Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 25, 2006, 03:57:20 AM

Title: Caledonia AIA/Morvant Caledonia United Thread.
Post by: Flex on March 25, 2006, 03:57:20 AM
Caledonia AIA in transition mode in 2006.
By: Joel Villafana.

Having parted ways with the Fire Services after the completion of the 2005 season, Caledonia AIA have found themselves in transition and are now in a rebuilding mode.
Coach Jamal Shabbazz has lost no less than ten (10) players from last season through the split with Fire Services and to say the least the Morvant/Laventille based club has lost a vital source of income.
Nevertheless, because of his never say die attitude, Jamal Shabbazz has soldiered on and has been able to secure the backing of a brand new team sponsor, and in 2006 the boys from Caledonia will be known as Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA Fire.
Caledonia placed 3rd behind W Connection and San Juan Jabloteh in the League competition last year and would be hard-pressed to improve coming into the new season with a number of challenges.
Coach Jamal Shabbazz has admitted the exodus of the Fire Services has certainly affected the club, “The merge with the Fire Services gave us some stability in terms of our financial status and we were able to build on it last season and we will certainly miss that aspect and we have also lost a number of key players.”
Commenting on the sponsorship of Neal and Massy, the National Womens Coach says, “While it is a big help, they are only funding a percentage of the team’s budget, and they can never really take the place of the Fire Services and the role they played, but we are grateful to Neal and Massy and we hope the relationship grows in the future.”
Shabbazz is however, still talking tough, despite his team’s many challenges, he is still determined the team will give a good account of themselves, and he says outside of remaining in the top three in the League—he wants to be in at least 3 of the knockout finals.
“As a team we really felt left out—when we did not go all the way in the Cup games, we missed the atmosphere and this year we want to be part of that, so while we want to do well in the League, we will be focusing on the knockout competitions very seriously.”
Now having lost the bulk of his team from last season, Jamal Shabbazz decided to go back to the community—and according to the former national goal-keeper this was a plus.
“We were able to source some useful talent in the Morvant/ Laventille community, the likes of Junior Spencer, a talented young striker and a sturdy left back in Marcus Ambrose, we were also able to pull some good local players from the U.S. who are now finishing school, like a young attacking midfielder in Judah Alexander, and a big defender by the name of Stephen Cruikshank.”
Shabbazz also hit the local market and was able to attract some local players—he snatched, North East Stars Striker Kendall Jagdeosingh and W Connection’s striker Jason Cudjoe.
Also in Caledonia’s mix will be at least 2 Colombians—a defender by the name of Julio Cesar Delarosa and a goal-keeper named Johny Cardona.
All in all, Jamal Shabazz feels he has found the right mix of youth and experience—as returning from last season is Uz Taylor who is the only surviving member from the Fire Services merger, as well as experienced goal keeper Michael Woods, Caledonia’s prodigal son Conrad Smith who has returned after finishing the season with Jabloteh last year, and two young developing players from last season in striker Devon Modeste and midfielder Stephan David.
Due to the transition period, Caledonia’s pre-season preparation did not go as well as coach Shabbazz would have wanted, he told us, “We have been very unsure in early part of the pre-season, so we did not play the sort of practice matches we intended to, however, there is still a week or so to go and we hope to get it together before the start of the season and I believe as the season gets started we will grow from strength to strength, but it will take some time for the guys to get accustomed to each other and also get accustomed to playing at the Pro League level.”
Mr. Shabbazz added however, “One of the good things is that the bunch of guys we have here are eager to do well—while we don’t have the big names in the local game, but most of the team are tactically, technically and physically ready for the challenge—and I strongly believe we can compete with any of the so called big names in the League—remember, the game is not played on paper, its played out on the pitch, and having finished 3rd last year the boys are motivated to do even better.”
Caledonia has lost national midfielder Densill Theobald, Dale Simon and Anthony Haynes, three players who both played big roles last season—Simon has gone back to Tobago United and United Petrotrin has snapped up Anthony Haynes, while Densill Theobald has moved on to Falkirk FC in Scotland.
Shabbazz says while the loss of some of the key players in his line up are not with the club this year—he is not overly worried—because in his estimation the team is stronger up front—with the likes of new strikers Kendall Jagdeosingh, Judah Alexander and Junior Spencer—and the Caledonia coach is promising goals.

TEAM PROFILE

Head Coach—Jamal Shabazz
Assistant Coach—Jerry Moe

2005 Achievements—Placed 3RD in the League competition.

Last season’s top goal scorer—Devon Modeste -7 goals

New Players—Steven Cruikshank, Junior Spencer, Marcus Ambrose, Johny Cardona, Julio Cesar Delarosa, Judah Alexander, Sterling Arjune, Kareem Joseph

Registered squad of players.

Captain-Sheldon Emanuel

Goalkeepers—Michael Woods and Johny Cardona

Defenders—Sheldon Emanuel, Sterling Arjune, Julio Delarosa, Mc kensie Caddette, Stephen Crukshank, Marcus Ambrose.

Midfielders—Shawn James, Uz Taylor, Conrad Smith, Stephan David and Kareem Joseph.

Forwards—Abdullah Phillips, Devon Modeste, Kendall Jagdeosingh, Anthony Thomson, Junior Spencer and Hayden Tinto.
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA in transition mode in 2006.
Post by: SHOTTA on March 25, 2006, 09:53:56 AM
come on fire allyuh should link a next midfielder??

tinto cold hold d left wing like nuttin check malick and morvant savannah

it hav a fellar call dollar up by me hav a nice ytc spanner he could len allyuh when he aint smoking prestige :beermug:
Post by: kingman on March 25, 2006, 10:10:09 AM
Caledonia AIA in transition mode in 2006.

Having parted ways with the Fire Services after the completion of the 2005 season, Caledonia AIA have found themselves in transition and are now in a rebuilding mode.
Coach Jamal Shabbazz has lost no less than ten (10) players from last season through the split with Fire Services and to say the least the Morvant/Laventille based club has lost a vital source of income.
Nevertheless, because of his never say die attitude, Jamal Shabbazz has soldiered on and has been able to secure the backing of a brand new team sponsor, and in 2006 the boys from Caledonia will be known as Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA Fire.
Caledonia placed 3rd behind W Connection and San Juan Jabloteh in the League competition last year and would be hard-pressed to improve coming into the new season with a number of challenges.
Coach Jamal Shabbazz has admitted the exodus of the Fire Services has certainly affected the club, “The merge with the Fire Services gave us some stability in terms of our financial status and we were able to build on it last season and we will certainly miss that aspect and we have also lost a number of key players.”
Commenting on the sponsorship of Neal and Massy, the National Womens Coach says, “While it is a big help, they are only funding a percentage of the team’s budget, and they can never really take the place of the Fire Services and the role they played, but we are grateful to Neal and Massy and we hope the relationship grows in the future.”
Shabbazz is however, still talking tough, despite his team’s many challenges, he is still determined the team will give a good account of themselves, and he says outside of remaining in the top three in the League—he wants to be in at least 3 of the knockout finals.
“As a team we really felt left out—when we did not go all the way in the Cup games, we missed the atmosphere and this year we want to be part of that, so while we want to do well in the League, we will be focusing on the knockout competitions very seriously.”
Now having lost the bulk of his team from last season, Jamal Shabbazz decided to go back to the community—and according to the former national goal-keeper this was a plus.
“We were able to source some useful talent in the Morvant/ Laventille community, the likes of Junior Spencer, a talented young striker and a sturdy left back in Marcus Ambrose, we were also able to pull some good local players from the U.S. who are now finishing school, like a young attacking midfielder in Judah Alexander, and a big defender by the name of Stephen Cruikshank.”
Shabbazz also hit the local market and was able to attract some local players—he snatched, North East Stars Striker Kendall Jagdeosingh and W Connection’s striker Jason Cudjoe.
Also in Caledonia’s mix will be at least 2 Colombians—a defender by the name of Julio Cesar Delarosa and a goal-keeper named Johny Cardona.
All in all, Jamal Shabazz feels he has found the right mix of youth and experience—as returning from last season is Uz Taylor who is the only surviving member from the Fire Services merger, as well as experienced goal keeper Michael Woods, Caledonia’s prodigal son Conrad Smith who has returned after finishing the season with Jabloteh last year, and two young developing players from last season in striker Devon Modeste and midfielder Stephan David.
Due to the transition period, Caledonia’s pre-season preparation did not go as well as coach Shabbazz would have wanted, he told us, “We have been very unsure in early part of the pre-season, so we did not play the sort of practice matches we intended to, however, there is still a week or so to go and we hope to get it together before the start of the season and I believe as the season gets started we will grow from strength to strength, but it will take some time for the guys to get accustomed to each other and also get accustomed to playing at the Pro League level.”
Mr. Shabbazz added however, “One of the good things is that the bunch of guys we have here are eager to do well—while we don’t have the big names in the local game, but most of the team are tactically, technically and physically ready for the challenge—and I strongly believe we can compete with any of the so called big names in the League—remember, the game is not played on paper, its played out on the pitch, and having finished 3rd last year the boys are motivated to do even better.”
Caledonia has lost national midfielder Densill Theobald, Dale Simon and Anthony Haynes, three players who both played big roles last season—Simon has gone back to Tobago United and United Petrotrin has snapped up Anthony Haynes, while Densill Theobald has moved on to Falkirk FC in Scotland.
Shabbazz says while the loss of some of the key players in his line up are not with the club this year—he is not overly worried—because in his estimation the team is stronger up front—with the likes of new strikers Kendall Jagdeosingh, Judah Alexander and Junior Spencer—and the Caledonia coach is promising goals.

TEAM PROFILE

Head Coach—Jamal Shabazz
Assistant Coach—Jerry Moe

2005 Achievements—Placed 3RD in the League competition.

Last season’s top goal scorer—Devon Modeste -7 goals

New Players—Steven Cruikshank, Junior Spencer, Marcus Ambrose, Johny Cardona, Julio Cesar Delarosa, Judah Alexander, Sterling Arjune, Kareem Joseph

Registered squad of players.

Captain-Sheldon Emanuel

Goalkeepers—Michael Woods and Johny Cardona Defenders—Sheldon Emanuel, Sterling Arjune, Julio Delarosa, Mc kensie Caddette, Stephen Crukshank, Marcus Ambrose.

Midfielders—Dale Simon, Uz Taylor, Conrad Smith, Stephan David and Kareem Joseph.

Forwards—Abdullah Phillips, Devon Modeste, Kendall Jagdeosingh, Anthony Thomson, Junior Spencer and Hayden Tinto.

After speaking to a player from the club recently, it does not seem things are going well. Though they have very good player the team is very disorganized according to my source. I wish them best of luck though because they are a young team with a lot of talent and Jamal works hard to get things right day in-day out.

Post by: andre samuel on March 25, 2006, 10:28:01 AM
this looking like de slam side this year, but i wish them well.

nice to Tinto in de mix!!
Post by: morvant on March 25, 2006, 10:48:56 AM
shotta like yuh aint see malick best midfielder ever

CONRAD SMITH ;D

SHOTTA AND MORVANTMAN BACKING AIA ALL DE WAY ;D
Post by: SHOTTA on March 25, 2006, 11:33:18 AM
YEA BUT CONRAD NO GOOOD WITHOUT PRIMUS

stilll

im going going back back to cali cali
Post by: morvant on March 25, 2006, 11:35:10 AM
shotta yuh could tell meh why kingman copy the whole damn thread just to reply :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: SHOTTA on March 25, 2006, 11:42:57 AM

he is nut d first an aint go be d last

andre samuel i waitin to see a north south clash i cud bet money

cali beating any south team u wa come wit INCLUDING w connection even though them more centralish
Title: Joe Public vs Caledonia AIA Match Report (still no Hardest)
Post by: SHOTTA on April 16, 2006, 03:19:44 PM
I reached about 15 mins late for my first Pro League game in 21 years seeing that I don’t know the names of most players ill just give team rundowns in each half.

First Half.

Joe Public – This team looked largely unimaginative and lethargic in the 1st half. The midfield of Lyndon Andrews, Dwarika, Glasgow, and Colombian number 3 were ineffective at best and were often not on the same page. McCommie has the side tacticall sound but unimaginative at best. The two Jamaican forwards (Smith, Nelson) are veeeery opotunicstic and had some cracking shots at the Caledonia's goal but all down the keeper throat.

Caledonia - Short passing game looks a lot like Bertille St Clair's team in the Costa Rica game, depends a lot on luck. First half, Kendall Jagdeosingh never stops running. He will run for anyting at any one and his experience against the other teammates showed a lot. Conrad Smith and the Caledonia (Cali) number 10 picked off a lot of Joe's tru balls but the MORVANT mentality of holding on a little to long will be this teams Achilles heeel. The ref allowed some hard tackles on Jagdeosingh but no real shots from Cali as they tried to walk into the goal.

Second half

Joe Public – Looked really tired. Dwarika walked and walked and walked some more. Their right back Sean Powers reallll deadly and tried springing Glasgow on the break but he either over hit it or Glasgow over slow for it but after the rest Gary looked top for Joe Public. McCommie made 3 subs Dwarika and Sean Powers an a next player came off ……..Jemmott aint come on, 2 games, 2 reasons for to make up. He looked still with a little punch in his half time teatrics.

Caledonia AIA – Began brightly looked really likely to score. Jagdeosingh still running for annnnnnnnny thing, I even got tired watching him. Conrad had a clear run on but ref blow off side who was little Joe Public biased. 70 mins Hayden Tinto on for next striker Jagdeosingh and Tinto up front. Tinto first real ball hits Lyndon Andrews a spanner and cut fake Andrews falls on his bottom flaing arms, entire crowd screams Tinto ! Tinto ! Tinto ! free kick to Public. Tinto causes another foul this time on himself gives newly came on defender second yellow. Shelly a Antiguan steps up and blasts the free kick past Figueroa who was slowwwww for the entire game. By now Andrews walking, Conrad, Tinto, number 10 and Jagdeosingh running like no tomorrow.

Final score Cali 1 v Public 0.

Caledonia relie a lot on luck.

Joe Public tactiacally sound but Dwarika and an unfit Jemmott (Hardest) will provide nuttin for the forwards.

Player of the game Conrad Smith deft touches galore control Cali middle.

No real standout for Beenhakker to look at remember the name Kendall Jagdeosingh cuz he may RUN into u...
Title: Re: match report. joe vs calidonia ( still no hardest)
Post by: kingman on April 16, 2006, 03:31:30 PM
I reached about 15 mins late for my first pro league game in 21 years seeing that I don’t know the names of most players ill just give team rundowns in each half

first half

Joe – this team looked largely unimaginative and lethargic in the 1st half. The midfield of lyndon Andrews dwarika glasgoww ana Colombian nuber 3 were ineffective at best and were oft times not on the same page. Mcoomie has the side tacticall sound but unimaginative at best . the two Jamaican forwards are veeeey opotunicstic and had had some cracking shots at the cali goal but  all down the keeper throat.

Calidonia- short passing game looks a lot like BSC team in the costarica game depends a lot on luck. Forst half kendall jagdeosing never stops running . he will run for anyting at any one and his expericne against the other teammates showed a lot. Conrad smith and the cali number 10 picked off a lot of joes tru balls but the MORVANT mentality of holding on a lil to long will be this teams Achilles heeel. The ref allowed some hard tackles on jagdeosingh but no real shots from cali as they tried to walk into the goal

Second half

Joe – looked really tired. Dwarika walked and walked and walked some more. Their right back powers reallll deadly and tried springing Glasgow on the break but he either over hit it or Glasgow over slow for it but after the rest gary looked top for joe. Mcomoie made 3 subs dwarika and powers an a nex man come off ……..hardest aint come on 2 games 2 reasons for ti to make up. He looked still wit a lil puch in his half time teatrics

Calidonia – began brightly looked really likely to score. Jagdeosing  still running for annnnnnnnny ting I get tired watchin him.conrad had a clear runon but ref blow off side he was lil joe biased. 70 min tinto on for nex striker jagdeo and tinto up front. Tinto first real ball hits lyndon Andrews a spanner and cut fake Andrews ffalls on his bottom flaing arms , entire crowd screams tinto tiinto tinto free kick to joe. Tinto causes another foul dis time on himself gives newly came on defender second yellow. Shelly a antiguan steps up and blasts d free kick past figuroa who was slowwwww for the entire game. By now Andrews walking Conrad tinto 10 and jagdeosingh running like no tomorrow .

Final score cali 1 joe 0

Calidonia relie a lot on luck

Joe tactiacally sound but dwarika and an unfit hardest will provide nuttin for the forwards

Player of the game Conrad smith deft touches galore control cali middle

no real standout for beenie to look at remember the name kendall jagdeosing cuz he may RUN into u

Thanks for the run down. Seems like Joe Public have "big names" playing that cannot produce the goods. No surprise to me.

Post by: skins on April 16, 2006, 03:55:28 PM
Thanks for the report $#0++@. Maybe we could link to go some pfl games later this month.  I can't wait.....
Post by: truetrini on April 16, 2006, 04:07:07 PM
HArdest is ah shit hound.

A dust bin terrier....a pot hound

doh mention he until he play and do something nah...steups
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 16, 2006, 04:26:12 PM
big thanks to $#0++@ for the report :thumbsup:

and thanks to West Coast for pointing me in the right direction  :beermug:  i've deleted my thread

but i still say that Dexter Skeene needs to get his head out of his ass and get with the program
Post by: 1989 on April 16, 2006, 05:16:32 PM
how de man ent playing........he gobe playin fa TnT in de WORLD CUP

slaps self REAL hard................
oh sorry, was thinkin of someone else there

Post by: morvant on April 16, 2006, 08:39:58 PM
shotta let meh tell yuh somthing

when me and billy was at caledonia annisette mention somthing i would never forget

conrad is goin to hold on no matter what so build a team around him and you would win cups

thanks fuh de rundown

yuh went by yuhself???

organise two cali juzzy fuh de block nah
Post by: royal on April 16, 2006, 09:31:29 PM

WHILE it was never likely to be a goal-feast, by their standards Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA and Joe Public produced little excitement as they played out a hard-fought T&T Pro League East Derby before a good crowd at the Marvin Lee Stadium on Saturday night.

Known for close results, the East Derby was once again tight, and was decided on a late-free kick goal from Sheldon Emmanuel which gave Caledonia AIA an 84th minute winner.

The Morvant-based 'Eastern Stallions' have now scored two goals this season and picked up a maximum six points with them, after edging Defence Force by a similar 1-0 margin in the opening round.

They are now second on goal-difference to CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh who beat Tobago United 5-0 and have also won their opening two matches.

Neither Michael Wood in the Caledonia AIA goal or Alejandro Figueroa, Joe Public's recent Colombian acquisition from W. Connection had much to do in a goalless first half.

However, the Caledonia AIA defence had one moment of terror when stopper Stephen Gray had to clear a good drive from Lyndon Andrews away from his team's goal-line.

Eastern Lions, Joe Public, had familiar names such as Lyndon Andrews, Gary Glasgow, Dale Saunders and Arnold Dwarika in their midfield, but they were given little room to work by a very young, but hard-hustling Caledonia team.

The Morvant side had the first real chance of the match four minutes into the second half when Jason Cudjoe ran free down the centre of the penalty area, but ripped his hurried shot over Joe Public's crossbar.

Later, a free-kick from Kevin James stung Figueroa's fingertips as the Colombian keeper just kept the ball out of Joe Public near post. Wily Kendall Jagdeosingh also shrugged off heavy tugging from defender Adrian Michael before unleashing a dangerous volley just over the Joe Public goal.

Joe Public also had a chance to score when Dwarika's cross fell flush onto the head of their Jamaican sharp-shooter Roen Nelson. Their top scorer for the last two seasons, Nelson could only head the ball over the AIA crossbar. Joe Public then shot themselves in the leg when Jamaican substitute Wolry Wolfe got himself sent off after just ten minutes on the field and also gave away the free-kick from which Caledonia scored the winning goal.

Wolfe, on loan from Jamaica's Portmore United, got away with a wild tackle seconds after coming on for injured defender Devon Caseman. Two minutes later, Wolfe was booked for a horrible tackle, before later committing a second such offence and getting himself sent off. From the free-kick, Emmanuel hit a low diagonal shot across the box and in off the far post to win the game.

SATURDAY' S T&T PRO LEAGUE RESULTS:

San Juan Jabloteh 5 Tobago United 0

Caledonia AIA 1 Joe Public 0

United Petrotrin 0 Superstar Rangers 0

Defence Force 0 North East Stars 2

express

Post by: prodigy23 on April 16, 2006, 09:32:24 PM
I reached about 15 mins late for my first pro league game in 21 years seeing that I don’t know the names of most players ill just give team rundowns in each half

first half

Joe – this team looked largely unimaginative and lethargic in the 1st half. The midfield of lyndon Andrews dwarika glasgoww ana Colombian nuber 3 were ineffective at best and were oft times not on the same page. Mcoomie has the side tacticall sound but unimaginative at best . the two Jamaican forwards are veeeey opotunicstic and had had some cracking shots at the cali goal but  all down the keeper throat.

Calidonia- short passing game looks a lot like BSC team in the costarica game depends a lot on luck. Forst half kendall jagdeosing never stops running . he will run for anyting at any one and his expericne against the other teammates showed a lot. Conrad smith and the cali number 10 picked off a lot of joes tru balls but the MORVANT mentality of holding on a lil to long will be this teams Achilles heeel. The ref allowed some hard tackles on jagdeosingh but no real shots from cali as they tried to walk into the goal

Second half

Joe – looked really tired. Dwarika walked and walked and walked some more. Their right back powers reallll deadly and tried springing Glasgow on the break but he either over hit it or Glasgow over slow for it but after the rest gary looked top for joe. Mcomoie made 3 subs dwarika and powers an a nex man come off ……..hardest aint come on 2 games 2 reasons for ti to make up. He looked still wit a lil puch in his half time teatrics

Calidonia – began brightly looked really likely to score. Jagdeosing  still running for annnnnnnnny ting I get tired watchin him.conrad had a clear runon but ref blow off side he was lil joe biased. 70 min tinto on for nex striker jagdeo and tinto up front. Tinto first real ball hits lyndon Andrews a spanner and cut fake Andrews ffalls on his bottom flaing arms , entire crowd screams tinto tiinto tinto free kick to joe. Tinto causes another foul dis time on himself gives newly came on defender second yellow. Shelly a antiguan steps up and blasts d free kick past figuroa who was slowwwww for the entire game. By now Andrews walking Conrad tinto 10 and jagdeosingh running like no tomorrow .

Final score cali 1 joe 0

Joe tactiacally sound but dwarika and an unfit hardest will provide nuttin for the forwards

no real standout for beenie to look at remember the name kendall jagdeosing cuz he may RUN into u

Thanks for the run down. Seems like Joe Public have "big names" playing that cannot produce the goods. No surprise to me.

its kinda early in d season to be making them kinda judgments, dont u think??
Post by: SHOTTA on April 16, 2006, 09:45:40 PM

when me and billy was at caledonia annisette mention somthing i would never forget

conrad is goin to hold on no matter what so build a team around him and you would win cups

thanks fuh de rundown

yuh went by yuhself???

nah ah chain up a crew to role wit man moving glad as d rover back in comission.

first half

Joe – this team looked largely unimaginative and lethargic in the 1st half. The midfield of lyndon Andrews dwarika glasgoww ana Colombian nuber 3 were ineffective at best and were oft times not on the same page. Mcoomie has the side tacticall sound but unimaginative at best . the two Jamaican forwards are veeeey opotunicstic and had had some cracking shots at the cali goal but all down the keeper throat.

Second half

Calidonia – began brightly looked really likely to score. Jagdeosing still running for annnnnnnnny ting I get tired watchin him.conrad had a clear runon but ref blow off side he was lil joe biased. 70 min tinto on for nex striker jagdeo and tinto up front. Tinto first real ball hits lyndon Andrews a spanner and cut fake Andrews ffalls on his bottom flaing arms , entire crowd screams tinto tiinto tinto free kick to joe. Tinto causes another foul dis time on himself gives newly came on defender second yellow. Shelly a antiguan steps up and blasts d free kick past figuroa who was slowwwww for the entire game. By now Andrews walking Conrad tinto 10 and jagdeosingh running like no tomorrow .

Final score cali 1 joe 0

its kinda early in d season to be making them kinda judgments, dont u think??

wat kinda judgements??  dat joe have a midfield of national rejects and dey doing nuttin to warrent a return to the fold??
Post by: Jefferz on April 17, 2006, 12:47:38 AM
ok now that we can comfirm that Hardest cannot make the Joe Public 1st side... I want from now on to never hear any shit about him being on the World Cup team or him being on the team for 2010 or that Beenie didnt give him a chance... or that he SHOULD have been on the team... becuase at this stage that answer is very obvious...

Sargeant West Coast can you please write an official report stating these new contract terms... thank you much appriciated.
Post by: Flex on April 17, 2006, 05:36:15 AM
Caledonia AIA win East derby.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

While it was never likely to be a goal-feast, by their standards Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA and Joe Public produced little excitement as they played out a hard-fought T&T Pro League East Derby before a good crowd at the Marvin Lee Stadium on Saturday night.
Known for close results, the East Derby was once again tight, and was decided on a late-free kick goal from Sheldon Emmanuel which gave Caledonia AIA an 84th minute winner.
The Morvant-based 'Eastern Stallions' have now scored two goals this season and picked up a maximum six points with them, after edging Defence Force by a similar 1-0 margin in the opening round.
They are now second on goal-difference to San Juan Jabloteh who beat Tobago United 5-0 and have also won their opening two matches.
Neither Michael Wood in the Caledonia AIA goal or Alejandro Figueroa, Joe Public's recent Colombian acquisition from W. Connection had much to do in a goalless first half.
However, the Caledonia AIA defence had one moment of terror when stopper Stephen Gray had to clear a good drive from Lyndon Andrews away from his team's goal-line.
Eastern Lions, Joe Public, had familiar names such as Lyndon Andrews, Gary Glasgow, Dale Saunders and Arnold Dwarika in their midfield, but they were given little room to work by a very young, but hard-hustling Caledonia team.
The Morvant side had the first real chance of the match four minutes into the second half when Jason Cudjoe ran free down the centre of the penalty area, but ripped his hurried shot over Joe Public's crossbar.
Later, a free-kick from Kevin James stung Figueroa's fingertips as the Colombian keeper just kept the ball out of Joe Public near post. Wily Kendall Jagdeosingh also shrugged off heavy tugging from defender Adrian Michael before unleashing a dangerous volley just over the Joe Public goal.
Joe Public also had a chance to score when Dwarika's cross fell flush onto the head of their Jamaican sharp-shooter Roen Nelson. Their top scorer for the last two seasons, Nelson could only head the ball over the AIA crossbar. Joe Public then shot themselves in the leg when Jamaican substitute Wolry Wolfe got himself sent off after just ten minutes on the field and also gave away the free-kick from which Caledonia scored the winning goal.
Wolfe, on loan from Jamaica's Portmore United, got away with a wild tackle seconds after coming on for injured defender Devon Caseman. Two minutes later, Wolfe was booked for a horrible tackle, before later committing a second such offence and getting himself sent off. From the free-kick, Emmanuel hit a low diagonal shot across the box and in off the far post to win the game.

Saturday's T&T Pro League Results:

San Juan Jabloteh 5 v Tobago United 0.
Caledonia AIA 1 v Joe Public 0.
United Petrotrin 0 v Superstar Rangers 0.
Defence Force 0 v North East Stars 2.
W Connection 0 v Starworld Strikers 0.

Up-Close with SW Online member "Shotta" Report Here. (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=13732.msg138261#msg138261)
Title: Re: Joe Public vs Caledonia AIA Match Report (still no Hardest)
Post by: Sam on April 17, 2006, 07:39:19 AM
Thanks for that report, Jadeosingh is BOSS !!!! so Tinto had Andrews busy...  :rotfl:
Post by: trinbago on April 17, 2006, 08:30:13 AM
As something that is lacking in our league and even noticed by Beenie the fitness level of our players are not up to standard or even measured......except for Mr Jagdeosingh
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA Fire win East derby.
Post by: kingman on April 17, 2006, 08:45:59 AM
Well done Cali. Waiting for my player (stephen) to recover from injury. Good luck for the remainder of the season.

Post by: Pointman on April 17, 2006, 08:47:55 AM
Seems like Kendall Jagdeosingh was the only bright spot in this game. Ah like him already. I wonder why Royal failed to mention him in his report though ???
Post by: AB.Trini on April 17, 2006, 10:54:57 AM
Different take on this: leh meh try tuh reframe based on what I am reading.

So I am first of all real delighted to read match reports from our league at home. It gives an update of TNT local  players and teams which are more revelant to me that all the european leagues. We may not have th quality players as them  overseas but this is we league. This brings me to the other point. I am disheartened to read that the players were not running to the quality which one sees in the European leagues. If this is in fact as reported, then that  has to change.

If you are a player  in the local league, and  there is an insipid and  stereotypical notion that  the 'local league' is not up to standard and no matter what you do as a local professional, you may not be looked at seriously for national team selection or you may be judged differently, what incentive
besides the fact that some locals are getting called up does a player have? I would think that  aprofessional regardless has to play at a level befitting his status and that no matter the context, if yuh good, someone will recognize that and selection /trial for  national selection will happen. I have to believe that any player who is  capable of playing at the level required for national selection would have been scrutinized and would have had an opportunity to be in Beenie's squad by now.

As a nation, as a  TNT pro league, and as individual players we  have to elevate the standard and approach to our game to ensure present and future success at all levels.
Post by: andre samuel on April 17, 2006, 11:37:06 AM
nice report shotta!!

Post by: Coop's on April 17, 2006, 01:22:38 PM
$#0++@ and Royal i appreciate your reports on that game,but what i would like to know is if there is any way we can get reports on the other games,it seems to me like certain players and teams are being followed and that's not giving us a true picture of the league.

What level of Football are we looking for in T&T,i saw someone mention European,not because we don't play that way does it mean our games are no good,if we start looking at the positive things in our Football we will see good Football,our reports highlight the that are wrong,one positive thing though was when Tinto "spanner" somebody.

How organized are the teams?what sort of systems are they playing?what about Ball possession,pressure on the Ball etc i'm really tired hearing about Dwarika and Hardest,i think we have heard and seen enough of those guys lets try new blood,give me the names of some players from the other teams to look out for(promising players) etc     

Post by: shooter on April 17, 2006, 02:09:55 PM
any scores on starworld vs w connection....
Post by: kounty on April 17, 2006, 02:12:32 PM
TI you alright bredda?   I see all kinds of TI bait throw here nad you remain quiet.  In fact I ent see a post by you in a while.  I hope is just something wrong with your computer and nothing wrong with you.
Post by: palos on April 17, 2006, 02:39:03 PM
TI you alright bredda?   I see all kinds of TI bait throw here nad you remain quiet.  In fact I ent see a post by you in a while.  I hope is just something wrong with your computer and nothing wrong with you.

TI have a classic case of TABANCA!
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 17, 2006, 02:57:50 PM
ah only seeing good tings with my squad(aia) .good to see dey biggin up morvant right now. givin sumting positive to d yutes.
 dey train on uwi grounds i believe. ah does watch dem every now an den when ah goin to class.only good tings to come .

bless!!!
Post by: SHOTTA on April 17, 2006, 07:33:10 PM
coops i am an avid aia supporter since i run under 16 an 14 wit them.

i will try to go as much pro games as possible and try to be as unbiased as possible in my judgement

the quality of football was hard and solid no lil boy ting atall may be likened to english division dat wrexham in wit a lil more flair

calidonia have a game 2moroow against northeast stars

d ting is i reallll like cali an tionto an jaggy up front but the goalie for north east is meh neighbour in he first pro season so i donh want him get buss up

i wont be able to make d game though as i have skool comittments but look out for reperts on d ones i do manage to attend.

ps i worried ti aint post here as yet

suicide watch is on for ti and disgruntled cuz hardest aint playing and stern just scoring

points of note that i left out

the entire covered stand was filled and some of the uncovered had people in it as well

calidonia may have had the most vociforus crowd as tinto jaggy and shelly all had strong followers.

the marvin lee ground didnt look that bad the ball flowed tru

the price to go in was a reasonabel $10 and the game does start on time.
Post by: fabio on April 18, 2006, 12:08:29 AM
I reached about 15 mins late for my first Pro League game in 21 years seeing that I don’t know the names of most players ill just give team rundowns in each half.

First Half.

Joe Public – This team looked largely unimaginative and lethargic in the 1st half. The midfield of Lyndon Andrews, Dwarika, Glasgow, and Colombian number 3 were ineffective at best and were often not on the same page. McCommie has the side tacticall sound but unimaginative at best. The two Jamaican forwards (Smith, Nelson) are veeeery opotunicstic and had some cracking shots at the Caledonia's goal but all down the keeper throat.

Caledonia - Short passing game looks a lot like Bertille St Clair's team in the Costa Rica game, depends a lot on luck. First half, Kendall Jagdeosingh never stops running. He will run for anyting at any one and his experience against the other teammates showed a lot. Conrad Smith and the Caledonia (Cali) number 10 picked off a lot of Joe's tru balls but the MORVANT mentality of holding on a little to long will be this teams Achilles heeel. The ref allowed some hard tackles on Jagdeosingh but no real shots from Cali as they tried to walk into the goal.

Second half

Joe Public – Looked really tired. Dwarika walked and walked and walked some more. Their right back Sean Powers reallll deadly and tried springing Glasgow on the break but he either over hit it or Glasgow over slow for it but after the rest Gary looked top for Joe Public. McCommie made 3 subs Dwarika and Sean Powers an a next player came off ……..Jemmott aint come on, 2 games, 2 reasons for to make up. He looked still with a little punch in his half time teatrics.

Caledonia AIA – Began brightly looked really likely to score. Jagdeosingh still running for annnnnnnnny thing, I even got tired watching him. Conrad had a clear run on but ref blow off side who was little Joe Public biased. 70 mins Hayden Tinto on for next striker Jagdeosingh and Tinto up front. Tinto first real ball hits Lyndon Andrews a spanner and cut fake Andrews falls on his bottom flaing arms, entire crowd screams Tinto ! Tinto ! Tinto ! free kick to Public. Tinto causes another foul this time on himself gives newly came on defender second yellow. Shelly a Antiguan steps up and blasts the free kick past Figueroa who was slowwwww for the entire game. By now Andrews walking, Conrad, Tinto, number 10 and Jagdeosingh running like no tomorrow.

Final score Cali 1 v Public 0.

Caledonia relie a lot on luck.

Joe Public tactiacally sound but Dwarika and an unfit Jemmott (Hardest) will provide nuttin for the forwards.

Player of the game Conrad Smith deft touches galore control Cali middle.

No real standout for Beenhakker to look at remember the name Kendall Jagdeosingh cuz he may RUN into u...

hardest should jess hangup he boots ras. he better days are behind him. i remember playing with that man ras. even when he was with queens park rangers.....dem was d days ras. he was bad for days!!!
Post by: Coop's on April 18, 2006, 01:39:13 AM
coops i am an avid aia supporter since i run under 16 an 14 wit them.

i will try to go as much pro games as possible and try to be as unbiased as possible in my judgement

the quality of football was hard and solid no lil boy ting atall may be likened to english division dat wrexham in wit a lil more flair

calidonia have a game 2moroow against northeast stars

d ting is i reallll like cali an tionto an jaggy up front but the goalie for north east is meh neighbour in he first pro season so i donh want him get buss up

i wont be able to make d game though as i have skool comittments but look out for reperts on d ones i do manage to attend.

ps i worried ti aint post here as yet

suicide watch is on for ti and disgruntled cuz hardest aint playing and stern just scoring

points of note that i left out

the entire covered stand was filled and some of the uncovered had people in it as well

calidonia may have had the most vociforus crowd as tinto jaggy and shelly all had strong followers.

the marvin lee ground didnt look that bad the ball flowed tru

the price to go in was a reasonabel $10 and the game does start on time.
       I did not mean to come across as though you were bias in any way,your reports are excellent,we have all these games playing on the same day and you can't cover all at the same time,may be if guys that attend the other games can do what you are doing it will be appreciated,but thanks Breds you doing a fine job keep us informed.
Post by: #8 on April 19, 2006, 07:46:23 PM

thanks fuh de rundown

yuh went by yuhself???

Montreal Impact and Toronto Lynx want him BAD...de fellar bittah in de middle and up front.bless up Smithy.
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA Fire win East derby.
Post by: Sam on April 25, 2006, 07:47:15 AM
Somebody told me that they saw Kerry Noray played in this game for Jabloteh. Is he back from Lebanon already.
Title: Caledonia run past the ‘Eastern Lions’.
Post by: kingman on July 12, 2006, 07:27:20 AM
Caledonia run past the ‘Eastern Lions’.

Second half strikes from Kendall Jagdeosingh and Kareem Joseph kept Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA Fire’s winning record against the mighty Joe Public intact, as the ‘Men from Morvant’ came away 2-1 winners as the T&T Pro League action resumed.
Joe public have been bumped off the top—as North East Stars defeated Defence Force 3-1—and the ‘Sangre Grande Boys’ took sole possession of the top spot.
On a wet surface at the Larry Gomes Stadium, the ‘Eastern Lions’ were determined to change their fortunes this season against their rivals Caledonia AIA, having lost twice this season on the two occasions they have met.
However, it was not to be—despite starting well, the ‘Eastern Lions took a 1-0 lead in the first half. In the 24th minute Jamaican striker Carlington Smith ran at the Caledonia defence and fired a wicked shot that beat Caledonia goalkeeper.
That’s how it stayed at the half, but on the resumption Caledonia must have gotten some words of inspiration from coach Jamal Shabbazz, as they came out with a burst of energy, as they began stringing passes together—and within one minute of the resumption midfielder Ryan Stewart split the defence in two and sent through Kendall Jagdeosingh—and the lanky striker evaded one defender and slotted it home—the scores tied at 1-1.
Caledonia continued to grow in confidence, and tormented the Joe Public defence and in the 71st minute Kareem Joseph gave the ‘Men from Morvant’ a deserving lead.
Joseph made a good run down the flank, cut inside and had the defence fooled, as instead of crossing the ball, he aimed for the near post and squeezed it past the Joe Public goal keeper—Caledonia leading 2-1.
It got worst for Mike Mc Commie’s men, as their goalkeeper Aleandro Figueorea was red carded for using obscene language at the referee. It ended 2-1 in favor of Caledonia—Joe Public missing out on an opportunity to establish a lead at the top of the standings, and were bumped off by North East Stars.

North East Stars grab top spot.

The Sangre Grande based team returned after the break with some fire, in the 2nd game of what turned out to be an exciting double header at the Larry Gomes Stadium, they came away 3-1 winners over the Army and sent the Defence Force back to Tetron empty handed. North East now going to 25 points, 2 points clear at the top.
The slippery Shandell Samuel opened the scoring in the 38th minute—North East taking a 1-0 lead into the dressing rooms. On the resumption, coach Miguel Hackett’s men continued to dominate and doubled their lead when Joseph Peters scored North East Stars 2nd item.
Defence Force pulled one back in the 76th with a Devon Jorsling strike—and gave themselves a bit of a lifeline—but with three minutes to go, former Jabloteh striker Nigel Codrington sealed the issue for North East as he blasted home goal number 3. North East Stars celebrated a 3-1 win and the position of League Leaders.

Rangers and Connection register narrow wins.

Vibe CT 105 W Connection got the vital three points they needed, as they escaped with a narrow 1-0 win over the unlucky Starworld Strikers at the Mannie Ramjohn stadium. Connection skipper Earl Jean scored the winner in two minutes into added on injury time. The ‘Savonnetta Boys’ has kept the pressure on the leaders and moved up 22 points. While at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Todd Ryan scored the lone item, as Superstar Rangers edged United Petrotrin 1-0.

NOTE—The Round 11 Match—San Juan Jabloteh vs. Tobago United has been re-scheduled to Thursday 13th July, 2006 at the Larry Gomes Stadium.

(http://www.ttproleague.com/images/CALEDONIA%20vs%20JOE%20PUBLIC%204.jpg)
Joe Public v Caledonia

(http://www.ttproleague.com/images/DEF%20vs%20N%20E%20STARS%201.jpg)
North East Stars v Defence Force

(http://www.ttproleague.com/images/CALEDONIA%20vs%20JOE%20PUBLIC%201.jpg)
Joe Public v Caledonia
Title: Re: Caledonia run past the ‘Eastern Lions’.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 12, 2006, 07:43:30 AM
I hope jagdeo bussing the net
Post by: arrow on July 12, 2006, 07:45:48 AM
Did Hardest play?
Post by: Sam on July 12, 2006, 07:46:48 AM
Whats the score with Jabloteh v Tobago ?

Kendall Jagdeosingh is de only youth from we under 21 team that scoring goals almost every week, glad for him, hope others like Shane and Tinto can follow suit.

Whats the deal with Randi Patterson ? did he get his T&T passport yet or de TTFF waiting for de USA to take him back then they go jump on de ball.
Post by: davidephraim on July 12, 2006, 08:51:29 AM
Somebody did bet meh that North East stars aint makin it. Check and see who is de go-to-guy for North East? Ah collectin on dem bets.
Post by: Grande on July 12, 2006, 08:53:49 AM
good job by North East Stars  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: kandi_tt on July 12, 2006, 08:59:46 AM
anybody know how to contact Jagdeo??? Ah try the Pro League office but dey stickin....
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 12, 2006, 09:08:00 AM
anybody know how to contact Jagdeo??? Ah try the Pro League office but dey stickin....

yuh want to do ah interview with him ? yuh could call  him after a  game or  find out when is the team training session and chat with him after or somthing
Post by: SHOTTA on July 12, 2006, 10:17:51 AM
ahem  mr wim first order of me demanding that u take my view is to make sure jaggdeosingh playing against japan talk dun
Post by: doc on July 12, 2006, 10:33:06 AM
Additional scores from the PFL:

WC 1 - 0 Starworld

Rangers 1 - 0 Petrotrin

Jabloteh v Tobago, postponed to Thur.
Post by: ribbit on July 12, 2006, 01:33:33 PM
ah was expecting to see something from the president of the caladonia supporters group.

where is the "man from malick" ???
Post by: FireBrand on June 04, 2007, 04:34:22 PM
Kerry Noray working his way up the Caledonia ladder.       
By: Randy Bando (ttprolegaue.com).

Caledonia AIA pre-season signing Kerry Noray is looking forward to his Pro League debut with the Stallions after the break.
The former San Juan Jabloteh forward signed with the Morvant based team at the beginning of the 2007 season, after being released by his former club at the end of the 2006 season.
Kerry who is coming off a thigh injury is now working his way back to full fitness and has been featuring in a couple of reserve team matches for Caledonia.
Noray told ttproleague.com that he is now ready, Everything is okay with me now. I am fit and ready to go. I have played against Joe Public in a reserve match where we won 3-1 two weeks ago and I am hoping to play again for the reserve team soon.
I am playing in these matches to prove that I am fully fit because I really want to earn my spot on the first team when the break is over, added the former Trinidad and Tobago international.
Although Noray believes he has fully recovered, starting against Tobago United when the League resumes is still an uncertainty.
Noray who suffered a torn thigh muscle during pre-season has been recovering well according to Caledonia AIAs Brazilian fitness trainer Amerigo Philopa.
Despite recovering from the injury, Philopa believes the former Lebanon based striker will have to work hard for his place.
Speaking with ttproleague.com during one of the teams gym sessions, Philopa said, Kerry has to compete a lot now to earn a starting spot. Kerry is a great player and I know that he is going to do well for us, but for now we have players like Carlyle Mitchell and Jameel Perry doing really well, he added.
Philopa believes the Leagues break was in good timing, Coach Jamaal Shabazz has selected a great squad for us to work with. We can replace injured players at anytime with players of the same quality and with this break in the season it is really good for us. We now have the time to recover and come again, concluded the former Sao Paulo Football Club youth trainer.
Caledonia is on 16 points and currently leads the Pro League standings, two points ahead of their closest challenger San Juan Jabloteh with two first round matches still to go.

Title: Re: Kerry Noray working his way up the Caledonia ladder.
Post by: SHOTTA on June 05, 2007, 08:29:32 AM
and i was just starting to worry when i not seeing him on we bench at all

big up to norray cali all the way
Title: League leaders Caledonia AIA may lose ace defender
Post by: kingman on June 25, 2007, 11:20:00 AM
League leaders Caledonia AIA may lose ace defender
Source: Randy Bando

League leaders Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA are without Guyanese international Charles Pollard when the Pro League resumes on Tuesday.

Pollard who joined the Morvant based Pro League club during the 2007 pre-season has now joined A-League club Brooklyn Knights on a two month loan deal.

Caledonia AIA head Coach Jamaal Shabazz confirmed the deal speaking with ttproleague.com less than a week before the seasons restart.

He said, Brooklyn Knights contacted us after seeing a match with Charles on the TT Pro League website (ttproleague.com). We agreed on a two month loan for Charles, Shabazz said.

Pollard joined Brooklyn Knights two weeks ago during the Pro League break and according to Shabazz, his top quality defender would reunite with Caledonia after the A-League season ends in late July.

Caledonia AIA are on top of the league standings on 16 points just two clear of cross-town rivals San Juan Jabloteh with just two matches away from the end of Round One.

So far the Stallions are now without two key Guyanese internationals for the restart of the season, striker Nigel Codrington who joined a club in the USL and now Pollard is on a two month loan with Brooklyn Knights.

However Coach Shabazz isnt too bothered with the loss and believes it creates an opening for new players.

He added, This is now an opportunity for the other players in the club to step up to the plate, said the Caledonia Coach.

It is also suspected that on the restart former San Juan Jabloteh forward Kerry Noray and former North East Stars defender Howard Lowe who are both coming off pre-season injuries could possibly be in the Caledonia line-up for the first time this season.

Both players have been working their way up to full fitness during the break and Noray coming off a thigh injury has featured in a couple of reserve team matches for the Stallions.

Caledonia AIA would travel to the sister isle on Tuesday to face bottom of the table Tobago United at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in their Round One Match Day Eight encounter.

Title: Re: League leaders Caledonia AIA may lose ace defender
Post by: Mr Mc on June 25, 2007, 11:27:02 AM
all these opportunities are good for the players, to gain experience and exposure.
who is the Guyanese Natl coach?  ;D
Post by: kingman on June 25, 2007, 11:31:56 AM
League leaders Caledonia AIA may lose ace defender
Source: Randy Bando

League leaders Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA are without Guyanese international Charles Pollard when the Pro League resumes on Tuesday.

Pollard who joined the Morvant based Pro League club during the 2007 pre-season has now joined A-League club Brooklyn Knights on a two month loan deal.

Caledonia AIA head Coach Jamaal Shabazz confirmed the deal speaking with ttproleague.com less than a week before the seasons restart.

He said, Brooklyn Knights contacted us after seeing a match with Charles on the TT Pro League website (ttproleague.com). We agreed on a two month loan for Charles, Shabazz said.

Pollard joined Brooklyn Knights two weeks ago during the Pro League break and according to Shabazz, his top quality defender would reunite with Caledonia after the A-League season ends in late July.

This article really bothering me in several ways.

First, I disappointed with the TT proleague for writing an article with false information. Brooklyn Knight is not no A-League team. They are a PDL team. Randy, get your facts right pal. The PDL league is a part of the USL organization. USL has several league. USL 1 & USL 2 (A league), (PDL ametuer league for school boys), W-League (ametuer league for school girls) and Super-Y league (youth league).

The A league season don't end in July. The PDL season ends in July to give the youths the opportunity to get ready to go back to their respective colleges and prepare for pre-season.

Secondly, in PDL there is no money involved. Player make there money doing camps and some don't make no money at all. The coaches also earn a bulk of their salary doing camps. So that part about leaving to go on a 2 month "deal" sounding skeptical.

Thirdly, Is the Pro League back home so bad that this player rather come and play with a bunch of college boys (18, 19 and, 20 yr old boys)...practicing 2 times a week and do summer camps to make his salary?

SHAME SHAME SHAME....STEUPSSSSSSSS!!!

Post by: Sam on June 26, 2007, 08:43:03 AM
Them men on that pro league site does just write for writing sake.....

Since when Brooklyn Knights play in de A League....
Title: Caledonia maintain Pro League charge.
Post by: Flex on July 23, 2007, 07:18:35 AM
Caledonia maintain Pro League charge.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Petrotrin edged in Malabar.

"For years, we have had many games when we played well and lost," said Caledonia AIA assistant coach Jerry Moe, "and our only consolation was in our performance. From a coaching perspective, it is better to play ugly and win."
Caledonia remained on the heels of 2007 Pro League leaders, CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, on Saturday night as they edged United Petrotrin at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar to stay within a point of the table toppers. But no one in the audience would volunteer to review a tape of their latest conquest.
On paper, the encounter should have offered a captivating clash between two of the country's best clubs on present form. Instead, it was a cagey affair contested by teams brimmed with passion but short on offensive punch.
It would take all day for dreadlocked Petrotrin coach Brian Williams to pull his hair out but he might have pondered the task after seeing star striker Peter Prosper to the Piarco departure lounge on Thursday. Prosper, who scored four of Petrotrin's nine goals in their last two matches, was recalled early by his Lebanese employers and his absence might have been the difference between the outfits on Saturday.
Sylvester Teesdale, who has seven league goals this term-the joint third highest tally in the Pro League-is expected to shoulder the responsibility upfront but wasted the game's best opportunity in the 63rd minute when he headed against the bar from inside the six yard box.
His new strike partner Andre Alexis, who is yet to score this season, should have done better when miscommunication between Caledonia goalkeeper Richard Reynolds and defender Howard Lowe offered him a clear sight of goal in the 21st minute. Alexis' scoffed effort was easily cleared by retreating defender Radanfah Abu Bakr.
Williams has three other strikers on his books but is so unconvinced by their present form that he opted to use central defender Devon Drayton as a makeshift forward instead for the final 23 minutes.
He could have cast an envious glance at the opposing technical area when Caledonia striker Anthony Abrams came off the bench and scored with his first meaningful touch in the 80th minute.
"The best result would have been a drawn game or maybe 1-nil to Petrotrin," Williams told the Express. "It was a very evenly contested game but I think we had the better goalscoring chances."
Petrotrin were the first team to defeat Caledonia this season-only Jabloteh have also managed three points against the "Eastern Stallions" in league combat-and they were the more assertive team in the middle of the field on Saturday.
Shabazz has regularly gushed about the importance of dreadlocked, beanpole playmaker Marvin Oliver to his team's fortune but it was Petrotrin captain Romauld Aguillera who dominated the central midfield area.
Quick, willing and composed, Aguillera set the tone for Petrotrin's resistance and the southern visitors threatened with a dipping Simeon Augustus half volley in the 44th minute while Kelvin Hernandez headed inches over the bar in the 61st minute following a Kennedy Hinkson freekick.
Two minutes later, Teesdale struck the bar after Alexis neatly headed on a deep Hernandez cross.
Caledonia responded by introducing Abrams, a Guyanese international, and Trinidad and Tobago under-23 winger Hayden Tinto-just after the hour mark-but there was little cohesion in their play.
Shabazz might have missed his midfield general Densill Theobald, if only for the willingness of the Hungary-bound player to seek out possession. Oliver lacks Theobald's bustling, energetic style but there is aesthetic value in the way he caresses the ball and he possesses a good eye for the clever, early pass.
The game seemed to be petering out into a stalemate when Oliver showed his class with one of those effortless flicks of his that routinely dismembers an opposing defence.
A crossfield pass at an awkward height seemed to present little menace but the Rastafarian checked his run and flicked the ball behind the Petrotrin defence with his forehead.
Abrams finished with a firm right footed strike that flew past Charles' outstretched right hand.
Drayton nearly fashioned an equalizer but for a desperate headed clearance by defender Dexter Franklyn over his own bar. And Caledonia held out for the result that, according to Moe, slightly flattered them.
He insisted that Caledonia can and will play better, particularly with the return of ex-national utility player Conrad Smith from trials in Brunei and Guyana under-23 striker Dwight Peters.
"I think the game deserved a draw," said Moe, "but we are happy for the win."
In a perverse way, it was the stuff that champion teams are made of.

Teams

Caledonia AIA:[/b] Richard Reynolds, Howard Lowe, Radanfah Abu Bakr(Dexter Franklyn), Walter Moore, Sterling Arjoon, Stephan David, Marvin Oliver, Abdallah Phillips, Kareem Joseph (Hayden Tinto), Jameel Perry (Anthony Abrams).

Coach Jamaal Shabazz

United Petrotrin: Tristan Charles, Larry Bacchus, Simeon Augustus, Al Sinclair, Kurt Williams (Husani Thomas), Romauld Augillera, Kelvin Hernandez, Marlon Lewis (Ryan McIntosh), Andre Alexis (Devon Drayton), Kennedy Hinkson, Sylvester Teesdale.

Coach Brian Williams
Yesterday's News

Caledonia wary of big brothers.
Shabazzs troops aim at Petrotrin

Jamaal Shabazz gushed with excitement about his dream for the Caledonia AIA football club. It is a vision that has grown clearer since its inception in 1998 and is now shared, according to the coach, by football fans throughout the Morvant/ Caledonia community.
The Pro League and Guyana national team coach is not ready to share his dream with the public just yet but offered an analogy from the Old Testament.
Joseph had a dream about 11 stars and the moon lying prostrate before him, Shabazz told the Trinidad Express. His father understood the significance of the dreamthat he would be kingand told him not to tell anyone but he foolishly told his brothers who sold him into captivity
My players have the same dream as me but we are afraid to talk about it because other people will say who are you to talk about that. Because they feel that Caledonia are lesser mortals.
Caledonia AIA start the 2007 Pro League Round 13 just one point adrift of leaders CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh but they are happy to avoid the spotlight for now. It should not be mistaken for a lack of ambition.
The Eastern Stallions face Petrotrin from 7 pm today at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar and Shabazz is eager to use the opportunity to show the improvement of his squad.
Petrotrin, who are in joint sixth spot, personify the banana skin that prompted costly slips from Shabazzs troops in their previous title quests. True to form, Caledonia s first loss this season came away to Petrotrin in Round Four of the league and Petrotrin coach Brian Williams promised that his charges will be hungry for three points this evening.
But Caledonia insist that the drive of their players, in particular, sets the class of 2007 apart from its predecessors.
Before our players would only rise for the big games against the likes of Joe Public and Jabloteh and W. Connection, said Shabazz. This year, we have been able to keep that hunger and fire in the belly of our players more consistently no matter our opponent.
For the first time, Caledonia has a full-time office and staff in place as well as board of directors in place to deal with the challenges off the field that affects the performances on it. And Shabazz credited the introduction of administrators like Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) general secretary Brian Lewis with helping create a more level playing field for the club.
I always felt that if I got the chance to work with better players in a more professional environment, said Shabazz, we would be among the best clubs in the country. Weve always played well but weve been inconsistent because we couldnt maintain our player personnel.
When I was arrested in Miami (for an improper passport) and saw the instability it brought the team, I realised that too much depended on me. It has been a long process for me to relinquish that total control but I realise it is bigger than me because it is about the community.
There were adjustments within the squad too as Shabazz praised the work of Brazilian fitness coach Americo Falopa as well as a clutch of Guyanese signings. But he was particularly grateful to have signed local playmaker, Marvin Oliver, whoby virtue of six man of the match nominationsis the 2007 Pro Leagues most valuable player thus far.
He is the type of player who personifies magic, said Shabazz. He brings to the team the same thing that Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke brought to Trinidad and Tobago s football, which is a player who belongs to the people. He is a leader and someone the people just love.
Why he was not used in the (CONCACAF) Gold Cup team just baffles me Somebody needs to get some glasses.
Petrotrin tamed Oliver once before this season and Williams will attempt a repeat this evening.
We concentrated on getting behind the ball and defending en bloc, said Williams. They have a lot of players who can score goals. But we have been doing well ourselves. We scored nine goals in our last two matches so we wont be sitting back.
We want the three points.
Shabazz is anxious to hold on to his dream, though.
We are keeping that dream in our hearts, said the coach, and, day by day, we are going to do the necessary things to realise this dream.
Petrotrin and Caledonia s Pro League big brothers have been warned.
Title: Re: Caledonia maintain Pro League charge.
Post by: morvant on July 23, 2007, 07:49:14 AM
shabbaz yuh officially mad but we still love yuh

just kep smoking whatever it iz to make yuh see stars and moon and thing and have we wining

but on a lighter note yuh aint fed -up introducing tinto late in de friggin game???
Post by: Sam on July 23, 2007, 08:15:27 AM
De whole ah flicking Caledonia AIA (http://www.socawarriors.net/caledonia_aia_fire.htm) from Guyana. It have no players in Morvant.... only bandits or what.....

I mean foreigners is important to de league but these signings looking bias. I am sure there is many great cheap (if so to call it) players in other Caribbean Islands. Look how Jabloteh find an excellent one in Peter Byers (Antigua).

Not that Cali doing bad as they are second in the league. But to be de coach of Guyana and then buy so much Guyanese might come under suspicion.

Its like Shabazz is killing two birds with one stone, his club is his international team.

The rule where no more than four foreigners on the field at the same time still exist allyuh ?
Post by: Jay10 on July 24, 2007, 07:57:23 AM
De whole ah flicking Caledonia AIA (http://www.socawarriors.net/caledonia_aia_fire.htm) from Guyana. It have no players in Morvant.... only bandits or what.....

I mean foreigners is important to de league but these signings looking bias. I am sure there is many great cheap (if so to call it) players in other Caribbean Islands. Look how Jabloteh find an excellent one in Peter Byers (Antigua).

Not that Cali doing bad as they are second in the league. But to be de coach of Guyana and then buy so much Guyanese might come under suspicion.

Its like Shabazz is killing two birds with one stone, his club is his international team.

The rule where no more than four foreigners on the field at the same time still exist allyuh ?

lol...glad dat someone finally recognises this.....
Post by: kingman on July 24, 2007, 08:27:05 AM

What Shabazz doing is trying to keep the core of players from Guyana national team playing together so that they would have chemistry. In essence, him being the coach of the Guyana national team and also of Caledonia AIA, the players would understand his (Shabazz) style and each others pros and cons as a footballer. So what you say about him trying to kill two birds with one stone is absolutely correct.

I think the rule with having "no more than 4 internationals" on the field at the same time still exist but not enforced. I never heard of them changing the rule.

Post by: Sando on July 24, 2007, 08:36:56 AM

Nice one Sam...

I wonder why are we using our T&T pro league to develop Guyana national team and footballers born in Morvant picking up bottles for a living on de Beetam.

I think the rule with having "no more than 4 internationals" on the field at the same time still exist but not enforced. I never heard of them changing the rule.

Kingman, glad you enlighten us here and Dexter Skeene is an ass in ture.
Post by: Sam on July 26, 2007, 08:49:43 AM
shabbaz yuh officially mad but we still love yuh

just kep smoking whatever it iz to make yuh see stars and moon and thing and have we wining

but on a lighter note yuh aint fed -up introducing tinto late in de friggin game???

Morvant-man..... where de Morvart players gone ?
Title: Two Guyanese internationals part ways with Caledonia.
Post by: Flex on September 08, 2007, 08:12:27 AM
Two Guyanese internationals part ways with Caledonia.
By: Randy Bando (ttporleague).

Caledonia AIA head coach Jamal Shabazz is now without two of his Guyanese internationals after the pair decided to return to their native Guyana after spending less than a year with the Pro League club.
Midfielder Shawn Bishop and forward Devon Millington are now linked with Guyanese club Alpha United FC of the Guyanese Premiere League and Guyana Football Federation Division One.
It is said that the pair had decided to quit Caledonia because of personal reasons.
Caledonia AIA team administrator Ricarda Nelson simply told ttproleague.com, I think it was just a matter of them wanting to go home. They probably realized that their contributions to our club were very little, she said.
Bishop a former Pele FC player in Guyana had rejoined the Morvant based Pro League club during the third round of 2006 but Millington had only been a member of Caledonia from March of this season.
Caledonia AIAs Jamal Shabazz who is also head coach of the Guyanese national senior and U-23 squads was away on international duty with the Olympic team in Suriname when his players made their departure.
Assistant coach Jerry Moe doesnt accept the loss of both Bishop and Millington as critical.
He told ttproleague.com, We could get players locally of the same caliber so were not too worried. The transfer window is still open and we now have room on our rooster for new players, said Moe.
However the assistant coach wasnt open to give heads up on who his team is targeting during the window.
Title: Re: Two Guyanese internationals part ways with Caledonia.
Post by: Jay10 on September 09, 2007, 09:08:10 PM
Two Guyanese internationals part ways with Caledonia.
By: Randy Bando (ttporleague).

Caledonia AIA head coach Jamal Shabazz is now without two of his Guyanese internationals after the pair decided to return to their native Guyana after spending less than a year with the Pro League club.
Midfielder Shawn Bishop and forward Devon Millington are now linked with Guyanese club Alpha United FC of the Guyanese Premiere League and Guyana Football Federation Division One.
It is said that the pair had decided to quit Caledonia because of personal reasons.
Caledonia AIA team administrator Ricarda Nelson simply told ttproleague.com, I think it was just a matter of them wanting to go home. They probably realized that their contributions to our club were very little, she said.
Bishop a former Pele FC player in Guyana had rejoined the Morvant based Pro League club during the third round of 2006 but Millington had only been a member of Caledonia from March of this season.
Caledonia AIAs Jamal Shabazz who is also head coach of the Guyanese national senior and U-23 squads was away on international duty with the Olympic team in Suriname when his players made their departure.

Assistant coach Jerry Moe doesnt accept the loss of both Bishop and Millington as critical.
He told ttproleague.com, We could get players locally of the same caliber so were not too worried. The transfer window is still open and we now have room on our rooster for new players, said Moe.
However the assistant coach wasnt open to give heads up on who his team is targeting during the window.

so why didnt they get local players on the same level before. when the men gone you now decide it hav locals who at their level?? ??? ???
Post by: Fyzoman on September 11, 2007, 08:52:06 AM
Jay? ah is probably not de only one eh, but from de time ah see dis headline, dat is all i was wondering and when de man actually say dat in de article, ah say ah. ha! yuh beat meh to it, yuh mean dey couldn't find nobody, nowhere in TnT better than dem two guyanese?!?!?
Post by: Coop's on September 11, 2007, 09:59:27 AM
Jay? ah is probably not de only one eh, but from de time ah see dis headline, dat is all i was wondering and when de man actually say dat in de article, ah say ah. ha! yuh beat meh to it, yuh mean dey couldn't find nobody, nowhere in TnT better than dem two guyanese?!?!?
        You know the mentality home is the locals eh good enough so what else, go for the foreigners,these guys come home and are paid more than our players,the thing is if we rate our players as second class players they will be second class players,there are Trinis playing all over the place and nobody talks about them unless we hear it from someone foreign,we need support/encouragement at home,nobody watches Football any more,as much as i enjoyed Touches report on the Colleges League(well done Touches),i must say without the fans there is no Football,these guys play for and because of us. 

Post by: Sando on September 11, 2007, 10:03:25 AM
Jamal Shaabaz only interested in helping Guyana football being coach of their national team an all, this is why he have so many Guyanese players at the club, some wasn't even playing and still on the AIA roster getting paid, but when I talk Morvant man and them does get vex.....

Nothing wrong if you have to buy a few foreign players to help your team, but not the whole dam Guyanese national team.... some wasn't even good, we had Trinis 100 times better than some of them but yet they collecting a salary and training as a club and a national team at the same time....
Post by: Coop's on September 11, 2007, 10:40:17 AM
Jamal Shaabaz only interested in helping Guyana football being coach of their national team an all, this is why he have so many Guyanese players at the club, some wasn't even playing and still on the AIA roster getting paid, but when I talk Morvant man and them does get vex.....

Nothing wrong if you have to buy a few foreign players to help your team, but not the whole dam Guyanese national team.... some wasn't even good, we had Trinis 100 times better than some of them but yet they collecting a salary and training as a club and a national team at the same time....
         Well said and i agree with you but in defence of Jamaal i must say we have to understand Jamaal's position,he has given a lot to T&T Football,he carried our Women and this same Caledonia on his shoulders for years without any support from the public/administration,may be he is in a good situation in Guyana so we have to feel good for the guy,the opportunities he gets there he may not get it at home,he is just one of the two Trini Coaches that coaches a foreign country that i know off,i too would have grasped at that (man have to live).   
Post by: Bakes on September 11, 2007, 01:01:03 PM
People complaining about de foreigners in TnT football...lol

Some ah allyuh men on here is pure facking kicks oui.
Post by: Coop's on September 11, 2007, 07:04:06 PM

Can you explain a little bit what you mean by that.
Post by: Bakes on September 11, 2007, 07:53:29 PM

1. You would want the best players in the domestic league. Talent elevates play...not nationality.

2. How can some of you (not saying you yuhself, maybe you did, maybe you didn't) come on here and jump fuh joy and celebrate a 'Carlos' or a 'Kenwyne' getting the opportunity to play in the Premiership...then complain about foreigners in our own league. If we don't want foreigners in the Pro League (because they taking spot that could be filled by a Trini), then we have no right taking up some Englishman spot in de EPL.

Makes sense, no?
Post by: black chinee on September 11, 2007, 08:09:25 PM

1. You would want the best players in the domestic league.  Talent elevates play...not nationality.

2. How can some of you (not saying you yuhself, maybe you did, maybe you didn't) come on here and jump fuh joy and celebrate a 'Carlos' or a 'Kenwyne' getting the opportunity to play in the Premiership...then complain about foreigners in our own league.  If we don't want foreigners in the Pro League (because they taking spot that could be filled by a Trini), then we have no right taking up some Englishman spot in de EPL.

Makes sense, no?

well said man... I am a Cali fan and I do not like the 2 guys who went back, but in preseason and in the Digicel cup Bishop played very well, but he played along his best mate Codrington, who left for the US. Since then he appeared very unsettled and has not lived up to expectations, especially since he ended the season with Cali.... The other guy is young also but was not scoring in the league and the young players who played with trinidad U-23s were doing the Job so obviously the coach went with the guys who are performing for him.

Look at Ballack, Sheva... they all played well before going to the EPL, but are failures now.... the good thing is the coach said to them, u are here, u are foreigh, u get more money than some of the trinis... u better do your thing or I will not renew your contract and I will let u remain in the reserves until u show me u are ready....

I thought this was better that just playing them because they are getting poid, and not giving the young trinidad talent.. (who were signed as "trainees" being groomed for seasons to come...) a chance to play, since they were playing better.
Post by: Bakes on September 11, 2007, 10:22:27 PM
well said man... I am a Cali fan and I do not like the 2 guys who went back, but in preseason and in the Digicel cup Bishop played very well, but he played along his best mate Codrington, who left for the US. Since then he appeared very unsettled and has not lived up to expectations, especially since he ended the season with Cali.... The other guy is young also but was not scoring in the league and the young players who played with trinidad U-23s were doing the Job so obviously the coach went with the guys who are performing for him.

Look at Ballack, Sheva... they all played well before going to the EPL, but are failures now.... the good thing is the coach said to them, u are here, u are foreigh, u get more money than some of the trinis... u better do your thing or I will not renew your contract and I will let u remain in the reserves until u show me u are ready....

I thought this was better that just playing them because they are getting poid, and not giving the young trinidad talent.. (who were signed as "trainees" being groomed for seasons to come...) a chance to play, since they were playing better.

Doh get me wrong, if they don't merit being on the team ahead of locals then I have no arguments with making them pack their bags. I also wouldn't sit here and say "we need to import foreigners into the PFL in order to make it better". What I would support wholeheartedly is the PFL getting the best talent available...God-willing that would be Trinbagonian talent, but if better Brazilian, African or Caribbean footballers are available, I say bring them in and help the league benefit.

I posted what I did above because I recall somebody on here saying (when the two South Americans were sent packing at another club, cyah remember which), "I doh even see why we have tuh have dem on de team in de first place...yuh telling me we cyah find somebody in Trinidad tuh put in goal?"

I just find that kind ah xenophobic attitude so ridiculous as to be almost funny.
Post by: fishs on September 12, 2007, 01:45:08 AM

I'm sure the Guyanese players were in the team because they were cheaper than the local players.
And I'm also pretty sure they realised they were being exploited.
This is not the first time this has happened.
So yes they might find local players as good but not for the same money.
Post by: WestCoast on September 12, 2007, 02:03:13 AM

I'm sure the Guyanese players were in the team because they were cheaper than the local players.
there is a debate over in England talking about the same thing.
English players more expensive than imports. so is a universal thing.
and the agents exploiting them also taking bungs.
Just ask Carlos, as his agent is implicated (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=27738.msg312373#msg312373). If it was done in a transparent way, some of that Money that could also go to the player. Just thinking, maybe some players are aware as they want to play for a better club.
Disclaimer: I just noticed no source was given by kentsoulman for the info in my link. ;)
addendum: I have found the source here (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/sport/football.html?in_article_id=455153&in_page_id=1779)
Post by: Bakes on September 12, 2007, 07:02:53 AM

...and there's is absolutely nothing wrong with finding talent that's "just as good" for cheap. 

Why you think European coaches are heating up the scouting trail in TnT and other parts of the Caribbean...because de Darryl Roberts and de Hylands and Peltiers have talent that the coaches cyah find over in Europe?  If clubs want to underspend money then at the end of the day they'll realize that you get what you pay for...especially if the higher skilled Trini player goes on to play for another pro team (and if he really talented that is exactly what we should expect will happen) and then come back and rest three on dem when next he play dem.
Post by: fishs on September 12, 2007, 07:12:50 AM

...and there's is absolutely nothing wrong with finding talent that's "just as good" for cheap.

Why you think European coaches are heating up the scouting trail in TnT and other parts of the Caribbean...because de Darryl Roberts and de Hylands and Peltiers have talent that the coaches cyah find over in Europe? If clubs want to underspend money then at the end of the day they'll realize that you get what you pay for...especially if the higher skilled Trini player goes on to play for another pro team (and if he really talented that is exactly what we should expect will happen) and then come back and rest three on dem when next he play dem.

Each man have his own choices to make , if the Guyanese felt that they were better off going home , then that's their choice, if they felt the money is good enuff to stay then that's their choice also.
It still doh mean they may not have been exploited either way.
Post by: Coop's on September 12, 2007, 10:15:40 AM

1. You would want the best players in the domestic league. Talent elevates play...not nationality.

2. How can some of you (not saying you yuhself, maybe you did, maybe you didn't) come on here and jump fuh joy and celebrate a 'Carlos' or a 'Kenwyne' getting the opportunity to play in the Premiership...then complain about foreigners in our own league. If we don't want foreigners in the Pro League (because they taking spot that could be filled by a Trini), then we have no right taking up some Englishman spot in de EPL.

Makes sense, no?
         Yes talent elevates play but play elevates players,who are the players it's elevating when the league is flooded with foreigners and then we complain we have not players,in England they are complaining about the same thing,they might have the best league in the world but they struggleing as a national team for players,it might be good for the quality of your league but where your players are concerned i don't agree,there are pros and cons of everything is what you want,the thing is they bringing all these guys here and people don't go to see Football.
Post by: Sando on September 12, 2007, 10:31:16 AM
There is other cheap players all over the Caribbean too and not just Guyana. As I said Shabaaz is the head coach of Guyana and only have interest there as he can kill two birds with one stone, train his Guyanese national team and Club team at the same time. Good strategy indeed. In 1 year time Guyana should have a pretty decent national team as they did in the Digicel Cup.

Joe Public just release 2 Guyanese players (Kayode Mc Kinnon and Carey Harris) look for Caledonia to pick them up.... Simple, release the weaker two and buy the stronger two while your Guyanese team at Caledonia gets stronger.

Jamal Shabaaz is a thinker !!! to bad he couldn't think about the women team so while he was coach....
Post by: Coop's on September 12, 2007, 11:02:09 AM

Why you think European coaches are heating up the scouting trail in TnT and other parts of the Caribbean...because de Darryl Roberts and de Hylands and Peltiers have talent that the coaches cyah find over in Europe? If clubs want to underspend money then at the end of the day they'll realize that you get what you pay for...especially if the higher skilled Trini player goes on to play for another pro team (and if he really talented that is exactly what we should expect will happen) and then come back and rest three on dem when next he play dem.
        Are you serious?T&T have more highly skilled players than over in Europe?when our players leave here they are worked on and refined into the players they end up to be,that's why if they stay at home it can't happen,it happen to all of them including Yorke.
Post by: black chinee on September 16, 2007, 12:31:51 PM
There is other cheap players all over the Caribbean too and not just Guyana. As I said Shabaaz is the head coach of Guyana and only have interest there as he can kill two birds with one stone, train his Guyanese national team and Club team at the same time. Good strategy indeed. In 1 year time Guyana should have a pretty decent national team as they did in the Digicel Cup.

Joe Public just release 2 Guyanese players (Kayode Mc Kinnon and Carey Harris) look for Caledonia to pick them up.... Simple, release the weaker two and buy the stronger two while your Guyanese team at Caledonia gets stronger.

Jamal Shabaaz is a thinker !!! to bad he couldn't think about the women team so while he was coach....

U know I find that to be a really misinformed statement... then I guess he is also responsible for the 4 or 5 Guyanese that started the league with Joe Public (i think one get fired)... the 2 or 3 at NE stars, the 4 that started with Tobago united and the 2 they brought in after the U-23 qualifiers, the 1 at petrotrin???? there are soo many Guyanese in the league right now it aint funny..... so I guess U will say W Connection interested in Brazil das y dey ha so many Brazilians playing wid dem?? or Roy Keane interested in Trinidad so he signed 4 in less than a yr???
Post by: vb on September 16, 2007, 01:48:02 PM
Coaches work with their strenghts.

When NE Stars had a Guy. Coach, he bring enough Guyanese over and had success.

Back in the day. Doc Kewallah's had a Guyanese Coach who was based in Colombia. He hired some Colombians and Guyanese.

No Coach is going to use a player that cant' cut it.

If they can get some good cheap talent, they use it. Sometimes things dont' work out and it's bye bye.

Maybe that's why Sancho get overs.

If I had a pro club, i would have no prob. scoutin the C'bbn for foreign talent. How many Greys, JOnes or Scotlands you going to find right away, especially with 7 other clubs that have the same idea.

Post by: Bakes on September 16, 2007, 02:12:43 PM
Yes talent elevates play but play elevates players,who are the players it's elevating when the league is flooded with foreigners and then we complain we have not players,in England they are complaining about the same thing,they might have the best league in the world but they struggleing as a national team for players,it might be good for the quality of your league but where your players are concerned i don't agree,there are pros and cons of everything is what you want,the thing is they bringing all these guys here and people don't go to see Football.
England is a poor example to use if it is that you're arguing that foreigners in the domestic league takes away from the quality of the TnT national team.  English players almost exclusively ply their trade in England...local players aren' t that dependent on the PFL since many National team members ply their trade abroad.  Not saying that there is no detriment whatsoever to local talent...but it not that severe that we need to start complaining about the presence of foreign players.  What sense is there if you have good local players playing alongside poor or mediocre local talent?  How is that supposed to aid their development?  Let the best players play and the rest will take care of itself.
Post by: Bakes on September 16, 2007, 02:16:35 PM

Are you serious?T&T have more highly skilled players than over in Europe?when our players leave here they are worked on and refined into the players they end up to be,that's why if they stay at home it can't happen,it happen to all of them including Yorke.

Where on earth did I ever say that Trinidad has more "highly skilled" players than in Europe?  I seriously have to question the reading comprehension of some ah allyuh on dis board oui. Here is my statement again?

Why you think European coaches are heating up the scouting trail in TnT and other parts of the Caribbean...because de Darryl Roberts and de Hylands and Peltiers have talent that the coaches cyah find over in Europe?

Notice the big question mark at the end?  That should have been your first cue that I was actually arguing opposite to what you concluded.
Post by: morvant on September 17, 2007, 04:12:55 PM
stupesssssssss
Title: Codrington ditches Caledonia
Post by: Tallman on November 10, 2008, 05:51:20 AM
Codrington ditches Caledonia
Trinidad & Tobago Express

Guyanese forward Nigel Codrington is no longer with the Morvant based Neal and Massy Caledonia AIA after walking out on the club just over one month ago.

A report from the TT Pro League website (ttproleague.com) said a source close to the player explained that Codrington is currently uncertain as to his decision to continue his profession as a player and decided to head back to his homeland when he left Caledonia in October. According to the source, Codrington's current whereabouts are uncertain.

At the time of the player's walkout, Caledonia AIA Technical Director and Guyana national team head coach Jamaal Shabazz denied any fall-out with the player and said that Codrington returned to his homeland during the break in the League. But up until now, the Guyanese player is still missing in action.

Now it seems certain that Codrington has decided to hang up his boots, as the 27 year old player is also absent from the current Guyanese national team in Trinidad for the Digicel Caribbean Championship Group H stage. Codrington, the 'Stallions' top goal scorer in 2007, has 11 League goals, seven less than leader Devon Jorsling of Defence Force thus far this season.

However Codrington's 2008 season has been bleak, as he has scored one goal in his last nine League appearances for the 'Morvant Stallions' which could have played part in the player's decision to rethink his career. His last goal came against United Petrotrin in a 3-1 win in round three. Before that, a goal against Ma Pau SC in a 3-2 win for the Stallions in Round Two was the last time he scored.

Caledonia AIA coach Jerry Moe preferred not to comment on the whereabouts of the player when quizzed. Caledonia are third on the League standings with 34 points, 19 off leaders CLICO San Juan Jabloteh and 15 behind second placed W Connection.

However the Stallions' third position is in jeopardy with fourth placed Joe Public two points behind with two matches in hand.
Title: Re: Codrington ditches Caledonia
Post by: SHOTTA on November 10, 2008, 06:38:57 AM
good balsted riddance......that codri was a throw way and offside champion

is better we put velox and conrad up top that way the middle go be free for bleeder and david to lock it down

tinto on one side and tiny or abdullah on the next and a nice guyaneese back 4 yuh cyar go wrong

Title: Re: Codrington ditches Caledonia
Post by: morvant on November 10, 2008, 07:35:16 AM
let he stay they

blasted loafer, now i want to see conrad loose ah little weight and start to strike
Title: Caledonia AIA strive to unite Morvant/Laventille
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2009, 06:23:35 PM
Caledonia AIA strive to unite Morvant/Laventille
By Randy Bando (ttproleague.com)

While many people are shunning Morvant and Laventille, Defending FA Trophy champions Caledonia AIA are eager to add the troubled community's name to their identity.

For the 2009 season the club would be called Caledonia AIA of Morvant Laventille according to Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz.

"We are proud to represent the people of Morvant/Laventille and eager to bring back that communal spirit to a community that has been devasted by ignorance, gang wars and crime," stated Shabazz, also recognized as a community activist.

Shabazz hinted that plans are afoot to have the team renamed after the two communites in the coming seasons.

"While we want to win trophies this year, our main aim is to win hearts and get the people of Morvant and Laventille to rally to  this team and call it their own.

"We have a lot of work to do in these communities and many of us in Caledonia AIA have made this a life long dedication.

"The borderline violence must stop, the people in Vegas must be able to support the team with the people in Doratha street and those in Coconut Drive must be able to mingle at the games with those from Mon Repos.

"Caledonia AIA of Morvant Laventille must eventually become a Morvant Laventille United and it must not be a superficial unity", insisted Shabazz.

Sharing this vision is none other than national football icon Russell Latapy who is very eager to start a Youth Academy in partnership with the Caledonia AIA in the Morvant/Laventille community.

Latapy and Shabazz has started their work in the community and has had several meetings with community leaders seeking assurances for the young people of various districts to forget the borderline and all come to the various venues to embrace the Academy concept.

But two main players who have embraced the effort are corporate giants Neal & Massy and NLCB.

"We have had a long history with NLCB and Neal & Massy though they have never made a big hullabaloo they have always supported our work in the community, stated Shabazz.

"For 2009 and beyond both NLCB and Neal & Massy have given us a firm committment not just to assist our Pro league efforts but to help us move the club to another level. When corporate entities come together like this it gives you tremendous encouragement and energy to tackle the problems facing our community, stated Shabazz.

"The role of the Sports Company has also been crucial, without their help clubs like St. Ann's Rangers, Tobago and ourselves will be defunct today," added Shabazz who has given up the Guyana National team to focus wholly on T&T football.

While he agrees its still to early to guage, Shabazz is confident that Caledonia AIA of Morvant Laventille will win through in quelling the borderline violence within the community.

"The battle will be long and hard and it will weigh heavy on us but we are seeing signs that the youths are responding. We have players from Mon Repos, Coconut Drive, Vegas, Saw Mille Avenue, Chinapoo, Beverly Hills and even Trou Macaque training together and interacting again.

" Kids are excited about Russell Latapy and they want to play football and live their dreams. Badness out of style," insisted Shabazz, echoing T&T reggae artist Mr. King's now famous song "Badness Out of Style."

"We aim to strike that balance between focusing on winning trophies and using the passion of football to rebuild our community, he ended.
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA strive to unite Morvant/Laventille
Post by: Peter on April 03, 2009, 06:51:31 PM
This is great to hear man! Football and sports can have such a positive impact on people's minds, and help to shift their time away from negative things. KUDOS to Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille!! ;D
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA strive to unite Morvant/Laventille
Post by: Deeks on April 03, 2009, 07:54:25 PM
They should not drop the AIA name. That is a unique name. AIA of Morvant/Laventille.
Title: Keon Daniel joins Caledonia AIA
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 11, 2009, 02:37:45 PM
Written by Randy Bando
From TTproleague.com

Keon Daniel joins Caledonia on one year deal

Trinidad and Tobago international and former United Petrotrin midfielder Keon Daniel has been picked-up on a one year deal at Caledonia AIA of Morvant Laventille.

Caledonia head coach Jamaal Shabazz confirmed the 22 year old midfield talent with the Morvant Laventille squad.

We are happy to have him (Daniel). This is possible thanks to our sponsors Neal and Massy and NLCB (National Lotteries Control Board), said Shabazz.

He is a player anyone will like to have in their squad and we are more than delighted to add him to our squad.

Daniel a product of the Bertille St Clair Coaching School has been on loan with United Petrotrin for the 2006, 2007 and 2008 seasons. But in 2009 the free agent has began training with Caledonia and will be available to play against Ma Pau SC next week Tuesday in Round One Match Day Three.

Shabazzs troops will be on a bye this Tuesday 12 in Match Day Two and will have to wait until next week Tuesday to try and recover from their Match Day One 3-2 loss against Joe Public.

In other club news, midfielder Kerwyn Jemmott is expected to feature for the reserves on Thursday against W Connection Reserves from 5pm at the Larry Gomes Stadium.

He (Jemmott) has been training with us during pre-season and is looking to be coming along well. He is still behind match fitness to feature for the Pro team but we are certain he will get there. This week he will feature for the Reserves in efforts to get match fit, explained Shabazz.

Title: Re: Keon Daniel joins Caledonia AIA
Post by: Bourbon on May 11, 2009, 02:51:56 PM
Good news on both players.
Post by: g on May 11, 2009, 02:55:41 PM

Ah feel Latas was in his ear...... This is a good thing
Post by: freakazoid on May 11, 2009, 03:00:27 PM
finally
Post by: Ngozi on May 11, 2009, 03:01:19 PM
How come Jemmott always training to get fit but could never get fit?
Post by: Bourbon on May 11, 2009, 03:02:53 PM
How come Jemmott always training to get fit but could never get fit?

Worse yet for our pro league fitness standards. I was wondering myself too..buh i tryin to keep de vibes positive.
Post by: palos on May 11, 2009, 03:30:04 PM
Hardest will be startin by de time de return USA match come around.  :beermug:

Fuh Cali... ;D
Post by: lefty on May 11, 2009, 03:40:04 PM

Fuh Cali... ;D

oh gawd, ah like dat  :rotfl: ;D
Post by: Cocorite on May 11, 2009, 03:54:43 PM
Watch out for the "Controversial" who are Trini Infinite-ly. Dey doh take kindly to dese statements yuh know Palos.
Post by: football king on May 11, 2009, 04:02:47 PM
Wonder if someone could clarify this for me
I was under the impression that the rights to keon Daniel owned by St. Clair school and he was loaned to Petrotrin by St. Cklair's.

So is he now an urestricted free agent?
Post by: palos on May 11, 2009, 04:15:51 PM
I was under the impression that the rights to keon Daniel owned by St. Clair school and he was loaned to Petrotrin by St. Cklair's.

Good question.  I wouldn't be surprised if BSC not gettin a piece of whatever action Keon Daniel gets in the future.  Maybe he gave Cali a bligh dis rounds in order for Keon to get on with his career, but BSC is a shrewd businessman and he doh mess wit de $$ angle.  If Keon Daniel goin to any club, especially a foreign one, I wouldn't be surprised if Scrooge have a fee comin he way.

Cyah vex wit him....he invest a lot into Keon so why not?
Post by: iceberg on May 11, 2009, 04:20:21 PM
i just glad he would be playing regular football now. The PFL better than not playing at all, especially if he want to sweat for Latas.
Post by: vb on May 11, 2009, 04:38:03 PM
Hardess............."going back to Cali."  ;D

Post by: football king on May 11, 2009, 05:34:45 PM

Good question.  I wouldn't be surprised if BSC not gettin a piece of whatever action Keon Daniel gets in the future.  Maybe he gave Cali a bligh dis rounds in order for Keon to get on with his career, but BSC is a shrewd businessman and he doh mess wit de $$ angle.  If Keon Daniel goin to any club, especially a foreign one, I wouldn't be surprised if Scrooge have a fee comin he way.

Cyah vex wit him....he invest a lot into Keon so why not?

He probably kicking heself for how much he let yorke go for, hindsight is 20/20
Post by: Big Magician on May 11, 2009, 06:19:47 PM
good luck Skilla...and hardest
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2009, 08:53:37 PM

Fuh Cali... ;D

Yuh retire as Moderator so u drinkin and postin I C. Cyah even start 4 Cali
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2009, 08:54:12 PM

Ah feel Latas was in his ear...... This is a good thing

Shabazz is who stick on this one. So Latas may have really spoke 2 him
Title: 'Skill-achi' debuts for Stallions.
Post by: Flex on May 21, 2009, 04:25:52 AM
Caledonia open Pro League account.

'Skill-achi' debuts for Stallions.

Keon "Skill-achi" Daniel, arguably the country's most sought after free agent in the pre-season, wore Caledonia AIA of Morvant Laventille colours on Tuesday evening as the "Eastern Stallions" recorded their first win of the 2009 Digicel Pro League season with a 2-1 triumph over Ma Pau at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar.

Caledonia's other new recruits, Kerry Daniel and Keyon Edwards, provided the goals while 2006 World Cup midfielder Densill Theobald was in the thick of things throughout. But the presence, if not necessarily the performance, from "Skill-achi" was a promising omen for the Stallions.

Caledonia are used to operating with financial constraints and are prone to developing young players who are inevitably poached by clubs with deeper pockets-thus maintaining their status as a promising outfit that never quite grows up. But things appear to be changing for the better in Morvant Laventille.

Last season, Caledonia won their first national titles as they copped the FA Trophy and Pro Bowl, while the pre-season signings of national player/ coach Russell Latapy and Daniel-the leading scorer in the present World Cup qualifying campaign with goals-should further lift expectations for the community club.

"In my short time in the Pro League, Caledonia are one of teams I always admired," said the 22-year-old Daniel, as he explained his choice of employer after his acrimonious split from United Petrotrin. "I liked the style of football they play They like to put the ball down and pass it around and that suits me

"I think we are going to be one of the best teams in the league this year."

Even without Latapy, who temporarily put his club career on hold to focus on next month's internationals against Costa Rica and Mexico, Caledonia have enough maestros within their ranks to consider petitioning the Pro League for use of an extra ball on match day. Theobald, Daniel and veteran Vincentian Kendal Velox are three of local football's most clever playmakers while the tricky Abdullah Phillips and measured distribution of Walter Moore also merit mention.

But, despite the promise offered by Caledonia's team sheet, they were pushed close by Ma Pau and never quite appeared safe.

The "Casino Boys" scored first in the 44th minute when Anthony Wolfe, another 2006 World Cup squad member, unselfishly teed up strike partner Shandel Samuel and, after falling behind in the second half, might have had a chance to equalise from the penalty spot. But referee Lee Davis allowed a hefty shoulder challenge by Caledonia right back Kareem Joseph on Samuel to go unpunished.

The fixture was effectively decided in a two minute burst, early in the second half, when a brilliant Moore cross was inadvertently turned in off the shins of Kerry Daniel, while Edwards raced clear of the Ma Pau defence to clinically convert his second goal in as many outings since swapping St Ann's Rangers for Caledonia.

Both teams were guilty of wayward passing, which is not unsurprising at this stage of the season, but the compact Ma Pau outfit seemed better equipped to regain possession. In contrast, Caledonia often left an unsightly gap between defence and midfield-which the lively Wolfe reveled in-while they conceded acres of space on either flank.

The introduction of striker Judah Hernandez in the closing 20 minutes did not necessarily aid Caledonia's cause either. The quick, bustling Hernandez looks capable of providing a lift if the Stallions are chasing a game but his hold up play was not sure enough when they needed to protect the ball rather than hunt an additional goal. Caledonia have the personnel. Now, they must show the tactical acumen, personality and appetite to match.

Caledonia: 33.Zane Coker; 12.Kareem Joseph, 4.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 13.Charles Pollard (Capt), 15.Walter Moore; 7.Stephan David; 31.Kerry Daniel (17.Akim Armstrong 81), 21.Densill Theobald, 19.Keon Daniel; 29.Kendal Velox (18.Judah Hernandez 73), 9.Keyon Edwards (11.Abdullah Phillips 69).

Ma Pau: 1.Shane Matthis; 31.Aquil Selby, 27.Akeem Benjamin, 35.Reshad Wint, 3.Marc Leslie (7.Rennie Britto 78); 8.Keeron Benito, 4.Curtis Gonzales, 11.Lyndon Andrews (Capt), 33.Trevin Caesar (9.Shandel Samuel 39); 18.Sherron Joseph (28.Tyrone Charles 64); 10.Anthony Wolfe.
Title: Re: 'Skill-achi' debuts for Stallions.
Post by: morvant on May 21, 2009, 06:03:54 AM
judah iz ah man full ah touches too dan

big up cali ;D
Post by: freakazoid on May 21, 2009, 06:20:10 AM
Trevin Caesar  is another bago yute that plying his trade in trini was playing school ball about 2 yrs ago for scarborough sec.

hmm ah wonder if this thread shouldnt be in the pro league thread.  . tsk tsk tsk
Post by: noize on May 21, 2009, 06:21:17 AM
 :) good to see him back playing competitive football...is he playing in the middle or the right side of midfield ???
Post by: King Deese on May 21, 2009, 06:42:44 AM
speaking of judah, dey could be playing him out of position, from what i read it sounds like dey using him as a center forward, he would be better in a deep lying forward position, almost like an attacking mids. a la diego.
Post by: Sam on May 21, 2009, 06:46:34 AM
I am impress with this report. Not only did we get the line ups, but we also got the correct spelling of players names and shirt number.

Good work Lasana, hope the pro league hire you to cover some games.
Post by: Sando on May 21, 2009, 08:56:30 AM
Caledonia are used to operating with financial constraints and are prone to developing young players who are inevitably poached by clubs with deeper pockets-thus maintaining their status as a promising outfit that never quite grows up. But things appear to be changing for the better in Morvant Laventille.

Nice piece of writing skills they.

A good sign seeing numbers going with names for a change too...

Well done Lasana, keep up the good work.
Post by: spideybuff on May 21, 2009, 09:07:46 AM
I am impress with this report. Not only did we get the line ups, but we also got the correct spelling of players names and shirt number.

No need to hire him if he doing the reports regardless
Post by: Mackie on May 21, 2009, 09:41:21 AM
Lets hope the Keon Daniel we saw in the semi final round returns....
Post by: Sam on May 21, 2009, 10:49:10 AM

No need to hire him if he doing the reports regardless

I mean on a full time basis, not free-lance
Post by: Star Child on May 22, 2009, 07:58:14 AM
Anybody know how Kareem Joseph, Anthony Wolfe and Radanfah Abu Bakr performed, a more close up look that is ?

I hear Kareem Joseph is a good right back and he currently training with de T&T team, praise de lord we not playing Wolfe they again.
Title: Latas wins on Caledonia debut.
Post by: Flex on July 23, 2009, 05:20:18 AM
Latas wins on Caledonia debut.
...Eastern Lions roar to top of Pro League.
By: Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

Soca Warriors coach Russell Latapy made his Digicel Pro League debut as Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille edged W Connection 2-1 at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, yesterday.

The 40-year-old Latapy, who last played locally for the now defunct Trintoc back in 1988, played for 78 minutes before being replaced by youngster Akim Armstrong with his team 2-1 ahead and a hand in both goals. He even had an effort ricochet off the cross-bar in the first-half. Jameel Perry put Caledonia ahead after only seven minutes but Andre Toussaint replied for W Connection in the 25th minute.

The deciding moment in the match came in the 51st minute when national midfielder, Keon Daniel fired in the winner for Caledonia, third on the table with 22 points, two adrift of new leaders, bmobile Joe Public and one behind two-time defending champions, Clico San Juan Jabloteh. W Connection remained fourth with 18 points. On Tuesday night, national midfielder Kerry Baptiste achieved a remarkable individual feat as he carried his season tally to 18 goals in 11 matches when he netted all five goals to lead Joe Public to an entertaining 5-3 win over St Anns Rangers in the feature match of a double at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

In the first match, Defence Force squandered a number of goal scoring chances in a 0-0 draw with the underachieving United Petrotrin. At Macoya, after a quiet first ten minutes, Baptiste broke the deadlock in the 13th minute when he latched onto a pass from midfielder Devon Leacock and fired past Rangers goalkeeper Frotunato Valcourt from close range. Rangers Josimar Belgrave was then gifted a chance to get his team level when a misguided headed clearance by Seon Power fell straight to his feet, but with goalkeeper Alejandro Figueroa off his line, he lifted his effort high over bar.

Errol Mc Farlane then wasted another chance for Rangers while at the other end of the field, Power failed to double his teams lead when he headed overbar from less than six yards out. Five minutes before the interval though, Belgrave redeemed himself when he rose unchallenged in the six-yard box and planted a downward header from a Husani Thomas free-kick past the dive of Figueroa to draw his team level. That joy was shortlived though as within seconds of the restart, Baptiste connected with a pass from national teammate Hayden Tinto to beat goalkeeper Valcourt with clinical left footed finish.

Baptiste was not done yet and on the stroke of half-time he converted a penalty kick for a 3-1 cushion after winger Micah Lewis was brought down inside the area by Valcourt, who was lucky only to pick up a yellow card from referee Ishmael Mohammed. The spectators hardly had time to get into their seats at Macoya for the start of the second half when Rangers Christon Thomas angled a shot across goal that whistled past Figueroa into the far corner for a 3-2 deficit in the 48th minute.

The match was now closer than expected for the liking of Joe Public coach who then introduced new signing, Japans Yu Hoshide to the loud cheers of the crowd for Akeil Guevara in the 76th minute. The Asian player almost made an immediate impact as he provided two chances for Mc Kinght to extend his teams lead, but the striker wasted both. But Baptiste was up to the task and in the 78th minute he finished off a play started by Hoshide with a clever finish off the far post past the advancing Valcourt to extend his teams lead to 4-2.

However, Rangers were not ready to give up and responded in stunning fashion when a 35-yard free kick from defender Coneal Thomas beat the desperate lunge of Figueroa for a 4-3 score with seven minutes left. Two minutes from the end though, Baptiste made certain of full points and the Pro League table lead for the Eastern Lions when he reacted first to a save by Valcourt off a Mc Knight attempt which was set up by Hoshide.
Title: Re: Latas wins on Caledonia debut.
Post by: lefty on July 23, 2009, 05:42:49 AM
78 mins :o, ah feel somebody might be tinkin about doin ah Milla  :-\
Post by: Daft Trini on July 23, 2009, 05:47:23 AM

Better him that that traitor Zamora ....
Post by: lefty on July 23, 2009, 06:04:00 AM

ah could see it now, he come turn game on it head for  40 beautiful mins, all d while helpin us to a 5 goal lead....."knowin full well cyar defend 1-2 goal leads to save we life" sub heself off, sayin smugly "dais how to do it  8) "send in trent Noel an' we succeed in eekin ah close but well earned 5-4 win ???  :-\ ::)
Post by: Themanfriday on July 23, 2009, 06:05:44 AM

ah could see it now, he come turn game on it head for  40 beautiful mins, all d while helpin us to a 5 goal lead....."knowin full well cyar defend 1-2 goal leads to save we life" sub heself off, sayin smugly "dais how to do it  8) "send in trent Noel an' we succeed in eekin ah close but well earned 5-4 win ???  :-\ ::)

Post by: noize on July 23, 2009, 06:20:10 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:...All yuh is some ass on here yes.... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:....But with that said I think he might lace up for this next game.... :o
Post by: Bourbon on July 23, 2009, 07:00:51 AM

78 Minutes yes.....but in our pro league? Where we doh really play with any kinda urgency? One swallow doh make summer.
Post by: lefty on July 23, 2009, 07:05:13 AM

78 Minutes yes.....but in our pro league? Where we doh really play with any kinda urgency? One swallow doh make summer.

true dat..........true dat :beermug:
Post by: de_redman on July 23, 2009, 07:16:58 AM

Roger Milla? We have to make de world cup first before he can think about dat...
Post by: lefty on July 23, 2009, 07:19:38 AM

Roger Milla? We have to make de world cup first before he can think about dat...
d fuss steps, mi boy d fuss steps ;D
Post by: Big Magician on July 23, 2009, 07:40:08 AM
frig man
Post by: weary1969 on July 23, 2009, 08:14:49 AM

How yuh go say dat bout we Pro League.
Post by: Themanfriday on July 23, 2009, 09:43:58 AM

Men does dog our pro league. Nobody ever notice that when we play against other leagues (MLS) we perform well against them. I think in the CONCACAF we my have the best league (well barring MEXICO, COSTA RICA)
Post by: Socapro on July 23, 2009, 09:53:15 AM

Men does dog our pro league. Nobody ever notice that when we play against other leagues (MLS) we perform well against them. I think in the CONCACAF we my have the best league (well barring MEXICO, COSTA RICA)

Yeah, the T&T crowds just need to see the bigger picture and start supporting the pro league in greater numbers but I guess that's also down to better marketing and regular televising of the big weekly games so that folks can be enticed to go see a game LIVE at least once a month if not once a week!!
Post by: JDB on July 23, 2009, 10:09:30 AM
Anybody know what the attendance figure was?
Post by: injunchile on July 23, 2009, 11:02:51 AM
Latas lacing up against El Salvador- Watch it play out.
Post by: lefty on July 23, 2009, 11:08:02 AM
Latas lacing up against El Salvador- Watch it play out.

that's exactly what was suggestin
Post by: Bourbon on July 23, 2009, 11:41:10 AM

Men does dog our pro league with good reason. Yuh have players mid season dat doh be fit to international standards...no proper diet regime etc. Yeh we can perform with MLS teams...buh doh make it sound like we's any force to be reckoned with........we damn well underachieving with wha we have. Men get hype up with Joe Public performance last year.....and conveniently turning a blind eye to the other results. We could do better. De pro league have any minimum fitness standard or level to be at? Wha standards in place for players physically? I well aware of the positives of our league..buh dat doh mean i not acknowledging the fact that we have REL work to do..and rel far to go.
Post by: King Deese on July 23, 2009, 12:30:35 PM
who really cares.

this must mean something in the scheme of getting to the world cup and actually   BEATING SOME PEOPLE that the rest of the universe doesn't know about.

do you damnest to enlighten the rest of us...

I want to sell you the eYEfillllll tower for the pitch lake.....

Post by: 7 blessings on July 23, 2009, 02:39:26 PM
Kerry B. score all five goals in the St. Ann's match?! Buh wah de jail is this - 18 goals in 11 matches.
Wah kinda chance allyuh fee this man should be given in our national team based on his current form?
Post by: Babalawo on July 23, 2009, 05:26:49 PM
Latas on CNews in a few minutes
Post by: just cool on July 23, 2009, 07:37:04 PM
Kerry B. score all five goals in the St. Ann's match?! Buh wah de jail is this - 18 goals in 11 matches.
Wah kinda chance allyuh fee this man should be given in our national team based on his current form?
SSttuueeepppssss!! like you getting tied up wid the hype or what. them fellas does shine when the competition mediocre or for their big foreign clubs, but when it come down too serious international competition, them byoi does buckle under the pressure!

we want real go too guys, man who could score when yuh really need goals, we doh want tuh hear we try, we want tuh hear ball tangling up in the back ah de net!

and the only go too guy or proven T&T international goal scorer to date is stern john!! yuh eh see we didn't even get ah goal in the last WC.

Sssstttuueepppsss give me ah break wid baptiste! the great dwight yorke was lighting up the EPL with villa and Man-u, but when he put on the RW&B he was found wanting!

scotty scored 50 odd goals in two seasons, but cyar score for us since 2004, let baptiste stay where the fack he is, give me stern and roberts any day, now them men does come through for us.
Post by: CarenageBoy on July 23, 2009, 07:44:14 PM

I don't know why everybody always hitting on this man. First, he was English born and it was logical for him to want to play for England first. I am happy that he's had a change of hart and welcome his addition to the team.

Come on! Get over it!!! Let's put the advancement of the senior team first please!
Post by: Big Magician on July 24, 2009, 06:57:47 PM
F#CK zamora
Post by: Tallman on January 16, 2010, 06:44:42 AM
Caledonias Guyanese trio for USL trials
By Randy Bando (ttproleague.com)

Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille Guyanese trio Walter Moore, Brion Baker and Kester Jacobs are set for trials in the United States later this month with USL club Carolina Railhawks.

Railhawks is the current club of former Bmobile Joe Publics Guyanese striker Gregory Richardsonnow in his second season.

In an article on Guyanas Kaieteur News website, the trials were made possible by Guyana Football Federation USA representative Garth Nelson.

In 2009 Nelson was responsible for procuring the history making Major League Soccer deal for Gregory Richardson as the first Guyanese player to play in the MLS joining Colorado Rapids.

However the Guyanese international was waived by Rapids in June and after a successful trial at Railhawks he was signed by the USL club.

Walter Moore and Kester Jacobs who both enjoyed a good season with Caledonia AIA finishing third in the Digicel Pro League and coached by former GFF Technical Director, Jamaal Shabazz will head to the US later this month along with Brion Baker.

Shabazz is currently with the Trinidad and Tobago U20 Women's Team in Costa Rica in the capacity of head coach.

At the Railhawks, Moore, Jacobs and Baker will link up with Gregory Richardson who made an exciting start at the club last season.

Caledonia forward Randolph Jerome, also from Guyana is scheduled to return to the USL club Pittsburgh Riverhounds this month according to Kaieteur News.   
Title: Daniel, Edwards listed on Caledonias transfer list.
Post by: Flex on March 01, 2010, 01:24:57 PM
Daniel, Edwards listed on Caledonias transfer list.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague).

Caledonia AIA of Morvant/Laventille has announced over the weekend that Trinidad and Tobago international midfielder Keon Daniel and striker Keyon Edwards have been listed on the transfer list.

A press release by the club stated: Both players have been disciplined for repeated infractions.

The release continued: Caledonia remains committed to fostering a high standard of conduct and deportment both on and off the field of play.

The club's mandate and purpose goes beyond the field of play. Players, coaches and directors have a deeper responsibility to the community and the young men and women it is proud to represent and serve.

Both Daniel and Edwards joined the Morvant/Laventille club last season and still have existing contracts.

Caledonia further advised that interests from other clubs reguarding the pair would be considered.

Daniels season had more negatives rather than positives for coach Jamaal Shabazz, who had entrusted a lot of hope in the T&T international and former United Petrotrin midfielder.

While Edwards who had a great start to the 2009 campaign as the most lethal in front of goal for the Morvant/Laventille club, dropped drastically midway through the season and never returned to his top form which was also scared by indiscipline.
Title: Re: Daniel, Edwards listed on Caledonias transfer list.
Post by: Bourbon on March 01, 2010, 01:44:57 PM
STEUPS.
Post by: Deeks on March 01, 2010, 03:21:16 PM
I used to clamour for we to bear patience with Daniel because I thought he would take it upon himself to improve. But I about to give up on him.
Post by: Sam on March 01, 2010, 04:52:33 PM
Maybe he acting so because we wants to go to a bigger club. I bet you Joe Public will sign him...
Post by: royal on March 01, 2010, 05:35:47 PM
Maybe he acting so because we wants to go to a bigger club. I bet you Joe Public will sign him...

but who paying a transfer fee for indiscipling players
Post by: sjahrain on March 01, 2010, 07:32:58 PM
Maybe he acting so because we wants to go to a bigger club

Like he  following in Densil footsteps...... :devil:
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 02, 2010, 08:18:07 AM
Star boy mentality before they even reach anywhere... a few caps gone to their heads.  I tell you.
Post by: jai john on March 02, 2010, 01:32:25 PM
Star boy mentality before they even reach anywhere... a few caps gone to their heads.  I tell you.

like he feel he is de Hardest or what ??? :devil:
Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2011, 09:09:03 AM
Caledonia snatches 2nd, earns CFU spot.
ttproleague.com.

Caledonia AIA and the Morvant/Laventille community had reasons to celebrate on Friday night when the Jamaal Shabazz coached side snatched a second position finish in the 2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship.

Caledonia seated third prior to Friday's final clash against neighbouring rivals San Juan Jabloteh needed more than a victory to finish second ahead of bmobile Joe Public.

Caledonia did its part by enjoying a hard-fought 3-2 win over Jabloteh and had to thank a last minute converted penalty by DIRECTV North East Stars' Anthony Wolfe at the Larry Gomes Stadium to hold Joe Public to a 1-1 draw.

Caledonia finished with 36 points points behind League Champions Defence Force (41 points) who whipped St. Ann's Rangers 3-0 in the first clash at the Malabar venue.

2009 League Champions Joe Public which failed to defend its title this season finished third with 35 points, followed by W Connection in fourth with 31 points.

Joe Public held a 1-0 advantage for most part of the match after Marcus Joseph's 3rd minute item, however in the 93rd minute were on the wrong end of a shout for penalty which was converted by Wolfe.

Caledonia finishing its best position in the club's 31-year history joins Defence Force in the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship as the top two finishers in the Digicel Pro League.

Both clubs will contest the CFU Club Championship with a chance at representing Trinidad and Tobago in next season's CONCACAF Champions' League.

Last season Joe Public and Jabloteh reached the Group stage of the Champions' League but failed to advance further.

Defence Force is a former CFU Club Championship and CONCACAF Champions' League winner while Caledonia will be on its debut run.

Earning this season's second position finish wasn't as easy as snatching ice-cream from a kid for the Morvant/Laventille club at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium.

Jabloteh had the dream start when in the 2nd minute Kennedy Hinskon fired the Terry Fenwick coached side ahead 1-0 with a powerful first time volley beating goalkeeper Kevin Graham from the right.

Hinkson started the play when he dispossessed Ryan Stewart in the middle before finding Jason Marcano who in turn played the long switch-ball to find the speedy winger on the right.

However that advantage was shortlived when three minutes later after a quick exchange of passes by Caledonia, Keyon Edwards blasted a shot on goal beating the glove of Cleon John for a 1-1 score putting Caledonia back into the game.

Caledonia then jumped ahead 2-1 in the 24th minute when Hayden Vincent was left free against goalkeeper John and he made no mistake after the Jabloteh defence fell asleep.

But in the 43rd minute the scores were leveled 2-2 when Ataulla Guerra weaved his way through the middle before threading a pass to set Johan Peltier towards goal, and the U18 forward rounded goalkeeper Graham before tapping into an open net.

Five minutes earlier Peltier wasted overbar after having a good look at goal from inside the area.

On the stroke of the hour mark Caledonia's Ryan Stewart provided a decent cross from the left only to see Vincent head it wide of John's upright.

And in the 71st minute John measured a brilliant strike from distance by Stewart with a one-handed save.

But three minutes from time Caledonia stole a 3-2 victory when Akim Armstrong was allowed time and space on the left to blast a low shot which took a slight deflection beating John at his far post after Jabloteh showed another lapse in defence which cost them the match.

Fridays results
Round Two Match Day Nine

2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship

Defence Force 30 St. Ann's Rangers
Richard Roy 52'(pen), 76', Javon Neptune 72'

Ma Pau SC 02 W Connection
; Hughtun Hector 29', Matthew Bartholomew 72'

North East Stars 11 Joe Public
Anthony Wolfe 90+3 (pen) ; Marcus Joseph 3'

Caledonia AIA 32 San Juan Jabloteh
Keyon Edwards 5', Hayden Vincent 24', Akim Armstrong 87' ; Kennedy Hinkson 2', Johan Peltier 43'

Teams

Caledonia AIAKevin Graham, Stephan David (capt.) (Yellow), Nuru Abdallah Muhammad (Yellow), Ryan Stewart, Kareem Joseph, Walter Moore, Akim Armstrong (Jean-Luc Rochford 94th), Keyon Edwards (Travis Mulraine 92nd), Daneil Cyrus, Densill Theobald (Yellow), Hayden Vincent (Conrad Smith 70th).

CoachJamaal Shabazz.

San Juan JablotehCleon John (capt.), Jason Marcano, Joel Leslie Russell (Yellow), Christan Thomas, Anton Hutchinson, Jamal Jack, Mikhil Awai, Johan Peltier (Karlon Murray 76th), Ataullah Guerra (Yellow), Cyrano Glen (Hector Sam 62nd) (Yellow), Kennedy Hinkson (Elijah Manners 65th).

CoachTerry Fenwick.

Connection pips Ma Pau for 4th place finish.

Hughtun Hector scored one and assisted in another as W Connection enjoyed a 2-0 win over Ma Pau SC for a fourth position finish this season in the 2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship.

It was a battle to finish fourth between Connection and Ma Pau at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in their final League match and in the end the Stuart Charles Fevrier coached side secured it with 31 points from 18 games.

Hector had Connection ahead 1-0 in the 29th minute when he delicately chipped a shot over an advancing goalkeeper Alejandro Figueroa after being played past the defence by Hashim Arcia.

In the 32nd minute Connection were at it again and from a patient play Kemuel Rivers blasted a shot across the face of goal.

Andrei Pacheco failed to find the back of the net three minutes into the second period after Christian Viveros made a block on Coneal Thomas before playing Pacheco on the corner of the six yard area however the Connection midfielder spilled high with only goalkeeper Figueroa to beat.

But substitute Bartholomew made no mistake in the 72nd minutethree minutes after replacing Arciawhen he placed a low shot past the gloves of Figueroa from inside the area.

Bartholomew was picked out by Hector inside the area after a switch of play from Clyde Leon which left Ma Pau defenseless.

Figueroa then denied Bartholomew with a sliding blockout in the 75th minute as Connection applied further pressure on the Woodbrook side.

Connection followed-up with two wasted opportunities in the dying stages with defender Coneal Thomas making a block on Pacheco and Hector spilled over in another effort.

Teams

Ma Pau SCAlejandro Figueroa, Lyndon Andrews (capt.) (Dwane James), Coneal Thomas (Yellow), Lester Peltier (Trevin Caesar 58th), Rennie Britto, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Kerry Noray, Mekeil Williams (Shandel Samuel 75th), Shane Calderon, Seon Power, Aquil Selby.

CoachMichael McComie.

W ConnectionMurilo Da Costa, Elijah Joseph (Vernus Abbott 24th), Clyde Leon, Romauld Aguillera, Nickcolson Thomas, Hashim Arcia (Matthew Bartholomew 69th), Kemuel Rivers, Hughtun Hector, Andrei Pacheco, Akeem Benjamin, Christian Viveros (Yellow) (Gerrard Williams 77th).

CoachStuart Charles Fevrier.

Title: Re: Caledonia snatches 2nd, earns CFU spot
Post by: dreamer on January 30, 2011, 01:48:58 PM
Really good news.
I feel there is hope fuh this league. Those two teams won't take the Concacaf opportunity for granted. Great exposure to start. Public was disgraceful in their last rep for T&T. I hope Baptiste joins 1 of these 2 teams. It would be a master stroke gamble.
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2011, 03:15:05 PM
Its nice to see two new teams represent T&T for a change even though W Connection normally do a great job flying T&T flag. Joe Public and Jabloteh were totally disgraceful to watch in the last two tournaments.

Lets hope Caledonia AIA beef up they squad though. I know the team is broke to an extent especially when CFU is concern where it will require them to get more funds, maybe Neal & Massy will step up their sponsorship ?

I saw Defence Force play two games last year and while they are a strong team they didn't look too good. They play a similar brand to T&T where their midfield was in-existant and their transition play was slow, the defence just hit long balls to their forwards and a kick and hope brand, thankfully Devon Jorsling and Richard Roy are two gifted strikers and made use of the balls, but then again, its only two games I saw, so I probably caught them on and off day.

They lost Jorsling and Carter maynot be back by March, so we'll have to see. Puerto Rico Islanders is their main threat as I cant see teams from Suriname, Guyana, Haiti and maybe Jamaica being a big factor, Jamaica teams can spring a few surprises though but Defence Force is a strong team and is capable of handling the Jamaican aggression.
Post by: Tallman on January 31, 2011, 06:22:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ELXHwHCDUZI
Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2011, 05:05:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/n0Qx8Xux1bk
Title: Theobald: Caledonia win start of dream.
Post by: Flex on March 15, 2011, 04:43:58 AM
Theobald: Caledonia win start of dream.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald says winning 1-0 away in their first-leg  Caribbean Football Union Club Championship first round qualifier against Newtown United of St Kitts/Nevis in Basseterre was more than a victory for the Caledonia AIA football team.

Speaking after the win at Warner Park on Thursday night, Theobald said, It was like the start of the realisation of something deeper than a dream. More like a strong desire to get to the next level.

This is the fourth year we were trying to qualify for this tournament and now winning our first game in it and away from home the feeling is special, said Theobald.

Caledonia is one of the more financially challenged clubs in the Digicel T&T Pro league but has battled among the big guns over the years with measured success.

The Morvant/Laventille-based club  finished  fourth in the  Pro League every year from 2005 to 2008. In 2008 they also won the Pro Bowl and the T&T Football Federation FA trophy.

After watching bmobile Joe Public, Jabloteh and W Connection compete in the Concacaf Champions League it stirred a passion in the Caledonia squad that made them forget their financial dilemmas.

We may be short on finance but we have a huge ambition in the club and in 2009 we went out and really sought to qualify for the Caribbean Club Championships, stated Theobald.

It was a disappointment that we finished third especially when we know we are one of the teams that play an attracting brand of football. But we kept going and were encouraged by the gaffer (coach Jamaal Shabazz) to keep pursuing our dreams, he added.

The 2010/2011 season did not start very well for Caledonia as it finished the first round in sixth position. Having introduced several new players and the constant absence of coach Jamaal Shabazz on national womens team duties did not help the morale of the team either.

However, from November onwards everything seemed to come together for the Stallions as Caledonia is called, they won eight league games and lost once to eventual league winners Defence Force to finish second.

No one saw us coming but I think the full time presence of coach Jamaal Shabazz to complement the rest of the staff made a huge difference, stated Theobald.

The commitment of the players was complimented by dedicated staff and a very caring club administration that went the extra mile for the group.

Sacrificing festivities at Christmas and carnival according to captain Stephan David was also a contributor to Caledonias qualification for the CFU Club Championships.

Shabazz insisted that we had to make the sacrifice and we did. Off course training on Boxing Day or on Carnival Tuesday felt a bit awkwardyour friends and family thinking that you are madbut we are happy now to see the results of our work, explained David.

Caledonia receives sponsorship from both Neal & Massy and the National Lotteries Control Board and Shabazz believes that the input of these two corporate giants continues to be crucial to the clubs survival.

We had to raise $83,000 for airfares alone to go to St Kitts/Nevis and got $50,000 from Neal & Massy, while NLCB contributes on a monthly basis to half of our wage bill.

This provides a great degree of stability since we can pay our players and they can focus on football, if you close down Caledonia it will leave a huge void in terms of a positive recreational outlet in Morvant Laventille, he insisted.

But Shabazz is calling on the people of Morvant/Laventille and east Port-of-Spain especially, to come out and support their team for the return match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, on Saturday from 7.30 pm where it needs only a draw to book a second round spot.

I am appealing to Morvant and Laventille to come out and support us, join us in bringing a positive vibe to the community.

Help us to win this game against Newtown. We have already made the first step and this is a long journey, come and make it with us, urged Shabazz.
Title: Re: Theobald: Caledonia win start of dream.
Post by: Sam on March 15, 2011, 05:11:40 AM
These players acting like is some big sacrifice to miss Carnival and Christmas....

No wonder we dont get no way, in America that is normal, but life goes on, Party is not everything.

You think if it was Chivas or Chelsea them woulda care bout Carnival if they have an important game around the same time.

STEUPS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Deeks on March 15, 2011, 05:52:00 AM
These players acting like is some big sacrifice to miss Carnival and Christmas....

No wonder we dont get no way, in America that is normal, but life goes on, Party is not everything.

You think if it was Chivas or Chelsea them woulda care bout Carnival if they have an important game around the same time.

I think is a big sacrifice. The fact that they did show that they are indeed serious. Forget Chelsea and Chivas, they does get their money on time, Cali has to go cap in hand to get money.
Post by: andre samuel on March 15, 2011, 06:04:14 AM

Come on Sam, it is a big sacrifice, and the most important thing is that they made it! Don't compare Chelsea to Caledonia! 
Post by: elan on March 15, 2011, 10:39:22 AM
We will always fight for scraps.   :(
Post by: dreamer on March 15, 2011, 05:40:05 PM
Nice going Cali. Nice talks Theobald. I have respect for you.
Post by: kiffysmooth on March 15, 2011, 06:08:42 PM
Nice lil chread man.... ah wish Cali best of luck!  Big tings to come!
Post by: weary1969 on March 15, 2011, 06:36:21 PM
Kiffy is 2 Theobald as Patriot is 2 Sealy.

Welcome bck Kiffy.
Title: Injury woes for Caledonia AIA
Post by: Tallman on April 17, 2011, 07:09:16 AM
Injury woes for Caledonia AIA
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THREE Caledonia AIA of Morvant-Laventille starters are definitely out and another is battling injury ahead of their Good Friday Caribbean Club Championship Cup match against Haitian champions Tempete United.

By virtue of a second place finish in the 2010-2011 Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, Caledonia qualified for Caribbean competition for the first time in their history.

They play four-time Haitian champs Tempete on April 22 (Good Friday) in the second match of a Caribbean Club Championship Cup double-header at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.

Defence Force, newly-crowned Pro League champions, take a 4-0 away victory into their second leg match against Guyanese club Milerock, which will be played at 6 p.m., while two hours later Caledonia face Tempete United in the opening leg of their second round series. The teams meet again on May 7 in Haiti.

Injuries have hit Caledonia AIA hard at the end of an extended Pro League season.

Swashbuckling, attacking midfielder Ryan Stewart is fighting to recover from a calf injury, while 17-year-old Guyanese striker Trayon Bobb is out with knee problems.

Both Stewart and Bobb were among the scorers when Caledonia won their home match 5-0 over St Kitts champs Newtown United on March 19.

Central defender Nuru Muhammad, who forms a regular partnership with Daniel Cyrus, is expected to be out for six weeks. And their defence is further compromised by the departure of attack-minded left-sided Guyanese defender Walter Moore, who has left for greener pastures and is now playing with Charlotte Eagles in the United States.

Caledonia outclassed Newtown United in the opening round, winning 1-0 away and 5-0 at home, to take the tie 6-0 on aggregate. But coach Jamaal Shabazz expects Tempete to be far stronger.

Tempete are currently the most formidable team in Haiti and have won the Haitian league for the last three years (2008, 2009, 2010). The last two of those wins have come under coach Plaisir Wilcuins, a former Haitian national player. Wilcuins, who holds a bachelor's degree in physical education, played in Europe for ten years. He was a member of the victorious Haitian side who beat Trinidad and Tobago 2-1 in Port of Spain to win the 2007 Digicel Caribbean Cup tournament.

Also in the Tempete squad is striker Elifne Cadet, who was also in the 2007 squad that won the Caribbean Cup.

Despite their setbacks, Shabazz thinks Caledonia have enough quality to field a side good enough to beat the Haitians.

"This is the kind of challenge we have got to overcome if we want to go to the CONCACAF Champions League," he stated. "We have just come off a super-long season and injuries are part of the reality of football. Other players will get an opportunity to justify their paychecks and presence on the roster.

"The competition for a starting position is still pretty keen and three or four players have an opportunity to get into the starting line-up," added Shabazz.

"The good thing is that they will want to perform to seal their places in the XI, so while it is challenging it is also quite interesting."

Shabazz said Moore's departure opens up a space for either Marcus "Schoolboy" Ambrose or Ishmael "Tech" Daniel, who will be competing for the left-back position. Ambrose recently returned to the team from Joe Public.

And Guyana Under-20 skipper Colin Nelson and Kemron Purcell are battling for the centre back position left vacant by Muhammad's injury.

"It gets even more interesting when you consider that Jean Luc Rochford and Abdallah Phillips are fighting for the spot left by Ryan Stewart," Shabazz said. "These are two quality players who bring different strengths to the table and afford us an opportunity as a staff to really think things through and see what is the ideal balance for the team."

CARIBBEAN CLUB CHAMPIONS CUP SECOND-LEG:

(Good FridayApril 22)

6 p.m.Defence Force (T&T) vs Milerock (Guyana), Hasely Crawford Stadium
8 p.m.Caledonia AIA (T&T) vs Tempete FC (Haiti), Hasely Crawford Stadium
Title: Re: Injury woes for Caledonia AIA
Post by: dreamer on April 17, 2011, 07:15:49 AM
C'mon Cali, fight dem. Iz war. T&T needs you to win.
Post by: injunchile on April 18, 2011, 11:32:43 AM
Well Cornell Glen has given them some attacking power
Post by: dreamer on April 18, 2011, 08:34:24 PM
Well Cornell Glen has given them some attacking power

Title: Caledonia equipped with Glen for second leg Tempte clash
Post by: Tallman on May 02, 2011, 12:44:52 PM
Caledonia equipped with Glen for second leg Tempte clash
ttproleague.com

Better late than never, surely the opinion felt by Caledonia AIA head coach Jamaal Shabazz as he welcomes the addition of Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup striker and former San Jose Earthquakes player Cornell Glen in a much needed time.

Caledonia is left with an uphill task when it visits home-side Tempte FC of Haiti on Sunday 08 May in the second-leg of the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship Second Round needing to win by two clear goals to advance into the semi-final round.

The Shabazz coached side suffered a 1-0 first-leg defeat against the Haitians on Friday 22 April at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Trinidad.

Shabazz believes his side is boosted by the availability of the 30 year old Glen, whose transfer delays lasted just over a month.

One of the key points for us is that Cornell Glen will be available for this game, said Shabazz following one of his teams training sessions at the Hasely Crawford Stadium last Thursday.

And being able to have his(Glen) experience is going to certainly help us.

Longstanding Caledonia captain Stephan David shares the same opinion saying, Cornell Glen brings a lot of experience to the team and being away from home we are hoping what he brings will count.

Shabazz was also delighted to add that defender Sheldon Emmanuel who only joined the team two days before the home leg against Tempte would have had a lot more training under his belt ahead of the second-leg in Haiti.

Caledonia is expected to arrive in Haiti on Saturday and return home on Tuesday following Sundays crucial clash.

The Morvant/Laventille based club is seeking to join fellow Digicel Pro League club Defence Force in the semi-final round of the CFU Club Championship.

Guyanas Alpha United has already secured its spot in the semi-final round while the remaining second-round series has the defending champion Puerto Rico Islanders against Walking Boyz of Suriname, which will be played May 7 and May 14.
Title: Caledonia leave for Haiti today
Post by: Tallman on May 06, 2011, 04:36:50 AM
Caledonia leave for Haiti today
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

WITH new signing Cornell Glen in the ranks, Trinidad and Tobago Pro League runners-up Caledonia AIA leave today for Haiti on a rescue mission to overturn a 1-0 deficit in their Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Champions Cup tie against Haitian champions Tempete FC.

The Haitians start favourites to win the two-leg tie, after stealing a 1-0 away win in Trinidad on April 22. The teams meet again on Sunday from 5 p.m. at Parc Levelt in Saint Marc, Haiti, for a place in the CFU semi-finals.

Already qualified are Alpha United (Guyana), who edged Puerto Rico's River Plate 3-2 over two legs, while Defence Force (T&T) outclassed Guyana's Milerock 7-0 on aggregate.

On Saturday, defending champions Puerto Rico Islanders will contest the opening leg of their quarter-final when they travel to Suriname to meet Walking Boys.

The four-team CFU final round will be played from May 25 and has been switched from Trinidad and Tobago to Guyana. The top three Caribbean finishers will qualify for the preliminary round of the CONCACAF Champions League.

Caledonia held their final training session yesterday and were confident of doing something positive in Haiti on Sunday.

"We will be going all out to try and equalise first, and then we will try and win the tie" said Caledonia AIA head coach Jamaal Shabazz. "It will be an uphill challenge for us to rise above because this match can shape the future of our players and the club.

"The situation we are in, where we are playing with our backs against the wall, is not new to us," added Shabazz. "They say that St Marc is in the best part of Haiti. The good thing is that the situation in Haiti is no different to what has been happening with us (Caledonia), so we should be very comfortable there."

Training with Caledonia yesterday was 30-year-old Glen, who represented Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 World Cup and has played with five Major League Soccer (MLS) clubs in the United States, the last being San Jose Earthquakes

The former San Juan Jabloteh striker has returned home and signed a short contract with Caledonia.

"He is still rounding into form and is not yet the Cornell Glen we have known," said Shabazz. "He still cannot carry all the load, but he will take some of the burden off us in attack."

Captain Stephan David, a defensive midfielder who has played for T&T, believes that Caledonia can do the business.

"At first we were a little down from the defeat, but we saw that we could have come back from the defeat," he said. "So the approach now is to go across (to Haiti) and do what we can do by any means necessary to come back with the right result."
Title: Re: Caledonia leave for Haiti today
Post by: madness on May 06, 2011, 04:52:27 AM
sounds positive go for it
Title: Re: Caledonia equipped with Glen for second leg Tempte clash
Post by: SHOTTA on May 08, 2011, 06:03:21 PM
any word on this game yet?
Post by: truehaitian on May 08, 2011, 06:49:47 PM
It looks like Tempet of Haiti has won it 3-2 on penalty kicks
Post by: g on May 09, 2011, 10:16:22 AM
if we're not good enough then we're not good enough.

Back to our regularily scheduled program.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2011, 10:55:03 AM
if we're not good enough then we're not good enough.

Back to our regularily scheduled program.

Post by: MEP on May 09, 2011, 12:11:44 PM
another finely coached shabazz team
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2011, 12:47:38 PM
another finely coached shabazz team

Fitting end... only thing he should be coaching is ah Golden Grove XI anyways.
Post by: rippin on May 09, 2011, 01:04:19 PM
They won the game 1-0 but lost on penalties.

http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/home/component/content/article/614-tempete-qualify-to-cfu-club-champions-cup-finals.html (http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/home/component/content/article/614-tempete-qualify-to-cfu-club-champions-cup-finals.html)
Post by: vb on May 09, 2011, 01:28:03 PM
They won the game 1-0 but lost on penalties.

http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/home/component/content/article/614-tempete-qualify-to-cfu-club-champions-cup-finals.html (http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/home/component/content/article/614-tempete-qualify-to-cfu-club-champions-cup-finals.html)

Tough luck Cali.

Post by: Big Magician on May 09, 2011, 07:49:35 PM
yea...tough
keep it going
Post by: kiffysmooth on May 09, 2011, 11:55:38 PM
Also heard Bleeder get man ah d match! kudos to him! ........on a side note doh, Mods is time to tek dong dah gally cummings video please...ah fed up see it every time ah log on.  Is done ah prehistoric quality aready!!
Post by: Deeks on May 10, 2011, 07:12:03 AM
Also heard Bleeder get man ah d match! kudos to him! ........on a side note doh, Mods is time to tek dong dah gally cummings video please...ah fed up see it every time ah log on.  Is done ah prehistoric quality aready!!

All you need to do is click the one below
Post by: Flex on May 11, 2011, 04:50:06 AM
Caledonia goes out on penalties.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Digicel T&T Pro League runner-up Caledonia AIA was dumped from the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship after bowing to Haitian champions, Tempete 3-2 on penalty kicks in Saint-Marc, on Sunday.

This after the T&T club won the second round second-leg clash 1-0 at Parc Levelt to even the home-and-away series at 1-1 and send the match to a penalty-kicks decider before a large crowd after losing the first-leg match at Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar on April 22 by the same scoreline.

Tempete now joins Guyana champions Alpha United and Digicel T&T Pro League winner and two-time CFU kings, Defence Force in the semifinal round to be played in Guyana from May 23rd and 25th.

The remaining semifinal spot will be determined on Saturday when defending champions Puerto Rico Islanders host Surinames Walking Boyz with the series locked at 1-1.

Walking Boyz scored in the 48th minute through Clifton Sandvliet, but the Islanders got an equaliser in injury time from Jamie Cunningham. The semifinal winners and third placed team will qualify for the Concacaf Champions League.
Title: Caledonia boost squad with 7 foreign signings.
Post by: Flex on January 30, 2014, 06:24:17 PM
U.S. midfielder Ralph Lundy pledges to excite Pro League.
ttproleague.com.

Caledonia AIA new-boy Ralph Lundy III is promising something new and exciting to the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League. And it has nothing to do with the fact that he is one of the few Americans to ever play professionally in the twin-island.

The 23-year-old Lundy, yet to make his mark anywhere professionally, said, I can bring some excitement and something that people aren't accustomed to seeing on a regular basis.

I think my skills set is with my distribution and creating chances to go to goalmy visionthat's definitely apart from players down here.

Lundy is a former teammate of T&T and recently signed Central FC midfielder Sean de Silva at the College of Charleston, where his father Ralph Lundy II, continues to serve as the long-standing and very successful coach, isnt a stranger to the twin-island.

Unknown to most, Lundy has very close ties to T&T. Ever since his junior years he would frequently visit Tobago the island of his parents honeymoon where he would train under his fathers friend and former T&T head coach, Bertille St. Clair, at the Bertille St. Clair Coaching School.

St. Clair and present T&T technical director Anton Corneal both served Lundys fathers at his Ralph Lundy Soccer Academy Summer Camp in the past, and well before that, Corneal and Kestor Lendor, president of Super League club Real Maracas, both played under Ralph Lundy II. while attending Erskine College and College of Charleston, respectively.

Literally (St. Clair) raised me in soccer and I have to credit him a lot in terms of my soccer. Both him and Anton Corneal had a massive role in my soccer development, said Lundy III.

Years later, and out of college, Lundy joined United Soccer League (USL) Professional Division side Charleston Battery on trial during the 2013 pre-season and unluckily suffered a torn anterior cruciate ligament (ACL). He was side-lined for seven months following surgery, and today credits Greg Banks, athletics trainer for the U.S. Women's National Team and U.S. Soccer Federation,  for his successful recovery.

Lundy arrived in Trinidad last November on the invitation of Real Maracas' Lendor, but explained, I got the opportunity to train with Caledonia and coach Jamaal (Shabazz) thought I can make a difference in his team.

He would certainly add some colour to the team, said the riveting Shabazz. His ability to play the ball to the back of defences is something that we need in the team. And for him to choose to play with us, has humbled us tremendously that Caledonia could attract players of different races. Who knows very soon the nephew of Sat Maharajthe secretary general of the major Hindu organisation in T&T the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabhawill come to our team."

Shabazz in his efforts to inject new blood a rebuilding attempt in a team that is suffering the effects of wear-and-tear have included midfielders Jameel Shooter Neptune, 20, Guyanese Pernell Schultz, 19, Dylon King, 20, Vincentian Nical Stephens, 21; St Lucian defender Otev Lawrence, 17; and forwards St Lucian Lester Joseph, 20, Grenadian Denron Frederick, 24, and veteran Conrad Smith returning from a short stint at St. Anns Rangers.

Jamaican goalkeeper Kevin Graham, 30, also returned during the December/January while 21-year-old goalkeeper Jesse Peters was snapped up.

We focused a lot on youth because we are at a rebuilding stage, explained Shabazz. Weve got to keep an eye on the club with regards to (veteran players) Abdallah Phillips and Stephan David.

Shabazz singled out former Central FC and Malabar FC midfielder Neptune as player with promising talent.

The Caledonia head coach said, I think in the case of Jameel Shooter Neptune, its only natural that a shooter will want to come to Morvant/Laventille. But this is a shooter with a difference. He is a very talented footballer, good head on his shoulders, and I think he will be the future shock of the local game.

I followed him closely in the Super League with Malabar and I think once he works hard, he will bring a lot to the table.

As for our signings from other islands, we have a commitment to our Caribbean neighbours in the same way we see the development of youths in Morvant/Laventille. Its the same development we want for the youths of Georgetown (Guyana), Casties (St Lucia) and Kingstown (St Vincent). Ideologically, Caledonia AIA is about one Caribbean people. We are the West Indies.

Caledonia, winners of the 2012 Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championship and last seasons Digicel Pro League runners-up behind champions Defence Force, will vie for a third consecutive Concacaf Champions League appearance in Caribbean qualifiers which runs from February 19 26.

Its one of the biggest reasons why I'm here, said Lundy, who is signed on a short-term contract, with an option to renew. It's a big opportunity (for players to play in the Concacaf Champions League)... one that doesn't come around to every player.

But domestically Caledonia are in desperate need of points, sitting sixth on the nine-team Pro League table with 14 points, just as fifth positioned Central FC, and a miserable 3:5:3 record.

Ahead of them are Point Fortin Civic, North East Stars and Police FC, all with 17 points, while undefeated runaway leaders DIRECTV W Connection enjoys a 15-point lead with 32 points.

Caledonia next faces cross-town rivals and eight positioned San Juan Jabloteh from 8 pm on Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, following a 6 pm clash between Police FC and Central FC.

Im hoping that we can find our feet and climb the table, Lundy said. () and put some pressure on Connection because they are on cruise control.

Connection meanwhile will travel to the Mahaica Oval on Saturday to tackle home side Point Fortin Civic from 3.30 pm in the Round Two Match Day Five top of the table clash.

Title: Re: Caledonia boost squad with 7 foreign signings.
Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2014, 06:54:02 PM
Ralph Lundy III signing his Caledonia contract.

(http://www.journalscene.com/storyimage/JS/20140102/MN11/140109935/AR/0/AR-140109935.jpg)
Post by: Sam on January 30, 2014, 06:59:53 PM
Pathetic !!!!

Jamaal always talking about the development of Morvant/Laventille players but yet not one of his players are from his community.

No wonder no one goes to see these games as they do not feel connected to the clubs.

We want to take football back to de community and we signing second rated foreign players.

I dont understand where they getting the money to pay these men and house them too but everyday he is de press cringe for money.

So W Connection have about 18 foreign players and Caledonia have about 12. So between just two clubs we have about 28 foreign players.

We really that bad or starving for talent in T&T?

Who here living in T&T feel we suffering that bad for players?

How de government helping these teams and de one who have full local players not getting help?

FS, help me out here?

Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2014, 07:02:09 PM
We want to take football back to de community and we signing second rated foreign players.

That's the market.
Post by: Sam on January 30, 2014, 07:04:30 PM

That's the market.

So import cheap labour and water down de league.

Maybe I judging wrong, maybe we local youths don't care about football anymore.

We have over 200 SSFL players every year and none eh care.

Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2014, 07:06:52 PM
He would certainly add some colour to the team, said the riveting Shabazz. His ability to play the ball to the back of defences is something that we need in the team. And for him to choose to play with us, has humbled us tremendously that Caledonia could attract players of different races. Who knows very soon the nephew of Sat Maharajthe secretary general of the major Hindu organisation in T&T the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabhawill come to our team."

Too flowery, even by the Shabazz meter.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2014, 07:07:40 PM

That's the market.

Sam, you have the impression that Caledonia did Lundy a favor?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2014, 07:09:23 PM
Who is the third person in the photo?
Post by: Sam on January 30, 2014, 07:35:16 PM
It look like Lachoo, de Joe Public coach.?

Post by: Sam on January 30, 2014, 07:36:38 PM

That's the market.

Sam, you have the impression that Caledonia did Lundy a favor?

No, maybe Lundy is a good player, who knows.

I am talking overall, we need to limit to just 6 foreign players to each team.

Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2014, 07:55:14 PM

Assistant Coach, Rajesh Latchoo.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2014, 08:20:23 PM

Assistant Coach, Rajesh Latchoo.

Oh hoh, dahis Latchoo ... ah find he look Brent Dukhie-esque. Wasn't sure.

http://www.socawarriors.net/foreign-based/college-news/6590-concordia-college-captures-uscaa-2009-mens-soccer-national-championship.html
Post by: elan on January 30, 2014, 08:38:43 PM
Corneal - Shabazz connection alive and kicking.
Post by: Football supporter on January 30, 2014, 11:08:56 PM
Pathetic !!!!

Jamaal always talking about the development of Morvant/Laventille players but yet not one of his players are from his community.

No wonder no one goes to see these games as they do not feel connected to the clubs.

I dont understand where they getting the money to pay these men and house them too but everyday he is de press cringe for money.

So W Connection have about 18 foreign players and Caledonia have about 12. So between just two clubs we have about 28 foreign players.

We really that bad or starving for talent in T&T?

Who here living in T&T feel we suffering that bad for players?

How de government helping these teams and de one who have full local players not getting help?

FS, help me out here?

One thing I will admit is that it is hard to find good quality players in T&T.  Look at where we found our players:

Mitchell, Winchester ....Tobago
Plaza ....Vietnam
Marshall.... Myanmar (Burma)
de Silva ...... USA
Paul..... Guaya (previously USA)
Guerra.....Finland

I see four things happening here.
Any decent youngsters want a college education, go to the states and stay there with help from coaches such as La Foucard.
The ones who can't get a scholarship want to stay in school to play intercol. By the time they turn to the Pro League they have lost two or three years of development and are ordinary.
Others join the Army, Police, T&TEC, WASA because they have a guaranteed income and it's an easy ride for a footballer.
Clubs such as Connection, Caledonia and now Central recognise that there is no point just building a team to win the league, you have to build a team to get through CFU.

There is not one single professional academy in T&T. Even if there was, would kids go there and understand the importance of staying there? The youth leagues are not sufficient because the clubs either do not have enough funding to properly coach the kids or they do not want to direct the funds there.

And it will get worse. The Pro League have just effectively scrapped the Reserve league. This was where your 19 & 20 year olds who aren't getting regular spots in the first team, get their regular competitive football so they can step up. Quintero is a good example of a product of the Reserves. He would play against guys from other clubs first team squads, instead of playing against kids. So this season, he was ready for the Pro League. Now we have to play as U18's and put our 19 & 20 year olds in there. Also, our players who didn't make the team at the weekend would usually play in the reserves on Mondays. As would senior players coming back from injury. How can we expect, say, Marvin Oliver or Keion Goodridge to play against 16 year olds in the U18's? Only St Anns Rangers and Central voted against the changes.
Everywhere, the Reserves are vital to development and first team preparation. I once saw Luca Modric, Gomes, Ledley King and Aaron Lennon all playing for Spurs reserves vs Orient reserves on a cold Monday night.

Also, there are not enough qualified youth coaches, and the salaries are not high enough to encourage coaches to improve.

We can complain a lot more about not receiving govt money and other clubs spending it on foreign players, but if we create too much noise, maybe the govt will pull the plug on funding all together. If that happens, there will be no Pro League, which doesn't help anyone.
All we can do at Central is follow our philosophy and hope it pays off.
But I can guarantee that Central will sign 2 or 3 foreign players in the next 12 months, because it is a benefit to bring foreign players into the squad, if they are decent.
We have said several times that our aim is to see 5 or 6 Central players regularly in the SNT, and I think we may get near to that by the summer.
Post by: Tiresais on January 31, 2014, 04:26:20 AM
I agree with FS - we do have some good SSFL players but they want to live in the limelight - players want to be the biggest fish in a small pond rather than grow in a more competitive environment, and without professional contracts can you blame players wanting to only go semi-pro or join teams like Defence Force?

There's a serious problem in Trini football of lack of money, caused by lack of attendance - the league can't live on 50 fans a game. Once we get clubs sustainable we can talk about youth academies and pro contracts, which will improve our game exponentially. Attendances will break the (sometimes unreliable) dependency on the government as an important benefit.

Not sure about these signings tho - W Connections players had some internet presence and caps, but I can barely find info on half these foreign signings - the Grenadian only exists in this move, Lundy appears only at College and his dad's soccer camp, Joseph has no presence and doesn't make the national team (Otev Lawrence has 4 caps at 17 years old, in comparison). The rest play ball in Trini...
Post by: Deeks on January 31, 2014, 06:05:45 PM
There is not one single professional academy in T&T. Even if there was, would kids go there and understand the importance of staying there?

They would, if the academy education curriculum is like any high scool in TT. You must have it like a high school for parents to feel comfortable. They have to do GCE. So if they don't make it in the academy, they have their high school diploma.
Title: Re: Caledonia AIA/Morvant Caledonia United Thread.
Post by: Flex on February 04, 2020, 09:55:09 PM
FYI

In March 2004 both Arima Morvant Fire and Caledonia AIA merged and became one team under the name of Caledonia AIA Fire. A couple of years later the Club dropped the Fire tag and kept the name Caledonia AIA. In 2015 the Club again had a name change and is now known as Morvant Caledonia United.