Sports => Football => Topic started by: STEUPS!! on June 29, 2005, 09:32:26 PM

Title: Whatever happened to Seabra?
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 29, 2005, 09:32:26 PM
not to long ago it had a whole setta hype for him.all of a sudden yuh cyah hear anything about him. he still playin for connection? can anyone tell me if he got his passport.

by the way , another question. how was birchall  able to acquire  a passport so fast.was he already a citizen?ah know is plenty questions but i dont know where else to get this info. thanks in advance allyuh.
bless!!
Title: Re: whatever happened to Seabra?
Post by: ricky on June 29, 2005, 09:40:38 PM
Queen, Andre and Touches and the Trini posse may be better to answer this but Seabra eh gettin throu with he passport so like he/they give up.  He still dey at connection (i think)
Birchall get his do fast casue his mother is a born white Trini so he get if from she. (by law you can get a trini passport if your parents are Trini)  Seabra has no blood ties to the Island so that why they making him go through the due process, which i think is crap

Post by: injunchile on June 30, 2005, 05:38:44 AM
Seabra has a good work ethic, but nothing special. he cant make this team and not up to International level.
Post by: jaden on June 30, 2005, 06:13:14 AM
seabra is a good player, i saw him play for connection a couple of times.he get the passport and residental status and can play for the warriors in friendlys and regional competition but according to the minister of sport in order to play on the international scene, WCQ and WC he needs to get citizenship and thats a seven year wait after getting residential status although he is living in trini 5 years now.
Post by: Jayerson on June 30, 2005, 06:42:43 AM
As I've said before on this forum, T&T laws regarding citizenship are border-line prehistoric. If it was the US or England he would have been allowed to play. Also most countries allow people to claim citizenship through granparents. Nathan Ellington of Wigan Athletic, who'll now be in the EPL has a Trini grandmother, he can't play for us because of those rules. I think Seabra is good enough to make the squad though, maybe not the starting 11 but good work ethic is probably the most important criteria for Leo.
Post by: spideybuff on June 30, 2005, 07:33:31 AM
Allyuh watching this scenario from a football perspective but u missing the bigger issue here. Why must we change our constitution for a decent (not great) brazilian ? iSeabra has no claim to citizenship whereas Birchall has a  trinidadian parent. Even in Seabra's case if the laws were changed to accept grandparents it won't help him. If we allow Seabra citizenship just to play after being here 5 years, how can we then deny every grenadian, vincentian, venezuelan and guyanese who in the country already citizenship just to ply their trade on the street corner? We can't..it becomes illegal. U can't start making exceptions for no real reason because every government down the line will use Seabra as an excuse to make who they want citizens. Imagine when UNC back in power and every up and coming Bollywood star becomes citizens  because they can add to the culture? Or people who cah make India, pakistan, sri lanka or bangladesh cricket side but feel they have a chance with the windies. Qatar started that shite with handing out citizenship to brazilians in their league after a couple of seasons and Fifa stepped in. Besides, they could afford to house all those foreigners...we can't. Is not just about football and the national team, ppl...

Of course, if it was Ronaldinho it woulda be different... ;D
Post by: Coop's on June 30, 2005, 08:03:35 AM
Allyuh watching this scenario from a football perspective but u missing the bigger issue here. Why must we change our constitution for a decent (not great) brazilian ? iSeabra has no claim to citizenship whereas Birchall has a  trinidadian parent. Even in Seabra's case if the laws were changed to accept grandparents it won't help him. If we allow Seabra citizenship just to play after being here 5 years, how can we then deny every grenadian, vincentian, venezuelan and guyanese who in the country already citizenship just to ply their trade on the street corner? We can't..it becomes illegal. U can't start making exceptions for no real reason because every government down the line will use Seabra as an excuse to make who they want citizens. Imagine when UNC back in power and every up and coming Bollywood star becomes citizens  because they can add to the culture? Or people who cah make India, pakistan, sri lanka or bangladesh cricket side but feel they have a chance with the windies. Qatar started that shite with handing out citizenship to brazilians in their league after a couple of seasons and Fifa stepped in. Besides, they could afford to house all those foreigners...we can't. Is not just about football and the national team, ppl...

Of course, if it was Ronaldinho it woulda be different... ;D
This is the best explanation i've read for this situation with Seabra,it makes a lot of sense,if you look at what's going on with Jason Scotland and all these guys,it's not all Football there are laws that govern countries.
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 30, 2005, 08:12:42 AM
I've said before on this forum, T&T laws regarding citizenship are border-line prehistoric. If it was the US or England he would have been allowed to play

damm right bredrin does trinidad have an immigrant problems like the usa england etc llook how fast they  kerron clement,freddy etc get citizenship .Minster of national security say it will send a wrong message and all that crap them fools
Post by: samo on June 30, 2005, 09:02:38 AM
I was in T&T for carnival and saw Seabra play 2 games... I found nothing special. W Connection and National team  2 different things...
Post by: Touches on June 30, 2005, 09:03:42 AM
Spideybuff......take a round of applause breds.

Good explaination.

Seabra could play in fact he is very useful but on the occasions he suit up for TT and he played in various positions under Bertille he didnt look good.

He get the Copa Caribe to show his stuff as well and was ordinary. I think his performances in the red shirt didnt help his cause, but he does look good when playing for W connection.

The Laws may need changing yes but the pros do not outweigh the cons in this situation.

Also for those who crying about players..........yuh cant lorse what you never had.
Post by: Jayerson on June 30, 2005, 09:07:24 AM
If we allow Seabra citizenship just to play after being here 5 years, how can we then deny every grenadian, vincentian, venezuelan and guyanese who in the country already citizenship just to ply their trade on the street corner? We can't..it becomes illegal.

Americans have some of the toughest immigration laws, yet if it is in 'National Interest' they make exceptions and so can we. Also, my parents and older sister are born VINCENTIANS , I'm a born Trini and they are Trini to the bone just as me. They've all made and continue to make a very valuable contribution to T&Tand much more than the average born citizen. Mexico, Germany, Angola, Portugal, Japan have Brazilians palying for them, the point I'm making is that the laws are inadequate, Seabra isn't Deco (Portugal), Kevin Kuranyi (Germany), Zihna Naelson (Mexico) but he can make a contribution to the team as he's a good player, he's not a Latapy but he can play and can match most of the players in our midfield. Also, my grandfather was born on Nesbit, Northumberland, England and thus I would be able to get a British passport with absolutely no problems, what makes T&T anymore special.
Post by: Touches on June 30, 2005, 09:16:33 AM
Jayerson.....why open up a can of worms for an average squad player?

It doesnt seem to be in the "National Interest" now does it.

Alright lemme stop beating around the bush..........He ent good enough and worth it to the TT team. He not displacing anybody and he is not worth the headache the politicians have to deal with when people start to kick up fuss.

Thats why we have antiquated rules and we not breaking them for nuttin less than a Latapy or Maradonna. ;D
Post by: football king on June 30, 2005, 09:28:30 AM
never see the man play but it seems from reports in the forum that we making fuss over a 38 yr old hound? how old is he.
even if the laws old and are nonense-and we agree to change it how long would it take? would it be quickly enough to include seabra and help the team in this campaign?

Question though if it was a player like ronaldinho-would any of us be saying the law is the law and no change?
Post by: Jayerson on June 30, 2005, 09:30:35 AM
Jayerson.....why open up a can of worms for an average squad player?

It doesnt seem to be in the "National Interest" now does it.

I would concede that Seabra isn't anything special, no one can claim he is however if the situation was to arise that someone of quality was to come along then we'd be in the same situation, I wasn't making the point for Seabra, I was making the point about the situation. I saw his game against Azerbaijan, he looked ordinary and I didn't know what all the hoopla was about but my opinion is that the rules are outdated. His situation wasn't all I was commenting about, I think if you have a Trini Grandparent you should be able to play for Trinidad and that is not the case. Based on form, wouldn't Nathan Ellington be able to make the T&T team?
Post by: Coop's on June 30, 2005, 09:34:11 AM
what makes T&T anymore special.
Every country is entitled to adjust their laws to suit whatever they want,look Canada just yesterday approved Gay marriage does that make it right,would you like to adjust our laws to suit that?and by the way WE ARE SPECIAL.
Post by: Jayerson on June 30, 2005, 09:52:34 AM
what makes T&T anymore special.
Every country is entitled to adjust their laws to suit whatever they want,look Canada just yesterday approved Gay marriage does that make it right,would you like to adjust our laws to suit that?and by the way WE ARE SPECIAL.

Bro, I meant special in the context of Immigration laws, gay marriages & morality has nothing to with Immigration Laws & Sports, you're taking my comment and taking out of context like a London Tabloid. But what the hell, gay marriages are now legal in Canada. If I didn't think Trinidad was special I would have migrated to Britain like a lot of my relatives.
Post by: andre samuel on June 30, 2005, 10:25:23 AM
seabra is a good player, i see him for connection and de man good, but for de national team, he shit down heself!

the only ting he have going for him is de fact that bertile st clair is ah sh*t hound and didnt use him properly and that he is ah left footer and we real short in that department.

but in any case, the PNM eh going and do anything for Jack Warner and it is a simple case of that.  Immigration laws or not, exceptions have been made in the past, so dey coulda do it if dey want!
Post by: davidephraim on July 01, 2005, 10:49:45 AM
i think between de politics with Jack and PNM and de fact that Seabra aint Russell Latapy that case aint goin nowhere.  If he was Russell Latapy, not even PNM could stop he gettin he business straight.
Doh play with Jack, Jack run Things.
Post by: injunchile on July 01, 2005, 08:26:58 PM
The Politics Getting in the way. If Jack was PNM - Seabra would be a citizen today. Small mindedness. We major in Minors and think we are first world. Just look at what USA dowith talented foreign players- ADu is a case in point.
Post by: samo on July 01, 2005, 09:18:27 PM
As I said I saw him in the 2 Haiti games and he did not look that good, I was told he was carrying an injury by the man sitting next to me, but I dont know how true that is..... I honestly cyah see him making the team under Beenhaker...
I have seen many players who perform very well for their clubs, but that does not mean they can perform on the national stage.. Club and National colours is 2 different kettle a fish...
Post by: dcs on July 02, 2005, 12:41:23 AM

Steupse...keep the prehistoric laws while the rest of the world leaves us behind.
Go ask people on the street who know bout the man story if they think he deserving of citizenship.  So it takes how much....13 years to become a citizen?  And we talking bout brain drain.

CSME coming and we have these dotish laws.  You would think we would be trying to get our house in order considering the major changes on the global stage but saw what.  Let every country plunder our youth away from us while we fight to keep useful people away out of lazyness.

carry on.
Post by: dcs on July 02, 2005, 10:21:01 AM

They ready to take the Jason Scotland thing to the Scottish parliament.
All this for just a squad player eh.
Post by: supporter on July 02, 2005, 12:09:12 PM
amazing to see how people think we dont need players anymore, just because we lost 2-0 to mexico. seabra is a good player from what ive read of his connection games. and apparantly his natl call cups, he played hurt, and you cant really judge a guy from a couple games cuz hes playing with new people,coaches,system, nervousnes. if he was eligible(and he should be) he shuld be called up next time around beenie looking at new players.
Post by: palos on July 02, 2005, 12:30:13 PM
amazing to see how people think we dont need players anymore, just because we lost 2-0 to mexico. seabra is a good player from what ive read of his connection games. and apparantly his natl call cups, he played hurt, and you cant really judge a guy from a couple games cuz hes playing with new people,coaches,system, nervousnes. if he was eligible(and he should be) he shuld be called up next time around beenie looking at new players.

He not eligible.  Leh we put de Seabra talk to ress nah.

Lawd man....how much time man have to post T&T citizenship rules fuh some people to get it?
Post by: andre samuel on July 02, 2005, 01:47:35 PM

He not eligible.  Leh we put de Seabra talk to ress nah.

Lawd man....how much time man have to post T&T citizenship rules fuh some people to get it?

well said................talk done!
Post by: supporter on July 02, 2005, 03:27:04 PM
fine story done but lets not have people here talk as if he played his way off the side
Post by: truetrini on July 03, 2005, 08:25:01 AM
but trinima pointah litle valid..we give triniamn ah passpor..why not seabra?  at least seabra like woman and married and living in trinidad...triniman cyar even steups ;D ;D
Post by: andre samuel on July 03, 2005, 12:21:35 PM
but trinima pointah litle valid..we give triniamn ah passpor..why not seabra?  at least seabra like woman and married and living in trinidad...triniman cyar even steups ;D ;D

lollolololololol

alyuh does real crack me up ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: jaden on July 04, 2005, 06:56:26 AM
football king......he is 30yrs old
Post by: spideybuff on July 04, 2005, 07:31:45 AM
I've said before on this forum, T&T laws regarding citizenship are border-line prehistoric. If it was the US or England he would have been allowed to play

damm right bredrin does trinidad have an immigrant problems like the usa england etc llook how fast they  kerron clement,freddy etc get citizenship .Minster of national security say it will send a wrong message and all that crap them fools

My friend (and Jayerson as well)...Freddy Adu's mother won the lottery and got her citizenship and kerron Clemen't's mother had american citizenship. If either was the case for Seabra, he would play. I don't understand how you can say the laws regarding citizenship are pre-historic in our country compared to others. I in the states 6 years, i not eligible to play for the US(or even work here legally) because i have no family ties. same with seabra...so how their laws more davanced than others? Besides, the States and the UK are economically more developed and able to handle the influx of immigrants...Trinidad is not. Contrary to popular belief, we are still a third world country and for all the oil money we supposed to have a recent report state that more than half the country under the poverty level. Stop thinking like a fan coz this goes beyond the boundary.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 04, 2005, 08:13:25 AM
boss freddy adu mother won a lottery and her family got a green card to go to the U.S .freddy adu only receive citizenship just before the under 17 qualifying round
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 04, 2005, 08:14:13 AM
 those seeking to immigrate to the United States, winning the official USA Green Card Lottery can be a life changing experience. Every year, Green Card winners come to the United States to flourish as part of the USA, a country where success stories are born.

A recent success story is that of Freddy Adu, the talented 13-year old soccer prodigy from Ghana, whose mother won the official USA Green Card Lottery five years ago. Wanting her son to prosper in a climate that offered structure and support, Freddy's family chose to live in Potomac, Maryland where her son's talents were quickly spotted by a local soccer scouts. Now, Freddy's doing more than just making goals. Sportswear giant NIKE has signed him to a reported $1 million dollar endorsement contract. Thanks to the official USA Green Card Lottery win, he's on his way. With the official support from the US Government and the Green Card Lottery USA Association, you can also live and work in the USA.
Post by: Jayerson on July 04, 2005, 09:20:35 AM

My friend (and Jayerson as well)...Freddy Adu's mother won the lottery and got her citizenship and kerron Clemen't's mother had american citizenship. If either was the case for Seabra, he would play. I don't understand how you can say the laws regarding citizenship are pre-historic in our country compared to others. I in the states 6 years, i not eligible to play for the US(or even work here legally) because i have no family ties. same with seabra...so how their laws more davanced than others? Besides, the States and the UK are economically more developed and able to handle the influx of immigrants...Trinidad is not. Contrary to popular belief, we are still a third world country and for all the oil money we supposed to have a recent report state that more than half the country under the poverty level. Stop thinking like a fan coz this goes beyond the boundary.

Spideybuff, probably because you're in the U.S for so long you don't know of the brain drain going on in Trinidad, in the last 6 months I've had four friends and a sister who left T&T to live & work elsewhere, each having at least a degree and some with MBAs. Most got work permits and residential status for their destination without leaving the country or just after one trip, brain drain is a real problem in T&T moreso than in the past. My point was for national interest, and in a number of times the U.S MNT has gotten players to become citizens with absolutely no ties to the country, I remember there was one French guy (at least French speaking) that could barely speak English and didn't have an American wife and got his passport and was playing for them. Essentially the point that I was making is that there must be a facility to make 'excpetions' under the 'guise' (if you ant to call it that) of national interest. It is obvious to anyone that's aware of the situation in T&T to realise not every Tom, Dick & Harrypersad can come in and get residential and citizenship status, that would be down right silly, however there must be a facility where for the benefit of the wider community and national good there is a fast track for the above mentioned to transpire. The argument is not for Seabra, I can't vouch for his quality but if there was a player of really good, also, I also spoke of allowing persons with a Trini grandparents being granted citizenship. We are a third world country a you pointed out but in a rapidly shrinking global economy tweaking some of the laws, most of which are outdated are a pre-requisite for attaining vision 2020.
Post by: dcs on July 04, 2005, 09:39:32 AM

Exactly Jayerson.
But u know how it is back home.  It have to have some spectacular specific case to get things started else everything remains the same.
Seabra not good enough to be the spectacular case for them to hinge it on.....so it remains the same until some other case come up....doh even bound to be sports.  People fraid we opening the borders as if CSME is in a 100 years from now.

But as they say...talk done cuz we like it so.
Post by: spideybuff on July 04, 2005, 10:08:49 AM
Jayerson...where them get jobs ? I have a masters and need one but this work permit thing giving me horrors...link a fellow warrior fan, nah !
Post by: Benjie on July 05, 2005, 09:30:35 AM
I remember there was one French guy (at least French speaking) that could barely speak English and didn't have an American wife and got his passport and was playing for them.

I AM SORRY BUT I CANNOT REMEMBER ANY CASE LIKE THAT CAN ANYONE HELP?

Post by: football king on July 05, 2005, 09:36:20 AM
neither can i unless is david regis? but his wife was american as far as i remember
Post by: rocwell on July 05, 2005, 10:02:39 AM
It was David Regis, a frenchman who at the time had recently married an American woman,  (Jayerson is mostaken) thus becoming a naturalised citizen and so becoming eligible to play for the U.S.  His citizenship was expedited (to allow him to play in the World Cup) as there exists a law which allows this once there is a substantial national interest or benefit to the USA, but he would have received his citizenship anyway, because of his marriage.

I should also point out that getting a work permit (or residency) and citizenship are two completely different things, the latter will not be granted in the US without some family connection, or maintaining residence for a number of years.  Similar laws to many other countries.
Title: Trinidad and Tobago Government
Post by: Marlon on September 05, 2005, 12:12:57 PM
Is ah pack ah a$$holes.

How could they justify not giving Seabra citizenship as yet? This man has been living and playing here in Trinidad, and looks like he will never leave. WQe are in desperate need of left footed players, and he is probably the best one in the country.

It's a shame.
Title: Whatever happen to the Brazilian ?
Post by: fishs on September 13, 2005, 05:48:41 AM
Somebody help me here. During the gold cup qualifiers in Barbados, TT had a Brazilian form Connection playing on the left side of midfield or defense, he looked pretty solid. What happen, he get drop, injured or what ?
Title: Re: Whatever happen to the Brazilian ?
Post by: injunchile on September 13, 2005, 05:56:30 AM
Could not make the switch to International Football. Ordinary- not worth the effort
Post by: Reggaefan on September 13, 2005, 06:01:24 AM
Could not make the switch to International Football. Ordinary- not worth the effort

Any Brazilian who leaves Brazil to play semi-professional football in the Caribbean must be very ordinary.
Post by: fishs on September 13, 2005, 06:05:18 AM
How much money these people does make in we league, more than CEPEP ?
Post by: Reggaefan on September 13, 2005, 06:17:09 AM
How much money these people does make in we league, more than CEPEP ?

Football is not viable in the Caribbean, as there is virtually no income to be derived from gate reciepts. In JAmaica, the most you'll ever get for a NPL game is 10,000 max when Arnett faces Tivoli, or Harbor View faces Waterhouse. Even in Central America its typical to see 30,000 watching a game between Marathon and Olympia in the Honduran Leagues. Salries paid in the T&T Pro League is not significantly better than those paid by the top Jamaican clubs, an dthe difference is based purely on economics. I suspect the poorest pro team in Brazil may be better off finincially than most of the richer clubs in Jamaica orTrinidad.
Post by: andre samuel on September 13, 2005, 06:41:17 AM
Somebody help me here. During the gold cup qualifiers in Barbados, TT had a Brazilian form Connection playing on the left side of midfield or defense, he looked pretty solid. What happen, he get drop, injured or what ?

He simply was not able to secure the passport required to eligible to play for the warriors in the world cup qualifiers.

I dont know about him being ordinary, he is a good player and has a gem of a left foot.

With respect to the salaries, the TTproleague pays and treats its premier players well.  clubs in trinidad are heavily sponsored by the private sector due to the tax breaks that they acquire hence there is no dependence on gate receipts as in Jamaica. 

to say that de brazilians that play for us in the proleague arent good is a stupid statement since W conn went to brazil and had screening sessions with over 100 players from different areas!  Players who come here came with the realisation that it is easier for them to get into europe via trinidad as opposed to being in brazil. 

Money is also derived from the selling of players since Wconn is the primary exporter of players in this country.  selling its players to clubs in china, japan england and even in bulgaria.

Post by: kicker on September 13, 2005, 06:44:04 AM
Players who come here came with the realisation that it is easier for them to get into europe via trinidad as opposed to being in brazil. 

Andre Samuel, expand on that point if you get a chance.......thanks
Post by: Reggaefan on September 13, 2005, 07:24:38 AM
It could very well be that he is using Trinidad as a route into Europe....but he could make a decent living playing professional football in the land of soccer.

Professionall football and private sponsorship goes hand in hand. Thats how it is around the world. But the man in teh street plays a bigger role in the success of tehteams, and the sucess of the league in general.
Title: Re: Whatever happened to Seabra?
Post by: andre samuel on September 13, 2005, 07:43:38 AM
For kicker

Wconn and other trinidad clubs have better history and better links to the european market than lower division brazilian clubs. 

for example, a player with say "level 8" ability from trinidad has a better chance of making it into europe than a"level 8"  player from brazil. 

Wconn markets its players more than any other proleague team (and by the way reggae fan, our league is professional, not semi pro) and is in the habit of bringing in players and selling them for profit and using the money to further develop the club's player resources!

Many players in the propleague enjoy comfortable lifestyles as footbalers.
Post by: Filho on September 13, 2005, 11:30:38 AM
to say that de brazilians that play for us in the proleague arent good is a stupid statement since W conn went to brazil and had screening sessions with over 100 players from different areas! Players who come here came with the realisation that it is easier for them to get into europe via trinidad as opposed to being in brazil.

you may have a point, but have you any idea how many soccer players there are in Brazil? To assume you will definitely get a decent Brazilian player from a sample of 100 or even 1,000 is a joke. Even you admitted later that they primarily come from the lower leagues. Sure they are decent by Trinidadian standards, but by Brazilian standards and world standards they are ordinary (I am not saying they are terrible...just nothing special)...If they were actually good, I can guarantee you they would not be playing in TnT, regardless of the transfer opportunities. Furthermore, the transfers are to mediocre clubs.......
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 12:00:30 PM
For kicker

Wconn and other trinidad clubs have better history and better links to the european market than lower division brazilian clubs. 

for example, a player with say "level 8" ability from trinidad has a better chance of making it into europe than a"level 8"  player from brazil. 

Wconn markets its players more than any other proleague team (and by the way reggae fan, our league is professional, not semi pro) and is in the habit of bringing in players and selling them for profit and using the money to further develop the club's player resources!

Many players in the propleague enjoy comfortable lifestyles as footbalers.

I really dunno how comfortable their lifestyles are considering that they are not going to play past the age of 30 and don't have any pension. So I think you have to reassess your opinion of a "comfortable lifestyle"
I would also like to know where you get your information that backs up your statement that a player in Trinidad of similar ability to a player in Brazil has a better chance of going to Europe.
Just because WC does it better than any other local team does not mean that they do it better than Brazilian teams.
Please provide evidence supporting this statement
Post by: saga pinto on September 13, 2005, 12:46:16 PM
Everybody get props for making good points,in particular spideys comments,but doh get confuse if yuh hear the horse out the gate,yuh see despite the  laws and rules that govern they were meant to broken if it suits there purpose.In seabras case ah doh tink so,maybe the likes of a beckham or the great maradona in his day........

Post by: Reggaefan on September 13, 2005, 01:28:24 PM
Just because WC does it better than any other local team does not mean that they do it better than Brazilian teams.
Please provide evidence supporting this statement

Again, the most affluent pro team in the Caribbean (JAmaica, Trinidad and anyone else with a semi-pr league) is nowhere near as financially stable as the poorest pro team in say Brazil. We cannot even compare W COnnection or Harbor View with an A-League team in the USA or Canada where football is not as well supported as it is in Brazil. W connection wasnt even around 10 years ago, so Idont know how the poster came o the logic that a Brazilain playing in Trinidad is more marketable than that same Brazilian playing in Brazil. Even right her ein CONCACAF, teams such as communicaciones of Guatemala, Saprissa of Costa Rica etc are mega-rich. The standards in these leagues are of high quality. I believe Saprissa is owned by a Millionaire Mexican, the same guy who owns Chivas Guadalajara.  These teams have good fan base. To be truely professional, I believe fan support is very important. There is a reason why Borgetti is the first Mexican to play pro football in the EPL....most Mexicans are content at playing their ball in Mexico, as they are well taken care of financially. Its fo rthe same reason whyyou find very few Mexicans playing in MLS, as MLS salaries are nowhere near MFL salaries. Fan support for teams plays a big role in this. Many South AMericans ply their trade in the Mexican league, where salaries are better than those in say Argentina.
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 02:32:02 PM
Good post Reggaefan. I usually disagree with everything you say, but this time I must concur.
Thanks for the insight.
Post by: Aymir on September 13, 2005, 02:45:04 PM
jabloteh is technically owned by a billionaire but instead of washing them with money he stands back and lets the club attempt to run its own business like a club should and only steps in when they need him to it seems. i dont believe that w.connection has anyway near the type of money that jabloteh could get if they wanted to and they pay their players very well and can do better if they want to. they also sold many players in fact collin samuel, aurtis whitley, cyd gray, angus eve, daurance williams, hector sam, cornell glen they all from jabloteh.

but jabloteh has no brazillian players ( i dont know if they ever had) and i think they try to focus on bringing through young football talent of trinidadian origin with a few sprinkling of foreigners which i think is a bloody good thing. they end up having the most players of any professional team in trinidad on the local national team at any level.

thats one reason why i support jabloteh so much cause i reckon that they do so much for local talent.
Post by: Reggaefan on September 13, 2005, 06:13:41 PM
jabloteh is technically owned by a billionaire but instead of washing them with money he stands back and lets the club attempt to run its own business like a club should and only steps in when they need him to it seems. i dont believe that w.connection has anyway near the type of money that jabloteh could get if they wanted to and they pay their players very well and can do better if they want to. they also sold many players in fact collin samuel, aurtis whitley, cyd gray, angus eve, daurance williams, hector sam, cornell glen they all from jabloteh.

but jabloteh has no brazillian players ( i dont know if they ever had) and i think they try to focus on bringing through young football talent of trinidadian origin with a few sprinkling of foreigners which i think is a bloody good thing. they end up having the most players of any professional team in trinidad on the local national team at any level.

thats one reason why i support jabloteh so much cause i reckon that they do so much for local talent.

Who is the Billionaire that owns Jabloteh? Dont tell me is a Trini Billionaire, because I doubt there are any really rich men (by international standrads) in the Caribbean today. Last time I check Micheal Lee chin and Butch Stewart (both Jamaicans) were the richest men in the region. I dont think either of them worth US$50 Million on their own (I may be wrong here). So who is the Trini Billionaire that owns Jabloteh? Whats the source of his wealth?
Title: Jabloteh owner
Post by: Tallman on September 13, 2005, 06:23:25 PM
Who is the Billionaire that owns Jabloteh? Dont tell me is a Trini Billionaire, because I doubt there are any really rich men (by international standrads) in the Caribbean today. Last time I check Micheal Lee chin and Butch Stewart (both Jamaicans) were the richest men in the region. I dont think either of them worth US$50 Million on their own (I may be wrong here). So who is the Trini Billionaire that owns Jabloteh? Whats the source of his wealth?

He is talking about Lawrence Duprey, the Executive Chairman of CL Financial Limited (http://www.clfinancial.com/). Last year they had US$3.5 billion in sales.
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 08:10:18 PM
I could have 3.5 billion in sales if my expenses were 5 billion.
Don't quote sales as a measure of someone's worth please.
That could be misleading.
Use a different metric.
I know Duprey probably have real money though. He might actually be a billionaire. But is he  on Forbes' list?
Post by: Marcos on September 13, 2005, 08:14:33 PM
I just checked and he isn't on Forbes' list. That doesn't necessarily mean he isn't though, just that ppl don't know about his wealth.
Title: Re: Lawrence Duprey
Post by: Tallman on September 13, 2005, 08:24:50 PM
Use a different metric.

It was not given as a measure of his worth, it was given as a measure of the size of the company.
Post by: Trini on September 13, 2005, 08:48:06 PM
Duprey is small fry compared to Lee chin and butch stewart.
Post by: kicker on September 14, 2005, 06:30:43 AM
I'd be shocked if Duprey was a US billionaire........does he have any daughters ?
Title: Re: Lawrence Duprey
Post by: Marcos on September 14, 2005, 07:31:41 AM
Use a different metric.

It was not given as a measure of his worth, it was given as a measure of the size of the company.

good point.
i think ppl may have gotten the wrong impression though
Post by: Sam on September 14, 2005, 07:36:50 AM
Duprey is small fry compared to Lee chin and butch stewart.

Trini dont be an ass nah...... does Stewart or Chin own a football club.... we taking about Jabloteh and how much they have... go to they page on this site and read de report when they played Arnett Gardens 2 years ago in Jamaica....
Post by: andre samuel on September 14, 2005, 08:51:50 AM

by de way reggaefan, de richest man in the caribbean is ANTHONY SABGA!! Lawrence Duprey is also very wealthy.  both these men are multi millionares, but Sabga is the richest in the caribbean by far.

Asking me to prove that is like asking me to prove that yellow and blue makes green without any yellow and blue markers!!

Post by: Reggaefan on September 14, 2005, 09:11:07 AM

by de way reggaefan, de richest man in the caribbean is ANTHONY SABGA!! Lawrence Duprey is also very wealthy.  both these men are multi millionares, but Sabga is the richest in the caribbean by far.

Asking me to prove that is like asking me to prove that yellow and blue makes green without any yellow and blue markers!!

OK! but by just stating that he is the richest man in the Caribbean is not really doing much to support your claim. Whats the source of his wealth? Whats his net worth? I know Butch is Super Rich, owing mainly to his world famous chain of hotels plus other interests. Lee-Chin owns an international bank AIG. You may have heard the name Butch Stewart before, but I have never heard the name Sabgo used in Caribbean circles, and perhaps other forumites here will saythe same too. Let us know some more about Sabga.
Title: Anthony Sabga
Post by: Tallman on September 14, 2005, 09:18:34 AM
Let us know some more about Sabga.

Anthony Sabga is the founder of the ANSA McAl Group of Companies (http://www.ansamcal.com).
Post by: Saltanfresh on September 14, 2005, 09:36:20 AM
Last time I check Micheal Lee chin and Butch Stewart (both Jamaicans) were the richest men in the region. So who is the Trini Billionaire that owns Jabloteh? Whats the source of his wealth?

Like allyuh never hear bout the contract dem Fabien brothers did sign wid Courts and Mauby Fizz or what? :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Butch who? and Sabga who? Look duh mek meh laugh nah.......
Post by: oconnorg on September 14, 2005, 09:53:49 AM
I think the CL Financial Group of Companies is the richest group in the caribbean.. By Extension, Mr L Duprey is de richest Son Of  biach in the Caribbean.. And No Jokey money!.......
Post by: Aymir on September 14, 2005, 11:16:07 AM
this is about rich men who own or technically own football clubs in the caribbean. i only know of one - i.e Duprey . his club Jabloteh does a lot for young local talent in trinidad. i dont know if Butch Stewart and Lee Chin spend a cent on football in Jamaica

Duprey even owns a stake in Burn Stewart Distilleries in scotland which owns 10% of Rangers FC so there you go . he doesnt have to be on Forbes list there are many billionaires not on that list so that is not surprising

i don't think it is even in doubt that Duprey is a TT billionaire and US multimillionaire ( at least) given that his company owns so much in oil and gas (we all know the price for oil and gas right now) and banks like republic bank and so on he must be by far the wealthiest owner of a football club in the caribbean region ( like a roman abramovich if you wish but he is not really like that in terms of involvement) .

i think he can do like roman and play more of a part in the day to day but that does not seem to be his style. is that a good thing or a bad thing? I dont know but the club keeps its head above water.
Post by: Filho on September 14, 2005, 11:16:22 AM
Stick to the facts fellas...not your intuition.

Not one person from the caribbean qualified as a billionaire in Forbe's world billionaire list in 2005. Not a single man or woman has a net worth of over $1BN US. If you don't know how net worth is calculated then cool it and doh come back at me with how much money a man or his company makes...we talking personal net worth and there is lil' something called debt that you must factor in.

According to the CIA world factbook the 5 richest countries in the caribbean according to GDP per capita are 1) the Bahamas, 2) Barbados, 3) Antigua and Barbuda, 4) TnT, 5) St Kitts and Nevis

The richest man with caribbean roots is Jamaican Michael Lee chin worth $2.4BN US. Born in Jamaica but now resides in Canada where he made his fortune.

I have no facts on Sabga or any other of these individuals....but neither do you. So end the discussion until you have the numbers.... :devil:
Post by: Bally on September 14, 2005, 11:24:51 AM
Lee Chin does not own AIG don’t lie Reggaefan I work for AIG and it’s a insurance company not a bank..
Post by: dcs on September 14, 2005, 11:28:24 AM
Lee Chin does not own AIG don’t lie Reggaefan I work for AIG and it’s a insurance company not a bank..

He must be talking bout de franchise in JA...cuz AIG is a global company.

Is like saying a man own KFC when he just own the franchise in St. James.

Filho...absence of information does not discount Duprey in this convo....your Forbes list has little interest in doing much investigation in the Caribbean or does it?
If allyuh find that info I want to know!
Post by: Marcos on September 14, 2005, 11:31:58 AM
These guys probably are woth a lot more than forbes suggests too cuz forbes doesn't know the details of everyone's accounts. They only estimate.
There could be a trini billionaire if he hid his money.
All trini billionaire would be frighten to publish their finances now anyway for fear of being kidnapped.
All kinda thousandaire gettin kidnapped these days.
Good ting i coolin it as a hundredaire.
i safe

Post by: royal on September 14, 2005, 11:37:32 AM
Forbes can never have an accurate list because in many countries  you don't have to state your net worth.
Post by: Lower St. John on September 14, 2005, 11:38:57 AM
Fellas in this internet era, before making jokes or dissing anybody on de site check all de facts first.  In this case, simply Google de man for de facts.

Well, Lee Chin is large, on a global stage.  Okay Reggaefan made a simple mistake it is not AIG but AIC.  Doh kill him on that.

A small link for Lee Chin (go to "About Us" and read de man story).

http://www.aic.com/en/main/home.asp?Disp=http%3A//www.aic.com/en/main/home_investor.asp
Post by: Filho on September 14, 2005, 11:45:09 AM
excellent points...many men doh have to disclose, so the list is inconclusive, but they do monitor the caribbean and what they call 'developing nations'.

in the end, these are the only stats you can use. like i said...i doh have no facts on Sabga and co....so we wasting time on this petty argument
Post by: Aymir on September 14, 2005, 02:19:09 PM
check the thread .....this point was never about who is the richest man in the caribbean, it was always about which club in the caribbean is sufficiently well off ( or can call on a sugar daddy to help it out) to compete with other clubs in central america and the usa and so on and those who have to hunt brazillian talent and sell players to stay profitable etc

in the end (unless tallman or somebody who knows tells me differently), Duprey is the only 'money-man' with a direct interest in a caribbean football club ( i wont mention his indirect ownership of rangers fc again like i did down below)
Post by: Reggaefan on September 14, 2005, 03:03:14 PM
check the thread .....this point was never about who is the richest man in the caribbean, it was always about which club in the caribbean is sufficiently well off ( or can call on a sugar daddy to help it out) to compete with other clubs in central america and the usa and so on and those who have to hunt brazillian talent and sell players to stay profitable etc

in the end (unless tallman or somebody who knows tells me differently), Duprey is the only 'money-man' with a direct interest in a caribbean football club ( i wont mention his indirect ownership of rangers fc again like i did down below)

Good point there...Somehow the point of the debate got lost in the barrage of follow up posts. 
Post by: Solo on September 14, 2005, 10:14:45 PM
So then which is the richest club in the Caribbean?
Post by: Reggaefan on September 15, 2005, 07:21:41 AM
So then which is the richest club in the Caribbean?

Well, Since the Big Trini company owns Jabloteh, then you have to conclude that Jabloteh is the richest football club possibly in CONCACAF, seeing that the owner is a Billionaire  :devil:

I recall some time ago, about 2 years to be exact, a Haitian team called Violet played agaianst Arnete Gardens. Looking at the players, andteh coach, who was a former Brazilian, I thought to myslef that they must have some serious dollars to be able to afford a Brazilian coach. I think the name of teh coach was Torres or something to that effect. Also, there were a few White Brazilian players and a Ghanian player I belive on teh Haitian team.

Point I'm making here is that The Caribbean is not limitedto Jamaica and Trinidad. I believe there is some money in the Haitiangame, and something tells me that club football is better supported ther ethan in Jamaica, an dby extension, Trinidad.
Post by: saga pinto on September 15, 2005, 10:51:53 AM
Allyuh straying from the topic,the subject is not who is the riches man in the caribbean but about seabra,get back on track. 
Post by: Reggaefan on September 15, 2005, 10:58:15 AM
Allyuh straying from the topic,the subject is not who is the riches man in the caribbean but about seabra,get back on track. 

The discussion relates to football, doesnt it? Seabra didnt qualify for a Trini passport, hence he is not able to play for T&T. Not much more to say other than that. He did represent T&T in a few games, so obviously, its not a matter of him not good enough.
Post by: dcs on September 15, 2005, 11:14:42 AM

If Seabra had apply for residency when he first came he would've been closer to getting citizenship which is required to play in WCQ. 
He only just apply for residency and thus could play in the Digicel (even though B'dos try to challenge that) but the 7 years after u get residency only now start.

Only an executive move can grant him citizenship but the government has no motive to do such.  If he had look a lil different or was from a different place who knows   :devil:

Post by: Mr Mc on September 15, 2005, 11:30:14 AM

The discussion relates to football, doesnt it? Seabra didnt qualify for a Trini passport, hence he is not able to play for T&T. Not much more to say other than that. He did represent T&T in a few games, so obviously, its not a matter of him not good enough.

It may still be a matter of if he is good enough, if is one thing we can do in Trini is pull strings, so while he may be good enough to make the team for some games, but not good enough for Jack and dem to pull the right strings to get him his papers.
where there is a will there is a way, guess they just were not willing.
Post by: Reggaefan on September 15, 2005, 01:19:32 PM

It may still be a matter of if he is good enough, if is one thing we can do in Trini is pull strings, so while he may be good enough to make the team for some games, but not good enough for Jack and dem to pull the right strings to get him his papers.

A Brazilian not good enough to make Trinidad's fotball team. Hmm. Must be a real crappy Brazilain 'baller then I guess  ::)
Post by: Mr Mc on September 15, 2005, 02:58:46 PM
well he sweating in the Trini league aint he, so he have to be at that level in the fuss place.
Post by: kicker on September 15, 2005, 03:46:30 PM

A Brazilian not good enough to make Trinidad's fotball team. Hmm. Must be a real crappy Brazilain 'baller then I guess  ::)

He probably good enough to make Jamaica' squad though......... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Reggaefan on September 15, 2005, 03:54:52 PM

Maybe he could. He probaly would be a better players with good skilful players around him. I am sure Yorke would have at least one World Cup appearance under his belt had he been a Jakan by birth. So to Latapee (oops, did I spell that right?)  :devil:
Post by: kicker on September 15, 2005, 04:11:51 PM

Maybe he could. He probaly would be a better players with good skilful players around him. I am sure Yorke would have at least one World Cup appearance under his belt had he been a Jakan by birth. So to Latapee (oops, did I spell that right?)  :devil:

Jakan by birth huh ?? Funny you say that because it took a few "Jakan's by heritage" to get y'all to France

Don't worry, with some luck and if Mexico comes down here and plays us with as much indifference as they played you guys in the last qual('97), when you qualified, Yorke and Latapy will get their World Cup chance.
Title: What ever happened to the Brazilian Jose Luis Seabra
Post by: FATZ on October 23, 2005, 12:42:03 PM
After all the ray ray with him getting citizenship and playing a couple games, what's up with him now, couldn't he help the side??? ???
Title: Re: What ever happened to the Brazilian Jose Luis Seabra
Post by: morvant on October 23, 2005, 12:44:14 PM
nah i cuss he way on de last TTFF board long time ;D

i was the one who say that i want to see my cousin out there instead of some foreigners :rotfl: :rotfl:
Title: Any word on Seabra?
Post by: Marlon on October 29, 2005, 05:25:04 PM
We all know that we have a lil issue with de left side ah midfield. Ah was jes wondering when Seabra will be available, and if allyuh tink he should/would be considered if cleared by we foolish government?
Title: Re: Any word on Seabra?
Post by: concerned on October 29, 2005, 05:31:42 PM
where have you been ??????? ??? ???
Post by: Marlon on October 29, 2005, 05:33:10 PM
where have you been ??????? ??? ???

obviously not following the issue, or i wouldn't be asking. ::)
Post by: TnTVillan on October 29, 2005, 05:40:56 PM
The problem on the left side fix. Jlloyd Samuel coming to play on the left. He go be the Trini Ashley Cole.
Post by: Marlon on October 29, 2005, 05:51:31 PM
The problem on the left side fix. Jlloyd Samuel coming to play on the left. He go be the Trini Ashley Cole.

so we gorne back 3-5-2? (jes kicksin)
Post by: skins on October 29, 2005, 06:15:21 PM
Seabra can't make this team even if he have the option to play for tnt.
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 29, 2005, 09:11:01 PM
Da brother look like he just awake from a deep slumber.  Boy wake up!
Title: Anyone read this in the Newsday
Post by: Jayerson on December 14, 2005, 10:25:41 AM
Excerpt from Newsday 14 Dec 2005

The football administrative giant revealed that, by December 20, he plans to put a case to the FIFA Players’ Status Committee concerning British-born pair of Jlloyd Samuel and Bobby Zamora, as well as Brazilian-born Jose Luis Seabra, who have made themselves available to play for Trinidad and Tobago.

My question is, Jose Luis Seabra???????????????????????
Title: Re: Anyone read this in the Newsday
Post by: skins on December 14, 2005, 10:29:28 AM
I did read that on the newsday. I also just read on the guardian that the TTFF found about 160 Uscollege players and they are looking into some player from blackpool who they refuse to state. They said the player is stating he wants to play for tnt but they are looking into the situation. I wonder who is that??
Post by: Trini_fan on December 14, 2005, 10:30:43 AM
He plays in the PFL with Joe Public.

I will give Seabra it before Zamora because is long time Jack fighting for this man to get his Trinidadian citizenship.
Post by: Jayerson on December 14, 2005, 10:34:09 AM
I know about Seabra, I'm just wondering why do they have to go to FIFA with his case because as far as I know he couldn't play for us because of the laws regarding citizenship in T&T. We've argued this time and time again on the froum.
Post by: Ponnoxx on December 14, 2005, 10:36:47 AM
 Seabra plays for W Connection..A left footed player, good at free-kicks and I think he is currently leading goal-scorer in PFL..He has been in Trinidad for a while
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 14, 2005, 10:38:21 AM
blackpool player? who is dat boy
Post by: Trini_fan on December 14, 2005, 10:41:10 AM
Seabra plays for W Connection..A left footed player, good at free-kicks and I think he is currently leading goal-scorer in PFL..He has been in Trinidad for a while

And here i thinking he still with Joe Public...

Maybe they could appeal on time actually spent in trinidad or something...yuh know jack going and find some loophole
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 14, 2005, 10:42:38 AM
i know joe public had ah handful ah brazilian players like seven years ago.buy ah never hear bout he.he good.
Post by: Jayerson on December 14, 2005, 10:50:28 AM
i know joe public had ah handful ah brazilian players like seven years ago.buy ah never hear bout he.he good.

As far as I know he plays for W-Connection, maybe he transfered, I don't know. He has about 6 caps for T&T against Azerbaijan (2), Haiti, Jamaica, Cuba and Barbados. However as he's only resident status in T&T and not a citizen he could not play in WCQ or something to that extent, he's been living in T&T for long while now.
Post by: Ponnoxx on December 14, 2005, 10:50:39 AM
 He playing for Connection.....Joe Public currently does have Brazilians but I think they are young players and yes he is a decent player
Post by: Brej on December 14, 2005, 10:54:42 AM
saebra is the leading scorer fuh real ent he is a left mid
Post by: scarface on December 14, 2005, 10:55:19 AM
where all these european waggonists comin from jed! where dem was when we was under d fire to qualify? where were their services then? eh??

man hear world cup & all of ah sudden dey lookin to pull all kinda link to T&T out dey ass. dey cud stay dey &  come play for the qualifiers for 2010 to prove this is where they wanna be. Ah sure half ah dem goin an overlook we again once world cup done.

let we go wit who got us there. they deserve it. IF IT AIN'T BROKE DOH FIX IT!!!!
Post by: Jayerson on December 14, 2005, 11:08:03 AM
where all these european waggonists comin from jed! where dem was when we was under d fire to qualify? where were their services then? eh??

man hear world cup & all of ah sudden dey lookin to pull all kinda link to T&T out dey ass. dey cud stay dey &  come play for the qualifiers for 2010 to prove this is where they wanna be. Ah sure half ah dem goin an overlook we again once world cup done.

let we go wit who got us there. they deserve it. IF IT AIN'T BROKE DOH FIX IT!!!!

Seabra around before Birchall and a few others, he was involved before Latapy came back. And because we qualified for the WC doesn't mean we don't need improvement, the fact is our game needs to be lifted to compete against what we know are quality team. If Beenhakker didn't believe that we need 1 or 2 (maybe more) international standard players to compete and progress to the 2nd round there is no harm in bringing them. I don't see more than 3 maybe 4 new faces if any. We have a decent squad but now till June is a long time, injuries, loss of form, fall outs can all happen. The bigger the pool the better.
Post by: jaden on December 14, 2005, 11:54:20 AM
seabra around even before beenie man himself..........
Title: Whatever happened to the Seabra Situation?
Post by: Andre on March 17, 2006, 10:53:19 AM
he ever get his trini citizenship?

i never see him play but have been told his is nothing special. would he make a difference in the t & t midefield?

http://www.socawarriors.net/jose_luis_seabra.htm
Title: Re: Whatever happened to the Seabra Situation?
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on March 17, 2006, 11:10:11 AM
We cyar give him citizen ship just so nah. He have residency so he cud play friendlies but citizenship different...

He has to meet certain requirements and he ain't make some ah them... one of them is time in TnT...
If we change de laws all dem Guyanese who was dey before Seabra go get if scotch free nah so Seabra's best option is tuh divore he wife... marry ah trini... wait bout 3 years divorce she and marrid back he brazilian wife
Post by: dcs on March 17, 2006, 12:18:15 PM
Nationality express ticket needed (http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?&topic=12485.msg120616#msg120616)  submitted by  dwn
:
:
So there is a widespread consensus in the football world that a national coach is allowed to enquire about those foreigners in his league who have not been selected for their own country yet, should they be willing to change nationality.

And why not? They might feel at home in their new country, maybe have the benefit of an EU-citizenship and even help the club when the number of foreigners on the pitch is restricted. Everyone's a winner.

So, when Feyenoord's quicksilver 19-year-old talent Salomon Kalou showed an interested in trading his Ivory Coast passport for a Dutch one in October 2004, it seemed there could only be winners.

One of the first to express his delight was Marco van Basten, who said he could not have enough good strikers in his squad.

However, the normal procedure for naturalisation can only start when the person has spent five years in the country, while Kalou first stepped on Dutch soil in 2003.

Fortunately for Kalou, the law includes a specific fast-track exception for applicants who can be a benefit to the country on cultural or social grounds.

:
:

It have people fighting against it so he doesn't have the citizenship yet.  This goes beyond sport of course. In general it would be to our benefit to grant citizenship to individuals who can make a significant contribution to the country......defining significant could be the debating point but as of now we don't even have the option.....at least for non-caricom nationals cuz with the CSME those same Guyanese yuh fraid will be able to come.
Post by: pardners on March 17, 2006, 02:41:57 PM
We cyar give him citizen ship just so nah. He have residency so he cud play friendlies but citizenship different...

He has to meet certain requirements and he ain't make some ah them... one of them is time in TnT...
If we change de laws all dem Guyanese who was dey before Seabra go get if scotch free nah so Seabra's best option is tuh divore he wife... marry ah trini... wait bout 3 years divorce she and marrid back he brazilian wife

Post by: Jefferz on March 17, 2006, 02:46:25 PM
hahaha this forum is rel jones oui

Seabra isnt an international class player.

period.
Title: Jose Luis Seabra
Post by: Warrior till death on April 10, 2006, 04:34:27 PM
by 2010 he will have his citizenship
and will most likely be playing in our T&T Squad
how old will he be then?
Title: Re: Jose Luis Seabra
Post by: Jefferz on April 10, 2006, 04:35:44 PM
why he would be playing in our squad...?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 10, 2006, 04:36:35 PM
he will be 2 old
Post by: Pointman on April 10, 2006, 04:36:56 PM
by 2010 he will have his citizenship
and will most likely be playing in our T&T Squad
how old will he be then?

how you know he go be in de squad? ???
Post by: Jefferz on April 10, 2006, 04:38:22 PM
he not a bad player... buh he not nrealy good enough to make the scratch...

Post by: Warrior till death on April 10, 2006, 04:38:42 PM
ok just finalized..he will be 29
thaz still gud age
he will be a star by den  trust me
Post by: SHOTTA on April 10, 2006, 04:46:57 PM
like survivor the merge soon come

seabra will be like 35 or sumtin cuz i think he 29 all now if so young

he may not have sumthin to offer tnt ball by then anyway plus neaves and tinto go be like 25 cyar go rong in 2010 wit speedy wingers like dat

Post by: Isaachunt on April 10, 2006, 04:49:25 PM
 He will be 29 and Andre Pacheco will be 26. Javed Mohammed will be 21. Highley would be 24. Kevon Neaves would be 25....They would all be good...They are all left footers... Seabra? I think not... You have to be stupid to think he will be there
Post by: Jefferz on April 10, 2006, 04:49:35 PM
like survivor the merge soon come

seabra will be like 35 or sumtin cuz i think he 29 all now if so young

he may not have sumthin to offer tnt ball by then anyway plus neaves and tinto go be like 25 cyar go rong in 2010 wit speedy wingers like dat

yea Neaves need to get fitter though... tinto yea... once he keep workin on he game he in dat squad for sure...

ah din get to see him use more of his speed though i see he have some nifty footwork.
Post by: kingman on April 10, 2006, 04:52:03 PM
he will be 2 old

:applause:

Post by: Benjie on April 10, 2006, 08:35:03 PM
http://www.usoc.org/11506_42880.htm
http://www.weblocator.com/attorney/il/law/immigemp.html

Interesting discussion despite d fact that he really ain't good enough we may need an out like those countries. Kalou most likely won't get it before d world cup and this is becuse of the date he applied.

Post by: Jefferz on April 11, 2006, 02:01:17 AM

if i ever see you i consider it a right of law by my country and my fellow country men to issue you a serious kiss in the ass... seriously.
Post by: truetrini on June 28, 2011, 08:42:00 PM
Do we have any Brazilians playing in T&T Pro League now?
Post by: Tallman on June 29, 2011, 04:53:27 AM
Do we have any Brazilians playing in T&T Pro League now?

Last season, W-Connection had:
Murilo Da Costa
Paulo Roberto Santana
Francisco Neto
Jose Da Silva
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 01, 2011, 07:30:42 AM
Queen, Andre and Touches and the Trini posse may be better to answer this but Seabra eh gettin throu with he passport so like he/they give up.  He still dey at connection (i think)
Birchall get his do fast casue his mother is a born white Trini so he get if from she. (by law you can get a trini passport if your parents are Trini)  Seabra has no blood ties to the Island so that why they making him go through the due process, which i think is crap

what does her color have to do with anything about getting a passort or not?  ??? :thumbsdown:
Post by: MEP on July 01, 2011, 08:24:48 AM

what does her color have to do with anything about getting a passort or not?  ??? :thumbsdown:
In case yuh eh realize you reply to a 6 year old post
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 01, 2011, 09:48:37 AM

so what? it was up in the most recently replied threads this morning and its the first time i am reading the thread. what are you trying to say? there's an expiration date on calling out someone's bigotry?
Post by: davidephraim on July 01, 2011, 11:20:59 AM

so what? it was up in the most recently replied threads this morning and its the first time i am reading the thread. what are you trying to say? there's an expiration date on calling out someone's bigotry?
actually the statutes of limitations mighta run out already Stunner. lolol.
Post by: Bakes on July 01, 2011, 11:23:43 AM

I sure Ricky doh need me to 'defend' him, but I'm just curious... how is it "bigotry" to mention the fact that Birchall's mother is a "born white Trini"?
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 01, 2011, 12:26:47 PM

I sure Ricky doh need me to 'defend' him, but I'm just curious... how is it "bigotry" to mention the fact that Birchall's mother is a "born white Trini"?
no eh doh try make this out as something other than what it is, we all know that birchall is white, ricky implied that birchall got his passport BECAUSE birchall moms was a born WHITE trini
"Birchall get his do fast casue his mother is a born white Trini so he get if from she"

i mean, i am the last person to correct grammar, but his sentence structure is poor, implying that birchal got his passport quickly because his mother was 1) born in TnT 2) white 3) right after states that its law if your parents are trini you can get a passport, no where in the law does it state you had to be of a certain race to get get a passport quicker than anyone else, therefore no need to state her race other than to imply because of her race he got it quicker

Post by: MEP on July 01, 2011, 12:51:06 PM
Question is....is Ricky still even on dis site anymore so who you really arguing wid?
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 01, 2011, 12:59:38 PM
Question is....is Ricky still even on dis site anymore so who you really arguing wid?

just pointing out

if he gone then cool. seems like others want to defend that sort of thinking tho
Post by: president on July 01, 2011, 01:03:24 PM
Seabra? Really?
Post by: kicker on July 01, 2011, 02:06:36 PM
no eh doh try make this out as something other than what it is, we all know that birchall is white, ricky implied that birchall got his passport BECAUSE birchall moms was a born WHITE trini
"Birchall get his do fast casue his mother is a born white Trini so he get if from she"

i mean, i am the last person to correct grammar, but his sentence structure is poor, implying that birchal got his passport quickly because his mother was 1) born in TnT 2) white 3) right after states that its law if your parents are trini you can get a passport, no where in the law does it state you had to be of a certain race to get get a passport quicker than anyone else, therefore no need to state her race other than to imply because of her race he got it quicker

Even if he thinks that race played a part in it (and it's not just "poor sentence construction"), that doesn't make him a bigot.
Post by: Bakes on July 02, 2011, 11:17:46 AM

Aside from what Kicker said... there is nothing at all wrong with "that kind of thinking".  It might not have been your reality... or maybe you juss gone from Trinidad too long, but colorism is very much real in Trinidad, and next to classism is the most virulent form of prejudice in the country, more than racism if you ask me.  So just because Ricky call it as he see it that doh make him a bigot, he hasn't said anything dergoatory about whites nor did he advocate prejudice against them.  It is a truism in certain arenas that your color or creed will get you ahead faster than anyone else.
Post by: Feliziano on July 02, 2011, 12:35:25 PM
Gunnerstunner, Ricky isn't a bigot and was just stating the obvious (that Birchall qualify through a born and bred Trini parent who happened to be white and not through him marrying a Trini girl in England) in typical Trini dialect..bad sentence construction and all  :beermug:

anyway he got it faster cause of Uncle Jack (Bless his soul)  ;D
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 05, 2011, 12:40:06 PM

Even if he thinks that race played a part in it (and it's not just "poor sentence construction"), that doesn't make him a bigot.
what does it make him then?
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 05, 2011, 12:43:56 PM

Aside from what Kicker said... there is nothing at all wrong with "that kind of thinking".  It might not have been your reality... or maybe you juss gone from Trinidad too long, but colorism is very much real in Trinidad, and next to classism is the most virulent form of prejudice in the country, more than racism if you ask me.  So just because Ricky call it as he see it that doh make him a bigot, he hasn't said anything dergoatory about whites nor did he advocate prejudice against them.  It is a truism in certain arenas that your color or creed will get you ahead faster than anyone else.

"truism" doesnt make it right, thats exactly the type of thinking that has trini in such a state we accpet the wrong things and shun the right unless its actually hurting you directly, plus i highly doubt i could get away with making inferneces like his on here, why bother eh? we like it so!
Post by: kicker on July 05, 2011, 12:55:00 PM
"truism" doesnt make it right, thats exactly the type of thinking that has trini in such a state we accpet the wrong things and shun the right unless its actually hurting you directly, plus i highly doubt i could get away with making inferneces like his on here, why bother eh? we like it so!

Gunner, merely accusing a system of racism doesn't make one a racist - simple. 

As you imply by your last part, I agree that some racial groups are afforded more leniency in being outspoken about racial discrimination -that in it itself is a function of society's ("reverse")-racist perspective. We could talk forever about why that is so... but that point is distinct and separate from what Ricky "might" have said...

I agree with Feliz though, I think Ricky mentioned his skin colour as a matter of fact...  Ricky is a real cool fella and if yuh follow his posts, yuh would see that he doh push dem kinda head on the forum...by the way...Where is Ricky? I eh see a post from him in a while. 
Post by: Bakes on July 05, 2011, 02:58:45 PM

You's ah kinda emotional backside or what?  Anybody say anything "right"??  Ricky comment on something that is factual... what part of that you having trouble with?  Whether he was accurate in chalking up Birchall's situation to color-based favoritism is another matter, but colorism is alive and well in Trinidad.  If you don't believe it just look at Tribe modlels and masqueraders.  And before yuh start talking about man speculating... trust me, I'm not.  If yuh want more information on that feel free to hit me up offline... one of the reasons I would never even so much as spit in Tribe direction.

You talking about you "highly doubt you could get away with making "inferences like that" and what not.  From that I take it that yuh white... until yuh implied it I would have never known, nor would have most here, because simply put, no one cares.  But this explains a lot, it explains why you find it so hard to accept the truth that Trini society favors people of your ethnicity.  Doh kill de messengers.
Post by: MEP on July 05, 2011, 04:23:59 PM
None so blind as those who will not see.....

So years ago back in de days of post primary there were two fellas who were fourteen nearing fifteen. So out of concern meh fadder started to use he contacts to try to find these two fellas a job. It so happened one was black and the other white. So finally he link them up with a Printer. He took both went down to the printer where they took a written test. It so happened that they scored equally on the test. So days later the Printer contacted him and guess which one he chose.......reason being he had a better handwriting.
Post by: GunnerStunner on July 05, 2011, 08:31:24 PM
None so blind as those who will not see.....

So years ago back in de days of post primary there were two fellas who were fourteen nearing fifteen. So out of concern meh fadder started to use he contacts to try to find these two fellas a job. It so happened one was black and the other white. So finally he link them up with a Printer. He took both went down to the printer where they took a written test. It so happened that they scored equally on the test. So days later the Printer contacted him and guess which one he chose.......reason being he had a better handwriting.
if I was the white one I wouldn't have gotten the job