Sports => Football => Topic started by: Jahyouth on January 23, 2006, 01:35:00 PM

Title: Juergen Klinsmann Thread.
Post by: Jahyouth on January 23, 2006, 01:35:00 PM
Klinsmann names 28-man training squad

FRANKFURT, Jan 23 (Reuters) - Germany coach Juergen Klinsmann called up 28 established players on Monday for fitness tests at the end of January and said others had until May to force their way into his World Cup plans.

The same 28-man squad called up for the last round of tests in October will join Klinsmann to have their progress monitored again from January 30-31 in Duesseldorf.

Klinsmann expects to choose his 23-man squad for the World Cup from those players but says he would be happy for someone else to come through and make his life a bit more difficult.

'The door will stay open until mid-May, in case a striker knocks in 10 or 15 goals,' the coach said in an interview with Kicker magazine on Monday.

'Surprises are still possible.'

Hosts Germany get the World Cup underway with a Group A match against Costa Rica in Munich on June 9. The final is on July 9 in Berlin.

Before the finals, Germany have friendly matches against Italy, the United States, Japan and Colombia.

German squad for fitness tests in Duesseldorf, January 30-31:

Goalkeepers: Oliver Kahn (Bayern Munich), Jens Lehmann (Arsenal, England), Timo Hildebrand (VfB Stuttgart)

Defenders: Arne Friedrich (Hertha Berlin), Andreas Hinkel (VfB Stuttgart), Robert Huth (Chelsea, England), Marcell Jansen (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Hanover 96), Christoph Metzelder (Borussia Dortmund), Patrick Owomoyela (Werder Bremen), Lukas Sinkiewicz (Cologne), Christian Woerns (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfielders: Michael Ballack (Bayern Munich), Sebastian Deisler (Bayern Munich), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Tim Borowski (Werder Bremen), Torsten Frings (Werder Bremen), Fabian Ernst (Schalke 04), Thomas Hitzlsperger (VfB Stuttgart), Sebastian Kehl (Borussia Dortmund), Bernd Schneider (Bayer Leverkusen)

Forwards: Gerald Asamoah (Schalke 04), Kevin Kuranyi (Schalke 04), Mike Hanke (VfL Wolfsburg), Miroslav Klose (Werder Bremen), Oliver Neuville (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Lukas Podolski (Cologne)

Title: goltv rumor:Klinsmann to u.s soccer federation for about 1.7 mil. a year
Post by: davyjenny on July 04, 2006, 08:42:07 PM
they are not sure though but it was mention now that germany is out
things look possible for the u.s.

With that kind of money for klinsmann one wonders what beenie man
would ask for,ttff better make up their minds on who they really want
to manage their national side or else go local.

"go local to who"? i guess that's what cummings and the others want.
Title: Re: goltv rumor:Klinsmann to u.s soccer federation for about 1.7 mil. a year
Post by: TrinInfinite on July 04, 2006, 09:03:39 PM
its actually 3 mill a year boss :beermug:
Title: Klinsmann gets offers from USA and Mexico
Post by: ribbit on October 08, 2006, 10:44:41 AM
when's the last time mexico had european coach?

==

Klinsmann gets offers from USA and Mexico (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=384049&cc=5901)

BERLIN, Oct 8 (Reuters) - Former Germany coach Juergen Klinsmann has received 'serious' offers to coach from Mexico and the United States, a Klinsmann adviser said on Sunday.

Roland Eitel told Bild am Sonntag newspaper it was still unclear whether Klinsmann, who led an unfancied Germany team to third place, would return to the sidelines.

'Juergen has enough work to do right now,' Eitel said, noting he had two years worth of work to catch up on at his California firm Soccer Solutions. Eitel said Klinsmann is also analysing training and match data from his two years as coach.

Eitel said Klinsmann had received coaching offers from Mexico and the United States.

'And they're all serious,' he said. But when asked if Klinsmann would take any job, Eitel said: 'We'll have to wait and see.'

Klinsmann said after the World Cup he planned to take six months off before making any further plans.

Ricardo La Volpe left Mexico after his contract ended after they lost 2-1 to Argentina in the second round at the World Cup in Germany. La Volpe moved to Boca Juniors, the most popular club in his native Argentina.

U.S. coach Bruce Arena's contract was not renewed after the Americans were knocked out of the World Cup at the group stage. The president of U.S. Soccer, Sunil Gulati, has identified Klinsmann as a top choice.
Title: Re: Klinsmann gets offers from USA and Mexico
Post by: palos on October 08, 2006, 01:09:57 PM
when's the last time mexico had european coach?

Leo Beenhakker?
Post by: big dawg on October 08, 2006, 01:17:34 PM
More than likely he will stay in "Uncle Sam".

TI correct.. the US need much more help than Mexico and since Klinsmann already enjoying the good life down in Beverly Hills.. he may as well stay there and coach...

p.s that dosent mean the US will become a super power in football soccer  :devil: :devil:
Post by: Savannah boy on October 08, 2006, 03:53:50 PM
Leo Beenhakker? 

I believe it was only at club level.
Post by: Touches on October 08, 2006, 05:37:40 PM
Bora Mulitnovic
Title: Klinsmann eh wha de wok
Post by: Dr. Rat on December 07, 2006, 02:13:28 PM
Klinsmann withdraws candidacy as U.S. coach
Allen Hopkins

After months of speculation culminating in an intense final round of back-and-forth negotiations and erroneous reports, Juergen Klinsmann has withdrawn his name from consideration to become the next U.S. men's national team coach.

Klinsmann, in a statement sent to ESPN, said: "Sunil [Gulati] and I have concluded our discussions about the US men's national team program, and I have withdrawn my name from consideration as coach. I'm not going to go into details about our conversations. But, I certainly want to wish the next coach of the U.S. men's national team much success, and I want to, also, thank Sunil for the opportunity to exchange ideas."

Despite heavy criticism for everything from his choice of goalkeepers to his permanent California residence, Klinsmann, in his first ever head coaching job, led the German national team to a highly unexpected third-place finish in the 2006 World Cup.

Although soccer's most important and influential movers and shakers applied serious pressure on newly elected U.S. soccer president Sunil Gulati and U.S. soccer to hire Klinsmann, talks concluded late Wednesday evening without an agreement.

Klinsmann would've brought instant and unprecedented credibility to U.S. Soccer at a critical time for U.S. soccer. Although 2002 was remarkable, the reality is U.S. soccer has sandwiched one great World Cup in between two very disappointing ones in 1998 and 2006.

As a player, Klinsmann's resume and highlights would've been unlike anything ever associated with U.S. Soccer. The former German captain scored 47 goals in 108 caps for the German national team leading them to the 1990 World Cup and Euro '96 titles.

Klinsmann was twice German Footballer of the Year in 1988 and 1994. In 1995, in his first season in English soccer after his famous move to Tottenham he won the English Footballer of the Year award.

Klinsmann was a top 10 World Footballer of the Year four times and is a member of the FIFA 'Top 100' Player List.

Now it looks as if U.S. soccer will enter 2007 without a coach in place, with two matches against Denmark on Jan. 20 and arch rival Mexico on Feb. 7 already scheduled.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=394971&cc=5901

taken from ESPN.com

Title: Re: Klinsmann eh wha de wok
Post by: weary1969 on December 07, 2006, 02:15:18 PM
Just so
Post by: duscam on December 07, 2006, 02:18:47 PM
good for us dont you think?
Post by: Dutty on December 07, 2006, 02:22:03 PM
A-A?..like jackula threaten de man or wha?
Post by: RGarcia on December 07, 2006, 02:26:53 PM
us have not tallent yuh think de man stupid
Post by: DeSoWa on December 07, 2006, 02:57:00 PM
Ah wonder if his Adidas relationship have anything to do with it...

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on December 07, 2006, 03:04:00 PM
well i eh go lie...i was scared if he took the US job....cuz they wud be moving forward and we jus stuck in place or maybe moving backwards...
Post by: Tongue on December 07, 2006, 03:10:42 PM
Ah wonder if his Adidas relationship have anything to do with it...

hmmmmmmmmm? food for tort.......
Post by: Jahyouth on December 07, 2006, 03:17:20 PM
The US will remember the day that they did this.  Any national team in the world, save one or two, would hire Klinnsman right away after his showing in Germany, along with his novel training techniques.

And they let this slip through their hands just so?

wow
Post by: Lightning on December 07, 2006, 03:29:20 PM
While Klinsman found the right formula for a one month stretch in Germany , he struggled early on. He was only able to survive the early struggles because of his reputation as a player and because qualification was not an issue. Any job he'd take, outside of the South Africa job, would expose him to the rigours of qualification and a lot less margin for error.

Given his preference for a more leisurely stroll into retirement, I could understand his turning down the US job.

Post by: Mango Chow! on December 07, 2006, 05:56:11 PM
While Klinsman found the right formula for a one month stretch in Germany , he struggled early on. He was only able to survive the early struggles because of his reputation as a player and because qualification was not an issue. Any job he'd take, outside of the South Africa job, would expose him to the rigours of qualification and a lot less margin for error.

Given his preference for a more leisurely stroll into retirement, I could understand his turning down the US job.

Very thoughtful and quite plausible1
Title: Klinsmann out, Bradley in
Post by: 1989 on December 07, 2006, 06:33:34 PM
source: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/soccer/12/07/klinsmann.us/index.html

Klinsmann out, Bradley in

Jürgen Klinsmann won't be the next coach of the U.S. national team after all. The Associated Press is reporting the German legend withdrew his name from consideration after several months of talks failed to lead to an agreement.

Instead, a source close the negotiations tells SI.com, the U.S. Soccer Federation will name Chivas USA coach Bob Bradley as the national team coach on an interim basis, which could eventually lead to his taking the job over permanently.

Klinsmann and USSF president Sunil Gulati apparently are far apart on issues of executive control over the U.S. program, which is more of an issue than money. It was earlier reported that Klinsmann was looking for a deal of as much as $2 million a year.

Klinsmann had been the favorite to succeed Bruce Arena, who was let go in July after 71/2 years. Arena coached the American team to the World Cup quarterfinals in 2002, the best showing by the United States since 1930, but the team was eliminated in the first round this year.

A close friend of Arena, Klinsmann led Germany to the World Cup semifinals this year in his first professional coaching assignment. He lives in Newport Beach, Calif. -- a close commute to the practice facility in Carson where the Americans often train.

Bradley is the all-time winningest coach in Major League Soccer history. He is respected as a shrewd talent evaluator and was considered Gulati's top pick from the MLS ranks. In his first season as Chivas USA coach, Bradley guided the Goats to a third-place finish in the Western Conference a year after they finished in the cellar. He was named the MLS's Coach of the Year for the second time. Bradley also guided the Chicago Fire to the MLS Cup title in 1998.

The United States is scheduled to play its first game since the World Cup on Jan. 20, an exhibition against Denmark in Carson, Calif. A Feb. 7 exhibition against Mexico in the Phoenix area also has been discussed.

Two tournaments highlight next year's U.S. schedule. The Americans will defend their title at the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean, to be played in six U.S. cities from June 6-24. The U.S. team also was invited to the Copa America, the championship of South America, to be played in Venezuela from June 26-July 15.
Title: Re: Klinsmann out, Bradley in
Post by: Tongue on December 07, 2006, 07:31:22 PM
man i pass een an pelt ah small macco on Big Soccer and dem fellhas some kinda vex with the overall selection and the time it taking tuh put sumbody in place.
Post by: jai john on December 07, 2006, 09:20:36 PM
when I read this headline I thoiught the USA were using some ...DESPERate measures   :devil: :devil: Bradley ?
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 07, 2006, 10:32:38 PM
I was telling ah coach today that they need to go after Quieroz, and ah hear on FSC that he is shortlisted, along with Houllier and Peckerman.  Something must really have been of concern for Klinsmann to turn down the job.  US Soccer need to relinquish control if they want to attract a top coach.  Yuh feel Quieroz of Houllier go want that time of interference?  They will blank dem too.
Post by: Milan!!! on December 08, 2006, 09:06:08 AM
i ent blame kilismann at alll....who would want to coach a shitty side like the US anyways....but works out well for us...

Post by: Cantona007 on December 08, 2006, 10:35:01 AM
I was telling ah coach today that they need to go after Quieroz, and ah hear on FSC that he is shortlisted, along with Houllier and Peckerman.  Something must really have been of concern for Klinsmann to turn down the job.  US Soccer need to relinquish control if they want to attract a top coach.  Yuh feel Quieroz of Houllier go want that time of interference?  They will blank dem too.
Tenorsaw, you really rate Quierozzzz? I am not talking about what people see as his "failure" at Real Madrid, because that was a circus, but a lot of the negative play at United in the last few years have been because of his tinkering. I don't know... I'm not convinced.
Post by: spiritedfan on December 08, 2006, 10:14:13 PM
good for trinidad
Post by: Daft Trini on December 09, 2006, 09:08:40 AM
No de man want some naturally talented players, not some team or players who know to only do drills. Pass-Time-Pass-Pass-Time-goodball-Shoot, dat is all you does hear when yuh sweating with dem Yankees. Is the fellas from all over the world who go hold on to de ball, run with it or dribble. Klinsman doh wuh implement football that Americans cayr play.
Post by: MATADOR on December 10, 2006, 09:16:23 AM
FOlks here are some facts on and about the Klinsmann situation.. and please keep in mind that in the coaching circle Klinsmann is considered a tournament coach.

1- Klinsmann wanted to name the coaches for the National youth teams.

2- Klinsmann is not a licensed USSF coach, therefore the program would be in jepoardy for the US national teams to appoint through Klinsmann's request coaches whom are not licensed under USSF.

3- Klinsmann believes similar to Beckenbauer that they have won a world cup so they don't need any license .. this satement was made by Franz himself.

Post by: Zeppo on December 10, 2006, 05:18:27 PM
i ent blame kilismann at alll....who would want to coach a shitty side like the US anyways....but works out well for us...

Don't get too excited.

We could pick Ronald McDonald to coach our team and still beat you guys, home or away.

Post by: SUPA on December 10, 2006, 05:36:13 PM

Don't get too excited.

We could pick Ronald McDonald to coach our team and still beat you guys, home or away.

Zeppo, ah eh go lie nah, yuh make meh roll  :rotfl: wid dat one. By de way, who de hell is Ronald McDonald? Is dat de man fuh de restaurants, or yuh make up dat name?
Post by: Midknight on December 11, 2006, 05:13:06 AM

Don't get too excited.

Zeppo, ah eh go lie nah, yuh make meh roll  :rotfl: wid dat one. By de way, who de hell is Ronald McDonald? Is dat de man fuh de restaurants, or yuh make up dat name?

whey u been man? Ronald is de clown...
And the sad part about this is the man damn right...Even Steve Sampson beat us 3-0 on aggregate. I just sorry we didn't have beenie when we met them at home though  >:(
Post by: SUPA on December 11, 2006, 01:51:50 PM

Don't get too excited.

whey u been man? Ronald is de clown...
And the sad part about this is the man damn right...Even Steve Sampson beat us 3-0 on aggregate. I just sorry we didn't have beenie when we met them at home though  >:(

Oh sh**, Midknight, my bad ah miss dat one  ;D.
Title: Klinsmann in charge of BM
Post by: Tongue on January 11, 2008, 08:29:55 AM
seems like dey agree for him to take over after the season... read on
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/7182811.stm
Title: Re: Klinsmann in charge of BM
Post by: Big Magician on January 11, 2008, 10:39:00 AM
Title: Liverpool admit to Klinsmann 'insurance policy' talks
Post by: Cantona007 on January 14, 2008, 08:18:25 AM
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,,2240594,00.html?gusrc=rss&feed=5

Rafael Benítez's relationship with Liverpool's owners, already undermined by a string of disappointing performances and squabbles over transfer funds, appears even more uneasy today after Tom Hicks revealed the club had held talks with Jürgen Klinsmann.

"We attempted to negotiate an option, as an insurance policy, to have [Klinsmann] become manager if Rafa left for Real Madrid or other clubs that were rumoured in the UK press," said co-owner, Hicks. "Or in case our communication spiralled out of control for some reason.

"In November, when it appeared we were in danger of not advancing in the Champions League, weren't playing well in our Premier League matches, and Rafa and we were having communication issues over the January transfer window, George and I met with Jürgen to learn as much as we could about English and European football," Hicks told the Liverpool Echo. "He is a very impressive man."

Hicks claimed, however, that Benítez still has the owners' full support. "After George and I had our long and productive meeting with Rafa following the Man United match [on December 16], we put all of our issues behind us and received Rafa's commitment that he wanted to stay with Liverpool. We never reached agreement on an option with Jürgen, and we are both pleased for him that he has a great opportunity to return to Germany and coach a great club team."

Klinsmann had previously been linked with the manager's job at Liverpool before agreeing to take over at Bayern Munich at the end of the season. That, however, will not quell the unrest at Anfield.

Saturday's tame draw at Middlesbrough - their fourth stalemate in a row - means Liverpool now lie 12 points off the top of the Premier League and Sami Hyypia admitted that speculation over the club's future is beginning to affect the players. "In football things can happen very quickly but the players hope that, if there are arguments, they can be sorted out," Hyypia said. "We seem to be becoming like Newcastle. Every time we pick up a paper there seems to be something new."

It is not just Benítez's future at Anfield that is uncertain though. With Hicks and his co-owner George Gillett nearing the deadline to restructure a £350m loan, the investment group Dubai International Capital are reportedly ready to stage a takeover of the club.
Title: Re: Liverpool admit to Klinsmann 'insurance policy' talks
Post by: jai john on January 14, 2008, 11:38:31 AM
klinsman would certainly be an adequate replacement for Rafa. He has played for Spurs and knows the league very well not to mention his coaching transformation of the german national team. The question is can they get him and how will the fans respond to a " german ' coach.
My personal view is that English fans will not easily accept this.
Post by: PantherX on January 14, 2008, 03:10:51 PM
Looks like Liverpool read the same book about managing a football club that Spurs did.

Rafa will gone by the Summer.
Post by: Filho on January 14, 2008, 04:01:49 PM
klinsman would certainly be an adequate replacement for Rafa. He has played for Spurs and knows the league very well not to mention his coaching transformation of the german national team. The question is can they get him and how will the fans respond to a " german ' coach.

Klinsman already signed with Bayern Munich
Post by: jai john on January 15, 2008, 08:44:42 AM

Klinsman already signed with Bayern Munich

That he did ...but I was responding to the quote about ..." that will not quell the unrest at Anfield " and the fact that choosing a coach involves more than just his capability but can also involve a bit of politics.  The Brits still hate the germans ....if only at the fans level. There is of course the war, which the brits will never forget, and the tarnishing of their only achievment in football at International level ...the contraversial '66 final.
Maybe what I should have said was ...but can they ever get him ?   ..mia culpa !
Title: Toni talks up Mancini to replace Klinsmann
Post by: Observer on April 16, 2009, 07:59:40 AM
I do not believe its right that a player should be talking like this while a manager is still in place. Everybody know Klinsman under real pressure. He is finding out the reality of coaching and the differences of handling a National Team for a Tournament versus a Club team for a complete season. But the least he deserves from his players is a little more respect.

April 16, 2009

Bayern Munich striker Luca Toni believes his compatriot Roberto Mancini would be the ideal man to replace Jurgen Klinsmann should the current coach lose his job at the end of the season.

Klinsmann is under constant pressure following his side's exit from the Champions League and not even winning the Bundesliga may be enough to take him into the second year of his contract.

The names of Ottmar Hitzfeld, Lothar Matthaus, Mehmet Scholl, Martin Jol, Mirko Slomka and Frank Rijkaard have all been mentioned as potential replacements, but Toni would like to see an Italian in charge.

He requested another Italian player be signed last summer and had his wish granted when Massimo Oddo joined on loan from AC Milan, but he is set to return to the Serie A side having failed to impress this season, leaving Toni alone once again.

Which is another reason why he would more than welcome the former Inter Milan coach.

"I don't know what is going to happen. We will have to see if Bayern continue with Klinsmann," he said on Italian television.

"I think a lot will depend on how the season ends. Then the club will see, but clearly if an Italian coach were to come, somebody as good as Mancini, then I think it would do everybody good, including Bayern."

Mancini is widely expected to return to football after a year off following his dismissal as coach of Inter at the end of last season, despite winning the Scudetto.

Title: Re: Toni talks up Mancini to replace Klinsmann
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 16, 2009, 08:09:48 AM
what u expect?
Italian striker= big headed, trying to make Bayern a Serie A side? gimme a break. :rotfl:

too bad for Klinsmann, I feel Klinsmann has what it takes to be a good coach...hope it works out for him
we'll see Luca Toni (NOT) have a storied career as Klinsmann tho'..
Title: Re: Toni talks up Mancini to replace Klinsmann
Post by: Trin on April 16, 2009, 01:07:11 PM
what u expect?
Italian striker= big headed, trying to make Bayern a Serie A side? gimme a break. :rotfl:

too bad for Klinsmann, I feel Klinsmann has what it takes to be a good coach...hope it works out for him
we'll see Luca Toni (NOT) have a storied career as Klinsmann tho'..

The sweetest part of this whole thing is that Toni playin one big steaming pile recently. He should be keeping scarce and his big mouth shut.
Title: Bayern Munich Fires Coach Juergen Klinsmann
Post by: chinee boi on April 27, 2009, 07:49:04 AM
http://tsn.ca/soccer/story/?id=276629 (http://tsn.ca/soccer/story/?id=276629)

BAYERN MUNICH FIRES COACH JUERGEN KLINSMANN

BERLIN - Bayern Munich fired Juergen Klinsmann as coach Monday, ending his two-year contract at the defending German champions after less than a season.

Klinsmann, who coached Germany to third place at the 2006 World Cup, was told by club officials that he was dismissed with immediate effect, Bayern said in a statement posted on its website.

"This was a very difficult decision for us," Bayern chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge said. "But the results of the past few weeks, the way in which they came about and, above all, the situation five games before the end of the season, forced us to act out of responsibility to the club."

Bayern lost at home to Schalke 1-0 Saturday, leaving the team in third place in the Bundesliga.

Bayern said Jupp Heynckes will take over until the end of the season, with Hermann Gerland as his assistant.

Klinsmann, 44, joined Germany's most consistently successful team this season in his first job as a club coach, but had faced growing pressure recently due to its poor form.

Speculation over Klinsmann's future increased after Bayern lost at Barcelona 4-0 in the first leg of the Champions League quarter-finals earlier this month, a performance club president Franz Beckenbauer described as the worst he had seen from Bayern.

Barcelona won 5-1 on aggregate, leaving the Bundesliga title as the team's only chance of silverware this season.

"Of course, I am very disappointed at the moment," Klinsmann said, thanking the club, its fans and employees for "an eventful time."

"We have laid the foundation for the future," he added. "I still believe that this team can become German champion this season."

Klinsmann did not comment on his future plans. He had left his California residence to return to Germany for the Bayern job.

Klinsmann's dismissal came after he promised Sunday to stay on at Bayern, saying he didn't think he needed to worry about his position and pointing to "good chemistry inside the team."

When Klinsmann was appointed last year, he said: "We want to make every player better and so make the team better." However, he had a tough act to follow after his predecessor, Ottmar Hitzfeld, led Bayern to the domestic league and cup double last season.

In any event, Bayern rarely played well this season, especially after the winter break.

With five rounds to go, Bayern is 16-7-6 in the Bundesliga and sits three points behind leader Wolfsburg, which has been thriving under Felix Magath, a former Bayern coach.

Heynckes, 63, coached Bayern from 1987 to 1991, winning the 1989 and 1990 Bundesliga titles. He has since coached Schalke, Real Madrid and Borussia Moenchengladbach, and won the 1998 Champions League title with Real Madrid.

"With Jupp Heynckes and Hermann Gerland, we have two experienced trainers to whom we are handing the leadership of the team until the end of the season," Rummenigge said.

Klinsmann's assistants, Martin Vasquez and Nick Theslof, have also left Bayern.
Title: Re: BAYERN MUNICH FIRES COACH JUERGEN KLINSMANN
Post by: Montjoy on April 27, 2009, 08:02:42 AM
Ah whole lot of people real happy here in Germany that they fire de man. Most of de people still wondering why it took so long.

Klinsmann will probably have to return to the US now because nobody here will give him another chance. If he had success with his innovative ideas in Bayern then many things would of changed in the German football landscape but like we used to say in Trini. "More times".  :beermug:
Title: Re: Bayern Munich Fires Coach Juergen Klinsmann
Post by: Bitter on April 27, 2009, 08:38:48 AM
Jack fire Maturana too early...

In truth though, Bayern fortunes rested on the performance of 3 players: Kahn, Toni and Ribery.

Of those 3, Only Ribery looks close to what he was last season. The defense clearly doesn't trust Rensing the same as Kahn, leading to some interesting play. Toni just isn't having the golden season of last year, when everything he touched went into the net.

As much as Bayern was overwhelming sides last season, the Bundesliga is much closer top to bottom than the EPL or La Liga.
Post by: pardners on April 27, 2009, 10:08:44 AM
I suppose this just adds fuel to the debate regarding "good-players-turn-national-coach", since Klinsman name was one used for the "pro" side.
Post by: Andre on April 27, 2009, 02:13:27 PM
i thought they woulda wait til the end of the season. u know german bundesliga style - u going and be out end of season and so and so coming.

that title race good though. 5 team with a chance. entertaining. i like dem football.
Post by: Bakes on April 27, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
I suppose this just adds fuel to the debate regarding "good-players-turn-national-coach", since Klinsman name was one used for the "pro" side.

Doesn't really add much to the discussion... he did have success after all as Germany's national coach.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 27, 2009, 02:38:57 PM

they are both arguments for being a scapegoat.  Mats and Klinsmann were both skating on thin ice so due to pressure from fans, players and mgmt they get the boot.  Klinsmann actually cared about his team and the success of his coaching career.  Mats already been there and done that.  TnT needs a coach that is up and coming and has something to prove with less to work with.  Bayern needs a tried and tested coach who has been there, done that and have plenty to work with....Mats and Klinsmann shoulda swap.
Post by: Bitter on April 27, 2009, 02:43:30 PM

they are both arguments for being a scapegoat.  Mats and Klinsmann were both skating on thin ice so due to pressure from fans, players and mgmt they get the boot.  Klinsmann actually cared about his team and the success of his coaching career.  Mats already been there and done that.  TnT needs a coach that is up and coming and has something to prove with less to work with.  Bayern needs a tried and tested coach who has been there, done that and have plenty to work with....Mats and Klinsmann shoulda swap.

If they swap, it would take Bayern 1/2 the season to find out if Mats could speak German.
And Klinsmann is a coach who dealing with seasoned professionals. He not building any program, he taking a side to the next level. The man didn't start from the bottom eh, he start from the top.
Post by: Fantastic on April 27, 2009, 02:45:52 PM
The whole good player to good coach thing is a blown out of proportion issue. Great, even good players usually get opportunities before they are supposed to based on their playing career. Coaching is very different from playing, so without the proper preparation most people would struggle at the higher levels of the game. I believe if they prepare and go through the ranks and learning process like " not so good " players before they get big time coaching gigs they will probably be the better coaches too.
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 27, 2009, 07:18:14 PM
Klinsmann's "unconventional" coaching methods were always on shaky ground with the conservative and low-risk Germans, even at the national level.  He faced great resistance from his players, and you sense that there was still some resistance.  To fire the man with the race so tight is an injustice, if you ask me.  Maybe they feel they should be ahead of Magath's Wolfsburg, since they were supposedly moving in the right direction by hiring Klinsmann.  In my opinion, Bayern was never the right fit.  Too many legends at the executive level there, and they don't stay low-key; they always have something to say.
Post by: Zeppo on April 29, 2009, 03:29:30 AM
The Fall of Klinsmann

by Mike Woitalla, Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 7:00 AM ET

European club coaches get fired all the time, but Bayern Munich's sacking of Juergen Klinsmann is of particular interest this side of the Atlantic because of his American connections. A California resident since his playing days ended in 1998 until he took the Bayern job last summer, Klinsmann brought two American assistant coaches to Munich, tried unsuccessfully to incorporate Landon Donovan into the Bayern squad, and was, in 2006, courted to coach the U.S. national team.

Both assistants -- Martin Vasquez, previously assistant coach of Chivas USA, and Nick Theslof, who coached the PDL's Orange County Blue Star -- were sent packing along with Klinsmann after Bayern was eliminated from the European Champions League and the German Cup while its Bundesliga title hopes faded.

Bayern's loss last weekend at home against Schalke 04 was its seventh of the season. It lost only two league games when it won its record 21st Bundesliga title in 2007-08, before Klinsmann came aboard.

With five games left in the Bundesliga season, Bayern is in third place, three points behind leader VfL Wolfsburg, and ahead of fourth-place Stuttgart and fifth-place Hamburg only thanks to goal difference.

Klinsmann's bosses feared not only a league title slipping away, but failure to qualify for the Champions League, which would mean a nearly $60 million loss of income. So, after only 10 months in charge, Klinsmann's stint came to an end.

Klinsmann's had a long, successful playing career that included the 1990 World Cup title and 1996 European Championship crown. But he had no coaching experience when he took the helm of Germany's national team two years before the 2006 World Cup.

Although a third-place finish as host would seem a modest achievement for a traditional soccer power that finished runner-up at the previous World Cup, Klinsmann was hailed as a hero. His young team played attacking soccer in a tournament plagued by otherwise low-scoring, dour defensive efforts.

Klinsmann resigned after the 2006 World Cup. U.S. Soccer made him the top choice as a replacement for Bruce Arena following the disappointing first-round U.S. exit at the 2006 World Cup. But Klinsmann's demand for complete control of the national team program was impossible for  U.S. Soccer to meet. Instead, it hired Bob Bradley on an interim basis before giving him the job for real.

Bayern bosses, even though their team was defending Bundesliga champion, hired Klinsmann to start a new era at the club. The goal was international success after not lifting a European title since 2001.

For sure, Klinsmann would have been given more time to create a serious Champions League contender, but struggling in the Bundesliga was unforgivable for the nation's richest club.

Reports in the German media - which Klinsmann said were exaggerated - had Bayern players complaining about a lack of tactical guidance. Meanwhile, Klinsmann's methods - such as erecting Buddha statues on the training grounds and encouraging yoga for the players - were mocked in the German media.

A winning team would have silenced his detractors, but Bayern opened the season with a 2-2 tie, and in the second month of the season, fell, 5-2, at home to Werder Bremen. By October, Bayern's performances made for its worst start to a season in 31 years. But club chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge gave a vote of confidence: "He will definitely be on the bench at the end of the season."

Klinsmann had promised fast, one-touch soccer - but Bayern stayed near the top of the standings only because none of the competition was winning with consistency.

The German media had hammered Klinsmann during the 2006 World Cup preparations for commuting from California and using American fitness trainers. But then the popularity of Klinsmann's team during the World Cup elicited apologizes from his biggest critics, such as the mass circulation Bild newspaper.

When Bayern floundered under Klinsmann, the media piled on again. Not the least of their attacks were directed at his American connections. Why hire American assistant coaches instead of continuing the long Bayern tradition of hiring from within?

Upon taking the Bayern helm, Klinsmann said his philosophy was to "make every player better everyday." The media enjoyed throwing that statement out again and again as the players performed worse than in the previous season.

By the winter break, Bayern was tied with newly promoted Hoffenheim for first place, but was behind on goal difference. Klinsmann brought in Donovan on loan, and after promising displays in friendly games, Donovan's failure to score during a string of losses provided fodder for Klinsmann's legion of detractors. Donovan returned to Los Angeles.

In March, Bayer Leverkusen ousted the defending cup winner Bayern from the German Cup with a 4-2 win. A 12-1 aggregate win over Sporting Lisbon in the Champions League took the pressure off, but then it lost 5-1 to Wolfsburg.

Barcelona thumped Bayern out of the Champions League quarterfinals, winning 5-1 on aggregate, and then the Schalke loss sealed Klinsmann's fate.

According to German media reports, Bayern owes Klinsmann, who had a contract through June of 2010, between $5 million and $12 million in severance pay.

Post by: Observer on April 29, 2009, 09:47:57 AM

Doesn't really add much to the discussion... he did have success after all as Germany's national coach.

Questionable for many Germans? Success for countriies like Italy, Brazil and Germany is nothing short of winning or at least getting to the final game. After all Klinsman was at home and the general view of the German football public was that they should have been in the final. Please don't shoot the messenger :angel: My take is he lost tn the semi to the eventual world champions, so he did well. Then again I eh German.
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2009, 11:27:28 AM
Questionable for many Germans? Success for countriies like Italy, Brazil and Germany is nothing short of winning or at least getting to the final game. After all Klinsman was at home and the general view of the German football public was that they should have been in the final. Please don't shoot the messenger :angel: My take is he lost tn the semi to the eventual world champions, so he did well. Then again I eh German.

Lol.. messenger safe man.  My perception was that his performance was well-received by the German fans and media... it's possible that I got it wrong.  Given his inexperience on any level... my personal take was that it was a phenomenal job.  He took a young team that many didn't expect to make too much of a splash, and made a deep run into the tournament.  And he did all of that without much help from the teams biggest name, Michael Bollocks.
Post by: kicker on April 29, 2009, 06:52:33 PM

Lol.. messenger safe man.  My perception was that his performance was well-received by the German fans and media... it's possible that I got it wrong.  Given his inexperience on any level... my personal take was that it was a phenomenal job.  He took a young team that many didn't expect to make too much of a splash, and made a deep run into the tournament.  And he did all of that without much help from the teams biggest name, Michael Bollocks.

My take was the same- From what I understand, the Germans were pleased with the team's brave attacking style which was more fluid & carefree and less rigid & calculated than what is usually expected from the German nat'l selection.  Until this last chapter I think Klinsmann's rep as a manager was a good one.
Title: klinsmann's team to face meheco.
Post by: just cool on August 06, 2011, 02:17:33 PM
this is the face of the new USMNT, @ least for now.
http://www.ussoccer.com/News/Mens-National-Team/2011/08/Klinsmann-Calls-In-22-Players-to-Face-Mexico-on-Aug-10-in-Philadelphia.aspx
Title: Re: klinsmann's team to face meheco.
Post by: AirMan on August 06, 2011, 02:21:39 PM
Glad to see Edson Buddle back in the american team. Should be any sell out crowd for the US.
Title: Re: klinsmann's team to face meheco.
Post by: Sando prince on August 07, 2011, 12:19:15 PM
ESPN doing rhel good with football aka soccer recently
Title: Klinsmann: On the field, soccer is not a teachable sport
Post by: asylumseeker on October 11, 2011, 03:01:10 AM
October 10, 2011
German Hand Bolsters American Identity
By GEORGE VECSEY
The New York Times

Jurgen Klinsmann, the German coach of the American soccer team, has his own ideas, large and small.

Some of them are details, like making the starting players wear Nos. 1 to 11 (to emphasize competition) and having players wear identical outfits in training camp (for uniformity).

Some of his ideas are more cosmic, like the revolutionary theory for young players that soccer should be fun.

“Soccer is not like baseball or football, where the coach tells you what to do,” he said.

Then there are the symbolic touches, like the bonding of players with roots as foreign as his own. Klinsmann’s vision led the American squad to the subdued oasis of the National September 11 Memorial in Manhattan on Monday. A lot of teams have visited the former site of the World Trade Center, some of them New York franchises looking to pay tribute to the people who died there and rescued there and rebuilt there. But this visit was different — this was a team that wears red, white and blue at every game.

“For us, as a soccer team representing the United States, it’s a wonderful opportunity,” Klinsmann said as his players inspected the honor rolls and the reflecting pools.

“Yes, we are only representing soccer, but we have a generation of people with dual citizenship,” Klinsmann said. “This gives us a deep sense, a deep connection, of who we represent — a very special country, an amazing country.”

Welcome to the Klinsmann age, which follows the successful terms of Bruce Arena and Bob Bradley. There is no guarantee Klinsmann will be a better coach than either of those two professionals just because he was one of the great strikers in the world and later the head coach of the third-place German team in the 2006 World Cup.

Since replacing Bradley in late July, Klinsmann has made a few changes, including opening up some practices for fans just to get some noise and enthusiasm into otherwise empty stadiums. On Monday, the Yanks prepared for Tuesday’s friendly with Ecuador at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J., and an M.C. with a hand-held microphone introduced Klinsmann to about 500 fans in the best seats.

The squad itself is a work in transition, as national teams always are. Klinsmann has called up two German players with American fathers: Tim Chandler and Danny Williams. Many others on the American squad have roots overseas. Klinsmann himself is married to an American woman, and lives much of the year in Orange County, Calif., where he was on Sept. 11, 2001.

“Everybody was paralyzed,” he said Monday, adding that he began receiving messages from all the European countries where he had played. “It made Americans and everybody else realize we live in a global world,” he said.

On Monday, the players strolled around the outdoor memorial, surrounded by construction of the new World Trade Center. They were recognized by visitors and security agents, who took photographs, shook hands, asked for autographs. Several German tourists were delighted to recognize Klinsmann and chat with him in their language.

The players were not the only celebrities. In separate visits were Susan E. Rice, the American ambassador to the United Nations, and John Paul Stevens, a retired justice of the Supreme Court.

Tim Howard, a goalkeeper from New Jersey, remembers hearing about the attack as he drove to the practice of the team then called the MetroStars, and seeing smoke rising from what would be called ground zero.

“I never had the desire to come here,” Howard said with what could be described as a shudder. He now plays for Everton in Liverpool. “But I’m glad I came here today, to see something beautiful emerging from this.”

The players in their identical training outfits with white T-shirts hopped back on the bus before their training session in New Jersey. One of the 22 players called up for this trip is Michael Bradley, who plays for Chievo of Italy and is the son of Bob Bradley, who now coaches Egypt. The players speak respectfully about their previous coaches and hopefully about their new coach.

DaMarcus Beasley, a World Cup veteran having a renaissance in Puebla, Mexico, was asked about Klinsmann’s practice of assigning Nos. 1 to 11 to the starting lineup each game and dropping names from the back of jerseys. “He comes from a European background,” said Beasley, suggesting that the old-school approach places status on whomever has earned the start. “I do miss my number,” added Beasley, who was usually assigned No. 7. He made it sound like a minor matter compared with still being in the American mix.

The main thing is moving back toward the level of Arena’s 2002 team, which reached the quarterfinals in the World Cup. On Saturday, in Klinsmann’s fourth match as its coach, the United States finally won, beating Honduras, 1-0. Klinsmann is trying to get his players to expend more offensive pressure, the way he did when he was a fleet forward.

He is also preaching that soccer should be fun, a concept that will no doubt shock some American youth coaches who shout instructions from the sideline the way Vince Lombardi or Bob Knight did. As a result, many young players stifle their natural instinct as they wait to hear what Coach wants, thereby squandering the split-second opportunity to do something feral and innovative, which is, in fact, the heart of the game.

That aspect has been incorporated into the teaching syllabus being revised by Claudio Reyna, who was one of the stars of that 2002 World Cup team and is now the official in charge of the development of American players.

“Athletes must play the game by themselves; they must be creative,” Klinsmann said with animation. “Yes, coaches can teach soccer, but on the field, soccer is not a teachable sport,” he added. And with a quick step, he moved on, from ground zero toward training camp, and more of the new era.

Title: Re: Klinsmann: On the field, soccer is not a teachable sport
Post by: president on October 11, 2011, 04:30:02 AM
Klinsmann may be guru to some but the idea that football should be fun - for ALL players, not just young players - is hardly "cosmic" or "revolutionary". This concept has guided the best coaching and coaches for generations now. Ask the Brasilians, the Dutch, the Spanish, the Argentinians, etc, etc, etc...
Title: Re: Klinsmann: On the field, soccer is not a teachable sport
Post by: madness on October 11, 2011, 05:36:34 AM
Klinsmann says:“Yes, coaches can teach soccer, but on the field, soccer is not a teachable sport,” so our coach of trinidad and tobago is doing it's best, and the players turn to production success on the field.
Title: Jurgen Klinsmann make case for 10-month club season, no high school ball
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 14, 2012, 07:58:08 AM
Klinsmann and Co. make case for 10-month club season, no high school ball
By Mike Woitalla
http://www.socceramerica.com/article/45633/klinsmann-and-co-make-case-for-10-month-club-seas.html

U.S. Soccer made it official last Friday that its 78-club Development Academy league will move to a 10-month schedule starting with the 2012-13 season.

More than 3,000 of the nation's elite boys play for Academy teams in U-15/16 and U-17/18 leagues and the schedule change means no high school soccer for them. That's the most controversial aspect of the move the Federation says is necessary to create a better balance between training and games and to “close the performance gap with the top soccer nations.”

U.S. national team coach Jurgen Klinsmann said in the Academy’s press release:

"If we want our players to someday compete against the best in the world, it is critical for their development that they train and play as much as possible and in the right environment. The Development Academy 10-month season is the right formula and provides a good balance between training time and playing competitive matches. This is the model that the best countries around the world use for their programs, and I think it makes perfect sense that we do as well."

Said USSF Youth Technical Director Claudio Reyna, "This schedule puts our elite players in line with kids in their age group internationally, and places the appropriate physical demands at this stage in their development."

The USA, however, is unique to international soccer powers in that it has a strong tradition of scholastic sports participation. The club vs. high school conflict emerged before the Academy league’s arrival in 2007, but it has heated up since one third of the Academy teams moved to the 10-month schedule last year. U.S. Soccer addressed the issue of “banning” kids from high school ball in its “Frequentl Asked Questions” about the schedule change:

“Every player has a choice to play high school soccer or in the Development Academy. We believe that for those elite soccer players who are committed to pursuing the goal of reaching the highest levels they can in the sport, making this decision will provide them a big advantage in their development and increase their exposure to top coaches in the United States and from around the world.

“We are talking about a group of players who want to continue at the next level, whether that is professional or college, which is still the destination for a majority of our graduates.”

On whether the quality of high school soccer would be reduced, U.S. Soccer responds with:

“Overall, only 1 percent of all players currently playing high school soccer are involved with the Development Academy. We are only talking about a small percentage of elite players who have the goal of playing soccer at the highest levels. High School soccer will continue to make an important contribution to the soccer landscape in this country.”

On whether Academy coaches are better than high school coaches:

“There are many quality coaches in both the Development Academy and high school teams. The Academy environment allows for more focused and consistent training with less emphasis on games. Academy players and coaches also receive ongoing feedback, instruction and guidance from U.S. Soccer Technical Advisors, who are also the main scouts for the U.S. national team programs.”

U.S. Soccer says the move received “overwhelming support” from its member clubs.

“The key to development, to me, is playing against quality players in practice,” said Crossfire Premier Coaching Director Bernie James in a statement. “I think if you’re with a group of good players who are pushing each other, and you have that for most of the year, then I think it’s bound to be better for development.”

Source: SoccerAmerica
Title: Klinsmann faces questions of leadership
Post by: futbolfan on March 20, 2013, 01:46:15 AM
http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1381628/report:-some-u.s.-players-lose-faith-in-klinsmann%27s-leadership?cc=5901

As the United States heads into critical World Cup qualifiers against Costa Rica and Mexico, several players are expressing concern and asking questions about coach Jurgen Klinsmann's leadership skills and whether he is fit for the U.S. national team's top job, the Sporting News reported on its website Tuesday.

Eleven players in the current national team pool as well as others connected to the program told the Sporting News that there are deep divisions within the squad, especially between the German-American players Klinsmann has brought in, and those with deeper domestic roots. More troubling for U.S. team followers, the faith in Klinsmann's methods and tactical acumen is rapidly eroding.
One player cited in the story said the support for Klinsmann has been steadily dropping for months now as more question his leadership skills, but player sniping has become even more pronounced in the wake of the team's 2-1 loss at Honduras on Feb. 6.

"Several things about the lineup didn't work," one of the players told The Sporting News about the Americans' lackluster World Cup qualifying loss . "Sometimes a coach's biggest mistake is trying to get in who he sees as the best 11 players on the field. But they don't have to be. You have to have 11 players on the field who are going to work well with each other and be good for each other."

The level of detail and broad spectrum of criticisms in the report suggest that Klinsmann is facing widespread discord in the locker room and must address that split if he is to overcome the significant injury obstacles facing the team ahead of the upcoming qualifiers. Nine players who were on the roster for last month's loss to Honduras are unavailable through injury or illness and Landon Donovan remains on sabbatical.

Klinsmann's decision to bench long-time captain Carlos Bocanegra in Honduras reportedly raised the hackles of several players, who said it left the U.S. lacking experience in the backline and exposed what they described as Klinsmann's pretty naive tactics."It was one of those things where Jurgen woke up the next day and wanted to try something we weren't familiar with," the Sporting News quoted a player as saying.
But, the gripes with Klinsmann go even deeper than dropping Bocanegra after 100 international appearances, with one source saying that Klinsmann may be putting too much of an emphasis on fitness and yoga and not enough on tactics.

"OK, it's good for us and it's scientifically proven. But in the end it's a round ball. The Peles and the Maradonas in the world weren't doing all these things," a U.S. player said. "I think we spend more time worrying about gyms and nutrition, and we don't do enough of what we need to do on the field."

Another source told The Sporting News that the players are "overtrained and undercoached."

I figure sooner or later he would have been found out. These concerns were brought in the past by both  players from the German national team and Bayern Munich.
Even the German captain Lahm, was critical of Klinsmann's tactics in his autobiography...
Title: Re: goltv rumor:Klinsmann to u.s soccer federation for about 1.7 mil. a year
Post by: Fyzoman on March 20, 2013, 07:48:13 AM
See I was wondering about that myself, especially when I see him bringing the German-born players on board, this is gonna be interesting to follow.
Post by: coache on March 20, 2013, 08:56:18 AM
In my opinion Klinsman was a great player but he is  a less than average coach. I never  felt that his vision and leadership could produce champions at any level. Whenever he speaks people listen because he is a great man, but he's still a less than average coach. He did well with Germany because they have the quality in Germany but Germany should have done better in the 2006 WC.
Post by: Observer on March 20, 2013, 06:17:46 PM
In my opinion Klinsman was a great player but he is  a less than average coach. I never  felt that his vision and leadership could produce champions at any level. Whenever he speaks people listen because he is a great man, but he's still a less than average coach. He did well with Germany because they have the quality in Germany but Germany should have done better in the 2006 WC.

The talk in Germany is that Klinsman was the front man, but the onfield stuff was handled by his assistant Low. That being said its the same for USA, he needs a strong staff behind him.
Post by: D.H.W on March 20, 2013, 06:37:23 PM
The mighty USA have troubles?

(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/32241036.jpg)
Post by: AB.Trini on March 20, 2013, 07:22:24 PM
 Ent we could have used FIFA funds to  afford big time coach?  saying that anyone knows the amount of subsidy  that FIFA allocates to member nations? have we received any funds from FIFA lately?
Post by: elan on March 20, 2013, 09:18:59 PM
 :bs:

Everyone who knows anything knew this time was coming be it Klinsmann or some other coach. The changing of the guards are upon them and the players in the pipeline are less than World Class (in this case CONCACAF average) and the level of play basic.

Klinsman needs quality players to work with and he will be hard pressed to find them domestically, thus his look to "notrealamericans" to try and instill his style of play. There will be a rift within the ranks for a while if USSoccer is smart and keep Klinsmann for the long haul and let him be the bad guy in trying to reform the monster that is USsoccer.

People like LandyCakes will be at the forefront of such protest against JK as LandyCakes can no longer do whatever he wants and still be include in the team. His tantrums are not working and it is not sitting to well. Let's see if the Fedration will make the same mistake as they did with the women's team.
Post by: Observer on March 21, 2013, 06:37:26 AM
Always interesting to me how much more leeway big name players get when they become coaches.
Bradley was hghly criticised, yet he won the Hex, took USA to the Confederations Cup final, beating Spain on the way and had a decent showing at the WC. Just as a spectator USA under Klinsman are not playing anything different than before, arguably they look far more disjointed. Remember JK came in with a lot of talk about attacking style & changing the face of US Soccer. However, these things take time & now its WCQ time.

For those who are interested take a read on Philip Lahm book, be warned he is not kind to JK, which is understandable as Bayern had one of its worst outings in recent history under his command.
Post by: elan on March 22, 2013, 10:01:51 PM
Always interesting to me how much more leeway big name players get when they become coaches.
Bradley was hghly criticised, yet he won the Hex, took USA to the Confederations Cup final, beating Spain on the way and had a decent showing at the WC. Just as a spectator USA under Klinsman are not playing anything different than before, arguably they look far more disjointed. Remember JK came in with a lot of talk about attacking style & changing the face of US Soccer. However, these things take time & now its WCQ time.

For those who are interested take a read on Philip Lahm book, be warned he is not kind to JK, which is understandable as Bayern had one of its worst outings in recent history under his command.

Again though obserever, The USMNT was together and had a solid core 10-14 players. Klinnsman is task with the transition. Since Klinnsman came in what has been the core, Bradley?
Post by: giggsy11 on March 23, 2013, 03:28:38 PM
More in depth version.

http://aol.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2013-03-19/jurgen-klinsmann-us-mens-soccer-coach-national-team-usa-american-world-cup-2013

Imo-1. Some of these American players sound rell entitiled and stuck in dey ways.

2. Jurgen seem tuh be tryin tuh change the culture of the team and fellas who use tuh the old ways can't handle.
3. Jurgen sound like he would be perfect tuh whip our national side in shape.
4. Jurgen may need tuh add another person/assistant who's adds what Jurgen may be lacking.

Post by: Preacher on March 23, 2013, 04:13:05 PM
Klinsman do your thing. 
Post by: Observer on March 23, 2013, 06:18:47 PM

Again though obserever, The USMNT was together and had a solid core 10-14 players. Klinnsman is task with the transition. Since Klinnsman came in what has been the core, Bradley?

Elan I am not leaning one way or the other when it comes to Klinsman. However, as I said he came in with lots of talk about changing the way USA play to a more attacking style. He has had 23 Games since he has been in charge, including severl extended camps (one in January with MLS players). It is his job to establish a core, so far he has basically utilized 10 players from the 2010 WC squad. Selection is his choice. The only point I am making is transition or no transition, I really do not see anything different from USA, outside of the game versus Scotland they have struggled to score goals. Many will argue that since the shock in Jamaica, US has become more defensive that ever.
Post by: giggsy11 on March 23, 2013, 06:37:35 PM
Possibility exists, that Jurgen realizes that the US do not have skilled players to play the style he sought to implement. Hence his chopping and changing in an effort to find something what works. The players who are getting dropped do not fit into his vision. Except they have yet to figure that out and still think they are important to the set up. IMO.
Post by: fari on March 23, 2013, 07:18:58 PM

The talk in Germany is that Klinsman was the front man, but the onfield stuff was handled by his assistant Low. That being said its the same for USA, he needs a strong staff behind him.

yes!   i remember reading that somewhere also....imho germany playing better now under yogi low than under klinsmann
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 24, 2013, 06:40:04 AM
I really don't think the usmnt is going to start playing any "different" from how they have always played until we start seeing some more of what you currently seeing with their U-20 squad: MEXICANS! I say "MEXICANS" but in actuality, I'm talking about more people that have a certain flavour about their game that comes from places that are far deeper entrenched in the beauty, sweetness and creative side of the game than your american suburbs, where the us still seems to be taking the bulk of all of its prospects from. going back to Klinsmann's comments back during the 2010 WC, he was f**kin' right.  (Tab Ramos sure as hell read the memo.) But it's going to take more than the 2 years or 23 games that he's been in charge, to really and truly bring about the change that he envisions for the usa, and, WTF?!, it might even take more than one manager. (*but when it does, we ass is grass!!*)They will always do well with their technical ability, fitness and fighting spirit but in order to go to the places that the ussf wants to go (world dominance, but they first want to be respected) and keep the company they want to keep, they havta produce players that come with the kinds of skills and creativity that their coaches can't teach but still know how to manage. Them kinds of players haven't quite started to filter their way through the various regional ODP's and youth teams to have fallen into Klinsmann's hands just yet...dempsey is the usa's "best" player right now and he is not all that good, as far as I am concerned. For me, the only player on their roster that can me thought of being mentioned in the same paragraph as the current best players of his position is Tim Howard and even with him, yuh kinda havta go over yuh thoughts for a moment to make sure yuh saying the right thing in a football crowd...maybe even wait until somebody else say it first...So maybe Klinsmann is the long term answer but I really don't see how anyone could have expected that he would transform this team overnight into a stylish, free-flowing attractive-looking team overnight.
   Even with the DFB, I don't recall that people were so down on him for having failed in 2006, the German people seemed quite happy with the "new" style he had them playing with and I'm sure all of your that were there can remember how happy and friendly them Germans were  ;) but anyway, OK, so Low was really the brains behind the team and still is....Low has had the team now for all of 7 years and they haven't done any better in the results department (WC, Euros) than when Klinsmann had them, no? Are they at a place where they are knocking on Spain's door or looking like their biggest challengers to their European throne? I doh really get that sense that they are.  Italy and/or Holland seems to look the bigger threats there.  In any event, I say, people being a little hard on Klinsmann.  Everybody was happier than runaway slaves when they beat Italy on Italian soil the other day and then turn around and did the same to Mexico and them players was slapping each other on the back and singing Klinsmann's praises on camera, welcoming the "new direction" he wanted to take the team.  I can only hope that the ones who cryin' and bitchin' in the shadows now, are all individually and collectively man enough to go and talk to him face-to-face. I could see a Navy Seal being brought in to impliment a "survival skills" program for a cadet force and the cadets complaing about some of his "methods" after being all excited about his pending and initial arrival.  Man, clint "captain america" dempsey etter tell dem boy and dem to hush dey cyat and learn sumting eh. STEUWPS!     
Post by: Observer on March 24, 2013, 03:03:13 PM
I like what you saying Chow except the part where they eh doing much better.  Lowe took over and he got them to the final of the Euro 08.  Semi Final of WC 2010 beaten by eventual winners Spain, Semi Final Euro 2012.
I think Giggsy have it right, JK will become pragmatic, understanding that to play attacking adventurous football you need certain qualities and he will eventually qualify for the WC.
Post by: coache on March 24, 2013, 08:40:12 PM
He has to Thank his lucky stars that there was a big snow storm..if wasn't for that it would have been a different story
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 25, 2013, 09:03:24 AM
I like what you saying Chow except the part where they eh doing much better.  Lowe took over and he got them to the final of the Euro 08.  Semi Final of WC 2010 beaten by eventual winners Spain, Semi Final Euro 2012.
I think Giggsy have it right, JK will become pragmatic, understanding that to play attacking adventurous football you need certain qualities and he will eventually qualify for the WC.

Oh yeah, I know all ah dat, but comparatively speaking, Klinsmann had them doing no worse, either, and that is one of the main points I am trying to make.  He was only in charge of the team for 2 years and took them to third place in the WC, having lost their only game to the eventual (but controversial, in my book) winners.  And, if I remember correctly, Germany had kinda went into a lil' slump after the '02 WC and Klinsmann (and Low) brought them back and had them playing some attractive football that was seen as a departure from their usual style. So when we compare that the situation he is in now, where he is supposed to be trying to take the american team, comprising a handful of bland, fundamentals-oriented, non-flavourful, arrhythmic, suburban (mostly) white americans and transform them into the next coming of "the beautiful game", and he's getting some mixed results, I find it laughable indeed, that people are going to just jump on the wagon of claiming that he can't coach. People were quick to say the same about AVB when he struggled at Chelsea.     
Post by: Observer on March 25, 2013, 09:17:52 AM

Oh yeah, I know all ah dat, but comparatively speaking, Klinsmann had them doing no worse, either, and that is one of the main points I am trying to make.  He was only in charge of the team for 2 years and took them to third place in the WC, having lost their only game to the eventual (but controversial, in my book) winners.  And, if I remember correctly, Germany had kinda went into a lil' slump after the '02 WC and Klinsmann (and Low) brought them back and had them playing some attractive football that was seen as a departure from their usual style. So when we compare that the situation he is in now, where he is supposed to be trying to take the american team, comprising a handful of bland, fundamentals-oriented, non-flavourful, arrhythmic, suburban (mostly) white americans and transform them into the next coming of "the beautiful game", and he's getting some mixed results, I find it laughable indeed, that people are going to just jump on the wagon of claiming that he can't coach. People were quick to say the same about AVB when he struggled at Chelsea.     

Not sure people saying he can't coach, if they are, much of that is coming from his spell with Bayern where it all went horribly wrong.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 25, 2013, 10:07:48 AM

Not sure people saying he can't coach, if they are, much of that is coming from his spell with Bayern where it all went horribly wrong.

Reading a couple of the posts on here and trying to understand the sudden outcry coming from camp usa...
Post by: futbolfan on March 25, 2013, 01:40:58 PM
On ah side note....

Freddy Adu officially leaves Union & signs with Brazilian club Bahia, his 9th club & 6th country in 7 years.

Not sure where it went wrong with this fella nah, but good luck to him.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 25, 2013, 02:14:25 PM
Poor Freddy...for all the talent he displayed in all them U-17 and U-20 tournaments fuh de US...his skill set just cyah seem to be congruent with what this senior USMNT philosophy is.  ::)
Post by: Bakes on March 25, 2013, 02:34:04 PM
On ah side note....

Freddy Adu officially leaves Union & signs with Brazilian club Bahia, his 9th club & 6th country in 7 years.

I actually learn about this pending trade a week ago... supposedly Freddy was a cancer in the locker room and he could never quite deal with the physicality of MLS.  I wish him well with Bahia (not sure if they're top-flight in Brazil), because dem fellas does good get agricultural at times.
Post by: Tallman on March 25, 2013, 03:41:01 PM

It never relly went right fuh him.
Post by: Observer on March 25, 2013, 03:59:41 PM
Poor Freddy...for all the talent he displayed in all them U-17 and U-20 tournaments fuh de US...his skill set just cyah seem to be congruent with what this senior USMNT philosophy is.  ::)

That is because he was 20  ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 25, 2013, 04:18:20 PM

:D "Allyuh" eh easy nuh.  Ah wonder if Freddy does ever be cussin' he mudder in he mind, wishin' she woulda "sent" him Italy instead'a takin' all dat chain up talk from us soccer and all money from nike?
Post by: elan on March 25, 2013, 09:46:29 PM

Bone density scan, it common now.

We lucky Messi did not have to come up in Us Youth Soccer system, we would have never known Messi, or Maradonna or Pele, or Garrincha,
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 26, 2013, 01:03:55 AM

We lucky Messi did not have to come up in Us Youth Soccer system, we would have never known Messi, or Maradonna or Pele, or Garrincha,

Yuh talkin' pyure shit! America is the land of innovation! Anybody with the level of skill that them men was born with, woulda see out their full potential! 
Post by: elan on March 26, 2013, 01:38:20 PM

Yuh talkin' pyure shit! America is the land of innovation! Anybody with the level of skill that them men was born with, woulda see out their full potential! 

You fooling yuhself fella. Shut yuh doubles hole and stop and think about what these players have in common and the make up of almost every US soccer team, youth, women and men.  Even Argentina almost lost Messi, thank heavens for the Spaniards.

Land of innovation my arse, why they eh innovate some quality players.

Coach of the Year Thoughts (http://www.socceramerica.com/article/50729/crazier-than-its-ever-been-jimmy-obleda-fulle.html)
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 26, 2013, 02:28:15 PM

You fooling yuhself fella. Shut yuh doubles hole and stop and think about what these players have in common and the make up of almost every US soccer team, youth, women and men.  Even Argentina almost lost Messi, thank heavens for the Spaniards.

Coach of the Year Thoughts (http://www.socceramerica.com/article/50729/crazier-than-its-ever-been-jimmy-obleda-fulle.html)

:D A know ah shoulda put a smiley.....the comment wasn't directed at you or your comment, elan, ah was merely (facetiously) regurgitating de shit dat "KJ" was talkin' on another thread from de other day, yuh didn't havta bouff meh up so. (but NOW ah go hush meh doubles hole.  ;D)
Post by: giggsy11 on March 26, 2013, 02:34:48 PM

:D A know ah shoulda put a smiley.....the comment wasn't directed at you or your comment, elan, ah was merely (facetiously) regurgitating de shit dat "KJ" was talkin' on another thread from de other day, yuh didn't havta bouff meh up so. (but NOW ah go hush meh doubles hole.  ;D)

Ah figure yuh was jokin/being sarcastic when ah seen the part about "innovation" and America the home of the innovators, but ah didn't want tuh speak for yuh.  ;D Ha,ha
Post by: elan on March 26, 2013, 04:35:09 PM

Ah sorry, ah see whey yuh coming from now. I go hush my doubles hole too. :-[
Title: Klinsman USA
Post by: ANC2 on December 25, 2014, 02:25:09 PM
Interesting discusion here in Europe about Klinsman and USA at the World Cup.

While many especially in the US applauded the US team, many football people feel Klinsman
did not do as well at the WC as Arena nor Bradley. He won 1 game and tied 1, scoring 4 goals
 and was saved from an embarrassing score line by Howard versus. Belgium. US looked completely
out of the depth in that game with both the midfield and back line demonstrating school
boy defending errors.

Now I not judging or hating, Klinsman has done well on the exhibition circuit and this is where
his team is getting the most applause. I for one saw no big improvement in the US team, outside
of the introduction of some German born expats, who raised the standard & contributed to the attack

Bradley team won 1 & tied 2 winning the group & scored 4 as well. When Bradley was fired and teh US hired
Klinsman Sunil claimed that Jurgen was being brought in to get them beyond the quarter finals at the WC level.

Discuss??? ???
Title: Re: Klinsman USA
Post by: coache on December 25, 2014, 03:25:19 PM
I cannot agree more..I felt that he took the USA back to the days of Bora .
Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2014, 03:41:59 PM
Every now and again ppl accuse him of nepotism regarding his son. Any insights?
Post by: Sando prince on December 25, 2014, 07:00:32 PM
USA under-performed at the last WC and Klinsman has to bear some responsibility as coach.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 25, 2014, 07:57:15 PM
USA under-performed at the last WC and Klinsman has to bear some responsibility as coach.

What was supposed to happen?
Post by: Sando prince on December 25, 2014, 08:50:01 PM

What was supposed to happen?

I expected the U.S. to go even further because they were playing well before the World Cup. Losing to Belgium in the second round in a game where they did not play to their full potential did not help them. Belgium themselves played poorly in that game. How many games they the US win in the WC ? one.

We can argue all day about them being in a so-called group of death but in the end Ghana and Portugal did not play great against the US
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2014, 10:05:20 PM
I expected the U.S. to go even further because they were playing well before the World Cup. Losing to Belgium in the second round in a game where they did not play to their full potential did not help them. Belgium themselves played poorly in that game. How many games they the US win in the WC ? one.

We can argue all day about them being in a so-called group of death but in the end Ghana and Portugal did not play great against the US

Ghana imploded and but for lack of cohesion and the mutiny in the locker room, easily should have overwhelmed the US.  Andre Ayew alone threw away two great chances, not sitters but chances.  Portugal underperformed, in large part because Cristiano Ronaldo was playing on one leg, and got a much deserved tie for their efforts.  The US played to their level... people are still hung up on the decision to drop Donovan from the squad and many of Klinsmann's detractors will not let him finish... yet DeAndre Yedlin, John Brooks and Julian Green were all influential for the US, with Brooks winning the game for the US against Ghana, and Yedlin playing so well that he's now signed with Tottenham and due to ply his trade in England in a couple weeks.  The US' problem isn't the coach, it isn't his system... it's the players.  Horses for courses.
Title: Re: Juergen Klinsmann Thread.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 11, 2016, 06:45:09 AM
Will JK's exit from US Soccer come by way of St. George's Park? If Wenger is your first choice, how could Klinsi be your second or third?

Could JK really end up as England manager?

Will we have a new, motivated US coach come Jacksonville?
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2016, 07:01:25 AM
After Brexit, why would they want a foreigner, and a German ?
Post by: Mose on July 11, 2016, 08:02:10 AM
Apparently they have decided they don't want a foreigner. Allardyce and Howe are considered to be the frontrunners.
Post by: Thomo on July 11, 2016, 11:41:33 AM
Even if England decides on a foreign manager, it will NEVER be a German!
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2016, 12:10:13 PM
why?
Post by: Thomo on July 11, 2016, 10:52:57 PM
Germans are in their opinion their greatest rivals. Mention Germany here in the UK and WW2 comes up. It's a deep seated hatred passed down from generation to generation. Moreso with Brexit and dislike of Merkel it will NEVER happen.
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2016, 04:26:14 AM
Germans are in their opinion their greatest rivals. Mention Germany here in the UK and WW2 comes up. It's a deep seated hatred passed down from generation to generation. Moreso with Brexit and dislike of Merkel it will NEVER happen.

I know that WW2 still resonant. But I can think about a "million" things the English did that still makes me mad at them. It still does stop me from wanting to coach Man Boo United  ;D
Post by: Thomo on July 12, 2016, 04:45:29 AM
That may well be true but it's never going to happen. Even.if you take out WW2 there is a serious rivalry and British football fans though subdued as compared to how they were in the 80s won't have it. You think Jamaicans will allow a Trini coach; or Brazil with Simeone as manager; or Scotland with an English manager?? That Scotland one is sacrilege. I'm actually sitting next to A Scot at the minute and he says he won't accept an English manager ever.
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2016, 05:45:46 AM
You think Jamaicans will allow a Trini coach;

Actually if Hart is available they might take him. Stranger things have happened. The Irish had Jack Charlton as their coach. And you know how the Irish "love" the English