Sports => Football => Topic started by: Andre on August 08, 2005, 08:56:21 AM

Title: Where are they now?
Post by: Andre on August 08, 2005, 08:56:21 AM
wha ever happen to man like

darin lewis?
craig dennim?
Title: Re: Where are they now?
Post by: Kiwi18 on August 08, 2005, 09:06:26 AM
No one knows what happened to them. These days they does leave out the good ones and bring a set of bogus people and wandering why nothing happeneng.
Post by: duscam on August 08, 2005, 09:10:06 AM
we could make that a game show "where are they now?"
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 08, 2005, 09:19:26 AM
Wha happen to de man pele did rate up big ? Colin Rock . Who remember he ?
Post by: Tallman on August 08, 2005, 10:51:58 AM

darin lewis?
craig demmin?

Craig Demmin has been playing wit de Rochester Rhinos in de A-League since 1998. He was de MVP last year. He has not played fuh de season as yet because he is still recovering from knee surgery to repair worn cartilage (done in January).

After graduating from de University of Connecticut in 2000, Darin Lewis signed wit de Portland Timbers in de A-League in 2001. He was den picked up by de NY/NJ MetroStars in April 2002 but he was waived after a few games (in May 2002). Next he signed wit de Hampton Roads Mariners of de A-League, but dat team end up having financial problems. In 2003 he played fuh de Bridgeport Italians of de United States Adult Soccer Association in 2003. Currently, there is a Darin Lewis on de roster of WASA Clean & White in de National Super League. I am not sure if it's him, but it could be.

Wha happen to de man pele did rate up big ? Colin Rocke. Who remember he ?

Colin Rocke is President and co-owner of the Riverside Indoor Soccer Complex (http://www.riversideindoorsoccer.com/) in New Orleans. VB conducted an interview, Between a Rocke and a hard place (http://caribsport01.homestead.com/football.html), wit him a few years ago.

Here is another article on Rocke: Developers to open $1 million soccer complex (http://bizneworleans.com/109+M548bdd21d9b.html)
Post by: grskywalker on August 08, 2005, 12:10:24 PM
Colin is a friend of mine from CIC and he is doing well. As rightly stated he owns, operates and coaches an indoor center in New Olreans and coaches two High School girl teams. Again he is one of those great palyers who the TTFF never bothered to look up and call up.

Incredible dribbler and deft on both feet. Hell of a shot. Scored about 30 goals in the 86 season, took saints to the North Zone finals and one of the few teams to tie against Sando Tech that year.
Post by: palos on August 08, 2005, 12:31:25 PM
GREAT.  A most overused and oftentimes inappropriately apllied adjective.
Post by: grskywalker on August 08, 2005, 12:58:15 PM
Well he made quite an impression with PELE so you fill in the blanks
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 08, 2005, 01:02:54 PM
Rocke wrote up a business plan, which he presented to his friend Van Meter who had started several businesses in the area including Legacy Capital. “She had experience putting together businesses before,” he said. “I felt like I needed her expertise on the business side of it.”

Van Meter joined Rocke and together they set about finding a location and transforming it to suit their needs. The two fields, one for seven vs. seven play and the other for four-on-four, are equipped with the same state-of-the-art, sand and rubber AstroPlay turf the New Orleans Saints are now using.

Rocke said he is in negotiations with several liquor companies to provide beverages in the concession area.

We could have sure used him today
Post by: grskywalker on August 08, 2005, 01:33:16 PM
Some people just don't know. Rocke was a boss who continued to rack up goals during his palying time here as well and completing his degree.
Like a said a great player that could have made a difference.
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 08, 2005, 02:40:55 PM
Thanks tallman u is ah borss horss .

Yeh boy greywalk from everything I read bout da fella an ting he seem to be a big lorss to we but de breddrin feel he education was more important than ah football contract . Nutting wrong with dat !
Ah remember dem days when he blaze de Secondary league.......goal like water . Big brute and real humble too . ah did real like he sis . hahah .

Colin pardnah if u read this post everything cool bredrin no dis .
Post by: palos on August 08, 2005, 06:53:05 PM
In case allyuh doh know....there is a GULF...a virtual OCEAN between Secondary Schools League & some Unviersity & fete match games in de United States AND International football.

But if it suit allyuh purposes to say Colin Rocke was GREAT....go right ahead.  Allyuh certainly entitle to allyuh opinion.

Same Pele say Nicky Butt was de best player in de world in de 2002 World Cup.

Same Pele say Colombia woulda win World Cup in 1994.

But hey...Pele was impressed wit Rocke so he mus be was GREAT.

Dis is not to DISS Colin Rocke at all.  Colin Rock was a very good SCHOOLBOY footballer.  He had a lot of POTENTIAL.  He should more than likely have been given opportunities to play for T&T.

But GREAT?  If yuh callin Rocke GREAT...what adjective yuh applyin to de likes of Russell Latapy?  Leo De Leon?   Warren Archibald?  Carlton Franco?  Gally Cummings?  Dwight Yorke?

Allyuh nice yes.
Post by: grskywalker on August 09, 2005, 10:59:58 AM
Rocke chose a different path, that's all and was looked over. I know when both himself Latas and were on that under 16 squad back in the day and they were poison, c'mon all yuh doh remember that team, MARCELLE, GEEZ they were thunder.
No it's not just college league and University, and why say that at all, all the best players in the world had to start somewhere.

All things being equal he would have been up there with Latas and Yorke as well, I have no doubt about that.
Post by: Sanchez on August 09, 2005, 11:49:14 AM
Rocke chose a different path, that's all and was looked over. I know when both himself Latas and were on that under 16 squad back in the day and they were poison, c'mon all yuh doh remember that team, MARCELLE, GEEZ they were thunder.
No it's not just college league and University, and why say that at all, all the best players in the world had to start somewhere.

All things being equal he would have been up there with Latas and Yorke as well, I have no doubt about that.

There were a lot of secondary school players around that era that were comparable in skill with Latas and Yorke.  Notice that most of them end up taking scholarships in the US, which was the end of their career.  Latas, Yorke and Leonson all went straight into Professional Leagues.  I am sure Colin Rocke and others could have done the same if they had pursued it.  Please dont forget players like Ivan Sampson, Anthony Sherwood, Colin Osborne, they all were on the same level as Latas, Yorke and Leo. They did not pursue a professional career for whatever reasons.
Post by: Saltanfresh on August 09, 2005, 12:00:26 PM
Sanchez wrote:"I am sure Colin Rocke and others could have done the same if they had pursued it.  Please dont forget players like Ivan Sampson, Anthony Sherwood, Colin Osborne, they all were on the same level as Latas, Yorke and Leo. They did not pursue a professional career for whatever reasons."

Well said Sanchez! You could imagine what could have been if Courts Furniture and Mauby Fizz did not hire Nigel "Frame"Fabien for dey TV commercials,..............hhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Mamma yo! TnT woulda done be in d World Cup! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: dcs on August 09, 2005, 01:30:59 PM

After Latas and Leonson went Portugal we hardly had any players going over there.
Too bad.  They have some good football.
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2005, 02:09:14 PM
After Latas and Leonson went Portugal we hardly had any players going over there.

De only other people I could recall going there was Clint Marcelle and Cornell Glen. It have any more?
Title: Portugal
Post by: jusme on August 09, 2005, 02:12:02 PM
Didn't Wesley Webb (St. Benedict's star player of the early 90s) play in Portugal?

I also read remember reading that Justin Latapy secured a Portuguese contract at one point.
Title: Re: Portugal
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2005, 02:22:41 PM
Didn't Wesley Webb (St. Benedict's star player of the early 90s) play in Portugal?

I also read remember reading that Justin Latapy secured a Portuguese contract at one point.

Yeh, Webb did play in Portugal at one point. I eh know about Justin Latapy. Akudu Goodridge also had a stint over there.
Post by: Saltanfresh on August 09, 2005, 02:28:21 PM
What about Irastro Knights, aint he in Peru? Whoa happen to he? No body ever mentioning he again, is he still playing at alll? Is he worthy of a look?
Post by: duscam on August 09, 2005, 02:31:01 PM
yeah his sis was real nice...karenza (maybe wrong spelling) wow..back in her convent days
Post by: grim on August 09, 2005, 03:12:49 PM
 Irasto Knight's is playing in Brooklyn (HORIZON SOCCER CLUB)  , Queens  NY area . Skywalker , you have a lot of good youth players that do not standout at the next level , we as friends of theirs make excuses for them .The fact is that Rocke and some others were exposed to a lot of football , but I dont think he turned down any major contract to do what he is doing , which by the way is a commendable thing .
 Shaka was in the US college scene completed a degree and still made it to the pros , because he was good enough .
Post by: football king on August 09, 2005, 03:23:49 PM
"cause he was good enough" GRIM you exactly right that sum it up
Post by: Flex on August 09, 2005, 04:18:08 PM
Darren Lewis plays for Super League team (Wasa Clean and White).
Post by: palos on August 09, 2005, 07:26:44 PM
There were a lot of secondary school players around that era that were comparable in skill with Latas and Yorke.  Notice that most of them end up taking scholarships in the US, which was the end of their career.  Latas, Yorke and Leonson all went straight into Professional Leagues.  I am sure Colin Rocke and others could have done the same if they had pursued it.  Please dont forget players like Ivan Sampson, Anthony Sherwood, Colin Osborne, they all were on the same level as Latas, Yorke and Leo. They did not pursue a professional career for whatever reasons.

Here we have a perfect example of why when somebody die...all of a sudden people does talk bout dem like if dem was saint.

Sampson?  Osborne?  Pollonais?  Mutty Haynes?  Rocke?  Knights? 

Allyuh good wee.  All decent players.  All with POTENTIAL.

But ON PAR WITH Latas & Yorke?  Allyuh dreamin.  ESPECIALLY when allyuh referrin to Russell Latapy.

Man...dem fellas wasn't even on par with flikkin Wendell Moore.

Now Sherwood....before he did bruk he leg.....he was VERY GOOD.

But hey......men had dey college football memories and biggin up dis one and dat one from dey childhood.  Nutting wrong wit dat.

It take more dan jes SKILL to be a successful professional footballer.

Dat is why to this day....since Caribbean footballers were first given the opportunity with Dwight Yorke.....only Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy and Shaka Hislop have been SUCCESSFUL professional footballers.  For all de good Leonson was good.  All de skill Jerren Nixon had.  All de goals Stern John score....dey couldn't make it to &/or stay in de upper echelons.

Colin Osborne (no disrespeck to Colin Osborne) was on par with Latas and Yorke......WAAAAAAAHHHHHHHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!  Wha de ass I does be readin in trute?

But ah shouldn't be surprised.  Dis is a site where I read people say T&T produce some a de best players in de world.

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Feliziano on August 09, 2005, 08:52:23 PM
You could imagine what could have been if Courts Furniture and Mauby Fizz did not hire Nigel "Frame"Fabien for dey TV commercials,..............hhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

boy i really forget you was in them Courts commercials with yuh brother yes..my memory really going lol.

by the way fellas...where dem Benedicts men from the 90's like Sampson, Jordan, Landeau, Neverson and Benjamin?..dem days Naps had good players but not good enough to beat the other schools i guess.
Post by: kounty on August 09, 2005, 09:33:17 PM
well I guess this is the right place to ask about the men of old who lit up the intercol circuit and we wondering if they could still make a contribution.
so where is Marvin Gordon ? (who maybe play 9 years of intercol)
or Gary Gibbons (or was it gibbins) he wasn't captain of the under 17 at some time?
...and Marvin Raeburn...seems like he was playing in the A league for a while and then....
Post by: Savannah boy on August 09, 2005, 11:07:11 PM
The point skywalker was making is dat Colin chose to pursue his academics instead of football. The fact dat he co-owns and running a million dollar football complex in New Orleans shows it was not a bad decision and he was not de dummy dat Raj a so called fren was calling him. Colin had tremendous talent. Dat was not a doubt. We all wonder what could have been when Santos came calling and Man U youth team was calling him fuh trials when he was still at Saints. The fact dat Pele noticed him and actually said something about him can't be taken away. Colin didn't go out seeking Pele's comments and I doh think he should have to answer for them. Some of allyuh only griping becz he went Saints (yuh know yuhself)  ;D. What I would like to know is why he was ignored for so long?
Post by: vb on August 10, 2005, 05:51:07 AM
There are some Secondary starts who never make the transition to the big time.

Then there are some that can but don't for what ever reasons.

Garnet Craig, Skinner, Corneal and Ronnie Simmons are some footballers who should have done better. I think at times they were the victims of curious selection policies.

Rocke always held his own with the best in TT. However, he had principle and didn't lick ass.

Had Rocke opted to stay in Germany he might have achieved what Latas did...but he didn't like his club and moved on. Achivement wise Rocke may not been in Lata's Zip Code, but ability wise...he is no inferior.

Sadly as the decades roll by, Rocke because of the ignorance of the TTFF will become a forgotten member of TT football. Where as we continue to spout on the likes of Dog, Roug, Marcelle and many others.

Marcelle is another athlete who could have done better in Eng., but a vindictive Coach, made him ride pine for a year in the Premiership...and after that he spiralled downwards.

Somtimes how we react to opportunitties dictate the results. I spoke to Rocke and he has no regrets however. As he put it he had too much respect for himself and his contributions to TT Football to beg for trials.

Peace,
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2005, 06:52:35 AM
I always find that a good way to measure how good a college player can be is through how many championships they carry their team to in the college days. latas and sando tech were nigh unbeatable when he was there, Signal Hill win back to back (or was it 3 national titles?) with Yorke running things. The only true dynasties based on one player since then was Dwarika for Malick in the early 90's, and he throw away his opportunity for greatness because Scotland was too cold or something. The other Malick titles were a different star each year (Glasgow, Knights, Westfield). I know Naps and St. Anthony's had a good run in the late 90's/early 2000 but i get the impression those wins were based on good teams rather than any dominant players. I mean, if u can't make your team dominate at college level, then u can be good but u not going to be one of the greats.
Post by: Tallman on August 10, 2005, 07:26:43 AM
by the way fellas...where dem Benedicts men from the 90's like Sampson, Jordan, Landeau, Neverson and Benjamin?

so where is Marvin Gordon ? (who maybe play 9 years of intercol)
Marvin Gordon plays for Defence Force
Post by: jusme on August 10, 2005, 08:27:16 AM

Glenn Benjamin is a coach at the University of Mobile.

what about the other benjamin? I remember Glenn and Alvin. Can't remember which one was on the '91 team with yorke.
Then in the late 90's a 3rd brother Nicholas had a big goal-scoring season.
Post by: real madness on August 10, 2005, 08:59:43 AM
I always find that a good way to measure how good a college player can be is through how many championships they carry their team to in the college days. latas and sando tech were nigh unbeatable when he was there, Signal Hill win back to back (or was it 3 national titles?) with Yorke running things. The only true dynasties based on one player since then was Dwarika for Malick in the early 90's, and he throw away his opportunity for greatness because Scotland was too cold or something. The other Malick titles were a different star each year (Glasgow, Knights, Westfield). I know Naps and St. Anthony's had a good run in the late 90's/early 2000 but i get the impression those wins were based on good teams rather than any dominant players. I mean, if u can't make your team dominate at college level, then u can be good but u not going to be one of the greats.

Yorke gets a lot of credit(if not all) for Signal Hill success but people seem to forget Colvin Hutchinson.  Judging a player by championships is not an accurate way to measure individual talent.  I can list millions of examples so I will not go down that alley.
Regarding Tech and Latas...Latas was definitely the top youth player at that time..no doubt about that...but Tech was an overaged all star "Team"..Leonson Lewis (Naps), Anthony Clarke (Pres), Faustin and a bunch of other players from various schools throughout the country..it was basically a national youth team....guys that represented TnT b4 playing for Tech...
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2005, 09:08:41 AM
Yeah nobody is a one man team...everybody need backup. Jordan never win before Pippen, but even though Pippen and the rest of them was there...he was still undoubtedly THE MAN. Same thing with Latas, Yorke etc. Dwarika had stokely mason, marvin gordon etc. but he was still D MAN on the team. tha's why I say, in the latter years even though there were other teams that dominate, their star players changed from year to year. The ones who shine above the rest, when the rest were stars in their own right, is the ones who more likely than the others, would  go on to comparitive greatness.
Post by: real madness on August 10, 2005, 09:17:42 AM

what about the other benjamin? I remember Glenn and Alvin. Can't remember which one was on the '91 team with yorke.

Glenn Benjamin was a member of the 1991 u 20 team.
Post by: Tallman on August 10, 2005, 09:46:41 AM
Nicholas Benjamin plays with Plipdeco Caroni in the National Super League.
Post by: grskywalker on August 10, 2005, 02:06:45 PM
oye Savannah true dat, yuh see trouble ah start (ha ha) this forum is kicks yes. We know the man and we know the skills so we ent have to justify nuttin.

At least Rocke made his passion his proffession. When ah look at men like Dwarika it really make meh vex. Is like he have it then loose it, have it loose it and so on, now he may never see it again, and then what?

What about Shawn Boney? Nkosi Blackman (ah spell that right?) and Yorke partner from signal HIll Colvin Huthinson
Post by: football king on August 10, 2005, 02:22:08 PM
colvin hutchinson an interesting one was a very underrated player he was very good with good control and touches. maybe bad timing come around when latas was in the middle then had to basically play in yorke shadow -always loyal to BSC maybe if he had come over to trinidad he woulda made a bigger impact-was training with strike squad doubt he ever dress for any of the games-was in the squad photos. again latas/kerry was in the middle-bad timing

he must be still playing for BSC coaching school
Post by: Tallman on August 10, 2005, 03:03:32 PM
Nkosi Blackman (ah spell that right?) and Yorke partner from signal HIll Colvin Huthinson

Nkosi Blackman plays fuh T&TEC in de Leonson Lewis Division of the Southern Football Association.
Post by: Feliziano on August 10, 2005, 05:37:25 PM
if allyuh look at it closely...it comes down to who had both brains in the classroom and skill on the field...fellas who went to senior sec only chance in life was to play football...whereas those who went to a college or 7 yr school had a couple choices, either take the football scholarship and go study engineering or go just play football and make a career out of it or even do both.
Some people play football for the love of it, to kill some time or as a job.
So when we look at the national team, try and notice how many men with some level of education are on that team judging by what school they attended and what they studied etc.
Then maybe allyuh might understand why the people they have playing right now can't follow basic instructions,are indisciplined ,can't function under stress.
Aso why it have people like Colin Rocke and fellow Intercol stars nowhere near the national team setup..is it cause they wanted to pursue better things in life and make a contribution towards society?...or they just used football to get themselves a head start in life?
Post by: JDB on August 10, 2005, 07:27:48 PM
So when we look at the national team, try and notice how many men with some level of education are on that team judging by what school they attended and what they studied etc.
Then maybe allyuh might understand why the people they have playing right now can't follow basic instructions,are indisciplined ,can't function under stress.

You could make a vaild point that the ability to follow instructions, be disciplined, handle stress is an intelligence issue. Some of worlds greates were genuinely intelligent men on an off the field.

You can't figure out whether players are intelligent based on what school they attended and what they studied however. It is not as simple as that.
Post by: palos on August 10, 2005, 07:57:02 PM

You could make a vaild point that the ability to follow instructions, be disciplined, handle stress is an intelligence issue. Some of worlds greates were genuinely intelligent men on an off the field.

You can't figure out whether players are intelligent based on what school they attended and what they studied however. It is not as simple as that.

Fuh real.  Ah wonder how much prestige school Pele, Maradona, Garrincha and dem went?

It have book sense and it have football sense.  Neither is a precursor of de oddah.  But listen to some man here and yuh would swear de men and dem who didn't go college somehow inferior mentally on de football field to de men who didn't.
Post by: Savannah boy on August 10, 2005, 08:01:43 PM
I always find that a good way to measure how good a college player can be is through how many championships they carry their team to in the college days. by Spideybuff.

Spideybuff, Latas eh carry Sando Tech. Half de national team was playing there. He had excellent support and as a dynamic player, one must admit he would make any football squad better. To suggest dat he was dey carrying de team to champion status by heself was not true. If Latas was in Tranquil fuh de whole duration of he schooling...he would still be de bad ass player dat he is. Class is class papa.

Post by: Savannah boy on August 10, 2005, 08:04:21 PM
True talk dat Palos...but ah eh know if Pele is a good example. He speaks and writes so many languages fluently. Duncy man cyah do dat. Anybody can pick up a foreign language living overseas but writing de frigging thing requires some cognitive ability and dedication.
Post by: JDB on August 11, 2005, 04:19:29 AM
Palos:
Fuh real. Ah wonder how much prestige school Pele, Maradona, Garrincha and dem went?
It have book sense and it have football sense. Neither is a precursor of de oddah. But listen to some man here and yuh would swear de men and dem who didn't go college somehow inferior mentally on de football field to de men who didn't.

Savannah:
True talk dat Palos...but ah eh know if Pele is a good example. He speaks and writes so many languages fluently. Duncy man cyah do dat. Anybody can pick up a foreign language living overseas but writing de frigging thing requires some cognitive ability and dedication

Yuh missing the point Savannah. It is without doubt that Pele is an intelligent man but he probably didn't have to go to any big school to be that way. If he wasn't intelligent he wouldn't have been able to achieve the things he did during and after his playing time. He probably chose to apply himself to football instead of school or more likely had a better opportunity in football than school.
Post by: vb on August 11, 2005, 06:11:44 AM
Justin Latapy played for the Boavista youth team in the late 90s.

Rocke turned down offers from Flamenco and the MLS clubs becz the thought they were trying to take advantage of him financially.

As he put it, the MLS Clubs wanted to pay him half of what he was earning in the A League. But he starred in the Combine trials every time.

Peace,
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 11, 2005, 10:09:58 AM
this ah hard one aye tallman what eva happen to the english youth for the under 17 team back in 2001

Mario Daniel he had a few try outs with manu and hotspur any idea where he is
Post by: Ngozi on August 11, 2005, 10:20:52 AM
Irasto Knight's is playing in Brooklyn (HORIZON SOCCER CLUB)  , Queens  NY area . Skywalker , you have a lot of good youth players that do not standout at the next level , we as friends of theirs make excuses for them .The fact is that Rocke and some others were exposed to a lot of football , but I dont think he turned down any major contract to do what he is doing , which by the way is a commendable thing .
 Shaka was in the US college scene completed a degree and still made it to the pros , because he was good enough .
\\

Shaka was also an english citizen so work permit considerations didnt affect him  you gotta remember he isnt seen as a foreign player becAUSE HE IS ENGLISH BORN
Post by: vb on August 11, 2005, 10:29:56 AM
this ah hard one aye tallman what eva happen to the english youth for the under 17 team back in 2001

Believe it or not, he's playing for England.....small goal that is.. http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:lAFZLxr_u08J:www.sportnetwork.net/main/s195/st46731.htm+mario+daniel+football&hl=en

He was also playing Conference football in Eng. last yr.
http://66.102.7.104/search?q=cache:lAFZLxr_u08J:www.sportnetwork.net/main/s195/st46731.htm+mario+daniel+football&hl=en

But doh really know what he's doing these days.

Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2005, 10:39:47 AM

Mario Daniel currently plays for Woodley Sports FC (http://www.woodleysports.co.uk/) in the Unibond League (http://www.unibondleague.com) (Division 1) and he is on England's Futsal squad.

(http://www.mossleyweb.co.uk/MarioDaniel.jpg)

(http://www.mossleyweb.co.uk/GoMMarioDaniel.jpg)
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 11, 2005, 10:44:10 AM
yes tallman i take meh hat off to you
Post by: vb on August 11, 2005, 10:50:34 AM
Allyuh ever see a program on TV called Alias...with a secret orgnisation called SD6.

Well I come to the conclusion that Tallest doing some kinda undercover ting.....FBI, CIA...Tactical Squad.

TM just for de hell of it...what Clauzelle doing these days? ;D

Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2005, 10:55:21 AM
TM just for de hell of it...what Clauzelle doing these days? ;D

Clauzel is de assistant coach at Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive.
Post by: samo on August 11, 2005, 11:03:36 AM
See whar ah saying... Tallman is the entire Ministry of Information (Globally)
Post by: Lower St. John on August 11, 2005, 11:07:40 AM
Tallman take WIN brother. :D :D  Wicked on the Trini football knowledge. :o

Tallman for Minister of Information. 8)
Post by: real madness on August 11, 2005, 11:14:16 AM
Allyuh men is ah waste of time..asking Tallman all kinda of football questions.....The Man is ah Boss...but we need to utilise tallman skills....tallman what is the winning numbers for the lotto?... ;D
Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2005, 11:18:16 AM
I really tink dat Tallman is god! cause he does find out dem ting too fast.

De FBI and CIA does still fail sometimes cause it have plenty unsolved mysteries.

since it established that tall man might be god, then I just want to let u know tallman, that i didnt know she was 14!  Search my heart tallman, i am telling u de truth.  Please allow me into heaven!  ;D

Post by: grskywalker on August 11, 2005, 11:51:08 AM
Tallman certainly has the time to find out stuff, but it's available to everyone with internet access. What ever the question is you will find it on the web, even if all you have is a name
Post by: palos on August 11, 2005, 11:51:28 AM
I really tink dat Tallman is god! cause he does find out dem ting too fast.

De FBI and CIA does still fail sometimes cause it have plenty unsolved mysteries.

since it established that tall man might be god, then I just want to let u know tallman, that i didnt know she was 14!  Search my heart tallman, i am telling u de truth.  Please allow me into heaven!  ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Sanchez on August 11, 2005, 12:01:24 PM
Anybody know whatever happen to Naitche Sanowar and Niguel Williams who played for Naps during the early 90's.  Dem was some boss stoppers for short-men.  I remember Niguel use to hit some serious bicycle.
Post by: real madness on August 11, 2005, 12:13:11 PM
Tallman certainly has the time to find out stuff, but it's available to everyone with internet access. What ever the question is you will find it on the web, even if all you have is a name

True but the amazing thing is his ability to find stuff quickly. 
Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2005, 12:35:13 PM

Yuh could always count on ah trini tuh down play ah man's talent!! steups! U make it sound so easy!!!!
Post by: samo on August 11, 2005, 01:05:40 PM
Niguel Williams??? What kinda name is that..
I know a fella name Sonathan.
So is
Niguel instead of miguel
Sonathan instead of Jonathan
Tallman instead of GOD...
What next ;)
Post by: doc on August 11, 2005, 01:36:00 PM
Anybody know whatever happen to Naitche Sanowar and Niguel Williams who played for Naps during the early 90's. Dem was some boss stoppers for short-men. I remember Niguel use to hit some serious bicycle.

Last time ah saw Naitche, he was in Brooklyn. That was a few years ago.
Post by: Sanchez on August 12, 2005, 08:51:36 AM
Niguel Williams??? What kinda name is that..
I know a fella name Sonathan.
So is
Niguel instead of miguel
Sonathan instead of Jonathan
Tallman instead of GOD...
What next ;)

Samo, I believe his name is Nigel, but pronounced Niguel. Don't ask meh how......
Post by: samo on August 12, 2005, 11:01:14 AM
Thanx Sanchez... That is definitely a new one.
Title: Shawn Boney
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2005, 07:08:27 PM
What about Shawn Boney?

Shawn Boney (http://www.kixxonline.com/players/?id=2) plays fuh de Philadelphia Kixx (http://www.kixxonline.com) in de Major Indoor Soccer League (MISL). Do you know that he was drafted by de L.A. Galaxy in 1997?
Title: What ever happen to................
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 12:02:39 AM
Gorian Highley

Hayden Tinto

Josimar Belgrave

???????????????

Dem fellas was some a we brightest talents and den BAM...jes doh hear bout dem no more.

Anybody could provide some updates bout dese fellas?
Title: Re: What ever happen to................
Post by: rippin on November 08, 2005, 12:04:25 AM
Joel Bailey. When Spann was starring in SSFL he was starring too. I know he in the PFL but that is about it.
Post by: Ponnoxx on November 08, 2005, 12:07:55 AM
 I know Highley was at Connection...Then I hear the man stop train...I hear all kinda of things but nothing good and nothing pertaining to his football...Hopefully he gets back on track and star-out in the future....Go T&T !!!!
Post by: ricky on November 08, 2005, 12:08:24 AM
Joel Bailey. When Spann was starring in SSFL he was starring too. I know he in the PFL but that is about it.

yuh eh helpin out palos dey, but to answer your question bailey plays for the montreal impact of the A league

Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2005, 04:59:53 AM
In March of this year Tinto was stiill in Trinidad playing for Maraval Youth Academy and the Super League.  Belgrave have an injury right now and Ratty play de ass. Ratty not playing any ball right now. Steups. That is the best young dribbler
in Trinidad. If you looking for sumting resembling Latapy look at Ratty.Steups ,Waste !
Post by: palos on November 08, 2005, 05:04:42 AM
In March of this year Tinto was stiill in Trinidad playing for Maraval Youth Academy and the Super League.  Belgrave have an injury right now and Ratty play de ass. Ratty not playing any ball right now. Steups. That is the best young dribbler
in Trinidad. If you looking for sumting resembling Latapy look at Ratty.Steups ,Waste !

"Better" dan Hardest?
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2005, 05:32:22 AM
Ratty is probably only 20 right now. Even if he was better I wouldn't put them the same category because of the age difference.
Post by: morvant on November 08, 2005, 09:59:51 AM
but what hapeened to tinto i wanna know too

and anybody know if primus still have it??
Post by: Gladman on November 08, 2005, 12:28:15 PM
While we on this topic where is Nikosi Blackman
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 08, 2005, 12:33:24 PM
Blackman playing in the south league now. Gorian higley and them man wasting dey talent
Post by: Gladman on November 08, 2005, 02:00:01 PM
ah name jus come to mi mind is Atiba Mcknight where he is
Post by: Pointman on November 08, 2005, 02:11:27 PM

it seems like since de accident, after Man U tryouts, he never really catch heself. He still balling though in the Point area.
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2005, 02:18:51 PM
Teba McKnight (http://gomason.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/mtt/mcknight_teba00.html) plays for George Mason University
Post by: Jayerson on November 08, 2005, 02:23:01 PM
Teba McKnight (http://gomason.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/mtt/mcknight_teba00.html) plays for George Mason University

Since this thread is revived, what about Lyndon 'Chubby' Andrews, he used to be at Hibs in Scotland at one time, have any idea where he is now?
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2005, 02:28:51 PM
what about Lyndon 'Chubby' Andrews, he used to be at Hibs in Scotland at one time, have any idea where he is now?
He plays for Joe Public. He last played for T&T in the Digicel Cup against Cuba in February.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2005, 02:32:36 PM

it seems like since de accident, after Man U tryouts, he never really catch heself. He still balling though in the Point area.

I ain't trying to hate on the man but in all fairness he was always overrated. I even spoke to players from Joe Youths and they said he wasn't as good as a lot of people made him out be. He scored a spectacular goal for us but that was it. I saw him play many times and he never impressed me. What he did have going for him is the physical attributes of a striker but he iwas never a great talen. Forbes and Mcknight were better players than him by far. We must also always remember Simoes saying that that team was not the corps of U17 players in the country.
Post by: Jayerson on November 08, 2005, 02:37:14 PM
what about Lyndon 'Chubby' Andrews, he used to be at Hibs in Scotland at one time, have any idea where he is now?
He plays for Joe Public. He last played for T&T in the Digicel Cup against Cuba in February.

Thanks, you're on the ball as usual.
Post by: Socaman on November 08, 2005, 03:55:12 PM
what ever happened to men like Marvin Faustin& Kerry Jamason??
Post by: Tallman on November 08, 2005, 04:01:18 PM
I eh know what Marvin Faustin doing, but Kerry Jamerson coaches Defence Force. Here is Marvin Faustin posing with Brian Williams, Latas and Yorke (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=3935.0).
Post by: davyjenny on November 08, 2005, 04:15:46 PM
I eh know what Marvin Faustin doing, but Kerry Jamerson coaches Defence Force. Here is Marvin Faustin posing with Brian Williams, Latas and Yorke (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=3935.0).

dah is de only ting you eh know bout in your whole life,wah else you eh
know? ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Daft Trini on November 08, 2005, 06:15:53 PM
Anyone  remember a Garvin Lewis, he was supposed to play for Barnsney in 1995. He went to St Benedicts for a while.
Title: Where is Nigel 'CROC' Pierre
Post by: Teflon Don on November 18, 2005, 07:55:43 PM
Nigel Pierre was one of our best young strikers does anybody know what is going on with him now...these guys maybe able to help us in the world cup...alot of ppl always talking about bsc fighting down alot of players givin dem a hard time...i dont know if this is the same for nigel piere but ne body knows what he has been up to??
Title: Re: Where is Nigel 'CROC' Pierre
Post by: Babalawo on November 18, 2005, 07:57:20 PM
he go get sum burn while  Yorke and dem having club duties
Post by: Teflon Don on November 18, 2005, 08:07:53 PM
Yea freal Hayden Tinto is another young player cah be more then 21 yrs old....he needs a chance with the national team...very skillfull and speedy winger...i hope that we have a little more time to scout for players sum of these guys are given a chance to try out
Post by: morvant on November 18, 2005, 08:09:42 PM
Yea freal Hayden Tinto is another young player cah be more then 21 yrs old....he needs a chance with the national team...very skillfull and speedy winger...i hope that we have a little more time to scout for players sum of these guys are given a chance to try out

yeah tinto went malick so he deserve ah spot ;D
Post by: pardners on March 20, 2006, 06:56:43 AM
Allyuh evoke some memories dey boy....
Not sure if this is the thread to raise it on but....
The younger posters might not know some of these fellas, but.....What happen to men like...

Colin Rocke
Kona Hislop (Shaka younger brother)
Ivan Sampson (Benedicts)
Kurt Barrington (San Juan Snr)
Grimes (cyah remember the first name, but he used to play with one of them schools in the East)
Timothy Haynes (big player for Arima Snr)
Sean LeGendre (think that is the fella name...used to star out for St. Augustine Snr)
Post by: College on March 20, 2006, 07:03:33 AM
Padners  , yuh call some really nice players they boy, whey yuh pull them names from??  Good question, is a pity that these players was so good at the youth level but never featured on the senior natl team.. We have that ongoing problem of bridging that gap.

Oh,by the way ah thing Grimes went Eldo.. ah could be wrong doh
Post by: vb on March 20, 2006, 07:48:09 AM
There was an aritcle about Rocke opening his own indoor soccer academy in the States, tried to find it on the forum but couldn't..

I did an interview with colin some years ago, when his career was winding down.

He was coaching and still playing some pro ball.

http://caribsport01.homestead.com/football.html

Post by: grskywalker on March 20, 2006, 08:45:03 AM
The younger posters might not know some of these fellas, but.....What happen to men like...

Colin Rocke
Ivan Sampson (Benedicts)
Grimes (cyah remember the first name, but he used to play with one of them schools in the East)
Sean LeGendre (think that is the fella name...used to star out for St. Augustine Snr)

Well I was in touch with Colin just 2 weeks ago, his business suffered extensive damage after Katrina and he was in Houston. He is still keeping himself in shape and wanted to get in touch with Corneal to get an opp to try out for the left side for the WARRIORS, not sure if that is something that's going to happen now though, the door is closing, but I told him to keep trying.
Post by: Jahyouth on March 20, 2006, 11:08:02 AM

Colin Rocke
Ivan Sampson (Benedicts)

Ivan Sampson is running a big coaching school "Sampson Soccer School" in the DC/Maryland area.
Post by: PEG on March 20, 2006, 01:58:05 PM
That's why i am in support of what Beenie is doing.  Colin Rocke and anybody else who wanted to play with the Warriors before qualification had a chance to speak up.  Beenie is well within his rights by the way to dance with them who brung you.  P.S. Of those that were mentioned Kona Hislop is the real tragedy.  A beautiful left footed player blessed with speed and deadly shot with minimum back lift.  Injuries snuffed out his career.  Real tragedy.
Post by: shooter on March 20, 2006, 04:21:08 PM
by the way fellas...where dem Benedicts men from the 90's like Sampson, Jordan, Landeau, Neverson and Benjamin?
  • Ivan Sampson (http://www.sampsonsoccer.com/aboutus.htm#ivan) is President and Owner of Sampson Soccer, Inc (http://www.samppsonsoccer.com) in Washington D.C.
  • Glenn Benjamin is a coach at the University of Mobile.

so where is Marvin Gordon ? (who maybe play 9 years of intercol)glen benjamin doh coach mobile no more....he was ah grad assisstant coach, but he sill doing he thing down there in alabama..i does see him once in ah while...he was here jus before the christmas to play in ah alumni game...bless
Marvin Gordon plays for Defence Force
Post by: shooter on March 20, 2006, 04:21:57 PM

that was glen
Post by: doh_stick on March 20, 2006, 04:58:27 PM
Allyuh remember Marvin Raeburn? he use to rip with Trotty (rest his soul) for fatima back in de days...he had real touches
Post by: #8 on March 20, 2006, 05:00:58 PM

De only other people I could recall going there was Clint Marcelle and Cornell Glen. It have any more?
Shawn Cooper had a stint over there also.
Post by: College on March 20, 2006, 05:11:46 PM
Since this is a 'where are they now' topic anyone remember or know the whereabouts of Sterling Smith ex-national youth captain, I always thought he woud amout to something special.
Post by: MEP on March 21, 2006, 01:46:53 AM

Garnet Craig, Skinner, Corneal and Ronnie Simmons are some footballers who should have done better. I think at times they were the victims of curious selection policies.

Out of those 4 one only was a quality player and that was Skinner...the other 3 made it to the national team because they went to coaching school.
Incidentally, the unsung hero of that Fatima defence was a 14 year old youth called Fritz.

If allyuh want to call "great players" in the late 70's Belmont Sec had a team that consisted of players like Sacky, Bird, Blip and Plucky.

One of the reasons why players like Rocke never received  national level attention is that they chose schools that gave them little or no exposure to a higher level game.
 When the influx of Trinibago players into US colleges started in the 80's a lot of guys saw an education as something that lasts a lifetime and football as only a temporary thing. If you look at schools in the NE Conf. the teams were a lot stronger then than they are now.

Post by: JERSEY TRINI on March 21, 2006, 02:42:42 AM

boy i really forget you was in them Courts commercials with yuh brother yes..my memory really going lol.

by the way fellas...where dem Benedicts men from the 90's like Sampson, Jordan, Landeau, Neverson and Benjamin?..dem days Naps had good players but not good enough to beat the other schools i guess.

ah know I coming in here late with this one, but the last time I see Edson Landeau was playin with him on the Club Sando squad back in 98 with that other glad man call Olievera( ah sure a spell he name wrong...lol) :rotfl:
Post by: vb on March 21, 2006, 05:41:57 AM

Out of those 4 one only was a quality player and that was Skinner...the other 3 made it to the national team because they went to coaching school.
Incidentally, the unsung hero of that Fatima defence was a 14 year old youth called Fritz.

If allyuh want to call "great players" in the late 70's Belmont Sec had a team that consisted of players like Sacky, Bird, Blip and Plucky.

One of the reasons why players like Rocke never received  national level attention is that they chose schools that gave them little or no exposure to a higher level game.
 When the influx of Trinibago players into US colleges started in the 80's a lot of guys saw an education as something that lasts a lifetime and football as only a temporary thing. If you look at schools in the NE Conf. the teams were a lot stronger then than they are now.

The man played in the MLS and A League.

Wasn't that enough to warrant national level attention?

Post by: CK1 on March 21, 2006, 10:39:22 AM
Sterlin Smith had a successful collegiate career and now coaches a youth club in Conneticut. There are so many talented players our country lost during the 80's. US College scholarships was basically the best opportunity these players had to make the most of their football talent. Many of them are still involved in the game and have made usefull careers with their education.
We lost many of these players because our TTFF did not ...and still does not have a proper player development system/mechanism in place. Making it at the top pro and international level takes much more than just talent. I've said in other posts, untill TTFF gets this corrected our players will continue to struggle to establish themselves on the highest level of the professional ranks.
ALCONS was bringing along some of the best youths in the country, TTFA ban players from playing for the National team because they wanted to play for ALCONS...(Peter Alfred and many others). There was a lot of damage done to many players by the TTFA and it's band of crooks. How you go give big men a box ah Royal Castle and ah Solo after they just play a match for the National Team!!! :devil: that is wickedness.
How JW could walk into the locker room before a National Team match and tell the coach who he must play or not play!!! :devil:
Ah does try real hard to hold my peace on this forum, but as allyuh start to bring up some ah these players' names, tears in meh eye for we country football. Ah real happy we going to the WC and ah doh have tuh take no ole talk from people here in the US; but I'm very concerned about what will happen after the WC.
Post by: CK1 on March 21, 2006, 11:16:15 AM
MEP: I think you making a mistake. All four of these players were boss players. Craig, Skinner and Simmons all very talented defenders. Corneal...if is Anton you talking about...also a boss player and one of the most skillful youth players to come through the ranks. Coaching school have nothing to do with these fellas playing for the National team. In fact I think that Anton never had a fair chance because most people believe he made the team because of his father, and on the other hand he didn't make the team for the same dumb reason. ???
Coaching school was the standard of excellence for young players back in those days...doy you know that York; Latas; Faustin,Haynes ect. also played with Coaching school?
Post by: kingman on March 21, 2006, 01:48:56 PM

darin lewis?
craig dennim?

Craid Dennim is no longer with the Rochester Rhinos. He is presently in pre-season camp with Virginia Beach Marines. Darin Lewis (NCAA College Cup MVP back in 1999) had signed a mutli year contract with Portland Timbers, the same team that drafted Anthony Noriega but that contract has expired now. He no longer plays professional in the American leagues.

Post by: MEP on March 21, 2006, 02:19:52 PM
Like ah say they only had one quality player of the the 4  that should have made it big on the national level and that was Skinner....yuh sound like a Fatima man CK1...Garnet Craig just never really impress me enough for him to be a national player. Anton Corneal was good yes I don't disagree with that but I'm comparing him to the pool of players that were available at that time and as a striker he would have been 4 or 5 on my list.
Post by: doc on March 21, 2006, 03:09:45 PM
MEP: I think you making a mistake. All four of these players were boss players. Craig, Skinner and Simmons all very talented defenders. Corneal...if is Anton you talking about...also a boss player and one of the most skillful youth players to come through the ranks. Coaching school have nothing to do with these fellas playing for the National team. In fact I think that Anton never had a fair chance because most people believe he made the team because of his father, and on the other hand he didn't make the team for the same dumb reason. ???
Coaching school was the standard of excellence for young players back in those days...doy you know that York; Latas; Faustin,Haynes ect. also played with Coaching school?
MEP, you seem to have some knowledge of that era. Three quick questions for you. When did Anton and Craig make there national team debut? What team were they playing with? and Who was the National team coach at the time?
Post by: CK1 on March 21, 2006, 07:11:04 PM
MEP: I'm definitely not a Fatima man. I played with Skinner and against Fatima. If you read the post about most memorable games you'll see that I'm definitely not Fatima, but those players were very good back in the day.
Post by: MEP on March 21, 2006, 07:44:30 PM
MEP, you seem to have some knowledge of that era. Three quick questions for you. When did Anton and Craig make there national team debut? What team were they playing with? and Who was the National team coach at the time?

Some knowledge just some.......padnah...and ah sufferin from selective memory too :) :) :) but to answer yuh question when they made their debut off the top ah meh head cyah remember....I believe they maybe have been with Maple and ah don't want to venture a guess at to who the coach was....Lordy..yuh have meh searchin in the deep recesses of meh memory....
Post by: doc on March 21, 2006, 08:01:22 PM

Some knowledge just some.......padnah...and ah sufferin from selective memory too :) :) :) but to answer yuh question when they made their debut off the top ah meh head cyah remember....I believe they maybe have been with Maple and ah don't want to venture a guess at to who the coach was....Lordy..yuh have meh searchin in the deep recesses of meh memory....

The reason I asked, is because of the following comment -"...I think that Anton never had a fair chance because most people believe he made the team because of his father, and on the other hand he didn't make the team for the same dumb reason. ???"

Alvin Corneal was the coach who handed him his debut. At the time he played with Maple who were playing second division football at the time. Six or seven Maple men were in the squad at the time too. Does that jog you memory ??? :devil:
Post by: Blue on March 21, 2006, 08:09:21 PM

Wasnt Dwarika playing for East Fife? That was hardly an opportunity for greatness. Scottish lower divisions are rubbish.
Post by: MEP on March 21, 2006, 08:49:55 PM
I thought Alvin was the coach but not liking to be wrong didn't answer.... :) :) :) I understand where you're coming from in that he was doomed to failure one way or another but CK was responsible for that comment not me. I'm not fan of Alvin Corneal even though if you were to go down North Carolina and mention his name people start bowing in reverence. I've met both players and coaches who have nothing but praise. Ah eh know but I want him to saty far from the national team.
Post by: CK1 on March 21, 2006, 11:57:17 PM
Alvin was the coach at the time. Maple was playing in the top division and won with those 6 or 7 young players together with some vetrans like Reynold George.
I do think that Anton was doomed one way or the other because of his father. In true Trini style he was in a love /hate situation. He was definitely a very capable player with the potential to give much to the National Program at the time.
IN MANY AREAS IN THE US AND AROUND THE WORLD ALVIN DOES GET MUCH RESPECT, BUT ON THE OTHER HAND, HE GETS AN EQUAL AMOUNT OF DISREGARD. HE'S A VERY WELL RESPECTED COACH AND EXCELLENT TEACHER OF THE GAME,BUT HID INTEGRITY IN PERSONAL DEALINGS IS OFTEN QUESTIONED.
Post by: fishs on March 22, 2006, 12:08:32 AM
Alvin was the coach at the time. Maple was playing in the top division and won with those 6 or 7 young players together with some vetrans like Reynold George.
I do think that Anton was doomed one way or the other because of his father. In true Trini style he was in a love /hate situation. He was definitely a very capable player with the potential to give much to the National Program at the time.
IN MANY AREAS IN THE US AND AROUND THE WORLD ALVIN DOES GET MUCH RESPECT, BUT ON THE OTHER HAND, HE GETS AN EQUAL AMOUNT OF DISREGARD. HE'S A VERY WELL RESPECTED COACH AND EXCELLENT TEACHER OF THE GAME,BUT HID INTEGRITY IN PERSONAL DEALINGS IS OFTEN QUESTIONED.

Ah suppose anybody dat doing something at a national level open for criticism but I never heard of his personal dealings being questioned and I will say from a personal level that Alvin is quite a decent person.
Post by: doc on March 22, 2006, 07:25:32 AM
I thought Alvin was the coach but not liking to be wrong didn't answer.... :) :) :) I understand where you're coming from in that he was doomed to failure one way or another but CK was responsible for that comment not me. I'm not fan of Alvin Corneal even though if you were to go down North Carolina and mention his name people start bowing in reverence. I've met both players and coaches who have nothing but praise. Ah eh know but I want him to saty far from the national team.

Sorry 'bout that.
Post by: doc on March 22, 2006, 07:40:13 AM
CK1, you are sadly mistaken! Maple got promoted to NSL Div 1 in 1981. When them fellas made their debut, they were playing in the 2nd division. If my memory serves me right, they were also the only div 2 players on the National squad then. My team practiced in the savannah just across from where Maple practiced during that time. I also played with a couple of those Maple men in some minor league as well. This was also much discussed at that time. Those are the facts. What one deduces from them is up to them.
Post by: CK1 on March 22, 2006, 10:01:17 AM
FISHS: From my very personal dealings with Alvin and his family ,indeed he is a decent person. His influence through the game had a significant impact on my life as a youngster and many others. I'm probably still connected to the game today because of his mentorship.
However, I'm also aware that many other people don't share the same opinion about him. (...my mother taught me that if you have nothing good to say about someone; you should whistle, and if you can't whistle;just spit...if yuh mouth too dry to spit; don't say anything at all... :-X)
As for the Maple years, you are probably right even though I played with them...Dexter Skeen, Garth Polonais; Renwrick Jones; Alvin Clifton; Trevor(Masters) James...to name a few.
Title: Player Watch, "Where is X?"
Post by: Tiresais on February 01, 2014, 04:33:28 PM
A new thread! To ask people where a certain player is now. I need it for my own nefarious ends, so I'll ask the first question

Where's Leslie Fitzpatrick now? Last I heard he was in Puerto Rico? Or NE stars?
Title: Re: Player Watch, "Where is X?"
Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2014, 04:50:14 PM
Where's Leslie Fitzpatrick now? Last I heard he was in Puerto Rico? Or NE stars?

He's the Technical Director of Kenton Soccer Club (http://kentonsoccer.com/) in upstate New York.
Title: Re: Player Watch, "Where is X?"
Post by: Tiresais on February 01, 2014, 04:57:11 PM

He's the Technical Director of Kenton Soccer Club (http://kentonsoccer.com/) in upstate New York.

That's good to hear - but why do a seemingly large-proportion of our ex-footballers set up camps in the US rather than in Trinidad?
Post by: Deeks on February 01, 2014, 07:05:50 PM
 but why do a seemingly large-proportion of our ex-footballers set up camps in the US rather than in Trinidad?

we could give you a 1000 reasons why. I will say less headache.
Post by: loyalist on February 01, 2014, 07:07:11 PM

That's good to hear - but why do a seemingly large-proportion of our ex-footballers set up camps in the US rather than in Trinidad?
simple......because there is support and good financial stability and backing. To a certain degree there are much more appreciation shown here.
Post by: Tiresais on February 01, 2014, 07:09:06 PM
We need to change that...
Post by: loyalist on February 01, 2014, 10:20:53 PM
You right but do you know that the former TTFF and hopefully not the new TTFA has literally for argument sake discarded most of the guys who have came to America for  College and otherwise. I for sure will love to comeback and give back. However, why would i leave the people who pay for all my Licenses and give me an opportunity to further my career with no malice.
Post by: Tiresais on February 02, 2014, 04:00:07 AM
You right but do you know that the former TTFF and hopefully not the new TTFA has literally for argument sake discarded most of the guys who have came to America for  College and otherwise. I for sure will love to comeback and give back. However, why would i leave the people who pay for all my Licenses and give me an opportunity to further my career with no malice.

For the same reason you might go to the UK/US to do a degree and come back to Trinidad to do good work? You usually pay for licenses (or are you saying that the club/company paid for it?), so there is a bit of 'giving back', but really justify it as the land of your forefathers, a place that's being under-served and lacks coaching, that lacks support, and that you can be part of the solution here and now. The USA already has the highest participation in soccer for kids it's ever had, with tens of thousands of coaching programmes and soccer academies.

It's a personal moral choice and I (and Englishman) ain't gonna preach on what you should do - no right to. You're doing good work in coaching no matter where you d it, but I think Trinidad needs it more than most :)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 02, 2014, 05:08:42 AM

For the same reason you might go to the UK/US to do a degree and come back to Trinidad to do good work? You usually pay for licenses (or are you saying that the club/company paid for it?), so there is a bit of 'giving back', but really justify it as the land of your forefathers, a place that's being under-served and lacks coaching, that lacks support, and that you can be part of the solution here and now. The USA already has the highest participation in soccer for kids it's ever had, with tens of thousands of coaching programmes and soccer academies.

It's a personal moral choice and I (and Englishman) ain't gonna preach on what you should do - no right to. You're doing good work in coaching no matter where you d it, but I think Trinidad needs it more than most :)

... given that the US landscape is littered with Englishmen, none of whom are present out of morality, loyalist would best be advised to carry on smartly.
Post by: Tiresais on February 02, 2014, 05:18:48 AM

... given that the US landscape is littered with Englishmen, none of whom are present out of morality, loyalist would best be advised to carry on smartly.

I'm not sure what your point here is? I'm trying not to take it as an Anglophobic comment but I can't really interpret this sentence except as "He's English so don't trust what he's saying"
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 02, 2014, 06:37:59 AM

Quick funny story about Tiger.

I was once in a sweat with Tiger in upper manhattan, small goal (2000/2001).  Anyway, we were on the attack and Tiger collect the ball in midfield and no sooner than after he collected the ball, his cell ph which he had on him rang (in those days de damn ph was big and was hanging down his pants).  Anyway, Tiger answer de call, he talkin, one man geh beat and he advance, he still talkin and anodder man geh beat and he advance....well he continue to beat about 4-5 man and den slot de ball home and walk to de sideline and continue his conversation.  Everybody on the opposition was like, wha de hell, ah watch him and say "gallery while smiling"

Glad to hear he's still doing this thing....
Post by: Deeks on February 02, 2014, 09:12:08 AM

I'm not sure what your point here is? I'm trying not to take it as an Anglophobic comment but I can't really interpret this sentence except as "He's English so don't trust what he's saying"

Breds what everybody trying to tell you is that, unless you come home with your own resources or have local or foreign sponsors, be  prepared  to work for free.
Post by: loyalist on February 02, 2014, 12:00:20 PM
Tiresais I understand what you are saying. I guess for me i am able to work in an environment where I can conduct my coaching in a very professional manner. I am able to work with no interference or problems per say. The question I ask myself all the time is, if i am to come back home and contribute to the development of the game, is the standard in terms of organization going to be high or disorganized? I will definitely love to give back. For myself who are a former national player, and other former national players ,high school players who came to the U.S to play football and have gone into the coaching, I am sure that at some point will love to come back and give some help. I guess the politics of the game in Trinidad could prevent that though.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on February 02, 2014, 12:30:13 PM
There is no infrastructure in place period for anyone with higher education or skill set to return home and give back.........while being able to maintain some kind of normal lifestyle..........so many daughters and sons of the soil with talents acquired abroad would love to return home and contribute to society...........I have even heard stories of people who received government scholarships but can't get into the workforce once they returned because of politricks...........for me it reach to the point where I prefer to be comfortable in the cold than to be dealing with dodging bandits and 3rd world governmental buffoonery that continues to destroy the nation..........hopefully the future brings a little change
Post by: Tiresais on February 02, 2014, 03:14:58 PM
I can understand that - you gotta earn a living. My comment was more towards the players who have perhaps earnt quite well abroad and can bring funds to bare domestically, a la Sancho, and employ some of you abroad. I should have perhaps phrase the original comment better...

Lets hope (or effect) some change can occur in the next decade...
Post by: elan on February 02, 2014, 03:17:29 PM

Why?

A DoC in the US can make anywhere from US$30,000 - Over US$100,000 + a year working most often 5-9 hours a day.
How are you making that kind of living in T&T?
Post by: elan on February 02, 2014, 03:18:59 PM
I can understand that - you gotta earn a living. My comment was more towards the players who have perhaps earnt quite well abroad and can bring funds to bare domestically, a la Sancho, and employ some of you abroad. I should have perhaps phrase the original comment better...

Lets hope (or effect) some change can occur in the next decade...

The TTFF who does collect millions of $ a year from FIFA doh give back, but you want men to give they blood back? Alyuh eh serious.
Post by: Tiresais on February 02, 2014, 04:14:40 PM

Why?

A DoC in the US can make anywhere from US$30,000 - Over US$100,000 + a year working most often 5-9 hours a day.
How are you making that kind of living in T&T?

That's what I meant, we need to come up with a way to make it pay to do good for Trini football, which links directly to your next post. If the TTFA ain't doing what they're supposed to then it's just left to us, which I'm definitely not happy about, but we're left to do what we can. Given how untransparent and murky football governance is I'm not sure what we could do to change the TTFA...

Anyway as I said earlier - I'm not telling them, I'm sort of 'asking' them. The answers will tell us half the problem in football, regardless of yes or no
Post by: gawd on pitch on February 02, 2014, 05:37:34 PM

I seen him coaching some youths with a soccer academy in Toronto.. This was in November

http://torontoskillz.com/leadership/
Post by: asylumseeker on February 02, 2014, 05:45:56 PM

... given that the US [coaching] landscape is littered with Englishmen, none of whom are present out of morality, loyalist would best be advised to carry on smartly.

I'm not sure why you're not sure what the point is. I'm less sure why you've settled on anglophobia.

1. Soccer is still an under-served game in the US. Juxtapose that vis-a-vis Trinidad and Tobago and you have one of the answers you sought.
2. Other posts since mine have pointed to the economics (hence the comment:  ... "none of whom are present out of morality")
3. There is a similar need for youth coaches in England ... yet there's an opportunistic exodus by Englishmen to the US based on the attributes of the US model that other posters have alluded to ... reality.
4. The problem is not loyalist's presence in the US ... the problem is not bridging resources such that loyalist et al can live abroad while making a difference at home.
5. This work need not be the work of the TTFA.
Post by: Tiresais on February 03, 2014, 02:17:54 AM

... given that the US [coaching] landscape is littered with Englishmen, none of whom are present out of morality, loyalist would best be advised to carry on smartly.

I'm not sure why you're not sure what the point is. I'm less sure why you've settled on anglophobia.

1. Soccer is still an under-served game in the US. Juxtapose that vis-a-vis Trinidad and Tobago and you have one of the answers you sought.
2. Other posts since mine have pointed to the economics (hence the comment:  ... "none of whom are present out of morality")
3. There is a similar need for youth coaches in England ... yet there's an opportunistic exodus by Englishmen to the US based on the attributes of the US model that other posters have alluded to ... reality.
4. The problem is not loyalist's presence in the US ... the problem is not bridging resources such that loyalist et al can live abroad while making a difference at home.

My original comment explains the 'leap' to anglophobia.

1) I'm not sure how you measure Soccer being under-served - do you have any articles or evidence on this (again please don't take this as disbelief, I'd be interested in the evidence).

2) As my post notes above, certainly wouldn't criticise anyone for making a living

3) Again not sure why you think there's a lack of English youth coaches? The problem historically has always been the methods, rather than the quantity - every club and their mum has a youth team here.

4) Agreed, as I pointed out above the comment was phrased badly and wasn't pointing at Loyalist.

5) Agreed
Post by: asylumseeker on February 03, 2014, 04:04:32 AM

1) I'm not sure how you measure Soccer being under-served - do you have any articles or evidence on this (again please don't take this as disbelief, I'd be interested in the evidence).

2) As my post notes above, certainly wouldn't criticise anyone for making a living

3)Again not sure why you think there's a lack of English youth coaches? The problem historically has always been the methods, rather than the quantity - every club and their mum has a youth team here.

4) Agreed, as I pointed out above the comment was phrased badly and wasn't pointing at Loyalist.

5) Agreed

Let's start with #3.

As England fans grasp for indicators of how their team will perform at the World Cup, Digger can reveal statistics that will lead only to pessimism.

Three years ago an official report concluded that coaching is the "golden thread" leading to international success, but new Uefa data shows that there are only 2,769 English coaches holding Uefa's B, A and Pro badges, its top qualifications. Spain has produced 23,995, Italy 29,420, Germany 34,970 and France 17,588.
Between them those four nations have provided eight of the 12 finalists at all the World Cups and European Championships since 1998. England, meanwhile, have not appeared in a tournament final in 44 years.

There are 2.25 million players in England and only one Uefa-qualified coach for every 812 people playing the game. Spain, the World Cup favourites, have 408,134 players, giving a ratio of 1:17. In Italy, the world champions, the ratio is 1:48, in France it is 1:96, Germany 1:150 and even Greece, the Euro 2004 winners, have only 180,000 registered players for their 1,100 coaches, a ratio of 1:135.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2010/jun/01/football-coach-shortage-england

Post by: Tiresais on February 03, 2014, 04:21:03 AM

3)Again not sure why you think there's a lack of English youth coaches? The problem historically has always been the methods, rather than the quantity - every club and their mum has a youth team here.

5) Agreed

Let's start with #3.

As England fans grasp for indicators of how their team will perform at the World Cup, Digger can reveal statistics that will lead only to pessimism.

Three years ago an official report concluded that coaching is the "golden thread" leading to international success, but new Uefa data shows that there are only 2,769 English coaches holding Uefa's B, A and Pro badges, its top qualifications. Spain has produced 23,995, Italy 29,420, Germany 34,970 and France 17,588.
Between them those four nations have provided eight of the 12 finalists at all the World Cups and European Championships since 1998. England, meanwhile, have not appeared in a tournament final in 44 years.

There are 2.25 million players in England and only one Uefa-qualified coach for every 812 people playing the game. Spain, the World Cup favourites, have 408,134 players, giving a ratio of 1:17. In Italy, the world champions, the ratio is 1:48, in France it is 1:96, Germany 1:150 and even Greece, the Euro 2004 winners, have only 180,000 registered players for their 1,100 coaches, a ratio of 1:135.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2010/jun/01/football-coach-shortage-england

Well that's depressing! Seems English football is worse than I thought
Post by: asylumseeker on February 03, 2014, 05:24:50 AM
You inquired re:#1 also ... There are several ways to look at it. Let's start with the players.

The US child population is at or about 74 million. In 2012, there were 3 million youth players registered with US Youth Soccer. This 3 million figure has remained unchanged during the past decade. It constitutes only about 4% of the child population. Within this, certain segments of society are glaringly under-represented.

The numbers peaked in 2007/2008, but are now back at year 2000 levels. It's a drop in the order of about 100,000 players, and is likely attributable to economic considerations.

Other kids participate outside of the 3 million.

1974 - 103,432
1980 - 810,793
1985 - 1,210,408
1990 - 1,615,041
1995 - 2,388,719
2000 - 3,020,442
2005 - 3,050,465
2007 - 3,123,698
2008 - 3,148,114
2009 - 3,094,868
2010 - 3,036,438
2011 - 3,025,551
2012 - 3,020,633
Post by: Tiresais on February 03, 2014, 06:07:17 AM
You inquired re:#1 also ... There are several ways to look at it. Let's start with the players.

The US child population is at or about 74 million. In 2012, there were 3 million youth players registered with US Youth Soccer. This 3 million figure has remained unchanged during the past decade. It constitutes only about 4% of the child population. Within this, certain segments of society are glaringly under-represented.

The numbers peaked in 2007/2008, but are now back at year 2000 levels. It's a drop in the order of about 100,000 players, and is likely attributable to economic considerations.

Other kids participate outside of the 3 million.

1974 - 103,432
1980 - 810,793
1985 - 1,210,408
1990 - 1,615,041
1995 - 2,388,719
2000 - 3,020,442
2005 - 3,050,465
2007 - 3,123,698
2008 - 3,148,114
2009 - 3,094,868
2010 - 3,036,438
2011 - 3,025,551
2012 - 3,020,633

So how does that compare to coach numbers? I'm surprised the numbers havent gone up given southern demographic changes
Post by: loyalist on February 03, 2014, 09:51:52 AM
Asylumseeker, that's some good data there. For me being educated in my coaching under US Soccer, has shown me why the game is developing at a scary speed here in the US. The vision and goals of the US Soccer and the seriousness that is shown to develop the level of coaching here is tremendously high. Its almost as if the US Soccer has a bad mind and are highly determined to produce very talented players. In doing so they are not just giving any Tom, Dick and Harry their Licenses. That person must show the capability of being able to affect the game here so that it can benefit soccer for the sake of the national team. For example, only 33% of the class passed the C License when I did it last summer. There were 40 coaches who did it. I don't know how the Local coaches in Trinidad and Tobago go about getting their Licenses. Also, are coaches motivated to continue improving their craft in order to help change the game in Trinidad and Tobago at the youth level?
Post by: vb on February 03, 2014, 02:11:20 PM
Some years ago one of the forumites here said he was the Asst. Coach of the US girls U-14 team, do you guys remember who that was?

Post by: asylumseeker on February 03, 2014, 04:02:05 PM
Some years ago one of the forumites here said he was the Asst. Coach of the US girls U-14 team, do you guys remember who that was?

Yes.
Post by: elan on February 03, 2014, 04:04:44 PM

Yes, I remember who he is.
Post by: vb on February 03, 2014, 06:41:37 PM

This is not a quiz.
I'd like to remember who he is.  :)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 03, 2014, 07:16:54 PM

This is not a quiz.

Yuh famous fuh yuh quiz dem ... nnyman18.
Post by: vb on February 03, 2014, 11:20:30 PM

This is not a quiz.

Thanks.

Post by: elan on February 04, 2014, 09:21:22 AM

This is not a quiz.

I thought the question was rhetorical leading into some revelation about nnyman18.  Sorry
Post by: Flex on February 07, 2014, 03:09:23 AM
Gary Glasgow now with WASA FC in the Super League.

Post by: Tiresais on February 07, 2014, 06:38:40 AM

That's an interesting move... I got some other players who I'm interested in finding out where they went, I imagine they're retired or coaching?

Dean Pacheco (related to the other Pachecos?)
Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Dwarika (is he coaching?)
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray
Calvin Cayenne (GK coach at United Petrotrin)
Post by: Flex on February 11, 2014, 03:12:08 AM
Stern John now with WASA FC in the Super League.

Post by: Tiresais on February 11, 2014, 04:56:26 AM
Stern John now with WASA FC in the Super League.

Interesting. I saw him at the dentists when I was in Trini in Easter - he didn't look as fit as he had in the past, but I'm sure he's still quality. Thought he retired? What happened with him at Solihull Moors?
Post by: Rodney on February 11, 2014, 06:20:10 AM
What happen with Justin Fojo? Not heard anything bout him since he was at the PR Islanders.

Kevin Austin currently coaches for / runs the Sheffield Branch of the Active Soccer coaching school. Retired from playing after the 2011-12 season. Was a Boston Utd.
Post by: Football supporter on February 11, 2014, 06:24:07 AM

That's an interesting move... I got some other players who I'm interested in finding out where they went, I imagine they're retired or coaching?

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

I think Dwarika is at North East Stars in some kind of coaching capacity. Cyd is still around, but I think he was doing some work for the THA.
Post by: Tiresais on February 11, 2014, 06:38:51 AM
What happen with Justin Fojo? Not heard anything bout him since he was at the PR Islanders.

Kevin Austin currently coaches for / runs the Sheffield Branch of the Active Soccer coaching school. Retired from playing after the 2011-12 season. Was a Boston Utd.

Thanks for that, Fojo was last playing for Central last season, not heard/seen anything about him since
Post by: Tiresais on February 11, 2014, 06:40:53 AM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

I think Dwarika is at North East Stars in some kind of coaching capacity. Cyd is still around, but I think he was doing some work for the THA.

Thanks, what's the THA?
Post by: Tallman on February 11, 2014, 07:12:59 AM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

Thanks, what's the THA?

Tobago House of Assembly
Post by: Football supporter on February 11, 2014, 07:18:03 AM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

Thanks, what's the THA?

I certainly ain't Tottenham Hotspur Academy  :rotfl:
Post by: Tallman on February 11, 2014, 07:29:01 AM
Al Sinclair

Al Sinclair plays for Petrotrin Palo Seco in the Southern Football Association.
Post by: Flex on March 20, 2014, 06:13:19 PM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

Nigel Henry is Jabloteh's assistant coach alongside Sheldon Bateau's farther Gilbert.

Post by: Tiresais on March 21, 2014, 04:34:07 AM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

Nigel Henry is Jabloteh's assistant coach alongside Sheldon Bateau's farther Gilbert.

Post by: Tiresais on March 21, 2014, 06:56:18 AM
Just found a book from 2008 on American football, and looking through the Trini's on it; http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=IEtLjtqaCTgC&dq=marvin+oliver+staten+island&source=gbs_navlinks_s

Robin Hart (related to our venerable leader?)
Terry St. Louis (Related to Ronald at Defence Force?)
Keyeno Thomas (I've noted him as retired?)
William Oliveira (Brazilian who played for W Connection a couple seasons)
Post by: coache on March 23, 2014, 10:42:29 PM
Where are: Polycarpe Alexander? Russel Sutton? Sean Walkes? Sean Le Gendre? Gerry Vidale? Pamponette? Kern Dass? Rajendra Lalchan? Brian Neto? Dexter Sandy?Phil Harris? Adrian Fonrose? Who is Wendell Moore?
Post by: Tiresais on August 23, 2014, 05:35:54 AM
Two more names of interest;

Kerwyn (Kerwin?) Jemmot
Jerol Forbes

Both retired AFAIK
Post by: vb on August 23, 2014, 05:44:38 AM

Al Sinclair
Kevin Austin
Anthony Rougier
Nigel Henry
Cyd Gray

Thanks, what's the THA?

I certainly ain't Tottenham Hotspur Academy  :rotfl:

I thought it was the Tobago Housing Authority.  :)
Post by: vb on August 23, 2014, 05:46:21 AM
Where are: Polycarpe Alexander? Russel Sutton? Sean Walkes? Sean Le Gendre? Gerry Vidale? Pamponette? Kern Dass? Rajendra Lalchan? Brian Neto? Dexter Sandy?Phil Harris? Adrian Fonrose? Who is Wendell Moore?

Netto is a Dentist in TT.

Years ago Heard Sandy was a Coach or Asst. Coach an American University.

If Gerry is the Vidale for Naps from the 80s, heard he had a sort of Coaching school in the US in the 90s. Dk if that was his full time job though.

Post by: Deeks on August 23, 2014, 08:01:48 AM
Sean Walkes lives in the NY/NJ area. I think he does some coaching. Not totally sure. But he looks fine and still plays very well.
Post by: vb on August 23, 2014, 10:21:05 AM
Sean Walkes lives in the NY/NJ area. I think he does some coaching. Not totally sure. But he looks fine and still plays very well.

Walkes, Le Gendre, Sandy - big names of youth footbal in the 80s.
Imagine Sandy was living in a squatter's village in Diego.
Every time I saw him, very humble about football.

Adrian Fonros, very good palyer back in the day.
Post by: Tiresais on August 26, 2014, 04:53:17 PM
Great info all!

Anyone know what happened to Gyasi Joyce? He should be in his prime right now, but can't find anything after 2011.
Post by: Tiresais on August 27, 2014, 02:15:42 AM
And Ancil Farrier - last I heard he was in Puerto Rico in 2009?

McKenzie Cadette
Irasto Knights
Post by: Flex on August 30, 2014, 06:00:52 AM
And Ancil Farrier - last I heard he was in Puerto Rico in 2009?

McKenzie Cadette
Irasto Knights

Irasto Knights just liming everyday in Brooklyn.

Aurtis Whitley is now playing and coaching Elements, a former National League Club in the 1990s, which now campaign in the Northern Football Association zone competition.

Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2020, 04:20:50 PM
WATCH: T&T footballers who fell off the map. Where are they now? The Field of Dream panel discuss Keon Daniel, Aurtis Whitley, Ian Clauzel, and Nkosi Blackman.

https://www.youtube.com/v/TwFKlpBzNUI
Post by: asylumseeker on November 19, 2020, 07:59:54 AM
Always spine-tingling when Clauzel is mentioned.

A few things responsive to the chat ---

There used to be TV highlights of Clauzel's exploits. He was a a MAJOR story. Perhaps that TTT footage went away.

Malta ...not in Eastern Europe. Off the coast of Italy. South of Italy, north of Libya. Mediterranean Sea. Saw them play the other day in the Nations League versus Andorra. Watched the closing 15 minutes. Noticed that they have a player of African descent. That match set them up to contend for promotion but they failed narrowly. Drawing 1-1. They needed a 1-0 win. Maybe if RW arrived in Malta without any NT caps he would have been a contender for them.

Keon --- born elsewhere with the same gifts, who knows? If he ever shares his complete perspective, I think we will find that he was also learning as he went.

Coaches ---- I hear several coaches in T&T speaking about the lack of mental toughness or psychological preparation in players ... even in rugged players that are perceived to be rough customers. So, the question is: have you decided to train mentality in the face of the evidence? Don't treat it casually. And start earlier.
Post by: socalion on November 19, 2020, 08:32:01 AM
Ian clauzel was a very special player / footballer .... I was fortunate to see him play on many occasions , the guy was on a different level . Yet in spite of his talent he was a humble  and quiet youth man .  Happy I witness his amazing talent live up close ....... Just wanna mention also the final between John D technical vs Mucurapo comprehensive  at the oval was a game to remember featuring the likes of clauzel and his teammates (Emerson dubisson  ,  Eric old man white ) .... unforgettable