Sports => Football => Topic started by: acb on October 28, 2008, 08:25:51 PM

Title: El Fenômeno - Ronaldo
Post by: acb on October 28, 2008, 08:25:51 PM
still the greatest Ronaldo ever!!!

Ronaldo: "I couldn't have gotten fatter"   Posted by Ramon Aranda on 10.28.2008

The Brazilian star has almost recovered from his knee injury.

Photo by AFP

Brazilian striker Ronaldo put on so much weight while he was injured this year that he was running out of clothes that fit him, he said on Tuesday.

The 32-year-old free agent has almost fully recovered from a career-threatening knee injury suffered in February and said he had been working hard to get back in shape and still dreamed of a national team recall.

"I couldn't have got any fatter, I was running out of clothes," Ronaldo said in an interview. "Everything on the table is nice but it makes you put on weight. Losing weight is the most difficult part."

Ronaldo has been on a rehabilitation programme at Brazilian club Flamengo since August and training with the team.

"I'm making great sacrifices and, yes, I still dream about the national team," said Ronaldo, who has not played for Brazil since the FIFA World Cup Germany 2006™ where he scored three goals. "The national team is part of my life, I have an incredible history, of many conquests and also many defeats.

"But to play for Brazil, I have to have a club and play well. I'm not going to be picked on my past or because of my sponsor, as many have said."

Tendon Rupture

Ronaldo ruptured a tendon in his left knee during a Serie A game for AC Milan against Livorno in February and was initially expected to be out for at least nine months.

The striker, who came under fire for appearing to be overweight at the 2006 finals, went on to criticise his team's preparations for the tournament in Germany.

Brazil were hot favorites for the title but were knocked out in the quarter-finals by France after a lacklustre campaign.

They spent two weeks warming up for the tournament in the Swiss lakeside village of Weggis, where each training session was watched by a crowd of about 15,000 screaming fans at a specially-constructed arena.

"We had 15 days, a reasonable period of time, but the preparation was a circus," he said. "We didn't have any structure to protect us and it took more than an hour to get to training. There was a lack of organisation.

"Every day, in the morning and in the afternoon, we had 15,000 people shouting in our ears. But I didn't hear anyone say that the preparation sucked. There was no way it could have worked."

Credit: Reuters
Title: Re: El Fenômeno - Ronaldo
Post by: Filho on October 28, 2008, 08:26:54 PM
i worried for this man.
Post by: jai john on October 29, 2008, 07:44:38 PM
only de greats make it back ... Jordan, Ali, Diego, Lance armstrong,hasley crawford gene samuel, now who or what is he ?
Post by: giggsy11 on October 29, 2008, 07:52:06 PM
only de greats make it back ... Jordan, Ali, Diego, Lance armstrong,hasley crawford gene samuel, now who or what is he ?

Only the greats who can't let go make come backs! That is why I will always respect the great Marvin Marvelous Hagler, walked and kept walking!
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2008, 08:16:43 PM

Only the greats who can't let go make come backs! That is why I will always respect the great Marvin Marvelous Hagler, walked and kept walking!

Dont forget Zinedine
Post by: kicker on October 29, 2008, 08:49:23 PM

Jai press brakes...Diego's comeback doesn't compare to the greatness of Ronaldo's comeback....Yuh forget that when Ronaldo played in WC 2002 (and top scored....scoring more goals than anyone had scored in a World Cup since 1974.... ahem ).... he was coming off 2 operations and and 2 and a half years....yes 2 and a half years of zero competitive football (unless you want to count 7 minutes of action where he re-injured himself)....

...You want to talk come backs? ....please. Ronaldo is the definition of comeback.

The best football player to have ever played the game- Ronaldo.  The only out and out goal scorer with the individual brilliance of a creative player....

Ronaldo doh need to comeback again to be great.... Unless yuh memory real short and yuh prone to gettin' caught up in the "fat man" hype...the man is a legend as is.
Post by: Filho on October 29, 2008, 08:55:15 PM

somebody didn't watch WC 2002. didn't realize the golden boot came back from 2 season ending knee opertions and two years away from the game. Dat is comeback and he is already one of the game's greats.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 29, 2008, 09:43:52 PM

Jai just because he is not an argentine doesn't mean he is not great. If you want to count diego heavy drug use in his comeback as great then go right ahead.  Ronaldo has achieved stuff that 99% of footballers will never achieve.
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2008, 10:28:46 PM
Will alway have my respect after he came back from d drama of 98 2 starr in 02
Post by: Mango Chow! on October 29, 2008, 11:48:15 PM
Ronaldo have rel belly!! (no pun intended) I was a little harsh on him in '06, but I have to retract my sentiment.  To come back, time after time after time from the painful, debilitating injuries that he has, both from a mental and physical perspective takes lots of courage.   I would never knock this man for trying too hard or too often to make a comeback.     

Post by: Ponnoxx on October 30, 2008, 04:54:07 AM

Jai press brakes...Diego's comeback doesn't compare to the greatness of Ronaldo's comeback....Yuh forget that when Ronaldo played in WC 2002 (and top scored....scoring more goals than anyone had scored in a World Cup since 1974.... ahem ).... he was coming off 2 operations and and 2 and a half years....yes 2 and a half years of zero competitive football (unless you want to count 7 minutes of action where he re-injured himself)....

...You want to talk come backs? ....please. Ronaldo is the definition of comeback.

The best football player to have ever played the game- Ronaldo.  The only out and out goal scorer with the individual brilliance of a creative player....

Ronaldo doh need to comeback again to be great.... Unless yuh memory real short and yuh prone to gettin' caught up in the "fat man" hype...the man is a legend as is.

Now I couldn't have said it any better :applause: ...I really couldnt

I can't believe that people could still fight down Ronaldo. The man is a legend...A healthy Ronaldo is the best forward ever. The funny thing is that even with all the operations and comebacks I still expect him to perform. I hope he can find somewhere to play his football up until he is ready to leave the game.
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 05:01:00 AM

Jai just because he is not an argentine doesn't mean he is not great. If you want to count diego heavy drug use in his comeback as great then go right ahead.  Ronaldo has achieved stuff that 99% of footballers will never achieve.

before yuh jump on any horse here ..why you tink I feel a man have to be argentinian to be great ? which one ah lance armstrong, Mohammed Ali, Gene samuel Michael Jordan or Hasley is argentinian ?
My point was , and you will see from de examples, de great ones doh just come back dey come back better !!!
You ever hear bout Cassius Clay ? well he was undefeated as a heavyweight boxer ...never lost a pro fight ! yet Ali was greater ! Jordan , before his injury was unstoppable in college , the world's best they said , he could do anything.. yet he won more titles after his comeback...
Diego got his foot broken in Spain after winning the world youth Cup ..he was unstoppable , lightening fast and with youth on his side ...yet the older wiser Diego with pins in his ankles is the more famous..I could go on but I think you get de message ...
I never said Ronaldo did not " achieve stuff " I was merely begging the question of whether there are greater things  to come !
Just for your info ...when Villareal played Atletico last week and drew 4-4 , it was atletico who had the argentinian players ( franco, Kun, banega, pernia,etc. ) ...yet everyone knows I back the yellow submarine, one of only three teams in the top leagues in europe which is so far unbeaten in league competition... manchester United, AC milan, real madrid and barcelona are not among this list.
get the picture ?
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 05:04:52 AM

I can't believe that people could still fight down Ronaldo. The man is a legend...A healthy Ronaldo is the best forward ever. The funny thing is that even with all the operations and comebacks I still expect him to perform. I hope he can find somewhere to play his football up until he is ready to leave the game.

nobody eh fighting down Ronaldo but doh get carried away here ....go and look at some Pele videos then come back and repeat what you just write dey ! ..while you are at it try to get some George Best and di stefano and puskas tapes ...
dais ah sweeping statement you make dere ..I eh supportin you on dat !
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 05:07:15 AM
i worried for this man.

I feel he has not yet realised his full potential ...just my view ....he eh in de class of Romario yet ..not in my book. ..but he still in it .yes ?
Post by: Ponnoxx on October 30, 2008, 05:27:29 AM

nobody eh fighting down Ronaldo but doh get carried away here ....go and look at some Pele videos then come back and repeat what you just write dey ! ..while you are at it try to get some George Best and di stefano and puskas tapes ...
I not knocking Pele and those aforementioned players but you tell me some Great defenders from Pele and Di Stefano time...I mean come on? Analyze the game on a whole. It faster, more physical, technical and tactical and guess what Ronaldo conquered all that. If anything can be said about Pele and dem fellas is that they helped shape the game and they deserve respect for that but in MY opinion Ronaldo is the best because he play in a harder era. Players like Pele would be almost normal now..Compare Ronaldo(Healthy) with any other forward in any aspect of striking...Finishing the best...Speed the best...Running off the ball the best...linking up with Midfielders the best...Dribbling at pace the best...Only heading he is not the best
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 05:38:33 AM

I not knocking Pele and those aforementioned players but you tell me some Great defenders from Pele and Di Stefano time...I mean come on? Analyze the game on a whole. It faster, more physical, technical and tactical and guess what Ronaldo conquered all that. If anything can be said about Pele and dem fellas is that they helped shape the game and they deserve respect for that but in MY opinion Ronaldo is the best because he play in a harder era. Players like Pele would be almost normal now..Compare Ronaldo(Healthy) with any other forward in any aspect of striking...Finishing the best...Speed the best...Running off the ball the best...linking up with Midfielders the best...Dribbling at pace the best...Only heading he is not the best

What can I say ? ... you have expressed your view and I have mine ...
Post by: kicker on October 30, 2008, 08:01:10 AM

Jai you are fighting down Ronaldo, because you listed a bunch of "great" comebacks and ignored his.  Either your memory of Ronaldo is short, or you're fighting him down...... because in the game of football Ronaldo's comeback has to be considered one of the greatest.

I feel he has not yet realised his full potential ...just my view ....he eh in de class of Romario yet ..not in my book. ..but he still in it .yes ?

Not in the class of Romario based on what?

You talking about ability and achievements or just personal preference?  Because if it's personal preference then so be it, because they're different players with different styles and naturally one style will appeal to some more than the other.... but if it's the ability and achievements then I really don't see how you're gonna back that up...
Post by: Peong on October 30, 2008, 08:27:48 AM
Ronaldo is the greatest striker ever.
The only reason people may doubt is because he was injured for such long periods.
And that just means they doh understand what they were seein when he was healthy.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 30, 2008, 08:32:08 AM
i worried for this man.

not in the de calss of romario, jai yuh is ah fellah who have sensible post most of the time but don't let your love for argentina cloud your barin cells when it come to giving an honest opinion on ronaldo.  If I have to pick two forwards for my team (players in the last 20 years) it would be ronaldo and romario.

you talk about highlights of other players, you need to take your own advice and look at ronaldo because it is obvious u eh see him play a lot or yuh just doh like brazilians.
Post by: Observer on October 30, 2008, 11:26:24 AM
I guess Defenders such as Beckenbauer, Vogts, Schellenger, Schulz, Charlton, Moore,  Fachetti, Rhan, Burgnich  Don't count  ;D
Post by: palos on October 30, 2008, 11:45:56 AM
not in the de calss of romario, jai yuh is ah fellah who have sensible post most of the time but don't let your love for argentina cloud your barin cells when it come to giving an honest opinion on ronaldo.  If I have to pick two forwards for my team (players in the last 20 years) it would be ronaldo and romario.

you talk about highlights of other players, you need to take your own advice and look at ronaldo because it is obvious u eh see him play a lot or yuh just doh like brazilians.

Lissen.  Jai team does colleck LEVEL licks from Brazil in BIG MAN FOOTBALL.  World Cup, Copa America, you name it...is LICKS!  De man HATE Brazil dread.  Is so it does go when yuh only gettin beat up WHEN IT TRULY COUNT from yuh nemesis.

Jai come like Wile E Coyote and Brazil is he Road Runner... ;D
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 12:09:15 PM
i worried for this man.

You come like de guardian here man ..I eh readin you ! You talking bout forwards and my statement bout Romario surprises you ? Forwards score goals ..that's what earns them the big bucks ...that is why they earn more than other players .... goals win matches ...now how many career goals has Ronaldo scored again ? and Romario ..not counting those in the twilight of his career ?..and Pele ? who someone wanted  to fight down as well ...if yuh eh close to a 1000 doh even budder ! I eh saying Ronaldo was not good or that he might not get even better but he eh in dem fellas class as a goal poacher. I see someone even belittling Pele ...wayyyy !!! I hate Brazilians how come I all he name ! he is de greatest goalscorer in football history !!! in fact let me recommend " This is Pele " the man and his methods . ..and for those who want to say dat defenders weren't as good as now ..what can I say ..corbeau doh eat sponge cake !
...and as for Palos in any serious football talk ...he come like dem " G" class horse ...best left alone !
Post by: andre samuel on October 30, 2008, 12:09:52 PM

Dont forget Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy!!

Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 12:12:06 PM
Ronaldo is the greatest striker ever.
The only reason people may doubt is because he was injured for such long periods.
And that just means they doh understand what they were seein when he was healthy.

Based on what ?? surely not goals scored, or artistic ability ? Ronaldo has been described as being more athletic than artistic and Pele ?? ..well go read the book . Greatest striker ever ??? that's kind of overboard dont you think ?
Post by: Filho on October 30, 2008, 12:46:54 PM
jai

I not getting involved in who better than who. your opinion ks yours. but that talk about goals scored is kinda toos. Doh study that Romario record. De man real fudge goal and include all kinda practice match to reach 1,000. That is a fact. If you add Romario's official total senior goals tally to games played its 311 goals in 451 games.

For Ronaldo its 313 in 427. Ronaldo has a slightly better overall strike rate and better club record. Romario's senior national team strike rate is better than Ronaldo's....71 in 85 vs. 62 in 97. Then again, Ronaldo has far more World Cup and Copa America goals and some may say that matters more.

In driect comaprisons...as direct as you can get anyway..Romario has 98 goals in 109 appearances for PSV, compare dot Ronaldo's 42 in 46. Ronaldo with the slightly better strike rate. Romario scored 34 in 46 for Barca, while Ronaldo scored 34 on 37. So better strike rate for Ronaldo again.

This isn't the only criteria for determining who is the 'better' striker...but if you want to put so much emphasis on goals scored, there is very little separating the two, with Ronaldo statistically having a better overal strike rate.

respect
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 01:06:47 PM

Lissen.  Jai team does colleck LEVEL licks from Brazil in BIG MAN FOOTBALL.  World Cup, Copa America, you name it...is LICKS!  De man HATE Brazil dread.  Is so it does go when yuh only gettin beat up WHEN IT TRULY COUNT from yuh nemesis.

Jai come like Wile E Coyote and Brazil is he Road Runner... ;D

Palos you have to tell dem fellas to get dey facts right yes ..look what dey write !

Since their first match in 1914, the national teams have played 93 matches counting friendlies, World Cup, and other official competitions (excluding matches between youth sides).

Even though there is a difference depending on whether the Argentine Football Association (AFA) or the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) does the counting, the near-balance is not in dispute. Of the 93 matches played between both national teams, 24 were draws, 35 were Brazilian victories and 34 for Argentina, with 149 goals for Argentina and 145 for Brazil. Only counting World Cup matches Brazil is ahead with 2 wins, 1 draw and 1 loss, whereas in the Copa América, Argentina has 15 victories, 8 draws and 9 defeats. Of 51 friendly matches, 21 were for Brazil, 16 for Argentina and 14 were draws. Since the first match between the two countries in 1914, the 1970s proved to be dark times for Argentina, with 6 defeats, 4 draws and no victories. Biggest wins are, for Argentina 6–1 (at home in Buenos Aires, 1940) and 1–5 (away at Rio de Janeiro, 1939), for Brazil 6–2 (at home in Rio de Janeiro, 1945 and 1960) and 1–4 (away at Buenos Aires, 1960).[2]

Argentina and Brazil's last continental final match took place on July 15, 2007 at Estadio José Pachencho Romero in Maracaibo, Venezuela and was the final match of Copa América 2007 which Brazil won by the score of 3-0. The first goal was scored by Júlio Baptista, while the second one was an own goal by Roberto Ayala after a pass attempt by Brazil's Daniel Alves, who also scored the last goal.

The latest match between the two teams was for the 2010 World Cup qualifiers held on June 18, 2008 in Belo Horizonte, Brazil. Both teams drew with a final score of 0-0.[3]

Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 01:16:16 PM
jai

I not getting involved in who better than who. your opinion ks yours. but that talk about goals scored is kinda toos. Doh study that Romario record. De man real fudge goal and include all kinda practice match to reach 1,000. That is a fact. If you add Romario's official total senior goals tally to games played its 311 goals in 451 games.

For Ronaldo its 313 in 427. Ronaldo has a slightly better overall strike rate and better club record. Romario's senior national team strike rate is better than Ronaldo's....71 in 85 vs. 62 in 97. Then again, Ronaldo has far more World Cup and Copa America goals and some may say that matters more.

In driect comaprisons...as direct as you can get anyway..Romario has 98 goals in 109 appearances for PSV, compare dot Ronaldo's 42 in 46. Ronaldo with the slightly better strike rate. Romario scored 34 in 46 for Barca, while Ronaldo scored 34 on 37. So better strike rate for Ronaldo again.

This isn't the only criteria for determining who is the 'better' striker...but if you want to put so much emphasis on goals scored, there is very little separating the two, with Ronaldo statistically having a better overal strike rate.

respect

Dis eh no Romario vs Ronaldo argument here breds ...I said in my view I prefer Romario as a striker to Ronaldo. most people  on dis forum know who I consider the best footballer. I said as well that Pele is the best striker ever as someone was labelling Ronaldo the best ever. Man say as an argentinian supporter i fighting down Ronaldo so i reminded that I named pele ( ahead of maradona ) as the best striker ever.
I read all kinda ting bout defenders in previous times being inferior. I am sure you know that forwrads did not have the protection they have today and defenders took no prisoners. I wonder how long the fatboy would have lasted when men played with their socks down and defenders had to threaten your life before dey got sent off ?
I counted 14 personal fouls by Claudio gentile on Maradona alone ...in de first half !!! ..in the WC before he got a yellow card ..and he rip down ardiles jersey in de same game yet finished that game so I eh go bother.
there is little to choose from between Romario and Ronaldo but I prefer Romario but for me neither can come close to Pele as a finisher.
Post by: kicker on October 30, 2008, 01:18:31 PM
Argentina - Brazil is a deadlocked derby....it's pretty commonly known

Palos just tryin' tuh raise yuh blood pressure and yuh takin' the chain up real nice
Post by: jai john on October 30, 2008, 01:37:33 PM
Argentina - Brazil is a deadlocked derby....it's pretty commonly known

Palos just tryin' tuh raise yuh blood pressure and yuh takin' the chain up real nice

Nah I feel Palos get in de ting late and secretly want ah crash course...and I oblige when I can  :beermug:
Post by: Filho on October 30, 2008, 02:24:59 PM
jai

respect

Dis eh no Romario vs Ronaldo argument here breds ...I said in my view I prefer Romario as a striker to Ronaldo. most people  on dis forum know who I consider the best footballer. I said as well that Pele is the best striker ever as someone was labelling Ronaldo the best ever. Man say as an argentinian supporter i fighting down Ronaldo so i reminded that I named pele ( ahead of maradona ) as the best striker ever.
I read all kinda ting bout defenders in previous times being inferior. I am sure you know that forwrads did not have the protection they have today and defenders took no prisoners. I wonder how long the fatboy would have lasted when men played with their socks down and defenders had to threaten your life before dey got sent off ?
I counted 14 personal fouls by Claudio gentile on Maradona alone ...in de first half !!! ..in the WC before he got a yellow card ..and he rip down ardiles jersey in de same game yet finished that game so I eh go bother.
there is little to choose from between Romario and Ronaldo but I prefer Romario but for me neither can come close to Pele as a finisher.

Jai. Just playing devil's advocate. Don't care who yuh prefer. Yuh entitled to hold yuh opinion in peace, but yuh emphasize Romario superiority in your opinion, was in no small part due to his superior finishing. I just pull some stats that may infer that Ronaldo and Romario's finishing were on par..depending on what kinda stats you use (for example.. I could not provide shots on goal as a % of total shots).

Also as Devil's advocate..agreed that past players didn't get as much protection from refs, but the counter is that the game was far slower. There is a reason the fellas could play without shinguards. try that today and you will have a very very short career. Players today are bigger, stronger, better athletes. The game is faster and believe it or not, more cynical. And the skilled players still get targeted
Post by: Marcos on October 30, 2008, 02:38:12 PM
That Jordan analogy is horrible. Jordan got injured in his 2nd year in the league. And I don't think anyone considered him the best in the world while he was in college or else he would have been drafted #1, not 3.

So you comparing that to Ronaldo who got TWO injuries AFTER already having won a world cup, player of the year and numerous domestic titles.

Talk about a stretch.
Title: Ronaldo Returns!
Post by: Filho on March 05, 2009, 07:46:29 AM
Some courage in dis fella. He'll always be a shadow of his former self, but he is a legend.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=624806&sec=global&cc=5901

Former World Player of the Year Ronaldo made his long-awaited return from injury on Wednesday, but it was marred by a post-match media scrum which left the player nursing a black eye.

The 32-year-old, who has spent 13 months out of the game with yet another knee injury, came on in the second half of Corinthians' 2-0 win at Itumbiara in a Copa Brasil game.

He was mobbed by the press at full time when leaving the pitch and was given the black eye when a microphone was shoved into his face. The striker was surrounded by two dozen reporters and cameramen all battling to gain the first interview after his comeback.

Ronaldo appeared to have a badly bruised and swollen right eye when he finally escaped the playing area. He left the stadium without officially addressing the press.

"He had a good debut, moved well and tried a few dribbles," Corinthians coach Mano Menezes told reporters. In his favoured number nine shirt, Ronaldo had little chance to impress back in Brazilian football for the first time in 15 years after coming on in the 67th minute.

Ronaldo ruptured a tendon in his left knee in a Serie A game playing for AC Milan against Livorno and then left the Italian club at the end of his contract last summer. He joined Corinthians in December in a surprise move and has taken nearly three months to reach match fitness.

The former Barcelona, Real Madrid, PSV Eindhoven and Inter Milan player has suffered two serious injuries to his other knee in the past and it had been speculated that he would not recover from the latest setback. He has also struggled with weight problems and a lack of form in recent seasons.

He has courted controversy throughout his career and it has been no different at Corinthians. Last week he was suspended by the club after failing to return to the team hotel on time after the players were allowed out for the evening.

Corinthians were already 2-0 ahead when Ronaldo came on, Chicao and Andre Santos having scored either side of half-time.

Title: Re: Ronaldo Returns!
Post by: sammy on March 05, 2009, 07:51:52 AM
glad to see him back.

hard luck for the black eye though.....the reporter was probably owing him that. :devil:
Post by: Jah Gol on March 05, 2009, 08:05:41 AM
Respect O Fenômeno.
Just watch the man stats
                                   () goals
Cruzeiro                         14 (12)
PSV                              45 (42)
FC Barcelona                  37 (34)
Internazionale                 68 (49)
Real Madrid                     127 (83)
Milan                              20 (9)
Corinthians                          1 (0) 

Brazil                              97 (62)

291 goals over 409.An average of 0.71 goals per game and 0.64 goals per game in International football.

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 05, 2009, 08:25:49 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/NIpZ9vObEK8
Post by: Jah Gol on March 05, 2009, 08:32:31 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HHVqONROZQA
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on March 05, 2009, 08:34:37 AM
can't deny at all the man was one of the greatest to lace up his boots, outside of the pitch tho is a next thing.
Post by: dinho on March 05, 2009, 09:14:43 AM
but that greedy forward coulda pass de fenomeno de ball to score in the clip there..
Post by: D.H.W on March 05, 2009, 10:56:51 AM
can't deny at all the man was one of the greatest to lace up his boots, outside of the pitch tho is a next thing.

he loves the trannies  :devil:
Post by: Strip on March 05, 2009, 11:24:09 AM
the boss back in action!!

but that greedy forward coulda pass de fenomeno de ball to score in the clip there..

I second that :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on March 05, 2009, 12:14:59 PM
D original is back now d copy eh badddddddd but d original is back.
Post by: kicker on March 05, 2009, 12:46:53 PM
Best player ever...

Good luck R9
Post by: elan on March 05, 2009, 02:00:07 PM
He not looking like himself. YOu could see in his stride his running has changed drastically (shorter steps) guess cause he's just coming back.
Post by: kicker on March 05, 2009, 02:37:14 PM
He not looking like himself. YOu could see in his stride his running has changed drastically (shorter steps) guess cause he's just coming back.

He will never be himself again- He hasn't been himself for years...

After the number of times he's gone under the knife for near career ending injuries, it's good to see him still playing.
Post by: weary1969 on March 05, 2009, 02:50:15 PM

After the number of times he's gone under the knife for near career ending injuries, it's good to see him still playing.

Cosign
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 05, 2009, 03:29:08 PM

Cosign

Dais when ball is yuh life
Post by: Andre on March 05, 2009, 03:52:46 PM
all de touches of ronaldo in dat game.

media eh easy yes.

http://footballfashion.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/video-the-return-of-ronaldo-at-corinthians/

Post by: Jah Gol on March 05, 2009, 04:07:58 PM
I saw a documentary called The History of Football were in its segment concerning money in the game they did an interview with Ronaldo. They highlighted the sums of money involved in his club transfers, salaries endorsements etc. and how different it is from the past. Ronaldo was basically saying that regardless of the monetary rewards he would still play football. I nice reminder that at the end of the day you play the game because you love it.
Post by: spideybuff on March 06, 2009, 06:19:42 AM
If you watch the man stats, they really amazing. At Milan, he did nothing, was a shadow of himself and they called him tubbye yet he still score a goal nearly every other game! And at Inter he seem to be always recovering from injury yet he still had a phenomenal strike rate.

But what club do you associate him with? I still picture him in an Inter uniform more than a Real one for some reason.
Post by: Filho on March 06, 2009, 07:43:01 AM
If you watch the man stats, they really amazing. At Milan, he did nothing, was a shadow of himself and they called him tubbye yet he still score a goal nearly every other game! And at Inter he seem to be always recovering from injury yet he still had a phenomenal strike rate.

But what club do you associate him with? I still picture him in an Inter uniform more than a Real one for some reason.

All except Milan and Cruzeiro. I still even associate him with PSV and Barca.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 06, 2009, 08:03:04 AM
He had an amazing year at Barca but when he was in the blue and black stripes is when I remember him most.

Even when he was coming back from injury jes the thought of him and Vieri lining up together........humph!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on March 06, 2009, 08:48:33 AM
He had an amazing year at Barca but when he was in the blue and black stripes is when I remember him most.

Even when he was coming back from injury jes the thought of him and Vieri lining up together........humph!!!
To me he played his best football at Inter. Even though he did great things at Real. Before that injury at Inter  he was absolutely unstoppable. At Real he was a slower player .
Post by: kicker on March 06, 2009, 09:53:32 AM

But what club do you associate him with?

Ronaldo- Madrid... Even though his best years were arguably elsewhere...(his first season at Madrid was deadly though)

I was playing a game recently where one person would name a player who's played at a few clubs and ask which is the (club) team that you would associate the player most with  (yeah a real peong game) The answers were interesting. Some of the more popular responses I remember:

Ronaldo- Madrid
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa
Zidane- Juventus
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca

Post by: Jah Gol on March 06, 2009, 10:23:13 AM
When a recovering Ronaldo put Mr. Real Madrid (Raul) on the bench he earned a lot respect from me.
Post by: Marcos on March 06, 2009, 11:21:44 AM

Ronaldo- Madrid... Even though his best years were arguably elsewhere...(his first season at Madrid was deadly though)

I was playing a game recently where one person would name a player who's played at a few clubs and ask which is the (club) team that you would associate the player most with  (yeah a real peong game) The answers were interesting. Some of the more popular responses I remember:

Ronaldo- Madrid
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa
Zidane- Juventus
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca

Yorke hadda be Man U dred due to sheer impact
Maradona has to be Napoli for the same reason
Post by: Peong on March 06, 2009, 11:47:23 AM
For Ronaldo to get back fit he need to leave Brasil.
No way he will drop weight with his favourite foods on every corner.
He should go England, the food there have no taste and he will drop weight quick quick.
Post by: spideybuff on March 06, 2009, 12:39:10 PM

Fowler- Leeds

What allyuh was smoking that night to associate Robbie Fowler with Leeds and not liverpool? The man name is still "God" at the Kop.
Post by: kicker on March 06, 2009, 01:02:09 PM

Fowler- Leeds

What allyuh was smoking that night to associate Robbie Fowler with Leeds and not liverpool? The man name is still "God" at the Kop.

Yeah that one was odd...but the peeps leading the charge on that one were Leeds men....I suppose everyone draws different associations for whatever reasons. 
Post by: Filho on March 06, 2009, 08:28:29 PM
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

Post by: Bamboo Prince on March 07, 2009, 10:42:12 AM
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

Yeah buh wah is de realll question, wha club you associate dem with, or wha club you feel dey is in dey heart?

Ah feel plenty fans wanna believe dem players have a inalienable association with dey club, but hommuch ah dat is media hype, hommuch is just talk from de players before/after a transfer, etc...?   :thinking:
Post by: kicker on March 07, 2009, 11:14:40 AM
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

Yeah buh wah is de realll question, wha club you associate dem with, or wha club you feel dey is in dey heart?

Ah feel plenty fans wanna believe dem players have a inalienable association with dey club, but hommuch ah dat is media hype, hommuch is just talk from de players before/after a transfer, etc...?   :thinking:

It's just what is the first club that comes to mind.... not a right or wrong answer kinda thing.  Everyone is different..
Post by: Filho on March 07, 2009, 11:34:58 AM
Ronaldo- Madrid Inter
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds Liverpool
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa Signal Hill
Zidane- Juventus Madrid
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid Inter
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca Napoli

heheh

nah, it's just what club you associate them with...the first club that comes to mind when you hear a player's name. unless you know the player personally, or they publicly say it, you can't really answer the other question.
Post by: Bamboo Prince on March 07, 2009, 12:09:17 PM

[/quote]

It's just what is the first club that comes to mind.... not a right or wrong answer kinda thing.  Everyone is different..
[/quote]

[/quote]

nah, it's just what club you associate them with...the first club that comes to mind when you hear a player's name. unless you know the player personally, or they publicly say it, you can't really answer the other question.
[/quote]

Ah tryin to figure out if de first club that comes to mind is a result of de marketin machines, in other words, when the media make some ah these men into household names an start to push them right thru, like ah kinda pop idol ting nah.

I figga that in plenty cases here the question is which players' clubs market them the most effectively, resultin in a almost instinctive association with a particular club - whether or not de man was on a bess run while wearin dey uniform.

R9 connection to Real is a good case where Inter win the overall marketin fight despite his superior performance at Madrid

...and another one is the seemingly successful Yorkie-Villa connection, maybe cuz Yorkie came to epitomise Villa but could never be so big as to fuse his name permanently to ManU(re) even though he was real mix up in it  :devil:
Post by: Filho on March 08, 2009, 03:13:20 PM
Now watch the Fatman come on against Palmeiras and buss de net with a header from a corner in 2nd half injury time. He actually had some nice touches, was running at full speed off the ball as well. I was surprised. He still seriously overweight but he was moving this game which was nice to see. Rock the crossbar with an earlier shot from well outside. All in all, a very good appearance against the top team in the Paulista.

Great celebration as well! Real frustration come out in dat goal celebration. Man sprint and jump over de advertising board like a (fat) gazelle. Den he climb de fence..whole team climb up on de fence behind him..den the fans climb up de other side and de whole fence break down. Riot police hadda rush in....

Needless to say he get a yellow for dat  :devil:

Final score..Corinthians 1 - Palmeiras 1

Lose some weight and stay fit. End yuh career on a high note....
Post by: Marcos on March 08, 2009, 07:16:01 PM
How about i was real nervous watchin him jump over the advertising board and hoping he eh hurt himself again.

I'z be more nervous when i watchin him run than when i takin a exam

See how slow he climb back over at the end...lol
Post by: kicker on March 08, 2009, 08:23:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSdT7QZy9s8

Post by: Grande on March 08, 2009, 10:10:58 PM
Is like the fella who take the corner kick wanted R9 to score...that delivery was perfect, had Ronaldo written all over it

Would be nice for Dunga to give him a lil sub appearance in 2010...definitely may not happen though
Post by: weary1969 on March 08, 2009, 10:55:08 PM
Lawddddddddddd dem wild boi
Post by: Peong on March 09, 2009, 01:12:16 AM
Cool celebration!  Definitely the first time I ever see that.
Real nice header, Ronaldo musbe sleep nice tonight.
Post by: Blue on March 09, 2009, 01:51:23 AM

Ronaldo- Madrid
Figo- Barcelona
Anelka- Arsenal
Fowler- Leeds  :o :o :o
Sheringham- Spurs
Yorke- Villa
Zidane- Juventus
Viera- Arsenal
Owen- Liverpool
Cambiasso- Madrid
Saviola- Barca
Maradona- Boca

Fowler is Mr Liverpool! They literally call him "God"!!
Post by: Babalawo on March 09, 2009, 01:59:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSdT7QZy9s8

yea just saw it on goal tv. rel passion they boy
Post by: 7 blessings on March 09, 2009, 08:48:17 PM
How about i was real nervous watchin him jump over the advertising board and hoping he eh hurt himself again.

yeah hoss i see the man jump over and climb on the fence dey...my heart was in my meck yes.
To make it worse it look like he was limpin when he did come off the fence and dat make me more concer..but he seem like he was ok man...the referee give half the team yellow card after yes...goal keeper and all...i feel he build dah fence.

Fatboy had a real good game doh...ping the post and almost set up two goal before he finally buss d bag. Good to see.
Post by: Filho on March 12, 2009, 08:48:31 AM
Net buss again. Winning goal in a 2-1 come from behind win. Fat man not fit, but still have touches and knows where the back of the net is. Started his first game too. But 2 goals in the last 2 games..lne an equalizer, one a game winner. Silencing those who thought he was at Corinthians just to sell jerseys....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ma0on1xUy-4
Post by: Jah Gol on March 12, 2009, 10:31:59 AM
Net buss again. Winning goal in a 2-1 come from behind win. Fat man not fit, but still have touches and knows where the back of the net is. Started his first game too. But 2 goals in the last 2 games..lne an equalizer, one a game winner. Silencing those who thought he was at Corinthians just to sell jerseys....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ma0on1xUy-4
He makes it look so easy.
Post by: Cocorite on March 12, 2009, 07:18:21 PM
Class is permanant.
Title: The Phenomenon is back --- Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima
Post by: shotters365 on March 18, 2009, 07:46:11 PM
(http://www.theoffside.com/files/2008/12/capt31c1999fac5e471598415421bdbb6381brazil_corinthians_ronaldo_xap102.jpg)

Monday, 9 March 2009

Ronaldo scores first goal for Corinthians

Ronaldo headed an injury time equaliser to spark wild celebrations

Brazilian striker Ronaldo, playing only his second game since a knee injury last year, scored an injury-time equaliser to give his new club Corinthians a 1-1 draw with arch-rivals Palmeiras on Sunday.

Ronaldo, who came on as a second-half substitute, was booked for climbing the fencing around the pitch to celebrate with the supporters after heading home at the far post from a corner in the second minute of injury time.

Part of the fencing gave way but nobody appeared to be hurt. Police rushed in to restore order and allow the game to continue.

"I'm very sorry for the incident, but I couldn't contain my emotions," Ronaldo said in a touchline interview.

Ronaldo, who defied predictions that he would have to end his career after the injury 13 months ago, later told a news conference: "It was a big fright, it was a rather irresponsible attitude because the fence wasn't so strong after all. But you don't think at the time, you just want to celebrate with the fans.

"It's always emotional to bounce back.

"I can't explain what I felt but I certainly thought about .... all the difficult moments I've had in this recovery."

Ronaldo vowed there was more to come.

"This is just the beginning. There's still some way to go .... I need to lose a bit of weight and gain some speed and mobility."

The 2002 World Cup winner ruptured a tendon in his left knee in a Serie A game playing for AC Milan against Livorno in February last year.

It was the third such injury of his career and came when he was already suffering from a loss of form and fitness problems.

"They said he would never play again and there he is scoring a decisive goal in an important game," Corinthians coach Mano Menezes said.

Ronaldo left Milan and joined Corinthians in December.

He made his first appearance last Wednesday, also as a second-half substitute, and suffered a black eye after being hit by a microphone as reporters invaded the pitch after the final whistle.

A capacity-crowd of 45,000 packed the Prudentao stadium in Presidente Prudente, 580 km from Sao Paulo, for the Paulista championship match on Sunday.

The three-times World Player of the Year came on in the 64th minute with Palmeiras 1-0 ahead, Diego Souza having scored in the 48th minute, and dominating the game.

Ronaldo struck the crossbar with a shot from outside the area before scoring his first goal since January last year, when he was on target for AC Milan against Napoli.

Palmeiras coach Vanderlei Luxemburgo was unimpressed and criticised the referee.

"I think he wanted Ronaldo to score a goal," said the former Brazil and Real Madrid coach.

"He kept awarding free kicks near our penalty area. I think the referee was affected psychologically (by Ronaldo's presence).

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00144/ronaldo23_144883t.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeZtGC0SdF0

Thursday, 12 March 2009

Ronaldo on target again for Corinthians

Ronaldo has returned in impressive form since his injury

Ronaldo continued his impressive return from a year-long injury layoff as he scored for the second game in a row to give Corinthians a 2-1 win over Sao Caetano on Wednesday.

Sao Caetano had taken a 22nd minute lead with a Marcelo Batatais header before Andre Santos rifled in the equaliser with a long-range shot in the 35th minute.

Ronaldo, playing his third game for Corinthians and starting for the first time in his home debut, swept the ball home with a first-time shot from Dentinho's low cross in the 51st minute.

The former Barcelona, PSV Eindhoven, AC Milan and Inter Milan player, who scored an injury-time equaliser in a 1-1 draw with arch-rivals Palmeiras on Sunday, went off in the 78th minute to a standing ovation from the 30,000 crowd at the Pacaembu.

Ronaldo, 32, ruptured a tendon in his left knee in a Serie A game playing for AC Milan against Livorno in February and later left the Italian club. He joined Corinthians in December in a surprise move and made his debut one week ago.

Corinthians stayed second in the Paulista championship and cut Palmeiras's lead to a point after Vandelei Luxemburgo's team could manage only a 1-1 draw with Ituano.

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00147/ronaldo22_147055t.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8xH9w75Sjk
Post by: Filho on March 26, 2009, 07:22:09 AM
Two more yesterday...

Or as Tallman would say...a brace! ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZdLXCHnQRQ

Second goal was class. Not so sure about that dive for the penalty. Conduct it Fatz!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 26, 2009, 07:36:20 AM
Two more yesterday...

Or as Tallman would say...a brace! ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZdLXCHnQRQ

Second goal was class. Not so sure about that dive for the penalty. Conduct it Fatz!

Is only on the slow motion replay yuh realise how rotund he is. D man real thick in the waist. I surprise he doctors eh tell him lose more weight so he could take some pressure of his knees.

assist on the link

http://www.youtube.com/v/bZdLXCHnQRQ

by the way, wha dem playing with - ah beach ball or wha??
Post by: Marcos on April 01, 2009, 07:52:23 AM
And another one.

This man is remarkable.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 01, 2009, 08:22:42 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/cNNpwwo6VEY
Post by: Filho on April 01, 2009, 11:11:09 AM
Should have had a double but they wrongly call the 2nd offside.

Wha' bout every game de man does be real saucing, but he eh look like he losing any weight  :devil:

Post by: Marcos on April 01, 2009, 11:30:12 AM
sometimes athletes, despite their physical conditioning just big and chubby

a few nfl players are like that
Post by: Jah Gol on April 21, 2009, 08:49:47 AM
Watch the old man run .

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/XqsrguZg-bo

RIO DE JANEIRO, April 19 (Reuters) - Ronaldo showed a burst of his old pace to score the second goal for Corinthians in a 2-0 win over Sao Paulo on Sunday.

The former AC Milan, Inter Milan, Barcelona and Real Madrid striker outpaced his marker over 30 metres as he chased Cristian's through ball before clipping his shot past Sao Paulo Bosco in the 58th minute.

It was the sixth goal of the 32-year-old's comeback following last year's knee injury, the previous ones all having been scored from inside the penalty area.

Douglas had opened the scoring three minutes before Ronaldo's goal.

Corinthians completed a 4-1 aggregate win in their Paulista championship semi-final to earn a place against Santos in the two-leg final.

Santos beat Vanderlei Luxemburgo's Palmeiras 2-1 on Saturday, winning 4-2 on aggregate, in a match marred by an ugly brawl near the end.

The Paulista is the largest of the regional championships which kick off the marathon Brazilian season.

The tournaments, one for each of Brazil's 27 states, each have their own formats and are completely detached from the Brazilian championship which starts in May.

Former world club champions Internacional scored seven times in the first half on the way to beating Caxias 8-1 to clinch the Rio Grande do Sul championship, another of the bigger tournaments.

Magrao and Nilmar scored twice each while Taison, Alvaro and Argentine pair Pablo Guinazu and Andres D'Alessandro shared the others.

Cristian Borja scored Caxias's consolation.

Internacional won the second stage of the tournament and also clinched the title as they won the first stage played earlier in the year.

Flamengo beat Botafogo 1-0 in Rio de Janeiro's Carioca championship thanks to a bizarre own goal by Emerson who missed his kick completely as he attempted to clear and saw the ball bounce into the net of his other leg.

Under the complex rules of the tournament, the win gave Flamengo the right to play the same opponents twice more to decide the title.

Sunday's win meant that Flamengo won the second stage. Botafogo won the first stage earlier in the year.

http://football.uk.reuters.com/world/news/LJ259198.php (http://football.uk.reuters.com/world/news/LJ259198.php)
Post by: asylumseeker on April 21, 2009, 08:58:40 PM
We on schedule ... ;)
Post by: Trini Madness on April 21, 2009, 09:34:38 PM
vai corinthians!!!! timaoooooo!!!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on April 28, 2009, 10:31:01 AM

2 more from El Fenomeno

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/q50mzUraRg0
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on April 28, 2009, 11:04:32 AM
I would give anything to see KJ trap ah ball like Ronaldo did on the first goal
Post by: sammy on April 28, 2009, 12:36:06 PM
watch how easy the man makes it look
Post by: Texastrini on April 28, 2009, 01:53:42 PM
I would give anything to see KJ trap ah ball like Ronaldo did on the first goal ........

dread ah was thinking that same thing.  a lil more weight, slower but them touches and the vision.  i waiting to see how long it go take dunga to give him a call
Post by: saga pinto on April 28, 2009, 03:19:03 PM

yeah hoss i see the man jump over and climb on the fence dey...my heart was in my meck yes.
To make it worse it look like he was limpin when he did come off the fence and dat make me more concer..but he seem like he was ok man...the referee give half the team yellow card after yes...goal keeper and all...i feel he build dah fence.

Fatboy had a real good game doh...ping the post and almost set up two goal before he finally buss d bag. Good to see.

Ah hope you stay slim all yuh life.......
Post by: Filho on April 28, 2009, 03:38:57 PM
I would give anything to see KJ trap ah ball like Ronaldo did on the first goal ........

dread ah was thinking that same thing.  a lil more weight, slower but them touches and the vision.  i waiting to see how long it go take dunga to give him a call

ole talk aside..I hope Dunga doh call him until he get more mobile and could put in a lil more of a shift. Ronaldo is class, but right now he just good for the Paulistao. I doubt he is much different from the fella who played in WC 2006, or AC Milan. That Ronaldo was still deadly in front of goal, but unfit and overweight and could only manage with teammates who willing to do a lot of his work. Give him room and he go poison you like he did Japan and Ghana..but dat eh ready to play big teams with serious defenders imho. Love Ronaldo..but he eh even play against half de teams in Brazil yet (although the top Sao Paulo teams are usually among the strongest). But dat is talent. I too would love to see him play again for Brazil. Evn if he jsut get a lil cobo in South Africa..de fans at those games will give de man relll love. Doh talk bout if he score. But he a long ways from dat
Post by: Observer on April 29, 2009, 06:22:44 PM
How people only talking about the second goal so! I agree it was magic but the first goal was not an easy take an finish. He just made it look so simple man just shrug it off as Ah Well!
Post by: kicker on April 29, 2009, 06:34:55 PM
Great finishes...the second was sublime- hint of offside though
Post by: Peong on April 29, 2009, 06:52:01 PM
Ronaldo still have it, nice :)
Post by: Filho on July 17, 2009, 08:28:13 AM
For those who say de fatman cyah head no ball....heheh

http://www.youtube.com/v/xML7petEKlU

Post by: Jah Gol on November 10, 2009, 06:26:22 PM
Corinthians 2 x 0 Santo André - Brasileirão 2009 (08/11/09)

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/D2-Rayv2MMo&feature=related
Post by: big dawg on November 10, 2009, 06:52:40 PM
The Boss

Watch Out South Africa  :beermug: (hope u make the squad)
Post by: boss on November 10, 2009, 07:48:06 PM
Ronaldo desires to make 2010 World Cup squad
www.chinaview.cn 2009-11-11 07:17:04         Print

RIO DE JANEIRO, Nov. 10 (Xinhua) -- Ronaldo, the soccer player having scored the most goals in World Cup history, spoke frankly about his desire to play in one more World Cup on Tuesday.

Joking comes easy when it's about his weight and his off the field antics, but when the topic of discussion is the World Cup, the striker is 100 percent serious.

"My return will depend on my performance with Corinthians during the first half of the 2010 season. We will play in the Sao Paulo state tournament and the Libertadores Cup. In both of those tournaments, I will have to play my best," Ronaldo said in his anticipation for World Cup squad.

"As of today, I would not even select myself to the team. The team is in good shape, but I am going to make a great effort, perhaps the biggest effort of my career, in order to be a part of the team. I am going to prepare hard in order to deserve that honor," added he.

Historically, Ronaldo has never been a part of the national team while Dunga takes charge of the team. The last time the striker played in a Brazilian jersey was in Brazil's loss to France at the 2006 World Cup.

Ronaldo hopes to break from that stigma and make history by appearing in what would be his fifth World Cup. Ronaldo has scored62 goals in World Cup games, more than any other player. Ronaldo has played in 97 matches on behalf of Brazil.

Editor: Li Xianzhi
Title: The Real One
Post by: Jah Gol on July 25, 2010, 05:22:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/vVuyoocwEzE

Title: Re: The Real One
Post by: dinho on July 25, 2010, 06:50:25 PM
I thoroughly enjoyed that.

Is how much child get make in this clip, jah!
Post by: Bourbon on July 25, 2010, 06:59:23 PM
Dis man was ultra disgusting dread. Jeez...i now remembering how much breed..how much men fall and all kinda ting dis man cause. LAWD.
Post by: Fyzoman on July 25, 2010, 06:59:31 PM
WAAAAYYYYY!!!!!
give thanks jed!
Post by: Jah Gol on July 25, 2010, 07:15:37 PM
I will always call him the best striker of the modern era. This video showed the deft touches and skills that was overshadowed by his tremendous affinity to convert opportunities into goals. He's absolutely one of the greatest and at his peak the fastest player I have seen with the ball at his feet.

I remember a spot he did for a Perelli ad entitled "Speed is nothing without control"  . This vid highlights his awesome ability to change direction in full flight. Can you imagine what this man would have done if he avoided those injuries ?

Nacido para jogar futebol

Watch the man goal rate

Years           Team                  Apps†   (Gls)†
1993–1994   Cruzeiro           14   (12)
1994–1996   PSV                   46   (42)
1996–1997   Barcelona           37   (34)
1997–2002   Internazionale   68   (49)
2002–2007   Real Madrid          127   (83)
2007–2008   Milan                   20   (9)
2009–   Corinthians           21   (13
                                      333   242    avg 0.73 gpg

Brazil                   97   62      avg 0.64 gpg

Post by: D.H.W on July 25, 2010, 08:08:47 PM
d real RONALDO  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 25, 2010, 10:05:49 PM
d real RONALDO  :beermug:

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNN
Post by: dumpalewie on July 25, 2010, 10:10:40 PM
If this guy did not get those injuries I think we would be speaking of him in the same sentence as Pele and Maradona.
Post by: FF on July 26, 2010, 12:08:46 AM
If this guy did not get those injuries I think we would be speaking of him in the same sentence as Pele and Maradona.

dat ent stopping me!

WELL YES... AFTER 2 IN DE MORNING AND DIS MAN HAVE ME BAWLING DOWN DE PLACE LIKE A JAMMETTE!!

Raw, fast and strong like ah ox... and still a master of subtlety in deception... my hero yes  :'(
Post by: Ngozi on July 26, 2010, 12:45:04 AM
I have a cd of him called el fenomenon ...pure and utter destruction.... he is the only Ronaldo of this era not that pussy CR .... Ronaldo is simply ridiculous ..
Post by: Preacher on July 26, 2010, 02:05:31 AM
No wonder he get he foot break.  With that kind of technique u better not slack off on your fitness.   2-3 box of fried chicken and dais it. 
Post by: Preacher on July 26, 2010, 02:08:05 AM
Check Pyol @ 3:54.... :rotfl:
Post by: Observer on July 26, 2010, 05:46:30 AM

dat ent stopping me!

WELL YES... AFTER 2 IN DE MORNING AND DIS MAN HAVE ME BAWLING DOWN DE PLACE LIKE A JAMMETTE!!

Raw, fast and strong like ah ox... and still a master of subtlety in deception... my hero yes  :'(

Don't forget clinical finisher ( the end product)
Post by: Red Mango on July 26, 2010, 06:50:13 AM
THE BEST EVER!!!
Post by: Jah Gol on July 26, 2010, 07:08:03 AM
Like a schoolboy.
Post by: kicker on July 26, 2010, 08:24:50 AM

He's better than both of them.

Post by: dinho on July 26, 2010, 09:00:32 AM
Like a schoolboy.

Puyol makes about 2-3 cameo appearances in the 10 minute movie..

check the 2 men that get breed back to back on 2:17, my laaaawd lolol.
Post by: g on July 26, 2010, 02:54:38 PM

That hadda be a record for the most amount of tolum share in a 10 minute video clip

Post by: Peong on July 26, 2010, 11:37:49 PM
I remember that beat he hit Jaap Stam in de CL at 7:53.
The man body fake one way knowin that the spin on the ball would take it the other way.
When I saw that my jaw dropped.
Send Roy Keane and Stam the wrong way.
I believe this was after the first knee injury.
Post by: Spursy on July 27, 2010, 02:20:53 AM

Best team never to win a Champions league cup. Names like Baggio, Zamarano,Vieri,  Salas, Seedorf, C Zanetti, Ventola.. all got badly injured at inter :/
Post by: Marcos on July 27, 2010, 09:26:24 AM

He's better than both of them.

I love R9, but dat was real rude.
Post by: kicker on July 27, 2010, 09:48:11 AM
The 360 degree pivot move against Chile on minute 1:50 is my favorite move of all time... Still don't know how he pulled that off. 
Post by: Jah Gol on July 27, 2010, 10:24:44 AM
The 360 degree pivot move against Chile on minute 1:50 is my favorite move of all time... Still don't know how he pulled that off. 
That move was pure art.
Post by: fish on July 27, 2010, 01:26:52 PM
I just cah stop taking it in. I rel gettin on like a lil boy on Christmas day.

He have rel child  ;D
Post by: Peong on July 27, 2010, 03:50:20 PM
My favourite player.
Spanner, breed and speed.
Ey that have a nice ring to it.
Title: Ronaldo to announce retirement
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 13, 2011, 08:14:13 PM
SAO PAULO (AP)—Three-time FIFA player of the year Ronaldo will announce his retirement from football on Monday, according to a Brazilian newspaper.

“It’s time,” Ronaldo was quoted as saying by the website of the Estado de S. Paulo newspaper on Sunday. “I can’t keep going. I wanted to continue but I can’t. I think about making a play but I can’t execute it.”

Ronaldo’s agent, Fabiano Farah, didn’t confirm the report but told local media that it is a possibility. Corinthians has announced a news conference for Monday afternoon at the team’s headquarters, without giving further details.

http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news?slug=ap-corinthians-ronaldo

Title: Re: Ronaldo to announce retirement
Post by: weary1969 on February 13, 2011, 08:19:31 PM
Thanks 4 d goals. I really  :applause: :salute: u after d drama in 1998 2 return in 2002 2 help we win d cup.

D ORIGINAL AND REAL RONALDO
Post by: Bourbon on February 13, 2011, 08:25:38 PM
FATMAN!!!!!! A big player in every respect!! :applause:
Post by: elan on February 13, 2011, 08:36:36 PM
There is only one Ronaldo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on February 13, 2011, 08:45:12 PM
There is only one Ronaldo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ENTTTTTTTTT
CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: tempo on February 13, 2011, 09:14:08 PM
Il Fenomeno. Ronaldo, the original. :notworthy: :cheers:
Post by: real madness on February 13, 2011, 09:15:54 PM
The best player since maradona.
Post by: Tallman on February 13, 2011, 09:28:17 PM
I think about making a play but I can’t execute it.

Steups! So what? Dat does happen tuh me right thru and me eh tinking bout retiring  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on February 13, 2011, 09:35:20 PM
I think about making a play but I can’t execute it.

Steups! So what? Dat does happen tuh me right thru and me eh tinking bout retiring  ;D

Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2011, 10:13:10 PM
Like Carib get the best ah him...
Post by: Peong on February 13, 2011, 10:50:10 PM
My favourite player.  He had the biggest repertoire of dribbles yuh will ever see.
Regularly yuh will see 2-3 men linin up to defend him and all of them gettin beat!
Post by: Daft Trini on February 13, 2011, 10:57:08 PM
simply out standing goal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iXOMPo7cEI
Post by: fish on February 13, 2011, 11:17:22 PM
Il Fenomeno. Ronaldo, the original. :notworthy: :cheers:

:beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Bourbon on February 13, 2011, 11:22:17 PM
Post by: Jah Gol on February 14, 2011, 06:25:39 AM
Farewell El Fenomino. One of greatest. :beermug:
Post by: fitzinho on February 14, 2011, 06:28:28 AM
Thanks for the memories R9...my favorite player ever!!
Post by: Peong on February 14, 2011, 09:34:32 AM
Mods how yuh will merge the retirement thread with the return thread?  That not right!
Post by: Andre on February 14, 2011, 09:42:10 AM
live coverage of the retirement press conf.

http://noticiasaovivo.terra.com.br/esportes/esportes/467-br/
Post by: fitzinho on February 14, 2011, 09:43:00 AM
Man real cry in that Press Conference boy...His son is his spitting image too!!
Post by: Andre on February 14, 2011, 10:08:56 AM
nice picture set of ronaldo thru the years.

barca, inter, ac milan, real madrid. he play for some real team eh.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 14, 2011, 10:26:28 AM
Mods how yuh will merge the retirement thread with the return thread?  That not right!

ent but we will have a tony pulis back kenwyn jones to shine thread...how much kj thread we will have?

kj cant score for trinidad.
kj real strong in the air
kj warming bench again
kj has real speed
kj cant control a ball

how much kj threads we need?.... ;D
Post by: Peong on February 14, 2011, 10:33:29 AM
PSV days

http://www.youtube.com/v/6yh4ZREN-EQ

Ronaldo's retirement is the lead story on Goal.com, soccernet and bbc football.
Skysports has Roy Hodgson........
Post by: Big Magician on February 14, 2011, 04:14:05 PM
massive
Post by: giggsy11 on February 14, 2011, 04:57:36 PM
The Original  :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: fish on February 14, 2011, 05:01:10 PM
ESPN now name him a Loser of the day because he retiring due to bodily injuries...
Post by: giggsy11 on February 14, 2011, 05:07:38 PM
ESPN now name him a Loser of the day because he retiring due to bodily injuries...
[/quote

ESPN.....nuff said.
Post by: boss on February 14, 2011, 05:30:08 PM

PSV and Corinthians aren't chopped liver either.

Proper, proper legend.  :beermug:
Post by: Peong on February 14, 2011, 06:24:32 PM

PSV and Corinthians aren't chopped liver either.

Proper, proper legend.  :beermug:

I think he won titles at Cruzeiro too.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 14, 2011, 06:48:26 PM
...a man like he hangin' up he boots is a dark day in football fuh me.  Big up, to the REAL ronaldo (not metronaldo!)
Post by: kicker on February 14, 2011, 10:17:26 PM
Best ever...

Injuries got the better of him, but as his peak he was unstoppable. 
Post by: rotatopoti3 on February 15, 2011, 12:01:06 AM
look at d price of sum of dem footballers today..

Imagine Ronaldo if he was for sale today??

I bet he would fetch more than dat Portuguese fella from Madrid
Post by: Strip on February 15, 2011, 07:15:06 AM
The best striker of his time and the best striker I ever see. An absolute legend.
Post by: D#_1_TrInBa on February 21, 2011, 06:11:05 PM
When is ronaldo jubilee?

One love bro!

Title: Phenom making a comeback
Post by: Observer on December 17, 2012, 08:12:16 PM
Dam! One of my favourite players of all time looks ready to make a hit again.
He say he wanted to be fitle to play  a special game Wednesday with Zidane.

(http://l3.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/4uEnrJGDTFIPylaZqyy0Sg--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTYzMA--/http://media.zenfs.com/en/blogs/sptussowexperts/ronaldo-rl2.jpg)
Title: Re: Phenom making a comeback
Post by: D.H.W on December 17, 2012, 08:22:27 PM
Fat kid
Post by: palos on December 17, 2012, 08:24:28 PM
Il phenomeno at his best was virtually unstoppable. A veritable tour de force. No defender could stay with him
Post by: fari on December 17, 2012, 08:35:23 PM
man like he eat too much arepas ;D 
Post by: giggsy11 on December 17, 2012, 08:41:44 PM
He looking good after he dropped the post baby weight.Wonder what he named the twins.
Post by: D.H.W on December 18, 2012, 04:35:54 AM
Ronaldo better than Messi. Ronaldo scored in the big games. Messi just stat padding
Post by: injunchile on December 18, 2012, 12:26:55 PM
D. H. W.- Are you serious? Better than Messi. sorry brother , Ronaldo not in the same league.
Post by: D.H.W on December 18, 2012, 12:30:12 PM
D. H. W.- Are you serious? Better than Messi. sorry brother , Ronaldo not in the same league.

2 World Cup trophies and leading World Cup Scorer , Dais enough for me. He is a shithound in a Arg shirt.

And yes im a hater   :whistling:
Post by: FF on December 18, 2012, 12:53:07 PM

Injunchile you musbe talking bout Cronaldo.

There is only one RONALDO!
Post by: Raul on December 18, 2012, 05:27:51 PM

2 World Cup trophies and leading World Cup Scorer , Dais enough for me. He is a shithound in a Arg shirt.

And yes im a hater   :whistling:

Co-sign

When Messi wins a world cup, or plays for a second club or another league, let me know...
Post by: palos on December 18, 2012, 06:14:24 PM
Raul never won a World Cup and never won outside of Real Madrid either
Post by: D.H.W on December 18, 2012, 06:42:08 PM
At least Raul use to score for Spain consistently
Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2012, 08:02:58 PM

Strictly speaking he has won outside of Real. He won the German Cup and the Supercup @ Schalke, and he damn sure looks like he's gonna win outside Real again because Al-Sadd are 9 points clear right now.
Post by: palos on December 18, 2012, 10:41:59 PM

Strictly speaking he has won outside of Real. He won the German Cup and the Supercup @ Schalke, and he damn sure looks like he's gonna win outside Real again because Al-Sadd are 9 points clear right now.
Al saad?  Really?

Dat come like Messi playing fuh caledonia and winnin PFL :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on December 19, 2012, 03:58:03 AM
Lol.. Hahaha
Post by: Observer on December 19, 2012, 08:03:12 AM
Trini could real argue shit we. Man does just throw out thing just so just so. Fact is Raul scored 44 times for Spain, a number Messi will pass soon. He will also pass the great Maradona 34 goals for Argentina, in 2013.
Though this is good rum shop talk, you cannot compare players of different era's. A German in a rum shop will tell you Fritz Walter & / or Gerd Muller was better than Ronaldo, Maradona, Messi & Pele (Muller, same era as Pele). And So on and so on!

Accept that they were / are, all great in their period of domination. I for one jut glad I get to see all of them do their thing.
Post by: D.H.W on December 19, 2012, 08:18:42 AM
Trini could real argue shit we. Man does just throw out thing just so just so. Fact is Raul scored 44 times for Spain, a number Messi will pass soon. He will also pass the great Maradona 34 goals for Argentina, in 2013.
Though this is good rum shop talk, you cannot compare players of different era's. A German in a rum shop will tell you Fritz Walter & / or Gerd Muller was better than Ronaldo, Maradona, Messi & Pele (Muller, same era as Pele). And So on and so on!

Accept that they were / are, all great in their period of domination. I for one jut glad I get to see all of them do their thing.

No fun in that hoss , rum shop talk is the order of the day  :devil:
Post by: Observer on December 19, 2012, 08:40:22 AM

;D ent!
Post by: Fyzoman on December 22, 2012, 07:25:30 PM

Ent!!!!

ah remember dis thread when ah see Messi score today after 'sexing' ah man on top de area!!!

Ah never know ah coulda say 'waaayyy!!!' so much time in quick succession:)

I just happy to be able to witness dis/dese fellah/fellahs and have no time for stupid comparisons:)
Title: Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima: A Tribute to O Fenômeno
Post by: Tallman on October 28, 2013, 08:08:45 PM
http://backpagefootball.com/ronaldo-luis-nazario-de-lima-a-tribute-to-o-fenomeno/37372/
Post by: dinho on October 28, 2013, 09:22:10 PM
http://backpagefootball.com/ronaldo-luis-nazario-de-lima-a-tribute-to-o-fenomeno/37372/

Such was Robson’s reaction, perhaps it is as famous as the goal itself: the Englishman left speechless, with his hands on his head, as he looked at the equally-astounded Compostela fans behind him. Even though Robson had already witnessed brilliance from the likes of Ray Crawford (Ipswich), Paul Gascoigne (England), Romário (PSV), Luís Figo (Sporting) and Russell Latapy (Porto) over the years, he was quick, given the initial pressure of Ronaldo’s world-record transfer fee, to pay tribute:
Post by: davidephraim on October 29, 2013, 12:09:05 AM
Thank yuh Dinho. I try calling Russell Latapy name next to other big names on this board and get dealt with swiftly! Long live the little magician from the twin island in the Caribbean. 

BTW, (El Fenômeno) I thought is Torres this thread was about yes. ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 29, 2013, 09:11:55 AM
Nice!
Title: Vid
Post by: maxg on March 31, 2015, 07:00:07 PM
<div id="fb-root"></div><script>(function(d, s, id) {  var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];  if (d.getElementById(id)) return;  js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;  js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.3";  fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script><div class="fb-video" data-allowfullscreen="true" data-href="https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&amp;set=vb.338233632988842&amp;type=1"><div class="fb-xfbml-parse-ignore"><blockquote cite="https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&amp;set=vb.338233632988842&amp;type=1"> (https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&amp;set=vb.338233632988842&amp;type=1)<p>Happy 38th birthday to the greatest striker of his generation, Ronaldo!</p>Posted by The SPORT Bible (https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&amp;set=vb.338233632988842&amp;type=1) on Thursday, September 18, 2014</div></div>idei
Title: ronaldo
Post by: maxg on March 31, 2015, 07:01:22 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&pnref=story
Title: Re: ronaldo
Post by: palos on March 31, 2015, 10:16:43 PM
28 seconds still have meh bawlin
Post by: soccerman on April 01, 2015, 08:43:06 AM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=625803304231872&pnref=story
Majestic...the ease at which he operates at top speed using sublime skill is phenomenal
Post by: Peong on May 23, 2015, 12:57:54 PM
Check out Fat Man finishing in this charity game from April 20th.

https://www.youtube.com/v/-AvONctQKuE