General => General Discussion => Topic started by: triniairman on August 06, 2009, 05:14:06 PM

Title: Facebook
Post by: triniairman on August 06, 2009, 05:14:06 PM
Any forumites got  Facebook ? You all can post your names on here so that you can either send an invite or just accept an invite. I play Texas Hold Em' on there, so if anyone think they up for some poker hit me up. You can hit me up in a PM . This is just another way for us to get to see who we are really talking too and set up limes when we home. :beermug:
Title: Re: Facebook
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 06, 2009, 07:06:37 PM
wanna be friends.yuh soundin lil desperate. :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 06, 2009, 07:30:38 PM
doh study capo. i go link yuh dread. sound like a good idea.
Post by: triniairman on August 06, 2009, 07:48:46 PM
Is just a kool scene, you don't have to be my friend  ;D  My wife and kid is more than enough company for me... I just thought it would be a good idea.

PS. My first SWN friend is Warrior Queen :beermug:
Post by: Organic on August 06, 2009, 08:37:03 PM
Is just a kool scene, you don't have to be my friend  ;D  My wife and kid is more than enough company for me... I just thought it would be a good idea.

it have stalkers in here  u know...people go be hitting u up and bearing they sad soul for u. you know dem elder folks like to have poeple to talk to.
. go brave padna.
Post by: Bourbon on August 06, 2009, 08:39:25 PM
It didnt have a group or someting so at a point in time?
Post by: triniairman on August 06, 2009, 09:12:33 PM

it have stalkers in here  u know...people go be hitting u up and bearing they sad soul for u. you know dem elder folks like to have poeple to talk to.
. go brave padna.
I edited meh name after yuh tell meh that yes!!! ;D
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2009, 09:41:28 PM

you and Warrior Queen PM mih allyuh email address if allyuh want and I'll send the request.  Allyuh wouldn't be able to find mih otherwise.
Post by: Themanfriday on August 07, 2009, 07:06:06 AM
I dey Dawg.

Hit me up. email on SW profile
Post by: Daft Trini on August 07, 2009, 08:12:22 AM
I PM YUH.... :beermug:
Post by: Feliziano on August 07, 2009, 07:34:17 PM
allyuh PM me too  :beermug:
ah looking for Mafia  ;D
Post by: Themanfriday on August 07, 2009, 08:03:34 PM
I play City of Ash
Post by: Feliziano on August 07, 2009, 08:16:22 PM
I play City of Ash
yeah first time i notice that game was today on yuh page..i like the doom and gloom and world domination kinda thing  ;D
send meh ah invite
Post by: Themanfriday on August 07, 2009, 08:21:37 PM
I play City of Ash
yeah first time i notice that game was today on yuh page..i like the doom and gloom and world domination kinda thing  ;D
send meh ah invite

I have a link on myprofile. left corner
Post by: Bourbon on August 08, 2009, 10:27:14 PM
Hit meh a pm dey.
Title: FACEBOOK
Post by: rotatopoti3 on August 12, 2009, 05:12:26 AM
Hi everyone,

"Facebook has agreed to let 3rd party advertisers use your posted photos WITHOUT YOUR PERMISSION.
To opt out: Click on SETTINGS (located on top of page in blue bar, next to logout); Select PRIVACY SETTINGS; Select NEWS FEEDS and WALL; Select the TAB that reads Facebook Ads. There will be a drop down box; Select NO ONE & Save your changes

Title: Re: FACEBOOK
Post by: Jumbie on August 12, 2009, 06:55:09 AM
what facebook need to work on is giving users the ability to ok or deny posting of pics that they're tagged on before they go live.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on August 12, 2009, 08:05:42 AM
Hi everyone,

"Facebook has agreed to let 3rd party advertisers use your posted photos WITHOUT YOUR PERMISSION.
To opt out: Click on SETTINGS (located on top of page in blue bar, next to logout); Select PRIVACY SETTINGS; Select NEWS FEEDS and WALL; Select the TAB that reads Facebook Ads. There will be a drop down box; Select NO ONE & Save your changes

Rota,
That rumour has been around for a couple of years. I am told it is a hoax.
It better be because some of my portfolio is on FB.

Jumbie...agreed!

Post by: elan on August 12, 2009, 09:16:46 AM
This is what greeted me when I tried to do what you say.

Worried about privacy?
Your photos are safe.
There have been misleading rumors recently about the use of your photos in ads. Don't believe them. These rumors were related to third-party applications, and not ads shown by Facebook. Get the whole story at the Facebook Blog, or check out the Help Center.
Post by: Bakes on August 12, 2009, 02:22:33 PM
what facebook need to work on is giving users the ability to ok or deny posting of pics that they're tagged on before they go live.

But the pictures aren't posted from your account... how yuh go have control over somebody else pics?  Yuh could always remove the tag afterwards though.
Post by: Blue on August 12, 2009, 02:49:46 PM

But the pictures aren't posted from your account... how yuh go have control over somebody else pics?  Yuh could always remove the tag afterwards though.

Facebook should give you the option of requiring your approval for people to tag you in their pix. No reason that cant work.

True, you can de-tag, but u cant always de-tag fast enough  ;D
Post by: dinho on August 12, 2009, 03:09:35 PM

Facebook should give you the option of requiring your approval for people to tag you in their pix. No reason that cant work.

True, you can de-tag, but u cant always de-tag fast enough  ;D

yeah, i mean the person who post your picture has to approve the tag anyway, so why cant you.. but then i guess it would kinda defeat the whole purpose, because an individual would tag photos in his/her album and people would forget or decline to approve making the whole concept useless...

sometimes is not even about de photo yuh get tag in nuh.. is de rest of de photos in de album whey yuh was.. lol

what they need to also do (unless someone knows, if so would be much appreciated) is to find a way to let you clean out your inbox + sent without having to flag them all and then delete page by page...

and also permanently delete not just sit in trash where u have to go and delete it again.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 13, 2009, 06:51:19 AM
Question for forumites : how many of you who are members of facebook, spend more time socializing via computer versus in person? Or are you able to keep a good balance? I ask only because I feel as a society it appears that more people than not are 'socialzing' in ways that do not involve face to face contact or even verbal conversations.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on August 13, 2009, 09:04:59 AM
Question for forumites : how many of you who are members of facebook, spend more time socializing via computer versus in person? Or are you able to keep a good balance? I ask only because I feel as a society it appears that more people than not are 'socialzing' in ways that do not involve face to face contact or even verbal conversations.

I'm an FBer but not there as often as I'd like. It's good for networking which is how my business succeeds. I'm a member of several forums and try to network across them all. But in order to do what I do, I have to be out there in 'real life', meeting people, learning and understanding and seeing new places and things. One of my projects in particular has me in places I would never know about or visit had I not been out there. And each place spurs me on to others.

While in Toronto for Caribana I never even looked at a computer for days and didn't miss it but once I got back home, I had to slam into it and stay there until client deadlines were met.

It wasn't always so though. I overdosed on the internet for a while back in the day. But thankfully I grew out of it. *gets hit by lightening*
Post by: giggsy11 on August 13, 2009, 02:48:56 PM

I'm an FBer but not there as often as I'd like. It's good for networking which is how my business succeeds. I'm a member of several forums and try to network across them all. But in order to do what I do, I have to be out there in 'real life', meeting people, learning and understanding and seeing new places and things. One of my projects in particular has me in places I would never know about or visit had I not been out there. And each place spurs me on to others.

While in Toronto for Caribana I never even looked at a computer for days and didn't miss it but once I got back home, I had to slam into it and stay there until client deadlines were met.

It wasn't always so though. I overdosed on the internet for a while back in the day. But thankfully I grew out of it. *gets hit by lightening*

Good for you. What type of business are you in? By the way continued success with it.
Post by: dwolfman on August 13, 2009, 03:13:05 PM

My person to person socialising is suffering not because of vitual interaction, but because of very real girlfriend version 4.6. All my friends have abandoned me claiming that I under lock and key. I aiming to fix that. Seriously though, while online socialising has become a major force in social interaction at least here in T&T our culture still allows for significant bar limes, house limes and general socialising in public.
Post by: Dutty on August 13, 2009, 04:18:58 PM
aah boy wolf...the whip marks on yuh back pink and plentiful eh?
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 13, 2009, 10:01:41 PM

giggsy, yuh eh lie at all. some months ago ah was introduced to a gentleman who was interested and wanted to vibes meh. one of the first things he said to me was ' i hope u on facebook, so i cud keep in touch wid u'.  an in my mind i thinkin ' buh watever happen to callin somebody on d phone or goin an lime somewhere?'.  :-\. truth be told, all ive gotten is some long messages on facebook which would have had  a greater impact if he told me over d phone or in person. *sigh*

so to answer yuh question giggs... i think facebook an these social networks have negatively affected face to face socialisation in a major way. mankind, especially d young ones, we doh know how to hold a proper conversation with people or how to interact wid ppl again
Post by: giggsy11 on August 14, 2009, 05:58:42 AM

giggsy, yuh eh lie at all. some months ago ah was introduced to a gentleman who was interested and wanted to vibes meh. one of the first things he said to me was ' i hope u on facebook, so i cud keep in touch wid u'.  an in my mind i thinkin ' buh watever happen to callin somebody on d phone or goin an lime somewhere?'.  :-\. truth be told, all ive gotten is some long messages on facebook which would have had  a greater impact if he told me over d phone or in person. *sigh*

so to answer yuh question giggs... i think facebook an these social networks have negatively affected face to face socialisation in a major way. mankind, especially d young ones, we doh know how to hold a proper conversation with people or how to interact wid ppl again

This whole facebook thing has had me thinking since I have gotten a few request from friends to join. I feel like society has not just found a new way to avoid dealing with each other face to face but also provided a wider forum for people to be dishonest or more dishonest about who they are and what they are about. I tried online dating a few years ago and one of the biggest turn offs was people under reporting things about themselves or using it as a way to avoid dealing with their realities and what is really going on with them.  Same with people who all they do is communicate by text, especially the young people and low and behold they still haven't learn how to spell! But I also think the reliance on technology to communicate and interact has led to people have poorer coping skills because it is easier to be be rude and disrespectful via technology versus actually trying to work out an issue in a civilized and mature manner. I also think it continues to feed the need for 'instant gratification' mentality that also chips away at the value of waiting for things to play out.
Just my 2cents. Thanks for taking the time to respond :beermug:
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on August 14, 2009, 08:56:36 AM
yes and no

The internet has also allowed those who already had major coping skills to reach out, albeit virtually, and meet the world.
The way we are communicating is changing, widening, more options. The internet did not make social misfits, it merely uncovered them.
The internet has also allowed us to 'meet' people we would never EVER had had the chance to without this media.
Yes, water finds its lowest level...
Post by: asylumseeker on August 14, 2009, 07:35:01 PM
Interesting perspective dey giggsy :beermug:

Post by: Jefferz on August 18, 2009, 11:31:34 PM
no scene, just say yuh from sw.net though, nuff randoms.

Jeffrey Hugh Alexander Wight
Post by: Socapro on August 19, 2009, 12:04:39 AM
I'm on facebook, just search for "Ian Socapro Henry" and you'll find me.  8)
Post by: Daft Trini on August 19, 2009, 07:50:36 AM
Little Magician is the name and I'm on the Georgetown network...

(daiz georgetown university... doh be like TI and think is Georgetown, Guyana  :rotfl:)
Post by: vb on August 19, 2009, 08:23:25 AM

(daiz georgetown university... doh be like TI and think is Georgetown, Guyana  :rotfl:)

Doh laugh nah, I can't remember, but I think I might have made the same mistake when we hooked up on FB  ;D
Post by: Bakes on August 19, 2009, 10:40:51 AM

Dat Georgetown thing sounds familiar...
Post by: Andre on August 19, 2009, 10:42:37 AM
Any forumites got  Facebook ? You all can post your names on here so that you can either send an invite or just accept an invite. I play Texas Hold Em' on there, so if anyone think they up for some poker hit me up. You can hit me up in a PM . This is just another way for us to get to see who we are really talking too and set up limes when we home. :beermug:

hey qt!

r u over 18 and female?
Post by: WestCoast on August 19, 2009, 10:47:13 AM

hey qt!

r u over 18 and female?