Sports => Football => Topic started by: scarface on January 22, 2006, 12:30:25 PM

Title: ROONEY!!!
Post by: scarface on January 22, 2006, 12:30:25 PM
Anybody saw the game just now between Man U & Liverpool? Did u notice the speed displayed by the young man!! it is unbelievable...& to imagine he is coming up against the notoriously slow Dog & Tallest. i think we have some serious preparations to do to control this threat.
Title: Re: ROONEY!!!
Post by: palos on January 22, 2006, 12:33:22 PM
Anybody saw the game just now between Man U & Liverpool? Did u notice the speed displayed by the young man!! it is unbelievable...& to imagine he is coming up against the notoriously slow Dog & Tallest. i think we have some serious preparations to do to control this threat.

Allyuh way too excitable.

Dog come up against Adriano, Larsson, etc and do fine.

Plus yuh think man runnin 100mph whole match in June in Germany?  Think before allyuh react nah.
Post by: scarface on January 22, 2006, 12:36:11 PM
aight point noted ..but it was dog who was suposed to be marking adriano when he score against them in ibrox in d CL.

& larson?? :-\ :-\ he eh all dat fast
Post by: FF on January 22, 2006, 12:38:08 PM
aight point noted ..but it was dog who was suposed to be marking adriano when he score against them in ibrox in d CL.

What fast had was to do with that? Adriano beat him in de air off ah corner
Post by: JDB on January 22, 2006, 12:41:38 PM

Whether Rooney is fast or slow he will give us problems.

Speed is really not a particular concern and comparing the speed of a defender to the speed of the attacker you are playing against isn't always useful.

If that was the case then Silvestre would a bee the best defender in the world.

Whether our defenders are fast or slow, or the ooponent is fast or slow, the bottom line is...at that level they have to defend well and that is nothing new.
Post by: palos on January 22, 2006, 01:07:59 PM

Whether Rooney is fast or slow he will give us problems.

Speed is really not a particular concern and comparing the speed of a defender to the speed of the attacker you are playing against isn't always useful.

If that was the case then Silvestre would a bee the best defender in the world.

Whether our defenders are fast or slow, or the ooponent is fast or slow, the bottom line is...at that level they have to defend well and that is nothing new.

Congrats on yuh victory today bro.  To be honest....a boring game but you got the result which is what matters.
Post by: truthseeker on January 22, 2006, 06:11:24 PM
Pa;os yuh right boy, it wasn't as exciting as de Assnal v Everton match... ;D
Post by: palos on January 22, 2006, 06:21:46 PM
Pa;os yuh right boy, it wasn't as exciting as de Assnal v Everton match... ;D

Yuh very right.  Not even half as exciting.  Wrong result tho... :-[
Post by: spideybuff on January 23, 2006, 06:42:24 AM
Allyuh talkint about Rooney..at least we could rough him up and make him get a red card or something..i more scared about Ibrahimovic. He tall as them men and he have skill for so...Andrews and Lawrence cah handle men running at them yet !
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 23, 2006, 08:09:53 AM
Talking About Pace, Vassell & Martins got some serious pace  ;D
Post by: Gladman on January 23, 2006, 08:41:14 AM
Allyuh gettin worried bout Ronney,steupsssssssss yes Ronney has speed but with man for man markin d defense go close him down makin most of his runs wasteful, d man we should watch closely is ZLatan d man is skilful with the ball more than Ronney.
Post by: Cantona007 on January 23, 2006, 03:55:11 PM
Allyuh gettin worried bout Ronney,steupsssssssss yes Ronney has speed but with man for man markin d defense go close him down makin most of his runs wasteful, d man we should watch closely is ZLatan d man is skilful with the ball more than Ronney.
maybe not...
Post by: dwn on January 23, 2006, 06:11:55 PM

I dont know if I agree with that one. If you come up against a speedy forward (Henry, Etoo, Ronaldo etc...) its always useful to consider their speed and how you going to play to counteract it. Play with a high defense and might get kill.
Post by: truthseeker on January 23, 2006, 07:24:33 PM
Look I is h Trini as much as any man here but ah eh stupid. I think that many of us getting a lil carried away by the euphoria of the moment. I would want nothing better than a Trini victory but c'mon man, men here saying that Dog and Andrews go hold down Rooney. I would like nothing better and maybe it could happen on the day of question, but our defenders have a great deal of problems handling de lil shit men in Concacaf, and we saying these same men go handle Rooney...

Despite the improvements by Beenie, who here remember David Suazo, Donovan, etc.. and none ah dem ent even have half the skill that Shrek have in one flickin boots. Like we forget de numerous debates we've had on dis site talking about Dog and Tallman's lack of mobility and their difficulties dealing with strikers with a lower center of gravity...

But ah guess we go wait and see...
Post by: SUPA on January 24, 2006, 01:09:47 AM
Look I is h Trini as much as any man here but ah eh stupid. I think that many of us getting a lil carried away by the euphoria of the moment. I would want nothing better than a Trini victory but c'mon man, men here saying that Dog and Andrews go hold down Rooney. I would like nothing better and maybe it could happen on the day of question, but our defenders have a great deal of problems handling de lil shit men in Concacaf, and we saying these same men go handle Rooney...

Despite the improvements by Beenie, who here remember David Suazo, Donovan, etc.. and none ah dem ent even have half the skill that Shrek have in one flickin boots. Like we forget de numerous debates we've had on dis site talking about Dog and Tallman's lack of mobility and their difficulties dealing with strikers with a lower center of gravity...

I agree with yuh dey, ah must also add dat man talking bout Dog and Tallest in defence, we must also keep in mind, dat Beenie said there would be changes in de team, these players will be in Germany, but we are not sure if dey will be in de starting 11.
Post by: palos on January 24, 2006, 02:09:11 AM

So Mistah truthseeker.  How much we, well maybe not WE...jes the real supporters & players of little Trinidad and Tobago, colleckin from England then?  Seein dat u eh stupid and not bein carried away by the euphoria of the moment like the ress a we. 

8? 10? 12? 20?

When Burton and Albion play yuh big side and hold dem 0-0....which "big time" defenders dem had on dey squad sah?  Didn't "Shrek" play in dat game?  Eh?  Of course....Burton and Albion is a better team dan T&T and have way better defenders too ent?  Las I check....de World Cup eh playin in Ole Trafford in January so dat "big squads" could get save from more embarrasment.
Post by: sammy on January 24, 2006, 07:46:19 AM

i agree with yuh dey boss.... apart from speed....Rooney done play and score in big tournaments already...so he eh go be as nervous as we defenders.....evenself i hope they hit him real hard jam.... and use some brains when defending  8)
Post by: truthseeker on January 24, 2006, 11:50:07 AM
palos: I think that suggesting that I might not be a "true" patriot because I know how hard it will be for TnT on the day, is a bit over the top. I don't think that many men here appreciate the magnitude of the situation we are truly dealing with. In a World Cup, the question of nerves, lack of confidence, stage fright and a general sense of being overwhelmed is common amongst first timers.

Of course there are those Davids who go on to defeat Goliath but there is a reason why there are rarely ever any new winners of the Cup, and the same teams end up winning it over and over again.

If TnT felt overwhelmed in POS during the first Bahrain leg and played less than their full potential in the second, what do you think will happen when the Cup starts? Most of the men on the Swedish and English squads have been trained for this kind of exposure since they were youths playing in big time FIFA tournaments. Most played in Champions League and the vast majority have plenty experience. besides Yorke and Latas for we, who else have the same pedigree?

Again, I will ask, who here remember David Suazo, Donovan and johnson, whose runs created real problems for us? Shrek alone will not be the problem on the day. There's Becks, Lampard, Gerard... etc

All of us here would love nothing better than a win for TnT, but I don't think that many men here understand how DIFFICULT that would be. But again, ah guess time will prove some one of us on here correct...

Post by: FF on January 24, 2006, 12:01:55 PM

If TnT felt overwhelmed in POS during the first Bahrain leg and played less than their full potential in the second, what do you think will happen when the Cup starts? Most of the men on the Swedish and English squads have been trained for this kind of exposure since they were youths playing in big time FIFA tournaments. Most played in Champions League and the vast majority have plenty experience. besides Yorke and Latas for we, who else have the same pedigree?

Truthseeker.... I think people underestimate the shadow of November 19th on that home game..... We were also favoured against Bahrain and heavily so by de local support... them fellas was afraid to fail and it showed.... same as 1989.... luckily this time... we had ah lil more experience to pull us through....

I hope in the World Cup them fellas go there and understand their role as underdogs and just relax and have fun with it.... that is de only way we could truly play to we potential and let de football flow...

an upset is waiting to happen  :beermug: