Title: Rooney Injured
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:12:47 AM
Rooney leaving d match on a stretcher....out of d World Cup?  :devil:
Title: Re: Rooney Injured
Post by: Jah Gol on April 29, 2006, 07:14:15 AM
Yeah it looking like an ankle injury.
Post by: big dawg on April 29, 2006, 07:16:42 AM
meh boy.. you watching the game or you posting thread.. yuh report that injury almost instantaneously.. :rotfl:
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 07:20:55 AM
aye boy , that injury hadda be serious...  :( :( :( , i hope it en that bad...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 07:23:31 AM
yeh it look like he injured it when he landed.......  trinidad aside it will be very sad if wayne rooney was to miss this cup

god bless

ROONEY 8
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:35:41 AM
Early prognosis is he will still make the world cup  ::)
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:36:45 AM
meh boy.. you watching the game or you posting thread.. yuh report that injury almost instantaneously.. :rotfl:

Dawg, it only seem like dat....your feed in d US is about 5 minutes slow  :rotfl:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 07:37:01 AM
Ryan are you a kinda c**t?   say thank god nah on a football perspective de man is 20...redy for d world stage and allyuh want d man out

f**k YOU
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:39:03 AM
Ryan are you a kinda c**t?   say thank god nah on a football perspective de man is 20...redy for d world stage and allyuh want d man out

f**k YOU

Doh study it, I backing him to recover in time for d last group match
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 07:40:04 AM
ok ryan ok    you acting like a f**king child
Post by: SHOTTA on April 29, 2006, 07:42:38 AM
come on wayne

40sumtin

days till d worldcup as long as it aint metatarsal he safe
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:45:01 AM

Small Mag, doh get so worked up...iz only football, d man ent dead. Whatever I post dont change d injury anyhow....and like I posted earlier, it looks like he will make the World Cup.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 07:46:51 AM

Small Mag, doh get so worked up...iz only football, d man ent dead. Whatever I post dont change d injury anyhow....and like I posted earlier, it looks like he will make the World Cup.

was ur source?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 29, 2006, 07:48:04 AM
Small Mag yuh very touchy when it comes to your ManUre players

I know if it was a Chelsea player that went down clutching he ankle yuh would ah be bawling "IT GOOD"
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 07:49:24 AM
hope he does , but man from man u real emotional right now (and i's one eh , so doh come and flame meh) , cause , seriously..

When i see that man fall down and start to bawl , my belly start to hut meh , meh eyes start to water , all kinda thing , and you know what is like to watch yuh boy grimacing on the ground , and all the rest of players know what was going on , as yuh could see from the crowd around him..

But is good that chelsea give the man a standing ovation , cause he really is a star ..
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 07:50:06 AM
if it was a ENGLISH chelsea player i wud have been the same as i was with rooney because i like england yuh clown
Post by: skins on April 29, 2006, 07:51:34 AM
I hope Rooney alright. Best of luck to him
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:51:54 AM

was ur source?

D commentators on British TV said it wasnt looking too bad.

But Sir Alex just came on and said they have an orthopaedic surgeon with him, so might still be a break.
Post by: shivadee on April 29, 2006, 07:52:10 AM
i real touchy with my Man U players too. But credit where credit due. Jose is a boss. Man U eh play up to specs atall. Rud is a boss but alyuh MUSS have noticed the man come out of injury and has lost his edge. He not finishing, me missing final ball passes. Saha was a BOSS start idea, he and Ronaldo is a GREAT team. But Ronney and ROnaldo is young boys. Sir Alex does TIRED blast men for talkin them down. They young meaning they inconsistent. But when they mature they go be as ORN as they is when they playing their best.

But Ryan laffin at Rooney making it look like he feel it go make a difference for Trinidad vs England? LOL you JOKING or wat?
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 07:55:05 AM
i real touchy with my Man U players too. But credit where credit due. Jose is a boss. Man U eh play up to specs atall. Rud is a boss but alyuh MUSS have noticed the man come out of injury and has lost his edge. He not finishing, me missing final ball passes. Saha was a BOSS start idea, he and Ronaldo is a GREAT team. But Ronney and ROnaldo is young boys. Sir Alex does TIRED blast men for talkin them down. They young meaning they inconsistent. But when they mature they go be as ORN as they is when they playing their best.

But Ryan laffin at Rooney making it look like he feel it go make a difference for Trinidad vs England? LOL you JOKING or wat?

Yuh hadda have hope  ;D
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 08:00:18 AM
arite , sorry dey shiv..

but personally , as a tt supporter , i want to see rooney playing against trinidad , cause we have to put ourselves up against the best...and face it , rooney is one of th better strikers in the world , and look at he age..
Post by: skins on April 29, 2006, 08:04:14 AM
BBC Sports
World Cup injury scare for Rooney 

Rooney is stretchered off at Stamford Bridge
England striker Wayne Rooney may be a doubt for the World Cup after suffering a foot injury for Manchester United in their loss at Chelsea on Saturday.
Rooney was stretchered off at Stamford Bridge six weeks to the day before England's opening game of the World Cup against Paraguay on 10 June.

The 20-year-old was left clutching his right foot in agony after a challenge by Paulo Ferreira.

He broke the same foot against Portugal in the Euro 2004 quarter-final.

Rooney is seen as being key to England's hopes at the World Cup in Germany and any concerns over his fitness would add to England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson's injury worries.

England striker Michael Owen has been out since New Year's Eve after breaking a bone in his foot against Tottenham Hotspur.

Owen is set to make his comeback as a substitute against Newcastle on Saturday but will only have one more Premiership match and England's build-up to the World Cup to increase his sharpness and match fitness.

Arsenal central defender Sol Campbell has only just returned after a lengthy spell out while team-mate Ashley Cole is fit again but has not played any first-team football.

England and Chelsea centre-back John Terry also picked up an injury in his side's 3-0 win over United but he soldiered on until the end of the game which assured the Blues of the Premiership title.

Another of Eriksson's squad in United right-back Gary Neville also appeared to be hobbling in what will have been worrying scenes for Eriksson.

Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 08:09:52 AM
Eriksson head must be hurting him right now...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:10:41 AM
agreed........... terry an gaz will be fine....... its rooney and owen is d headache
Post by: Tigger on April 29, 2006, 08:12:22 AM
if it was a ENGLISH chelsea player i wud have been the same as i was with rooney because i like england yuh clown

I like England too.. but Between now and June 14th .. We have the hate dey guts.....

Go Warriors
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 08:13:49 AM
true , but i rather see andrews lick down rooney than a man from chelsea
Post by: Bitter on April 29, 2006, 08:19:09 AM

I like England too.. but Between now and June 14th .. We have the hate dey guts.....

Go Warriors

Fuh Real!!!

Post by: Brej on April 29, 2006, 08:28:52 AM
i nota man 2 celebrate sum1 being injured but it can help de warriors alot
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 08:31:49 AM
agreed........... terry an gaz will be fine....... its rooney and owen is d headache

Who is gaz?
Post by: palos on April 29, 2006, 08:32:45 AM
Interesting.  Never wish bad on any player eh....and it very unfortunate when a Rooney or any player injured.  But ah guess people here fugettin dat de same Rooney nearly ruin he own teammate chances of playin in de World Cup by he over de top challenge in de game today.  He coulda flikkin well break Terry leg.  Fact is....Rooney is a nasty player...especially when he blood lil hot.  But jes like Alan Shearer...because he is a England hero...he does get away repeatedly....from de media, from de fans and from de referees.  

Yuh continue to play so....pretty soon one day yuh go get it back.  Is called karma.  Is called life.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:33:06 AM
Gaz is gary neville
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 08:35:44 AM
Gaz is gary neville

oh. didnt realise he was injured
Title: Anxious wait for Rooney
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:36:16 AM
Anxious wait for Rooney

Sir Alex Ferguson was reluctant to comment on the extent of Wayne Rooney's foot injury after Manchester United's defeat at Chelsea.

Rooney was stretchered off 10 minutes from time at Stamford Bridge after hurting his foot following a tackle by Paulo Ferreira.

There were immediate concerns that Rooney could miss England's World Cup bid, but it now appears the injury is not as serious as first believed.

The 20-year-old boarded the team bus outside of Stamford Bridge on crutches and will return to Manchester for further tests.

While United boss Ferguson appeared to rule Rooney out of his team's closing two games, he was unable to expand on the severity of the injury.

"We will wait until we get to Manchester," Ferguson told Sky Sports 1. "He is in the right hands, we've got the orthopaedic surgeon, the doctor and the physio and he will be looked after.

"It's a sore one, but we will have to wait and see. There's no point making assertions when we don't know the cause or anything.

"When a player is taken off, you are always concerned. We have had quite a few this season - bad injuries - but hopefully Wayne's not a bad one."

Ferguson confirmed Rooney would not figure in Monday's game against Middlesbrough, with Louis Saha and Ruud van Nistelrooy spearheading the charge to hold off Liverpool for second place.

He added: "I think we've got plenty of cover, there's no question about that.

"Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha will continue on Monday as they finished today and I don't think that's a bad partnership."

Hope it is not serious   ROONEY 8

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:37:26 AM
Gaz is gary neville

oh. didnt realise he was injured

well in the report it sed he was hobbling... prob just a knock
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 08:39:28 AM
good , thas good news ..
Post by: Brej on April 29, 2006, 08:40:24 AM
u dont get strechered off for a "knock"
Post by: ndookie on April 29, 2006, 08:42:50 AM
who dat directed to ?
Post by: skins on April 29, 2006, 08:43:40 AM
Hope it is not a metatarsal injury. Some reports were saying it might be an metatarsal injury. I hope Rooney turn out  alright and it is just  an ankle ligament damage. Guess we will have to wait and see what the test reveal.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:44:19 AM

i was talking about gary neville.......... brej read first hoss lol
Post by: Brej on April 29, 2006, 08:47:35 AM

i was talking about gary neville.......... brej read first hoss lol
hard lucks i still half asleep
no1 really care bout "Gaz" doh ahha
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 08:48:32 AM
haha   ........  i care
Post by: trinidad badboy on April 29, 2006, 10:01:04 AM

doh study it they go make shure rooney is ready.

thats them golden boy..
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 29, 2006, 10:30:41 AM
i don't think he break his foot, maybe hairline fracture at most. If that was metatarsal break no way he would be limping onto the coach, they would have taken him to hospital immediately
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 12:23:28 PM
Gets better and better....

England fears over Rooney & Owen 

England have new injury worries over first-choice World Cup strike duo Wayne Rooney and Michael Owen.
Rooney was stretchered off late in Man Utd's defeat at Chelsea after injuring the same foot he broke at Euro 2004.

"It's a sore one but we will just have have to wait and see," Man Utd manager Sir Alex Ferguson said.

And Newcastle caretaker boss Glenn Roeder revealed Owen was "not 100% happy" with his foot injury after he returned as a substitute at Birmingham.

Rooney, 20, left Stamford Bridge on crutches, with the countdown already on for England's opening World Cup game against Paraguay on 10 June, six weeks away.

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho spoke to a United official and gave England hope when he claimed: "They said it's no problem for the World Cup."

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was more guarded about the injury.

"There's no point in making assertions at the moment," he said.

"When a player is taken off you are always concerned. We've had quite a few bad injuries this season but, hopefully, Wayne is not a bad one."

Rooney is seen as being key to England's hopes at the World Cup in Germany and any concerns over his fitness would add to England manager Eriksson's injury worries.

The fears over Rooney were made worse when Roeder revealed concerns about Owen after he came on for 30 minutes at St Andrews, his first appearance since breaking his foot at Spurs on New Year's Eve.

After Owen limped off at the final whistle, Roeder said: "He had the best part of half an hour and when he came in afterwards he was a little bit concerned. He wasn't quite 100% happy with it.

"There was no sharp pain or anything - he described it as dull. He was honest with the medical team in saying he was not 100%.

"I would understand Newcastle and England supporters being a bit more concerned than Michael, but that is to be understood with what unluckily happened to Wayne."

He added: "The medical department will decide over the weekend what the next step will be.

"Michael is not 100% happy with his foot. But I have to emphasise he is not that concerned.

"He told me he felt some discomfort when he wheeled away after five or six minutes."

The fitness of the strikers will be England and manager Sven-Goran Eriksson's prime concern over the next few weeks, but there are other doubts too.

Arsenal central defender Sol Campbell has only just returned after a lengthy spell out while team-mate Ashley Cole is fit again but has not played any first-team football.

England and Chelsea centre-back John Terry also picked up an injury in his side's 3-0 win over United but he soldiered on until the end of the game which assured the Blues of the Premiership title.

United right-back Gary Neville also appeared to be hobbling and may yet develop into another concern for Eriksson.

And fellow full-back Wayne Bridge, who is on loan at Fulham from Chelsea, is playing on despite struggling with a tight

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 29, 2006, 12:35:07 PM
The fitness of the strikers will be England and manager Sven-Goran Eriksson's prime concern over the next few weeks, but there are other doubts too

Is this good news for marlon harewood?
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 01:01:30 PM
The fitness of the strikers will be England and manager Sven-Goran Eriksson's prime concern over the next few weeks, but there are other doubts too

as in marlon harewood d bajan?  ::)
Post by: Dutty on April 29, 2006, 01:10:23 PM
Aaah boy look like dat obeah package ah sen dem wukkin in trute  :devil:

Jumbienio in dey pweffen
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 03:07:12 PM
Manchester United have confirmed Wayne Rooney broke his foot in Saturday's Premiership clash with Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

A short statement released by the Old Trafford outfit tonight revealed Rooney has broken the 'fourth metatarsal on his right foot'.

'He will be out for six weeks,' added the statement.

More to follow...

Shit man!  >:(
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 03:08:34 PM
Rooney Out For Six Weeks

Manchester United statement issued a statement regarding Wayne Rooney's injury on Saturday evening.

The brief statement read as follows: "Wayne Rooney has a fracture of the base of the fourth metatarsal on his right foot.

"He will be out for six weeks."

Rooney sustained the injury towards the end of United's 3-0 defeat by Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
Post by: Brej on April 29, 2006, 03:13:36 PM
oh my 6 weeks is a VERY long time
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 29, 2006, 03:15:23 PM
6 weeks = 42 days which is when WC kicks-off (40 days to be exact)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 03:16:56 PM
yeh   so if he recovers just b4 d cup his comebak game will be against us  ;D
Post by: Brej on April 29, 2006, 03:20:43 PM
yeh   so if he recovers just b4 d cup his comebak game will be against us  ;D
u talk about it as if that is a good thing
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 29, 2006, 03:38:45 PM
it is a good thing....    because he is a very special player an i will be in germany so i want to see him
Post by: supporter on April 29, 2006, 04:17:49 PM
its all falling into place for tnt now!! gime de red white and black!
Post by: JDB on April 29, 2006, 04:43:13 PM
Very sad injury for Rooney, United and England. From the time I saw him go down I thought it was a broken foot and not the ankle.

Sven would be a fool to take him to the WC, it would be a huge distraction and would mash up the squad.

Whatever happens this is good news for TnT, as long as the man fit for the start of next season I cool.

The worst thing about this is when England plays and gets knocked out in the quarters as usual they will not stop talking about how different things would have been if Rooney was there.
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 04:51:53 PM
John Terry is now on crutches, thanks to Rooney's wildness.

More good news for TnT though (although Terry should be back by World Cup)
Post by: supporter on April 29, 2006, 04:53:47 PM

Sven would be a fool to take him to the WC, it would be a huge distraction and would mash up the squad.

jdb, not really. im hearing 6-8 weeks, which would certainly mean he can play in, maybe their last group game or second rd.
Post by: JDB on April 29, 2006, 04:59:54 PM
jdb, not really. im hearing 6-8 weeks, which would certainly mean he can play in, maybe their last group game or second rd.

Last time Beckham was injured during a CL quarter-final, which is March and he was useless for the tournament.

Gary Neville was injured around April of 2002 and miss the Euro's. The injury might be different but 6-8 weeks is cutting it too close.

What effect will it have on the England players preparing for the first round games when all th etalk is about Rooney's recovery, Rooney's foot, Why Sven not picking Rooney, Who will get drop when Rooney fit...etc?

Like a say Sven will be dotish to take him but I don't put it past him.
Post by: supporter on April 29, 2006, 05:06:46 PM
true, but you know what, rooney is that good that putting up with that distraction might be worth it.
Post by: Trini on April 29, 2006, 05:07:49 PM
I am very very sad, I was looking forward to Rooney against our boys.
Hope the yute make a swift recovery, although it looking real doubtful right now.
Stay strong Rooney!
Post by: maxg on April 29, 2006, 05:14:36 PM
Allow me to go on record, I backing everybody against England...ah eh wish bad on nobody, except everybody liks dem...who love dem up, sorry...nuthen personal...register also, I backin all Concacaf teams, and anybody outside ah dat, is France...Teams ah not against, unless dey play Concacaf of course - Brazil....no cuss, no fight, no argument....Dah is what it is.....
who doh care bout my backings, already know how I feel bout your backins...let the games begin....oh is still ah while still...ok...alrite...ah waitin
Post by: Blue on April 29, 2006, 05:26:11 PM
true, but you know what, rooney is that good that putting up with that distraction might be worth it.

No footballer (in England at least) has come back from a metatarsal injury in 6 weeks. And last time Rooney broke his foot at Euro 2004 he was out for 8 weeks.

But I agree - if England want to win WC dey ent really hav no choice but 2 include Rooney and hope for d best.
Post by: Peong on April 29, 2006, 05:43:32 PM
Bad for England, good for us.  Rooney have plenty WCs in him, if he miss this one no big ting.

It happens.
Post by: 1989 on April 29, 2006, 06:17:42 PM
I want Rooney to recovery quickly.  That way when England still pick up a 3-0 from us they would have no excuse like " :'(...but if Rooney was here we woulda :'(...".
Post by: Andre on April 29, 2006, 06:23:59 PM
the revised hengland striker list?

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe
Post by: Feliziano on April 29, 2006, 06:59:28 PM

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe

boy i say call up Fowler, Beattie or ashton before Harewood yes
Post by: richpy on April 29, 2006, 07:26:45 PM
Allow me to go on record, I backing everybody against England...ah eh wish bad on nobody, except everybody liks dem...who love dem up, sorry...nuthen personal...register also, I backin all Concacaf teams, and anybody outside ah dat, is France...Teams ah not against, unless dey play Concacaf of course - Brazil....no cuss, no fight, no argument....Dah is what it is.....
who doh care bout my backings, already know how I feel bout your backins...let the games begin....oh is still ah while still...ok...alrite...ah waitin

Man that is my sentiments EXACTLY, yes! Boo for England, Go France, Go CONCACAF. One lil ting though, Brazil after ONLY TNT.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 29, 2006, 08:28:09 PM

as in marlon harewood d bajan?  ::)

And your point is?? he neva played for barbados
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 29, 2006, 08:31:34 PM

- harewood
- crouch
- bent
- defoe

boy i say call up Fowler, Beattie or ashton before Harewood yes

why would u call up Fowler or ashton  before harwood explain that logic!!! beattie  probably.
Post by: Tongue on April 29, 2006, 08:43:54 PM

No footballer (in England at least) has come back from a metatarsal injury in 6 weeks. And last time Rooney broke his foot at Euro 2004 he was out for 8 weeks.

But I agree - if England want to win WC dey ent really hav no choice but 2 include Rooney and hope for d best.

so wham only England players have metatarsal injuries or wha!....
Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 29, 2006, 08:46:52 PM
tsk tsk tsk..... hard luck dey Rooney Roons. You shudda listen to Fergie and STAY IN THE GOAL like he was telling yuh to in the commercial. Now look what happen... :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 29, 2006, 09:15:53 PM
Rooney only have heself to blame for not only injuring heself but also John Terry..dem reckless tackle just before World Cup..steups...Allyuh see d Bullet Gerrard score? :o
Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 29, 2006, 10:35:40 PM
Rooney only have heself to blame for not only injuring heself but also John Terry..dem reckless tackle just before World Cup..steups...Allyuh see d Bullet Gerrard score? :o

Ah hate the pool, but Gerrard does score some ah the most "smashingist" goals in the world
Post by: rippin on April 29, 2006, 10:44:54 PM
I don't wish no bad on anybody but fact is the man injured and it benefit us. I cayh say I sorry. Cause I not. Tough break but that is how the cookie crumbles.

Men would say this is not a big thing but he was the inspiration for that team. This definitely going to hit them hard. I think it would make a difference in their play. The man was turning out the best defenders in the world. 

Frankly I didn't want to see England do good any way. England and USA is two team I doh want to win the cup. I supporting all the third world countries.

Here's to an injury free Warriors  :beermug:
Post by: ricky on April 29, 2006, 11:05:31 PM
it is a good thing....    because he is a very special player an i will be in germany so i want to see him

agree 100%
let dey best play our best....that is sport
Post by: JayTheWrecker on April 30, 2006, 01:28:49 AM

yep, once again I am in total agreement with you. I'm now convinced that Rooney is out of the World Cup. If the club is saying 6 weeks then you can be sure it's going to be more like 8 weeks just like last time he had same injury. Also, Rooney is very big for his age, big built players tend to need more training to maintain their general fitness and condition. There is no way Sven is going to play Rooney if he has spent the last 6-8 weeks on the treatment table.

Rooney is out of the World Cup. If Ladbrokes were betting on it I would be down there with a wad of cash. This is very bad for England, bad for WC in general, but good news for us because without Rooney England are half the force they are.
Post by: Blue on April 30, 2006, 08:21:36 AM
Quote from BBC Website:

"Sports injury expert Roger Roberton said Rooney can forget about playing in England's first two matches at the World Cup.

"I'd doubt very much if he makes the first game or even the second game," Roberton told BBC Radio Five Live.

"I would say seven weeks. From five weeks onwards just build up the exercise and see how it goes. "

Good luck against Sweden, Rooney  ;D
Post by: AB.Trini on April 30, 2006, 08:36:46 AM
On a personal player level this is 'tough luck' that  noone wishes on anyone's dreams. From a nation perspective, England has the resources to replace this player with equal or of comparable quality. Not all countries have this luxury; TNT does not have en endless pit of player resources  to replace our top  six quality players.
Post by: E-man on April 30, 2006, 09:06:19 AM
Eriksson must decide whether to take Rooney
Associated Press

LONDON (AP) - England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has to decide whether to risk naming an injured Wayne Rooney in England's World Cup squad.

The Manchester United striker broke a bone in his right foot during United's 3-0 loss at Chelsea on Saturday and club officials say he will be out of action for six weeks.

England's first World Cup game is against Paraguay on June 10, exactly six weeks after Rooney got injured. The 20-year-old forward may not be fit for that or other first-round group games against Trinidad & Tobago and Sweden, but Eriksson may take him to Germany in the hope England makes it to the next phase.

However, Eriksson did get some good news Sunday.

An X-ray revealed Rooney's regular striking partner Michael Owen did not aggravate his own foot injury playing for Newcastle on Saturday.

Owen had been in discomfort after a 30-minute appearance against Birmingham, his first game since breaking a foot bone Dec. 31. But Newcastle said a scan had shown no damage.

The Magpies issued a statement citing a specialist saying it was normal for a player to feel pain in the first couple of games back after an injury of this type.

Eriksson, who was at Saturday's Chelsea-Manchester United game, has yet to comment on Rooney's injury. The Swede is due to name a provisional 26-man squad May 8 and trim it to 23 for FIFA's May 15 deadline. Coaches can replace players injured after that but not those hurt before.

Bobby Robson, who led England to the World Cup semifinal in 1990, said Sunday that Rooney's absence would turn England from one of the favorites to an outsider.

"The news about Wayne is depressingly sad," Robson told BBC Radio 5. "You cannot replace Rooney. I don't think there's another player like him in the country or in Europe. He's a very special player and without him our chances are dim.

"People who win World Cups are top individuals. Who won the World Cup for Argentina in 1986? I'll tell you - it was Diego Maradona."

With Owen, Ledley King, John Terry, Sol Campbell, Ashley Cole and Wayne Bridge either injured or trying to come back from long-term absences from the game, England is having similar problems to those it had before the last World Cup.

Steven Gerrard, Gary Neville and Danny Murphy were all ruled out of the 2002 edition in South Korea and Japan after collecting injuries during the buildup, while captain David Beckham was evidently unfit even though he made the squad.

Like Rooney on Saturday, Beckham, Owen and Neville also damaged metatarsal bones. Rooney broke a metatarsal at the 2004 European Championship, while Gerrard has had the injury in the past, leading to speculation that modern boots don't give enough protection.

England in shock over Rooney injury
By Dominik Lauck (Monsters & Critics)

Apr 30, 2006, 12:35 GMT

London - England was in shock Sunday over a fractured foot injury of star striker Wayne Rooney which heavily endangers his participation at the World Cup and with it all possible title dreams.

'England holds its breath as talismanic Rooney joins World Cup casualty list,' said the front page headline of The Observer.

The Manchester United marksman Rooney has been ruled out for six weeks, this period ending on June 10 when England play their first match at the World Cup in Germany against Paraguay, with games against Sweden and Trinidad and Tobago to follow.

Rooney, 20, fractured the fourth metatarsal bone in his right foot during United's 3-0 defeat at Chelsea on Saturday.

The entire stadium held its breath when Rooney was taken off on a stretcher, with Chelsea's England player Joe Cole revealing later he thought 'Please, not Wayne' when the incident occurred.

England coach Sven Goran Eriksson now faces the difficult decision whether to nominate Rooney into his 23-player squad on May 15. Players who are injured by the time of the nomination cannot be replaced on the squad if they don't regain their fitness.

'Roo's out' said the Sunday Mirror headline while the News of the World simply asked football fans to 'Pray.'

The Observer summed up how big Rooney's loss will be.

'If Rooney cannot play in Germany, his absence will seriously diminish England's chances of capturing the World Cup for the first time in 40 years.

'Bookmakers have made them second favourites behind holders Brazil, but without the talismanic Rooney they would lack much of their creativity, attacking prowess and capacity to surprise opponents,' The Observer said.

Former England coach Bobby Robson, in an interview with the BBC, agreed.

'The news about Wayne is depressingly sad. You cannot replace Rooney. I don't think there's another player like him in the country or in Europe. He's a very special player and without him our chances are dim,' Robson said.

'People who win World Cups are top individuals. Who won the World Cup for Argentina in 1986? I'll tell you - it was Diego Maradona.'

Rooney fractured another metatarsal bone in the same foot at Euro 2004.

His fate now reminds many of that of team captain David Beckham ahead of the 2002 World Cup. Beckham broke his fifth metatarsal bone two months ahead of the tournament and later admitted he was not fit at all during the World Cup even though he could play.

The only good news for Eriksson on Sunday was that his other key striker, Michael Owen, has not re-aggravated a similar injury in his comeback match Saturday.

The Newcastle forward complained about pain after the game, but medical examinations revealed no damage and doctors said that some pain was quite possible in the first games.

Rooney injury leaves England fearing the worst
By Rex Gowar

Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:28 PM BST

LONDON, April 30 (Reuters) - England striker Wayne Rooney could miss England's first two World Cup matches with a foot fracture, a sports injury specialist said on Sunday.

However, fears that Rooney's striker partner Michael Owen might also be a serious doubt for the tournament starting in 40 days' time on June 9 were allayed.

"I'd doubt very much if Rooney makes the first game or even the second game," expert Roger Robertson told BBC Radio Five Live.

"I would say seven weeks. From five weeks onwards just build up the exercise and see how it goes."

Rooney broke a bone in his right foot late in Manchester United's 3-0 defeat at Chelsea and the club said he would be out for six weeks.

England face Paraguay on June 10, Trinidad & Tobago on June 15 and Sweden on June 20 in Group B at the World Cup in Germany.

Owen, 26, underwent tests on Sunday morning on the foot injury he suffered four months ago and they showed there was no damage after an uncomfortable comeback for Newcastle United on Saturday.

Media commentators said England defender John Terry would be out for 10 days after the Chelsea captain also suffered a foot injury in Saturday's title-decider at Stamford Bridge where his club were crowned champions for the second year in a row.

DIMINSHED CHANCES

The general consensus among pundits speaking to the British media on Sunday was that without Rooney, England's chances of World Cup victory were greatly reduced.

"It's depressingly sad. Without Rooney, I think we have gone from possible World Cup winners to outsiders," former England manager Bobby Robson told BBC radio.

"We can't replace Rooney, I don't think there's another player like him in the country... there's hardly another player like him in Europe," added Robson, who steered England to the 1990 World Cup semi-finals in Italy.

"The people who win World Cups are individuals, your top individuals."

Robson believes England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has a tough decision to make whether to include Rooney when he names his 23-man squad on May 15, FIFA's deadline.

"We have enough quality, I would hope, to beat the teams that we have to face in the group matches. What you need then is your top players for the quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final, that's when Rooney becomes crucial."

The anguish Rooney must be experiencing was revealed in a remark he made in an interview he gave The Observer last week which was published on Sunday.

"To see any player get injured and miss the World Cup...that would be horrible," Rooney said.

'NO ALTERNATIVE'

Last month, Eriksson was quoted as saying he would take Rooney even if he had fitness doubts.

"If Rooney has a small problem, would you still take him?" the Swede was asked.

"What alternative do you have?... If you have a centre-half who might not be ready you can take another one but can you find another Rooney?"

Rooney, who has a fracture in the fourth metatarsal of his right foot, suffered a crack in the fifth metatarsal in England's Euro 2004 quarter-final against Portugal when England were eliminated.

Owen broke the fifth metatarsal on New Year's Eve and required surgery. He said after coming on as a substitute against Birmingham City that he was not entirely comfortable.

England were missing injured midfielders Steven Gerrard and Danny Murphy and defender Gary Neville at the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, where they reached the quarter-finals.

Neville and Murphy had both suffered metatarsal injuries while captain David Beckham travelled to Asia while recovering from a similar injury and admitted after England's elimination that he had not been fully fit.
Post by: andre samuel on April 30, 2006, 09:27:57 AM
Rooney going and be in dat squad!!

The going and take him there injured, cause he is just too good!

i hope they chance him against us, cause i want to see Rooney play live!!

Post by: JDB on April 30, 2006, 09:33:44 AM
Rooney going and be in dat squad!!

The going and take him there injured, cause he is just too good!

i hope they chance him against us, cause i want to see Rooney play live!!

I feel people forgetting that the man is only 20 years old.

Even if the foot heals completely in 6 weeks, there is still the issue of match fitness. And then it is world cup intensity matches yuh talking about.

The man has a whole career of WC to look forward to. If Sven bring him back and he get injured again who suffers the cost, not Sven cause he gone in July.
Post by: E-man on April 30, 2006, 09:47:02 AM
From  B[l]og Off (http://nickseecharan.blogspot.com/2006_04_01_nickseecharan_archive.html#114640219299612881)

The Horror, The Horror

(http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3513/384/320/rooney_down.jpg)

The nation mourns the possible/ likely loss of Wayne Rooney for England at this summer's World Cup, with a broken metatarsal in his right foot (the same injury that scuppered his - and therefore our - chances in the Euro 2004 tournament). Kinda typical this injury occurred while playing against the much loathed Chelsea. Mind you, the Chelsea fans looked as horrified as the rest of us on TV as the seriousness of Rooney's problem unfolded on the pitch before them. Similarly, Chelsea (and England's) Lampard and Terry looked on in equal horror and disbelief, all caught live by the TV cameras. It felt like one of those defining moments when there was a collective realisation that our World Cup hopes had just died in front of us. Melodramatic stuff for sure, but that's just the way it happened.

On the other hand, sod melodrama! Now England stand no chance whatsover against the mighty Soca Warriors on June 15th ... and Tom's agreed to pay my entire World Cup expenses if Trinidad & Tobago beat England that day!

Rooooooooooooooooooooooooney! Get fit quickly for all our sakes ... pleeeeeeease!
Post by: ndookie on April 30, 2006, 10:12:01 AM
 :(

england in a real state right now , owen , terry , now rooney , poor eriksson , i wish him luck in getting the team ready to lose against the warriors..
Post by: Jah Gol on April 30, 2006, 10:51:55 AM
Surely he will be in the squad. The question of when will he play is the the focus now. That injury takes 8 weeks to heal, England's first game is 6 weeks from now. Even if Rooney pulls of the miracle of healing in 6 weeks how effective will he be on the pitch ? Unassisted by some powerful drugs Rooney is not supposed to play until the Sweden match.
Post by: 1989 on April 30, 2006, 11:19:46 AM
I think that Rooney will be named for the World Cup Squad, but he would not be playing.

The reason:

Paraguay vs. England ---> Paraguay 3points
England vs. T&T ---> T&T 3 points
England vs. Sweden --> Sweden 3 Points.

Talk done.
Post by: Bourbon on April 30, 2006, 11:27:00 AM
Yeh apparently dey planning to save him for de second round games  ::)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 30, 2006, 11:27:45 AM
steups..... so england not making it out?  allyuh some rell cocks for real dred

I sure Wayne will probably make his comeback against us

England vs Paraguay------> England wins 3pts

England vs. TnT---------> Draw 1 pt

England vs Sweden -------> England win 3pts
Post by: Bourbon on April 30, 2006, 11:35:09 AM
So how effective he go be?? Even if he do tings like cycling and ting to maintain cardio fitness....for a player that calibre.....6 weeks without serious ball work is a long time. I feelin it fuh de man dread....injuries is real hard luck and from wha i hear....he real want to play in world cup....buh.......life unpredictable...yuh hadda live with it. You cant tell me a player go be out for six weeks and still be as sharp as he was before he was injured or be anywhere near his peak as soon as he come back. Even attempting to rush de healing might just aggravate it and dent his confidence.
Post by: FF on April 30, 2006, 11:54:24 AM
but here nah....

All dese injuries hitting England.... and dey still have to play de Reggae BoyZ on June 3rd!!!  :o :o

WHO ENT DEAD... BADLY WOUNDED!!!!

Post by: lickslikefire on April 30, 2006, 12:14:47 PM

I find you's get real touchy boy......and yuh have a little too much faith in england   ;D.....i bet yuh dey losing to Paraguay and Sweden.....
Post by: 1989 on April 30, 2006, 12:37:40 PM

I find you's get real touchy boy......and yuh have a little too much faith in england   ;D.....i bet yuh dey losing to Paraguay and Sweden.....

Predictions:

Paraguay 1-0 England---------> Paraguay (They are not currently being taken seriously by anyone it seems)

England 1-2 T&T----------------> Two Words: Stern John
Sweden 2-0 England ----------> Sweden will retain their record.
Post by: kappy on April 30, 2006, 01:04:37 PM
Dis thread is kicks yes ... with Rooney likley to miss the 1st 2 games ... only means Joe Cole will take his place ... which gives Sven headache b/c no they have no natuaral left fotters to take his place ... Carlos Edwards mus be liking he self now ...
Post by: ndookie on April 30, 2006, 01:20:54 PM
whole tt team liking themselves now..
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 30, 2006, 01:52:23 PM
ok likslikefire i will take that bet

100 tt
Post by: lickslikefire on April 30, 2006, 02:10:02 PM
ok likslikefire i will take that bet

100 tt

:rotfl: :rotfl:...breds...i not fighting yuh down.....i was saying that I wouldn't be surprised if they did lose to either of those teams.....but i won't put money on it  ;D

i just find yuh's be real touchy when some men have opinions different than yours(i.e. man U and England(wtf)......lol.....don't let yuh patriotism blind yuh boy.....
Post by: Bourbon on April 30, 2006, 04:50:30 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/4959564.stm
England midfielder Steven Gerrard said it would be "impossible" for England to succeed in this summer's World Cup without striker Wayne Rooney.

And it continues. I studying how dem looking anxious to rush back the man. He is a talent but dey showing how dependant they are on him. That could affect his long term career and all. De hadda learn to deal with life without he....cuz wha dey woulda do if he did get a red card or two yellow and had to miss a game??? dey go forget how to play???

Look a nex set here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/4960058.stm

We can beat Paraguay and Trinidad and Tobago without Rooney, possibly meeting an over-rated and under pressure Germany team in the second round - remember we beat

EH HEH????? we go see.
Post by: 1-868 on April 30, 2006, 05:40:04 PM
Ah boy, like the " High Science"  dat we obeah man cast on dem Brits starting to wok.. Remember sparrow tune "Rougier"  ( 2 dead hen and a rusty key, kaka jam in ah pint a pee).

No pun intended with the inclusion of Tony Rougier in we 24.. Just coincidence... :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: E-man on April 30, 2006, 05:54:00 PM
It does not seem that the betting odds for England winning the WC have shifted much yet on the news.

sportingbet.com still has them 2nd behind Brazil at 7/1

Dresdner Bank's "Ball Street" (http://www.dresdner-ball-street.de/aktienliste/sort/kurs_desc) still has them 3rd

others

Ladbrokes (UK)      8.00       Sun Apr 30 2006
Norm Short (Vic)    8.00       Sun Apr 30 2006
Sporting Odds (UK)  8.00       Sun Apr 30 2006
Eskander (Vic)      8.00       Sun Apr 30 2006
BetCRIS (CR)        7.75       Sun Apr 30 2006
Sportsbet (NT)      7.50       Sun Apr 30 2006
Bet365 (UK)         7.50       Sun Apr 30 2006
Dial a Bet (VU)     7.50       Sun Apr 30 2006
Sportingbet Oz (NT) 7.25       Sun Apr 30 2006
GameBookers (UK)    7.00       Sun Apr 30 2006
Post by: Blue on May 01, 2006, 11:21:49 AM
Sir Alex said this afternoon that he doesn't think Rooney will be fit to play in the World Cup at any stage.
Post by: freakazoid on May 01, 2006, 05:55:07 PM
The man who developed Wayne Rooney's new boot insists it had nothing to do with the injury which threatens to wreck the England striker's World Cup dream.

Rooney was wearing Nike's 'Total 90 Supremacy' boot for the first time at Stamford Bridge on Saturday when he suffered the broken metatarsal which Manchester United have confirmed will rule him out for a minimum of six weeks.

But, while England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson keeps his fingers crossed like the rest of a worried nation, the finger is again being pointed at the new-style boots which some people speculate are the major reason behind such a recent spate of metatarsal injuries.

Nike point out that of the series of England stars to be affected in recent years - including David Beckham, Gary Neville and Steven Gerrard - Rooney is the only one contracted to them.

And, at the high-profile launch of the 'Total 90 Supremacy' boot, which weighs in at a mere 10.5 ounces and features air technology specifically to cushion and protect the foot, boot developer Cedric Collet insisted there was no added risk to the safety of a player by the use of lighter micro-fibres in the boot construction rather than old-style leather.

'Nothing occurred in any of our tests to indicate the player would be at any risk,' said Collet. 'The boot was specifically designed for Wayne and has incorporated three different types of protection for his foot.

'Every time we bring a boot out, the safety aspect is improved in some way. The boot is more durable and it keeps the shape around the player's foot.

'In some ways, I think these injuries are more linked to the speed the game is played at now.'

Nike also claim to have been exonerated by both Rooney and United's medical staff, who will liaise with manager Sir Alex Ferguson before the decision over whether to release the £27million forward for England duty is made.

'Any boot needs to be a mixture of protection and performance, however no boot can provide a guarantee against injuries,' said a Nike spokesman.

'Manchester United have confirmed that there is no link between the boots and the injury sustained by Wayne.'
Title: Rooney can be replaced 24 hours before June 10.
Post by: E-man on May 02, 2006, 05:39:45 AM
June deadline for injured Rooney
(BBC Sport)

England will be allowed to replace Wayne Rooney in their World Cup squad up until 24 hours before their opening match against Paraguay on 10 June.

Fifa confirmed that their regulations allow for a player to be substituted provided the governing body is supplied with evidence of serious injury.

If a replacement is called up Rooney would take no part in the tournament.

Eriksson has to name his 23-man squad for Germany on 15 May, but will announce a provisional squad on 8 May.

A Fifa spokesman told BBC Sport: "It's the same as any other Fifa competition.

"With a medical report, players who are on the official list, as of 15 May can be replaced up to 24 hours prior to each team's first match."

Eriksson has said he will take Rooney even if there is just a possibility of playing him in the tournament.

But Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has said that it is a "wild dream" to think that Rooney would be fit.

England kick-off in their opening Group B match against Paraguay at 1400 BST on 10 June.

England also have concerns over Rooney's strike partner Michael Owen and defender Ledley King, both of whom have also broken bones in feet.

Ashley Cole and John Terry are expected to be available for Germany despite the Arsenal left-back having just returned from injury and the Chelsea centre-back damaging an ankle over the weekend.
Post by: Pompey on May 02, 2006, 06:52:44 AM
Ryan,

the amount of enjoyment you are getting from Rooney's injury, I hope he makes it back for the TnT game and scores the only three goals of the game. Maybe you will be more generous to the kid after that.

Would you guys be as excited if Ronaldinho was injured and couldn;t make it, or are you only happy becasue it is an Englishman who is injured?

I like the the comments made by those who want to see him play. TnT are not going to win the World cup, so surely the best enjoyment for those who are going, is to see the best players in the world play?
Post by: Touches on May 02, 2006, 06:57:58 AM
Why alyuh so....I glad he ent playing against we.

The man had the potential to get the Golden Boot on one TT game alone.

We get an advantage and man vex....and studying the best players must play etc. Breds when best players play, side does get cutarse.

Realise we is TT who punching above we weight class and we need any sort of advantage we can get.

It come like Henry and Arsenal....any opponent does be happy no ass if he ent on the field.

I glad Rooney gorn, I hope Terry go too, and if Lampard and Gerrard get damage I go be in meh glee. England is not my side, they are our opponents and if them get tru = one less opportunity for TT to advance.

We not ready for England and we have to play the game of our lives....and dem have to play shit.... if we are to get a good result against them....including a draw.

Post by: Touches on May 02, 2006, 07:05:33 AM

Would you guys be as excited if Ronaldinho was injured and couldn;t make it, or are you only happy becasue it is an Englishman who is injured?

Pompey......understand this.

We are not observers this time.

You are our opponent

You have been weakened

We are playing you

We have gotten an advantage even if it is an emotional one.

Why should we not be happy Rooney isnt playing?

Now one must not wish injury on any player and yes it is unfortunate and yes we watch world cup to see great players play.......But I do not want Rooney to be bussin our net and embarrassing my team on the world stage. Again it is unfortunate........but I prefer a TT win over England in the WC over watching Ronaldinho play for Brazil.

Ok Pompey maybe if England was drawn in another group I would be sympathetic.
Post by: Pompey on May 02, 2006, 07:19:48 AM
But if Rooney doesn't play and you still get humiliated, will it not make it worse?
Post by: FF on May 02, 2006, 07:30:03 AM
But if Rooney doesn't play and you still get humiliated, will it not make it worse?

No... licks is licks.... and we is still underdogs...

but England is decidely weaker now... which is to our advantage....

It barely helps our chances.... but ah go take it still!!!
Post by: arrow on May 02, 2006, 07:31:44 AM

well the chances of humiliation will be a bit less so we're willing to take that risk

As an English fan wouldn't you be happy if you meet Brazil in the finals and Ronaldino was injured/suspended for the match?  Or would you rather lose than have people say "you only won because Ronaldino wasn't there"
Post by: Touches on May 02, 2006, 07:32:51 AM

Nope not in the least.

At the end of the day we are playing England in the WC. It is not the Wayne Rooney show.

At the end of the day even if you line up the reserves of the lowest team in the Doc Martin or Ryman league on that Fateful day in june it will still be England vs TT

Pompey..... it is not a player thing, not a Rooney thing

it is not an England thing

It simply is an opponent thing.

Had England been in another group we would not be even posting this here.
Post by: freakazoid on May 02, 2006, 07:33:00 AM
we r not happy rooney is injured we are happy he is not playing against us..... and england hasnt humiliated anyone in the last 2yrs. honestly i was looking at england and mexico to go very far in this tournament.....( on another note)england needs to bring in the teenager lennon
Post by: Pompey on May 02, 2006, 07:55:10 AM
Good responses guys, thanks for your honest answers. I'm used to debating this sort of thing with the Scots or the Welsh, many of who would take genuine pleasure out of seeing an England player injured for no other reason than he is English.

It's a tough decision on Ronaldinho. I woud love to see him play and i would love to see an England team beat a full strength Brazil team, but I suppose I would also like to see us get an advantage.

Lennon is looking realy good now, not sure who would make way to let him into the squad though.
Post by: grskywalker on May 02, 2006, 07:56:28 AM
Yeah it looking like an ankle injury.

It worse than that, metatarsal' top of the foot , yuh cah really stand up on the foot once them gone far less balance. I think World cup is over for him. The first stamp on he foot he get and that's it
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 02, 2006, 07:58:45 AM
pompey i understand what you are saying

some of the guys on this forum are assholes so bear with them

it helps us a little that rooney is out

i for one was very angry knowing he could be out due to he is my favourite player ..... i would have loved to see him as this is a once in a lifetime trip  ....

but on june 15th it is war    if rooney was there i would have been amazed to see him but even if he was there i would still hate him for 90 mins against us

just for 90 mins though lol
Post by: grskywalker on May 02, 2006, 08:01:23 AM
Don't forget they still have Lampard, Gerrard, Beckham to deal with and Wright-Phillips who have blazing speed.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 02, 2006, 08:03:47 AM
exactly

---Robinson--

--G.Neville--       ---Rio--               ----J.Terry--          ---A.Cole---

---Becks--          ---Lampard---        ---Gerrad---      ---J.Cole---

---Owen--         ---Defoe---

be serious forumites   Rooney absence will  make the slightest of differences

i not saying we will loss but still we have a hard task with or without rooney
Post by: freakazoid on May 02, 2006, 09:30:22 AM

be serious forumites   Rooney absence will  make the slightest of differences

i not saying we will loss but still we have a hard task with or without rooney

ask manu how big his absence is to their team... i find it interesting u r a rooney fan and say slightest......   and by the way owen aint no gurantee the weight shifts heavily to lampard and gerrad who on their good day can do it. but the 2 for some reason cant spark when they play together
Post by: Jah Gol on May 02, 2006, 09:52:43 AM
It seems like this thing is bigger than I thought it was. Rooney might really miss the entire World Cup. That would be tragic. I prefer to see him play in the World Cup even if that means him being instrumental  in an England victory over T&T.
Title: Rooney devastated by injury
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 02, 2006, 10:44:40 AM

Wayne Rooney has admitted he is "devastated" to be facing a race against time to be fit to take part in this summer's World Cup finals.

The England star broke a metatarsal in his foot during Manchester United's 3-0 defeat at the weekend, sending the country into a state of mourning.

There is still some hope that the 20-year-old can recover in time for the finals, despite United manager Sir Alex Ferguson's pessimistic, if realistic, assessment of the situation, and Rooney told MUTV in an exclusive interview that he wants to be left alone to undergo his rehabilitation.

"I'll be coming in [for treatment] every day and trying to give myself the best possible chance," said Rooney.

"I'm obviously devastated to have broken my foot at this moment in time, it really is horrible.

"But I'm in great hands at United and I know with the physio team I've got behind me here that they'll be able to give me the best possible chance.

"You've just got to get on with it and be positive. That's what I'm trying to do at the moment and I'll be trying to get myself fit as soon as possible.

"I'd like to thank everyone who's sent me messages and supported me. But it's now important that I have some privacy and the press leave me alone as I try to get myself fit."

The former Everton forward will be out for at least six weeks, ensuring he misses England's tournament opener against Paraguay, but Sven Goran Eriksson hopes he can count upon the influential youngster at some stage of the finals.
Post by: 1989 on May 02, 2006, 10:47:20 AM
Small Magician please post the source.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 02, 2006, 10:48:38 AM
skysports.com
Post by: Grande on May 02, 2006, 01:30:36 PM
Bring on Rooney if he ready to play

so when we beat England they will have no excuses
Post by: kappy on May 02, 2006, 01:35:49 PM
fellas ... england so complacent that dey go finish bottom of the group behind paraguay.  serious
Post by: 1989 on May 02, 2006, 06:56:59 PM
fellas ... england so complacent that dey go finish bottom of the group behind paraguay.  serious

That is exactly what I'm hoping for.
Post by: Aymir on May 02, 2006, 08:36:32 PM
Rooney hangs on to World Cup hope 

bbc.co.uk

The same injury ended Rooney's Euro 2004 campaign in Portugal
Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has not given up hope that he may play a part for England at the World Cup.
Rooney, 20, broke a bone in his foot against Chelsea and, although he is likely to miss England's group games, he could be fit for the latter stages.

"You've just got to get on with it and be positive," Rooney told MUTV.

"But I'm in great hands at United and I know with the physio team I've got behind me here that they'll be able to give me the best possible chance."

Rooney broke a metatarsal bone in his right foot when he was tackled by Paulo Ferreira during Saturday's 3-0 defeat by Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Eriksson to gamble on Rooney 

"I'm obviously devastated to have broken my foot at this moment in time, it really is horrible," he said.

"I'll be coming in for treatment every day and trying to give myself the best possible chance."

United's medical staff are in charge of Rooney's treatment and England's team doctors are liaising with them over the forward's fitness.

FA deny rift over Rooney 

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has to name his 23-man squad for Germany on 15 May but will announce a provisional squad on 8 May.

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is wary of building up expectations Rooney could overcome his injury in time to play in Germany this summer.

Ferguson appears to have been angered by Eriksson's claim that Rooney will be taken to Germany even if there is an outside chance he may figure if England advance through to the knockout stages.

England's first group game at the World Cup is against Paraguay on 10 June.

The injury is the same one that ended Rooney's Euro 2004 campaign in Portugal.

Post by: supporter on May 02, 2006, 08:45:38 PM

it helps us a little that rooney is out

a little? no. a lot? yes.

his speed alone against dog and tallest strikes fear that we'd take 5 from him alone.
 We still face a dangerous opponent without him but it is a big advantage to play them without rooney.
Post by: rastafari on May 03, 2006, 05:12:38 AM
I just heard on the news that rooney is out of the world cup.

He has several broken bones in his foot.

Go T&T Go.

VIBES IT UP

JAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

RASTAFARIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

HAILE SELASSIE I

KING OF KINGS

LORD OF LORDS

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: Consultant on May 03, 2006, 06:09:36 AM
Rooney needs a miracle - Eriksson  

The same injury ended Rooney's Euro 2004 campaign in Portugal
Striker Wayne Rooney has "more than one fracture" and needs a "miracle" to be fit for the World Cup according to England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson.
Rooney underwent a second scan on his broken metartarsal on Tuesday.

Eriksson said: "I knew yesterday [Tuesday] that he had more than one fracture. Miracles happen in life now and then, but I don't really know."

England and Manchester United's medical teams meet on Thursday to discuss Rooney's chances of making the finals.

Rooney broke his foot against Chelsea on Saturday and an initial scan after the match revealed the fracture.

Eriksson plans to name his 23-man squad on Monday.

Just make sure we keep big Marv. away from him, next thing you know he go want to heal Rooney!  :rotfl:

Post by: Jah Gol on May 03, 2006, 06:12:37 AM
I just saw on the BBC World ticker that Rooney has more than 1 fracture in his foot.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 03, 2006, 06:20:31 AM
Double fracture leaves Rooney needing a 'miracle'

Sven-Goran Eriksson has admitted Wayne Rooney has more than one break in his foot and probably needs a 'miracle' to be fit for the World Cup.

Tackled by Ferreira, Rooney fell to the ground clearly feeling pain in his right foot.

England boss Eriksson has been promised an update from Manchester United on Thursday.

But, at the moment, he plans to name Rooney in his 23-man squad on Monday and then keep his fingers firmly crossed.

Eriksson said: 'I knew yesterday that he had more than one fracture. That's what I heard.

'I don't know what that means but I'm not that pessimistic. I'm born that way.

'Miracles happen in life now and then, but I don't really know.'

When pressed on whether Rooney now needs a miracle, Eriksson, who was at a Carlsberg World Cup event, said: 'Maybe.'

Rooney broke his foot against Chelsea on Saturday. An initial scan after the game showed the break but a second scan yesterday appears to prove there is more than one fracture.

soccernet.com
Post by: E-man on May 03, 2006, 09:59:26 AM
I just saw on the BBC World ticker that Rooney has more than 1 fracture in his foot.

ManU is denying the double fracture report:

United deny Rooney injury rumors

Manchester, England (Sports Network) - Manchester United team officials have denied reports that striker Wayne Rooney's injury could be more severe than what was first determined.

"Despite stories in the press, we believe Wayne Rooney is still six weeks away from full training," the club said in a statement on Wednesday.

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson had reportedly hinted to British media that the striker had fractured two bones as opposed to just one. Eriksson has also said he might pick the striker for the World Cup roster if he is healthy.

Since the injury, the coach has remained optimistic of Rooney's return when asked if the striker had a chance to play in the tournament.

"I think so, miracles happen in life now and then," Eriksson said in a Wednesday press conference.

Rooney, who fractured the fourth metatarsal in his right foot during Saturday's Premiership match between Chelsea and Manchester United, is expected to miss up to six weeks of soccer.

The striker will be in a cast for four of the six weeks and is expected to receive daily treatment for the injury.

The English national team was drawn into Group B of the 2006 FIFA World Cup along with Paraguay, Trinidad & Tobago and Sweden. With the tournament set to begin June 9, FIFA has set a roster deadline for May 15.

Post by: Grande on May 03, 2006, 10:35:29 AM
I heard on FSWC that FIFA have allowed Erikkson until the DAY BEFORE the WC starts to add Rooney to the roster. That's real leeway. Knowing that, I guess all Rooney can do is keep doin the right things for the injury and pray dat it heals by then.

Have to agree with Ferguson saying that idea is ridiculous though....he needs to be training for a few weeks before.
Post by: trinidre on May 03, 2006, 01:45:21 PM
as a t&t supporter it would be better for us to face england without rooney but as a man utd and england supporter I'm very disappointed that he may miss the world cup....rooney is the heart and soul of both man utd and england and is one of the best strikers and best all round players in the world today..he also one of the most talented english players......best of luck wayne rooney
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 03, 2006, 02:28:11 PM
yeh on skysports dey said how is a double fracture but it results in the same six weeks healing span

so if recoveres well he should be fit in time for second round
Post by: Jefferz on May 03, 2006, 02:29:42 PM
yeh on skysports dey said how is a double fracture but it results in the same six weeks healing span

so if recoveres well he should be fit in time for second round

by that time Trinidad will have already won the group so it doesnt matter.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 03, 2006, 02:36:43 PM
yeh but england wudda have came second

but i like your enthusiasm     well done jeff
Post by: real-warrior on May 03, 2006, 04:55:49 PM
hmm! das some serious ting dere boy! de man look like he wanted tuh cry! buh hopefully he might be bak for englands third game! ;D
Post by: rodigan on May 03, 2006, 07:13:31 PM
interesting article i read about how long it takes these things to heal wid so many players havin broken metatarsals.... none within 6 weeks - beckham played in 7, but seven was probably when eh should have started training.

apparently breaking the 4th is slightly better than the usual 5th, because there are metatarsals on either side that act as splints...

perhaps its just me, but if the england players sit back and look at their team without rooney, its still good enough to stop moaning about....

robinson

neville terry ferdinand a cole

beckham lampard gerrard j cole

crouch owen

subs: d james, w bridge, s campbell, j carragher, o hargreaves, m carrick, defoe

i wouldn't be moanin about that team...

and one more thing, if rooney isn't going to make it, i would put fowler in as the 23rd player - he is frankly is no worse than beattie, darius or darren bent and has been forging a good link with crouch at the pool...
Post by: Trini Madness on May 04, 2006, 06:45:11 AM
interesting article i read about how long it takes these things to heal wid so many players havin broken metatarsals.... none within 6 weeks - beckham played in 7, but seven was probably when eh should have started training.

apparently breaking the 4th is slightly better than the usual 5th, because there are metatarsals on either side that act as splints...

perhaps its just me, but if the england players sit back and look at their team without rooney, its still good enough to stop moaning about....

robinson

neville terry ferdinand a cole

beckham lampard gerrard j cole

crouch owen

subs: d james, w bridge, s campbell, j carragher, o hargreaves, m carrick, defoe

i wouldn't be moanin about that team...

and one more thing, if rooney isn't going to make it, i would put fowler in as the 23rd player - he is frankly is no worse than beattie, darius or darren bent and has been forging a good link with crouch at the pool...

that midfield just scares me :nailbiting: