Sports => Football => Topic started by: jason23 on May 03, 2012, 11:08:04 AM

Title: Football Academy Thread
Post by: jason23 on May 03, 2012, 11:08:04 AM
Former AC Milan manager to set up academy in Tobago.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Italo Galbiati, a former AC Milan manager and assistant coach to Fabio Capello will be launching a football academy in Tobago later this year.

The Italian born will be in the sister isle in June to launch the academy which is being set up through the efforts of Italian-based football consultant Stefano Monti who became familiar with Trinidad and Tobago and its footballing possibilities after marrying his Trinidadian girlfriend.

Galbiati visited Trinidad once before during England’s visit in 2008 for a friendly international against this country and is now keen on assisting in the development of players for exchange programs. According to Monti, efforts will be made to have collaboration with the Football Federation. The academy is expected to be based at the Phoenix ground.

“The aim is to create a opportunities for young footballers from the island and help them attain a high level of preparation and professionalism for the sport.

These skills will  assist these young men to become educated citizens for the world of work or university and of course there will be opportunities for the player or players that stand out,” explained Monti who has done work in the past with 1976 Phoenix FC and also managed Italian fourth division club ASD Francavilla.

“The project will be set up to focus on academics, social and football education,” Monti added. The 74-year-old Galbiati also worked as an assistant coach at Real Madrid, Juventus and Roma. He also played one game for Inter Milan and was also contracted as a player with Lecco.

Title: Re: Former AC Milan manager to set up academy in Tobago
Post by: ribbit on May 03, 2012, 11:17:42 AM
wha ?! ???  like silvio need to hide some money.
Post by: Controversial on May 03, 2012, 12:10:01 PM
this is great news :beermug:
Post by: just cool on May 03, 2012, 01:54:50 PM
And it took ah foreigner tuh think this up after all these yrs and the great players tobago produced the like calvin hutchinson keon daniel and dwight york.   :cursing:

trinidad and tobago is ah fackin embarrassment! especially with all the funds and talent that was available to them and did shyte with it.
Post by: Big Magician on May 03, 2012, 11:20:12 PM
but Just Cool...wham to de St Clair Coaching school ??
Post by: just cool on May 04, 2012, 01:37:46 AM
but Just Cool...wham to de St Clair Coaching school ??
Big mag, that what stclair runnin in the sister isle is not an academy boss, matter of fact it's just same as what jah have/ had in belmont, what corneal and rolf bartillo had with maple juniors, and what queens park has been doing for decades, these are in no way close to the definition of an academy.

an academy is a live in thing for the most part, although majority of today's academies are day programs. the  way an academy functions is based on two things, academics and football all year round, in other words, you play football and study day in day out until you graduate.

bertille has a nice thing going, but it's in no wise an academy.  bertille coaches the yutes after school and on weekends, which is cool, but in a proper academy the yutes learn the science of football in a class room settings, and then they take to the field and execute it, from the basics to the technical aspects of the game.

they eat sleep and study together under the same roof, and on weekends they go home to their families. some academies are like trade schools with football being their trade, they do an academic curriculum in the morning and football in afternoon, then they go home and return the next day to start all over again.

if T&T is ever to be successful in football and want to catch up with the likes of mexico and costa rica, then the state better start building quite ah few of these institutes all over the twin islands and stop acting like they head eh good waiting for the TTFF or some foreigner tuh do it.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 04, 2012, 03:49:56 AM
Oh wow!!....that's nice..... :beermug:
Title: AC Milan academy coach to screen youth players at Dwight Yorke Stadium
Post by: FireBrand on July 09, 2012, 09:22:22 PM
AC Milan academy coach to screen youth players at Dwight Yorke Stadium

The first set of screening sessions for the Italo Galbiati Football Academy will take place on July 25th from 10am at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Tobago.

Galbiati, a former coach with Italian Serie A club AC Milan as well as an assistant coach to Fabio Capello for the England Senior team among other teams, is expected to visit T&T later this year to launch the Galbiati Academy but prior to that, AC Milan Youth Academy coach Silvio Broli will visit these shores to conduct the first set of screening and training sessions.

Galbiati initially visited T&T in 2008 as part of the technical staff of the England team for the friendly international with this country.

Broli arrives here on July 23rd and will also attend matches in the Caribbean Football Union Under 17 World Cup qualifying phase which involves T&T, Guyana, Suriname and  British Virgin Islands. He is carded to have a look at the talent on display during the matches.

Stefano Monti, who is Italian and married to a Trinidadian, is the technical coordinator of the Galbiati Academy and is excited about the upcoming project.

“It is something that we have been planning for some time now after the first set of initial discussions over the Academy when Mr Galbiati bought into my idea to set up something here in this beautiful twin island,” Monti told TTFF Media.

“Initially we want to work with players between six to fourteen years and we also want to work with the local coaches.

“Of course we are still in the very early stages of setting up but we are pleased with the response of 1976 Phoenix FC which we will be partnering with and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has also given the project its blessings and is willing to assist us.

This is a very important step for us. There is also the possibility of setting up an AC Milan Academy in conjunction with the Galbiati Academy depending on the initial success of this project,” said Monti.

Broli is part of a coaching team at the Milan Academy that includes Filippo Galli, Antonella Costa, Silvio Edgardo Zanoli and Riccardo Pecini. They all work under Fulvio Florin, head of the Milan Academy Project.

Stefano Monti

Broli is also expected to meet with TTFF technical director Anton Corneal during his one-week stay in T&T.

Monti added: “We are excited over the possibilities and of course there is also the possibility of working along with the TTFF and we are looking forward to meeting with the technical director for Trinidad and Tobago Mr Anton Corneal.”

Monti mentioned that he is also in touch with the Tobago House of Assembly after holding talks with its Assistant Secretary for Youth Huey Cadette.

“We have held talks with Mr Cadette of the THA and a proposal and official letter from AC Milan was requested and subsequently provided and we are anticipating their support in this venture,” Monti added.

Title: Re: AC Milan academy coach to screen youth players at Dwight Yorke Stadium
Post by: Preacher on July 09, 2012, 10:49:31 PM
Yeah Man
Post by: Observer on July 10, 2012, 01:43:26 PM
I don't mean to piss in anyone cornflakes, but my understanding is that none of these Club Academy's actually invest money. Those who wish to use the Club name can do so, but they must find their own funding and run the Academy themselves. The respective clubs will now and again provide coaching for a limited period and give a few players a token tryout. Several have opened and closed all over USA and Canada and this was the general operation.
A genuine funded Academy would build a training facility with dorms, classrooms etc. relocate coaches on a permanent basis and have selected players travel into the main Academy.

I honestly hope this is not the case. Good luck to all
Post by: Sam on July 10, 2012, 02:43:02 PM
Well said Observer, is only shit them does be on, look at de Read Madrid think to, nothing came out of it.

De small island people easy to fool up.

Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 04:54:02 PM
I don't mean to piss in anyone cornflakes, but my understanding is that none of these Club Academy's actually invest money. Those who wish to use the Club name can do so, but they must find their own funding and run the Academy themselves. The respective clubs will now and again provide coaching for a limited period and give a few players a token tryout. Several have opened and closed all over USA and Canada and this was the general operation.
A genuine funded Academy would build a training facility with dorms, classrooms etc. relocate coaches on a permanent basis and have selected players travel into the main Academy.

Re-read the article
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2012, 05:58:36 PM

Re-read the article

There is also the possibility of setting up an AC Milan Academy in conjunction with the Galbiati Academy depending on the initial success of this project,” said Monti.

I think Observer is correct with regards to the actual relationship with the club.
Post by: Football supporter on July 10, 2012, 06:26:25 PM
I can't comment on A.C.Milan or Real Madrid, but I have good experience of "academies" from other clubs. Sancho is often approached (I think the last one earlier in the year was Boca Juniors). In UK, many players take a franchise in a professional club. Arsenal and Chelsea have been doing this for years.

You basically pay a one off fee (I think Boca was US$20k) and you have the right to use the club name and badge. You also get some assistance with coaching and theres talk about coaches coming over. They also say that any talented kids can be sent to the club for a trial. You then set up weekly coaching sessions where you charge kids to participate. Although you have the link to the big club, it's usually local coaches running the sessions and they may not even have C licences.

They certainly do not equate with my concept of an academy. An academy should be free, with access to better coaches than you would usually be able to work with. The idea is, the club wants the best young talent so it can develop and recruit them or sell them on. Clubs do fund these overseas academies.

Arsenal, Chelsea and all of the other EPL and SPL clubs realised this was a good money earner and set up coaching schools with former players or coaches heading them up. They still find the odd gem, but these are designed to develop money not talent.   

So you have to be wary and check exactly whats on offer. Hopefully, Milan and Madrid are righteous academies.
Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 06:54:13 PM

Re-read the article

There is also the possibility of setting up an AC Milan Academy in conjunction with the Galbiati Academy depending on the initial success of this project,” said Monti.

I think Observer is correct with regards to the actual relationship with the club.

Shaun's article is very confusing.  I read peeps coming here to "launch the Italo Galbiati Football Academy" but prior to that, AC Milan Youth Academy coach Silvio Broli will visit these shores to conduct the first set of screening and training sessions.  The setting up of an AC Milan Academy is nothing concrete.  The Italo Galbiati is.

Stefano Monti, who is Italian and married to a Trinidadian, ( and I think living in Tobago now) is the technical coordinator of the Galbiati Academy and is excited about the upcoming project.  Appears to me that Italo Galbiaiti Football Academy is planned to be an academy in Tobago and they plan to have a connection to A.C. Milan.

As for earning money..I find that incredulous.   Tobago people have money to make this worthwhile?  I mean if they develop and discover talent and sell them to a big club..ok...anything else is a waste of time.  If the plan is to team up with TTFF and make money that even more crazy.
Post by: soccerman on July 10, 2012, 07:21:00 PM
I can't comment on A.C.Milan or Real Madrid, but I have good experience of "academies" from other clubs. Sancho is often approached (I think the last one earlier in the year was Boca Juniors). In UK, many players take a franchise in a professional club. Arsenal and Chelsea have been doing this for years.

You basically pay a one off fee (I think Boca was US$20k) and you have the right to use the club name and badge. You also get some assistance with coaching and theres talk about coaches coming over. They also say that any talented kids can be sent to the club for a trial. You then set up weekly coaching sessions where you charge kids to participate. Although you have the link to the big club, it's usually local coaches running the sessions and they may not even have C licences.

They certainly do not equate with my concept of an academy. An academy should be free, with access to better coaches than you would usually be able to work with. The idea is, the club wants the best young talent so it can develop and recruit them or sell them on. Clubs do fund these overseas academies.

Arsenal, Chelsea and all of the other EPL and SPL clubs realised this was a good money earner and set up coaching schools with former players or coaches heading them up. They still find the odd gem, but these are designed to develop money not talent.   

So you have to be wary and check exactly whats on offer. Hopefully, Milan and Madrid are righteous academies.

Yes I've experienced they same with London Based club. People hear the name and they think wow this is the opportunity for a player to be recognised when they pay a visit. They pay a fee for a weekend of training with mostly local coaches (good coaches though) and a handful of players are selected for another camp in the region in which you pay again to attend, then one or two moe players make it to the national/final camp and maybe 1 players gets the chance to go train for a few days in the UK with the actual youth team. I also believe they have to pay some of the expenditures (mind you players from other countries who were selected also attend). At the end they often times don't make the cut....just a money making venture and maybe an expeience for the top level players but not many players are necessarily developed.

Now I'm not saying that's the case with this project but it's from what I've experienced with youths through coaching.
Post by: Football supporter on July 10, 2012, 08:41:47 PM

Re-read the article

Shaun's article is very confusing.  I read peeps coming here to "launch the Italo Galbiati Football Academy" but prior to that, AC Milan Youth Academy coach Silvio Broli will visit these shores to conduct the first set of screening and training sessions.  The setting up of an AC Milan Academy is nothing concrete.  The Italo Galbiati is.

Stefano Monti, who is Italian and married to a Trinidadian, ( and I think living in Tobago now) is the technical coordinator of the Galbiati Academy and is excited about the upcoming project.  Appears to me that Italo Galbiaiti Football Academy is planned to be an academy in Tobago and they plan to have a connection to A.C. Milan.

As for earning money..I find that incredulous.   Tobago people have money to make this worthwhile?  I mean if they develop and discover talent and sell them to a big club..ok...anything else is a waste of time.  If the plan is to team up with TTFF and make money that even more crazy.

Thing is, there are many fathers (and I was one of them) who believe their kids could make it if they got the right coaching. Paying $100 per day is worth the expense. You get 50 kids in 2 sessions a week and you're earning $40k per month. At North East, we were getting 30 -35 kids every saturday (think we charged $20). Even if you pay 4 coaches $500 per week, you still clear $30k per month.
Post by: Observer on July 10, 2012, 08:42:02 PM

Re-read the article

Not really refering to the article per say. Just passing on some insight into this whole Real Madrid, Milan, feyernood, Ajax Academys' thing.
Post by: Jack Horner on July 11, 2012, 09:51:38 AM
This crap could not have happened if Jack was still there.

Now the locals will be exploited by these European crooks.

Nothing will come of this, its a big game, the poor kids in Tobago getting fooled.

Post by: weary1969 on July 11, 2012, 12:11:19 PM

Nothing will come of this, its a big game, the poor kids in Tobago getting fooled.

We accustom one Kelvin Jack was exploited by one Mike Berry I am sure you know who that is.
Post by: Football supporter on July 11, 2012, 02:03:05 PM

For once I agree with you Mike Jack. It's disgusting that foreigners are abusing Trinis now that Mr Warner doesn't control football. Anil should insist the Centre of Excellence is home to an academy. Oh, damn, I forgot, that's a privately owned business, not a CONCACAF facility.
Post by: congo on July 11, 2012, 04:46:18 PM
To have academies here is unrealistic imho.

There is no way for the academy to make money without the parents footing the majority of the bill.

Do we even need academies? Academies overseas are for players who come from all over the country and also from other countries. Where in Trinidad is so unreachable that a youth would need to move close to an academy to get a proper football education?

When the player becomes developed, where will he be sold to? What is the purpose of our footballers? Overseas, you are a club footballer first and hopefully you play international but in the end you are an asset owned by the club.

I know the swimmers I went to school with had training around 5 in the morning and then from 5 in the evening. How hard could it be to get youths on a field for 5 days a week doing some high intensity training?
Post by: Football supporter on July 11, 2012, 07:53:11 PM
To have academies here is unrealistic imho.

There is no way for the academy to make money without the parents footing the majority of the bill.

Do we even need academies? Academies overseas are for players who come from all over the country and also from other countries. Where in Trinidad is so unreachable that a youth would need to move close to an academy to get a proper football education?

When the player becomes developed, where will he be sold to? What is the purpose of our footballers? Overseas, you are a club footballer first and hopefully you play international but in the end you are an asset owned by the club.

I know the swimmers I went to school with had training around 5 in the morning and then from 5 in the evening. How hard could it be to get youths on a field for 5 days a week doing some high intensity training?

Actually, T&T's size is a major advantage, academy - wise. It means that the majority of attendees could travel rather than having to board. However, I would prefer a boarding school model as this would be more efficient.

I would also answer your query with another question: Where in the Caribbean can a youth currently get a proper football education?

When we're talking academies, we are talking 9-16  years old. I don't know anywhere that is providing anything more than a saturday kick around for this age group. Aside from the standard curriculum and coaching everyday, there would be life skills education such as manners, respect, etiquette, basic language skills and grooming (washing and ironing own clothes, cleaning boots and general appearance upkeep).
There would probably be some community projects and introductions to scholarships overseas.

There would be three tiers of graduation:

Overseas sales
Overseas scholarships
Local draught

By age 15, it would be clear which youths would be targeted for each group, so expectations can be managed. 

The academy would be funded mainly by an overseas club, but also by local investment. At 16, selected players would join the parent club academy overseas. By age 18 (if in Europe) players could obtain an EU visa. The majority would join lower league clubs or clubs in Asia. These players would be jointly "owned" by the parent club and the academy. There may be a transfer fee, if so it would be less than TT$200k.

Your aim, per class, would be one Dwight or Kenwyne, who would bring in, at age 18, maybe TT$3 million and, with luck, additional sell on fees could generate another TT$10-20 million.

Same with scholarship players, except all fees go to the academy.

The draught players would provide a talent stream for ProLeague clubs and the academy would retain rights to a small percentage of future transfer fees.

What the ProLeague gains is a good standard of professional footballer, with professional attitudes, ready for the Reserve team and gradual introduction to the 1st team.

Eventually, the academy would provide slots for other Caribbean players on scholarships paid by their home nation.

There would also be international competition with the academy becoming the U13, U14, U15, U16 national teams.

Statistically, after 5 years, the academy would be a profit making business returning dividends to local investors.

Its a dream, but its a good business model. Just needs men with vision to support it.
Post by: Big Magician on July 11, 2012, 08:13:18 PM
FS...good stuff
Post by: Football supporter on July 11, 2012, 08:30:36 PM
FS...good stuff

:beermug: Shame no one in T&T will buy it! Long term investment seems an alien concept here!
Post by: congo on July 11, 2012, 08:41:19 PM
You ask where in the Caribbean can a child get a proper football education, I'm asking where in the Caribbean can a ghetto youth get a proper meal? We are not an economic powerhouse by no means. Why would any rightful parent sacrifice their child's future all for the sake of the future of Trinidad and Tobago Football? You really feel you're going to get a parent who child is academically inclined to sign on to this academy?

You want parents to send their children to academies so that they could get to kick a ball while learning about life skills? Also for the hope that they get to play in Asia or maybe Europe someday. That's selling dreams to me and being unfair to the children. Those major academies of the world start out with hundreds of children and end up with maybe 5 turning pro. How transferable would those life skills and etiquette be in the real world when the club has deemed them surplus to requirements? How easy would it be for them to make the transition back normal life and a regular 8-4. The scholarship issue is good but that is already being achieved. It's not always about long term vision but what's practical. A draught for Pro League clubs? They already producing their own players. How sure are we to have a Professional football league in the next ten years?

In England and these places when players are released from premier league club academies, some of them find jobs in the lower leagues. I saw Gavin Hoyte was recently released from Arsenal and he got picked up by Dagenham and Redbrige in League Two. That's the reality of professional football. What are these players options if they don't make it in the academies? Back on the block as angry young men with a grudge against society as they don't have transferable skills and qualifications?

Remember Academies are also institutions that allow for physiotherapist etc to gain knowledge and expertise. It's not only about the education given to the footballers. This is closely tied to the universities available and the institutions that provide these services.
Post by: Football supporter on July 11, 2012, 09:37:19 PM
You ask where in the Caribbean can a child get a proper football education, I'm asking where in the Caribbean can a ghetto youth get a proper meal? We are not an economic powerhouse by no means. Why would any rightful parent sacrifice their child's future all for the sake of the future of Trinidad and Tobago Football? You really feel you're going to get a parent who child is academically inclined to sign on to this academy?

You want parents to send their children to academies so that they could get to kick a ball while learning about life skills? Also for the hope that they get to play in Asia or maybe Europe someday. That's selling dreams to me and being unfair to the children. Those major academies of the world start out with hundreds of children and end up with maybe 5 turning pro. How transferable would those life skills and etiquette be in the real world when the club has deemed them surplus to requirements? How easy would it be for them to make the transition back normal life and a regular 8-4. The scholarship issue is good but that is already being achieved. It's not always about long term vision but what's practical. A draught for Pro League clubs? They already producing their own players. How sure are we to have a Professional football league in the next ten years?

In England and these places when players are released from premier league club academies, some of them find jobs in the lower leagues. I saw Gavin Hoyte was recently released from Arsenal and he got picked up by Dagenham and Redbrige in League Two. That's the reality of professional football. What are these players options if they don't make it in the academies? Back on the block as angry young men with a grudge against society as they don't have transferable skills and qualifications?

Remember Academies are also institutions that allow for physiotherapist etc to gain knowledge and expertise. It's not only about the education given to the footballers. This is closely tied to the universities available and the institutions that provide these services.

Yeah, you're right of course, lets not bother, eh? I mean Messi was 9 when he went across the world to Barca. His parents must regret that eh?
Let's not give kids dreams and ambitions. Let's keep these kids where they belong in the ghettos. So what, they may get a better education, develop self confidence, and yes, learn that life doesn't always pan out the way you want. Let's put these 9 year olds in schools that they're never gonna achieve in, rather than keep them out of gangs and show them a better way.

While we're at it. why bother with a national team? It would be terrible to give some kid from Belmont, Lavantille, Manazanilla etc the dream of playing in a World Cup finals. Never gonna happen.

My son's dream of professional football burst at age 7 after 2 years. He doesn't seem to have suffered any of this trauma. But he learnt a lot of good stuff. Failure is character building. The way you talk, perhaps no children should take SATs in case someone gets upset that they don't get their first choice of school.

You are correct that the success rate to the top level is very low. But remember, there are a lot of clubs fighting for the cream. In T&T, there would only be one academy and history shows us that we can can produce at least one talent per year, so why not make it two?

Youths in T&T are around 5 years behind other countries. By the time they've wasted their talent in school leagues, many are too underdeveloped to move overseas.

Check this and tell me this isn't what we want from our young players:  http://www.playgreatsoccer.com/video13.html
Post by: congo on July 11, 2012, 10:22:51 PM
Messi was 9 when he was discovered but Barcelona also paid for his family's relocation and sorted out housing and employment opportunities for his parents. I'm sure they have a structure that supports this. That's the sort of influence that these clubs can use. This is the sort of investment that they are willing to make and it's not to sell a player to a club in Asia for "maybe' $300, 000 . Alot of barca players didn't make it at Barca but I'm sure you can find them at other notable clubs Arsenal etc. They have options if they aren't considered good enough for Barcelona. There are multiple tiers of football that offer viable employment opportunities not to mention worldwide appeal for being a product of Barcelona's academy.

It's good to let kids dream and have ambition but don't make it seem that the only way they will matter in life is through sport or fame just because they're from the ghetto. There are many doctors, lawyers, professors etc who came out from the ghetto. Why not use the military to instil discipline and also to show them that national service is also a commendable profession. If we want to focus on the ghetto youth and aim to make better citizens, people and maybe sportsmen and women then yeah. Don't approach them and sell them a dream, you're going to have a lot of angry young people on your hands.

What national team? We have qualified for one world cup and many of our players have played professional football here and abroad without the existence of a football academy. If you so worried about a national academy then maybe the national team should form its own academy with coaching staff sort of like the United States development Academy. Now mind you they have a professional, fair and transparent football federation as well as a viable Mls, successful youth teams and also successful and competitive universities that these players can go to.

I'm sorry to hear about your son but he most likely had good parents to guide and counsel him after his dream did end. Not everyone is going to be that fortunate and have parental guidance to coach these boys and uplift their morale when things don't go their way. Remember the academy becomes the home and coaches become parents. What happens when the dream is over and the child no longer has access to that structure and may now go back to the ghetto or worst an abusive home. You want to educate children that would also required child psychologist and other child development specialists. This is major investment.

There are alot of clubs fighting for cream but also remember they are sourcing their players globally. They are picking the cream of the crop that the world has to offer. Football is a business. All the club is doing is securing its future by sourcing its talent ahead of the competition.

There is no talent being wasted in the school's league. The school's league is just that, a school league that provides friendly but competitive activity for student athletes. Student being the key word. Academies in England aren't focused on the students. They do what they have to legally to provide a bit of classroom activity for the players but the focus is on football and making money. It's not surprising to hear that some English footballers such as Rooney and Joe Cole have zero O'levels whatsoever. The schools' league isn't meant to develop players.

You should try selling this dream to children in Westmoorings and Valsayn etc. I'm sure parental guidance will ensure that you don't come near their children. Also give them the stats of 'maybe 1 or 2" being sold to Vietnam and the life skills and etiquette curriculum. This in a country where highly qualified people are finding it increasingly difficult to gain sustainable employment. That curriculum by the way is both insulting and condescending to the intelligence of our youth and shows how much you really care about their development off the field.

We should sacrifice hundreds of children so that we can boost of that 1 or 2 that we have produced and see on tv every sunday. :bs: :bs: :bs:

Post by: Football supporter on July 11, 2012, 10:51:54 PM
Congo, I guess I was a bit sarcastic in my earlier reply because I get tired of negative vibes and lack of professionalism that I encounter.

The Messi example is a good one, because, of course, T&T parents won't have to relocate and the youth would remain within his culture.

TTFF are not capable of forming an academy. The missing money from 2006 should have been used (and actually it was stated that it would be used) for development and that's when we had our chance to properly structure an academy.

As I have often said, we have to focus on the business of football. Like it or not, a professional organisation is reliant on a good business model. Obviously, we would want to retain as much profit as possible within the academy, but outside investors will also require (and deserve) a return.

Obviously, Barca don't sell to Asia. But our standards, unfortunately, will be below Barca. Many academy players would earn a living in the ProLeague, which is not too bad. Others will get moves to USA and South America. Some will choose Asia for bigger bucks. The point is, once you gain a reputation for developing good professionals (as opposed to good players), more players will be signed overseas. Without doubt, the success of Dwight, followed by Stern and Carlos, paved the way for others, albeit in lower leagues in England. But even then, a player can earn $800 per week in the Conference (TT$32k). That's not a bad income.

The inclusion of sports psychologists is crucial to develop the youth as well as the young player. Most of the academy kids I met in UK (and there were 100s) were well adjusted young men. Some may go astray after football, but I doubt very much if the statistics would show that an academy experience produced negative results in the general development of young men.

In my experience, many professional footballers are not too bright. Doesn't matter whether they go to school or an academy, you can't make a silk purse from a pigs ear. But you can develop their personality. I think Rooney is a good example. He wasn't too bright as a kid and was a bit reckless. But now, I feel, he is a model professional.

Finally, there is a lot of talent wasted in the schools league. The top goalscorer for 2 years, signed pro at 20. And he struggled with the step up. Recently, we had a good young footballer ask us if he should go back to school at age 19. Just to be a big name in school football. No income, no career plan. These guys should be brought into pro football at 16, but we have no facilities to allow them to continue their education while learning the game.

I don't believe we are sacrificing anyone. We are offering opportunities. If we scout and screen correctly, out of each years intake of, say, 25 youths, maybe only 5 may fall out of the game. An 80% success rate wouldn't be too shabby.
Post by: Observer on July 12, 2012, 05:33:51 AM
Why can't a child do both Academic and Football (gymnastics, Swimming etc)? Children do it all the time all over the world.
As an example at the Sporting Lisbon Academy, selected players MUST complete 40 hours
of school a week. This is determined by the Portuguese Department of Education and all sport
Academies must comply. Children in T&T are not doing 40hrs a week presently without football.
Post by: maxg on July 12, 2012, 09:54:00 AM
here is an example of a program..it is not a seperate academy as such. More affordable this way. Not much major high end professional teams in canada, as in europe.

http://www.montrealfamilies.ca/Montreal-Families/March-2009/Sports-study-program-gives-kids-a-head-start/

http://johnrennie.lbpsb.qc.ca/sportetudes.htm

http://www.mels.gouv.qc.ca/loisirSport/sportEtudes/

nb: My son is in this program, and is an Honour role student & a jnr. National swimmer. All students must maintain a above average passing grade. I have found him to be more organized, more focused, but yes it is a lot of work, requires proper organization, a dedicated teaching staff, approval of both Ministries of Sport & Education, dedicated & organized individual sport adminstrators with proper coaches/educators, corruption has to be omitted. Core materials covered, very few social classes...Check it out.
Already discussed drawing up proposals with Swima,however due to time contraints on both our paths, and specifically distance issue on mine, unable to properly pursue, maybe other interested parties can PM him
Post by: maxg on July 14, 2012, 11:58:03 AM
What no comments ? No interest? No Yeas, Nays..or "everybody dun know that"

Or I go sell this and see wha ah go make,

Or lemme call Anil as me and he go wuk it...for praise

Or this might work, let meh call Swima

Say something here still, cause the program has some limitations, we should discuss..

Doh hide, Doh fraid, no experts here
Post by: Flex on September 29, 2012, 05:35:57 AM
Certificates for football academy students.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

THE San Fernando Football Academy recently distributed 75 certificates to students who participated in a compact season of training and development programmes over the May to August period.

These training sessions were held on Thursdays and Saturdays. At the presentation ceremony over the weekend, Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SPORTT) representative Rixon Power delivered the feature address.

He congratulated the youngsters on their athletic growth but paid particular mention to sport discipline. The SPORTT rep also commended the club and its staff for providing a consistent flow of young footballers coming through their camps.

The south-based club has proven to be one of the more successful youth football clubs in the San Fernando area, since its inception in 2009. Also presented to numerous Under-10 players were a total of 50 football training shoes.

The Academy also chose to celebrate their Under-15 team that made it into the semi-finals of the Republic Youth Cup Semi Final in July.

This club will soon begin its third term of football training with children training in the five and Under, seven and Under, nine and Under, 12 and under and Under-17 age categories.

The Academy will also be hosting their annual football tournament entitled “San Fernando Future Football Stars 2012”, with friendly matches in the five and Under and seven and Under divisions.

At this meet, competitive matches will be played in the Under-nine, Under-13 and Under-16 categories. Trophies and medals will be presented to the top-three finishers while footballs will be distributed to outstanding players.

For more information on this event, contact Preston Nanan at 754-7205.

Post by: Tiresais on December 08, 2013, 09:38:58 AM
Whatever happened to this academy? Was it set up? Stefano Monti is now at W Connection since September so I guess it never got off the ground?
Post by: amwood on February 25, 2014, 11:22:03 AM
The Academy (One Year In Existence)

Well fellas it's been a year since we began this project, slowly accomplishing much of what we set out to achieve. Infrastructure is 100% better, equipment has been purchased to ensure facility will be tops and we are at the point where we are being approached by some corporate entities who are generously supporting…I am committed to producing some players who will achieving some big things - it is an everyday obsession. As always any feedback appreciated - good, bad, or indifferent. A little video charting when we started to where we are at the moment…Respect.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypLtWJSQipU
Title: Re: The Academy (One Year In Existence)
Post by: Football supporter on February 25, 2014, 01:01:55 PM
Congrats on your first anniversary! Things seem to be coming along nicely. I admire your commitment and focus!  :applause: :applause:
Post by: maxg on February 25, 2014, 01:33:17 PM
nothing beats doing something you love, and passing it on to kids who are willing to learn...great job.and congratulations on your anniversary.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 25, 2014, 01:34:36 PM
We need more like you Amwood  :salute:
Post by: Tiresais on February 25, 2014, 02:33:54 PM
Seconded, great work.
Post by: amwood on February 25, 2014, 06:07:39 PM
Appreciate the feedback fellas...being in it for about a year now gives me a sense for where some of the breakdowns are occurring regarding youth development. We are too small are nation to leave the development of players to chance. Bless!
Post by: Flex on November 17, 2020, 10:14:55 AM
Coach Cox continues to nurture aspiring youth footballers
By Sean Taylor (T&T Express).

The term “give up” doesn’t exist in the vocabulary of Dennis Cox.

Throughout Trinidad and Tobago, Coach Cox (as he is endearingly referred to) is now a legend and a brand associated with local and international youth football. His academy continues to produce footballers, soldiering on in a climate of economic uncertainty in the 868.

The Cox Coaching School and Football Academy has been nurturing young football talent for decades from their Palo Seco base. The coaching school, with its close ties to the oilfield community, utilises the Beach Camp, Palo Seco, as its main hub of operations. They continue to push on in spite of the closure of the state company Petrotrin, and from the looks of it, will continue pushing ahead against the backdrop of the current Covid-19 crisis which has ravaged so many globally.

The pandemic may have all but stopped sports in the country, but it hasn’t slowed the Cox Coaching School and Football Academy in their quest to make an impact in the community through football.

“Undaunted by the closure of Petrotrin, which for many signalled the death of the oilfield community after over 100 years, Coach Cox remained steadfast in his promotion among the youth, of the values of a strong oilfield community and great nation,” explained Michele Celestine, an attorney at law, and the chairperson for the Beach Camp School where coach Cox is the physical education teacher.

“He instills in the children of the oilfield community, the national watchwords of Discipline, Tolerance and Production. His results on and off the football pitch speak for themselves. This country needs more people like Coach Cox,” she added. The Beach Camp School made history in 2019 by winning the Under-15 and Under-12 Atlantic National Football Primary Schools Championships.

The school, which has made a habit of churning out talent at the youth level, had an eventful 2019, and in spite of the doom and gloom outlook this year, added another reason to celebrate and feel proud of their achievements when Cox — founder and head coach at the academy — won Coach of the Year at the Atlantic Yes Awards in September.

The latest piece of silverware for the club may not have come on the pitch as members of the academy may be accustomed, but it symbolises the work that Cox put into his charges, which not only includes helping them win on the field, but to win in life as well.

“He had a big role to play in my development as a young player to where I am now,” Judah Garcia said of the coach in 2019. “I stayed with him for a very long period…I still come back to play for him because I want to be around the club that I came from.”

Garcia is the younger brother of Levi Garcia — who recently signed to play with Greek club AEK Athens — and was also called up to Dennis Lawrence’s provisional squad last year. The former SSFL star was a league winner with Shiva Boys’ Hindu College and has been with the coaching academy since he was five, and even travelled on a few occasions with them.

“Mr Cox is a very serious, dedicated person who is known for bringing in the discipline in every aspect of the game, and he was the man to teach me those things. So, I just took it on and carried on. I went to Mississippi twice with him…I would say that Mr Cox has a very good programme,” stated the younger Garcia.

School not all about trophies and medals

The coaching school isn’t all about awards, trophies, and medals either with constant emphasis being put on developing the character of the youngsters involved with the programme. In a lot of ways, it’s an extension of the oilfield community which Cox comes from, having worked at Petrotrin for decades, which helped shape his desire to not only give back to his community but in a manner that instills the values he learnt while at the company.

“The Academy offers more than a rigorous training in the sport of football; it offers the children a launching pad for becoming model citizens,” explained Cox. “I place great emphasis on academic performance at school, as a criterion for being a member of my academy as well as good manners and the social graces that go beyond teamwork on the field and discipline in training.

“The children here are taught to understand that they are representatives of their family, their community, the academy and ultimately youth ambassadors for Trinidad and Tobago.” And representing the 868 they have on a number of occasions.

Last year, the team travelled to Barcelona, after winning the local leg of Milo U-12 League Cup, where they finished second in the knockout competition in Spain. That was a portion of an eventful year as four players; Jeremiah Kesar, Jabari Graham, Shivaughn Best and Vincent Clement, were sent to Mississippi University for try-outs which proved fruitful.

Brazilian Coach Cesar Lemos arrived on our shores twice at the invitation of the Cox Coaching School and Football Academy, first to lend his expertise to local youth coaches, and on his second visit, to interact directly with the youngsters who were able to get exposure to an elite foreign coach.

After the first visit he was impressed with the natural ability of the youngsters. “I see a Trinidadian player with the ball, it reminds me of a Brazilian player. He just wants to have fun, he just wants to have his own moment,” Lemos had said.

Martin James, a businessman, could not stop praising the impact the school has had on his ten-year-old son, Sebastian. James said that at every opportunity he speaks to this country’s decision makers, be them politicians or other business people, “I tell them we have to invest in this programme since it is having a positive effect on over 200 children”.

James recognises that duplication may be difficult because there is only one Coach Cox, but he feels the programme needs to get serious recognition, funding, and the attention it deserves, beyond just awards, since its role in positive nation-building should not be underestimated.

With no schools’ football on the horizon for the foreseeable future, and with athletes in general having to wait out the duration of the most uncertain period of their respective careers, and as well the current impasse between the TTFA and the FIFA, one would be forgiven for thinking that football has taken a prolonged intermission.

Regardless of the goings-on as a result of the “new normal”, the community of Palo Seco, their Beach Camp, and football in general in T&T can at least count on Coach Cox continuing his mission — the development of the sport of football at the grassroots level.