Sports => Football => Topic started by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 10:22:55 AM

Title: Wolfe re-instated after bungle
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 10:22:55 AM
Wolfe re-instated after bungle.
By: Lasana Liburd (T&T Express)

Administrative error taints Latapy’s maiden squad

Twenty-five-year Ma Pau FC attacker and 2006 World Cup member Anthony Wolfe probably did not sleep well on Tuesday night.

Wolfe, who started in the last three international fixtures under the reign of departed coach Francisco Maturana, saw the maiden 22-man squad by new national coach Russell Latapy and realized that he was not in it.

The mobile, all-action utility player is hardly a household name for fans of the “Soca Warriors”. Wolfe made his international debut in 2003 during the short lived reign of Hannibal Najjar and, six years later, has just 23 appearances to his name—18 of those caps came in the last year under Maturana.

But Wolfe felt, at the very least, he deserved to be in any local selection and was crushed that Latapy, his former teammate and idol, seemed to think otherwise.

Wolfe vented to Ma Pau assistant coach Angus Eve who, in turn, rang Latapy to enquire about the non-selection, which seemed odd since Latapy and Eve recently had a positive exchange on the player.

Latapy apologized to Eve. It was, apparently, a mistake. Wolfe was always meant to be in the squad and was belatedly invited to the first session, which was held yesterday at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar.

The Trinidad Express confirmed as much when they contacted team manager David Muhammad. Muhammad was dismissive when pressed on the reason for Wolfe’s absence in the first place.

“He is in the squad (now),” said Muhammad. “That is what matters.”

Indeed. Muhammad has been a Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) employee for barely 15 months but he seems to fully grasp the ethos that permeates their headquarters.

Accountability and competence, as far as the local football governing body is concerned, are for players and, arguably, the head coach but surely not for administrators.

So Maturana was ushered to the Piarco International Airport’s departure with a dunce’s cap for the team’s poor start to the final 2010 World Cup qualifying round. Yet Muhammad stays despite a catalogue of blunders which include heading a technical staff that dropped national heroes via text messages, failing to bridge the gap between staff and players, an apparent inability to book an international team beyond Guyana and the occasional tendency of sending invitation letters for players at the wrong clubs.

Already, he has proven his worth to his rookie coach, Latapy—if not for the tainted team sheet handed to the media then surely for his response to the error.

Muhammad’s belief that administrative blunders should be ignored while errant passes and shoddy defending are intolerable is an old theme in the TTFF. And it looks like it will run for a while yet.

Over the next month, Latapy will try to convince his players to take pride in their duties. He will assure them that slip ups are harshly punished at this level and would talk repeatedly about how a five percent increase in their abilities can make a world of difference.

Muhammad, with replica shirt under his suit, would probably nod along too and may even add his polished oratory to the lecture. Any notion of hypocrisy would escape him.

I had hoped to discuss Latapy’s first squad. The intriguing selections of Conrad Smith, Devon Jorsling, Hughton Hector and Noel Williams or the shock recalls for the likes of Hayden Tinto, Dwayne Jack and Gyasi Joyce. Perhaps even speculate on the omissions of Cyd Gray, Marvin Oliver, Kerry Baptiste and Jerol Forbes.

Instead, Wolfe’s mistaken exclusion distracts. Muhammad believes it is a non-issue. For the rest of us, it feels more like déjà vu.

Wolfe, like most of his teammates, will be either booed or praised according to his performance on June 6. By now, he would be accustomed to such public judgments of his competence.

Latapy too would be made to account for the time he spends with the national squad and the team he sends out to face Costa Rica and Mexico.

But spare a thought for the influential figures lurking in the corridors of the TTFF who seem immune to the court of opinion.
Title: Re: Wolfe re-instated after bungle
Post by: pardners on April 30, 2009, 10:31:25 AM
I ent see no source but it smells like Lisana's work.   ;)
Post by: asylumseeker on April 30, 2009, 10:32:57 AM
Author?
Post by: NUFF on April 30, 2009, 10:37:42 AM
Weary where yuh get dat news from?-
Post by: fordy on April 30, 2009, 10:41:23 AM

LOL....good call!! :beermug:
Post by: Babalawo on April 30, 2009, 10:41:56 AM
Weary where yuh get dat news from?-
she is a writer now  :rotfl:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 30, 2009, 10:44:52 AM
That Muhammed guy is a waste of f**king time

Under Bruce Anansen(manager during the Leo period) we were fairly organised..limited mistakes

under this f**k we truly represent our 3rd world status

bring bruce back
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 10:49:32 AM

LOL....good call!! :beermug:

Yes it is Lisana's work but d express did not put it on d online version so I posted it for him. Somebody commented bout d article in d Latas select 22 players thread but this needs its own thread. I adjusted d title of the thread.
Title: Re: Wolfe re-instated after bungle- Lisana Liburd
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 10:53:30 AM
If he stop goin on power 102 and chattin so much nonsense and do he wuk d faux pas go stop. Who wuk it is 2 call d players d Coach?
Post by: Babalawo on April 30, 2009, 10:55:32 AM
well we know that was a mistake. Latapy would pick he and Theobald even if he was coaching the Brazilian team.
Post by: spideybuff on April 30, 2009, 11:12:49 AM
So what is the verdict? Latas forget to write the man name down when he name his side or Muhammed forget to forward it to the press?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 30, 2009, 11:21:46 AM
Lasana is at his best when shining light down cockroach hole.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 11:23:42 AM
So what is the verdict? Latas forget to write the man name down when he name his side or Muhammed forget to forward it to the press?

I wit Latas on this 1  since d fella does uninvite peeps by text. If he could do dat he could 4get 2 include Wolfe.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 30, 2009, 12:09:08 PM
hope he is not a right back
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 12:18:45 PM
hope he is not a right back

Cosign
Post by: iceberg on April 30, 2009, 12:24:33 PM
So clearly this was the Team Managers fault?  Then why after his apparent shoddy management he still employed.  THat have to be embrassing for Latas to get a direct from a players coach questioning why he was not picked.  Latas should be addressing this sternly with David Muhammad.  BS man!
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 12:28:01 PM
So clearly this was the Team Managers fault?  Then why after his apparent shoddy management he still employed.  THat have to be embrassing for Latas to get a direct from a players coach questioning why he was not picked.  Latas should be addressing this sternly with David Muhammad.  BS man!

Why is he still employed ever heard of d Peter Principle. Dat is y Camps is still employ.
Post by: warmonga on April 30, 2009, 12:34:45 PM
wolfe ent he get beat up by dem cops last year. I hear dey bruck up he hand and ting.. he does still play ball? what position he does play is he good. I know he went to Germany as di water boy but I eh know he dat good lats calling him up...
Post by: iceberg on April 30, 2009, 12:36:24 PM
i hear yuh weary. it's just unprofessional man.  But Latapy and all should have double check with Muhammad to see if all the players he wanted were called.  jus saying doh.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 12:41:35 PM
i hear yuh weary. it's just unprofessional man.  But Latapy and all should have double check with Muhammad to see if all the players he wanted were called.  jus saying doh.

If he have 2 do dat as well then pay he d mger salary as well.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 30, 2009, 01:01:22 PM
Whether he forget to write de name or he didn't bother to double-check with Muhammed, buck still stop with Latas.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 01:05:50 PM
Whether he forget to write de name or he didn't bother to double-check with Muhammed, buck still stop with Latas.

Cyah cosign dat. If yuh give basic instructions and it cyah get done then do it yuh self. D only way it is Latas fault is if he 4got 2 include d man. 
Post by: Mackie on April 30, 2009, 01:14:09 PM
well we know that was a mistake. Latapy would pick he and Theobald even if he was coaching the Brazilian team.
What Latas have with Theobald boy ? I mean its obvious Densil is an average player ... And for the life of me I cannot remember him having a standout game aside from England vs T&T in the world cup. Come on Latas !
Post by: King Deese on April 30, 2009, 01:45:11 PM
i was actually trying to hide my disappointed but i couldn't help myself, what the F%$@ and why? let me guess, lasana from deep, deep into toco. the fact that he is questioning why hector is on the team and baptiste is not, lets me know that this individual missing some marbles.
Post by: Bakes on April 30, 2009, 01:53:05 PM

Agreed.

Liburd making a mountain out a molehill where Muhammad is concerned.  Muhammad is right, what matters is that the man's name is now among the camp invitees... whatever the reason for the oversight he don't need to communicate that to Lasana.  Lasana right to complain about the inefficiency that led to the oversight but the second part of his grouse come off like he have some kinda grudge or personal issue with Muhammad... whatever the reason for the oversight that is an internal matter.

Fact is that Latapy should have caught the error before the list went out... or once it was publicized.  If in fact he gave a correct list and Muhammad fack up then it's Latapy's ball from here how he want to deal with it.  If he vex enough let him get rid of Muhammad.   If his hands are tied and he can't fire him then is up to him to decide if he wants to put up with that situation.  If it's somewhere in between those two extremes.. which is to say he's not upset to the point of firing Muhammad, nor is he prevented from firing him (should he so desire) then it's up to Latapy to deal with it in-house.

What next, Lasana go complain because Muhammad ent tell him how the teams breakfast eggs were prepared that morning?  stueps... we have bigger fish to fry man.
Post by: Arimaman on April 30, 2009, 02:25:42 PM
I have to ask the question albeit a naive one....so them men doh contact the players themselves or their reps?  So even if they leave him off the media list, wouldn't the player have been contacted and knew to show up for practice?

Tells us the jokeyness of our association....
Post by: Controversial on April 30, 2009, 03:56:20 PM
schupsss, i fine they should drop he and akile edwards for pacheco and jagdeosingh
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 30, 2009, 04:06:06 PM
schupsss, i fine they should drop he and akile edwards for pacheco and jagdeosingh
What has Wolfe done (or not done) to deserve being dropped as a midfielder? And you still talking bout Jagdeosingh? Puerto Rico local?
Post by: Controversial on April 30, 2009, 04:51:55 PM
What has Wolfe done (or not done) to deserve being dropped as a midfielder? And you still talking bout Jagdeosingh? Puerto Rico local?

wolfe is a shithound, so is akile, jus watching them play many times, even being around the team in the world cup would tell you wolfe is a waste of time.
Post by: College on April 30, 2009, 05:06:07 PM

wolfe is a shithound, so is akile, jus watching them play many times, even being around the team in the world cup would tell you wolfe is a waste of time.

TI, the operative word here is local
Post by: kingman on April 30, 2009, 06:16:18 PM
I was told right after the USA game, from a inside source, that Wolfe cursed Latas. When I saw that his name was not included in the local base players I was not surprised.

Maybe he (Wolfe) apologized to Latas, hence the reason why he is back in the squad.

Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 07:14:50 PM
I was told right after the USA game, from a inside source, that Wolfe cursed Latas. When I saw that his name was not included in the local base players I was not surprised.

Maybe he (Wolfe) apologized to Latas, hence the reason why he is back in the squad.

OK thanks 4 d inside info.
Post by: Bourbon on April 30, 2009, 08:44:26 PM

As opposed to Pacho? Hmmmmm.....
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 08:50:58 PM

Correck I guess is Latas put he in defence.
Post by: Savannah boy on April 30, 2009, 10:10:43 PM
No mistake.  Drop he arse.  Up to now he cyah lock down a spot.  Steups.
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2009, 10:51:53 PM
No mistake.  Drop he arse.  Up to now he cyah lock down a spot.  Steups.

True he eh lock down d forward/midfield/leftback positions.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 01, 2009, 12:38:04 AM
BM here...all in ah days play
Post by: just cool on May 01, 2009, 02:25:18 AM

Come on TI!! i already told yuh jagdeosing is a foreign base player, but yuh still come back wid the jagdeosing arguement!!
Post by: Fyzoman on May 01, 2009, 02:41:13 AM

interesting intel .....so is Latas pull off MeMum too then??? ah try to watch dey interaction when he come off, he walk by Latas who was still warming up and it look like Latas give him ah lil ' good game' (speculation on my part, ah cyah lip-read). ah didn't expect Latas to hug an kiss him eh, but ah just wondered about de whole MeMum thing, ah waiting.
Post by: just cool on May 01, 2009, 03:39:18 AM
I smell a lot of changes coming our way that we the fans won't like.

ah just hope latas put the most capable men on the pitch! that's really all i care about. i don't mind losing , but let me lose with the best team available and a lot of effort.
Post by: Sam on May 01, 2009, 04:13:11 AM
Ah see Latapy call Kareem Joseph (Caledonia AIA) too...
Post by: iceberg on May 01, 2009, 02:04:19 PM
if is true that Wolfe curse Latas after the USA game, then how much respect the foreign based players going to give him as head coach.  I just think alot of those players may not be receptive to the changes he is going to be making. Not trying to sound too pessimistic, just trying to look at the big picture.  Like how is Latas going and call he boy Stern nd tell him boss we don't need you again but we go drink ah beer in Zen after the games.  I backing Latas all the way but will the "big boys" them especially man like Yorke (he twin) be willing to listen to him.
Post by: weary1969 on May 01, 2009, 02:58:10 PM
if is true that Wolfe curse Latas after the USA game, then how much respect the foreign based players going to give him as head coach.  I just think alot of those players may not be receptive to the changes he is going to be making. Not trying to sound too pessimistic, just trying to look at the big picture.  Like how is Latas going and call he boy Stern nd tell him boss we don't need you again but we go drink ah beer in Zen after the games.  I backing Latas all the way but will the "big boys" them especially man like Yorke (he twin) be willing to listen to him.

Nuff peeps have 2 b supervise by their former peer. It does have growin pains but once both side recognise d change it could work
Post by: Controversial on May 01, 2009, 03:05:42 PM

Come on TI!! i already told yuh jagdeosing is a foreign base player, but yuh still come back wid the jagdeosing arguement!!

k point taken breds but whappen to pacheco? ??? shithound akile still on the team and wolfe is an even bigger shithound, everytime i see him in the midfield, i does wonder what does he contribute? nuttin, now ah hear he cuss latas, de man shoulda stay at home and watch how real football players does make themselves known on the pitch
Post by: weary1969 on May 01, 2009, 03:07:18 PM

k point taken breds but whappen to pacheco? ??? shithound akile still on the team and wolfe is an even bigger shithound, everytime i see him in the midfield, i does wonder what does he contribute? nuttin, now ah hear he cuss latas, de man shoulda stay at home and watch how real football players does make themselves known on the pitch

So a man say he cuss Latas is gospellll. U eh like Wolfe dat is yuh right but doh use hearsay evidence to stack up points y u eh like d man.
Post by: Controversial on May 01, 2009, 03:10:36 PM

So a man say he cuss Latas is gospellll. U eh like Wolfe dat is yuh right but doh use hearsay evidence to stack up points y u eh like d man.

what the frige that have to do with me saying wolfe is a shithound from 2006 to now? i said added to the fact wolfe is a shithound, he cuss the coach, which to me would mean instant ban oui, i dont need to use any excuse for a shithound, wolfe done giwwe plenty :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on May 01, 2009, 03:14:25 PM

what the frige that have to do with me saying wolfe is a shithound from 2006 to now? i said added to the fact wolfe is a shithound, he cuss the coach, which to me would mean instant ban oui, i dont need to use any excuse for a shithound, wolfe done giwwe plenty :devil:

If he is a hound as u say y include he cuss d coach enough reasons y he should not b around. U must b addin brownie points. Wolfe was 1 ah d betta players in d debacle in Chicago.
Post by: Controversial on May 01, 2009, 03:16:53 PM

If he is a hound as u say y include he cuss d coach enough reasons y he should not b around. U must b addin brownie points. Wolfe was 1 ah d betta players in d debacle in Chicago.

what game u watch? ah pro league game  :devil: it wasnt the one in chicago
Post by: noize on May 01, 2009, 03:32:00 PM
Ah think ah just read wrong.. ah man say that Wolfe was one of the better players at the last game?  :rotfl: :rotfl: who write that post  Ray Charles??? :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 01, 2009, 03:34:37 PM
Wolfe was 1 ah d betta players in d debacle in Chicago.
Yep.
Post by: palos on May 01, 2009, 03:36:16 PM
Ah think ah just read wrong.. ah man say that Wolfe was one of the better players at the last game?  :rotfl: :rotfl: who write that post  Ray Charles??? :rotfl: :rotfl:

U read wrong.

The poster specifically said the game in Chicago.

The last US game was played in Nashville.

Wolfe came on in the 2nd half in the game in Chicago and was to my mind one of the better players on show for T&T.  Doesn't say much because the team performance was dismal overall, but I agree with the poster.

Nex time Stevie Wonder...check yuh contents... 8)
Post by: noize on May 01, 2009, 03:43:34 PM
 ;D ok ok ...LOL...maybe I need meh glasses changed ..my bad... ah take it back!!!  :o
Post by: palos on May 01, 2009, 03:52:59 PM
;D ok ok ...LOL...maybe I need meh glasses changed ..my bad... ah take it back!!!  :o

;D ;D :beermug:
Post by: just cool on May 01, 2009, 04:46:46 PM

Ah  see yuh got it, but what's the K for BC the last time i checked my name didn''t start or end wid ah K! yuh dissin meh incognito or what?
Post by: weary1969 on May 01, 2009, 07:17:07 PM

U read wrong.

The poster specifically said the game in Chicago.

The last US game was played in Nashville.

Wolfe came on in the 2nd half in the game in Chicago and was to my mind one of the better players on show for T&T.  Doesn't say much because the team performance was dismal overall, but I agree with the poster.

Nex time Stevie Wonder...check yuh contents... 8)

Thank u Mr. Moderator 4 lettin dem jokers know that I know what I talkin bout.
Post by: Ngozi on May 02, 2009, 07:28:40 AM
lol paaaloosssssssssss lol
Post by: jumbonut$ on May 02, 2009, 09:47:39 PM
A Birdie told me that Wolfe's return came at the expense of Gyasi Joyce. So Im guessing they are still considering him at right back bc Gyasi's prime position is Right Back.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 03, 2009, 07:40:55 AM
A Birdie told me that Wolfe's return came at the expense of Gyasi Joyce. So Im guessing they are still considering him at right back bc Gyasi's prime position is Right Back.

NAH!!....Eh, eh.....Wolfe in right back again??....nah I waiting to see that with mih own 2 eyes.....
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 03, 2009, 07:54:53 AM
I have no problem with them trying to groom him to be a RB. I just have a problem with him starting in important games. Let him learn de position first.
Post by: spideybuff on May 03, 2009, 08:08:22 AM
I have a problem with that. It is a serious slap in the face for all the men who playing RB for trinidad since their u-17 days that all of a sudden, ten years or more later, this striker must come from behind and 'learn' the position now?

Nah that is nonsense.
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 03, 2009, 08:23:09 AM
I have a problem with that. It is a serious slap in the face for all the men who playing RB for trinidad since their u-17 days that all of a sudden, ten years or more later, this striker must come from behind and 'learn' the position now?

Nah that is nonsense.
Lemme rephrase. I have no problem with them trying to groom him IF there is evidence of his potential to excel in that position. What about all de strikers playing youth ball for years, only for dis defender name Kenwyne to come and take up a spot?

If coaches see a potentially good RB in Wolfe, I'm fine with that. Leave him on de bench, though.
Post by: pardners on May 04, 2009, 12:15:34 PM

Nah that is nonsense.

Well it go be a easy choice when asked the question on "who wants to be a millionaire ?"
Ques...which right back has ever won a Golden Boot Award ?
A. Stern John
B. Tallman  ;D
C. Hasley Crawford
D. Glenton Wolfe
Post by: Bourbon on May 04, 2009, 12:29:28 PM

Dat had anyting to do with de facebook group?  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on May 04, 2009, 10:58:42 PM

Dat had anyting to do with de facebook group?  :devil:

Hmmmmmmmm
Post by: palos on May 05, 2009, 01:20:48 AM

Nah that is nonsense.

So spidey, yuh tink Danny Alves was a right back all he life?

How bout Maicon?

Real Madrid's Marcelo

Branco?

Roberto Carlos?

Look de yuteman Gibbs who play fuh Arsenal against Man U in de CL.  Yuh know he start off as a left winger?

Slap in the face who playin de position all dey life?  U eh serious bro.  Dis football ting eh a sentimentality business.  Is a performance and entertainment based industry.  If yuh cyah do either, yuh out and dey will find somebody who could do it better dan you.

Daz jes de facts bro.
Post by: arrow on May 05, 2009, 04:59:52 AM
Slap in the face who playin de position all dey life?  U eh serious bro.  Dis football ting eh a sentimentality business.  Is a performance and entertainment based industry.  If yuh cyah do either, yuh out and dey will find somebody who could do it better dan you.
Daz jes de facts bro.

why bother recall Wolfe then?