Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 23, 2006, 06:20:17 AM

Title: Dion La Foucade Thread
Post by: Flex on March 23, 2006, 06:20:17 AM
Inter Milan coaches for La Foucade camp.
T&T Express Reports.

Three youth coaches from Italian club Inter Milan will be in Trinidad for the Sportworld Inter Milan Easter Football camp which is being held in conjunction with the La Foucade Soccer Clinic from April 18-22 at the St Mary's College ground, St Clair.
The camp promises to be quite exciting with Inter youth coaches Mirco Gubelini, Alberto Giacomini and Alessio Caciato being brought down by sponsors Sportworld. The camp runs from 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. daily and caters for children between ages 5 - 18. Registration for the camp is $325 and organisers will give 40 underprivileged children free entry. Persons interested in taking part in the camp can do so by contacting the organisers at 1-868-680-0900.
Title: Re: Inter Milan coaches for La Foucade camp.
Post by: Touches on March 23, 2006, 06:42:49 AM
325$ for a Intl coach and potential scout for Inter to see yuh.

Send yuh chirren yes...send all

This is opportunity that should not be missed.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 23, 2006, 08:05:46 AM

Yes and touches  allyuh sponsor ah youthman also
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 23, 2006, 09:03:01 AM
a sponsoring a child for dis, heston cyrus, hardest prodige i will get tuh play in de camp if he available  :beermug:
Post by: Augi on March 23, 2006, 09:56:44 AM
Inter Milan coaches for La Foucade camp.
T&T Express Reports.

Registration for the camp is $325 and organisers will give 40 underprivileged children free entry.

Nice real nice especially the part about free entry for the underprivileged kids...because we all know that is where de real special talent does come from...poor people children!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 23, 2006, 10:19:24 AM
AC Milan coaches were here about 3 years ago and ah youth man get call up to the summer camp in Milan
Post by: doh_stick on March 23, 2006, 10:29:20 AM
Opportunities like these should keep presenting themselves especially after de wcup
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on March 23, 2006, 10:33:05 AM
Shucks too bad meh God daughter too young fuh de camp!!!! :chilling:
Post by: oconnorg on March 23, 2006, 10:40:53 AM
Warrior Till Death and jefferz.. Ent allyuh undah 18.. do down to de people training cyamp..!!
Post by: Warrior till death on March 23, 2006, 11:14:57 AM
Warrior Till Death and jefferz.. Ent allyuh undah 18.. do down to de people training cyamp..!!

i dere 4 sure  lol :D
i in la foucade
Post by: DeSoWa on March 23, 2006, 11:16:30 AM
nice, all de youths go and represent.  :beermug:

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 23, 2006, 01:47:48 PM
dere fuh sure :beermug:
Post by: Jefferz on March 23, 2006, 02:18:41 PM

yep ah was at de liverpool won ah year or two ago.

I will go fuh sure.
Post by: Ponnoxx on March 23, 2006, 02:56:22 PM
a sponsoring a child for dis, heston cyrus, hardest prodige i will get tuh play in de camp if he available  :beermug:
That is a good scene man...He might be the next big thing...you never know
Post by: Brej on March 23, 2006, 04:50:41 PM
probably gonna be dere
Post by: trinidre on March 23, 2006, 06:30:31 PM
Opportunities like these should keep presenting themselves especially after de wcup

hopefully they will......especially if we're represented well at the world cup  :)
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2006, 04:50:07 PM
The Warrior Nation (http://www.thewarriornation.com) is currently accepting donations to help sponsor some youths at this camp. The camp is limited to 300 youths and the deadline for submitting applications is April 11th. We have collected $158 USD so far, which is enough to sponsor 3 youths.

CLICK HERE (http://www.thewarriornation.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=36) if you would like to contribute to this effort.
Post by: fabio on March 26, 2006, 10:07:12 PM
That is a good scene man...He might be the next big thing...you never know

well we go see...hopefully
Post by: elan on March 26, 2006, 10:56:22 PM
Is that $325 US or TT?
Post by: Bakes on March 26, 2006, 11:38:42 PM

I think there may be similar opportunities.... ;)
Post by: Brej on March 27, 2006, 08:41:15 AM
i eno if inter ready for  me yet na
Post by: Trini Madness on March 27, 2006, 10:02:13 AM
i wish i could a go  :'(  never got too much exposure and I 18.
Post by: Jefferz on March 27, 2006, 06:31:50 PM
nah brej ah go hadda check yuh tuh see how good yuh ease...

yuh could get some level heckle eh.

bless.  :beermug:
Post by: Brej on March 27, 2006, 06:59:23 PM

hahah i gud nuff
an how u go find dat out
Post by: Jefferz on March 27, 2006, 09:03:08 PM

hahah i gud nuff
an how u go find dat out

organize ah savannah sweat.
Post by: Observer on March 28, 2006, 08:36:57 AM

Touches in all fairness, LaFoucade may mean well but this is all a money making thing. These coaches everywhere lately. Coaches from Inter, Milan, Feyernood, Ajax putting on sessions and making huge $$$ under the disguise of scouting. Here is what they will do, run the clinic, then pick a kid and take him to Inter (but he / his parents pays the cost), give him a tryout or something so. Send him home and next year price gone up. Check it good
Post by: Coop's on March 28, 2006, 10:40:55 AM
I'm involved in this business,it's my job it's what i do,the only people that benefit from these Camps are the people that run it.
         Can three Coaches teach 300 kids in one week,who coaching the rest,when these guys gone who going to continue this,if there is no continuity then we wasting time.These guys should be used to train our Coaches.
          Not trying to bash La Foucade but has he ever done a Camp anywhere else in T&T?(East,Central,South) who are some of the players he has produced over the years he has this coaching school(national team).
          We have so many good Coaches in T&T for Camps,this same thing can be done with our local coaches,and instead of one week run it four four or five weeks North,South,East and West.
           Where are these kids attending this Camp coming from if you not from the North you have a problem,where all these kids going to reside,transport,food etc does the fee cover all that,what about medical insurance in case something happens to a kid.
Post by: jai john on March 28, 2006, 12:22:48 PM
I'm involved in this business,it's my job it's what i do,the only people that benefit from these Camps are the people that run it.
         Can three Coaches teach 300 kids in one week,who coaching the rest,when these guys gone who going to continue this,if there is no continuity then we wasting time.These guys should be used to train our Coaches.
          Not trying to bash La Foucade but has he ever done a Camp anywhere else in T&T?(East,Central,South) who are some of the players he has produced over the years he has this coaching school(national team).
          We have so many good Coaches in T&T for Camps,this same thing can be done with our local coaches,and instead of one week run it four four or five weeks North,South,East and West.
           Where are these kids attending this Camp coming from if you not from the North you have a problem,where all these kids going to reside,transport,food etc does the fee cover all that,what about medical insurance in case something happens to a kid.

I agree to some extent but La Foucade cant be held responsible for football development in T&T that is the job of the TTFF ...but are they doing what you ask ??
Yeah we know the scam as observer has outlined but better a little than none at all I say.
Post by: Big Magician on March 28, 2006, 03:26:18 PM
get your facts right fellas....find out about the man first.....
Post by: JayTheWrecker on March 28, 2006, 04:10:30 PM
I do understand where Observer and Coop's are coming from. Some coaching school that was endorsed by the Everton striker James Beattie came down to my kid's school. As soon as I saw the leaflet I knew it was just a moneymaking exercise. My daughter is only 7 years old and obviously there's no way that an afternoon's coaching session by some coach who happens to be a pal of James Beattie is going to turn her and her classmates into footballers. My wife and I still enrolled her, just for the experience more than anything else and I'm glad we did because she really enjoyed it.

With this Inter Milan camp it's slightly different. As stated there's no-way 300+ kids are going to receive a huge amount of quality coaching in one week. But you know something? it's a shot for the kids, albeit a slim one. Those Inter Milan coaches may indeed just be pretending to be on a scouting trip. But if one of those kids does happen to posses so much outstanding natural talent that it makes the coaches' jaws drop, then who knows where it might lead. And even the vast majority of the kids who don't catch the coaches' eye, they still might get something out of the experience like my daughter did, and become more determined to continue their development with the local coaches. I don't think TT$325 to send a kid on this course is a waste of money. What is a waste, is reading about some youth that gets sent to prison or gets himself killed over drugs, and too much of that is happening in T&T.... Anything that encourages kids to better themselves both skilfully and as athletes can only be a good thing in my eyes.

- Jay
Post by: Coop's on March 29, 2006, 09:15:45 AM

I agree to some extent but La Foucade cant be held responsible for football development in T&T that is the job of the TTFF ...but are they doing what you ask ??
Yeah we know the scam as observer has outlined but better a little than none at all I say.
    In no way am i saying La Foucade should be held responsible for the development of T&T Football,there are a lot of Coaching schools all over the country just like La Foucade is just that they don't have the connections or doing as well as him.I'm not here to tell anyone what they should or should not do,these are just my views from the experiences i've had.

The thing is we have to develop something that suits T&T and bringing in foreign people like this is not helping us in the long run.We have nationals both local and foreign with the same knowledge and experience that these guys have,why can't we have these same Camps all over the country.If we can pool our best Coaches in the country pay them and run these same Camps at different times during the year,it will be better for the future of Football in T&T.

I can call a number of names that used too or presently run Camps in the US,Lincoln,Alvin,Anton,Chinapoo,Deleon,Cooper,Walkes,Nakhid,Colin Rocke etc these are people that people respect and kids look up too, just to name a few,there is a big market for Camps in the US,the same can be done here,instead of bringing in foreigners why not bring in foreign locals.

LaFoucade Camp/Coaching school is sanctioned by the TTFF else he would not be able to do the things he does,so the association has a responsibility there.I like what LaFoucade is doing but we have to understand he alone can't do it,the ideas that he has should be implemented nationwide,we have a lot of people at home with the experience to do it.
Post by: Jefferz on March 29, 2006, 02:59:36 PM
Their are few men like Dion who are as commited to the development of the T&T youths.
Post by: CK1 on March 29, 2006, 03:20:55 PM
Coops: I agree with you. Soccer camp is a business first, although there may be a genuine interest in player development and passing on our knowledge to the youths.
I survived throughout my collegiate years by coaching at camps every summer and still do today.
Post by: Brej on March 29, 2006, 08:06:01 PM
Coops: I agree with you. Soccer camp is a business first, although there may be a genuine interest in player development and passing on our knowledge to the youths.
I survived throughout my collegiate years by coaching at camps every summer and still do today.

Hoss i cud personally tell u he losin  more dan he makin wit dis
you know how much it costs to bring dem down an jus one aspect of the cost
Post by: Coop's on March 30, 2006, 07:17:37 AM

Hoss i cud personally tell u he losin  more dan he makin wit dis
you know how much it costs to bring dem down an jus one aspect of the cost
      This is a very good point because kids in the US pay anything from $600.00 to $800.00 US to attend a Residential Soccer Camp,put that in T&T dollars and you will get an idea of what i'm talking about.
       My spin on these Coaches is that they are being offered an opportunity to come to T&T for a week,tickets,meals and housing,it's more or less a vacation for them and do some coaching in return.I know a lot of Coaches if offered a package like this would come home and work with our kids,it's a break from their busy schedule out here.
Post by: CK1 on March 30, 2006, 03:14:20 PM
Coops-: True dat! I'm not sure what the camp market/profitability is like in Trini, but at $350. TT per camper that's small change. Men does make that in ah 1 hour invividual training session here. Either the coaches from Milan coming on a vacation or La F.. have some other sponsors to off set their expences. However, if this works for him in Trini well good for him.
One camper last summer told me that the Milan camp he went to was pure rubbish; their vibes was weak compared to the experience he had just had .
At the NSCAA Convention in Philly Chelsea reps were also looking for an opportunity to do the same thing. Their marketing ploy is for the camp to be a scouting ID camp ???   
Post by: Coop's on March 30, 2006, 06:54:39 PM
This is why i said if we have to run Camps in T&T it has to suit T&T,nobody paying any kind of money to attend a Camp,if it's subsidized by the TTFF or the Government fine,when Lincoln newly got the Directors job he did some Camps and they were well attended(no one had to pay),it's the mentality we have at home(freebee).
Post by: CK1 on March 31, 2006, 08:55:20 AM
(freebee... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:)
Nuff man down in T&T posting negative vibes about the US soccer, but the US made a significant investment in player development...and in all their sports.
The Olympic Training Center in Colorado is unbelievable...you can't help but improve as an athlete when you spend all your time there working with top coaches/instructors.
It has already been said many times in other posts as well; if we want our football to improve in a consistant manner...the government and TTFF HAVE TO INVEST IN A NATIONAL TRAINING CENTER/ACADEMY.
No national team at any age group should have to train in the savannah!
You mean to tell me that they can't get one of the Oil Companies to invest in this type of facility?
I'm tired with all the TALKING BIG but thinking small mentality >:(
Post by: Coop's on March 31, 2006, 11:30:49 AM

I'm tired with all the TALKING BIG but thinking small mentality >:(
       I agree with you here because it has always been this way,a lot of talk but when time comes for action there is no back up.I don't have a problem with what they are doing in T&T Football,what i have a problem with is how they are going about doing it,we don't have any long term plans (programs,tournaments,leagues,teams etc).
        Having said that i think our present Technical Director have identified these problems and trying to put a proper structure in place,be patient it may take some time.
Post by: CK1 on March 31, 2006, 02:00:25 PM
Coops: well said. I agree that the present TD will do the right things to address the needs of T&T football. Patience is one of my best attributes as I've been waiting patiently since 1985 for the heads of the TTFF to be discarded and we start afresh. New blood; new minds ; new vision for T&T football.  Ah waitin!!! 8) :-X
Post by: Coop's on March 31, 2006, 06:32:46 PM
Coops: well said. I agree that the present TD will do the right things to address the needs of T&T football. Patience is one of my best attributes as I've been waiting patiently since 1985 for the heads of the TTFF to be discarded and we start afresh. New blood; new minds ; new vision for T&T football.  Ah waitin!!! 8) :-X
    Breds i hear you,is not you alone waiting it's all of us.
Title: English coach instructor connects with La Foucade School.
Post by: Flex on September 12, 2006, 03:10:57 PM
English coach instructor connects with La Foucade School.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

English coaching instructor Stuart Hall is currently in this country to work on the development of local coaches through an alignment with the Dion La Foucade Coaching School.
Hall, who conducts coaching courses with the English FA, arrived in this country last week and is here for a month and while being here as part of the La Foucade set up, discussions have already been held for him to work in conjunction with the TTFF but plans are still to be finalized. He will also meet with coaches from the Pro League as well as other clubs in local football.
La Foucade explained the reasoning for bringing Hall who first came to T&T a couple seasons ago by Stern John to conduct coaching in the Stern John Skills Award program. Hall was at the time working with the Birmingham City Academy as assistant director.
“We felt it was appropriate for him to return and work on bigger scale with us and when I put the idea to him he was more than willing to come. At first he will be here for a month and then he will go back and return for maybe a three-month period. He will work with my coaches at the school and then also be available to other local coaches. We have held discussions with the other bodies in local football for him to get involved as well. He first came here with the Stern John Skills award program and then returned a second time to work with coaches in the Secondary Schools League and after we met up I felt it would be wise to bring him back,” La Foucade said.
“I have made him available to the TTFF too and he has been in contact with Lincoln Phillips and discussions have been ongoing to have him work with the parties involved there,” he added.
Hall was keen to get down to business locally but hinted that he would follow the guidelines of those at the helm.
“It was a delight to work here before and now on this occasion I am hoping to work more with the coaches in the various areas from team and player development with the coaches to psychological preparation of players,” Hall said. “But at the same time we are trying to make sure everything is ironed out. While I’m here working with Dion, if there is any association with the TTFF I also want to make sure that we have the same goals and understanding and obviously no one wants to be stepping on anybody’s shoes.”
Hall was also excited over Dwight Yorke’s move to Sunderland, revealing that he was coming off an “A” license course with Roy Keane which he conducted with the former Manchester United captain and new Sunderland manager. Hall also held a motivational session with the T&T Women’s team on the eve of their 7-0 win over Dominican Republic on Sunday.
“There is a lot of talent here my involvement is really to try and help coaches who want to be developed and pass on my experiences and things I might know about the game that is happening out there that may not be too known in these parts. I work on freelance basis with the English FA conducting license coaching courses and now that Trinidad and Tobago went to the World Cup and did very well, there a lot of doors which would have opened and will continue to,” Hall ended.
Title: Shaka Hislop for La Foucade camp.
Post by: Flex on December 08, 2006, 03:31:12 AM
Shaka Hislop for La Foucade camp.
T&T Express Reports.

National goalkeeper Shaka Hislop will be among several football personalities featured at the La Foucade Soccer Clinic's International Christmas Soccer Camp next week at St Anthony's College, Westmoorings, ground.
Hislop, who also stands between the uprights for US club FC Dallas, will be among a host of local and international coaches and football personalities on hand for the week of activities.
The camp, which takes place between 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. over the five days, caters for a maximum of 250 participants, boys and girls between 6-18 years.
Other personalities expected for the camp include US women's player Tiffany Roberts, and "Reggae Boy" Tyrone Marshall (LA Galaxy), along with former national players Clint Marcelle, Peter Lewis, and national women's coach Marlon Charles.
Registration for the camp takes place at Stephenson's branches at West Mall and Long Circular Mall. Registration closes today.
Sponsors for the camp include Econo Car Rentals, Cascadia Hotel, Seven Seas, CPPP 1993 Ltd and Genethics Sports Balm Ltd. Anyone seeking further information can call Dion La Foucade at 637-0743, or 680-0900.
Title: Re: Shaka Hislop for La Foucade camp.
Post by: KND2 on December 08, 2006, 03:13:41 PM
can anyone let me know what the cost of attending the camp is?
Title: SHAKA FOR LA FOUCADE CLINIC
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 09, 2006, 04:22:29 PM
The La Foucade soccer clinic will conduct a international christmas soccer camp at st anthonys college west moorings from 11th to 15th dec.the camp is catering for 250 participants boys and girls, from 9 am to 4 pm  fee $ 425.00.the camp will have local and international coaches.t&t, fc dallas keeper shaka hislop, jamaicaand la galaxy player tyrone marshall,us women team player tiffany robertsalso involved are former national players clint marcell , peter lewis,national women team coach marlon charles and many others . all players will recieve certificate , medals, tshirts and prizes for outstanding performance . u can read more about this on t&t news day.
Title: Dion La Foucade Thread
Post by: Gilly6860 on June 21, 2007, 09:49:04 AM
Hello
I am in need of some help from anyone on site who has a contact e-mail address for Dion La Foucade. I worked in the USA with Dion in the late nineties at Hartwick College and would like to make contact with him. I am from England and I would be really grateful if anyone could help me with this. Or if anyone who has regular contact with Dion would pass on my e-mail address which is Gilly6860@aol.com. Thank you. Gilly.
Title: Re: Dion La Foucade
Post by: Sam on June 21, 2007, 10:13:29 AM
Get in contact with the Boss - Flex. He should be able to help....
Title: La Foucade Clinic gets British American boost.
Post by: Flex on September 13, 2007, 06:12:54 AM
La Foucade Clinic gets British American boost.
By: Mark Pouchet (Express).

British American Insurance have pumped $130,000 in sponsorship into the La Foucade Soccer Clinic.
And the official name will now be the British American La Foucade Soccer Clinic. The sponsorship arrangement, to run from September 2007 until August 2008, will include payment of coaches, the purchase of equipment and the staging of the annual Christmas and Easter camps.
The sponsorship also includes British American's humanitarian initiative, Cradle, which focuses on assisting the less fortunate in society.
La Foucade and his Cradle Coaching Caravan are expected to conduct monthly soccer clinics in underprivileged communities as well as hold special sessions at various Homes for Children countrywide.
President of British American Insurance Ramchand Ramnarine said the support will also include development of a website, development of either a monthly, quarterly or annual magazine, insurance coverage for all kids and coaching staff of the school and financial support towards tours and tournaments.
Ramnarine added that there will also be advertising support "which will allow the Clinic to feature in the newspapers any kid who excels during the course of the year."
At his turn at the microphone, head coach Dion La Foucade said his clinic instils the values of teamwork, respect, hard work, dedication and commitment.
"I believe that even though a kid may not make it as a professional soccer player then he/she must at least make it as a person in the game of life, which certainly does not last just 90 minutes."
There was a reciprocal presentation between national under-17 footballer Sean Da Silva, an-ex member of the clinic, and La Foucade. La Foucade gave the youngster a plaque, while Da Silva presented La Foucade with the framed number 8 shirt he wore at the FIFA Under 17 World Cup, in South Korea, recently.

(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/shared/images/2007/09/13/s8.jpg)
Gratitude: Head coach of the British American La Foucade Soccer Clinic, Dion La Foucade, right, is presented with a framed national team shirt by Trinidad and Tobago under-17 player Sean Da Silva, an ex-member of the Clinic. The occasion was the announcement of a $130,000 sponsorship by British American Insurance, at the Chancellor Hotel, St Ann's, yesterday.
Title: La Foucade attends Chelsea, Liverpool for coaching stints.
Post by: Flex on December 10, 2007, 07:43:16 AM
La Foucade attends Chelsea, Liverpool for coaching stints.

Local coach Dion La Foucade will return from Europe next week following a ten-day training stint with English Premiership clubs Liverpool and Chelsea and Dutch club Ajax Amsterdam.
LA Foucade, who runs the British American LA Foucade Coaching clinic, was invited by Liverpool’s Pre-Academy manager Ian Brunskill to attend the club’s set up.
“We will have Mr Dion La Foucade to again visit Liverpool FC Academy to observe and actively partake in our training sessions from 2nd – 6th December,” Brunskill stated in a letter.
“I feel that this will be a fantastic experience for Mr La Foucade along with the rest of his trip to Chelsea FC Academy and Ajax Youth Department in Amsterdam. The knowledge he will gain will be of huge benefits to himself, the children of Trinidad & Tobago, and the youths of the world whom he positively impacts during his many travels.”
La Foucade is buzzing in light of the training trips.
“I think my visit to these clubs could go a long way in my development as a coach. I will not only be visiting the training sessions but I would also have the opportunities to exchange ideas and learn from the best there is to offer out there,” La Foucade told TTFF Media.
La Foucade was grateful for the ongoing support of the British American Insurance Company and the Dutch Embassy. Brunskill will also be in Trinidad from December 17-21 for the Christmas Coaching clinic for kids.

International football Christmas Camp. 17th – 21st December 9-4pm.

Open to  boys and girls ages 6 - 18yrs
Visiting coach from Liverpool football academy. (Iain Brunskill)
Register at Stephenson’s West Mall Cost $325
For Contact Info; Micheal Amoroso at 786 9794
Signed shirts by Steven Gerrard to be won. Plus lots of Liverpool give
aways. Venue: St Joseph Convent grounds, Federation Park.
Title: Re: La Foucade attends Chelsea, Liverpool for coaching stints.
Post by: Big Magician on December 10, 2007, 09:50:24 AM
yes LaFou.....keep it going.....when the TTFF finally open an Acamedy ( 2020) you will be Director
Post by: SHOTTA on December 10, 2007, 10:36:07 AM
or he go be the senior team coachin we to we 4th wc in a row and ensuring we maintain we top 10 fifa rank
Post by: Ponnoxx on December 10, 2007, 12:39:58 PM
 Good...More coaches have to get themselves involved in such things
Post by: Bakes on December 10, 2007, 01:11:09 PM
Really....really...really impressive.  Much respect to LaFoucade for the professional strides he's making.  This will surely be of benefit to not only him personally, but to tnt football on the whole.
Post by: elan on December 11, 2007, 04:13:01 PM
Which players (past or present) has LaFoucade coached on the National teams?
Post by: Dutty on December 11, 2007, 06:16:16 PM

coudnt be many..if any, past players as La Foucade isnt that old

I think that midfielder youte Da Silva started off at his camp....any body on the senior team? I doubt it
Post by: vb on December 11, 2007, 07:00:56 PM
Poor La Foucade, he drop Jack Warner son from a national U-17 team many years ago,and he never SNIFF annodder national side after that.

And you know they had the gall to fire him and bring back Warner son on the side. ;D ::)

Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 11, 2007, 07:19:13 PM
Poor La Foucade, he drop Jack Warner son from a national U-17 team many years ago,and he never SNIFF annodder national side after that.

And you know they had the gall to fire him and bring back Warner son on the side. ;D ::)

No doubt Jack have some big cohones

Yuh almost hadda admire the man nerve oui

Good to hear another local taking initiative
Post by: FF on December 12, 2007, 09:03:18 AM

LaFoucade was the assistant coach to Mike Grayson for the U-17 qualifiers for Egypt 97.... The team back then included players such as Cornell Glen, Scott Sealy, Derek King, Kerwyn Jack (what happen to dis man?), Kester Cornwall, Isa Arazi etc...

Josh Johnson and Kerry Baptiste also trained with this team at some point...
Post by: elan on December 12, 2007, 12:40:54 PM
I worded my question wrong. Who has he coached that went on to the big times?
Title: La Foucade takes over as Rangers coach.
Post by: FireBrand on February 13, 2008, 01:36:04 PM
La Foucade takes over as Rangers coach.
By: Randy Bando(ttproleague).

Former Trinidad and Tobago player Dion La Foucade, founder of the La Foucade FC Academy has been acquired by St Ann’s Rangers to head their coaching staff beginning with the 2008 season.
“We have always wanted La Foucade with us. We wanted him since last season but after better talks this season we were able to join in agreement,” said St Ann’s Rangers owner Richard Fakoory speaking with ‘ttproleague.com’ on La Foucade, the man he expects to bring change to the St Anns based club following a poor runoff form in 2007.
Last season Rangers finished in a disappointing eight position with 32 points, that’s 30 points behind winners San Juan Jabloteh. Their best run at any knockout competition came early in the season, making it to the final of the Courts Pro Bowl competition which they lost on penalties to W Connection.
Rangers’ 2007 misery began in August after losing their instrumental captain Errol Mc Farlane to an Iranian club on loan, then their marquee midfielder Kerwyn Jemmot who suffered a couple injuries before being axed by the club in August for breach of contract.
According the Fakoory, last season’s Anthony Streete may remain with Rangers as an assistant to new Head Coach La Foucade.

Rangers merge with La Foucade Academy

Not only will Coach Dion La Foucade join the St Ann’s Rangers. Fakoory was pleased to announce the new partnership with the La Foucade FC Academy.
“Both the La Foucade Academy and Rangers have been suffering by bigger clubs in recent years,” said Fakoory. “We have lost players to these clubs, so we hope that with this merge we can be stronger.”
“With this we can have a better academy here at Rangers,” added the St Ann’s Rangers owner. “We hope to attract more youths to our club, so that in the future all of our senior players can come from our farm (youth) teams.”
Fakoory also highlighted that this season; many of their 2007 Reserve League players are going to be promoted to the senior team. He went on to add that this season his club will focus on youth and predicts a very youthful senior squad for the upcoming season which begins on April 8. St Ann’s Rangers will have screening sessions this Saturday and Sunday at the President’s Ground from 1pm on both days for their senior team.

Note:

During pre-season Rangers announced a merge with the La Foucade Acadamy and that Dion La Foucade will take over from Streete as head coach. But just before the start of the 2008 season, a split occurred between La Foucade and Rangers, seeing Anthony Streete back in his formal position as head coach of the club.
Title: Re: La Foucade takes over as Rangers coach
Post by: Coop's on February 13, 2008, 01:57:26 PM
One question,when did LaFoucade play for T&T,was it Youth/Senior team?
Post by: royal on February 13, 2008, 02:01:26 PM

Never did as far as I know
Post by: mcaw on February 13, 2008, 02:18:02 PM
y does it matter though ???
Post by: Coop's on February 13, 2008, 02:23:26 PM

Never did as far as I know
        I know this guy personally,from what i know he has never played Football at any level in T&T but has about the most qualifications as a Coach,owns a Coaching school,coached college,national team,not sure about club Football,my guess is these are the standards/hands our young Footballers are in today and in the end we ask what JW doing,i'll always wish him the best in his new venture because if is one thing he has ambition and continues to try any things.    
Post by: jai john on February 13, 2008, 02:24:43 PM
So rangers has done what politicians have tried and failed to do ...get westmoorings and St anns poor to link up  :beermug:
Post by: Coop's on February 13, 2008, 02:28:06 PM
      It matters because these guys are being portrayed as the best we have and operating on false papers,imagine this thing in the news papers,you know how much people reading this and believeing it?
Title: Re: La Foucade takes over as Rangers coach.
Post by: FF on February 13, 2008, 04:54:14 PM
It matter cuz is poor and lazy journalism.. which we shouldn't stand for ever  >:(

But I glad LaFoucade getting a chance to coach club football at de highest level in TNT...

Lets see if he can translate his "book sense" and qualifications into results...

easier said than done, but he should be well equipped!
Post by: palos on February 13, 2008, 05:27:12 PM
I only hope he eh de "error free football" guru in disguise.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 13, 2008, 07:46:03 PM
I'm excited about this development. We know Dion is good at technical development. It will interesting to see his tactical management. He is a decent motivator too, which is always useful.
Post by: dreamer on February 17, 2008, 10:55:12 AM

Video interview with La Foucade:
http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1798&Itemid=109
Post by: maxg on February 17, 2008, 12:17:39 PM
Is it necessary for a student of the game of football to have the experience of playing the game at a high level and/or follow courses by particular coaching schools of thought, and to ttranslate his/her  goals to a subsatantial degree of successes at the local level in T&T ?

Does a good Scientific teacher, translate into a good scientist?

I don't think so. Yet though football is not really a science, In my experience and studies, I have met and read of a couple of successful coaches,( one a priest) who had very little football playing experience, but a lot of youth and people skills, and they were able to  successfully lead their charges to Championships. I have also read of and met, a few ex-high level players (International even), with highest degree of certification who achieved little coaching success, sometimes due to not always their own fault, but factors of organization goals, and players desire etc..it just didn't work out...Thus I find it presumptious and difficult to judge in advance, whether a constant student like La Foucade would or would not be successful, and would therefore give him the benefit of the doubt and applaud and support his efforts in taking this next step of responsability in his career....Good Luck Mr La Foucade, T&T football could only benefit from your grass root patriotic efforts. Cause I'm sure you coulda get a foreign stint too.
Post by: archie on February 17, 2008, 06:50:10 PM
Is it necessary for a student of the game of football to have the experience of playing the game at a high level and/or follow courses by particular coaching schools of thought, and to ttranslate his/her  goals to a subsatantial degree of successes at the local level in T&T ?

I don't think so. Yet though football is not really a science, In my experience and studies, I have met and read of a couple of successful coaches,( one a priest) who had very little football playing experience, but a lot of youth and people skills, and they were able to  successfully lead their charges to Championships. I have also read of and met, a few ex-high level players (International even), with highest degree of certification who achieved little coaching success, sometimes due to not always their own fault, but factors of organization goals, and players desire etc..it just didn't work out...Thus I find it presumptious and difficult to judge in advance, whether a constant student like La Foucade would or would not be successful, and would therefore give him the benefit of the doubt and applaud and support his efforts in taking this next step of responsability in his career....Good Luck Mr La Foucade, T&T football could only benefit from your grass root patriotic efforts. Cause I'm sure you coulda get a foreign stint too.
Is it necessary for a student of the game of football to have the experience of playing the game at a high level and/or follow courses by particular coaching schools of thought, and to ttranslate his/her goals to a subsatantial degree of successes at the local level in T&T ?

I don't think so. Yet though football is not really a science, In my experience and studies, I have met and read of a couple of successful coaches,( one a priest) who had very little football playing experience, but a lot of youth and people skills, and they were able to successfully lead their charges to Championships. I have also read of and met, a few ex-high level players (International even), with highest degree of certification who achieved little coaching success, sometimes due to not always their own fault, but factors of organization goals, and players desire etc..it just didn't work out...Thus I find it presumptious and difficult to judge in advance, whether a constant student like La Foucade would or would not be successful, and would therefore give him the benefit of the doubt and applaud and support his efforts in taking this next step of responsability in his career....Good Luck Mr La Foucade, T&T football could only benefit from your grass root patriotic efforts. Cause I'm sure you coulda get a foreign stint too.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2008, 06:56:58 PM
I only hope he eh de "error free football" guru in disguise.

:applause: Understood.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2008, 07:04:05 PM
I know this guy personally,from what i know he has never played Football at any level in T&T but has about the most qualifications as a Coach,owns a Coaching school,coached college,national team,not sure about club Football,my guess is these are the standards/hands our young Footballers are in today and in the end we ask what JW doing,i'll always wish him the best in his new venture because if is one thing he has ambition and continues to try any things. 

Same speed, Coop's you should know attaining top notch coaching credentials can't be done willy nilly (ah eh know wha de man have as his level buh ah know yuh cyah get certain licenses and certificates blind so) ... ah cyah see how your comment gels with having any confidence in the licensure or certification process.

It matters because these guys are being portrayed as the best we have and operating on false papers,imagine this thing in the news papers,you know how much people reading this and believeing it?

Somebody spread de knowledge nah ... how dat go?
Title: Yes, La Foucade has my vote......
Post by: Saltanfresh on February 18, 2008, 08:04:22 AM
First of all I think the owner of Superstar Rangers is a proven businessman and this is both a technical move from a coaching and business perspective.

Coaching because La Foucade is a proven and highly respected youth coach for many, many years, and a business move because La Foucade's academy is linked as a "farm-academy" to a giant Italian Football Club, .....think about it.... great business sense indeed.

If people do not understand that great footballers do not always make good coaches, well it must be that such people are drawing their conclusion from a limited cadre of sporting experience on the whole because for every Fabio Capello there are many total failures. Conversely, Bruce Arena - The US's most successful National Coach started off playing and coaching La Crosse.

Sometimes we must stretch ourselves so that we can grow, if La Foucade is not up to scratch for this job well his results or lack-there-of, will determine the length of his tenure. However, this challenge can only further develop this talented coach and some young players in the process; not to mention possibly open doors for a few talented player.

My two cents.....

Post by: vb on February 18, 2008, 08:47:25 AM
NF I totally concur and I am surprised that this was not brought up b4 as well.

Bertille took an U 19 team to the WC and TT to its only semis at the GC and he was no great player.

I think the Norway coach in the 90s was a  second Div. footballer from England.

Some Indian fella took NE Stars to the FA and League title in TT. He's a Guayanese and never even played for the national team.

What no one has bothered to mention is that La Foucade has been out in the cold ever since he had the temrity to drop Jack Warner's son from National U-16 practice some years ago.

Some men have the best of Certificates and Coach shitty. Some men never made it to the highest level and Coach well.

Good luck to La F. Hopefully he will have some good material to work with.

Because it look like some men ready to pounce on him.

Post by: KND2 on February 18, 2008, 10:29:32 AM
This is a good opportunity for la Foucade.

If he is able to coach rangers to a title or something he would be inline for a national coaching position.

His coaching school has some props now he can do it at the highest level it would be good for him.
he has a strong network around him and it would bring some new blood and ideas into the local football.
Post by: dombasil on February 18, 2008, 04:41:10 PM
Playing at a high level is not a necessary ingredient to be a good coach. But creditability is.
If you are discovered to be  a fraud by your players, you will lose their respect and if that happens. Yuh lorse yuh team..
If it is inaccurate, I doubt that it was LaFoucade's doing. The newspapers down here are really sloppy and just figure that if a man coaching a team then he have to have played for the national team.
It will be interesting to see how he deals with the step up from children to men.
Good luck to him.
Post by: Fantastic on February 18, 2008, 08:24:48 PM
Dombasil, ah hear u was a decent coach and u was never a big player. I used to roll ball through yuh leg all de time in de savannah.  ;D ;D Good luck Dion, went to school with yuh and ah confident yuh will do the job well.
Post by: dombasil on February 18, 2008, 08:59:50 PM
Who is you? Very few men roll ball through my legs padnah. Very few indeed.
Post by: Fantastic on February 20, 2008, 04:31:14 PM
U and yuh pardnah Chinky. Training hard, hard, then going to drink rum in St. James
Post by: dombasil on February 20, 2008, 07:06:24 PM
D rum was only to sap we knee. Nothing else. Ah swear.
Post by: Big Magician on March 09, 2008, 08:01:08 AM
GAME OVER    .....details soon
Post by: jai john on March 10, 2008, 02:09:37 PM
it really is amazing to read all de doubts people have about la foucade...some ah dem same men did embrace Wim without a blink of an eye. when I asked about carrington being named a national youth coach , hardly anyone critisisized the decision.... and that was a national team.
Now la foucade is just named to coach a team in the pro league and is more fight down than you could imagine.
I have seen pro football here and abroad. I have seen and even been involved in youth football in T&T. I have coached at the national level ....... I have seen most of the big name coaches in action ... I challenge anyone to talk football with them then talk to la foucade !
Some big name coaches still doing the same things they did more than 20 years ago. Is de same savannah mentality. " I coaching 30 years now whey yuh tellin me bout football " we doh have to scout dem dey have to scout we "
I am sure if anyone was to have a short conversation with many of our local coaches they could add to that rediculous list of statements.
La Foucade has never been given the break that some of them have had ..go and check how long marlon charles coaching de women's team ...check he results ...just to name one .
La Foucade has travelled the world updating himself on the new methods in football, meeting and learning from some of the big names in football, is intelligent and has been instrumental in bringing some top coaches to trinidad.
Most of our coaches are big coaches here ...nobody knows their name anywhere else and for good reason...
i could go on but have no more time ...leave de man alone. give him a chance and stop bad mouthing de man before he start !
Post by: Coop's on March 10, 2008, 03:06:26 PM
Jai john i think La Foucade was head Coach of one of our National Youth teams some time ago.
Post by: Deeks on March 10, 2008, 03:30:13 PM
Jai John,
               Marlon Charles has not had much success with the women's team. But the resources given to the women is a mere pittance as compared to the men's team. He just don't have the resources. Any positive results from the women's is due to the shear determination by the women themselves, their family and supporters, and Marlon ability to get the most out of the "Princesses". Imagine the Olympic did not practice for a long time and still went to P. Rico and qualify for the play-ofs. Them girls determined. If they had 1/4 of the money the US get to travel and play practice games, they will be much better.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 10, 2008, 03:53:29 PM
Jai john i think La Foucade was head Coach of one of our National Youth teams some time ago.

yes coop and was dismissed because he did not pick Warner's son or something of the sort he stated
Post by: Tallman on March 10, 2008, 04:53:08 PM
Back in 2002 he was in charge of de U-17 team, but he didn't get much of a chance because dey run him after a couple of months, and replace him wit Ron La Forest. Alvin Corneal said that La Foucade was too inexperienced for the job, but many people felt it was because La Foucade dropped Jack's son, Jamaal, from de team. After La Foucade was fired, Jack's son was put back on de team de next day.
Post by: vb on March 10, 2008, 05:17:29 PM
Acutally TM, dey wasn't dat bold.

Theyt brought back five of the "dropped" palyers, which (not surprisingly) included Jack's son.

In the end, young Warner make the team  ;D

Post by: Sam on March 11, 2008, 04:18:22 AM
Back in 2002 he was in charge of de U-17 team, but he didn't get much of a chance because dey run him after a couple of months, and replace him wit Ron La Forest. Alvin Corneal said that La Foucade was too inexperienced for the job, but many people felt it was because La Foucade dropped Jack's son, Jamaal, from de team. After La Foucade was fired, Jack's son was put back on de team de next day.

It was Jack grandson (Jamaal Warner).... not son...
Post by: vb on March 11, 2008, 05:11:31 AM
No, it was Jack's son.

Jack mentions him in his biography, which was penned by Valentino Singh.

Post by: jai john on March 11, 2008, 09:28:04 AM
Maybe someone could post la foucade's resume ? Afetr that I dont think there will be as many doubters that the man deserves a chance to prove himself at this level.
Post by: vb on March 11, 2008, 09:40:09 AM
I doh like to repeat and ah cah give link to old posts so ah just copying what i wrote last year

Foucade, I believe was in charge of the U 16 team a few yrs back.

He dropped Warner's son. Then lo and behold a week or so later Foucade got dropped as Coach. And the new Coach brought back some "dropped" players including the young Warner.

Corneal start to make excuse for Jack, saying that tournament coming up, and maybe Fouc. cah handle the job...well Foucade geh vex and show up with all he credentials at the newspapers.

He tell dem..."ah drop a man son. I get fired, and the man son get repick. It eh hard to figure out."

Peace,
Post by: Sam on March 23, 2008, 06:12:03 PM
Ah hear a rumor that Dion La Foucade leave Rangers.

And VB, I am almost 100% sure that Jamal is Jack grandson....
Post by: Bianconeri on March 23, 2008, 06:38:22 PM
that info true.
he not with them again. Mgm't issues
Post by: dombasil on March 24, 2008, 11:07:13 AM

Nah, The youth was Jack's son.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 24, 2008, 11:46:11 AM
Anybody care to explashiate on why La Foucade gone?

Post by: Bally on March 24, 2008, 11:48:04 AM

SAM yah was right he:s shit coach he ask fo $20,000 for his training and he had big men like they where at camp.
Post by: Coop's on March 24, 2008, 03:12:01 PM
Nah all you have to be joking,that eh the same La Foucade that play for the national team,coach the national team and have every possible piece of paper/certificate a Coach could ever have,what in the dark does come to light,all of them going to get expose let them keep fooling people.   
Post by: elan on March 24, 2008, 04:36:25 PM

SAM yah was right he:s shit coach he ask fo $20,000 for his training and he had big men like they where at camp.

Is that a Year or what?
Post by: Bally on March 24, 2008, 04:51:24 PM

Is that a Year or what?
no that was the little time he train the team they say he not ready for no big club
Post by: scooby on March 24, 2008, 04:57:14 PM
hey coop does it really matter if the man played football or not the question should what is coaching record and can he motivate and inspire those in his charge to produce their best to get results
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 24, 2008, 05:05:35 PM
hey coop does it really matter if the man played football or not the question should what is coaching record and can he motivate and inspire those in his charge to produce their best to get results

Well apparently Rangers don't think he can coach.  ??? I never hear bout coach who get fire before they even loose a game.
Post by: SHOTTA on March 24, 2008, 06:20:18 PM
so who gonna be coachin rangers then?

the same fellar from last year?

ent he was la foucade assistent coach this rounds?
Post by: Bally on March 24, 2008, 06:30:28 PM
so who gonna be coachin rangers then?

the same fellar from last year?

ent he was la foucade assistent coach this rounds?
yep
Post by: Babalawo on March 24, 2008, 09:03:27 PM
I REALLY LIKE WHAT IM SEEING, ON THE POINT OF MARKETING NAMING THE TEAMS AFTER WHERE THEY ARE BASED. IM A ADVERTISING/MARKETING PROFESSIONAL IN NY AND DO SOME SPORTS MARKETING WITH THE NY METS AND THE CONEY ISLAND CYCLONES AND THAT IS A BASIC STRATEGY IN NAMEING THE CLUB AFTER WHERE ITS BASED.  SUPERSTAR RANGERS INTO THE ST.ANN'S RANGERS IS GREAT.  SAN JUAN JOBLETEH BIG UP TOO.  AH CALLING JOE PUBLIC, PETROTRIN AND OTHER'S TO FOLLOW THE BASICS TOO.  LETS MARKET THE TTPROLEAGUE RIGHT OWNERS
Post by: elan on March 24, 2008, 11:35:58 PM
Wait, wait, wait---------------- I saying he leave bcuz he find the arrangement not to his liking. Is them who think he cannot coach at the Pro level. I can't believe that. That is wrong info. Right ???
Post by: dombasil on March 25, 2008, 05:20:16 AM

What he had big man in camp like they can't trap, pass and shoot?
Title: Man U coaches for La Foucade Soccer clinic.
Post by: Flex on December 09, 2009, 07:51:43 AM
Man U coaches for La Foucade Soccer clinic.
T&T Express Reports.

The La Foucade Soccer Clinic and Manchester United 2009 International Coaching Seminar will kick off this Saturday, delivered by Manchester United coaches Eamon Mulvey and Kevin Ward from 9 a.m. at the Cascadia Hotel, St Ann’s.

The coaching seminar will comprise structured morning sessions at the hotel and practical afternoon sessions at St Mary’s Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair, geared especially towards local youth coaches.

Mulvey, a skills development coach at Manchester United’s Youth Academy, and assistant coach Ward are returning to Trinidad and Tobago for the seminar, as well as the December 14-18 International Football Camp, after hosting a similar camp for youngsters ages 6-18 last year.

Both events are being organised by experienced youth coach Dion La Foucade, head of the La Foucade Coaching School.

Registration for the seminar is $100 per person, with registration forms available at Stephensons clothing store at Long Circular Mall, St James.

Those seeking further information can contact La Foucade at 680-0900, or coachdlf@hotmail.com, or visit www.lafoucade-fc.com.
Title: Re: Man U coaches for La Foucade Soccer clinic.
Post by: KND2 on December 09, 2009, 09:00:02 AM
hope people take advantage of this.

$100 is nothing to pay.

we need structured coaches in TnT
Title: La Foucade calls for Govt support
Post by: Tallman on December 20, 2009, 08:08:24 AM
La Foucade calls for Govt support
T&T Guardian

Head coach Dion La Foucade of the La Foucade Footballing Clinic, is calling on the government for financial support, as he strives to help in the development of football in T&T. La Foucade yesterday concluded a one week long clinic, in association with the Manchester United’s Academy, for children ages five-18 at the St Mary’s Ground, Serpentine Road St Clair. The local coach said while the clinic was a success, he was unable to get a sponsor, which placed a heavy financial burden on himself.

He is appealing to the Sports Ministry and Corporate T&T to come on board the next time around, since he said this will only do good for the further development of the sport. Two United coaches Eamon Mulvey and Kevin Ward, who were also involved in the event last year, returned as part of the club’s international programme. Some 400 children from a wide cross-section in T&T, including the Youth Training Centre (YTC), attended the clinic which ran from December 14-19.

La Foucade said in addition to the youngsters being drilled in footballing skills, they were also taught to be disciplined and he feels that this will go a long way in the lives of the youths. In addition to the two foreign coaches, a number of local coaches were also involved in the clinic. Last Saturday the two United coaches held a one-day coaching seminar at the Cascadia Hotel, Cascade, however, La Foucade said he was disappointed with the turnout. “This was an opportunity for the local coaches to grasp styles and concepts from coaches at the highest level and yet still, many did not show,” he said.
Title: Re: La Foucade calls for Govt support
Post by: College on December 20, 2009, 09:21:02 AM
steups
Post by: dreamer on December 20, 2009, 09:24:33 AM
La Foucade calls for Govt support
T&T Guardian

..... Last Saturday the two United coaches held a one-day coaching seminar at the Cascadia Hotel, Cascade, however, La Foucade said he was disappointed with the turnout. “This was an opportunity for the local coaches to grasp styles and concepts from coaches at the highest level and yet still, many did not show,” he said.

Wine and jam country. Damn jokers could never get serious. Steuppsss
Post by: Observer on December 20, 2009, 09:52:03 AM
Though the Government should have some input and quite frankly they do. I believe it is time the sporting public start questioning the the cooperate sector and their involvement. The business sector should step up and encourage positive initiatives that can provide direction in our young people. It is ridiculous the amount of money being made yet very little being put back into the society.
Post by: jai john on December 20, 2009, 06:42:37 PM
Ask jack ...he is TTFF football adviser .... Mr la Foucade you trying to interfere with de house dat Jack built ? Like you eh learn nuttin since he fire you because you eh pick he son on de youth team ?
nothing happens here in football unless jack says so .....even I know dat !
Do you could bring Guardiola here ...you eh gettin no support ..and even if you do by some miracle ..nothing happening after ...is not me ..dais jus how it is !
Post by: Anbrat on December 20, 2009, 09:29:15 PM
steups

Why "steups"?????
Post by: GunnerStunner on December 23, 2009, 02:28:13 AM
steups

Why "steups"?????
ent? i hope is d govment n not lafou
Post by: elan on December 23, 2009, 09:40:29 AM
I not sure why he would call on the Government for assistance? Isn't his Coaching school private?
Title: La Foucade Coaching School join Pro League.
Post by: Flex on January 21, 2010, 05:05:50 AM
La Foucade CS join Pro League.
T&T Express Reports.

Footballers from the La Foucade Soccer Coaching School (LFSCS) will campaign in the youth divisions of the Pro League this year.

LFSCS director, experienced youth coach Dion La Foucade, will enter players from his coaching school in the League, which kicks off in March, with under-14 and under-16 teams playing under Police FC’s professional team, while the under-18s will line up for FC South End.

The club will host separate screening sessions for the three age groups on Saturday at St Joseph Convent’s Federation Park, St Clair football ground. The first session for the under-14s starts at 12 noon, while the under-16 and under-18 sessions begin at 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. respectively.

La Foucade said yesterday the move is another step in the direction of player development.

’The kids have been leaving the school to play for many other (League) clubs,’ the former National Under-17 coach explained, ’but we’ve decided we’re going to train the players and also develop the whole person, looking at a more holistic approach.

’I think that is lacking with a lot of the teams, who look at just the football aspect.’

According to La Foucade, this is a long-term move for his club, and the footballers’ parents, he said, are excited about it. He also plans to impress upon his young charges the important role of education alongside football.

’I have coaches who call me for scholarships, but you have to make sure they have their academics intact,’ La Foucade said.
Title: Re: La Foucade Coaching School join Pro League.
Post by: Coop's on January 21, 2010, 07:38:58 AM
This is an interesting development and it takes away the pressure from those clubs who don't have the resourses to develop a Youth program,it's a smart move by Dion and the clubs because they both will benefit,with this trend being set lets see how many other clubs will follow,i like this it's a way for clubs to hold on to or attract Youths.All the best Dion.
Post by: nnyman18 on January 21, 2010, 10:31:48 AM
smart move D
Post by: che on January 21, 2010, 11:43:06 AM
 :applause:

We need a female development league too.
Post by: Bianconeri on January 21, 2010, 05:55:52 PM
I wonder if they have something in place where a player from say LaFoucaude's school goes on to a team like Joe Public or even graduates to a high level outside Trinidad, if the Youth team like Lafoucaude gets any kinda of compensation or a cut of his transfer for developing him like how they do in the leagues in europe???

anyone know?
Title: La Foucade footballers for Youth Pro League
Post by: Tallman on May 20, 2010, 04:39:10 AM
La Foucade footballers for Youth Pro League
T&T Newsday

THE Digicel La Foucade Coaching Clinics are making a leap in their development with the entry of a team in the Digicel TT Pro League through the Police Youth Club.

The clinics under the leadership of veteran football coach Dion La Foucade has seen a growth in the number of budding footballers being trained, with an impressive toll of approximately 900 youngsters.

“My vision is to turn the clinics into an academy that reaches the Caribbean.

This season we will expand our Family Days to include seminars on dieting, nutrition and etiquette,” said La Foucade, “we also plan to visit other organisations that work with marginalised youth with the aim of helping their rehabilitation efforts by including the youngsters in our teams and also conducting motivational sessions for them,” he said.

Meanwhile, the La Foucade coaches will be looking smarter than ever when they take to the playing field to train the young footballers.

Digicel recently gave the coaches branded backpacks filled with goodies to ensure their jobs are more enjoyable. La Foucade, who has stints coaching among others, at the Liverpool and Manchester United academies described his his two-year relationship with Digicel.

“Through Digicel we’re able to meet the demands of working with kids in a holistic way and we want to get even more young ones involved.

We think it’s great that Digicel sees the need for investing in the future of our children through this sport,” he said. The Digicel La Foucade Clinics run on the evenings of Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at the St Joseph Convent Grounds, Federation Park and on Wednesday and Friday at Goodwood Park, Glencoe.
Title: Re: La Foucade footballers for Youth Pro League
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 20, 2010, 06:22:48 AM

We think it’s great that Digicel sees the need for investing in the future of our children through this sport,” he said. The Digicel La Foucade Clinics run on the evenings of Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday at the St Joseph Convent Grounds, Federation Park and on Wednesday and Friday at Goodwood Park, Glencoe.

any camps in morvant
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 20, 2010, 07:12:13 AM
A great man... I am honoured to know coach Dion having played in his academy when I was a youth...when I broke my leg he took me to the hospital and stayed the entire time and came to my house with United mags during my recovery

Still a great family friend and truly a top person...check that man schedule ... and on top of that police trains tuesday thursday saturday and play on a Sunday..La Fou Academy trains monday-saturday....everyday the man on a field coaching
Post by: Touches on May 20, 2010, 07:48:33 AM

any camps in morvant

Stop looking for free ting!

Post by: elan on May 20, 2010, 09:52:40 AM
Can I ask a couple of questions?
LaFoucade gets a lot of financial support from private business and I think one time from the governement. For the length of time he has been coaching and developing players, which of his players has been a key player on the national team or where are they? Or is this not the purpose of his academy/school?

Also, has he developed/improve on any facilities?
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 20, 2010, 10:10:19 AM
Can I ask a couple of questions?
LaFoucade gets a lot of financial support from private business and I think one time from the governement. For the length of time he has been coaching and developing players, which of his players has been a key player on the national team or where are they? Or is this not the purpose of his academy/school?

Also, has he developed/improve on any facilities?

the only one i can think of is Sean De Silva and SM what happen to that keeper who did the surgery to remove the tumor is he back playing
Title: Scotland delights youngsters at La Foucade Clinic
Post by: Tallman on June 13, 2010, 05:59:40 AM
Scotland delights youngsters at La Foucade Clinic
T&T Express

Trinidad and Tobago and Wigan Athletic striker Jason Scotland was the main attraction for more than 200 children who converged on the St. Joseph’s Convent ground on Serpentine Road in St Clair last week Saturday to take part in the Digicel La Foucade Football Clinic Family Day.

Each month the La Foucade Clinic hosts a family day and in-house tournament where the students of the clinic can bring along friends to partake in a day of fun and test their skills at playing football.

Digicel’s endorsee Scotland visited the clinic and the lucky youngsters got an up-close and personal opportunity to interact with the footballer and ask lots of questions.

The boys and girls, whose ages range from 4-17 years, were seen putting their training and techniques that they’ve learnt over the weeks to the test.

Screams of joy and laughter could be heard as parents and students alike cheered on the enthusiastic players from the side lines.

A total of 100 trophies and medals as well as Digicel prizes were given out to the winners in various categories.
Title: Dion La Foucade appointed Director of Coaching Education at FC Boulder
Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2013, 08:30:24 PM
Dion La Foucade appointed Director of Coaching Education at FC Boulder
fcboulder.com

For FC Boulder to entice Coach Dion La Foucade to Boulder from his homeland in Trinidad and Tobago is a coup for our soccer community.

Coach Dion has traveled the world through soccer, gaining international recognition for his legendary training sessions, rapport with players, expertise in game analysis, and extraordinary coaching education techniques. A list of his licenses, credentials, experiences and coaching participation in countries and clubs all over the world would be several pages long.

A national hero in his own country, Dion has been heavily involved in his homeland with both youth and professional clubs, as well as various National Teams of Trinidad and Tobago. He is, truly, a global figure in the world’s game, and is welcomed with open arms in the clubhouses of professional teams and national federations throughout the Caribbean, South America, North America, and Europe.

Dion has been tasked with directing and managing the FC Boulder Coaching Education and Professional Development Program.

Many of our players and coaches have had a chance to work with Dion already as he has visited our community several times in the past few years.  We look forward to welcoming him back to FC Boulder, and calling him one of our own!

About Dion
Dion La Foucade is an internationally recognized soccer coach, lecturer and clinician originally from Trinidad and Tobago. Dion comes to Boulder with an impressive list of coaching certifications and experiences including the Full English FA Coaching Badge, the Advanced Brazilian License, the USSF “B” license, and the NSCAA Premier Diploma.

Dion has traveled the world learning about, coaching and teaching the beautiful game to both youth and professional players. He is welcomed in the clubhouses of professional teams and national federations throughout the Caribbean, South America, North America, and Europe. He has coached in the youth programs at Liverpool F.C., Manchester United, Newcastle F.C., and F.C. Victoria-Brazil. Dion has served as the head coach of the U15 and U17 National Teams in his native Trinidad and Tobago.

Having visited our community many times over the past 10 years, Dion commonly refers to Boulder as “paradise.” FC Boulder and our entire soccer community will benefit from Dion’s decision to settle down in paradise and be a full-time member of FC Boulder.

Dion will be both direct and manage FC Boulder’s Coaching Education and Professional Development Program among many other duties with the Club.

Contact Dion via email at: Dion.LaFoucade@fcboulder.com
Title: Re: Dion La Foucade appointed Director of Coaching Education at FC Boulder
Post by: Coop's on November 21, 2013, 03:45:50 AM
Dion,congrats on this new appointment,i wish you all the best  :thumbsup: 
Title: Re: Dion La Foucade appointed Director of Coaching Education at FC Boulder
Post by: vb on November 21, 2013, 04:00:37 AM
Will never forget he and how the TTFF fire him after he drop Jack Warner son from a national training session and then bring back JW son on de team. SMH

Post by: Jack Horner on November 21, 2013, 05:57:40 AM
Never liked this guy, he dropped me from the Under 17 team for no reason.

Post by: Trini _2026 on November 21, 2013, 07:02:55 AM

hmm you have to be jack Warner last son then

http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-youth-team/youth-team-news/mens-u17/5000-dion-la-foucade-fires-back.html

U-17

Dion La Foucade fires back
 Print    Email Details 30 Sep 2002  Written by Lasana Liburd    Hits: 2302

Sacked Trinidad and Tobago national under-17 coach Dion La Foucade yesterday slammed Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) technical advisor Alvin Corneal’s assertion that he was not ready for the job.

Corneal, a FIFA technical study member and former standout national player and coach, told the Daily Express on Friday that La Foucade was too inexperienced to handle the position previously held by Nigerian Adegboye Onigbinde and Brazilian Rene Simoes.

However, La Foucade insisted that Corneal's comments were totally unfounded as he attempted to prove his capabilities with documentary evidence.

“I have no problem with (new U-17 coach) Ron La Forest,” said La Foucade. “I wish him the best in his post but I feel I have the same if not more experience than Ron.”
"I can coach adults too. To make it seem that all Dion La Foucade does is sit down in Goodwood Park and work with four-year-olds is ridiculous."

La Foucade listed his qualifications which included an English FA full badge, a FIFA badge, a United States Soccer Federation (USSF) B’ license, a Caribbean Football Union (CFU) level one certificate and an advanced diploma from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

He is also recognised by the Brazilian Football Academy and was named Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs 1998 Coach of the Year.

La Foucade pointed to a pile of recommendations as well from the likes of FIFA goalkeeping coach Lincoln “Tiger” Phillips, CONCACAF technical director Marcos Falopa, ex-TTFA president Peter O' Connor, Portsmouth goalkeeper Shaka Hislop and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner.

The paper trail—which begun in 1988—spoke in glowing terms of La Foucade as a “progressive young coach”, “keen student of the game” and “a natural born leader”.
For all the theoretical accolades, though, there was an undeniable lack of practical experience barring a short stint as assistant national under-17 coach to Michael Grayson and the deceased Arthur "Jap" Brown.

But La Foucade retorted that the recommendations of such learned football officials and players must count for something and argued, once he was hired in the first place, he deserved a chance.

The former St Anthony’s College player was fired on Thursday in his first training session after whittling his squad from 40 to 25 players and two days before his official practise match against Brazil.

One player who did not meet La Foucade’s standards was 16-year-old St George’s College defender Jamal Warner, son of the former T&TFF special advisor, and La Foucade again hinted that his exclusion may have played a part in his sacking.
“Everybody has to read between the lines,” he said. “I won’t spell out what happened."

Warner, who hired La Foucade in the first place, was present at the T&TFF meeting in which he was removed on Thursday and his son, Jamal, was re-instated into the team the following day.

Warner was a second half substitute on Saturday as the national under-17 team beat Barbados 3-1 at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar.

La Foucade, who claimed to have been hurt by the dismissal, said that local coaches must become more unified and supportive of each other to be taken seriously by the T&TFF.
Still, La Foucade said that he would consider the position of national under-15 coach if it is offered to him.

“I will only accept the (U-15) post if things are done properly and I am shown the highest level of respect,” he said. “If I am given a proper contract and the chance to develop players and not just used as a short term measure.”

< Prev Next >
SOCA WARRIORS ONLINE - TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO FOOTBALL
HomeForumArchivesContact UsAbout UsSearchArticlesDisclaimerTop
Post by: Tiresais on November 21, 2013, 09:10:08 AM
Warner is truly a scumbag.
Post by: amwood on November 21, 2013, 07:57:56 PM
Good luck to the man outside there...Americans can be very demanding people.
Post by: soccerman on November 22, 2013, 12:58:47 AM

I guess it's confirmed now :heehee:
Post by: Tiresais on November 22, 2013, 01:20:44 AM
That'd be interesting, but you'd hope not like father like son
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2013, 02:36:42 AM
Congrats to La Foucade! Go brave!
Post by: asylumseeker on November 22, 2013, 02:39:04 AM

Or is it jes provocative chatter because VB raised the issue?
Post by: Arimaman on November 22, 2013, 07:04:11 AM
Can me?  Yuh mean are very demanding people LOL.... I don't know how men coach for a living here dread....Parents does kill it for me...
Post by: Coop's on November 22, 2013, 08:15:34 AM
Can me?  Yuh mean are very demanding people LOL.... I don't know how men coach for a living here dread....Parents does kill it for me...
     Yes Parents are a pain in the butt but i understand them to a certain extent,these people pay good money for their child to be coached,i think if we had Parents like that in T&T our Football would be better,is either you can coach or you going to hear from them,these people bring their kids to practice and they will sit in a chair and observe the pratice until it's over.The company i worked for got sued a couple of times because of what one of our Coaches said,did or didn't do.
Post by: vb on November 22, 2013, 10:44:39 AM

Or is it jes provocative chatter because VB raised the issue?

Exactly, even Horner eh dat schupid to out heself so.

Post by: Tallman on November 22, 2013, 02:04:30 PM
La Foucade legacy alive...although 26 year-old clinic closes
By Andrew Gioannetti (T&T Guardian)

Twenty-six years after welcoming eight children to his first training session at Goodwood Park, Dion La Foucade, one of the country’s most respected youth football coaches, has made a life changing decision to close his La Foucade Soccer Clinic to pick up a coaching job in the United States. La Foucade who started from the humble camp located between his home in Carenage and his alma mater, St Anthony’s College before growing into a household name, finally parted with thousands of students, parents, friends and colleagues, ahead of his voyage for Boulder, Colorado, on Tuesday, for a stay of at least three years. The new role for the popular benign disciplinarian is to lecture and grade the 350-400 coaches responsible for the thousands of young charges at Colorado’s largest football academy, FC Boulder, a feeder for MLS club Colorado Rapids. His job description - director of coaching education, also dictates a focus on the professional and scientific development of the club’s coaches and players.

The opportunity to become an instructor at Boulder stemmed from a number of La Foucade’s trips to conduct camps and seminars in the state, as well as his accommodation of a Boulder team in T&T late last year which shaped an even closer relationship. La Foucade was subsequently on the receiving end of dozens of letters of appreciation from both the parents and their child footballers, who returned to the United States with countless stories to tell. Perhaps La Foucade’s regimen of humility and excellence, together with Boulder’s eye-opening visit to T&T and their self-effacing friendly football match with the Youth Training Centre during their stay, was a strong indication of Coach Dion’s understanding of holistic youth development. Many have eagerly awaited his official arrival at Boulder, but many more back home remain stunned by his decision to close up shop after nearly three decades as an icon of Goodwood Park. La Foucade acknowledged it was a difficult choice to make, particularly for the children, but an important one for both him and his country’s growth in football. He said not many have been understanding, but he understood that.

Apart from the major climatic difference, it may not be a tough transition for La Foucade, who is anything but a shy person. But, he will miss his family and close friends, the players and parents, all of whom he has developed a relationship with through his clinic. He made sure to mention: “I will also miss the Trini foods.” “More so”, La Foucade added, “I’ll miss seeing them develop into well rounded disciplined citizens of our country.” La Foucade estimates that over 25,000 boys and girls have passed through his clinic through the years. That number includes those who attended holiday camps, which he has hosted as many as three times in 12 months, in between his regular clinic sessions. His camps have attracted youth coaches from some of the biggest names in club football including, but limited to, Manchester United, AC Milan, Internazionale, Liverpool and Birmingham City. All of the camps, according to La Foucade was an opportunity to expand in his standard as a youth coach and to motivate and bring joy to his football fanatics. However, he could not recall a camp from which he made a profit. “The camp would cost on average $350,000, and I didn’t make it back but they were a big investment. I loved the joy it brought to the children, hearing that they had the time of their lives,” he said.

Now, at 43 years of age, his investments have reaped rewards, both directly and indirectly. Needless to say, La Foucade’s resume could make many an academy owner take notice. Among his qualifications, La Foucade is equipped with licences from Fifa, Concacaf, CFU, UEFA, the Brazilian Football Academy, the United States Soccer Federation, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, the Dutch Football Association and the T&T Football Association (TTFA). La Foucade was also recognised by the (then) Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs in 1998 as coach of the year. However, his career undoubtably had its ups and downs. One notable dark moment came in 2002, when La Foucade was controversially removed as head coach of the men’s national Under-17 team after all of four months, for alleged political involvement stemming from a team selection. For those who were not aware of the actual reasons for his dismissal, they may have misjudged him and his ability as a coach. Asked what other challenges he faced in his profession, La Foucade said, “The most difficult experiences for me as a coach are when parents failed to understand that proper development takes time and that there is a science and methodology involved in developing top players. Some of the parents and coaches want their kids to be superstars overnight.”

Finding adequate sponsors for his camps, getting permission from the clubs and attracting the coaches, as well as finding quality coaches locally to work with the children were also among the challenges. Why would La Foucade work primarily with children? “I chose to work primarily with children as I believe that is my God given talent and he wanted me working and helping to develop young people and their values.” La Foucade was still a teenager when he began coaching. Fresh out of St Anthony’s College as a capable defender, La Foucade, who was voted the school’s player of the year in 1987, sustained a serious knee injury, and upon his recovery, immediately executed on his vision to coach. “At one of the coaching seminars I attended I was strongly encouraged by the Canada’s national coach at that time, (Anthony) Tony Waiters, who insisted that I seriously take up coaching. His exact words to me were, ‘you have a knack for teaching and would do well,’” said La Foucade, who was 17 at the time. The words struck La Foucade. He has since been under the guidance and worked together with renowned coaches including Harry Redknapp (at West Ham and Tottenham), Sir Alex Ferguson (at Manchester United), David Moyes (at Everton), and a host of others. His recognition and contributions, particularly at home and in England have earned Coach Dion respect from the game’s finest, as indicated on paper by recommendations from former T&T internationals Lincoln Phillips and 2006 World Cup hero Shaka Hislop.

In a recommendation to the United States Immigration Department, Phillips, who is also a former TTFF technical director wrote, “Dion’s reputation for developing youth soccer players is a matter of record. He has taken his experiences, garnered through the years, from all over the world and successfully transformed these skills into T&T most successful youth soccer organization, the Dion La Foucade Soccer Academy.” Phillips added, “Dion spends quality time in the under-developed regions of T&T, offering free clinics and serving as mentor to many of the youth who never had leadership in their lives.” Obviously, with the opportunity granted, Boulder feels the same. The club’s executive director, Jeff Frykholm, in a letter addressed to President of T&T, His Excellency Anthony Carmona, said he believes there are many tangible benefits in La Foucade’s decision to work with Boulder. “We will continued to bring out teams to Trinidad (and Tobago) as part of our effort to foster good will and cultural understanding,” wrote Frykholm. He added: “I have seen firsthand on many occasions just how special he (La Foucade) is, and how remarkably and profoundly he is able to impact the lives of those with whom he is in contact. While we are ready to celebrate his arrival, we also acknowledge the true pain and anguish that Dion - and many of his friends, players and acquaintances - have encountered as he has considered the possibility of leaving his homeland, for a period of time to pursue his own professional development and personal growth in a new context.”

“Having walked the streets of T&T with Dion numerous times, I know fully well how dearly loved and revered he is in your country. I confess that it does feel somewhat awkward to me to know that we are borrowing, for the time being, a national treasure of T&T. I do not take that lightly.” Two members of the President’s family, who trained at the clinic, La Foucade said, were also not quite pleased upon hearing the news of his departure, but given their humble demeanor were gracious enough to understand the circumstances. While Coach Dion is contracted until 2016 and may remain for another three years, he maintains with strong ambitions for his home country, including a return to the national set up. He said he aims to assist T&T in consistently qualifying for more youth World Cups and, hopefully, another senior World Cup. He said he also wishes to establish a properly functioning scientific academy for all of out (T&T’s) best players. Coach Dion, generally accepted as one of the most popular people from any line of trade in T&T, is as humble and gracious as mostly anyone else as prominent. For that, it is often advised that one avoids walking the streets with him if late for a meeting. Speaking just before his departure over the weekend, La Foucade sent a message to the public: “I would like to thank all the players and parents for giving me the opportunity to work with them and to know that I will always keep them in my prayers and thoughts. Also, I would hope to return to Trinidad to take up where I left off. I want them to always remember that with God all things are possible and that talent by itself will never be enough.” 
Post by: palos on November 22, 2013, 02:40:35 PM
National hero?  :o
Post by: KND2 on November 22, 2013, 07:53:15 PM
It is a pity he could not set it up so that someone could keep it going for him in trinidad while he go foreign and get some added experience.

It is hard to know just how serious the football business is by staying in trinidad
In Colorado he will get an experience he could take back home
Post by: asylumseeker on August 27, 2015, 07:11:58 AM
How is La Foucade doing? Update?
Post by: Tallman on August 27, 2015, 11:32:44 AM

From what I understand, things went south very quickly. He barely lasted 8 months there. Nothing to do with football. Mostly having to do with unfulfilled promises and not seeing eye to eye. Last I heard he was still in Colorado seeking out opportunities.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 27, 2015, 12:56:01 PM

From what I understand, things went south very quickly. He barely lasted 8 months there. Nothing to do with football. Mostly having to do with unfulfilled promises and not seeing eye to eye. Last I heard he was still in Colorado seeking out opportunities.

Dahis such an unfortunate change in riddim, especially given the optimism and seeming compatibility the Coloradans were oozing in Gioannetti's article.

Ah wish him de best.
Post by: royal on November 02, 2015, 12:22:13 PM
(http://the18.com/sites/default/files/dion-la-foucade-the18.jpg)
8 questions with Dion La Foucade, a past coach of U15 and U17 National Teams as well as Premier League Academies

Dion La Foucade is a 20+ year veteran coach who simply loves to spread the game. The18 caught up with the Trinidad and Tobago native who has traveled the world and is a true ambassador for the sport. He has coached youth programs at Liverpool F.C., Manchester United, Newcastle F.C. and F.C. Victoria-Brazil. He also has served as head coach of the U15 and U17 National Teams in his native homeland.

Where are you from?
    I am originally from Trinidad and Tobago, in the Caribbean.

How old are you?
    I am forty-four years of age.

What teams have you coached?
    In the past, I've coached with youth programs at Liverpool F.C., Manchester United, Newcastle F.C. and F.C. Victoria-Brazil. I was also head coach of the U15 and U17 National Teams in Trinidad and Tobago. I also has the opportunity to serve as part of a technical study group during the 1994 World Cup.

How did you start playing?
    I started to play soccer from the age of 4-years old all the way up until 17. I was player of the year for my high school. And then right afterwards, I tore my ACL and I couldn’t afford at that time to do a surgery, but I still wanted to stay involved in the game and somebody suggested coaching. And I said why not try some coaching and I have been coaching since I was 17.

What’s your signature move when you played?
    I was actually really known for my defending, although I did a little bit of goalkeeping. I played a little bit as a forward, but I was really really difficult to pass as a defender. I was really good at reading forwards and all their fancy moves, and a lot of times I was anticipating what move they were going to do. And I got in and won the ball quite a few times.

What’s one skill you think any player needs to cultivate?
     I wouldn’t just say one skill or one technique. The game is made up of different tools so it has do with receiving the ball, passing the ball, dribbling the ball, turning the ball, heading the ball. These are things that you have to do in terms of the ball manipulation. I am a firm believer in that if you can’t make the ball do what you want, then the game is much more difficult. So you have to be able to master the ball on the ground, the ball in the air, even striking the ball and shooting the ball. You’ve got to make the ball do exactly what you want.

Who are your soccer heroes?
    Well there are many players at the higher level today who have again, as we just talked about, mastered the ball. Who have a very high level of technique. If you want to call the techniques tools, it is a matter of when to use what tool, actually having that tool in your repertoire. And also in terms of coaches, I look at the best coaches in the world: Sir Alex Furgeson, Arsen Wegner, Louis Van Gaal, the guys that have been there. One of the things that I have picked up from them that is a little bit different from some of the lesser experienced coaches is that they leave no stone unturned. The things that the average coach would not look at, they look at and make sure is also covered.

What was your favorite moment of World Cup 2014?
    Actually for me, it had to do with the game between Holland and Argentina. I was just so impressed with the pure tactics, both tacticians there, and in terms of how to defend properly as a team. A lot of the World Cup was based on counter attacking. So it was really about defending well and hitting teams on the break.

What’s your greatest moment as a coach?
    For me, to be honest, the greatest moment for me as a coach is when a player comes back to me and says, 'Coach, it’s not only the things that you taught me about the game that I am grateful for, but the things that you have taught me about life.’ So I think that when the player is on our charge, can we still teach them about the things of life? They are only going to play for a relatively short period of time if you look at a lifespan and it’s about the things that we can help them learn about life when they come on the soccer field.

What’s your worst moment on the pitch?
    Oh, your worst moment as a coach is always losing. And you’re getting the blame. Sometimes you have no control of what the players are doing on the field, so sometimes when the fans come down on you and the team has lost, you have to take that as the coach, and sometimes it’s not your full responsibility.

How do you get past bad moments like this?
    Well you just have to know that what you’re doing is the right thing as the coach and believe in your philosophy. Coaches must have a philosophy. If you don’t have a philosophy you can’t show what it is that you are going after. Once you have a sound philosophy that is tried, proven, and scientific you just have to believe in it.

What’s the “ultimate soccer experience” you’d like to have?
    One of the best experiences that I had was at the 1994 World Cup. I was a guest with the technical study group and watching the best coaches in the world, analyzing the best players in the world, and it really opened my eyes up to what really happens on the field. So you are not really looking at the game as a fan, but looking at the game as a technician and looking into the game and seeing the things that make the game so varied in terms of different styles, different philosophies and watching top coaches using their strategy against each other and seeing what works.

What music do you listen to before a big game?
    For me, because of my belief in God, I like gospel music. To me it is very inspiring and stuff so I like my gospel music.

What soccer or coaching talent would you most like to have?
    The ability to look and to identify extremely quickly how to correct a player's particular weakness. Because when a bunch of players come to us they are going to have different strengths and weaknesses. We can’t give everyone the same medicine so to speak. So we have to do a proper diagnosis and say ‘this is what this player needs,’ whether it’s confidence, whether it’s technique, whether it’s to be a better tactician or whether it’s to work with him mentally. To diagnose who needs what.

What do you most value in your teammates?
     Well, there’s a saying that I use, ‘the less that you think in terms of me, it should be about we. Not me.’ So the players that come and it’s about them, that tends not to work well. When you come and try to make the player next to you the best that you can, that is one of the best qualities to have. Try to make the player next to you look as good as you can. It’s not about you, it’s for the team.

What advice would you give to someone new to soccer?
    When you are completely new to soccer you have to be very careful. That could be for parents or a player who is making the decision. Be very careful of what environment you put yourself under. You don’t want to put yourself under a coach or an organization that has winning before development. Then it is going to become very frustrating. So look for the environment where you are able to develop technique, you are allowed to develop creativity and then know how to apply that within a game.

What sports and activities do you enjoy off the pitch?
     I like to hike a little bit sometimes. I like to play table tennis, and just hanging out with friends. Because there are times, to be honest, that I do not want to see a soccer ball because I am so engrossed in it. But just enjoying life, listening to music, and watching different television shows. Just things that take your mind off of the game but still keeps you lively and enjoying life at the same time. And actually traveling and seeing many different places.

Where will we see you in 5 years?
    I am hoping, as a young coach, to be at the highest level possible. So if it is not with a World Cup team, a top club team, and really being around top players and top coaches where you are constantly being challenged to improve and become better.

The18.com | 2014
Title: Re: Dion La Foucade
Post by: Tallman on January 16, 2020, 02:17:37 PM
La Foucade ready to serve local football as new Technical Director
TTFA Media

Newly appointed Technical Director of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association Dion La Foucade has described it as an “honor and privilege” to be able to serve local football his new capacity, adding that talent by itself is not enough to see this country successfully compete with the rest of the confederation.

Among La Foucade’s responsibilities will be to lead and manage the TTFA’s Technical Department.

“Firstly, I would like to thank Almighty God for the opportunity to serve my country,” La Foucade told TTFA Media on Wednesday night.

“Secondly, I also would like to thank the Technical Committee and Board of TTFA for giving me this opportunity. It’s always an honor and a privilege to be able to contribute in a positive way towards the development of sport in one’s home country.

“Thirdly, even though I have been abroad for the last 7 years, I have keenly followed, (from a distance), what has been transpiring with our nations football at all the various levels.

“In my humble opinion, our players, both male and female, at all age levels, are very talented, but as we have found out, time and time again, talent by itself will never be enough to consistently and successfully compete at the CFU, CONCACAF and highest levels in the game, without having a scientific and methodological approach, along with the finances that are definitely needed for the significant development of our game.”

La Foucaude who has been a national under 17 head coach in the past, added, “I know that there are folks in Trinidad and Tobago, and even abroad, who have, and those who continuously, tirelessly and positively contributed to the development of our football, and I hope  they continue  to contribute in a meaningful way.

“Lastly, I am excited to work alongside the TTFA, all our coaches, and by extension players, in this vain, as we must continue to unite and work together, as we are stronger as a people when we work towards a common goal.”

Among his other responsibilities as TD, La Foucade will be expected to prepare a budget for the technical department; to supervise the performance of all technical staff within the said department; to manage the daily operations of the TTFA academy; to manage the TTFA development programmes; to report directly to the TTFA Technical committee and to perform other non-coaching technical tasks as directed by the TTFA Technical committee.
Title: Re: Dion La Foucade Thread
Post by: Tallman on January 25, 2020, 06:34:17 PM
WATCH: Recently appointed Technical Director Dion La Foucade gives early impressions on the job

https://www.youtube.com/v/TMPVwT0l2Qo
Title: La Foucade wants to see common language among national teams
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2020, 03:09:30 PM
La Foucade wants to see common language among national teams
TTFA Media

Recently appointed Trinidad and Tobago Football Association technical director Dion La Foucade believes there must be a common language throughout all the National teams.

La Foucade attended last Friday’s Meeting of all National Teams technical staffs where outlines were presented and discussed relating to the structure of the various programmes and operations of national teams.

“It’s very important that we must know what the senior national coach wants and he alluded very much today (Friday) on how he wants the game to play so when we are training the younger players we have to know what type of players for instance a centre-back, what type of attributes he wants a centre-back to have, what attributes he wants the goalkeeper to have, the midfielder and forwards and so on,” La Foucade told TTFA Media.

“In other words, an under 15 player going into an under 17 team should not go there and say ‘I’ve never heard this before or this is totally new.’

“There must be a common language throughout all our teams. There might be a change day to day in terms of the game, in terms of strategy as that always changes based on your opposition. But there must be a common thought .. this is what we want from a Trinidad and Tobago player.”

The former National Under 17 head coach says among his immediate objectives is to have a forensic look at what needs to be addressed at the lower levels from grassroots to national youth teams and related programmes.

“I want to take a forensic look at what has been happening with all the coaching schools the youth teams. Things are taken cared of at the senior team level coming down and I want to see if I can take care of what’s happening at the bottom, what’s happening at the Primary schools football, the secondary schools football, the coaching schools. I want to have a real look at what are our needs, what are we doing well and what do we need to improve,” he said

“One of the objectives I’ve set my self is trying to get the coaches association going again. I would love to do coach education and share my experiences with coaches. I would also love to see our national teams working towards a common goal, that there’s transparency, camaraderie between the coaches and I love the idea of what we have now where the head coach of one team is also the assistant coach of another team and it goes all the way up so there’s some continuity throughout the system, and this is towards the senior team.”

La Foucade is eager to get the ball rolling.

“It is an honour and a privilege to come back and serve in one’s country. Not often you get a chance to serve in this capacity. I applied and I said, ‘you know what I’ve been reading about what’s happening in Trinidad football and I said i can make a contribution. I had things going well for me back in the US but I wanted to come back and give because to see our football get so low was very disappointing for me.”
Post by: Tallman on June 07, 2021, 08:36:40 PM
WATCH: TTFA Technical Director Dion La Foucade talks about Trinidad and Tobago's elimination from World Cup Qualifying

https://www.youtube.com/v/pS7Pz7kAOmw
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2021, 09:35:00 PM
Wrong tone and wrong message.
Post by: Flex on June 11, 2021, 12:29:37 AM
Dion La Foucade: Trinidad and Tobago will become CFU, Concacaf powerhouse again.
By Andrew Gioannetti (T&T Newsday).

TT FOOTBALL Association (TTFA) technical director Dion La Foucade says the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee is engaged in programmes that bode well for the future of the sport locally.

La Foucade was interviewed on Sportsmax following T&T's anticlimactic exit from World Cup qualifying with a goalless draw against the Bahamas on Saturday. That result meant T&T would be unable to finish top of the group to earn a spot in the next qualification round. The team played its final group match against St Kitts and Nevis on Tuesday evening.

During the interview, one of the hosts asked La Foucade if he felt off-field problems in the local sport made it onto the pitch. He replied, "We could say many things caused that problem (draw against the Bahamas) but it would be unfair of me to say that."

In terms of form, the Bahamas lost their opening three matches while conceding 15 unanswered goals. T&T started strongly against Guyana, winning 3-0 on March 25, before being held to a disappointing 1-1 draw against Puerto Rico. A win against the Bahamas was compulsory for T&T to stand a chance of progressing since underdogs St Kitts/Nevis won their opening three matches.

When pressed in the interview, La Foucade admitted the result was not one he saw coming.

"The whole country was obviously surprised but these things do happen," he said.

However, he spoke confidently about the association's plan to improve the structure of the organisation at all levels.

"I have been meeting with FIFA with regards to their Echo Analytics forensic study that they did on Trinidad and Tobago, along with other countries, and that report is due out in a few weeks. So they're going to give us some guidance," he said.

"We're really going to start looking at, properly, from grassroots to the elite ... talent identification, how do we get players (selected), the science side of it... So it's really a holistic approach that we have to use. To say one reason or the other as to why T&T football is so low, it really encompasses many factors but from where I sit, the future, maybe not right now, we are going to come out of this hole because T&T was a powerhouse in the Caribbean and in Concacaf and we will get back there. I am sure for that.

La Foucade has been instrumental in securing top coaches, managers and other experts in all areas of the sport, to share presentations for the TTFA's two ongoing series of virtual conferences titled Everybody In, designed for coaches, and There is Hope, for athletes in any sport between the ages of 10 and 19.

Saturday's Everybody In seminar will feature a coach from German club Hoffenheim's academy, and a day later, T&T Olympic-bound sailor Andrew Lewis will feature for the There is Hope Programme.

"I can tell you from the meetings I've been in that we have been looking at the overall programme," La Foucade said, adding that the focus will be on creating a sustainable structure.

Post by: Tiresais on June 11, 2021, 03:18:31 AM
What programme you starting? You paying out of your own pocket? Is the TTFA even paying you? I'm a massive proponent of a more professional approach to players health, but what's the point of sports scientists when players aren't being paid? Get a sustainable league up before you bother with this.
Post by: Tallman on June 19, 2023, 04:02:52 PM
Dion La Foucade appointed Head Coach of Cayman Islands Women’s National Football Teams
caymanislandsfa.com

The former Technical Director of Trinidad and Tobago Football, Dion La Foucade has been appointed Head Coach of the Cayman Football Association Women’s National Football Teams. The Trinidad native comes to the post that has been without a dedicated coach with years of experience in women’s football and talent development.

La Foucade is pursuing a Post Graduate Diploma in Sports Management and has completed several coaching certifications at the FIFA and Concacaf levels.  He has worked as coaching Director at F.C Boulder (USA), technical director of La Foucade Soccer Clinc, (Trinidad and Tobago), and Head of Trinidad and Tobago National U17 Male team.

Coach La Foucade will be responsible for the day-to-day running of the CIFA Women’s National Team programs which involve training and preparing teams for international competitions. Mr La Foucade will also be charged with creating a sustainable women’s football development program which will encompass women’s football at all levels.

With the recent success and growth of women’s football in the Cayman Islands, the association strongly believes the time has come for women’s football to be appointed a designated coach. The association is pleased to announce the appointment of Coach Dion La Foucade as the person who will be responsible for Women’s National Football in the Cayman Islands.

CIFA welcomed coach Dion La Foucade at a press conference held at the CIFA Centre of Excellence on June 07, 2023.