Sports => Football => Topic started by: Grande on March 08, 2006, 05:54:32 PM

Title: Best free kicks thread
Post by: Grande on March 08, 2006, 05:54:32 PM
http://s61.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3AHH3QT5RBY3D2AONUXZS8MTIC

weyyyyy sah
Title: Re: Juninho free-kick against Ajaccio
Post by: Jefferz on March 08, 2006, 07:17:52 PM
is this a recent one.

cuz yuh know dis man does score like this all de time.

He scored 13 goals as a midfielder last year  most of them free kicks.
Post by: Grande on March 08, 2006, 07:37:32 PM
yeah he is one of the best free kickers in the world right now but I never see a man score from that range off a dead ball before nah

Post by: Jefferz on March 09, 2006, 04:06:14 AM
is this a recent one.

cuz yuh know dis man does score like this all de time.

He scored 13 goals as a midfielder last year  most of them free kicks.

yea yea ah know is rel madnesssss.

wait... its just brizilianess.
Post by: kingman on March 09, 2006, 04:54:48 AM
Good goal. Keepers have a hard job. It was not as easy as it looked for the keeper. That ball made some movements.

Post by: Trini Madness on March 09, 2006, 09:06:29 AM
 :o :o :o :o :o :o wicked goal
Post by: FATZ on March 09, 2006, 09:54:01 AM
I have said before and will continue to say, right now, Juninho Pernambucano is the best right now at free kicks on goal.
Post by: Pointman on March 09, 2006, 10:13:40 AM
Good goal. Keepers have a hard job. It was not as easy as it looked for the keeper. That ball made some movements.

Yeah the ball was moving side to side as opposed to up/down. In baseball that's called a knuckle ball. If you noticed there was absolutely no spin on the ball...same concept, same laws of physics apply. ;)
Post by: Marcos on March 09, 2006, 04:41:17 PM
Keeper shoulda save that man
He had enuff time. It wasn't movin like crazy or travellin fast enuff to justify him not saving it
Post by: Jefferz on March 09, 2006, 06:51:13 PM
He had enuff time. It wasn't movin like crazy or travellin fast enuff to justify him not saving it

you does always condem awa?
Post by: vibetrini on March 10, 2006, 11:15:31 AM
allyuh see when dey show the close up view of the ball travelling towards goal... d ball had no rotation! look carefully, there was no back spin or side spin on the ball, it was a dry straight punch ... amazing, i can't remember ever seeing a kick that didn't put some spin bias on a ball... it's hard to comprehend how this is possible really... but he did it!
Post by: davidephraim on March 10, 2006, 11:37:00 AM
dat was a rocket. nuff said.
Post by: FF on March 10, 2006, 11:49:55 AM
allyuh see when dey show the close up view of the ball travelling towards goal... d ball had no rotation! look carefully, there was no back spin or side spin on the ball, it was a dry straight punch ... amazing, i can't remember ever seeing a kick that didn't put some spin bias on a ball... it's hard to comprehend how this is possible really... but he did it!

it have a pirlo freekick dat does replay on Gol TV almost everyday... from a little closer in to de left hand side... no spin same way.... de ball heading straight... turn left... then sharp right and straight in de corner...
keeper eh move!!

ah know plenty men know what ah talking about
Post by: palos on March 10, 2006, 12:41:23 PM

I think Roberto Carlos' infamous free kick against France was at least as far out.  WATCH IT HERE (http://www.futebolthebrazilianwayoflife.com/images/video/rcarlos.wmv)

That same site have some wicked one's boy...WATCH DEM HERE (http://www.futebolthebrazilianwayoflife.com/video.shtml)
Post by: Marcos on March 10, 2006, 12:48:58 PM
R Carlos' goal for sure was better
Juninho's goal was savable, R Carlos' wasn't
Post by: R45 on March 10, 2006, 12:58:17 PM
It was saveable, but not how you make it out to be. The keep was in the right position initially based on the ball's first trajectory. However, the ball turned left just outside the penalty box, so it put him out of position. With the pace the ball was coming at, it was like saving a bullet from the top of the box. He might be for not staying in line with the ball earlier, as it's never safe to assume where the ball is going.

Same way, for the R. Carlos goal, you could blame Barthez for not moving to his left to cover the post, even if he thought it was going out.
Post by: Carib-Briton on March 10, 2006, 01:12:23 PM

One of the best ?????? He is the BEST
Post by: Hyperhot J on March 10, 2006, 02:37:42 PM
     Well if is one thing Brasil have 4 top class free-kick takers for the World Cup, Juninho, Ronaldinho, Roberto Carlos and don't forget Alex. Alex is like the right footed version of Carlos.

Nuff said, Brasil dread!!

Jason.  ;D
Post by: Jefferz on March 11, 2006, 12:33:45 AM

One of the best ?????? He is the BEST

true.
Post by: elan on March 11, 2006, 12:57:41 PM
That goalkeeper should be dropped. The ball straight down the middle, there is no excuse.
Post by: trinidad badboy on March 11, 2006, 07:21:06 PM
lol lol lol lol

but he is a free kick specialist so he goin and score anyways...   :rotfl:

bless
Post by: Jefferz on March 11, 2006, 07:50:16 PM
lol lol lol lol

but he is a free kick specialist so he goin and score anyways...   :rotfl:

bless

exactly dese people love tuh say ting like dey could stop it themselves an have done the likes of it...

like dey doh realize that is a Brazilian dat have yuh shaking in yuh boots while already shaking due to the cold weather... people harsh oui.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 12, 2006, 07:32:54 PM
for Sweden vs Ireland Wednesday gone.  Dat was a scorcher and it swerve too.   :o
Title: Re: Anybody see de Kallstrom free kick
Post by: Tallman on October 12, 2006, 07:42:13 PM
for Sweden vs Ireland Wednesday gone.  Dat was a scorcher and it swerve too.   :o
Yeh, dat was ah borse goal. Yuh could see it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6Rd6ZA00OE
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 12, 2006, 10:06:14 PM
I watching the game that night and cyar believe de man shoot from just inside the semi-circle of the half.  ANd de ball do all kinda thing in the air.  Good strike.  Men getting more and more daring.  Keepers need to be alert, cause man shooting once they comfortably past the half way line.
Post by: Savannah boy on October 13, 2006, 01:00:00 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hyszTOz0Cg

This is another look but it really eh capture a good view of de distance and de way de ball bend.  Ah see why dem goalie grousing bout de new balls but give jack he jacket...Kallstrom have he own set of personal highlight reels.  Some of dem right here on youtube.  He have a sweet left foot.
Post by: Grande on October 13, 2006, 12:43:39 PM
real nice goals in dat game

Both those teams ain't have nothing on T&T though  ;D
Post by: JDB on October 12, 2007, 06:41:01 PM
The Joy of Six: cracking free-kicks  (http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2007/10/10/the_joy_of_six_cracking_freeki.html)

From the Guardian Online

Le Tiss (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxZXjan73e8)

Cubillas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3D16kwXcaM)

Rivellino (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIcw8EFbNZM)
(very Impressive feat)

Chilavert (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=0poj9SXERC0)

Garrincha (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izXhjtvSG18)

Gazza (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVMaIUSeRxA)
Title: Re: The Joy of Six: Cracking Free Kicks
Post by: Deeks on October 12, 2007, 07:29:31 PM
Whey Spann own?
Post by: Daft Trini on October 13, 2007, 07:14:11 AM
Whey Spann Own? Whey Latas OWN? ;D

Gazza's freekick was a boss?
Post by: freakazoid on October 13, 2007, 07:35:23 AM
i n look at the kicks yet eh but if roberto carlos  free kick against france not  there ah  go have 2 question d judges

seems like freekicks from ah particular era
Post by: berris on October 13, 2007, 07:59:58 AM
I eh seeing Rivelino free kick here when yuh click on de link it giving yuh Cubillas free kick again ??? ???.
Post by: JDB on October 13, 2007, 08:44:10 AM
I eh seeing Rivelino free kick here when yuh click on de link it giving yuh Cubillas free kick again ??? ???.

Fixed link.
Post by: kicker on October 13, 2007, 08:46:08 AM
Thought Seaman could have had Gazza's but like he didn't see it til late....amazing strike nevertheless.

Le Tissier's reminds me of this goal- equally brilliant if not more...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1YihynMl5Y

Garrincha's reminded of Eder's in this game- only it went in directly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npfusAkl8KY&mode=related&search=

More extended link here for the Brazil 1982 fans

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrZ6LVS5CuQ&mode=related&search=

Rivelino's was some serious precision- 9 out of 10 times he may have hit the wall....

Don't remember if we remember to put Chilavert in the "best left foot" thread a few months ago....

And Cubillas- well he was just de boss.....

Thanks for the clips J'

Post by: Blue on October 13, 2007, 02:14:12 PM
The Joy of Six: cracking free-kicks  (http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/2007/10/10/the_joy_of_six_cracking_freeki.html)

From the Guardian Online

Le Tiss (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxZXjan73e8)

Cubillas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3D16kwXcaM)

Rivellino (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIcw8EFbNZM)
(very Impressive feat)

Chilavert (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=0poj9SXERC0)

Garrincha (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izXhjtvSG18)

Gazza (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVMaIUSeRxA)

I know every time someone posts any kind of list, everyone goes "but what about [insert name] ??".....but under all seriousness, dis list hafta include Roberto Carlos...dat kick against France defined his whole career.
Post by: triniairman on January 31, 2008, 03:02:16 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Wjq2xT-tx38 this one was banned by Fifa.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ceFtwgSe3PM Roberto Carlos long run.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=511466&in_page_id=1771&ICO=SPORT&ICL=TOPART  go to this page and watch some old school that is breath taking.
Title: Re: post the best free kicks you ever seen thread
Post by: Peong on January 31, 2008, 03:05:26 PM
Mihajlovic in 90-91 for Red Star Belgrade.
Sorry, I never found the vid anywhere but it was a beaut.
Post by: dinho on January 31, 2008, 03:07:27 PM
Marcelinho Carioca scored several classic ones for corinthians.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 31, 2008, 03:19:06 PM
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=HXEpJluS0yM&feature=related

Koeman freekick againt Sampadoria 92'

The keeper had that area covered and Koeman beat him on sheer power...

world cup free kicks...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=MyImRS_-iMc
Title: Re: Best free kicks thread
Post by: boss on January 31, 2008, 04:06:23 PM
Probably not the best technically, but these are my favourites  :beermug:

Argentina v England WC '98  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06AkZvjgxU

Ian St. John Callaghan for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4y1Xlow2os&feature=related

Gary MacCallister v Everton  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUlejyLFTcM&feature=related

The legend that is Hristo Stoichkov  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJAFN5gYNZc&feature=related

Post by: Deeks on January 31, 2008, 05:46:38 PM
The best I have seen locally is Zebida of Suriname hitting one against TT in the Oval. Carter did not not move.
Post by: triniairman on January 31, 2008, 06:06:15 PM
Probably not the best technically, but these are my favourites  :beermug:

Argentina v England WC '98  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06AkZvjgxU

Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965  :beermug:

Gary MacCallister v Everton  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUlejyLFTcM&feature=related

The legend that is Hristo Stoichkov  :beermug:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJAFN5gYNZc&feature=related

I liked this one Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965 
Post by: Tha G. on January 31, 2008, 11:22:06 PM
what about Leonardo in de 94' world cup to win it against holland.... dat was ah boom shot
Post by: Tha G. on January 31, 2008, 11:31:15 PM
it was branco ah was talkin bout <object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/n4QkyWrNjJQ&rel=1"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/n4QkyWrNjJQ&rel=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>
what about Leonardo in de 94' world cup to win it against holland.... dat was ah boom shot
Post by: boss on February 01, 2008, 06:08:20 AM
I liked this one Ian St. John for Liverpool v Inter Milan 1965 

My mistake; It was Ian Callaghan
Post by: dinho on May 20, 2008, 02:43:44 PM
Didn't want to start a whole new thread for this, but nice read...

Pirlo will be setting the pace for Italy at Euro 2008

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8152032/Pirlo-will-be-setting-the-pace-for-Italy-at-Euro-2008

ROME (AP) - Andrea Pirlo is the quiet man at the heart of Italy's midfield.

Described as "soccer's Leonardo" for his inventive play, Pirlo has also been called "the metronome" for the way he sets his team's timing and pace.
With Francesco Totti now retired from international play, Pirlo is more important than ever for the Azzurri. You wouldn't know it by talking to him.

Pirlo is one of the most understated, introverted players at the sport's highest level. Just getting a smile out of him takes effort.

"That's how I am. I'm not interested in becoming famous," he said recently. "I prefer to spend my free time with my family rather than commercializing myself.

"I do what is necessary, and then I keep my free time - which isn't much - to myself."

Labeled a prodigy when he made his Serie A debut with his native Brescia at 16, Pirlo struggled to meet expectations when he moved to Inter Milan in 1998. He scored 15 goals in 37 games with Italy's under-21 team, but didn't really develop into a top player until he moved across town to AC Milan in 2001.

Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti had the foresight to move Pirlo from a pure playmaker into a deeper director's role centered just in front of the defense.

Not yet 30, Pirlo is in the middle of his prime. He's already made 45 appearances for Italy, with seven goals.

Pirlo has also developed into one of the game's top free kick specialists, scoring twice from dead-ball situations in a World Cup qualifier with Scotland in 2005.

Two of Pirlo's three goals in Serie A this season came on free kicks, with the other a penalty. In the Champions League, he scored twice: one free kick and one long-range effort during regular play.

Teammates gather to watch Pirlo practice free kicks in training.

"I try to explain it to (Antonio) Di Natale and (Fabio) Quagliarella," Pirlo said, referring to the two Azzurri wingers. "Sometimes even (Vincenzo) Iaquinta. With Milan, (Clarence) Seedorf tries to copy me."

Kaka is another student of Pirlo's.

"He tries, but I told him copying isn't easy," Pirlo said. "I mean, he's already taken my place as the penalty kicker. That's enough, isn't it?"

Pirlo is a keen observer of Lyon midfielder Juninho.

"Juninho used the inside of his foot more than I do. I studied and developed my own style," Pirlo said. "Everything has to be under control. The movement of the leg is fundamental. I kick with the inner part of my foot, but with the point, and I try to get under the ball as much as possible to make it change direction."

While Zinedine Zidane's head butt into Marco Materazzi is most people's lasting memory of the World Cup final, few remember which player was voted the Man of the Match - Pirlo.

Pirlo's perfectly placed corner kick set up Materazzi's equalizing goal, and he converted the first penalty of the shootout that Italy won to secure its fourth world title.

In all, Pirlo earned Man of the Match in three out of Italy's seven matches at the 2006 World Cup. He also scored Italy's first goal in the opener against Ghana, and his assist to Fabio Grosso in extra time of the semifinal win over Germany was perhaps the best pass of the tournament.

"He's an authentic Brazilian," Brazil native and Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari said. "He has the personality and inventiveness of a playmaker, and he sacrifices himself for the good of the team."

Carlos Alberto Parreira, who coached Brazil to 1994 World Cup title, added, "It's as if Zico were put in front of the defense to create for his teammates."
Post by: Observer on May 20, 2008, 02:55:50 PM
The best I have seen locally is Zebida of Suriname hitting one against TT in the Oval. Carter did not not move.

yeah boy. T&T had about 9 man in the wall too. What a freekick!

i like some of Sweden's freekicks in 94

youtube Juninho he sick on the dead ball.

Zico against Scotland 82

As a matter of fact is so many I give up
Post by: asylumseeker on May 20, 2008, 03:21:16 PM
Didn't want to start a whole new thread for this, but nice read...

Pirlo will be setting the pace for Italy at Euro 2008

http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/8152032/Pirlo-will-be-setting-the-pace-for-Italy-at-Euro-2008

ROME (AP) - Andrea Pirlo is the quiet man at the heart of Italy's midfield.

Described as "soccer's Leonardo" for his inventive play, Pirlo has also been called "the metronome" for the way he sets his team's timing and pace.
With Francesco Totti now retired from international play, Pirlo is more important than ever for the Azzurri. You wouldn't know it by talking to him.

Pirlo is one of the most understated, introverted players at the sport's highest level. Just getting a smile out of him takes effort.

"That's how I am. I'm not interested in becoming famous," he said recently. "I prefer to spend my free time with my family rather than commercializing myself.

"I do what is necessary, and then I keep my free time - which isn't much - to myself."

Labeled a prodigy when he made his Serie A debut with his native Brescia at 16, Pirlo struggled to meet expectations when he moved to Inter Milan in 1998. He scored 15 goals in 37 games with Italy's under-21 team, but didn't really develop into a top player until he moved across town to AC Milan in 2001.

Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti had the foresight to move Pirlo from a pure playmaker into a deeper director's role centered just in front of the defense.

Not yet 30, Pirlo is in the middle of his prime. He's already made 45 appearances for Italy, with seven goals.

Pirlo has also developed into one of the game's top free kick specialists, scoring twice from dead-ball situations in a World Cup qualifier with Scotland in 2005.

Two of Pirlo's three goals in Serie A this season came on free kicks, with the other a penalty. In the Champions League, he scored twice: one free kick and one long-range effort during regular play.

Teammates gather to watch Pirlo practice free kicks in training.

"I try to explain it to (Antonio) Di Natale and (Fabio) Quagliarella," Pirlo said, referring to the two Azzurri wingers. "Sometimes even (Vincenzo) Iaquinta. With Milan, (Clarence) Seedorf tries to copy me."

Kaka is another student of Pirlo's.

"He tries, but I told him copying isn't easy," Pirlo said. "I mean, he's already taken my place as the penalty kicker. That's enough, isn't it?"

Pirlo is a keen observer of Lyon midfielder Juninho.

"Juninho used the inside of his foot more than I do. I studied and developed my own style," Pirlo said. "Everything has to be under control. The movement of the leg is fundamental. I kick with the inner part of my foot, but with the point, and I try to get under the ball as much as possible to make it change direction."

While Zinedine Zidane's head butt into Marco Materazzi is most people's lasting memory of the World Cup final, few remember which player was voted the Man of the Match - Pirlo.

Pirlo's perfectly placed corner kick set up Materazzi's equalizing goal, and he converted the first penalty of the shootout that Italy won to secure its fourth world title.

In all, Pirlo earned Man of the Match in three out of Italy's seven matches at the 2006 World Cup. He also scored Italy's first goal in the opener against Ghana, and his assist to Fabio Grosso in extra time of the semifinal win over Germany was perhaps the best pass of the tournament.

"He's an authentic Brazilian," Brazil native and Portugal coach Luiz Felipe Scolari said. "He has the personality and inventiveness of a playmaker, and he sacrifices himself for the good of the team."

Carlos Alberto Parreira, who coached Brazil to 1994 World Cup title, added, "It's as if Zico were put in front of the defense to create for his teammates."

Absolutely! And dahs why he is one of less than a handful of players to feature in my signature.

Many times when I watch Milan play I try to observe where he is relative to the ball. Sometimes it's baffling because he appears to be doing nothing at all ... that's not this thread.

Good post.
Post by: Observer on May 20, 2008, 05:47:35 PM
watch Juninho make this ball move twice, maybe three times. Incredible! Nah! Impossible!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=mX0y1kumtss
Post by: andre samuel on May 20, 2008, 06:26:45 PM
Roberto Carlos "curve around de wall" bullet against France.

That was just amazing!!
Post by: dinho on May 20, 2008, 07:06:35 PM

Absolutely! And dahs why he is one of less than a handful of players to feature in my signature.

Many times when I watch Milan play I try to observe where he is relative to the ball. Sometimes it's baffling because he appears to be doing nothing at all ... that's not this thread.

Good post.

Yeah boy Andre, I know this is not the thread for it eh.. But i just didnt want to start a whole new thread as i was thinking woulda be kinda selfish nuh.. not everybody like Italy like me..

But Pirlo boy..

I bought the Italy v Germany 2006 world cup DVD just because of his performance.

That was one of the most complete and flawless midfield performances I have ever witnessed.

Is like the words "man on!" mean nothing to him at all, de man dont ever look like he under pressure even if 3 men rushing him at the top of his own 18.

PS: observer that was a wicked juninho free kick!
Title: Top 5 Free Kick Goals
Post by: palos on December 27, 2008, 02:44:11 AM
FREE KICKS (http://www.santabanta.com/video.asp?video=1943)

Title: Re: Top 5 Free Kick Goals
Post by: elan on December 27, 2008, 05:21:05 PM
Not ah Becks, Spann or what about the Ballack free kick?

Ballack (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=F_4AtoGYBa8&feature=related)

What about these (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=DIaswrSWWf0)?

Becks (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=adYgHunQEl0)

Spann (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Py8Adf-byU8&feature=related)
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 27, 2008, 08:42:51 PM
# 1and 2is the bestist
Post by: Quags on December 27, 2008, 10:12:32 PM
Not ah Becks, Spann or what about the Ballack free kick?

Ballack (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=F_4AtoGYBa8&feature=related)

What about these (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=DIaswrSWWf0)?

Becks (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=adYgHunQEl0)

Spann (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Py8Adf-byU8&feature=related)
them thing legal .......esp. the penalty one nah .
Post by: Observer on December 27, 2008, 10:17:26 PM
FREE KICKS (http://www.santabanta.com/video.asp?video=1943)

I loved that freekick by Ronaldinho against England. And Carlos against France
 One of the best I ever saw was this one, the ball moved three ways in the air

http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=mX0y1kumtss
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 27, 2008, 11:30:25 PM
carlos freekick was dread,barthez eh move one inch.
Title: Great Free kick ........
Post by: superoli on February 05, 2010, 09:00:55 AM
Never saw this one before

http://www.youtube.com/v/Wjq2xT-tx38
Title: Re: Great Free kick ........
Post by: Eldo man on February 05, 2010, 09:52:28 AM

:applause: wey say...
Post by: lefty on February 05, 2010, 09:58:55 AM
HOLY CRUD :o
Title: Re: Great Free kick ........
Post by: kicker on February 05, 2010, 10:22:49 AM

Good one...the set up almost as brilliant as the strike itself...
Post by: FF on February 05, 2010, 10:32:55 AM
Too bad we will never see that again... that play is now banned
Post by: DeSoWa on February 05, 2010, 10:36:44 AM

I was wondering why we don't see more like it....why though? seems legal to me  :-\

Post by: JDB on February 05, 2010, 01:03:03 PM

I was wondering why we don't see more like it....why though? seems legal to me  :-\

I would assume it is for the same reason you can't dribble with a free kick. You can't pass the ball to your self. By cupping the ball with two feet you are touching the ball twice.
Post by: Blue on February 05, 2010, 01:09:00 PM

I would assume it is for the same reason you can't dribble with a free kick. You can't pass the ball to your self. By cupping the ball with two feet you are touching the ball twice.

presumably someone could still flick the ball up with one foot (for someone else to volley)?
Post by: dinho on February 05, 2010, 01:23:35 PM

presumably someone could still flick the ball up with one foot (for someone else to volley)?

I remember Michalichenko from Russia back in the 90s used to kick free kick like this.
Post by: nnyman18 on February 05, 2010, 02:09:18 PM
www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwRYYeEk5Eg&NR=1 This one is no free kick but father one of the most impressive things I have ever seen. The keeper made it look real good to
Post by: Grande on February 06, 2010, 01:39:31 AM

Yeah logically I doh see anything wrong with that play
Title: The greatest free kick ever?
Post by: Football supporter on May 18, 2010, 11:01:58 AM
Maybe not the best, but one of the best!!

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/world-of-sport/article/2340/
Post by: lefty on May 18, 2010, 11:49:35 AM
seriously dat goal keeper need ah purge a mean d angle is not d best but dah ball didn look to be doing much, nice goal still
Post by: Tallman on September 26, 2013, 01:33:44 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/iak0_tZRcWs