General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Sam on March 24, 2006, 08:11:38 AM

Title: Name all Trinbagoians from A to Z, famous or not !!!
Post by: Sam on March 24, 2006, 08:11:38 AM
Name all Trinbagoians (both Trini born and foreign born with Trini parents) from A to Z, famous or not... or who could have been Trinis or want to be's.... but never represented us...some got the chance and some didn't... and some just didn't want it..

For example....

Bobby Zamora (football), Justin Hoyte (football), Jlloyd Samuel (football), Billy Ocean (singer), Kareem Abdul Jabbar (NBA), Kevon Clement (Track), 2 live crew (hip hop, de chinee man), Heather Headley (singer), Flex Mohammed (football site), Foxy Brown (hip hop), A Tribe Called Quest (hip hop, Phife Dog), Nathan Ellington (football), Craig Rocastle (football), Quavas Kirk (football), Randy Samuel (football), Adrian Serioux (football), Micah Hyde (football), Leo Roget (football), John Murphy (football), King Laro (singer)....

Allyuh have anymore !
Title: Re: Name all Trinbagoians from A to Z, famous or not !!!
Post by: Jumbie on March 24, 2006, 08:18:48 AM
could have been Trinis or want to be's

Triniman!
Post by: Blue on March 24, 2006, 08:21:18 AM
John Barnes, Tatiani Ali and Alfonso Rebiero (Fresh Prince), Nia Long
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 24, 2006, 08:25:38 AM
jamal magloire(nba), jadakiss(hip hop), rakim(hip hop), guru from gang starr(hip hop), k-OS(hip hop), saukrates(hip hop), ato boldon(runner), dexter simmons(famous sound engineer), neville tate(foundation reggae), if i remember more i will add it, everyone knows football already, so there will be no surprise names for football
Post by: duscam on March 24, 2006, 08:30:32 AM
magloire is not trini
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 08:31:48 AM
magloire is not trini

Yeah , he is....and a hardcore one at dat
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 24, 2006, 08:34:44 AM
magloire is not trini

bredda my boys know de family, i does hail out magloire in every fete ah see him, wearin his hat wit a big trini flag on it
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 08:37:20 AM
Name all Trinbagoians (both Trini born and foreign born with Trini parents) from A to Z, famous or not... or who could have been Trinis or want to be's.... but never represented us...some got the chance and some didn't... and some just didn't want it..

For example....

Bobby Zamora (football), Justin Hoyte (football), Jlloyd Samuel (football), Billy Ocean (singer), Kareem Abdul Jabbar (NBA), Kevon Clement (Track), 2 live crew (hip hop, de chinee man), Heather Headley (singer), Foxy Brown (hip hop), A Tribe Called Quest (hip hop, one of them, ah forget he name), Nathan Ellington (football), Craig Rocastle (football), Quavas Kirk (football), Randy Samuel (football), Adrian Serioux (football), Micah Hyde (football), Leo Roget (football), John Murphy (football)....

Allyuh have anymore !

how yuh namin man? and yuh eh even know dey name  ;D

'De chinee man' = Chris Wong Won....I self fuhget wuh stage name he does go by

De short man in tribe is Phife

Truthfully this list would be waaaaay too exhaustive because it have/had a few ah dem in de NFL....ah dem coudnt represent we even if dey wanted to

I think Anson Carter in the NHL have Trini parents.....and T&T ice hockey team now START getting funding from Jack Warner  ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 24, 2006, 08:39:09 AM
4got MOP(hip hop) brownsville brooklyn trinis, haddaway(techno singer), spliff starr from flipmode squad(hip hop)
Post by: Cantona007 on March 24, 2006, 09:36:33 AM
I thought John Barnes was Jakan....
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on March 24, 2006, 09:37:35 AM

Well that i didn't know at all  Nia Long have Trini blood in she?  No wonder she sweet fuh days   ;D
Post by: FF on March 24, 2006, 09:43:07 AM

Well that i didn't know at all  Nia Long have Trini blood in she?  No wonder she sweet fuh days   ;D

Yeah mang... i could vouch for that
Post by: Blue on March 24, 2006, 09:51:15 AM
He is, his parents are Trini
Post by: trinindian on March 24, 2006, 09:53:09 AM

Alfonso Parents are from the Dominican Republic

Geoffrey Holder( 7-up guy and he was in James Bond)
Stephen Ames
VS Naipaul ( not sure if he will admit it )
Samuel Selvon
David Rudder (calypsonian that most inspired me)
Janelle Commissiong (first black miss universe)

http://groups.msn.com/TriniCallaloo/famoustrinis.msnw

http://hometown.aol.com/salybia/FamousTrinis/laf4.htm
Post by: andre samuel on March 24, 2006, 09:54:49 AM
jamal magloire(nba), jadakiss(hip hop), rakim(hip hop), guru from gang starr(hip hop), k-OS(hip hop), saukrates(hip hop), ato boldon(runner), dexter simmons(famous sound engineer), neville tate(foundation reggae), if i remember more i will add it, everyone knows football already, so there will be no surprise names for football

alyuh does just do ting tuh aggravate people!!

Post by: Jumbie on March 24, 2006, 09:57:09 AM

For example....

Bobby Zamora (football), Justin Hoyte (football), Jlloyd Samuel (football), Billy Ocean (singer), Kareem Abdul Jabbar (NBA), Kevon Clement (Track), 2 live crew (hip hop, de chinee man), Heather Headley (singer), Foxy Brown (hip hop), A Tribe Called Quest (hip hop, one of them, ah forget he name), Nathan Ellington (football), Craig Rocastle (football), Quavas Kirk (football), Randy Samuel (football), Adrian Serioux (football), Micah Hyde (football), Leo Roget (football), John Murphy (football)....

Allyuh have anymore !

how yuh namin man? and yuh eh even know dey name  ;D

'De chinee man' = Chris Wong Won....I self fuhget wuh stage name he does go by

De short man in tribe is Phife

Truthfully this list would be waaaaay too exhaustive because it have/had a few ah dem in de NFL....ah dem coudnt represent we even if dey wanted to

I think Anson Carter in the NHL have Trini parents.....and T&T ice hockey team now START getting funding from Jack Warner  ;D

if memory servers me correct Anson Carter have bajan roots
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 10:02:09 AM

if memory servers me correct Anson Carter have bajan roots

Yeah, now dat yuh jolt mih head...ah think yuh right...my bad

Cyah remember...ONE ah dem NHL fellahs have a TT background...Fred Brathwaite maybe??...me eh know
Post by: Cantona007 on March 24, 2006, 10:15:04 AM
not sure I understand... I thought Barnes' parents were Jamaican (in fact, I'm sure of it).
Post by: superoli on March 24, 2006, 10:19:00 AM
god you lot like how people used to line up for starchild maxi back in de days, girl climbing through window and ting !

Do it in alphabetical order nah !

Abdul Kareen jabar
Post by: trinindian on March 24, 2006, 10:19:26 AM
Cyah remember...ONE ah dem NHL fellahs have a TT background...Fred Brathwaite maybe??...me eh know

Vernon Haynes is the man you looking for
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 10:23:10 AM

Stephen Ames
Samuel Selvon

If ALfonso is not a trini, we could give himah pass..because LAWD dat boy love he kanaval oui

Dem two link is a nice start...but dey strugglin...it have Brigo and Duke listed as famous  :rotfl:....all due respect to dem still
Post by: R45 on March 24, 2006, 10:30:07 AM
Are you saying Ato never represented T&T? ::)
Post by: Blue on March 24, 2006, 10:31:56 AM
not sure I understand... I thought Barnes' parents were Jamaican (in fact, I'm sure of it).

His dad is Trinidadian, his mom is Jamaican. He grew up in Jamaica before moving to England.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/archives/2005-06-13/SA-4.html
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 10:34:27 AM

Vernon Haynes is the man you looking for

NHL is Hockey doctor......allthough it have a few more than Buggy son in de NFL
ah bet allyuh didnt know Stevie Wonder is ah Trini

ok..ah just make dat up  :D
Post by: elan on March 24, 2006, 11:00:57 AM
What about Sullivan? Walker, he use to be on 227 and he played Fifty Cent grandfather in"Get Rich or Die Trying"

Tallman And Flex, dem boy Trini to bad... ;)
Post by: Johpants on March 24, 2006, 12:37:18 PM
Alfonso Ribeiro has trini roots. I know his first cousin and both of her parents are born and bred trinis.
Post by: Blue on March 24, 2006, 12:46:55 PM
A few more in the UK. Clinton Morrison (football), Sir Trevor Macdonald (TV anchor), Patrick Trueman (TV - Eastenders) and Comfort (TV - Casualty). The last 2 I cant remember their real names. ;D
Post by: bill on March 24, 2006, 12:52:02 PM
btw Stephen Ames from "Canada" is currently 2nd in the Players Championship
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 24, 2006, 01:00:30 PM
Sullivan Walker also was in "The Firm" alongside Tom Cruz.  Geofrey Holder was also in "Boomerang" and at the recent launching of 10 Cane Rum by Moet Hennessy at the TT Consulate in NYC.

BTW: Stephen Ames is from TT, he got Canadian citizenship a few years ago.....
Post by: bill on March 24, 2006, 01:06:06 PM

I know... it was a joke
Post by: Andre on March 24, 2006, 01:19:44 PM
john barnes was half-trini/half-yardie.

spliff star (is roll with busta rhymes)
john forte (used to roll w/ wyclef)
one of them man in the ol skool group fu shnickens

(http://usuarios.lycos.es/cdnhiphop/Fu_Schnickens_-_Dont_Take_It_Personal-front.jpg)

Ring the alarm, another sound is dying, whoa, aye
(3x)

Ring the alarm, I don't wanna stay calm cause
I'm about to rip this psalm
When the mic is gripped my lyrics do split up like
Bombs from Vietnam
Cause I'm sweet, neat, I don't romp or skinteet
Lyrics I lick with my tongue
And rhymes I nymn with my teeth
This lyrical prophet you can't stop this from the West Indies
You can tell I'm a lyrical prophet from the words spoken and broken up
In these books and scrolls that I unfold
The knowledge I use does make me bold
The intelligence in my system
Converts itself and becomes wisdom
Born in Trinidad, not Tobogo, land of steel pan and calypso
Cyop is a buck and a buck is a cyop
That's the real true thing and a natural fact
This lyrical man you can't hold me back
From the red, the white, and also the black
Island, which is my land, my place of birth

You can tell by the tongue that's swung
And the lyrical structure in me verse
So all MC's don't cross this border
Cause by now you should know sort of
Lyrically wise but now I despise
All youth that's out of order
Don't try to test any of the Schnikens
Cause I'm not done with the lyrical boxin'
The beatin' and the lickin'
Post by: trinindian on March 24, 2006, 01:30:17 PM
A few more in the UK. Clinton Morrison (football), Sir Trevor Macdonald (TV anchor), Patrick Trueman (TV - Eastenders) and Comfort (TV - Casualty). The last 2 I cant remember their real names. ;D

I am not sure but I think
Patrick Trueman (TV - Eastenders) = Rudolph Walker from " The thin Blue line"
Post by: Andre on March 24, 2006, 01:34:50 PM
ronnie holassie - champion 5 K/10 K/marathon runner in south florida.
brian lara - cricketer
peter minshall - mas man
Post by: Socafan on March 24, 2006, 01:56:23 PM
Ludacris......
Post by: kicker on March 24, 2006, 01:56:34 PM
One of the guys (Fife) from Tribe Called Quest is Trinidadian as well.......
Post by: Andre on March 24, 2006, 02:02:02 PM
Ludacris......

eh? i think he all dirty, dirty man.
Post by: TriniCana on March 24, 2006, 02:03:35 PM
Sullivan Walker also was in "The Firm" alongside Tom Cruz.  Geofrey Holder was also in "Boomerang" and at the recent launching of 10 Cane Rum by Moet Hennessy at the TT Consulate in NYC.

[/b]

Aye doh let Stephen hear ya cause he could sue ya for slander
Dey man is CANADIAN...

Trinidad who what is that ? >:(

BTW i now reading dey TOPIC again... Trinibagoians famous or NOT ?
I don't know 1.2 million people padnar.

Just change it to "Name all Famous Trinibagoians" nah  :beermug:
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 24, 2006, 02:07:31 PM
mystikal(hip hop), ludacris is not trini
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 24, 2006, 02:09:34 PM
magloire is not trini

Maglore Trini to de bone.  Was on ah boatride we had, and Maximus who he does par with big him up.  He was liminin with me aand ah few brethern for Jouvert in BK.  He does even talk Trini too.
Post by: Kingk on March 24, 2006, 02:09:52 PM
saukrates(hip hop),
i taught he was grenadian
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 02:13:22 PM

[/b]

Dey man is CANADIAN...

Oh gorm allyuh...de man hadda eat too

Is not tuh say de man had ah accountin wukk in de day and playin weekend golf

Golf puttin breadfruit on de table for he family, so yuh hadda pledge yuh allegiance where de sponsorship money is
In as much as de Jack Warner golf foundation not runnin money, he hadda go where the $$prings are

He does still go Trini and teach golf...fuh free

Yes ah know ah should be like yuh swedish boyfren an be on mute  :D...but ah hadda speak mih mind
*...I sit awaiting mih cyber busshead*
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 02:22:10 PM
(http://usuarios.lycos.es/cdnhiphop/Fu_Schnickens_-_Dont_Take_It_Personal-front.jpg)

Whaaaaaay boy yu bring back real memories with that poster
Chip Fu

I beleive those hairstyles were referred to as "gyal ah rush me's"   :rotfl:

Ludacris??....nah,allyuh men startin to pull name to fight fame now

KRS1=Trini roots....serious talk
Post by: DeSoWa on March 24, 2006, 02:36:16 PM
de guy from reel 2 real..who sing I like to move it...ah doh know he name..but ah sure he have trini roots, if not trini..

EDIT: ah now remember he name...is mad stuntman ;D anybody remember he?

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 24, 2006, 02:36:36 PM
how pple hating on Stephen Ames so? de man get the canadian citizenship to make his travel as a PGA pro easier amongst many other things!
He still does real be helping in Trini
Post by: maxg on March 24, 2006, 02:41:24 PM

check this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mystikal
Post by: kicker on March 24, 2006, 02:41:41 PM
de guy from reel 2 real..who sing I like to move it...ah doh know he name..but ah sure he have trini roots, if not trini..

EDIT: ah now remember he name...is mad stuntman ;D anybody remember he?

yeah mad stuntman is Trini.......he had a song called "rougest Trinidadian in American land" (wasn't as popular as move it)
Post by: injunchile on March 24, 2006, 02:41:51 PM
TAll man - Flex- Patriot= Trini Infinite- Sam- Touches- Morvant man- Kicker= and the best for last - Injunchile
Post by: FF on March 24, 2006, 02:43:06 PM
TAll man - Flex- Patriot= Trini Infinite- Sam- Touches- Morvant man- Kicker= and the best for last - Injunchile

E-famous ftw
Post by: TriniCana on March 24, 2006, 03:25:16 PM
how pple hating on Stephen Ames so? de man get the canadian citizenship to make his travel as a PGA pro easier amongst many other things!

Hello wait nah frien
I doh use or never used dey word Hate..

It have alot of Trinidadians and Tobagoians in every town and county in this world and yes the majority of US trying to make the honest dollar. But the MAJORITY of us still recognized is TRINIDAD we born and is TRINIDAD we come from.

When men like how he name go on TV and say he representing another man's country, and no where in his speech mentioned that he is originally from another country. What you expect me to think ?
I and many others have citizenship, BUT at dey end of the end my name is Trini.

who vex FROTH
my opinion.

Anyway back to dey question at hand.

Famous people...I hadda say that man living in south who faddar 147 children in he 60 years.
Now that is man fur ya  :beermug:
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 24, 2006, 03:42:43 PM

check this

mystikal parents are trini bredda, take my word for it  :beermug:
Post by: superoli on March 24, 2006, 03:43:24 PM
Sam Mendes - director of American beauty
Post by: trinindian on March 24, 2006, 03:48:57 PM

check this

All the lawyers out there what does " SEXUAL BATTERY OF INFIRM" really mean.

And if he indeed has trini-roots and appendage must be made to the topic to include the infamous as well
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 24, 2006, 03:54:39 PM
trinicana i respect that...but in every speech he supposed to say he from trini? the man did always rep we before..usually the commentators wen he playing do mention he originally from trini and they usually explain why he took the canadian citizenship...
but daz ur opinion..and u entitled to that..i jus lettin mine known too  :beermug:
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 03:58:09 PM
trinicana i respect that...but in every speech he supposed to say he from trini? the man did always rep we before..usually the commentators wen he playing do mention he originally from trini and they usually explain why he took the canadian citizenship...
but daz ur opinion..and u entitled to that..i jus lettin mine known too  :beermug:

mmm mmm...an yuh talkin BACK? too......she go bun dong yuh Gym
Post by: Augi on March 24, 2006, 04:00:44 PM

Somebody verify this...Nia Long have trini blood? Allyuh playng with my emontions here
Post by: TriniCana on March 24, 2006, 04:02:09 PM

:beermug: :beermug: take 2 fur dey road
Post by: TriniCana on March 24, 2006, 04:03:58 PM

mmm mmm...an yuh talkin BACK? too......she go bun dong yuh Gym

aye Dutty ah now reach home and ah say I hafta tell ya dis one
dey transfer dey swedish melliebug to dey Toronto branch
so ya know ah going and celebrate with ah half ah 6 pack later  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2006, 04:06:14 PM

jada kiss and rakim is trini  yeah rite. i know dj premier from is trini roots and i heard about the mystikal also
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:06:59 PM

Ooh Aah...John Barnes father is Trini, from Point Fortin to be exact ;D
Post by: Jefferz on March 24, 2006, 04:07:16 PM

jada kiss and rakim is trini  yeah rite. i know dj premier from is trini roots and i heard about the mystikal also

dey trying out fuh de team too!?

godamn!
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:10:05 PM

Stephen Ames
Samuel Selvon

Alfonso"carlton" Ribiero is DEFINITELY TRINI!!  and yeah he always home for carnival ah have pictures ah him wineing on tings in Harts.
Post by: FF on March 24, 2006, 04:10:57 PM
Somebody verify this...Nia Long have trini blood? Allyuh playng with my emontions here

Augi check here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nia_Long)  ;D

yeah my godfather (who is meh mother cousin) went ah family reunion and see Nia Long dey... so ah like to tell people that she is meh pumkin vine family  ;D even though it probably have no real link
Post by: Augi on March 24, 2006, 04:14:20 PM
Augi check here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nia_Long) ;D

I in shock...now we have somthing to talk about we i meet her in my dreams ;D  p.s. thanks WestCoast
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:16:42 PM

[/b]

Dey man is CANADIAN...

Oh gorm allyuh...de man hadda eat too

Is not tuh say de man had ah accountin wukk in de day and playin weekend golf

Golf puttin breadfruit on de table for he family, so yuh hadda pledge yuh allegiance where de sponsorship money isIn as much as de Jack Warner golf foundation not runnin money, he hadda go where the $$prings are

He does still go Trini and teach golf...fuh free

Yes ah know ah should be like yuh swedish boyfren an be on mute  :D...but ah hadda speak mih mind
*...I sit awaiting mih cyber busshead*

yuh ever hear Vijay Singh say he not from Fiji? Is only Trinis does do dem kinda assness.
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:22:13 PM

BOTH PARENTS BREDS!!! dey from San Fernando.
Post by: Blue on March 24, 2006, 04:22:53 PM

I in shock...now we have somthing to talk about we i meet her in my dreams ;D  p.s. thanks WestCoast

Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:26:52 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

yuh disarm meh wid dat one dred. :rotfl:
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2006, 04:27:41 PM

has she eva been to tri nidad nia long just curious?? she like soca she intouch with she trini roots
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:29:33 PM
Dale Cragwell:  played ice hockey with the NHL's San Jose Sharks...and my cousin ;)
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2006, 04:30:33 PM
oh and people forget basket baller  bibi he is related to the footballer robert findley who was down here on trial lst year . bibi mom is trini

findley profile

http://www.osubeavers.com/ViewArticle.dbml?SPSID=24877&SPID=1956&DB_OEM_ID=4700&ATCLID=139024
Post by: Jefferz on March 24, 2006, 04:42:06 PM
de man does bring young players up to Canada for FREE to play golf
buh I know wha ya sayin TriniCana, and he is COOL gurl

yea... i know him...

my father is with him right now actually...
Post by: Pointman on March 24, 2006, 04:47:53 PM

has she eva been to tri nidad nia long just curious?? she like soca she intouch with she trini roots

She's been to Trini a few times ah ent kno bout the taste in music but I imagine so.
Her sister is Simore from "The Queens of comedy" she famous too.
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 05:17:52 PM

Some allyuh like yuh hopin to see she wavin flag fuh Despers nex year or wha?....some ah dem questions soundin REAL thirsty dred  ;D

De gyirl have ah man and practically married
Contact Ato...he does live with all dem celebrities, he mus be know she
Post by: maxg on March 24, 2006, 05:35:37 PM

check this

So they should rest he tail in Carrera then, or he Trini parents an you, proud he doing it in the good ole USA

http://www.cnn.com/2004/SHOWBIZ/Music/01/16/mystikal.sexcharge.ap/

leh we jus live dah one whey he is nah
Post by: Dutty on March 24, 2006, 05:47:57 PM
Dale Cragwell:  played ice hockey with the NHL's San Jose Sharks...and my cousin ;)

Yes!!!!!!..dais de man ah was tryin to remember

Ah next famous one some allyuh never hear bout

Nigel Rojas from Orange Sky
He eh no media star.....YET!!

But truss mih...globally, de man and de band ha REAL fans  :beermug:
Post by: trinindian on March 24, 2006, 06:05:01 PM

Stephen Ames
Samuel Selvon

Alfonso"carlton" Ribiero is DEFINITELY TRINI!! and yeah he always home for carnival ah have pictures ah him wineing on tings in Harts.

I know they say don't believe everything you read but if it good enough for nina it good enough for alfonso

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alfonso_Ribeiro
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2006, 06:28:33 PM
Nia long parents are trinidadian and alsfonso said his parent came from trinidad when they interview him on BET some years ago
Post by: legal alien on March 24, 2006, 08:39:26 PM
is it just me , or anyone ever hear that mike tyson late  father was trini? i  could be wrong....
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2006, 08:43:45 PM
is it just me , or anyone ever hear that mike tyson late  father was trini? i  could be wrong....

i hear dat also it was in the punch ah time meh eh know how true it is
Post by: Daft Trini on March 24, 2006, 09:16:22 PM
Meh cousin Dr Farley Cleghorn, Professor at University of Maryland Baltimore, train under Dr Gallo, who led the field in HIV research.

Stephen Ames gul was from Canada, and he get Canadian citizenship and open a restaurant and thing, but he still pave de way for golfers here. I proud ah him though he does say he is Canadian and thing. But he started here, right back in Mango Alley was he favourite holes to play, playing Golf at PAP golf course and dem Lalchan bros teach him golf when he was a little boy,  den cut all dem arse well.

Stokley Carmichael aka Kwame Ture he made headways during de civil rights movement, he body in Ghana now.

Mervin Hodges who sing "Trinidad is my land... and of it I am proud and glad.''

Post by: Daft Trini on March 24, 2006, 09:32:08 PM
Me, I work for BET in DC and is one of the musicians at Esl studios and 18th Street Lounge.
Post by: football prof on March 24, 2006, 11:41:57 PM
To clear things up, krs 1(hiphop) mother is jamaican. I always thought
 anson carter (nhl) parents were bajan.
Post by: Mr Mc on March 25, 2006, 12:06:28 AM
Meh cousin Dr Farley Cleghorn, Professor at University of Maryland Baltimore, train under Dr Gallo, who led the field in HIV research.

Stephen Ames gul was from Canada, and he get Canadian citizenship and open a restaurant and thing, but he still pave de way for golfers here. I proud ah him though he does say he is Canadian and thing. But he started here, right back in Mango Alley was he favourite holes to play, playing Golf at PAP golf course and dem Lalchan bros teach him golf when he was a little boy,  den cut all dem arse well.

Stokley Carmichael aka Kwame Ture he made headways during de civil rights movement, he body in Ghana now.

Mervin Hodges who sing "Trinidad is my land... and of it I am proud and glad.''

Nice one!!! I heard quite a few folks involved with civil rights back in the day were Trini, some of the Black Panthers.  I also heard that Farahkan used to lime with Trinis back in the day and was known to be a calypsonian, dont know if he is Trini though.
You know that famous JAMAICA poster from back in the day, with the woman in the water and the skin tight tshirt on, she is a Trini, think she have/had a car rental business in the airport.
I heard JayZ got some trini family.

are there Trinis in the NFL?
Post by: Daft Trini on March 25, 2006, 12:36:45 AM
charles zampty from belmont, uncle ricky from ricky ticky cause he was everybody uncle.
Post by: Carib-Briton on March 25, 2006, 06:01:19 AM
Morrisons Mother Right? Half Trinidadian Half Irish?
Post by: Blue on March 25, 2006, 06:05:06 AM

I dont know, but I remember he was eligible to play for England, Ireland, Jamaica or Trinidad
Post by: Carib-Briton on March 25, 2006, 06:05:54 AM

I dont know, but I remember he was eligible to play for England, Ireland, Jamaica or Trinidad
I remember when he played for Ireland against JA. Booz for Days  :rotfl:
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 09:05:10 AM

Stephen Ames
Samuel Selvon

Alfonso"carlton" Ribiero is DEFINITELY TRINI!! and yeah he always home for carnival ah have pictures ah him wineing on tings in Harts.

I know they say don't believe everything you read but if it good enough for nina it good enough for alfonso

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alfonso_Ribeiro

NAH dat's ah mistake cause ah saw his queen on ah interview ah fews years back and she is definitely Trini.
Post by: supporter on March 25, 2006, 09:06:53 AM
tatiyana ali

ribeiros parents are from Dom. Rep.
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 09:08:09 AM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!
Post by: Feliziano on March 25, 2006, 09:36:36 AM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!
nah them have Trini roots.
Ribiero is a cousin of my pardner
and Tatiyana is a pumpkin vine of mines
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2006, 10:11:56 AM
For ah man who eh Trini, he sure like to bigup Trini a lot. Our culture features unusually large in some of his music
Post by: Andre on March 25, 2006, 10:14:18 AM
charles taylor - former president of liberia. trini father.

now he ass in trouble.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060325/ap_on_re_af/nigeria_liberia_taylor
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 10:19:12 AM
charles taylor - former president of liberia. trini father.

now he ass in trouble.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060325/ap_on_re_af/nigeria_liberia_taylor

his wife is Trini too.
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 10:26:03 AM
HUBERT JULIAN, famous pilot, helped the Ethiopian military forces fight the Italians back in the 30's. Known as the Black Eagle. Google him allyuh.
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 10:34:00 AM
did anybody mention Billy Ocean? ;D
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 25, 2006, 10:46:46 AM
toni tone tony(r and b) on of dem is, cant remember which one, dont know if its rafael sadique or de other one
Post by: Quags on March 25, 2006, 11:26:21 AM
Mr.MC there was a trini on the Pittsburg Steelers,this year. Super Bowl Champions :beermug:
Post by: College on March 25, 2006, 11:30:54 AM
It might have been mentiooned before and althoug he is not famous by any means but isn't Shaq's step dad Trini? Can someone elaborate on this?
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2006, 12:08:57 PM
It might have been mentiooned before and althoug he is not famous by any means but isn't Shaq's step dad Trini? Can someone elaborate on this?

yuh  hearing rumours
Post by: big dawg on March 25, 2006, 12:20:59 PM
Ok let me break it down seriously take a listen and then take this to the bank
(In no order of popularity)

Ato Boldon..(World Champion sprinter) b. Trinidad

Vernon Haynes (Pittsburg Stealer Super Bowl Champion 2006) Born in Trinidad

Billy Ocean (Grammy award winning artiste) Born in Trinidad

Russell Latapy (Professional Football Player) Born in Trinidad, Hold duel citizenship (Scotland and T and T)

Stephen Ames (Professional Golfer) Born in Trinidad, Holds dual citizenship (Canada and T and T)

Sir Trevor Macdonald (TV anchor) Born in Trinidad. Holds dual Citizenship (England and T and T)

Brian Charles Lara. (Professional Cricketer) Born in Trinidad. (Keeps an expensive carnival fete at his home every year)

Might Sparrow aka Dr. Slinger Francisco. Born in Grenada. Trinidadian Citizenship.

Tatiyana Ali (actress) Born in New York. Father from San-Fernando Trinidad.

Kareem Abdul Jabbar (NBA)
 Kevon Clement (Track),
 Heather Headley (singer)

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

Jamal magloire(nba)

jadakiss(hip hop)

rakim(hip hop)

Sullivan Walker

John Forte

Spiff Star
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 25, 2006, 12:28:40 PM
Quote from: College on Today at 12:30:54 PM

yuh  hearing rumours

Yeah College, when LA last won the NBA title, they interviewed Shaq's dad and he had an unmistakeable Caribbean accent as he spoke in tears, not sure exactly where he is actually from though.....
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2006, 12:33:42 PM
show me proof where dawg  get jadakiss and rakim is of trini background show me evidence ??: you to TI
Post by: Andre on March 25, 2006, 12:38:11 PM

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

the ill-na na actually from belieze dred. shine too.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2006, 12:43:14 PM

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

foxy is trini she said it on a radio interview
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 01:33:15 PM

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

The Ill na na is DEFINITELY TRINI... from La Romaine.
Post by: JDB on March 25, 2006, 01:37:14 PM
Yeah Foxy brown is a trini.
Post by: trinindian on March 25, 2006, 02:10:59 PM

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

No the brooklyn born Ill-na parents from trini check http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0113564/bio

And recall

OH YEAH
[Verse One]
I'm the most critically acclaimed, rap bitch in the game
Coast to coast, stash the gat in holster girl
Dark skinned, Christian Dior poster girl
Mo' rockin Timbs bitch and the Gucci loafers girl
Niggaz say I'm too pretty to spit rhymes this gritty
f**k y'all thought? Be dancin around in suits like I'm {Diddy}
Pretty, show niggaz how we run this city
Respect my name, Boogie nigga, stay in ya lane
Like The Hurricane, rains on bitches like Sugar Shane
And dare one of y'all rappin chicks to mention Fox name
"What's Beef?" Beef is when bitches think it's sweet
See y'all frontin in the streets and let my gat meet ya

1- Oh yea, We coming for you
(6 x's)

[Verse Two]
Check, uhh
It's like I'm in my own f**kin world, I speak how I feel
Sometimes I feel like I'm just too f**kin real
I love to stack riches, no disrespect y'all
I respect the rap game, but I don't f**k with rap bitches
I'm speakin from my heart
It's not that I'm too good, I'm just hood
Been like this from the f**kin start
Since I bust my gun in ninety-six
Y'all never see me flick up with them fake-ass chicks
Bitches smile up in your face, turn around and pop shit
You a industry bitch, I'm a in the streets bitch
I might breeze through Prada, Chloe or Tiffs
But, other than that it's just me and my six

repeat 1

[Verse Three]
I dream filthy
My moms and pops mixed it with the Trini' rum and whiskey
Uhh, proper set off
Six sped off, gats let off, I speak calm
Gangsta, and pours off like Screechie Don, bwoy
Who y'all know rock Prada like Fox
Pop bottles in the back of the cellar with Donatella
Cartier wrist wear, Pasha Kay face
Got niggaz stand in line just to get a sneak taste
Act like y'all don't know I keeps gat beneath waist
And like a hundred thou' each crib in each safe
When Fox come through she have a gun in the place
I'm like Marion Jones, what, who the FLUCK wan' race?
Listen, never trippin, never catch Brown slippin
f**k, y'all only nice around mics like Pippen
Shit, to all my thugs that's Blood'n or Crip'n
I'm still shittin, still lowridin and switch-hittin nigga

Post by: trinindian on March 25, 2006, 02:16:00 PM
And how many know that the first Foreign Minister the Chinese Republic's Eugene Chen was born in trinidad.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=141449639
Post by: Andre on March 25, 2006, 03:53:08 PM

Foxy Brown (hip hop)

The Ill na na is DEFINITELY TRINI... from La Romaine.

my bad.
Post by: Dutty on March 25, 2006, 04:25:56 PM
HUBERT JULIAN, famous pilot, helped the Ethiopian military forces fight the Italians back in the 30's. Known as the Black Eagle. Google him allyuh.

wow, never heard of him before.....good read on google too
lawd de man middle name was 'fauntleroy' oui  :D.....when somebody name yuh dat, yuh know yuh destined fuh greatness  :beermug:

de man who call out Eugene Chen hit ah nice six...ah fuhget bout he.

Ah guess names like Drs. Eric williams & Rudranath Capildeo doh really rank nowahdays
Post by: Mr Mc on March 25, 2006, 04:57:13 PM
I heard Naz got Trini roots
Elgin 'Genuine' Lumkin I heard has some Trini cousins in TO.

Mad Linx from BET

Little X the video director

there is a documentary called Fist of Fury and there is a part after John Carlos leaves the podium and yoiu can see a trini pendant round his neck
(http://img.infoplease.com/images/blackpower.jpg)
Post by: Blue on March 25, 2006, 05:04:56 PM

Nas is Nigerian (or his Dad claimed to be)
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 05:40:41 PM
Elgin 'Genuine' Lumkin I heard has some Trini cousins in TO.

Mad Linx from BET

Little X the video director

there is a documentary called Fist of Fury and there is a part after John Carlos leaves the podium and yoiu can see a trini pendant round his neck
(http://img.infoplease.com/images/blackpower.jpg)

Who is Eugene Lumkin? I know some Lumkin's from Trini.
Post by: Blue on March 25, 2006, 06:25:52 PM

Ames is still going strong. Now leading, with only a day to go!
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 06:35:52 PM

wow, never heard of him before.....good read on google too
lawd de man middle name was 'fauntleroy' oui  :D.....when somebody name yuh dat, yuh know yuh destined fuh greatness  :beermug:

de man who call out Eugene Chen hit ah nice six...ah fuhget bout he.

Ah guess names like Drs. Eric williams & Rudranath Capildeo doh really rank nowahdays

There are some other famous Afro-Chinese Trinis diplomats who names escapes me right now but they were EXTREMELY influential during the Chinese revolution back in the 30's and helped Shan Kai Shek(sp) escape to Taiwan...sorry ah cyar think of their names though.
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 06:51:09 PM
ah jess remember this one: the dougla gyrl from Vanity six("nasty girls")...back in the 80's is TRINI.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2006, 06:51:39 PM
toni tone tony(r and b) on of dem is, cant remember which one, dont know if its rafael sadique or de other one

he actually married to a trini
Post by: Andre on March 25, 2006, 07:02:26 PM
ah jess remember this one: the dougla gyrl from Vanity six("nasty girls")...back in the 80's is TRINI.

susan moonsie

also, one of the fellas in the early 90s rock group In Living Colour. best known for the song "cult of personality". i think he was vernon something?

(http://www.fonorama.net/recenzje/okladki/4987842.jpg)
Post by: Pointman on March 25, 2006, 07:39:34 PM
Arnold Rampersad, author, professor at Rutgers and leading scholar and expert on Langston Hughes the famous American poet is TRINI...ah met him once. google him allyuh ;)
Post by: morvant on March 25, 2006, 07:43:50 PM
i make de list ;D
Post by: Tallman on March 25, 2006, 07:47:02 PM
also, one of the fellas in the early 90s rock group In Living Colour. best known for the song "cult of personality". i think he was vernon something?

Must be somebody else because Vernon Reid parents from Montserrat.
Post by: Ponnoxx on March 25, 2006, 08:38:22 PM
 Quan Brown....Field Hockey player rated one of the best in the World at a time.He played in England and now resides in Florida....I Know him good from being up tunapuna by my cousins...I don't know if someone mention him yet
Post by: sin on March 26, 2006, 08:45:24 AM
Yes, Kwan is a star, seen him play up here in England - that man have real skills. He coached East Grinstead HC and the London Metropolitan hockey side to glory and championships. Recognize all the hockey people in T&T yes. The senior men's team qualified for the 2007 Indoor Hockey World Cup and nobody even bat an eyelash. So men like Wayne Legerton, Dwain Quan Chan, Dillet Gilkes and all their teammates -  :applause: :applause:
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2006, 10:13:27 AM
Amanda Marshall ,pop star hits like let it rain and Birminham.Over 1million records sold ,proud of her trini roots to.
Post by: football prof on March 26, 2006, 10:37:23 AM
I would like to see the proof about Rakim being trini, or having trini roots. I heard Jada kiss has Trini blood, but still I would like to see some proof!
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2006, 10:53:31 AM
Robinson Carusoe partner, ;D
Post by: Themanfriday on March 26, 2006, 11:31:41 AM
Sorry to say ME D.B. Friday track and field 1992 National U-19 Long and Tripple Jump Champ :'( :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: buuuurp :beermug:
Post by: Blue on March 26, 2006, 11:44:09 AM
Sorry to say ME D.B. Friday track and field 1992 National U-19 Long and Tripple Jump Champ :'( :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: buuuurp :beermug:

u is robinson crusoe partner?
Post by: TrinInfinite on March 26, 2006, 11:53:01 AM
rakim uncle use to play guitar in sparrow band in trinidad padnah, nuff said, jadakiss talk about trinidad a few times in his album already  :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 26, 2006, 01:13:07 PM
rakim uncle use to play guitar in sparrow band in trinidad padnah, nuff said, jadakiss talk about trinidad a few times in his album already  :beermug:

on which song  TI did jada kiss say that could you post someof his  lyrics.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 26, 2006, 01:16:55 PM
A hard question for allyuh any trinis or players with trinin roots  playing in the NCAA for any basketball team ??
Post by: morvant on March 26, 2006, 02:17:24 PM
as a hardcore jadakiss fan i would have to say negative on this one

he never mention this in no song
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2006, 02:30:05 PM
 dah man from London Beat from Trini,back in 80s
Post by: Pointman on March 26, 2006, 04:27:23 PM
Ah read somewhere where Antonio Fargas(Huggy Bear from Starky and Hutch) said that he had some Trini roots.

Also the editor in chief for Essence magazine(de one with de big gap in she teeth ;D ) have trini blood... she grand queen is from Trini.
Post by: Andre on March 26, 2006, 04:33:38 PM

Also the editor in chief for Essence magazine(de one with de big gap in she teeth ;D ) have trini blood...

i see yuh know what that mean!
Post by: Pointman on March 26, 2006, 04:58:25 PM

Also the editor in chief for Essence magazine(de one with de big gap in she teeth ;D ) have trini blood...

i see yuh know what that mean!

INDEED !!! ;D ;D
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2006, 05:13:45 PM
Stenphen Ames 2006 Players Champion ,getting  his Trophy now Live on tv ,commentators saying one of greatest rounds ever
Post by: Filho on March 26, 2006, 05:31:55 PM
How men could put Ato name on that list. Ato born and bred in T&T...went Fatima and represent T&T right through..THis is supposed to be about the ones that have Trini roots that the general public doh know about...Lewwe stay on point

Anyhow.....I doh know where Alfonso Ribeiro parents from, but I lime with the man in a house party in Trinidad (somewhere in the East...it was years ago). The man strike me as a little strange, a real performer. Whole night only singing and dancing like a clown. He definitely has Trinidadian cousins, cuz one is my real good partner and is he introduce me to the man.

John Barnes is half Trini/half Jakan...but he associates more with his Jamaican roots.
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2006, 05:41:45 PM
Gabriel Reece. She buck was from T&T, but he dead when she was 5.
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 05:53:24 PM
mike bibby from the sacramento kings
Post by: Warrior till death on March 26, 2006, 05:55:16 PM

??? he from trini?
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 06:02:31 PM

yes that's true. I know her mom personally.Her name is talita
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 06:06:49 PM

??? he from trini?

yes breds his mother.
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 06:21:33 PM
Politics:Mervyn Dymally Former Lt.Governor for the  State of California.
Post by: AB.Trini on March 26, 2006, 06:22:21 PM
Arnold Rampersad is an English professor of specialising in the literary criticism of black American literature, most famously for poetry. He is of Indo-Trinidadian origin.
He is currently Professor of English and the Sara Hart Kimball Professor in the Humanities at Stanford University, assumed the post of Senior Associate Dean for the Humanities in January 2004. As Senior Associate Dean, he is responsible for the full array of departments in the humanities, including Art & Art History, Asian Languages, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, French and Italian, German Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic Languages and Literature, and Spanish and Portuguese.*

Professor Rampersad was a member of the Stanford English Department from 1974 to 1983, before accepting a position at Rutgers University. Since then he has taught there and at Columbia and Princeton before returning to Stanford in 1998.

His books include the following:

• The Art and Imagination of W.E.B. DuBois (Harvard, 1976) • The Life of Langston Hughes (Oxford, 2 vols., 1986, 1988) • Days of Grace: A Memoir (Knopf, 1993), co-authored with Arthur Ashe • Jackie Robinson: A Biography (Knopf, 1997)

In addition, he has edited several volumes including the following: • Collected Poems of Langston Hughes, the Library of America edition (2 vols.) of works by Richard Wright, including revised individual editions of Native Son and Black Boy • Slavery and the Literary Imagination (as co-author) • Race and American Culture (co-editor with Shelley Fisher Fishkin) - of the book series published by Oxford University Press

His teaching covers such areas as nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature; the literature of the American South; American and African-American autobiography; race and American literature; and the Harlem Renaissance. From 1991 to 1996, he held a MacArthur "genius grant" fellowship. He is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Philosophical Society. He is currently at work on a biography of Ralph Ellison (1914 - 1994).

Retrieved from "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arnold_Rampersad"

Mike Bibby is of Caucasian descent from his father and Afro-Trinidadian descent from his mother. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mike_Bibby)

Post by: TriniCana on March 26, 2006, 07:07:08 PM
Robinson Carusoe partner, ;D

wait nah, who ya mean Man Friday or Tobago Crusoe?? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Look allyuh ain't good nah  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 07:32:53 PM
carl herrera from houston rockets.1992

terry dehere los angeles clippers 1997

Post by: royal on March 26, 2006, 07:59:19 PM

well if you call dem basketball names Herrera although born in Trini parents were Venezuelans and Dehere born in the US but his father from Carenage.Then you can include Kareem Abdul Jabbar who grandparents were from dat Grande/Toco area.
Post by: royal on March 26, 2006, 08:04:44 PM

Trinidad father ,Jamaican mother
Post by: davyjenny on March 26, 2006, 08:05:26 PM

well if you call dem basketball names Herrera although born in Trini parents were Venezuelans and Dehere born in the US but his father from Carenage.Then you can include Kareem Abdul Jabbar who grandparents were from dat Grande/Toco area.

yes breds yuh right,you on top of things dey bredda!
Post by: royal on March 26, 2006, 08:25:40 PM
A hard question for allyuh any trinis or players with trinin roots  playing in the NCAA for any basketball team ??

Marlon Pompey - Texas A&M
Shagari Alleyne         - Kentucky
Kim Fields         -Arizona (women)
Patrice Edwards - Texas Tech (women)
Post by: ZionYouth on March 26, 2006, 08:39:30 PM
de fella wit de dreads in de fu-shnickens is trini.....
Post by: AB.Trini on March 26, 2006, 09:27:16 PM
This is a very informative and thoughful 'thread' but should this POSTING not be placed in  GENERAL DISCUSSION?

Another thing, instead of  posting speculative  information could:

All yuh source out information when  allyuh find  it nah. That way we eh left guessing who is horne child and who  may have  heritage or not; Leh we get the ocular  proof  that those mentioned are connected.Fuh real
Post by: skins on March 26, 2006, 09:33:37 PM
Charles Taylor   ex dictator of Liberia  is a trini through his father. We so many claims.

Taylor was born in Arthington, a city near Monrovia. His mother was a member of the Gola tribe. According to most reports his father was an Americo-Liberian, although other sources claim he was actually an Afro-Trinidadian immigrant

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Taylor
Post by: football prof on March 26, 2006, 09:35:11 PM
I agree alberta we need more proof for this thread.
Post by: Quags on March 26, 2006, 10:47:04 PM
Dr.Johann Gottlieb Benjamin Siegert :o Oringinally born inGermany. But his sons Don Carlos,Alfredo and Luis adopted Trinidad to set up there company from Vene . The House Of Angustura. Did you know Dr Siegert made the bitters to cure soldiers with severe fevers and stomach ailments and it worked  . ;) :beermug:
Post by: Dutty on March 27, 2006, 08:03:10 AM
I agree alberta we need more proof for this thread.

ABSOLUTE Proof is going to be tough...as an example I once saw a tv interview with KRS1 sayin his father is from Trini (although he father was apparently wutless) but I have no way of proving that

As for Wilkpedia....anybody could go on dey and edit the existing info into any thing they want and it will stay there as facts, if nobody bother to re-edit....so we cyah even depend on dat

As ah was scrollin troo ah see somebody type Gabriel reece have trini roots?...de volleyball player?
Post by: Tallman on March 27, 2006, 08:39:39 AM
As ah was scrollin troo ah see somebody type Gabriel reece have trini roots?...de volleyball player?

Yes, dat is correct.
Big Girl in the Middle (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/product-description/0517708353/104-0404089-5041502)
Post by: Themanfriday on March 27, 2006, 08:41:08 AM
What about Busta Rymes and Star Child :devil:
Post by: Themanfriday on March 27, 2006, 08:45:45 AM
Well ah guess he eh from Trini but in every movie or video he does you can see a trini Flag somewhere
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 27, 2006, 08:55:17 AM
What about Busta Rymes and Star Child :devil:

busta rymes is JA
Post by: Dutty on March 27, 2006, 09:32:08 AM

Yes, dat is correct.
Big Girl in the Middle (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/product-description/0517708353/104-0404089-5041502)

As spock does say....Impressive!!!

Now dat is ah tall ting ah want to see wave flag fuh despers.......anybody know if she could wine  ;D
Post by: Pointman on March 27, 2006, 09:49:37 AM
Arnold Rampersad is an English professor of specialising in the literary criticism of black American literature, most famously for poetry. He is of Indo-Trinidadian origin.
He is currently Professor of English and the Sara Hart Kimball Professor in the Humanities at Stanford University, assumed the post of Senior Associate Dean for the Humanities in January 2004. As Senior Associate Dean, he is responsible for the full array of departments in the humanities, including Art & Art History, Asian Languages, Classics, Comparative Literature, Drama, French and Italian, German Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Slavic Languages and Literature, and Spanish and Portuguese.*

Professor Rampersad was a member of the Stanford English Department from 1974 to 1983, before accepting a position at Rutgers University. Since then he has taught there and at Columbia and Princeton before returning to Stanford in 1998.

His books include the following:

• The Art and Imagination of W.E.B. DuBois (Harvard, 1976) • The Life of Langston Hughes (Oxford, 2 vols., 1986, 1988) • Days of Grace: A Memoir (Knopf, 1993), co-authored with Arthur Ashe • Jackie Robinson: A Biography (Knopf, 1997)

In addition, he has edited several volumes including the following: • Collected Poems of Langston Hughes, the Library of America edition (2 vols.) of works by Richard Wright, including revised individual editions of Native Son and Black Boy • Slavery and the Literary Imagination (as co-author) • Race and American Culture (co-editor with Shelley Fisher Fishkin) - of the book series published by Oxford University Press

His teaching covers such areas as nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature; the literature of the American South; American and African-American autobiography; race and American literature; and the Harlem Renaissance. From 1991 to 1996, he held a MacArthur "genius grant" fellowship. He is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Philosophical Society. He is currently at work on a biography of Ralph Ellison (1914 - 1994).

Retrieved from "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arnold_Rampersad"

Mike Bibby is of Caucasian descent from his father and Afro-Trinidadian descent from his mother. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mike_Bibby)

Arnold Rampersad is of both Indian and African and Trinidadian origin. I've met him personally when he was a professor at Rutgers and I a student at Morgan State University. Check out his book on Langston Hughes.
Post by: Pointman on March 27, 2006, 09:53:02 AM

??? he from trini?

??? ??? I don't think so, please check that.
Post by: Pointman on March 27, 2006, 09:54:02 AM
Politics:Mervyn Dymally Former Lt.Governor for the  State of California.

yeah Mervyn from Cedros
Post by: Pointman on March 27, 2006, 09:56:14 AM

like yuh ent read page 1 ah this thread or wha. ;)
Post by: Dutty on March 27, 2006, 10:02:18 AM

like yuh ent read page 1 ah this thread or wha. ;)

Plenty men eh read all de pages...so yuh will probably get some names repeating a few times
Post by: Blue on March 27, 2006, 06:39:21 PM

??? he from trini?

Yes, his mom is.
Post by: trinindian on March 27, 2006, 09:21:43 PM
Aki Aleong (actor, director, writer, producer)
Date of birth (location): ... 934, Port of Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Antonio Benedict (actor, makeup department member, stunts department member)
Date of birth (location): ... 15 April 1975, Trinidad and Tobago ...
Ian Bishop (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... ont, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Sonny Caldinez (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 1 July 1932, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Stokely Carmichael (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 941, Port of Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Edric Connor (actor, director, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... ugust 1913, Mayaro, Trinidad, British West Indie ...
Tony Craig (I) (actor, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 9 February 1958, Trinidad ...
Pete DeFreitas (actor, composer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 961, Port of Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Deryck Dyal (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... ???, Port of Spain, Trinidad ...
Franz Fridal (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 25 January 1933, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Gary Goodridge (II) (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 17 January 1966, Trinidad and Tobago ...
Haddaway (actor, composer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 9 January 1965, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Erick Hawkins (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 23 April 1909, Trinidad, Colorado, USA ...
Geoffrey Holder (actor, composer, costume designer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 930, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Darcus Howe (actor, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... Trinidad, West Indies ...
Selwyn Jacob (actor, director, producer)
Date of birth (location): ... Trinidad, West Indies ...
Errol John (actor, writer)
Date of birth (location): ... 924, Gulf of Paria, Trinidad ...
Christopher Jordan (I) (actor, art director)
Date of birth (location): ... 967, Port of Spain, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Stefan Kalipha (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 1940, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Al Kamarr (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 6 October 1948, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Jeffery Kissoon (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... Trinidad ...
Sir Lancelot (actor, composer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... March 1902, Cumuto, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Brian Lara (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... antaro, Santa Cruz, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Brian Leslie (III) (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 952, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago ...
Christopher Mayer (II) (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 1961, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Trevor McDonald (I) (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 16 August 1939, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Billy Mo (actor, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 22 February 1923, Trinidad ...
Joseph Morder (actor, cinematographer, composer, director, writer, editor, producer, other crew member, sound department member)
Date of birth (location): ... 949, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago ...
Billy Ocean (actor, composer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 21 January 1950, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Horace Ové (actor, director, writer, producer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 1939, Trinidad ...
Sunil Y. Ramjitsingh (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 2 December 1976, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Ken Renard (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 905, Port of Spain, Trinidad ...
Sheldon Robins (actor, special effects department member, stunts department member)
Date of birth (location): ... , Upper Laventille, Trinidad ...
Edmundo Ros (actor, composer)
Date of birth (location): ... 910, Port of Spain, Trinidad ...
Erskine Sanford (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 19 November 1885, Trinidad, Colorado, USA ...
Frank Singuineau (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... Port of Spain, Trinidad ...
Tony Springer (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 1960, Trinidad ...
Austin Stoker (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 7 October 1943, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Fernando Thomas (actor, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... r 1971, Valle De La Trinidad, Baja California, M ...
Rudolph Walker (I) (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 28 September 1939, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Don Warrington (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 1952, Trinidad ...
Dwight D. Woods (actor)
Date of birth (location): ... 2 June 1959, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Roy den Burger (actor, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... 975, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago ...
Winifred Atwell (actress, composer, other crew member)
Date of birth (location): ... ril 1914, Tunapuna, Trinidad ...
Rama Bai (actress)
Date of birth (location): ... 3 April 1897, Trinidad ...
Mona Baptiste (actress)
Date of birth (location): ... 21 June 1928, Trinidad ...
Floella Benjamin (actress, producer)
Date of birth (location): ... 23 September 1949, Trinidad, West Indies ...
Dionne Brand (actress, director)
Date of birth (location): ... 1953, Guayaguayare, Trinidad ...
Jacqui Chan (actress)
Date of birth (location): ... Trinidad and Tobago ...
Rachel Chin (actress)
Date of birth (location): ... Port of Spain, Trinidad ...

http://www.imdb.com/BornWhere?Trinidad
Post by: davyjenny on March 27, 2006, 09:54:43 PM

??? he from trini?
Yes breds do your research.My friends on the west coast knows his mom pretty well.
Post by: Pointman on March 28, 2006, 10:05:29 AM

??? he from trini?
Yes breds do your research.My friends on the west coast knows his mom pretty well.

alright...cool I stand corrected. Did his father also play ball in the NBA?
Post by: Star Child on April 01, 2006, 06:01:43 AM
Any famous Trinis currently in the NBA. ?
Post by: Cowen on April 01, 2006, 05:54:57 PM
Me ...... i famous.  Plenty people know me  ;D
Post by: trinindian on April 02, 2006, 09:32:00 AM
http://www.bestoftrinidad.com/
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 30, 2006, 04:15:41 PM
Keshia Chanté Harper the singer

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keshia_Chante
Post by: fishs on May 31, 2006, 06:22:38 AM
 ISACC HUNT Current  TT prime minister.

Tried out for Marabella united in the 60's could not make the team , so is now taking out his revenge on Presidents ground... :devil: :devil:
Post by: TriniCana on May 31, 2006, 01:50:09 PM
ISACC HUNT Current  TT prime minister.

Tried out for Marabella united in the 60's could not make the team , so is now taking out his revenge on Presidents ground... :devil: :devil:

lllllorddddddddddddddddddddddddd fadda fishs....dey prime minister does post in here man
shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Post by: Sam on June 03, 2006, 04:16:08 AM
I think Missy Elliot is Trini too ?
Post by: ndookie on June 03, 2006, 04:21:34 PM
Like every star is  Trini  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: trinindian on June 03, 2006, 07:19:57 PM

Missy "The double chin's not good for the red carpet."  (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1055396/bio)  :devil: :devil: :devil:

I go need more proof before i buy that one
Post by: Pointman on June 05, 2006, 12:23:57 PM

Missy "The double chin's not good for the red carpet."  (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1055396/bio)  :devil: :devil: :devil:

I go need more proof before i buy that one

Tru
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 08, 2006, 06:26:19 PM
ok we add keisha chante
Post by: Organic on December 08, 2006, 06:36:14 PM
ok we add keisha chante
boy allyuh worse dan teenagers fighting down frens...especially when dye people eh give ha flying"fuc**"
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 08, 2006, 07:42:08 PM
ok we add keisha chante
boy allyuh worse dan teenagers righting down frens...especially when dye people eh give ha flying"fuc**"

yuh sure bout dat ..
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 07:36:33 AM
magloire is not trini

Yes he is.  BOTH parents were born and raised in Trinidad and still have strong Trini accents.  Magloire does only hang out wid Trinis/Caribbean people when he in Toronto.  Does even bring out a band Caribana time.  If yuh ask him, he would probably tell yuh he is a Trini unless he being interviewed or something.
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 07:37:34 AM
Ludacris......

He have Trini roots?  Ah didn't know dat at all.
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 07:40:37 AM

Hmm...me eh know bout Nia nah ut Tatian and Alfonso is Trini
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2006, 08:18:27 AM

Either Nia Long's parents or grandparents are from T&T. She supposedly have family from Arima.
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 09, 2006, 09:04:01 AM
Ludacris......

He have Trini roots?  Ah didn't know dat at all.

no no dont fool yuh self
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 09, 2006, 09:04:28 AM

Either Nia Long's parents or grandparents are from T&T. She supposedly have family from Arima.

i think its her parents
Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 09:54:47 AM
dis de second time i post this  ;D ;D ;D ;D allya remember it ok ;)
"Her name Nia (birth name: Nitara) is one of the seven days of Kwanzaa and means "purpose." She was born to Afro-Trinidadian parents, Doc and Talita Long; They divorced when Nia was two years old. Nia and her mother moved to Iowa City, Iowa, where her mother studied fine arts, and then to a lower-middle-class South Los Angeles neighborhood when Nia was seven. "
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nia_Long
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 12:26:49 PM
Hedy Fry - Liberal MP, Vancouver Canada

http://hedyfry.com/campaignhq/?q=node/14

PEARL PRIMUS

http://www.washingtoninformer.com/ARThisWeek2005Nov24

TINI LOPEZ - Singer (If I had a Hammer)
Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 12:43:09 PM

PEARL PRIMUS

Hedy Fry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hedy_Fry
Pearl Primus http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pearl_Primus
Trini Lopez "Born: Trinidad López III in Dallas, Texas," sorry :(
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 12:45:57 PM
HEATHER HEADLEY

http://ca.askmen.com/women/singer_200/203_heather_headley.html
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 12:48:12 PM

PEARL PRIMUS

Hedy Fry http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hedy_Fry
Pearl Primus http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pearl_Primus
Trini Lopez "Born: Trinidad López III in Dallas, Texas," sorry :(

My sources said he was born in Trinidad. WIll have to do some more checking.
Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 12:49:37 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trini_Lopez

his first name is Trinidad, so maybe they got tied up with the sentence "Born Trinidad López III in Dallas, Texas,"  ;D ;D
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 01:01:22 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trini_Lopez

his first name is Trinidad, so maybe they got tied up with the sentence "Born Trinidad López III in Dallas, Texas,"  ;D ;D

Maybe..

Post by: cocoapanyol on December 09, 2006, 01:03:39 PM
Last one ah remember

LORRAINE TOUSSAINT

http://thehistorymakers.com/biography/biography.asp?bioindex=867
Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 01:07:47 PM
LORRAINE TOUSSAINT
http://thehistorymakers.com/biography/biography.asp?bioindex=867
see dat, I learn something new today
thanks "Indig"

her favorite food: Stewed Ox Tails  ;D ;D
Post by: TriniCana on December 09, 2006, 03:36:31 PM
wait waitttttttttttttttttttttt stop dey press
ah jus waz talking tur meh frien indra and she tell meh, meh first ex spend ah year in st anns and come out last week wednesday dey....

as god make moses ah sure dey did throw way he key.

so allyuh jus add meh name tur dat list ah famous people please

TriniCana - born in Trinidad in dey East
famous fur getting man mentally and emotionally disable. :rotfl: :devil:

note: dere is ah ward on dey east wing dat dey hospital name 'Cana doom"

:wavetowel: alllyuh put meh in history dey.
Post by: Organic on December 09, 2006, 03:52:07 PM
wait waitttttttttttttttttttttt stop dey press
ah jus waz talking tur meh frien indra and she tell meh, meh first ex spend ah year in st anns and come out last week wednesday dey....

as god make moses ah sure dey did throw way he key.

so allyuh jus add meh name tur dat list ah famous people please

TriniCana - born in Trinidad in dey East

note: dere is ah ward on dey east wing dat dey hospital name 'Cana doom"

:wavetowel: alllyuh put meh in history dey.
WE FINE A CURE FOR IT NOW THOUGH CANA......
CAUSE WE KNOW DE CAUSE
IS DEM 5 LIPS DAT DOES GET DE MEN SCARED AND THUS MAD
DEY EH KNOW WEY TO START DAIS Y

BUT THNAKSFULLY WE COULD LOOKF OR A CURE NOW..LOL
5 lips(shuddering)
Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 04:39:42 PM
(http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/mad/mad0099.gif) i bin on here just over a year (http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/mad/mad0259.gif) so i can Only imagine how de man feelin (http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/rolleye/rolleye0018.gif) :devil:
(http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/innocent/innocent0002.gif)

i jez read dat post again
"de FUSS EX", ya does be like "fishs" ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: TriniCana on December 09, 2006, 05:40:31 PM
(http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/mad/mad0099.gif) i bin on here just over a year (http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/mad/mad0259.gif) so i can Only imagine how de man feelin (http://www.mysmiley.net/imgs/smile/rolleye/rolleye0018.gif)
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

i jez read dat post again
"de FUSS EX", ya does be like "fishs" ;D ;D ;D ;D

now lemme tell ya something...ah doh change allyuh like underwear eh..wha allyuh cyah deal wid is ah strong oman. datz all  :P

anywhoo...dey story bout dis first ex. me did love he, and he did love me way too much. infact dey word obessess comes tur meh mind.

picture it.....me miss independent she self, have more man friend den oman friend, like ah fete, anytime any day...infact first ting ah tell him, 'watch - dis is how ya meet meh, take meh so' he say 'fine'. is one ah meh girl frien happen tur notice dey change ah mister ex and draw meh attention tur it. now remember is love in meh eye so me ain't noticing nothing. infact ah notice dat bitch coulda cook reel good, so meh belly full and he was getting everyting he wanted from meh.

anywhoo, BAM it so happen dat we get vex ah weekend, talk bout furniture was moving in dey place, he place ah mean - me is christian so ah did tell he, he hadda take meh out meh mudda house, in oder words put ring on meh finger if ya want meh to move wid ya. furthermore me ain't living in he place, cause datz not my place...in oder words we buying house together.

dat being said....we vex dat weekend and meh redness was in full swing dat day. last ting ah tell he is 'ya need help' and ya is ah mammy man - slam he door and ah dust it. ya know when something tell ya do something, ya does hadda do it ? (some ah we goes call it inner voice - and is god speaking tur ya), well meh inner voice tell meh go in dey back ah dey house. so is gone ah gone and ah happen tur raise up ah piece ah galvanize dat was on dey ground, only tur see ah bottle ah green gramo.

now, people go say 'cana dat doh mean he go make ya drink it and den kill he self'. i personally go tell ya yes datz could be ah intention in dey near future, and ah go tell ya why ah tink so.  why he have dey green fur when he ain't have one kissmehass bush, lawn or tree in he yard ??? whatz he intention eh - tur paint ??

dat was dey last ting ah see in dat yard... now ah hearing he was in st anns....look ah going and call he mudda and find out wha happen, although indra did tell meh he suffer ah mental breakdown and threaten tur do bodily damage tur somebody, so jus incase dat happen, he brudda (ah lawyer) throw he in st anns.

lemme hear wha he mudda go tell meh.... ;D ;D

Post by: WestCoast on December 09, 2006, 06:07:28 PM
sorry
 :-X :-X I ent say nuttin again oui :-X :-X
Post by: ricky on December 09, 2006, 11:45:35 PM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!

wait nah boy, we is famaleeeeeeee.....that is my wife 2nd couisn  :rotfl:
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 10, 2006, 12:32:42 AM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!

wait nah boy, we is famaleeeeeeee.....that is my wife 2nd couisn :rotfl:

farley flex is trini, hes a judge from canadian idol and Kazabond de famous trini painter...
Post by: cocoapanyol on December 14, 2006, 03:13:25 PM
We should add

Ken Charles  and
Carl Herrera

former NBA players
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2006, 06:48:55 PM
allyuh wasting allyuh time.

leh we jes ask TI to post all de famous trinis, he family must know dem!
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 16, 2006, 11:28:46 PM
Keith Diamond and billy ocean
Post by: Themanfriday on December 16, 2006, 11:36:18 PM
Me  :devil: :devil: :devil: come to germany andd see :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Tallman on February 29, 2008, 10:46:22 PM
Ah read somewhere where Antonio Fargas(Huggy Bear from Starky and Hutch) said that he had some Trini roots.
He mother is ah Trini
Post by: sinned on October 10, 2008, 12:26:35 AM
He mother is ah Trini

Being involved in fantasy football (NFL), I was reading about Justin Fargas, a running back for the Oakland Raiders who is the son of Antonio Fargas. So I think with him being 1/4 trini that's the most trini person we have in the NFL now that Verron Haynes is a free agent.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Fargas
Post by: Themanfriday on October 10, 2008, 05:36:18 AM
jamal magloire(nba), jadakiss(hip hop), rakim(hip hop), guru from gang starr(hip hop), k-OS(hip hop), saukrates(hip hop), ato boldon(runner) :o, dexter simmons(famous sound engineer), neville tate(foundation reggae), if i remember more i will add it, everyone knows football already, so there will be no surprise names for football

read de fuss post carefully de man say who never represented us.
Post by: Controversial on October 10, 2008, 08:18:44 AM
gary goodridge(kickboxer), glen lewis(singer), dean marshall(actor), gregory charles(pianist), jillian richardson(sprinter), oj santiago(american football player), rajiv surendra(actor)
Post by: Daft Trini on October 10, 2008, 09:42:42 AM

Yes!!!!!!..dais de man ah was tryin to remember

Ah next famous one some allyuh never hear bout

Nigel Rojas from Orange Sky
He eh no media star.....YET!!

But truss mih...globally, de man and de band ha REAL fans  :beermug:

Was a real blessing to see him in Bethlehem, Pa this year..... Following his career since his Jaundice I days..... he was real proud ah we flying we flag while they playin..... show us mad love after and Nigel gimme a sip ah Vat (first in 10 years oui)

I have met a lot of Professors that have Trini Roots.... and the have been shaping Doctors, Politicians, Authors etc.... here in the US as unsung heroes....

Dr Farley Cleghorn..... major contributions to HIV research...
Post by: zuluwarrior on October 21, 2008, 09:39:38 PM
Eh doh forget God he iz ah Trini  ;D .
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 08:46:04 AM
Arnold Rampersad is of both Indian and African and Trinidadian origin. I've met him personally when he was a professor at Rutgers and I a student at Morgan State University. Check out his book on Langston Hughes.

While at Princeton he edited a book, "The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes", which I have.  Not sure if that's the same book you're referencing, but he's somewhat of a Hughes scholar, wouldn't be surprised if he's actually written more.
Being involved in fantasy football (NFL), I was reading about Justin Fargas, a running back for the Oakland Raiders who is the son of Antonio Fargas. So I think with him being 1/4 trini that's the most trini person we have in the NFL now that Verron Haynes is a free agent.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Fargas

Sean McDonald of the Detroit Lions is Bibby's cousin (and Robbie Findley's)... not sure we could claim him yet, but we know that Bibby and Findley related thru Bibby's mom and Findley's dad, both Trinis.  So if McDonald related to both of them, chances are it's via the Trini side as well.
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 09:24:29 AM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!

At least one of Ribiero's parents are from Trinidad... Wikipedia and all dat aside, I remember reading a big article on him in the Express when I was a child.  Quoted his parents.

I always thought Tatiana Ali's folks were Guyanese and Panamanian though.

I don't know either way... but possibly any confusion about their Trini roots could be attributed to:
1) their prominent mention of TnT at the start of "Slow Wine" or
2) confusion with Stokely Williams (Trini), lead singer of Mint Condition.
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 09:26:29 AM
Quote from: College on Today at 12:30:54 PM

yuh  hearing rumours

Yeah College, when LA last won the NBA title, they interviewed Shaq's dad and he had an unmistakeable Caribbean accent as he spoke in tears, not sure exactly where he is actually from though.....

Shaq's dad is American... his grandfather is who you're thinking of, he was indeed in tears when he was interviewed.  He definitely had a West Indian accent but I couldn't peg it.  Sadly he passed away sometime ago.
Post by: sinned on January 29, 2009, 09:33:54 AM
Sam Mendes - director of American beauty

Sam Mendes is also the husband of actress Kate Winslet who was on the Tonight Show on Jay Leno and tried to imitate her father-in-law's Trini accent. Saw the video but can't find it online right now
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 09:36:58 AM

Three years too late, but Marlon Pompey helped Texas A&M to the Final Four back in 2006 or 2007... born and bred Trini, moved to Canada.

Mike Bibby dad (Henry Bibby) is a light skinned black man, he's not "caucasian".

... and yeah Pointman, Henry Bibby played in the NBA

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Bibby
Post by: sinned on January 29, 2009, 09:39:18 AM

I was always under the impression her father was from Trinidad. Most sites online seem to agree but it they could all be from the same source.
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 09:41:45 AM

I was always under the impression her father was from Trinidad. Most sites online seem to agree but it they could all be from the same source.

I could be wrong... I remember an interview on TV back in the 90's... her mom (Pana) was on one ah dem talk shows dealing with child stars.  But in all  honesty I can't remember specifically where the father was from.  Ah see Feliziano say they related... so I definitely not in position to argue otherwise.
Post by: sinned on January 29, 2009, 09:47:24 AM
Sean McDonald of the Detroit Lions is Bibby's cousin (and Robbie Findley's)... not sure we could claim him yet, but we know that Bibby and Findley related thru Bibby's mom and Findley's dad, both Trinis.  So if McDonald related to both of them, chances are it's via the Trini side as well.

Yeah Shaun McDonald is Mike Bibby's cousin on his (Bibby's) mom's side: Link (http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/printedition/2008/03/02/bibby0302.html)

Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2009, 10:44:05 AM

Yeah Shaun McDonald is Mike Bibby's cousin on his (Bibby's) mom's side: Link (http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/printedition/2008/03/02/bibby0302.html)

Good stuff  :beermug:

Some claim that we trying tuh 'buy family' with this thread... I look at it as recognizing just how far we've come... and spread as a nation of people.  Our influence permeates many different walks of life and it's good to know that.  Even if the individual branches themselves don't acknowledge it, we know where the root was planted and watered.
Post by: daryn on January 29, 2009, 11:04:08 AM

I could be wrong... I remember an interview on TV back in the 90's... her mom (Pana) was on one ah dem talk shows dealing with child stars.  But in all  honesty I can't remember specifically where the father was from.  Ah see Feliziano say they related... so I definitely not in position to argue otherwise.

her father is Sheriff Ali who as far as I know has* a parts place at the top of Cipero Street.

*-I haven't lived in Trinidad for several years and purchasing of auto supplies isn't something that I allocate any time to when I'm back home.  No idea if the place still open or not.
Post by: Andre on January 30, 2009, 09:33:00 AM
IMDB list of people born in trinidad.

some from trinidad, CO though.

Post by: Dutty on January 30, 2009, 10:48:13 AM

yuh know I watch de first name on dat list....deman wukkin in showbiz since 1956...and still around to de Jimmy Kimmel show last year?....dat is longevity

I never hear about de man self..but he look like ah Trini
Post by: Bakes on January 30, 2009, 11:46:13 AM

Good list... I came across this about a year, year and a half ago.  You can also do a search by where the movies are made... and see the movies made in TnT.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 30, 2009, 01:59:59 PM
...but wait nuh.....ent Q-Tip supposed to have Trini roots?!?!   How nobody eh call dat name yet?
Also, some yeaers ago, allyuh remember a solid running back from the University of Pittsburgh and end up playing for the dallas cowgirls: Curvin Richards.

Post by: Bakes on January 30, 2009, 06:10:44 PM
...but wait nuh.....ent Q-Tip supposed to have Trini roots?!?!   How nobody eh call dat name yet?
Also, some yeaers ago, allyuh remember a solid running back from the University of Pittsburgh and end up playing for the dallas cowgirls: Curvin Richards.

Not Q-Tip... Phife Dog.

And yeah Curvin Richards was Trini... as was Quentin Coryatt (Texas A&M, Indianhapless Colts)...

another name is Romany Malco... The Jacket, 40-year Old Virgin, Weed... among others.

Wintley Phipps... renowned baritone and SDA pastor.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 31, 2009, 10:07:10 AM

Not Q-Tip... Phife Dog.

And yeah Curvin Richards was Trini... as was Quentin Coryatt (Texas A&M, Indianhapless Colts)...

another name is Romany Malco... The Jacket, 40-year Old Virgin, Weed... among others.

Wintley Phipps... renowned baritone and SDA pastor.

Arright, tanx.  I coulda SWEAR I had heard legitimate rumblings of Q-Tip being a Trini as well, but I stand corrected and trust and appreciate the correction.
Post by: Bakes on January 31, 2009, 11:32:29 AM
  Arright, tanx.  I coulda SWEAR I had heard legitimate rumblings of Q-Tip being a Trini as well, but I stand corrected and trust and appreciate the correction.

I was the biggest Tribe fan ever... and get all hype and ting when I heard dat too.  It late came out that it was Phife... same thing... him and Q-Tip grew up in each other's homes, so 'Tip basically consider himself one.  Phife raps about it on Oh My God (Midnight Marauders) at 2:12...

"some brothers try to dis m-malik
you see'm bitchin
me nuh care about dem dibi emcees my shit is hittin
Trini gladiator, anti-hesitater
Shaheed push the fader from here to Grenada

Mr. energetic, who me sound pathetic
when's the last time you heard a funky diabetic?"

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/j80w4d9U2Fs
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 31, 2009, 03:52:07 PM

I was the biggest Tribe fan ever... and get all hype and ting when I heard dat too.  It late came out that it was Phife... same thing... him and Q-Tip grew up in each other's homes, so 'Tip basically consider himself one.  Phife raps about it on Oh My God (Midnight Marauders) at 2:12...

you see'm bitchin

wha about this part licks licks licks boy on yuh back side
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 31, 2009, 10:09:59 PM
Pfife dog real smooth man, in several tracks he bigs up trini, as a matter of fact, listening to Tribe's music was my 1st exposure to the Caribbean impact in the US, and there are so many.  Just a little trivia, the 1st black female US senator was from Nevis (well 1st generation), the list is endless, whether it be in music, entertainment, politics, civil rights, academics etc....
Post by: sinned on March 27, 2009, 10:51:38 PM
Gerry Bednob (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0066144/)

He was in 40 year old virgin and Zack and Miri make a...
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 27, 2009, 11:06:07 PM
Gerry Bednob (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0066144/)

He was in 40 year old virgin and Zack and Miri make a...
de next fella from trini too.forget he name,but he was in tuxedo with jackie chan as de cab driver.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 28, 2009, 07:15:34 AM
I wonder when ever happen to nia long
Post by: Sando on October 02, 2009, 11:25:07 AM
Louis Farrkhan...  ;)
Post by: Daft Trini on October 02, 2009, 11:36:32 AM

Her dad was definitely trini.. I met her once when she visited her uncle... who was a teacher at modsec.
Post by: Themanfriday on October 02, 2009, 01:11:48 PM
Dexter B. Friday aka Themanfriday

read de topic before yuh jump on me eh
Post by: weary1969 on October 02, 2009, 06:14:44 PM
Dexter B. Friday aka Themanfriday

read de topic before yuh jump on me eh

Definetly d latter and not d former.
Post by: Deeks on October 02, 2009, 07:21:35 PM
I think Farahkan is of JA descent. 
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 02, 2009, 09:53:11 PM

Well even if she doh have.........she could get some  ;D
Post by: Bakes on October 02, 2009, 10:05:37 PM

Kittitian...

Gerry Bednob... 'Indian' salesman from 40-year old Virgin (opposite anothe Trini, Romany Malco as mentioned before).
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 02, 2009, 10:12:32 PM

wayyyy.....now that is real pumkin vine
Post by: big dawg on October 03, 2009, 07:13:12 PM
This thread so old. not sure if this was posted before

Errol Sitahal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Errol_Sitahal).. the East Indian who play Kumar father from the Harold and Kumar movies..

crudentials here here (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0803179/)

if this was posted before, think of is as a refresher...

also

Jeffery Kissoon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeffrey_Kissoon)

character actor with a bunch of small roles mainly on the European circuit. played a Trinidadian taxi driver in the movie Dirty Pretty Things (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0301199/) also acted in the movie The Navity Story (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0762121/)
Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 01:16:48 PM
Jamaican and Bahamian.

Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 01:18:31 PM

Both Nia Long's parents are Trinis, from San' Do.

Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 01:21:25 PM
This thread so old. not sure if this was posted before

Errol Sitahal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Errol_Sitahal).. the East Indian who play Kumar father from the Harold and Kumar movies..

crudentials here here (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0803179/)

if this was posted before, think of is as a refresher...

also

Jeffrey_Kissoon[/b]]Jeffery Kissoon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/[b)

character actor with a bunch of small roles mainly on the European circuit. played a Trinidadian taxi driver in the movie Dirty Pretty Things (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0301199/) also acted in the movie The Navity Story (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0762121/)

From de time ah hear dat dude(Jeffery Kissoon) talk ah knew he was Trini and ah telling meh woman dat. Ah know meh TnT accents anywhere. Great movie!!
Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 01:53:58 PM

you see'm bitchin

Nice vid...Splif star, Busta's hypeman is also Trini, he and my cuosin went to HS in Brooklyn together.
Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 01:59:01 PM

She right here in LA doing her thing. Check out all them Ice Cube movies: "are we there yet"; " are we done yet" etc... she all up in them.
Post by: Pointman on October 05, 2009, 02:09:00 PM
tatiyana ali

no sir!!

wait nah boy, we is famaleeeeeeee.....that is my wife 2nd couisn :rotfl:

farley flex is trini, hes a judge from canadian idol and Kazabond de famous trini painter...

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: is so de man name spell?... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 05, 2009, 07:54:56 PM

So you never hear Cazabon in patois? ;D
Post by: Tallman on December 13, 2009, 08:03:21 PM
magloire is not trini

Ah see him in ah Scrunter Parang last night. Adesh Samaroo climb up on ah chair to take ah picture wit him  ;D.
Post by: Daft Trini on December 16, 2009, 09:58:00 AM
(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2099/2453831571_0d209c1145.jpg)

Thelma Aoyama... working on some remixes for her... Apparently she is part trini and she is famous in Japan.
Post by: davyjenny1 on December 16, 2009, 10:53:44 AM

Wrong! Nia's mom is from N.Y. Nia's grandmother is Trini it's a personal

Post by: Dutty on December 16, 2009, 01:08:05 PM
magloire is not trini

Ah see him in ah Scrunter Parang last night. Adesh Samaroo climb up on ah chair to take ah picture wit him  ;D.

dat mus be de first time you ever went ah parang and it had ah man taller dan you ent?
Post by: Tallman on December 16, 2009, 01:10:43 PM
magloire is not trini

dat mus be de first time you ever went ah parang and it had ah man taller dan you ent?

Yuh damn right about dat  ;D
Post by: FF on December 16, 2009, 01:13:16 PM
magloire is not trini

Yuh damn right about dat  ;D

Even with dat ras pile on top yuh head?? ah feel yuh beat him back still
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 18, 2009, 12:31:57 PM

She right here in LA doing her thing. Check out all them Ice Cube movies: "are we there yet"; " are we done yet" etc... she all up in them.

oh yes you and she related !!
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 18, 2009, 12:33:30 PM

on a radio station show she said her parents are from trinidad
Post by: davyjenny1 on December 18, 2009, 01:25:31 PM

on a radio station show she said her parents are from trinidad

Horse forget what you hear on the radio these are people that i KNOW her mother has been to trini several times for carnival and like playing mas. She is a singer/song writer that sings Jazz and is also an artist. For your info Check this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xenCQjkYcDU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRwFM39k76I&feature=related
Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2009, 08:05:19 PM
Nia's parents are Trini... I know her mother is for sure, she has another daughter (Nia's half-sister) who's also a celebrity in her own right... the comedienne Sommore.
Post by: davyjenny1 on December 19, 2009, 06:25:27 PM
Nia's parents are Trini... I know her mother is for sure, she has another daughter (Nia's half-sister) who's also a celebrity in her own right... the comedienne Sommore.

Wey! You is the daddy, just kidding. Pradners, where yuh getting your all this information from? cause talita only has child. Maybe on her father side
Post by: Peong on January 08, 2010, 12:16:44 AM
(http://www.facebook.com/profile/pic.php?oid=AAAAAQAQvD5-RiPZoXOHHYQLjs3NuwAAAAmHHUWFjf1PTj9B1znkyFAp&size=normal)

Cece Sammy (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2195920/) is well-known in the UK.
She is a vocal coach/entertainment host/entertainment reporter.
Born and raised in T&T until her teens then moved to the UK.
Her sister real sweet too.

Here's a vid http://vimeo.com/1761685
Post by: WestCoast on May 13, 2010, 05:34:29 PM
I got this in an Email today

"Change of British High Commissioner to Canada
11 May 2010
Dr Andrew Pocock CMG has been appointed British High Commissioner to Canada ....."
http://ukincanada.fco.gov.uk/en/news/?view=PressR&id=22202781#

his bio
http://www.debretts.com/people/biographies/year/1955/23268/Andrew%20John+POCOCK.aspx

more about him while in Zimbabwe here
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/africa/article3927730.ece
I have been told that he allowed people to live on the grounds of the high commision and to grow vegetables
Post by: Sando on August 07, 2010, 10:09:39 AM
Lord Laro.  :devil:
Post by: Andre on August 10, 2010, 09:47:53 AM
de baddest female rapper on the scene right now - Nicki Minaj.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicki_Minaj

Onika Maraj (born 1984),[1] better known by her stage name Nicki Minaj, is an American rapper and singer.[2] In August 2009, Minaj signed to Young Money Entertainment with distribution from Universal Motown. Her debut album, Pink Friday[3], is currently due to be released on November 23, 2010. She has also released three successful mixtapes.

(http://islandista.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/nicki-minaj-barbie.jpg)

Onika Maraj was born in San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago and lived there for five years with her grandmother.[1] At age 5, she moved to the Queens borough of New York City. She is of mixed Afro-Trinidadian and Indo-Trinidadian descent.[4] According to Minaj, she grew up in a home with an abusive father who drank alcohol, did drugs, and once tried to kill her mother by setting the house on fire.[5] She has stated that life was difficult growing up, but that "music helped her through it". She attended Elizabeth Blackwell Middle School 210[1] and graduated from LaGuardia High School.[6] At LaGuardia, a school specializing in music and the visual and performing arts, Minaj participated in the drama program. She once worked at a Red Lobster restaurant in the Bronx.[7]
Post by: Star Child on September 09, 2010, 08:35:52 AM
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar grandparents are originally from Trinidad and Tobago.

So according to our law, he is not Trini or could never be one.
Post by: Star Child on September 09, 2010, 08:46:00 AM

check this

Name: MICHAEL LAWRENCE TYLER
Louisiana Sex Offender Registry - Offender Details".
Registration #: 001705900
Aliases: MYSTIKAL 
 MICHAEL MYSTICAL
 MYSTIKAL TYLER
Level:  Tier 3 
Last Verification Date:  08/30/2010

http://www.icrimewatch.net/offenderdetails.php?OfndrID=1168574&AgencyID=54320
Post by: Quags on March 09, 2011, 11:56:11 AM
nice link for St Mary anyway
http://www.cicpsu.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=122&Itemid=72
Post by: frico on March 09, 2011, 05:57:24 PM
Tatiyana is family.
Post by: jahkingdom on March 09, 2011, 07:16:27 PM

check this

Name: MICHAEL LAWRENCE TYLER
Louisiana Sex Offender Registry - Offender Details".
Registration #: 001705900
Aliases: MYSTIKAL 
 MICHAEL MYSTICAL
 MYSTIKAL TYLER
Level:  Tier 3 
Last Verification Date:  08/30/2010

http://www.icrimewatch.net/offenderdetails.php?OfndrID=1168574&AgencyID=54320

Post by: Bakes on March 10, 2011, 11:14:05 AM

I'm curious... what do you find so funny?
Post by: truetrini on March 10, 2011, 11:28:28 AM

I'm curious... what do you find so funny?

Thing is Bakes he curious too...jes anodder kinda curious...
Post by: Andre on January 10, 2013, 02:37:52 PM
Trinidad James.

New rapper from the ATL. bave a big hit now.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trinidad_James

http://www.youtube.com/v/MEwCFWAvGy4
Post by: FF on January 10, 2013, 03:35:47 PM
LOL you real late Andre. Have a big thread in entertainment going on bout he
Post by: asylumseeker on January 11, 2013, 12:12:51 PM
Lakshmi Singh (National Public Radio) ... voice to bend.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 25, 2013, 12:26:06 PM
found out about this chap yesterday

Keith Diamond, 46; Produced Pop Songs
Published: January 27, 1997

Keith Diamond, who produced and wrote songs for such singers as Billy Ocean, Michael Bolton, Donna Summer and Mick Jagger, died on Jan. 18 at his home in Manhattan. He was 46.

The cause was a heart attack, said Lisa Barbaris, a spokeswoman for Mr. Diamond.

Born in Trinidad, Mr. Diamond moved to London to pursue a career as a musician and producer in 1969. Signed on as a songwriter by the publisher Zomba after he moved to New York in 1980, he became known for his streamlined rhythm-and-blues pop style. As a producer and songwriter, he helped bring singers like Billy Ocean into the mainstream while reshaping the sound of others like Anne Murray.

Mr. Diamond also helped produce ''Wandering Spirit'' by Mick Jagger and ''The Hunger'' by Michael Bolton, as well as producing albums or writing songs for Sheena Easton, James Ingram, Don Johnson, Melba Moore, Regina Belle, Gladys Knight, Starpoint and Ms. Summer. He was nominated for a Grammy award in 1984 for the Billy Ocean song ''Caribbean Queen,'' which he produced and wrote with the singer. In 1989, the Trinidadian Government opened a Keith Diamond Cultural Center.
Post by: Pointman on March 17, 2013, 02:17:04 AM

Doh make joke!! She is Trini??? wheey sah! I does listen to she all de time, never knew that. I thought she was American.
Post by: Bakes on March 17, 2013, 08:46:58 AM

Doh make joke!! She is Trini??? wheey sah! I does listen to she all de time, never knew that. I thought she was American.

Because she is :)
Post by: Tallman on July 25, 2013, 12:01:07 PM
How Ya Going? 9 of Our Favorite Celebs Of Trinidadian Descent (There’s Some Surprises!) (http://madamenoire.com/199524/how-ya-going-10-of-our-favorite-celebs-of-trinidadian-descent-theres-some-surprises/)
Post by: Peong on July 25, 2013, 12:24:11 PM
How Ya Going? 9 of Our Favorite Celebs Of Trinidadian Descent (There’s Some Surprises!) (http://madamenoire.com/199524/how-ya-going-10-of-our-favorite-celebs-of-trinidadian-descent-theres-some-surprises/)

Didn't know about Hilary and Carlton.   And how they go leave out Ashleigh?
Post by: Bakes on July 25, 2013, 04:50:29 PM
Didn't know who the Afro Bella chick is... same for K. Michelle. Other than that, found out about Jackee last month... or maybe just before.  Everybody else I knew of... including Lola with she stink attitude lol
Post by: just cool on July 25, 2013, 08:00:54 PM
Isn't MOOJ from 40 yr old virgin a trini?

http://www.youtube.com/v/oT7NSGVsRPM
Post by: Bakes on July 25, 2013, 09:33:00 PM
Isn't MOOJ from 40 yr old virgin a trini?

Yeah, Gerry Bednob is his name.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 26, 2013, 12:16:45 PM

True talk!
Post by: OutsideMan on July 26, 2013, 12:28:41 PM
Okay...ah not too sure if this may count, but it's worth noting that de actor 'Henry Ian Cusick' from the show 'Lost', and also the first season of 'Scandal' grew up in Trini for a bit, and even attended Presentation College, Sando in his youth back in the early 80s (late 70s).

He is Scottish, but his father travelled a lot on business when he was growing up, so he lived in Trini for about 10 years.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Ian_Cusick
Post by: FF on July 26, 2013, 12:45:43 PM
Okay...ah not too sure if this may count, but it's worth noting that de actor 'Henry Ian Cusick' from the show 'Lost', and also the first season of 'Scandal' grew up in Trini for a bit, and even attended Presentation College, Sando in his youth back in the early 80s (late 70s).

He is Scottish, but his father travelled a lot on business when he was growing up, so he lived in Trini for about 10 years.

oooold news round these parts.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=34197.msg399628#msg399628
Post by: OutsideMan on July 26, 2013, 01:00:30 PM

oooold news round these parts.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=34197.msg399628#msg399628

Okay, cool...Ah not surprised that this was covered in some old discussion...lol
Post by: Controversial on July 26, 2013, 05:14:29 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eamonn_Walker (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eamonn_Walker)

Eamonn Walker is trini, hes a good actor.... was in cadillac records and other notable movies
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 05:58:56 PM
I knew this prostitute from Trini who use to ply her trade in this spot in Queens NY about 15 years ago.  She was a real legend...a cross between Stacey Dash and Jack Warner.  She was missing some of her back teeth, but looked good in some angles under dim lighting.  The name she went by was 'Diamond Flame'.

Anyhows, ah don't know if she counts, but de chick was pretty famous on that block for awhile.

Famous Trinis!  Bless!  :beermug:   

Post by: 100% Barataria on July 28, 2013, 08:35:24 AM
Buh wah de jail is diss
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2013, 12:03:25 PM
Buh wah de jail is diss

Post by: Pointman on July 28, 2013, 10:29:23 PM
I knew this prostitute from Trini who use to ply her trade in this spot in Queens NY about 15 years ago.  She was a real legend...a cross between Stacey Dash and Jack Warner.  She was missing some of her back teeth, but looked good in some angles under dim lighting.  The name she went by was 'Diamond Flame'.

Anyhows, ah don't know if she counts, but de chick was pretty famous on that block for awhile.

Famous Trinis!  Bless!  :beermug:   

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: tears are running down my face right about now... oh lord!!
Post by: Pointman on July 28, 2013, 10:34:27 PM

Because she is :)

ethnically she is Trini... mom from PR, dad is Trini.
Post by: ribbit on January 09, 2015, 02:53:28 PM
richard nurse - former CFL footballer and father of darnell nurse, defencemen for the edmonton oilers, member of canada's gold-medal-winning junior hockey team
Post by: Jumbie on January 10, 2015, 03:14:01 PM
richard nurse - former CFL footballer and father of darnell nurse, defencemen for the edmonton oilers, member of canada's gold-medal-winning junior hockey team

I knew his sister (Richard's) Raquel Nurse who's married to married Donovan Mc Nabb. The Nurse family is well known in Hamilton and very sporting. Darnell's sister Kia Nurse is/was guard with the Huskies (UConn).

Post by: E-man on April 05, 2015, 09:47:16 AM
http://blog.f1rst.com/exp/ten-times-trinidadians-were-on-wikipedia-and-it-was-weird/

Ten Times Trinidadians Were on Wikipedia, and it was Weird

The assumption is that you have to be famous to have a wikipedia, but that’s only kind of true. Often, Wikipedians are famous within a niche, as we will now prove: ...

http://blog.f1rst.com/exp/ten-times-trinidadians-were-on-wikipedia-and-it-was-weird/
Post by: Flex on August 04, 2015, 10:27:16 AM
Ronda Jean Rousey (Trini blood)

(http://www.womenfitness.net/img2013/artimg/nov/Ronda-Rousey.jpg)

http://ethnicelebs.com/ronda-rousey

Post by: 100% Barataria on August 04, 2015, 06:32:27 PM
I eh blame yuh flex  ;D
Post by: ribbit on August 11, 2015, 10:29:48 AM
MF Doom is half-trini. dayum. a taste ....

http://www.youtube.com/v/o7IXsNeIK-o
Post by: Bakes on November 22, 2015, 11:53:21 PM
Ronda Jean Rousey (Trini blood)

(http://www.womenfitness.net/img2013/artimg/nov/Ronda-Rousey.jpg)

http://ethnicelebs.com/ronda-rousey

Here's the story of her great-grandfather...

https://www.youtube.com/v/x2TtFP3h9_Y
Post by: royal on November 23, 2015, 02:00:02 PM

I knew his sister (Richard's) Raquel Nurse who's married to married Donovan Mc Nabb. The Nurse family is well known in Hamilton and very sporting. Darnell's sister Kia Nurse is/was guard with the Huskies (UConn).

Raquel played basketball for T&T when she was at Syracuse. She played on a real good team with Sharon Castanada, Hazel Taylor and Muriel Mitchell. 
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2017, 02:07:37 AM
Ronda Rousey family mulls reality show in T&T
STEPHON NICHOLAS (NEWSDAY)
Friday, March 17 2017

AnnMaria De Mars, the mother of world renowned MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) fighter Ronda Rousey, is in Trinidad as she traces her roots and visits relatives in this country. De Mars’ grandfather, Dr Alfred E Waddell, was born in Trinidad but left this country for New York in 1923 where he became a physician.

It is Demars’ first time in Trinidad and she has been meeting her relatives here and sharing stories about their ancestors.

Speaking to Newsday yesterday at an event in Long Circular Mall, organised by Jason Fraser, head of TT Sambo and Combat Sports Federation, De Mars said she has been on the phone with Rousey telling her about this country and is keen for her famous daughter to see Trinidad and meet her family here.

De Mars, the first American to win a World judo gold medal in 1984, said her family is currently in negotiations with a company seeking to do a reality show and said she will be pushing for filming to be done in the scenic sister isle of Tobago where she visited last week.

“We had been talking about a reality show in our family owned business and I said Tobago will be the perfect place.

All the girls want to come to Trinidad because we have been talking about it for years...

We’ve been working on the reality show for a while and been in negotiations. We haven’t signed with the company, we’ve had a couple offers and hadn’t found the fit. But when I was in Tobago it just seemed this would be the perfect way to get our team down here and film here because I think it would be interesting. Our team is very hardcore and triple ‘A’ personality working 80 to 90 hours a week and I think it would be really good TV,” she said.

Rousey, who became a household name with her stunning performances in the octagon, is still viewed as one of the biggest MMA stars despite two losses in her last fights. The 30 year old’s stardom has transitioned into acting with appearances in the multi-million dollar franchise, Fast and Furious 7, and the action-packed movie The Expendables 3.

Rousey’s impressive grappling skills and 12 straight victories from 2011 onward saw pundits wonder whether Rousey could even be successful fighting men as she seemed unbeatable against her same gender.

But a vicious knockout to Holly Holmes on November 15, 2015 which saw Rousey medically suspended left the former champ’s pride badly wounded and she even contemplated suicide. Her mom yesterday discussed the role she played in helping Ronda battle the depression of losing her first fight and seeing her unbeaten record gone. “I think anybody who is a top athlete, there is a moment right after (a loss) where your world caves in. One thing what Ronda has going for her is that she has a really tight family that loves her. She comes home and I have four grandchildren who just climb over her and you realise these are the things that matter.”

She continued: “You know it’s funny, when she was competing in judo as a little kid she used to go to the Junior Nationals, I would tell her: ‘You know Ronda if you don’t win I’ll still love you, just not as much.’ Then one day at age 14 she said to me ‘Mom you know what you said really hurts my feelings’ and I was shocked because I was joking.

But I tell her now ‘I love you just as much.’” De Mars yesterday said she believes her daughter’s legacy is cemented as a pioneer for women in combat sports and sports in general. “It is amazing and I always tell my kids that it’s better to be the first than the best. Someone could always come along that is better than you but they could never be more first than you. I think it’s great.

Sports are wonderful but I coach kids in South Los Angeles (I tell them) I have a phD and a gold medal and one of them enables us to live at the beach in Santa Monica and it’s not the gold medal. For Ronda, she’s so much more than that (MMA), she’s super good at Math and works with our (software) company testing the games so I think for every kid, it’s important to keep in mind that you’re more than what you won this week.”

De Mars, who has four daughters including 18 year old Julia who is vacationing with her, said ideally she would not like none of her children come in harm’s way and would not recommend MMA but said they are so strong-minded that they will pursue whatever career they wish to. Fraser, commenting on hosting Rousey’s mother in Trinidad, said talks are underway for the reality show and he is planning an MMA event as well to possibly mark her presence here.

“We have begun talking about the possibility of having a reality show done and the family (here). For that to happen all the daughters have to be in Trinidad and Tobago. As long as it materialises they’re gonna be here and we’re gonna plan an event around that and have Ronda Rousey here as our guest.”

Post by: Swima on March 17, 2017, 07:59:52 AM
De Mars, who has four daughters including 18 year old Julia who is vacationing with her, said ideally she would not like none of her children come in harm’s way and would not recommend MMA but said they are so strong-minded that they will pursue whatever career they wish to. Fraser, commenting on hosting Rousey’s mother in Trinidad, said talks are underway for the reality show and he is planning an MMA event as well to possibly mark her presence here.

Gosh boy Newsday!
Post by: Jumbie on September 09, 2017, 05:53:17 PM
Add + Sloane Stephens  winner 2017 US Open. her grandfather (92) is Trini born

(http://assets.nydailynews.com/polopoly_fs/1.3483304.1504993624!/img/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/article_750/sloane10s-2-web.jpg)
Post by: maxg on September 11, 2017, 11:40:10 PM
(http://www.trinidadexpress.com/storyimage/TT/20170518/SPORTS/170519498/AR/0/AR-170519498.jpg&MaxW=730&imageversion=Article)
Post by: Deeks on September 11, 2017, 11:42:36 PM
Is that her Moms?
Post by: maxg on September 12, 2017, 11:48:02 PM
Is that her Moms?

Andre De Grasse(pic in Foreground) mom
Post by: Jumbie on September 26, 2017, 07:28:21 PM
Is Cardi B mentioned here already?
Post by: Deeks on September 27, 2017, 05:35:51 AM
Is Cardi B mentioned here already?

http://www.cnn.com/2017/09/26/entertainment/cardi-b-rapper/index.html

I don't know. But it really has to be a wide generation gap with me and the now generation. I did not know she is #1 on the Billboard Top 100. She could cuss like hell.
Post by: Jumbie on December 06, 2017, 06:34:35 AM
Trinbagonian American Winston Duke Stars in Marvel's Black Panther

(http://socamom.com/s/images/stories/black_panther_winston_duke_mbaku.jpg)
Post by: E-man on July 19, 2019, 12:43:41 PM
Billy Mo was born on February 22, 1923 in Trinidad as Peter Mico Joachim. He was an actor, known for Übermut im Salzkammergut (1963), Schlagerparade 1961 (1961) and Die Nacht vor der Premiere (1959). He was married to Sylvia Hartjenstein and Margot Miranda. He died on July 16, 2004 in Hannover, Germany.

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0594900/

https://www.youtube.com/v/X9FgN2jWarA
Post by: Deeks on July 19, 2019, 10:59:21 PM
Never heard of this guy.
Post by: Flex on December 28, 2020, 01:34:01 AM
Dominique Thorne: American actress, with Trini roots, stars as Marvel’s Ironheart
NARISSA FRASER (T&T NEWSDAY).

SHE loves hot doubles with the perfect ratio of channa to tamarind sauce, likes the beach and enjoys a good family lime.

She may sound like an average Trini but she is also the star of an upcoming Disney Plus/Marvel series.

Born to T&T parents in the US, 23-year-old actress Dominique Thorne is set to invade your screen as Marvel’s Ironheart.

The actress was born and raised in New York but her mother, Nerissa Guy, is from Carapichaima and her father, Navie Guy, is from Mayaro. She also has two brothers – Ky-Mani, 13, and Caleb, four.

But when you interact with her, you’d think she was born and raised in T&T as her parents ensured they retained every aspect of their culture possible after migrating.

She told Sunday Newsday, “Most of my family, actually, is in Trinidad. All my cousins and everything. It’s only just really my immediate family that’s here but at least 90 per cent of my family members are still in Trinidad.”

They now live in Delaware. She said she communicates with her family daily and her parents’ TT friends “that grew up across the street or down the road that almost become like your family over time.”

Much to her dissatisfaction, she has only visited T&T once in 2010. She stayed by her aunt in Chaguanas.

“I remember everything vividly.

“I stayed for a significant amount of time – long enough to participate in a summer camp, visit museums…We had gone absolutely everywhere. Down the islands, Maracas...I got to visit the family down in Mayaro. It was beautiful.”

Two things she loves about T&T culture are the sense of pride and dignity of its people and the food. Her favourite meals are crab and dumplings and bake and shark.

“Just before Christmas, my dad and I drove back up to Brooklyn and we were getting groceries because you can’t really get some of the common ingredients to make what we want in Delaware. Even something as simple as a pimento pepper. So, we made the trip, we stopped and got doubles on the way so it was nice to be back in that kind of environment again.”

Caribbean schooling in New York

Her schooling journey was not that simple as she switched schools often.

“My mom was very big on wherever she could find the best education, that’s where I would go to.”

She recalled attending a “Caribbean preschool” in Flatbush.

“All the teachers were from the Caribbean and they taught with that same kind of style. They even had that little red book (Nelson’s West Indian Readers) that’s used in T&T.”

At one of the schools, she said, “My mom would get reviews during parent-teacher conferences like, ‘Oh, yes. She’s such a wonderful child. She’d even help me distribute things.’ And my mom was like, ‘Dais what I sending you to school for?’

She attended a series of Catholic schools and even a Greek Orthodox school.

She never quite felt like she fit in, though, recalling why the trip to T&T meant so much to her.

Domnique Thorne will become Riri Williams who is Ironheart in a TV series based on the Marvel comic. -
“It felt so good to finally connect with the place that had such a strong influence on my upbringing, the place where this accent originated.

“Because growing up in school, you’re automatically identified as being African-American and I accepted it. But as I grew older and learned more about US history, I realised it wasn’t exactly my history and my peers didn’t understand what I was talking about when I spoke of my favourite foods, music, the traditions my family has...So getting to finally getting to go there was great.”

She also recalled the anxiety that came with applying for high schools, especially since New York is filled with “really smart children.”

She always enjoyed TV as a child but wasn’t particularly interested in becoming an actress. Well, until one day.

“I just felt like I should apply for a performing arts high school. To this day, I don’t know where that thought, impulse or desire came from...A lot of people tried to talk me out of that decision but I was just so set on it.”

Acting, a platform of healing

Her mother arranged for her to be trained for a month by a professional who attended one of the city’s top schools, La Guardia High School of Music and Performing Arts.

She said she applied to several schools but was accepted to Professional Performing Arts School in Manhattan where she studied drama for four years.

“This was the school that made me fall in love with acting and every bit of the performing arts.

“I had teachers who helped me see the beauty in the language and the text in things like Shakespeare. And I also had teachers who helped me realise the strength and the power in my own voice, vocal technique, my body, physicality. And then, I had teachers who made me realise how this artform could help heal me – how I could use this as a way to speak through whatever was going on in my mind and my heart.”

She said it was a beautiful environment to be in and she remains grateful for that experience.

Next up was college, which she winged signing up for with the assistance of her family and friends of her family.

She said the process was confusing for her. She wanted to continue studying the arts but she was also “very passionate about immigration legislation and reform.”

She applied for a top school known for academics, Cornell University and one focused on performing arts, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers in New Jersey.

“I was just like, ‘Okay, God, you just do what you gotta do.’”

But she was accepted to both and had another decision to make.

In the end, she attended Cornell where she studied human development with a focus on social and personality development, with a minor in inequality studies. She graduated in 2019.

She said at times during her college journey, she became discouraged as she had been sending out multiple audition tapes but was not getting any call-backs.

She was doing this while maintaining several customer service and administrative-type jobs on campus to earn cash.

Breakout role on Beale Street

But in 2018, she made her first feature film debut as Sheila Hunt in Barry Jenkins' If Beale Street Could Talk. The movie was nominated for Oscar and Golden Globe awards.

And in 2021, she will be sharing the screen with US actors Daniel Kaluuya and Lakeith Stanfield in Warner Brothers' Judas and the Messiah, directed by Shaka King.

Asked if auditioning becomes easier with time, she said not necessarily but she learnt to trust herself more.

“I have learnt to enjoy it more instead of entering every room with dread and fear.

“Now, I feel like now, I enter with excitement and gratitude like, ‘Okay, I get a minute to connect with someone.’”

She was used to sending audition tapes but now, “Whenever I get the opportunity to be face to face, I’m just like ‘Let’s do it!’ I try to do it as best as I can.”

But Ironheart was a special casting for her.

“Funny enough, I actually didn’t audition for this role. This was the first anything I didn't audition for and I was fortunate enough to get.

“I was offered this role and it was insane to make that realisation...To be told you are the person someone wants to do this particular thing…”

The Marvel character – whose real name is Riri Williams – made her first cameo appearance in 2015 in the comic book Invincible Iron Man. But only as Williams. Her debut as Ironheart was in 2016.

Some call Williams Iron Man’s (Tony Stark’s) successor or replacement but that isn’t exactly the case.

Marvel describes the character as “the creator of the most advanced suit of armour since Iron Man.”

She is a 15-year-old genius from Chicago who attends Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and has a love for high-tech armour.

She also has anxiety.

For instance, the following is an excerpt from her first comic book appearance:

“This is Riri Williams broadcasting live from hell. Remember about five minutes ago when I was really, really excited about being a superhero? Ironheart. Copyright pending. Well, it seems – and I know this will be a big surprise to some of you – if you fly around in a gold and red tin suit and blast laser beams out of your hands, then a lot of people are going to pay attention. And then all of a sudden I’m kind of famous. Not Captain America famous but…”

She also mentions Stark’s mother offering her access to his lab.

“Oh, and I’m still being trained and assisted by Tony Stark’s Artificial Intelligence (AI) because that never sounds weird.”

Her mother Ronnie is a double-widow.

The superhero’s father died before she was born, and then she witnessed the drive-by shooting of her step-father and best friend. They were shot in the heart, which inspired the name.

This piqued her interest in making a suit and joining the crime-fighting scene.

Thorne said her family loves Marvel. And interestingly, they share a deep connection over Iron Man which they would watch together often.

But her mother had a typical Trini reaction to the news of her casting.

“She was like ‘You lie! Just hurry up and tell me what you have to tell me, please.’ And I said, ‘I’m serious!’ And then she kinda stopped and let it sink in and started to cry a little bit.

“My dad is the silent type. He nodded a couple of times and said congrats, said wow a couple of times but yeah, they're definitely excited. I think they might be just a bit more excited and proud of this than when they came to my college graduation,” she said laughingly.

“My little brother is trying to convince me to take him with me when I have to fight crime.”

Some similarities between Thorne and Williams, according to her, include the connection to school and to education, the quest for knowledge, upbringing not coming from the best of circumstances.

Asked who her favourite Marvel character is, she said she wasn’t sure she could choose but she loves Hawkeye, Iron Man, Black Widow and Black Panther.

Although Williams is still a relatively new character, Thorne is not worried about making her debut but rather, excited.

Marvel hasn’t given a release date yet for the series but fans remain eager as they await this, along with other series.

Asked if she is worried she might end up stuck at a traditional job, she said, “I remember in high school my senior year acting teacher, when I told him I was going to Cornell, he said congrats but he said, ‘If I ever find out that you’re working in a bank or something, I will drag you out myself.’ I’ve never forgotten that to this day.”

She urged young people not to doubt their potential, saying, “We tend to set the limitations that then become real in our life.

“You really only have one life to live and you never really meet people who are truly aware of what you can accomplish until you come to terms with what you can accomplish.”

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/12040427.jpg)
Domnique Thorne will become Riri Williams who is Ironheart in a TV series based on the Marvel comic. -

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/12014186-767x1024.jpg)
Dominique Thorne is Marvel's Ironheart. Photo courtesy Jeffrey Mosier -

(https://newsday.co.tt/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/12043577-1024x576.jpg)
ominique Thorne as Ironheart. Source: Comic book cast. -

Post by: Deeks on December 29, 2020, 08:20:13 PM
Fantastic!!!!
Post by: Quags on October 19, 2021, 06:48:12 AM
Bobby Smurder !