Sports => Football => Topic started by: Jayerson on May 11, 2006, 11:01:55 AM

Title: Beenhakker releases Rougier from World Cup squad.
Post by: Jayerson on May 11, 2006, 11:01:55 AM
Beenhakker releases Rougier from World Cup squad.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National head coach Leo Beenhakker has cut one player from his list of 24 players to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the 2006 World Cup Finals. As indicated last month when he announced the squad, one player would be released to make it a 23-man squad for the Finals and following Wednesday’s 1-1 draw with Peru at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, the lone player to be left out is experienced utility player Anthony Rougier.
Beenhakker had invited Rougier back into the national team for a training camp in Fort Lauderdale in January and subsequently named him on the 24-man squad ahead of the Peru match but has now had the hard task of letting Rougier go and he explained this after having a lengthy discussion with the player.
“The guy worked fantastically and he did everything he had to do to try and make it and in the end I had to make a decision. I am sorry but it was not enough because he showed me he is a great professional and a great guy but he was not enough in terms of the conditions to make the team,” Beenhakker told TTFF Media.
At the same time, with the squad at 23 players inclusive of injured LA Galaxy forward Cornell Glen, Beenhakker has also invited German-based winger Evans Wise to join the team in the Manchester camp up until the end of the training camps in Austria as well in the event that Glen does not recover from his hamstring injury.
“We have the twenty three players now but we also have the Cornell Glen situation. On one side I promised him that he can take his time to recover but obviously with the team preparation in mind. On the other side I promised him that he can take his time and I don’t want to put pressure by giving him a deadline. He will miss a big part of team preparation but he will work everyday with physiotherapist and I will give him a fair chance.
“At the same time I had a very long conversation with Evans Wise and he will come over to England to be involved in the team preparations until the end of the camp in Austria. I told him very clearly that it’s a 50-50 situation because if Cornell is fit then I have to send him (Wise) home and then if Cornell is not fit then I have the bad job to release him from the squad,” Beenhakker explained.
The Dutchman stressed that he did not enjoy the part of having to make the latest decision before the team departs for Manchester on Saturday but he had no choice in the matter.
“This is always the weird part of my profession because you have to make decisions like these just by your head but you are also human and it’s not easy to send a guy home like Anthony who I know has worked hard for the past two weeks. You also have an emotional relationship with your players but that’s part of the job,” Beenhakker added.
He also spoke of ensuring that the entire squad be in ready shape for the matches this country has to play in Germany.
“I will prepare him (Wise) the same as the other guys. Normally you don’t make six changes in a match like last night (versus Peru) but as I said before, I don’t only have to prepare eleven guys but instead the entire squad because if one player gets injured before we play Sweden then the other has to step in,” he said.

T&T Squad:

Kelvin Jack (Dundee), Shaka Hislop (West Ham United), Clayton Ince (Coventry City).

Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham) Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers), Brent Sancho (Gillingham), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Avery John (New England Revolution).

Silvio Spann (unattached), Chris Birchall (Port Vale), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Evans Wise (Waldhof Mannheim), Anthony Wolfe (San Juan Jabloteh), Densill Theobald (Falkirk), Carlos Edwards (Luton Town), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Russell Latapy (Falkirk).

Stern John (Coventry City), Kenwyne Jones (Southampton FC), Collin Samuel (Dundee United), Jason Scotland (St Johnstone), Cornell Glen (LA Galaxy).
Skipper eyeing World Cup before final kick.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National senior team captain Dwight Yorke is not yet thinking about once more retiring from international football, but wants to focus on the coming weeks of preparation for the 2006 World Cup.
Yorke made these comments as he was preparing to leave the Piarco International Airport on Saturday evening with the rest of the team for a one week training camp at Carden Park, Manchester via a BWIA flight to London.
Yorke said he was not ready to make that decision, following such an announcement close pal and teammate Russell Latapy.
"At this point in time I just want to concentrate solely on being the captain of this team and giving 100 per cent to my country, and then after that I will sit down around the table with my advisers and people who are important to me, my family, and then make a decision from there," Yorke stated.
"But right now, as far as I am concerned, (the main thing) is that I'm fully focused on doing well in the next five weeks and representing my country. It's a special moment, it's an historic moment for our country and our people."
Yorke, as were most of the other players, was visibly excited to be making the trip that heralds their entrance into the top tier of world football.
"This is the moment we have all been dreaming of," he added, "and I'm really looking forward to it. We're four weeks away from playing in the World Cup."
TTFF special adviser Jack Warner was also very enthusiastic about the team's departure as he wished them well at the check in counter. Several fans also took a last minute chance to express best wishes including little kids with national flags painted on their faces.
"This is history in the making," the FIFA vice-president told the media at the airport. "Whatever happens now, or in the future, this particular point in time will never happen again."
Warner also thanked Traffic Branch police officers for their contributions in providing security for the team during Friday's road tour, which he said is an event he would never forget.
"I've never seen such a mixture of humanity at every level, and in areas traditionally our heroes don't go...It was absolutely super and if anything will remain etched in my memory, it would be yesterday's (Friday's) experience."
Title: Re: So Rougier get cut
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 11, 2006, 11:07:38 AM
This is the first read for me too.  Should we hope that Glenn stays injured (i know it sounding bad) so that Wise can be on the team.  I think we're OK up front, but could use some of Wise's guile on the flank. What do you guys think?
Post by: duscam on May 11, 2006, 11:09:07 AM
great!!
Post by: SHOTTA on May 11, 2006, 11:15:35 AM
but if i understand correctly as in the rooney situation

if u submit an injured man to fifa u cant change it jus so

if erickson picks rooney for the cup and he injured throughout then england effectively have 22 men to pick from and they cant change

if beenie goes with glenn then unless someone gets injured in the camp glenn in d cup fit or unfit
Post by: freakazoid on May 11, 2006, 11:18:32 AM
again i ask where will wise b playing. samuel's performances  have been great so  far . can wise play on d right or as a striker?
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2006, 11:19:31 AM
I think you can change injured players up to 24 hrs before the 1st game.

Or is that only if the player gets injured AFTER being named in the 23?
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 11, 2006, 11:21:10 AM
IS THIS FOR REAL

MAN I HAVE BEEN REALLY PUSHING FOR WISE..... NOW DROP PULL STONES THEOBALD AND MAKE WISE PART OF THE 23 INCLUDING GLENN BUT LET THEO STILL GO TO THE WORLD CUB AND JOIN THE SUPPORTERS FROM THE BENCH UNOFFICALLY (AS A MEDIC OR SOME THING ) HE DESERVES THAT BUT NOT TO BE ON THE TEAM

WISE DECISION BEAN
Post by: SHOTTA on May 11, 2006, 11:23:28 AM
yea peong

it only means after they get pick in the 23

i think shaun and benhakker and fifa need to take a look at d books befor they tie up themselves
Post by: FF on May 11, 2006, 11:29:56 AM
yea peong

i think shaun and benhakker and fifa need to take a look at d books befor they tie up themselves

Yuh talking toots... rooney get pick in de 23 after being injured...

and he can be replaced if he does not regain fitness...

Glen is in de same situation.... AFAIK
Post by: Trinimassive on May 11, 2006, 12:09:00 PM
again i ask where will wise b playing. samuel's performances  have been great so  far . can wise play on d right or as a striker?

I ask again what if samuel get's injured during a game...what then?

I'm sure we could make a Wise decision from the fellas left on the bench :chilling:
Post by: SHOTTA on May 11, 2006, 12:14:46 PM
ff i give credti where it is due

big up to wise and cornell

where one lacks in speed the other makes up for in creativity

left sided problem SOLVED
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 12:26:03 PM
yea peong

Yuh talking toots... rooney get pick in de 23 after being injured...

and he can be replaced if he does not regain fitness...

Glen is in de same situation.... AFAIK

As far as I understood it, May 15 is the deadline to name your squad.  Up to the day prior to the first match of the tournament you can replace an injured player.

However....

I don't recall what they say about if a player is injured PRIOR to naming the 23...if he can be replaced or not.

I do know that once you play your first game...you cannot replace anybody after that.
Post by: SHOTTA on May 11, 2006, 12:32:07 PM
welll palos i googled it and aint find nuttin to supprot my initial claim which i think is true

in that once u choose and injured player in the initial 23 ur ass is grass

but without evidence i have conceded defeat
Post by: FF on May 11, 2006, 12:34:47 PM
welll palos i googled it and aint find nuttin to supprot my initial claim which i think is true

Check out de article on Soccernet about Sven naming Rooney in de 23 for England last week.... I think dey deal with de WC squad rules dere
Post by: de source on May 11, 2006, 12:40:44 PM
Who feel that Rougier should of really get de AXE.
De man have much more experience and can be a utility. Atiba, the few times I see him play not better than him. Does not read well and lacks composure. I feel Tony get dealt a hard blow that is just my opinion.

What alyuh think?
Post by: Jahyouth on May 11, 2006, 12:44:19 PM
De man have much more experience and can be a utility. Atiba, the few times I see him play not better than him. Does not read well and lacks composure. I feel Tony get dealt a hard blow that is just my opinion.

What alyuh think?

Rougier is OLD.  He is 35 years old and without the skill and guile of a Latapy, or the experience and match-winning qualities of a Yorke.  Good move Beenhakker.
Post by: daryn on May 11, 2006, 12:44:36 PM

Check out de article on Soccernet about Sven naming Rooney in de 23 for England last week.... I think dey deal with de WC squad rules dere
this bbc article (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/england/4964286.stm) says this: England will be allowed to replace Wayne Rooney in their World Cup squad up until 24 hours before their opening match against Paraguay on 10 June.  Fifa confirmed that their regulations allow for a player to be substituted provided the governing body is supplied with evidence of serious injury.

Sven (and the whole world) know Rooney was injured before he name his team, so the same rules should apply for Glen.
Post by: Trinimassive on May 11, 2006, 12:52:10 PM

What alyuh think?

I think Rougier's speed or lack there of is what did him in. Had he been faster...no doubt he would be in the team.

The teams we playing...England and Sweden play with real speed and they run 100 miles ah hour.....

No matter how fast Rougier could think and read the game by the time he figure out the plot....man done blazin by him and bearing down on Dog and Tallman.

Spann is going to be the utility man in the team...if need be.  

We doh have all that room fuh utility man.....yuh think is ah T&TEC team we sending :devil: :devil:

Ah feel fuh Rougier though...He served well :chilling:
Post by: grskywalker on May 11, 2006, 12:59:04 PM
Real sad for Rougier, he had some good years, but I would love to see Wise in one of the warm up games
Post by: breezers on May 11, 2006, 12:59:36 PM
Waayyyyee Boi....dyez ah rell hard luck fuh Rougier dredd..anyway Big him UP still....he years ah service was much appreciated.....Welll...Evans Wise Fuh Germany!!!!!
Post by: davidephraim on May 11, 2006, 01:05:03 PM
Theo could loss he wok for Wise.  My pussonal opinion.  On a serious note, i dont think that several other players place as solid as we think either... I mean that it may not be Cornell or Wise to go but maybe a Theo or Carlos or even Spann depending on how Wisw affects de Team. I aint callin no jing-ay on nobody but I think Beenie eye still open within the 24 for de weakest link towards he system and that guy going home (except for Stern, lata,Yorke,Lawrence,Jack,shaka, Jones,Samuels,Me Mom, Whitley,Avery, Cox,Dog)

Dem fellas is de only surety players.

Who is de real Core on this Team?
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 01:07:04 PM
For me.....Beenie done show dat he loyal...but not stubbornly so.  He out is he never give Rougier any guarantee.  He also pick 24 fuh a reason.  So as far as I concern, Wolfe right now on de bubble together with Cornell Glen due to injury.

I would not be surprised to see Wise on de 23 IF he continues to perform like he did against Grenada U 23.  The level of opposition is a substantial step up.  Nuff sheep go separate from goat on this Pre WC tour.
Post by: daryn on May 11, 2006, 01:17:58 PM
Theo could loss he wok for Wise.  My pussonal opinion.  On a serious note, i dont think that several other players place as solid as we think either... I mean that it may not be Cornell or Wise to go but maybe a Theo or Carlos or even Spann depending on how Wisw affects de Team. I aint callin no jing-ay on nobody but I think Beenie eye still open within the 24 for de weakest link towards he system and that guy going home (except for Stern, lata,Yorke,Lawrence,Jack,shaka, Jones,Samuels,Me Mom, Whitley,Avery, Cox,Dog)

Dem fellas is de only surety players.

Who is de real Core on this Team?

carlos is not one of the core members of the team?
Post by: vibetrini on May 11, 2006, 01:22:39 PM
This is the first read for me too.  Should we hope that Glenn stays injured (i know it sounding bad) so that Wise can be on the team.  I think we're OK up front, but could use some of Wise's guile on the flank. What do you guys think?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

wayyy... how men jumping on wise back so, cuz ah 2 good performances against greneda... however i do agree he should be there if glenn injured... but u cyah drop a fella who stick wit d team and in good health... even wise admit that he din follow-up with ttff to let them know he was playing good and ready to play during the WC qualifying campaign... so once healthy u gots on principle to give d nod to those who announced their availability and kept hounding ttff with dey individual match reports while playing for dey clubs.

i won't worry too much about the rule, as i sure beenie well versed and aware of the situation and fifa rules... if not, then it might just be one ah d major oversights by a futbol coach ever (given dat wise could prob chain up plenty men and solidify we left side).
Post by: legal alien on May 11, 2006, 01:29:45 PM
of couse wise still has a chance. i remember romario gettinng injured just before brazil left for france '98. i  dont  remember the replacement though.....
Post by: dreamer on May 11, 2006, 01:32:44 PM
Even as a Rougier fan, I accept the decision as I didn't like how he looked in the Grenada game. Slow in truth (for that kinda role where some playmaking is necessary) but Beenie persisted to use him as a sweeper (instead of a wing back) so it really eh make no sense to carry him. Congrats to Wise who looked good in the Grenada game. Dais persistence boy! Beenie is very professional and does what he has to do! Respec'!
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 01:37:54 PM

ah really feel sorry for cornell and ah doh wish bad on none of the socawarrios but ah really want wise to be in the squad....if cornell fit who alyuh think wise should replace instead......just wondering ???
Post by: Touches on May 11, 2006, 01:38:34 PM
I sorry for Rougier he was one of my favourites but he slowness and lack of sharpness did him in.

I ent think he could match the level of pace from the other WC teams.

Honestly I find the following could get drop but then again who we have to replace them?

Spann....first man to get chop...he pulling real stones these days.
Theobold.....to come orn in the WC to do what? not left wing, too frail and not at the level yet.
Atiba...........didnt look good vs USA, didnt look good vs Grenada...not much playing time.

Cyd reverting back to he gold cup duncee ways too....beenie have to talk to him.

I say find a spot for Wise yes and interchange he with Samuel and keep Glen too.

lBut really we cyar chop nobody...men just have to get out the starboy I make the squad mentality and work hard and lift they game.
Post by: 1989 on May 11, 2006, 01:42:21 PM
Didn't Rougier give up a deal with a Professional Club to train for the World Cup?  And As I recall it, Beenhakker had something to do with it. He got a raw deal.  
But with the way that Beenhakker is behaving now, I think that Glen could recover and still not make the team - especially now that England's team features such fast strikers.
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 01:44:34 PM

you can change injured players up to 24 hours before yuh first game but the second part of what yuh saying is redundant and means the same thing because if yuh changing an injured player before yuh first game that means he had to have been named in the 23 man squad.......and remember wise isnt in the 23 man squad as yet.....he just there just in case glenn doesnt recover in time then wise would be his replacement so beenie want him training with the team so he would be up to speed
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 01:46:08 PM
of couse wise still has a chance. i remember romario gettinng injured just before brazil left for france '98. i  dont  remember the replacement though.....
Edmundo
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 01:48:21 PM
Didn't Rougier give up a deal with a Professional Club to train for the World Cup?  And As I recall it, Beenhakker had something to do with it. He got a raw deal.  
But with the way that Beenhakker is behaving now, I think that Glen could recover and still not make the team - especially now that England's team features such fast strikers.
How "England team featurin such fast strikers" have anyting to do wit Glen, a forward, not making the team?
Post by: trinidre on May 11, 2006, 01:49:10 PM
IS THIS FOR REAL

MAN I HAVE BEEN REALLY PUSHING FOR WISE..... NOW DROP PULL STONES THEOBALD AND MAKE WISE PART OF THE 23 INCLUDING GLENN BUT LET THEO STILL GO TO THE WORLD CUB AND JOIN THE SUPPORTERS FROM THE BENCH UNOFFICALLY (AS A MEDIC OR SOME THING ) HE DESERVES THAT BUT NOT TO BE ON THE TEAM

WISE DECISION BEAN

I agree that both glenn and wise should be on the team and beenie should cut someone else.....ah hear real men calling for theobald to get the axe
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 01:56:50 PM
wow that was abrupt
didnt expect it atall
especially not so soon
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 02:03:27 PM
IS THIS FOR REAL

WISE DECISION BEAN

I agree that both glenn and wise should be on the team and beenie should cut someone else.....ah hear real men calling for theobald to get the axe
theobald geh cut neva!
he is more likely to cut wolfe or atiba charles
both of which didnt even play yestaday
Post by: morvant on May 11, 2006, 02:13:11 PM
after allyuh fight meh down

this topic come back

stupesssssssssss
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2006, 02:15:48 PM

you can change injured players up to 24 hours before yuh first game but the second part of what yuh saying is redundant and means the same thing because if yuh changing an injured player before yuh first game that means he had to have been named in the 23 man squad.......

Trinidre I talkin about the timing of the injury, whether it occurred before or after they name the 23.
But somebody cleared it up.   :beermug:
Post by: trinidad badboy on May 11, 2006, 02:26:34 PM

it would be good to get wise into the mix cuz we do need some attacking wingers to put some bes crosses in the box for the strikers. kenwyne and stern..
Post by: Big Magician on May 11, 2006, 02:28:46 PM
god bless tony....now i dont like to talk too much ting bout players but....sombody please tell me...." what is wolfe role within the set up ??"....notice i did not say anything bout shithong or anyting....just tell me why he on the team and why we have to be thinking bout wise and others
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 02:35:47 PM
well de reason we thinking bout wise is because he has shown that he can make a difference abeit against weak opposition.
as for wolfe he didnt to THAT much against the same opposition and hasn't made much of an impact
Post by: Jahyouth on May 11, 2006, 02:40:51 PM
god bless tony....now i dont like to talk too much ting bout players but....sombody please tell me...." what is wolfe role within the set up ??"....notice i did not say anything bout shithong or anyting....just tell me why he on the team and why we have to be thinking bout wise and others

well BM the thing is that you don't pick a squad by lining up the best men 1 - 24 and dropping the last one.  You have to look at positions.  If Glenn is injured and Wise may be his replacement, then you are bringing in a midfielder (Wise) for a striker (Glenn) which then means that you would not want to drop another striker (Wolfe) from the team but rather a midfielder/defender such as Rougier.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 11, 2006, 02:42:05 PM
This is the first read for me too.  Should we hope that Glenn stays injured (i know it sounding bad) so that Wise can be on the team.  I think we're OK up front, but could use some of Wise's guile on the flank. What do you guys think?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

wayyy... how men jumping on wise back so, cuz ah 2 good performances against greneda... however i do agree he should be there if glenn injured... but u cyah drop a fella who stick wit d team and in good health... even wise admit that he din follow-up with ttff to let them know he was playing good and ready to play during the WC qualifying campaign... so once healthy u gots on principle to give d nod to those who announced their availability and kept hounding ttff with dey individual match reports while playing for dey clubs.

i won't worry too much about the rule, as i sure beenie well versed and aware of the situation and fifa rules... if not, then it might just be one ah d major oversights by a futbol coach ever (given dat wise could prob chain up plenty men and solidify we left side).

I'm looking at it from the perspective that we have a ton of forwards, all of whom will not play in Germany, and a limited assortment of wing options.  Lets be realistic, we have a glut of forwards.  From the match reports, men was quarelling about the quality of service from the flanks, as well as the lack of creativity in general.  It may have been against a Grenadian U23, but we know that Wise has that sort of creativity and slickness that few guys on the side have.  I believe that our key to success in Germany could be to take on Neville and Cole on the flanks.  Stretch the field and use our speed and creativity on the flanks to exploit the opposition.
Post by: Trinimassive on May 11, 2006, 02:44:04 PM

He like Theo Walcott

Maybe he is the X factor...every team need one. He MIGHT be the one.

He been on fire in the PFL (yeah ah know is the PFL) but like Theo (Championship division) being given the chance. Maybe Beenie feel he might bring the UNKNOWN :-\
Post by: duscam on May 11, 2006, 02:49:14 PM
not a deal -a" try out"
Post by: Big Magician on May 11, 2006, 02:49:29 PM
ah know ah type dat last post funny...shit....i mean...i think wise should be in the 23...full stop....what is wolfe doing there....i would like to know......x-factor????..
Post by: maxg on May 11, 2006, 02:54:25 PM
....if cornell fit who alyuh think wise should replace instead......just wondering ???

I think Cornell will be replaced by Wise, sorry to Cornell.
It relly depends on the extent of the tear, from all reports it sounds pretty bad...as a result I don't think he can be get match fit, and in team/match form in a month....and to be honest, on his best day, he was not head and shoulders above the present guys...he is quite good, when in shape and tuned in..yet to be doing rehab and being prepared to just fall into a team  undergoing stuctural and intense training for the next couple weeks, would be difficult for anybody...and if he himself returns too early to play at the level required, I fear long term damage....I am not sure he should even take the chance at this point, yet the final decision will be left to the concerned parties, especially Glen.....Wish him all the best still, and I will still be one of his many fans, as I am of any of our players, including those that gave their all but did not quite make it..
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 03:05:59 PM
ah know ah type dat last post funny...shit....i mean...i think wise should be in the 23...full stop....what is wolfe doing there....i would like to know......x-factor????..

You trust Coach Beenhakker right?  He's taken us this far correct?  Well have some faith in de man judge of football talent.  He does get Kelvin Jack to perform near miracles fuh T&T.  He does somehow get Cyd Gray to play a full game without gettin a red card.  He bring out de best in Whitley.  He had faith in Stern John when everybody else (includin me) was bawlin fuh he to get drop & look who goals it was end up takin we to Germany.

Beenie is Boss....so jes trust in de man and know dat he will make de right decisions for THE TEAM!
Title: Re: Beenhakker releases Rougier from World Cup squad.
Post by: vb on May 11, 2006, 03:29:13 PM
First of all thank you Tony Rougier for years of GREAT service.

Thanks for always giving your all for your country and conducting yourself with the utmost of class...even when certain administrators of the TTFF weren't.

Since his debut vs. the US, I'm not aware of Theobald doing anything amzing.

Let cornell and Wise go. If two of them on at the same time..it go be pace like fire.

And if Corell cyah make (injury)...tough luck breds....
Post by: Bally on May 11, 2006, 03:31:33 PM

Theo and Atiba Charles in my opinion are the weakest link but LEO have fate in his players and maybe that can motivate them to perform when the friendly game come around for the world cup these guys will warm bench think about it theo can only play in the middle so he not replacing Yorke, Bicthill  or Latapy Atiba can replace Sancho or Cyd on the right but we can use Wise on the left this why I think its so  important too have Carlos on the right and Wise on the left last night the Peruvians was read us like a book they realize in the first half we only going down the right so they was shouting that down second half something on they left now if we have winger on both side true wingers not latapy or theo we will be a treat  also we have to work on our defense we all know how deadly our England and Sweden can be so those simple mistakes have to be cut out
Post by: dumpalewie on May 11, 2006, 03:31:49 PM
People remember that after May 15th, the only people who will go to the WC are those on the list of 23. After that and injured player may be removed before the first game.

My point here is that, if Cornell and the rest of the squad are fit, i.e. no medical documentation of an injury, Wise ent going nowhere. Right now he is still a long shot to make the team. Regardless of the amount of tata they are showing in practice, As long as Wolfe, Theobald, Charles etc are fit, they in Deutschland.
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 03:50:09 PM
People remember that after May 15th, the only people who will go to the WC are those on the list of 23. After that and injured player may be removed before the first game.

My point here is that, if Cornell and the rest of the squad are fit, i.e. no medical documentation of an injury, Wise ent going nowhere. Right now he is still a long shot to make the team. Regardless of the amount of tata they are showing in practice, As long as Wolfe, Theobald, Charles etc are fit, they in Deutschland.

That I believe is exactly right.
Post by: dwn on May 11, 2006, 03:58:14 PM
Almost sure it is. Found this quote in article about US player John OBrien who is in a similar situation to Glen.

"Arena has until Monday to replace O'Brien with no questions asked. After that, only a documented injury to the former Ajax player will allow him to be replaced."
Post by: skillful on May 11, 2006, 04:23:12 PM
Wise, and Rougier brings an intensity (of mainly hope) to the practices, and were invaluable. Wise no longer has break-away speed, or C.Edwards would be the odd man out. The L.A. Galaxy does not play at a level where you can get back from an injury into aworld cup squad........we really dont have 23 world class players.
Post by: royal on May 11, 2006, 04:52:00 PM

Rougier ain't give up nothing.That was just a spin by ah over zealous reporter.
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 05:34:36 PM
Wise, and Rougier brings an intensity (of mainly hope) to the practices, and were invaluable. Wise no longer has break-away speed, or C.Edwards would be the odd man out. The L.A. Galaxy does not play at a level where you can get back from an injury into aworld cup squad........we really dont have 23 world class players.

Carlos Edwards?  No disrespeck but u might need to see a rehab specialist if daz de kinda comment you go make.

De only way Carlos Edwards not startin in every single T&T game is if he injured.
Post by: big dawg on May 11, 2006, 05:38:46 PM

Like you does practise with dem ah wah
Post by: elan on May 11, 2006, 05:44:13 PM
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/i/eu/fifa/regen.pdf

Check this link out and go to page 34. It tells about the final roster and how the changing of a player is to be carried out.
Post by: Brej on May 11, 2006, 06:24:29 PM
offtopic: just curious how old is wise?
Post by: palos on May 11, 2006, 06:41:11 PM
http://eur.i1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/i/eu/fifa/regen.pdf

Check this link out and go to page 34. It tells about the final roster and how the changing of a player is to be carried out.

Paragraph 3 is de kicker.  Dat explain it in full right dey.

Basically, Beenie have till Monday May 15th to make a change to he announced side.  If no change is forthcoming on Monday....then BOTH Cornel & Wolfe goin and Wise eh goin nowhere, or if he do, he will not be afforded accreditation.

However....if Cornel does not recover from his injury (or a nex player get injured) and TTFF submit a request to make a change due to that injury AND it accepted by de FIFA Medical committee PRIOR TO June 9....den Wise or whoever have a chance to be included in de team.  After de 9th...no matter how much injuries yuh get....man could bruk dem leg....hard lucks....no changes allowed.
Post by: Filho on May 11, 2006, 07:09:41 PM
Edmundo

Wrong...when Romario got dropped, Zagallo did not call up another forward at all. He called up Emerson. Edmundo was already on the side.

Post by: Trini _2026 on May 11, 2006, 07:28:46 PM
what about wolfe is he leo's derick king?
Post by: Filho on May 11, 2006, 07:32:16 PM

Carlos Edwards?  No disrespeck but u might need to see a rehab specialist if daz de kinda comment you go make.

De only way Carlos Edwards not startin in every single T&T game is if he injured.

Horse..T&T right side needs Carlos Edwards. full stop.
As for the LA Galaxy statement...that one eh making no sense. None of the competitors for Glen spot playing in any team that clearly better than a top MLS team. Wise playing for a mediocre team in the German 3rd division, and a top MLS team competing with any team outside the Aulde Firm in Scotland
Post by: spideybuff on May 12, 2006, 06:24:49 AM
Best case scenario...Glen recover and Beenie pull Wolfe aside, tell him how he young, he have time on his side: fake an injury and come back and fight for the spot in the hole behind Kenwyne Jones after the World Cup.

Take Wise and Glen. Glen may not be totally fit after his injury, but he could come on and give us a blistering 15 minutes against Paraguay to help us into the second rounds. He might aggravate the hamstring injury in the process and derail his MLS career cause he injured for the rest of the year...but it will be worth it for that 15 minutes of fame  :devil:

Seriously, Wolfe is a good player and Beenie like him, but he not getting any playing time and he will be the last option off the bench. He play in the hex at all?

And men who criticising Theobald...right now he looking better than Spann and he is first off the bench if Birchall or Whitley in trouble. Plus, like against mexico...he could come on for Samuel or Edwards when we have a lead and his biggest asset is: HE NEVER GIVES AWAY THE BALL. That's why Beenie likes him. He may not have that attacking flair completely yet, or the tackle...but he is a master at keeping possession. Everybody have their role...watch him play and allyuh will see it. Latas, Yorke and Whitley may be our best midfielders, but their natural attacking flair makes them more susceptible to ''turnovers'', to coin a NBA phrase.
Post by: palos on May 12, 2006, 07:24:29 AM
Best case scenario...Glen recover and Beenie pull Wolfe aside, tell him how he young, he have time on his side: fake an injury and come back and fight for the spot in the hole behind Kenwyne Jones after the World Cup.

Breds...like yuh eh readin and understandin.  It eh have no fake injury ting.  Yuh have to send yuh MEDICAL REPORT to de FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE 24 hours before yuh fuss game in de tournament.  De FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE with then decide if the injury is serious enough to warrant replacement.

De only way Wise gettin pick is if Beenie have a change of heart before Monday May 15th or somebody get injured and dat injury is "blessed by de FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE.
Post by: sweetiepaper on May 12, 2006, 07:39:21 AM

You trust Coach Beenhakker right?  He's taken us this far correct?  Well have some faith in de man judge of football talent.  He does get Kelvin Jack to perform near miracles fuh T&T.  He does somehow get Cyd Gray to play a full game without gettin a red card.  He bring out de best in Whitley.  He had faith in Stern John when everybody else (includin me) was bawlin fuh he to get drop & look who goals it was end up takin we to Germany.
Beenie is Boss....so jes trust in de man and know dat he will make de right decisions for THE TEAM!

I have to agree with BM. No sense carrying warm bodies to Germany. Carry men who you will play in a particular situation. Both Wise and Glenn can do that. Wolfe is the last striker option. So will not play unless all the strikers and midfielders injured. Beenie will quicker push up Yorke or Latas to strike than play Wolfe.
He young and have potential, but not ready for this world cup. Next one maybe, if he further develops.

Post by: palos on May 12, 2006, 07:48:01 AM

I have to agree with BM. No sense carrying warm bodies to Germany. Carry men who you will play in a particular situation. Both Wise and Glenn can do that. Wolfe is the last striker option. So will not play unless all the strikers and midfielders injured. Beenie will quicker push up Yorke or Latas to strike than play Wolfe.
He young and have potential, but not ready for this world cup. Next one maybe, if he further develops.

Ah hear yuh on dat.  But neither a we is coach and he have he reasons.  I cool wit dat.

Respeck.
Post by: doc on May 12, 2006, 07:52:06 AM

Ah hear yuh on dat.  But neither a we is coach and he have he reasons.  I cool wit dat.

Respeck.
You doh usually show that kind a deference pardnah ;D, wha goin orn ??? Jus' tell de men wha' yuh really tink nuh..  :devil:
Post by: palos on May 12, 2006, 07:55:55 AM
You doh usually show that kind a deference pardnah ;D, wha goin orn ??? Jus' tell de men wha' yuh really tink nuh..  :devil:

I normally do as exhibited in my response.
Post by: fishs on May 12, 2006, 08:17:54 AM
De fact dat de man call up Wise instead of any of de other standbys that he had first, suggest tuh me dat Wise ticket book.
Post by: Big Magician on May 12, 2006, 09:57:33 AM
respect palos.....still waiting for an answer to the question....' WHAT IS WOLFFE ROLE IN THE TNT SET-UP??/".....and i still not say he good or bad....just what ???
Post by: palos on May 12, 2006, 10:17:33 AM
respect palos.....still waiting for an answer to the question....' WHAT IS WOLFFE ROLE IN THE TNT SET-UP??/".....and i still not say he good or bad....just what ???
Backup striker.

Honestly...I think is a mistake by Beenie...but dat is jes my opinion.  Nobody does take more dan 4 strikers normally to a World Cup.  We have Stern, Kenwyne, Scotland, Glen and Wolfe so daz a lil EXTRA dey.  When yuh consider we have men like Yorke & Latas who can play a striker role if need be....it look like Wolfe is excess to requirements.

At the end of the day...nobody would be talkin about Wise if he hadn't played in dem 2 grenada games.  By then...rightly or wrongly, Beenie did done mek up he mind about de team and announce it.  Wise wasn't on de radar then....he put heself on the radar after de Grenada games.

Besides...I stand by Beenie greater knowledge.  Maybe Wolfe IS goin as a passenger.  OR   Maybe Wolfe might end up bein somebody we go be proud of in de WC...yuh never know.  Beenie have de benefit of de doubt fuh me.
Post by: doc on May 12, 2006, 10:28:46 AM
Backup striker.

Honestly...I think is a mistake by Beenie...but dat is jes my opinion.  Nobody does take more dan 4 strikers normally to a World Cup.  We have Stern, Kenwyne, Scotland, Glen and Wolfe so daz a lil EXTRA dey.  When yuh consider we have men like Yorke & Latas who can play a striker role if need be....it look like Wolfe is excess to requirements.

At the end of the day...nobody would be talkin about Wise if he hadn't played in dem 2 grenada games.  By then...rightly or wrongly, Beenie did done mek up he mind about de team and announce it.  Wise wasn't on de radar then....he put heself on the radar after de Grenada games.

Besides...I stand by Beenie greater knowledge.  Maybe Wolfe IS goin as a passenger.  OR   Maybe Wolfe might end up bein somebody we go be proud of in de WC...yuh never know.  Beenie have de benefit of de doubt fuh me.
BM are you a dentist? To this layman's eyes, it looked like yuh was pullin' teet dey :rotfl:
Post by: spideybuff on May 12, 2006, 10:35:21 AM

Breds...like yuh eh readin and understandin.  It eh have no fake injury ting.  Yuh have to send yuh MEDICAL REPORT to de FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE 24 hours before yuh fuss game in de tournament.  De FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE with then decide if the injury is serious enough to warrant replacement.

De only way Wise gettin pick is if Beenie have a change of heart before Monday May 15th or somebody get injured and dat injury is "blessed by de FIFA MEDICAL COMMITTEE.

Sorry Palos...that would only apply if we had a squad of 23. We talking about with a squad of 24 here. Wolfe can leave before the 15th. The injury is for the public sake so he wouldn feel like he get drop las minute, when he was supposedly sure of a ppick. It would make Beenie look like a liar if he just drop the man so for Wise to come in before the 15th. Wolfe can easily be put as the person on standby and Wise put in the squad that is submitted.
Title: Leo goin Madddddddd
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on May 12, 2006, 10:53:02 AM
I've been a supportive of foreign coaches always after seeing the shit St Clair and Muhammed Esa did with our national teams.

I was even a die hard supporter of Potterfield

Leo got an even greater support but this decision Beenie MAn jus made has me a little doubtful

Ok i understand Rougier old, he lacks speed,
BUT
he plays an excellent holding role fight infront of the defence. Birchall pushes forward, Spann is coming off injury. We see the defencive blunders that may happen case in point the Peru game. The position Rougier plays right infront of the defence is vital... to get past him you have tuh use speed because he's an excellent tackler and by the time u get around him you're in the defence structure...

Wolfe, Theo both young... next time kidz

Notice i placed 2 players on the goodbye bench

Title: Wise up
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on May 12, 2006, 10:54:59 AM
We have tuh be WISE about the situation... he played like he wants to be in the WC squad... let de man play
Post by: Benjie on May 12, 2006, 11:25:35 AM
what round with allyuh replace a wing back or centreback or central Midfielder or even a right winger with a left winger. The fact is Wise can only replace a left winger or forward because that is the position he plays. The only way another player can be moved is if there are built in replacements in the squadd with the calculation that you must have two players for every position.
Post by: SHOTTA on May 12, 2006, 11:57:11 AM
i forced to disagree with the men that calling for theobald scalp.were u in the same game vs peru as me??

even in the grenada matches thoe and whitley showed a cut above the rest

all credit to wise as he played his way into the team alot of others had the opportunity to as well including glasgow and glenton and d fellar from jablo he name leave meh jus now

only wise and yuh cud ask the entire nation that was there show his class even though against low opposistion

the questions are

what is wolfe role in d side for real i dont think i ever see him play a senior team match so in essence sealy wuda been a better pick for experience and equal to speed .

what circumstance caused wise to not make an impact on beenies forst look at him

the bubble aint pop yet cuz we still have a 24 man travelling party though we kno who d 24th man is
Title: Re: Leo goin Madddddddd
Post by: futbolfan on May 12, 2006, 11:59:45 AM
I've been a supportive of foreign coaches always after seeing the shit St Clair and Muhammed Esa did with our national teams.

I was even a die hard supporter of Potterfield

Leo got an even greater support but this decision Beenie MAn jus made has me a little doubtful

Ok i understand Rougier old, he lacks speed,
BUT
he plays an excellent holding role fight infront of the defence. Birchall pushes forward, Spann is coming off injury. We see the defencive blunders that may happen case in point the Peru game. The position Rougier plays right infront of the defence is vital... to get past him you have tuh use speed because he's an excellent tackler and by the time u get around him you're in the defence structure...

Wolfe, Theo both young... next time kidz

Notice i placed 2 players on the goodbye bench

Ok...so let me get this straight...yuh have an ole, slow player....and all yuh need to do to get past him.... iz to use your speed.....by this analogy we should just play wid 10 men and put one ah dem orange trainin cones infront ah de defence.... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on May 12, 2006, 12:01:30 PM
Sadly Rougier was just 2 or 3 years too late.
A few years ago he would have definitely been there
Post by: TrinInfinite on May 12, 2006, 12:30:17 PM
jahyouth must be fettin all now when he hear dis news oui  :devil:
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 12, 2006, 12:30:37 PM
fellas you pong some sense into meh head

ok theo boy sorry yuh place book, but only coming on if we on top... wolfe boy next time its true you eh do nothing yet and you have alot of time

starchild said some ting i would just like to repeat : wise was brilliant against a sheit grenada side but remember wise was playing with theo span and the other out of work warriors and he out stood out on both nites much more than the other fellas

we need him even if its as a sub for glen and samuels because take it or leave it our left need all the help we can get

bennie never plays with 3 forwards at a time so stern kenwayne, scotland, even samuel or glenn latas and yorke are all capiable forwards .....................wolfe sorry but u get my last minute cut ....enjoy germany brother from the bench being waterboy perhaps

I know your time will come keep the faith
Post by: Mock de Dread on May 12, 2006, 12:34:16 PM
by the way Rougier CANNOT play a full 90, he knows this and in his role there is no tactical move that can make a sub ......there was no option there. that position requires a full 90 player. not counting major injury sustained during a game but we have other players to fill that role
Post by: palos on May 12, 2006, 12:45:34 PM
what is wolfe role in d side for real i dont think i ever see him play a senior team match so in essence sealy wuda been a better pick for experience and equal to speed .

Perhaps Wolfe is an entirely different TYPE of forward that what was selected.  From what I have seen....Sealey is very similar in style to Stern John.  Perhaps Wolfe is a more mobile, nippy type of striker?

what circumstance caused wise to not make an impact on beenies forst look at him

Wise himself said he did not keep in contact with the TTFF.  What more you want?

Post by: Mock de Dread on May 12, 2006, 12:57:47 PM
true but its up to the TTFF to keep in touch with their players too, he was a warrior once before and should have been invited back earlier, when i lived in england carrying about my business you dont really know whats going on back home,

they are both to blame