Sports => Football => Topic started by: saga pinto on April 13, 2006, 12:14:56 PM

Title: Is Cornell glenn the Answer upfront?
Post by: saga pinto on April 13, 2006, 12:14:56 PM
I certainly think so,look when that man was playing for metro-stars he was there fastest player,and he have some decent ball control and skill as well.He could if stays fit and is discipline enough light it up in the world cup games.
Title: Re: Is Cornell glenn the Answer upfront?
Post by: TrinInfinite on April 13, 2006, 12:19:57 PM
me and cowen were havin dis conversation yesterday, glen is de answer for england and sweden, i think beenie have a plan for glen, stern will be shut out of the eng and sweden games by the defense, para will b a good game for stern  :beermug: however if we 4-4-2 against eng and sweden, stern will score bc glen will create problems and stern will free up  :beermug:
Post by: Trinimassive on April 13, 2006, 12:20:04 PM
Well let's see if he lights up MLS first. The level of defenders he will face there is not the same level he will face in Germany so he know he get pick...now he need to prove he could deliver in that league. If he ent lighting up MLS chances are when he come up against Sol Campbell, Rio, Terry....what will he do different ???

I think he and Samuel will battle for that spot on the left.  Cornell has shown some competence and pace there.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 13, 2006, 12:36:35 PM
For him to be answer as you say he needs to demonstrate that he can add something. Let's see how the MLS season goes for him. If Beenie thinks Glenn can help us he'll play. Stern is showing his class right now and it will take something special from Glenn to put Stern on the bench.
Post by: Jefferz on April 13, 2006, 02:46:17 PM
he like Kenwyne Jones is a man with alot of raw talent and little of the consistant polished finishing you need at the highest level of football...

They just need to both work on their finishing... especially Glen...

when Glen does manage to finish off a move and score a goal... It is almost always a classy goal...

Ill be routing for Both de Mucarapo boy Cornell and meh St.Anothonys boy Kenwyne.

They have alot to bring to the table, lets hope they realy do bring it.
Post by: maxg on April 13, 2006, 02:53:58 PM
me and cowen were havin dis conversation yesterday, glen is de answer for england and sweden, i think beenie have a plan for glen, stern will be shut out of the eng and sweden games by the defense, para will b a good game for stern  :beermug: however if we 4-4-2 against eng and sweden, stern will score bc glen will create problems and stern will free up  :beermug:

Well is ah good ting yuh wuk that out for we yes..ah think Yorke will create some problems, and Whitley, and Carlos 2...Sooo Stern should score bout 4 right dey so.. :beermug:
Post by: NUFF on April 13, 2006, 03:03:03 PM
To me Glenn has the potential to be a player in the mold of El Hadji Diouf of Senegal.  Not the greatest goal scorer but fast and skillfull enough to beat defenders at will and create scoring chances for other players.
Post by: Filho on April 13, 2006, 03:09:30 PM
We need Cornell bad. And not just on the squad...the man has to play. I thank the Lord when I see cornell make the 24.

Our team is too slow....on and off the ball. Cornell's downfall is that he is tries to play so fast all the time, his touch sometimes lets him down and he needs more composure in front of goal. But with him.....the midfield will always have movement and have an outlet pass. No team in the world playing without speed in front line. Cornell will keep opposing defenses honest...and his marker knows he will be roast trying to keep up with him....he will chase lost causes and make soemthing happen out of nothing. That is a psychological weapon we lacking upfront. A man who does make the opposing defense say 'Christ man...this fella coming to blow past me again'. No matter how much jam you get, if you consisntantly coming at defenses with hate you will make chances...he would be a great complement to Stern........speed is an essential element if football today.
Post by: kicker on April 13, 2006, 03:11:51 PM
To me Glenn has the potential to be a player in the mold of El Hadji Diouf of Senegal.  Not the greatest goal scorer but fast and skillfull enough to beat defenders at will and create scoring chances for other players.

yup
Post by: Augi on April 13, 2006, 03:13:09 PM
I feel we will need to give Cornell a nice run in the Peru game to see what he is really made off at this level.Its been a while since he has been given the chance to prove himself at the international level.
Post by: 1989 on April 13, 2006, 03:47:32 PM
Well let's see if he lights up MLS first. The level of defenders he will face there is not the same level he will face in Germany so he know he get pick...now he need to prove he could deliver in that league. If he ent lighting up MLS chances are when he come up against Sol Campbell, Rio, Terry....what will he do different ???

I think he and Samuel will battle for that spot on the left.  Cornell has shown some competence and pace there.

Hmmm... I think that Samuel already has that locked down.
Post by: 1989 on April 13, 2006, 03:49:45 PM

I doubt.  I think that Stern is the only man that could score against thise teams.  Yorke might have a fit of form and score like against Iceland, but other than that the midfield is his and scoring is Stern's.  Glen might get a run somewhere else.

But again... Beenhakker is boss...
Post by: Brej on April 13, 2006, 05:00:18 PM
i wun say glenn is de answer for sweeden an england but, SPEED is de answer for dem to which cornell has
but then so do scotty samuel jones etc
Post by: #8 on April 13, 2006, 11:49:20 PM
i'm gonna answer this question with a question......out of the FORWARDS selected as part of this 24 man squad,which striker(s) will have the most match fitness and confidence due to regular playing time with his respective club right up until world cup time??

#8...President Of De Glen For Goals Committee
Post by: Themanfriday on April 14, 2006, 02:44:58 AM
Scotland
Post by: saga pinto on April 14, 2006, 05:19:56 AM
No dis-respect to rest of the forum members that like samuel or even jones,I like them too,but have you guys looked at the section in the forum under goals galore where cornells speed and ball control are on display.The man is explosive,trust me beenie know what he doing and I respect that choice he made to include him,even when I spoke to Anton a few months ago he told me and I qoute,"Cornells lack of discipline is what's keeping out of the starting line-up.I tell allyuh if that man step-up and behave himself skys the limit people and making second might not be so far fetched as some people think.     
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 14, 2006, 08:37:41 AM
my strikers in orer for TnT

1)Stern John- Stern is our most potent striker ...he may lack the pace...but he makes clever runs and has body strength...he also shoots very well..both powerfully and accurately.

2)Jason Scotland- I put Jason here because i find when i see kenwyne play he has about one chance in the game. Jason always creates chances and is a great passer of the ball..... and he has an unbelievable shot.

3) Kenwyn Jones- Kenwyne needs to develop more as a striker...he has hieght and strength  but he doesnt use it on the field effitently..to me Jason Scotland should have first preference to come on before kenwyne....... the only reason i will play Jones in the world cup is if we playing a team of midgits...sorry to say

4)Cornell Glenn--  Great speed but cannot finish... he is very lethal as you can ue him on the wings and he has great heading ability..but like kenwyne i doubt i will see glenn on the field in germany

remember my opinion
Post by: kingman on April 14, 2006, 08:59:23 AM
I certainly think so,look when that man was playing for metro-stars he was there fastest player,and he have some decent ball control and skill as well.He could if stays fit and is discipline enough light it up in the world cup games.

You asked a question, and now I will give you an answer. Glen is not the answer, he is an option. If we were struggling for goals up top or did not qualify for the World Cup and it was as a result of goals then I would have asked that question. Nevertheless, we have been getting goals from John, Yorke, Birchall and Lawrence. Or, I don't think Glen had a goal for the whole WC campaign (even though he was not a regular starter on the squad). No excuses…..Seally was not a regularly starter either but he had 1 or 2 goals under his belt. Trust me, Glen is not answer. More an option for going up against slow center-backs or even on the flank.

Post by: #8 on April 14, 2006, 05:53:23 PM
No dis-respect to rest of the forum members that like samuel or even jones,I like them too,but have you guys looked at the section in the forum under goals galore where cornells speed and ball control are on display.The man is explosive,trust me beenie know what he doing and I respect that choice he made to include him,even when I spoke to Anton a few months ago he told me and I qoute,"Cornells lack of discipline is what's keeping out of the starting line-up.I tell allyuh if that man step-up and behave himself skys the limit people and making second might not be so far fetched as some people think.     
saga pinto i respect your post and opinion as well as every other forumite's..but just to touch on the part where you wrote "Cornells lack of discipline is what's keeping out of the sarting line up"..this was quoted to you by someone else...i don't think that he has a discipline problem...i just think that he asks challenging/controversial questions that are interpreted as forms of indiscipline...Ask Anton how can..Cornell asking the question.."how come #14(can't/won't say his name for obvious reasons) never checked into the room that we were put in together(when T&T played Bahrain at de HCS) and nothing happens?" be termed as a form of indiscipline??

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committee
Post by: supporter on April 14, 2006, 06:15:10 PM
if he drops the attitude then he'll be a good player off the bench.
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on April 14, 2006, 06:26:55 PM
saga pinto i respect your post and opinion as well as every other forumite's..but just to touch on the part where you wrote "Cornells lack of discipline is what's keeping out of the sarting line up"..this was quoted to you by someone else...i don't think that he has a discipline problem...i just think that he asks challenging/controversial questions that are interpreted as forms of indiscipline...Ask Anton how can..Cornell asking the question.."how come #14(can't/won't say his name for obvious reasons) never checked into the room that we were put in together(when T&T played Bahrain at de HCS) and nothing happens?" be termed as a form of indiscipline??

I have a feelin that Speedy is Cornell Glen yuh know.   Because how you go say "the room we was supposed to be in together"  how you know that?
Post by: Sam on April 15, 2006, 04:45:42 AM
Cornell Glen is a must for we world cup team, de man will flame them up... he and Samuel... lard !!!!!! not even Ato could catch them... I will pick Glen over Jones anyday, Jones hasn't prove anything to me yet !!!
Post by: bill on April 15, 2006, 04:54:38 AM

I have a feelin that Speedy is Cornell Glen yuh know.   Because how you go say "the room we was supposed to be in together"  how you know that?

I have to agree there... Does Speedy = Cornell Glen??
Post by: Jahyouth on April 15, 2006, 06:13:55 AM
Allyuh, what number Cornell Glen used in Compre?  If it was 8 then he busted: #8 a.k.a. speedy is Cornell Glenn.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 15, 2006, 06:18:26 AM
Allyuh, what number Cornell Glen used in Compre?  If it was 8 then he busted: #8 a.k.a. speedy is Cornell Glenn.

Jahyute, ah tink yuh on pt.  Congrats on makin de squad Glenn, yuh speed, skill, and obvious talent can contribute in de matches ahead, look forward to seein de warriors in Jamany.  Bless
Post by: Jahyouth on April 15, 2006, 06:20:58 AM

Jahyute, ah tink yuh on pt.  Congrats on makin de squad Glenn, yuh speed, skill, and obvious talent can contribute in de matches ahead, look forward to seein de warriors in Jamany.  Bless

Oye, is Jahyouth, not Jahyute.  Ah fowl teef done copycat meh name.

Bless up
Post by: saga pinto on April 15, 2006, 06:30:10 AM

Good point jersey trini I think is him too,so let's welcome cornell to the board...........
Post by: saga pinto on April 15, 2006, 06:55:29 AM

Cornell firstly let me say how happy I'm that you were selected,I think you bring quality and tremendous speed to the forward position.Now secondly as for asking challenging controversial questions,nothing's wrong with that as a matter of fact it may be deemed necessary at times depending upon the situation,but if for whatever unknown reason it keeps getting you into trouble,you may need to take another approach,here's a subtle quote for you:"you can't catch bees without Honey"   
Post by: Pointman on April 15, 2006, 09:26:57 AM

Well is ah good ting yuh wuk that out for we yes..ah think Yorke will create some problems, and Whitley, and Carlos 2...Sooo Stern should score bout 4 right dey so.. :beermug:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Maxg yuh iz ah real clown yes. Leave de man and he optimism nah :rotfl:
Post by: #8 on April 15, 2006, 11:22:25 PM
i say before and i will say again..this is not Cornell(even though i wear his jerseys like is my name on de back ;D)l...Cornell has his own account/identity on this site..that's meh boy from time...and he wore #13 when he played for compre ;)..bless :beermug:

Post by: Jefferz on April 15, 2006, 11:23:51 PM
It would seem so... He IS the answer up front...

with him and Stern

Vice President of the Glen for Goals Comittee

big up tuh yuh faith president.
Post by: #8 on April 16, 2006, 12:08:00 AM

with him and Stern

bless up jefferz :beermug:...is not really no faith thing nah..i jus know how thusty de man is and does get de chance to see first hand how hard he does work..so is just ah matter of time before nature takes it's course and he reaps what he has sown.

Post by: Jefferz on April 16, 2006, 01:07:15 AM

with him and Stern

bless up jefferz :beermug:...is not really no faith thing nah..i jus know how thusty de man is and does get de chance to see first hand how hard he does work..so is just ah matter of time before nature takes it's course and he reaps what he has sown.

agreed.
Post by: #8 on April 16, 2006, 03:00:45 AM
supporter..question to you.. de 'ATTITUDE' that yuh mention he needs to drop have you witnessed or experienced it first hand??

Post by: morvant on April 16, 2006, 09:47:13 AM

if yuh did only know what went down yuh wouldnt be singing the same tune
Post by: supporter on April 16, 2006, 03:22:43 PM

enlighten me then. im not simply talking about his status with t&t.

When i say his attitude i mean his prima dona approach on the field, i.e. constantly chirping at the officials, consistently and awkwardly shunning his teammates when they come to congratulate him for a goal, staying down on the field hurt for long periods of time, moping when a chance is missed (including walking around with his head down when he's right next to an opponent with the ball).

Ive been watching Cornells games for a while and ive been a supporter of him for a few years now. Hes an exciting player with potential, and dangerous for any team. But, his onfield attitude that i see needs to be improved, otherwise he'll just continue going from team to team.
Post by: #8 on April 16, 2006, 04:00:40 PM

enlighten me then. im not simply talking about his status with t&t.

When i say his attitude i mean his prima dona approach on the field, i.e. constantly chirping at the officials, consistently and awkwardly shunning his teammates when they come to congratulate him for a goal, staying down on the field hurt for long periods of time, moping when a chance is missed (including walking around with his head down when he's right next to an opponent with the ball).

Ive been watching Cornells games for a while and ive been a supporter of him for a few years now. Hes an exciting player with potential, and dangerous for any team. But, his onfield attitude that i see needs to be improved, otherwise he'll just continue going from team to team.
Supporter no disrespect..but i feel you talking bout Glen when he was with de U-20 T&T squad ;D..cause not only do have ALMOST all his game footage/tapes(in T&T uniform) but i've been to his games as well and de things you mentioned in your post('consistently and awkwardly shunning his teamates when they come to congratulate him for a goal,staying down on the field hurt for long periods of time' i find them quite ALARMING :o...so if yuh could be a lil bit more specific as to de games that he display this ATTITUDE/APPAULING BEHAVIOUR i'd really appreciate that so that i can go through my Glenn video library and try to make some sense(HOPEFULLY) of your comments. :rotfl: :rotfl:.bless up. :beermug:

Post by: dcs on April 16, 2006, 04:46:32 PM
This last game when he score the two goals I eh see him acknowledge Donovan.
I notice this before supporter say anything.

It might seem a small ting eh but when a man put the ball on a platter for you to score (twice) I wud tink allyuh would acknowledge each other or something.  Maybe it happen off-camera and it might seem trivial but dem kinda small tings people is notice (players).

edit:  He did point to Donovan after the first goal.  I eh sure if this game is an example of wat supporter talking bout but I could see where he coming from with some of the other games
Post by: elan on April 16, 2006, 04:53:01 PM

It might seem a small ting eh but when a man put the ball on a platter for you to score (twice) I wud tink allyuh would acknowledge each other or something.  Maybe it happen off-camera and it might seem trivial but dem kinda small tings people is notice (players).

I cud see where supporter coming from.

I believe that Landon cannot deal with a more talented player than him on the team. I looked at the goal Glen scored (http://www.mlsnet.com/sierra/sierra_mist.html) and Donovan did not acknowledge Glen either, so putting all the blame on Glen is unfair. Players congratulated both of them and then the commentator took everything away from Glen. If all goes down fair Glen will be the head honcho on that team, which he deserves. Did you notice how the coaches on the sideline ccelbrated when Glen scored?
Post by: dcs on April 16, 2006, 05:08:28 PM
Arite I just watch all the goals again.

He does celebrate by running to the corner by the fans.  And his teammates is come over most of the time or he is acknowledge them when he turn round or coming back.  Dat might come off the wrong way I guess.

I eh pick up no prima dona attitude nah.  Just real tizic when he score.  Dem some good goals too.

Donovan might take a while to get used to sharing the spotlight but Glen not going and be the star of that team.  I feel he go have some more Sierra Mist goals of the week though...once they let him play and he score some of the easier "normal" goals that will get the team points.
Post by: supporter on April 16, 2006, 06:15:09 PM
Speedy, im referring in general to his MLS games, and seeing him a few games in the T&T jersey.

As for his galaxy game last night,nothing major but he still showing a bit of the prima dona attitude with injury and arguing with ref. The coach steve sampson actually had to tell him to hurry up back on the field after he came off for treatment in the first half. No big thing but you can kinda see his demeanor.

But if you look at him during any one of his mls games during his career, you can find examples of the attitude. Look at his gold cup goal versus panama,too.
Post by: Savannah boy on April 17, 2006, 11:43:31 AM
Let we discuss dis after Beenie cut he squad by one.  Glenn's status has always been one foot in de door and one out.  He is on de radar but whether he on de plane is left to be seen.  Ah know man done say Wolfe staying home but let we confirm this nah before we anoint anyone as de potential answer.
Post by: saga pinto on April 17, 2006, 12:52:54 PM
Let we discuss dis after Beenie cut he squad by one.  Glenn's status has always been one foot in de door and one out.  He is on de radar but whether he on de plane is left to be seen.  Ah know man done say Wolfe staying home but let we confirm this nah before we anoint anyone as de potential answer.

Yuh absolutely right! At the beenie makes the decisions........
Post by: #8 on April 17, 2006, 07:21:27 PM

I cud see where supporter coming from.

I believe that Landon cannot deal with a more talented player than him on the team. I looked at the goal Glen scored (http://www.mlsnet.com/sierra/sierra_mist.html) and Donovan did not acknowledge Glen either, so putting all the blame on Glen is unfair. Players congratulated both of them and then the commentator took everything away from Glen. If all goes down fair Glen will be the head honcho on that team, which he deserves. Did you notice how the coaches on the sideline ccelbrated when Glen scored?
Arite I just watch all the goals again.

He does celebrate by running to the corner by the fans. And his teammates is come over most of the time or he is acknowledge them when he turn round or coming back. Dat might come off the wrong way I guess.

I eh pick up no prima dona attitude nah. Just real tizic when he score. Dem some good goals too.

Donovan might take a while to get used to sharing the spotlight but Glen not going and be the star of that team. I feel he go have some more Sierra Mist goals of the week though...once they let him play and he score some of the easier "normal" goals that will get the team points.
thank you all VERY much for your above posts dcs and elan :beermug:..supporter.. i not saying that he's perfect..but de things you mentioned i just can't see them in any of his game tapes...anytime glen scores or has scored..the first place he goes is towards de fans..that's how he is..and he always acknowledges the person who assisted de goal...as for the referees..i rather him chirp at them than take matters into his own hands and retaliate against players that are dirty towards him..when he chirps as you put it he always has good reason(plus it hasn't resulted in him being carded)..also understand this when yuh brought into a team with a certain amount of hype..and players realise when you get to de team is not all hype..(SOME PLAYERS)can't deal with that and so they act a certain towards that certain player..cornell has been de victim of this at metrostars,colombus,colarado and he told me today  that it's starting to show (SLIGHTY) at galaxy..so in his defence.. how is he supposed to go and celebrate with a player that is BLANTANTLY shady towards him??

Post by: dcs on April 17, 2006, 07:34:59 PM
.so in his defence.. how is he supposed to go and celebrate with a player that is BLANTANTLY shady towards him??

This is Donovan team full stop.
Might put Cobi Jones in that category too.

Whatever he was doing at them other clubs wasn't working    :-\

He cah be watching man with no cut eye.  Just move like Donovan is the star boy and leave it at that......cah win some battles so best he just accept it and move to suit.  Lil mamaguay eh go kill him neda....marketing and knowing what to say and how to move almost as important as performance.  Look at Dwight, Shaka and Latas, they are masters at it now.
Post by: #8 on April 17, 2006, 07:55:56 PM
i wasn't talking bout now pardna..i talking bout in de past..when he had issues with de likes of buddle(colombus),wolyniec(metrostars.colombus),pablo(colarado)..all i say/saying is even though they had their personal issues behind de scenes..he still acknowledged them on de field..he just didn't jump up on them etc. with ecstatic celebrations..but de football/teamate respect was there on de field. :beermug: