "home game" for the Scots.
Post by: boss on May 16, 2008, 02:36:54 AM
Shame about all the trouble, because the Rangers and Zenit fans in the stadium were excellent.  :beermug:

Well, except for the mini pitch invasion. But otherwise, fantastic.

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2038/2494318055_d999f911ef.jpg?v=0)

Denis Law with the UEFA Cup
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3165/2495139732_e986e15f58.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2003/2495145684_1cb7fc2971.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2132/2494330381_9a919ed3b4.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2333/2495282808_5b2b1f2fcd.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2121/2494486861_5fae0e0555.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3282/2495322386_d7f3a9af87.jpg?v=0)
Title: Re: ugent
Post by: FLi ! on May 16, 2008, 02:51:14 AM
Sir,
my name is sadiq adekunle I'm a Nigerian by birth and a footballer.i am 18 years old an a left footer player who operate from the left side of the midfield and the same time i am finishing attacker. i will like you to be my agent and manager there in your country or else where around the  world. Sir i am a free player looking for an agent to hook up with b4 the mid season transfer window. Sir all i need from you is your acceptance to be my manager, every other responsibility wil be taking care of. I will be happy and glad to work with you as my new manager and agent. i will send to you my Curriculum Vitae,my vedio tape and my Passport hope to hear from you as soonest.. you can email me at adekunlesadiq@yahoo.com or call my number at +2347032320909
 regard
 adekunle sadiq

ahm..... ::)
Title: Re: ugent
Post by: WestCoast on May 16, 2008, 03:18:45 AM
Sir,
my name is sadiq adekunle I'm a Nigerian by birth and a footballer.i am 18 years old an a left footer player who operate from the left side of the midfield and the same time i am finishing attacker. i will like you to be my agent and manager there in your country or else where around the  world. Sir i am a free player looking for an agent to hook up with b4 the mid season transfer window. Sir all i need from you is your acceptance to be my manager, every other responsibility wil be taking care of. I will be happy and glad to work with you as my new manager and agent. i will send to you my Curriculum Vitae,my vedio tape and my Passport hope to hear from you as soonest.. you can email me at adekunlesadiq@yahoo.com or call my number at +2347032320909
 regard
 adekunle sadiq

ahm..... ::)
here's your chance to be an agent FLI !
maybe he better dan A dah by your :devil: :devil: