Sports => Football => Topic started by: royalian on January 07, 2006, 12:02:08 AM

Title: $800,000 a month for what?
Post by: royalian on January 07, 2006, 12:02:08 AM
$800,000 a month for what?
By David Maynard (T&T Mirror)

WHAT value for dollar is Trinidad and Tobago getting from Leo Beenhakker at $800,000 a month?

Granted that this is “chick feed” for international coaches, and that a top-level international coach would have cost us two or three times that.

After all, strong overtures were made to retain Kevin Keegan, until he declared his expected salary (“in the millions”, some say).

That is all well and good; a man must be well-paid for his expertise, but what about value for dollar?

What are we getting for this … over $22 million from FIFA for qualifying?

Over $11 million to sport Adidas outfits before billions of television viewers, along with myriad undisclosed endorsements, deals and benefits?

(And I’m not talking here about who or whose company is actually getting this as either adviser, rights owner, etc., etc., etc.)

And is that sufficient … money?

If so, should the acquisition of money through World Cup qualification justify paying Dutchman Leo Beenhakker over $800,000 a month?

My point is, in exchange for what?

Beenhakker is not required to take a hands-on approach to TnT’s football development.

That is left to local coaches: the same local coaches whose combined salary for their part in producing national players does not even amount to $800,000 a year.

His job is basically to come here five days before the match, when all foreign-based players are available, and have them play scrimmages so he could decide on a starting 11.

When they leave, he leaves.

I guess that is one of the conditions he set for coming out of virtual recluse after getting a string of one-season jobs.

He is not required to stay in TnT and move around to see matches in the Pro League or Schools League.

In fact, he has already declared local players too poor to be worth his while.

So, the end result is that he would leave here without having helped developed a single local player and, in so doing, put us on course for preparing for the next World Cup qualifying campaign.

It is strange because he is the one who publicly stated that the team that qualified would not be the team that plays in the finals.

To back up his point, he noted the age of the players, saying the team averaged 28 years. Unless this was a psychological ploy to force Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke into getting and keeping in top shape or face the sack, Beenhakker, having stated his intention to exclude local players, was saying he intends to look only beyond these shores for replacements. (Now note his propensity for readymade stuff. He has no intention of developing us for the future).

The average age of these foreigners is left to be seen, as is the question of whether it permits them to represent TnT with any credit in the next qualifying campaign.

His approach is unfortunate. And the technical director, noticing the shortfall, hurriedly organised a Goal 2014 youth training camp, with which he is quick to associate the national coach by saying Beenhakker would be monitoring the short listed talent pool and new player database.

So, from all appearances, Beenhakker is part of a grand plan for the future: but that is not really so.

It has been a month and a half since TnT qualified for the World Cup and, outside of that training camp with vacationing university-based players in mind, there has been no semblance of preparedness for this World Cup or the next; no capitalisation on the revived hopes of local players; no search to unearth that missing link in some remote community; and definitely no involvement whatsoever of Beenhakker.

And there won’t be until March in the brief period around that World Cup warm-up; and it won’t involve locals.

Never mind that veritable ad in the Express captioned “Beenhakker returns January 15” (two months after World Cup qualification).

Don’t be fooled by its claim that he would be here to “further look at some of the home-based players”; that is a blatant lie.

The last time he was back here was to secure his contract extension so he could parade with the other three Dutch coaches who would be leading teams into the finals.

This time, January 15, he would be here for another big public relations event: the World Cup trophy display parade that Franz Beckenbauer is now embarking upon. Some people would say otherwise but don’t be fooled.

Yes, new assistant coach Anton Corneal is keeping himself active and plans may indeed come true to have fellow Dutch assistant Wim Rijsbergen join him one week before Beenhakker’s arrival and Beenhakker may even make planned a guest appearance before the cameras.

But, again, don’t be fooled: This is no opportunity to see the guys on the team “and also to see some others”.

It is spin doctoring to cover up Beenhakker’s pronouncement on local players.

It is window dressing to give the impression that something has been done in the two months since World Cup qualification.

It is imagery to make fools feel that, with this hint of activity, $50 million on a so-called budget is money well-spent even though there won’t be enough warm-ups for that $50 million to make TnT a better prepared team at the World Cup finals.

And with a single appearance at the advertised local training this month, one would be left the impression Beenhakker is worth $800,000 a month.

At that cost, a respectable country would expect to get more out of a coach that would ensure continuity for a long time after that coach ceases to be associated with the country. One would expect to make the same demands on him as is made on local coaches. Beenhakker’s predecessor Bertille St. Clair, for example, was made to work with all-local technical staff in spite of his wishes.

No similar demand has been made of Beenhakker. He is allowed to use an all-foreign staff -- even in the area of physical fitness.

Beenhakker comes to TnT when he wants but local national coaches must be on the job at all times.

Beenhakker can discriminate against the quality of players here, being made to work at raising their level, yet St. Clair was ridiculed for “discriminating” on disciplinary grounds (such as deportment).

Beenhakker is allowed to focus only on foreign scouting while his predecessor took licks for persisting with a local core since the foundation stages of the campaign (like the Digicel Cup appearance), that included Anton Pierre, Nigel Pierre, Kerwyn Jemmot, Angus Eve, Atiba Charles, Kerry Baptiste and Kerry Noray.

And the former, local coach was said to be asking for too much, yet $800,000 -- not from the money circulating in football but from our tax dollars -- must go to Beenhakker without question.

Alvin Corneal has a point when he said something to the effect that this is because of our fear and misplaced respect for those of European extract.

But who is to blame?

None other than the local coaches: The ones who snoop on each other then run off to e-mail news to “Massa”; the ones who set up each other to be fired in exchange for a bone.

They need to straighten their act and unify.

If not, go get yourselves properly qualified so as to remove those insecurities.

They are stinking up the game.

As for Beenhakker, let’s see if he manages to do as much for us as Rene Simoes did for Jamaica, in that, let’s see if, as a result of his work here TnT qualifies for every other youth finals over the next few years.

Fools may see my point then.

By that time, though, his extended vacation, which we have so spiced up, would have been long over and he would have returned to the serious work of football development elsewhere, with a lot of petro dollars in his pockets.

I thought someone said somewhere “this time” Trinidadian and Tobagonians would be getting more out of their oil.

Title: Re: $800,000 a month for what?
Post by: supporter on January 07, 2006, 12:11:32 AM
people need to do a little research before writing such shit to newspapers.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 12:30:04 AM
people need to do a little research before writing such shit to newspapers.

what is shitty about dat?  And dat man is ah reporter and ah good one too!

He eh say nutten dat eh true!  wey beenie?  what we plans are?

who we playing?

who scouting de locals?  steups..FOOLS in trute.

we qualify..is beenie do dat so he could do whatever he want in Europe.

dis is nt de first time in dis forum man make dese claims.

de man eh talking no shit!
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 12:57:17 AM

Wow.
That was GREAT to hear a journalist say.  These fellahs on a roll for 2006.
He did his homework and knows what he talking about!

Is de damn truth.
Rene Simoes work his ass off in JA but it is up to us to demand more of Leo.
So much work could be done in the interim.  Crack that whip on Whim back   :whip: and at least make the Asst coach earn his pay.

I especially like how he called for the local coaches to get their certification and forget about fighting each other.

:applause:
Post by: elan on January 07, 2006, 01:14:53 AM
Anyone that knows soccer knows that Leo has not done anything spectacular in terms of team and player development. Yes we qualified under him, but all that makes him is smarter than his predecessors. As the article said there is nothing in place for the future. A lot of members here who know so much about football talking about how good he is ( which maybe be true according to what you're looking for), but all he has done is teach the team he is working with to be successful. Thats it. Is that worth $800,000? There is nothing to show that he is preparing Trinidad and Tobago for any consistent appearance on the world's stage.
Now mind you having the team be successful is an amazing accomplishment, but we need to have more for our money. Simoes had a great program in place with his staff towards the development of all football in Trinidad and Tobago. All our National football teams were progressing. But, in Trinidad the only kind of progress we see is winning. What happens after the summer in Germany?
Post by: Midknight on January 07, 2006, 05:04:17 AM
same damn thing i was saying
Post by: freakazoid on January 07, 2006, 05:41:51 AM
wait allyuh give me a moment to address d fickle amongst us. me ent have no hard facts just gUt feelings but try dis on 4 size.  i am sure beenie of all d coaches that going 2 d world cup has 1 of d smallest salaries. d man carry a team to d world cup and ppl fighting down how much money d man getting do u know how much many pro footballers make a wk in england.  rene simoes took jamaica to d world cup and that was d end of dat.DEVELOPMENT ? NONE. after we qualified 4 the world cup 1 of d 1st thing i hear beenie talking bout is 2010 and development of a team for that world cup.
lastly how u want a man to develop a team in the leaps and bounds that some ppl want when u only get d team 3 days b4 a game. r ppl 4getting when he came on board and how much our team has changed .teams scorring more than 2 goals against us is a thing of d past. yes we money spending and we must demand that we get the best for it and yes carrying us to world cup doesnt make u a god freee 2 do as u please but lets b real. with what d man have at his disposal he is doing a damn good job
ps ROME WAS  NOT BUILT IN A DAY
Post by: injunchile on January 07, 2006, 07:02:07 AM
Granted that is chick feed for International coaches. Thank God we getting him cheap. Democracy is alive and kicking. Man does be real vex when they pardners going on trip and they not getting pick.
Oh well-
Post by: JDB on January 07, 2006, 07:26:48 AM
First off TT you cannot fault men for questioning Maynard's argument from time to time.

He has set himself out as a known opponent to Mr. Warner and not all of his arguments have been watertight. Recently he has been on fire with some real good articles (of course the TTFF makes this easy by increasing their level of bullshit) but this is not one of his best.

When Don Leo was first hired my only hope was that he would work with local coaches and help us develop a good system.

But it became clear very quickly that this was not his job. Either he had not interest or didn't feel that the TTFF was capable or doing the real hard work that that involves but he set his mind toward getting us to the WC, which is a lot easier than fixing football in TnT.

That job done and the new job is to coach in the WC and prepare the team. I would not be surprised if that watching local players plan was a TTFF plan that had nothing to do with the coach. It seems to me that he has seen all the locals and decided that only Theobald, Whitley and Wolfe good enough.

So other than friendlies I don't see what other preparation requires him to be in TnT right through.

And ultimately the TTFF is responsible for managing the coach.  If he is not performing the agreed upon task it is their fault. I just don't think that developing TnT football was ever a part of his brief.

Also Maynard cannot judge what is good value for 800,000 US a month (also wasn't that for all three coaches, Maynard makes it sound like it is Don Leo alone).

Like I said good questions to ask but not one of his best.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 08:31:17 AM
wait allyuh give me a moment to address d fickle amongst us. me ent have no hard facts just gUt feelings but try dis on 4 size.  i am sure beenie of all d coaches that going 2 d world cup has 1 of d smallest salaries. d man carry a team to d world cup and ppl fighting down how much money d man getting do u know how much many pro footballers make a wk in england.  rene simoes took jamaica to d world cup and that was d end of dat.DEVELOPMENT ? NONE. after we qualified 4 the world cup 1 of d 1st thing i hear beenie talking bout is 2010 and development of a team for that world cup.
lastly how u want a man to develop a team in the leaps and bounds that some ppl want when u only get d team 3 days b4 a game. r ppl 4getting when he came on board and how much our team has changed .teams scorring more than 2 goals against us is a thing of d past. yes we money spending and we must demand that we get the best for it and yes carrying us to world cup doesnt make u a god freee 2 do as u please but lets b real. with what d man have at his disposal he is doing a damn good job
ps ROME WAS  NOT BUILT IN A DAY

yuh might feel yuh ketch meh dey..but beenie ask about dem questions true...and den he take ah plane and head home.  LOL!
Post by: ANC2 on January 07, 2006, 08:49:35 AM
That must be one of the highest salaries in International football for a small country.
Post by: dombasil on January 07, 2006, 08:51:36 AM
The role of development is for the Technical Director.  Simoes was the Technical Director as well as Nartional coach.  Beenie came on as solely National coach so development is not his job. As to salary. I don't know what they paid Simoes in Jamaica but who was he? Was he internationally recognised as is Beenie? No, so he could not command the salary that Beenie can command.
Beenie only came to coach the national team and said how much it would cost to do it.
Post by: College on January 07, 2006, 09:49:24 AM
I don't get this article.. Maynard???. After BSC was fired and we brought in Beenie, his role was obviously to get the team to qualify, his contract expired after the return leg in Bahrain!! After we qualified his role then would obviously be to prepare the team for at least 3 WC games. Now,  T&T have a WC game, I repeat a WC game in 5 months, where would the coach's emphasis be?? in developing players?? at this stage??  What yuh think it have magic in coaching???At this point he  has to look for options, he has to consider selecting 2 players for each position on the field,  because as you know, the situation with yellow cards and injuries etc etc.  In my oponion the salary is justified, with bonuses!!! BSC did not have such a lucrative salary but look at ta! ta!.. nothing personal against BSC . As far as the future development of T&T, I think having Anton as an asst is a positive step in ensuring that some structure, or continuity will be in place after Beenie leaves. Pay the man he money..
Post by: KND on January 07, 2006, 10:27:50 AM
Bennie Man did his Job
People forget that when he first came he had the local training sessions etc,

Remember the first game playing North east starts

That was an all local team in Training.

Once he identified his Squad to finish the qualifications he focused on them, which again is his job

We qualified and that was his job.

Now he may even look at a few more locals to round out the 22 and he is also looking at some foreign based.

His sole focus is the 23 for the world cup and the world cup games so that is his 100 % focus.

We need other men to step up locally and lead the charge for local devepment and I think that is what Lincoln and Anton are supposed to be doing.

Hopefully bennie can stop by and give them some feedback as well.

Bennie man is providing a good example as to how to do what you are paid to do.

Which is sadly lacking in TnT man what to do everything under the sun.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 07, 2006, 10:54:49 AM

Rene simones was technical director in jamaica  he went to jamaica in 1994 . Leo came here when were dead bottom in the hex and  his goal was to get us to the WC. two different roles completly
Post by: kounty on January 07, 2006, 10:59:35 AM
yeah I always thought beenie salary was kinda high...but y'all right in that is 3 men...and maybe more. 
Honduras have a pretty good coach and he moving with about 1/2 beenie salary.
http://www.cathnews.com/news/405/70.php

Phil Jackson moving with 4-6 times his salary (but he working hard every day...and of course he is Phil Jackson)
http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=2084948
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 07, 2006, 11:00:58 AM
yes 2 diff roles, but beenhakker should be doing more in terms of the team, taking a more active role with the training, his assts doing more training than him, he come like an overseer
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 07, 2006, 11:04:21 AM
Alvin Corneal has a point when he said something to the effect that this is because of our fear and misplaced respect for those of European extract

when did corneal say this i see a plot edgar vidale siad that  he prefer  local coach  to coach the team in the WC a few weeks  ago etc etc. They may try to get rid of leo
Post by: College on January 07, 2006, 11:10:52 AM
I dont think Vidale has anything against foreign coaches, I think his concern is what happens when they leave and there is no structure, no continuity in place. Hopefully we can see something different this time around, I think Lincoln Phillips have the right idea with the Project 2014 although this was already attempted back in 2000. Time will tell
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 11:29:47 AM
plenty man talking shit.

Jack warner heself say dat beenie go be in charge ah developing T&T football.

I did ask so wha happen tuh de TD?

Now man saying dat eh he job? not de $$ is de absenteeism!

Well T&T football own by =Wjacko Jacko and is he who say dat..so I asking wey beenie dey?
Post by: slates on January 07, 2006, 11:35:32 AM
Beenie man was hired to RESURRECT DE DEAD!

Not to CREATE LIFE!

T&T was DEAD last or close to it when Benie come thru.

And when Beenie man got T&T to de WC, in so doing, he PROLONGED LIFE!

$800,000.00?

S#it, de miracle de man did in getting de team from DEAD last to de WC, and especially when perhaps nobody dat wasn't TRINI thought it was even remotely possible, he deserve more than dat.

Now I don't know bout you, but if I was in Beenie shoes and you wanted me to develop football in T&T, then that is a whole new set ah negotiation. And to be honest with you, yuh couldn pay me to do dat, not if it meant having to stay/live in T&T. My salary woulda be $800,000.00 a month, but de HAZARDOUS DUTY PAY? Hmmm, well you doh want to know dat figure.
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 11:46:16 AM

Not to CREATE LIFE!

$800,000.00?

S#it, de miracle de man did in getting de team from DEAD last to de WC, and especially when perhaps nobody dat wasn't TRINI thought it was even remotely possible, he deserve more than dat.

Now I don't know bout you, but if I was in Beenie shoes and you wanted me to develop football in T&T, then that is a whole new set ah negotiation. And to be honest with you, yuh couldn pay me to do dat, not if it meant having to stay/live in T&T. My salary woulda be $800,000.00 a month, but de HAZARDOUS DUTY PAY? Hmmm, well you doh want to know dat figure.

ah think yuh right there Slates  :)
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 01:02:40 PM

Not to CREATE LIFE!

$800,000.00?

Bullshit...his contract is tuh run fuh 2 years afyer de world cup..wey de f**k he is?
Post by: slates on January 07, 2006, 01:17:04 PM

Not to CREATE LIFE!

$800,000.00?

Bullshit...his contract is tuh run fuh 2 years afyer de world cup..wey de f**k he is?

Of course is bullshit.

Everybody here know dat anything dat doh come from de "all knowing" TT is bullshit.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 01:37:46 PM

Not to CREATE LIFE!

$800,000.00?

Of course is bullshit.

Everybody here know dat anything dat doh come from de "all knowing" TT is bullshit.

Dat eh coming from me..is Jack who say dat!

He is de all knowing T&T Football God!

Let me put it another way.  He got us to de WC..mission accomplished.

He is to take de team tuh de World Cup..right...so where is he?  He said the doors are open to any person with ah trini passport..so where is he?

I can assure Mr. Beenhackker dat if he want tuh find ah multitude ah trinis with ah trini passport he should stop off in Piarco, eat ah doubles and den hit de streets ah Trinidad.

So oh blame me..I asking de questions only because Jack did say he go be dey fuh de development ah T&T football...and de PM say so too.

So how de f**k I come tuh be all knowing?

eh Mr. Delaware?  By de way yuh coming down when?
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 01:54:26 PM
After them 3 games in the WC what he going and be doing if his contract running for 2 years?

I not faulting him for anything....as I say before...is up to us to demand more.

But if people content to have him go on vacation in St Maarten during Hex or go home for x months and breeze then so be it.

If his role is solely WC related no need to renew it after them 3 games.  While it may have been worth it for this last effort to get to the WC the same approach may not work again and even if it does is only one of several National Teams benefitting. 

Maybe things wil change after WC but it won't happen by itself unless people demand more.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 01:56:53 PM
After them 3 games in the WC what he going and be doing if his contract running for 2 years?

I not faulting him for anything....as I say before...is up to us to demand more.

But if people content to have him go on vacation in St Maarten during Hex or go home for x months and breeze then so be it.

If his role is solely WC related no need to renew it after them 3 games.  While it may have been worth it for this last effort to get to the WC the same approach may not work again and even if it does is only one of several National Teams benefitting. 

Maybe things wil change after WC but it won't happen by itself unless people demand more.

Breds me eh know what he role is..and how long he here for nah...but he need tuh spend ah little more time in T&T period.  He have locals dat he could be dealing with..and me eh want tuh hear about he assistant and Anton at all!  HE NEEDS TUH BE DEY some more!

Jack is de one who say he go be dey 2 years after de WC and de Prime Minister say dat on National TV too! 
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 02:09:47 PM

Breds me eh know what he role is..and how long he here for nah...but he need tuh spend ah little more time in T&T period.  He have locals dat he could be dealing with..and me eh want tuh hear about he assistant and Anton at all!  HE NEEDS TUH BE DEY some more!

Jack is de one who say he go be dey 2 years after de WC and de Prime Minister say dat on National TV too! 

I also remember in the earlies they said he would be putting on seminars for local coaches etc.
Right after that Triniman shit he pants and bawl  NO!   ;D
I am sure Lincoln would like to have this man work along with him but he not even in the blasted country and not interested.
We should really investigate why Saudi Arabia fire this man just before WC   :devil:  NOT THAT I SUGGESTING THAT.  It would just be interesting to know why.
Post by: supporter on January 07, 2006, 03:26:48 PM
truetrini, beenie has been scouting locals, wants to have camps for the local based, wants to have friendlies. the lack of our preparations fall with camps and warner. beenies job is coach. and hes underpaid on a global scale. so the article is shit. your only arguement is that jack said beenie in charge of development...jack say alot of things.
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 03:47:10 PM
allya have to call a press conference and ASK JACK what Leo contract commits him to do for TnT football, and until then is ONLY speculation and or or expectations of him we debating.
De man have a contract and is given his orders from Jack.
What WE want of LEO  is irrelevant!!!!

Good point.

Maynard next article should be calling for the terms of Leo employment.
But is that confidential?
Nah....public funds paying him and they could at least clarify what he here to do.
Post by: dwn on January 07, 2006, 09:25:32 PM
"WHAT value for dollar is Trinidad and Tobago getting from Leo Beenhakker at $800,000 a month?"

We made it to the World Cup and are experiencing whatever comes along with the achievement.

If you think for 800,000 a month Beenie should be doing more than coaching the national team, that is your opinion. But the fact that the article states that his salary is "chick feed" means that alot of other people out there think differently.

The way I see it - its a competition and the only way to succeed is to have the best on your team. And you dealing in a market where the competitive prices are THAT HIGH if you want the best.

So far we have succeeded in one mission - making it to the World Cup. And possible benefits that could bring to our football might or might not in "monetary value" be equal to his salary but there may many other intangible gains that make it worth it.

As far as succeeding in terms of future development - first I think its going to take alot more than Beenie's knowledge and alot more money for that. And as was established, we dont know exactly what his job description is so I wont get into how much he "should" be doing.

I understand the concerns of the article but I think bringing up the salary is just to grab the reader attention more than anything else.
Post by: weary1969 on January 07, 2006, 11:50:25 PM
All who feel Beenie will be in TNT after the WC dreaming. The man stakes just went up a 1000 fold. I will be surprise if after Germany 2006 he will be around. I will be 1st to post I was wrong if he is and 1st to say I told you so when he doesl not come  back.
Post by: dombasil on January 08, 2006, 10:04:04 AM
I don't think that he will be here after the World Cup. He was hired to coach the team to qualify for the World Cup and now to coach at the World Cup. Yes, he made comments about us starting to put thnkss in place for the future. But that does not equate to him being here to put things in place. That is for our TD and the local association.. He will leave to coach some club team after the The World Cup. Just like Gus Hiddink did after coaching S. Korea in the last WC. Just like Sven will do with England. Nothing new, Nothing different.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 10:27:15 AM
So de PM did not say and Jack did not say dat de man get ah contract fuh de next two years?

Ah jes asking eh.

And even if he here jes fuh de World Cup..why he eh home doing wuk with de locals?  ent he say he looking fuh players?  wey better dan in T&T?
Post by: College on January 08, 2006, 10:56:28 AM
TT ...which local players can he look at that he haven't seen already?

Can he develop a player between now and June to the extent that the player can step on the field in Germany and help the team??

Which local player can join the team and be asked to make an immediate impact in Germany?? I'm not trying to argue, just curious.
Post by: Trinimassive on January 08, 2006, 11:05:41 AM

Can he develop a player between now and June to the extent that the player can step on the field in Germany and help the team??

Which local player can join the team and be asked to make an immediate impact in Germany?? I'm not trying to argue, just curious.

Ah go put up meh hand cause I know who........

HARDEST
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:08:23 AM

Listen, and listen well.  He said he is still lookiong, giving the impression that jhe feels we have room for improvement.  Correct?

So where would you find more trinis than in T&T?  He has dissed our league and continues to look at men who just learned that their mother has ah trini passport.

If it were up tuh me...men like dat can play fuh T&T at all..far less get humoured by a look see.

The TD and Jack said that players who attended the combine were not only being lookd at with 2010 in mind but 2006 also if the talent was there..so why was beenie asked to bne there to look at the proceedings?

Breds I playing devil's advocate...but I find beenie spending too much time away.

He should be home working with the locals who on de fringe and those who already got called to National duty.

Heaven forbid we lose 2-3 players due to injuries and nutten done to get players at home ready.

Yuh say how hec an develop a player between now and June...how long it take him to get de National team playing better again?
Post by: College on January 08, 2006, 11:35:22 AM
tt.. point taken but I was hoping for names..  In all fairness, in Anton's interview yesterday, he asked all local players (former national players and those on the fringe of making a national team) to be ready to make themselves available.

Anton can't act independently so this has to come from Beenie.. which may imply he is still looking locally..

Again, and you probably would disagree, Apart from being tactically superior to BSC, Beenie brought more organization/structure to the team especially defensively. He preached the philosophy of maintaining possession of the ball. This added to the fact that Latapy came back(and the effect that Latapy has on other players) was the main reason for the improvement in performance. I dont think that individual players suddenly became more technically adept.

anyway, pls share yr thoughts...

Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:46:23 AM
dat is why beenie needs to be home. anton or licoln cant choose players..time is running out.
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2006, 11:51:38 AM
Here is a take on having a foreign coach: He will tell we and the entire JACK Warner entourage what to do : We will listen.

On having a local coach: Th entire entourage JACK and De boys will tell he what to do and He listen.
NOW who is the FALL GUY for failures?

The beauty of this forum and the way it is now is that all one has to do is do a search and find that this contentious issue about Beenhakker has been around for awhile. Ent ah said this before?

Yes the coach has done what we all wanted: get us to the World Cup!!! but at what price? Initially I had some reservations about hiring a ' mercernary' coach with a myopic focus, but success seems to override principles.

I have to argeee with some of  the sentiments expressed by TT. In Summary are we getting true value out of Beenie? Are we a nation that always must be held hostage by those who seems to be at our mercy? Have we not spent the time and money to promote and develop our local talent (coaches or players) at a level so that our national squads will not have to yield to foreign expertise? or are we still strangling' on the milk which feeds our thinking that foreign is better? Or those who are controlling the 'purse strings' are leading us down a path to self destruction.

Let's consider the proliferation of propanganda which came out of J.W. fisrt is this and then it was something else. Let's consider the inept planning and preparation. If you is ah Beenhakker and you witness this lack of organization, would you not 'bleed the well' for all it's worth and  exert minimum effort? We are the victims of our own demise.

For whatever reasons, we does really 'mash up' we own; soemtimes we own does 'mash up'
them selves (Nahkid & BSC) . I mean here we have two individulas who were in close with the WCQ yet we seem to discard their worth. Then we ave all kinda men who does commentate on the radio like they have all the answers  yet, me eh seeing them bringing any 'hands on' expertise to develop local talent.

In reviewing former postings you may find these interesting:

(There was an article by Walter Alibay from Newsday proclaiming that Beenhakker was to work at developing local coaches. what happened to that?
http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=1480.msg8948#msg8948

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=1313.msg7781#msg7781

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=1094.msg6397#msg6397

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2580.msg18170#msg181
Post by: dombasil on January 08, 2006, 11:56:27 AM
tt.. point taken but I was hoping for names..  In all fairness, in Anton's interview yesterday, he asked all local players (former national players and those on the fringe of making a national team) to be ready to make themselves available.

Anton can't act independently so this has to come from Beenie.. which may imply he is still looking locally..

Again, and you probably would disagree, Apart from being tactically superior to BSC, Beenie brought more organization/structure to the team especially defensively. He preached the philosophy of maintaining possession of the ball. This added to the fact that Latapy came back(and the effect that Latapy has on other players) was the main reason for the improvement in performance. I dont think that individual players suddenly became more technically adept.

anyway, pls share yr thoughts...

Quite right. it took awhile for the midfielders to get accustomed to playing organised defense and some of their offensive games(Whitly) suffered initially but now their  offensive games are coming on now that they are more comfortable in the system.. And of course a man like Latas. takes so much off the others shouders.
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2006, 11:58:07 AM
Did we entrust those with the purse strings to really  do some planning; reference checks and some discussions prior to hiring, or was the hiring done so hurrily despite the ultimate cost?

Remember this posting?

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2549.msg17858#msg17858
Post by: Touches on January 08, 2006, 12:16:29 PM
I could ask alyuh something.......What are the other coaches doing right now, that is any different to Beenie.

You feel Sven have any side in training?

Beenie in England the man went and Checking on we players talking to Managers and looking at facilitiies and alyuh vex.

Why alyuh feel is beenie job to develop the nation and the local players etc. The man new wuk is to get 22 players ready come June next and for us to not get embarrassed when we play our 3 games.

This is another short term project and the only way to fix we side is to get better players in and play practice game.

Why alyuh vex if we paying Beenie that kinda money when we have a big frigging waste of time blimp in Yankee colours hovering over the country.

Development is the TD wuk and he has put things in place with the player screenings etc.Lincoln is doing a very fine job.

Again before alyuh criticize Beenie try and see what other WC coaches are doing in order to make a fair comparison.

None of them running no training camp for local players nor are they training no local coaches.

A Intl coach does get he players three days before the game and work starts then.

If we was serious about doing well we was supposed to buy back our players from the clubs.and put them in a six month training camp. A post I brought up many moons ago. However it is not feasible or possible. SOmething like what Hiddink did with Korea in the Last WC.

Last thing, off the 800,000 what alyuh frighten for its not the Govnt paying that is Jack handling it.

Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2006, 12:23:50 PM
Touches,
Ah hear yuh points; I know at times we opertae from both an informed and misinformed perspective.

Questions:

Do you think the organization structure looking after football in England is operating like TTFF?

Is Jack handling the full amount of Beenhakker's salary? Is this a confirmed fact?

How do we quantify the merits of BeenHakker's salary?
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 12:28:25 PM
Touches what shit yuh talking?

Sven in Holland looking at any players?

He in England looking fuh players...ah bet yuh money he going tuh EPL games looking at players dat is why men like Shaun Wright Phillips begging fuh transfer so he could get first team play!

The fact is we eh doing nutten in T&T.

If de coach care so much he would do something to make sure we preparing and have de best possible players as well as de best possible pool in cases of injury.

What games we have line up..all dem odder teams arranging dey warm ups we turn down some games in Saudi because we fraid we get embarrassed.

Tell me if dat eh shit!  Beenie should be in T&T doing something with de players home, granted no ball playin gin T&T..maybe we need to take a look at the league time table at home.

But the fact remins we doh have ah game lined up yet..despite Jack old talk dat he announcing de tam last Thursday!   Beenie making he money and we sitting on we hands.

I am not against de pay beenie getting...I am concerned over the lack of action on his part.

And just what players he looking at in England?

Samuel?  Zamora?  De BlackPool Joker?  Shakes?

Steups!

send yuh $100.00 ok  :D
Post by: jusme on January 08, 2006, 12:38:00 PM
I could ask alyuh something.......What are the other coaches doing right now, that is any different to Beenie.

You feel Sven have any side in training?

Beenie in England the man went and Checking on we players talking to Managers and looking at facilitiies and alyuh vex.

Why alyuh feel is beenie job to develop the nation and the local players etc. The man new wuk is to get 22 players ready come June next and for us to not get embarrassed when we play our 3 games.

This is another short term project and the only way to fix we side is to get better players in and play practice game.

Why alyuh vex if we paying Beenie that kinda money when we have a big frigging waste of time blimp in Yankee colours hovering over the country.

Development is the TD wuk and he has put things in place with the player screenings etc.Lincoln is doing a very fine job.

Again before alyuh criticize Beenie try and see what other WC coaches are doing in order to make a fair comparison.

None of them running no training camp for local players nor are they training no local coaches.

A Intl coach does get he players three days before the game and work starts then.

If we was serious about doing well we was supposed to buy back our players from the clubs.and put them in a six month training camp. A post I brought up many moons ago. However it is not feasible or possible. SOmething like what Hiddink did with Korea in the Last WC.

Last thing, off the 800,000 what alyuh frighten for its not the Govnt paying that is Jack handling it.

the difference between Sven and Beenie is that Sven have a squad of very good players already and they all playing a high level football with their clubs that serves very well for the purpose of preparing them for the world cup.

Development is the job of the technical director in a far-reaching sense.  Individual player development can also fall under the purview of the coach if that particular player might realistically contribute to the team in the near future eg the upcoming world cup.

Right now 3 people in our starting 11 are locally/MLS based (Whitley, Gray and Avery).  Further others such as A. Wolfe, G. Wolfe, Atiba Charles, Cornell Glen and Scott Sealey are all on the fringes of the current squad.  At the very least sessions should be held involving these players.   If they could get a talented locally-based player not in this group to the point where he can also compete for a spot in the squad then that is bonus.
Post by: College on January 08, 2006, 12:57:08 PM
tt..you serious with that "we fraid we get embarrased" talk???
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 01:02:59 PM
yes dzt was de reason given fuh not taking up an offer from de Saudi FA  dey was paying we, but we could not send we best team so Jack say beenie eh want to send no team.

See de shit...me eh sure beenie say nutten doh..!
Post by: dcs on January 08, 2006, 01:12:59 PM
How long did it take Beenie to get Whitley to raise his game?

Or did Beenie have nothing to do with that?
Post by: College on January 08, 2006, 01:16:54 PM
tt.. this question was posed to Anton Corneal in an interview yesterday as to why T&T did not field a 'B' team in view of the unavailability of the regular starters. His response was reasonable enough...The organisers of the tournament, when they invite you to a tourney of this nature is because they want to 'see", a Latapy, Yorke etc, etc. (not taking anything away from the lesser fancied players).The majoriaty of these players were not available so......

Remember when they used to promote  big Brazilian clubs playing in the stadium and when you go, you find out is an U-23 team you watching and you get vex and walk out half way through the game????

At this stage everybody wants to see players that will be on the big stage come June.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 01:19:26 PM
yuh cyar give beenie enough praise fuh what he do with dis team at all.

He instill confidence dat we teams never had...as evidenced by de fight and grit.  Past teams would ah fold like at patraj roti long time.

He may not hav ehad improved any players play directly,,but by motivation and tactical know how he make dem fellas play well and specifically had the back line holding shape for longer periods dan before.

Dem fellas beleive in him  and DAT IS DE DIFFERENCE!
Post by: firebun on January 08, 2006, 04:18:13 PM
more baccahnal, more baccahnal!   :applause:
All i want to do is see trinidad & tobago mash up the world cup but too much issues!

Lord, ah cyar take it no more. :frustrated:
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2006, 06:50:23 PM
For those who  are in the know:

what is the salary paid  to the coach of the Togolese team?

What is the salary for the coaches of the  countries who made the World Cup for the first time?

What is the average salary of all the coaches at the world cup?

Is the salary we are paying Beenhakker fair and in line with the others?
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2006, 07:36:36 PM

What is the salary for the coaches of the  countries who made the World Cup for the first time?

First of all, keep in mind that we do not know how much Beenhakker earns. The $800,000 per month is the salary of the technical staff. Even if we do know Beenhakker's salary, it would only make sense to compare it to other coaches of similar calibre. On a side note, Sven Goran Eriksson is rumoured to earn £4 million (approx. $44,253,432.10 TT) per-year, or $3,687,786 TT per month.
Post by: dcs on January 08, 2006, 07:46:45 PM

First of all, keep in mind that we do not know how much Beenhakker earns. The $800,000 per month is the salary of the technical staff. Even if we do know Beenhakker's salary, it would only make sense to compare it to other coaches of similar calibre. On a side note, Sven Goran Eriksson is rumoured to earn £4 million (approx. $44,253,432.10 TT) per-year, or $3,687,786 TT per month.

Some might say it better to compare to other countries of similar standing since WE paying the bills.
England GDP just a tad bit more than ours.

In any case I don't care about the salary...it sound reasonable.  But we could squeeze more out of him dammit.

Which make more sense government paying Leo coaching package now POST qualification or Rene Simoes TD package salary PRE qualification.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 08:52:02 PM
tt.. this question was posed to Anton Corneal in an interview yesterday as to why T&T did not field a 'B' team in view of the unavailability of the regular starters. His response was reasonable enough...The organisers of the tournament, when they invite you to a tourney of this nature is because they want to 'see", a Latapy, Yorke etc, etc. (not taking anything away from the lesser fancied players).The majoriaty of these players were not available so......

Remember when they used to promote  big Brazilian clubs playing in the stadium and when you go, you find out is an U-23 team you watching and you get vex and walk out half way through the game????

At this stage everybody wants to see players that will be on the big stage come June.

college dat is dotish talk from antion.

Dat same Saudi did send ah team ah second stringers to de Asian Tourney to blood dem and see if dey could unearth good talent.

We eh do nutten but talk and looking at pros abroad.  beenie done say we locals behind.
Post by: marcus on January 08, 2006, 09:07:16 PM
Why we like to tear down man so, always looking at what ah man gettin pay and fighting down success... $800,000 is nothing for an international coach... it is nothing 130k USD... stop fighting down man and study about getting your own pocket up
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 09:29:45 PM
truetrini is talking a whole lotta shit. truetrini, you ask whether sven in holland looking for players? no hes in england, where england has a real domestic league that requires a lot of scouting. leo cant stay in the tt pro league for months doing the same kind of scouting. dont compare the EPL to the TT pro league.

and again, what de ass you want from the man? all the organization regarding camps and training games falls with the ttff and camps. leo just come back from world cup organizing. leave the man alone. any points in your arguement should be directed towards camps and the ttff.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 09:35:43 PM
truetrini is talking a whole lotta shit. truetrini, you ask whether sven in holland looking for players? no hes in england, where england has a real domestic league that requires a lot of scouting. leo cant stay in the tt pro league for months doing the same kind of scouting. dont compare the EPL to the TT pro league.

and again, what de ass you want from the man? all the organization regarding camps and training games falls with the ttff and camps. leo just come back from world cup organizing. leave the man alone. any points in your arguement should be directed towards camps and the ttff.

What kinda supporter are you>  Ah jock strap?

Steups, off course the questions are directed toward the TTFF..yuh senile or what or yuh cyar read?

maybe is comprehension dat eluding yuh grasp?

The TTFF happens to be Beenieman's boss.

So is dem who have to answer de question.

And yuh point is as stupid as you.

We havre ah league, de USA have one and england have one.  So naturally de coach ahs to scout leagues both foreign and domestic.

In out case our league is done and so is de MLS.  A significant number of our players..first tier or second tier are in de PFL and de MLS.

what is being done to keep dem match fit?

Haul yuh ass!
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 09:52:55 PM
you sound like an uneducated jackass. first of all, your points make little to no sense at all. learn to articulate your arguement a little more.

this is the third and last time im gonna tell you in this thread that the ttff and camps are the ones that you should be directing your primative simple points at. not leo. so why you are criticising the coach's pay when he has already done so much is beyond me. dont change your story and say you criticising the ttff when this a thread about the coach and you repeatedly question why the coach aint doing this and that.

remember, the key to an arguement is making sense. try it sometime.
Post by: jusme on January 08, 2006, 10:28:59 PM
supporter, I think all TT trying to say is that if the man still on the payroll, he should still be working at a level commensurate with his salary.

we are all eternally grateful for what he has done to this point, but if we can't just be handing out pay cheques indefinitely while locally based players just laying idle.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 10:32:07 PM
you sound like an uneducated jackass. first of all, your points make little to no sense at all. learn to articulate your arguement a little more.

this is the third and last time im gonna tell you in this thread that the ttff and camps are the ones that you should be directing your primative simple points at. not leo. so why you are criticising the coach's pay when he has already done so much is beyond me. dont change your story and say you criticising the ttff when this a thread about the coach and you repeatedly question why the coach aint doing this and that.

remember, the key to an arguement is making sense. try it sometime.

yuh is ah f**king ass or what/

where did I ever say anything about he pay?

haul yuh ass.

I want tuh know what is being done about de mls players and ah tell yuh stupid ass dat as beenie wukking fuh de TTFF is dem self ah addressing.

dat is not tuh say dat Beenie should not be talking to de T&T press telling de population what he up to.

Especially since de TTFF not telling we.

and if yuh going tuh try and use big words to try and insult me..spell dem correck and use dem in proper contex..or is wood in yuh backside.

Tell him justme..tell de dunce ass

and jock strap..show me where i ever say dat beenie eh worth he pay?  and wey I say he eh do nutten fuh de team?

read my posts dem and yuh go see dat I say is de TTFF who should make him do something with de locals.  even if is setting up ah trainig camp.

steups

is me yuh want tuh battle?  look and see who say de man pay too much..not me
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 11:09:24 PM
all your idiotic posts in this thread you acting as if leo doesnt deserve his pay. you are a fickle little girl the way you trying to manipulate the contexts of your posts. the context of your posts attack beenie for not having camps for the local players. you say thats a ttff criticism? it is, but thats not how you address it. you support the writers arguement that he overpaid. is that not true?  compare his salary to other intl coaches and he is probably paid less than most. and please point out my spelling errors that you claim are abundant. cuz you dont have any mis-spelled words in your posts. please. you should go change your name one time to true cocksucker. reread your posts and come tell me you didnt say beenie not doing enough to deserve that salary.
otherwise take your redundant arguement to another thread, pillow biter.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:14:32 PM
all your idiotic posts in this thread you acting as if leo doesnt deserve his pay. you are a fickle little girl the way you trying to manipulate the contexts of your posts. the context of your posts attack beenie for not having camps for the local players. you say thats a ttff criticism? it is, but thats not how you address it. you support the writers arguement that he overpaid. is that not true?  compare his salary to other intl coaches and he is probably paid less than most. and please point out my spelling errors that you claim are abundant. cuz you dont have any mis-spelled words in your posts. please. you should go change your name one time to true cocksucker. reread your posts and come tell me you didnt say beenie not doing enough to deserve that salary.

no it is not true!   show me where i support that part of the writer's argument?

I stated many times dat beenie is a miracle worker..but he needs to be doing something with the players who are not currently active.

You say is de TTFF and I say I agree dey should make him do something as dey pay his salary.

now f**k off!

you show me where I say he doh deserve he pay!

I say he need to be doing something about de local players!

I say dat he need to be spending more time in T&T!

I say dat Jack say he say certain tings but me eh sure beenie say dem tings because is jack we dealing with.

yuh is ah lying asshole
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:21:44 PM
Touches what shit yuh talking?

But the fact remins we doh have ah game lined up yet..despite Jack old talk dat he announcing de tam last Thursday!   Beenie making he money and we sitting on we hands.

I am not against de pay beenie getting...I am concerned over the lack of action on his part.

And just what players he looking at in England?

Samuel?  Zamora?  De BlackPool Joker?  Shakes?

Steups!

send yuh $100.00 ok  :D

posted by truetrini.yuh cyar give beenie enough praise fuh what he do with dis team at all.

He instill confidence dat we teams never had...as evidenced by de fight and grit.  Past teams would ah fold like at patraj roti long time.

He may not hav ehad improved any players play directly,,but by motivation and tactical know how he make dem fellas play well and specifically had the back line holding shape for longer periods dan before.

Dem fellas beleive in him  and DAT IS DE DIFFERENCE!.

so wey yuh get off lying on me and meh posts dog face?
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 11:23:45 PM

no it is not true!   show me where i support that part of the writer's argument?

I stated many times dat beenie is a miracle worker..but he needs to be doing something with the players who are not currently active.

You say is de TTFF and I say I agree dey should make him do something as dey pay his salary.

now f**k off!

you show me where I say he doh deserve he pay!

I say he need to be doing something about de local players!

I say dat he need to be spending more time in T&T!

I say dat Jack say he say certain tings but me eh sure beenie say dem tings because is jack we dealing with.

yuh is ah lying asshole

and for the flickin fourth time, yes it is the ttff's fault. they should be doing more with the locals right now.
but you say, "dey should make him do something as dey pay his salary". what the ass do you think hes doing? sitting at home staring at the wall? you ever read news on this site? or you just come here to talk shit? hes been scouting players in england, setting up our world cup accomodations. hes been doing things.
 i wish he could come home and have a local camp, as well. but that would fall on ttff's shoulder. but since he cant do that hes doing other things.
catch up on news before sayin the man aint doing anything,cuz thats shit talk.
too muich time getting gang banged in the army i suppose.

oh what, you highlight one line in your posts that contradict the context of all your posts and now that proves everything? steups
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:27:09 PM
so is not he job to train de locals, set up training but he should be setting up accomadations?

Lord yuh f**king brilliant!

He said he was scouting players in England..which players nad how long dat take?

He look at Shakes and de goal keeper and he was looking fuh ah place tuh hold ah english camp..excellent.

What about de locals at home and de MLS players?

Yuh want de TTFF to set up training fuh dem?

what system dey using?

Beenie is de blasted coach!  Is he system yuh ingrate!  He eh doing enough.

And I was never in de army yuh buller
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 11:32:20 PM
how many times he want to have programs for not only players at home, but for the coaches, and that couldnt happen because players were not going to be released from their tt pro league sides or coaches wouldnt show up. leo would obviously want to have these camps for the locals, and he probably will later on when their season is done. dont tell me he has to go scout some more tt pro league action, because hes done enough of that, and that dont take long to do. i want to know where you get off thinking leo is some lazy coach who doesnt want to improve trinidad and tobago football. what have you read that makes you think that. some people just pull things out of their ass sometimes.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:42:13 PM
how many times he want to have programs for not only players at home, but for the coaches, and that couldnt happen because players were not going to be released from their tt pro league sides or coaches wouldnt show up. leo would obviously want to have these camps for the locals, and he probably will later on when their season is done. dont tell me he has to go scout some more tt pro league action, because hes done enough of that, and that dont take long to do. i want to know where you get off thinking leo is some lazy coach who doesnt want to improve trinidad and tobago football. what have you read that makes you think that. some people just pull things out of their ass sometimes.

like you doing now!  de pro-league done and so is de MLS dat is ehy he need to be working wioth de players who currently inactive!

Yuh really pulling shit oiut yuh fat ass!

and why yuh doh justify yuh misintepretation ah my posts?  Yuh say dis and dat and when ah call yuh out yuh back down.

haul yuh asshole!

De PFL and de MLS done dey not playing now!

What beenie doing about dm players?

yuh dunce waggonist..yuh eh even know we league done home?

steups

no more debate fuh yuh uninformed ass

and jes when beenie wanted to train local coaches and dey eh show up?

Prove dat!  Yuh should change yuh name from supporter tuh Spin Doctor!
Post by: supporter on January 08, 2006, 11:50:40 PM
no shit the tt pro league is done yuh damn sausage-lover.

you really must be a thick c*nt if i have to spell things out for you repeatedly, post after post.

again, take up your shitty arguement with the ttff. leo will obviously want a local camp, and will try for one soon enough. you have to be named waggonist of the year because with the amount of time you post you still dont know what the hell goes on with ttff or leo. you either get that award, or the retarded clown award.

ah dont feel like repeating myself anymore. you cant put one and one together, and you cant comprehend posts. reread my posts, or have your boyfriend read it for you at night, then maybe itll sink in. until then, you just gonna retype the same shit like an idiot.
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:55:52 PM
how many times he want to have programs for not only players at home, but for the coaches, and that couldnt happen because players were not going to be released from their tt pro league sides or coaches wouldnt show up.
leo would obviously want to have these camps for the locals, and he probably will later on when their season is done. dont tell me he has to go scout some more tt pro league action, because hes done enough of that, and that dont take long to do.
i want to know where you get off thinking leo is some lazy coach who doesnt want to improve trinidad and tobago football. what have you read that makes you think that. some people just pull things out of their ass sometimes.

YUH FULL AH SHIT!  LOL!   Why yuh say did den?  eh? If yuh lknow de season done why say dat?  Yuh too lie.  And why yuh takin g me tuh task so bad, when is odders who complain about he pay?  yuh looking fuh love in all de wrong places suasage jockey.  hahahahaha :rotfl: :rotfl:

leo would obviously want to have these camps for the locals, and he probably will later on when their season is done. dont tell me he has to go scout some more tt pro league action, because hes done enough of that, and that dont take long to do.

we know he coming home soon...and he will see de locals dat dere..why wait so long?

why wasnt something set up to keep dem playing all along?

yuh siste resding ah penthouse forum fuh meh dis very minute...love de fact she doing everything de writers say in dem sexy ass stories.

Yuh wnat tuh film we?

doh try tuh tell meh he not responsible fuh dat! 
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:01:47 AM
doh post no more..ah eh worrying with yuh lying aSS.
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:04:49 AM
boy, you still want explanation from uncle supporter? you aint take enough licks already? you aint get call out enough times for drawing up our coach to look bad?

true dildo, you really nitpicking quoting tt pro league season done. like thats what you got left? idiot, uncle supporter telling you what leo probably want from his perspective. i.e he was waiting for the season to finish. now that it is im sure he'd want to have camps. but that requires assistance as well from the ttff. and the man doing other things at the moment that shouldnt just be cancelled.

your cant be an impatient little girl. you making up stories to make our coach look worthless, for what reason?

now go run along and play with your dildos after mammy finish up.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:09:44 AM
boy, you still want explanation from uncle supporter? you aint take enough licks already? you aint get call out enough times for drawing up our coach to look bad?

true dildo, you really nitpicking quoting tt pro league season done. like thats what you got left? idiot, uncle supporter telling you what leo probably want from his perspective. i.e he was waiting for the season to finish. now that it is im sure he'd want to have camps. but that requires assistance as well from the ttff. and the man doing other things at the moment that shouldnt just be cancelled.

your cant be an impatient little girl. you making up stories to make our coach look worthless, for what reason?

now go run along and play with your dildos after mammy finish up.

yuh lie yuh never say dat..yuh sat dat yuh sure when de league done he go hold camps..de league done last year!  wey de camp fuh de locals and de mls players who inactive?

I too know he going and do something..dey say dat,,,he assistant and Anton will do dat and he go join later.

ho-hum.

yuh too lie.

anyway me eh know why yuh decide to attack me so..I never had nutten with you, but me eh fraid dat!@  Not afraid at all!

Yuh talk shit, yuh lie on meh and ah call yuh out.  So yuh decide tuh change yuh tune.

me eh care what yuh think or say again because yuh show yuh true colours.

YUH LIE NO ASS!
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 12:13:21 AM
Supporter,
When did Leo hold anything for the local coaches and they didn't turn up?

I seriously doubt that happen and just pass under the radar.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:14:46 AM
Supporter,

he lying again, jes like he say I say beenie getting too much money. jes like he say beenie go set up training fuh de MLS and de PFl players when dey league done, and when ah tell him de leagues done, he say he did know dat.

he lie again when he say dat I trying to make de coach look bad.  All I say is why dey waiting so long tuh set up ah camp fuh dem.

steups.
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:15:17 AM
True dildo, re-read my previous post. this is getting ridiculous. you cant even comprehend the post before. its not like it was 2 pages back. this was the last post. re read it and youll get the explanation for the pro league. you hanging onto that cuz you got nothing else and you know you get called out for trying to make beenie look bad.

then you say, "I too know he going and do something..dey say dat,,,he assistant and Anton will do dat and he go join later."

buthang on, you changing your story now. if thats your current sentiment on the situation then what the ass you bitching about leo for?

youre backpeadling more than jack warner at a certain newsconference a few days ago. whos the liar changing his story every 2 seconds.
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:17:04 AM
Supporter,

dcs, there was a story a while back about leo wanting to have some kind of program for coaches during the qualifying campaign, but there was limited interest at that time for some reason or another.it didnt headline an article but i think it was a quote in there that addressed it.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:18:53 AM
boy, re-read my previous post. this is getting ridiculous. you cant even comprehend the post before. its not like it was 2 pages back. this was the last post. re read it and youll get the explanation for the pro league. you hanging onto that cuz you got nothing else and you know you get called out for trying to make beenie look bad.

then you say, "I too know he going and do something..dey say dat,,,he assistant and Anton will do dat and he go join later."

buthang on, you changing your story now. if thats your current sentiment on the situation then what the ass you bitching about leo for?

youre backpeadling more than jack warner at a certain newsconference a few days ago.

Not true. I am not backpeddaling at all.

beenie is de coach..not anton or some fella who jes get signed on!

Beenie needs to be present..his input is most important as is his moivation.  why would I try to make de coach look bad?  I said he was de reason we make de WC.. steups yuh jes trying to make me look bad.

why?
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 12:22:10 AM
Supporter,

dcs, there was a story a while back about leo wanting to have some kind of program for coaches during the qualifying campaign, but there was limited interest at that time for some reason or another.it didnt headline an article but i think it was a quote in there that addressed it.

There may be more to that story.  I seriously doubt the local coaches are at fault.  Look how Anton was licking his chops to work with Leo.
I vaguely remember what u referring to but even when I read it back then it was not clear at all what the hell they were talking about or what the problem was.
If Don Lazy Beensmoking  :mackdaddy: held any kind of seminar/talk/session for local coaches it will be way OVER SUBSCRIBED not the other way around.
Post by: royalian on January 09, 2006, 12:24:22 AM
Truetrini has a point that supporter is missing:
the question is not his salary but the many gaps left by the ttff not maximising the time we have, other than using him to secure locations and scout foreign players when there may be other talent he can get, esp. when the perrennial problem they have with local league is them not allowing their players sufficient time off during the season to train with the nat'l team. now is best time to use him to develop local players, there is no competition for the players' time. Even if it's not for them to go WC I am sure there would be some improvement in the local skill level and by extension the league by having a wider range of players being exposed to Beenie's undoubtedly superior and proven technical knowledge.
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:25:25 AM

He is to take de team tuh de World Cup..right...so where is he?  He said the doors are open to any person with ah trini passport..so where is he?

I can assure Mr. Beenhackker dat if he want tuh find ah multitude ah trinis with ah trini passport he should stop off in Piarco, eat ah doubles and den hit de streets ah Trinidad.

So how de f**k I come tuh be all knowing?

you really trying to be manipulative huh? you trying to make leo look bad when you know damn well, or perhaps you dont, that leo is in europe scouting guys like shakes and boucard. he cant be in three places at once.now you trying to act like you just want 'input' from leo? steups. backpeadle faster!  
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:29:01 AM
the question is not his salary but the many gaps left by the ttff not maximising the time we have, other than using him to secure locations and scout foreign players when there may be other talent he can get, esp. when the perrennial problem they have with local league is them not allowing their players sufficient time off during the season to train with the nat'l team. now is best time to use him to develop local players, there is no competition for the players' time. Even if it's not for them to go WC I am sure there would be some improvement in the local skill level and by extension the league by having a wider range of players being exposed to Beenie's undoubtedly superior and proven technical knowledge.

i absolutely agree. and alot of that falls on the ttff, not with making leo look bad. leo will get around to that. he wants to complete his objectives in europe. he cant be in two places at once. wasnt it stated bythe ttff recently that whim would be home working with locals? what happened with that? the ttff needs to get involved more and direct some of these programs a bit better. of course, truetrini cant make a point like that propperly.
Post by: royalian on January 09, 2006, 12:30:36 AM
Re coaches, that is not true. There are so many local coaches who are dying to improve their skills. And I know from personal experience. Man having olympic coaching license and experience playing with nat'l team and a proven track record in terms of winning local competiotions, Jabloteh want to pay a pittance a month, then woud bring in foreign coaches and have to pay them big money and supply housing and car. Local coaches grab every opportunity to improve their knowledge because it means them possibly being in a better position to put bread on their tables. So no way people will not come out to a course run by Beenie. And even if for argument sake there is apathy, then it is the ttff's role to ensure that as many coaches as possible are there because ultimately it is the local game that will benefit, not the coaches per se.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:32:26 AM

Thanks fella.  Yuh being reasonable.

and supporter, how am I trying to make Beenie look bad?  Did I not say that the TTFF pays him, dey are his employer and dey should require him to do something about dese inactive players?

Yuh agreeing with Royalian but disagrreing with me on de same point.

yuh is ah asshole
I never bad mouth Beenie..In fact I kept asking why de TTFF not requiring him to do more at this juncture!

Dis joker decide to attack me jes so.  I am not being manipulative at all.  Beenie was scouting players dat he already saw according tuh supporter except Shakes and Warner..I have no problem with that at all, neither did I have a problem with searching out suitable training camps in England.

I am concerned about the lack of training during these gaps.

First game is March 1st..what is being done in the meantime?

Nutten.

While dat is not a surprise given the TTFF's track record, one would have held higher expectations from Beenie man as he is such a professional.

yuh attacking me uh no reason, when is other posters who say beenie getting too much money..NOT me!

Nuff said!
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:44:11 AM

While dat is not a surprise given the TTFF's track record, one would have held higher expectations from Beenie man as he is such a professional.

Nuff said!

again, why make beenie out to be the bad guy. is he at home twidling his thumbs? he just came off a grueling campaign, been setting up our arrangements for world cup, scouting in england. the man will want his camp with the locals. you honestly think he doesnt want to look for more players? blame the ttff for not communicationg with us as to exactly everything that is going on. you are manipulative. give me one story or thing you heard that would make you think leo is not professional. use your head before talking nuh
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 12:50:02 AM
again you are the manipulative one!

where did I say he was NOT professional?

Man stop yuh nonsense.

Yuh agree with my points but not me, becasue when Royalian say de same thing yuh say yuh agree.

I agree with you dat is de TTFF a long time now, but yuh decide to insist dat i trying tuh make Beenie look bad.

Dat eh true!

I said I expected more involvement at this stage from Beebie.

He apparently gave his list of desired opponents and it is up to the TTFF to arrange those games.  When Wales fell through we all were disappointed and are now waiting on jack tuh say who we playing.

Now yuh also right that de TTFF not notifying us of de latest, but it has already been announcd that Beeine sending Anton and his new asst. to set up a camp..in my opinion dat eh good enough!

beenie should be home doing dat himself.  He is de coach and he has the job to do dat. 

He is not using the time between warm-ups properly in MY opinion.  we have key men just waiting around.

The USA has camps, we need to do the same.

Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 12:58:13 AM
no, you have not expressed those points that royalian did. he might have expressed what you wanted to say, but you came off attacking leo. and even up to that last post of yours, which i quoted, you actin like hes not a professional, and that hes not doing anything. that is untrue and unfair.

the ttff should be getting things more organized at this stage. to pin everything on leo is unfair when hes doing other things right now that we always complain doesnt happen enough - scouting. he deserves every cent of his salary.
i would like to see all parties at least communicate some future plans. but this is the ttff, so thatll be hard to come by. the press should ask some more questions of this. its the ttff that isnt doing enough to organize/communicate
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 01:03:19 AM

I thought we just hire a new assistant coach to be head of scouting.

When is pre-season starting for the MLS.  Just want to know when we can expect our US based to become unavailable for training camps.
I believe the full season start in April.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2006, 01:14:01 AM
no, you have not expressed those points that royalian did. he might have expressed what you wanted to say, but you came off attacking leo. and even up to that last post of yours, which i quoted, you actin like hes not a professional, and that hes not doing anything. that is untrue and unfair.

the ttff should be getting things more organized at this stage. to pin everything on leo is unfair when hes doing other things right now that we always complain doesnt happen enough - scouting. he deserves every cent of his salary.
i would like to see all parties at least communicate some future plans. but this is the ttff, so thatll be hard to come by. the press should ask some more questions of this. its the ttff that isnt doing enough to organize/communicate

Let me ask yuh some questions

1.  When did I attack leo?
2.  When did I say he was NOT professional
3.  When did I say dat he was being paid too much?
4.  did I not say he should be home working with locals who were inactive..not scouting players in England and seeking accomodations?
5.  Did I not say de TTFF are too blame?

so where yuh get off saying I attacking beenie?

show me just one post wey I attack de man!

Yuh back peddaling and accusing me ah doing dat.

Is you!
Post by: supporter on January 09, 2006, 05:50:35 AM
look back in the thread and re-read. im not going to retype something over and over because you dont want to read the posts. ah done with you.
Post by: spideybuff on January 09, 2006, 10:15:29 AM
He should ask the same question of all the CEO's in the country...or the world for that matter. Millions of dollars to sit in their office and attend meetings?

You get paid as recompense for your experience and qualifications regardless of what you actually do in a job. And the more specialist the market, the higher the salary...regardless of what you actually do. Otherwise, the policeman on the street who facing bullets everyday should be paid more than the commissioner safely in the office. It's just the way the world works, so doh attack Beenie salary especialy when it not even on par to the two other european coaches we facing in our world cup group(I doh know the Paraguay coach range so i can;t include him jus so)
Post by: vibetrini on January 09, 2006, 10:49:57 AM
TT$800,000 per month  =  US$33,000 per week ... this is about average for top head coaches around the world. The man is a WC coach, this is about standard for this level.

Post by: Tenorsaw on January 09, 2006, 01:08:29 PM
We really can't speculate about what Beenie's role is, but he presents the idea that he is a coach in absentia.  Seems like he uses every free moment to not be in Trinidad.  Don't know the reason why he doesn't stay back home when the national team is not actively preparing for a match.  His title though, is "coach", and that is different from TD.  Lincoln Philipps is the man responsible for structuring our football and making sure that it has a bright longterm success.  At the same time, we have a man at the helm who has coached great players at clubs such as Real Madrid, Ajax, Feyenord, to name a few.  We definitely need to have knowledge transfer from him to our local coaches.  That is my biggest gripe, to date about Beenie; we are not milking him for his unquestioned knowledge and vast experience.  He might not be to blame totally, cause he has invited our local coaches to observe his training methods and they seem very disinclined to accept the invitation.  Coaches should be "tapping up" this man, but they seem to be more concerned about trying to prove that local coaches are up to the task of successfully leading a national team than trying to learn from this man.  So, while Beenie could probably ride the plane less, it is up to our administrators to maybe coax him a little more into leaving a legacy to our local coaches. 
Post by: dutchman on January 09, 2006, 08:31:53 PM
We really can't speculate about what Beenie's role is, but he presents the idea that he is a coach in absentia.  Seems like he uses every free moment to not be in Trinidad.  Don't know the reason why he doesn't stay back home when the national team is not actively preparing for a match.  His title though, is "coach", and that is different from TD.  Lincoln Philipps is the man responsible for structuring our football and making sure that it has a bright longterm success.  At the same time, we have a man at the helm who has coached great players at clubs such as Real Madrid, Ajax, Feyenord, to name a few.  We definitely need to have knowledge transfer from him to our local coaches.  That is my biggest gripe, to date about Beenie; we are not milking him for his unquestioned knowledge and vast experience.  He might not be to blame totally, cause he has invited our local coaches to observe his training methods and they seem very disinclined to accept the invitation.  Coaches should be "tapping up" this man, but they seem to be more concerned about trying to prove that local coaches are up to the task of successfully leading a national team than trying to learn from this man.  So, while Beenie could probably ride the plane less, it is up to our administrators to maybe coax him a little more into leaving a legacy to our local coaches. 

Perhaps milking him there will exhaust him and get him out of focus?
Or he just thinks it isn't worth it to be there when he needs to talk to Mario & other dutch for the preps here. But now that half the Feyenoord staff is working for Leo I'm still waiting for the first young Trini to be signed for Feyenoord ? Why doesn't TTFF do something for that, try to bring some 17 year olds to Rotterdam. Guus Hiddink already has 2 Aussies at PSV.
Any T&T coach that really wants to learn someting can also just sign up for international training courses. Look at this Jamaican, I don't know if he is a good coach but sure has qualifications.
edit: I read it again but perhaps he didn't pass the dutch course since it says attended & not completed

he Calabar coach is a highly qualified professional. The holder of a master's degree in Business Administration (MBA) with emphasis on marketing, Hunt has attended several courses in football administration and coaching since 1978. His first was a FIFA Coca-Cola World Development Programme Administration course held in Kingston in 1978. Among the numerous other courses he attended was a one-month Organisation of American States (OAS) Mexican Olympic Solidarity training course in Mexico City in 1984.

In mid-1993 Hunt also completed the highly regarded English FA International Coaching Preliminary Award coaching course. Earlier this year he attended the KNVB Academy international coaching course in the Netherlands and a month later did the National Soccer Coaches of America Youth Diploma Course in Kingston.

http://www.sportsjamaica.com/read_article.php?id=4625

Post by: cm103 on January 09, 2006, 09:12:53 PM
Isn't that 800k paying for Beenie and the assistant coaches also?

If so how much is Beenie really getting out of that?
Post by: TnTVillan on April 16, 2006, 11:12:13 PM

WHAT value for dollar is Trinidad and Tobago getting from Leo Beenhakker at $800,000 a month?

Granted that this is “chick feed” for international coaches, and that a top-level international coach would have cost us two or three times that.

After all, strong overtures were made to retain Kevin Keegan, until he declared his expected salary (“in the millions”, some say).

That is all well and good; a man must be well-paid for his expertise, but what about value for dollar?

Over $11 million to sport Adidas outfits before billions of television viewers, along with myriad undisclosed endorsements, deals and benefits?

(And I’m not talking here about who or whose company is actually getting this as either adviser, rights owner, etc., etc., etc.)

If so, should the acquisition of money through World Cup qualification justify paying Dutchman Leo Beenhakker over $800,000 a month?

Beenhakker is not required to take a hands-on approach to TnT’s football development.

That is left to local coaches: the same local coaches whose combined salary for their part in producing national players does not even amount to $800,000 a year.

His job is basically to come here five days before the match, when all foreign-based players are available, and have them play scrimmages so he could decide on a starting 11.

I guess that is one of the conditions he set for coming out of virtual recluse after getting a string of one-season jobs.

He is not required to stay in TnT and move around to see matches in the Pro League or Schools League.

So, the end result is that he would leave here without having helped developed a single local player and, in so doing, put us on course for preparing for the next World Cup qualifying campaign.

It is strange because he is the one who publicly stated that the team that qualified would not be the team that plays in the finals.

To back up his point, he noted the age of the players, saying the team averaged 28 years. Unless this was a psychological ploy to force Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke into getting and keeping in top shape or face the sack, Beenhakker, having stated his intention to exclude local players, was saying he intends to look only beyond these shores for replacements. (Now note his propensity for readymade stuff. He has no intention of developing us for the future).

The average age of these foreigners is left to be seen, as is the question of whether it permits them to represent TnT with any credit in the next qualifying campaign.

His approach is unfortunate. And the technical director, noticing the shortfall, hurriedly organised a Goal 2014 youth training camp, with which he is quick to associate the national coach by saying Beenhakker would be monitoring the short listed talent pool and new player database.

So, from all appearances, Beenhakker is part of a grand plan for the future: but that is not really so.

It has been a month and a half since TnT qualified for the World Cup and, outside of that training camp with vacationing university-based players in mind, there has been no semblance of preparedness for this World Cup or the next; no capitalisation on the revived hopes of local players; no search to unearth that missing link in some remote community; and definitely no involvement whatsoever of Beenhakker.

And there won’t be until March in the brief period around that World Cup warm-up; and it won’t involve locals.

Never mind that veritable ad in the Express captioned “Beenhakker returns January 15” (two months after World Cup qualification).

Don’t be fooled by its claim that he would be here to “further look at some of the home-based players”; that is a blatant lie.

The last time he was back here was to secure his contract extension so he could parade with the other three Dutch coaches who would be leading teams into the finals.

This time, January 15, he would be here for another big public relations event: the World Cup trophy display parade that Franz Beckenbauer is now embarking upon. Some people would say otherwise but don’t be fooled.

Yes, new assistant coach Anton Corneal is keeping himself active and plans may indeed come true to have fellow Dutch assistant Wim Rijsbergen join him one week before Beenhakker’s arrival and Beenhakker may even make planned a guest appearance before the cameras.

But, again, don’t be fooled: This is no opportunity to see the guys on the team “and also to see some others”.

It is window dressing to give the impression that something has been done in the two months since World Cup qualification.

It is imagery to make fools feel that, with this hint of activity, $50 million on a so-called budget is money well-spent even though there won’t be enough warm-ups for that $50 million to make TnT a better prepared team at the World Cup finals.

And with a single appearance at the advertised local training this month, one would be left the impression Beenhakker is worth $800,000 a month.

At that cost, a respectable country would expect to get more out of a coach that would ensure continuity for a long time after that coach ceases to be associated with the country. One would expect to make the same demands on him as is made on local coaches. Beenhakker’s predecessor Bertille St. Clair, for example, was made to work with all-local technical staff in spite of his wishes.

No similar demand has been made of Beenhakker. He is allowed to use an all-foreign staff -- even in the area of physical fitness.

Beenhakker comes to TnT when he wants but local national coaches must be on the job at all times.

Beenhakker can discriminate against the quality of players here, being made to work at raising their level, yet St. Clair was ridiculed for “discriminating” on disciplinary grounds (such as deportment).

Beenhakker is allowed to focus only on foreign scouting while his predecessor took licks for persisting with a local core since the foundation stages of the campaign (like the Digicel Cup appearance), that included Anton Pierre, Nigel Pierre, Kerwyn Jemmot, Angus Eve, Atiba Charles, Kerry Baptiste and Kerry Noray.

And the former, local coach was said to be asking for too much, yet $800,000 -- not from the money circulating in football but from our tax dollars -- must go to Beenhakker without question.

Alvin Corneal has a point when he said something to the effect that this is because of our fear and misplaced respect for those of European extract.

But who is to blame?

None other than the local coaches: The ones who snoop on each other then run off to e-mail news to “Massa”; the ones who set up each other to be fired in exchange for a bone.

If not, go get yourselves properly qualified so as to remove those insecurities.

As for Beenhakker, let’s see if he manages to do as much for us as Rene Simoes did for Jamaica, in that, let’s see if, as a result of his work here TnT qualifies for every other youth finals over the next few years.

By that time, though, his extended vacation, which we have so spiced up, would have been long over and he would have returned to the serious work of football development elsewhere, with a lot of petro dollars in his pockets.

I thought someone said somewhere “this time” Trinidadian and Tobagonians would be getting more out of their oil.

This in the mirror.

Talk done the mirror is the shitiest newspaper on this earth.

This man wanna know what we getting for $800,000.

I'll tell ya what we getting, we getting the greatest day in Trinidad and Tobago History, We going to a world cup, WE CAME TOGETHER UNITED AS ONE ON NOVEMBER 12TH AND 16TH, 2005 AND WE WILL BE UNITED AS ONE ON JUNE 10TH,15TH AND 20TH, 2006.

THIS MAN HAS DONE SOMETHING THAT 20+ COACHES BEFORE HIM COULDN'T DO.

WE GETTING THE GREATEST COACH IN DE WORLD.

TALK DONE.
Post by: Jefferz on April 17, 2006, 12:19:18 AM

But who is to blame?

This in the mirror.

Talk done the mirror is the shitiest newspaper on this earth.

This man wanna know what we getting for $800,000.

I'll tell ya what we getting, we getting the greatest day in Trinidad and Tobago History, We going to a world cup, WE CAME TOGETHER UNITED AS ONE ON NOVEMBER 12TH AND 16TH, 2005 AND WE WILL BE UNITED AS ONE ON JUNE 10TH,15TH AND 20TH, 2006.

THIS MAN HAS DONE SOMETHING THAT 20+ COACHES BEFORE HIM COULDN'T DO.

WE GETTING THE GREATEST COACH IN DE WORLD.

TALK DONE.

well the mirror do have some good articles sometimes written by some very good writers while other papers constantly go by propagnada standards...

HOWEVER...

this article is pitiful... the man is throwing out figures and completely ignoring the fact that T&T are in the world cup...

I really wouldnt have taken the chance picking another coach if we were doing this again and 800,000 dollars a month so that we go to the WORLC CUP where only 32 teams are allowed to be put on a silver platter and polished to glisten infornt of 1.5 billion viewers......................

um yea... I think it was worth it... becuase paying some half ass coach 10,000 dollars per month for four years and getting no where is probably not...

It's this whole trinidadian disgruntle corner cutting mentality... you see it in most of the road works and transport sytems the goverments have in place...

The writer of this article obviously knows LITTLE of the history of the world cup and its sacredness...

Maybe if this article's aim was to throw in as many big figures as poorly as possible it would get rave reviews however I have created bowel movements more inspiring than this shit...
Post by: scooby on April 17, 2006, 07:02:57 AM
To be quite truthful I did noy bother to read the whole article that was written by dave, for I am thankful that we got a coach of beenie stature for as cheap as $800,000 a month. Dave a paid reporter and is just doing a story to earn his pay check by trying to creat some of controversey. The $800, 000 was money well spent and the end did justified the means. I would say differently if someone or somebody can name  one local coach would the ability and carisma to take us from where we were and take us the worlds biggest stage for any team sport, this is the world we are talking about get, get real Dave lets talk about all those dead politians, crocked cops, and so call leaders religious or other wise who are stealing the futher our youths by blinding them with false hope. Beenie deverses a bonus, which should be paid straight out of Jack Warner pocket
Post by: maxg on April 17, 2006, 07:22:44 AM
To be quite truthful I did noy bother to read the whole article that was written by dave, for I am thankful that we got a coach of beenie stature for as cheap as $800,000 a month. Dave a paid reporter and is just doing a story to earn his pay check by trying to creat some of controversey. The $800, 000 was money well spent and the end did justified the means. I would say differently if someone or somebody can name  one local coach would the ability and carisma to take us from where we were and take us the worlds biggest stage for any team sport, this is the world we are talking about get, get real Dave lets talk about all those dead politians, crocked cops, and so call leaders religious or other wise who are stealing the futher our youths by blinding them with false hope. Beenie deverses a bonus, which should be paid straight out of Jack Warner pocket

1st this is an old topic, and relevance and timing is always an issue in article, so before you read a piece of any article, 1st read when it was written..you also did not read the whole post - all the comments - so you also don't know what was said before..lastly, when you go play pot & kettle, and ask ppl to get real, make sure you would make statements that can be taken as such....this is not a new topic, it was referenced by me, as someone did not see it previously, that discussion is, was done....your comments therefore are outdated, as we are over 3mths later....let this topic move on...there is another more current, where yuh could get to waste down somebody else. ;)
Post by: Pointman on April 17, 2006, 02:38:47 PM
Anyone that knows soccer knows that Leo has not done anything spectacular in terms of team and player development. Yes we qualified under him, but all that makes him is smarter than his predecessors. As the article said there is nothing in place for the future. A lot of members here who know so much about football talking about how good he is ( which maybe be true according to what you're looking for), but all he has done is teach the team he is working with to be successful. Thats it. Is that worth $800,000? There is nothing to show that he is preparing Trinidad and Tobago for any consistent appearance on the world's stage.
Now mind you having the team be successful is an amazing accomplishment, but we need to have more for our money. Simoes had a great program in place with his staff towards the development of all football in Trinidad and Tobago. All our National football teams were progressing. But, in Trinidad the only kind of progress we see is winning. What happens after the summer in Germany?

that!! my good man, is PRICELESS!!!
Post by: marcel on April 20, 2006, 03:14:09 AM

maybe t&t can NOT qualifie for FREE for the worldcup over four years!
would that be great! for free!

good luck!