Sports => Football => Topic started by: jai john on April 06, 2006, 05:49:54 AM

Title: Dallas Cup Thread
Post by: jai john on April 06, 2006, 05:49:54 AM
I read somewhere that we are sending a team, obviously unprepared as this decision was short in coming , to take part in the Dallss cup. How does this help our football and psychological development ? If we are unprepared for a test then the test in itself will show that and we are and would be of  little benefit.
I say again if some of these planners were involved in the sport of boxing many young athletes would get themselves killed in the ring !
All I see this doing is demoralising the next generation of young footballers by mismatching them at too early an age.
would you let your 6 year old play aginst 16 year olds in a tournament ? I think not !
Well putting our soca babes in arms against teams of the same age but far greater development is just about pretty much the same thing.
Teams plan years in advance for this tournament. have we done so or are we just taking advantage of Alvin´s contact with the Dallas Cup tournament, to run ah side leh we see ?
Title: Re: Is participation in the Dallas Cup a wise move at this time ?
Post by: jai john on April 06, 2006, 06:01:46 AM
i just read a post game report where Ron said the team was underprepared because they only came together December 2005 while the Haiti team had been together for a year. Yet we agree to take part in another  tournament for which we have not prepared adequately

Get the picture folks ? ...everyone knows that the barn door was open after the horse has bolted ...

none so blind as those who will not see !
Post by: Flex on April 06, 2006, 06:07:51 AM
At this point in time the Dallas Cup will be great.... we cannot only think about winning these sort of things, we have to build and start somewhere. If this was a World Qualifier then I would agree with you, but its a friendly tournament and the team is in training for preparations for the tour. I am not saying we should go there and disgrace ourselves, but the Dallas Cup will do some good, lets hope we can be consistent at these sort of prep. Playing internationally, away from T&T and against good opposition is always welcomed. In the end though, all this will help our team prepare well.

About Ron's comments, if Haiti was in training for one year, why didn't he scout them, also, was Dominica in training for one year. Forget how we played against them, the point is and the record shows we tie them 1-1, they held on and we were at home, so this is not good at all. We also had a very deep team with 8 overseas players in it and a decent bench. As Lincoln said our local coaches must up their knowledge if we are to progress. And our players must fix their attitudes and take the game more seriously, we need to develop a fighting habit and learn to work off the ball too.
Post by: truetrini on April 06, 2006, 06:33:25 AM
So jes how yuh does prepare a team if they doh get to play togehter for a while and get exposure at all different levels and circumstances?

Keep dem home and let dem train in de stadium with no match practice?
What is yuh suggestion jai john?

La Forest have to go.

This is de best preparation we had for a while and yet he making excuses about Trini mentality.

While I feel he eh lie...I feel he had dat attitude and it pass on to his team.

Contrast him to Beenie.

Beenie had the team feeling dat dey could beat people but still have de gumption and sense to know dat no team soft.

Ok Ron, we take de Dominicans for granted..and you and de team eh learn nutten fuh de Haiti game?

Steups..haulyuh arse!

Resign and doh say shit about it up to de powers dat be.
Post by: KND2 on April 06, 2006, 06:44:16 AM
playing in any tournament is a good thing, win lose or draw, I do not expect Trini to do that well in this tournament.

Some of these club team in the US have big youths compared to the average trini youths so physically we might get rough up.

The experience will be invaluable because at least the players we see the standard from all over the world so they will know how good they need to improve to compete
Post by: Big Magician on April 06, 2006, 06:50:53 AM
nah jai john....cant agree with you here.....this is good.....and i will add this.....all de so called "big players"(and i know them all) on this team will get to see what real "big players'" look like.....and how hard they work....how determined and commited they are....that will be a lesson we wont be able to teach them.....so all the best for them....learn well boys,....
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2006, 07:02:46 AM
I read somewhere that we are sending a team, obviously unprepared as this decision was short in coming , to take part in the Dallss cup. How does this help our football and psychological development ? If we are unprepared for a test then the test in itself will show that and we are and would be of  little benefit.
I say again if some of these planners were involved in the sport of boxing many young athletes would get themselves killed in the ring !
All I see this doing is demoralising the next generation of young footballers by mismatching them at too early an age.
would you let your 6 year old play aginst 16 year olds in a tournament ? I think not !
Well putting our soca babes in arms against teams of the same age but far greater development is just about pretty much the same thing.
Teams plan years in advance for this tournament. have we done so or are we just taking advantage of Alvin´s contact with the Dallas Cup tournament, to run ah side leh we see ?

You have made some very good points, with the exception of 6 year olds playing against 16 years old.
It all depends on the approach. Most National Youth teams have about 4-5 days to prepare for a Tournamnet (with only a couple of countries being and exception, USA, Costa Rica etc) Now many countries are better prepared because the clubs train the players on a daily basis in a very professional environment. So when they gather the players they are fit and have a good general tactical / technical foundation.

Now how you approach the tournament and what you wish to achieve is the next step. T&T in the Dallas cup will meet mainly club teams of the same age. The staff should lay down realistic goals and expectations for the players and the squad. What the tournament will give them is a measuring stick for their individual abilities in relation to players of the same age from a variety of back grounds. It will also be a measuring stick for the team. Young players do not have a realistic view of the standard of top players in their age group, from outside T&T. After all they feel they are the best because they are the best in T&T. Games against top International Teams and Tournaments like these can help create and understanding of what is required to play at this level. The players can learn from it, go home and dedicate themselves to reach that level, or simply come to the realization that they are not good enough to play at that level.

Lets be honest we all feel we could play ball, until we bounce up someone who has played at the highest level and our jaw drops in admiration. Oh sorry maybe that was just me  ;D ;D
Post by: Big Magician on April 06, 2006, 07:10:32 AM
thank you observer....like yuh know yuh ting boy....lol
Post by: palos on April 06, 2006, 07:12:41 AM

If I hear you correctly, maybe we shouldn't be goin World Cup either.  Ah mean....after all....we obviously not prepared and we go be playin against men who ALL playin in de top football leagues in the world, who does play CL League on a reg, and who play plenty WC and European Cup and Confederations Cup and Copa America and ting.  De majority of we players playin lower division football.  We have a captain who eh even playin wit nobody...unless yuh countin fete match fuh Man U as "playin to flight football".  Based on wha u sayin dey...bess we stay home.

Ah mean....dem teams plannin years in advance for dis World Cup.  Dis is we fuss time at it.  I eh sure how dis go help we football and psychological development.  I see this could definitely demoralise the next generation of our young footballers by mismatching our team against the best in the world.  

Have we REALLY prepared or just taking advantage of Jack connections?
Post by: Filho on April 06, 2006, 07:14:47 AM
Yep Jai...I have to agree we have to work on preparing better for tournaments. But it is more beneficial to go to this tournament than to ahve the boys doing nothing or practising drills back home. Let them get salt...that may be the best way for us to learn the importance of preparation.

You can also argue the Dallas Cup is a type of preparation. A lot will be learned about the quality of international competition at this age group. The boys will also train together on off days and get real match practice. It can turn out to be potential preparation for more important tournaments down the line.
Post by: tempo on April 06, 2006, 07:27:43 AM
Playing in this tournament and against excellent teams is a good thing. The idea that the "team is not prepared enough, so we shouldn't go" is really a cynical and prideful approach. How can you expect the team and players to improve if they don't play against good competition? Remember, these are 16 year old boys, they will improve if given the opportunities. Some of us really have fragile egos and are overly concerned about being "embarassed". So what if the team is soundly beaten in the games, in fact they probably will have a tough time. But, so long as they improve and continue to develop in time for a good u17 world qualification showing. That is what's important. Also, about the coaching, until the TTFF can afford to pay better coaches, Lincoln is stuck with the locals. It's that simple. He obviously knows the limitations involved with that bunch but what can he truly do? The gov't money may eventually be the source to get better coaches but you know how dat is. 
Post by: doc on April 06, 2006, 07:36:11 AM
Tempo, are you hearing anything about the U-14s?
Post by: Sam on April 06, 2006, 07:38:44 AM
Yea, de under 14 team still waiting on funds from de goverment to be formed. Man still playing with ole t-shirts and de money de ttff get that is for players and staff bonus.

Adidas only making 22 shirts for de seniors and a few to sell, but de other teams still playing with Finta, funds tight this rounds.
Post by: duscam on April 06, 2006, 07:43:29 AM
we should go because dallas cup has lots of scouts from universities and colleges and professional teams...so even if trinidad go and get beat every game some scholarships and opportunities may be provided for outstanding players, hard workers etc...it is a good thing.
Post by: tempo on April 06, 2006, 07:56:21 AM
Tempo, are you hearing anything about the U-14s?

I haven't heard too much about the u14s.   
Post by: Trinimassive on April 06, 2006, 08:03:37 AM
Don't think we need to be concerned with our players getting university scholarships. If they want that good fuh dem but it not helpin they game. When they leave there they struggling to make even MLS team. That is ah waste ah time really.

But while any competition is good, Jai John has a valid point. Even Beenie turn down tournaments because he couldn't field the his best players. Especially in T&T yuh cyah have teams losing as a habit cause just as someone said yesterday.....he spoke to one of the players and even though they lost the player said "that's small ting"

Seriously, if they lose what will be do....NOTHING. We cyah beat them, send them to ah corner. If they get accustomed to losing like ALL our teams did even the Senior Team (before Beenie) they say the same thing....we go do better next time. We sending ah National Team that could collect licks from club teams etc. That does nothing good for their self esteem and losing has no reprocisions like it does in Brazil or England. So the fellas go up not caring if they win or lose cause.....if ah Tree fall in the forest and nobody hear...did it fall?
Win, Lose, Draw is the same result for many of our teams so they doh fight to win.

But good luck to the team though.
Post by: palos on April 06, 2006, 08:10:00 AM
Don't think we need to be concerned with our players getting university scholarships. If they want that good fuh dem but it not helpin they game. When they leave there they struggling to make even MLS team. That is ah waste ah time really.

But while any competition is good, Jai John has a valid point. Even Beenie turn down tournaments because he couldn't field the his best players. Especially in T&T yuh cyah have teams losing as a habit cause just as someone said yesterday.....he spoke to one of the players and even though they lost the player said "that's small ting"

Seriously, if they lose what will be do....NOTHING. We cyah beat them, send them to ah corner. If they get accustomed to losing like ALL our teams did even the Senior Team (before Beenie) they say the same thing....we go do better next time. We sending ah National Team that could collect licks from club teams etc. That does nothing good for their self esteem and losing has no reprocisions like it does in Brazil or England. So the fellas go up not caring if they win or lose cause.....if ah Tree fall in the forest and nobody hear...did it fall?
Win, Lose, Draw is the same result for many of our teams so they doh fight to win.

Based on what you are saying we might as well doh go World Cup then?
Post by: Trinimassive on April 06, 2006, 08:33:44 AM

Based on what you are saying we might as well doh go World Cup then?

LOL well who knows

No Palos ah saying same thing Beenie say about the tournament in Saudi he get invited to. He turn it down because he didn't have the top players available. Why didn't he take ah 2nd team...probablly because psychologically it would have affected the team's psychi.

Losing becomes a habit just as Winning becomes a habit.

Beenie has been choosing games wisely. Is no different in Boxing. Yuh chose yuh fight and times wisely to build up to where you going. At this point if the team hasn't even been training for very long and then go there a lose all their games...when they come back...Who cares? No one really. So they go on with life. They play again Lose....they go on with life. That was ALL of our teams. 

Psychology has a lot to do with Football as in any sport. If yuh keep gettin bad grades and yuh parents keep saying "oh well, it's ok...yuh tried" Failure becomes acceptable. Football is more mental than physical.

Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 06, 2006, 08:40:43 AM
i think they shud go..even if the opposing teams are of higher quality, this will help improve the team. They will see what is required of them and how to improve. You don't improve on beating up on lesser teams, you have to play quality opposition. Also this will be good for the players as maybe they will realize that altho they may be starring in trinidad and tobago at the school boy level, they are not stars on the world stage and will work to continue improving
Post by: Marcos on April 06, 2006, 08:53:54 AM
Yep Jai...I have to agree we have to work on preparing better for tournaments. But it is more beneficial to go to this tournament than to ahve the boys doing nothing or practising drills back home. Let them get salt...that may be the best way for us to learn the importance of preparation.

You can also argue the Dallas Cup is a type of preparation. A lot will be learned about the quality of international competition at this age group. The boys will also train together on off days and get real match practice. It can turn out to be potential preparation for more important tournaments down the line.

While I agree this isn't always the case.
The west indies cricket team is a testament to this
All they doing is losing and not learnin nuttin'
Post by: Filho on April 06, 2006, 09:22:13 AM

true...but I think the lessons that apply to youths who are in an earlier stage of their development, may not always apply to adults
Post by: Marcos on April 06, 2006, 09:38:01 AM

true...but I think the lessons that apply to youths who are in an earlier stage of their development, may not always apply to adults

Well said, but again, many of the new WI players are pretty young and are comparable in age to the under-21 squizzad
Post by: jai john on April 06, 2006, 11:15:36 AM
I have read the various comments and there are good arguments for whether we should take part in the Dallas Cup this year or not. However what I really hoped to exorcise was the devil within the details.
We can't seem to shake our eternal  problem of the lack of proper preparation for tournaments. So far no one has commented on what type of preparation these young players have been exposed to prior to ..throwing them in the ring ! You know ......what prepared them for this prestigeous tournament which is an annual event !
Maybe no one really knows ! Certainly we have not heard of any developmental plan within which this tournament fits.
I dont support the hit or miss approach because you cant control the process. If it fails we dont know why and if it succeeds we cant replicate it.
So the ...we need the players to see what good football is .....is really a joke for we all have TV. If the coaches dont know what a good football development plan entails how on earth can they pass it on the the players ?
Those of you who mentioned that it will be a good  experience must ask yourselves what lessons will be learnt  by it.  you think you could get , Ato boldon, Marc Burns, Bovell or Brown to compete just so ? I think not. That's why they have achieved . What lessons are we teaching the young ones wth this lack of preparedness ? that it is ok ? Then we want an attitude change when they get to be seniors ?
Someone mentioned the losing culture and I wish to repeat it ...Winning like losing is contageous ...so as a player you could be seen at Smoky and bunty after the 1989 loss drinking beers when real die hard fans didn't even want to go home . So we lose so what ...we go make it in 94 for sure ! remember that ? All that happened in 94 was more of the same but we move on to 98 will be great .
If Beenie didn't come in and save the ship all ah we woulda been saying 2010 is then !
Remember when we pick Beenie assistant coaches without is nowledge  ??? what was his reply ...
Everone knows at that level the man selected brings his own team ...everyone except the TTFF that is ...Shamateurism at its highest .....and it will continue under this present adminstration.
Post by: tempo on April 06, 2006, 12:11:33 PM
So the ...we need the players to see what good football is .....is really a joke for we all have TV. If the coaches dont know what a good football development plan entails how on earth can they pass it on the the players ?
Are you serious? Are you saying that watching a game on tv will bring the same level of exposure to our players as actually playing a game against better players? This u16 team is the same one that competed in the CONCACAF tournament last august in Trinidad. They have been training regularly and playing against some of the PFL youth teams. It is time for them to compete against outside teams. Questions surrounding details are indeed important so here is one that has not been asked; what resources(staff, money, coaches) have been provided that will enable the national teams to do better? Having a plan is one thing(one does exist) but executing the plan requires the TTFF decision makers and gov't to provide these resources so proper preparation can take place on a consistent basis. Another item to take into consideration is the role the PFL and SSFL plays in youth development. In most countries, the clubs are the ones that develop and train the players because the players spend most of their time with either the clubs or the schools. Unless a national federation has a residency program, it is really the clubs that are best suited to send battle ready players for the international tournaments.
Post by: dwn on April 06, 2006, 12:20:47 PM
No Palos ah saying same thing Beenie say about the tournament in Saudi he get invited to. He turn it down because he didn't have the top players available. Why didn't he take ah 2nd team...probablly because psychologically it would have affected the team's psychi.

I think its matter of whether the admin believes the benefits outweigh the potential set backs.

Regarding the senior team, seeing that Beenie's goal is to prepare us for the world cup, then having the world cup bound players for that tournament was key. There wouldnt be any gain from taking a squad of players who arent part of the world cup preparation plan. Giving a few other players the experience doesnt might benefit the individuals but it doesnt really do anything as far as preparing the team for june is concerned.

As far as the under 16s go, I honestly dont know that much about their plan and what they are preparing for or how they are approaching this tournament so I cant really take a side. If they are putting together a team for this tournament and its not part of a long term preparation plan, then its probably not going to do them much good if they going to be out of their depth. The most they will learn is that they arent good enough.
Post by: oconnorg on April 10, 2006, 06:27:17 AM
Thats starts today.. Any one keeping thier ears open to whats going on ?

T&T 's first game is against Chicago Magic.
Title: Re: U16 Dallas Cup
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 10, 2006, 06:30:36 AM
Who is in our under 16 squad?
Post by: JDB on April 10, 2006, 06:38:41 AM
It looks like they update scores HERE (http://www.dallascup.com/2006/sked/list/U16.html)
Post by: oconnorg on April 10, 2006, 06:43:41 AM
Hi Fellahs,

Based on the link provided by JDB, we are playing in Bracket G.. The game today is at 4 pm.
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2006, 07:46:54 AM
for real. who in the U16 squad ? is it more or less the ssame team that played in the cfu U15 tournament last year?
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 10, 2006, 09:18:02 AM
for real. who in the U16 squad ? is it more or less the ssame team that played in the cfu U15 tournament last year?

For the sake of continuity, I would hope that the core of that team has survived the inactivity, but yuh know how things does go back home.  Is always starting from scratch for every tournament.
Post by: tempo on April 10, 2006, 09:56:12 AM
The players are, for the most part, the same group that played in the August tournament and they have been training on a weekly basis since last year. Their first game is against the defending US national champions, Chicago Magic. Significant changes in T&T football should be seen from this group as they are young enough to be molded by a good coach.
Post by: freakazoid on April 10, 2006, 10:11:48 AM
ah hope this doesnt qualify as hijacking the thread but i think we need to spend some big money on our youths. we decide now that we look for a coach who has the right stuff and pay him what he is worth and keep grooming this current batch untill atleat they are 20 leaving room 4 any late developers of course, to be included. i still lament over the 2001 U17 team i saw so much talent tournament done story over...... like we only have tournament vision oui
Post by: Teflon Don on April 10, 2006, 10:38:05 AM
How come we never have a squad list for the youth teams???.....then ppl wonder y trini football never supported all the time......we need to start getting the public familiar with the names of players in all our ntl teams.....football needs to be shoved down our throats if it really goin to go ne where here in trinidad.
Post by: oconnorg on April 10, 2006, 10:40:51 AM
How come we never have a squad list for the youth teams???.....then ppl wonder y trini football never supported all the time......we need to start getting the public familiar with the names of players in all our ntl teams.....football needs to be shoved down our throats if it really goin to go ne where here in trinidad.

Fear not, through us we will make de difference.!
Post by: tempo on April 10, 2006, 10:43:22 AM
I would like to know meself. Fuentes needs some help because this is information that can be easily put out, but you need a staff. I may be able to get a list of the players though.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 10, 2006, 05:47:28 PM
Score

Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team 0 vs 2 Chicago Magic
Post by: Warrior till death on April 10, 2006, 05:48:14 PM
4:00 PM    Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team    0    vs    2    Chicago Magic    Pizza Hut Park Field #17

we didnt get dat much lix
Post by: elan on April 10, 2006, 06:32:51 PM
We did not get much licks? This is a National Team playing against a club team, and you will say that we did not get much licks. First up that field they played on is not a  big field, so fitness should not play such a big part.  It's a good youth size field and we should have done good. The thing about these fields is that passing play a big part in a game on this field, combination and link up play is very important on playing on these field, because playing over the top would put you out of space really quick. I hope they actually do better in the other games.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 10, 2006, 06:35:15 PM
hmmmmmm

dissapointing
Post by: dervaig on April 10, 2006, 06:46:15 PM
Freaking clueless!!!

What is the population of Chicago? Of Trinidad?
Chicago Magic is THE best club in Chicago/Illinois,
and they probably brought 3 to 5 guest/elite players
along for the ride.

2 nil to the Magic is a very respectable score.

The fact that we have a team in the D-Cup is a giant
step in the right direction, as this IS the best club
tournament in this part of the world, period!!!
Post by: elan on April 10, 2006, 06:58:01 PM
Freaking clueless!!!

along for the ride.

So then according to you based on population we should not be at the WC?  Yes it's great that we are at the Dallas Cup, so does that mean we should settle for whatever? Chicago Magic could be the best team in Chicago/Illinois, but they are not the best Youth team in the States. When we go out for International Tournaments What's going to happen to us? This is when we have to put the pressure on players and coaches. Let them know that repping T&T require a lot and not just a free plane ride. When the U-21 lost to Haiti there were reports of players smiling and saying that "it eh no big ting." This is when we weed out that type of mentality.
Post by: Trinimassive on April 10, 2006, 07:15:07 PM
We really should NOT be satisfied talking about the score respectable. No offense fellas but come on when will Trinis aim higher.

The US National U17 team drew 1-1 with our U21 team. I would bet the were not saying we didn't get licks from them hard back men.    I would bet they were disappointed to lose to T&T regardless of the age difference.

If I had money to bet I would bet that if it was the US team they would NEVER say that.

We don't have to come down hard on the youths BUT to be satisfied with losing is unacceptable. Some of us just too soft. Even Jamaicans would ah never say that.

Always aim higher. The good thing is that they are in a competition and they would get better.
Post by: Filho on April 10, 2006, 07:26:51 PM
We did not get much licks? This is a National Team playing against a club team, and you will say that we did not get much licks. First up that field they played on is not a  big field, so fitness should not play such a big part.  It's a good youth size field and we should have done good. The thing about these fields is that passing play a big part in a game on this field, combination and link up play is very important on playing on these field, because playing over the top would put you out of space really quick. I hope they actually do better in the other games.

Fitness is of utmost importance, no matter what the size of the field..so that part of your analysis is a bit flawed. A very fit team can use a small field to kill you if they have good ball movement and/or good dribblers. At hte highest levels..a small field is not going to save uyou if you;re not fit. But that is besides the point.

You should not be surprised that a top youth club team has beaten out national team. Fir4st, remember that these are stiill youths and they are not done with their football development. Second, American teenagers on average will be physically bigger, stronger htan ours..That plays a big part at this age group (cannot say if that is hte case with this group). Most important...these club teams practice together 3 to 4 times a week and play a game every week against good opposition and they play all year with just a winter break. they will be fitter, more tactically prepared, have better technique, and have better chemistry than most national youth programs. Same thing at the top senior levels...the best club teams will beat the best national teams just because htey have more chemistry and play together more....Barcelona will beat the Spanish national team..Chelsea would beat England...etc.

This is a learning experience for our Under 17s. Historically, the Under 17 results have been tragic...look at the results on this. Hopefully this is all part of a long term plan. If the team disbands after this and only meets up when the next tournament rolls around...then we will not see much improvement..if any at all
Post by: teddy bear on April 10, 2006, 08:06:15 PM
Well said Filho, as I was about to make some of the same points you've just made. Just one I'm unsure about. Why would they be technically better. Maybe I'm wrong but doesn't all the players on this team belong to a pro team youth set up in T&T? If so won't they be working on technique on a regular basis with their clubs as well as the national team? Just a thought,agian I don't know set up with players and clubs etc.
Post by: dumpalewie on April 10, 2006, 08:12:55 PM
Freaking clueless!!!

along for the ride.

So then according to you based on population we should not be at the WC?  Yes it's great that we are at the Dallas Cup, so does that mean we should settle for whatever? Chicago Magic could be the best team in Chicago/Illinois, but they are not the best Youth team in the States. When we go out for International Tournaments What's going to happen to us? This is when we have to put the pressure on players and coaches. Let them know that repping T&T require a lot and not just a free plane ride. When the U-21 lost to Haiti there were reports of players smiling and saying that "it eh no big ting." This is when we weed out that type of mentality.
I believe that they are the defending champs.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 10, 2006, 08:17:31 PM
yes they are the defending champs....remember this is a learning experience for the youths..result is disappointing yes but good for them that they will be able to learn from it!
Post by: Storeboy on April 10, 2006, 08:18:25 PM
Although I am not taking losing well, I am willing to accept htis loss if it is the beginning of a new era in training, coaching, exposure,and development of our youth with a view to making our senior team better.  NOw they must do better in the next game and if this serves as a benchmark, we should vow not to loose again.  NNOw go lil Warriors and make us proud by winning.
Post by: Filho on April 10, 2006, 08:26:17 PM
Well said Filho, as I was about to make some of the same points you've just made. Just one I'm unsure about. Why would they be technically better. Maybe I'm wrong but doesn't all the players on this team belong to a pro team youth set up in T&T? If so won't they be working on technique on a regular basis with their clubs as well as the national team? Just a thought,agian I don't know set up with players and clubs etc.

Good question. Maybe I am wrong on that point. I would be interested to ehar what others think. I am not entirely familiar with the youth set up in T&T, and I didn't see the game, so some of my points were hypothetical. US players play organized from the time they can even kick the ball and the system tends to focus more on technique and fitness and strength training than what I remember in T&T. At every level they have better technique than we do. Why? maybe that will change now that our youth players train with pro teams...at the same time, some of our boys still probably playing SSFL and training with their school team for parts of the year which I am sure is not the best quality of training
Post by: ZURITRESS on April 10, 2006, 08:40:41 PM
allot of critics on this board, some with good points but not putting the the whole picture together . i was at the game and i personally would put the blame on the coaching staff. i been up here since 89 so not familiar with this bunch but they are descent, a couple skilled guys but nothing special. Lincoln Phillips got on their case after the game about heart but i disagree, that was not a problem. Texas is a very tough place to play football, humidity and wind plays a very big part, your tactical approach is most important. the team tried to play good football but never looked or did i hear the bench instruct them how to use or combat the conditions. they were smaller ,weaker and slower than their opponents . they were more skillfull but is that a surprise.now i must say i missed the first half when we had the wind and that is when you put sides away here because against the wind is like playing on the DE side of a hill and u tyring to go uphill. the score was 0-0 @ half time , chicargo scored early in the second half and after that they just sat back and played the counter attack game and may i add the chicargo team not good a little bit. to sum it up ,the kids looked like they taught a certain way to play and they tried to do that , but the coaching staff never stepped up their game . that was disappointing at this level it is all about coaching i know i deal with it everyday
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 10, 2006, 08:41:57 PM
thanks for de lil rundown man...
Post by: dcs on April 10, 2006, 09:20:32 PM
ZURITRESS thank goodness you was there to give us a rundown else we woulda be just speculating and wasting time.

We should note these points for Lincoln.  It is a learning experience for the coaching staff too so give them feedback the same way the youths need feedback.

Lincoln might still have the memory of the U-21 effort (or lack of) on his mind hence the talk about heart.

Did you get chance to talk to anyone on the coaching staff?  Might be helpful to give him your 2 cents provided you can find the right timing and the right way to say it.  I know sometimes during these trips they take a day off and might have trinis visit the camp or vice versa.
Post by: ZURITRESS on April 10, 2006, 10:14:54 PM
i know a couple of the assistant coaches Hudson Charles and Ross Russel didn't have the time to talk ,hopefully next game. i would like to hear how they plan on keeping this group together and their tactics because i don't much about the head  coach.I'm not questioning anyone's ability to coach ,this is just my opinion
Post by: bryonji on April 10, 2006, 10:24:31 PM
yes they are the defending champs....remember this is a learning experience for the youths..result is disappointing yes but good for them that they will be able to learn from it!

every game we play is a learning experience..........when would we actually step up and teach someone a lesson.................i fed up at every level of futbol all yuh hearing is "de boys did well even though they lost , but it was learning experience"
that is totally ridiculous
Post by: maxg on April 10, 2006, 10:56:28 PM
Some supporters here, just plain jokey, yes...bout we is this, and we is that...and we have to beat team, otherwise we boys nuh good...or the coaching staff not good...something have to give....bout dem fed up takin liks...allyuh feel dem boys want to loose, or the coaches, or the adminstration...the whole point of going these tournaments is to experience, learn, and observe where yuh have to get....plenty licks does pass until yuh fall on the correct strategy to suit yuh opposition, and even then it still hit and miss for awhile...man should be celebrating the mere fact that we are a country, that in spite of our size, in spite of our problems, issues and handicaps , we can still afford, financially, and spritually to send a competitive team, that can only improve with each and every outing they make, so what if next game they get 14, as long as the lil fellas tryin, as long as the coaches trying, that is all one could ask of them...bout you fed up...why yuh doh pick up something and try to compete and see how good allyuh doing, cause allyuh cyar lose....shim...
we have plenty losses to get, we have to encourage the boys to inspite of that, go out and take ah next one....buh some man, talking bout, they should be vex, and serious and all kinda bullshit...is a f**king sport...they supposed to have fun, while competing to the best of their abilty...like man wha dem to hate deyself, or give up the GAME  for every lorse, while representing they country...geez ages man...
If somebody kid show some talent, and get call, he parents should refuse, just in case he may lorse.....some ppl jokey to bad yes...

an talk bout settling for mediocrity and all kinda bs....they have to start somewhere, and plenty ppl start by taking licks, no matter wheter yuh play for Brazil to Bahrain, but every game, every race, every contest, yuh play, is ah indicator that yuh strong enough to take the field, irregardless of the last result, yuh trying to get a better, or maintain a standard...so who don't know bout competing at a elite level, shut the F#@K up...
Keep trying youths, we will rejoice in your success, and share in your defeats...
Post by: Jefferz on April 10, 2006, 11:04:15 PM
Some supporters here, just plain jokey, yes...bout we is this, and we is that...and we have to beat team, otherwise we boys nuh good...or the coaching staff not good...something have to give....bout dem fed up takin liks...allyuh feel dem boys want to loose, or the coaches, or the adminstration...the whole point of going these tournaments is to experience, learn, and observe where yuh have to get....plenty licks does pass until yuh fall on the correct strategy to suit yuh opposition, and even then it still hit and miss for awhile...man should be celebrating the mere fact that we are a country, that in spite of our size, in spite of our problems, issues and handicaps , we can still afford, financially, and spritually to send a competitive team, that can only improve with each and every outing they make, so what if next game they get 14, as long as the lil fellas tryin, as long as the coaches trying, that is all one could ask of them...bout you fed up...why yuh doh pick up something and try to compete and see how good allyuh doing, cause allyuh cyar lose....shim...
we have plenty losses to get, we have to encourage the boys to inspite of that, go out and take ah next one....buh some man, talking bout, they should be vex, and serious and all kinda bullshit...is a f**king sport...they supposed to have fun, while competing to the best of their abilty...like man wha dem to hate deyself, or give up the GAME  for every lorse, while representing they country...geez ages man...
If somebody kid show some talent, and get call, he parents should refuse, just in case he may lorse.....some ppl jokey to bad yes...

an talk bout settling for mediocrity and all kinda bs....they have to start somewhere, and plenty ppl start by taking licks, no matter wheter yuh play for Brazil to Bahrain, but every game, every race, every contest, yuh play, is ah indicator that yuh strong enough to take the field, irregardless of the last result, yuh trying to get a better, or maintain a standard...so who don't know bout competing at a elite level, shut the F#@K up...
Keep trying youths, we will rejoice in your success, and share in your defeats...

WELL SAID.  :applause:

REALLY WELL SAID.

I wish more of these fellahz would shut the f**k up with the constant puttin down as if doing so will help... some fellahz dont understand they are just being detractors...
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 10, 2006, 11:06:56 PM
exactly...we now starting to put systems in place...yet man want instant results...steuuuupse...let we get the systems working that we have been beggin for for years and the results will come once the systems are properly maintained and managed...
byronji well u cud expect yuh instant results..i see these as youths who go learn..which is good...i want to see them win jus as much as de nex person..but yuh hadda be realistic
Post by: dervaig on April 11, 2006, 12:37:15 AM
In the US, 'the system' starts when kids are 3!

I'm fairly certain if you check the Chi Magic's team, those
kids have been together since they were 8, and if not
all the kids, the majority of kids.

The recipe to success at any level is no big secret, it's having
A PLAN, sticking to A PLAN, and executing A PLAN.

The U.S. has 1 goal.
To be World champs in 2018 or before.
Is it possible?
They have a plan, and they are sticking to the plan,
executing the plan.
Post by: dervaig on April 11, 2006, 12:47:21 AM
Forgot to mention, look at the U-14, bracket G.

Another national team.
Post by: JDB on April 11, 2006, 01:04:40 AM
Freaking clueless!!!

along for the ride.

The fact that thos is the best tournament and our first trip should tell yuh something. Based on our (lack of a) development program this is not a bad result.

You acting like we've been doing the  right things all along. You now wake up?

Good question. Maybe I am wrong on that point. I would be interested to ehar what others think.

I would say that they have been exposed to better coaching and have played more competitive matches against more varied and higher quality opposition than our boys. That makes a huge difference at any level but especially at that level.
Post by: Sando on April 11, 2006, 02:27:38 AM
If I'm not mistaken, didn't the Kirk brothers (Quanvas & Collin) play for Chicago Magic. It should be a decent team.
Post by: Observer on April 11, 2006, 06:59:22 AM
Many things have to be considered here.
Ok the opposition are a club team of the same age.
One also has to consider that the best U17 in the USA are living together in Bradenton and are not at the tournament(not representing their clubs).

However, though one has to be concerned that it is a club team of the same age, that provided the opposition. The biggest question is "how did the T&T team perform."
After all this is their first trip away from home. Simply looking at the score line is no indication of how the game went.

Was the team organized?
Did the player demonstrate an understanding of their positions?
What was their playing discipline like?
Did they create opportunities?
Did they fight the game to the last minute?
Which individuals performed well?

I could go on, but only by answering the questions above can we get a true indication of performance.
Post by: dumpalewie on April 11, 2006, 07:19:47 AM
I agree with those who speak of being realistic about results. We are literally starting from scratch here.

It is one thing to have skillfull players but it is another thing to have a winning team. Players have to learn their roles and how they collectively make the team better. Do you remember the before and after with Beenie?

We have many examples around us of what longterm planning can do. Less than 20 years ago we were on the same level as the US. Ten years ago we were better than Japan or S. Korea. Remember Jamaica beat Japan in '98. You think that could happen now? In fact we may have better dribblers than all those teams but we still can't beat them.

Come on people sto being so myopic!!
Post by: supporter on April 11, 2006, 07:27:31 AM
Sando! hahahahhaha  :rotfl: :rotfl:
that avatar got me cracking up here

but back on subject, its a fair result. You people expecting more need to realize that only recently have we got a real plan for youth setup. With that said, i wont settle for losing, and im sure neither will the players. Im sure theyll dig in and look better today
Post by: ZURITRESS on April 11, 2006, 07:45:23 AM
without being critical of the youths i think they were allright considering the circumstances which i spoke of earlier but this chicargo team not good a little bit so in that respect it is disappointing . some of the perants i spoke to said they were playing badly but i dont think they were being realistic about the situation i expect a better performance the next game now that the players and the coaching staff have an idea of the conditions and the opponents, but mostly i expect more from the coaching staff.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 11, 2006, 04:03:56 PM
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team 0 vs 0 Brentwood Excel United Pizza Hut Park Field #14
Post by: Warrior till death on April 11, 2006, 04:07:10 PM
2:00 PM    Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team    0    vs    0    Brentwood Excel United    Pizza Hut Park Field #14
Post by: Jefferz on April 11, 2006, 04:11:12 PM
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team 0 vs 0 Brentwood Excel United Pizza Hut Park Field #14

that was the end result?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 11, 2006, 04:13:14 PM

that was the end result?

yup what yuh shocked
Post by: Jefferz on April 11, 2006, 04:14:44 PM

that was the end result?

yup what yuh shocked

which way yuh tink ah was shocked?

I not sure how good de opposition is... i suppose it not bad considering that they say all opposition should be quite good...

however is not good we wernt able to buss de ole onion bag atleast once... anyway... we can move on positively from this result... cetch some momentum...
Post by: E-man on April 11, 2006, 04:15:58 PM
Our yesterday's team lost theirs today
Chicago Magic 0 vs  2 Crossfire Premier

So what we taking from Crossfire tomorrow?

Maybe same as Brentwood did yesterday?
Crossfire Premier 4 vs  0 Brentwood Excel United
Post by: Jefferz on April 11, 2006, 04:18:38 PM

nah is two goals in dey ass from we big time midfeilder ELTON JOHN

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 11, 2006, 04:21:22 PM

Boss doh hype up them players to soon
Post by: Jefferz on April 11, 2006, 04:24:36 PM

Boss doh hype up them players to soon

hype?

i mockin really.

I know is ah good team... ah dont know if they are necessarily a good enough team... but I cant get over the fact the man name is Elton John... them yankee kids must rel heckle him oui!  :rotfl:
Post by: elan on April 11, 2006, 06:22:55 PM

The american are really big on technique as opose to us, where we are more focused on the tactical aspect of the game. A lot of money goes into developing these players and the last thing that are thought to them are tactics. Simply because if you do not posess the technical ability you cannot carry out the tactical side of the game properly which makes sense. In Trinidad and Tobago we look at the local games and men are shooting over the bar all the time this shows a lack of technique. Proper technique would put the ball on frame if not in the goal.

Fitness is very important, but why i said it would not be as important in these games is because I have been to these fiields in Dallas and I know how windy it is and how the weather changes quickly. Therefore the short quick combination plays would be better to play at those fields, as oppose to rying to play over the top with the long balls. This is where the Technique would come in.......
Post by: Brej on April 11, 2006, 06:30:23 PM
by de look ah dis it appears we rel defensive minded
not one goal scored yet
and 2 conceded in 2 matches
Post by: Observer on April 12, 2006, 06:23:09 AM
elan!! What makes you say that T&T teams spend more time on Tactics??? Just curious?

I read yesterday where the Chicago team said they were out of their season so preparation was limited. This should be true for almost all the teams in the US & canada
Post by: tempo on April 12, 2006, 11:39:57 AM
Wednesday, April 12, 2006

10:00 AM    Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team    0    vs    2    Crossfire Premier    Pizza Hut Park Field #17
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 12, 2006, 11:40:37 AM
lawd fada  not a goal scored  conceded 4   
Post by: E-man on April 12, 2006, 11:59:53 AM
Bracket G
   TEAM                        P W L T  Goals Points
   Crossfire Premier           3 3 0 0 8:0 9
   Chicago Magic               2 1 1 0 2:2 3
   Brentwood Excel United      2 0 1 1 0:4 1
   Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team  3 0 2 1 0:4 1

Bracket G
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team  vs.  Chicago Magic  0: 2   
Crossfire Premier  vs.  Brentwood Excel United  4: 0   
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team  vs.  Brentwood Excel United  0: 0   
Chicago Magic  vs.  Crossfire Premier  0: 2   
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team  vs.  Crossfire Premier  0: 2   
Post by: Jefferz on April 12, 2006, 12:01:18 PM
Bracket G

Bracket G

::)

well... we knew from the start they'd be going up against the best in the World and no matter what you say its good exposer... and I can garantee you they will come back alot better than they were when they left.
Post by: FF on April 12, 2006, 12:06:08 PM
Bracket G

Bracket G

Well we might not finish last  ;D

Come on Magic!!! Mash up Brentwood
Post by: Coop's on April 12, 2006, 12:32:26 PM

well... we knew from the start they'd be going up against the best in the World and no matter what you say its good exposer... and I can garantee you they will come back alot better than they were when they left.
      How these club teams become the best in the world?is this an excuse? 
Post by: Observer on April 12, 2006, 12:36:05 PM
Best in the World???

What have we learned from this?
Where do we go from here?
What is the start point?
Achieve what? (short term / long term)
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 12, 2006, 01:24:01 PM

Wel imagine how the usa under 17 youth team will beat us if we play them ? this is not good at all people i dont care what anyone says .
Post by: FF on April 12, 2006, 01:30:40 PM

Wel imagine how the usa under 17 youth team will beat us if we play them ? this is not good at all people i dont care what anyone says .

I don't know why ppl does act surprise... we are about 3-4 years behind de US and Canada in youth development... it is only at senior level there is some evening out... We will always take licks from dem... we need to realise this and work from here.... we will not beat them overnight...

If you account for this the U-21 drawing with de US U-17 is about right...

The U-16's taking licks in de Dallas Cup is about right... at least we were competitive.... now where we going from here?
Post by: doc on April 12, 2006, 02:19:41 PM
Could this be the same team that we played today?

Washington's Crossfire SYL U15 Boys squad earns international invitation
Seattle club off to Hong Kong
Redmond, Washington’s Crossfire Premier Boys U15 Super Y-League team is headed to the NIKE Manchester United World Champions in Hong Kong.  Under the leadership of Coach Bernie James the Crossfire Premier won the NIKE Manchester United US Championships over Memorial Day Weekend hosted at the NIKE complex in Portland, OR.

At the 2004 Super Y-League North American Finals, the team lost a close match to the Chicago Magic 3-2.  The Crossfire Premier team was one of just 16 US teams invited to compete in the prestigious NIKE event.

To garner the invitation, they tied the Dallas Texans 0-0 and beat the Concord (GA) Fire 3-0, San Diego Surf (2-0) and Ohio Mutiny (2-0).  In the finals they defeated the nationally recognized Irvine Strikers (2-1).  Last year Crossfire was the first Washington club ever invited to the NIKE Manchester United Premier Cup in an international soccer tournament, started in 1993 as the NIKE Premier Cup, for U14/15 boys and U14 girl’s teams. This year they were the first Northwest club to win the competition which is traditionally dominated by teams from Southern California.

“This is a significant achievement for both our club and Washington state soccer,” said Crossfire Coaching Director and former US National team player, Bernie James.  “Our club has been looking forward to this tournament all year.  Only the best play here and to come home with first and third place finishes is an incredible result.”

The Crossfire boys will be headed for Hong Kong in mid July the culmination of this worldwide event where more  than 6,000 teams from 40 nations on five continents have been vying for the 2005 Manchester United Premier Cup, and if history repeats itself, at least a few will be the soccer stars of the future.

Since its inception, the Manchester United Premier Cup has showcased a wealth of talented young players, many of whom have already graduated to the highest levels of the professional game, including Andy van der Meyde (Ajax), Xavi (Barcelona, Spanish National Team), Iker Casillas (Real Madrid, Spanish National Team), Ednilson (Benefica, U-21 Portuguese National Team), Mikael Forssell (Chelsea) and Juan Pablo Rodriguez (Club Atlas, Mexican National Team).

Scouting by participating clubs and professional scouts has also added to the excitement of the intense competition on the field. In the 1998 World Finals in Barcelona , Jun Tamano’s standout performance resulted in Athletico de Madrid immediately signing him to the youth team.  Now based in Japan, he is playing for Tokyo Verdy 1969.

The NIKE ManU Cup was a crowning event in what has been a banner year for these Crossfire teams.  The boys team started off by placing first in the Northwest Division of the Super Y-League before going on to make the semifinals at the North American Championships.  In addition they won the top division in the Washington State League, the Washington State Cup and the Crossfire Premier Challenge.

Crossfire Premier Soccer Club, based in Redmond, WA, is the Advanced Development Program affiliated with the Lake Washington Youth Soccer Association (LWYSA).   LWYSA offers an unrivaled program for boys and girls ages 10-18 to play competitive soccer through the Crossfire Premier Soccer Club.  Nine Washington Crossfire squads compete in the Super Y-League.

Its mission is to promote the game of soccer by providing the highest possible level of technical and tactical training, skill development, competitive team play, and to provide highly skilled and capable players with an opportunity to further excel in the sport. It is Crossfire’s goal to become, and to be recognized, as a consistently successful Premier Soccer Club within Washington State, within our region and throughout the United States.  Crossfire players, coaches, managers and member families will strive to be an asset to the sport of soccer and to the community in which they live.

Crossfire Premier 90 Lineup: Brooks Hopp, Daniel Wenzel, Brent Richards, Brandon Zimmerman, Anthony Arena, Aaron Becerril, Esteban Reyes, Ellis McLoughlin, Alexander Klein, Fernando Monge Jr., Tyler Klein, Kellan Brown, Jonathan Castro, Justin Minuk, Joshua Petosa, Davis Smith, Jordan Softli,.

Coach: Bernie James. Assistant: Greg Lambert

http://supery.uslsoccer.com/home/100984.html
Post by: E-man on April 12, 2006, 02:32:37 PM
Bracket G

Bracket G

Well we might not finish last  ;D

Come on Magic!!! Mash up Brentwood

Done deal. Brentwood lose 1-3 to Magic. Final standings put we in 3rd

Bracket G
   TEAM                        P W L T  Goals Points
   Crossfire Premier           3 3 0 0 8:0 9
   Chicago Magic               3 2 1 0 5:3 6 
   Brentwood Excel United      3 0 2 1 1:7 1
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 12, 2006, 07:03:54 PM

I don't know why ppl does act surprise... we are about 3-4 years behind de US and Canada in youth development... it is only at senior level there is some evening out... We will always take licks from dem... we need to realise this and work from here.... we will not beat them overnight...

If you account for this the U-21 drawing with de US U-17 is about right...

The U-16's taking licks in de Dallas Cup is about right... at least we were competitive.... now where we going from here?

well its only the coach can say where we go from here   . He has his work cup out for him to take that team to another klevel
Post by: Brej on April 13, 2006, 09:14:20 AM
de only team in de group not to score das kina sad
Post by: dcs on April 13, 2006, 09:29:03 AM

T&T U-16 Select.....not T&T U-16 National Team.

That would have been better.

Maybe is just for show but it real embarrasing to have your National Team finish last against random youth clubs of varying pedigree.

The expectations are higher if you calling it a National Team.  If it is a development squad then call it as such.  Correct me if I am wrong but that is what the US does.  Just so the public knows what to expect.
Post by: Storeboy on April 13, 2006, 11:13:18 AM
Ah hope now that we take we licks, we go home now and work on improving.  Usually, you don't hear anything about these boys for another year or two.  Keep the team together and add other notables.  Keep them in traing regularly around their school and club schedules
Title: T&T lose at Dallas Cup
Post by: E-man on April 15, 2006, 05:23:05 AM
T&T lose at Dallas Cup
(Express)

Saturday, April 15th 2006

Trinidad and Tobago Under 16 team madetheir debut at the prestigious Dallas Cup on Monday when they kicked off with a 2-0 defeat to defending champions Chicago Magic at the Pizza Hut Park Field.

Under the guidance of technical director Lincoln Phillips and head coach Ken Elie and manager Christopher Gouveia, the team arrived in Dallas on the weekend and to take up action in Group G  with Chicago Magic, Crossfire Premier and Brentwood Excel United.

The  Squad selected includes TTFF 2005 Young player of the year Jessie Fullerton as well as other former national under 15 team members like Sean de Silva, Chad De Freitas and Stephen Knox

Phillips described the tournament as a worthy experience for the young T&T footballers. "It's definitely the kind of exposure that the players of this age group need now. We may have lost our first game but I can assure you that there was a lot to take out of it by boys who are eager to learn and develop," Phillips told TTFF Media. "The TTFF needs to be credited for taking up this venture and we can only grow from this."

Former great Sir Bobby Charlton of Manchester United and England fame is the  guest of honor at this year's Dallas Cup tournament as he accompanies his Manchester United Under-19 team.

"It's like a mini Olympics. We saw the opening game between Manchester United and Real Madrid which United won 3-2 and we experienced a great display of football."

Against T&T, Chicago scored two second half goals but goalie Fullerton came up big on two occasions and there were promising performances from defender Sheldon Bateau and striker Stephen Knox.

"The team played the ball backwards far too often in the game and must be work on going forward and the players had good ball control," he added.

T&T Dallas Cup Squad

Jesse Fullerton, Matthew Jardim.Elton John, Robert Primus, Sheldon Bateau, Ryan O'Neil,  Brendon Barbosa. Leston Paul, Sean De Silva, Stephan Chang, Chad De Freitas, Jean Luc Rochford, Stephen Knox, Daniel Joseph, Franz Husbands, Daniel Cyrus, Micah Lewis and  Brandon Rupert.

Post by: doc on April 15, 2006, 05:55:43 AM
T&T lose at Dallas Cup
(Express)

Saturday, April 15th 2006

Trinidad and Tobago Under 16 team madetheir debut at the prestigious Dallas Cup on Monday when they kicked off with a 2-0 defeat to defending champions Chicago Magic at the Pizza Hut Park Field.

Under the guidance of technical director Lincoln Phillips and head coach Ken Elie and manager Christopher Gouveia, the team arrived in Dallas on the weekend and to take up action in Group G  with Chicago Magic, Crossfire Premier and Brentwood Excel United.

The  Squad selected includes TTFF 2005 Young player of the year Jessie Fullerton as well as other former national under 15 team members like Sean de Silva, Chad De Freitas and Stephen Knox

Phillips described the tournament as a worthy experience for the young T&T footballers. "It's definitely the kind of exposure that the players of this age group need now. We may have lost our first game but I can assure you that there was a lot to take out of it by boys who are eager to learn and develop," Phillips told TTFF Media. "The TTFF needs to be credited for taking up this venture and we can only grow from this."

Former great Sir Bobby Charlton of Manchester United and England fame is the  guest of honor at this year's Dallas Cup tournament as he accompanies his Manchester United Under-19 team.

"It's like a mini Olympics. We saw the opening game between Manchester United and Real Madrid which United won 3-2 and we experienced a great display of football."

Against T&T, Chicago scored two second half goals but goalie Fullerton came up big on two occasions and there were promising performances from defender Sheldon Bateau and striker Stephen Knox.

"The team played the ball backwards far too often in the game and must be work on going forward and the players had good ball control," he added.

T&T Dallas Cup Squad

Jesse Fullerton, Matthew Jardim.Elton John, Robert Primus, Sheldon Bateau, Ryan O'Neil,  Brendon Barbosa. Leston Paul, Sean De Silva, Stephan Chang, Chad De Freitas, Jean Luc Rochford, Stephen Knox, Daniel Joseph, Franz Husbands, Daniel Cyrus, Micah Lewis and  Brandon Rupert.

Has the team returned home as yet? If not, did they organize any more friendlies?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 15, 2006, 06:53:15 AM
they retutrning monday
Post by: elan on April 15, 2006, 11:50:47 AM
That Brentwood Team is as proven is the least off all the teams in this bracket and if we cannot beat them, something terribly wrong. I really thought that was the game we would have won.
Post by: Trini Madness on April 15, 2006, 12:28:16 PM
just being curious is that brentwood team from long island? theres a brentwood in long island.
Post by: doc on April 15, 2006, 02:27:07 PM
just being curious is that brentwood team from long island? theres a brentwood in long island.
It is quite possible, they from Brentwood, NY.

Bracket G    Schedules
Trinidad-Tobago Na'tl Team    Port-of-Spain    Trinidad-Tobago
Chicago Magic    Frankfort    Illinois
Crossfire Premier    Redmond    Washington
Brentwood Excel United    Brentwood    New York

Post by: rippin on April 15, 2006, 03:29:45 PM
If teams coulda just put a plan in place and then execute it immediately T&T would have been hopeless. We all know men does reach SSFL playing small goal and only start the big field in form three. The fact that clubs now have youth programs and teams going to tournaments is encouraging. If we in the same situation three years down the road then we have a problem. Right now the TT U-21 team drawing with a US U-17 that should put it in perspective.
Title: Dallas Cup Results - T&T U16
Post by: Andre on April 26, 2006, 09:46:40 AM
eh do so good. 2 losses & a tie.

http://www.dallascup.com/2006/sked/age/U16.html
Title: Re: Dallas Cup Results - T&T U16
Post by: Andre on April 26, 2006, 10:40:25 AM
eh?
Post by: Warrior till death on April 26, 2006, 12:15:27 PM
you a bit late andre
infact you REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL late!!
Post by: Andre on April 26, 2006, 02:05:55 PM
ok. ease up. i busy with finals.
Post by: Pointman on April 26, 2006, 02:11:42 PM
dem boys ent even score ah single goal boy :( :(
Title: Dallas Cup - SKHY Fc from Trinicty
Post by: dervaig on March 08, 2008, 02:45:29 AM
Is SKHY Dexter Skeene's club?

Thanks.

http://www.dallascup.com/scripts/runisa.dll?M2:gp::80754+Elements/Display+E+813231+Main/+7394083+7716654
Title: Re: Dallas Cup - SKHY Fc from Trinicty
Post by: elan on March 08, 2008, 05:08:20 PM
I believe it is unless it changed. SK -eene and HY-acinth.
Post by: elan on March 19, 2008, 01:53:32 PM
Results so far.

http://www.dallascup.com/standings/XXIX/7716654.html
Post by: weary1969 on March 19, 2008, 09:25:26 PM
Yep Dexter is in Dallas
Title: St Anns Rangers U-15s to play in U.S Dallas Cup.
Post by: Flex on March 21, 2009, 04:41:43 AM
Rangers to host Italian Q fund-raiser.
T&T Guardian Reports.

An Under-15 team from St Anns Rangers will be participating in the Dallas Youth Football Cup XXX in the United States from April 4 to 12. A squad of 24 players, five officials and several parents will make the trip to the tournament which attracts top teams from the United States, England and Italy, including Chelsea, Manchester United and AC Milan.

Darryl Rajpaul will be the head coach of the Rangers team. The trip will cost the club over $400,000 and several fund-raisers have been planned. One such event, an Italian Q will be held today at 10 Elizabeth Street in Woodbrook, from 11 am to 3 pm. The Rangers team has had several practice matches and has destroyed all the opposition, including WConnection, Jabloteh and Joe Public.
Title: Re: St Anns Rangers U-15s to play in U.S Dallas Cup.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 21, 2009, 11:30:05 AM
T&T Guardian Reports.

An Under-15 team from St Ann’s Rangers will be participating in the Dallas Youth Football Cup XXX in the United States from April 4 to 12. A squad of 24 players, five officials and several parents will make the trip to the tournament which attracts top teams from the United States, England and Italy, including Chelsea, Manchester United and AC Milan.

Darryl Rajpaul will be the head coach of the Rangers team. The trip will cost the club over $400,000 and several fund-raisers have been planned. One such event, an Italian Q will be held today at 10 Elizabeth Street in Woodbrook, from 11 am to 3 pm. The Rangers team has had several practice matches and has destroyed all the opposition, including WConnection, Jabloteh and Joe Public.

Destroyed? Wey sah, dem youthmen serious  :devil: Good luck in the tournament.
Post by: elan on March 21, 2009, 11:40:06 AM
The Dallas Cup is something else. Just the atmosphere alone is a big thing.  Good job in attending.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 21, 2009, 12:24:55 PM
I remember whem LP took over the reigns as TD, he send a Trinbago U15/16 side to the Dallas Cup for their 1st international tourney. They play some US junior club teams and eh win a match. Four years later many of the surviving players on that team are now the core of the U-20 team that recently matched the US and Costa Rica U-20s and qualified for Egypt. We have really come a long way. Anton scouted the team and Ken Elie coached them, and if I remember correctly Elton John was the captain. This is a great initiative, Rangers will come away with an experience they would never get just by playing in the jr pro-leagues. Looking forward to seeing these youths in the CFU cup!

Post by: palos on March 21, 2009, 12:30:34 PM
T&T Guardian Reports.

An Under-15 team from St Anns Rangers will be participating in the Dallas Youth Football Cup XXX in the United States from April 4 to 12. A squad of 24 players, five officials and several parents will make the trip to the tournament which attracts top teams from the United States, England and Italy, including Chelsea, Manchester United and AC Milan.

Bally mus be did right dah report... 8)
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 21, 2009, 12:34:22 PM
T&T Guardian Reports.

An Under-15 team from St Ann’s Rangers will be participating in the Dallas Youth Football Cup XXX in the United States from April 4 to 12. A squad of 24 players, five officials and several parents will make the trip to the tournament which attracts top teams from the United States, England and Italy, including Chelsea, Manchester United and AC Milan.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Ah was thinking the same thing.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 23, 2009, 03:17:58 PM
is this pro league CEO team? Tallman .. should it be  under the name  united petrotrin :devil: :devil:

http://www.dallascup.com/teams/XXX/accepted12194311.html

Bracket E
SKHY FC  Port of Spain  Trinidad & Tobago  
Real SoCal White  Woodland Hills  California  
Brooklyn Italians  Brooklyn  New York  
Andromeda SC  Dallas  Texas  
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 23, 2009, 03:34:47 PM
What de ass is ah Italian Q doh?! ???
Post by: Bally on March 23, 2009, 05:47:51 PM
T&T Guardian Reports.

Palos I was not going to say ahh word but since yah bring it up big team is big the best youth system in Trinidad
Post by: palos on March 23, 2009, 06:11:26 PM
T&T Guardian Reports.

Palos I was not going to say ahh word but since yah bring it up big team is big the best youth system in Trinidad

Better dan Jabloteh?  8)
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 23, 2009, 08:27:45 PM
is this pro league CEO team? Tallman .. should it be  under the name  united petrotrin :devil: :devil:

http://www.dallascup.com/teams/XXX/accepted12194311.html

Bracket E
SKHY FC  Port of Spain  Trinidad & Tobago  
Real SoCal White  Woodland Hills  California  
Brooklyn Italians  Brooklyn  New York  
Andromeda SC  Dallas  Texas  

SKHY also has a team competing in the U-13 division. Wonder who paying dem expenses? Best of luck regardless

Edit: from an old post :   http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=34354.msg401966#msg401966

Hopefully they will do better this year

Post by: Bally on March 23, 2009, 08:53:25 PM
T&T Guardian Reports.

Better dan Jabloteh?  8)

did you Hyland was at Rangers why yah think Fenwick was bigging the up Sheldon Bateau de silva all them men played with rangers Jabloteh stole those players
Post by: Sando on March 24, 2009, 04:05:42 AM
T&T Guardian Reports.

Better dan Jabloteh?  8)

did you Hyland was at Rangers why yah think Fenwick was bigging the up Sheldon Bateau de silva all them men played with rangers Jabloteh stole those players

Bally, just curious, who teach you to write....

Meh eyes burning meh.....  8)

And I did understand one part, how exactly did Jabloteh steel these players ? was it at gun point ?

Didn't they go their own free will ? didn't they go for a betterment ?, better club, better training facilities, better coach, better money, etc etc...

PS : - By the way, isn't SKHY FC owned by Dexter Skeene brother and they will also represent United Petrotrin in the 2009 youth pro league.
Post by: Bourbon on March 24, 2009, 07:34:50 AM
How does a team go about participating in the Dallas cup? And also....how is a team from here chosen to go?
Post by: palos on March 24, 2009, 07:55:07 AM
How does a team go about participating in the Dallas cup? And also....how is a team from here chosen to go?

Fuh starters, it would be handy if yuh could destroy all yuh opposition.  ;D
Post by: MEP on March 24, 2009, 08:36:53 AM
Sando
the name skhy comes from the co-owners Skeene and Hyacinth
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 24, 2009, 09:03:30 AM

Fuh starters, it would be handy if yuh could destroy all yuh opposition.  ;D

And by using yuh leverage as the head of a professional league
Post by: KND2 on March 24, 2009, 09:57:25 AM
Palos....right or wright ......the report.

A lil bit again I take your for Dave Jenny... ;D

we might have to take away your moderator status if you keep that up.

What the hell is an Italian Q ... Trinidad aint easy nah.

from Bar Be Que to Curry Que now Italian Q......I wonder if this one in wikipedia yet.
Post by: Bally on March 24, 2009, 10:46:58 AM
T&T Guardian Reports.

Better dan Jabloteh?  8)

Bally, just curious, who teach you to write....

Meh eyes burning meh.....  8)

And I did understand one part, how exactly did Jabloteh steel these players ? was it at gun point ?

Didn't they go their own free will ? didn't they go for a betterment ?, better club, better training facilities, better coach, better money, etc etc...

PS : - By the way, isn't SKHY FC owned by Dexter Skeene brother and they will also represent United Petrotrin in the 2009 youth pro league.

Sorry I was sleepy when I wrote this didnt even read it. When I say stole I mean they took ranger youth players without paying for them so that is an example of steeling players.
Post by: Sando on March 24, 2009, 10:52:20 AM
But who fault is that ? why didn't Rangers sign them on contracts ? if Jabloteh could sign them why didn't Rangers do the same ?

These players and I am sure if you asked them pick to go to Jabloteh because it was better for them.

Rangers deserve credit for helping them to develop but they cant blame anyone but themselves. They should have sign the players and request a transfer fee. All clubs do this.

Poor management on Rangers behalf. How do they expect to survive if they continue to do this.
Post by: Bally on March 24, 2009, 11:03:50 AM
But who fault is that ? why didn't Rangers sign them on contracts ? if Jabloteh could sign them why didn't Rangers do the same ?

These players and I am sure if you asked them pick to go to Jabloteh because it was better for them.

Rangers deserve credit for helping them to develop but they cant blame anyone but themselves. They should have sign the players and request a transfer fee. All clubs do this.

Poor management on Rangers behalf. How do they expect to survive if they continue to do this.
you can't sign players under 16 to contracts
Post by: Sando on March 24, 2009, 11:08:29 AM

I know, but Rangers had them first how Jabloteh got them ? why didn't Rangers sign them when they became the age to be signed ? The players should have told Rangers they were offered a contract by Jabloteh and see what Rangers would have done.

Its all Rangers fault dont matter how you look at it. They have to secure their players. Youth and senior all other teams do it.
Post by: Bally on March 24, 2009, 11:37:26 AM

I know, but Rangers had them first how Jabloteh got them ? why didn't Rangers sign them when they became the age to be signed ? The players should have told Rangers they were offered a contract by Jabloteh and see what Rangers would have done.

Its all Rangers fault dont matter how you look at it. They have to secure their players. Youth and senior all other teams do it.
you talking like randers have the money  to keep players this is Trinindad not even AJAX can keep there best players so who is rangers.you know what I will end this argument now because yah replies are ignorant. Jabloteh do what every big team in the world do raid teams of there best players
Post by: Sando on March 24, 2009, 04:10:38 PM
Bally I not arguing with you I just trying understand what you came out in the first place about clubs thieving Rangers players. You made a strong statement and cant defend it now.

Exactly which players did Jabloteh take from Rangers  ? De Silva and who else.

If I am not mistaken 11 players from the current youth under 17 team is from Jabloteh. How many from Rangers.

How many players on the national under 20 team from Rangers.

You sounding like Rangers responsible for all them good youths in T&T.

Every club in T&T produce good players. Not just Rangers.

If Rangers cant sign 18 year old players for a couple of dollars (its not like its English pounds) then they are in the wrong league then. They should compete in the Super League.

And I do not know why you defending them when they discard people who have helped the club in the past like JB and company.

How am I ignorant.
Post by: elan on March 24, 2009, 08:31:06 PM

http://www.dallascup.com/TournamentApplication/index_E.html (http://www.dallascup.com/TournamentApplication/index_E.html)

Title: Rangers off to US for Dallas Cup
Post by: Tallman on March 31, 2009, 06:38:38 PM
Rangers off to US for Dallas Cup
By Gregory Trujillo (T&T Guardian)

Three key players of the Under-15 team of St Anns Rangers had to opt out of the teams tour to the United States for the Dallas Cup XXX at the last minute because of visa problems. When the team flew out early this morning for the one-week tournament starting on Sunday, missing from the squad were goalkeepers Ricardo Samuel-James and Jason Sample, as well as defender Rickyl Morris. Both Samuel-James and Morris, the nephew of former national captain Clayton Morris, have been members of the Rangers side since they were six-year-old. Sample is the grandson of one of the clubs founders Frank Sample.

Coach Darryl Rajpaul said yesterday that it is unfortunate that the three players, who are key members of the team, were denied an opportunity of their lifetime inspite of several efforts to get visas for them at the eleventh hour. Tours like these are for players like Samuel-James, Sample and Morris because they have given so much to the club, said Rajpaul, who revealed that letters were sent to the American Embassy by both the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs after the trio were not granted visas to travel.

The whole idea behind going to the Dallas Cup is to expose our youths to international competition, Rajpaul pointed out. Rangers have had a history of producing a host of top players who came through the clubs youth system. Among those who have played with the club are national players Clayton Morris, Angus Eve, Marvin Faustin, Dean Pacheco, Travis Mulraine, Lyndon Andrews, Autris Whitley, Trevor Nottingham, Errol Mc Farlane, Anton Pierre, Colin Roberts and deceased Wendell Belgrave.

In an effort to make the tour possible, several parents of the players had an integral part in raising the necessary funds which was close to $400,000. One such parent, Charlotte Bellemare, whose son Etienne is on the team, said: It hard work but its rewarding. We (the parents) didnt see it as a task but a dream come through for the boys. In addition to raising funds through two Italian Qs and a hot-dog stall at the Republic Bank Youth Cup, the Rangers youths had been able get corporate assistance from the Sport Company of T&T (SPORTT), Republic Bank, Royal Bank, Fairchance Racing Service, Waste Disposal and the Financial Group.

The team
Xavier Rajpaul (capt), Kunle Cox, Jonathan Cruickshank, Matthew Lawrence, Dominic Hosang, Osei Griffith, Jason Mendez, Etienne Bellemare, Nicholas de Silva, Odou Hazel, Lemuel Scott, Joshua Perreira, Kiel Carthy, Chad Rocke, Jemel Berot, Triston Hodge, Kelshall Alexander, Arvin Prescod, Kiel Pierre, Jamil Young.

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/Dallas+Cup.png)
Triston Hodge screens off Osei Griffth during a training session
in preparation for the Dallas Cup in the United States. The two
players are among members of the Rangers Under-15 team that left
this morning to compete in the Dallas Cup in the United States.
PHOTO: ANTHONY HARRIS
Title: Re: Rangers off to US for Dallas Cup
Post by: Bally on April 01, 2009, 06:22:25 AM
Three key players of the Under-15 team of St Anns Rangers had to opt out of the teams tour to the United States for the Dallas Cup XXX at the last minute because of visa problems. When the team flew out early this morning for the one-week tournament starting on Sunday, missing from the squad were goalkeepers Ricardo Samuel-James and Jason Sample, as well as defender Rickyl Morris. Both Samuel-James and Morris, the nephew of former national captain Clayton Morris, have been members of the Rangers side since they were six-year-old. Sample is the grandson of one of the clubs founders Frank Sample.

My grandfather  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: RGarcia on April 01, 2009, 06:41:40 AM
This will be one of the greatest experiences for these youths. I remember when i made my first overseas travel with the national team at 12yrs (yes 12;D) it was a chance for me to see the game from a different perspective and made me realize how hard i had to work to compete.... anyways good luck guys and made the best of your travel
Post by: Sando on April 01, 2009, 08:22:43 AM
Very happy for them youths. Hope they go on to represent our youth team one day. Good job Rangers.
Title: Rangers keepers off to Dallas Cup
Post by: Tallman on April 04, 2009, 07:01:48 PM
Rangers keepers off to Dallas Cup
T&T Guardian

Two of the three young players from St Anns Rangers who were denied visas by the US Embassy to travel last Monday with the rest of their team to participate in the Dallas Cup XXX, were relieved yesterday when the embassy had a change of heart, following the intervention of Fifa Vice-President Jack Warner. Goalkeepers Ricardo Samuel-James and Jason Sample will now fly out today to link up with their Under-15 teammates for the one-week tournament at which several top junior teams in world are participating.

Defender Rickyl Morris, who was at the embassy with Samual-James and Sample yesterday, didnt get clearance for his visa up to the closing time of 4 pm. Samuel-James and Sample are booked on a flight this morning at 7 am bound for Dallas via Miami. Their clubs first match is on Monday. Club official, Richard Fakoory said yesterday he appreciates what Warner did for Rangers and for the youths all of whom are looking forward to the event.
Post by: elan on April 04, 2009, 07:08:41 PM

(http://guardian.co.tt/files/imagecache/article_main_image/articles/images/Dallas+Cup.png)
Triston Hodge screens off Osei Griffth during a training session
in preparation for the Dallas Cup in the United States. The two
players are among members of the Rangers Under-15 team that left
this morning to compete in the Dallas Cup in the United States.
PHOTO: ANTHONY HARRIS

Them youth men small boy.
Post by: Bally on April 06, 2009, 02:34:57 PM
2009 Dr Pepper Dallas Cup XXX
SCHEDULES BY DATE   |   SCHEDULES BY FLIGHT   |   STANDINGS
  U15
Bracket A 
Tigres (Mexico) 
Real Hawaii Rush Nike (HI) 
Olney Rangers (MD) 
Texas Longhorns Orange (N-TX) 
 Bracket B 
Club Futbol Monterrey (Mexico) 
Slammers (CA-S) 
PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions (NJ) 
Dallas Texans Red (N-TX) 
 Bracket C 
West Midlands Schools FA (England) 
Santa Clara Sporting (CA-N) 
Jaguares NL (Mexico) 
Solar Red (N-TX) 
 Bracket D 
Brujas FC (Costa Rica) 
Los Angeles FC Chelsea (CA) 
Tigres Houston (S-TX) 
Solar SC (N-TX) 

Bracket E 
Pro-Shottas Soccer School (Barbados)  
Pride Predators (CO) 
Tec de Monterrey F.B. (Mexico) 
Lonestar Red (S-TX) 
 Bracket F 
Universidad Nacional Pumas (Mexico) 
Aztecs FC Premier (CA-S) 
Ironbound SC Predators (NJ) 
Dallas Texans U16 Academy 
 Bracket G 
St. Anns Rangers (Trinidad & Tobago)  DeAnza Force Blue (CA) 
Chicago Magic (IL) 
TFC (N-TX) 

U15   
  Sun, April 5, 2009
GAME#   Time Bracket Home   Away Location 
1513       12:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  0-2  Solar Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #11 
1507       12:00 pm B  Club Futbol Monterrey  1-0  Dallas Texans Red  Richland College Field #3 
1501       2:00 pm A  Tigres  4-0  Texas Longhorns Orange  Pizza Hut Park Field #11 
1519       2:00 pm D  Brujas FC  0-2  Solar SC  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1531       2:00 pm F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  1-4  Dallas Texans U16 Academy  Pizza Hut Park Field #9 
  Mon, April 6, 2009
1539       10:00 am G  Chicago Magic  2-0  TFC  Pizza Hut Park Field #11 
1538       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  vs  DeAnza Force Blue  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1527       12:00 pm E  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  vs  Lonestar Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #9 
1509       12:00 pm B  Club Futbol Monterrey  vs  Slammers  Richland College Field #1 
1503       12:00 pm A  Tigres  vs  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  Richland College Field #3 
1520       12:00 pm D  Brujas FC  vs  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  Richland College Field #4 
1532       2:00 pm F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  vs  Aztecs FC Premier  Pizza Hut Park Field #4 
1514       2:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  vs  Santa Clara Sporting  Richland College Field #1 
1526       2:00 pm E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  vs  Pride Predators  Richland College Field #6 
1533       4:00 pm F  Ironbound SC Predators  vs  Dallas Texans U16 Academy  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1521       4:00 pm D  Tigres Houston  vs  Solar SC  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1508       4:00 pm B  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  vs  Dallas Texans Red  Richland College Field #2 
1515       4:00 pm C  Jaguares NL  vs  Solar Red  Richland College Field #3 
1502       6:00 pm A  Olney Rangers  vs  Texas Longhorns Orange  Richland College Field #5 
  Tue, April 7, 2009
1540       10:00 am G  DeAnza Force Blue  vs  Chicago Magic  Pizza Hut Park Field #7 
1504       10:00 am A  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  vs  Olney Rangers  Richland College Field #5 
1510       10:00 am B  Slammers  vs  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  Richland College Field #8 
1516       12:00 pm C  Santa Clara Sporting  vs  Jaguares NL  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1537       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  vs  TFC  Pizza Hut Park Field #6 
1522       12:00 pm D  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  vs  Tigres Houston  Richland College Field #3 
1534       2:00 pm F  Aztecs FC Premier  vs  Ironbound SC Predators  Richland College Field #4 
1528       2:00 pm E  Pride Predators  vs  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  Richland College Field #6 
1525       2:00 pm E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  vs  Lonestar Red  Richland College Field #7 
  Wed, April 8, 2009
1505       10:00 am A  Tigres  vs  Olney Rangers  Pizza Hut Park Field #17 
1529       10:00 am E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  vs  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  Richland College Field #2 
1535       10:00 am F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  vs  Ironbound SC Predators  Richland College Field #4 
1523       12:00 pm D  Brujas FC  vs  Tigres Houston  Pizza Hut Park Field #17 
1542       12:00 pm G  DeAnza Force Blue  vs  TFC  Pizza Hut Park Field #4 
1541       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  vs  Chicago Magic  Richland College Field #1  
1517       12:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  vs  Jaguares NL  Richland College Field #3 
1530       12:00 pm E  Pride Predators  vs  Lonestar Red  Richland College Field #6 
1511       12:00 pm B  Club Futbol Monterrey  vs  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  Richland College Field #7 
1524       4:00 pm D  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  vs  Solar SC  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1536       4:00 pm F  Aztecs FC Premier  vs  Dallas Texans U16 Academy  Pizza Hut Park Field #9 
1506       4:00 pm A  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  vs  Texas Longhorns Orange  Richland College Field #4 
1512       4:00 pm B  Slammers  vs  Dallas Texans Red  Richland College Field #7 
1518       6:00 pm C  Santa Clara Sporting  vs  Solar Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #14 
  Thu, April 9, 2009
    Quarterfinal   
1593       4:00 pm QF1  1st Place Bracket A  vs  Wildcard  Pizza Hut Park Field #12 
1594       4:00 pm QF2  1st Place Bracket B  vs  1st Place Bracket G  Pizza Hut Park Field #14 
1595       4:00 pm QF3  1st Place Bracket C  vs  1st Place Bracket F  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1596       4:00 pm QF4  1st Place Bracket D  vs  1st Place Bracket E  Pizza Hut Park Field #17 
  Fri, April 10, 2009
    Semifinal   
1597       11:00 am SF1  Winner Quarterfinal #1  vs  Winner Quarterfinal #4  Pizza Hut Park Field #11 
1598       1:30 pm SF2  Winner Quarterfinal #2  vs  Winner Quarterfinal #3  Pizza Hut Park Field #11 
  Sat, April 11, 2009
    Championship   
1599       4:00 pm  Semi-Final #1 Winner  vs  Semi-Final #2 Winner  Pizza Hut Park Stadium 

Post by: Bally on April 06, 2009, 04:23:15 PM
1538       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  0-2  DeAnza Force Blue  Pizza Hut Park Field #8  1527       12:00 pm E  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  1-2  Lonestar Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #9 
1509       12:00 pm B  Club Futbol Monterrey  3-1  Slammers  Richland College Field #1 
1503       12:00 pm A  Tigres  2-1  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  Richland College Field #3 
1520       12:00 pm D  Brujas FC  1-1  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  Richland College Field #4 
1532       2:00 pm F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  2-1  Aztecs FC Premier  Pizza Hut Park Field #4 
1514       2:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  0-3  Santa Clara Sporting  Richland College Field #1 
1526       2:00 pm E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  2-3  Pride Predators  Richland College Field #6  
1533       4:00 pm F  Ironbound SC Predators  vs  Dallas Texans U16 Academy  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1521       4:00 pm D  Tigres Houston  vs  Solar SC  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1508       4:00 pm B  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  vs  Dallas Texans Red  Richland College Field #2 
1515       4:00 pm C  Jaguares NL  vs  Solar Red  Richland College Field #3 
1502       6:00 pm A  Olney Rangers  vs  Texas Longhorns Orange  Richland College Field #5 
  Tue, April 7, 2009
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 08, 2009, 03:35:49 PM
Mon, April 6, 2009
1538       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  0-2  DeAnza Force Blue  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1527       12:00 pm E  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  1-2  Lonestar Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #9 
1509       12:00 pm B  Club Futbol Monterrey  3-1  Slammers  Richland College Field #1 
1503       12:00 pm A  Tigres  2-1  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  Richland College Field #3 
1520       12:00 pm D  Brujas FC  1-1  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  Richland College Field #4 
1532       2:00 pm F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  2-1  Aztecs FC Premier  Pizza Hut Park Field #4 
1514       2:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  0-3  Santa Clara Sporting  Richland College Field #1 
1526       2:00 pm E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  2-3  Pride Predators  Richland College Field #6 
1533       4:00 pm F  Ironbound SC Predators  0-3  Dallas Texans U16 Academy  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1521       4:00 pm D  Tigres Houston  1-1  Solar SC  Pizza Hut Park Field #8 
1508       4:00 pm B  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  1-0  Dallas Texans Red  Richland College Field #2 
1515       4:00 pm C  Jaguares NL  0-1  Solar Red  Richland College Field #3 
1502       6:00 pm A  Olney Rangers  2-3  Texas Longhorns Orange  Richland College Field #5 
  Tue, April 7, 2009
1540       10:00 am G  DeAnza Force Blue  4-1  Chicago Magic  Pizza Hut Park Field #7 
1504       10:00 am A  Real Hawaii Rush Nike  0-1  Olney Rangers  Richland College Field #5 
1510       10:00 am B  Slammers  1-0  PASCO New Jersey Jr. Stallions  Richland College Field #8 
1516       12:00 pm C  Santa Clara Sporting  3-0  Jaguares NL  Pizza Hut Park Field #15 
1537       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  0-3  TFC  Pizza Hut Park Field #6 
1522       12:00 pm D  Los Angeles FC Chelsea  2-0  Tigres Houston  Richland College Field #3 
1534       2:00 pm F  Aztecs FC Premier  12-0  Ironbound SC Predators  Richland College Field #4 
1528       2:00 pm E  Pride Predators  0-1  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  Richland College Field #6 
1525       2:00 pm E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  0-0  Lonestar Red  Richland College Field #7 
  Wed, April 8, 2009
1505       10:00 am A  Tigres  3-3  Olney Rangers  Pizza Hut Park Field #17 
1529       10:00 am E  Pro-Shottas Soccer School  2-1  Tec de Monterrey F.B.  Richland College Field #2 
1535       10:00 am F  Universidad Nacional Pumas  8-0  Ironbound SC Predators  Richland College Field #4 
1523       12:00 pm D  Brujas FC  2-2  Tigres Houston  Pizza Hut Park Field #17 
1542       12:00 pm G  DeAnza Force Blue  1-1  TFC  Pizza Hut Park Field #4 
1541       12:00 pm G  St. Anns Rangers  1-7  Chicago Magic  Richland College Field #1 
1517       12:00 pm C  West Midlands Schools FA  4-0  Jaguares NL  Richland College Field #3 
Post by: Deeks on April 08, 2009, 03:37:26 PM
A good learning experience. I hope!!!!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 08, 2009, 03:40:03 PM
U13

Mon, April 6, 2009
1338       2:00 pm G  SKHY FC  0-1  Arsenal FC USA  Richland College Field #8  

Tue, April 7, 2009
1337       2:00 pm G  SKHY FC  0-5  Lonestars Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #9  

Wed, April 8, 2009
1341       10:00 am G  SKHY FC  0-4  West Pines United Black  Richland College Field #3  

Under 16

1625        Sun  Apr 5 2:00 pm E  SKHY FC  1-1  Andromeda SC  Richland College Field #3 
1626        Mon  Apr 6 12:00 pm E  SKHY FC  1-6  Real SoCal White  Richland College Field #8 
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 08, 2009, 04:23:06 PM
7-1..? Welcome to reality, now play some football
Post by: elan on April 08, 2009, 05:59:21 PM
U13

Mon, April 6, 2009
1338       2:00 pm G  SKHY FC  0-1  Arsenal FC USA  Richland College Field #8  

Tue, April 7, 2009
1337       2:00 pm G  SKHY FC  0-5  Lonestars Red  Pizza Hut Park Field #9  

Wed, April 8, 2009
1341       10:00 am G  SKHY FC  0-4  West Pines United Black  Richland College Field #3  

Under 16

1625        Sun  Apr 5 2:00 pm E  SKHY FC  1-1  Andromeda SC   Richland College Field #3 
1626        Mon  Apr 6 12:00 pm E  SKHY FC  1-6  Real SoCal White  Richland College Field #8 

That is a big result right there? Great jobs fellas
Post by: elan on April 08, 2009, 06:00:01 PM
The results from Rangers is good results.
Title: Dallas Cup 2011. Is it worth it?
Post by: coachman on January 03, 2011, 02:21:16 PM
The Dallas Cup have extended the International invitation deadline to Jan 11,I suggest the national under20 and under17 teams to continue the preparations.We can compete against quality oppositions such as teams from Brazil,England, Korea and other countries.US$1100 per team is a small cost to pay to start the New Year right.  :-\-*
Title: Re: Dallas Cup 2011. Is it worth it?
Post by: MEP on January 03, 2011, 04:41:28 PM
Yes!
Post by: Deeks on January 03, 2011, 05:46:13 PM
Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!

It is certainly better than nothing.
Post by: tempo on January 03, 2011, 07:32:43 PM
Absolutely. Great tournament.Well run and the team will get at least four full games against very good competition.
Post by: jai john on January 04, 2011, 09:19:02 AM
question is are we ready ? last thing we want is ..........to open our mouth and remove all doubt .
Post by: Touches on January 04, 2011, 09:59:19 AM
Let them go and collect some licks and gauge properly their progress level.

Post by: Lower St. John on January 04, 2011, 11:22:30 AM
Let them go and collect some licks and gauge properly their progress level.

Agreed, there is a victory of sorts when losing to better competition.

Blessings
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on January 04, 2011, 12:30:57 PM
make it happen......i need somewey tuh go
Post by: Mose on January 04, 2011, 03:30:13 PM
$1100 US may not be much but remember that the cost of sending a team is that fee plus travel and accommodations for the players and staff. Nevertheless it sounds like a good idea. Even if they take some licks, it might serve to help some of the players realize that dey eh reach nowhere yet and they still have real work to do.
Post by: Sando on January 04, 2011, 03:36:16 PM
Didn't Lincoln Phillips take a T&T youth team to the Dallas Cup once ?
Post by: coachman on January 04, 2011, 06:05:13 PM
Superstar Rangers does it, Skeene coaching school does it .
Post by: tempo on January 04, 2011, 06:42:07 PM
Didn't Lincoln Phillips take a T&T youth team to the Dallas Cup once ?

Yes, it was the u15 team. I think they went in 2005
Post by: Sando on January 05, 2011, 06:41:35 AM
Yea, that year 2005 was LP's best year as TD, now it seems he has fallen into de fame mind frame as the others in the TTFF. To old to fight, he dont have the eagerness and energy to make a difference and just accept whatever he gets.

I believe if LP was much younger we would have seen a better TD because I know he is a knowledgeable person.
Post by: Touches on January 05, 2011, 07:14:33 AM
Corneal take nuff Alcons side to Dallas Cup....they also had a side called Trendsetter Hawks that went a year.
Post by: College on January 05, 2011, 07:59:46 AM
We have been sending teams to the Dallas cup donkey years now...what will be different this time?
Post by: Observer on January 05, 2011, 10:06:37 AM
U17 Qualification is in Feb abd U20 April. So Dallas cup is out for both in terms of preparation
Post by: Deeks on January 05, 2011, 10:40:27 AM
Yea, that year 2005 was LP's best year as TD, now it seems he has fallen into de fame mind frame as the others in the TTFF. To old to fight, he dont have the eagerness and energy to make a difference and just accept whatever he gets.

I believe if LP was much younger we would have seen a better TD because I know he is a knowledgeable person.

Lincoln age is not an issue here!!!!
Post by: Flex on February 20, 2011, 07:05:55 AM
SKHY heads to US for Dallas Cup.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The SKHY Football Club from Trincity will be travelling to Dallas, Texas from April 13 to 24 to participate in the 2011 Dallas Cup which starts on April 17.

In the fourth consecutive year that SKHY is representing the country in the United States most distinguished youth tournament, as many as 36 players of the clubs under-14 and under-18 teams will be participating in the under-14 and under-19 divisions.

Club directors, Joel Hyacenth and Colin Skeene who are both coaches of the under-14 and under-18 teams respectively are preparing their team to face some of the best youth teams from major clubs in the United States, Mexico, Brazil, England, Germany, Czech Republic among other elite footballing countries.

Football powerhouses in Arsenal, Manchester United, Sparta Prague, Santos, Sao Paolo and other household names are regulars at the cup tournament. SKHYs under-18 team will represent in the under-19s as there is no under-18 division in the Dallas Cup.

The club was represented by the under-14 team in last years Dallas Cup. SKHY insists that tournaments such as these do have a strong impact on the development of the young players while exposure to international teams will improve the quality and discipline of the emerging generation of national footballers.

Due to the expense of travel and accommodation that comes with the journey, players wishing to represent SKHY are required to either raise funds or seek sponsorship in order to represent the club.

The cost to fund a single player is amounted to $14,890.10. Interested sponsors can write cheques in the clubs name (SKHY Football Club) and indicate the child/children to whom they are sponsoring.
Title: Re: SKHY heads to US for Dallas Cup.
Post by: Touches on April 14, 2011, 05:30:36 PM
Good luck to SKHY

http://www.youtube.com/v/yOkvwHDjHBM
Post by: SHOTTA on April 15, 2011, 07:11:25 PM
blessing to aaron and akile noel 2 of my students making d trip
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on April 15, 2011, 08:18:34 PM
blessing to aaron and akile noel 2 of my students making d trip
wah you does teach soldier?
Post by: Flex on March 21, 2013, 05:57:09 AM
SKHY flies to Dallas Cup.
T&T Guardian Reports.

SKHY Football Academys Under-14 outfit including 18 players, two coaches and two managers leave T&T today bound for Texas, USA, to challenge two American and one Mexican club, in its four-team group at the 2013 Dallas Cup.

Led by coaches Colin Skeene and Orrin John-Baptiste, and managers Gavin Gamaldo and Garth Ward, the team will feature in its seventh consecutive Dallas Cup, and will play at least three matches.

SKHY will kick off its quest for the top spot in the group against New Jersey club EDP TIP, on Sunday.

The two other matches, against Arsenal FC (California) and Seleccion RCL Soccer Monterrey (Mexico), will play on the following Monday and Wednesday, respectively.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/league/league-news/minor-leagues/12295-skhy-flies-to-dallas-cup.html)

Title: Re: SKHY flies to Dallas Cup.
Post by: Flex on April 04, 2013, 05:47:58 AM
Skhy FC return from Dallas Cup.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Local academy Skhy FC returned from the 2013 Dallas Cup last month after ending the group phase with three defeats in the under-13 category.

The local outfit, which has made it their business to take local players to the prestigious Concacaf youth tournament on an annual basis, suffered a 4-0 loss to Arsenal FC of California, 3-0 to RCL Monterrey of Mexico and 5-0 to EDP TIP of East Brunswick. They also lost 4-0 to Whitakere City FC of Auckland in an opening 60 minute scrimmage.

Generally though, the outing was a seen as a beneficial experience to the youth players who stayed at the homes of local football families (Homestay program) in Dallas.

The Dallas Cup, sponsored by Dr Pepper received live television exposure on Time Warner Cable and included several top teams such as Manchester United, La Galaxy, Fulham and Club America among another 100 teams.

Title: Re: SKHY flies to Dallas Cup.
Post by: Flex on April 03, 2023, 01:15:56 AM
Four Trinidad and Tobago footballers to play in Dallas Cup.
T&T Newsday Reports.

FOUR players from Athletic International Academy (AIA) of TT will feature in this years 2023 Dallas Cup in the US.

The Dallas Cup is one of the most prestigious youth football competitions in North America.

Footballers Khaden Caraby, Desailly Bastien-Cowan, Angel Aragones and Isaiah Isaac left TT for Dallas, Texas on Thursday.

The quartet will represent TIRO FC in the tournament and are in the same group as hosts FC Dallas.

The tournament kicked off on Sunday.

Managing director of AIA Adrian Romain welcomed the partnership with TIRO and sees the importance of Trinidadian players being exposed to these tournaments.

He said, The only way our football can get better at national level is preparing these kids at these younger age groups.

Romain is hoping his players will impress scouts during the Dallas Cup.

This opportunity is one where the Tacarigua-based players are expected to shine and put their hard work and natural talents to the test. This will give each player an enhanced chance to be scouted and viewed by major teams from across the world. Safe to say that this could be the beginning of something massive for these young men, not only professionally but academically. We wish them the very best of luck as they pursue their dreams.

Romain said more plans are in place in 2023 to give players exposure. We at AIA continue to be the gateway to opportunities and later on this year we have seven student athletes that will be leaving on athletic scholarships while our male and female Under-19 teams will be heading to the US for a tournament.