Sports => Football => Topic started by: AB.Trini on March 05, 2005, 01:42:03 PM

Title: Local coach vs foreign coach.
Post by: AB.Trini on March 05, 2005, 01:42:03 PM
Is this a fact?

Our local coaches cannot compete consistently against any successful coach that comes from a country with a professional league. There may be an exception here or there, but basically I haven't really seen a coach come out of a third world country/ no professional league country and compete consistently against even the mediocre of the foriegn professional coaches. Bottom line on this is when a coach has a certain level of accountability for winning and losing and it impacts not only his bottom line but the existence of the club then this cauldron of competition produces a superior coach.

The coach at Joe Public or Harbor View may all be great guys with great football knowledge but they are still playing in a puppy league,. I believe it is imperative that the best young coaches from Trinidad and Ja have to go out and get some experience in say even a Mexican league, English 1st division, MLS and be successful at the helm for a period of time, then theese guys can qualify to coach a national team.

The same is true for our ballas, every yardman (Jakan) believes that for every UB40 on the team, that the local bred players are superior, not even the actual performnace on the field ever changes that perception, we see time and again that the main force in Jamaica wins are the foreign based players who bring a whole different attitude to ball,m it is not about no star, as Ja has no star balla, I haven't seen one yet, but what I have seen are good players who know thier role and fit into the system well. We in Ja still have yet to see a player of the quality of Yorke and what he has done on a club level.

This is why it does burn me and others on this board that we failed to make the hex as this was our best side, the most professional and the best orgainzed side with a superior coach who taught them consistently about keeping the shape of the defence and a style of play that made them very competitive, and its importance in defending and letting the opposing team do the work to win the game vs giving the game away via mistakes which Trinidad seems to do so often, I just cannot understand how Trin gives up so many home goals vs US and Mexico, it must be a lack of discipline and organization overall. The main reason the Jakan team won the Digi cup in my mind was the application of what Laza was preaching and Downwell has taken up from the defensive end and the inclusion of the MLS players on the side, without that we would have probably lost every game in my opinion and in truth we really didn't win convincingly from all the reports.

That is why I think it is critical that Ja field their best side at the Gold cup and we continue to develop the style and form of play which we developed prior to the Hex, it is probably the most crucial thing to get the continuity from the Laza era, the team must do it's best and the style must be established now with this team and continued to the next Gold Cup in 2007, if we can do that then we can filter in the youth movement 2006-2008 and carve out our place in the 2010 Cup.

Forward

Title: Local Coaches
Post by: Rastaman on July 23, 2006, 04:50:03 PM
Lets open a discussion on the local coaches
OK so everybody is talking about the foreign vs the local coaches and who has been overlooked and so on. .
OK so we have Bertille at Coaching school in the Tobago Football League.. What about Gally, Edgar Vidall and Alvin Corneal of years gone bye. Where are they what are they doing. And well of course there are the 10 coaching the PFL but what about the rest? Who are we to look to as future national coaches ?

1. Who are the local coaches that are supposed to be the most qialified. the better coaches?

2. Where are they and what are they doing? 
Are they coaching or just doing what we are doing being armchair or keyboard coaches?
Are they coaching full time or just weekend coachimg like a coaching school ?

We talking about database for players but what about one for coaches.
Title: Re: Is this a fact?
Post by: Socapro on May 16, 2007, 10:28:39 AM
Our local coaches cannot compete consistently against any successful coach that comes from a country with a professional league. There may be an exception here or there, but basically I haven't really seen a coach come out of a third world country/ no professional league country and compete consistently against even the mediocre of the foriegn professional coaches. Bottom line on this is when a coach has a certain level of accountability for winning and losing and it impacts not only his bottom line but the existence of the club then this cauldron of competition produces a superior coach.

The coach at Joe Public or Harbor View may all be great guys with great football knowledge but they are still playing in a puppy league,. I believe it is imperative that the best young coaches from Trinidad and Ja have to go out and get some experience in say even a Mexican league, English 1st division, MLS and be successful at the helm for a period of time, then theese guys can qualify to coach a national team.

The same is true for our ballas, every yardman (Jakan) believes that for every UB40 on the team, that the local bred players are superior, not even the actual performnace on the field ever changes that perception, we see time and again that the main force in Jamaica wins are the foreign based players who bring a whole different attitude to ball,m it is not about no star, as Ja has no star balla, I haven't seen one yet, but what I have seen are good players who know thier role and fit into the system well. We in Ja still have yet to see a player of the quality of Yorke and what he has done on a club level.

This is why it does burn me and others on this board that we failed to make the hex as this was our best side, the most professional and the best orgainzed side with a superior coach who taught them consistently about keeping the shape of the defence and a style of play that made them very competitive, and its importance in defending and letting the opposing team do the work to win the game vs giving the game away via mistakes which Trinidad seems to do so often, I just cannot understand how Trin gives up so many home goals vs US and Mexico, it must be a lack of discipline and organization overall. The main reason the Jakan team won the Digi cup in my mind was the application of what Laza was preaching and Downwell has taken up from the defensive end and the inclusion of the MLS players on the side, without that we would have probably lost every game in my opinion and in truth we really didn't win convincingly from all the reports.

That is why I think it is critical that Ja field their best side at the Gold cup and we continue to develop the style and form of play which we developed prior to the Hex, it is probably the most crucial thing to get the continuity from the Laza era, the team must do it's best and the style must be established now with this team and continued to the next Gold Cup in 2007, if we can do that then we can filter in the youth movement 2006-2008 and carve out our place in the 2010 Cup.

Forward

Hey A.B.Trini, you obvious copied above post from the Yardy board.

Do you remember who was the poster? It makes a lot of sense still!
Title: Who is de best coach in T&T right now.
Post by: Sam on May 16, 2013, 05:12:09 AM
I am disappointed in Terry Fenwick, he was out coach by shitsnake Angus Eve more times this season and they have about de same class of players, Central might have de edge on talented players though. Terry brings two things to the league, he gets the players to be organise and discipline, but his technical game is to defensive and relies to much on counter attack defend for your life football. So he is good and bad. Having him as a coach is good to help defensive players and team system, but he needs help going forward. The players are more afraid of him than his game.

Stuart Charles seem to have lost it but coming to de end of de season he seem to have got it right, I hope he do good in the CCL. W Connection plays the best football in T&T. They  should bring back a few Brazilian players to T&T because they bring passion to the league. Players from the Caribbean is basically stale but Colombians and Brazilians will make people want to see them.

Ross Russell is the worst coach in the league. I saw a few games this season and Defence Force plays a very stagnant type of football and only fitness, muscles and a few decent individual players does really help them play. They play a kick and hope type of football like we national team play, de defenders just kicking out to the one forward who always looses the ball. De strange thing is, anyone who got train by the TTFF (Corneal) coach the same way. Kick up the ball with no sense and organization and eliminate de midfielders. Ross have the best team (not the best coach team) because they are soldiers, they are fully paid and back by de T&T government and they are always fit and strong, so he have an advantage, I would like to see him coach a team like Caledonia or Rangers and you will see his flaws. He was beated like a bandit with we under 20 team and got eliminated from in de Caribbean Cup with Defence Force in Guyana too.

Jerry Moe is doing good for Caledonia since Shabazz left him incharge and move to TD, Caledonia play decent but still lacking simply common sense passing and defending. They will not go far in the CCL if they qualify.

Angus Eve is doing a decent job, he leart a lot from coaching T&T. Once he fixes his McComie attitude he will do better. De problem with local coaches is, they want everything and feel they know everything, like they reach, they not willing to learn or elevate themselves.

De rest of them coaches is just doing they thing, the players play the way they are being coach, doh care, slow and with no urgency.

We need men like Yorke, Latapy, Lawrence, Haynes, Hart, etc... to come back to T&T and coach pro league teams, it would help a lot. This is a good place for them to start and it will also attract better players to the league.

The local coaches dont push they self to be better coaches, they to stagnant in T&T. De culture of our coaches and players must be changed for our football to grow, we cannot have stagnant people incharge because it will stun the growth of our football.

Lets see if Sheldon Phillips can get Liverpool and Tottenham to visit T&T for preseason.

And what is Hutson Charles doing on the days when we have no football, shouldn't these guys use this long time off to improve themselves as coaches or is Shabazz coaching clinic good enough. What a good job to have, T&T have a game every two months and one month if we lucky and these men just bathing in Maracas on they off days like indians in cora.

Title: Re: Who is de best coach in T&T right now.
Post by: Football supporter on May 16, 2013, 06:26:46 AM
I am disappointed in Terry Fenwick, he was out coach by shitsnake Angus Eve more times this season and they have about de same class of players, Central might have de edge on talented players though. Terry brings two things to the league, he gets the players to be organise and discipline, but his technical game is to defensive and relies to much on counter attack defend for your life football. So he is good and bad. Having him as a coach is good to help defensive players and team system, but he needs help going forward. The players are more afraid of him than his game.

Stuart Charles seem to have lost it but coming to de end of de season he seem to have got it right, I hope he do good in the CCL. W Connection plays the best football in T&T. They  should bring back a few Brazilian players to T&T because they bring passion to the league. Players from the Caribbean is basically stale but Colombians and Brazilians will make people want to see them.

Ross Russell is the worst coach in the league. I saw a few games this season and Defence Force plays a very stagnant type of football and only fitness, muscles and a few decent individual players does really help them play. They play a kick and hope type of football like we national team play, de defenders just kicking out to the one forward who always looses the ball. De strange thing is, anyone who got train by the TTFF (Corneal) coach the same way. Kick up the ball with no sense and organization and eliminate de midfielders. Ross have the best team (not the best coach team) because they are soldiers, they are fully paid and back by de T&T government and they are always fit and strong, so he have an advantage, I would like to see him coach a team like Caledonia or Rangers and you will see his flaws. He was beated like a bandit with we under 20 team and got eliminated from in de Caribbean Cup with Defence Force in Guyana too.

Jerry Moe is doing good for Caledonia since Shabazz left him incharge and move to TD, Caledonia play decent but still lacking simply common sense passing and defending. They will not go far in the CCL if they qualify.

Angus Eve is doing a decent job, he leart a lot from coaching T&T. Once he fixes his McComie attitude he will do better. De problem with local coaches is, they want everything and feel they know everything, like they reach, they not willing to learn or elevate themselves.

De rest of them coaches is just doing they thing, the players play the way they are being coach, doh care, slow and with no urgency.

We need men like Yorke, Latapy, Lawrence, Haynes, Hart, etc... to come back to T&T and coach pro league teams, it would help a lot. This is a good place for them to start and it will also attract better players to the league.

The local coaches dont push they self to be better coaches, they to stagnant in T&T. De culture of our coaches and players must be changed for our football to grow, we cannot have stagnant people incharge because it will stun the growth of our football.

Lets see if Sheldon Phillips can get Liverpool and Tottenham to visit T&T for preseason.

And what is Hutson Charles doing on the days when we have no football, shouldn't these guys use this long time off to improve themselves as coaches or is Shabazz coaching clinic good enough. What a good job to have, T&T have a game every two months and one month if we lucky and these men just bathing in Maracas on they off days like indians in cora.

Hmmm...not sure about that Sam. On paper, North East have the best squad in the league, player for player.
In the two games that North East beat Central 1-0, Central simply failed to score while enjoying massive possession, dominating the second halves.
I wouldn't consider this great coaching by Angus, more like poor finishing by Central's players.

Regarding Spurs and Liverpool, any body could bring them to T&T. All you need to do is pay them millions of £'s and build some decent pitches and training surfaces (our stadium fields generally MAY pass for training fields for these clubs)

We really need clubs who would realistically get our players into UK football.

I have been putting together a pre season tournament with several British clubs interested. Pro League are supporting it, Corneal is supporting it, but still need to find 50% of the funding. 

Also been looking at bringing over a Nottm Forest youth coach to do some sessions with our youths and our coaches.

We have the links......as usual, it's the funding that's the problem!!
Post by: Sam on May 16, 2013, 06:46:43 AM
So run your proposal by de chupid minister of f00cking sports then ?

And yuh think about this. We need men like Yorke, Latapy, Lawrence, Haynes, Hart, etc... to come back to T&T and coach pro league teams, it would help a lot. This is a good place for them to start and it will also attract better players to the league.

Results win games bro, now how yuh play.

One thing about Dexter Skeene, everybody have to think and do for he and he is de CEO.

Why Sancho eh run for league CEO.

Post by: Rodney on May 16, 2013, 07:38:36 AM
I see what yuh saying Sam and agree, but I cannot see see Hart, Latapy, Yorke, Lawrence etc coming T&T unless is tuh coach the MNT and they all cyah do that at the same time. Unless they getting crazy money (who paying that!) or they achieve/give-up on their career goals in foreign I doubt you will see them here fuh ah longterm stint anytime soon.

Also doh think Yorke interested in coaching at this time; the rest ah also think is more of a international resume thing, coming to T&T won't help that regardless of local success. Unless they was tuh win the Concacaf Champions League no foreign club would give ah SH*t about what they achieve in the Pro-League.

As fuh Fenwick, any old school poster from the Marc Purcell days would know my opinion from when Fenwich first came tuh T&T so ah won't rehash. Suffice tuh say I don't think he is anything special. I can't knock him too much as unlike some rumours i hear about the local coaches he doh seem to tolerate much nonsense or slackness from his players. He is competent at the proleague level, seems consistently professional in his approach (again, not always the case with some of our local based) and helped many players get the oppertunity fuh contracts abroad, can't knock him fuh that.
Post by: Sam on May 16, 2013, 08:09:44 AM
I hear than Rodney

Central F.C - North East Stars

Marvin Phillip - Cleon John
Keion Goodridge - Kennedy Hinkson
Corneal Thomas - Kareem Moses
Akeem Adams - Kevon Villaroel
Kelvin Smith - Elton John
Marc Leslie - Akiel Guevara
Marvin Oliver - Elijah Manners
Anthony Wolfe - Jean-Luc Rochford
Keron Cummings - Keryn Navarro
Hayden Tinto - Micah Lewis
Omar Charles - Jeromie Williams
Carey Harris - Kaashif Thomas
Rondell Winchester - Gary Glasgow
Peter Byers - Cornell Glen
Darryl Trim - Marcus Gomez
Adrian Noel - Keithy Simpson
Jason Marcano - Glenton Wolfe
Darren Mitchell - Jayson Joseph
Hector Sam - Kerry Baptiste
Rennie Britto - Kaashif Thomas

Extra players

Cyrano Glen -
Weslie John -
Johan Peltier - Neveal Hackshaw
Tyrone Charles - Not sure if he still there
Sayid Freitas - Not sure if he still there
Kevaughn Connell - Not sure if he still there
Fabien Lewis - Had him for some time, same with Anthony Wolfe

Me eh picking on meh boy FS eh, but de teams look pretty even or evenly matched.

Post by: Errol on May 16, 2013, 08:29:09 AM
I like this discusion.

Terry Fenwick = $50,000 a month
Angus Eve = $20,000 a month

Maybe Central is spending to much on their staffs.

Post by: Banter Banton on May 16, 2013, 09:47:17 AM
I like this discusion.

Terry Fenwick = $50,000 a month
Angus Eve = $20,000 a month

Maybe Central is spending to much on their staffs.

Angus is a good assistant coach.. nothing more

Post by: sjahrain on May 16, 2013, 11:28:28 AM
The best coach says he has been blacklisted........Gally
Post by: coache on May 16, 2013, 09:57:41 PM
I am the best Trinidadian coach on planet earth.
Post by: Banter Banton on May 17, 2013, 02:49:00 AM
I am the best Trinidadian coach on planet earth.

lol yea sure u are ... eddie hart level
Post by: Quags on May 17, 2013, 07:43:18 AM
None ,with my ever blossoming golden generation none would be professional enough for these kids .
Post by: Jack Horner on May 17, 2013, 08:32:57 AM
I like Derek King, he does not get the respect he deserve.

Title: Local coach vs foreign coach.
Post by: Sam on June 16, 2013, 05:28:13 AM
Local coach vs foreign coach.

LOCAL - They badmind, they vindictive, they suck up, they bias, they do not stand up for their rights, they scared of the TTFF, they hate foreign players, they cannot coach outside of de Caribbean, they know everything and they play a very poor and unattractive brand of kick and hope football.

Take for example, 3 possible starting players who would make a difference on the current T&T team was overlooked, Peltier, Cato and Julius.

They did not play Julius all year and when they in a deep hole, they quick to call him.

Cato playing at a higher level than half of our current team and was never even given a trial.

Peltier, who tell de local coaches to get they act together and act more professionally, he is de best player in Slovakia and they blacklist his. But yet they give Keon Daniel a bling.

De local coaches to dam badmind and it clouding they real ability to coach and in de end is only them and de team who will suffer.

You here to do a job, do it, this is not personal, do your stuff and make yourself look good.

De players dont even respect the current local coach we have.

Hutson Charles does sound illiterate, de man cant eve talk. Do you think a player who is being coach in top league and accustom being train at a high level could come back and run around cones and play skip rope all day.

Shabazz know everything. How can a big belly man who cant even run 50m train you ? Since Shabazz come to coach the de team dropped badly. Look at his record outside of the Caribbean with Guyana and Caledonia and you will find all the answers there.

Ross Russell and Angus Eve does have they team playing real poor football, you ever see Defence Force play ? only because they is soilders and they fit, other than that, they play very poor kick and hope football.

Angus Eve had a million chances with de Olympic team and FAIL, not just lost, but BEATEN and now all of a sudden he know everything.

WHat does get me mad is, when they were coach, they quiet and took everything and now they out and they mouth open wide.

If you cannot place a value on you how will you get respect ?

These local coaches keep saying we have plently good coaches is T&T, where them, who ?? de TTFF only believe in a few, Shabazz, Ross and Charles nobody else. Rougier and Marcelle is two imps, Carrington is a gun man and Latapy still in cloud 9.

FOREIGN - Totally opposite, they pick the best players available, they know how to speak to players and handle them, they play organise football and everything else a local coach isn't.

I have nothing much against local coaches, but if they want respect they have to earn it and step up and stop with the petite shit.

Do you think a foreign coach have time to come here to blacklist this one and that one, they here to do a job, thats it !!

How can Beenhakker take de same them Bertille had and qualify us for the World Cup !! Bertille had the full support from the TTFF and Jack and his team was last.

All Beenhakker did was organise our football and give the guys believe, de locals want to do everything.

Title: Re: Local coach vs foreign coach.
Post by: just cool on June 16, 2013, 06:35:43 AM
Good post Sam, but there's ah big ole but here!! and the but is that you are trivializing the whole issue and is cherry picking situations.

there are few misrepresentations that i think you are not aware of, yuh also trivialize the whole post which IMO you could have done much more justice.

credit to charles and shabbaz, they did ah good job with the little resources they had @ their disposal, and if they are to be replaced then they deserve @ least to be part of the coaching set up, and not totally discarded like rubbish. especially for a quick fix, to me that is the most important issue.   

any way here's ah few things yuh didn't consider, or maybe had no knowledge of.  like # one, cato not getting a look @ when he actually did, he was called for the finals in antigua but he failed to impress, and didn't make the final cut.

julius james @ the time was injured with a collapsed lung and was out for ah few months, then he was released by his team and didn't have a club for a while and just recently started getting back in the swing of things,

in the case of peltier, it was said that he fained injury quite a few times so he didn't have to play and train. remember the canada game where he went down in the first half, and when he went back to slovakia he expressed that he was taking a break from international football?

it's only when we qualified for the digicel final did he express his desire to play again, he then came back in the frey bc he was on winter break and the team was paper thin, and just when we needed him the most he went down again due to a training injury, where it was said that he fained injury again, now i don't know bout you, but if ah player faking injury bc he don't want to train and is beefing with the coaching staff, then what do we need him for? he's ah distraction!!

he's not the only big player we have who played in foreign, roberts played in foreign way longer than peltier, so did bleeder and glen, and these men don't carry themselves like they are above being coached by cherry coaches. i agree with charles and co, if yuhs ah star, then rock so.

as for foreign coaches not black listing players, sam yuh memory short or what, do you remember jovin jones and guerra was banned by pfister?? one showed up late ah couple of times, and apparently the other wasn't listening. 

beenie also blanked dwarika, mc farlene, angus and a few others from the WC squad for fellas like bleeder, birchall, scotland, and evens wise who IMO was not better than that trio.

sam yuh was on point on ah few things like the xenophobia that surround T&T football, this is ah serious cancer on our sports especially when our locals refuse to advance their position, and instead carry on like the country owe them ah debt of gratitude and they should be allowed to acquire leading positions without the proper qualifications.

i hear brian williams using words like it's not "fair" to the local coaches, "fair"!! in professional sports there no such thing as "fair"!! this thing is a result oriented game. so was it "fair" to bob bradley when his performances were tip top, yet still was replaced by a foreigner??

he qualified the USA for a world cup, he also won the gold cup, and did really good @ the confederations CUP where he made it to the finals almost beating brazil, he made it to the 2009 and 2011 gold cup final where he loss to mexico twice in succession.

these fellas need to get over themselves and start working hard for what they want instead of receiving every thing just based on the notion that they deserve it bc they are past local heroes and icons. 

as i said before about gally, instead of this man going abroad and furthering his craft maybe by working with an english or dutch team, he stayed home and moped for 20 yr, when he could have used those yrs to his advantage and maybe coming back home to start a club, or an academy.

this trini mentality is really an "eat ah food" mentality for real yes, every one wants something for nothing, solely based on past reputation and nostalgia.

thank god timekee not buying that, it's ah new day ppl. it's time to start earning yuh pick instead of inheriting it.
Post by: Deeks on June 16, 2013, 06:48:17 AM
I disagree with you Sam. To a point.
Post by: ANC2 on June 16, 2013, 07:26:35 AM
Coaching is one of the only jobs that people calling for you to lose your job after 2 or 3 games. A job where you have to feed your family. If the Prime Minister & elected officials were held to the same standards, who knows what will happen
I feel for the local coaches because the Association did not give them the desired support. Lets not forget those that inherit
the present positions did not create the predicament. They are in fact trying to make their own way, unfortunately it is under the same umbrella.

Sport real unfair when it comes to coaching. The good thing in all this is that Baba will be involved and more than likely get another shot.
Look how many times Alvin & Edgar coach T&T

Post by: just cool on June 16, 2013, 07:42:08 AM
Coaching is one of the only jobs that people calling for you to lose your job after 2 or 3 games. A job where you have to feed your family. If the Prime Minister & elected officials were held to the same standards, who knows what will happen
I feel for the local coaches because the Association did not give them the desired support. Lets not forget those that inherit
the present positions did not create the predicament. They are in fact trying to make their own way, unfortunately it is under the same umbrella.

Sport real unfair when it comes to coaching. The good thing in all this is that Baba will be involved and more than likely get another shot.

Allyuh back with this "fair" and "unfair" talk again?? this is not about personal feelings and vendettas, this is about results and the best ppl for the job.

this is why i love the develop world, i remember working for ah white man who canned his brother in the middle of his wife's pregnancy!! he pushed him out the company bc he wasn't pulling his weight, now that's what i call a desire too succeed! no fackin nostalgia, just plain ole results!!

no wonder the USA and mexico does make us look foolish all the while, that's bc we are coming up against a ppl who don't give ah fork bout feelings, they are result oriented societies, and they spend good money in that regard, while we pamper and settle and play favorites.

it's time to move on. we have not scored a goal in six matches, now what does that tell you??!!
Post by: Errol on June 16, 2013, 08:17:01 AM
JC, Julius James had a collapsed lung since April 2012. Over a year ago, we played over 15 games since.

Why is the local coahes giving Keon a chance but backlisting Peltier. Keon stood us up 3 times now.

Post by: Football supporter on June 16, 2013, 08:29:20 AM
My belief is that people will always feel a foreign coach is better than a local.

People don't respect the Pro League so no matter how well you perform every season people will still say "yeah, but its only the Pro League". Therefore, a local coach has to recognise that he must coach overseas at some point. Problem is that as a Pro League coach he feels cock of the rock so to leave that position to become youth team coach at Sc**thorpe Utd, or assistant coach at Dumbf**k University, Idaho is in their minds a step down.

But Denis Lawrence has got it right and by taking the time to learn coaching techniques in an EPL club will help him develop into one of T&T's greatest coaches.

LOL, always makes me laugh when I see the software blanking out the letters in Sc**thorpe!! Reminds me of how when Gillingham used to play them we'd shout "There's only one  C**t in Sc**thorpe"  :rotfl:
Post by: Banter Banton on June 16, 2013, 08:38:47 AM
The ONLY local coach I would want to run the senior team is Dwight.. and he have an accent too

People think the Head Coach of the senior team is there to develop this and that and hands on sessions , laying his own cones etc

A head coach of a men's senior team is 70% man management , 30% tactics

NO LOCAL COACH could man manage any of those guys without being squashed and trampled over.. When half the squad playing foreign football under European coaches and that different factor has them in line, vs hearing a Shabazz or Charles ... no chance

Dwight Yorke will be a great gaffer.. he has the man management skills and If he continues to do his courses will have a good tactical knowledge of the game too.   Latapy, poor man management and not good enough tactically yet.. probably better as a first team coach where the pressure of management is off him... I believe Dwight has both skills needed to succeed and he commands respect.

Other than Dwight , not one f**king trini in my mind can have a better impact than a foreign english speaking coach

All of the local coaches cry and cry and cry but when given the chance the squad is always divided, always have some fall out with players, tactics and training methods backwards and poor and all of them lack Charisma and you as a fan cannot even believe in them farless the squad

I cannot f**king wait for Beenhakker to return after typing this yes

Post by: ANC2 on June 16, 2013, 09:34:18 AM
Just Cool I guess my point is. The coach that comes in g

Allyuh back with this "fair" and "unfair" talk again?? this is not about personal feelings and vendettas, this is about results and the best ppl for the job.

this is why i love the develop world, i remember working for ah white man who canned his brother in the middle of his wife's pregnancy!! he pushed him out the company bc he wasn't pulling his weight, now that's what i call a desire too succeed! no fackin nostalgia, just plain ole results!!

no wonder the USA and mexico does make us look foolish all the while, that's bc we are coming up against a ppl who don't give ah fork bout feelings, they are result oriented societies, and they spend good money in that regard, while we pamper and settle and play favorites.

it's time to move on. we have not scored a goal in six matches, now what does that tell you??!!

Just Cool, my point is that the Foreign Coach gets the blame & in general lack of support from local coaches, for a situation he did not create.
he is offered a job, accepts & tries to do his job. The resentment should be directed towards the decision makers and in the end results will
prove if they right or wrong. Local coaches should understand this. Do people really think DiMatteo resents Rafa? No! he pissed off at Abramovic
Post by: Fyzoman on June 16, 2013, 11:57:45 AM
Not to start nutten eh but Beenie come and look left and right and size-up men who past they sell-by date (and who eh up to scratch) and get de rid ah dem.

And come bet if Beenie had more time and a bigger pool, some men right now dat running around playing Nashy will be banished to pro league football.

Sam I agree with nuff ah what yuh saying bredda...so talk nah Hippo is ah gunman?! Hahahahaha, you really eh easy nah!

Anyway no more local coaches!!
Title: Re: Local Coaches
Post by: AB.Trini on June 16, 2013, 12:02:30 PM
This topic eh new
Title: Local coaches.
Post by: Sam on July 03, 2014, 09:36:14 AM
De local coaches sah....

Angus Eve, Jamaal Shabazz and Michael McComie - Head, belly and mouth bigger than they game.

Clint Marcelle, Ron La Forest and Anthony Rougier - Looking for food and only care about them selves.

Everald Cummings and Muhammad Isa - Pass they bedtime, time to leave de game.

Alvin Corneal and Edgar Vidale (Alcons men) - Time for them to leave de game completely, like Anton, only talkers and I mean even as commentators - NO GOOD.

Ross Russell - Decent attitude, poor ability as a coach.

Steve David and Leroy De Leon - Them know everything. If they are more humble, they would be decent coaches, especially, David.

Terrance Marcelle - Child mulister.

Marlon Charles - Fool fool.

Anthony Streete - Decent guy, need some assistant, but decent guy.

Dexter Cyrus - Decent guy, need some assistant, but decent guy.

Zoran Vranes - Decent guy, need some assistant, but decent guy.

Shawn Cooper  - Decent guy, need some assistant, but decent guy.

Time to invest in a new bunch of local coaches and keep them in de TTFA program.

I feel Clayton Morris, Philbert Jones, Brian Haynes, Reynold Carrington, Rajeesh Latchoo, Michael Grayson, Ian Clauzel, Selris Figaro, Nigel Grosvenor, Anthony Sherwood, Ivan Sampson, Brian Williams, Marlon Morris, Richard Chinapoo, Denis Lawrence, Errol McFarlane, Densill Theobald, Marvin Faustin, Carlos Edwards, Lumumba Shabazz, Marcus Pollidore, Carlos McGregor, Marvin Smith, Mark Anthony William, Junior Noel, Mario Garcia, Craig Demmin, Dario Trujillo, Addae Rique, Garth Pollanais, Kendall Walkes, Anthony James, Andre Fortune Sr., Mark Anatol and Leonson Lewis might be better men to keep close to de TTFA coaching programs and youth team, even senior team as assistants.

I feel we could even take a chance and spend some time with Stern John, Dwight Yorke, Carlos Edwards and Shaka Hislop to be future coaches.

We wasting them with some of the other big headed coaches and we wasted to much time on them now we have no one to choose from.

We should also consider bringing Lincoln Phillips to coach our current keepers at all ages. But he must bring a stern attitude, he lil to soft, but he know he game, he just need to be toner...

Title: Re: Local coaches.
Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 09:57:49 AM
On Ross Russell, when I met him he seemed a top bloke, and winning the Pro League ain't as easy as some think.

Definitely need some new blood coming through and challenging the old though. If we could get some higher quality coaching (both through qualification and numbers) who knows where we could go. Clayton Ince was goalkeeper coach at T&TEC before it imploded, so add him to that list. Not sure Yorke cares bluntly - he's thinking of buying into one of the new Indian teams. If he had enough of an interest he'd already be in the country doing coaching and generally furthering the game
Post by: Sam on July 03, 2014, 10:09:48 AM
On Ross Russell, when I met him he seemed a top bloke, and winning the Pro League ain't as easy as some think.

Definitely need some new blood coming through and challenging the old though. If we could get some higher quality coaching (both through qualification and numbers) who knows where we could go. Clayton Ince was goalkeeper coach at T&TEC before it imploded, so add him to that list. Not sure Yorke cares bluntly - he's thinking of buying into one of the new Indian teams. If he had enough of an interest he'd already be in the country doing coaching and generally furthering the game

Winning the league is never easy. Getting kick out in of your coaching appearance at T&T youth level and Defenece Force CFU level is worthless.

Furthermore, he have a bunch of ARMY men who are train, fed and paid by the government, a big advantage, but not in Guyana at the CFU level.

And I did say he is a decent fella, maybe he need some additional training, which he should seek and dot wait for de TTFA help, its their job as individuals to improve their coaching from a overall standpoint.

I just put Yorke name there, I know he on a difference vibes, just not T&T. I do not respect him at all.

He go fool them Indians and take they money, good for them.

Post by: Tiresais on July 03, 2014, 02:58:29 PM
Be fair - due to the State of Emergency his team barely train on the lead-up to the CFU. Caledonia didn't have such an excuse. Yup Defence Force definitely has the advantage in fitness that most coaches would love. Not heard specifics on what happened at youth level, wasn't that related to non-pay?
Post by: Sam on July 03, 2014, 06:53:38 PM
Be fair - due to the State of Emergency his team barely train on the lead-up to the CFU. Caledonia didn't have such an excuse. Yup Defence Force definitely has the advantage in fitness that most coaches would love. Not heard specifics on what happened at youth level, wasn't that related to non-pay?

I don't know how long you following T&T football, but DF got eliminated by a Guyanese team 2 years in a row.

Please do some research before you type, I hate de back on forth with de same ole topic.

Say what you have to say and move on

At the Under 20 level, Ross has been here for a while and is de same ole excuse when ever de team fail. McComie and Shabaaz was de same thing.

Before de tournament, you should hear all de kakahole talk they does talk, they ready and they going and do this and that, then when we ass get knock out by some small Caribbean team, you does hear all de excuses in de world.

Post by: Tiresais on July 04, 2014, 12:56:04 AM

I don't know how long you following T&T football, but DF got eliminated by a Guyanese team 2 years in a row.

Please do some research before you type, I hate de back on forth with de same ole topic.

At the Under 20 level, Ross has been here for a while and is de same ole excuse when ever de team fail. McComie and Shabaaz was de same thing.

Before de tournament, you should hear all de kakahole talk they does talk, they ready and they going and do this and that, then when we ass get knock out by some small Caribbean team, you does hear all de excuses in de world.

Forums are all about back-and-forth :) - started following in late 2011, so DF's previous participations before my time.

DF's only other participation recently was in 2011, whcih saw them beat Milerock 7-0 on aggregate in the second stage, but losing the 3rd place match to Alpha 4-3 on penalties.
Post by: Deeks on July 04, 2014, 07:41:57 AM

Forums are all about back-and-forth :) - started following in late 2011, so DF's previous participations before my time.

DF's only other participation recently was in 2011, whcih saw them beat Milerock 7-0 on aggregate in the second stage, but losing the 3rd place match to Alpha 4-3 on penalties.

Sam, agreed DF lose 2 yrs to the Guyanese team. So what? You don't think Guyanese have desire and pride like any football nation? DF is playing in a professional league now. The best players don't go DF as in the past. In 60s, 70, 80s, most of the best players went to DF, others went Police, Fire Services and Prisons. In South, the most of the best went to the SFL factory league. Yes the DF teams are fit, but they don't have the best players any more. And their being in the protective services does not help either. Any minute Kamla and Gary Griffith can pull them of the field to do security details. What kind of pro-team is that?
Post by: Sam on July 04, 2014, 08:37:00 AM

Sam, agreed DF lose 2 yrs to the Guyanese team. So what? You don't think Guyanese have desire and pride like any football nation? DF is playing in a professional league now. The best players don't go DF as in the past. In 60s, 70, 80s, most of the best players went to DF, others went Police, Fire Services and Prisons. In South, the most of the best went to the SFL factory league. Yes the DF teams are fit, but they don't have the best players any more. And their being in the protective services does not help either. Any minute Kamla and Gary Griffith can pull them of the field to do security details. What kind of pro-team is that?

1. Guyana don't even have a professional league.

2. Guyana don't have player to match DF.

3. DF won the title in 2010/11 and 2012/13 with the same team they had this season.

4. When the PM pulled them, they came back a month after and won 98% of their remaining games and placed third.

5. DF have a top training field, they are fed properly, they are physically and mentally prepared for battle and they get SURE pay when the month is up. They have insurance, sick leave, vacation, top gears etc etc....

6. DF youth team is not pulled by the PM for special service, how they never win anything and they have 7 international players on their team who played for T&T youth teams.

Devorn Jorsling, Jerwyn Balthazar, Josimar Belgrave, Aklie Edwards, Michael Edwards, Richard Roy, Jemel Sebro, Corey Rivers, Kevin Graham, Keston Williams and Curtis Gonzales all have international experience and is some of the top players in the league, asked Lasana.

Josimar Belgrave was T&T youth captain and the best on his side.

Kevin Graham was we best keeper on we Under 20 team.

Richard Roy and Devorn Jorsling have been T&T top 2 strikers for years.

Aklie Edwards, Michael Edwards, Keston Williams and Corey Rivers have T&T senior team experience.

Jerwyn Balthazar, a very good player who is underrated.

Curtis Gonzales is one of the top youth defensive midfielders in the country.

Jemel Sebro is a top player and scored one of the goals of the season last season.

Stop making excuses for them, everyone wants the best players to win title? Chelsea and Real Madrid should win all trophies then?

Post by: Tiresais on July 04, 2014, 09:08:41 AM
Alpha United are as Professional a team as any of our Pro League teams, just not as good. They have 5 international players for Guyana and a couple Jamaicans and Kittsians, and beat Harbour View of Jamaica in order to win that group. In 2011, they put up a decent fight against the Islanders, losing 3-1 after extra time. I'm not going to sit here and say DF played well - my disappointment and surprise was made clear in the original CFU thread, but I think you're underplaying the level of football played in Guyana by Alpha United at least (Milerock, meh). DF should still have beaten them with all the positives you've pointed out.
Post by: Sam on July 04, 2014, 09:29:18 AM
Alpha United are as Professional a team as any of our Pro League teams, just not as good. They have 5 international players for Guyana and a couple Jamaicans and Kittsians, and beat Harbour View of Jamaica in order to win that group. In 2011, they put up a decent fight against the Islanders, losing 3-1 after extra time. I'm not going to sit here and say DF played well - my disappointment and surprise was made clear in the original CFU thread, but I think you're underplaying the level of football played in Guyana by Alpha United at least (Milerock, meh). DF should still have beaten them with all the positives you've pointed out.

Deeks is a ole timer who played for DF so he blinded and still feel football is the same from back in de days.

Alpha United and Milerock is below T&T standard and does not play top teams in a Pro league environment.

T&T league is more competitive and is a higher standard therefore teams from a overall standpoint should be better. Player for player T&T is way ahead, so to get beaten or eliminated by teams from Suriname and Guyana is below standard.

Deeks want a all star team to win titles, he is Jose Mourinho.

Ross Russell have a big advantage.

DF have 3 senior teams, a pro team, a super league team and a zonal team, no other pro league teams have de same.

They even have 3 youth teams, U 14, U 17 and reserve/U 18.

Post by: Deeks on July 04, 2014, 11:21:33 AM
Devorn Jorsling, Jerwyn Balthazar, Josimar Belgrave, Aklie Edwards, Michael Edwards, Richard Roy, Jemel Sebro, Corey Rivers, Kevin Graham, Keston Williams and Curtis Gonzales all have international experience and is some of the top players in the league, asked Lasana.

Josimar Belgrave was T&T youth captain and the best on his side.

Kevin Graham was we best keeper on we Under 20 team.

Richard Roy and Devorn Jorsling have been T&T top 2 strikers for years.

Aklie Edwards, Michael Edwards, Keston Williams and Corey Rivers have T&T senior team experience.

Jerwyn Balthazar, a very good player who is underrated.

Curtis Gonzales is one of the top youth defensive midfielders in the country.

Jemel Sebro is a top player and scored one of the goals of the season last season.

Sam, plain and simple, them men just not good enough. Me eh making excuses for them. Alpha United eh no big team but they disciplined enough to beat DF. But I stand by what I say before. The Min. of NS screw their season.

Yes, I am an old timer(that is sounding weird). I never played for DF. I played for Essex. I had to deal with DF with all their star players. Most times they beat us. But on some occasions we would beat them. Not often. And it felt damn good when ever we beat them.  And only a team with top class players can win or challenge clubs in the Concacaf CL. And the old DF team had the best players. That is why they are the only team to have reached the finals twice.
Post by: Tiresais on July 04, 2014, 03:11:47 PM

Deeks is a ole timer who played for DF so he blinded and still feel football is the same from back in de days.

Alpha United and Milerock is below T&T standard and does not play top teams in a Pro league environment.

T&T league is more competitive and is a higher standard therefore teams from a overall standpoint should be better. Player for player T&T is way ahead, so to get beaten or eliminated by teams from Suriname and Guyana is below standard.

Deeks want a all star team to win titles, he is Jose Mourinho.

Ross Russell have a big advantage.

DF have 3 senior teams, a pro team, a super league team and a zonal team, no other pro league teams have de same.

They even have 3 youth teams, U 14, U 17 and reserve/U 18.

Agreed on all the major points (Sam you talking too much sense lately :p), but I think Guyana and the smaller islands will catch our game if our stagnation continues. Alpha are doing something right, and in 5 years who knows where they'll be - CONCACAF or relegation - that's the nature of Carib footy right now, in a state of flux. We have one of the best leagues in the Caribbean (Jamaica maybe play at a higher standard, Haiti pulls attendances that League 2 clubs would be happy to get) and we're showing promising signs with expansion and the rise of clubs like Guaya, but my only worry is that we get complacent and assume we're gonna beat teams from Guyana, Suriname, hell even places like Curacao and Puerto Rico have had good spurts in the CFU, and they make us look foolish. French Guiana had two wingers with flair we could sorely do with, which makes me wonder why we can't get a proper domestic league up, pull this talent in, and put our players through a pressure cauldron day-in-day-out.
Post by: AB.Trini on June 13, 2015, 05:43:29 AM
Foreign coaches could tell TTFA what they want and demand it - local coaches have to cow tail and be at the mercy of the TTFA-
Chechen the records .
See how B ST Claire was treated to present day Mr. Hart- compared to Beenhakker. - and the last Senior Women's coach Waldron.
Is like we doh honor our own even when they have the credentials to do the best for TnT.
Post by: Deeks on June 13, 2015, 06:04:17 AM
Foreign coaches could tell TTFA what they want and demand it - local coaches have to cow tail and be at the mercy of the TTFA-
Chechen the records .
See how B ST Claire was treated to present day Mr. Hart- compared to Beenhakker. - and the last Senior Women's coach Waldron.
Is like we doh honor our own even when they have the credentials to do the best for TnT.

I don't think Hart is being treated badly for some spitefully reason. Hart is caught in between two dysfunctional entities.
Post by: AB.Trini on June 13, 2015, 06:28:38 AM
Chechen the records .

I don't think Hart is being treated badly for some spitefully reason. Hart is caught in between two dysfunctional entities.

Treatment may not be applicable here- but you hit it onthehead- is the getting caught up in the fractions. Our local coaches appears to absorb more of the fallout and the burden of these opposing fractions and it appears that foreign coaches are more insular and receive what they want i spite of .......,
Post by: Deeks on June 13, 2015, 09:03:21 AM
Well all a foreign has to do is walk when he term is done. Before he signed the contract he puts his demands on the table. Likewise the association. They work out an agreement. If the coach don't like it he walks and the association do another search. But in case of a local coach who has a emotional interest because of birth, like Hart, he may hang on because is home. Hart eh no "foreign" coach. A foreign coach would have gone Toronto pronto.
Post by: Star Child on August 06, 2015, 06:41:10 AM
Good post.

Post by: palos on August 06, 2015, 01:20:39 PM
By and large, the public in T&T goes to football matches to see players.....not teams

Yes....it had Benedicts way back in the day...but they had Archibald, Steve David, DeLeon etc on their team

Malvern had Buggy Haynes, Baby Headley and dem

Army had Ron La, Bert Neptune and dem

Fast forward to Latas, Yorke, Dwarika, Spiderman Carter, Marcelle, Clauzel, etc

All of these players had one thing in common....they were entertainers and crowds came out to see them play....no matter what level of football it was....Colleges League, Arthur Suite League, POSFL, SAFL, Pro League, Minor League, 7 a side no offside.....it didn't matter....crowds would come once the entertainers were present.

We have less entertainers today because of the nature of the game today.  Most of our entertainers are now abroad playing professionally.

Crowds might like Kerry Jamerson, Devon Jorsling, or a Hutson Charles.....but the stadium not filling to come and see them.   They're the supporting cast.

All leagues need stars.  Imagine La Liga without Messi and Ronaldo?  Bundesliga without Robben, Muller and crew?  EPL without Hazard and Rooney?

MLS is doing just that now.   Their stars may largely be aging (Drogba, Villa, Kaka, Gerard).....but that's changing now.  You now have a player like Giovinco in Toronto who is 23 years old.  That's going to continue.

People came out locally to see Joevin Jones.  Now he's gone.   Cyrus, Hughton Hector, Molino, Peltier, Cato, Rundell Winchester...all gone

Corbin soon gone.

Back in the day, our entertainers (stars) stayed home because they had little other option.   The football world has changed and with it....our domestic leagues

Post by: Mose on August 06, 2015, 02:41:57 PM
By and large, the public in T&T goes to football matches to see players.....not teams

Yes....it had Benedicts way back in the day...but they had Archibald, Steve David, DeLeon etc on their team

Malvern had Buggy Haynes, Baby Headley and dem

Army had Ron La, Bert Neptune and dem

Fast forward to Latas, Yorke, Dwarika, Spiderman Carter, Marcelle, Clauzel, etc

All of these players had one thing in common....they were entertainers and crowds came out to see them play....no matter what level of football it was....Colleges League, Arthur Suite League, POSFL, SAFL, Pro League, Minor League, 7 a side no offside.....it didn't matter....crowds would come once the entertainers were present.

We have less entertainers today because of the nature of the game today.  Most of our entertainers are now abroad playing professionally.

Crowds might like Kerry Jamerson, Devon Jorsling, or a Hutson Charles.....but the stadium not filling to come and see them.   They're the supporting cast.

All leagues need stars.  Imagine La Liga without Messi and Ronaldo?  Bundesliga without Robben, Muller and crew?  EPL without Hazard and Rooney?

MLS is doing just that now.   Their stars may largely be aging (Drogba, Villa, Kaka, Gerard).....but that's changing now.  You now have a player like Giovinco in Toronto who is 23 years old.  That's going to continue.

People came out locally to see Joevin Jones.  Now he's gone.   Cyrus, Hughton Hector, Molino, Peltier, Cato, Rundell Winchester...all gone

Corbin soon gone.

Back in the day, our entertainers (stars) stayed home because they had little other option.   The football world has changed and with it....our domestic leagues

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Reality Bites!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 06, 2015, 02:47:27 PM
Palos yuh sure right!  I remember before I leave home, in we minor league everybody was by the savannah to get the entertainment.  We had keepers who were unbelievable, and skills men sharing beats like it was going out of style.  Angus Eve while still in school played for one of the teams and would draw massive oouuhhs aaaahhha and ouguuuds from the crowd every time he touch the ball.
Post by: Tiresais on August 25, 2015, 06:43:52 AM
Definitely - entertainers can really make a league exciting, but being in the local community is the real issue here for me. For those of you who saw leagues a couple decades ago - you likely went 'cause it was your friends or family or people otherwise part of the community who were playing ball. IT was local, intense, and enjoyable. Even if you didn't know anyone yourself, a bunch of your friends were likely there to watch the game.
Title: De TTFA should consider grooming these coaches.
Post by: Sam on September 01, 2015, 03:48:09 PM
De TTFA should consider grooming these coaches. to work as Hart assistant.

Stern John, Densill Theobald, Anthony Sherwood and Carlos Edwards.

All have good head on their shoulders.

All wiling and humble.

And all want to give back to T&T, they not just looking for a buck.

Even if they get the job when T&T have games and work as part time coaches under Hart, because ah know de TTFA dont have de money to hire them full time.

We need to start grooming young talented coaches who know about modern football and have experience it.

Title: Re: De TTFA should consider grooming these coaches.
Post by: Sando prince on September 01, 2015, 03:59:07 PM
First question. Do they have any desire to be a coach?

Being a good coach takes dedication and time and one has to have that burning desire eh
Title: Re: De TTFA should consider grooming these coaches.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 01, 2015, 05:35:33 PM
what ever became of ben hakker under-study???
Post by: AB.Trini on December 19, 2016, 04:48:27 PM
A prophet is never honoured in his own country
Post by: coache on December 19, 2016, 05:16:16 PM
A man say we eh score a goal in six matches...I thought we lost de last game 3-1...?  anyway it doesn't matter  to me if de coach is foreign or not...it's really a question of Bright vs Dunce ..and yuh have mediocre
between dem.

When I see dunceness I cannot stand aside and keep quiet....dis foreign coach past dunce...he rel dunce..and dey join im up wit a rel dunce ...so we goin and get some serious results..

DJW say in maths if yuh multiply two negatives de answer will be positive therefore if yuh multiply dunceness by joining to dunce coaches ..de end result would be BRILLIANCE.
Post by: Flex on January 15, 2017, 07:17:53 AM
Gally: Local coaches can do the job.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Everald “Gally” Cummings, the former national player and coach has said the country does not need a foreign coach to turn around the fortunes of T&T football.

In the wake of Tuesday’s resignation of national coach Tom Saintfiet from Belgium, the ex “Strike Squad” coach said, “We have the technical capacity right here among our local fraternity, but the problem is that they have been fighting and undermining each other for decades and has created a space for others to exploit.”

He called on local coaches to stop and take stock of themselves. Cummings who guided the T&T “Strike Squad” to within a point of qualifying for the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy, believes the T&T Football Association (TTFA)under president David John-Williams has been throwing away money by the hiring and firing of international coaches.

“We cannot be throwing away money, especially in times of scarce financial resources and with the TTFA in debt.”

According to Cummings: “This is not 2005 as there is no Dwight Yorke or Russell Latapy.

“It was Russell who changed the momentum and gave us that chance after his outstanding game against Guatemala.

“Before that coach, Dutchman Leo Beenhakker had suffered a 5-1 away loss to the Guatemalans.”

“Gally” is calling on the TTFA to appoint people who understand the players; know intuitively their special traits; our style and turn the team into an attacking dynamic and cohesive force in a few weeks time, saying he did it back in 1987 in a space of two weeks, when the country had lost to the United States.

He believes the time has come for locals to remove themselves from the shackles of colonialism and have confidence their own strength and talents.

He explained the country has been making the same mistakes for the last 20 years and more, yet expect different results.

“We need to ask whether we are getting the best technical advice and to let the population know what is the vision for football,” Cummings asked.

Post by: andre samuel on January 15, 2017, 11:47:07 PM

“Before that coach, Dutchman Leo Beenhakker had suffered a 5-1 away loss to the Guatemalans.”

Easy Gally Cummings, this isnt true, lol
Post by: Spursy on January 16, 2017, 01:16:09 AM
Bob Bradley :D
Military coach ftw :DDD
Post by: Flex on December 17, 2019, 02:43:11 AM
Coaches queue up for Lawrence’s job.

Trinidad and To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion tech­ni­cal com­mit­tee chair­man Kei­th Look Loy is promis­ing a re­place­ment for sacked na­tion­al foot­ball coach Den­nis Lawrence by Fri­day.

And who­ev­er gets the job will have a man­date to take the coun­try to the 2021 CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup via the June 2020 CON­CA­CAF play­off against the win­ner be­tween Bar­ba­dos and Guyana, who play in March.

Lawrence, whose dis­mal record at the helm of the So­ca War­riors dur­ing World Cup qual­i­fiers, CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup and oth­er in­ter­na­tion­al friend­ly match­es for the past three years, led to the TTFA board of di­rec­tors opt­ing to ter­mi­nate his ser­vices at a meet­ing on Sat­ur­day.

Guardian Me­dia Sports un­der­stands that Lawrence has since ex­pressed his dis­plea­sure with how his fir­ing took place.

Yes­ter­day, how­ev­er, Look Loy said the TTFA has al­ready been swamped by ap­pli­ca­tions from men seek­ing to fill the va­can­cy.

“The as­so­ci­a­tion has since been bom­bard­ed with in­ter­ests from coach­es from Eu­rope, South Amer­i­ca and right here lo­cal­ly to pick up coach­ing du­ties with the coun­try’s ju­nior and se­nior teams. The com­mit­tee is cur­rent­ly in the process of look­ing at them be­fore a choice can be made, giv­en the as­so­ci­a­tion’s fi­nan­cial lim­i­ta­tions, but al­so the qual­i­ty of the can­di­dates,” Look Loy told Guardian Me­dia Sports.

But Look Loy gave the as­sur­ance that the se­lec­tion will not be based pure­ly on qual­i­fi­ca­tions.

He said there were the is­sues of fi­nances and im­me­di­a­cy of fill­ing the va­can­cy, which means that the se­lect­ed coach must be will­ing to come here at a mo­ment’s no­tice and lay down his pro­gramme. How­ev­er, he made it clear that al­though there is an is­sue of fi­nances, he has al­ways been firm in the view that the coun­try should get the best coach they can af­ford.

He said he be­lieves for the first 2020 FI­FA win­dow in March, the new coach must have laid plans down which should in­clude at least two in­ter­na­tion­al friend­ly match­es. He said the TTFA has al­ready been ap­proached by sev­er­al in­ter­na­tion­al match agents with of­fers for 2020 en­gage­ments.

Mean­while, Cen­tral FC own­er and man­ag­ing di­rec­tor Brent San­cho, who played with Lawrence on the 2006 team that qual­i­fied for the World Cup in Ger­many, has sup­port­ed the de­ci­sion to re­place Lawrence, say­ing while the for­mer coach faced nu­mer­ous chal­lenges, it was dif­fi­cult to de­fend the string of 14 win­less match­es by the So­ca War­riors in the lat­ter part of his tenure.

“The coun­try has nev­er re­al­ly got­ten the op­por­tu­ni­ty to ex­pe­ri­ence Lawrence’s true tal­ent be­cause the play­ing field was not lev­elled. For in­stance, he faced chal­lenges of an age­ing tal­ent pool, play­ers re­turn­ing for match­es a day be­fore key match­es, etcetera. I think it is un­for­tu­nate for Lawrence, but that’s the na­ture of the sport,” San­cho said.

San­cho said he is hop­ing the new coach will be some­one with ex­ten­sive in­ter­na­tion­al ex­pe­ri­ence and qual­i­fi­ca­tions who will un­der­stand the sit­u­a­tion he is en­ter­ing.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2019, 07:09:52 AM

Trinidad and To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion tech­ni­cal com­mit­tee chair­man Kei­th Look Loy is promis­ing a re­place­ment for sacked na­tion­al foot­ball coach Den­nis Lawrence by Fri­day.

Mean­while, Cen­tral FC own­er and man­ag­ing di­rec­tor Brent San­cho, who played with Lawrence on the 2006 team that qual­i­fied for the World Cup in Ger­many, has sup­port­ed the de­ci­sion to re­place Lawrence, say­ing while the for­mer coach faced nu­mer­ous chal­lenges, it was dif­fi­cult to de­fend the string of 14 win­less match­es by the So­ca War­riors in the lat­ter part of his tenure.

“The coun­try has nev­er re­al­ly got­ten the op­por­tu­ni­ty to ex­pe­ri­ence Lawrence’s true tal­ent be­cause the play­ing field was not lev­elled. For in­stance, he faced chal­lenges of an age­ing tal­ent pool, play­ers re­turn­ing for match­es a day be­fore key match­es, etcetera. I think it is un­for­tu­nate for Lawrence, but that’s the na­ture of the sport,” San­cho said.

San­cho said he is hop­ing the new coach will be some­one with ex­ten­sive in­ter­na­tion­al ex­pe­ri­ence and qual­i­fi­ca­tions who will un­der­stand the sit­u­a­tion he is en­ter­ing.

Rich ... with fertilizer.
Post by: lefty on December 17, 2019, 09:44:36 AM

Rich ... with fertilizer.

Lawrence need to go on sabbatical like he "mentor" and and figure out his "Idea of football" to quote Italian many coaches, because his was merky at best nonexistent at worst
Post by: Thomo on December 17, 2019, 10:35:38 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if Lawrence comes with a lawsuit. The geezer is completely deluded like his cohort DJW.
Watch this space.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 17, 2019, 10:52:57 AM
Sancho really saying he had a limited pool when so much fish out there that never get call?
Post by: pull stones on December 17, 2019, 12:21:06 PM
Sancho really saying he had a limited pool when so much fish out there that never get call?
this is why I warned against locals around our football, they have contributed to most of our set backs and pitfalls. from gally cummings to the bertile st claires to the dexter skeens to the russell latapys and Brent sachos and the dennis lawrences. these men are more toxic and hazardous to our football with their share idiosyncrasies  and their silly petty hang ups than any foreigner could ever be. I don’t ever want to see another local near our football for a long while.
Post by: injunchile on December 18, 2019, 03:29:18 PM
Players must have respect for the Coach. Somehow the foreign Coaches have the edge when it comes to Respect. Something about the Culture- Foreign better and NIH- Not invented here. Sad but true.
Post by: lefty on December 18, 2019, 05:07:52 PM
Players must have respect for the Coach. Somehow the foreign Coaches have the edge when it comes to Respect. Something about the Culture- Foreign better and NIH- Not invented here. Sad but true.

I feel it have much to do with our tendency to not have or implement structure and "modern" methods into our football remember trinidad football as ah whole is veeery slow and often lack structure i.e. opponent planning in fact we doh do opponent planning for nutten almost, shabbazz was notorious for dat in d womens program.

is we tendency to be back-a-day, adhoc and generally lacking in forward thinking is what gets them no "respect". Waldron had dem ladies conditioned like athletes, locals does jus put women and girls, it have ah huge difference between d two.
Post by: trini_stallion on December 18, 2019, 08:02:17 PM

I feel it have much to do with our tendency to not have or implement structure and "modern" methods into our football remember trinidad football as ah whole is veeery slow and often lack structure i.e. opponent planning in fact we doh do opponent planning for nutten almost, shabbazz was notorious for dat in d womens program.

is we tendency to be back-a-day, adhoc and generally lacking in forward thinking is what gets them no "respect". Waldron had dem ladies conditioned like athletes, locals does jus put women and girls, it have ah huge difference between d two.

I think it’s a discipline thing. Foreign coaches come with different experience. Look at Leo for example. He commanded the respect of the squad. That squad consisted of real football stats, yorkie, latas, shaka, young Jones, stern to name some....

Us Trini’s we talk toooo much, and act toooooo less. Our laid back approach is part of our culture.

Post by: Controversial on December 19, 2019, 05:28:56 AM

I think it’s a discipline thing. Foreign coaches come with different experience. Look at Leo for example. He commanded the respect of the squad. That squad consisted of real football stats, yorkie, latas, shaka, young Jones, stern to name some....

Us Trini’s we talk toooo much, and act toooooo less. Our laid back approach is part of our culture.

Speak for yourself brother...

My tendency to push the boundaries and progressive thinking is frowned upon on here  :D
Post by: injunchile on December 19, 2019, 09:38:06 AM
Contro is right. Having lived and work in Trinidad from 1973- 2000-and having worked in the USA.
 Performance beats old talk. Different work ethic, Continuing education . Performance appraisals and if you cannot compete- Surplus to requirement. One has to be fit Physically/ spiritually and when you are black work twice as hard to have a seat at the table
Post by: pull stones on December 19, 2019, 01:44:44 PM
It’s elementary. quite a few foreign coaches study psychology as part of their training in order to man manage these millionaires and potential millionaires. in england and holland one of the first things they teach aspiring coaches, particularly those who venture into developmental coaching for children is to inspire and mentally manipulate the children into working happily and cooperatively without being told.

in the third world and more so in trinidad these coaches acquire the certification but don’t have the discipline to put every thing they have learned coming through the ranks as players behind them and embrace the culture of coaching without malice favor or ill will. they tend to get into personalities and traits instead of thinking only football.

a foreign coach will come in not knowing any of our players and just simply look for the talented mentally and physically fit players who could cut it at that level, and even if they miscalculate the ability of some players in the not too distant future they would be found out like danial cyrus who hasn’t been able to spend more than one season in any top league including the MLS.

and though he’s very fast and has the physique to be a top defender he’s not mentally fit for that level, but our coaches seem to be sold on cyrus though better coaching staffs has blatantly refused his services and understandably so, the man is a liability with zero awareness and lack the mental capacity for football on an international level and his recent performances speak for itself.

so it’s not that foreign coaches are tactically or technically better, they just don’t have the impediment of familiarity and ulterior motives in the way of making sound unfavorable judgements, they know what they’re looking for and they acquire it even if the player looks like a street dweller or a hired hit man. they seldom get into personalities as long as the player has the aptitude to follow the program, and I guess the other players recognize that the coach means business which gains their respect and consequently inspire confidence of all the team who in turn works harder for the coach.

did anyone noticed lawrence’s level of performance dropped drastically when sol campbell left the camp?

Post by: Controversial on December 19, 2019, 03:55:15 PM
It’s elementary. quite a few foreign coaches study psychology as part of their training in order to man manage these millionaires and potential millionaires. in england and holland one of the first things they teach aspiring coaches, particularly those who venture into developmental coaching for children is to inspire and mentally manipulate the children into working happily and cooperatively without being told.

in the third world and more so in trinidad these coaches acquire the certification but don’t have the discipline to put every thing they have learned coming through the ranks as players behind them and embrace the culture of coaching without malice favor or ill will. they tend to get into personalities and traits instead of thinking only football.

a foreign coach will come in not knowing any of our players and just simply look for the talented mentally and physically fit players who could cut it at that level, and even if they miscalculate the ability of some players in the not too distant future they would be found out like danial cyrus who hasn’t been able to spend more than one season in any top league including the MLS.

and though he’s very fast and has the physique to be a top defender he’s not mentally fit for that level, but our coaches seem to be sold on cyrus though better coaching staffs has blatantly refused his services and understandably so, the man is a liability with zero awareness and lack the mental capacity for football on an international level and his recent performances speak for itself.

so it’s not that foreign coaches are tactically or technically better, they just don’t have the impediment of familiarity and ulterior motives in the way of making sound unfavorable judgements, they know what they’re looking for and they acquire it even if the player looks like a street dweller or a hired hit man. they seldom get into personalities as long as the player has the aptitude to follow the program, and I guess the other players recognize that the coach means business which gains their respect and consequently inspire confidence of all the team who in turn works harder for the coach.

did anyone noticed lawrence’s level of performance dropped drastically when sol campbell left the camp?

Well Fenwick is our new coach... what say you
Post by: Deeks on December 19, 2019, 10:46:18 PM
So is Fenwick it is. Look Loy also laid out the reason he was selected and some of the terms of agreement. Fenwick fits the bill. Both foreign and local. Congrats and Good Luck.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/sports/fenwick-gets-soca-warriors-job-6.2.1012020.231cb8218e
Post by: Sam on June 12, 2021, 05:08:38 PM
Angus Eve would be a big mistake for T&T head coach.

Yuh could kiss all foreign based players good buy.

He fail as T&T youth coach when the TTFA had money, now they don't, what make you think he go do better.

He was coach for de under 20 and under 23 and fail big time.

We have no good local coaches because all of them stock on one level and have the same mentality.

Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2021, 09:30:49 PM
Angus Eve would be a big mistake for T&T head coach.

Yuh could kiss all foreign based players good buy.

He fail as T&T youth coach when the TTFA had money, now they don't, what make you think he go do better.

He was coach for de under 20 and under 23 and fail big time.

We have no good local coaches because all of them stock on one level and have the same mentality.

Tell us when the TTFA had money?
Post by: Sam on June 13, 2021, 11:58:48 AM
When Jack Warner was there Deeks, he son Angus Eve had nuff jobs.

Post by: maxg on June 13, 2021, 04:18:58 PM
Remember in his early coaching days who he studied under ? I’m sure he has seen some inkling of light since then. Irregardless, he’s short term. And with Monserrat rise and our state, might be shorter than we would like. Yet, I rather give 1 local a smidgent of experience, than what the TF selections were doing, irregardless of who is to blame or not.
Post by: lefty on June 13, 2021, 08:02:34 PM
Even given d relatively poor level of SSFL, Eve has been a consistent results getter, his football is usually quicker and more physical than most of dem other coaches in SSFL, so at least....AT LEAST.....one can hope anyways ::) :P, d footie might be faster and less disjointed than we have become accustomed to from dem local coach in d fairly recent past....d bigger problem is yuh shouldn't have to be doing remedial work on player technique, while also having to hash out tactics, I saw some of d worst ball control and shit decision making I have seen from us under Fenwick, dat eh all fenick fault, dat existed long before he.

Eve local bias is well known, but if he actually break d mold and get locals to play less slow disjoint football dat goh be a win in my book, at dis stage my expectations real low so yeah......
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2021, 01:58:19 PM
Maybe TM can verify this.
Coaches of TT national since independence.

George Chambers 1964
Amerigo Bruner 1965 1966
Conrad Braithwaithe 1966 1967
Michael Lang 1968
Trevor Smith 1969
Kevin Verity 1972 1973
Rudi Gutendorf 1976
Edgar Vidale 1976
Alvin Corneal 1980
Ken Butcher 1980
Roderick Warner 1984 1985
Everald Cummings 1988 1989
Kenwyn Cooper 1989
Alvin Corneal 1990
Edgar Vidal 1990 1991
Muhammad Isa 1992
Clovis De Oliveira 1992
Everald Cummings 1993
Kenny Joseph 1994
Zoran Vranes 1994 1995
Jochen Figge 1995
Kenny Joseph 1996
Sebastian Araujo 1996
Edgar Vidal 1997
Bertille St. Clair 1997 2000
Ian Porterfield 2000-2001
Rene Simoes 2001-2002
Clayton Morris 2002
Hannibal Najjar 2002 2003
Zoran Vranes 2003
Stuart Charles-Fevrier 2003
Ron La Forest 2004
Bertille St. Clair 2004 2005
Leo Beenhakker 2005 2006
Win Rijsbergenn 2006 2007
Anton Corneal 2008
Francisco Maturana 2008 2009
Russel Latapy 2009 2011
Otto Pfister 2011 2012
Hutson Charles 2012 2013
Jamaal Shabazz 2012 2013
Stephen Hart 2013 2016
Tom Sanfiet 2016 2017
Dennis Lawrence 2017 2020
Terry Fenwick 2020 2021
Angus Eve 2021
Post by: Deeks on June 14, 2021, 05:32:01 PM
Yes, TM verify the list and moreso the duration dates. But I think the list is more or less correct. that is lots of coaches in 55 years period. That is
 a heavy turnover rate.
Post by: Deeks on June 14, 2021, 05:35:59 PM
Local bias. Allyuh friggin crazy. His job is to develop local talent. It has no bias in that.

if he actually break d mold and get locals to play less slow disjoint football dat goh be a win in my book,

I agree with you on that whole heartedly!!!
Post by: ABTrini on June 14, 2021, 10:10:01 PM
 At the lowest common denominator/ criteria, you would think that a selection committee for a coach would consider before you go out and fill a position, you build a profile of what you want,-  Things like what characteristics you want that person to have, their background, personality,  skills knowledge, aptitude for learning the game , evidence of current best practices, at least a pass for ah coaching badge- all those types of things.
Post by: Flex on May 05, 2023, 01:40:44 AM
Angus Eve backs local coaches: I am one of them.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

HEAD coach of the national men’s senior team Angus Eve said he is in support of local coaches, explaining that his comments about the TT Premier Football League recently were not intended to criticise them.

In an interview with Newsday last week, Eve said the pace of matches in the TTPFL will not help the national football programme immediately as international football is played at a faster pace.

He said it will take a few more months for the pace of local football to pick up as there was little football over the past three years because of the pandemic.

On April 26, Eve said, “It’s very difficult for the guys to get up to speed in such a short space of time. I think in the second phase of the league, which is supposed to start in September, you’ll see the guys a bit more up to speed.

“The games are playing a little bit slow, not up to the tempo of international football. It’s no fault of the guys, as I said before. In the longer term it would help the national team but to say it would have a massive impact (now), the answer would be no. A little bit down the road, then yes.”

The headline in last week’s story wrote, “Premier League too slow to help Soca Warriors.” In a media conference on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Eve reiterated, “It will take some time to build up to that international pace…I have said that time and time again it will help us in the middle to long term.” Eve said he will not bash local coaches as he is a local coach who has served for years in club football in TT including being the former head coach of Club Sando.

“We have to respect the guys (local coaches) and I respect the guys 100 per cent. It was disappointing for me that people try to cast a wedge between me and the local coaches because I am one of them and I see myself as representing them because usually the first thing we put in the press is that need a foreign coach.”

Eve said local coaches are doing a “tremendous” job.

Eve said many foreign coaches have been at the helm of the national senior men’s football team with limited success.

Eve said local coaches are seen as valuable throughout the region with many of them serving as head coaches. Jamaal Shabazz is the coach of Guyana and Stern John is in charge of St Lucia.

Post by: ABTrini on July 23, 2023, 07:56:50 AM
Maybe TM can verify this.
Coaches of TT national since independence.

George Chambers 1964
Amerigo Bruner 1965 1966
Conrad Braithwaithe 1966 1967
Michael Lang 1968
Trevor Smith 1969
Kevin Verity 1972 1973
Rudi Gutendorf 1976
Edgar Vidale 1976
Alvin Corneal 1980
Ken Butcher 1980
Roderick Warner 1984 1985
Everald Cummings 1988 1989
Kenwyn Cooper 1989
Alvin Corneal 1990
Edgar Vidal 1990 1991
Muhammad Isa 1992
Clovis De Oliveira 1992
Everald Cummings 1993
Kenny Joseph 1994
Zoran Vranes 1994 1995
Jochen Figge 1995
Kenny Joseph 1996
Sebastian Araujo 1996
Edgar Vidal 1997
Bertille St. Clair 1997 2000
Ian Porterfield 2000-2001
Rene Simoes 2001-2002
Clayton Morris 2002
Hannibal Najjar 2002 2003
Zoran Vranes 2003
Stuart Charles-Fevrier 2003
Ron La Forest 2004
Bertille St. Clair 2004 2005
Leo Beenhakker 2005 2006
Win Rijsbergenn 2006 2007
Anton Corneal 2008
Francisco Maturana 2008 2009
Russel Latapy 2009 2011
Otto Pfister 2011 2012
Hutson Charles 2012 2013
Jamaal Shabazz 2012 2013
Stephen Hart 2013 2016
Tom Sanfiet 2016 2017
Dennis Lawrence 2017 2020
Terry Fenwick 2020 2021
Angus Eve 2021

Bring them all back from the dead to the living- from retirement to home of the aged all ah dem together cyar fix TnT football.