Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on January 07, 2006, 06:40:53 AM

Title: Why not Soca-Chutney Warriors?
Post by: Sam on January 07, 2006, 06:40:53 AM
Why not Soca-Chutney Warriors?

On a point of intellectual curiosity, why not Soca-Chutney Warriors instead of "Soca Warriors"?
"Here every creed and race finds an equal place." Am I correct? It does not matter that there are no Indians on the national football team: that is quite irrelevant. That is so because there no Indians skilfully worthy of playing football at this level and by extension being able to make the World Cup squad. But to sell us to the world by using a term which expresses only part of our culture is abominable.
How would the USA name their team and sell it to the world under similar circumstances? "Rock Warriors?" "Hip Hop Warriors?" "Jazz Warriors?" "Pop Warriors?" Or would they find an all-inclusive name which expresses their diversity of its white, black, Asian, Hispanic population?
In South Africa, there has been something called "affirmative action" which, simply put, was designed to give blacks their rightful position/place in the society. Hence, the rise of Black fast bowler Ntini and others on the cricket team, thereby transforming an exclusively white team into something more akin to the real South Africa.
It is quite the opposite with cricket in T&T: there are more Indians on the national team at the moment and even the captain Daren Ganga is Indian. Are we to call them "Chutney Cricketers"? Even the WI cricket team are led by two Indians Shiv Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan. Chutney cricketers?

Anil Mahabir
Cunupia
Trinidad Express Newspapers.
Title: Re: Why not Soca-Chutney Warriors?
Post by: Carib-Briton on January 07, 2006, 06:45:57 AM
That sound wrong :-\ no offense intended but to me it does.
Its not just africans that listen to soca. a Nick name has nothing to do with race, unless it was called the NEGRO warriors ::). Let get back to talking about FOOTBALL.lol
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 07:03:24 AM
Its not just africans that listen to soca. a Nick name has nothing to do with race, unless it was called the NEGRO warriors ::). Let get back to talking about FOOTBALL.lol
Agreed. Talk about having a chip on your shoulder. By the way, Soca is far more representative of everyone in T&T. African, Indian, Chinese and Syrian have all sang soca. I have only seen one group singing chutney.
Post by: bill on January 07, 2006, 07:12:23 AM
soca-chutney-..... you can make this a very long list. Soca is WE ting.. it belongs to all people of Trinidad and is widely accepted as the national music of our country. Let get real.... SOCA WARRIORS will remain as is, it simply a TRINI ting not a race ting.
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 07:28:41 AM
so what go happen to ex-tempo ???

soca-chutney-extempo-warriors ;D
Post by: JDB on January 07, 2006, 07:29:42 AM
Yeah this Anil man is making little sense.

I can only assume from his argument that he only listens to Chutney and feels that he is not being represented by the word Soca- . If so he is missing out on some real good music.

Also that analogy with the US is so dotish.

What is the single ethnicity that listens to "pop" or jazz, or hip hop for that matter.

Post by: saga pinto on January 07, 2006, 07:53:45 AM
This guy needs to get a life and stop spewing racism which this clearly shows,somebody needs to educate this man that soca is trini regardless of race,chutney historically was created and sung by trini indians.the big problem in trinidad is that everybody have this focus on identifying with there race what's up with that as I remember ah trini is ah trini. 
Post by: Girl Warrior on January 07, 2006, 07:54:43 AM
That guy is a bit closed minded, he needs to use his peripherals. He starts off "On a point of intellectual curiosity" oh please! He just wants to stir up some sort of race issue when it's absolutely uncalled for. He should have had some of his Indian and non Indian friends proof-read his contribution before he submitted it.
btw.. I like morvantman's suggestion more

Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:05:44 AM
That guy is a bit closed minded, he needs to use his peripherals. He starts off "On a point of intellectual curiosity" oh please! He just wants to stir up some sort of race issue when it's absolutely uncalled for. He should have had some of his Indian and non Indian friends proof-read his contribution before he submitted it.

I eh know bout the close minded claim ...  if he was close minded he would not be asking questions??? soca is trini and trini is soca, plain and simple..that would be my response to his letter...

BTW..chutney listeners, is chutney something invented in TnT?
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 08:13:15 AM

I eh know bout the close minded claim ...  if he was close minded he would not be asking questions??? soca is trini and trini is soca, plain and simple..that would be my response to his letter...

he close minded no ass

But to sell us to the world by using a term which expresses only part of our culture is abominable.
Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:15:57 AM

he close minded no ass

But to sell us to the world by using a term which expresses only part of our culture is abominable.

no that would american.. where you can't have a mind of your own, nor have questions... my bad .. he have ah indian sounding name so you have to jump on he chest... we know you love your indians :o
Post by: JDB on January 07, 2006, 08:17:58 AM
no that would american.. where you can't have a mind of your own, nor have questions... my bad .. he have ah indian sounding name so you have to jump on he chest... we know you love your indians :o

Allyuh men starting early today boy.
Post by: Girl Warrior on January 07, 2006, 08:21:24 AM
Thanks truetrini. Jumbie, just because someone asks questions doesn't make them open-minded. He seems to enjoy the bliss of his ignorance. He asks questions to incite a reaction out of other close minded ppl, not to educate and share positive vibes.The race thing does not matter to me one bit.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 08:21:44 AM

he close minded no ass

Aye I see somebody wearing a jersey once and it say soca and nutten about chutney on it...remember?

The man brought race into the equation...why?  He mentioned the zIndian cricketers...why?   In fact his premise is so damn ridiculous it eh funny.  Is Soca in T&T purely fuh those of african descent?

If de answer is no...den he needs to shut tuh f**k up!
Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:22:55 AM

lack of football on the tv have meh tisic this am... ah feel ah have to drive dong toronto for some double to keep me busy. I'll grab some Wendys for TT, since we know he eh touching no indian food. he close minded like dat.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 08:24:33 AM

lack of football on the tv have meh tisic this am... ah feel ah have to drive dong toronto for some double to keep me busy. I'll grab some Wendys for TT, since we know he eh touching no indian food. he close minded like dat.

me eh know if yuh serious eh..but if you are.......let me know so ah could say..something.
Post by: Sando on January 07, 2006, 08:25:12 AM
So call de team Dougla Warriors.....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: JDB on January 07, 2006, 08:26:01 AM
Yeah it real shitty that they don't show the FA Cup on the free channel.

But don't worry this is wild card weekend, have some good games this evening.

Ah feel TT is a Redskins fan.
Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:26:16 AM
Thanks truetrini. Jumbie, just because someone asks questions doesn't make them open-minded. He seems to enjoy the bliss of his ignorance. He asks questions to incite a reaction out of other close minded ppl, not to educate and share positive vibes.The race thing does not matter to me one bit.

I eh go bodda.. it seems Trini gone cuban.
Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:27:34 AM

yea, them games sounding good (Wild card) but ah man real tie dong wid work.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 08:28:55 AM

I hate de redstinks,  and I doh like dat game.

de man who calling me american is ah big gymnastics fan, loves ice skating and ice hockey,,,does back de canadian women's national team, and doh miss he NFL fantasy league at all.

so dere yuh have de irony ah he shit statement.

Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:29:36 AM

me eh know if yuh serious eh..but if you are.......let me know so ah could say..something.

Like is today you know me?? keep me updated on that thing you message me bout. ah gone.. 4 meh doubles now.
Post by: warmonga on January 07, 2006, 08:29:46 AM

On a point of intellectual curiosity, why not Soca-Chutney Warriors instead of "Soca Warriors"?
"Here every creed and race finds an equal place." Am I correct? It does not matter that there are no Indians on the national football team: that is quite irrelevant. That is so because there no Indians skilfully worthy of playing football at this level and by extension being able to make the World Cup squad. But to sell us to the world by using a term which expresses only part of our culture is abominable.
How would the USA name their team and sell it to the world under similar circumstances? "Rock Warriors?" "Hip Hop Warriors?" "Jazz Warriors?" "Pop Warriors?" Or would they find an all-inclusive name which expresses their diversity of its white, black, Asian, Hispanic population?
In South Africa, there has been something called "affirmative action" which, simply put, was designed to give blacks their rightful position/place in the society. Hence, the rise of Black fast bowler Ntini and others on the cricket team, thereby transforming an exclusively white team into something more akin to the real South Africa.
It is quite the opposite with cricket in T&T: there are more Indians on the national team at the moment and even the captain Daren Ganga is Indian. Are we to call them "Chutney Cricketers"? Even the WI cricket team are led by two Indians Shiv Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan. Chutney cricketers?

Anil Mahabir
Cunupia
Lawd this ting getin out a hand.. next ting yu know de chinee man and dem spanish and dem go start this sh*t too.... help mi out people ley we fix this before thing really get out a hand.. Here is de new name for de team....
" chuntney, parang, socawarriors"
I sorry I forget mi chinee frien dem but I aint know what type a music de Chineese invented so I pass on dat one..
Dem flickin writers and dem is one set a dunce!!!!!!!!!!!

Everybody know we Indian love we rum and we chutney Music a have no time for football is "rum till I die"
Warmonga...
Post by: Jumbie on January 07, 2006, 08:31:02 AM

I hate de redstinks,  and I doh like dat game.

de man who calling me american is ah big gymnastics fan, loves ice skating and ice hockey,,,does back de canadian women's national team, and doh miss he NFL fantasy league at all.

so dere yuh have de irony ah he shit statement.

boy, why you letting out people business! Doh hate the game simply because you eh understand it nah.. me eh like big thing, but me eh hate you cause you like dem.
Post by: dombasil on January 07, 2006, 08:33:13 AM
That is a pure racial comment. People who see race in everything are generally racial themselves because they are bringing their own perception to the issue. Soca is a trini thing. And yuh know when the team was ketching dey ass with one point.Nobody had a problem with de name but now we going Germany and every Tom, Dick and Harrysingh have something to say.
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 08:35:25 AM
That is a pure racial comment. People who see race in everything are generally racial themselves because they are bringing their own perception to the issue. Soca is a trini thing. And yuh know when the team was ketching dey ass with one point.Nobody had a problem with de name but now we going Germany and every Tom, Dick and Harrysingh have something to say.

de man say harrysingh to be politically correct oui
Post by: ballfever on January 07, 2006, 08:38:09 AM
to my intellectually curious, yet ignorant friend.....
soca, as created by lord shorty, later known as ras shorty i, was a fusion of african and east indian rhythms and melodies.check your t&t music archives for the hit "om shanti"
thus "soca warriors" does indeed express the culture of our two major races.
close minded, maybe...myopic definitely! ah trini is ah trini is ah trini...indian trini, chinee trini, african trini, dougla trini....... :beermug:
Post by: College on January 07, 2006, 10:02:05 AM
talk done...
Post by: MickeyRat on January 07, 2006, 10:38:53 AM
Shit why not: Groovy Soca Warriors
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 07, 2006, 10:43:29 AM
this topic is pointless, especially since dis man dont know the origins and wat forms soca music, riddim and socapro need tuh give him a lecture
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 10:52:11 AM

Anil Mahabir
Cunupia

Sam, on the Trini scene I don't think the term Soca refers to only one segment of the population. Soca is for all Trinis and in my opinion so should Chutney. Plus "Soca-Chutney warriors doh have the same flow, it doh roll off your tongue like soca warriors.   
Post by: Andre on January 07, 2006, 11:54:56 AM
this must be the most schupid thing i ever read.

parang warriors anyone?...but only around Christmas time.
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 12:07:52 PM
alright then...let's say supposedly T&T (after we leave the West Indies) cricket team qualify for the cricket World Cup and they only had East Indians and lets say some of the other minorities..with no players of African decent.

what exactly would some of you all say if someone like Selwyn Cudjoe or Umbala Joseph made similar comments bout not calling the team "Soca Cricketers"?
Post by: dombasil on January 07, 2006, 12:11:58 PM
Dey eh qualifing for nuthing because all de local ones fraid pace.
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 12:57:33 PM
alright then...let's say supposedly T&T (after we leave the West Indies) cricket team qualify for the cricket World Cup and they only had East Indians and lets say some of the other minorities..with no players of African decent.

what exactly would some of you all say if someone like Selwyn Cudjoe or Umbala Joseph made similar comments bout not calling the team "Soca Cricketers"?

i think the term soca in soca warriors refers to the music of the country rather than the race of the players.
Post by: football prof on January 07, 2006, 01:08:09 PM
Soca chutney warriors...please! Everything that put Trinidad on the world stage has been done by people of Afrikan descent. The origins of carnival is based upon Afrikan struggle for liberation. The steel drum was made by people of Afrikan descent. Alot of people in foreign and in Trinidad feel that all races in Trinidad developed carnival and the steel drum as a collective. But that is not true. Carnival and the steel drum originated because of the oppression experienced by Afrikans in Trinidad.  

To call the team soca chutney warriors is a punk off to the Afri-Trinidadian. Soca already emphasizes Trinidad. So soca chutney would only emphasize indo-trinidadians.

Qualification for the world cup is a Trinidad accomplishment , but most of all it is a Afri-Trinidadian or Afri-Caribbean accomplishment ! If anything the Afrikan presence of the team should be emphasized because the whole team is of Afrikan descent (with the exception of one).

I have love for all humans, but to suggest that the team should be called soca chutney warriors is an example of bootlegging. For people who feel that this is racists, this is the truth.  Check your history!
Post by: Socaman on January 07, 2006, 01:12:29 PM
This is a stupid topic...Anil if we call them Soca Chuntey Extempo Kasio Warriors yuh go be happy?? :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 01:18:04 PM
Soca chutney warriors...please! Everything that put Trinidad on the world stage has been done by people of Afrikan descent. The origins of carnival is based upon Afrikan struggle for liberation. The steel drum was made by people of Afrikan descent. Alot of people in foreign and in Trinidad feel that all races in Trinidad developed carnival and the steel drum as a collective. But that is not true. Carnival and the steel drum originated because of the oppression experienced by Afrikans in Trinidad.  

To call the team soca chutney warriors is a punk off to the Afri-Trinidadian. Soca already emphasizes Trinidad. So soca chutney would only emphasize indo-trinidadians.

Qualification for the world cup is a Trinidad accomplishment , but most of all it is a Afri-Trinidadian or Afri-Caribbean accomplishment ! If anything the Afrikan presence of the team should be emphasized because the whole team is of Afrikan descent (with the exception of one).

I have love for all humans, but to suggest that the team should be called soca chutney warriors is an example of bootlegging. For people who feel that this is racists, this is the truth.  Check your history!

aye..we all know the writer talking a pack ah shit bout naming the team soca-chutney warriors.
but i think you way off the mark cause you making a statement similar to him..i ent see what this have to do with Afrikans struggling for freedom and the development of carnival.and you cant call yourslef a Trini if you knit-picking and saying 'everything that done to put Trinidad on the world stage was done by people of Afrikan decent'

i feel you is Selwyn Cudjoe in digsuise lol
Post by: ballfever on January 07, 2006, 01:27:06 PM

prof, dis post ain't no better dan wha anil write...yuh still tryin tuh hold brief for a particular race, instead ah focusin on nationality. nobody will discount what people of either race have done to contribute to the nation, but that is just not the point!
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 01:42:03 PM

Jit Samaroo tell meh tuh tell yuh hello.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 01:49:14 PM
Like we forget Rapso or what? We cyah upset Brother Resistance and dem fellas from behind-de-bride ;D
Post by: dumpalewie on January 07, 2006, 02:01:29 PM
Chutney, Parang, Fry Rice, Cloth Selling SocaWarriors

That would be the most representative name.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:03:34 PM
Since URP and Kidnapping is such ah big part ah we national consciousness now..how about.........

dis is so much shot it eh funny at all!
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 02:09:11 PM

yeah..tell then bout the fella who discover rabies too
i feel yoiu is a Professor of Foot & Mouth yes lol
Post by: football prof on January 07, 2006, 02:10:34 PM
I was just saying the things that has made Trinidad known on the world stage, whether its sports( Hasley, Ato, Lara, Yorke, etc),  arts (Carnival, Soca, Calypso, Steel drum) or scholarship ( CLR James, Tony Martin, Dr Nantambu, Stokely Carmichael aka Kwame Ture, Eric Williams etc) have been accomplishments by Afri-Trinidadians.

I was just using my history to back up my point of why it should not be soca chutney warriors. If we were to use that same logic then the Afrikan presence of the team should be emphasized because of the teams composition.

Felziano you know exactly what I am talking about. I was not saying that this is about Afrikan liberation. All I was saying is that Trinidad has become known internationally because of these accomplishments made by the people I mentioned above.

My question is this ... Why didnt the suggestion to change the name to soca chutney warrors come up before they qualified for the cup? Is it that some people of indian descent feel left out, because no one on the team is indian?

As for Felziano, I guess you dont know the history of Trinidad carnival or the origins of the steel drum.

Soca warriors is a good name. It emphasizes Trinidad. Those who feel that  soca only emphasizes one part of the culture, must be identifying with only one part of the culture. In other words they consider race before nation.  
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:16:53 PM

yeah..tell then bout the fella who discover rabies too
i feel yoiu is a Professor of Foot & Mouth yes lol

while de white man was instrumental in creating particular kinds of discourses about the character of the "Indian" and the "Negro" in order to make their case for the need for indentured labor. Caricatures of the luxury-loving, lazy, immoral Negro and of the docile, hardworking and cunning Indian abound in planter discourses of the period soon after emancipation. Many of these derogatory racial stereotypes continue to this day as the two groups use these same caricatures to undermine one another.

Allyuh real good, dat is why Panday is ah shit hound..!  And dat is why we have ah long ass thread on dis FOOTBALL forum about BULLSHIT.  Dat is why T&T so f**ked up nowadays and dat is why we cyar get no real action and bipartisan work done tuh develop de nation.

haul allyuh ass!
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 02:18:42 PM
I was just saying the things that has made Trinidad known on the world stage, whether its sports( Hasley, Ato, Lara, Yorke, etc),  arts (Carnival, Soca, Calypso, Steel drum) or scholarship ( CLR James, Tony Martin, Dr Nantambu, Stokely Carmichael aka Kwame Ture, Eric Williams etc) have been accomplishments by Afri-Trinidadians.

Eric Williams was an Afri-Trinidadian? Yuh learn something new everyday yes.
Post by: Marlon on January 07, 2006, 02:21:38 PM
what a foolish letter. ::)

i see fazeer bitching about how much more money roy cape get than some tassa group in yesterday express.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:25:09 PM

so was he afro-trini den?

what is yuh point?
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 02:28:43 PM

WELL...WHAT WAS ERIC THEN???
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 02:28:49 PM
Quote from: truetrini link=topic=10117.msg90568#msg90568

[quote

what is yuh point?

He was not! But we could debate that on another site. This forum is about football.
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 02:31:23 PM
Quote from: truetrini link=topic=10117.msg90568#msg90568

[quote

what is yuh point?

He was not! But we could debate that on another site. This forum is about football.

YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:32:44 PM
(http://users.rcn.com/alana.interport/eric.gif)
well he look it uh me..ah suppose he was ah dougla ent?
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 02:35:45 PM

what is yuh point?
He was mixed, but had more french creole in him than any other thing. He never got into the indian and african ole talk and ah wish more peole would do like him.
Post by: football prof on January 07, 2006, 02:38:32 PM
I agree that national unity will change things. However, its ideas like soca chutney warriors that takes Trinidad 2 steps back.

Also if we are to acheive national unity there should be equality in the economics. One or two groups should not have more economic clout or power than the others.

Trinidad needs unity between Afrikan and Indian. But the economics, social conditions, and politics need to be equal before we can achieve unity.  

Uniting does not mean unity in our day to day lives. It means an equal distribution of wealth, politics everything!

Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:40:21 PM
french creole?  mixed?  Eric Eustace Williams?  Massa day done Eric we talking about?  De same man who teach History at Howard?

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

Post by: Savannah boy on January 07, 2006, 02:42:34 PM
Ah doh see how football prof could come with an angle like dat. Man talking about a football nick name, you start talking about de team race composition, history of steel drum and talking about Stokley Carmichael world famous which is not completely true. He famous but world famous? TrueTrini right to call Samaroo name.  He should have thrown in Naipaul too since yuh open dat gate. How could de name Chutney bring out such a venemous response and on a football forum...eh Mr. Prof?  If Sam like de name...dat is he opinion. Yuh could let it pass but NO...yuh have to jump in dey wit ah ratchet. When Sam come back, yuh go hear a set of cussing and yuh know what...yuh go deserve it.
Post by: Savannah boy on January 07, 2006, 02:44:31 PM
TT doh debate wit a man spelling Africa like Afrika like he is a white South African.   :o  :D
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 02:47:29 PM
(http://users.rcn.com/alana.interport/eric.gif)
well he look it uh me..ah suppose he was ah dougla ent?

ah doh kno bout you behind-de-bridge but this looks like an African-Trinidadian to me(and I'm one too) but then again as you said...we learn something new everyday ;D
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 02:48:45 PM
french creole?  mixed?  Eric Eustace Williams?  Massa day done Eric we talking about?  De same man who teach History at Howard?

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

de doc was so intelligent, dat up to this day he have people thinking he was African. Because he said 'Masa day done' that make him African? That phrase pertained to all lazy, lackadaisical Trinibagonians and not just those of African descent. Go and research his family history and tell me which one of his parents were of 'African descent'.
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 02:50:10 PM
if trini take 2 steps back then we go fall off de cliff ;D
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 02:55:43 PM

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

de doc was so intelligent, dat up to this day he have people thinking he was African. Because he said 'Masa day done' that make him African? That phrase pertained to all lazy, lackadaisical Trinibagonians and not just those of African descent. Go and research his family history and tell me which one of his parents were of 'African descent'.

Yuh gorn mad!  Dat quote was fuh lazy Trinis?

yuh lorse fella real lorse!  yuh ever read any ah eric books?  name 3.  he is ah black man,,not an ounce ah french creole,,he marry woman who was french creole and he was ah sorf man with woman as dem reportedly use to boss him around.

breds yuh wrong,, yuh  ever see de man in person?

Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 02:58:15 PM
wait so he not african. wheysss that man get ah serious tan in trini boy. or was it bago?
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 03:00:26 PM

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

please tell us yuh jes kicksin'...by anybody in the world's standard... well maybe not yours... Eric Williams was an African Trinidadian. He was also the quintessential politician and he knew how to manipulate race politics for the benefit of the PNM but doh geh tie up Eric was African Trini. French creole and all dem ting is irrelevant, all ah we mixed up with something ;D
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 03:02:57 PM
what next we didnt  invent palau ???
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 07, 2006, 03:07:02 PM
allyuh makin we sound just like dem blasted americans.italian american this,native american that,african american.way yuh born dat is wuh yuh is.
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 03:08:51 PM
allyuh makin we sound just like dem blasted americans.italian american this,native american that,african american.way yuh born dat is wuh yuh is.

so am i a morvant?
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 03:10:53 PM

well that's how it should be, unfortunately humans tend to notice differences rather than similarities. It's a pity though, we can accomplish so much more working together than apart.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 03:13:03 PM

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

please tell us yuh jes kicksin'...by anybody in the world's standard... well maybe not yours... Eric Williams was an African Trinidadian. He was also the quintessential politician and he knew how to manipulate race politics for the benefit of the PNM but doh geh tie up Eric was African Trini. French creole and all dem ting is irrelevant, all ah we mixed up with something ;D

Read this 'Massa day done' lecture by de doc in 1961 and tell where it says that HE is African? http://fulltext10.fcla.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=author;c=eew;xg=1;rgn=work;sort=author;view=toc;cc=eew;start=1;size=25;subview=fullcitation;idno=UF00001620;node=UF00001620%3A1

Becuase de man was brown and wasn't called Harrylal, everybody saying de man was African. De man was a person full stop. Being the founder of the PNM does not make him African either. As many Indo-Trinidadians co-founded that party Kamal Mohammed etc.

Anyway if you guys want to call him African..fix up.
Post by: kicker on January 07, 2006, 03:13:20 PM
funny thing is if there was no soca, there would be no chutney...Chutney is hybrid of indian music and soca......

anyway....soca is the music of Trinidad regardless of race.....and Chutney should be the same....the man writing that letter was trying to make a point, and failed but the bigger picture in light of his point is that some indians in Trinidad still struggle to identify with their "Trinidadian-ness", and are therefore constantly looking for inclusion and a sense of ownership and belonging.....

Inidans are the biggest ethnic group in Trinidad, yet some may still consider indo-Trini culture as a sub culture or an alternative culture compared pure "Trini" culture (to some extent).

examples:

pelau is trini food- roti is indian food. (truth is our style of roti is as Trini as pelau is, and both dishes have their origins outside of Trinidad)

soca is trini music- chutney is indian music (truth is chutney is as Trini as soca.....in fact as mentioned earlier, chutney came out of soca)

point is, instead of writing off the article as rubbish, try to realize the deeper underlying issues that such a letter to the editor highlights.

When all "indo-Trini" culture becomes just Trini, (eg doubles and tassa are no longer considered "indian", but just Trini).... letters to the editor of such nature will be come a thing of the past
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 03:15:24 PM
TT doh debate wit a man spelling Africa like Afrika like he is a white South African.   :o  :D

ah was going to hit him with that too lol
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 03:19:20 PM

De Founder ah de PNM?
If yuh say so breds.

Read this 'Massa day done' lecture by de doc in 1961 and tell where it says that HE is African? http://fulltext10.fcla.edu/cgi/t/text/text-idx?type=author;c=eew;xg=1;rgn=work;sort=author;view=toc;cc=eew;start=1;size=25;subview=fullcitation;idno=UF00001620;node=UF00001620%3A1

Becuase de man was brown and wasn't called Harrylal, everybody saying de man was African. De man was a person full stop. Being the founder of the PNM does not make him African either. As many Indo-Trinidadians co-founded that party Kamal Mohammed etc.

Anyway if you guys want to call him African..fix up.

he was ah black man plain and simple..making him afro-trini!

If yuh feel dat massa day odne speech did not show dat he was balck..go back and re-read it!  The mere fact dat he ahd to empahsize dat he had no intention of making it a racially divise issue illustrates this point.  Why make such a statement then?

I done.
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 03:21:21 PM
As for Felziano, I guess you dont know the history of Trinidad carnival or the origins of the steel drum.

how could u say that?lol..boy me ent give a rats ass bout carnival, steelpan or chutney..me ent care who vex.
i learn enough basics in school bout carnival and slavery..if ah wanted to know more..maybe i woulda become a profesor or something.

also i seem to remember Eric williams mother was part east indian or something so from my primary school days..i clearly remember he mother used to put coconut oil in his hair and put a path in it..tell me if that not true then..oh and he went QRC too lol
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 07, 2006, 03:23:41 PM

so am i a morvant?
yeah and i is port of spain general hospital.meh middle name is ward 4
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 07, 2006, 03:25:27 PM

how could u say that?lol..boy me ent give a rats ass bout carnival, steelpan or chutney..me ent care who vex.
i learn enough basics in school bout carnival and slavery..if ah wanted to know more..maybe i woulda become a profesor or something.

also i seem to remember Eric williams mother was part east indian or something so from my primary school days..i clearly remember he mother used to put coconut oil in his hair and put a path in it..tell me if that not true then..oh and he went QRC too lol
feliziano yuh didn have mousse or a lil gel self.
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 03:28:22 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eric_Williams

on here they say he mother was a French creole

maybe they used bees wax or something else in that time too Capo lol
Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 07, 2006, 03:29:56 PM

he was ah black man plain and simple..making him afro-trini!

If yuh feel dat massa day odne speech did not show dat he was balck..go back and re-read it! The mere fact dat he ahd to empahsize dat he had no intention of making it a racially divise issue illustrates this point. Why make such a statement then?

I done.

Take note of a quote from dat speech:
All that they can see in the slogan, Massa Day Done, is
racial antagonism. This is characteristically stupid. Massa is not a racial term. Massa
is the symbol of a bygone age. Massa Day is a social phenomenon: Massa Day
Done connotes a political awakening and a social revolution.
I done too.
Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 03:32:22 PM
eric was not ah dougla!  de man used to refer to indians as ignorant...steups.

read this.

http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EEWilliamsbyRohlehr.html

despite what anyone might pretend,,Eric wanted to build T&T upon a stricly Afro_trinidadian construct!

Plain and Simple.

Ask VB what he grand father had to endure under Eric Williams.

by the way,,,read the entire speech,  He was responding to criticsms made by the DLP!

Please read the entire speech and see who massa was in tolatality...according to Eric!

Please do!
Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 03:34:51 PM
eric was not ah dougla!  de man used to refer to indians as ignorant...steups.

read this.

http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EEWilliamsbyRohlehr.html

despite what anyone might pretend,,Eric wanted to build T&T upon a stricly Afro_trinidadian construct!

Plain and Simple.

Ask VB what he grand father had to endure under Eric Williams.

by the way,,,read the entire speech,  He was responding to criticsms made by the DLP!

Please read the entire speech and see who massa was in tolatality...according to Eric!

Please do!

thanks fuh enlightening meh True lol
the man was more racial than i imagined..and people proud of he..steups
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 07, 2006, 03:43:46 PM
so wuh allyuh tellin me is that we had ah racial f**ker in williams.oh lord.then we follow he up with ah dotish f**ker in chambers,ah doh know wuh kinda f**ker robinson was.then we had de drunk f**ker in panday,now we have de f**kin f**ker in manning.trini still sweet.
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 03:44:33 PM
I don't think prof made any error in using a k in Afrika but he might explain that himself later on.

What TT is saying about Williams is true.  How you yourself choose to identify yourself is a big part of who you are.
Now if Birchie say he is a Afro-Trini that might be a stretch   ;D

Kicker.....a good bit of people call peleau creole food and not just trini food so it goes both ways.
You are right people of indian descent are still searching for inclusion in the national identity.....perhaps that is natural considering history.

There is little benefit holding on to ethnic identities while in T&T.  Perhaps when moving abroad it helps connect with networks but within the country it disempowers the people.  We young and growing so hopefully things move in the right direction and we think country first.  Funny enough I think alot of ethnicities outside of the majority ethnicities have adopted this.
Post by: morvant on January 07, 2006, 03:46:18 PM
I don't think prof made any error in using a k in Afrika but he might explain that himself later on.

What TT is saying about Williams is true.  How you yourself choose to identify yourself is a big part of who you are.

Kicker.....a good bit of people call peleau creole food and not just trini food so it goes both ways.
You are right people of indian descent are still searching for inclusion in the national identity.....perhaps that is natural considering history.

There is little benefit holding on to ethnic identities while in T&T.  Perhaps when moving abroad it helps connect with networks but within the country it disempowers the people.  We young and growing so hopefully things move in the right direction and we think country first.  Funny enough I think alot of ethnicities outside of the majority ethnicities have adopted this.

palau only turn creole when yuh add the golden ray ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 07, 2006, 03:51:59 PM

palau only turn creole when yuh add the golden ray ;D
so if ah rub de salt butta on meh tolee ah could tell meh wife she bullin with ah creole.
Post by: dcs on January 07, 2006, 04:00:48 PM
so if ah rub de salt butta on meh tolee ah could tell meh wife she bullin with ah creole.

Post by: kicker on January 07, 2006, 04:04:04 PM

not sure about that, but she will definitely taste the "rich creole flavour"  ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on January 07, 2006, 04:05:12 PM
dr williams was a dougla, i know about his family, but he was very much afrocentric in his approach, sometimes neglecting his indian roots also
Post by: JDB on January 07, 2006, 04:08:45 PM
This thread start off bad and end up worse.

Football prof you have to be a kind of dunce to be pushing a head about Afro-trinis being the only ones to put TnT on the map. I will not even bother to call names because it is not a competition, we are all Trinis.

Soca warriors is not the name becaus eof the African influence or whatever shit you thinking about it is because it is Trini. Your argument is jsut as flawed as the Anil man.

Also about Pelau...

I remember I was liming an indian thing once, fresh off the boat from India, and I mention Pelau. She recognize the word and asked what it was. Apparently they have a rice and peas dish in India also that they call pelau so it might not be as Afro-trinias we think.

Which just proves the point that Trini things are Trini things full stop. Delineating Afro-trini from Indo-trini is pointless because it is hundreds of years since we see Africa or India.

Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 04:13:53 PM
Also about Pelau...

I remember I was liming an indian thing once, fresh off the boat from India, and I mention Pelau. She recognize the word and asked what it was. Apparently they have a rice and peas dish in India also that they call pelau so it might not be as Afro-trinias we think.

yeah and it have rice "pilaf' from the middle east too lol
then with my family it have 'paella'..which much better than pelau cause it have a whole lot more meat  ;D
anyway it have lots of dishes around the world similar in nature but they just have different names..look at roti and tortillas..pasta and dumplings..and the list could go on.

Post by: ricky on January 07, 2006, 04:20:37 PM

Which just proves the point that Trini things are Trini things full stop. Delineating Afro-trini from Indo-trini is pointless because it is hundreds of years since we see Africa or India.

:applause:
Post by: DeSoWa on January 07, 2006, 04:24:58 PM

not sure about that, but she will definitely taste the "rich creole flavour"  ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on January 07, 2006, 04:29:47 PM
This thread start off bad and end up worse.

Football prof you have to be a kind of dunce to be pushing a head about Afro-trinis being the only ones to put TnT on the map. I will not even bother to call names because it is not a competition, we are all Trinis.

Soca warriors is not the name becaus eof the African influence or whatever shit you thinking about it is because it is Trini. Your argument is jsut as flawed as the Anil man.

Also about Pelau...

who said pelau was afro-Trini ?

I may have missed it, but I said that people think of Pelau as "Trini" with no prefix (afro or indo).......yet think of roti as "indo-trini"......point being that indian culture in Trinidad is often seen as a sub culture, and it shouldn't be.......chutney music is as trini as soca music....but I'm not sure if Trinis see it that way...soca has african, french & spanish origins, all blended to become Trinidadian....

chutney just added one more piece of flavour to soca....an indian flavour.....it is no less Trinidadian.....

people consider soca Trini music with no racial denomination.....chutney is still regarded an indian artform.....why is that ?

........yeah "pelau" is not exclusive to Trinidad though.......I also discovered that a while ago.
Post by: vb on January 07, 2006, 04:40:59 PM
Soca Curry United Warriors??? ;D ;D

Post by: Savannah boy on January 07, 2006, 04:51:07 PM
JDB de dish from India is caled Pullao and it eh have no meat in it.
Post by: Pointman on January 07, 2006, 05:44:46 PM
Soca Curry United Warriors??? ;D ;D

:rotfl: ah like dat name...vibes it up!!!
Post by: football prof on January 07, 2006, 06:04:53 PM
My intent was not to divide we. Whoever suggested and agrees that chutney should be in the title must be thinking race first. In a situation like Trinidad we need nationalism before race because it has the potential to divide us.

Its obvious that those who argue with the spelling of Afrika with a "k" do not know anything about language. Fine then from now on I will spell it with a "c" to make those who are not racially conscious happy. Also, to try and debunk my argument because of my spelling of Africa with a k is petty.

Whoever tried to use the argument of Eric Williams racial composition against me is cheap. Why didnt you use Yorke, or Hasley or Ato?

I was not saying that indians did not contribute to Trinidad culture. All I was saying was that the major accomplishments that gave Trinidad a name on the international stage have been done by Black or African Trinidadians. Its the truth.

I know indians did contribute in the literary area and some are known internationally. Like Naipaul.

I was not trying to nit pick on who did what. The argument might have gone in that direction because of what I was arguing.

I am not racist and I do not have the economic or political power to be racist. I am sorry if I offended anyone but it is the truth whether you like it or not. The reality is that Trinidad might not have been so rich in culture without the diversity.

To be ignorant to your history is to be ignorant to yourself. Whether you are Afrikan oops I meant African Trinidadian or Indian Trinidadian. Sorry for those who got offended... but as the saying goes you cant handle the truth.

Post by: Feliziano on January 07, 2006, 07:35:58 PM
well forgive me for not knowing meh languages.
but since when "Afrika" is a noun, verb or whatever you want to call it in English?
AfriKa is German for Africa.
yuh sure yuh ent get yuh spelling wrong and was trying to spell 'Afrikaan"?
which by the way was a Dutch/German dialect..i hope yuh knew that lol

from what i deduce there..u saying that only the major accomplishments done by Trinidadians are by the black folks and that whatever an east indian or chinee did isnt worthy enough?
maybe is cause the black decendants have more muscle tone from running from lions and tigers all through their evolution..and are therefore more atlethic.
whereas all other people just used 'walk' away from elephants or other non-dangerous threats..maybe their brain developed better from being more observant in their surroundings..hence now they good at medicine and literature..oh and cricket lol.

if you could talk crap..i could do just as well  :beermug:

Post by: truetrini on January 07, 2006, 07:42:00 PM
well forgive me for not knowing meh languages.
but since when "Afrika" is a noun, verb or whatever you want to call it in English?
AfriKa is German for Africa.
yuh sure yuh ent get yuh spelling wrong and was trying to spell 'Afrikaan"?
which by the way was a Dutch/German dialect..i hope yuh knew that lol

from what i deduce there..u saying that only the major accomplishments done by Trinidadians are by the black folks and that whatever an east indian or chinee did isnt worthy enough?
maybe is cause the black decendants have more muscle tone from running from lions and tigers all through their evolution..and are therefore more atlethic.
whereas all other people just used 'walk' away from elephants or other non-dangerous threats..maybe their brain developed better from being more observant in their surroundings..hence now they good at medicine and literature..oh and cricket lol.

if you could talk crap..i could do just as well  :beermug:

Tell dem brother tell dem..Afikaans is what dem Boers and dem dutch bastards use to refer tuh deyself.  De inventors ah arpatheid
Post by: ballfever on January 07, 2006, 09:11:20 PM
so am i a morvant?
yeah and i is port of spain general hospital.meh middle name is ward 4
not sure about that, but she will definitely taste the "rich creole flavour" ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
trust mih,dis is d most amount ah shit ah read in a long while!!!
fabien an spragalang go be proud!!!
Post by: football prof on January 08, 2006, 02:04:29 AM
Felziano...  I know you just jealous. There is no proof of what you are saying. But there is more than enough proof of what i am saying. This is nothing to be angry about. You know and every person from the caribbean know that  black folks put Trinidad on the map.

Please provide some factual evidence to what you are saying. I did. I backed up my argument with specific examples. If you have any examples please provide it. If not, it is just conjecture. There is new word for you  look up.

The reality still stands. Indo Trinidadians did achieve accomplishments, but their accomplishments did not put Trinidad on world stage.  It is nothing to be ashamed of or angry at. We are all Trini. But to use a Darwinian approach to back up your conjecture is beyond childish.

It sounds as if you dont like the fact that there is no indians on the soca warriors. Do you feel left out? I hope you dont suffer an emotional breakdown when the warriors take the field in June. lol.

I have love for all people. But truth is truth whether you like it or not! Furthermore, please educate me. Name five indo trinidadians that have got international recognition in arts, sports or education. I will be more than happy to hear you out.

One love brotha!

Post by: behind-de-bridge on January 08, 2006, 04:25:36 AM
Tell dem brother tell dem..Afikaans is what dem Boers and dem dutch bastards use to refer tuh deyself. De inventors ah arpatheid
Breds the country where you reside had apartheid long before SA, and I do think they were dutch.
Post by: Touches on January 08, 2006, 08:29:25 AM
In todays Sunday Guardian on the back page promoter Randy Glasgow wants a name change as well.

He said the TT teams sobriquet is incomplete. A more socially correct one should be the Soca Chutney Warriors

He justified his suggestion by saying"If we want to sell our selves to the world we should not just sell half" noting that chutney is indigenous to these shores.

Now yuh see I find this setta political correctness and socially correct shit we getting from the Americans have to stop. We must stop following fashion and labelling people and things.

This shit start up about 6 years ago when the term Indo and Afro Trinidadian start popping up and being used by our various politicial leaders. They are the ones who promote this kinda thing.

Now yuh ever thought that Jack had some infinite wisdom and forsight when he dropped the Soca from the warriors a few months ago. Knowing some kinda comess like this woulda crop up.

I find people does just like to jump on the bandwaggon success of this struggling football side and this WC qualification instead of a uplifiting thing to the country only causin a setta of chupid talk and negativity.

Why the Chutney backers didnt want they name in this thing in the earlies Why didnt the Chutney singers put out songs for the Warriors early on in the campaign.

I may be wrong and I stand corrected but Time for Germany by Nigel Fabien was the first tune for the Warriors, then another gentleman used to sing a tune....we going for Goal..... before each game in the oval and stadium on the track. Then came Bungi and Maximus around the same time.

All the rest is waggonist entertainers who come onboard after we beat Mexico. 
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 08:53:29 AM
Chutney music might be ah trini ting,,but de word chutney around ah long time.
Post by: Toppa on January 08, 2006, 10:00:43 AM
In todays Sunday Guardian on the back page promoter Randy Glasgow wants a name change as well.

He said the TT teams sobriquet is incomplete. A more socially correct one should be the Soca Chutney Warriors

He justified his suggestion by saying"If we want to sell our selves to the world we should not just sell half" noting that chutney is indigenous to these shores.

Now yuh see I find this setta political correctness and socially correct shit we getting from the Americans have to stop. We must stop following fashion and labelling people and things.

This shit start up about 6 years ago when the term Indo and Afro Trinidadian start popping up and being used by our various politicial leaders. They are the ones who promote this kinda thing.

Now yuh ever thought that Jack had some infinite wisdom and forsight when he dropped the Soca from the warriors a few months ago. Knowing some kinda comess like this woulda crop up.

I find people does just like to jump on the bandwaggon success of this struggling football side and this WC qualification instead of a uplifiting thing to the country only causin a setta of chupid talk and negativity.

Why the Chutney backers didnt want they name in this thing in the earlies Why didnt the Chutney singers put out songs for the Warriors early on in the campaign.

I may be wrong and I stand corrected but Time for Germany by Nigel Fabien was the first tune for the Warriors, then another gentleman used to sing a tune....we going for Goal..... before each game in the oval and stadium on the track. Then came Bungi and Maximus around the same time.

All the rest is waggonist entertainers who come onboard after we beat Mexico. 

I agree with yuh about how we picking up American thing. Now all of ah sudden people talking about "Minority Groups" an all kinna madness.
Post by: trinbago on January 08, 2006, 10:01:23 AM
It is wrong to demand that the Indo-trinidadian make a deliberate effort to abandon his character in the interests of racial reconciliation.

Just as a truly civilized individual is one who has achieved the balance involved in being true to himself with no detriment to the interests of his neighbour, so as a society we shall have attained to a rare degree of civilization when the rich diversity of our racial and cultural characteristics implies no conflict with the fact of our being Trini.
Post by: Toppa on January 08, 2006, 10:06:32 AM
It is wrong to demand that the Indo-trinidadian make a deliberate effort to abandon his character in the interests of racial reconciliation.

Just as a truly civilized individual is one who has achieved the balance involved in being true to himself with no detriment to the interests of his neighbour, so as a society we shall have attained to a rare degree of civilization when the rich diversity of our racial and cultural characteristics implies no conflict with the fact of our being Trini.

First of all, no one ever said anything about denying anyone's ancestry or "race" as you would like to see it.

Secondly, you just contradicted yourself, because the second part of your post, is not in agreement with your first statement.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2006, 10:14:30 AM
Felziano...  I know you just jealous. There is no proof of what you are saying. But there is more than enough proof of what i am saying. This is nothing to be angry about. You know and every person from the caribbean know that  black folks put Trinidad on the map.

Boy u really make an ass out of yourself:

The Valdez brothers
The Price Brothers
Bovell
Naipaul
Sonny Ramadhin
Puss Achong
Willi Rodriguez
Charlie Davis
Lee Heung
Raul Garib
Minshall
Joey Carew
Stollmyer
Dinesh Ramdhin
Ames
Maria Nunes
Lock Jack (sp)
The Samaroos
S. M. Jaleel
The Ayoung family in hockey

Now, no one is doubting the immeasurable contribution made by Africans to TT.

But to say that "black folks put Trinidad on the map," is a comment steeped in ignorance.

Peace,
Post by: Feliziano on January 08, 2006, 10:19:44 AM

The Valdez brothers
The Price Brothers
Bovell
Naipaul
Sonny Ramadhin
Puss Achong
Willi Rodriguez
Charlie Davis
Lee Heung
Raul Garib
Minshall
Joey Carew
Stollmyer
Dinesh Ramdhin
Ames
Maria Nunes
Lock Jack (sp)
The Samaroos
S. M. Jaleel

But to say that "black folks put Trinidad on the map," is a comment steeped in ignorance.

Peace,
Thanks for that list VB..ah was now making up one for Selwyn Cudjoe dey lol

and dont forget Sundar Popo..inventor of Chutney and samuel selvon

aye Selwyn..yuh forget to put Abu Bakr on yuh list of black people putting we on the map lol
and for the record i did say i wasnt indian..so all that shit you say i feeling dont really pertain to me..alright
Post by: Toppa on January 08, 2006, 10:23:22 AM
How allyuh go fuhgeh Sonny Man?
Post by: trinbago on January 08, 2006, 10:27:56 AM
Toppa, Before you get your panties in a bunch I was referring to the statement:
" It leaves me to wonder whether the Hindu population are ardent supporters of football? Knowing many Hindu Trinidadians the choice of sport happens to almost always be cricket."

I was NOT speaking about "denying anyone's ancestry ", I was refering to why should one have to play, practice, support a sport they simply have no interest in for the sake of racial/political correctiness. Everyone as with everything in life has there preference.....jus like chololate or vanilla icecream.....only you would choose to see the same ice cream in terms of blk and white......just as you chose to see it in my argument
Post by: Feliziano on January 08, 2006, 10:31:45 AM
wait nah..what bout Lawrence Duprey and Clico..Angustura..and Sabga and them with Carib..ent them thing world famous too..Selwyn?..ah go claim them for my side of the story lol
wait nah..Harold La Borde and he wife Kwai..boy you is a real joker yes lol..i really want to know where u went to school and learn only 'half' of our historsy..steups
Post by: vb on January 08, 2006, 10:35:33 AM
" It leaves me to wonder whether the Hindu population are ardent supporters of football? Knowing many Hindu Trinidadians the choice of sport happens to almost always be cricket."

I was NOT speaking about "denying anyone's ancestry ", I was refering to why should one have to play, practice, support a sport they simply have no interest in for the sake of racial/political correctiness. Everyone as with everything in life has there preference.....jus like chololate or vanilla icecream.....only you would choose to see the same ice cream in terms of blk and white......just as you chose to see it in my argument

What madness u talking? Who say that Hindus don't choose to play football.

Btw, being Indian doesn't mean u are a Hindu.

The Captains of our recent U-20 and U-17 teams were both Indians from South TT (Naparima).

Are u aware that some NOn Blacks are discriminated against at national practice, hence the reason Lincoln Phillips has implored that all races must be included when scouting for the national team.

Now in Central and S. TT, Indians may be more fanatical about cricket, thus the reason they are extremely well represented on the national team.

I know endless Indians that play football.

Post by: Jumbie on January 08, 2006, 10:44:38 AM

The Valdez brothers
The Price Brothers
Bovell
Naipaul
Sonny Ramadhin
Puss Achong
Willi Rodriguez
Charlie Davis
Lee Heung
Raul Garib
Minshall
Joey Carew
Stollmyer
Dinesh Ramdhin
Ames
Maria Nunes
Lock Jack (sp)
The Samaroos
S. M. Jaleel

Peace,

Add the Jumbie Family to dat list as well..

Weeey sah! this topic still getting pong.. ah left to get meh doubles, get cork by some frens..get up this mawnin ..cook and man still beating this?

BTW.. as we speak we wuking on ah curry pelau in the test kitchen..recipe should be ready in the coming days for download. A video may also be included.

Feliziano....better than pelau cause it have a whole lot more meat like it have wind-chill in the air in Minny? You really can't be serious  or you eating the wrong pelau. If you behave yourself I'll fedX some good food for you boy.
Post by: trinbago on January 08, 2006, 10:46:37 AM
Stephen Ames, Darren ganga, George Bovell, Peter Minshall
Post by: trinbago on January 08, 2006, 10:51:28 AM

What madness u talking? Who say that Hindus don't choose to play football.

Btw, being Indian doesn't mean u are a Hindu.

The Captains of our recent U-20 and U-17 teams were both Indians from South TT (Naparima).

Are u aware that some NOn Blacks are discriminated against at national practice, hence the reason Lincoln Phillips has implored that all races must be included when scouting for the national team.

Now in Central and S. TT, Indians may be more fanatical about cricket, thus the reason they are extremely well represented on the national team.

I know endless Indians that play football.

VB, when big man yuh mudda never tell yuh yuh mus stay quiet......again.... my argument is everyone has free choice to practice whatever sport they want and should be not compelled to play or participate in a particular one for the sake of racial integration or corrrectness............everyone here on this board is more than aware "endless Indians that play football" or support it...ur pointing out the obvious. !!
Post by: truetrini on January 08, 2006, 11:11:49 AM
allyuh giving this shit topic too much attention and it causing ah racial divide.

Dis is why me eh like race talk at all. 

Leave dis shit thread alone.

Topis like dis should be on de general discussion board anyway  dis eh have nutten to do with football at all.
Post by: andre samuel on January 08, 2006, 12:58:35 PM
So call de team Dougla Warriors.....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

dat nearly kill meh.............ah love it!!
Post by: football prof on January 08, 2006, 01:08:06 PM
Even I agree, sports should not be racialized.
Post by: Rymizx on January 08, 2006, 01:22:12 PM
When India, or Pakistan, or Sri Lanka qualify for the World Cup I willl think about the soca-chutney warriors, until then tough.
Post by: Pointman on January 08, 2006, 02:06:37 PM
wait nah..what bout Lawrence Duprey and Clico..Angustura..and Sabga and them with Carib..ent them thing world famous too..Selwyn?..ah go claim them for my side of the story lol
wait nah..Harold La Borde and he wife Kwai..boy you is a real joker yes lol..i really want to know where u went to school and learn only 'half' of our historsy..steups
just out of curiousity...what race is Lawrence Duprey?
Post by: Feliziano on January 08, 2006, 02:16:26 PM
boy me ent know for sure..but he look mixed to me..what race u think he is btw?
Post by: vb on January 08, 2006, 04:10:12 PM

The Valdez brothers
The Price Brothers
Bovell
Naipaul
Sonny Ramadhin
Puss Achong
Willi Rodriguez
Charlie Davis
Lee Heung
Raul Garib
Minshall
Joey Carew
Stollmyer
Dinesh Ramdhin
Ames
Maria Nunes
Lock Jack (sp)
The Samaroos
S. M. Jaleel

Peace,
Thanks for that list VB..ah was now making up one for Selwyn Cudjoe dey lol

and dont forget Sundar Popo..inventor of Chutney and samuel selvon

aye Selwyn..yuh forget to put Abu Bakr on yuh list of black people putting we on the map lol
and for the record i did say i wasnt indian..so all that shit you say i feeling dont really pertain to me..alright

I deliberately left out contributors to Chutney music, so he could get the picture.

Peace,
Post by: firebun on January 08, 2006, 04:27:29 PM

Anil Mahabir
Cunupia

yeah, I see dis crap in the newspapers.  There are always some people bent on making race an issue in everything.  These Gopio people come talking crap too.  Jes now dey go say why not call Brian Lara, Brian Ali-Singh Lara! or call de West Indies - West Indiandes

ah set ah racial mudder bleep bleep bleep >:(
ah fed up ah the race thing!  >:(  all ah we is one regardless ah wedder we put chutney or not!  all these education people jes looking for popularity :yapping:
Post by: Pointman on January 08, 2006, 04:39:09 PM
boy me ent know for sure..but he look mixed to me..what race u think he is btw?

well boy, race is such a funny thing eh. In Trini we have our own set of definitions and somewhere else they will have another. By American standards Duprey is black, by our standards he "mix up" ;D. I guess the most important thing is how Lawrence defines himself...my guess is he'll probably say he's just "Trini".
Post by: Toppa on January 08, 2006, 04:55:44 PM

Well if dise wha yuh was referring to, yuh should have used the quote feature, cos it look like yuh come een real outta timing.
Post by: Pointman on January 08, 2006, 05:28:32 PM
JUST TO SQUASH ALL THIS RACE TING THAT HAVE PEOPLE UPSET WHAT IF WE JUST USED AH ANIMAL MASCOT LIKE HOW CAMEROON HAVE THE LIONS AND NIGERIA HAVE THE EAGLES...MAYBE WE COULD BE DE TRINI FIGHTING 'GUANAS OR THE TRINI CONQUERING 'GOUTIS, OR DE TRINI INVINCIBLE MAPEPEES ;D JUST AH THOUGHT.
Post by: morvant on January 08, 2006, 05:31:57 PM
what bout ah dancing breadfruit?
Post by: Pointman on January 08, 2006, 05:36:25 PM
yeah, leh we geh something everybody could identify with...breadfruit, melonjin, kisskidees, bake and shake,ah madbull kite something real PC ::)
Post by: Toppa on January 08, 2006, 05:37:23 PM
what bout ah dancing breadfruit?

*DEAD*
Post by: Auburn Trini on January 08, 2006, 06:41:03 PM
Interesting but I remember in an interview I saw with David Rudder he said the title "chutney soca" is somewhat redundant, because soca in it's early roots incorporated may indian elements and beats.... what does this tell us.... I guess that soca also represents the indain population....
Correct me if I'm wrong... that's just what Rudder said on the Carnival Exposed 2004 DVD....
But really it don't matter what the warriors are called..... Once they wear the red white and black... they still OUR warriors....
I go get vex if they called the Dancehall Warriors though....

Post by: Savannah boy on January 08, 2006, 06:42:34 PM
Football Prof...yuh is now de biggest arse on de Forum...de undisputed champion.  Ah go leave yuh alone from now but now you is de man...some people here cyah wait to see yuh next post.  :)
Post by: Savannah boy on January 08, 2006, 07:46:25 PM
Steups...de last one to talk bout race is you...fine yuh like Maradona...but do we have to look at dat racist uniform at a time when de Warriors qualify fuh de WC...eh crapaud de tuttifruity or whaever yuh calling yuhself these days?  Ah feel is de bamsee squeezers yuh like.  Show some solidarity wit de warriors nah...gosh man some of allyuh waggonist is sumting else oui.
Title: What's in a name?
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2006, 09:03:14 PM
Letters to the Trinidad Express

As if there is not enough confusion surrounding Jack Warner, the PNM, the UNC and a reporter from your newspaper, up comes something else to add fuel to the fire.

I refer to a letter written by one Anil Mahabir questioning why our footballers are called the "Soca Warriors" and not the "Soca-Chutney Warriors" (Express, January 7).

I think we all know where Mr Mahabir is coming from, even those who would support his silly and very useless gripe. Come now Mr Mahabir, stop being petty and together let's stand behind OUR team. The name they go by doesn't matter, does it?

TJ
Toronto

All-inclusive Warriors

Firstly, now that Trinidad and Tobago's sporting and voting citizens have been exposed to the chameleon-like and megalomaniac-type personality that Jack Warner is, do we-PNM, UNC, MDT, NAR and NOTA (None of the Above) supporters-seriously want him to play a role in the political, hence social and economic, development of our country?

Secondly, Anil Mahabir is quite correct in asking "Why not Soca-Chutney Warriors?" (Express, January 7).

I would like to include the following to any new name that is bestowed on our football heroes: Soca-Chutney, Foreign-based, Christian, Muslim, KFC-loving, Pan Fanatic, Gold Chain and Earring-wearing, Some Ghetto-originating, Talented and Skilled Trinidad and Tobago National World Cup Qualifying Football Warriors. I apologise if I have excluded any sections of our diverse, all-inclusive national community.

John Henry
Petit Valley
Post by: Andre on January 09, 2006, 08:40:17 AM
Interesting but I remember in an interview I saw with David Rudder he said the title "chutney soca" is somewhat redundant, because soca in it's early roots incorporated may indian elements and beats.... what does this tell us.... I guess that soca also represents the indain population....
Correct me if I'm wrong... that's just what Rudder said on the Carnival Exposed 2004 DVD....
But really it don't matter what the warriors are called..... Once they wear the red white and black... they still OUR warriors....

i agree with rudder.

i believe what many regard to be the first soca tune was ras shorty i's (then lord shorty) "Om Shanti". it had indian music in it.

nowadays that would probably be regarded as a chutney tune i suppose. i eh know. i doh listen to chutney. i find it extremely annoying.

btw, who de jail is selwyn cudjoe?
Title: Re: What's in a name?
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 09:01:07 AM
I would like to include the following to any new name that is bestowed on our football heroes: Soca-Chutney, Foreign-based, Christian, Muslim, KFC-loving, Pan Fanatic, Gold Chain and Earring-wearing, Some Ghetto-originating, Talented and Skilled Trinidad and Tobago National World Cup Qualifying Football Warriors.
John Henry
Petit Valley

Did this man purposely leave out Hindus or was it a subconscious recognition that Hindus aren't supporting the warriors?  :thinking:
TriniInfinite and MidKnight....contact the man for allyuh research and thesis.
Post by: CAPITANO on January 09, 2006, 09:53:37 AM
Tuh stop all this talk about about race and ting, they should just do one ting, name the team after the original Trinis.

what about De Fighting Caribs or De Astonishing Arawaks.

Wait til the spanish community in Trinidad ready tuh make noise too
what allyuh tin bout "de Invincible Cocoa Peyols?
Post by: Andre on January 09, 2006, 09:54:56 AM

ah like dat.
Post by: spideybuff on January 09, 2006, 10:05:07 AM
I eh know if somebody say this already because i couldn't readt through every thread on all 5 pages but...

THE NAME WAS OFFICIALLY CHANGED TO SIMPLY WARRIORS !! NO SOCA, CHUTNEY OR OTHERWISE...SO THE POINT IS MOOT !!

The Soca warriors stick but is not official so people could say it if they want, and if u doh want to say ,it don't !!
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 11:19:25 AM
I eh know if somebody say this already because i couldn't readt through every thread on all 5 pages but...

THE NAME WAS OFFICIALLY CHANGED TO SIMPLY WARRIORS !! NO SOCA, CHUTNEY OR OTHERWISE...SO THE POINT IS MOOT !!

The Soca warriors stick but is not official so people could say it if they want, and if u doh want to say ,it don't !!

They changed it back...OFFICIALLY.
Post by: CAPITANO on January 09, 2006, 11:49:15 AM

Please provide some factual evidence to what you are saying. I did. I backed up my argument with specific examples. If you have any examples please provide it. If not, it is just conjecture. There is new word for you  look up.

The reality still stands. Indo Trinidadians did achieve accomplishments, but their accomplishments did not put Trinidad on world stage.  It is nothing to be ashamed of or angry at. We are all Trini. But to use a Darwinian approach to back up your conjecture is beyond childish.

It sounds as if you dont like the fact that there is no indians on the soca warriors. Do you feel left out? I hope you dont suffer an emotional breakdown when the warriors take the field in June. lol.

I have love for all people. But truth is truth whether you like it or not! Furthermore, please educate me. Name five indo trinidadians that have got international recognition in arts, sports or education. I will be more than happy to hear you out.

One love brotha!

so wait nah,
Sundar Popo and Sonny man ain't do nutten for Trini Culture boi!!!!
hmm!!!

I doh know bout allyuh but i like Divali and Eid and seeing ah lil tasssa group out on de road fuh de big African Celebration of Carnival.
steups!!!
Every soca artist in Trinidad including something of Indian influence in they tune.  Sparrow do it, Shorty do it, Machel do it, Bunji doing it this year tuh represent the artform
If yuh ask anybody on the "world Stage" to name food from Trinidad they will mention roti and doubles first

Ah really wonder why Indians don't feel included in anythin Trini, that baffling eh?

Post by: ICharles on January 09, 2006, 11:52:09 AM
RESPECT DUE...RESPECT DUE

If we could all gave Soca the respect that is due to the art form we would easily see that all creed and race have found their equal place in the Soca culture, Indians inclusive.  Once that understood, the coining of the name "Soca Warrior" will be understood.  And in any case, what is the worth of changing something that has not outlived the usefulness.

Post by: MATADOR on January 09, 2006, 11:57:14 AM
hOW BOUT THE NAME... SOCA PARANG CHUTNEY PAN DEY WARRIORS.... MAKE YA FEEL BETTER??

Post by: pass(10trini) on January 09, 2006, 12:45:14 PM

Papa........dey change it back to Soca Warriors right before de Bahrain match .
Post by: pass(10trini) on January 09, 2006, 12:54:11 PM

This is true as I saw an interview ( over 6 years ago) with Rudder inwhich he said Soca is a fusion of  calypso and indian music so he couldn't understand the name chutney soca..

And personally I saw an interview with Ras Shorty I saying that soca was Indian and Calypso music in one .

Soca is a representation of Trinidad and Tobago and even the Caribbean . Talk done !

Socaman talk to dem fuh we

Hold it dong !

i agree with rudder.

i believe what many regard to be the first soca tune was ras shorty i's (then lord shorty) "Om Shanti". it had indian music in it.

nowadays that would probably be regarded as a chutney tune i suppose. i eh know. i doh listen to chutney. i find it extremely annoying.

btw, who de jail is selwyn cudjoe?
Post by: trinbago on January 09, 2006, 01:02:24 PM
First we need to understand how the name SoCa came about.....it was derived from 2 of our artforms:

KaiSO & CAlypso which came to be know as SOCA
Post by: FF on January 09, 2006, 01:04:18 PM
First we need to understand how the name SoCa came about.....it was derived from 2 of our artforms:

KaiSO & CAlypso which came to be know as SOCA

ammmmm..... no
Post by: morvant on January 09, 2006, 01:07:20 PM
ummmmmmmmm arseholes the name is warriors and it was changed on ash wednesday last year.

people just didnt listen and kept on using soca but keep all allyuh stupid racial letters in yuh backpocket.
Post by: FF on January 09, 2006, 01:09:39 PM
ummmmmmmmm arseholes the name is warriors and it was changed on ash wednesday last year.

people just didnt listen and kept on using soca but keep all allyuh stupid racial letters in yuh backpocket.

ammm... Jack Warner of the JWFF changed it back to Soca Warriors morvantman....

de amoutn ah time you does be on this board... ah thought yuh woulda be on top of dat
Post by: morvant on January 09, 2006, 01:11:52 PM
them didnt change it back on purpose. iz people keep on using the name regardless and they were forced to keep it.
Post by: FF on January 09, 2006, 01:14:45 PM
them didnt change it back on purpose. iz people keep on using the name regardless and they were forced to keep it.

what is your point?

It was changed back? No?
Post by: Yellowman on January 09, 2006, 01:15:24 PM
Everybody putting their 2 cents...so here's mine......some people say it before.... the word SOCA have nothing to do with race ...so why make it a racial issue....is true everyone have they own opinion and I respect that..but people taking this thing too far...Let's just enjoy the fact that sport [in this case football] unites a nation... people enjoy when a player of any sport makes a good play cause that is what it is all about...it's how you play the game not who's playing it...
Post by: Lil Jodie P on January 09, 2006, 01:24:20 PM
not that i trying to be racial here or anything...but why is it that its always the indians here in Trini that always finding a problem with race in everything we do? to tell you the truth i never see a black man or for that matter anybody else making an issue off of trivial $hit like this!
soca warriors is just a name...soca belongs to the people of this country collectively and so we dubbed our team with that name....because they are 'our' team. they represent us as a people collectively. every man jack in our country listens to soca....tell me ah lie! even if its soca and chutney...or soac and RnB....or soca nad rock! soca is a part of us...it is who we are. and so we just got a name that represents that for our warriors! so deal with it! who vex loss....
Post by: DeSoWa on January 09, 2006, 01:54:44 PM

ah like dat.

Why not mix it up and call dem De Amazing Amerindians..everybody should be happy now!  ;D

Big Up de Soca Warriors!
Post by: CAPITANO on January 09, 2006, 02:43:24 PM

ah like dat.

Why not mix it up and call dem De Amazing Amerindians..everybody should be happy now!  ;D

Big Up de Soca Warriors!

LOL!!
Post by: dcs on January 09, 2006, 03:45:58 PM

boy....yuh lucky yuh eh get a ticket   ;D
Post by: Feliziano on January 09, 2006, 04:17:03 PM
not that i trying to be racial here or anything...but why is it that its always the indians here in Trini that always finding a problem with race in everything we do? to tell you the truth i never see a black man or for that matter anybody else making an issue off of trivial $hit like this!

nah ah think yuh have it back to front dey Jodie..to me dey taking a page from the Afrikans and dem who was bitching the most when UNC and NAR was in power..so i guess after 30 years or so of PNM..they find dey voice..albeit..causing more tension in de country...remember oppression is bring rebellion  ;)
Post by: Feliziano on January 09, 2006, 04:18:50 PM
aye Football Prof..i just remember 2 "Black' Trinis that put we on de map
Jack Warner and de Pitch Lake  :rotfl:
Post by: trinbago on January 09, 2006, 04:20:14 PM
Well said  Feliziano
Post by: SweetParkie on January 09, 2006, 05:43:43 PM
I cyar believe I even responding to this sh!t :-\
But the statement - "But to sell us to the world by using a term which expresses only part of our culture is abominable." really get to me
What part of our culture does SOCA limit itself to? Is this supposed to mean that only non-indians listen or participate in SOCA???

Is Chutney a unique cultural experience developed in TRINIDAD???? ???

When exactly did we become so racial?
Post by: Touches on January 09, 2006, 06:04:17 PM
Trinidad have a setta pseudo racist digusing themselves as educated people.

If alyuh go on the general forum culture and entertainment, I had a post a few months ago where a woman was giving Douglas real horrors.

The truth is EVERY GROUP in Trinidad feel they is a victim.....The Indians feel they oppressed cause they alone gettin Kidnap, the Blacks feel they is victims as they cyar get no Wuk. The Whites feel they is victims and they are a target...the only cool soldiers is the Chinee and dem cause them making money orf everybody head easy easy. Even Tobago people and Country people does feel victimized in some way or another. Yuh ent see they start to riot and burn tyre in Toco because Wasa bring in they own employees and didnt use Toco residents.

But what is alraming is that people now feel the only way to get attention or action is through the use of force and this is where society is decaying at all levels.

What the govnt should do is take all the people who have any kinda problem or hang up and pay they passage and send them back to Africa or India or wherever they feel they come from and just leave the rest of us carefree down here.

When that happen all the labels will disappear and everything would just be Trinidadian........as it should be.
Post by: Feliziano on January 09, 2006, 06:09:57 PM
Trinidad have a setta pseudo racist digusing themselves as educated people.

What the govnt should do is take all the people who have any kinda problem or hang up and pay they passage and send them back to Africa or India or wherever they feel they come from and just leave the rest of us carefree down here.

When that happen all the labels will disappear and everything would just be Trinidadian........as it should be.

that was a nice summary of the problem and answer  :beermug:
Post by: Pointman on January 09, 2006, 07:07:51 PM

nah ah think yuh have it back to front dey Jodie..to me dey taking a page from the Afrikans and dem who was bitching the most when UNC and NAR was in power..so i guess after 30 years or so of PNM..they find dey voice..albeit..causing more tension in de country...remember oppression is bring rebellion  ;)

exactly who are you talking about when you say "oppressed"? Who in Trinidad and Tobago is oppressed? ???
Post by: Feliziano on January 09, 2006, 07:30:58 PM

exactly who are you talking about when you say "oppressed"? Who in Trinidad and Tobago is oppressed? ???

ah talking bout history in general..church people rebel, slaves rebel, military rebel..everybody is rebel if they feel like they being held back for whatever reason.

ok ah guess 'oppression' is too strong a word..how bout "victimisation","hardship", "maltreatment", "ostracism", "chastisement" and "subjection'"

but anyway i didnt say anybody in T&T suffering that kinda treatment.
Post by: sureflow on January 09, 2006, 08:01:39 PM
Please, let us not be emotional about the name Soca Warriors. I wonder why we had to use a sobriquet in the first place. Remember when Bovell won silver in the Olympics, he asked why it is our representatives has not moved to change the country name on the medal board from "TRI" to "TNT" so that Tobago can get a play. We have a bad habit of forgetting our countrymen in our celebrations. The same can be said about "Indian Arrival Day" holiday among the other discrimination in race, class and region in my beloved country.

Believe me, what appears normal to me can be very offensive to you. My wish is that we speak out early when we see discrimination and not wait to see if the end result is success or failure before being vociferous.
Post by: Filho on January 09, 2006, 08:36:35 PM
JUST TO SQUASH ALL THIS RACE TING THAT HAVE PEOPLE UPSET WHAT IF WE JUST USED AH ANIMAL MASCOT LIKE HOW CAMEROON HAVE THE LIONS AND NIGERIA HAVE THE EAGLES...MAYBE WE COULD BE DE TRINI FIGHTING 'GUANAS OR THE TRINI CONQUERING 'GOUTIS, OR DE TRINI INVINCIBLE MAPEPEES ;D JUST AH THOUGHT.

DIS IS DE GREATEST :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Tongue on January 09, 2006, 10:47:17 PM
how bout CurryPelauPow Warriors....everybody taken care of...Indian Creole- as ah man on here use tuh say, and Chinee.......steuuuuuuupes!
Post by: boss on January 10, 2006, 03:31:45 AM
Tantie's take on the subject:

Is when we go stop dis foolish talk. Now some joker calling for de team
to be called de Soca-Chutney Warriors. Now let we sit down and think
about dis carefully. Fust to begin most of dem in furrin feel dat de
team name Soccer-Warriors, so we have to take de time to explain dat
Soca is sumtin different. Den most of de English-speaking World (and dat
doh necessarily include all ah we), does feel dat Chutney is a kinda
Indian chow-chow dat yuh does put on yuh food. So now dem even more
confused about why we does eat Soccerball in dis Trinidad and Tobago.

Yuh would feel dat de same people who calling for Soca-Chutney would be
up front pushing for de
Soca-Chutney-Parang-Tassa-Lavway-Extempo-Calypso-Warriors. Is when it go
end?
Post by: Cantona007 on January 10, 2006, 08:20:05 AM
soca warriors is just a name...soca belongs to the people of this country collectively and so we dubbed our team with that name....because they are 'our' team. they represent us as a people collectively. every man jack in our country listens to soca....tell me ah lie! even if its soca and chutney...or soac and RnB....or soca nad rock! soca is a part of us...it is who we are. and so we just got a name that represents that for our warriors! so deal with it! who vex loss....
I always love it when someone starts by saying "...I'm not being racial eh, BUT..."  :devil:
Post by: Pointman on January 10, 2006, 09:46:29 AM

ah talking bout history in general..church people rebel, slaves rebel, military rebel..everybody is rebel if they feel like they being held back for whatever reason.

ok ah guess 'oppression' is too strong a word..how bout "victimisation","hardship", "maltreatment", "ostracism", "chastisement" and "subjection'"

but anyway i didnt say anybody in T&T suffering that kinda treatment.

It's cool Feliziano...I'm just always curious when people used the term "opression" or "opressed" in the T&T context. I think we'd be hard-pressed to find in any other country with a similar demographic landscape like ours, groups who don't have some kind of beef vis a vis another group. That might just be human nature. Even if we go far back in human history and examine old texts we'll find descriptions of human groups highlighting the differences between themselves and other groups of people. The challenge for us now is to make things work for everyone...or every group...in our beloved nation.
Post by: Andre on January 10, 2006, 09:53:13 AM

in spite of all the shit talk and supposed tension (instigated by EVIL politicians who learned the art of dividing and conquering from their colonial masters), trini's is get along regardless of creed.

where else in the world you go find a chinee man married a indian woman with one chindian child and one dougla child that he believe is he one whille he have a chigro child and and a syrian child on de side. at de same time he bulling de venezuelan maid as he wife have a frening with de red yardman from lavantille who father is really a big shot white man from westmoorings.

make hornchild not war.
Post by: truetrini on January 10, 2006, 10:05:42 AM

in spite of all the shit talk and supposed tension (instigated by EVIL politicians who learned the art of dividing and conquering from their colonial masters), trini's is get along regardless of creed.

where else in the world you go find a chinee man married a indian woman with one chindian child and one dougla child that he believe is he one whille he have a chigro child and and a syrian child on de side. at de same time he bulling de venezuelan maid as he wife have a frening with de red yardman from lavantille who father is really a big shot white man from westmoorings.

make hornchild not war.

allyuh is ah real set ah jokers oui :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Pointman on January 10, 2006, 10:13:10 AM

make hornchild not war.

:rotfl: :rotfl: AH CHINDIAN AND AH CHIGRO in de same family :rotfl: :rotfl:  only in Trini and trute :rotfl:
Post by: triniwarrior on January 10, 2006, 07:27:01 PM
look whoever say dis that is real crap ok.What on earth does soca have to do with negro. I am of indian sescent and I always listen to soca wherever I go and I sure that is am not d only one.So i say we should just leave soca warriors ah mean it sounding good just so and why allyuh does have to put race in evberything it was going good b4 well leave it so nah.No Bad Feelings whoever it should be changed but 4 me it is just a load of crap.
Post by: Redditch Valiant on January 11, 2006, 08:58:25 AM

or soca-chutney-extempo-heavy-metal-boy-bands-warriors  :rotfl:
Post by: Flex on January 13, 2006, 07:05:42 AM
Randy Glasgow backs ‘Chutney-Soca Warriors’
By Zaid Mohammed Newsday Sports Editor.

A Leading cultural promoter has come out strongly in support of the call from some quarters to change the name of the national football team to “ChutneySoca Warriors.” And he believes that chutney music, an indigenous East Indian artform could have a bigger impact than soca, a derivative of calypso at the upcoming World Cup Football Finals in Germany. Randy Glasgow yesterday joined the chorus of voices in the ongoing debate as to what name the football team should be rebranded with  leading up to Trinidad and Tobago’s first ever appearance in the World Cup in June. The team is currently known as the Soca Warriors and already there is some dispute as to the origin of the name with at least two prominent persons —  a commentator and a former national player and coach-claiming to have coined the sobriquet.
However Glasgow said he is interested in the marketing aspect of the rebranding exercise and he strongly feels that “Chutney” should be added to the “Soca Warriors.” “If you want to market Trinidad and Tobago, don’t do half, do the whole thing. East Indians make up close to 50 percent of the population,” he said. He called on Jack Warner, FIFA vice-president and Special Advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation to seriously consider his suggestion in the interest of national unity and the potential economic benefits to be gained in the long run. Glasgow says he puts on at least 35 shows annually in the United States promoted as worldbeat packages, featuring soca and chutney among other musical genres.
He said chutney is best positioned to attract interest in Trinidad and Tobago especially in Europe and every effort must be made to capitalise on this rare opportunity offered by the national footballers. “It is my opinion that chutney is bigger than soca in Spain, Netherlands and other countries in Europe. We must let it be known that it belongs to Trinidad and Tobago and have people identify us with it,” he said. He cautioned that the situation facing the steelpan in which other countries are making a bold claim on its  invention may soon be repeated this time with chutney music. “My fear is that pretty soon, promoters in France and the Netherlands will be calling India to get chutney performers because we have been neglectful in highlighting our own,” Glasgow said.
He said chutney music is a “sleeping giant” that is separate and apart from soca and should be marketed as such. “There is the opinion that ‘chutney is inside soca’ but I do not agree. “They are two distinct types of music that for all intents and purposes can not be marketed as one. This would not be ideal, said Glasgow. The well-known show promoter said to associate the two musical artforms with the success of the national football team will assist greatly in bridging the racial divide in Trinidad and Tobago. “It would definitely help smooth the relations between the two largest ethnic groups in Trinidad and Tobago. “I also think that it would make it much easier for a chutney singer to appear on a calypso stage and a calypsonian to sing on a chutney stage,” said Glasgow.
He said the World Cup stage is the biggest and best opportunity to get the right message across and should not be missed. Following the success of the national footballers in qualifying for the World Cup, there has been intense debate on what name should be used in marketing the team in Germany. But the controversies  surrounding “Soca Warriors” have forced the officials of the TT Football Federation to rethink their choice. Although registered internationally as “Soca Warriors” it is understood that the Football Federation are once again thinking about changing the name. And Glasgow is hoping that his support for “Chutmey-Soca Warriors” will be given consideration.
Post by: trinbago on January 13, 2006, 07:38:05 AM
First of all Mr Zaid Mohammed yuh talkin Bullshit with a capital  B.....chutney is NOT an "indigenous East Indian artform"...chutney came out of Trinidad ....first spoken about by Moeen Mohammed..bother of the late Sham Mohammed who use to host Mastana Bahar. Sundar Popo was one of the founding fathers of the style.....

They took hindi songs that are usually performed at indian weddings and changed the beat..and rythm to a more trini/carribean flavor as well as the fusion of calyspo. This was first done in the mid to late 80's.......it s a relatively new art form. before 1984, there was no such thing as chutney !!

So Mr Zaid Mohammed, before you talk get your facts right and whilst yuh want to celebrate where your forefathers came from try to remember where you come from first....sweet TnT
Post by: pioneertrini on January 13, 2006, 08:05:52 AM
funny how nobody had a problem wid the name ''soca warriors'' when we was playin dominican republic. Wagish behavior indeed  ;D
Post by: Themanfriday on January 13, 2006, 08:28:54 AM
is only smaLL minded ppl does tink so. always trying to separate cultures.  :devil:
Post by: lihalquay on January 13, 2006, 08:57:51 AM
author=pioneertrini link=topic=10117.msg93233#msg93233 date=1137161152]
funny how nobody had a problem wid the name ''soca warriors'' when we was playin dominican republic. Wagish behavior indeed ;D
It is so typical of Trinidadians,everybody wants their pound of flesh.
I don't understand Mr. Glassgow, is the marketing of Trinidad and Tobago music the responsibilty of the TTFF? So what is the job of the Ministry of Culture? There will be interest generated from us being there and I am sure that interest has already been generated what are the authorities doing to capture that?  That is what he should be arguing about.
He is also saying that by adding the name Chutney that it will ease the divide between the races?  Is he for real?
 I think they should drop the name Soca and leave it as Warriors.
Post by: dcs on January 13, 2006, 09:03:44 AM
I think they should drop the name Soca and leave it as Warriors.

They did that already and the public(we) rejected that.

What they really interested in is the marketing power of the team for their music.  Same way the Soca artistes going and benefit they want the same thing.  But find some other way.....the government sending over a cultural troupe so they could use that or something else to let them get the same opportunity.  But best they leave the name alone and avoid flip flopping all over the place.  People have problems with the name Warrior too, what yuh go do.

It will pass.....just include the chutney people in the cultural troupe and call that george.
Post by: andre samuel on January 13, 2006, 09:05:32 AM
funny how nobody had a problem wid the name ''soca warriors'' when we was playin dominican republic. Wagish behavior indeed  ;D

exactly pioneer!! exactly!!  everyone wants to associate themselves with success!!

dese f**kers ent easy atall!!

lets name them the soca-chutney-ching-chong-with-ah-whiteman warriors!!

Post by: trinbago on January 13, 2006, 10:11:16 AM

exactly pioneer!! exactly!!  everyone wants to associate themselves with success!!

What you talkin about....we already have tassa.....again that is ah trini thing.....yes it is a derivative from India but NOT a product of india.....Just like Calypso is ah lil bit ah everything we all come from...my point is tassa didnt come from India..is ah Trini thing....

So to sum up...we already have Tassa with the steelpan when we watchin we warriors in any stadium we go.....we need chutney too ????  come on..plz!!
Post by: Cantona007 on January 13, 2006, 10:54:13 AM
First of all Mr Zaid Mohammed yuh talkin Bullshit with a capital  B.....chutney is NOT an "indigenous East Indian artform"...chutney came out of Trinidad ....first spoken about by Moeen Mohammed..bother of the late Sham Mohammed who use to host Mastana Bahar. Sundar Popo was one of the founding fathers of the style.....

They took hindi songs that are usually performed at indian weddings and changed the beat..and rythm to a more trini/carribean flavor as well as the fusion of calyspo. This was first done in the mid to late 80's.......it s a relatively new art form. before 1984, there was no such thing as chutney !!

So Mr Zaid Mohammed, before you talk get your facts right and whilst yuh want to celebrate where your forefathers came from try to remember where you come from first....sweet TnT
Mr. Zaid Mohammed is not expressing  his opinion; he is highlighting the opinion of Randy Glasgow.. The quotes you list are  not attributed to the reporter, but to R. Glasgow.
Post by: firebun on January 13, 2006, 11:03:19 AM
All yuh still talking about this shit! >:(  Forget dem idiots whoever bring up this Soca Chutney Warriors nonesense.  Firebun for dem! :flamethrower:
Post by: Cowen on January 13, 2006, 11:09:40 AM
Let Randt Glascow hull he cudders munt. All the f**king years the team carrying Soca he wasn't thinking bout how chutney is ah sleeping giant.
In the words of David Rudder. "to say soca and chutney together is just be redundant."
Post by: nobody_s angel on January 13, 2006, 11:45:39 AM
I was waiting for this to happen yuh know, steups.

Like we cared about that when we were all, every creed and race, jumping up in the airport to SOCA to bring in the team.

Oh gosh man leave the race thing out of the sport nah.

Lawd. I really was waiting for it and I find it take real long to happen, Lets put the focus back on football and stop this Shit.

Andre "u love it"

"I Tired "
Post by: oconnorg on January 13, 2006, 11:50:37 AM
socachutneywarriors.net

hmmmmmm... nah..
Post by: andre samuel on January 13, 2006, 12:01:45 PM

exactly pioneer!! exactly!!  everyone wants to associate themselves with success!!

What you talkin about....we already have tassa.....again that is ah trini thing.....yes it is a derivative from India but NOT a product of india.....Just like Calypso is ah lil bit ah everything we all come from...my point is tassa didnt come from India..is ah Trini thing....

So to sum up...we already have Tassa with the steelpan when we watchin we warriors in any stadium we go.....we need chutney too ????  come on..plz!!

why did u quote me in your post? i see no relevance to what i said to what u are saying????

are u ok??
Post by: andre samuel on January 13, 2006, 12:08:57 PM
I was waiting for this to happen yuh know, steups.

Like we cared about that when we were all, every creed and race, jumping up in the airport to SOCA to bring in the team.

Oh gosh man leave the race thing out of the sport nah.

Lawd. I really was waiting for it and I find it take real long to happen, Lets put the focus back on football and stop this Shit.

Andre "u love it"

"I Tired "

i nderstand how u feel angel, these people have nothing to say and they full of confusion.

That is how we are as a people, i mean, its no excuse, but as u said, it was only a matter of time before it happened!!

The only ting u could do is love it!! Being tired of it only stresses u out!! take it from me cause i know bout stress!!

so with dat said.......ah love it!!

Post by: fari on January 13, 2006, 12:11:14 PM
talkin bout waggonist, did anyone see the iz a waggonist t-shirts on the izatrini website...i could not believe that person actually put that word on a t-shirt.  jeez... :o
Post by: DeSoWa on January 13, 2006, 12:22:39 PM
what ah really fedup with is ppl associating Soca music and Pan with race and not COUNTRY..when everybody see soca as trini thing and pan as trini thing, den ah go say "we reach!" but for now dis topic is crap..soca=chutney=trini music..Soca Warriors is all inclusive, talk done!

Big Up de Soca Warriors (chutney included)
Post by: Cowen on January 13, 2006, 12:44:44 PM
what ah really fedup with is ppl associating Soca music and Pan with race and not COUNTRY..when everybody see soca as trini thing and pan as trini thing, den ah go say "we reach!" but for now dis topic is crap..soca=chutney=trini music..Soca Warriors is all inclusive, talk done!

Big Up de Soca Warriors (chutney included)

You being repetitive ........

Big Up de SocaWarriors. :beermug:
Post by: Big Magician on January 13, 2006, 02:48:39 PM
GANGES AND DE NILE WARRIORS....man i studing how to stop rooney ..zlatan and santa cruz....f#ck glasgow and dem yes....tnt tnt tnt
Post by: KND2 on January 13, 2006, 02:58:11 PM
I thought we was in a football competition all of a sudden like this is a music promotion. If somebody want to promote Chutney or Soca why not hold some promotional tours or something and stop trying to jump on football back.

When the world tune in to watch the game no body anint care what kind of music we have is football they come to watch.

Post by: football prof on January 13, 2006, 03:53:24 PM
F**k soca chutney warriors. Soca Warriors is good enough.
F**k  chutney warriors. F**k  if anything that tries to bring in that element. F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors,
F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors. I done. lol
Post by: Feliziano on January 13, 2006, 03:56:14 PM
F**k soca chutney warriors. Soca Warriors is good enough.
F**k  chutney warriors. F**k  if anything that tries to bring in that element. F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors,
F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors, F**k soca chutney warriors. I done. lol

ah see yuh come down to we level Selwyn..yuh really sound ignorant and stupid now lol
Post by: football prof on January 13, 2006, 04:34:00 PM
Look femzino, I am not here to argue and call this one stupid.  Neither, am I here for the purposes of getting people to side with me. I am just here to read what people have to say, and maybe gain a bit of insight into issues that are on our minds.

In the area of football, there seems to be a form of "gatekeeping" regarding certain topics that have racial overtones on this thread. If people want to speak about race, it should be allowed once it is objective, it relates to football, and it relates to Trinidad. Therefore, I will be responding to messages in the fashion that I did previously.

One love Femziano!

Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2006, 06:01:36 PM

Yes  Chutney is something invented in TnT.  As fuh de team nickname...Soca is a marriage of Indian and African rhythyms, and it's a pity that this Anil cacahole ent know his own history to realize dat...shame on some people in here too, since I'm yet to see anybody reference dat.  Anil reminds me of some of these black Americans who quick tuh pull race card if rain fall and wet dem and not de white fella standing next tuh dem.  He needs tuh shut his pie-hole and open a book.

I swear some people duz only open dey mouth so as to remember which hole is really dey ass.
Post by: Tallman on January 13, 2006, 06:12:28 PM
Yes  Chutney is something invented in TnT.  As fuh de team nickname...Soca is a marriage of Indian and African rhythyms, and it's a pity that this Anil cacahole ent know his own history to realize dat...shame on some people in here too, since I'm yet to see anybody reference dat.

It was referenced here (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=10128.msg90471#msg90471).
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2006, 01:28:45 PM
Yes  Chutney is something invented in TnT.  As fuh de team nickname...Soca is a marriage of Indian and African rhythyms, and it's a pity that this Anil cacahole ent know his own history to realize dat...shame on some people in here too, since I'm yet to see anybody reference dat.

It was referenced here (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=10128.msg90471#msg90471).

Good job...
Post by: pioneertrini on January 14, 2006, 04:24:18 PM
bake and shake im sure sombody said that already about soca being indian and african at the start otherwise i would have said it  ;D
Post by: Bakes on January 14, 2006, 06:51:55 PM
bake and shake im sure sombody said that already about soca being indian and african at the start otherwise i would have said it  ;D
Nice...

The name's 'Bake n Shark' though.... 8)
Post by: pioneertrini on January 14, 2006, 08:17:21 PM
sorry bredda  :-[
Post by: weary1969 on January 14, 2006, 08:38:02 PM
Why is this nonesense still on the MB. Chutney is Indian Soca NUFF SAID
Post by: Toppa on January 14, 2006, 09:30:43 PM

I cyar believe you say Bake N Shake! Yuh up in de cold too long man.
Post by: Bakes on January 15, 2006, 03:53:08 PM

He lucky...is only de tight banner in he sig save him from cuss  ;D
Title: Everything here must belong to everybody here
Post by: Tallman on January 15, 2006, 07:59:41 PM
Trinidad Express Editorial

A promoter of chutney-themed Carnival concerts and an alienated activist have called for changing the "Soca Warriors" sobriquet to "Soca-Chutney Warriors". Both should be and will be ignored but the squall in a thimble provides a welcome opportunity to put in positive perspective cultural which is to say racial dimensions in Trinidad and Tobago. In fact, novelist Earl Lovelace in a celebrated lecture to the 2002 graduating class of the University of the West Indies posited it thus:

"How would race function if racial claimants viewed this country not as a cake to be cut up, but a pot of possibilities into which we poured our gifts? How would it be, if we took the view that all that was brought here by everyone belonged not only to the bringer but also to everyone else? How would it be, if just as we all claim the buss-up-shot and the steelband, the tassa and parang, as we ought to claim Best Village and Mastana Bahar, as we claim calypso and chutney and Carnival as our own, we claimed each other as our New World family? ...

The implications of that way of seeing, and therefore of proceeding, are so profound that it is a theme to which we commit ourselves to returning, in various ways from time to time. But the question that it poses in the instant matter is why should "soca" be viewed as inherently and exclusively "Afro" and why should chutney be viewed as inherently and exclusively "Indo"?

None of this is to deny that one or other of our constituent groups may well have prior claim to the invention of this or that genre but as we increasingly constitute a valid nation everything here must belong to everybody here. Are we forever going to insist on communal enclaves incapable of reaching over the ethnic divide? Actually, that question is already being answered since, on much of the evidence, Trinbagonians are integrating more and more and the best bet for the noise makers is to shut up and let them be.

Incidentally, in the instant matter the laugh is on the two protestors since Lord Shorty went to his grave as Ras Shorty-I, insisting that the more accurate spelling of his calypso-derived invention is "sokah". From inception, his was a collaboration between "Afro " and "Indo" rhythms-his inclusion of the tabla and dholak the result of his combined cultural influences growing up in Lengua. All of which just goes to prove that it is they who know nothing who make it their business to try and stir up something.
Post by: pioneertrini on January 16, 2006, 05:41:51 AM

He lucky...is only de tight banner in he sig save him from cuss  ;D

LOL i cyar believe it either
Post by: pardners on January 16, 2006, 12:55:33 PM
Earl Lovelace sum it up nice....most of the men was saying similiar things.
Tallman yuh real good to pull that one out of the archives.....
Title: Chutney already part of soca
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2006, 09:46:07 AM
Chutney already part of soca
By Debbie Jacobs (Trinidad Guardian)

So far, I have stayed out of the petty, stupid discussions about making the name of the national awards an ethnic or racial issue, but I put my foot down when people throw out inane ideas like changing the name of our football team from The Soca Warriors to the Soca Chutney Warriors.

The very idea of that name change is offensive to me as an ancient world history teacher and calypso fan because it shows how ignorant many people are about T&T history and music.

All Trinidadians and Tobagonians have to do is listen to Ras Shorty I’s music when he was The Lord Shorty and they would know that his vision of soca was a mixture of American soul, calypso and East Indian rhythms. The late Ras Shorty I made no bones about his musical vision of bringing all Trinidadians together under one type of music. He talked about his purpose-driven ideal of merging East Indian and African music together in several interviews throughout his entire life.

Don’t people listen to Shorty’s early soca songs: Om Shanti Om or Endless Vibration? Or is it that people are so petty and stupid they’re trying to divert positive attention away from our accomplishment of making the World Cup and concentrate instead on how to divide us as a people once again?

I had already sent this week’s column when I opened up the Express and saw music promoter Randy Glasgow jump on this inane bandwagon of changing the national football team’s name. I scrapped my original column to submit this one because I was so upset.

Now don’t get me wrong. I like Randy. He’s a decent fellow trying to do something with our music. But Randy, you’re supposed to know more about soca music and not say things like “I wanted to make an appeal to (T&T Football Federation’s special adviser) Jack Warner because chutney is T&T’s invention and I feel once it is given the recognition on the world stage…”

I don’t know what happened to the rest of that thought. It was cut off with a set of ellipses. Anyway, Randy goes on to say, “it will further help unify our country and bring all races together. People say it’s a divided society. It would send a good signal that we living together and we can work together. I think the soca fraternity will welcome such as initiative.”

No, Randy. A name change will not make us less divisive. It will make us a country of idiots who don’t know squat about our culture. It will send a signal that we are NOT willing to stand as a unified front for the sake of the football players and we are not capable of standing up against all the trouble that faces us today.

Most of the problems we have in this society stem from our inability to understand ourselves, let along each other. We don’t know what it means to be a Trinidadian. We want to sieve the callaloo now and reconstruct the ochroes and callaloo bush.

What further upsets me is that I’m not hearing any discussion on the radio setting the record straight about the history of soca music. Someone—and it’s probably not those clueless deejays on the radio—must educate people about their musical history before someone makes an embarrassing mistake that we have to live with forever.

I don’t know about you but as a history teacher I don’t want to go down in history for supporting the decision of changing the national football team’s name because it’s just a matter of semantics. It will bring no real benefit to anyone and you know if we don’t reach where we hope to go in this football World Cup some fool will probably blame it on the addition of Chutney to the Soca Warriors name.

No, we have to be brighter than that and we have to depend on the media, historians, calypso connoisseurs and right-thinking people to educate us about soca music—which is not just the jump and wine party songs, recycled pop melodies, or hip hop and reggae wannabe rhythms that define our airwaves today.

Yes, there are individuals making a contribution to soca music today, but overall we have strayed far from the original melodic soca songs with scintillating rhythms and lyrics “to make a politician cringe and turn a woman’s body to jelly” if I may borrow a line from David Rudder’s Calypso Music.

If you want to know and feel what original soca music felt like and you can’t get your hands on Shorty or get one of these radio deejays to be able to spell his name so they could look up Shorty’s music in the archives, then you could close your eyes and listen to Shurwayne Winchester’s new soca chutney song on his album. Don’t ask me what it’s called because I’ve heard it about 100 times and I haven’t heard a deejay announce the name yet.

When you think about it, changing the name of the football team to Soca-Chutney Warriors is actually an insult to the Indian community. It’s saying Trinidadians of East Indian descent were NOT part of a defining moment in our musical history. It’s wiping out a whole ethnic group’s contribution to soca.

With all due respect, Mr Warner, if you dare to entertain the thought of changing the name of our national football team to the Soca-Chutney Warriors I will totally freak out.

In the meantime, I’m calling you, Shurwayne, to ask if you could please find Rose for me. Get the Winchester ready, Rose and Shurwayne. We’re heading down the street with More Tempo for the Soca Warriors.
Post by: Bakes on January 18, 2006, 11:23:15 AM
Brilliant job by Debbie Jacobs...

Save fuh de inane part about 'American Soul music'.  Dat is a common misperception that had absolutely nothing to do with the birth of SoKah.  Shorty described the music as the soul of calypso...nutten about soul and calypso.  As an 'ancient world history teacher' one would hope she'd be more accurate and not try and dispel misconception by seeding misconception.

Other dan dat...great rebuttal to the nonsense.
Post by: Bakes on January 18, 2006, 11:42:13 AM
For those who ent hear it yet, Shanti Om (http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/classics/shanti_om.htm[url=http://For those who ent hear ir yet, Shanti Om)
I trying tuh hear 'Endless Vibrations'...yuh have dat link?
Post by: Andre on January 18, 2006, 11:46:47 AM
nuff respect to debbie jacobs.

this shit thread need to be deleted.
Post by: Bakes on January 18, 2006, 12:04:32 PM

Disagree...the thread ent shit, the original topic is.  Sometimes (like lettuce, lol) good things can come from shitty beginnings.  Lotsa good info here for the uninformed.
Post by: Johpants on January 18, 2006, 01:08:07 PM
I love this site! It is so representative of all things Trini. In this case, a good lime. Some eeedeot pulls some chupidness out of who knows where that provokes discussion, this becomes heated and almost leads to blows.  In between man trowing talk that has absolutely nothing to do with the topic but ting that so funny yuh want tuh dead wit laugh. More ignorant arrogant talk until somebody shuts everybody up with some indisputable piece of wisdom or fact.

Good work there Tallman.
Post by: Socapro on January 18, 2006, 03:36:03 PM
Soca already has an element of chutney! If you are educated about the roots of soca music you will be aware of that! The soca beat was born out of a fusion of African & Indian beats according to the late Ras Shorty-I the Father of Soca! Chutney or Soca-Chutney is simiply an Indianised version of Soca with the Indian flavour accentuated but soca in its core already has the indian influence. In other words Soca is already a true reflection of multi-cultural Trinidad & Tobago.

The name Soca Warriors is and will remain the best name for our football team. Nice & easy to pronounce so no need to add anything else if you are edcuated about the roots of soca music!  8)
Title: Gopio backs Chutney Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2006, 09:05:48 AM
Gopio backs Chutney Soca Warriors
Trinidad Express

The Global Organisation of People of Indian Origin has come out in support of promoter Randy Glasgow's call to have the Soca Warriors rebranded the Chutney-Soca Warriors.

Gopio said yesterday that this call assumes new importance, given that all recent statements regarding the cultural component to be sent to Germany, "conspicuously" ignores the Indo-Trinidadian cultural expression.

"As the national team leaps onto the international stage, Mr Glasgow, driven by unbridled nationalism has recommended that the fullest exhibition of national pageantry be displayed.

The rebranded Chutney Soca Warriors will immediately communicate the fact that Trinidad and Tobago is a plural society that treats its diversity with respect," Gopio's statement said.

It added that "whether we like to admit it or not", the social reality is that the large majority of Indo-Trinidadians participate mostly as spectators during Carnival.

Gopio described as unfortunate that Glasgow has been "vilified by elements in the national media for this nationalist sentiment".
Post by: samo on January 23, 2006, 09:15:49 AM
viilified??? th man talking sh!t
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on January 23, 2006, 09:35:45 AM
STEUPS AN AH BIG STEUPS
IF WE DIDN'T MAKE THE WORLD CUP WE WOULD NOT BE HAVING THIS DISCUSSION SO SOCA CHUTNEY SOCA CHUTNEY EXTEMPO DOUGLA WARRIORS ARE A WAIST OF VITAL DISCUSSION AND BREATH
Post by: Andre on January 23, 2006, 10:44:26 AM
ah feel people only bringing up this shit to get their names in de papers. who ever hear bout gopio before? glasgow must be have a big fete coming up. jackasses.
Post by: Green Beret on January 23, 2006, 10:44:37 AM
I remember de first time I went to ah Trini party.

My parents play Soca/Calypso (Sparrow, Kitch, Shadow, Denyse Plummer, David Rudder, etc) at home, but I wasn’t too crazy about it. I grew up with Rap.

But my first Trini party change all dat. Soca (and little Reggae) in de place. All color woman – midnight black, to plain black, to brown, to red, to yellow and 1 pure white girl. All kinda hair - from ball-head (1 girl hair was down to she scalp), to short, to long, to curly, to braids, to dreads to blond (de white girl). But wait, de 1 white girl was twirling she waist round and round, and jookin up and down, just like de rest ah dem. I was expecting she to be outta step, but she wasn’t. She was movin same way. So I ask way she from. Dey tell me she from Trinidad.

Then I hear a variation of de Soca with some drums sounding like Drumline music. I ask. They say dat is Chutney. I ask if it different from Soca, and if so, way it from. They tell me no, is really de same ting, and it all come, same way, from Trinidad & Tobago.

Well I was converted. I love de Soca, Chutney too. And I love how dey had ah whole kaleidoscope of women, all dem colors. I was amazed dat all dat come from de same place. And to see all ah dem together in dat party, was nice too. I mean, I was thinking, you could go one place, Trinidad, and come out with whatever you want? Wonderful! I goin.

Now on here, it sounding like back in Trini, it have real division. That is hard to understand after that first, and other Trini party experiences.

Dey debating over ah name for de football team? What kinda assness is dat? Nutten eh wrong wit de Soca Warriors. Soca is uniquely Trini, and it represents all Trinis, no matter what color (from dat white girl to de midnight black one). De Soca Warriors is IDEAL for de team representing Trini.

Talk Done!!!
Post by: Andre on January 23, 2006, 11:23:18 AM
Now on here, it sounding like back in Trini, it have real division. That is hard to understand after that first, and other Trini party experiences.

doh believe what you read in the papers. is just politicians still trying to use the divide and conquer tactics of their colonial masters. all ah we is family (that is a back in times tune by the way).
Title: Re: Gopio backs Chutney Soca Warriors
Post by: real madness on January 23, 2006, 03:46:27 PM
It added that "whether we like to admit it or not", the social reality is that the large majority of Indo-Trinidadians participate mostly as spectators during Carnival.

I guess playing mas dont count as participating in Carnival.  GOPIO has too much free time on their hands.
Post by: trinidad badboy on January 23, 2006, 04:14:49 PM

i not feeling that name at all nah  :-[
Post by: Toppa on January 23, 2006, 04:30:24 PM
I remember de first time I went to ah Trini party.

My parents play Soca/Calypso (Sparrow, Kitch, Shadow, Denyse Plummer, David Rudder, etc) at home, but I wasn’t too crazy about it. I grew up with Rap.

But my first Trini party change all dat. Soca (and little Reggae) in de place. All color woman – midnight black, to plain black, to brown, to red, to yellow and 1 pure white girl. All kinda hair - from ball-head (1 girl hair was down to she scalp), to short, to long, to curly, to braids, to dreads to blond (de white girl). But wait, de 1 white girl was twirling she waist round and round, and jookin up and down, just like de rest ah dem. I was expecting she to be outta step, but she wasn’t. She was movin same way. So I ask way she from. Dey tell me she from Trinidad.

Then I hear a variation of de Soca with some drums sounding like Drumline music. I ask. They say dat is Chutney. I ask if it different from Soca, and if so, way it from. They tell me no, is really de same ting, and it all come, same way, from Trinidad & Tobago.

Well I was converted. I love de Soca, Chutney too. And I love how dey had ah whole kaleidoscope of women, all dem colors. I was amazed dat all dat come from de same place. And to see all ah dem together in dat party, was nice too. I mean, I was thinking, you could go one place, Trinidad, and come out with whatever you want? Wonderful! I goin.

Dey debating over ah name for de football team? What kinda assness is dat? Nutten eh wrong wit de Soca Warriors. Soca is uniquely Trini, and it represents all Trinis, no matter what color (from dat white girl to de midnight black one). De Soca Warriors is IDEAL for de team representing Trini.

Talk Done!!!

Politicians often endeavour to exacerbate certain situations. Doh take it on so much.
Title: Add Chutney to Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2006, 09:54:28 AM
Letter to the Trinidad Guardian

This letter responds to your story on December 19, “Sports play key role in unity—PM.”

I congratulate our Prime Minister for recognising that sports can play a key role in binding our people into the fabric of a rainbow nation.

In ancient times the Greeks and Romans used the Olympic Games for the construction and consolidation of their empires. In modern times the British Empire Games evolved into the Commonwealth Games and is currently used to foster harmony and camaraderie amongst Commonwealth nations. Our nation participates in both the Olympics and Commonwealth Games.

In T&T soca and chutney are indigenous music melodies invented by the two major ethnic groups. All other ethnic groups and races participate in and enjoy these songs. Soca and chutney are part of everyday life of approximately 70 per cent of our people.

The T&T Warriors have diligently positioned themselves for a good run at the football World Cup 2006 in Germany. One hundred per cent of our people are behind the Warriors. Since the Warriors will represent the soca and chutney population, I want to suggest that the powers responsible adopt the name SocaChutney Warriors (SCW) for our team. I believe that the SCW will incise its way far into the World Cup football hierarchy.

Now that a proposed $50 million budget of soca and chutney taxes and petroleum revenues will be dedicated to our team, it will be an appropriate time to consider my proposal.

I am confident that the SocaChutney Warriors could be the long-awaited catalyst required to achieve the elusive national unity.

I will copy this letter to Oliver Camps and Jack Warner and the T&T Football Federation.

Bill Chaitan
Via e-mail
Post by: morvant on January 27, 2006, 10:07:16 AM
bill chaitan give up

we not changing shyt
Title: Re: Add Chutney to Soca Warriors
Post by: Andre on January 27, 2006, 11:42:24 AM

In T&T soca and chutney are indigenous music melodies invented by the two major ethnic groups. All other ethnic groups and races participate in and enjoy these songs. Soca and chutney are part of everyday life of approximately 70 per cent of our people.

bullshit! this man clearly eh know he culture.

also, if i in a fete and a DJ put on a chutney song, is carib bottle flying towards he ass! i hate it!
Post by: Jahyouth on January 27, 2006, 11:44:11 AM

bullshit! this man clearly eh know he culture.

also, if i in a fete and a DJ put on a chutney song, is carib bottle flying towards he ass! i hate it!

boy you mad.  it had some chutney raise Trinidad like a jep nest the past few years.  Jhim Jhim Jooma or Rum Till I die for example
Post by: Andre on January 27, 2006, 11:45:43 AM
me eh know them tunes breds. wha dat is? a woman screeching like a cat in heat to some weakened soca melodies?
Post by: DeSoWa on January 27, 2006, 11:49:08 AM

That was uncalled for Andre..you can't fight BS with BS, chaitan talk tata, but doh let dat bring out hate in you. chutney is we music too and it have some hot ones out there..it have shetee soca too, but nobody pelt the DJ.

Post by: Andre on January 27, 2006, 11:53:28 AM
sowa,

i eh have no hate for nobody. i just hate that kind a music. is real annoy me dred. is like the same way i hate techno music. yuh see wha i saying?

i wouldn't pelt the DJ though with a glass bottle though. that is what plastic for.
Post by: Jahyouth on January 27, 2006, 11:56:16 AM
sowa,

i eh have no hate for nobody. i just hate that kind a music. is real annoy me dred. is like the same way i hate techno music. yuh see wha i saying?

i wouldn't pelt the DJ though with a glass bottle though. that is what plastic for.

Well Andre you must be eh hit Trini in a while cause chutney mashing up real dance now.  The two tunes I just name was big hits.
Post by: Andre on January 27, 2006, 11:57:58 AM
not since august 2004 man. i didn't go no fete though. i was supposed to go to the parrot but somebody wanted to go sit down is schupid friday's instead. they eh play no chutney there though.
Post by: Toppa on January 27, 2006, 02:15:29 PM
sowa,

Ah take it yuh didn't grow up Trinidad. Cos Latayla and Chutney Bacchanal is two classics that mashing up any fete.
Post by: Ponnoxx on January 27, 2006, 02:32:59 PM
 Any time they change that name I not supporting the National Team...Chutney is a hybrid from Soca anyway....That is high class foolishness...That is over doing it...That is not unity...if Chutney is a Hybrid of Soca why not call it Soca Indian music? This whole chutney soca warriors thing promoting racism and seperation...T&T doomed to hell if that name change...
Post by: Andre on January 27, 2006, 02:59:17 PM
Ah take it yuh didn't grow up Trinidad. Cos Latayla and Chutney Bacchanal is two classics that mashing up any fete.

i leave trinidad in 1989 dred. the closest thing a big chutney tune it had back them was mr. bisesar.

anyhow, i sample some of them tune on torontolime.com today. like i say before, is a set a bullshit.

"rum til i die" = ignorant repetitive shit

i think i know de lotila one. they used to play it in spirits/scruples in miami (the so fla posse go know the scene). that was a good time to go buy drinks and to get a bottle to pelt the fat whiteboy DJ. i forget he name.
Post by: dcs on January 27, 2006, 03:11:21 PM
Any time they change that name I not supporting the National Team

???

I know yuh doh really mean dat.

GO SOCA WARRIORS
Post by: Stevie-Lu on January 27, 2006, 08:23:23 PM
Chit talk dong de line...True true Trini's wee

Bless allyuh heart

Title: Keep chutney away from Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2006, 09:14:58 PM
Letter to the Trinidad Newsday

THE EDITOR: Some insecure members of our community wish to put their stamp on the Soca Warriors name. Allow me to point out why this would make us look idiotic.

It is a small-island characteristic to assume that the world knows as much about us as we know about the world. For example, most of us here believe the world to be in a constant state of gratitude to Trinidad for inventing things like the steelpan.

Relating this to the football issue. We already have a team name that uses a word completely unknown in the wider world; that word is ‘soca.’ Until and unless someone from here makes an effort to explain ‘soca’ to the world’s press, they will simply think we don’t know how to spell ‘soccer.’

To this, some would add the word ‘chutney.’ Now, as far as the wider english-speaking world is concerned, chutney is not a music-form. It’s a spicy sauce you eat with curry.

To sum up: The Trinidad and Tobago Soca Chutney Warriors would communicate a team of poorly educated curry fanatics. Wait, nuh. Dat is we! Go Soca Chutney Warriors!

MAURICE SCOTT
St James
Post by: Bakes on January 28, 2006, 10:19:31 PM
me eh know them tunes breds. wha dat is? a woman screeching like a cat in heat to some weakened soca melodies?

Dude...stop making an ass of yuhself, cuss de idiots agitating fuh name-change fuh they assery...doh emulate dem with more assery.
Post by: Bakes on January 28, 2006, 10:20:43 PM

That was uncalled for Andre..you can't fight BS with BS, chaitan talk tata, but doh let dat bring out hate in you. chutney is we music too and it have some hot ones out there..it have shetee soca too, but nobody pelt the DJ.

Wiser words have never been spoken...
Post by: Jefferz on January 29, 2006, 12:14:39 AM

da woman is meh english/lit. teacher.

lawd have mercy.

brilliant woman.

brilliantly mad no ass.
Post by: Ponnoxx on January 29, 2006, 12:23:59 AM
Any time they change that name I not supporting the National Team

???

I know yuh doh really mean dat.

GO SOCA WARRIORS
I don't mean that in a bad way, but I was really upset about that...I really mean I wouldn't buy anything with that STUPID name on it...This thing shouldn't even be an issue...Racism affecting our football too? Is not about sharing...we all from the land of soca and calypso and chutney... If they had said to go back to using the name Strike Squad I might have understood...Go T&T
Post by: Pointman on January 29, 2006, 04:39:19 PM

This letter responds to your story on December 19, “Sports play key role in unity—PM.”

I congratulate our Prime Minister for recognising that sports can play a key role in binding our people into the fabric of a rainbow nation.

In ancient times the Greeks and Romans used the Olympic Games for the construction and consolidation of their empires. In modern times the British Empire Games evolved into the Commonwealth Games and is currently used to foster harmony and camaraderie amongst Commonwealth nations. Our nation participates in both the Olympics and Commonwealth Games.

The T&T Warriors have diligently positioned themselves for a good run at the football World Cup 2006 in Germany. One hundred per cent of our people are behind the Warriors. Since the Warriors will represent the soca and chutney population, I want to suggest that the powers responsible adopt the name SocaChutney Warriors (SCW) for our team. I believe that the SCW will incise its way far into the World Cup football hierarchy.

Now that a proposed $50 million budget of soca and chutney taxes and petroleum revenues will be dedicated to our team, it will be an appropriate time to consider my proposal.

I am confident that the SocaChutney Warriors could be the long-awaited catalyst required to achieve the elusive national unity.

I will copy this letter to Oliver Camps and Jack Warner and the T&T Football Federation.

Bill Chaitan
Via e-mail

steeeeeuuuupppsss!!!!!! give me ah break!!!
Post by: Cantona007 on January 30, 2006, 08:30:24 AM
Any time they change that name I not supporting the National Team...Chutney is a hybrid from Soca anyway....That is high class foolishness...That is over doing it...That is not unity...if Chutney is a Hybrid of Soca why not call it Soca Indian music? This whole chutney soca warriors thing promoting racism and seperation...T&T doomed to hell if that name change...
Chutney is NOT a hybrid of Soca. Sudar Popo and others before him were singing  this artform for a long time before Chutney became associated with Soca. In fact, the current incarnation of Chutney is heavily frowned upon by purists/old-timers. I remember people like Sham Mohammed (of Mastana Bahar fame, for those who don't know) strenously objecting to what  they saw as the excessive wining and vulgarity of modern "chutney" music.
- cheers.
Title: can't let this thread die - but the Caparo has spoken
Post by: E-man on January 30, 2006, 09:04:25 PM
Warner: No 'Chutney Soca Warriors'
Ariti Jankie South Bureau

Tuesday, January 31st 2006
trinidadexpress

The word Chutney will not be added to the Soca Warriors .

Jack Warner, President of CONCACAF and First Vice President of FIFA, said yesterday that the name of the national football team would not be changed from Soca Warriors to Chutney Soca Warriors.

He said it was too late for that and even if it could be converted the addition of chutney would only be cosmetic.

Warner was speaking at a football distribution function organised by the Penal/Debe Regional Corporation.

Since the team's historic qualification for the World Cup in Germany later this year there have been calls from several quarters, including the Global Organisation of People of Indian Origin (GOPIO) for the word chutney to be added to the team's name to give what they say would be a truer representation of the nation's main racial groups.

Warner, making it clear that there would be no name change, said that the game must go to the people and the myth that football was for strong, black men must be exposed. He told representatives of primary and secondary schools as well as sports clubs in the region that to play football one must be sensible.

He said that he would finance a training programme for coaches from all the schools and sporting clubs which will then spread the game to the villages.

The weekend programme, he said, would be held at the Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resource Centre, Couva.

Warner said that he has written to T&TEC for large screens to be placed at strategic areas during the World Cup series so that the community would be able to participate and learn more about the game.

"A national footballer must be found in Debe/Penal with the same ease as in San Fernando and Port of Spain," he said.

Warner said that on May 11 the national team will travel throughout Tobago in a motorcade and on May 12 the team will travel through several areas in Trinidad, including Debe/Penal.

He offered financial assistance in the area of maintenance of play fields in the area.

"There is nothing like sport to help fly our country's flag," he said, adding that when the flag flies for cricket it is lost in the West Indies.

FIFA, Warner said, was bigger than the United Nations and in some way "even more wealthy". Warner said that he wanted to bring the benefit of the sport to the people.

He handed out more than 120 footballs at the function, many of which he autographed.

Allen Sammy, Chairman of the Corporation said that Debe/Penal was a cricket area but he also wanted to develop football as well at the 33 recreation grounds and 22 additional grounds in the district.

"Sports will curb crime," he said, adding that Debe/Penal was on a growth path and he wanted to put the area on the map by focussing on "Excellence in Sports."

Post by: Daft Trini on January 30, 2006, 10:42:56 PM
May be I missed this in the thread but what do the players want the team to be called??
Post by: madmonn on January 31, 2006, 12:40:38 AM
Why all the fuss about a name change now where were these ppl / organisations a couple years ago ???????

Nobody was calling for a change in name when de team was taking strain in the Digicel Cup under Bertille .I guess because we on the world stage now every tom, dick and harrilal ( no pun intended) wants to be associated............
Title: Ras Shorty I turning in grave
Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2006, 09:41:22 AM
Letter to the Trinidad Newsday

THE EDITOR: Soca Chutney Warriors? Lord Shorty (Ras Shorty I) must be turning in his grave! In case no one noticed, it was the efforts of our ancestral and present footballing heroes who, by their collective footballing skills have brought us to this point — Germany 2006. From Joey Gonsalves to Kelvin Barclay to Kelvin Jack, Stollmeyer to Lawrence, Rodrigues to Birchall, Mulren to Andrews, Archibald to Latapy, De Leon to Yorke, David to John, Khan to Whitley — we have been blessed in this tiny footballing nation with a host of world-class players. "Soca Warriors" is for today (’05) what "Strike Squad"’ was for ’89, and the then CONCACAF powerhouse known then as just "Trinidad and Tobago" was for ‘73 — (our ‘73 heroes, by the way, represented our culture on tour with their own rhythm section after matches; even after our heart-breaking 1-2 "loss" to Haiti!) What was their name then — Trinidad and Tobago.

What is our name today? — Soca Warriors? What would it be in the next sixteen years? — Trinidad and Tobago I hope, not "TT", not Tobago, not Trinidad, not Laventille, not Barrackpore, not San Fernando, not Chaguanas, not Port-of-Spain, not Scarborough, not Icacos and not Charlotteville! Our name is Trinidad and Tobago.

For all Ras Shorty I fought for back in the ’70s — from Endless Vibration to Om Shanti — few people seem to understand that Soca is the ultimate merging of our varied cultural rhythms, entangled with the borrowed soul music of the ’60s and ’70s, with that of a most wonderful internationally established musical genre called Calypso. The morphing of pop Indian music with calypso occurred over three decades ago and has evolved over that time into chutney music. Ever heard of Sundar Popo? ("A scorpion sting me, ah tink ah go dead. . ..")

Stop this nonsense! Soca is Trinidad and Tobago; it is the entirety of who we are, encompassed in one ever-evolving Trinbagonian art form.

One person I know who has no interest in this nickname foolishness, thank God, is Leo Beenhakker. All our coach seems to be interested in is our boys "playing" their "own game."

Birchall and Whitley joined the squad a little late to bring in their special kind of fight and professional technique; Yorke and Shaka held us together and Latapy came and "vibes it up."

Let us sit back and enjoy the skill and character of our players and accept them as Trinidad and Tobago (aka "Soca Warriors" if you may), but please, let good sense prevail while I go and listen to some Stevie Wonder and Ataklan music.

ANDRE STUART REYES
Mt Lambert
Title: Chutney...only a sauce to others
Post by: Touches on February 03, 2006, 08:03:29 AM
I know we should overs this topic eh, and I know this post go get merge but this writer here making plenty sense

Chutney only a sauce to others

Some insecure members of our Indian community wish to put their stamp on the Soca Warriors’ name. Allow me to point out why this would make us look idiotic.

It is a small-island characteristic to assume that the world knows as much about us as we know about the world. For example, most of us here believe the world to be in a constant state of gratitude to Trinidad for inventing things like the pan. In reality, the world thinks pan is a man in a floral shirt busking in the subway. For them, it also makes good elevator music.

Relating this to the football issue, we already have a team name that uses a word unknown in the wider world—soca. Until and unless someone from here makes an effort to explain soca to the world’s press, they will simply think we don’t know how to spell soccer.

To this, some would add the word chutney. Now, as far as the wider English-speaking world is concerned, chutney is not a music form. It’s a spicy sauce you eat with curry.

To sum up: the T&T Soca Chutney Warriors would communicate a team of poorly educated curry fanatics.

Wait, nuh, dat is we! Go Soca Chutney Warriors!

Maurice Scott

St James

Source: Trinidad Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.tt/letters.html)

Title: Re: Chutney...only a sauce to others
Post by: kicker on February 03, 2006, 08:10:25 AM
making plenty sense my a$$......

I don't necessarily agree with soca chutney warriors, but that is the absolute worst reasoning against it that I've heard....throw away that article.
Post by: Touches on February 03, 2006, 08:20:59 AM
Kicker you is a man like arguement here.

Put yuhself in the shoes of a foreigner who doe know shit except how to drop he chirren to school, the mall and the grocery.

Try and view it from that perspective......also you really feel we have a PR thing in place to explain these things to the millions of viewers out there.

Aprreciate different people point of view kicker.....yuh ent have to agree with it, but I find the man making sense....now I could find he making sense and doe agree. But the man ent talking shit....he just bringing another perspective you doe agree with or that people ent explore or understand.
Post by: warmonga on February 03, 2006, 08:28:57 AM
This f**kin ting cum back again???? Yu moderators tek this ting dung nuh dread..Mi tiad hear bout "Chutney Soca warriors"..when we was loosing to teams like SVG nobody was talking bout Chutney now we innah de de wrl cup and mi start hear Bout Chutney...Yow Soca warriors all de way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
warmonga...
Post by: bill on February 03, 2006, 08:29:41 AM
So wait na... Indian doh listen to soca!!!... WHEY.. now dat is news to me, I guess I only go see one kinna person in de streets for de carnival den!!.
SOCA is we ting, it belongs to all TRINIDADIANS, not one race!!!

Soca Warriors forever!
Post by: Sam on February 03, 2006, 08:31:01 AM
This man is a c**t who wrote that article...

I find Soca Chutney Warriors sounds stupid whether it made sense or not and we cannot re-name de Soca Warriors,,, that I agree with..... But Chutney is not only a spicy sauce you eat with curry, that is a racsist comment, he knows nothing about indian food and should shut he dam ass because he looking stupid,,, trying to make Chutney look stupid in a smart way, but if it was de other way around them indian dead for saying that,,,, I believe he related to Cro Cro, Socapro, Touches or Sugar Aloes.
Post by: kicker on February 03, 2006, 08:37:09 AM

Put yuhself in the shoes of a foreigner who doe know shit except how to drop he chirren to school, the mall and the grocery.

Try and view it from that perspective......also you really feel we have a PR thing in place to explain these things to the millions of viewers out there.

Aprreciate different people point of view kicker.....yuh ent have to agree with it, but I find the man making sense....now I could find he making sense and doe agree. But the man ent talking shit....he just bringing another perspective you doe agree with or that people ent explore or understand.

we don't need to explain nuttin' to nobody.

The reason we call our team socawarriors has nothing to do with how much the world knows what soca is. That was the name given to the team way before we had any idea how much exposure the team would have to the world....It is simply a catchy nickname that brands our team with a local artform that we believe is representative of the country.....

The writer of that article trying to get technical and use the global insignificance of our culture to explain why chutney is an inappropriate name for our football team ? Whatever......it's our team, and we can call it what we want regardless of how unknown soca and chutney is to the world...So a tiny country with obscure traditions and cultural artforms can't name their squad with anything authentic then ? because the world wouldn't know what it is ? Sorry Touches...that reason is BULL !!

If the world wants to know how the name was derived, then they will do what they have to do to figure it out.

Like I say, there are many arguments for and against including chutney in the name of the squad. That one is one of the worst that I've heard.........

It sounds like he was just trying to be funny anyway.........
Post by: Sam on February 03, 2006, 08:41:43 AM
If we didn't make it to de world cup I wonder if they would have still be concern about keeping Soca Warriors,,,,, all of a sudden they proud of Soca in de Warriors and de Soca artist still struggling.... and now de Indian want piece to. It hard for Indian to really get respected in T&T because as soon as T&T make it big in something them creole fighting them down, whether music or sports. No Indian on de team too. They dont complain when Indian copanies sponsor them though.
Post by: Mr Mc on February 03, 2006, 08:43:13 AM

Touches I am not one for arugment on this board, but for real that is a pretty poor line of logic he come up with there.  Do you honestly think that this is what people will think from the name Soca Chutney Warriors
To sum up: the T&T Soca Chutney Warriors would communicate a team of poorly educated curry fanatics.
So now they think we are poorly educated fanatics who cant spell Soccer.

Thats a stretch!!!
Post by: Cantona007 on February 03, 2006, 09:42:09 AM
I agree with the idea that it is a stretch (the part about the curry fanatics), but I can say that there are (a few) valid points to the argument. We should ask ourselves though, whose fault is it that the world will not know about what the "Soca" in Soca warriors means? We do not do enough to promote our culture abroad and make it pervasive and immersive. That being said, though, the World Cup is a global tournament covered by seasoned media who are always on the lookout for the "human interest" part of the story. I can't see the global media not doing their homework and letting people know about the significance of our name.
Post by: Tenorsaw on February 03, 2006, 09:53:31 AM
Just like Brazil is known for its Samba soccer, we brand ourselves as the Soca Warriors.  The thing is that soca is an emerging genre of music worldwide.  I bet you after Germany millions more will be interested in coming to Trinidad when they get exposed to a tinge of our culture.  They will also see  the diversity of our peole and how we do mingle more than is normal in other countries.  We need to stop this divisiveness that some people are using to feed their personal agendas.  When I see a sweet woman on the street back home, yuh think I does bawl that is ah sweet Indian, Chinee, White or African.  I does say that is ah sweet thing (please excuse the inanimate reference).  We need to stop letting them men at the top contaminate us with their evil agendas.
Post by: elan on February 03, 2006, 10:04:40 AM
You all not reading what the man write,but seeing what y'all want to see. The all the man saying is put yourself in the place of others around the world who knows nothing or little about our culture. We can argue about chutney and soca because we know what they are. Other who take such words to mean different things will see the name differently. Thats all the man is saying.

To this, some would add the word chutney. Now, as far as the wider English-speaking world is concerned, chutney is not a music form. It’s a spicy sauce you eat with curry.

I am convinced that some people here just like to be against anything. The person who wrote the article just saw thing differently from another angle. It do not have to be right or wrong. It's an opinion.

Chill out ppl.
Post by: samo on February 03, 2006, 11:14:54 AM
Steups....
Next thing they go want the name changed to the Soca Chutney kibbee casava warriors..
Everybody want to jump on de bandwagon....
I bet yuh some a$$ turn up in Germnay with a soca chutney warriors tshirt...
Post by: andre samuel on February 03, 2006, 11:15:48 AM
(http://path-to-peace.net/talkbubblesmileys/topic_closed.gif)

Post by: capodetutticapi on February 03, 2006, 12:09:51 PM
BEFORE ALLYUH SAY AH RACIAL.MY MOTHER IS INDIAN.DE INDIANS BACK HOME WHO BUMPIN SHIT ABOUT CHUTNEY THIS AND CHUTNEY THAT DOH KNOW THE FIRST FUKIN TING ABOUT FOOTBALL.CHUTNEY IS FOR ROTI AND DOUBLES.TALK DONE.
Post by: Cowen on February 03, 2006, 12:13:56 PM
BEFORE ALLYUH SAY AH RACIAL.MY MOTHER IS INDIAN.DE INDIANS BACK HOME WHO BUMPIN SHIT ABOUT CHUTNEY THIS AND CHUTNEY THAT DOH KNOW THE FIRST f**kIN TING ABOUT FOOTBALL.CHUTNEY IS FOR ROTI AND DOUBLES.TALK DONE.

Post by: Hyperhot J on February 03, 2006, 12:25:54 PM
         I am Indian and I will ONLY support the name Soca Warriors. Remember that name was branded during our WC 2002 qualification attempt in 2000, and NO ONE ever mentioned any blasted thing about chutney then. And most Indians love soca or at least know that it is a good excuse to organise a nice buttocks to jam, so all yuh doh study them yes. We were always knowns as the Soca Warriors and we will ALWAYS be known as that and nothing else!!

Go meh Warriorrs, I am a Soca Warrior I say win or lose I am a fighter!! Is red, white and black women me looking to jam all the time because me done have the Indian one! Now that is the correct Trini mentality!!!  ;D

Jason. yeah yeah!

That wicked in white fete was real real hot last Saturday or gooosh!! The women was real tasty!

8)
Post by: KND2 on February 03, 2006, 12:33:02 PM
I think the man have a point.

Ah listen to the who first leg of the Bahrain Match with the Soccer Warriors

So he have a point.

99.9% of the people in Germany will think that Soca is how you spell Soccer in Trinidadian.

But Hopefully for those interested enough to learn they will know that Soca is music after the WorldCup.

With regard to the Chutney thing no need to add that to the list.
Most of Trinidad dont even listen to Chutney and that include indian people as well.

Nobody in Germany not intereted in hearing chutney. No need to promote it. It is a wagonist approach.

Soca warriors was the name long before the team get famous so we need to keep it!
Post by: Touches on February 03, 2006, 12:45:50 PM
All who against the article....good

All who for the article......good

All those who can see the points raised and appreciate the angle the writer coming from......even better.

I posted this because it was totally different from the .....Chutney is Trinidadian too, we want to jump on the bandwaggon, where they was when we was getting licks, and all of the other responses in the other thread or daily newspapers.

I am not here to fuel any political agenda........I does post here for entertainment purposes only, to ketch kix and pass the time.

That said my position is the ones who want Chutney in the name hadda cool it. The race situation in TT is only perpetuated by politicians or organizations who like to cause this devisivness for their own agendas.

However to say race is not an issue is not totally accurate.....people have they sterotypes and chip on the shoulder.......but at the end of the day every ethnic group in the nation feel they is a victim and unfairly treated.
Post by: kicker on February 03, 2006, 12:46:45 PM
I think the man have a point.

Ah listen to the who first leg of the Bahrain Match with the Soccer Warriors

So he have a point.

but that has nothing to do with anything.........it might be true that soca is relatively unknown, but that is irrelevant.............so NO the man does NOT have a point.

Stating a fact or a valid opinion does not qualify as a point if the fact or opinion is irrelevant.

I still think the article was meant to be a joke
Post by: kicker on February 03, 2006, 12:49:41 PM

All those who can see the points raised and appreciate the angle the writer coming from......even better.

All those who appreciate the angle he comin' from need to inform me as to where I could buy a new protractor and compass, because that angle is as far-fetched as I've ever seen.........

There are good arguments against including chutney in our team name....that one in the article is not one of them......I cyah believe big men actually givin' that piece of "logic" any credit.
Post by: RasIred on February 03, 2006, 01:53:51 PM
Yuh know wah all this SOCA and CHUTNEY shit..............why we have to have a catchy nickname that we pick...............I think the best nicknames are ones that are given

I say just call it T&T warriors........

We eh have no lions, no elephants.............no eagles, tricolore is used by about three teams............I say call them TRINBAGO FOOTBALLERS cause that is what they are.....I agree with the SOCA thing confusing as they all think is SOCCER we trying to say
Post by: monty on February 03, 2006, 02:15:12 PM

99.9% of the people in Germany will think that Soca is how you spell Soccer in Trinidadian.

Thaz the ice breaker right there... we correct them and give them the story. And if is a good looking thing, you could correct she posture too.  ;D
Post by: Andre on February 03, 2006, 02:22:23 PM

Thaz the ice breaker right there... we correct them and give them the story. And if is a good looking thing, you could correct she posture too.  ;D

who care what germans or anybody else think?

trinis too hot to please other people yes.
Post by: Grande on February 03, 2006, 02:24:02 PM
oh gorsh Soca Warriors is de name of we team fuh a long while now, if we didn't qualify for WC nobody woulda care if it didn't have Chutney in it. It is true dat some members of de Indian community are insecure about this, which is stupid because no body was studying race when giving the team its name. And I am indian so doh tell me I racial.

There are no "Africans" from T&T, only TRINIS
There are no "Indians" from T&T, only TRINIS

sames goes to Chinese and reds if yuh identify yourself from there - TRINIS.

Talk done. Who vex lorse.
Post by: Toppa on February 03, 2006, 02:41:14 PM

I find Soca Chutney Warriors sounds stupid whether it made sense or not and we cannot re-name de Soca Warriors,,, that I agree with..... But Chutney is not only a spicy sauce you eat with curry, that is a racsist comment, he knows nothing about indian food and should shut he dam ass because he looking stupid,,, trying to make Chutney look stupid in a smart way, but if it was de other way around them indian dead for saying that,,,, I believe he related to Cro Cro, Socapro, Touches or Sugar Aloes.

He wasn't saying that he believes that Chutney is just a sauce, he's saying that to the world it is.
Post by: vb on February 03, 2006, 02:44:47 PM
WE ARE THE SOC WARRIORS!!

The world's ignorance is not our problem. How the Hell would ppl ever know, if we hide it.

You think S. Africa was worried about "foreigners" when they called themselves Bofana Bofana (sp)??

What de Hell is a Los Ticos?? U think CR give a damn about my ignorance??

Peace,
Post by: pioneertrini on February 03, 2006, 02:47:56 PM
Grande man i was now typin almost the same ting, people have to get past this shit.we all trini. most of the people making noise either racists or had big racial issues since way back or som body tryin to make a quik buck. soca was made using indian and african music/culture and all the other races are still trini so it represents them too. the people at the top want this shit its easier to control people wen u divide them.
KND2 alot of people listen to chutney in trinidad. the promotion of chutney as well as every genre of music in Trinidad is important but not in this way. Football should promote football it just so happens soca was attached to the name years bak and it stuck just like any other countries football teams name. i tink if the name was to be changed then it would be sad that trinidadians have acted that way.
Post by: weary1969 on February 03, 2006, 05:53:20 PM
Actually GOIPO said is the Chutney Soca Warriors
Post by: Toppa on February 04, 2006, 09:30:27 PM
Actually GOIPO said is the Chutney Soca Warriors

Since when people have GOPIO tuh study? steupsss
Post by: elan on February 04, 2006, 09:54:18 PM
They could say what they want, they eh spending no money.
Post by: Pointman on February 05, 2006, 02:31:48 PM
oh gorsh Soca Warriors is de name of we team fuh a long while now, if we didn't qualify for WC nobody woulda care if it didn't have Chutney in it. It is true dat some members of de Indian community are insecure about this, which is stupid because no body was studying race when giving the team its name. And I am indian so doh tell me I racial.

There are no "Africans" from T&T, only TRINIS
There are no "Indians" from T&T, only TRINIS

sames goes to Chinese and reds if yuh identify yourself from there - TRINIS.

Talk done. Who vex lorse.

ah thought yuh say yuh was french ;D
Post by: Bakes on February 05, 2006, 03:24:29 PM

The comment isn't racist...it was said tongue-in-cheek and he was looking at it particularly from the viewpoint of someone unfamiliar with Trinidad and Tobago...go look up the definition of 'Chutney' in the dictionary and see what you find.

Be careful in your haste to paint other with the stupid brush that some of that self same paint don't splatter on you.
Post by: Bakes on February 05, 2006, 03:27:31 PM
If we didn't make it to de world cup I wonder if they would have still be concern about keeping Soca Warriors,,,,, all of a sudden they proud of Soca in de Warriors and de Soca artist still struggling.... and now de Indian want piece to. It hard for Indian to really get respected in T&T because as soon as T&T make it big in something them creole fighting them down, whether music or sports. No Indian on de team too. They dont complain when Indian copanies sponsor them though.

In case there was any doubt...I am now fully convinced that you both think and speak with your ass.
Post by: Bakes on February 05, 2006, 03:31:01 PM

Touches I am not one for arugment on this board, but for real that is a pretty poor line of logic he come up with there.  Do you honestly think that this is what people will think from the name Soca Chutney Warriors
So now they think we are poorly educated fanatics who cant spell Soccer.

Thats a stretch!!!

Not a stretch at all...if you were paying attention during the broadcast of the Nov. 12 game you'd have heard the team being called the "Soccer Warriors".  Case in point number 2, I am selling some 'Got Soca? Warriors' tee shirts...even my printer calls them "Got Soccer warriors shirts"

The average non west indian has little or no knowledge of what in the world Soca is. To compound it by appending 'Chutney' would only bring further confusion and this is exactly what the author in his own facetious way was trying to convey.
Post by: Bakes on February 05, 2006, 03:38:59 PM

Dat kinda ass-backwards mentality will get us nowhere...

it's about a unique opportunity to promote the country and spread a little knowledge about our culture to the world.  Maybe you don't care... but many much more enlightened individuals capable of grasping the broader picture do.
Post by: dcs on February 05, 2006, 04:52:06 PM

Dat kinda ass-backwards mentality will get us nowhere...

it's about a unique opportunity to promote the country and spread a little knowledge about our culture to the world.  Maybe you don't care... but many much more enlightened individuals capable of grasping the broader picture do.

well den maybe we should rename Soca to something less Soccer sounding

steupse
Post by: Auburn Trini on February 05, 2006, 05:15:13 PM
Wait nah... men still arguing over dis.... lawd
it really do matter what de team name is ...is how we play in de WC.... if we play sh*t.... nobody goin to care bout de name of de team..
I feel there's more important tings to study man....

Post by: Feliziano on April 13, 2006, 08:50:55 PM
let we pull this thread back up in case somebody want to ask the same stupid question before the Peru game  ;D
Post by: real-warrior on April 13, 2006, 09:02:49 PM

:rotfl:..yeh i agree, but wudnt that just be ONE part of our culture...wut about the white and black and chinese warriors ???
Post by: Patterson on April 13, 2006, 10:28:25 PM
i think we shouldn't forget about Parang.......so maybe de soca parang chutney warriors could work................just rolls right off de tongue
Post by: Feliziano on April 14, 2006, 08:10:01 AM
let we pull this thread back up in case somebody want to ask the same stupid question before the Peru game  ;D
look what ya gorn an do man  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
yeah if we do this..it go save Flex, Tallman and Palos some work with merging all them new threads lol
Post by: BlazinTrini on April 14, 2006, 12:38:19 PM
i think we shouldn't forget about Parang.......so maybe de soca parang chutney warriors could work................just rolls right off de tongue

Then we better not forget Steel Pan...so the Soca Steel Pan Parang Chutney Warriors then
Post by: Pointman on April 14, 2006, 12:54:51 PM

Then we better not forget Steel Pan...so the Soca Steel Pan Parang Chutney Warriors then

blazin like yuh now reach on the board boy...yuh went and resurrect this ting again ;D
Post by: Pointman on April 14, 2006, 05:25:55 PM
like man cyar let dis ting rest boy ::)
Post by: rippin on April 15, 2006, 12:56:47 AM
I can't believe this surface again.
Post by: Pointman on April 15, 2006, 09:18:09 AM
OK .....................OK...................
ALLYA LISTEN UP
here is de final name from all the different posts in here

Groovy Chutney Parang Dougla Fry Rice, Cloth Selling Rapso Kaiso Bangers n Mash Pelau Creole ching-chong-with-ah-whiteman heavy-metal-boy-bands Tassa-Lavway Pow GANGES AND DE NILE Extempo Soca Warriors

:rotfl: yuh miss out some ah my suggestions. The Madbull warriors, the fighting mapepees etc.

this thread like a vampire, it cyar dead at all. :devil: :beermug: