Sports => Football => Topic started by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 05:06:36 PM

Title: Richest athlete in T and T
Post by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 05:06:36 PM
With Stephen Ames winning almost 1.5 million US over the weekend. It brings an interesting question.

Who is the richest athlete in the twin island republic? Who has generated the most income in their respective carrers

Title: Re: Richest Athelithe in T and T
Post by: R45 on March 28, 2006, 05:11:45 PM
Lara, Yorke and Ato would be up there. I'm sure they make a lot more in endorsements.
Post by: jai john on March 28, 2006, 05:14:32 PM
With Stephen Ames winning almost 1.5 million US over the weekend. It brings an interesting question.

Who is the richest athlete in the twin island republic? Who has generated the most income in their respective carrers

Warner !
Post by: Cowen on March 28, 2006, 05:18:02 PM
Dwight Yorke by far. The winning CL teams gets about 10 million pounds .......... and ManU players get a nice piece of that.

Not to forget Yorke playing in the highest league and earning top dollar for practicularly his entire career......... and we ain't even talk bout endorsements yet.......

I'll put Lara second.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 28, 2006, 05:20:23 PM
Dwight Yorke by far. The winning CL teams gets about 10 million pounds .......... and ManU players get a nice piece of that.

Not to forget Yorke playing in the highest league and earning top dollar for practicularly his entire career......... and we ain't even talk bout endorsements yet.......

I'll put Lara second.
agreed...Yorke is probably tops..Lara makes most of his money in endorsements..and the fete he throws  :devil:
Post by: Filho on March 28, 2006, 05:23:05 PM
nah man. respect the forum and edit that title nah horse. this is a big international forum representing T&T, so spell athlete proper nah. we all go make typos and we all go write how we speak...but i eh know what dat one is boss.

I guessing is Ato...man used to get paid some big big appearance fees to run during the European race season..and some of his endorsement contracts was still on even after he announced his retirement.
Post by: Grande on March 28, 2006, 05:24:37 PM
Yorke for sure...that is if you talking about atheletes from T&T, not living IN T&T
Post by: legal alien on March 28, 2006, 05:26:16 PM
if you talking about one person, i'd say dwight yorke. it's one thing to have played for the richest soccer  club(Man U-big salary) in the most watched sports league(PRIMIER LEAGUE -extra money FROM TV RIGHTS ) in the world.it's  another to have won every title with them(PRIZE MONEY).
   and we haven't mentioned his other clubs and endorsements..
Post by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 05:26:34 PM

I'll put Lara second.
agreed...Yorke is probably tops..Lara makes most of his money in endorsements..and the fete he throws :devil:

Agreed.
but hear this.. Ato Boldon had a contract with shoe powerhouse Addidas. He also has smaller endorsements as well as he is now he does color commentry for CBS (or abc .. Im not to sure)
He has accumulated alot in his short carrer.. and now he has a senator check to add to his "stipend"

Check it out
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 28, 2006, 05:27:04 PM
it have to be yorke.malta give him real money fuh dat ad. :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Filho on March 28, 2006, 05:32:31 PM
at the end of the day...dis is crap, cuz it doh ONLY matter how much money yuh make...is how much yuh spend. So men only looking at half the equation.

Plus...I feel big dawg getting kix off Yorke in the Malta Carib ad...athelithe?
Post by: Jefferz on March 28, 2006, 05:34:06 PM
Lara, Yorke and Ato would be up there. I'm sure they make a lot more in endorsements.

nope Stephen is endorsed by Nike and they pay generously... Yorke should be up their... Lara maybe... But i think Stephen takin dat category.
Title: Re: Richest athlete in T and T
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 28, 2006, 05:34:35 PM
at the end of the day...dis is crap, cuz it doh ONLY matter how much money yuh make...is how much yuh spend. So men only looking at half the equation.

\
 :rotfl: :rotfl: wen i see de title of de topic i say wayyyyyyyyyyyz dat is some serious typo!
Post by: JayTheWrecker on March 28, 2006, 05:35:04 PM
I'd say Stephen Ames, and that's even before his TPC win

Dwight was on big money when he was with Man Utd. but how many years was he there? not many... and also EPL stars in 1999 were earning nothing like they earn now. Stephen Ames to date has won over 10 million US$ in prize money, and add to that appearance fees and endorsements etc.
Post by: doh_stick on March 28, 2006, 05:37:29 PM

Dwight was on big money when he was with Man Utd. but how many years was he there? not many... and also EPL stars in 1999 were earning nothing like they earn now. Stephen Ames to date has won over 10 million US$ in prize money, and add to that appearance fees and endorsements etc.

Ames up dey but doh forget de pound stronger den de greenback..Ah feel Yorke take it..in terms of earnings. Saving/investing might be another story doh..
Post by: Trinimassive on March 28, 2006, 05:38:14 PM
Yorke was getting paid 25,000 pounds PER WEEK to play in the EPL.

How yuh go beat that ???

That is real bread and Carib :chilling:
Post by: palos on March 28, 2006, 05:46:42 PM

Dem fellas does "win" a tournament and people see de prize money and assume de winner get all dat.

Golf is a real expensive game.  Most of all, yuh need SPONSORS to even play on de PGA Tour.  Stephen Ames not in de Tiger Woods category.  Up to de oddah day i.e. prior to he breakout season year before last, he was strugglin jes to make it through de tour.

Plus remember....de ting wit golf is.....if yuh miss de cut, yuh goin home wit NADAS...NUTTING...ZERO!!!!  Even if yuh eh miss de cut but miss top 15.....is petty change yuh ridin home with.  If yuh winnin regular or in top 10 regular...yuh go be ok.  But if not.....is serious salt yuh suckin.

I eh sayin de man poor or anyting, but dah prizemoney fuh a golfer like Ames does a lot of de times go back to repayin sponsors etc.  Now dat he is a Players Championship winner....he eh go have to pay to fly to no tournament, eh eh go have to pay he own accomodation and meals and ting.  He good fuh a while.  Everyting he earn FROM NOW go be lagniappe....but de road to get dey eh easy.

As for who is de wealthiest......Man make a good case fuh Yorke in trute.  Footballers generally make more than cricketers....but Yorke is Yorke....and Lara is Lara.  Lara is the best in his sport....for some years now too.  Yorke, while still makin good money, on the downslope of his career.  Lara is still the best bastman in cricket and arguably the greatest ever batsman in cricket.

I eh think it so clear cut as people makin it out to be fuh Yorke.

But imagine dat eh......We little tiny nation of 1.sumting million peeps produce a man who is arguably de greatest ever in he discipline.  GREATEST EVER eh....I does still shake meh head in amazement at dat.  Daz a serious accomplishment.
Post by: kicker on March 28, 2006, 05:50:29 PM

By richest, I think he just means highest paid.......we don't know what they do with their money, so that is beyond us....

easy on Big Dawg man.........typo or not, give him a bligh

My guess is Dwight Yorke followed closely by Carlos sexy Baynes, Jimmy Farmer Joseph, Derick cornbread james and Patrick KK Joseph....
Post by: Jefferz on March 28, 2006, 05:52:16 PM

Dem fellas does "win" a tournament and people see de prize money and assume de winner get all dat.

Golf is a real expensive game.  Most of all, yuh need SPONSORS to even play on de PGA Tour.  Stephen Ames not in de Tiger Woods category.  Up to de oddah day i.e. prior to he breakout season year before last, he was strugglin jes to make it through de tour.

Plus remember....de ting wit golf is.....if yuh miss de cut, yuh goin home wit NADAS...NUTTING...ZERO!!!!  Even if yuh eh miss de cut but miss top 15.....is petty change yuh ridin home with.  If yuh winnin regular or in top 10 regular...yuh go be ok.  But if not.....is serious salt yuh suckin.

I eh sayin de man poor or anyting, but dah prizemoney fuh a golfer like Ames does a lot of de times go back to repayin sponsors etc.  Now dat he is a Players Championship winner....he eh go have to pay to fly to no tournament, eh eh go have to pay he own accomodation and meals and ting.  He good fuh a while.  Everyting he earn FROM NOW go be lagniappe....but de road to get dey eh easy.

As for who is de wealthiest......Man make a good case fuh Yorke in trute.  Footballers generally make more than cricketers....but Yorke is Yorke....and Lara is Lara.  Lara is the best in his sport....for some years now too.  Yorke, while still makin good money, on the downslope of his career.  Lara is still the best bastman in cricket and arguably the greatest ever batsman in cricket.

I eh think it so clear cut as people makin it out to be fuh Yorke.

But imagine dat eh......We little tiny nation of 1.sumting million peeps produce a man who is arguably de greatest ever in he discipline.  GREATEST EVER eh....I does still shake meh head in amazement at dat.  Daz a serious accomplishment.

yea true... and roby gehin 10% ah he money fuh bein caddy.

he hadda pay he coach he physical therypist... is rel expennse in truth.
Post by: duscam on March 28, 2006, 05:52:58 PM
DWIGHT YORKE..remember at the time he got transfered his transfer fee broke the record for richest transfer to manchester...12 million pounds ...he got 10 percent of that plus heis weekly salary was like 25,000 pounds or some ridiculous figure..by far dwight...
Post by: Warrior till death on March 28, 2006, 05:59:51 PM
Dwight Yorke was with to a porn star an all
boy when yuh have money any girl u could have
women so air headed oui...once dey see money...dey dere full speed

hoping to be rich like dat in de nex few years ;D
Post by: doh_stick on March 28, 2006, 06:04:21 PM

Porn star...boy Yorke have underground tape dat go make paris hilton real soft..so dey say.. yorke mus be touch more ting in one night den men touch in a year...
;) :beermug:
Post by: Warrior till death on March 28, 2006, 06:10:38 PM

Porn star...boy Yorke have underground tape dat go make paris hilton real soft..so dey say.. yorke mus be touch more ting in one night den men touch in a year...
;) :beermug:
Post by: doh_stick on March 28, 2006, 06:14:19 PM
but anways dis thread is about the richest athelete so le we keep it to dat..yes..
Post by: MickeyRat on March 28, 2006, 06:31:10 PM
It have some real imps on this forum yuh know.  How all yuh go call the man ah porn star? 
The man does hit de very best of pun-nannies the world has to offer.  That doh make him a John Holmes per say, he is just a normal Tobagonian .  Them fellas jammin prime livestock anywhere they set foot.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 28, 2006, 06:32:02 PM
Stephen Ames thumbs up by a WIDE margin.-$10 Million U.S. plus endorsements are already mentioned

People forget to mention his years of playing in Europe, he won a couple tournaments there as well.
In terms of the future, he has the opportunity to continue increasing his gains throughout the next 10-15 with the Senior Tour as well....

His earning power will only increase because TV rights are increasing (Tiger factor), so almost every tournament is worth at least 800,000 to 1 Mil U.S.  He rarely misses cuts and still even when he is having a bad tournament he still get a 20,000US here and there.  
Post by: Jahyouth on March 28, 2006, 06:38:40 PM

By richest, I think he just means highest paid.......we don't know what they do with their money, so that is beyond us....

My guess is Dwight Yorke followed closely by Carlos sexy Baynes, Jimmy Farmer Joseph, Derick cornbread james and Patrick KK Joseph....

KK making all dat money and still missing he front teet?!

my vote is for Leslie Tiger Stewart

Post by: TnTVillan on March 28, 2006, 06:42:10 PM
Lara

Yoke making good money but lara have money saved and invested. What was the last thing lara bought?

A brand new black mercedes sl 55 amg. retail price is $125,000 us. Brian endorsements worth 10 times wht dwight endorsements are. Dwight have a better salary but that's a given on the simple fact that lara paid by a board that battling wipa where as dwight playing for a club loaded on money.

Individual sponsorship lara have mrf,adidas shoes both have to be worth big money and he have money from old endorsements gray nicolls, rudeboy, im sure he made big money on the gray nicolls bats with his name on it, brian lara cricket from codemasters the list goes on for lara.

Yorke doh have that is he endorsed by adidas to wear their shoes??

Post by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 07:15:00 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: Last time I saw Leslie Stewart, he was working in Sports and Games in Gulf City.

p.s I do that typo fuh spite..lol
Post by: dumpalewie on March 28, 2006, 07:17:46 PM
nah man. respect the forum and edit that title nah horse. this is a big international forum representing T&T, so spell athlete proper nah. we all go make typos and we all go write how we speak...but i eh know what dat one is boss.

I guessing is Ato...man used to get paid some big big appearance fees to run during the European race season..and some of his endorsement contracts was still on even after he announced his retirement.
Of all the big guns Ato is the poorest. That is why he need money from Jack now. (Just kicksing) ;D

Nah it must be between Dwight and Lara. Remember Lara is one of the preeminent names in a sport followed by greater than 1billion people. India is a becoming a major power.
Post by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 07:28:42 PM
if anybody from Tobago on this forum.. let me know how big Dwight Mansion is...(if he have one at all?)

Post by: oconnorg on March 28, 2006, 07:43:04 PM

I'll put Lara second.

I agree here.. Mt Yorke is the richest athlete in T&T. possibly the caribbean... Ames doh count.. he is canadian.. Lara rich, but I doubt he is as rich as yorke... Ato rich.. but yorke have LEVEL money...

Can any one name the Fist type of car Mr Yorke bought while living in england ... :beermug: Try allyuh luck..
Post by: Warrior till death on March 28, 2006, 07:45:37 PM

I'll put Lara second.

I agree here.. Mt Yorke is the richest athlete in T&T. possibly the caribbean... Ames doh count.. he is canadian.. Lara rich, but I doubt he is as rich as yorke... Ato rich.. but yorke have LEVEL money...

Can any one name the Fist type of car Mr Yorke bought while living in england ... :beermug: Try allyuh luck..

Aston Martin
Post by: rastafari on March 28, 2006, 07:48:16 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: Last time I saw Leslie Stewart, he was working in Sports and Games in Gulf City.

p.s I do that typo fuh spite..lol

The last time i see him he was working in kenny's.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Post by: Quags on March 28, 2006, 07:57:13 PM
Frankie Boodram multimillionair racecar driver still lock down in trini. :devil: make he money right there.
Post by: che on March 28, 2006, 08:01:09 PM
His team gave him a house . He sign a BIG endosment contract with a shoe company.
SO Whitley has to be the richest. ;D
Post by: big dawg on March 28, 2006, 08:25:59 PM
His team gave him a house . He sign a BIG endosment contract with a shoe company.
SO Whitley has to be the richest. ;D
Post by: elan on March 28, 2006, 08:39:27 PM
Ames cannot come close to Dwight Yorke Ato Boldon and Lara. You ever saw the pics of Yorke's mansion in England, a castle baby. Look at Boldon ear that diamond worth over $ US 80,000, if I am not mistaken. Ato's has about 3 or four adidas commercial that was on in europe. Remember when Lara recahed a certain amount of runs while in progress of breaking the world record, he got paid by runs made. Plus his 501 bats, plus his jeans, after he hit the 501.
Them's the big dogs, you cannot put anyone else up they.
Post by: Dutty on March 28, 2006, 10:10:18 PM

Nah Yorke have de big gun$$

Yuh eh see how hard Ato hustlin to sell some DVD to buy ah ugly high performance car  ;D

*ah bracin fuh ah cyber buss head fuh dat one*
Post by: bryonji on March 28, 2006, 10:21:26 PM

Yuh eh see how hard Ato hustlin to sell some DVD to buy ah ugly high performance car  ;D

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2006, 10:54:45 PM
Yes I will give to Yorke, he was caught on the M50 in a Ferarri Modena, and he does have a mansion. but his career is almost over and Ames still have the senior PGA tour to look forward to and he has a restaurant. Which says he will have money for a while. Plus if Ames keep winning look what Nike will continue to do with him.

De richest athlete in Trinidad and Tobago is Frankie Boodram, because he in Trinidad, jump high or low. Yorke, Ato (yuh still me hero of 1996) and Lara, will always have dey money in a foreign.

Who de hell say Leslie? Leslie Who???
Post by: trinidad badboy on March 29, 2006, 12:40:56 AM

i would say yorke have the most paper. lara make good investments but yorke make a tonne of paper with man u.

lara have his own game though which i think is reall tuff. yorke cant touch him in that league as yett

bless
Post by: boss on March 29, 2006, 03:51:16 AM
Just off the top of my head...I didn't even attempt to estimate the numbers. I included transfer fees assuming that Yorke gets some % of it. Ato, your comments are welcome.

Dwight Yorke
Villa wages
Transfer to ManUtd £12.6m
Wages at Man Utd
Treble winning prize ££ and incentives
Transfer to Blackburn
Wages at Blackburn
Transfer to Birmingham
Wages at Birmingham
Transfer to Sydney
Wages in Sydney
Mizuno sponsorship
TSTT sponsorship

Brian Lara
Pay for playing with Windies
Wages with Warwickshire
TSTT sponsorship
MRF sponsorship

Ato Boldon
Adidas sponsorship
Oakley sponsorship
Toyota (T&T) sponsorship
Fruta sponsorship
IAAF Golden League races prize money
CBS and BBC commentary
boldoninbahrain DVDs

Stephen Ames
1993 - 1997 European tour prize money
1997 - present PGA tour prize money excluding titles
2004  Cialis Western Open prize money
2006  THE PLAYERS Championship.
Nike sponsorship
Calloway Golf sponsorship

Hardest  ;D
Post by: big dawg on March 29, 2006, 06:56:45 AM
Just off the top of my head...I didn't even attempt to estimate the numbers. I included transfer fees assuming that Yorke gets some % of it. Ato, your comments are welcome.

Dwight Yorke
Villa wages
Wages at Man Utd
Transfer to Blackburn
Wages at Blackburn
Transfer to Birmingham
Wages at Birmingham
Transfer to Sydney
Wages in Sydney
Mizuno sponsorship
TSTT sponsorship

Brian Lara
Wages with Warwickshire
TSTT sponsorship
MRF sponsorship

Ato Boldon
Adidas sponsorship
Oakley sponsorship
Toyota (T&T) sponsorship
Fruta sponsorship
CBS and BBC commentary
boldoninbahrain DVDs

Stephen Ames
Nike sponsorship

Hardest  ;D

doh forget Ato Senator Salary... but then again.. It may be chicken feed compared to the rest
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 29, 2006, 08:10:56 AM

Cornbread have real CREAM especially after he get catch in the airport with all that big cocaine.
Post by: Pointman on March 29, 2006, 10:24:09 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :beermug: :beermug: allyuh ent EZ :rotfl:
Post by: Pointman on March 29, 2006, 10:36:56 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Post by: Marcos on March 29, 2006, 10:43:12 AM

Doh shit on the professor nah man.
Yuh also forgot about King Sail who was a big dunker back in the day.
Yorke and Lara are the top two with Ato third.
Not all endorsements pay that well so don't be blinded.

Post by: Marcos on March 29, 2006, 10:50:40 AM

Cornbread have real CREAM especially after he get catch in the airport with all that big cocaine.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
allyuh men classic yes. Stop shittin on the poorman.
In terms of comparing lara and yorke.
Dwight had a ferrari when lara had a benz.
Dat like comparing a Sunny to a skateboard man.
None a dem have anything on Tendulkar though
I feel he blow out all a dem
Tiger woods is the biggest of all athletes though

Here is the list. Our boys not on it
http://www.forbes.com/2004/06/23/04athletesland.html

This is from '04 though
Post by: ffreturns on March 29, 2006, 11:01:22 AM
The richest to come out of T&T would have to be Brian Lara.
Athletes get paid according to there performance this effects there salaries,endorsements etc.
Ato was at his peek in 1997 but after that his Carrier went downhill.
Yorke was at his peek in 1999 but after that his Carrier went downhill these 2 athletes have lost a lot of endorsements after those years i remember Yorke having to take a paycut to go to Blackburn.
S Ames on the other hand have been performing well for the past couple of years and have been winning tournaments as well so he will be getting more endorsements than both Ato&Yorke so S Ames will have to be #2 on the list.
B Lara is in the same class as Pele,Maridona,Jordon etc he is in the elite class according to how good his agent is he can demand a persentage of what product he endorses on top of whatever he is being paid to endorse a product on top of that company's will pay him to come and play in games and tournaments around the world with special bonus packages to make runs and break records b Lara could retire now and money go be still coming in those other athletes when they retire have to start looking for another job.
Post by: Pointman on March 29, 2006, 11:05:56 AM

This is from '04 though

:rotfl: the analogy was real kicks

ah met ah Indian dude about two weeks ago and we start talking 'bout cricket and he say how in India the top cricketers does make around $10,000,000 USD(not rupees) annually. So ah couldbelieve the Tendulkar part...true dat!!
Post by: oconnorg on March 29, 2006, 11:21:53 AM

I'll put Lara second.

Aston Martin

Correct  ;D
Post by: Dutty on March 29, 2006, 11:26:18 AM
B Lara is in the same class as Pele,Maridona,Jordon etc he is in the elite class according to how good his agent is he can demand a persentage of what product he endorses on top of whatever he is being paid to endorse a product on top of that company's will pay him to come and play in games and tournaments around the world with special bonus packages to make runs and break records b Lara could retire now and money go be still coming in those other athletes when they retire have to start looking for another job.

Nah Boss..me eh know bout Pele....but Michael Joradan does roll in he own Gulfstream Jet
None ah dem cricketer aint start to approach dat kinda money yet

You know M. Jordan does fund he own superbike team..Jumpman racing...Lara hadda trhrow 2 fete ah day fuh years to ha da kinda funds

Dais like comparin Shaq to Bill Gates.....to me and you it ,look like de same rich man.....but dem on two completely different level of bank

Ent coke make maradonna broke?
Post by: doh_stick on March 29, 2006, 11:33:27 AM

Nah Boss..me eh know bout Pele....but Michael Joradan does roll in he own Gulfstream Jet

You know M. Jordan does fund he own superbike team..Jumpman racing...Lara hadda trhrow 2 fete ah day fuh years to ha da kinda funds
Dais like comparin Shaq to Bill Gates.....to me and you it ,look like de same rich man.....but dem on two completely different level of bank

I ain't sure but i hear all de funds from de Lara fete does go to his parents foundation so doh count on dat...
Post by: Brej on March 29, 2006, 11:37:27 AM
if yorke had went to qatar or ever goes he go be no.1 easily
Post by: Pointman on March 29, 2006, 12:06:17 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: ah swear this forum is the greatest :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Brej on March 29, 2006, 12:13:48 PM

Dwight Yorke
Villa wages
Wages at Man Utd
Transfer to Blackburn
Wages at Blackburn
Transfer to Birmingham
Wages at Birmingham
Transfer to Sydney
Wages in Sydney
Mizuno sponsorship
TSTT sponsorship

Brian Lara
Wages with Warwickshire
TSTT sponsorship
MRF sponsorship

Ato Boldon
Adidas sponsorship
Oakley sponsorship
Toyota (T&T) sponsorship
Fruta sponsorship
CBS and BBC commentary
boldoninbahrain DVDs

Stephen Ames
Nike sponsorship

Hardest  ;D

hahah  buh yorke an dem doh geh no money from de transfer an yuh fugeh lara LLB sponsership haha
Post by: big dawg on March 29, 2006, 12:41:29 PM

This is from '04 though

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Somebody.. this this fella that Tiger Woods and Trndulkar is NOT from T and T.. understand the concept ah the question :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Warrior till death on March 29, 2006, 12:42:55 PM

I'll put Lara second.

Aston Martin

Correct  ;D
Whey my prize?
Post by: Dutty on March 29, 2006, 12:45:04 PM

Aston Martin

Correct  ;D
Whey my prize?

Tuh get de prize ..yuh hadda answer ah skill testing question

What was de second car he buy?
Post by: masterblaster on March 29, 2006, 01:50:57 PM
Hold ON!!!  Is Stephen Ames even a Trinbagonian anymore?  I could have sworn I see the Canadian flag flyin after he win The Player's Championship!

Has he given up his Trini citizenship so he would not have Visa problems when entering the various tournaments in the US?
Post by: big dawg on March 29, 2006, 01:55:45 PM
Hold ON!!! Is Stephen Ames even a Trinbagonian anymore? I could have sworn I see the Canadian flag flyin after he win The Player's Championship!

Has he given up his Trini citizenship so he would not have Visa problems when entering the various tournaments in the US?

He have Dual Citizenship..

So Does Latapy..
And Yorke
Post by: Marcos on March 29, 2006, 03:39:57 PM

This is from '04 though

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Somebody.. this this fella that Tiger Woods and Trndulkar is NOT from T and T.. understand the concept ah the question :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Go back to school, take an english class and then start commenting on my comprehension.
Post by: Warrior till death on March 29, 2006, 03:50:44 PM

Aston Martin

Correct  ;D
Whey my prize?

Tuh get de prize ..yuh hadda answer ah skill testing question

What was de second car he buy?
Ferrari
Post by: 1989 on March 29, 2006, 05:36:39 PM

Warner !

Post by: A.B. on March 29, 2006, 07:56:18 PM
LOL I would guess Yorke, but is real chupidness talkin in here on this subject. Somebody say in my "carrier" it was all downhill after 1997. Right, funny... name the last man to lead the world at 100 and 200m in the same year, now name the year....nonsense.  Which was the last year TnT bring home multiple medals from an Olympics?  Who was it ?  More nonsense - that was way after 1997.  But message boards are places for truth to come to light.  I say Dwight simply because more money in football than in cricket and track combined. Someone made a good point though.  It's not how much u made its how much u kept.  LOL I am sure Lara ent throwing Carnival party and I ent selling DVDs to make ends meet.

Here is the trap that "non-rich" people fall into all the time in judging who has $....watching house, car and that kind of stuff....the richest people I know doh scream it.  I used to in mih day cuz I was young and dumb, but trust me that is not ever a sure sign.  It might be Ames and no one would ever guess, cuz more money in golf than most sports.  I am proud to say that because of all the Trini athletes brought up, all have one thing in common - longevity.  But then any woman could tell u Trini men does go for a lonnng time.  :applause:  Girlwarrior, ladywarrior, whey all yuh?

P.S. If my movie deal gets done, this argument done.  Shhhh. :o

Post by: ladywarrior on March 29, 2006, 08:36:31 PM
Mr. Boldon. I will not comment on the "longevity" you allude too. However I will wish all Trini athletes continued success. I don't care who is making the most money as long as they are keeping enough so I never see them broke. They are all our young Heros and hopefully somewhere along the way, they secured the future for themselves!
Post by: 1989 on March 29, 2006, 08:53:51 PM
LOL I would guess Yorke, but is real chupidness talkin in here on this subject. Somebody say in my "carrier" it was all downhill after 1997. Right, funny... name the last man to lead the world at 100 and 200m in the same year, now name the year....nonsense.  Which was the last year TnT bring home multiple medals from an Olympics?  Who was it ?  More nonsense - that was way after 1997.  But message boards are places for truth to come to light.  I say Dwight simply because more money in football than in cricket and track combined. Someone made a good point though.  It's not how much u made its how much u kept.  LOL I am sure Lara ent throwing Carnival party and I ent selling DVDs to make ends meet.

Here is the trap that "non-rich" people fall into all the time in judging who has $....watching house, car and that kind of stuff....the richest people I know doh scream it.  I used to in mih day cuz I was young and dumb, but trust me that is not ever a sure sign.  It might be Ames and no one would ever guess, cuz more money in golf than most sports.  I am proud to say that because of all the Trini athletes brought up, all have one thing in common - longevity.  But then any woman could tell u Trini men does go for a lonnng time.  :applause:  Girlwarrior, ladywarrior, whey all yuh?

Well people, you heard it from the horse's mouth, as they would say.
Post by: Jefferz on March 29, 2006, 11:07:38 PM

P.S. If my movie deal gets done, this argument done.   Shhhh. :o

oh thats gunna make you look better... no wonder yuh join UNC.

Post by: BigToe on March 30, 2006, 01:51:03 AM

Little boy, ya fadda never teach ya to shut up when big men talking.
Post by: big dawg on March 30, 2006, 06:26:54 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: This Panel is the greatest....
Post by: Dutty on March 30, 2006, 08:01:48 AM

That was uncalled for
Post by: A.B. on March 30, 2006, 08:20:52 AM
LOL  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: real madness on March 30, 2006, 08:42:11 AM
These days, I trying to read and not post..too many silly topics.  Anyay, this topic is one of the worst i have seen.  Is true that this forum is an opportunity to express one's opinion but at the end of the day some of the questions ppl ask, there is no way to know for sure what the correct answer is.....i.e. this topic.

this topic does not make sense for 3 reasons....
1) who cares ( i could understand this as a rumshop topic..when man drunk or smoke they talk about all kinda stuff).
2) there is no way to know the answer to this question unless yorke, ames, lara, and ato tell us their net worth (that aint go happen..tinidad have a better chance of winning the WC than that happening)
3) simply looking at how much money someone makes cannot determine who is the richest...as a forumite quite rightly said...it is not who make the most but who kept the most.

I am surprised Ato responded to this topic but i guess he got tired of the $hit posts.

Just my humble opinion.

Post by: real madness on March 30, 2006, 08:47:33 AM

I notice this youthman like to cuss ppl on de board and ting.  Although ppl will always disagree and there will be times when things get a little heated...however, i am totally against cussing.
Post by: boss on March 30, 2006, 08:48:21 AM
Anyay, this topic is one of the worst i have seen. 

I respectfully disagree. I actually thought it was a very thought provoking topic
Post by: real madness on March 30, 2006, 09:02:03 AM
Anyay, this topic is one of the worst i have seen. 

I respectfully disagree. I actually thought it was a very thought provoking topic

I understand your point of view...it is definitely thought provoking but my reason for my comment is that i am a very analytical person.  I operate based on facts and figures...true there is information on these guys income, endorsements but on the other hand there is no way for us to know hom much money they have spent on stuff that cannot be classified as an asset.  We don't know how much liabilities they have.  While it is possible and it appears that Yorke earned the most, it is also possible that Ames is the richest.

Just my humble opinion.
Post by: big dawg on March 30, 2006, 09:11:17 AM
Everyone is surely entitled to make their own opinion. It’s a free world...

If anyone thinks that this or any other topic is a silly... I have one suggestion 'JUST DON'T REPLY' 

If one “youth man” decides to be disrespectful to older men and national icons. Please do not blame it on the topic...
Post by: boss on March 30, 2006, 09:11:46 AM

I understand your point of view...it is definitely thought provoking but my reason for my comment is that i am a very analytical person.  I operate based on facts and figures...true there is information on these guys income, endorsements but on the other hand there is no way for us to know hom much money they have spent on stuff that cannot be classified as an asset.  We don't know how much liabilities they have.  While it is possible and it appears that Yorke earned the most, it is also possible that Ames is the richest.

Just my humble opinion.

Fair enough, and I agree that we will probably never have a definitive answer or ranking.  :beermug: :beermug:

And if nothing else, this thread provided us with this:
Post by: Dutty on March 30, 2006, 09:35:00 AM

.., no horrors ah sure by now yuh relize is jus lil fun man chookin here, 90% ah de thread was chupid talk
Anybody wit half ah brain would realize dem dvd sales is just couch change to you or dat lara fete is not income

As for man dat does watch bling ting...yuh only hadda see de regular car dat warren buffet or lawrence duprey does drive to knowdat people wit serious money doh flash it

However as ah gearhead...I real glad to see dat it actually have Trinis like you and Yorke who could walk into a Ferrari dealership and say "yeah ah go tek DAT one"... few people world wide can

Anyway...under all de ole talk, sway to de M6 or ah mercS65 because.........
http://members.roadfly.com/thedue/5SeriesFun.jpg

Post by: real madness on March 30, 2006, 09:49:19 AM

If anyone thinks that this or any other topic is a silly... I have one suggestion 'JUST DON'T REPLY' 

If one “youth man” decides to be disrespectful to older men and national icons. Please do not blame it on the topic...

I agree with just don't reply...regarding the youthman..i have seen him cuss on several other threads...but he is young so stuff like that happens..we have all done shit when we were young so i am not syaing he is a bad person but at the same time all forumites should be repsected regardless of age, sex, or length of membership.
Post by: big dawg on March 30, 2006, 10:01:08 AM

I agree with just don't reply...regarding the youthman..i have seen him cuss on several other threads...but he is young so stuff like that happens..we have all done shit when we were young so i am not syaing he is a bad person but at the same time all forumites should be repsected regardless of age, sex, or length of membership.

Tell that "yuteman" to apologize to Mr. Boldon
Post by: dcs on March 30, 2006, 10:02:51 AM
Tell that "yuteman" to apologize to Mr. Boldon

Jefferz say sorry

Doh study if Small mag go laugh at yuh    :devil:
Post by: A.B. on March 30, 2006, 04:24:21 PM
NO apology necessary or expected.  Young people is my constituents. LOL. Plus the post really made him look stupid.
Post by: Cowen on March 30, 2006, 05:18:45 PM
NO apology necessary or expected.  Young people is my constituents. LOL. Plus the post really made him look stupid.

Nice to see you looking out for your constituents already ....  ;D

Post by: 1989 on March 30, 2006, 07:11:02 PM
LOL I would guess Yorke

But you could have fixed that if you went to the Commonwealth Games (on a one off sponsorship stunt thing).  Because that had the be the slowest set of 100 meters sprinters I have ever seen in my life!  You could have run a 10.53 and still win and make as set of money.

Anyway... enough chipid talk for me. ;D
Post by: Jefferz on March 30, 2006, 07:16:41 PM
i suppose... i just really doh like de UNC... i was uncalled for... i do apologize... Sir.

I still do respect all your achievements and al the pride you have brought to us all.
Post by: Jahyouth on March 30, 2006, 07:18:14 PM
i suppose... i just really doh like de UNC... i was uncalled for... i do apologize... Sir.

I still do respect all your achievements and al the pride you have brought to us all.

it take a big man to apologize.  well done Jefferz.
Post by: elan on March 30, 2006, 07:21:24 PM
Yes I will give to Yorke, he was caught on the M50 in a Ferarri Modena, and he does have a mansion. but his career is almost over and Ames still have the senior PGA tour to look forward to and he has a restaurant.

I was reading the newspaper after Ames won, and they said he may never make it to the Senior PGA tour so that is very unlikely. Remember Yorke got paid in lbs, all the others  recieved U.S. with the exception of when Ato races in Europe, and when Lara plays in England. Even if Frankie Boodram had 10 million TT$ he still cannot get in there.
Post by: big dawg on March 30, 2006, 07:33:04 PM
As the starter of this topic let me just clear up some issues:

Thanks to the "Yuteman" for the apology. You seem to have a lot of common sence and I hope you put it to good use in the future and stop cussing men on the panel.

Thanks to Ato for giving his sentiments and opinions. I know it was not easy to post on an “iffy” topic like this that included your name jumping up all the time.

And to the haters who said that this is the worst topic they ever saw on this website

Check this out… 90 replies and counting

Go Soca Warriors
 :applause:
Post by: A.B. on March 31, 2006, 07:26:12 AM
2 things.  First, people need to get off the UNC PNM thing, and quick.  There are things I don't like about both of them!  Wake up and see what is going on.  IT'S young black males killing each other in record numbers.  The latest murder/buggering is sickening to anyone with a pulse - and it was done by YOUNG KIDS.  That is way more important in terms of our country's future, than getting stuck on personalities and parties.  It is pointless to pick sides like is some damn football team when the whole damn ship is sinking FAST.

Secondly, I got it from very good sourcing that Sweden is more than a little concerned about TNT, and they are in fact planning to spy on our team leading up to WC game time.  Interesting.
Post by: 1989 on March 31, 2006, 11:32:23 AM
Secondly, I got it from very good sourcing that Sweden is more than a little concerned about TNT, and they are in fact planning to spy on our team leading up to WC game time.  Interesting.

Nice to know. ;D
Post by: Marcos on March 31, 2006, 12:01:56 PM
2 things.  First, people need to get off the UNC PNM thing, and quick.  There are things I don't like about both of them!  Wake up and see what is going on.  IT'S young black males killing each other in record numbers.  The latest murder/buggering is sickening to anyone with a pulse - and it was done by YOUNG KIDS.  That is way more important in terms of our country's future, than getting stuck on personalities and parties.  It is pointless to pick sides like is some damn football team when the whole damn ship is sinking FAST.

Unfortunately you cannot separate politics from the country's future. They are intertwined. To really believe that you can leave politics out of everything is unrealistic and naive. Now I am not suggesting that you are either of these things, but simply making a point.
I hate the UNC with a passion, but unfortunately at this point I hate the PNM even more.
Ato you need to get together with some educated individuals and form a new party. We need a fresh, intelligent mind to lead this nation forward.
We cannot be forced to continue choosing between corruption and cluelessness.
And If anyone thinks this is not going to greatly influence our football they need to open their eyes.
Post by: kicker on March 31, 2006, 12:05:41 PM

Ato you need to get together with some educated individuals and form a new party. We need a fresh, intelligent mind to lead this nation forward.
We cannot be forced to continue choosing between corruption and cluelessness.
And If anyone thinks this is not going to greatly influence our football they need to open their eyes.

Ditto....... with a capital D and bold itto !!!!!

only thing is fresh young educated minds in T&T don't want to get mixed up in politics.....the word alone has too much of a negative stigma attached to it.
Post by: Dutty on March 31, 2006, 12:11:36 PM

That iceland game had dem rattled or wha?...ah well mental advantage,,is NOW self we should sen dem chicken bone wrap up in red cloth an ting
Post by: madmonn on April 03, 2006, 02:29:49 AM
correct me if i'm wrong but wasn't dwight yorke endorsed by nike at one point in his career (man u days)