Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 05:40:20 AM

Title: CLT20: T&T vs Mumbai Indians
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 05:40:20 AM
T&T come up against old homeboy
The Preview by Sidharth Monga
September 25, 2011
http://www.espncricinfo.com/champions-league-twenty20-2011/content/current/story/533754.html

Match facts
Mumbai Indians v Trinidad & Tobago, September 26
Start time 2000 (1430 GMT)
10:30 AM Trinidad & Tobago

(http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/109300/109318.2.jpg)
It must have been love: when Pollard and T&T first charmed the world
© Global Cricket Ventures-BCCI

Champions League Twenty20
Teams: Mumbai Indians | Trinidad & Tobago

Big Picture
Two years ago a regional team from the Caribbean Islands entertained and captured the imagination of - at least - the Indian crowds. They played merry cricket, and their celebrations included national flags, something no other team in the Champions League had. They were almost the home team, and one man in particular, marauding runs, diving to pull off incredible catches and saves, became the darling of the crowds.

Two years on, that man Kieron Pollard is the ultimate freelance cricketer. He plays Twenty20 cricket in India, Australia and England, sometimes even when West Indies are playing international cricket. When the said team, Trinidad & Tobago, were winning the Caribbean T20 this year - qualification for the Champions League qualifiers a by-product of that - Pollard was playing the Big Bash in Australia.

Pollard and T&T raise the classical money-league questions. Was Pollard because of T&T or T&T because of Pollard? How much does Pollard owe T&T, his first team? Has he outgrown T&T? The two parties have followed the classical money-league solution too. They have both moved on seamlessly. Pollard plies his trade all around the world, and makes more money that he can imagine making with T&T. There is the general practical acceptance - at least on the surface - that making money through playing cricket is no sin.

T&T too have got used to life without Pollard. They have put together another steady team playing merry and effective cricket, they have won the Caribbean T20 again, they were the best team in the Champions League qualifiers, and who should they face in their first match in the main draw? Pollard's IPL side that is philosophically the exact opposite of T&T. Mumbai Indians have bought the finest players money could buy and auction would allow, they have bought the finest coaches the facilities, they have looked after their talent well, and when they were faced with a deluge of injuries they managed to even get the playing conditions twisted to accommodate five foreign players.

Watch out for …
Ravi Rampaul made it a habit to strike early during the past international season at home. The definition of "early" changes with Twenty20, but he has been doing it in the qualifiers, and will be crucial again, especially in Bangalore, a track not tailor-made for T&T's slower bowlers.

Lasith Malinga won Mumbai a game off his bat on Saturday; he bowled a few trademark yorkers too, but he will surely want to make bigger impact with the ball than 4-0-29-1, and T20 cricket knows he can.

Team news
T&T preferred the same XI in the qualifying leg, but given the better pace of the Bangalore pitch and the small boundaries they might want to add to the only specialist fast bowler, Rampaul.
Mumbai don't have too many choices with team selection, and are likely to retain their winning combination. The one concern for them is their South African opening batsman, Davy Jacobs, who is a doubtful starter after being stretchered off the field

Stats and trivia

Quotes
"We are looking forward to meeting the Mumbai Indians with Kieron Pollard on board, and also the Chennai Super Kings with Dwayne Bravo on board, and we will be coming hard at them. We are hoping to pull off a victory over both teams, and the boys are looking forward to playing against players who were part of our set-up. I think getting victory over those guys in this tournament will be feathers in our caps."
Darren Ganga suggests T&T haven't moved on that well after all

"I think this win will set the tone for us to go forward. We have won this game and this will definitely boost our confidence. We would like to stay very humble in the remaining matches, and do what we can do at our best."
Harbhajan Singh, the Mumbai Indians captain, stays, well, humble after one Twenty20 win

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo
Title: Re: CLT20: T&T vs Mumbai Indians
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 05:45:24 AM
Start Time: 10:30 AM Trinidad and Tobago

Links:

http://www.cricket-365.tv/
http://mencricket.com/
http://crictime.com/
http://mypremium.tv/
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 26, 2011, 06:02:47 AM
come on tnt..show dem fellas  we could out spin dem fellas today
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 08:26:07 AM
Let's do it!
TnT won the toss and elected to bat
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 08:46:03 AM
Bharath down, clean pelted by Malinga.

21/1
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 08:50:51 AM
Bravo for 6!
34/1 after 4
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 08:54:16 AM
WDMC Simmons?
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 08:55:24 AM
now tune in an that is what i see...that is some poor poor poor running
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 26, 2011, 08:56:28 AM
Simmons was batting so well...steups
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 08:57:11 AM
Simmons gone and do some stupidness there...
lazy
Post by: Michael-j on September 26, 2011, 08:57:59 AM
That was some real schoolboy shit there from Simmo  :cursing: Before I even saw the replay I knew he was gone  >:(
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 09:05:15 AM
what d hell ramdin?
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:06:00 AM
Ganga & Ramdin WDA
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 26, 2011, 09:06:10 AM
well yes..... :frustrated:
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:15:12 AM
I suppose if the IPL teams are Liverpool. T&T is Arsenal.
Self-inflicted wounds.

64/5
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:16:10 AM
we in trouble now
need a heroic effort and now!
Post by: rotatopoti3 on September 26, 2011, 09:23:41 AM
call ah SOE......
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:24:04 AM
call ah SOE......

Send a motobike!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:24:42 AM
 :pissedoff: :banginghead:
Post by: warmonga on September 26, 2011, 09:28:24 AM
pressure
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 09:29:21 AM
COOPER GONE NOW

LAWD FADDERRRRRRRRR
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:30:14 AM
83/7

After Simmons gone, it seem the whole team fall apart....
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 09:30:23 AM
SCHOOL BOI CRICKET AT ITS FINESTTTTTTTT
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:31:54 AM
Whey the motobike???!!!!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:32:45 AM
ah wonder what going through Pollard mind yes
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:33:49 AM
ah wonder what going through Pollard mind yes

Apparently he thinking he could bowl we out.
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:43:32 AM
95/9
Post by: lefty on September 26, 2011, 09:44:23 AM
I telling allyuh dis team loose discipline and bite since d MFC take over.....ah not kidding there has been serious regression
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:45:29 AM
ah hope we at least cross 100
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:45:50 AM

Ent!
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:47:55 AM

Ent!

Nope... ???
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:48:13 AM

Ent!

shoulda chase...

Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 09:48:38 AM

Ent!

Nope... ???

dais pathetic
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 09:51:10 AM
Almost Windies bowl out Kinda England for 88. I keeping hope alive!

:challenge:
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 10:03:48 AM

Yuh hope in vain
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 10:16:51 AM
yes Badree
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 10:20:00 AM
yes Rampaul! 13/2
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 10:25:40 AM
Almost Windies bowl out Kinda England for 88. I keeping hope alive!

:challenge:

16/3!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 10:27:48 AM
well yes...16/4
here comes Pollard..
Post by: Aviator on September 26, 2011, 10:40:35 AM
Barath should  have called for that ball just now. He would have made it IMO had he committed.
Post by: Aviator on September 26, 2011, 10:42:48 AM
well Polly gone now...33/5
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 10:42:55 AM
well well!

Pollard out!
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 10:43:02 AM
Look Ting!!!

Never Give Up!

:challenge: :challenge:
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:04:12 AM
This making Simmons run-out look worse.
If we had post a decent total, this match would be well in hand. As it is, is still nervous for Mumbai, but they ent really in trouble.
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 11:06:58 AM
This making Simmons run-out look worse.
If we had post a decent total, this match would be well in hand. As it is, is still nervous for Mumbai, but they ent really in trouble.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:10:05 AM
65/6!

Malinga and Harbhajan could bat though
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:17:30 AM
75/7
Harbhajan Gone!
Tension!
Post by: Aviator on September 26, 2011, 11:18:02 AM
75/7....danger man Harbhajan gone!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 11:18:36 AM
65/6!

23 runs 16 balls
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:20:39 AM
come on now!

2 mis-fields for 1 ball, give away 4 runs
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 11:21:44 AM
65/6!

23 runs 16 balls

:nailbiting:

Ravi Rampaul still have an over to bowl; Ganga seems to be expensive...

let's do it!
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 11:22:21 AM
come on now!

2 mis-fields for 1 ball, give away 4 runs

dat hurt me as equal as simmons run out
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:28:10 AM
1 over
Come on now!

:applause: :applause:
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:30:05 AM
Son of a...  :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 11:30:20 AM
Ganga! come on!
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:31:07 AM
Run Out!!!!

96/8

3 runs 2 balls

Come ONNNNNN!!!!!  :applause: :applause:
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:32:31 AM
Run Out!!!!!!

97/9!

:praying: :praying:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on September 26, 2011, 11:34:13 AM
 :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Ganga!

Can't really blame the bowlers though...
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:34:24 AM
SON OF A BITCH!!!!!!

:cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 11:34:32 AM
that hurt...
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 11:34:41 AM
Run Out!!!!!!

97/9!

:praying: :praying:

Was not answered
Post by: Aviator on September 26, 2011, 11:34:57 AM
RAMDINNNNNNNNN :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: lefty on September 26, 2011, 11:35:43 AM
we loss nah  :(
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:35:56 AM
Poor batting fellas, Great work in the field.  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :cheers:
Post by: lefty on September 26, 2011, 11:36:59 AM
Poor batting fellas, Great work in the field.  :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :cheers:

we win we win ah gettin conflictin signals an ah have no stream
Post by: weary1969 on September 26, 2011, 11:38:07 AM

WE LOSTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:38:49 AM

We loss on the last ball. Had a chance for the run-out to tie and miss the stumps.

But I cyah be vex with that. Is 99 they had to score eh. 99 and we were *this* close...
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 11:40:40 AM
allyuh coulda imagine andre baptiste commentating on that lol

shouldve brought men in ganga...giving them a run to tie equals a loss..we wud have never survived the super over
Post by: Bitter on September 26, 2011, 11:43:02 AM

shouldve brought men in ganga...giving them a run to tie equals a loss..we wud have never survived the super over

Same way we would never have defended 98 to the last ball?
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 11:51:57 AM

Same way we would never have defended 98 to the last ball?

apparently u have never seen slinga malinga bowl...batsmen lookin to 'voop' is easy food for him
Post by: Aviator on September 26, 2011, 11:53:42 AM

I would not say that. Rampaul was not giving up more than 10 runs and then we would have been in with a serious chance of winning. Not a forgone conclusion at all.
Post by: Storeboy on September 26, 2011, 12:01:57 PM
Tough game to lose, but never more proud of the way they fought.  The emotions at the end show a team that is committed to playing hard and winning.  Hopefully they come out stronger in the next game.  Wish I could see that attitude from the West Indies squad.
Post by: D.H.W on September 26, 2011, 12:12:19 PM
At least we didnt get blow out, we run rate good
Post by: frico on September 26, 2011, 12:26:05 PM
The plain truth is that the team is not balanced since we lost Pollard and Bravo,we also a bowler short so we got to be brave and drop somebody to bring in Slo Mo,we wudda stifle the life outta MI if he was in the team today.TT can beat anybody as long as they get 150 so a batsman must go,Jason Mohammed is the likely one.We must have the best T/20 bowlers in world cricket so just get 150 that is not difficult even if we drop Mohammed and bring in Slo Mo.
Post by: mukumsplau on September 26, 2011, 03:00:05 PM
bring in perkins and drop ramdin...think perkins can contribute better with the bat than ramdin and he can keep too...lendl can go to 3..we need to bat deep
Post by: frico on September 26, 2011, 03:09:59 PM
bring in perkins and drop ramdin...think perkins can contribute better with the bat than ramdin and he can keep too...lendl can go to 3..we need to bat deep
Yes I agree with that coz I said the same thing in an earlier post but we need a sixth bowler too,so drop Ramdin and Jason Mohammed and bring in Perkins and Slo Mo.
Post by: warmonga on September 26, 2011, 03:58:51 PM
dread hear nah.. Trinis love facking excitement boi.. jes suh we does play football..is rell heartaatack man could get watching we play footbbal andcricket.. I nearly call 911 eh...anyway hardluck guys .. although you guys got bowl out cheaply you guys played hard.. hard luck keeper....