Sports => Football => Topic started by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 22, 2006, 06:43:20 PM

Title: Sean de Silva Thread
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 22, 2006, 06:43:20 PM
Exclusive interview with U-15 national player, Sean de Silva
By Small Magician

Player Profile

Name: Sean de Silva
D.O.B: January 17th, 1990
Nationality: Trinidadian
School: St Mary’s College (CIC)
Club: La Foucade Soccer Clinic
Position: Central Midfielder
Favoured Foot: Right

SM: How did you feel when you were selected to the T&T U-15 team?
SDS: I felt very honoured to be selected. The fact of being a T&T player produced the feeling of excitement. The training was very intense, but in the end everything paid off as I made the cut for the tournament.

SM: Why did T&T fail to go all the way in the recently concluded U-15 tournament?
SDS: We had all the right things, a good coach, the best players, the home advantage, but my reason that T&T didn’t go all the way was due to the great tactics executed by the Guatemalans. They overcrowded us in the midfield causing our attack to become a non- factor throughout the game.

SM: Is the U-15 team still in training?
SDS: The Under 15 team is currently starting back training with the new program starting this Sunday. We train in zones, North/East trains at U.W.I whilst South and further East train at the Ato Boldon stadium on Sundays.

SM: Do you plan to become a professional footballer? If yes, how do you hope to achieve this goal?
SDS: Yes, I do plan to become a professional footballer. Well to achieve this goal I will continue to try my best with the National team and hopefully get scouted and go on to do bigger things.

SM: Are you affiliated with any local clubs? If not, do you plan to join any youth teams?
SDS: I am affiliated with the La Foucade Soccer Clinic. We play in tournaments and that is the only club I am affiliated with at the moment. We are supposed to join Pro league this year so hopefully we could have a productive season.

SM: You have mentioned in the past that you look up to Chris Birchall, why is that?
SDS: He is a very good player, always has his head on in the game and always gives that extra effort in his attacking and defensive game. We all know he could strike the ball well and I think he is a player that any C.M should look up to.

SM: Describe your feelings when the final whistle blew on November 16, 2005.
SDS: All sorts of emotions experienced when that final whistle blew. I could not believe that we did it and we finally achieved that we are going to the World Cup. I am very proud of my country that we accomplished qualification to the big stage.

SM: St. Mary's 2005 SSFL campaign did not go well. Do you personally hope to rectify this situation?
SDS: This season C.I.C had a disappointing campaign, but with effort and improvement, we as a team will have a good SSFL season.

SM: How has Dion La Foucade helped you in your quest to improve your game?
SDS: Dion La Foucade has taught me everything I know in the game of football. He has helped me with numerous one on one trainings and his soccer clinic taught me everything I know in football and he has played an important role in my life of football, both mentally and physically. I have to give Coach Dion a lot of credit for me being the footballer I am today.

SM: Will you be going to Germany to support the Soca Warriors? If not, where do you plan to watch the games?
SDS: It wouldn’t be possible for me to go to Germany this year due to my CXC exams. I will definitely be supporting the Soca Warriors in this great historic moment for our country in Trotters and by my friends.

SM: Any favourite player or team?
SDS: My favourite player is Zidane. He is a brilliant player with great attributes. The thing I like best about Zidane is that he has that magic to get out of those impossible situations. My favourite team is the team Zidane is affiliated with, Real Madrid.

SM: Sean, everyone has realized that you are one of the gifted players on the team; do you have any pressure whatsoever to fulfill everyone’s expectations?  And if yes how do you deal with the pressure?
SDS: Yes, there is a lot of pressure trying to fulfill everyone’s expectations. To deal with the pressure I keep on training as hard as I can and to give that extra effort all the time and to try to improve my game at every opportunity I get.

SM: Lastly what advice do you have to other young footballers trying to make it?
SDS: Firstly, you have to have a lot of discipline. Keep on giving your best effort at all times and train very hard to help yourself and another important factor is to enjoy yourself and love the game of football.

Note: Thank you Sean for doing this interview with the socawarriors.net forum. We all wish you all the best in the future of T&T football...  :beermug:

(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/seanforinterview.jpg)

Title: Re: Exclusive interview with U-15 national player, Sean de Silva
Post by: Grande on January 22, 2006, 07:19:12 PM
All the best, youth man

Dem shirt too big for yuh  ;D
Post by: morvant on January 22, 2006, 07:40:45 PM
dat yute man wearing me mum jersey he better rep it right

good one small mag
Post by: College on January 22, 2006, 09:00:17 PM
Seems very mature and articulate for a young man. I liked how he ended the interview, that advice should be taken by the youths and some grown men too... .....hardest.. :-X :-X :-X
Post by: croc on January 23, 2006, 02:43:48 AM
Watch  what yuh say about Sean dat is my cousin's son I am his uncle. Doh mess wit croc family.
Post by: ballfever on January 23, 2006, 05:29:15 AM
well done small magician! ah ent know if yuh drinkin yet, buh take dis one.. :beermug:
ah like de idea of youth men like yuhself scoutin out de younger warriors an rappin one on one...when men like sean eventually make it...an he will, once he maintains the current attitude...interviews like dis one will help to chronicle dey career....big up again sm!
Post by: Big Magician on January 23, 2006, 05:38:26 AM
well son ( literally...lol)   good job....did i not ask you to read it before you posted it ??? eh ???...whe meh belt....
Post by: dombasil on January 23, 2006, 06:19:42 AM
Glad de little fella getting a little big up. He is a player with good technique. Quite a sharp mind  and has an eye to see and the ability to execute many passes. Extremely willing to work hard on his overall game and while confident of his abilities, he does not think that he knows it all or that he reach. The only thing that will hold him back is that he real small as alyuh could see in de picture.
Good interview. Give we more from the up and coming players.
Post by: fivers on January 23, 2006, 06:39:37 AM
Glad de little fella getting a little big up. He is a player with good technique. Quite a sharp mind  and has an eye to see and the ability to execute many passes. Extremely willing to work hard on his overall game and while confident of his abilities, he does not think that he knows it all or that he reach. The only thing that will hold him back is that he real small as alyuh could see in de picture.
Good interview. Give we more from the up and coming players.

I think in football, size does not matter, there are a lot of players out there that made it given there size. Just to name one, Michael Owen and Bagio. The list goes on
Post by: Sando on January 23, 2006, 08:50:52 AM
Good luck to the youth (Sean) in the future, both him and Javed is 2 bright midfielders coming up.
Post by: dumpalewie on January 23, 2006, 09:05:33 AM
Thanks for the interview SM.

I think that things like this will help us to develop that culture of football that we need to claim our place at the top of CONCACAF.

Look the Warriors Coming. As Bunji would say.
Post by: DeSoWa on January 23, 2006, 11:46:51 AM
Nice interview SM. I used to wonder about you when you let RF get under your skin, but I guess RF brings out the worst in everyone. You have your head on and thanks for showcasing the other youths on here for the world to see. Sean keep at it and all the best, as you know you have a big jersey to fill  ;D and hard work and determination would make it happen.

Big Up De Youths!
Post by: Trinimassive on January 23, 2006, 12:32:53 PM
Wow....good interview Smallie. Very articulate on both ends of the interview.
Sean has a good head on his shoulders and just need to keep at it. Work hard now so you could play later.
Don't allow yuhself to get distracted.
Post by: MickeyRat on January 23, 2006, 02:18:05 PM
Clone this youth.  Well spoken and a true ambassador for the youths
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 23, 2006, 03:03:50 PM
small magician Did he play for CIC's intercol or under 16 team ?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 23, 2006, 03:19:22 PM
both
Post by: TriniCana on January 23, 2006, 03:23:21 PM
both

Small Magician, excellent interview sir....well done.
Some of the other press interviewers can take a straw off your hat. :applause:

Well done young man
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 23, 2006, 03:36:39 PM
thanks       i must say thanks 2 sean also cuz he answered with maturity
Post by: maxg on January 23, 2006, 03:42:03 PM
thanks to both Small Mag and young master de silva for this valuable insight.
Post by: trinidad badboy on January 23, 2006, 04:16:05 PM
the litte boy reall good man

went to see him play a few games, he have nuff touches.

bless
Post by: Lower St. John on January 23, 2006, 04:40:02 PM

.......you have to have a lot of discipline. Keep on giving your best effort at all times and train very hard to help yourself and another important factor is to enjoy yourself and love the game of football.

Good Words to live by, regardless of age.

Big Post Small Magician!!!

Blessings!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 23, 2006, 04:54:59 PM
both

he played for both teams last season  :o
Post by: FF on January 23, 2006, 05:03:00 PM
both

he played for both teams last season  :o

Good for de youthman... but Triniman dat ent so rare.... I and all do that.... now go and join meh bandwagon  ;D  FF for Trials!!!
Post by: kicker on January 23, 2006, 05:22:51 PM
born in 1990 ? laard ah feelin' old.

SM tell the youth to transfer to Fatima so he doh lose his edge.....jokin'

good interview....heard some good things about him before.......

I hope Lincoln Phillips is putting something in place to successfully progress these youths to the senior level...

Post by: john_public on January 23, 2006, 05:49:23 PM
well done small mag. dese youth really have skill. he was really linkin de play together good.  stick to it sean u go be a big one for trini in time to come  ;D
Post by: arrow on January 23, 2006, 10:46:58 PM
SM tell him to join the forum and post once in a while so we can follow his progress though the ranks.
Just warn him to be careful around Infinite.  By 2010 he might be done with Hardest and looking for his next man crush
Post by: warmonga on January 24, 2006, 08:08:02 AM
SM.. good Job Yute..I wish Trini had more yute like yu ..Right now nuff young Trini's going wayward.. sumtime mi does wonda if BM is really yu fadda ;D ;D ;D

"BM no horrors bredda  yu know I does have to get mi Jabb in whenever possible!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Warmonga..
Post by: teddy bear on January 24, 2006, 11:04:09 AM
nice interview hope the youth progress and meet all his aspirations. One question, he mentioned," We train in zones, North/East trains at U.W.I whilst South and further East train at the Ato Boldon stadium on Sundays" , just curious as to what happens with the Tobago players?
Post by: Big Magician on January 24, 2006, 11:56:02 AM
no probem warmongrel....i will jab back....but i will hit the jamacian haf of your face....respect...to half of you of course
Post by: Jefferz on January 24, 2006, 07:04:39 PM
i stil remember de days i could beats he like ah goat.

he should progress. He still have de drive fuh it.

good sean ah have more dan one bet on yuh.
Post by: Observer on January 25, 2006, 10:02:10 AM
This player has good potential. At the moment he lacks the physical requirements, but that will come with time and concentrated work. His game is based on intelligence and that is good. Technically he is on the right track and I only hope he goes on to be a T&T stallwarth
Post by: truetrini on January 25, 2006, 01:12:26 PM
Nice interview.  Arrow why de hell yuh so damn wutless?
Post by: morgz on January 25, 2006, 02:56:06 PM
Great job SM  :beermug:
and also Sean keep it up size doh matter ask robinho
most times it allows players to be more technical in their approach
you're one to watch for hope more local players adopt this mentality and drive
ah think BAGO players usually come to trini on weekends and fall into a zone cud be wrong doh qoute me
Post by: dombasil on January 25, 2006, 03:46:57 PM
In an earlier post I said that size will be against him. I should have said ..could..
But size does play a factor according to the type of player you are. Yes, he will haVEto become more technical but to compare him to Owen, Baggio and Robinho is not to know the player in question.
Owen is blessed with real speed, so it allows him to just blow past people. Robinho is alos prety quick and is a great dribbler and therefore more elusive.. And Baggio is just Baggio. While Sean is not slow he is not blessed with great speed, nor is he a great dribbler. He will have to become phycically stronger and with hard work I have know doubt that he will become stronger and at the same time he will increase his technical prowess.
I am convinced that the boy has a great future in front of him.
Post by: Guapo on January 26, 2006, 10:49:06 AM
Anyone have any real information about La Foucade Soccer Clinic...............Is Dion La Foucade any good as a coach? Ah interested in taking ah youth team back to Trinidad to play some games................It would be interesting to see meh US youths (with work ethic and tactical discipline) would match-up with the flair and skill of the youths home. Any info would be appreciated.

Post by: dombasil on January 26, 2006, 11:08:48 AM
He is a good youth coach. His players will always be technically proficient.
His players come from a more middle and upper class grouping.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 26, 2006, 07:39:56 PM
Yeh coach Dion is a very good coach
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 27, 2006, 06:23:37 PM
yeh you should bring your team     just PM me if you want info(contact number so on)
Post by: R45 on February 26, 2006, 01:12:57 AM
Just found this thread, nice interview. I have known Sean for a few years through squash which he used to play fairly regularly before getting serious into football. One thing this interview doesn't convey is he's a real fighter. His personality makes him push himself to the extremes to achieve his goals. If he continues to be serious about football (and he has the talent), T&T has a lot of things to look forward to from this youth, because I know he won't give up until he makes it big. He's very humble about himself as well, many positives going for him.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 26, 2006, 04:05:09 PM
Just found this thread, nice interview. I have known Sean for a few years through squash which he used to play fairly regularly before getting serious into football. One thing this interview doesn't convey is he's a real fighter. His personality makes him push himself to the extremes to achieve his goals. If he continues to be serious about football (and he has the talent), T&T has a lot of things to look forward to from this youth, because I know he won't give up until he makes it big. He's very humble about himself as well, many positives going for him.

squash  :rotfl: :devil:
Post by: vb on February 26, 2006, 07:05:22 PM
Foucade, I believe was in charge of the U 16 team a few yrs back.

He dropped Warner's son. Then lo and behold a week or so later Foucade got dropped as Coach. And the new Coach brought back some "dropped" players including the young Warner.

Corneal start to make excuse for Jack, saying that tournament coming up, and maybe Fouc. cah handle the job...well Foucade geh vex and show up with all he credentials at the newspapers.

He tell dem..."ah drop a man son. I get fired, and the man son get repick. It eh hard to figure out."

Now, I'm pretty sure this was Foucade, if ah just type all dis andit wasn't Fouc. ah go feel like a real ass. :)

Peace,
Post by: Brej on February 26, 2006, 10:21:23 PM
yeah da was him lol
warner is sum rel dramas oui
Post by: Jah Gol on February 27, 2006, 08:12:32 AM
People like to fight down La Foucade but the man producing players like this yute so he has to know what he's doing. I'm happy that now he is more closely affiliated with youth national teams. Da Silva looks to be a natural midfielder with great talent. He backing the wrong side though.
Title: Sean De Silva ponders SSFL action.
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2006, 05:52:46 AM
U-17 midfielder ponders College action.
By: Shaun Fuentes

While there continues to be ongoing debate over the status of National Under 17 players in the Secondary Schools Football League, midfielder Sean De Silva has confessed that he and his teammates would have preferred to remain together as a national team but they shall now make the best of the situation and enjoy the 2006 season with their various schools.
One thing on their minds though is the possibility of injury as neither of them wishes to miss the chance of playing in next April’s CONCACAF Final qualifying round towards the Korea 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Championship. And while there may be the easy feeling that the tournament is seven months away, even the some weeks on the sidelines could be detrimental to the player’s readiness.
Following the end of the recent CFU Under 16 Youth Cup in which T&T finished second in the Caribbean, SSFL officials stated through the media that they would not allow national players to sit out the season on the request of National Under 16 team coach Anton Corneal in order to undergo full uninterrupted preparations. But with the League into its second season, the players are all representing their teams and De Silva says while they are happy to be “playing ball” they also realized that a chance to get a national team as best ready is not so possible anymore.
“Obviously by not playing in the Colleges League meant that the team would have been training more and we would have had more time to work towards a goal whether it be getting bigger, stronger as individuals  and technically as a team as was the initial goal of the coach,” De Silva told TTFF Media on the weekend.
“I think all of the players would not have mind having to sit out the League  because they knew it would be better for them and better for the country. No one really had  a problem not playing Colleges league this year even though everyone is happy that they can go and play in the league now  and the college coaches are obviously happy,” he added.
And as continues to be a plague among local youngsters, the chance of becoming a big attraction and becoming complacent during the competition remains a possibility, even though De Silva believes Corneal would be able to get the players back on the ground at the end of the season. And what about missing out on overseas College moves as was a fear expressed locally? Well De Silva is well aware that playing  for a national team presents a better opportunity for scouting and scholarship gains.
“It was a worry how it would end up for us if any of the boys would peak in time for the tournament next year seeing that we are not together for the full amount of time.  The national coaches wanted to go  on special programmes because the level at CONCACAF is  much higher than in the Colleges League. Coach Anton wanted us better prepared and involved in strength programmes and playing foreign matches and hopefully we can still get this done over a good time later in the year.
“Mentally I think most of our players have our heads on, I don’t think doing well in the League will get to our heads. Personally I know coach Anton will have them back down to earth. They will know it’s not about them being a player but rather the team.
“The coach assessed all of us after the tournament and we know what we have to work on. My biggest factor is size obviously and we all know our weak areas. But with time I think I will definitely benefit from working with the coach and his assistants before the tournament,” the promising St Mary’s College midfielder ended.
The TTFF and SSFL is expected to meet on the matter next week as decisions on the best format for the preparation of the Under 17 players are set to be discussed. The TTFF maintains that it does not intend to create any further conflict on the matter.

(http://socawarriorstt.com/cms/images/stories//desilva2.jpg)
Title: Re: Sean De Silva ponders SSFL action.
Post by: doc on September 14, 2006, 07:04:22 AM

“The coach assessed all of us after the tournament and we know what we have to work on. My biggest factor is size obviously and we all know our weak areas. But with time I think I will definitely benefit from working with the coach and his assistants before the tournament,” the promising St Mary’s College midfielder ended.
The TTFF and SSFL is expected to meet on the matter next week as decisions on the best format for the preparation of the Under 17 players are set to be discussed. The TTFF maintains that it does not intend to create any further conflict on the matter.

How do you work on your size ???
Post by: Dutty on September 14, 2006, 07:09:25 AM
Lift some iron and get strong

Latapy is a short midfielder but I doubt most fellahs could push him off ah ball easy so...........provided they could actually catch him that is  ;)
Post by: doc on September 14, 2006, 07:29:47 AM

Latapy is a short midfielder but I doubt most fellahs could push him off ah ball easy so...........provided they could actually catch him that is  ;)
Strength, not size ;D. Actually his size could be a big asset :-\
Post by: kingman on September 14, 2006, 07:44:40 AM
The youte spoke well. It would have been good if they had been able to gel together in a training camp rather than the SSFL.

As for getting stronger (via, lifting weights), don't necessarily mean that you would be able to body players off the ball easier or burst pass a defender (even though you did not necessarily say that).
Simple push-ups, pull-up, plyometrics and some lounges on a regular basic on your own, can give you most of the power and strength that you need for the game. However, there are many other aspects of your game that can be enhanced by lifting. As a former player and now involved in coaching, I am not a fan of having players lift at a tender age (who are still developing physically).

Getting back on track though, I hope the team can get together as soon as possible. Or maybe, as soon as a team get knocks out maybe 1 by 1 they can start making their way into camp.

Post by: Touches on September 14, 2006, 07:54:17 AM
Now I know the youth is a good player.

But the Under 17 games and St marys games I see him play in....he ent look special. In fact he looking poor. Against Trinity, the man was a cone on the field.

Also I seeing this with the Fatima players......they not looking any different or special amongst their peers.

Also they playing girly and have a kinda attitude. Is only Knox showing some fight and spirit.

It seems the youths taste Intl ball and SSFL not good enough for dem....but the reality is they not handling it in SSFL and looking ordinary.

Its a kinda rough scene, to play SSFL, train for TT and have school work to contend with and studies. Plus them lil fellas have girls too and probably burstin so that addin to the dilema.

Post by: Filho on September 14, 2006, 08:53:31 AM
Now I know the youth is a good player.

But the Under 17 games and St marys games I see him play in....he ent look special. In fact he looking poor. Against Trinity, the man was a cone on the field.

Also I seeing this with the Fatima players......they not looking any different or special amongst their peers.

Also they playing girly and have a kinda attitude. Is only Knox showing some fight and spirit.

It seems the youths taste Intl ball and SSFL not good enough for dem....but the reality is they not handling it in SSFL and looking ordinary.

Its a kinda rough scene, to play SSFL, train for TT and have school work to contend with and studies. Plus them lil fellas have girls too and probably burstin so that addin to the dilema.

Touches..they probably not looking special because they don't want to get hurt
Post by: Filho on September 14, 2006, 08:59:57 AM

He needs increased strength and that often comes with increased muscle mass, from strength training. Hard to see how a thin youth will get stronger without adding some size to his frame. Being short can be a benefit, but he will need to bulk up to continue playing at a high level through the age groups and on to senior level...
Post by: Dutty on September 14, 2006, 09:11:26 AM

Touches..they probably not looking special because they don't want to get hurt

Well boss, dat bring ah whole different mindset into the equation

Cause if man like yorke, latas, edwards etc did have the same mentality....then SSFL woulda suffer

Dem fellahs use to play 100% for they school, so if the new generation already have the starboy mentality  "me eh hadda play hard for school, cause ah make de national squad"...this elite camp thing already causin problems

Keep in mind I'm not pickin on this Da Silva fellah...cause that was simply touches opinion of how he played and fihlos opinion of what he think the reason is

Mybe de fellah jus had ah game or two where he was off his regular form
Post by: Lightning on September 14, 2006, 09:16:09 AM

He needs increased strength and that often comes with increased muscle mass, from strength training. Hard to see how a thin youth will get stronger without adding some size to his frame. Being short can be a benefit, but he will need to bulk up to continue playing at a high level through the age groups and on to senior level...

Supervised functional fitness training for football should be the goal of a conditioning program.  He's not trying out for the NFL!  Yes strength is a factor but so are agility, quickness and power endurance. Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....
Post by: Trinimassive on September 14, 2006, 09:27:16 AM

Supervised functional fitness training for football should be the goal of a conditioning program.  He's not trying out for the NFL!  Yes strength is a factor but so are agility, quickness and power endurance. Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....

I agree. Cosign.

A lot of people in T&T ent have ah clue as to proper nutrition and fitness.  Ah remember when N. Blackman got hurt in the accident and he end up losing weight. He went from like ah solid 180 to 160. He say he going to eat good and get back his weight...well that was all well and good. But the problem was he ended up gaining more and weighed about 210lbs (unfortunately not muscle). 

If he had proper nutritional advice he would have probably made better selections but at the same time...he survived a terrible accident and is fortunate to be among the living.

Hope this youth (Sean) doh think he could eat macaronni pie, doubles and roti then pump iron and swell up.
Post by: futbolfan on September 14, 2006, 09:38:17 AM
well all the pundits, experts and coaches gave their opinions, but now this  is an intersting twist wherebye a player is voicing his/team opinion(s).
"to play or not to play, that is the question...... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Peong on September 14, 2006, 09:58:51 AM
On the size issue, mass on the lower body is better than upper body for football.   Lower centre of gravity and strength to push off with your legs when men leanin against yuh is a great thing for your game.
Post by: doc on September 14, 2006, 10:39:06 AM
Strength training improves endurance, quickness, coordination etc and helps prevent injuries. That more than size is what he needs. ::)
Post by: Coop's on September 14, 2006, 11:12:18 AM
Boy times have really changed in the great old T&T,i agree and certainly like some of the views expressed here,when you look at the average size of T&T Footballers we are generally small guys,look at the best players we have/had and see for yourself.

The problem we have today is that our players don't have the discipline to train on their own anymore,it's like in the US it must have a Coach for players to practice(for insurance reasons),i can remember the Sand track,Hollows,Train line,Flag staff hill (Cocorite),Look out,over the hill to Maracas from Santa Cruz,our Beaches,i can go on and on with the many places we used the enhance and gain our strength and fitness.

Why the Defence Force did well in the past besides our ability to play the game it was our fitness,i don't know if other teams did but we used weights and it was because we had access to it,how many teams/players have access to a gym?As a PTI in the DF we were responsible for the fitness of almost every national Football team in the country,i worked with that U16 team with Latapy,Marcelle,Rocke etc etc i used weights but just the Bar,i know George Medina used weights with the Strike Squad but had a few sessions on the Beach(Maracas),the year San Juan did well i did most of their training over the Hills to Maracas.      

Sometimes i want to know what a national team really suppose to do for players,i'm trying to put together a list here,make sure they eat well,put on size and get fit,a Camp where they can train all day at the same time be educated,transportation/out of pocket money,make sure they sleep when the night comes etc etc these are just a few that came to mind.A question if you all don't mind me asking is what are Parents suppose to do?

Any player in that kids position would say the same thing,he has to support what his Coaches are saying because you know what,in T&T your opinion does not count and you can be gepodized for what ever you say,he has to be carefull.

Post by: palos on September 14, 2006, 11:18:26 AM
In reply to Coop's
Would you say that IN GENERAL, the average professional footballer today is a fitter individual than the average professional footballer in your day?

When I say professional footballer, I don't NECESSARILY mean someone who gets paid to play football, but rather one who plays the game at a national or first division level.

For example.....would you say that Warren Archibald was fitter than Carlos Edwards?

Would you say that Pele was fitter than Ronaldinho?

Would you say that the game as it is played today, especially at the highest levels (to which we allegedly aspire), is played at a much faster pace and requires much more stamina than that of yesteryear?

Thanks and Respect as always.
Post by: Coop's on September 14, 2006, 11:53:40 AM
In reply to Coop's
Would you say that IN GENERAL, the average professional footballer today is a fitter individual than the average professional footballer in your day?

When I say professional footballer, I don't NECESSARILY mean someone who gets paid to play football, but rather one who plays the game at a national or first division level.

For example.....would you say that Warren Archibald was fitter than Carlos Edwards?

Would you say that Pele was fitter than Ronaldinho?

Would you say that the game as it is played today, especially at the highest levels (to which we allegedly aspire), is played at a much faster pace and requires much more stamina than that of yesteryear?

Thanks and Respect as always.
        First i want to say i'm totally with you on this,i was just trying to show ppl today how we got bye in the past and still did well.
         On question (1) Yes
                           (2) May be
                           (3) No
                           (4) Definitely
Post by: RasIred on September 14, 2006, 12:17:15 PM
Let me start this off by saying I don`t agree with excluding U-17 National players from the SSFL.

To me the SSFL, is the one league that you can assess whether the "National" players are worthy of selection. Also with exclusion it gives these YOUNG players the wrong idea.......making them feel they are above their peers,again giving them an EVEN BIGGER head..........They think I is a Nati, I could gallery !!

Also if you exclude the U17 players from SSFL, where are they gonna get match fitness ?? How many games would be organized for these lads ?? Corneal talking out he arseeeeeeeeeeee, when he made that statement. Having our youngsters in a live in camp would be more constructive than excluding them from SSFL.............

Can someone please tell me where would the U17 yutes be playing if they were exculded from playing SSFL ???

Post by: Filho on September 14, 2006, 12:42:34 PM
Regarding Da Silva putting on some size...people need to relax and stop posting responses like someone suggest the man bulk up like Schwarzenegger. Any footballers' weight training program has to have specific purposes in mind that are related to the players football development...It is not about just getting big and strong. Look, whether you like it or not most players outside of Europe do not get the proper nutritional and strength training as youngsters. From the time they join a pro team, especially if they go to Europe..they are made to bulk up to deal with the physical demands of the game. What did Real madrid's coach say about Robinho before he even kicked a ball? You are fooling yourslef if you think Dwight Yorke, Ronaldinho and co did not go on specialized weight training programs...It is a necessity for many top class athletes with slighter frames...Notice they are still lean and thletic, but they are bigger and stronger than they would have been without a properly regimented strength training programs
Post by: Filho on September 14, 2006, 12:51:54 PM

U completely misinterpret what I was saying, but say what..look at my response in the post above
Post by: KND2 on September 14, 2006, 01:02:18 PM
This is not a big issue in Trinidad things getting real re-dick-qulous.

First thing there is no school versus country battle because the country in charge.

All corneal have to do is call a training session on Wednesday and Saturaday and all the players will miss the school games and go and train with the national team.

Back in the early 90'st the U17 team leave in the middle of the season to go Guyana for qualifying games no body aint complain they playes leave and school footbal continue.

A bench man just get a sweat

That is the way it go.

If corneal and them organize they can keep the national players focused and they will not play school football because they have national football to play.

It is a players choice if to play for school or not
If he does not show up someone else will get a sweat that is all.

Corneal and them just taking in front with they excuse!

The team get licks because we did not have time to train.

The men and them did not weight train.

Blah blah blah

The school does not own the players this is not professional football
Why does the national coach ask permisssion for players to come and train.

Call a training who come come who dont come get drop.

in fact it have plenty man who not going to school or playing school football who can play national football.

Point Being

Set the program and move on.

Why even discuss this with players and coahes and leagues and all that shit.

Too much talk not enough action!

When was the last training session?
That is the question.
Post by: Bitter on September 14, 2006, 01:15:00 PM
Hopefully he's on  a program that  is specifically designed to meet his needs as a footballer and not some random Joe Weider bodybuilder nonsense.....

How about Charles Atlas?
I mean you do't want man to kick sand in he face, right? How he will get the gyul?

(http://www.sandowplus.co.uk/Competition/Atlas/Adverts/atlas-ad-1940s.jpg)
Post by: Mr Mc on September 14, 2006, 01:18:03 PM
This is not a big issue in Trinidad things getting real re-dick-qulous.

First thing there is no school versus country battle because the country in charge.

All corneal have to do is call a training session on Wednesday and Saturaday and all the players will miss the school games and go and train with the national team.

Back in the early 90'st the U17 team leave in the middle of the season to go Guyana for qualifying games no body aint complain they playes leave and school footbal continue.

A bench man just get a sweat

That is the way it go.

If corneal and them organize they can keep the national players focused and they will not play school football because they have national football to play.

It is a players choice if to play for school or not
If he does not show up someone else will get a sweat that is all.

Corneal and them just taking in front with they excuse!

The team get licks because we did not have time to train.

The men and them did not weight train.

Blah blah blah

The school does not own the players this is not professional football
Why does the national coach ask permisssion for players to come and train.

Call a training who come come who dont come get drop.

in fact it have plenty man who not going to school or playing school football who can play national football.

Point Being

Set the program and move on.

Why even discuss this with players and coahes and leagues and all that shit.

Too much talk not enough action!

When was the last training session?
That is the question.

Today Thursday Sept 14 at 3:16PM I Mr Mc finally agreed with a KND2 post.
Post by: Lightning on September 14, 2006, 01:51:09 PM

U completely misinterpret what I was saying, but say what..look at my response in the post above

You gave your opinion then I gave mine.  I think we need to be responsible and explicit with younger players when dealing with strength and fitness issues. Lionel Messi, Ryan Giggs or Carlos Edwards are fit to play football but not overly "built". 

As you point out, the fitness programme for a youngster like De Silva should be about performance - not appearance.
Post by: Youth Baller on September 14, 2006, 02:08:11 PM
Yes well the majority these U-16  evryone should know for sure , would not stand out in the SSFL because there are many known players better or much better than them playin in the league many of them , also the football they where coached to play with the U-16 is not the same as the school team. Intercol is a Under 20 league now so the Under 16 players just fit in unless they going  a shit school then they might shine.

LOOK AT THE U-20 PLAYERS THAT ARE NOW TRAINING FOR T&T AND YOU WILL SEE A DIFFERENT CLASS SHOWN BY THEM IN THE SSFL LEAGUE.
Title: Gazing at T&T’s Russia 2018 future: De Silva set for meteoric rise
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2015, 03:11:54 PM
Gazing at T&T’s Russia 2018 future: De Silva set for meteoric rise
By Sean Taylor (taylorsportsoutlook.wordpress.com)

Almost three years ago, when I wrote for Usportt, I claimed that despite the fact that Trinidad and Tobago was in dire straits where football was concerned, it was a good opportunity to look forward and focus on 2018.

At that time the country was still reeling from the incredulous fact that the Soca Warriors were unable to emerge from the first stage of qualifying the previous year. However, with that humiliation came ample time for the then TTFF to get their act together at long last and put down the groundwork for the following World Cup six years later.

Of the upcoming stars that would be of age, I saw the core of the U-17 and U-20 teams that competed at 2007 and 2009 World Cups respectively, being most eligible for great things. Central FC midfielder Sean De Silva, was a mainstay in both teams and seems to finally be set to establish himself in the national senior team.

As a youngster in the Twin-Island Republic, De Silva was first introduced to the game at the now famous La Foucade Club where according to him, he learnt the fundamentals including his technical and mental attributes. From then on, it was a rapid progression, typical of the aspiring player here; he played secondary school football with St. Mary’s College, and then went to Charleston College in the US in 2008.

Despite having to study, he maintained his consistent level in the sport, he said in an interview with the Trinidad Newsday: “Three seasons out of the four seasons (sic) I was there, I was MVP of the team and I also made first team in that division, and in that entire region, which was a pretty good accomplishment…”. He was subsequently invited to MLS team San Jose Earthquakes, to a training camp in which he did very well in a three-month pre-season stint. It was only after signing for NASL team, Minnesota United, he decided that it was the right time to return home.

He had a chat with Brent Sancho, former World Cup Soca Warriors defender, and the founder of local club Central FC, and decided that that was the ideal next step in his career – featuring with the “Sharks”. De Silva’s time so far with the current league leaders has been fruitful, and he has become the vice captain of the team as well.

He further went on in his chat with the Newsday that: “I think that at this point in time in my career, it was the right time to make that choice and play in Trinidad. Central FC did that to me and I was happy to be a part of winning trophies and making history for the club, qualifying for the Caribbean Championships and hopefully qualifying for the CONCACAF Champions League. Really and truly Central FC has been top-notch in my opinion.”

With the senior team however, his career hasn’t seemed to have ignited – yet. He has two appearances with the Soca Warriors and fondly remembers coming on for Russell Latapy in 2009; the “Little Magician” was his idol growing up.

However, he is currently poised to make a return under Stephen Hart’s current tenure, but it won’t be easy – Hart’s successful year –and-a-half stint has brought Trinidad and Tobago to 55th in the FIFA rankings, and competition in the midfield is stiff. Looking at the positives, however, Hart has shown a willingness to not only blood younger players in his midfield, but from the TT Pro League as well.

Leston Paul, Aubrey David, Jean Luc Rochford, Daneil Cyrus, Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino and the late Akeem Adams among others, have all featured in the World Cups in Korea 2007 and Egypt 2009. To date, they are all moving forward with their careers and have a good chance to be some of the faces we see on the roster when qualifiers begin for Russia 2018.

With Central FC six points clear in the current standings in the TT Pro League, him being the nucleus of their midfield, as well as the 2015 Gold Cup on the horizon, De Silva may well get his chance. He’ll need it, as we have to mount a serious campaign towards Russia; which mind you, is only three and a half years away now.

Post by: Sam on May 30, 2015, 02:32:58 AM
Ah hear Sean De Silva could play for Guyana, Barbados or Antigua also.

But he wants to play for Guyana.

Post by: spideybuff on May 30, 2015, 03:34:52 AM
Is how much parents he alone have?
Post by: Tallman on May 30, 2015, 07:37:31 AM
Is how much parents he alone have?

He also qualifies through his grandparents.
Post by: Football supporter on May 30, 2015, 09:54:51 AM
Ah hear Sean De Silva could play for Guyana, Barbados or Antigua also.

But he wants to play for Guyana.

T&T will always be his first choice, but if he doesn't make the Gold Cup squad, he would need to consider his options going forward.
Post by: congo on May 30, 2015, 09:42:43 PM
Didn't he get cap already though?
Post by: Tallman on May 31, 2015, 07:12:52 AM
Didn't he get cap already though?

Yes, but they were in Friendly matches, NOT competitive ones.
Title: Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
Post by: Flex on June 01, 2015, 01:02:29 PM
Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

Two-time Trinidad and Tobago World Youth Cup player Sean De Silva could potentially become the target of an international tug of war as his failure to break into the “Soca Warriors” looks likely to invite bids from neighbouring Caribbean nations.

De Silva will be in action from 8 pm tonight for Central FC as they tackle Caledonia AIA at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain in the Digicel Pro Bowl final, which brings the curtain down on the 2014/15 Pro League season.

Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team Stephen Hart is expected to announce his training squad for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament immediately after the match.

And it might be a memorable decision for De Silva’s international future as Guyana is monitoring his availability for its 2018 World Cup campaign while the versatile playmaker can also represent Antigua and Barbuda and Barbados.

Guyana coach Jamaal Shabazz, who is Trinidadian and one of the founding members of Pro League team Caledonia AIA, learnt that De Silva can represent the “Golden Jaguars”—by virtue of his grandparents’ Guyanese citizenship—and admitted his interest.

“We are very interested in Sean,” Shabazz told Wired868. “He qualifies to play for Guyana and we will love to have him if Trinidad doesn’t.

“It is not treason. This is the backlash of dual citizenship.”

De Silva represented Trinidad and Tobago at the Korea Republic 2007 and Egypt 2009 World Youth Cups for the Under-17 and Under-20 categories respectively. However, while former international teammates like Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino and Daneil Cyrus cruised into the National Senior Team, De Silva has struggled for opportunities.

The former St Mary’s College student made his senior international debut at 19 in a 1-0 friendly win over Panama on 18 March 2009 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

But he had to wait another three years for his second and final cap, which came in a 3-2 friendly defeat to Finland on 22 January 2012 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

De Silva has never been summoned by Hart. At present, the Warriors are short of midfield schemers with Molino and Hughtun Hector both injured.

If Hart still ignores the “Couva Shark”, it may be an indication that De Silva is not in his immediate plans for Trinidad and Tobago’s 2018 World Cup campaign.

The talented midfielder, who is also a dead-ball specialist, can still switch countries because he has not represented Trinidad and Tobago in a competitive senior international match.

De Silva was unavailable for comment. However, his father Chris De Silva, a former national youth team manager, confirmed that his son is aware of his options but remains focused on wearing red, black and white kit.

“Sean’s heart is set on playing for Trinidad and Tobago but he wants to play international football,” said De Silva (C). “If Hart doesn’t see Sean in his mix, then he will look at his options…

“He loves his country and he wants to play for Trinidad and Tobago but it is up to Trinidad. I do know that, whoever he plays for, he plays his heart out and always gives 110 percent.

“I’m sure he will do a great job for whoever he plays for.”

Antigua and Barbuda are considered a rising force in the Caribbean after the “Benna Boys” stormed into the 2014 Caribbean Cup finals while Guyana caused a stir, during its 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign, by advancing to the CONCACAF semifinal round.

Shabazz was in charge of Guyana then and, ironically, eliminated Trinidad and Tobago along the way. England-born midfielder Ricky Shakes, who also represented the Warriors in a friendly game but never saw competitive action for the two island republic, scored the winner for the Jaguars when the two nations met.

Interestingly, Aubrey David, who was born in Georgetown, was on the bench for the Jaguars then, despite the fact that he played alongside De Silva at the World Youth Cups. David never featured in a competitive match for the Jaguars and opted to return to the Warriors.

He has since won 18 full international caps for Trinidad and Tobago and played in two Caribbean Cup finals and one Gold Cup.

The Guyana coach thinks De Silva can be another big Shakes, though, and complement the Jaguars team that recently capped Bolton Wanderers veteran midfielder Neil Danns.

“I think he is very committed to the pass and is a simple and effective player,” said Shabazz, who once tried, unsuccessfully, to sign De Silva for Caledonia. “He organises the game and is in-between a defensive midfielder and a playmaker… He is a confident player but, most importantly, I like how he takes the task given to him and makes something out of it.”

Shabazz said he was impressed with De Silva and Central coach Terry Fenwick when the Sharks eliminated Alpha United in Guyana en route to claiming the 2015 Caribbean Cup title.

He said Fenwick’s changes of tactics and personnel for the qualifying games in Guyana, dumbfounded his opponents and De Silva was a part of that in an unusual role for him as an inverted winger.

“A lot of people don’t like to give Fenwick credit but Fenwick used or six or seven different players in both (qualifying games in Guyana),” said Shabazz. “What I saw from Fenwick was an experienced coach… I wanted Alpha to win but I was proud of him.

“The way he used (defender Jamal) Jack behind the strikers to press. It was interesting.”

Shabazz will be rooting against Central again tonight as the “Eastern Stallions” take on the Sharks.

Veteran midfielder Keyon Edwards and Conrad Smith will be vital if Caledonia are to get anything from the game while Guyanese poacher Pernell Schultz has 18 goals in all competitions—the third highest tally in the League—and will be one to keep an eye on.

Caledonia wingers Nathan Lewis and Guyana international Trayon Bobb can be awkward customers while captain Kareem “Tiny” Joseph and utility player Nicholas Marcano provide steel to the squad.

It is difficult to guess Terry Fenwick’s XI these days but striker Willis Plaza, who returns from suspension, should replace defender Jamal Jack despite the latter’s match winning performance against DIRECTV W Connection in Sunday’s Caribbean Cup final win.

Veteran midfielder Marvin Oliver and gifted playmaker Ataullah Guerra are both ex-Caledonia players and should be anxious for the chance to play against former teammates. While goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, winger Jason Marcano and defenders Elton John and Akeem Benjamin have been in fine form.

Midfielders Leston Paul, Jean-Luc Rochford and De Silva, who played together at the Egypt 2009 World Youth Cup, would all be pressing for a starting place alongside them.

And De Silva might be playing for more than just the Pro Bowl.

Title: Re: Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
Post by: Deeks on June 02, 2015, 05:22:06 AM
We must give some congrats to DeSilva for his call up. He is, what I may call a late bloomer. I have not seen play an entire game, he has improved to the point where the coach think he is ready for senior international. One thing I have noticed, is that he appears to be stronger, physically bigger. So he may be doing things  on that aspect of his game, outside of regular practice time. I do hope he makes it. We need excellent local mid fielders for our upcoming football tournaments.

The next player I am A bit concerned about is Attullah. He appeared to have had a 50/50 season. He should be the dominant midfield in TT by now. He should be playing the role of Otis Whitley or Bert Grell. He is about how old? 26 or 27 ?  The next two years may be the defining point of his career. He is not getting any contract overseas. So he has to push himself to be be at a top level in TT football. Or he may be push out. Maybe Fenwick might be the best coach for him. I really don't know.
Title: Re: Guyana eyes De Silva; Central star in spotlight for Caledonia Bowl final.
Post by: Tallman on February 18, 2016, 04:53:10 PM
Sean De Silva has expressed interest in representing Antigua and Barbuda (http://antiguaobserver.com/football-association-identifies-more-players-ahead-of-caribbean-cup/)
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 18, 2016, 05:42:41 PM
Play international football de silva don't wait on tnt ..... Antigua Have  85,000 people and identifying potential footballers left fight and centre what the ass our federation doing
Post by: soccerman on February 18, 2016, 10:14:02 PM
Can't blame him.
Post by: palos on February 19, 2016, 01:08:41 AM
How is it NOT a major conflict of interest to have Shabazz recruiting T&T players for a foreign national team while playing a prominent role in T&T football?

Pure f**kery
Post by: Quags on February 19, 2016, 01:57:28 AM
Benedict Arnold over there .
De Silva is good , but he's not good enough to crack the golden generations 22 , he should get better instead of quitting .He could be a role model instead of a....whatever you would  call a person about to do what  he's thinking about doing.
Post by: Sam on February 19, 2016, 05:59:36 AM
How is it NOT a major conflict of interest to have Shabazz recruiting T&T players for a foreign national team while playing a prominent role in T&T football?

Pure f**kery

And David Clown-John Williams have this traitor and terrorist as he right hand man.

Sean, best of luck, but instead of trying to improve yourself to make T&T side, you accepted second best.

Post by: Deeks on February 19, 2016, 08:27:33 AM
Benedict Arnold over there .
De Silva is good , but he's not good enough to crack the golden generations 22 , he should get better instead of quitting .He could be a role model instead of a....whatever you would  call a person about to do what  he's thinking about doing.

To me Sean problem is/was the lack of tenacity. Not saying he is not a good player. TT biggest weakness for a long time has been mid field. And if after two years SH has not featured him in the few friendliest we have had, how is he going to make the senior team. He has to grow some tenacity to show Hart he deserve to be on the team. and what makes it worse, Nick Deleon might get a full rep before. We in a catch 22 here.
Post by: FireBrand on February 19, 2016, 11:08:33 AM

Pure f**kery

The more things change the more they stay the same. I remember a similar set up while Warner and Camps were running things. Only in T&T. 
Post by: FireBrand on February 19, 2016, 11:23:29 AM
Sean is in the same situation as Nick DeLeon. Because you are not part of Hart's plans or don't fit in the Warrior's system of play doesn't mean you are not a good player. Explore your options and make the best decision for you and your career. You are a talented baller and I think you will do well playing for A&B or Guyana. All I ask is yuh doh poison we if you are on the opposing team in a World Cup Qualifier.  ;D
Post by: palos on February 19, 2016, 12:24:20 PM
I have zero issue with Sean DeSilva playing for someone else.  He has options and can pursue that opportunity.  No different than Birchall, DeLeon, etc

I have a major issue with Shabazz who plays a prominent role in this administration, recruiting T&T players for another national team
Post by: Quags on February 19, 2016, 01:25:54 PM
Who you think he's gonna poison .
Post by: FireBrand on February 19, 2016, 01:46:06 PM

Ask Ricky Shakes
Post by: Deeks on February 19, 2016, 05:31:25 PM

Ask Ricky Shakes

Ask dotish Jack!
Post by: Spursy on February 20, 2016, 12:07:41 AM
 I thought for sure coach had looked at him before or he was capped at some point.. this is still shocking! He is still young though, international football wouldn't be a priority for me if I was in his position, it would be more focused on the club. If Sean is a pure trini then I don't see him playing for anyone else even if it never becomes a reality.
Who knows what can happen, maybe a new coach for tnt someday that will look at De Silva as an option, or Hart finds a way to fit him in somehow.. anything can happen. wish him the best.
Post by: ANC2 on February 20, 2016, 11:36:13 AM
 :bs: De Silva is not a fool. Why go and play two games for Guyana and not play for a whole year after that.
WCQ for Guyana is for 2022, so best he wait for T&T call and fight for it.
Guyana was out of Caribbean Cup in two two's and out of WCQ same way, same way. ::)
Right now it hard to crack T&T Central Midfield, but injuries and form could lead to a crack at it.
Post by: socalion on February 20, 2016, 12:17:26 PM
To Sean de Silva  Don't make any hasty decisions ,Keep your Goals in sight , impressive performnces do not go unnoticed ,  your turn will come .... you know what you need to do  to impress the national  team coach and staff ..... Don't pull a Ricky shakes  or let anyone influence any hasty decision to jump ship .. Keep the faith  and show the selectors what yuh made off ....  wishing you the very best
Post by: ffisback on February 20, 2016, 11:53:23 PM
S De Silva is better than the attacking midfielders S Heart is playing on the team only K Molino and N Deleon is better but he should not give up hope yet I don't expect S Heart to last  I do expect us to get out of this weak group but in the final 6 he will struggle to win a game playing that crappy football and that would be the end of his stint.
Post by: Errol on February 21, 2016, 05:17:12 AM
S De Silva is better than the attacking midfielders S Heart is playing on the team only K Molino and N Deleon is better but he should not give up hope yet I don't expect S Heart to last  I do expect us to get out of this weak group but in the final 6 he will struggle to win a game playing that crappy football and that would be the end of his stint.

Sean, don't jump ship yet, I say wait one more year.

Two reasons Hart could fail in the Hex (if we make it) because these small teams seems like they more serious than us when it comes to organization and recruiting players.

1. David John Williams not giving him the support.

2. His reliant on certain players who continue to fail at big events.

Post by: soccerman on February 21, 2016, 09:45:45 PM
How old is Sean?
Post by: FireBrand on February 21, 2016, 10:05:36 PM
How old is Sean?

Post by: maxg on February 21, 2016, 10:37:53 PM
true, I haven't seen the man play recently, but barring injuries I would say you wrong..
Post by: pull stones on February 22, 2016, 04:27:33 AM
right now sean playing better than corn curls guerra, and ceaser, so i think he should work harder on his game on his on time and off time and see what happens.

shabbaz must push sean in that direction, after all isn't shabbaz guyana's head coach?
Post by: Sam on February 22, 2016, 06:32:46 AM
right now sean playing better than corn curls guerra, and ceaser, so i think he should work harder on his game on his on time and off time and see what happens.

shabbaz must push sean in that direction, after all isn't shabbaz guyana's head coach?

Yuh right.

I picking Sean De Silva over Peltier, Guerra and Caesar any day.

Caesar does play with no sense.

Guerra does play one good game in every 5.

Peliter is just a shit snake.

Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2016, 08:25:24 AM
How old is Sean?

Well he's at the age where he needs to make a decision if he wants to play international football, it's not just fair for him to wait. If he's not part of Hart's plans he should in fact explore his options.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 22, 2016, 08:30:51 AM
How many teams in our region (CFU) actually play out and out "international football"? De Silva's "dilemma" will resolve itself because he is in fact (or in effect) asking answers.
Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2016, 08:51:32 AM
How many teams in our region (CFU) actually play out and out "international football"? De Silva's "dilemma" will resolve itself because he is in fact (or in effect) asking answers.
Maybe 3-4 countries from the CFU...but as you say maybe it will workout itself and he'll get called up. Hey you never know, given the fact he has options and he could be using that as a ploy lol
Post by: amielisadore on February 22, 2016, 02:35:18 PM
Sean hasn't made any decision as yet. He is getting older and keeping his options open though. A pre requisite for Hart is athleticism. Sean's game has never been build around that which is why he probably hasn't been called up as yet. He is fit and does training work outside of practice but pace and athleticism have never been his strong suit. He is all about technique, passing and making clever runs.

He won the player of the month for October though and has 14 assists and 7 goals in 22 appearances in all comps. this season. Roughly contributing to a third of Central's goals this season. Last season he had 11 assists and 6 goals in 30 appearances.
Post by: palos on February 22, 2016, 02:44:55 PM
A pre requisite for Hart is athleticism. Sean's game has never been build around that which is why he probably hasn't been called up as yet. He is fit and does training work outside of practice but pace and athleticism have never been his strong suit. He is all about technique, passing and making clever runs.

On point.  And in today's top tier and international football.....SADLY IMO.....the "de silva" type player is becoming less and less relevant.

It's why Latas played as a sub in World Cup 2006.  10 years later.....a Latas like player with all silky skills and zero defensive ability....might not even make the squad.

It is a reality of the football today.   Ask why did Kenwyne Jones make it to the Premier League?  It surely wasn't because of his skill level.  It was because of his pace, athleticism, and strength.
Post by: Flex on February 22, 2016, 03:11:58 PM
Wendy's honours Pro League top performers.
ttproleague.com.

Sean De Silva, Keron Cummings, Jomal Williams and Jerwyn Balthazar pick up Wendy's Player of the Month awards for October, November, December and January, respectively.

"It's great to win the award for the first time," said veteran Defence Force playmaker and team captain, Balthazar. "It shows that hard work pays off. It's also great to see the Pro League and Wendy's come together to reward players for their efforts."

The 33-year-old army corporal was among the all-midfield cast, including Central's De Silva, North East Stars' Cummings and W Connection's Jomal, honoured at Wendy's Ariapita Avenue restaurant in Woodbrook, Port of Spain on Monday morning.

"At this stage in my career it's nice to pick up a personal accolade, but my present focus has simply been on winning," added the ex-St. Augustine Senior Comprehensive player who represented East West Coaching School and Joe Public before joining Defence Force in 2004.

Balthazar has been instrumental this season for Defence Force, the team currently second on the Digicel Pro League standings behind defending champions Central FC, and the playmaker's effort didn't go unnoticed in November, helping in his side’s seven-game undefeated streak during the month while scoring 8 goals in the process.

"Players, especially the younger ones, must put aside all the distractions like money and so on and focus on the real opportunities that are presented with the existence of the Pro League,” Balthazar advised.

“Clubs abroad are always interested in players from Trinidad (and Tobago) and if players can focus more on improving their game, and the opportunity they have with the Pro League to prepare themselves for the bigger markets abroad, then the money and other things will come. The goal is attainable."

Balthazar, a two-time league winner with Defence Force, and current Trinidad and Tobago Futsal Team captain, said his immediate plans include helping the Army win this season’s DPL crown and to qualify the T&T Futsal Team into the final round of CONCACAF qualifiers to the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Columbia. T&T will take on Honduras in May in a two-game play-off in Costa Rica for the final berth in the Concacaf final round of qualifiers after both nations finished third in the Caribbean and Central America qualifying zones, respectively.

Wendy’s Player of the Month (Pro League season 2015-16)

October

Sean De Silva (Central FC)

November

Keron Cummings (North East Stars)

December

Jomal Williams (W Connection)

January

Jerwyn Balthazar (Defence Force)

Post by: Tallman on February 22, 2016, 03:26:07 PM
Sean's game has never been build around that which is why he probably hasn't been called up as yet.

Actually, De Silva has been called up by Hart before, for the games against Curacao and Jordan. He even get ah small sweat against Jordan.
Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2016, 03:37:38 PM
Sean's game has never been build around that which is why he probably hasn't been called up as yet.

Actually, De Silva has been called up by Hart before, for the games against Curacao and Jordan. He even get ah small sweat against Jordan.
So if he's already capped for the senior team, can he even explore his other options?
Post by: Flex on February 22, 2016, 03:39:07 PM

So if he's already capped for the senior team, can he even explore his other options?

Yes, he never played for T&T in a WCQ or FIFA tournament at senior level.

Post by: amielisadore on February 23, 2016, 07:20:34 AM

That's true. Completely forgot about those games.  :thumbsup:
Post by: Quags on February 23, 2016, 10:44:53 AM
He was the Captain of the youth team wasn't he ? I don't like the idea of  losing him you know , I think he is gonna be a great leader one day .
I also think he has to play international football or retire from the game , mere speculation that but he maybe has great job oppotunities , but he loves the game to much.
Maybe Hart should give him another look .
Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2016, 10:54:17 AM
He was the Captain of the youth team wasn't he ? I don't like the idea of  losing him you know , I think he is gonna be a great leader one day .
I also think he has to play international football or retire from the game , mere speculation that but he maybe has great job oppotunities , but he loves the game to much.

???
Post by: FireBrand on February 23, 2016, 11:08:28 AM

No, his Central FC teammate Leston Paul was the youth team captain.
Post by: Quags on February 23, 2016, 11:24:53 AM
Thanks Firebrand .

???
So what is he gonna do play in the pro League for how many years , or get a good paying job .Get the feeling this guy doing it for country rather than it being all he can do .
Post by: diamondtrim on February 23, 2016, 11:34:14 AM
De Silva isn't in the Pro League to earn a living. He really is all about the game. He is pretty much set if he chooses to walk away from football. I hope he digs in and gets a look in the NT
Post by: Tallman on February 23, 2016, 11:42:01 AM

I don't know what the problem is, but although De Silva has represented the country at the U-15, U-17, U-20, U-23, and senior level, he has never really distinguished himself in any way. You know he has some of the attributes to be a top baller, but something's missing. Maybe he's too inconsistent. I doh know.
Post by: Quags on February 23, 2016, 12:08:09 PM

I don't know what the problem is, but although De Silva has represented the country at the U-15, U-17, U-20, U-23, and senior level, he has never really distinguished himself in any way. You know he has some of the attributes to be a top baller, but something's missing. Maybe he's too inconsistent. I doh know.
Goals he needs to score more goals and any coach will like him more .Maybe he needs a weapon like Birchy long range shot .
Post by: ffisback on February 23, 2016, 09:03:53 PM
A pre requisite for Hart is athleticism. Sean's game has never been build around that which is why he probably hasn't been called up as yet. He is fit and does training work outside of practice but pace and athleticism have never been his strong suit. He is all about technique, passing and making clever runs.

On point.  And in today's top tier and international football.....SADLY IMO.....the "de silva" type player is becoming less and less relevant.

It's why Latas played as a sub in World Cup 2006.  10 years later.....a Latas like player with all silky skills and zero defensive ability....might not even make the squad.

It is a reality of the football today.   Ask why did Kenwyne Jones make it to the Premier League?  It surely wasn't because of his skill level.  It was because of his pace, athleticism, and strength.
If athleticism was so important teams like Jamaica&Hati would be in every WC that could only get you but so far it will be better if S Heart get a job coaching a track&field team and leave Trinidad football alone.
Post by: ffisback on February 23, 2016, 09:27:30 PM

I have never seen S De Silva get a full game just 5min here 5min there that's not good enough to evaluate a player he needs to get a fair chance like everybody else.
Post by: pull stones on February 24, 2016, 02:23:39 AM

I have never seen S De Silva get a full game just 5min here 5min there that's not good enough to evaluate a player he needs to get a fair chance like everybody else.
i agree, he needs another shot.
Post by: vb on February 26, 2016, 03:02:12 PM
I´ve always believed that the TTFA/Coach should organize some exhibitions at home which would help to scope those on the periphery.

Imagine one side with KJ, Jones, Hyland and the usual suspects.

Another, the best U-23s mixed wit names like Dasilva, Wooling, the yonger Jones, Jagdeosingh, Mohammed, Winchester, etc.

I think you felllas get the idea. In the old days they did something similar for the national cricket team called the Probables vs the Possibles.

Post by: Trini _2026 on February 26, 2016, 03:18:22 PM
http://www.sportsmax.tv/?q=articles/2016/02/18/ab-football-benna-boys-eyeing-reinforcements

The Benna Boys could be bringing in reinforcements as the team looks to become even more competitive in regional and international tournaments. This, as according to the Antigua and Barbuda Football Association (ABFA), at least three overseas players have expressed interest in representing the country.

The revelation comes as the country prepares for action in Group 1 of the Caribbean Football Union Caribbean Cup set to start next month. Antigua has been grouped with St Kitts and Aruba.

ABFA General Secretary Gordon Derrick has revealed that striker Dominic Samuel of Reading FC in the United Kingdom, Sean de Silva, who plays his football for Central FC in the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, and Switzerland-based defender Jason Browne, are all keen on representing their country.

“Samuel … he is a very good striker and he is scoring a lot of goals. There is also a central midfield player from Trinidad … Sean de Silva, who plays for Central FC. He is a very good player, highly rated in Trinidad, but his grandmother is Antiguan. He and his father came to see me over the Christmas holidays and they think that is where he is in his career and said he would like to play with us,” Derrick said.
Post by: Deeks on February 26, 2016, 03:38:17 PM
I´ve always believed that the TTFA/Coach should organize some exhibitions at home which would help to scope those on the periphery.

Imagine one side with KJ, Jones, Hyland and the usual suspects.

Another, the best U-23s mixed wit names like Dasilva, Wooling, the yonger Jones, Jagdeosingh, Mohammed, Winchester, etc.

I think you felllas get the idea. In the old days they did something similar for the national cricket team called the Probables vs the Possibles.

Actually in the late 60s they used to do that with the Colleges/Schoolboys and U20/U23s.
Title: Re: Sean de Silva Thread
Post by: Flex on April 01, 2016, 05:11:01 AM
De Silva happy with display against St Vincent.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

SEAN DE SILVA was happy to have featured in Trinidad and Tobago’s 6-0 crushing of St Vincent/Grenadines, in Tuesday’s FIFA World Cup Qualifiers CONCACAF Zone Fourth Round Group C contest at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

The midfielder played a part in the “Soca Warriors”’ fifth goal against the “Vincey Heat”, as he played a pin-point pass to his fellow substitute Trevin Caesar, in the 85th minute, who scored past goalkeeper Lemus Christopher.

This match was also significant for the 26-year-old, as it was his first official FIFA World Cup qualifying game for the twin-island republic.

De Silva was also eligible to play for either Guyana and Antigua/ Barbuda, even though he played three international friendly matches for TT (at home to Panama in 2009 and Finland in 2012, and away to Jordan in 2015).

In a post-game interview, De Silva admitted, “it was fantastic, definitely a great honour. I had a great time getting out there.

“I was really excited,” he added.

“I definitely wanted to get in on the action. I was happy I was able to provide an assist.” It was also significant that De Silva was the only on e of the 14 players used by coach Stephen Hart during Tuesday’s match who still plays in the TT Pro League.

“It was definitely due to a lot of hard work,” he pointed out.

“I have my teammates and everyone back at Central FC also to thank, as well as coach Hart for giving me the opportunity to showcase myself amongst the team.” He also spoke about his involvement in the Warriors’ fifth goal against their overmatched opponents. “I just saw Caesar making the run and I knew he was quick enough,” said De Silva.

“I just put the ball in his path and he did the rest.” De Silva, who has spent the past fortnight with the national team, including their 2-2 draw away to Grenada in a friendly encounter on March 19, is relishing being a part of the set-up.

“It was a great honour when you get called up to play for the national team,” De Silva said.

“Seeing (as) I did it all through the youth programme, Under- 15 straight up to the national Under-20, even the Olympic team, I was really excited again to get back in the fold, to see what I can contribute to the team and help out in the campaign.” Now he will switch his attention back to the Pro League circuit with Central FC.

“I know we definitely want to win the League,” he said. “We want to win every trophy that we can, for the rest of the season, especially to regain our title as the Caribbean champions.

No team has every done that and I think it will be a great feat.”

Post by: Deeks on April 01, 2016, 02:46:42 PM
I am really glad for this dude. He had underperform when he was on the big stage in the past. But tonight before he perform just right. He was not under pressure and he moved around with ease. His pass to Caesar for the goal was superb. Keep on working hard and he will be called upon to play full games in the future.
Post by: maxg on April 01, 2016, 03:09:29 PM
Didn't see his few minutes, however my concern with him in the past was his lack of defensive speed. No problems with his offensive capabilities.
Post by: Tallman on April 01, 2016, 03:59:24 PM
Didn't see his few minutes, however my concern with him in the past was his lack of defensive speed. No problems with his offensive capabilities.

I think we have the defensive midfielders to cover this shortcoming, however, he did make the effort to close down players during his cameo.
Post by: maxg on April 01, 2016, 05:14:09 PM

I think we have the defensive midfielders to cover this shortcoming, however, he did make the effort to close down players during his cameo.
Good..we would need improvement of this from everyone as we get to the more difficult opponents
Post by: Tallman on April 04, 2016, 03:17:04 PM
WATCH: Midfielder Sean De Silva talks about playing in his first World Cup Qualifier for Trinidad and Tobago

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZlDNezM0ANY
Post by: Tallman on April 09, 2016, 11:24:04 AM
WATCH: Interview with national and Central FC midfielder, Sean de Silva

https://www.youtube.com/v/oP-KLbH8v0A
Post by: Football supporter on April 11, 2016, 10:29:05 AM
Tune in tonight at 8pm to WiSports to hear Sean de Silva and Jan-Michael Williams discuss pro league and international football and details of the Central FC fundraiser boat ride with Andre Errol Baptiste.

http://wisports.tv/index.php/livestreamhh
Post by: asylumseeker on August 16, 2017, 09:23:02 PM
Sean is said to be on trial. Europe, apparently. That being the case, best of luck to him!
Title: De Silva joins IcelandicFirst Division club, Haukar FC
Post by: Tallman on March 01, 2019, 05:48:20 PM
De Silva joins IcelandicFirst Division club, Haukar FC
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Sean De Silva has secured a one-year deal with Iceland First Division club Haukar FC and is expected to jet off to join his new teammates later this month.

“It’s a new venture that I’m really excited about. I really hope that I can do well there and make a name for myself,” the 29-year-old De Silva told TTFA Media today following a training session with the Men’s Senior Team at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“There was actually interest from another team over there and my representative just kind of put my name out there and Haukar FC came up with the best solution for me and the best step for my career. I should be heading out as soon as next week,” he added.

The former Central FC and St Mary’s College student added, “It’s fantastic for me and a great feeling. Sometimes it’s difficult for local players and Caribbean players in general to get out there and get into European countries and clubs to try and further their career. It’s a really exciting and huge opportunity for me to  take my football to another level,” De Silva continued.

He hopes this can make way for more local players to enter the European market.

“Hopefully I can open doors for them as well. If I do well obviously the interest in Trinidadian and Caribbean players will grow and hopefully I can create some avenues for young, upcoming players who really and truly should be playing at a higher level and should be in Europe,” stated De Silva who has played for Minnesota United in the North American Soccer League in 2013.

On the current preparations under Dennis Lawrence as the team prepares for Wales, De Silva commented, “I think the training sessions have gone pretty good. They are trying to get us up to speed in terms of the fitness and the tempo of the game and get us back to the international standard of play. There is a lot of young, really hungry players trying to make their way into the squad. The training sessions are more intense because the younger players bring little extra energy. But it’s been fantastic working with this group of players. We are growing day by day, getting accustomed to what Dennis wants us to be doing,” he said.

De Silva has eight international appearances for T&T’s senior team and was a member of T&T’s Under 17 Team at the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup in South Korea and the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt.
Post by: vb on March 01, 2019, 06:11:50 PM
Glad for him.
Long overdue.

Post by: palos on March 01, 2019, 08:22:18 PM
Glad for him.
Long overdue.

Co sign (TM Weary....RIP)
Post by: Deeks on March 02, 2019, 12:08:56 AM
Glad for him.
Long overdue.

Co sign (TM Weary....RIP)

Good Luck!
Post by: Tallman on March 15, 2019, 09:41:35 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1tIwPZWkAEaqry.jpg)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1tIwd-W0AAfUDE.jpg)
Post by: Tallman on September 06, 2019, 12:09:18 PM
WATCH: Sean de Silva scores the third goal in Haukar FC's 4-0 win over UMF Njarðvík

https://www.youtube.com/v/bRJjIwdjLrU?start=3075
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2020, 04:47:05 PM
WATCH: Can Bou Play Foundation founder Sean De Silva recounts his free-kick 🆚️ Canada Soccer in the FIFA U-20 World Cup Qualifiers in March 2009.

https://www.youtube.com/v/4akZdGkn6-Y
Title: De Silva finds new home at Njarðvík FC
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2020, 12:16:08 PM
De Silva finds new home at Njarðvík FC
canbouplayfoundation.com

Can Bou Play Founder Sean De Silva has found a new home at Njarðvík FC in the Icelandic second division for the 2020 season.

​De Silva makes the move from Haukar FC who he impressed for last season and is really looking forward to this new adventure after the COVID-19 pandemic delays.

​"Feels great to be with this new club," said de Silva."Everyone here, from the staff, backroom and the players have all made me feel really welcomed and there is a good vibe in the team."

​Njarðvík FC kicked off the regular season with a 3-1 victory over Volsungar on Saturday 20 June with de Silva immediately making his mark with two assists. The Trinidad and Tobago midfielder is elated to finally be able to be back on the pitch after being largely isolated in his apartment during the COVID-19 lockdown.

​"It's been a really difficult couple of months being here during the pandemic and being away from my family and friends," confessed de Silva.

​"I don't really want to talk a lot about the negatives but it has been tough mentally."

​"But getting back on the pitch and playing games competitively has lifted my spirits and put me into a much better mind frame."

​Njarðvík FC along with Haukar FC were relegated to the second division at the end of the 2019 season and de Silva is keen to help his new team bounce right back and be promoted. Also featured in the division is Kordrengir, which Can Bou play founders Yohance Marshall and Keston George led to promotion last season but both have since left the club in 2020.