Sports => Football => Topic started by: Touches on May 10, 2006, 11:01:26 PM

Title: D Touches Match Report.....Thank you Latas....TT Plenty work to do still
Post by: Touches on May 10, 2006, 11:01:26 PM
Dear Forumites,

Let us just say this was a training exercise that showed our strengths and weaknesses. The Warriors were lackluster but the mood and vibe in the stands especially after unveiling the Giant Flag more than made up for the performance on the field. I must start with this 60 x 30 Flag......Thank you Warrior Nation for bringing this to the Citizens of T&T, the players on the field and for the world to see come next month in Germany.

When I tell you excitment, we look like the Bernabeau, We look like one of them big side....we look like real fans and it was real fun. If you see the excitment and joy in big grown adult faces, standing and lifting that flag. It was simply priceless!

Now I left work and by extension home a bit later than expected and  headed down to the game around 4pm.
Clad in my new Adidas Latapy jersey I stepped out onto Saddle Road Maraval and eagerly awaited a taxi to drop me near to the Stadium.

It is then I realised how this country has changed......Imagine full cars filled with T&T fans, blowing horns and cheering me on for wearing a Latapy jersey, sending right and giving me thumbs up signs and yet...not one of them would stop to offer me a drop.... I couldn't get a ride in a pick-up tray self.....its not to say I was smelling bad...and I dont consider myself a bad or intimidating looking fella. But anyway to make a long story short you musn't pass fellow SocaWarrior fans in the road when you going to the same place.

Now after meeting Disgruntled Trini on Arapita Ave....we started to stroll into the stadium. Apparently tickets were being scalped for the mere price of $100-$150 dollars outside and if anybody really wanted to go $$$ was not that much of a problem.

There was plenty eye-food upon entering the stadium and entry was painless and hassel free.

Lines were non-existant and the atmosphere was extremely festive. The area by St Johns ambulance had two rows of people checking tickets and bags, but I walked through with ease. To the left was a group of people beating pan and iron. A set of Bmobile confetti flying in the air. The Warrior Village selling merchandise to the right. Busta with paraphanelia to the left. Hawkers trying to peddle the World Cup books and match programs and then there were the freebies..........yes they handed out Warrior Nation car banners, flyers, books/magazines, bmobile Tshirts and finally Clico gave out some rattles.

After using the bmobile service I found Oconnorg at the back of a line with a pressure look on his face but we quickly entered the stadium with no pushing, no hassel and all within 5 minutes.......Good job Stadium organizers.

The only drawback was the stench of Horse Manure....why they bring these animals to football? Geez man...they serve no purpose.

Anyway walked in and the Warrior Nation set up camp on the corner flag.

All and sundry were "primed up" since the shakers lime and everyone was in good spirits, Girl Warrior, Cowen, Andre, Tallman, Freakazoid, Jefferz, Brej, Kandi TT, Met little Jodie P, Reaper2000 and lastly TI and Hardest were there together liming as good bretherins should....all who had doubts about TI and if he was legit, yes he and Hardest are really good partners.

The flag served a dual purpose as it helped mark off a section of seats....The QRC brass band was on the side, everyone had their rattles in hand and we just rock back and waited for the game to start.

Two chutney performances, a Colin Lucas and Sherwayne Winchester later the teams came out on the field.

By then it was around 5:15 and I found the T&T team looked a bit disappointed at the turn out at that time....The Stadium was only half full but it was still early and by kick off time I would estimate 18-20,000 people came to give Latas his farewell.

T&T warmed up in the area near movietown...keeper Jack and Ince doing their thing with brow, the rest of the team doing a positional warm up. With each man in his position on the field doing specific exercises and warm ups....e.g The wing men were doing shuttles up and down the flank. Center men were doing lateral shuffles in a area while interchanging passes. The attacking midfielders were spreading long balls and the fwds were playing a small touch passing game.

In the keeper warm up I was sure Ince was starting as Brow was working feverishly with him, while Jack was just jogging slowly in a line. The funny thing is Jack has a visible limp and looks to be in some sort of discomfort when running...the injury looks like the right knee. Anyway Jack also didn't look too hot as compared to Ince in the Warm up.

The Peruvians had a circle warm up doing shuttles, stretches etc.

After the teams came back out we listened to the Peru anthem...unfurled the flag for the second time...but we get the shake...WI anthem start to play and the WHOLE stadium was confused....then we stood proud and sang our lungs out while standing under the Giant flag.

The Starting line up was a 4-5-1 as follows.

----------------------Jack

Cyd-----Sancho----Lawrence------Avery

Edwards----Birchall---------Whitley-----Latapy

-------------------------Yorke

-------------------------Stern

Opening 5 min Total T&T and we are on the attack. Latapy sets up John who taps down the ball and the Magician lets fly a bullet from the top of the box. Really I thought he should have scored. After that Peru settled and the play was more or less even.

Stern thru away a sitter, a floating ball coming in and unmarked he misheads the ball in the six yard box.

The next glaring sitter/miss was a corner that Sancho unmarked hit overbar.

Apart from that the only other exciting things of the half was a roly poly by Whitley.

A run thru and slap by Whitley from 30 yards out causing the keeper to save.

And a Chain up free kick cross that Latapy hit expertly........... swerving and catching the goalie by surprise. It was eventually cleared off the line by a defender with the goalie haplessly beaten.

Other than that we have No attack...nuttin penetrative, very unimaginative and very predicatable.

It was like the Grenada game, move up the ball via the wing back, reach half line, switch the play and then hope for the best. There is No movement off the ball and we are very stagnant.

Also the players were not supporting each other well and many simple plays were shut down.

Latapy did not do that much on the left wing and was a threat when he moved to the center but a gap was created as there was no left midfielder causing pressure on Avery. Hence he did not venture fwd, provide an overlap or any kinda outlet.

The goal that scored by Peru was simply a piece of shit mistake by three players...Cyd, Sancho and Jack....I will not fault Whitley too much because even though he lost the ball there was ample time to clean up.

Ball is lost by Whitley...bounces from a header and a Peru player hits Cyd a cyap near the corner flag. Cyd kinda recovers but he is left out as the fwd heads the ball past him and runs around his body. Sancho full of gusto rushes in......only to swipe Fresh Breeze and is easily skipped past. Jack then charges out the goal dives at the player and misses totally. The result....Peru Man walks into a empty net and Tallest scrambling as he was marking some players inside the area.

Spirits drop but we in the stands try to drum up support.

Then Beenie switched to a 4-4-2. Putting WHitley Left midfield and Latapy up front with Stern.

For the Stern haters.....he purge, not one of his better games, threw away and just didn't look the part tonight.

Three minutes before half time Latapy was subbed to a standing ovation and he made a lap of honour, his replacement for a corbeaux sweat Collin Samuel.

Tweet.......... went the half and down I went to the toilet to break the seal.

Upon the resumption

Stern was subbed for Jones, Scotland for Yorke, Theobold for Birchall, Spann for Cyd and Cox for Sancho.

Forumites, Samuel have pace and speed but the final quality cross or touch just ent there. Scotland looked lively and Jones was just trouble.

I said it vs Alianza Lima and I will say it again....Jones is needed up front and we should partner him with Yorke..... Bench Stern !!! the 4-5-1 not cuttin it at this level.

Peru didn't threaten and I think all credit should be on the midfield which closed down spaces and won tackles effectively.

Honestly we didn't look bad, but we didn't look good and we need to be more imaginative in attack...faster...more pace and less slow and telegraphed.

Possession was good but we did nothing with it. We didn't create anything and when we finally got a momentum with Jones or Scotland the final cross would let us down.

I dont think Marvin Dog Andrews played...Cox was alright, Sancho made a mistake that cost us a goal but was ok nuttin special, Cyd hrrmmm, Avery so so. Carlos was poor. Dennis Tallest Lawrence was good, Yorke was labouring tonight, Latapy look weary, Birchall was quiet but he did the donkey work effectively. The only person who look like they had some purpose and Hungry was Whitley...That man will be the star of our World Cup watch and see. Stern...poor, Latapy average, Jones good, Scotland good, Theobold nuttin special.

The T&T goal came when Samuel burst tru...setta speed and was fouled. Up came Kenwyne who let fly from 30 yards a ground that either curved or passed under the wall...low and hard stringing up the keeper.

After that the game petered out and just slow possession and stroking the ball around the park. We were encouraged to stay on after the final whistle and the players were given medals while we were treated to a fireworks display.

Yeah so that's it for this one...just a step up from the Grenada game, we keeping possession well but we not doing anything with it.

We conceded a goal from a stupid mistake and we did not capitalise on our chances.

Also Jack was forced to make a big save on a few occasions when Peru sprint past Sancho and Lawrence and hit a low shot.

But at the end of the day.....is the Warriors we went to see. Nuttin stood out in the game to say T&T or Peru was better than each other and we have plenty work to do.

We not beating nobody come June with a display like what we put out tonight and I hope in the subsequent games we step up a lil more as a unit.

Until next time....
Title: Re: D Touches Match Report.....Thank you Latas....TT Plenty work to do still
Post by: palos on May 10, 2006, 11:10:30 PM
Thanks as usual bro.  About how much people so was in de WN zone?
Title: Re: D Touches Match Report.....Thank you Latas....TT Plenty work to do still
Post by: Touches on May 10, 2006, 11:13:46 PM
We didnt really have a WN zone...Ask Tallman and Oconnorg what happen.

SO it was just all the forumites and friends...I would estimate about 30 of us in a section mingling with the rest of the crowd.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 10, 2006, 11:15:56 PM
like I tell all yuh in the Stadium

Stern "No Way In Hell" John

Andre
Cowen
Tallman
TrueTrini

if all yuh still want to back that man after that shit today all yuh have no conscience
and I know to myself all yuh see what I was talking bout all the time

the man does play lackluster have no shot and like I tell all yuh on Sunday that post up and lay off not working for him as evidence by todays play

Jones come on and change the whole game taking the ball and running
he have speed and skill and he have a wicked outside shot

but
Stern is all yuh hero
I sure in he in Zen grinning he pan as I type no worries in the world cause Russel and Dwight go beg for him as usual
Post by: breezers on May 10, 2006, 11:23:10 PM
Yeah Touches ah relly believe Whitley is de BOSS too....anyway thanks fuh de report..Respec!!!!!!
Post by: Themanfriday on May 11, 2006, 12:32:43 AM
Thank you Touches.
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2006, 12:39:01 AM
Goofy why yuh doh post when Stern score?

Thanks for the report Touches.

Rangers organize long time for Marvin Andrews to stay with them for some game or the other.  Leo say dat long time.
Post by: triniairman on May 11, 2006, 01:11:23 AM
thanks touches as usual it was a good report
Post by: StoreBayLimer on May 11, 2006, 01:19:10 AM

Thanks for the report
Post by: thane on May 11, 2006, 01:23:10 AM
i for one really rate kenwyn..i tink he has a lot of potetial...these were my words since he was playing in  north zone for st.anthony's. but  having said that i will never really write of stern cause his track record is proven..an the man scores wen it really matters.i remember b4 d gautemala game..i was hell bent on benchin stern...den he scored the 2 crucial goals...an my foot was in my mouth..after dat i say leave him be!!
Post by: trinidad badboy on May 11, 2006, 02:07:43 AM

rate up kenwyne big time too

nice report

Title: We don't need Beenie...we need Wise!
Post by: arrow on May 11, 2006, 02:17:58 AM
Under all the old talk, Beenie is not going to lace up his boots and run the left wing in Germany.
If he doesn't pick Wise we have no chance of beating anyone so what is the point of paying his big salary?  If Beenie doesn't Wise up he needs to be let go.  Saudi Arabia could vouch for that.
Post by: Flex on May 11, 2006, 02:59:13 AM
(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20060511/capt.45038dd10afb4c08a26883245655a72a.trinidad_and_tobago_peru_soccer_xbl107.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago coach Leo Benhakker leaves the field after a friendly match against Peru, in Port-of -Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Wednesday, May 10, 2006. The match ended in a draw.Trinidad's team had already qualified for this summers World Cup in Germany. ..(AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur).

(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20060511/capt.ab0971ce08014a388fdf9bc2ea5de970.trinidad_and_tobago_peru_soccer_xbl106.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago's Collins Samuel (12) attacks A Peru DEFENDER during a friendly match held in Port-of -Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Wednesday, May 10, 2006. The match ended in a draw. Trinidad's team had already qualified for this summers World Cup in Germany. ..(AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur).

(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20060511/capt.f6acaa301bd148a590ae75b9423cf6c5.trinidad_and_tobago_peru_soccer_xbl105.jpg)
Trinidad and Tobago Captain Dwight York (19) faces Peru's Miguel Angel Vallalta (2) while Dennis Lawrence of Trinidad and Tobago looks on during a friendly match held in Port-of -Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Wednesday, May 10, 2006. Trinidad's team had already qualified for this summer's World Cup in Germany. ..(AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur).

(http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20060511/capt.e7ea1df433144c07b1a9b47761b8e090.trinidad_and_tobago_peru_soccer_xbl104.jpg)
Cyd Gray of Trinidad and Tobago, middle, tackles Peru's George Patrick Forsyth, left, as Paulo Rinaldo Cruzado of Peru looks on during a friendly match held in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Wednesday, May 10, 2006. Trinidad's team had already qualified for this summers World Cup in Germany. ..(AP Photo/Shirley Bahadur).
Post by: injunchile on May 11, 2006, 04:03:46 AM
The Technical Director's view after the First game against Bahrain is that the players do not gell when they return for a game after a lay off. When they stay together for a while. then the chemistry starts to kick in. His view prior to the 2nd game against Bahrain.
 Let us hope that now that they will live together , we will see an improvement in the next game.
 Congrats and best wishes.
Post by: marcel on May 11, 2006, 04:23:39 AM
it was a traing game
what did you expect?
6-0?

Im from holland and we have NEVER played a good traing game

i think beenhakker has seen things that he can train on now,thanks to this match.

and the training is nessesary because the tjechie match is coming!

expect a loss (hate to say it)

i expect a lot off negativeness on this site then,people who critisise beenhakker and the defence.

i think a lot of people here think t&t is on top of the world....but...
this is only the beginning!
finally t&t can play against the big nations and be part of the grand circus
life to learn and be there again in 4 years,that would be a great acomplisement.

but the people thinkin that t&t will survive the first round in 2006 are NOT realistic

Post by: samo on May 11, 2006, 04:50:57 AM
thanx touches... Good report as usual...
Remember world cup is less than a month away... I am sure players not putting 100% in de game for fear of injury...
Post by: Flex on May 11, 2006, 05:36:54 AM
This team hasn't been together since Feb and we are in May, I also prefer we lose now and not when the World Cup begins. Things can only get better once our tour/camp starts, lets have some faith guys, maybe the team was instructed to try certain things and not just look for a result. I am sure it was a very emotional day for players who may not play in T&T again (Latapy, Yorke, Lawrence, Cox, John, Gray, Avery and Jack), not to mention after the world cup we may not see many of the foriegn based players until the next qualifiers starts back (2008)... so you can expect some dis-comfort to a point.

And Touches, thanx for the report, concerning T&T's performance, their is always room for improvement. For the least, I believe Wise should be called into camp, we need some depth on the left side.
Post by: freakazoid on May 11, 2006, 05:45:25 AM
where would wise b playing?
Post by: freakazoid on May 11, 2006, 05:52:14 AM
its obvious tnt is playing to a plan. where we are going to hold  d ball in midfield and not rush the game but wait for the oppsition to come to us or wait for holes to open up. this would definitely b more effective againnstt  the bigger squads who think we are walk overs. in the 1st half we walked tha ball right up to the peru 18 yard resulting in a birchall shot. that was certainly a positive. we have shown now more than ever b4 when we are down we are not out. and i believe teams will have to play very good against us to score more than 2 goals aginst us. the defense of the whole team is greatly improved
Post by: Arazi on May 11, 2006, 06:03:06 AM
touches, yuh match report was decent there, BUH D GOAL WAS NOT A MISTAKE BY SANCHO, IT WAS CYD GRAY WHO RUN IN LIKE A MADMAN AND BUTT WAY D BALL FROM SANCHO WHEN HE CLEARLY WAS GONNA WIN D BALL LEAVING SANCHO AND JACK COMPLETELY HELPLESS.... i eh go lie tho Stern john rel was out of this game, Carlos rel didn't play dat good either... AND CYD GRAY WAS REL SUSPECT THIS GAME HE SHUD GO BACK TO WEARING #24 CUZ HE REL BALLZ DOWN IN DA #8.....
Post by: Trini Madness on May 11, 2006, 06:19:41 AM
thanks for the report touches......excellent stuff  :beermug:

i continued watching the post game interviews on pointalive.com,  latapy did say that it was an emotional game for him.

LATAPY
Post by: Observer on May 11, 2006, 06:30:25 AM
good report Touches thank U. All things considered Beenie now has an idea where he needs to start work. So lets say fete done, back to wok on serious preparation. Two weeks of some very serious fitness work and team understanding and balance.
Post by: scooby on May 11, 2006, 07:08:18 AM
Touches thanks for the report, All hats off to Latas for all the beautiful football he played over the years. Yes people we have alot of work to do I have always taught  our defence ito be  very weak we have no real sweeper who can really the game and organise the defence. The coach may have to really scarfice and go with a 5 3 2 system for the simple fact we need latas in the middle for his creative genius, as good as yorke has been in the middle we have no choice but to move him up front with either jones or stern, yorke is our micheal jordan he will get the attention and call from the ref that our other players will not get plus he will draw the attention of the defence so the other foward can operate more freely just my take on things
Post by: AB.Trini on May 11, 2006, 07:19:24 AM
As per usual thanks for the  A class report.

People who saw the game  'live' which player do you think is on the bubble?
Post by: grskywalker on May 11, 2006, 07:26:42 AM
I think we should play either a 3-5-2 or 4-4-2. Anyway as I said in another post we should wait to see the progression over the next month. We will be training more playing more without league, or club concerns. This is what has been missing and I think it would be the final factor that would make this team gell and be a force to be reckoned with.

BUT LORD I PRAYING FOR WE DEFENSE!!!! GEEEZ WE NEED SOME MIRACLES IN THAT AREA. THEM TEAMS GO BE BLAZING PAST JOHN AND GRAY
Post by: Big Magician on May 11, 2006, 07:29:18 AM
well said observer......alberta...the players on the bubble obviously did not play.....wolffe...charles and roughier....and well with glenn injured...but he looked in great spirits
Post by: AB.Trini on May 11, 2006, 07:33:03 AM
Thanks Big M.
Post by: freakazoid on May 11, 2006, 07:36:26 AM
any1 who is suggesting a change in formation rating our team a bit too high and not seeing what beenie plan is. ah keeping it real. if we are chasing the game (like in bahrain)then 4-4-2 other than that we try to controll the midfield and contol the game waiting 4 gaps to open up. whether u like it or not ,that seems to me the way beenie is approaching it.
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 07:47:14 AM
well done touches is nice
Post by: andre samuel on May 11, 2006, 07:58:54 AM
Well done Touches!!

i now reach home from work last night, pressure!!

Mr. Disgruntled Trini, yuh right about Stern, he should be on de bench!!

Kenwyne play de kinda game that should make him a starter!!

We looked so much better when samuel and jones were on the field!!

i think we should be playing 4-4-2
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 08:09:16 AM
Well done Touches!!

ah fine alya rel quick to turn yuh back on stern
yeah he had a bad game but no one plays well all de time
he is a proven goal scorer just ended the season in fine form for coventry
lead us in scoring in qualifying
pretty much saved us against guatemala and mexico
and jus so alya wa throw de man on de bench
Title: I would have likedto have seen Rougier in the role of the sweeper
Post by: Ngozi on May 11, 2006, 08:15:24 AM
I'm still concerned bout the defense Sancho gives you a good game for 89mins but is always involved with goals against us some kinda mistake Ive oserved this even with his club at times . But I still prefer him to  tallest
Post by: andre samuel on May 11, 2006, 08:20:46 AM
Brej,

i am a stern fan, but i am willing to call a spade a spade.  I am not as extreme as Disgruntled Trini, but i can tell u that what i saw of Kenwyne is enough to tell me that Stern's pick in the starting X1 should not be automatic!!

We must be carefull that we dont turn stern into Raul from Real Madrid, ie keeping him on de team based on past exploits!!

Post by: Marcos on May 11, 2006, 08:22:10 AM
Fellas I said this before and will say it again.
The fact that Stern gets chances....(even if he throws them away)....is a skill within itself.
He gets more chances than anyone else on our team and I think that is a testament to his positional play and awareness.
He is a necessity and Beenie, Dwigt and Latas know that.
Having said that, I get just as frustrated when he squanders opportunities.
Post by: Cantona007 on May 11, 2006, 08:25:49 AM
Thanks Touches, good report as usual. Hopefully some day I'll be able to join you guys
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 08:29:19 AM
Brej,

i am a stern fan, but i am willing to call a spade a spade.  I am not as extreme as Disgruntled Trini, but i can tell u that what i saw of Kenwyne is enough to tell me that Stern's pick in the starting X1 should not be automatic!!

We must be carefull that we dont turn stern into Raul from Real Madrid, ie keeping him on de team based on past exploits!!

well yuh mus remember da beenie man used to coach madrid
but to be honest i didnt see much from kenwyne, congrats to him he took a well taken goal, but  he was lucky it managed to find its way through the wall. Also other than that goal he made little impact he throw away a sitter made a few good runs but nothing indicating that he deserves a starting place on the side. At least not infront of stern maybe with him as we did in bahrain.
Post by: prodigy23 on May 11, 2006, 08:35:15 AM
Y is it everytime stern have a bad game, men on this forum does call for him to be benched????? d fact of the matter is stern is clearly our number one striker and its gonna remain that way until someone else steps up. i rate scotland and jones but they're not on stern's level just yet. so please give the d talk about benching stern a break. thanks
Post by: masterblaster on May 11, 2006, 08:45:59 AM
Thanks for a great report Touches!!! 

I agree that it wasn't the best performance by the Soca Warriors but Beenie knows what he is doing.  He is getting the team to play more possession football.  Let us face it for years Trinidad has always played exciting attacking football...that is our style.  However, our agressive attacking style has not been able to hold up to international standards as we play as group of individuals, not a TEAM.  Now, beenie is introducing us to Total Football as it is played in Holland.
We have guys who can always score goals....(Stern, Kenwyne, Yorke, Latapy, Scotland, Glenn)....All Beenie is doing now is introducing DISCIPLINE to the team so when they get to Germany they will have composure against the top teams in the world.
Post by: Pointman on May 11, 2006, 08:51:35 AM
it was a traing game
what did you expect?
6-0?

Im from holland and we have NEVER played a good traing game

i think beenhakker has seen things that he can train on now,thanks to this match.

and the training is nessesary because the tjechie match is coming!

expect a loss (hate to say it)

i expect a lot off negativeness on this site then,people who critisise beenhakker and the defence.

i think a lot of people here think t&t is on top of the world....but...
this is only the beginning!
finally t&t can play against the big nations and be part of the grand circus
life to learn and be there again in 4 years,that would be a great acomplisement.

but the people thinkin that t&t will survive the first round in 2006 are NOT realistic

Remember Senegal!!
Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2006, 09:16:27 AM
Touches you better than them jokers who write in the papers. The fellas from my observation always play better away from home. So I look forward to the guys working hard in camp and come June 10th I will be happy like pappy when we take the field in Germany and scream when I see that WN flag.

Beenie over to you.
Post by: Arazi on May 11, 2006, 09:42:31 AM
Well done Touches!!

alyuh trinis funny eh, other than score d freekick what did kenwayne jones do, miss a sitter and run in spaces which in most cases were not dangerous and he never really eluded his marker, is he exciting yes, is he better opinoon for stiker than stern no!!!! he is stil incomplete, alyuh does get 2 caught up in d flam, beenehakker tried out stuff yday off course the team was not going to play at it's beat is a warm up game not crucia group stage match, shit man...
buh we really need 2 be playing 2 strikers, it's gonna be very easy for england and sweden to mark stern or anyone out of  d game with one up front...
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 11, 2006, 09:51:02 AM
like I tell all yuh in the Stadium

Stern "No Way In Hell" John

Andre
Cowen
Tallman
TrueTrini

if all yuh still want to back that man after that shit today all yuh have no conscience
and I know to myself all yuh see what I was talking bout all the time

the man does play lackluster have no shot and like I tell all yuh on Sunday that post up and lay off not working for him as evidence by todays play

Jones come on and change the whole game taking the ball and running
he have speed and skill and he have a wicked outside shot

but
Stern is all yuh hero
I sure in he in Zen grinning he pan as I type no worries in the world cause Russel and Dwight go beg for him as usual

:rotfl:  like yuh see he, Yorke and Latas on Triniscene.com  They were out liming.  I know they are professional, but dem fellas does lime too much when they come home for games.  After the game is OK, but they must try to keep a low profile before games.  The nostalgia of being home does get to men.  I think we will be more focused when we get away from the fanfare and buckle down to the camps in Europe.
Post by: SHOTTA on May 11, 2006, 09:55:58 AM
big up forumites

i was reallll sick in da game i drank a bummy supligen the night before and it had meh sick badd

i see d flag in it original spot nexting i kno soca playing and my flag jumpin up inm front by d 18yrad box

i was too sick to seek out members but yuh kno how it is

big up all who was dey points of note

silviospann reallllllllllllllllllllllllllll slow down d game

as stern biggest supporter if he dont get d ball he dont do much we have seen this from since the beginning of the hex so this is nuttin new

i cant believe when i score d chances we say he is d best wen he play lala we say bench him

statring line up for world cup should alternate between bahrain match and iceland match

big up 60ft flag men
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 11, 2006, 09:56:52 AM
Lets not breat up on stern

he can only do well when he gets good service. he misses 2 and scores 2 and thats good enough. What we should be concentrating on is the pull stones on the team. Take Theobald for instance never really contributed positively to the team and is still there (unlike stern) WISE is needed we need creativity as is we are stagnant and not penetrating!!! My line up

Stern    Jones

Latapy

Wise        Whittley         Yorke                 Edwards

Avery       Lawerence         Sancho

Jack

Samuel for wise Sub
Latas off = Yorke move up put birchall
Scotaland on = take off jones or stern
Defence= bring on dog or extra defender if we are 2 on top

There is no room for theobald on this team, he has made no impact in his career club or county that is why he is out of a job at present. he needs work and confidence we cannot accept that for the world cup but i think he deserves a free flight because he has been there from the begining

What do you think!!!!
Post by: kappy on May 11, 2006, 10:06:27 AM

he can only do well when he gets good service. he misses 2 and scores 2 and thats good enough. What we should be concentrating on is the pull stones on the team. Take Theobald for instance never really contributed positively to the team and is still there (unlike stern) WISE is needed we need creativity as is we are stagnant and not penetrating!!! My line up

Stern    Jones

Latapy

Wise        Whittley         Yorke                 Edwards

Avery       Lawerence         Sancho

Jack

Samuel for wise Sub

There is no room for theobald on this team, he has made no impact in his career club or county that is why he is out of a job at present. he needs work and confidence we cannot accept that for the world cup but i think he deserves a free flight because he has been there from the begining

What do you think!!!!

Interesting line up ... but don't you think its a bit dangerous to play Latas and Yorke together in the early stages of a WC match.  I think either / or but not both.  There experience will be neccessay later on in games.  Birchall and Whitley are forming a good partnership in the middle.  The question is wheter our fowards are hungry enough to shake off the ball to foot attitude and put in extra work.  I think Scotland annd Stren up front.
Post by: kicker on May 11, 2006, 10:07:36 AM
thanks for the report Touches...

The summary of the game on big soccer seemed to imply that Jack was the difference between us drawing and losing that match...according to them "Peru was the brighter of the two sides".........and their report talks about 3 point blank saves....I'll stay optimistic and stick with d Touches report though...

Nevertheless it sounds like Jack made a big claim last night for a start in Germany....
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 10:21:10 AM
yeah i thought he made a big claim for it last night
but its hard to say no to a FA cup champion goalkeeper (presuming west ham win)
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 11, 2006, 10:30:41 AM
Kappy i hear yuh good suggestions too

i'll can bean and see if there are still any tech directors jobs still open

my biggest concern is to send our best 23 and man i think wise deserves a chance he is willing to take it to the opposition, theobald is not, this last game was the same, as any defence gives him the ball he passes it back to them or looks for the quickest short pass left or right he plays with no real intension no BIG PASSION . on several occasions he found him self with the ball just outside the box with no body on him, i was screaming take it to them theo but no no shot no advancing play even if he hit over bar and wide it would sugest that he had some level of confidence for crying out lord its a friendly!!!!!!!that we need with wise in we have more creative options for whittley latas and york in the middle of the park and the hardest working man birchall there by making more room for creativity on the flanks for carlos and wise

colin samuel is good but he has to think more of a midfield role not fwd he runs with no real intension (which is good some times so does jones) but you gotta figure out how to deliver the ball to the lads in the middle

Post by: kappy on May 11, 2006, 10:41:56 AM

my biggest concern is to send our best 23 and man i think wise deserves a chance he is willing to take it to the opposition, theobald is not, this last game was the same, as any defence gives him the ball he passes it back to them or looks for the quickest short pass left or right he plays with no real intension no BIG PASSION . on several occasions he found him self with the ball just outside the box with no body on him, i was screaming take it to them theo but no no shot no advancing play even if he hit over bar and wide it would sugest that he had some level of confidence for crying out lord its a friendly!!!!!!!that we need with wise in we have more creative options for whittley latas and york in the middle of the park and the hardest working man birchall there by making more room for creativity on the flanks for carlos and wise

colin samuel is good but he has to think more of a midfield role not fwd he runs with no real intension (which is good some times so does jones) but you gotta figure out how to deliver the ball to the lads in the middle

Mock de Dread next tech dir at TTFF with Latas as head coach ...

I don't believe in the training game thing ... winning builds confidence ... as far a Theo i agree he needs to shot more often ... i didn't count but it seemd that Whitley had a lot of shots just outside the box ... the thing is the team needs to work on the passion part of the game ... thats why they should approach each and every game not aas a practice game but one we want to win reguardless of the team that is put together ... at times they seem not to have a fire in the belly ... who knows as the WC approaches then maybe ... i have always been a supporter of Wise ... i think he can make a major difference in the composition of the team ...
Post by: pardners on May 11, 2006, 10:57:09 AM
If Beenie was to take on the advice of men on this forum, well boy....trouble !!!

All in all, I find the game was nice.  The media was bigging up the game as a 'farewell-to-the-boys' game from the very start.  It appears as though the public buy that line too.  I not too sure if that is how the players or Beenie saw it though.  Ah know plenty head woulda be hurting this morning is we had lost the game.

One thing I could say is that it could be a strategy of starting Stern and then bringing on Jones / Samuel / Glen, because the pace dem fellas does be running with, it would be hard to sustain that level of intensity for 90 mins.  The other thing is that when you bring on a pace man like dem when the defenders legs done weary, their style of play would make them more effective...just my opinion...me eh no coach.

I would have liked to see Wise in this game, just to see how he compares to quality defenders, rather than them Grenadians.
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 11, 2006, 11:15:07 AM

sorry folks that was supposed to read i'll CALL bean not can him lol ma bad

true i would have liked to see wise against a better opposition not that i have anything against Grenadaians, i in fact know a sweet girl from there lol

but i saw him(wise) paly vs bayern in germany and also one or two of his other matches and he's worth a a chance (thats why he is currently employed even if its currently for a second division team he did hold his own in first division too) .......but this theobald fella i dunno i mean i would put him on my side the one that sweats in the savannah that is

still theo boy (nothing personal ) i just want the best team possible, i will still tell jack take u to germany for free any day because u too are a warrior!!!

AND ALSO MR JACK WARNER!!! I DONT MIND PAYING 300 TO SEE THE GAME BUT COME ON TICKETS SELLING OUTSIDE FOR 50-100 BUCKS ABUNDANT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AS SPALK WOULD SAY WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!(SHAKE YOUR MONITORS FOR BETTER EFFECT) THAT IS REDIC WE COULD HAVE PAID 200 AND FULL THE DAMN STADIUM AND SHOW OUR BOYS THAT WE ARE 150% BEHIND THEM. WE SOLD A 500 TICKET FOR 50 CAUSE THERE WAS SO MUCH COMPETITION TICKETS LITERALLY GIVING AWAY OUTSIDE
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 12:55:07 PM
where would wise b playing?

I would think on the left side like he usually plays
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 12:56:53 PM
its obvious tnt is playing to a plan. where we are going to hold  d ball in midfield and not rush the game but wait for the oppsition to come to us or wait for holes to open up. this would definitely b more effective againnstt  the bigger squads who think we are walk overs. in the 1st half we walked tha ball right up to the peru 18 yard resulting in a birchall shot. that was certainly a positive. we have shown now more than ever b4 when we are down we are not out. and i believe teams will have to play very good against us to score more than 2 goals aginst us. the defense of the whole team is greatly improved

I think our defence has greatly improved also....i dont think we've conceeded more than one goal a game if any since beenie took over....correct me if I'm wrong
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 01:03:27 PM
Thanks for a great report Touches!!! 

I agree that it wasn't the best performance by the Soca Warriors but Beenie knows what he is doing.  He is getting the team to play more possession football.  Let us face it for years Trinidad has always played exciting attacking football...that is our style.  However, our agressive attacking style has not been able to hold up to international standards as we play as group of individuals, not a TEAM.  Now, beenie is introducing us to Total Football as it is played in Holland.
We have guys who can always score goals....(Stern, Kenwyne, Yorke, Latapy, Scotland, Glenn)....All Beenie is doing now is introducing DISCIPLINE to the team so when they get to Germany they will have composure against the top teams in the world.

well said  :applause:
Post by: Grande on May 11, 2006, 01:04:20 PM
Nice report Touches, it is much appreciated by all de foreign based. Thanks  :beermug:
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 01:10:19 PM

Stern    Jones

Latapy

Wise        Whittley         Yorke                 Edwards

Avery       Lawerence         Sancho

Jack

Samuel for wise Sub

What do you think!!!!

Interesting line up ... but don't you think its a bit dangerous to play Latas and Yorke together in the early stages of a WC match.  I think either / or but not both.  There experience will be neccessay later on in games.  Birchall and Whitley are forming a good partnership in the middle.  The question is wheter our fowards are hungry enough to shake off the ball to foot attitude and put in extra work.  I think Scotland annd Stren up front.

that is an interesting line up and may work out in certain situations...the only thing I have to say is that whatever line up we go with, birchall and whitley need to be our 2 central midfielders because they both do the defensive, ball winning and distribution work
Post by: Touches on May 11, 2006, 01:12:11 PM
Hear why man want Stern benched, and this is me included.

At this level you do not get many chances...maybe one-two per game and you have to make them count.

We are not creative enough to give stern 5-6 chances to throw away.

Because Stern always starts and in most instances gets a full 90....we are left to wonder what if?

I saw a Yorke/Jones combo and I find it was the best attacking ball we play.

As we have friendlies lewwe give two new men a chance and learn to mix it up.

Lastly it is also a numbers thing....playing a 4-5-1....vs a 4-4-2.....yuh ent have to be a genius to see Stern is marked off.

It is another factor to consider when men trying to cross a ball.....none of them name beckham, and to pick out Stern after he plant himself between three defenders is kinda hard to do which is why our play in the final third of the field is impotent.

But honestly I think the midfield did well defensively, closing down space and channels and forming the protective barrier infront of the defence and we kept possession well. two positives coming out of the game
Post by: Grande on May 11, 2006, 01:25:52 PM
My take:

To pull Yorke out of midfield and put him as a striker is asking for significantly less chances on goal. In terms of creativity and distribution, Yorke is the best we have in midfield. That is where yuh does see de experience and class. We need Yorke behind the strikers. That said, I prefer a Stern/Jones attack rather than a Yorke/Jones. Yorke tends to find himself forward on numerous times anyway, but if he himself say he prefers central mid yuh have to say well he knows himself best.
Post by: grskywalker on May 11, 2006, 01:29:48 PM
This the ting wit Stern if he do get ball straight for him he pushing to socre. Now the man have a killer shot when he on, but I wish Beenie should just try Cornell if he fit, to start with Kenwayne
Post by: kappy on May 11, 2006, 01:46:52 PM
This the ting wit Stern if he do get ball straight for him he pushing to socre. Now the man have a killer shot when he on, but I wish Beenie should just try Cornell if he fit, to start with Kenwayne

somebody email Beenie dis tread ... i think if he bench Stern a little bit it might make him wonder .. and then he might sttart working harder ... beenie go try a ting in one of the games coming up ...
Post by: Pointman on May 11, 2006, 01:49:05 PM

somebody email Beenie dis tread ... i think if he bench Stern a little bit it might make him wonder .. and then he might sttart working harder ... beenie go try a ting in one of the games coming up ...

Benching Stern Jihn is out of the question, that WILL NOT happen. Beenie riding Stern all the way to Germany. Doh worry allyuh Stern go find he goal scoring feet just now.
Post by: kappy on May 11, 2006, 01:52:51 PM

Benching Stern Jihn is out of the question, that WILL NOT happen. Beenie riding Stern all the way to Germany. Doh worry allyuh Stern go find he goal scoring feet just now.

what wrong with a strategic bench ... give kenwayne a shot ... we need 2 strikers on the field
Post by: g on May 11, 2006, 02:47:22 PM
 ??? This thread like a time warp back to the "Post Gold Cup, pre Guatemala game" days, allyuh men cah be serious....

In Beenie i trust..
Post by: Big Magician on May 11, 2006, 02:50:54 PM
hear nah ..when allyuh go f#ckin learn....???....allyuh start back this stern ting again......hear nah...leh me go and bade and go out yes
Post by: Trinimassive on May 11, 2006, 02:59:51 PM
I find some fellas does lose patience too easily where Stern is concerned. Stern has proven himself time and time again and will prove himself time and time again. He WILL explode in the World Cup.

On another note...

Thanks for the match report Touches. On point as usual and making everybody feel like we all were there. :chilling:
Post by: Warrior till death on May 11, 2006, 03:17:55 PM
i weas rell disappointed..i find our ball movement and distribution esp in the midfield was too slow man
i know this the style that beenhakker uses
but iz wayyy to slow for our kinda game...maybe for a europen team who posess great crossers of the ball etc.
but we are a caribbean team with a Caribbean flair..we need a short ball game like waht was seen with Peru....quick touches and quick movement
sadly to say..i not sure if daz beenie stye of play...but i think that style suits us best..rather than the slow balls and slow movement almost dead on the field..... :-\
ALL RESPECT BEENIE
Post by: kicker on May 11, 2006, 03:26:20 PM
i weas rell disappointed..i find our ball movement and distribution esp in the midfield was too slow man
but iz wayyy to slow for our kinda game...maybe for a europen team who posess great crossers of the ball etc.
but we are a caribbean team with a Caribbean flair..we need a short ball game like waht was seen with Peru....quick touches and quick movement
sadly to say..i not sure if daz beenie stye of play...but i think that style suits us best..rather than the slow balls and slow movement almost dead on the field..... :-\
ALL RESPECT BEENIE
but sometimes i wonder if a south american coach would have best

European teams don't move the ball slowly.......some might argue that the European game is alot faster compared to other continents.......and let's face it, we don't really have alot of individual flair on our team either......

.....our game is slow by all standards....European, South American etc..........I think it will quicken with increased fitness, and better chemistry....
Post by: Warrior till death on May 11, 2006, 03:27:58 PM
ALL RESPECT BEENIE

European teams don't move the ball slowly........our game is slow by al standards...European, South American......Global on the whole...

den what Beenie doin!?
i would tink he bring a european style to our game..cuz daz where he hails from....
Post by: kicker on May 11, 2006, 03:31:32 PM
ALL RESPECT BEENIE

European teams don't move the ball slowly........our game is slow by al standards...European, South American......Global on the whole...

den what Beenie doin!?
i would tink he bring a european style to our game..cuz daz where he hails from....

Not sure...but I'm pretty sure within the next month we'll see alot of improvement in the cohesion of the team...the fitness levels as well...which I think would add to a better all round team game (in terms of speed, chemistry imagination, sharpness & overal soundness)...at least I hope so...and I hope that's the plan.
Post by: skillful on May 11, 2006, 04:07:01 PM
Was it that an undermanned Peru cannot beat us, or is T&T at this level is still an average team?...........oh yeah,Stern John is still the best scorer we have ...even if Zamora came on board. There is a reason why he is our leading scorer.  GOOD TOUCH!
Post by: Trini on May 11, 2006, 04:47:14 PM
1) Once Stern fit, he WILL ALWAYS START. Let us pray that Glen gets healthy. Kenwyne does ok, but when he comes in as a sub.

2) The defense is our major concern, as it has been ever since....We have to cut out silly mistakes in the back. At WC level, them teams will punish us very badly. If we go in dey making chuppid mistakes, we can expect to be drubbed. We have time still, Beenie will work on it.

3) Is it just me, but anyone realise that T&T is a team that cannot attack against a team that has a set defense? No wonder we look so predictable and slow. But once we on the counter attack and running, we always dangerous. Sweden and England have some of the best defensive combinations in the world. When they set up, do we have a clue how to try to break them down? Do we have the patience to play possession football in the opposite half? Do we even have the quality to even attempt to try that? In my opinion, we hadda play all the 3 team in the WC against the run of play, of a very congested midfield and try to run at them in the last third.

4) Its certain now, Jack will start in Germany, once fit. Shaka is backup.

5) Colin Samuel wil have to start all 3 games. We need Evans Wise as cover, cause if Samuel get injured or suspended, we will have to resort to Latapy on the left, which is too slow and he not fit enough to take on them english wingbacks for a full game. Latas will be our 25 min sub to bring something special.

As far as I see our starting 11 vs Sweden:

Jack
Cyd
Dog & Lawrence
Avery
Carlos
Dwight and Birchall
Samuel
Stern and Glen/Jones

We have some decent depth in Sancho, Shaka, Latas, Theobald. Thats about it, we dont have 22-24 world class players, so Beenie have to use all of his wily skills and experience.
My main concern is the mistakes of the defense and our impotency in attack against set defenses.
Also we hadda take in consideration that Beenie may have been real experimenting with tactics and obviously doesnt want to give too much away with swedish, english and paraguay scouts in the stands.
Post by: Filho on May 11, 2006, 04:56:19 PM
our ball movement has always been slow, so I eh know why men suprised.  We seem to play a more 'safety-first' possession game with a  deliberate focus on not losing the ball foolishly. The focus also seems to be on maintaining shape and packing a 5-man midfield so we could more easily apply pressure and win the ball back in the midfield when we lose it. We probably going to need a dense midfield in the WC against technically stronger, faster players.

To play a faster one and two touch game in attack, you need extremely fit, mobile players with fine technique. You also need players with individual speed and good chemistry. We will improve, but we will not be a quick, slick passing team in the WC..not against the caliber of opponents we are going to face. We will focus on defensive discipline and stability... a compact and hard working midfield with individual speed and skill coming from one or two players (particulalry out wide)...with a lone forward foraging for scraps. Whitley, York and Birchall will take turns helping out in attack with 1 always staying slightly back. Avery and Cyd will hardly leave home and will focus on defensive duties.Tactics will change as games progress, but with the limited talent in our team, where we really have looked good at times is our organization and team spirit, and some moments of individual brilliance from the 4 or 5 more gifted players on the team. Stern finding form is the final piece of the puzzle and is a must...
Post by: FF on May 11, 2006, 05:06:11 PM
our ball movement has always been slow, so I eh know why men suprised.  We seem to play a more 'safety-first' possession game with a  deliberate focus on not losing the ball foolishly. The focus also seems to be on maintaining shape and packing a 5-man midfield so we could more easily apply pressure and win the ball back in the midfield when we lose it. We probably going to need a dense midfield in the WC against technically stronger, faster players.

To play a faster one and two touch game in attack, you need extremely fit, mobile players with fine technique. You also need players with individual speed and good chemistry. We will improve, but we will not be a quick, slick passing team in the WC..not against the caliber of opponents we are going to face. We will focus on defensive discipline and stability... a compact and hard working midfield with individual speed and skill coming from one or two players (particulalry out wide)...with a lone forward foraging for scraps. Whitley, York and Birchall will take turns helping out in attack with 1 always staying slightly back. Avery and Cyd will hardly leave home and will focus on defensive duties.Tactics will change as games progress, but with the limited talent in our team, where we really have looked good at times is our organization and team spirit, and some moments of individual brilliance from the 4 or 5 more gifted players on the team. Stern finding form is the final piece of the puzzle and is a must...

Yes Filho.... exactly dat... I find this is very plain to see and I cyah believe men could see otherwise  ???

Post by: Midknight on May 11, 2006, 06:26:12 PM
ALL RESPECT BEENIE

You was listening I95.5 right? ::)
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 06:29:22 PM
ALL RESPECT BEENIE
i kno u eh serius
dis man wa question beenie now afta all he do for we
well bredda no comment na
Post by: Marcos on May 11, 2006, 06:53:38 PM
We play slow for one reason:
WE CANNOT PLAY ANY FASTER RIGHT NOW!

Having said that, I thought that our speed was okay for periods during the iceland game. I admit this is probably because Iceland was a very weak side.
Beenie knows he has to pack the midfield to protect the defenders cuz our defenders will be exposed by quicker, more athletic forwards.

Ppl who are concerned about our attack and production in the final third; look at most of our goals in the qualifiers.
They either resulted from a scrap or a bullet from way outside. We hardly if ever create a goal bringin the ball from the defense and passing it all the way to the front in some sort of constructive play. In all honesty you hardly see many teams in football today do that.
(Arsenal and Barca are two exceptions that spring to mind)
It is c lear to me that Beenie's plan is to maintain possession as long as possible to prevent the opposition from attacking us, while hoping to strike from a quick counter or  set piece.
Post by: Warrior till death on May 11, 2006, 06:57:29 PM
ALL RESPECT BEENIE

You was listening I95.5 right? ::)
???
Post by: ladywarrior on May 11, 2006, 08:08:13 PM
Thanks touches! I couldn't make it so I value your insight and wonderful reporting!

Post by: Padams on May 11, 2006, 08:39:57 PM
I sit next to dis man for d game, no pen, paper, recorder no nothin and yuh still manage to write a detailed match report like dis....U IZ A BOSS FOR REAL,  Thanks man!!!!

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: The_Ice on May 11, 2006, 08:43:27 PM
The goal that scored by Peru was simply a piece of shit mistake by three players...Cyd, Sancho and Jack....I will not fault Whitley too much because even though he lost the ball there was ample time to clean up.

Ball is lost by Whitley...bounces from a header and a Peru player hits Cyd a cyap near the corner flag. Cyd kinda recovers but he is left out as the fwd heads the ball past him and runs around his body. Sancho full of gusto rushes in......only to swipe Fresh Breeze and is easily skipped past. Jack then charges out the goal dives at the player and misses totally. The result....Peru Man walks into a empty net and Tallest scrambling as he was marking some players inside the area.

thanks for the report it near accurate and good for someone who just watch it from the stands... but u see this... it getting me annoyed... it was sancho marking the man and cyd who run up like a madman and header it the wrong way when sancho was clear to header it upfield... sorry iz just that somebody say the same thing yesterday and it get on my nerves... lol :beermug:
Post by: Touches on May 12, 2006, 07:13:39 AM
No scene,

If there are any corrections ..... I sorry I just trying a ting.

I observed the Peru goal from the opposite corner flag so I wasnt near the action and I doe have the benefit of a TV replay or a commentator from the radio....is a off the fly ting nah....if it is not 100% accurate my apologies.

Thats how I saw it from my angle.

And well with festivities going on...alcho in abundance and Girl warrior pelting waist!

I sure yuh could understand the slip up.
Post by: doc on May 12, 2006, 07:19:28 AM
For the men who doh let an opportunity go by to slam Cyd, check this. The player behind usually guides you. If what is described is correct, then it's reasonable to assume that he received no information/ instruction from the covering player - Brent, so he had to challenge for the ball. Would you not expect that particularly in the defensive third ??? Stay up, Touches!
Post by: grskywalker on May 12, 2006, 07:27:46 AM
The TTFF should have done something like this for Latas

(http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e7/ruud1000/_41398433_teams_pa.jpg)

That is very cool but they would have to cut a stencil big enough, out of some kind of wood or plexi glass lay it on the grass for a few days and keep watering the open areas.

Can't see them doing that
Post by: kappy on May 12, 2006, 07:35:44 AM
1) Once Stern fit, he WILL ALWAYS START. Let us pray that Glen gets healthy. Kenwyne does ok, but when he comes in as a sub.

2) The defense is our major concern, as it has been ever since....We have to cut out silly mistakes in the back. At WC level, them teams will punish us very badly. If we go in dey making chuppid mistakes, we can expect to be drubbed. We have time still, Beenie will work on it.

3) Is it just me, but anyone realise that T&T is a team that cannot attack against a team that has a set defense? No wonder we look so predictable and slow. But once we on the counter attack and running, we always dangerous. Sweden and England have some of the best defensive combinations in the world. When they set up, do we have a clue how to try to break them down? Do we have the patience to play possession football in the opposite half? Do we even have the quality to even attempt to try that? In my opinion, we hadda play all the 3 team in the WC against the run of play, of a very congested midfield and try to run at them in the last third.

4) Its certain now, Jack will start in Germany, once fit. Shaka is backup.

5) Colin Samuel wil have to start all 3 games. We need Evans Wise as cover, cause if Samuel get injured or suspended, we will have to resort to Latapy on the left, which is too slow and he not fit enough to take on them english wingbacks for a full game. Latas will be our 25 min sub to bring something special.

As far as I see our starting 11 vs Sweden:

Jack
Cyd
Dog & Lawrence
Avery
Carlos
Dwight and Birchall
Samuel
Stern and Glen/Jones

We have some decent depth in Sancho, Shaka, Latas, Theobald. Thats about it, we dont have 22-24 world class players, so Beenie have to use all of his wily skills and experience.
My main concern is the mistakes of the defense and our impotency in attack against set defenses.
Also we hadda take in consideration that Beenie may have been real experimenting with tactics and obviously doesnt want to give too much away with swedish, english and paraguay scouts in the stands.

One question ... where is Whitley ... noway we can play without Whiley and Birchall togeher in the middle ... bench Stren .. Scotland and hopefully a fit Glen up front
Post by: sprog on May 12, 2006, 08:03:48 AM
Trust me Stern really have a track record dat guh keep him starting, he does stand up and wait for the ball like dem big strikers, the problem is he aint no big striker so what we guh have to do is let a man play off him, start Kenwyne. The problem is then we guh have to sacrifice a midfielder, for me it would be latas, but then i want Samuel to start in he place and i think he will too. Yorke is the key if he advances and link up with Stern more, it might solve the problem, but then who guh marshall the midfield. Ok i get it now Whitley is the man to advance he could play behind Stern make some sweet link up plays or wallop some  shots around de box. Other than that i think we should rest Carlos and let Spann sweat, his deliveries much better, Carlos does play crowd football he does wanna beat man over and over and still cross tata, bench him or drill him on his deliveries.
Post by: Lower St. John on May 15, 2006, 11:52:29 AM
Well Boy Touches, having attended the game on Wednesday and left home last night, ah no longer have to guess if yuh capturing the football in an unbiased manner or if yuh forget anything.  Yuh is boss.  Did not find that the game was anything special to report on but I sort of expected this sort of performance.  Was great to be a part of Russell's last game at home, having attended his first in the stadium for the Under 14 Tournament.

Really sad that I missed out on hanging with the Warrior Nation, I was over in the covered stands.  The only person I saw was Small Mag (home boy was a little taller than I expected).  Hopefullly the lime will be on in Germany.

Blessings.
Post by: kappy on May 15, 2006, 12:08:52 PM
Trust me Stern really have a track record dat guh keep him starting, he does stand up and wait for the ball like dem big strikers, the problem is he aint no big striker so what we guh have to do is let a man play off him, start Kenwyne. The problem is then we guh have to sacrifice a midfielder, for me it would be latas, but then i want Samuel to start in he place and i think he will too. Yorke is the key if he advances and link up with Stern more, it might solve the problem, but then who guh marshall the midfield. Ok i get it now Whitley is the man to advance he could play behind Stern make some sweet link up plays or wallop some  shots around de box. Other than that i think we should rest Carlos and let Spann sweat, his deliveries much better, Carlos does play crowd football he does wanna beat man over and over and still cross tata, bench him or drill him on his deliveries.

don't forget Jason Scotland ... i tell yuh he go score more goal in germany dan stern