Sports => Football => Topic started by: UPRISING on April 18, 2006, 02:50:46 PM

Title: TOP 5 PLAYERS IN THE WORLD?
Post by: UPRISING on April 18, 2006, 02:50:46 PM
BIG TOPIC IN A WORLD CUP YEAR  

Uprising 5 (jes off the top of my head):

Ronaldinho - killer, vision, touches fuh days
Riquelme - vision, will embarrass yuh ... might be maradona son!
Rooney - pitbull (nuff said)
Eto'o - complete striker
Deco - great decisions in the middle

Remember the term "Top" is relative folks ...doh leh we get too nasty!!
Title: Re: TOP 5 PLAYERS IN THE WORLD?
Post by: MickeyRat on April 18, 2006, 02:52:47 PM
Ah like that 5.

Some bad fackin men.
Post by: Trinimassive on April 18, 2006, 02:55:35 PM
Looks ok BUT

You have Rooney and no Henry ??? ::)

Rooney cyah tie Henry shoe breds....Rooney still learning. Henry is the finshed product.
Post by: UPRISING on April 18, 2006, 02:59:57 PM
Henry - Would make the list BUT...attitude .. I watching he body language when he doh get a ball ..boo ..if another man throw way ..is a setta fight down.... boo .. when Henry first come out ...he was shat (IMO) ..

he is one of the best strikers ...but on MY short list ...I goin wit Eto'o and Rooney ... yuh en see de commercial or wha'?  Rooney goin in goal even and gettin on bad bad...!  Rooney have de goods boss ..truss mih ...Look fuh Henry on mih top TEN lis!!!!!!!! :devil:
Post by: skins on April 18, 2006, 03:06:15 PM
I rather Lampard there than Deco. He does score real goals for a midfielder. I agree Henry should be there over Rooney but i figure Rooney go have a better World Cup than Henry. Riquelme there without a doubt, so as Eto and Ronaldinhno. A player i think just outside the list is Sheva.
Post by: Bitter on April 18, 2006, 03:08:15 PM
Aurtis Whitley
Dennis Lawrence
Latas
Yorke
Stern John
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 18, 2006, 03:12:39 PM
My top five

1. Ronaldinho
2. Henry
3. Eto'o
4. Michael Ballack
5. Rooney
Post by: real madness on April 18, 2006, 03:15:00 PM
Top 5
Ronaldinho
Henry
Eto'o
Riquelme
Ballack

Others that can be considered are Ronaldo, Lampard, Rooney,Deco,Shevchenko, Nedved, and Nesta.
I know people calling Ronaldo fatman but he is still ah boss and come June he will silence all those critics especially the fat ones.
Post by: Jefferz on April 18, 2006, 03:15:21 PM
Ronaldinho.

Henry.

Essian.

Hleb.

Dwight Yorke.

Post by: fari on April 18, 2006, 03:16:11 PM
yes jay, u know ur football.  if men think chelsea is good now, wait till they get mr ballack, the title will be wrapped up before easter if the other teams dont watch out (and if my beloved arsenal dont pull up their socks)
Post by: MickeyRat on April 18, 2006, 03:17:51 PM
Ronaldinho.

Henry.

Essian.

Hleb.

Dwight Yorke.

I'll have to say that our boy Dwight is in the top 15 (maybe).  If he was still playing in Europe he may have a chance.

My 2 cents.
Post by: Jefferz on April 18, 2006, 03:18:37 PM
Ronaldinho.

Henry.

Essian.

Hleb.

Dwight Yorke.

I'll have to say that our boy Dwight is in the top 15 (maybe).  If he was still playing in Europe he may have a chance.

My 2 cents.

yea I know its a bit farfeched... i just felt i had to put him in there...
Post by: UnWiseSage (aka Jahyute) on April 18, 2006, 03:26:46 PM
Who said?

Wait and see when it comes time for Yorke in Germany, you will see a real footballing genius cut up all the big stars and people we talk like he only now came back into existance.
Post by: Pointman on April 18, 2006, 03:28:47 PM
Ronaldinho

Rooney

Henry

Eto'o

Adriano
Post by: kicker on April 18, 2006, 03:29:54 PM
The best:

Ronaldinho
Henry
Eto'o
Kaka
Riquelme

My favorite:

Figo
Ronaldo
Zidane
Aimar
Okocha

Post by: bill on April 18, 2006, 03:34:06 PM
How men could put Rooney in the top 5 players in the WORLD is really beyond my comprehension. Dont believe the hype!. He is not even the best English player.
Post by: UnWiseSage (aka Jahyute) on April 18, 2006, 03:37:30 PM
How men could put Rooney in the top 5 players in the WORLD is really beyond my comprehension. Dont believe the hype!. He is not even the best English player.

Fergie said it himself.
Post by: Marcos on April 18, 2006, 03:43:37 PM
The best:

Ronaldinho
Henry
Eto'o
Kaka
Riquelme

My favorite:

Figo
Ronaldo
Zidane
Aimar
Okocha

ROnaldinho not in yuh favorites?
And yuh callin yuhself Brazilian?

Best
Ronnie
Henry
Rooney
Lampard
Messi
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 18, 2006, 03:45:02 PM

bill, hear me on this

jus so you know, i am a DIE-HARD Chelsea fan so i don't say this because i have a favourable bias towards Man Utd, if anything the opposite

when Man Utd signed Rooney for £30 Million I was dumbfounded that they would spend so much on someone who i thought (at the time) was very over-rated

but the kid has proved me wrong. He has gone from strength to strength and the kid rarely has a bad game

even with all his off-the-field problems like newspapers catching him seeing old hookers, he running up £700,000 gambling debts, his fiance spending he money like water and so on and so forth. IN SPITE of all of that, the kid keep producing the goods week-in week-out. He is easily the best and the most exciting player in the England team. And his £30 million price tag is looking like a bargin especially as he's so young

- Jay
Post by: Warrior till death on April 18, 2006, 03:45:53 PM
These are the nominees for the best players in the world  ;D

Goalkeepers: (http://Goalkeepers:) Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/ Juventus), Iker Cassillas (Spain/ Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Czech Republic/ Chelsea), Nelson Dida (Brazil/ AC Milan) and Oliver Kahn (Germany/ Bayern Munchen)

Defenders: Alex (Brazil/ PSV), Roberto Ayala (Argentina/ Valencia), Cafu (Brazil/ AC Milan), Sol Campbell (England/ Arsenal), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy/ Juventus), Roberto Carlos (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal/ Chelsea), Ashley Cole (England/ Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United), Gabriel Heinze (Argentina/ Manchester United), Lucio (Brazil/ Bayern Munchen), Paolo Maldini (Italy/ AC Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Italy/ AC Milan), Carlos Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona), Walter Samuel (Argentina/ Real Madrid), Jaap Stam (Holland/ AC Milan), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Lilian Thuram (France/ Juventus), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy/ Juventus) and Javier Zanetti (Argentina/ Inter)

Midfielders: Michael Ballack (Germany/ Bayern Muchen), David Beckham (England/ Real Madrid), Joe Cole (England/ Chelsea), Anderson Deco (Portugal/ Barcelona), Luis Figo (Portugal/ Real Madrid), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy/ AC Milan), Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Ricardo Kaka (Brazil/ AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England/ Chelsea), Claude Makalele (France/ Chelsea), Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic/ Juventus), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/ AC Milan), Arjen Robben (Holland/ Chelsea), Ronaldinho (Brazil/ Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United), Paul Scholes (England/ Manchester United), Mark van Bommel (Holland/ Barcelona), Patrick Vieira (France/ Arsenal), Xavi Hernandez (Spain/ Barcelona) and Zinedine Zidane (France/ Real Madrid)

Forwards: Adriano (Brazil/ Inter), Hernan Crespo (Argentina/ AC Milan), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/ Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/ Barcelona), Thierry Henry (France/ Arsenal), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/ Juventus), Ronaldo (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (England/ Manchester United), Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine/ AC Milan), and Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland/ Manchester United),Adriano( Brasil,Inter Milan)
Post by: Jah Gol on April 18, 2006, 03:52:12 PM
1) Ronaldinho
2) Henry
3) Riquelme
4) Shevchenko
5) Eto'o
Post by: Warrior till death on April 18, 2006, 03:53:37 PM
but on a srious note
the official top 5 fifa payers in the world
are

1: Ronaldinho
2: Lampard
3: Eto'o
4: Zidane
5: Beckham
Post by: Jah Gol on April 18, 2006, 04:13:22 PM
but on a srious note
the official top 5 fifa payers in the world
are

1: Ronaldinho
2: Lampard
3: Eto'o
4: Zidane
5: Beckham

How the ass Zidane and Beckham make that list. It really have some duncy-head fans yes.
Post by: thane on April 18, 2006, 04:16:30 PM
rooney and no henry...wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no messi...wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no kaka....wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no shevshenko..wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
Post by: doh_stick on April 18, 2006, 04:23:27 PM
The best

Ronaldinho
Henry
Rooney
Lampard
Ronaldo
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 18, 2006, 04:26:19 PM
in all honestly Bill, if i was the Chelsea manager and i could take 5 picks from that list that WtoD posted, it would be the five that i've already chosen. Bear in mind that my picks are selected on CURRENT form. At lot of those players that WtoD posted, although in their day were better players than what Rooney currently is, it is no longer the case. Zidane, Ronaldo and Figo are 3 examples.

I will admit that i've ignored goalkeepers and defenders. It's always difficult to say who is "the best player" when comparing a defender to a striker. In "who's the best?" questions like this one there is always going to be a bias towards strikers and attacking midfielders because they are the ones that get the goals and it's goals that provide the best entertainment. The only other player that pushes Rooney for my #5 pick is Shevchenko. But if i was Chelsea boss, i would still sign Rooney in preference to Shevchenko because Rooney is only 20 or 21 and his star is rising whereas Shevchenko, although still a great player, his share price peaked a year or two ago and is now on the down
Post by: Warrior till death on April 18, 2006, 04:26:30 PM
rooney and no henry...wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no messi...wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no kaka....wat does be goin on wit allyuh?
rooney and no shevshenko..wat does be goin on wit allyuh?

i see shevshenko posted
i see henry posted
i seee kaka posted
i even see messi posted!!
f*ck man like u read one post and assume nobody ent post dese players.......
and as for Messi he cannot be considered best in the world
what HE IS CONSIDERED IS ONE OF THE BEST UPRISING PLAYERS IN THE WORLD
ASSHOLE
dry so he one of de top 5 in de world?
read d posts b4 u make wrong pressumptions so nah! JAH

rOONEY IS ALSO AN uPRISING
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 18, 2006, 04:50:29 PM
my top 5 in order

1)Wayne Rooney
2)Frank Lampard
3)Ronaldinho
4)Henry
5)John Terry
Post by: 1989 on April 18, 2006, 05:04:37 PM

Goalkeepers: (http://Goalkeepers:) Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/ Juventus), Iker Cassillas (Spain/ Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Czech Republic/ Chelsea), Nelson Dida (Brazil/ AC Milan) and Oliver Kahn (Germany/ Bayern Munchen)

Defenders: Dennis "World Cup" Lawrence(Trinidad and Tobago), Marvin "Dog" Andrews(Trinidad and Tobago), Alex (Brazil/ PSV), Roberto Ayala (Argentina/ Valencia), Cafu (Brazil/ AC Milan), Sol Campbell (England/ Arsenal), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy/ Juventus), Roberto Carlos (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal/ Chelsea), Ashley Cole (England/ Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United), Gabriel Heinze (Argentina/ Manchester United), Lucio (Brazil/ Bayern Munchen), Paolo Maldini (Italy/ AC Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Italy/ AC Milan), Carlos Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona), Walter Samuel (Argentina/ Real Madrid), Jaap Stam (Holland/ AC Milan), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Lilian Thuram (France/ Juventus), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy/ Juventus) and Javier Zanetti (Argentina/ Inter)

Midfielders: Aurtis Whitley (Trinidad and Tobago), Chris Birchall (Trinidad and Tobago/Port Vale), Carlos Edwards (Trinidad and Tobago/Luton), Russell Latapy (Trinidad and Tobago/Falkirk), Dwight Yorke (Trinidad and Tobago/Sidney), Michael Ballack (Germany/ Bayern Muchen), David Beckham (England/ Real Madrid), Joe Cole (England/ Chelsea), Anderson Deco (Portugal/ Barcelona), Luis Figo (Portugal/ Real Madrid), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy/ AC Milan), Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Ricardo Kaka (Brazil/ AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England/ Chelsea), Claude Makalele (France/ Chelsea), Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic/ Juventus), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/ AC Milan), Arjen Robben (Holland/ Chelsea), Ronaldinho (Brazil/ Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United), Paul Scholes (England/ Manchester United), Mark van Bommel (Holland/ Barcelona), Patrick Vieira (France/ Arsenal), Xavi Hernandez (Spain/ Barcelona) and Zinedine Zidane (France/ Real Madrid)

Forwards: Stern "World #1 International Striker" John (Trinidad and Tobago/Coventry), Adriano (Brazil/ Inter), Hernan Crespo (Argentina/ AC Milan), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/ Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/ Barcelona), Thierry Henry (France/ Arsenal), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/ Juventus), Ronaldo (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (England/ Manchester United), Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine/ AC Milan), and Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland/ Manchester United),Adriano( Brasil,Inter Milan)

Just made a few important modifications. ;D
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 18, 2006, 05:07:15 PM

Defenders: Alex (Brazil/ PSV), Roberto Ayala (Argentina/ Valencia), Cafu (Brazil/ AC Milan), Sol Campbell (England/ Arsenal), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy/ Juventus), Roberto Carlos (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Ricardo Carvalho (Portugal/ Chelsea), Ashley Cole (England/ Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (England/ Manchester United), Gabriel Heinze (Argentina/ Manchester United), Lucio (Brazil/ Bayern Munchen), Paolo Maldini (Italy/ AC Milan), Alessandro Nesta (Italy/ AC Milan), Carlos Puyol (Spain/ Barcelona), Walter Samuel (Argentina/ Real Madrid), Jaap Stam (Holland/ AC Milan), John Terry (England/ Chelsea), Lilian Thuram (France/ Juventus), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy/ Juventus) and Javier Zanetti (Argentina/ Inter)

Midfielders: Michael Ballack (Germany/ Bayern Muchen), David Beckham (England/ Real Madrid), Joe Cole (England/ Chelsea), Anderson Deco (Portugal/ Barcelona), Luis Figo (Portugal/ Real Madrid), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy/ AC Milan), Steven Gerrard (England/ Liverpool), Ricardo Kaka (Brazil/ AC Milan), Frank Lampard (England/ Chelsea), Claude Makalele (France/ Chelsea), Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic/ Juventus), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/ AC Milan), Arjen Robben (Holland/ Chelsea), Ronaldinho (Brazil/ Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/ Manchester United), Paul Scholes (England/ Manchester United), Mark van Bommel (Holland/ Barcelona), Patrick Vieira (France/ Arsenal), Xavi Hernandez (Spain/ Barcelona) and Zinedine Zidane (France/ Real Madrid)

Forwards: Adriano (Brazil/ Inter), Hernan Crespo (Argentina/ AC Milan), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/ Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/ Barcelona), Thierry Henry (France/ Arsenal), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/ Juventus), Ronaldo (Brazil/ Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (England/ Manchester United), Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine/ AC Milan), and Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland/ Manchester United),Adriano( Brasil,Inter Milan)

man name adriano twice oui lol
Post by: Toppa on April 18, 2006, 05:10:43 PM
My Top 5

Robinho  ;)
Adriano
Ronaldinho (he looks like he has a nice personality)
Kaka (even though he married now)
Casillas

:D
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 18, 2006, 05:11:31 PM
4 brazillians .....
Post by: Toppa on April 18, 2006, 05:16:22 PM
4 brazillians .....

Yeah, and?  :-\
Post by: skins on April 18, 2006, 05:27:16 PM
What about defenders.
Post by: Toppa on April 18, 2006, 05:27:49 PM
What about defenders.

Who, me yuh talking to?
Post by: skins on April 18, 2006, 06:13:29 PM
What about defenders.

Who, me yuh talking to?

I just talking general. I want to know who people figure is the top five defenders currently. I see you put Robinho in your top five... lol
Post by: john_public on April 18, 2006, 06:20:47 PM
Ronaldinho

Riquelme

Shevchenko

tevez

puyol
Post by: jai john on April 18, 2006, 06:21:13 PM

one question ??? you picked 20 midfielders and Riquelme not on your list ? I checked three times to see if I was mistaken ...can you excplain that for me please ?
Post by: jai john on April 18, 2006, 06:25:09 PM
Riquelme
Ronaldinho
Messi
Henri
Casillas
substitute any of them with a good argument if you can
Post by: Trini Madness on April 18, 2006, 07:39:22 PM
1-Me
2-Me
3-Me
4-Me
and most definetly...
5-Me
Post by: Brej on April 18, 2006, 07:43:15 PM
1.Ronaldinho
2.Gerrard
3.Xavi
4.Rooney
5.Messi
Post by: kingman on April 18, 2006, 07:54:01 PM

Eto'o - complete striker

Interesting. But would'nt you term them "top 5 offensive players" in the World? I mean, how come defenders always getting leave out so?  ;D But good list though. I would add Thierry to that list as well as Lampard.

Post by: Trini Madness on April 18, 2006, 08:11:33 PM

Eto'o - complete striker

Interesting. But would'nt you term them "top 5 offensive players" in the World? I mean, how come defenders always getting leave out so?  ;D But good list though. I would add Thierry to that list as well as Lampard.

maldini would make that list for sure,  i think zidane should be there.
Post by: trini supporter on April 18, 2006, 08:25:13 PM
                                                                                                                                             Ronaldo                                                                                                                                   Raul                                                                                                                                        Ronaldinho                                                                                                                               Shevchenko                                                                                                                             Zidane                                                                                                                                     
Post by: Patterson on April 18, 2006, 08:31:12 PM
zidane might've been there 2, 3 yrs a go but i ithink he's lost his touch
Post by: Filho on April 18, 2006, 08:50:43 PM
1) Makalele
2) Marco Senna
3) Ronaldinho
4) Kaka
5) Henry
Post by: Jah Gol on April 18, 2006, 09:13:27 PM
Riquelme
Ronaldinho
Messi
Henri
Casillas
substitute any of them with a good argument if you can

Riquelme is the best player in the world ? This man almost always vanishes when his team really needs him. He's one of them men who psychological weak. He couldn't make the grade at all at Barca. Watch Riquelme closely, every time he make a run he does look like wanna dead. Riquelme better than Ronaldinho and Henry ? How boy ? He could real beat and has vision with it but he's never shown me that he could do it on a consistent basis and when it really matters.

I don't think Casillas belongs there either. Buffon is better than him. I would concede that Buffon has a much better defense but even then makes fewer mistakes than Casillas. You don't really see Buffon flapping in the air like a madman on a cross or corner.
Post by: UPRISING on April 19, 2006, 08:17:05 AM
Remember people..picking a top 5 is a hard thing ..after all we are talking about "the Beautiful Game" that we all love forever..very subjective ..as it relates to "what we look for in a good player".."what entertains us" ...

In my opinion Rooney has a better overall game than Henry at this time..I just like the fact that he is fearless and has fire in him ..Henry on this "saga boy ting" .... which puts him on my top 10 ...

Also I would add Kaka to my list (in a tie with Deco)..

So (not in order) ..

Ronaldinho
Rooney
Riquelme
Eto'o
Deco / Kaka
Post by: UPRISING on April 19, 2006, 08:23:54 AM
Let's put another spin on it:  In a 2-2-1 formation (2 def - 2mids - 1 forward) ...who is your top 5?

Uprising 5 (of the top):

Nesta / Ledley King
Riquelme / Gilberto
Ronaldinho
Post by: masterblaster on April 19, 2006, 08:58:50 AM
Ronaldinho
Rooney
Henry
Drogba
Nedved
Post by: dotless007 on April 19, 2006, 09:03:50 AM
                                                                                                                                             Ronaldo                                                                                                                                   Raul                                                                                                                                        Ronaldinho                                                                                                                               Shevchenko                                                                                                                             Zidane                                                                                                                                     

let me guess u is a real fan cuz das d only way zidane ronaldo an raul makin it in your top 5 in current form
Post by: G Spot Terrorizer on April 19, 2006, 05:37:48 PM
doh forget Philbert Jones with his rasor-sharp precision from inside the 6 yard box
Post by: scarface on April 20, 2006, 08:14:40 AM
my top 5 (x2) in current form using that 2-2-1

toure & terry                                               Puyol & nesta

ronadinho & riquelme             OR                   Boateng & Hleb

henry                                                         LucaToni

viduka have some mention to gte as a striker too