Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 07, 2008, 05:58:20 PM

Title: Soca Warriors let it slip, Shelton penalty rescue Reggae Boyz.
Post by: Flex on June 07, 2008, 05:58:20 PM
Soca Warriors let it slip.
Shelton penalty rescue Reggae Boyz.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

England were definitely a step too far forward for Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors a week ago, but back down against Caribbean rivals Jamaica yesterday, they earned a draw.

T&T coach Francisco Maturana's bunch bounced back from the 3-0 defeat to the English, their first loss of the year, with a 1-1 draw with the Reggae Boyz at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya. Before going into their opening 2010 World Cup qualifier against Bermuda on June 15, the Soca Warriors faced a stern test last night.

The Jamaicans looked the more enterprising team for long periods and launched an early second-half onslaught which had the Trinidad and Tobago defenders and goalkeeper Clayton Ince working overtime to earn their keep. Khaleem Hyland, who still has dreams of playing for Portsmouth in the English Premier League, was the difference between the teams.

Hyland, who just turned 19 years old on Thursday, played with the same authority he showed against England. And he produced a gem which gave Trinidad and Tobago the lead in the 29th minute. But, a disputed foul on substitute striker Luton Shelton earned Jamaica a penalty in the 90th minute which the striker converted himself.

There is nothing better to build confidence than a goal and Hyland gave the Soca Warriors a 1-0 advantage with a low shot from 20 metres out. Set up after neat work between striker Jason Scotland and midfielder Keon Daniel, Hyland gave experienced Jamaican keeper Donavan Rickets no chance with his hard, low shot which skipped off the surface and nestled into the corner of the net.

Later, Hyland almost had a repeat in the 64th minute, hitting another left-footer from outside the box which again had Rickets beaten. And a goal by substitute Kevon Carter should have stood when he ran through the defence in the 84th minute. But, although he did not pass to Scotland, the forward was ruled to have interfered with play.

Following the recent examination by England, Maturana made some changes, employing a 4-5-1 system, with Osei Telesford playing a defensive role above the four-man defence and Swansea's Scotland on top in attack. But, there are still many things to be worked out. First, there were too many dangerous moments in the T&T defence for any coach to be comfortable.

Wide midfielder Carlos Edwards consistently saw the Jamaica captain Ricardo Gardner sneaking up the flank, but simply neglected defensive duties. And, despite the extra man, Edwards did not provide Scotland with good, regular service. Like any Caribbean derby, the game had its rough moments and Barbados referee Rayon Small also did a poor job of stemming late tackles, particularly from the Jamaicans.

For the visitors, Marlon King was particularly dangerous, hitting a couple of shots wide, and several times stopped by last-minute tackles from Dennis Lawrence and Markan Hislop. King also came closest for the Reggae Boyz, unleashing a powerful shot from the edge of the penalty area and striking the edge of the post in the 52nd minute.

Following a couple of easy victories against the likes of Grenada and Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago have now faced tough games in their last two outings. But Maturana will be hoping that since hardship often builds character, the recent tests would be enough of a character-builder exercise for the important things--the World Cup qualifying series.

Teams

T&T Squad:

1.Clayton Ince; 13.Kareem Smith, 4.Makan Hislop, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 15.Aklie Edwards (3.Ancil Farrier 77th); 5.Osei Telesford, 7.Carlos Edwards (11.Kevon Carter 72nd), 8.Khaleem Hyland, 19.Keon Daniel (17.Kevaughn Connell 72nd) (18.Stephan David 86th), 9.Aurtis Whitley (capt); 12.Jason Scotland.

Subs not used:
2.Kern Cupid, 10.Darryl Roberts, 21.Marvin Phillip, 24.Jerol Forbes.

Jamaica Squad:
30.Donovan Ricketts; 5.Ian Goodison, 14.Jermaine Taylor, 3.Simon Ford (18.Deon Burton 68th), 17.O'Neil Thompson (16.Omar Daley 46th); 7.Evon Taylor, 15.Ricardo Gardener (capt), 27.Demar Phillips, 24.Rudolph Austin; 6.Marlon King (23.Jermaine Johnson 82nd), 10.Ricardo Fuller (21.Luton Shelton 61st).

Subs not used:
1.Shawn Sawyers, 8.Jamal Campbell-Ryce, 9.O'Brian Woodbine, 11.Richard Langley, 19.Adrian Reid, 25.Keneil Moodie, Demar Stewart.

Full Time: 1 - 1

T&T: - Khaleem Hyland 29th.

JAM: - Luton Shelton 90th-Penalty.

Referee: Rayon Small (BAR)
Assistants: Jeremy Taylor (BAR), Allison Phillip (GREN)
Fourth Official: Geoffrey Hospedales (T&T)
Match Commissary: Boris Punch (T&T)
Caribbean rivalry stirs Warriors.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

England's visit to Trinidad brought much hype but it was always going to be a reunion with Caribbean rivals, Jamaica, that really whetted the appetite of the "Soca Warriors".

The final 1-1 result at the Marvin Lee Stadium on Saturday night was, arguably, fair based on the balance of play as the "Reggae Boyz" enjoyed healthy servings of ball possession and tormenting the Trinidad and Tobago defence although veteran goalkeeper Clayton Ince rarely looked in trouble.

Dr Terrence Babwah was actually the busiest man on "Team T&T" on Saturday as he spent enough time on the field treating players to merit a pair of football boots and a number on his back.

There were concerns expressed in the press box about such bitter rivals playing each other so close to their first 2010 World Cup qualifying match and the physical nature of the encounter must have worried both benches. But, at the end, France-based winger Kevaughn Connell appeared to be the only victim and his dodgy ankle may have been troubled more by the hard turf than the feisty Jamaicans.

Jamaica's Brazilian coach Rene Simoes praised the improved performance and application of the host team, who he claimed to have evaluated on their poor 3-0 loss to England on June 1.

Forever the smooth talker, Simoes spent three years at Jamaica-which culminated in a berth for the Boyz at the 1998 World Cup-and one with Trinidad and Tobago and should be well aware of the ferociousness of the inter-island rivalry.

Perhaps not. Simoes never managed a win in the Caribbean derby from six attempts for the Boyz and once as Trinidad and Tobago head coach.

Colombian Francisco Maturana appeared aroused by the pairing and was an animated figure on the touchline. His first outing against Jamaica, three months ago, ended in a last gasp 2-2 draw in Kingston that earned his squad a welcome reception on their return.

The expectations were different at home and particularly after a dismal showing in the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation's (T&TFF) Centennial Match, although Maturana was handicapped by the absence of star strikers Stern John and Kenwyne Jones.

Surely, Maturana was thinking more about avoiding defeat than miming his team plan for their opening 2010 World Cup qualifier against Bermuda when he started with a lone striker, Jason Scotland, supported by five midfielders and a four man defence.

Trinidad and Tobago beat Bermuda four times from five attempts in the past decade, with 13 goals scored to just two conceded. The lone 2-2 draw, which occurred away to Bermuda in 2004, came when the Warriors played a man short.

Ince has nine World Cup qualifying clean sheets-a national record he shares with present goalkeeper coach Michael Maurice-and would be expected to claim the accolade outright with a shut out in this weekend's encounter.

But Maturana could hardly be blamed for his caution on Saturday. Trinidad and Tobago fans can claim to be the Caribbean's top dogs with some justification after their appearance at the 2006 World Cup and a regional balance sheet that reads eight titles from 13 Caribbean Cups.

But it is worth noting that seven of the regional finals were held in Trinidad, as opposed to two each in Jamaica and Barbados.

Similarly, the Warriors regularly enjoyed home advantage in their meetings with Jamaica. In 13 clashes since 1997, nine matches were played in Trinidad with two in Kingston and another two at neutral venues. T&T had four wins-one via a penalty shoot out-and as many draws with five losses and 15 goals scored to 17 conceded.

There is little breathing space between the two proud nations and none was offered on the weekend.

As such, it was a pleasure to see United Petrotrin playmaker Keon Daniel produce his best performance on the left flank to date, while teenager Khaleem Hyland continued to impress with his versatility, not to mention the opening goal. Left back Aklie Edwards pushed his chest out too and showed the composure and bravado necessary for the occasion.

There were positives that Maturana would build on against Bermuda. History suggests a straightforward victory is in the making. Jamaica are never such a prospect.
Soca Warriors ready for opening W/Cup qualifier.
By: Kern De Freitas (Express).

Settled Squad

After a long preparation stint, which kicked off with the advent of coach Francisco Maturana of Colombia in January, Trinidad and Tobago's senior football team may have finally settled on a squad for the 2010 World Cup qualifiers.

T&T are on the threshold of the home leg of their opening Caribbean Football Union (CFU) qualifying match against Bermuda on June 15 and assistant coach Anton Corneal says that, notwithstanding injury, their current team will form the core of the qualifying squad.

"It has to be. We're just seven days away from our first qualifier," Corneal told the media following T&T's 1-1 draw with Jamaica at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, on Saturday night.

Trinidad and Tobago did have some setbacks in the experience department. They will certainly be without Sunderland FC striker Kenwyne Jones for the early qualifiers, after he suffered "serious" ligament damage to his knee in last week's 3-0 friendly loss to England, according to Corneal.

Jones' s strike partner, Southampton's Stern John, was also a casualty of that match, and missed out on the Jamaica encounter, while left winger Kevaughn Connell picked up an injury against the Jamaicans.

Although John has hopes of retaining his place on the field soon, Connell's near future is still uncertain pending assessment of his left knee problem.

Still, Corneal feels T&T have enough depth on their bench to cover for the injured players and was pleased with the Soca Warriors showing against the Jamaicans.

"(I admired) the intensity...we were first to the ball, fastest to the ball," Corneal said after the game.

The hosts were considerably more confident in their meeting with Jamaica than against England the week before and should have won the encounter but for some questionable officiating.

Corneal attributed the difference in his team's performance to the difference in class of opponents, implying that it would be unfair to compare T&T's two latest outings.

"That would be like comparing Jamaica and England," he explained. "It was a much better team in England in every position on the field. It was much more difficult against them."

He continued: "This (T&T versus Jamaica) is always a local derby which is physical whether you play for a trophy, or for marbles, it's always going to be a difficult game."

Jamaican coach Rene Simoes, although insisting the 1-1 result was a fair reflection of the match, was impressed with T&T as well.

"If they (T&T) showed this spirit against England," Simoes suggested, "the difference...the English could've beaten Trinidad, but not (so) easily if they showed the same spirit (as against Jamaica)."

But more than the result, the Brazilian was pleased with the spunk his team showed in the second half of the encounter.

"I can guarantee you if that isn't the spirit (like Saturday's match), there is no World Cup (spot)," he said.

"We worked very hard. We had one chance and we capitalised on it. It was a World Cup spirit. If you don't have the spirit the two teams showed today, fighting, you can't make it to the World Cup."

Related

Andre Samuel Report (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=36571.msg437517#msg437517).

Touches Report (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=36559.msg437544#msg437544).
Title: Re: Soca Warriors let it slip, Shelton penalty rescue Reggae Boyz.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 06:04:58 PM
i have to see this game ......
Post by: elan on June 07, 2008, 06:09:17 PM
It sound like the usual problems. Defenders not up to standard and mids not involved a whole lot. Same thing with going forward. We may have done a little better in going forward in this game. Tactically we did nothing to try and relieve the pressure JA put on us from the start of the 2nd half. We tried to play the same game from start to finish no set of adaptation, making us very predictable during the game.

Yet, I can't see Bermuda giving any real problems, when you think that Stern did not play.
Title: Wim please come back! PAncho pls go back to colombia
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2008, 06:12:40 PM
and kindly take the Corneals with you. I was willing to give this man a bligh but I seeing another Bertille in the making. Imagine we playing at home and this man playing a defensive formation 4-5-1. He is using Telesford and whitley to do what Birchall was doing alone. It seems that he has no balls to stand up to the poisonous Corneals.
My first hint was when I saw Alvin praising him. Folks if any of you know Alvin well you would know that any praise from Alvin means you are his bitch. Then the Lasana story broke the whole thing open.
We could forget 2010. Its horrible enuff having Warner and his merry men but Corneals too...... Nahhh that is overkill, murder and suicide all in one.
Title: Re: Wim please come back! PAncho pls go back to colombia
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 06:15:35 PM
and kindly take the Corneals with you. I was willing to give this man a bligh but I seeing another Bertille in the making. Imagine we playing at home and this man playing a defensive formation 4-5-1. He is using Telesford and whitley to do what Birchall was doing alone. It seems that he has no balls to stand up to the poisonous Corneals.
My first hint was when I saw Alvin praising him. Folks if any of you know Alvin well you would know that any praise from Alvin means you are his bitch. Then the Lasana story broke the whole thing open.
We could forget 2010. Its horrible enuff having Warner and his merry men but Corneals too...... Nahhh that is overkill, murder and suicide all in one.

:o :o :o Suffice it to say  I think Maturana honeymoon might be officially over.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 06:17:33 PM
have these guys improved ??
Title: Wim please come back. Pancho pls go back to colombia
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2008, 06:21:33 PM
Title: Re: Wim please come back. Pancho pls go back to colombia
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 06:23:14 PM
yes yes yes sub  tell them
Post by: truetrini on June 07, 2008, 06:23:52 PM
yeah Bring back wim...we coconut trees suddenly lonely!

steups
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 06:24:14 PM

steups

let we keep the columbian
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2008, 06:25:39 PM

steups
Not with LP and the rest of the do -nothing jokers in T&T
Post by: palos on June 07, 2008, 06:27:55 PM
:o :o :o Suffice it to say  I think Maturana honeymoon might be officially over.

Maturana was a proxy spouse.  De hornerman was always in charge.

Doh get tie up.
Post by: Sando on June 07, 2008, 06:31:44 PM
Despite what excuse the Jamaicans may come up with. T&T with a below par team tie a game where the opposition had a full strength team for the second time. Imagine if we have our full slate of players.

On the Maturana note, I believe his defensively style of play is making our team look bad. When we attack Jamaica was really scared and if we had attack more we would have socred, T&T created clear cut chances unlike Jamaica who played a good game (60-40% to JAM) they didn't get one clear chance on goal, they have no idea what to do infront of goal.

Now RF and the other Jamaicans may come and say, they played all over us, but results is what matters in the end, I am sure Rene Simoes will have to run for his life once he gets back to Jamaica and I am sure the RBZ site members will be crying and not studying how they played dont matter how much RF try to color coat it, deep down he dying. Imagine playing your top 5 strikers and none couldn't score a goal on a team who had school kids and the goal scorer who doesn't even play for a club. And all them strikers and midfielder play in the UK top league, the Championship and EPL.

And for the record, T&T should have won it 2-0, but the dum Ref called off side when it clearly wasn't and the ball was already in the back of the net.
Post by: truetrini on June 07, 2008, 06:35:56 PM
who de hell in de history of T&T football play more defensive dan Beenie and Wim de dutch cyat?

how yuh does spell steups in Dutch?

triniman....I know you know how tuh spell fart and poom in ducth as yuh head was so far up wim asshole
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 06:38:14 PM
Despite what excuse the Jamaicans may come up with. T&T with a below par team tie a game where the opposition had a full strength team. Imagine if we have our full slate of players.

On the Maturana note, I believe his defensively style of play is making our team look bad. When we attack Jamaica was really scared and if we had attack more we would have socred, T&T created clear cut chances unlike Jamaica who played a good game (60-40% to JAM) they didn't get one clear chance on goal, they have no idea what to do infront of goal.

Now RF and the other Jamaicans may come and say, they played all over us, but results is what matters in the end, I am sure Rene Simoes will have to run for his life once he gets back to Jamaica and I am sure the RBZ site members will be crying and not studing how they played dont matter how much RF try to color coat it, deep down he dying. Imagine playing your top 5 strikers and none couldn't score a goal on a team who had school kids and the goal scorer who doesn't even play for a club. And all them strikers and midifelders play in the UK top league, the Championship and EPL.

Oh my god....why do you keep saying Jamaica used a fuill strenght squad and T&T used a reserve team? Its getting annoying! With all the talent you have in the siland, you should at least have a group of 25 players who can step in and perform at any given time! We left back a number of our players, simply because everyone cant play at the same time. The hottest forward you have at the mopment is Jason Scotland, and he played from start to end. Not sure why you think Stern John would have made a difference. All you realise that world cup qualifiers start next week?  

By the way Sando...we had a 18 year old debutant standing strong in our defence today..I dont think he was seriosuly challenged all afternoon. You should have won the game 2-0? did the commentators totally get it wrong in their commentary?

Post by: Trinishottaz on June 07, 2008, 06:40:45 PM
Maturana is a JAIL BITCH .BENNYY PLZ COME BACKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK :( :( :(
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 06:42:21 PM
who de hell in de history of T&T football play more defensive dan Beenie and Wim de dutch cyat?

how yuh does spell steups in Dutch?

triniman....I know you know how tuh spell fart and poom in ducth as yuh head was so far up wim asshole

defensive against who?in england as we  were  trying to get to the next round yes   .... 
Post by: Giggsy's Chestwig on June 07, 2008, 06:43:14 PM

Beenhakker isn't coming back.

He's got Euro 2008 and WC 2010 qualifiers to think about with Poland.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 06:44:02 PM
Well thank God none of the Jkans  had the quality neccassary to put the ball in the back of the net against a rebuilding T&T team. And from big established players to boot. Can't bode well for JA's WC qualifiers. Tsk tsk.
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 07, 2008, 06:45:09 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Not to worry. You will take back your words after the Bermuda match next week.
Post by: elan on June 07, 2008, 06:48:01 PM
WE played a full strength squad (minus Stern and JK). We have no other players to join the team. If Maturana and Anton is to be believe we have to say that this is our full squad. Until Birchall and such are called back, like it or not this is our full squad.

What I want to know is where is the Tactics?

Well thank God none of the Jkans  had the quality neccassary to put the ball in the back of the net against a rebuilding T&T team. And from big established players to boot. Can't bode well for JA's WC qualifiers. Tsk tsk.

How does this bode well for us in our qualifiers? We were leading and gave that away.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 06:49:57 PM

Marlon King, Ricardo Fuller are proven goal-scorers. Fact that the didnt score today is not an indication that they dont have quality neccesary to score.
I suppose you aree also saying none of the Trini forwards have the qulity to score either. Scotland is in teh form of his life...how many shots did he manage to get on goal today?
Post by: 1-868 on June 07, 2008, 06:50:58 PM
sounds like a facking tief match to me.....
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2008, 06:52:30 PM

Maturana was a proxy spouse.  De hornerman was always in charge.

Doh get tie up.

Well it is a sickening Cabal that is running our football. Whenever Jack gets rid of someone it means that that someone has the balls to stand up to him. I have now officially resigned LP to the rank of eunuch, along with the rest..... Corneals included. These people are selling out the country for 30 pieces of silver. They are unable to hug the spotlight so F U T&T. Poor Bertille had big brass balls. He just never had a clue about coaching. I can boldly predict from now that if Maturana stays our journey is officially over.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 06:53:50 PM
sounds like a facking tief match to me.....

Did you see the incident that lead to the penalty? I bet you didnt. So sure, the easiest way for you to comfort yourself is to blame the man with the whistle. I would probably do the same too if I was in your shoes. But its hardly likely that a Bajan ref, nad picked by Jack Warner, would be biased towards Jamaica in Trinidad. VERY UNLIKELY!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 06:54:10 PM
WE played a full strength squad (minus Stern and JK). We have no other players to join the team. If Maturana and Anton is to be believe we have to say that this is our full squad. Until Birchall and such are called back, like it or not this is our full squad.

What I want to know is where is the Tactics?

How does this bode well for us in our qualifiers? We were leading and gave that away.

In truth the referee gave it away. Our concern for the qualifiers is building a team of the best players possible. But since I did not see the game I'll have to wait on Touches and them fellas for the match reports, what we have and what we need.
Post by: E-man on June 07, 2008, 06:55:32 PM
So this team could make it past Bermuda, but then what?
What will Pacho do in August/September with Cuba, Guatemala, USA?

Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 06:59:38 PM

Marlon King, Ricardo Fuller are proven goal-scorers. Fact that the didnt score today is not an indication that they dont have quality neccesary to score.
I suppose you aree also saying none of the Trini forwards have the qulity to score either. Scotland is in teh form of his life...how many shots did he manage to get on goal today?

Yes they are proven in their leagues. Just like Yorke was a great goal scorer for Aston Villa and Manu. But he never translated that degree of scoring prowess to international ball.

Perhaps your hitmen have the same problem. Its always sad to see when big players cant even put the ball in the back of the net. Tsk tsk.

Perhaps Simoes needs to go the UK leagues yet again for some Englishmen. Perhaps there are Jkans of  Welsh or Irish descent he overlooked.

Maybe he should look at Roen Nelson who improved very very much by playing in Tdad.
Post by: truetrini on June 07, 2008, 07:01:27 PM

Put on his boots and take to the field as a player/coach maybe???

At least he eh afraid to play games like de dutch c**t
Post by: elan on June 07, 2008, 07:02:21 PM
What will Pacho do in August/September 2012 with Cuba, Guatemala, USA?

We don't need to worry about that yet. By that time we will get it right.
Post by: Sando on June 07, 2008, 07:02:50 PM
Oh my god....why do you keep saying Jamaica used a fuill strenght squad and T&T used a reserve team? Its getting annoying! With all the talent you have in the siland, you should at least have a group of 25 players who can step in and perform at any given time! We left back a number of our players, simply because everyone cant play at the same time. The hottest forward you have at the mopment is Jason Scotland, and he played from start to end. Not sure why you think Stern John would have made a difference. All you realise that world cup qualifiers start next week?  

By the way Sando...we had a 18 year old debutant standing strong in our defence today..I dont think he was seriosuly challenged all afternoon. You should have won the game 2-0? did the commentators totally get it wrong in their commentary?

Stern socred 19 goals in the champion league, Scotland scored 26 in the league one, do the math.

The penalty was cause by Ince, he handled outside the box....

And yes, we had a good goal dis-allowed, read your friend Peter report later, the Jamaican who lives in T&T....

Excatly who were the players you left home ? as far as I am concern these are all first team members, the 2 Taylor apart.

Donovan Ricketts - #1
Ian Goodison - should retire.
Jermaine Taylor - quiet game.
Simon Ford - shabby, send him back to his birth country (Scotland).
Deon Burton - should retire.
O'Neil Thompson - should retire.
Omar Daley - good game.
Evan Taylor - poor game, good kick
Ricardo Gardener - did he even play...
Demar Phillips - inconsistent.
Rudolph Austin - played ok.
Marlon King - played good.
Jermaine Johnson - one good touch, nothing further.
Ricardo Fuller - did he play.
Luton Shelton - try, but was tame for most parts.

Them Jamaicans will kill Rene Simoes in that plane ride back home. And they say they played good and it was only a friendly, yet they wanted to kill him when T&T tie them 2-2 in Jamaica (Feb)..... STEUPS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! only dam excuses..... lets see what Jamaica2099 will come up with now...

Lets go Bahamas....
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 07:03:13 PM

since when wim was afraid to ply games yuh mean wim had no games to play cause of the ttff  
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 07, 2008, 07:08:57 PM

since when wim was afraid to ply games yuh mean wim had no games to play cause of the ttff 
Wim turn down one tournament and truetrini record stick.
Post by: injunchile on June 07, 2008, 07:10:13 PM
I listened to Lincoln- Butcher- Vidale= on I95.5- The Concensus was that both Edwards had a good game. The Left back position is secured with Farrier as the back up. Telesford role is crucial for the team.Andre even said That Scotland is better than Stern for that holding the ball role because he comes back to help the defence.
 We get thief as a corner should have been given before the penalty and Ince touched the ball so it should not have been a penalty.
 We loose the ball too often in the middle of the park and we should have slowed the game instead we played Jamaican game.
 They thought Matarana made two good subs .
 Ince was the stand out player in this game.
Post by: E-man on June 07, 2008, 07:17:05 PM

There are 8 weeks between June 22 and August 20. What do you envision the TTFF and Mats doing in that time? Have any more friendly ties been announced for that time period?

Post by: palos on June 07, 2008, 07:19:46 PM
All things considered, a good result for T&T.

Should have been a win.  Allowing a team to equalise in injury time isn't acceptable but I'll take the result.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 07:21:06 PM
I listened to Lincoln- Butcher- Vidale= on I95.5- The Concensus was that both Edwards had a good game. The Left back position is secured with Farrier as the back up. Telesford role is crucial for the team.Andre even said That Scotland is better than Stern for that holding the ball role because he comes back to help the defence.
 We get thief as a corner should have been given before the penalty and Ince touched the ball so it should not have been a penalty.
 We loose the ball too often in the middle of the park and we should have slowed the game instead we played Jamaican game.

Dosent Julius James play that position. If so then that spot might be ready for some competition.
Post by: Sando prince on June 07, 2008, 07:24:33 PM

There are 8 weeks between June 22 and August 20. What do you envision the TTFF and Mats doing in that time? Have any more friendly ties been announced for that time period?

Think there is a game against Pananma coming up soon
Post by: dwn on June 07, 2008, 07:24:48 PM

Think about what you say there.

After watching that game Id say:-

Positives:
1. The midfield (Carlos, Keon Daniel, Hyland and Whitley) all look confident and composed with the ball at their feet.
2. Scotland looked solid upfront. Held up the ball well and showed good footwork.

Negatives:
1. We have no depth. The subs came on and there was a clear gap in quality and composure from the players.
2. Our defence is shaky.
3. Osei is not good enough to be a defensive midfielder at international level. His distribution is poor. He has the hustle but lost possession too many times and just doesn't look like a natural midfielder.

Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 07:24:58 PM

Should have been a win.  Allowing a team to equalise in injury time isn't acceptable but I'll take the result.

thats how football is. Whitley equalized in stoppage time in Kingstoin last month..Shelton returned the favor today.
Post by: dinho on June 07, 2008, 07:26:57 PM

Think about what you say there.

After watching that game Id say:-

Positives:
1. The midfield (Carlos, Keon Daniel, Hyland and Whitley) all look confident and composed with the ball at their feet.
2. Scotland looked solid upfront. Held up the ball well and showed good footwork.

Negatives:
1. We have no depth. The subs came on and there was a clear gap in quality and composure from the players.
2. Our defence is shaky.
3. Osei is not good enough to be a defensive midfielder at international level. His distribution is poor. He has the hustle but lost possession too many times and just doesn't look like a natural midfielder.

dwn did you actually see the game? 

finally some perspective from an eye witness and not this fishing in the dark based on the commentary of the ever reliable Anil Roberts.
Post by: sub1 on June 07, 2008, 07:27:52 PM

thats how football is. Whitley equalized in stoppage time in Kingstoin last month..Shelton returned the favor today.

Wrong....the bajan ref returned the favor
Post by: Sando prince on June 07, 2008, 07:28:10 PM

Dosent Julius James play that position. If so then that spot might be ready for some competition.

James is a central defenderr like Lawrence and Hislop...does not play left back..remember he was called up in the past but injury prevented him from playing
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 07, 2008, 07:32:42 PM
Tsk Tsk. I guess Simoes was right about using their artificial turf as home advantage. And I guess King, Burton and the other Reggae Boyz were correct in their assumption.

Knowing that T&T could not play with the same team as the one in the Office. Mutarana made sure to use all your overseas players that he called up with the exception of injured Jones and John. So that T&T was as the same strength as the Reggae Boyz.

The turf will only help T&T for so much time until.......? 8)  
Post by: Sando on June 07, 2008, 07:36:41 PM
Tsk Tsk. I guess Simoes was right about using their artificial turf as home advantage. And I guess King, Burton and the other Reggae Boyz were correct in their assumption.

Knowing that T&T could not play with the same team as the one in the Office. Mutarana made sure to use all your overseas players that he called up with the exception of injured Jones and John. So that T&T was as the same strength as the Reggae Boyz.

When Costa Rica and USA use artificial turf no one has a problem with it.

When Mexico use high altitude, no one complains...

Now shut the hell up...
Post by: Themanfriday on June 07, 2008, 07:37:29 PM

how much 3 against you 23 britz  :rotfl:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 07:47:02 PM
T &  T 1 - JA 1

We lined up like this

Ince

Smith              Hislop                 Lawrence             A. Edwards

Telesford

Otis           Hyland       

C. Edwards                                                Daniel

Scotland

I left home about 4:20 and was in a seat in the bleacher section behind the goal to the north  at 4:45.  It was me, Laventille riddim section and about 8 other supporters in that section at the time. Whoever thought there would be trouble for seats was dead wrong.

Anyway game start. And the usual pattern emerged. Slow easy passes in the defense, give Otis d ball let him change the side to advance up the wing and mostly on the left. The more experienced Jamaican side looked more confident in possession of the ball and sprung several through passes on the right side especially. Kareem Smith did alright with them but he his want to hold the ball was detrimental at times. Captain Whitley and lieutenant Lawrence scolded him for this.

Jamaican striker # 10 was rendered ineffective for most of the half due to combination of good organisation and relatively good offside trap the T&T defense employed throughout the game.

The comment about T&T being pressured more by Jamaica than England is absolutely true. There was definitely less time and space to operate in and the usual elbows and pushed occurred. Jamaica earned quite a corners and brought Ince into serious action twice in the first half. He parried both shots over the bar. He commanded his area well throughout the game and dealt with Jamaican crosses which to be fair, were not that impressive.

After the brief rain shower in the first half the riddim section emerged and so did T&T. Akile Edwards picked a loose Jamaican pass from a restart and had a nice interplay with Daniel who found Otis in space which Captain wasted no time with and dispatched it low to the Keeper's right. I think his(the keeper)  view was impeded by his own scrabbling defense. I estimate it to be around 30 mins, I have to estimate because they forget to start the clock in the second half.

Jamaica began to take the fight to T&T more and Telesford went into the referee's book for showing dissent after he fowled a player 30 yards from goal.It was foolish and unnecessary. I did appreciate his fight throughout the game though.

To my left was a group of drunken rastas who was buildin a weed in the open for everybody to see. It was a cool scene, nobody ent do them nothing and police was still by the gate anyway. By this time they joined in a chorus of "Allyuh by nuts from meh nah" It was a jovial atmosphere up there behind the goal and  first half ended 1-0 to the Soca Warriors.

The second half started and it was all Jamaica for the first 10 mins. They created several opportunities capitalizing on their speed advantage on the wings. Ince dealt with all their submissions with ease.

If allyuh find I ent talk bout Scottie is not because he play shit is just that he was the lone striker and it was difficult for him to do any thing with 2 hard back Jamaicans on him all the time. Mid way through the second half the service especially from long pass from inside the T&T half improved. Scottie as we know is not speedy but will hold his own, and so he did. He and Carlos had some nice interplay but It was quite isolated in my opinion. The progress always resulted in a pass backward to Otis or Hyland who had a quiet game.

Carlos was subbed for Carter, and Daniel for Connel and Edwards for Farrier I suppose the tactic was to bolster the defense by adding pace on the flank and be able to spring a counter when available. It worked once with Carter but the move was nullified by a wrong offside call.  The Jamaicans had the ball for longer periods and pressed hard. T&T did not deal well with their pace and resorted to time wasting tactics. with more than 15 mins to spare. I was disappointed to see that we were unable to keep the ball away from Jamaicans after taking the lead. It was and open game throughout.

The Riddim section changed the beat to reggae and we started to chant "Beat Jamaica , Beat Jamaica now" with 5 minutes to go. The taunt was entertaining for the moment but did not deter the Jamaicans. They sprang another through pass where Ince was deemed to have impeded the attacker. PENALTY was the call from the bajan official. I can't say if it was or not from my angle. But Shelton I believe it was shot to Ince's right and beat him. Understandably the ref was very unpopular at this time and we began to chant that grand ole hymn "The referee is a  Bullaman" He even blow the game off on a T&T attack. 1-1 it ended and fair result I think.

There is a great deal of work to be done. The defense does not deal well with pace at all. I am happy with Otis' performance but I still think there is room for improvement. It is good that he is coping with his leadership role and was our best player. Highland was not faded in and out of the game too often. I think Carlos had an average game. Ince recovered well from the England performance. If he did foul the player it was the single stain on good performance.

One Addition. The Jamaican subs where more effective than ours. I know we have a lil injury situation but that speaks to the issue of depth in the squad. 

Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 07:48:47 PM
I now hearing is Hyland score the goal ?
Post by: Lionpaw on June 07, 2008, 07:50:47 PM
Trinidad was outclassed. Man I feel good. Even though we drew both friendlies we surely outclassed u all. I thought u all were the team with "flair" in the caribbean. Unnuh cant even make 3 passes? U were totally outplayed on your own home soil. Even if we lost 1-0 I would've still felt proud(just a friendly). We dominated u even moreso than England did. We just really need to work on our finishing and we'll be on our way. Jamrock mi say!!
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 07:51:37 PM
Trinidad was outclassed. Man I feel good. Even though we drew both friendlies we surely outclassed u all. I thought u all were the team with "flair" in the caribbean. Unnuh cant even make 3 passes? U were totally outplayed on your own home soil. Even if we lost 1-0 I would've still felt proud(just a friendly). We dominated u even moreso than England did. We just really need to work on our finishing and we'll be on our way. Jamrock mi say!!
Outclass ? Steups
Post by: TrinInfinite on June 07, 2008, 07:55:57 PM
service breds, we dont have in the mid, when you have 3 mids who are simliar players, all defensive mids bc our defense is weak, it leaves no room for creativity, guerra should have featured in the match or even tinto to inject some form of creativity in the mid to creat opps for the strikers, keeping possession in the mid and creating chances, making space, latas was the man for this,  stern applauded latas service in the last game of the wc, it was evident also when i spoke to many of the players in manheim b4 the last game how key latas iwas in the mid and yorke playing the holding role, i hope the coaches address this quickly.

God is de BOSS....
Post by: doc on June 07, 2008, 07:59:54 PM
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Pacho is a municipality and town of Colombia in the department of Cundinamarca.

Paco is a nickname for the Spanish name of Francisco, a form of Francis.

The nickname has its origins in Saint Francis of Assisi, who was the father of the Franciscan order. His name was written by the order as Pater Comunitatis (Father of the community); by taking the first two letters of each word, the name Paco is obtained.

Ah had to get that out ;D ... Francisco "Paco" Matuarana
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 08:02:01 PM
Outclass ? Steups

He eh even see the game. Its bad when big players cant finish. With a better ref the score would be 2-0 T&T. Im telling you the way it sound to me JA problems are virtually unfixable. How can you teach big experience EPL men finishing at international level....that is damn near impossible. King etc. hare great in their own leagues, but when it comes to even T&T B defence, they cant consistently put the ball in the back of the net.

Its good that JAs top strikers were unable to beat our PFL defenders. The defensive problems can be fixed. But I think JA is really f*cked, because their defence is experienced yet making the same mistakes as our young Pro-League players. What going on Lionpaw  ???
Post by: Lionpaw on June 07, 2008, 08:02:45 PM
yeah outclass. The trini commentators themselves said it. Dont try go around dat.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2008, 08:05:28 PM
Lionpaw proved what i have been saying all alone trinidad and tobago is JA measuring stick .why cuase we betta .. they said outplayed not  outclassed

Now focus on honduras and canada see if you all can beat them ..
Post by: Lionpaw on June 07, 2008, 08:06:59 PM
Outclass ? Steups

He eh even see the game. Its bad when big players cant finish. With a better ref the score would be 2-0 T&T. Im telling you the way it sound to me JA problems are virtually unfixable. How can you teach big experience EPL men finishing at international level....that is damn near impossible. King etc. hare great in their own leagues, but when it comes to even T&T B defence, they cant consistently put the ball in the back of the net.

Its good that JAs top strikers were unable to beat our PFL defenders. The defensive problems can be fixed. But I think JA is really f*cked, because their defence is experienced yet making the same mistakes as our young Pro-League players. What going on Lionpaw  ???

Who made the bad back pass that gave u the goal? I wasn't tuned in when it scored.
Post by: Babalawo on June 07, 2008, 08:07:54 PM
yeah outclass. The trini commentators themselves said it. Dont try go around dat.

yes with out a full squad and a Bajan referee... Don't listen to the commentators. You have to witness it yourself.  TnT was trying out a defensive sheme they never practise before.  if it wasnt for the penalty.  You would had no goals.    So why you Coach was sweating making all those subs
Post by: TrinInfinite on June 07, 2008, 08:08:12 PM

ah wish meh brothers from yard all the best in the first round, i hope we see allyuh in the hex, bc thats where everything counts, not a friendly, bragging rights dont take you to the world cup, winning games that count takes you to the wc.

God is de BOSS....
Post by: Sando prince on June 07, 2008, 08:09:10 PM
Listen here Bitch Ass ..did you see the game?..the words "T&T were outclassed by Jamaica" never came out the commentator mouth..Damn Ja cant beat T&T team missing key players ...although they played a squad including Gardener, King, Burton, Fuller, Ricketts, Goodison...yuh should be shame to come here and talk shit now go back to yuh hole..and hibernate like you were doing b4 !!
Post by: Lionpaw on June 07, 2008, 08:12:20 PM
Listen here Bitch Ass ..did you see the game?..the words "T&T were outclassed by Jamaica" never came out the commentator mouth..Damn Ja cant beat T&T team missing key players ...although they played a squad including Gardener, King, Burton, Fuller, Ricketts, Goodison...yuh should be shame to come here and talk shit now go back to yuh hole..and hibernate like you were doing b4 !!

Dont be all gay about being outclassed.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 08:12:29 PM
Listen here b*tch Ass ..did you see the game..the words "T&T were outclassed by Jamaica" never came out the commentator mouth..Damn Ja cant beat a T&T team missing key players with a squad including Gardener, King, Burton, Fuller, Ricketts, Goodison...yuh should be shame to come here and talk shit now go back to yuh hole..and hibernate like you were doing b4 !!

I am not bragging Sando Prince. I listend coverage of the game as it was seen through the eyes of 3 Trini commentators. In fact, if anything, I am concerned about my teams inability to score clear cut chances agaianst weak opponents with  just a week away. Although I was please with the result in the last game vs an equally weak St. Vincent.

When your already biased commentators make silly remarks like "a draw for T&T agaianst Jamaica is like a win", and "Jamaica gave us more pressure than England did last week"...you just giving us Jakans more ammunition to fight you guys with. He heh. you have to love this game called football.
Post by: Sando prince on June 07, 2008, 08:15:48 PM

...look in de mirror at that tight pants yuh wearing and then look at yuh bleach out face...then you will Know what is gay.....JA is overrated and yuh shame about it..
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 08:16:10 PM

ah wish meh brothers from yard all the best in the first round, i hope we see allyuh in the hex, bc thats where everything counts, not a friendly, bragging rights dont take you to the world cup, winning games that count takes you to the wc.

God is de BOSS....

I dont think jamaicans generally brag when they tie with a caribbean side....so I dont know why you think anyone is bragging. The plan was to go to T&T, outplay you, and come away with a victory. We failed to accomplish the mission.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 08:17:47 PM

...look in de mirror at that tight pants yuh wearing and then look at yuh bleach out faced...then you will Know what is gay.....JA is overrated and yuh shame about it..

Funy that you think Jamaica is "over-rated". I cant recall ever seeing anyone on here ever giving Jamaica much of a high rating from day one....so that statement is slightly out of context.
Post by: E-man on June 07, 2008, 08:20:29 PM

Pacho is a municipality and town of Colombia in the department of Cundinamarca.

Paco is a nickname for the Spanish name of Francisco, a form of Francis.

The nickname has its origins in Saint Francis of Assisi, who was the father of the Franciscan order. His name was written by the order as Pater Comunitatis (Father of the community); by taking the first two letters of each word, the name Paco is obtained.

Ah had to get that out ;D ... Francisco "Paco" Matuarana

Yeah in general it's true Paco is the nickname, but Maturana is known as Pacho - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francisco_Maturana

Post by: fishs on June 07, 2008, 08:22:09 PM

I think the result was a good one for the coach, of course winning the game would have been the desired result.
 But the positives are we did not concede an early goal , we scored first and they had to equalise on a questionable penalty call.
Seems to me apart from the England game the negative reports on the team gets less with every game.
Maturana is building a team and it takes time , he has only had the team really for 5 months .
I suppose the expectation is that we should have a team already that can beat the likes of Mexico but the 2006 team was only able to do that with Yorke and Latapy on song and they are now retired apart from that Mexico had already qualified when we beat them.
I am not into giving coachs "a chance" or honeymoon periods but I have seen nothing to warrant denigrating the coach at this stage, in fact most of the angst here is because of team selection but that is a another story.
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 07, 2008, 08:29:08 PM

how much 3 against you 23 britz  :rotfl:
If it's that humorous. Name the 23 foreign players.
Post by: dwn on June 07, 2008, 08:30:12 PM
dwn did you actually see the game? 

finally some perspective from an eye witness and not this fishing in the dark based on the commentary of the ever reliable Anil Roberts.

I was at the game.

Jamaica did not outclass Trinidad. They may have gotten more shots/crosses but they weren't threatening.

I think our distribution out of the back is our weakness. Our defenders and our defensive midfielder aren't good passers of the ball. They're fine with backwards and sideways passing but they make too many incomplete forward passes. Smith especially looked nervous.
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2008, 08:34:28 PM
So I coulda reach and spend meh 200 then thanks Jah
Post by: g on June 07, 2008, 08:39:07 PM
The officiating was horribe..... To many bad calls and the penalty was not a penalty.

All things considered a draw was a fair result. It was a firey encounter and we did not back down from any challege which was what I was most pleased about.

We need about 2-3 more games for the foriegn pros to gel properly with the local based, it was more cohesive tonight but not the finished article. The Bermuda games should be good for that as I am not worried about us getting through those games.
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2008, 08:40:51 PM
Are u worried bout Cuba, USA and Guatemala dat is d question
Post by: Lionpaw on June 07, 2008, 08:41:31 PM
The officiating was horribe..... To many bad calls and the penalty was not a penalty.

All things considered a draw was a fair result. It was a firey encounter and we did not back down from any challege which was what I was most pleased about.

We need about 2-3 more games for the foriegn pros to gel properly with the local based, it was more cohesive tonight but not the finished article. The Bermuda games should be good for that as I am not worried about us getting through those games.

Jack didnt pay the ref enough money to cheat JA?
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 08:42:16 PM
So I coulda reach and spend meh 200 then thanks Jah
You coulda walk in 6:00 a take a seat of your choice.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 08:43:32 PM

Jack didnt pay the ref enough money to cheat JA?
In all fairness LP there were quite a few bad decisions in Jamaica's favour.
Post by: g on June 07, 2008, 08:43:55 PM

Very worried, we need to get some more games with the combined squad to do battle in the next rounds..... Ah also don't  like the lack of width we playing with. Daniel and Edwards both playing too inside.
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 07, 2008, 08:45:04 PM
Outclass ? Steups

Its good that JAs top strikers were unable to beat our PFL defenders. The defensive problems can be fixed. But I think JA is really f*cked, because their defence is experienced yet making the same mistakes as our young Pro-League players. What going on Lionpaw  ???
I won't blame Trinis for putting on this much bravado. Knowing that the possession percentage was against their "young team" as they want to believe. The Reggae Boyz reveal the ugly truth about the T&T "young rebuilding team": this is T&T's true team
Apart from John and Jones who are injured and retired Yorke and other veteran World Cup players. Who are the out of season players that Mutarana and Jack can call upon.
When the situation becomes desperate for T&T. Jack will once again look toward the retired T&T players for help.    
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2008, 08:45:12 PM
There's a shocking lack of perspective afoot on this board.  Men only want victories...at seemingly any cost.  The purpose of friendlies to evaluation...player evaluation and evaluation of tactics and mid-game strategy.  If you lose by playing defensive football, but achieve your aim of evaluating your defensive play (even if they fall down on deyself...at least you know what yuh wukking wid) then you have realized the purpose of the friendly.

Save the collective angst for the games that count.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 08:47:28 PM

Very worried, we need to get some more games with the combined squad to do battle in the next rounds..... Ah also don't  like the lack of width we playing with. Daniel and Edwards both playing too inside.
I find so too. I think part of this is because Daniel is not really a naturally wide player. Carlos had been cutting inside often since the England contest. I figure is to find another outlet to deliver service.
Post by: Sando on June 07, 2008, 08:48:05 PM
Outclass ? Steups

Its good that JAs top strikers were unable to beat our PFL defenders. The defensive problems can be fixed. But I think JA is really f*cked, because their defence is experienced yet making the same mistakes as our young Pro-League players. What going on Lionpaw  ???
I won't blame Trinis for putting on this much bravado. Knowing that the possession percentage was against their "young team" as they want to believe. The Reggae Boyz reveal the ugly truth about the T&T "young rebuilding team": this is T&T's true team
Apart from John and Jones who are injured and retired Yorke and other veteran World Cup players. Who are the out of season players that Mutarana and Jack can call upon.
When the situation becomes desperate for T&T. Jack will once again look toward the retired T&T players for help.   

At least its retired T&T players and not foreign born retired players like Jamaica have.
Post by: oconnorg on June 07, 2008, 08:48:41 PM
The officiating in this game was piss poor.. Piss poor >:(
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 08:50:20 PM
I never see a good referee from Barbados.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 08:50:27 PM
Outclass ? Steups

At least its retired T&T players and not foreign born retired players like Jamaica have.

By the way Sando, of the 11 players that start today for Jamaica, who were the ones born outside of Jamaica?

The guy who scored the penal is Jamaican right through still.
Post by: Reggaefan on June 07, 2008, 08:51:07 PM

Makes you wonder why he was hand-picked by Jack Warner.
Post by: oconnorg on June 07, 2008, 08:52:41 PM

Makes you wonder why he was hand-picked by Jack Warner.

Boy that is a DAMN good question.. We ALWAY having issues with these Bajan Ref's .. Jeezus krist...

Jah Gol, I wanna protest out site concacaf.

" BAN ALL BAJAN REF's "
Post by: g on June 07, 2008, 08:57:16 PM
There's a shocking lack of perspective afoot on this board.  Men only want victories...at seemingly any cost.  The purpose of friendlies to evaluation...player evaluation and evaluation of tactics and mid-game strategy.  If you lose by playing defensive football, but achieve your aim of evaluating your defensive play (even if they fall down on deyself...at least you know what yuh wukking wid) then you have realized the purpose of the friendly.

And i still not sure if the strategy was to be defensive we seemed quite purposeful going forward even though the passing was not the greatest ... What i did see was the coaching staff trying different things tactically. He started with Daniel in the hole right behind Scotland and Hyland out on the left. We did play a little better with Telesford playnig in front of the back 4 in the England game and he just gave that formation another try in this game. We still haven't found a solution for that left side of midfield IMO. What we doing is putting central midfielders out on the wing and hoping that it will work out and all it really doing is causing an imbalance in midfield cause both Daniel and Hyland constantly drift inside to see the ball. But because we enjoyed more possession this game we got some runs from left back down the flank.

I just liked the level of passion and intensity from this game, it was the closest thing we could get to mirroring a WCQ at this time. With the result well i always like a win and i believe winning is a habit but i don't think we will be any less confident after this game.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 09:02:37 PM
There's a shocking lack of perspective afoot on this board.  Men only want victories...at seemingly any cost.  The purpose of friendlies to evaluation...player evaluation and evaluation of tactics and mid-game strategy.  If you lose by playing defensive football, but achieve your aim of evaluating your defensive play (even if they fall down on deyself...at least you know what yuh wukking wid) then you have realized the purpose of the friendly.

And i still not sure if the strategy was to be defensive we seemed quite purposeful going forward even though the passing was not the greatest ... What i did see was the coaching staff trying different things tactically. He started with Daniel in the hole right behind Scotland and Hyland out on the left. We did play a little better with Telesford playnig in front of the back 4 in the England game and he just gave that formation another try in this game. We still haven't found a solution for that left side of midfield IMO. What we doing is putting central midfielders out on the wing and hoping that it will work out and all it really doing is causing an imbalance in midfield cause both Daniel and Hyland constantly drift inside to see the ball. But because we enjoyed more possession this game we got some runs from left back down the flank.

I just liked the level of passion and intensity from this game, it was the closest thing we could get to mirroring a WCQ at this time. With the result well i always like a win and i believe winning is a habit but i don't think we will be any less confident after this game.

Thats another thing, what he was doing there ?
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 07, 2008, 09:05:14 PM
Outclass ? Steups

Yeah! I'm thinking that it's Chris Birchell who made them retire. A draw shows that T&T has no real depth as the qualifiers will reveal.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 09:06:25 PM
[We still haven't found a solution for that left side of midfield IMO. What we doing is putting central midfielders out on the wing and hoping that it will work out and all it really doing is causing an imbalance in midfield cause both Daniel and Hyland constantly drift inside to see the ball. But because we enjoyed more possession this game we got some runs from left back down the flank.

We have a solution, but its just that Colin Samuel on the badside of the coach right now. The depth on that side is most worrying. It seems like Keon Daniel finally stamped some auithority on a game, which is bad news for Connell. Also lets see what is developing with Aaron Downing. He most likely eh ready atall, but a few senior games against a small change CONCACAF team like Barbados, Grenada or Jamaica might do him some good.
Post by: royal on June 07, 2008, 09:10:43 PM

Well ah hope it was'nt Forde but from what ah hearing ah cyar believe it have two bajan referees full of sh!t soo.
Post by: oconnorg on June 07, 2008, 09:11:50 PM

Well ah hope it was'nt Forde but from what ah hearing ah cyar believe it have two bajan referees full of sh!t soo.

Some ass name Small.. And yess, believe it..
Post by: g on June 07, 2008, 09:18:13 PM
[We still haven't found a solution for that left side of midfield IMO. What we doing is putting central midfielders out on the wing and hoping that it will work out and all it really doing is causing an imbalance in midfield cause both Daniel and Hyland constantly drift inside to see the ball. But because we enjoyed more possession this game we got some runs from left back down the flank.

We have a solution, but its just that Colin Samuel on the badside of the coach right now. The depth on that side is most worrying. It seems like Keon Daniel finally stamped some auithority on a game, which is bad news for Connell. Also lets see what is developing with Aaron Downing. He most likely eh ready atall, but a few senior games against a small change CONCACAF team like Barbados, Grenada or Jamaica might do him some good.

The thing is eh... Daniel did have a decent game but a central midfielder will always sub conciously drift inside and that is what he does. What that allows is the opposition to close the gaps in the middle where the channels for the passes would need to go. People wonder why Cupid and Farrier had such a difficult game vs England and its because the wide players for England, Beckham and Downing play very wide and they stay wide as long as possible. It stretches out the defense , more space between wing backs and central defense more channels for strikers to run though and passes to go through. But Daniel is still the best we have on the left, Connell was never able to adapt to the pace of the game when he came on and his teammates got frustrated with him a bit.
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2008, 09:18:43 PM
Well since we into preperation we have JA again on AUG 1 dat is what d book say and wehave Panama me cyah remember d date. So we go be well ready 4 d semi final. Y worry wins not impt we gettin ready
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 07, 2008, 09:36:41 PM

The thing is eh... Daniel did have a decent game but a central midfielder will always sub conciously drift inside and that is what he does. What that allows is the opposition to close the gaps in the middle where the channels for the passes would need to go. People wonder why Cupid and Farrier had such a difficult game vs England and its because the wide players for England, Beckham and Downing play very wide and they stay wide as long as possible. It stretches out the defense , more space between wing backs and central defense more channels for strikers to run though and passes to go through. But Daniel is still the best we have on the left, Connell was never able to adapt to the pace of the game when he came on and his teammates got frustrated with him a bit.

Nice analysis. Maybe that was why Carlos was drifting inside a lot in the England game, to make sure he did not get isolated on the wide. It eh good when the next best thing to the non-starting starter is a mid who does shy away from tackles, far less stay where the coach put him. But despite that he finally seemed to have a good game.  It was this same Connell who just said he was taken aback at how slow the team play...now what happen.

Who say bring back Evans Wise  :o
Post by: Jah Gol on June 07, 2008, 09:41:37 PM

Nice analysis. Maybe that was why Carlos was drifting inside a lot in the England game, to make sure he did not get isolated on the wide. It eh good when the next best thing to the non-starting starter is a mid who does shy away from tackles, far less stay where the coach put him. But despite that he finally seemed to have a good game.  It was this same Connell who just said he was taken aback at how slow the team play...now what happen.

Conell ent Impress me yet at all. I still willing to give another shot since is not like we have an abundance of players in that position. I also wouldn't mind taking up Liburd's suggestion of giving Downing a chance. He is inexperienced but has good pace.
Post by: weary1969 on June 07, 2008, 09:46:44 PM
Inexperience is d new fashion statement so Downing should b a shoe in
Post by: Baygo Boy on June 07, 2008, 11:44:14 PM

Bakes you beat me to it. I am reading the posts and asking myself the same thing. One thing very clear - not too many forumites understand this game, or the reason for friendlies.
Post by: davidephraim on June 08, 2008, 12:01:40 AM
Good show Jah Gol... All in all ah guess de performance was good enough that i not hearin no cries for Pacho head as yet. Guess we will have to wait for Bermuda to see if and how we dominate them to test de metal.
Post by: frico on June 08, 2008, 04:46:35 AM
To all my Yardie fren ,here is some advice fuh yuh bways dem.Tell dem fi learn to play like big man  and we gwine play yuh wid we big man dem.Since allyuh cyar do dat we gwine play wid we likkle bways.Wid all yuh Brits we likkle bways shudah buss unnu rass.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 08, 2008, 05:47:34 AM

Conell ent Impress me yet at all. I still willing to give another shot since is not like we have an abundance of players in that position. I also wouldn't mind taking up Liburd's suggestion of giving Downing a chance. He is inexperienced but has good pace.

sammy is the man for that position .. does tinto play on the left btw?....
Post by: Reggaefan on June 08, 2008, 06:54:30 AM
To all my Yardie fren ,here is some advice fuh yuh bways dem.Tell dem fi learn to play like big man  and we gwine play yuh wid we big man dem.Since allyuh cyar do dat we gwine play wid we likkle bways.Wid all yuh Brits we likkle bways shudah buss unnu rass.

Why are you giving advice to Jamaica when your team was obviously second best on the day? and who are the big boys that you speak about? Lets see:

1) Marvin Andrews. Didnt he go into faith healing full time. Does he still play competitive football?
2) Cyd Gray - hear is is eating curry somewhere in India. Do they play football in India?
3) Chris Birchall. who he playing for? does he een start for them?
4) Cornell Glen - Where is he? have he been scoring goals recently?
5) Avery John. This guy was suppoosed to have signed a bog contract after the world cup. Instead he went from the MLS to the US "A" league.
6) did I miss anyone?
Post by: TRUwarrior on June 08, 2008, 07:00:33 AM

Why are you giving advice to Jamaica when your team was obviously second best on the day? and who are the big boys that you speak about? Lets see:

1) Marvin Andrews. Didnt he go into faith healing full time. Does he still play competitive football?
2) Cyd Gray - hear is is eating curry somewhere in India. Do they play football in India?
3) Chris Birchall. who he playing for? does he een start for them?
4) Cornell Glen - Where is he? have he been scoring goals recently?
5) Avery John. This guy was suppoosed to have signed a bog contract after the world cup. Instead he went from the MLS to the US "A" league.
6) did I miss anyone?

why yuh doh hush unno arse....JA rely on ah Bajan tuh save dem yesterday >:(.....allyuh get out play in d marvin lee
Post by: Jah Gol on June 08, 2008, 08:00:14 AM

sammy is the man for that position .. does tinto play on the left btw?....
Tinto plays on the right.We also have an U17 graduate from Tobago , Cyrus who is competent on the left side. I think he is with Jabloteh now.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 08, 2008, 08:12:55 AM
Any other pfl player plays on the left?
Post by: dinho on June 08, 2008, 12:14:44 PM
RF and Lionpaw allyuh take in Jamaica goal celebration??

Shelton runs to the byline, another jamaica jumps on his back and rides him and proceeds to simulate whipping him like a donkey.

CHI CHI MAN ah get kick inna faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaace....
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 08, 2008, 12:19:50 PM
Tinto plays on the right.We also have an U17 graduate from Tobago , Cyrus who is competent on the left side. I think he is with Jabloteh now.

When Cyrus matures he could be a good player for T&T. He is mobile, tracks back well and he played defence in the U-17 world cup, so he not afraid to put in a tackle. Im not sure if he is a natural wing man though. But he still young enough to train that position.
Post by: just cool on June 08, 2008, 01:27:47 PM
I'm glad we didn't win going in to the first real meaningful game in ah year( bermuda).

there are still some kinks to iron out, and if losing or a draw against any team whether JA or other wise can give us a clear prospective of where we are and what we need to work on then fine , but i much rather lose to JA and learn where i'm lacking than to beat them and have a unrealistic assesment of our team's position.

i think ppl expect too much from our players , and of course bragging rights are important to some , but let's not lose prospective, the real issue is to improve and learn from faults and mistakes made in these practice games.

beating bermuda home and away should be our only concern, going back and forth with the like of RF  and 2099  is utter fackry.

our concerns should be with bermuda, BC them boys comming to win, jamdown should be concerned as well BC bahamas has the same ambition.

but in all actuallity, we want to get by bermuda and the semifinal round before we start braggin about who better than who , and we cant do that if KJ is out until God knows when, and stern can't carry the team on his shoulders by him self for ah second time.
Post by: jamaica2099 on June 08, 2008, 06:41:05 PM
Not seeing the match a draw is a good result for the Reggae Boyz. For T&T, not so much.