Sports => Football => Topic started by: royal on July 29, 2008, 08:51:25 PM

Title: Maturana prefers to play overseas.
Post by: royal on July 29, 2008, 08:51:25 PM
Maturana prefers to play overseas.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian)

The “Soca Warriors” looks set to play their 2010 Concacaf Semifinal Round World Cup home matches outside of T&T. This was revealed by Fifa vice-president and T&T Football Federation special advisor Jack Warner at a media conference held at the Teak Room, Crowne Plaza Hotel, Wrightson Road, yesterday.

The “Soca Warriors” are set to begin its Concacaf Semifinal Round Group A World Cup Qualification home-and-away series against Cuba, Guatemala and USA beginning on August 20, in Havana and the return matches in T&T were expected to be played at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

However, with the Hasely Crawford Stadium and all other stadiums unavailable to the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) at the moment, the Queen’s Park Oval was being looked as a possible venue for home matches as was done in the past.

But according to Warner, T&T coach, Colombian Francisco Maturana is not in favour of the using Queen’s Park Oval. Since June the T&TFF and the Minsitry of Sport and Youth Affairs have been at odds over the rental agreement for the use of the stadiums, which reached it boiling point with the England match on June 1.

An agreement was eventually struck between both parties for the “Soca Warriors” and England match to be played at the venue, but since then the national team has played all of its matches at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya where seating capacity and parking remains a limited.
Title: Re: Maturana prefers to play overseas
Post by: WestCoast on July 29, 2008, 09:16:48 PM
Maturana Jackula prefers to play overseas  had to fix that ;)
 BY NIGEL SIMON
However, with the Hasely Crawford Stadium and all other stadiums unavailable ??? to the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) at the moment, the Queen’s Park Oval was being looked as a possible venue for home matches as was done in the past.

Since June the T&TFF and the Minsitry of Sport and Youth Affairs have been at odds over the rental agreement for the use of the stadiums, which reached it boiling point with the England match on June 1.

An agreement was eventually struck between both parties for the “Soca Warriors” and England match to be played at the venue, but since then the national team has played all of its matches at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya where seating capacity and parking remains a limited.
TnT Reporting leaves much to be desired of.
unavailable.......right... ::)
If Jackula takes the games offshore, it would be prudent of the government to stop financial support as this proves Jackula's "Business" dealings with regard to football and it is NOT a "National Team" question.
Post by: weary1969 on July 29, 2008, 09:18:03 PM
My daily
LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

U should play d warm ups outside as well
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on July 29, 2008, 09:19:25 PM
steupse....them games had better play right here in trinidad...all de years i was away i had to miss so many games..now i home they want to take it away! nah man
Post by: Cocorite on July 29, 2008, 09:23:44 PM
You cannot negotiate with a dictator  >:( eh JACK
Post by: weary1969 on July 29, 2008, 09:28:59 PM
Life sucks NY I say leh we call he bluff
Post by: royal on July 29, 2008, 09:40:05 PM
Something about the past.You'll probable don't know but for the '86 qualfiers Jack sold out our home game to the US and we ended up playing both games in de US.I can't remember if one or both were played in Houston.We lost the firsr can't remember the score but the second we lost in Houston 2-1.The figure people were saying then(from inside) he sold out for $48,000US.
Post by: Deeks on July 29, 2008, 09:52:33 PM
We lost both games 2-1 and 1-0. The second was played in CA. Roderick was the coach.

Maturana prefers to play overseas, or is it Jack prefer they play overseas.

I say Mr. Hunt stand firm.
Post by: elan on July 29, 2008, 10:07:22 PM
Don't go to none of the warm up games, if they insist on playing the games away. Let them haul they rass.
Post by: kiffysmooth on July 29, 2008, 10:31:14 PM
Don't go to none of the warm up games, if they insist on playing the games away. Let them haul they rass.

I here wha yuh saying breddah, but by us not going to de warm up matches go jes do more harm dan good for we players.  Dey need support regardless.  Even if it mean going dere in a black johzee....but as die hard fans, we will always be dere.....even if we disagree wid JW bullshite
Post by: weary1969 on July 29, 2008, 10:49:04 PM
Black is d colour 4 d Haiti game in honour of me mum and blade
Post by: E-man on July 29, 2008, 10:49:23 PM
Wait, the article says Pacho doesn't prefer the Oval - another misleading title.
Post by: Savannah boy on July 30, 2008, 02:59:48 AM
JW using Maturana name to deflect attention away from his callousness and dotishness.  Of course Pancho as a foreign coach would enjoy being away from our national spotlight.  He go get less fatigue  from de crowd.  Dat's for sure.  If you was in his shoes, you would not prefer to play elsewhere?  Better facilities and less traffic to start with.  Ah only have one request.  Doh put down a pile in de next rounds.  Like Machel say" Let we get to de next thing..."  Stop tinkering with de damn team so much especially on defense.
Post by: just cool on July 30, 2008, 03:09:48 AM
Allyuh doh worry, my granny always used to say the longest rope have an end, and we and all does marvel when the end reach.

jack warner reign will soon come to an end , and we will inherit a just king, just wait and see . so let him enjoy his reign BC it soon dun.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 30, 2008, 06:24:13 AM
Jackula stuttering talking up in he arse again   >:(.....call he bluff Hunt, call he flecking bluff....
Post by: KND2 on July 30, 2008, 06:33:58 AM
Play the games in Brooklyn

Man go pay $50 US easy to see the game and the stands go full.

Both Jack and the foreign based go be glad.

Post by: spideybuff on July 30, 2008, 07:05:49 AM

Exactly...but nobody care abut the players and the good of the  country, as usual. Only thinking about themselves and what better for them.
Post by: trinikev on July 30, 2008, 07:44:40 AM
Wait, the article says Pacho doesn't prefer the Oval - another misleading title.

Exactly what I was thinking, Pacho never say anything remotely close to preferring to play overseas. And i also cah believe they say the gov't stadia 'unavailable' yes.....more lies again  >:(
Title: Re: Maturana prefers to play overseas.
Post by: FF on July 30, 2008, 07:46:12 AM
Steups
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 30, 2008, 08:03:15 AM
from long time we knew it was heading in this direction, lewwe wait and see

Post by: kicker on July 30, 2008, 08:56:46 AM

Where is there an "int'l level" football (soccer) stadium in Brooklyn?
Post by: Andre on July 30, 2008, 09:16:43 AM
maturana = jack puppet
Post by: Touches on July 30, 2008, 10:17:33 AM
Funny thing is if we do well and progress to the Hex and look like we going and qualify...

All them rich people and corporate TT will find themselves in the overseas stadia to watch the warriors play.

Jack coming out good...those with money go say they supporting and all the foreign based happy that the show comes to a venue near you.

As for me...I go watch it on tv yes...entertainment!

Post by: trinikev on July 30, 2008, 11:33:04 AM
Funny thing is if we do well and progress to the Hex and look like we going and qualify...

All them rich people and corporate TT will find themselves in the overseas stadia to watch the warriors play.

Jack coming out good...those with money go say they supporting and all the foreign based happy that the show comes to a venue near you.
As for me...I go watch it on tv yes...entertainment!

Not me boss.......I refuse to go to any T&T "home" game away from T&T. I go watch it on tv jus like u
Post by: marcpurcell on July 30, 2008, 12:21:11 PM
Strange but true but I dreamt last night that T&T was playing Guatemala in Giants stadium when the upper deck collapsed.

As for playing overseas the Jack has been licking his chops to play a T&T game in the New York area. I too will stay home and boycott any home games played outside T&T.
Post by: TTR- 78 Batch on July 30, 2008, 12:30:51 PM
Maturana prefers to play overseas.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian)
??????????

I was trying to find where in Nigel Simon's article that Manturana said, or even indicated that he prefered to play overseas.
It takes a coach with very little brains and plenty plenty balls to tell ah football crazy country like T&T, that he prefer to take away we home support from we warriors. I really don't see Manturana walking around with no big balls, as for brains if he have what it takes, he will get his translator to vigorously disclaim this headline. Seems like jack paying Nigel too or what.
Post by: chinee boi on July 30, 2008, 12:37:50 PM
boy Jackula shoulda been a comedian instead of FIFA president of CONCACAF he real funny boy  :rotfl:

Next time all yuh posting dese things put it in the right section nah Jokes (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?board=8.0)
Post by: weary1969 on July 30, 2008, 10:23:08 PM
Play dem abroad more money 2 buy paint Xmas is just now
Post by: injunchile on July 31, 2008, 02:38:17 PM
Did maturana sat that in Spanish or in English? Did we play any game in the oval under Maturana's tenure.? We need to ask the President of the Republic to intervene on behalf of the masses.
Post by: Deeks on July 31, 2008, 03:00:28 PM
The President of this joke "Republic" can't change one thing.
Post by: ann3boys on July 31, 2008, 03:01:57 PM
all joking aside- does anyone really believe that we can fill a HS stadium for a wcq game? really? the MLS had how many people yesterday? maybe 3000? and the other playing teams made up the balance of the crowd....from a marketing point of view there's a better chance of getting 10,000 people to a match if it's played in TO or Orlando for the expats to watch the team...not so??
Post by: spideybuff on July 31, 2008, 03:13:32 PM
all joking aside- does anyone really believe that we can fill a HS stadium for a wcq game? really? the MLS had how many people yesterday? maybe 3000? and the other playing teams made up the balance of the crowd....from a marketing point of view there's a better chance of getting 10,000 people to a match if it's played in TO or Orlando for the expats to watch the team...not so??

Well all joking aside if we playing Cuba, he could play the game in Miami. If we playing the USA in the USA, we will get a decent crowd. And the same that applies to Cuba, applies to Guatamela (I just not sure where in the States they have their largest grouping, but i know they have good numbers). So Jack have a ready made non-trini crowd to get a decent showing overseas.

Plus he wil make money once Simpaul decide is only they could sell packages to Trinidad games. Jack have ways to make money from this angle and tell all of we to go eff we self.
Post by: SUPA on July 31, 2008, 04:29:04 PM

Well all joking aside if we playing Cuba, he could play the game in Miami. If we playing the USA in the USA, we will get a decent crowd. And the same that applies to Cuba, applies to Guatamela (I just not sure where in the States they have their largest grouping, but i know they have good numbers). So Jack have a ready made non-trini crowd to get a decent showing overseas.

Plus he wil make money once Simpaul decide is only they could sell packages to Trinidad games. Jack have ways to make money from this angle and tell all of we to go eff we self.

Cool nuh, ah just keeping quiet, praying and keeping meh fingers cross fuh dat. In all fairness, we need dat down here real bad, cuz apart from Miami FC wid A. John, we doh have any MLS games or anything of a decent standard to go and look at live in south Florida. HIGHLY BLESSED.

T&T and USA Olympic teams, let's do dis baby. I have my alarm clock ready to wake up all hour ah de morning, to support and show some love :wavetowel:.
Post by: weary1969 on July 31, 2008, 07:24:07 PM
D stellar performance v Guadelope was at d oval