Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on April 29, 2009, 04:48:40 PM

Title: U-20s routed 5-0 in second UAE match.
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2009, 04:48:40 PM
U-20s routed 5-0 in second UAE match
.... On to Seoul.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 footballers would have depended for a better results from their favoured European Champions’ League teams Manchester United or Arsenal last night in hope of a mood change  after they suffered a 5-0 defeat in their warm up international to the United Arab Emirates’ Under 20 team in the second of two matches at the Al Ain Sports Complex in Al Ain.

After giving a relatively good showing in their 1-0 loss a day earlier, the Under 20s gave head coach Zoran Vranes a reminder that his bench players were not yet all that close to being as strong as the starters.

Vranes made eight changes to his starting team from the opening match with the likes of skipper Leston Paul, goalkeeper Glenroy Samuel, Sean De Silva, Qian Grosvenor, Akeem Adams, Daniel Cyrus, Daniel Joseph and Jean Luc Rochford all being left on the bench and strikers Juma Clarence and Trent Lougheed, Kevin Molino, Uriah Bentick, Marvin Manswell. Curtis Gonzalves, goalie Andre Marchan and Sherron Joseph coming in.

UAE too also made some five changes to their first team. They subsequently got their goals from Mohet Jasin (12th and 36th), Sultan Burghas (64th), Mohamed Jab (78th) and Saad Suroer (90th).

“It’s okay for me to give comments when we lose this badly as well,” Vranes told TTFF Media afterwards. “I won’t hold it back but we have to understand that we must work harder especially when the opportunity comes our way to do something in a match. I was hoping maybe for a better result or one not as bad as today but the players who started didn’t come up too well. We looked better going forward because we settled down much earlier than the last game but then we also conceded earlier. We allowed little mistakes to make the game harder for us. But we will work on this. We will review our mistakes and now look ahead to the other matches.”

The new starters gave T&T a more lively start than the first encounter with T&T going on the offensive from early on and Lougheed thought he had put T&T ahead when he slotted home from close range from a left side cross but the linesman’s flag was up for offside  on five minutes.

Three minutes later Molino cleverly turned two players on the right top of the box before laying off for Joseph but his effort was well pushed away by goalkeeper Ahmed Mahmoo. Soon after the same Mamoo was called into action, advancing to deny Clarence.

But on twelve minutes T&T had a let up at the back when Maher Jasim was allowed room to move in on the right and Marchan failed to properly cover his near left post and the forward drilled his shot home on the exposed near side.

T&T continued to press going forward and Joseph had another crack from just inside the area which had Mamoo scrambling to push out for corner.

But T&T’s problems doubled when Gonzalez, captaining the T&T team on the evening, was adjudged to have handled a left side ball on the right near post and Jasin converted the resulting penalty.

Two minutes after half time, Manswell had T&T’s best effort on goal when he met a ball wide on the right and moved inwards before unleashing a left footer which swerved inches wide of the top left corner of the goal.

Vranes introduced De Silva, Paul, Rochford, Cyrus and Joseph as the second half progressed but T&T found themselves 3-0 down when Barghas drilled a low shot into the right corner past a hapless Marchan and it was quickly 4-0 to the hosts when Jab fired home from close in.

The goal of the match came in the final minute when Suroer chipped one home from 35 metres out to leave the hosts 5-0 winners. T&T defender Bentick also got sent off late on for a rash challenge.

T&T will depart Dubai early Thursday morning for Seoul, South Korea where they will face that country’s national under 20 team in two games as they continue their build up for the FIFA Under 20 World Championship in Egypt in August.

(http://ttffonline.com/cms/images/stories/ttvsuaeactionshot.jpg)
Title: Re: U-20s routed 5-0 in second UAE match
Post by: palos on April 29, 2009, 04:58:15 PM
Allyuh sure Anton not in Dubai wit dem boys?

Or maybe is Maturana on de sly... 8)
Post by: elan on April 29, 2009, 05:08:51 PM

Doh try that. These games is about working on the plan for the world cup, forget the score and concentrate on looking at the WC. Then we will see. As of now on this trip everything is a positive (tough conditions, constant games, top level opponents). 
Post by: sub1 on April 29, 2009, 05:30:02 PM

It cant be either. This is a team that qualified for  WC. Something that both Maturana and Anton failed to do this year.
Post by: freakazoid on April 29, 2009, 05:34:58 PM
nice to see the reserves get a run out thats the best ah could say
Post by: Babalawo on April 29, 2009, 05:35:09 PM
the bench players not as strong as the starters
Title: Re: U-20s routed 5-0 in second UAE match.
Post by: jai john on April 29, 2009, 06:46:31 PM
The team got more goals when the stars were added from this article .... seems like Dubai gave their subs a chance as well and still beat us ...we could cover it up with all de spin possible ...is 5-0 against UAE.
I think Vranes tried the reserves hoping to discover possible new starters ...and not just to give everybody a run ...but the pool is not so strong ....
our WC qualifiers are just up to the standard of getting there ....at least that's a start ...dont anybody expect much more than that ...under 17, under 20 or seniors !
We need to get out more or have more  tournaments at home inviting neighbouring teams from South america for example , to gauge our progress.
Often we believe we are ready and later find out we are not .... we obviously are not as good as we think we are ...we should change our yardstick .
Post by: palos on April 29, 2009, 07:07:45 PM
The team got more goals when the stars were added from this article .... seems like Dubai gave their subs a chance as well and still beat us ...we could cover it up with all de spin possible ...is 5-0 against UAE.
I think Vranes tried the reserves hoping to discover possible new starters ...and not just to give everybody a run ...but the pool is not so strong ....
our WC qualifiers are just up to the standard of getting there ....at least that's a start ...dont anybody expect much more than that ...under 17, under 20 or seniors !
We need to get out more or have more  tournaments at home inviting neighbouring teams from South america for example , to gauge our progress.
Often we believe we are ready and later find out we are not .... we obviously are not as good as we think we are ...we should change our yardstick .

A A...yuh resurface?  Was worried about yuh after de submarines get torpedoed.... 8)
Post by: D.H.W on April 29, 2009, 07:18:45 PM
 ???
Post by: Sam on April 29, 2009, 07:23:59 PM
 (Zeyab Awana 67)

I prefer we lose a friendly than a WCQ or youth championship, especially this bad.

Whats your point ?

Isn't friendly games a time to experiment or a time to fine tune and better your team so when the real test comes we hope to do better ?

One minute you complaining about Maturana and one minute you sounding like he should be here in a sarcastic way. Make up yuh mind nah, if you feel Maturana should not have been fired then say so and not constantly post shit.

As for Anton, I guess you like he to and that is fine because that's your personal feeling, but we dont have to agree.
Post by: saga pinto on April 29, 2009, 07:30:30 PM
All I have to say is we have problems.........
Post by: elan on April 29, 2009, 07:57:43 PM
Is this not the time to experiment? Or we want a Maturana? Start experimenting when the tournament start?  I like what they doing now, expose all the probs in Dubai work on it in Korea and then try get success in Africa.

Come on fellas work hard.
Post by: Dutty on April 29, 2009, 08:05:56 PM

nah man...dem men now gellin.....and seein int'l proper competition for the first time

gih dem time

Post by: palos on April 29, 2009, 08:47:54 PM
(Zeyab Awana 67)

I prefer we lose a friendly than a WCQ or youth championship, especially this bad.

Whats your point ?

Isn't friendly games a time to experiment or a time to fine tune and better your team so when the real test comes we hope to do better ?

One minute you complaining about Maturana and one minute you sounding like he should be here in a sarcastic way. Make up yuh mind nah, if you feel Maturana should not have been fired then say so and not constantly post shit.

As for Anton, I guess you like he to and that is fine because that's your personal feeling, but we dont have to agree.

It have nobody noes post more shit on dis site dan you so is no wonder u could spot shit talk from far off.
Post by: weary1969 on April 29, 2009, 09:46:52 PM

It cant be either. This is a team that qualified for  WC. Something that both Maturana and Anton failed to do this year.

Cosign  :rotfl:
Post by: Sam on April 30, 2009, 04:25:34 AM
(Zeyab Awana 67)

Whats your point ?

It have nobody noes post more shit on dis site dan you so is no wonder u could spot shit talk from far off.

Well I believe you take de crown from me now.

I feel since Maturana gone like it hurting yuh bro... tell we why de sudden change in attitude from de Palos we know ?
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 06:20:15 AM
I always wonder what does drive Vranes thought process.  He ent much better than Maturana when come to team selection nah.

When the team went Tobago to play Honduras two practice games, he start with the normal bench players.   Yuh first international against a quality team and yuh starting with yuh second string team...we collect 3 goals.
The next game de first string players win 1-0.  That same Honduras team come back and put water in we eye in the qualifiers...again starting without the usual starters.
In the qualifiers yuh starting against teams like Mexico and USA without yuh usual starters too ?

Now yuh on tour, yuh loss yuh first game with yuh starting team and play the second without the usual starters again, this time to collect 5 ?

Is nice to give everybody a sweat (at this time), but start with yuh first team and bring on the subs accordingly, but my thinking is that the way he going, the 'usual starters' will not gain the edge required to compete with the top teams.

I does only get to see the lil highlights from the Asian leagues, but from the little we see, them teams does look real good compared to us.
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 06:22:42 AM

nah man...dem men now gellin.....and seein int'l proper competition for the first time

gih dem time

Them fellas play two rounds in the Super League, played warm-ups in Bago, went Brazil, play qualifiers at COE and still now gelling ?
Post by: spideybuff on April 30, 2009, 07:43:55 AM

Is nice to give everybody a sweat (at this time), but start with yuh first team and bring on the subs accordingly, but my thinking is that the way he going, the 'usual starters' will not gain the edge required to compete with the top teams.

The team could only be as strong as the weakest link. And right now, there are no starters and he trying to give people the chance to prove that. Even Leston Paul and Sean De Silva spot suspect with Hyland and Sherron Joseph having the talent to displace them right now. The man probably try to prove a point by telling all the men on the bench that you will have your chance to earn your spot...and they failed. But I doh see the problem in giving men the chance to prove themselves in preparation for the big tournament.

Maybe because of the personnel change we tried some tactical changes and it backfire. I not seeing the problem with making the mistakes now and allowing non-regulars to have the experience...
Post by: Arimaman on April 30, 2009, 07:59:08 AM
I always wonder what does drive Vranes thought process.  He ent much better than Maturana when come to team selection nah.

When the team went Tobago to play Honduras two practice games, he start with the normal bench players.   Yuh first international against a quality team and yuh starting with yuh second string team...we collect 3 goals.
The next game de first string players win 1-0.  That same Honduras team come back and put water in we eye in the qualifiers...again starting without the usual starters.
In the qualifiers yuh starting against teams like Mexico and USA without yuh usual starters too ?

Now yuh on tour, yuh loss yuh first game with yuh starting team and play the second without the usual starters again, this time to collect 5 ?

I does only get to see the lil highlights from the Asian leagues, but from the little we see, them teams does look real good compared to us.

Partners, I have to disagree with yuh.  What Vranes doing is not abnormal.  The goal is not to win practice matches now but to see how the players coping, developing and ultimately come up with the best squad for the WC...shoot, for all we know, he may have to make changes to the roster.  The man qualify the team, give him the benefit of the doubt please.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 08:03:31 AM

gih dem time

Them fellas play two rounds in the Super League, played warm-ups in Bago, went Brazil, play qualifiers at COE and still now gelling ?

He usin TCB try Carefree to get dem 2 come in. D gellin go happen quicker. On a serious note this team 2gether so long that parents hook up and players are now step brudder. So that is 1 ting dey eh have 2 worry bout is gellin. Only Gay and Hyland to settle in d squad
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 09:39:43 AM

Partners, I have to disagree with yuh.  What Vranes doing is not abnormal.  The goal is not to win practice matches now but to see how the players coping, developing and ultimately come up with the best squad for the WC...shoot, for all we know, he may have to make changes to the roster.  The man qualify the team, give him the benefit of the doubt please.

I just find that them kinda moves should be the abnormal rather than the norm, cause it mean to say your top players will not be getting enuff playing time against quality teams.
And what was his reason for starting with the second string players in the WC qualifiers for all the games after Canada.
I have no problem with bringing in the bench during games.  If is a soft side yuh playing by all means play them whole game so it keeps the fellas motivated etc.  When yuh have yuh big players sit on the bench in what I would consider big games where you looking to sharpen they edge, and getting accustomed to that level of play, yuh leaving them fellas on the bench to come on...when the team down 3 goals under.  A bench player (for want of a better term) should know he have to work hard to make the starting team.  When the coach starting with the bench in big games I doh know what message that sending.  I could be paying mih money to see we always coming from behind ?  What go happen when the foreign base players come in to the squad now.
Post by: jai john on April 30, 2009, 09:49:02 AM
One thing we should try to be is true if only to ourselves ....our teams are not achieving expectations beyond our shores .....even within our shores ..our pros are bit part players on weak teams and our youngsters dont raise the kinds of hope that they did in the past ..we must de doing something wrong !!!
My humble view is that we are coaching out the very qualities that made our football attractive in the past ..especially at the youth level ...
Just visiting a few coaching schools will bring the point home ....the emphasis is on systems and winning and losing ...the joy of the game that encouraged so many of us to play when there was no money arouind ..seems lost.
If you cant see youngsters enjoying the game with a twinkle in their eyes when they play then we are losing the war ...
Cant seem to find any place for free scrimmage anymore ...like we used to have long ago ....you know keep the ball for as long as you can in a crowd ...
kyah see de young skillful player terrorizing the opponent and de whole crowd calling for more ...stop dat nonsense !!! we come out to win ..and if yuh lose de ball we go lose ! So if you want to play like dat go somewhere else !
Post by: jai john on April 30, 2009, 09:54:51 AM

I just find that them kinda moves should be the abnormal rather than the norm, cause it mean to say your top players will not be getting enuff playing time against quality teams.
And what was his reason for starting with the second string players in the WC qualifiers for all the games after Canada.
I have no problem with bringing in the bench during games.  If is a soft side yuh playing by all means play them whole game so it keeps the fellas motivated etc.  When yuh have yuh big players sit on the bench in what I would consider big games where you looking to sharpen they edge, and getting accustomed to that level of play, yuh leaving them fellas on the bench to come on...when the team down 3 goals under.  A bench player (for want of a better term) should know he have to work hard to make the starting team.  When the coach starting with the bench in big games I doh know what message that sending.  I could be paying mih money to see we always coming from behind ?  What go happen when the foreign base players come in to the squad now.

......unless of course we eh have no big Players in de coach's view ... Big is relative term here ... big where ? this eh Colleges or local league you know ...seems to me the coach has realised that we far from the line and he hoping to make the best of a bad situation ...this is UAE ...you see who in we group ?
Post by: Babalawo on April 30, 2009, 10:43:42 AM
DISCUSSION ON I-95 NOW. 868-622-3937

http://www.i955fm.com/nowplaying.aspx
Post by: elan on April 30, 2009, 12:23:05 PM
Anyone can tell me what id the purpose of the trip an dplaying these games? The only thing that count is wins? Some of us need to chill out and try and understand what is happening. THESE RESULTS SERVE NO PURPOSE. THE PLAY ON THE FIELD IS THE IMPORTANT THING RIGHT NOW. WHO CAN PLAY IN ADVERSE CONDITIONS AND THOSE WHO TAKING LONG TO SETTLE IN WILL BE RECOGNIZED NOW.

WE have to be the most loud dunce supporters ever.
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 12:36:29 PM
Not all the time you game plan might be to win, but at this level to collect 5 goals, that ent looking so good regardless of whether is a practice game or not.  Not after the team play two rounds of league football and coming off WC qualifiers.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 12:43:40 PM
Not all the time you game plan might be to win, but at this level to collect 5 goals, that ent looking so good regardless of whether is a practice game or not.  Not after the team play two rounds of league football and coming off WC qualifiers.

Betta dey collect 5 now than 7 like d under 17 in swine flu country
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 30, 2009, 12:51:35 PM
DISCUSSION ON I-95 NOW. 868-622-3937

http://www.i955fm.com/nowplaying.aspx

what did they talk about ?
Post by: Arimaman on April 30, 2009, 01:14:08 PM
Anyone can tell me what id the purpose of the trip an dplaying these games? The only thing that count is wins? Some of us need to chill out and try and understand what is happening. THESE RESULTS SERVE NO PURPOSE. THE PLAY ON THE FIELD IS THE IMPORTANT THING RIGHT NOW. WHO CAN PLAY IN ADVERSE CONDITIONS AND THOSE WHO TAKING LONG TO SETTLE IN WILL BE RECOGNIZED NOW.

WE have to be the most loud dunce supporters ever.

Thanks brother man....is not about wins and losses is about performances and seeing who can and cannot perform...
Post by: jai john on April 30, 2009, 01:14:33 PM
Dais my point y as well ... is only by licks we does learn ..not so ? we only could learn by getting we tail cut ...west indian proverb .
We eh go be learning anything if we play good on at least one tour anywhere at any level .
Some of de ostriches on de site telling deyself dat we only losing now because it eh really matter...we go be rteady when de competition start.
Yeah right !!
Why all dem big side and dem dohh tink so and does value friendlies so much so dat dey eh friendles at all ?
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 01:16:59 PM
Losing is a habit ask d WI team
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 02:20:11 PM
Dais my point y as well ... is only by licks we does learn ..not so ? we only could learn by getting we tail cut ...west indian proverb .
We eh go be learning anything if we play good on at least one tour anywhere at any level .
Some of de ostriches on de site telling deyself dat we only losing now because it eh really matter...we go be rteady when de competition start.
Yeah right !!
Why all dem big side and dem dohh tink so and does value friendlies so much so dat dey eh friendles at all ?

Good point.
Post by: elan on April 30, 2009, 04:11:55 PM
Yeah right !!

Nobody saying that when the time come we WILL be ready, but we HOPE that we will be. That is not important right now. I have confidence that Varnes could go for  success and field a team and strategy that will see us be successful, but what will we gained by the time the fellas reach the WC or even further down the road - the Senior team? The man seem to be laying a foundation and hopefully it work out for the WC. I would think development (in the situation we in with the Senior team) would have take precedence over winning or getting a result to "make us look good".
Post by: jai john on April 30, 2009, 06:38:38 PM
Yeah right !!

Nobody saying that when the time come we WILL be ready, but we HOPE that we will be. That is not important right now. I have confidence that Varnes could go for  success and field a team and strategy that will see us be successful, but what will we gained by the time the fellas reach the WC or even further down the road - the Senior team? The man seem to be laying a foundation and hopefully it work out for the WC. I would think development (in the situation we in with the Senior team) would have take precedence over winning or getting a result to "make us look good".

...and this confidence is based on ????  The man seemed to be laying a foundatiion ????? on what is he building ? ...you know what losing does to your psyche ? ...to a young player ? is UAE we playing !! you dont think it is in the mind of the players that this is not even near the opposition we will meet and that we are so far behind them ?
Nah ..Elan ..I respect your tech skills ..but I eh agreeing wid dis losing when you could possibly do better to be ready later plan !
how could you be playing reserves when it is clear the the better players are the ones most needing the experience ?
What you go say if we tour Grenada and get 5 ? dat is not WC and is just practice ? ..is wha we practising ?
So we is de whipping boys ? dais de rep we going WC with ?
Post by: jai john on April 30, 2009, 06:41:07 PM
I going with Weary on dis one ...winning like losing ......is contagious !
if you eh winning in practice how you go win in real ? ..you kyah do dat ...how yuh go do dat
Post by: E-man on April 30, 2009, 07:06:15 PM
Meanwhile, Al Ain’s manager Winfried Schaefer was fuming after Mohammed Fayez and the Abdulrahman brothers Omar and Mohammed were called up for the UAE U20 team’s two friendlies with Trinidad and Tobago this week.

“I can’t understand why they want to take three of my players when we have an important match coming up two days later,” said Schaefer. “Fayez has been a key player for me and I am not too sure if he can play such a tough game after playing in the friendlies.”

http://www.thenational.ae/article/20090501/SPORT/704309896/-1/NEWS
Title: Under20 5-0 loss Highlights
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 01, 2009, 09:16:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/XFvgE82tZ8Q
Title: Re: Under20 5-0 loss Highlights
Post by: Deeks on May 01, 2009, 09:44:53 PM
The youth have a lot of work to do. It appears trent goal look legit to me. He may have push the guy in the back. The penalty, 50/50. The rrest of the game our boys looked kinder tired.
Title: Re: Under20 5-0 loss Highlights
Post by: lefty on May 01, 2009, 09:52:08 PM
The youth have a lot of work to do. It appears trent goal look legit to me. He may have push the guy in the back. The penalty, 50/50. The rrest of the game our boys looked kinder tired.

that having been said, strangly they didn't really look "bad" either the cover was just too thin on those goals. and goalkeepin kinda suspect too
Post by: frico on May 02, 2009, 05:22:07 AM
I have never seen a team play that good and still go down 5-0.Our first goal looked good and as someone said the penalty was 50/50.We had some good chances and could easily have scored 3 or 4.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 02, 2009, 06:02:53 AM
I only watch up to the penalty, but that refereeing look home-cooked.
Post by: sub1 on May 02, 2009, 08:46:32 AM
By the time this team reaches Egypt it will be the surprise of the tournament. I say so! What a great tour. We have to thank God for small mercies. Imagine either Cornael or Maturana in charge of this team. FIRST OFF WE WOULD NOT HAVE QUALIFIED. But just their influence around this team would have been toxic. For me a draw is a bonus, a win is gravy.
Post by: elan on May 02, 2009, 10:21:03 AM
Nah them fellas and them crying down the youth men. Is all about getting it right at the right time. Go n youth men do alyuh thing.