General => General Discussion => Trinidad and Tobago History => Topic started by: E-man on February 11, 2012, 01:07:07 PM

Title: vintage picture postcard/picture thread
Post by: E-man on February 11, 2012, 01:07:07 PM
(http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg713/scaled.php?server=713&filename=42222434889934513054731.jpg&res=medium)
Maracas beach, 1965
Title: Re: vintage picture postcard thread
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:01:09 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/TramStamp.jpg)
Title: Re: vintage picture postcard thread
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:01:33 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/1797mapofTrinidad.jpg)
Title: Re: vintage picture postcard/picture thread
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:02:06 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/1896Masmen.jpg)

Original Masqueraders....Taken 1896
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:04:03 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/AbbatoriSouthQuayPOS.jpg)

Abbatoir South Quay POS....Men with a little money to spend used to lime here.
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:04:19 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/Belmonttransport.jpg)

Belmont to POS Tram
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:05:15 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/BusesreplaceTrams.jpg)

Buses replacing Trams and providing more routes.
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:05:47 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/cocoriteTram.jpg)

Cocorite tram
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:06:40 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/POSTT.jpg)

Port of Spain,  Frederick and what is now Brian Lara Promenade
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:08:21 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/TramcarTT.jpg)

Another Tram car.  These trams also ran on the inside railings of the Queens Park Savannah!   The signs on the railings used to say:  "No Monkeying around."
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:09:15 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/dryingcocoa.jpg)

Indians drying cocoa in the sun
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:10:19 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/LeperinPOS1903.jpg)

Leper in Port of Spain.  This was taken in 1903, BEFORE the Leper Colony was set up a few years later.
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:11:05 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/SoldiersreturninghomefromWWII.jpg)

Soldiers returning home from fighting for Great Britain 
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:11:36 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/RoyalBankPOS.jpg)

Royal Bank Port of Spain
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:14:36 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/RedHouseafterWaterRiotsin1903.jpg)

The remains of the Red House that was gutted by fire during the Water Riots of 1903.

Water Riots occurred because there was insufficient pipe borne water.  After a cholera outbreak that decimated POS and environs.  It was estimated that at the height of the cholera outbreak as many as 40 dead were buried daily.  This out break was particularly hard on Indians as they lived in squalid barracks.

(More on the Water Riots and the Cholera Outbreak in separate threads coming soon!)
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:15:08 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/POSDOCKS.jpg)

Port of Spain Docks...Schooners in port
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:16:16 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/MacqueripeHotel.jpg)

Know that diving Platform in Macqueripe?  Well it came from this Hotel, the Macqueripe Hotel
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:16:50 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/MacqueripeBaybathhouses1939.jpg)

There were also Bath Houses at Macqueripe....
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:17:41 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/CaroniBirdSanctuary.jpg)

Scarlet Ibises  Caroni Bird Sanctuary
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:18:16 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/OldJeepTT.jpg)

No caption needed
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:19:09 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/HartsCut.jpg)

Harts Cut Bay Chaguaramas.   Site of a present day T&T Coast Guard Base
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 05:20:20 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/centipede.jpg)

There used to be an abundance of these large Centipedes in Trinidad
Post by: Bakes on February 11, 2012, 05:42:49 PM
TT yuh well liking yuhself... nice job  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on February 11, 2012, 09:33:05 PM
Bakes, yuh done know.  Is history.
Post by: Daft Trini on February 15, 2012, 11:49:35 AM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/MacqueripeHotel.jpg)

Know that diving Platform in Macqueripe?  Well it came from this Hotel, the Macqueripe Hotel

WOW, I use to dive dey as ah kid, my dad would play golf at chag and leave us at de beach, was always curious as to why it had dem platforms dey!. This is good stuff TC!
Post by: truetrini on February 15, 2012, 08:22:17 PM
(http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~ttowgw/images/port_of_spain.jpg)
Post by: truetrini on February 23, 2012, 05:54:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfdyLtjgFL8