Sports => Football => Topic started by: saga pinto on December 09, 2005, 03:44:09 PM

Title: T&T vs Sweden
Post by: saga pinto on December 09, 2005, 03:44:09 PM
Who go win?

I actually love our chances against sweden,I honestly think we go out work them in midfield and jones,stern go surprise them.
Title: Re: Sweden vs T&T who go win?
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 03:48:16 PM
good question... uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhh.................................................................................................................................................................................................

id say... TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO!
Post by: canadiantrini on December 09, 2005, 03:52:15 PM
T&T obviosuly
Post by: tempo on December 09, 2005, 03:56:27 PM
Trinidad of course but Ibrahamovic is someone we have to keep good eye on.
Post by: OutsideMan on December 09, 2005, 03:58:33 PM
Breads, i believe that the Warriors could handle Sweden.  It really helps that Beenhaker and his coaching staff has vast experience coaching against Sweden, an/or teams that play that brand of football.  Also, being underestimated and not being taken seriously in this group could really take some pressure off us, and hopefully send a message for the world to hear when all is said and done...   ;D  ;D  ;D  
Post by: oconnorg on December 09, 2005, 04:02:29 PM
T&T will dominate..
Post by: dutchman on December 09, 2005, 04:04:19 PM
Its not only Zlatan, there is Hendrik Lasrson too.  :-\
( He plays at Barca)

Zweden will be quite hard, but does anyone have a link for a page if we make it to the next round.
Who could come against us then ?

Futher I found Leo staying real cool, Wim however didn't have such a good poker face.
Post by: lizzard1910 on December 09, 2005, 04:09:10 PM
Everything is possible. But I think TT rather beats England than Sweden... :-\
Post by: Teflon Don on December 09, 2005, 04:12:47 PM
( He plays at Barca)

Zweden will be quite hard, but does anyone have a link for a page if we make it to the next round.

Futher I found Leo staying real cool, Wim however didn't have such a good poker face.

And they have freddy lujnberg from arsenal
Title: Second rounds
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2005, 04:15:42 PM
does anyone have a link for a page if we make it to the next round.

If we go through to the second rounds (http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/bracket.html) our opponent will be the winner or runner up Group A (Germany, Costa Rica, Poland, Ecuador).
Post by: oconnorg on December 09, 2005, 04:19:24 PM
does anyone have a link for a page if we make it to the next round.

If we go through to the second rounds (http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/bracket.html) our opponent will be the winner or runner up Group A (Germany, Costa Rica, Poland, Ecuador).

I think Tallman meant WHEN we advance.!
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 04:19:41 PM
( He plays at Barca)

And they have freddy lujnberg from arsenal

:o shit buh how de arse i forgeh da man does play for SWEDEN!? jah... yea id say england more than Sweden too
Post by: Slacker on December 09, 2005, 04:24:40 PM
Sweden is an experienced side at playing high pressure games in Europe. They have a competent midfield that although is without star names with the exception of Freddy Ljunberg, they put in a very good showing against Argentina in the last World Cup. So it will be a tough match.

Their forward line is impressive with Zlatan Ibrahimovic partnering Henrik Larsson, a mercurial strikeforce as Zlatan is prone to bursts of childish behaviour on the field.

Realistically I think we stand a chance but we will have to play compact in the middle and allow their midfielders no time or space with which to play. Stifle them and then feed our creators like Russel and Edwards.

Wha we have to hope is that we boys play to dey full potential against Sweden an then anything could happen!!
Post by: dutchman on December 09, 2005, 04:34:21 PM
Slacker with all respect I think your info is a little dated.\
Zlatan is the real star, if you visit Italy its the name on everyones lip.
He is very very strong !!! \
Just like TOTI, that is one thing you really have to watch out for.
Zlatan is from former Jugoslavia and you don't want to get him angry.
Further he is getting better all the time, also here at Ajax he played real good &  was coached by van Basten. ( Special striker coach, van Basten first job again)

thanxs Tallmen, if you make it to the next round you'll most likely play Germany, that would be so cool
Post by: Warrior till death on December 09, 2005, 04:38:21 PM
IBRAHIMOVIC, LARRSON,LJUNBERG....... DEADLY PLAYERS
Post by: truetrini on December 09, 2005, 04:40:32 PM
all ah allyuh who feel we walking over Sweden I taking bets.

Post by: FF on December 09, 2005, 04:44:09 PM

I go take tha bet and ah betting you USA going home with zero points... yuh taking that??  :P
Post by: Slacker on December 09, 2005, 04:48:29 PM
Further he is getting better all the time, also here at Ajax he played real good & was coached by van Basten. ( Special striker coach, van Basten first job again)

thanxs Tallmen, if you make it to the next round you'll most likely play Germany, that would be so cool

Thanx Dutchman but ah wasn't disputing that he is their best player. He is without a doubt their best player, but he is prone to bursts of petulance on the field.

I've seen him do spectacular tings wit ah football yeah but ah also see him behave like ah spoilt brat too. He has recieved yellow cards for lashing out against defenders with elbow so i was just saying that he is volatile.

Post by: Filho on December 09, 2005, 04:50:11 PM
On paper..we are nowhere near Sweden's quality. Only those that have not watched them in qualifying, or over the last few world cups will underestimate them. Chances are they will also be more humble than England and take us more seriously. We are also their first game, so there is no chance of them taking their feet off the pedal.
Having said that, they are still is more about discipline and teamwork which can make them a bit more predictable. We can prepare for them tactically more easily than some other teams at their level who may rely more on moments of indiviual magic (Ibrahimovic is their most spontaneous player and he is having a devastating season for Juve).

If both teams play to their full potential...we will lose. No suprise there. But like Beenie says...this eh mathematics...is football. So we'll see
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 04:52:10 PM
Further he is getting better all the time, also here at Ajax he played real good & was coached by van Basten. ( Special striker coach, van Basten first job again)

Thanx Dutchman but ah wasn't disputing that he is their best player. He is without a doubt their best player, but he is prone to bursts of petulance on the field.

I've seen him do spectacular tings wit ah football yeah but ah also see him behave like ah spoilt brat too. He has recieved yellow cards for lashing out against defenders with elbow so i was just saying that he is volatile.

well disgusting behavior wont stop him from scoring goals. BUH i say we bring back elcock to break he foot like he do blanco  :rotfl:
Post by: FF on December 09, 2005, 04:53:59 PM
On paper..we are nowhere near Sweden's quality. Only those that have not watched them in qualifying, or over the last few world cups will underestimate them. Chances are they will also be more humble than England and take us more seriously. We are also their first game, so there is no chance of them taking their feet off the pedal.
Having said that, they are still is more about discipline and teamwork which can make them a bit more predictable. We can prepare for them tactically more easily than some other teams at their level who may rely more on moments of indiviual magic (Ibrahimovic is their most spontaneous player and he is having a devastating season for Juve).

If both teams play to their full potential...we will lose. No suprise there. But like Beenie says...this eh mathematics...is football. So we'll see

Fihlo I agree

But I glad for this draw... it eh no weak group... so we getting ah challenge!!!

And it eh no group of death where man could get psych out before world cup even start..... is ah nice baptism we getting!!!

Post by: red rover on December 09, 2005, 04:56:37 PM
yow be realistic, all ah allyuh who sayin trini go beat sweden, which one ah allyuh idiats go puh yuh house and land on dat. none ah sure so stop being silly, because de truth is sweden is not bloody bahrain....zlatbrahimavich alone by heself is real poison..man like dog and dem have tuh hope deh ugliness go throw men like dat off deh game because matchin up dem men is ah no brainer ...we have real licks tuh get to be honest in dat world cup....i is a trini tuh meh heart but i is a realist too....we have tuh hope tuh go deh and have a couple good games and have ah good showin...anybody who know football know trinidad probably aint go win ah game and might draw one if snow start to fall on coffee street in san'do
Post by: SHOTTA on December 09, 2005, 04:58:44 PM
I AGREE NICE BAPTISM  

I SEEING A ONE ALL DRAW FOR WE WIT SWEEDEN WE GO LOCK ZLATAN WHOLE GAME SO I AINT WORRIED
Post by: dutchman on December 09, 2005, 05:03:37 PM

Some England players and press will underestimate T&T.
The problem is their swedish coach, he really doesn't underestimate T&T.
He was just on the BBC, and takes T&T serious.

I would keep fingers cross if we draw to England, draw to sweden and win from Paraguay with them 10 men on the field.
Then as runner up to ... Germany  :-\
Post by: Slacker on December 09, 2005, 05:10:48 PM
well disgusting behavior wont stop him from scoring goals. BUH i say we bring back elcock to break he foot like he do blanco  :rotfl:

:rotfl:Horse u see Essien tackle on Hamann in de game against Liverpool. That was de worst tackle ah see in years and it wasn't ah mistake
Post by: rastafari on December 09, 2005, 05:21:52 PM
yow be realistic, all ah allyuh who sayin trini go beat sweden, which one ah allyuh idiats go puh yuh house and land on dat. none ah sure so stop being silly, because de truth is sweden is not bloody bahrain....zlatbrahimavich alone by heself is real poison..man like dog and dem have tuh hope deh ugliness go throw men like dat off deh game because matchin up dem men is ah no brainer ...we have real licks tuh get to be honest in dat world cup....i is a trini tuh meh heart but i is a realist too....we have tuh hope tuh go deh and have a couple good games and have ah good showin...anybody who know football know trinidad probably aint go win ah game and might draw one if snow start to fall on coffee street in san'do

Yo Bredren doh just come and call man idiot in here, relax and be humble and doh blaze fire pon nutten just yet.
Leh we see some frendlies first and then man could start on man scene.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
Post by: real-warrior on December 09, 2005, 05:26:40 PM
yea i tink we shud take care of sweden. Beenhacker no wha he doin ;)
Post by: Pointman on December 09, 2005, 05:27:02 PM

yo dis is football...anything could happen. It go be ah hard fight but not impossible...remember Adidas' slogan "impossible is nothing"

VIBES IT UP!!!!   have faith!
Post by: dumpalewie on December 09, 2005, 05:29:23 PM
Hush yuh ass!
Post by: Marcos on December 09, 2005, 05:29:41 PM
Boy Zlatan is a real hater
we hadda rest some hard jam on him to have any chance
a warm up game against Norway should be in d cards to practice playing against a European side
Title: T&T vs Sweden
Post by: D.H.W on December 09, 2005, 05:30:31 PM
Who go win?
warriors 5 sweeden nil of course  ;D
Post by: FATZ on December 09, 2005, 05:53:55 PM

I go put my car on that if you put your car. We could race each other, you'll be Sweden and i of course will be T&T
Post by: john_public on December 09, 2005, 06:01:09 PM
it going to be a hard fight, but we knew even befor de draw dat it was gonna be this way. i think dat we have a better chance with england dat most of the other seated teams casue they play mostly long ball and we are a bit stronger in the air dan de ground. i seein parag as a big treat casue they attack from both wings and we need o get more form in our defence. i have confidence that bennie would get his homewoke done and get the boys prepared it will up to dem how badly the want to make a name for themselfves. another plus is being in england group most ah de scouts go befollowin dat group, so thats added incentive for we boys, we takin germany by storm  ;D
Post by: palos on December 09, 2005, 06:08:34 PM

I go take tha bet and ah betting you USA going home with zero points... yuh taking that??  :P

Yuh notice Cap'n America run way quick quick when yuh post dat.  De fuggah wouldn't tek dah bet at all.   ;D ;D
Post by: truetrini on December 09, 2005, 06:26:29 PM

Yuh notice Cap'n America run way quick quick when yuh post dat.  De fuggah wouldn't tek dah bet at all.   ;D ;D

haul yuh arse! go play with triniman and f**k ah snowman.

i eh care if usa win lorse or draw!

i say dat man here acting like if we corking sweden.

steups

allyuh need to chill and jes enjoy de show!
Post by: red rover on December 09, 2005, 06:36:03 PM
aye boy,lautrine-dumpalewie, wha school is dat yuh representin, pres-HEN-tation? alright dat is how deh teach allyuh tuh present ah argument over deh "hush yuh ass" come man do better dan that present something and den maybe yuh could say hush yuh ass
zeen
rover out
Hush yuh ass!
Post by: Trini Madness on December 09, 2005, 07:14:53 PM
i bet after these warm up games we will be fine. if we play a good game especially against brazil WE WILL have a chance.
Post by: palos on December 09, 2005, 07:21:16 PM

steups

Awwwww.....look how yuh so sensitive yuh f**kin bulla.   ;D

1 - I not in de boysin business...I leff dat to u so.
2 - Even if ah was...u and triniman in ting and u is meh breddrin (doh mind yuh bullin....yuh is meh padnah still) so ah wouldn't horn yuh.

And nex time....try and at least be original wit de insults nah....yuh could do plenty better dan dat...plagiarizin sam ting.  Tut Tut.  ;D
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 07:24:54 PM

steups

Awwwww.....look how yuh so sensitive yuh f**kin bulla.   ;D

1 - I not in de boysin business...I leff dat to u so.
2 - Even if ah was...u and triniman in ting and u is meh breddrin (doh mind yuh bullin....yuh is meh padnah still) so ah wouldn't horn yuh.

And nex time....try and at least be original wit de insults nah....yuh could do plenty better dan dat...plagiarizin sam ting.  Tut Tut.  ;D

O JESUS CHRIST HOW DE TWO MOST CLEVER MEN ON DIS SITE HADDA FIGHT LIKE CHIRREN DEY come nuh man.... yall should be uniting to insult people... FOR THE GREATER CAUSE!!  :rotfl:

buh fuh real... squash all d  :bs: nuh you two men is d unofficial moderators.
Post by: saga pinto on December 09, 2005, 07:42:53 PM

red rover you're an example of most trinis that jump on the bandwagon when we qualify and start to talk shit as soon as you hear we playing some big side like england,sweden etc.If yuh don't have anything positive to say,make some sense at least nah,firstly trinidad & tobago never play sweden and sweden never play we so you could match all yuh want on paper and talk about who dey have deadly,but at the end of the day we're going into the tournament with momentum and men peaking at the right time,so expect anything.Plus a little reminder meh friend yuh sound young from that comment yuh post,some of our warriors browse on this site from time to time and we all feed off each other so please keep it positive,this is the time when our country needs us all.           
Post by: Jefferz on December 09, 2005, 07:46:53 PM

red rover you're an example of most trinis that jump on the bandwagon when we qualify and start to talk shit as soon as you hear we playing some big side like england,sweden etc.If yuh don't have anything positive to say,make some sense at least nah,firstly trinidad & tobago never play sweden and sweden never play we so you could match all yuh want on paper and talk about who dey have deadly,but at the end of the day we're going into the tournament with momentum and men peaking at the right time,so expect anything.Plus a little reminder meh friend yuh sound young from that comment yuh post,some of our warriors browse on this site from time to time and we all feed off each other so please keep it positive,this is the time when our country needs us all.           

all i know is i go rel cuss he cuhnt when we geh beat them
Post by: Fantastic on December 09, 2005, 08:08:17 PM
Red Rover watch yuhself my youth. Ah tell yuh it have some men on dis board will come looking fuh yuh. Doh mess with de people and dem Warriors boss. Even doh yuh make a lil bit of sense, yuh coulda have some more blasted couth man.
Post by: Big Magician on December 09, 2005, 08:12:01 PM
RED ROVER....FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKK   OOOOOOOOOOFFFFFFFFFF
Post by: che on December 09, 2005, 08:53:01 PM
I think that we could pull off a draw with Sweden :praying:
Say a pray for T&T fans in Germany , because them drunk English fans will be looking for fight :challenge: Our best hope for a win is Paraguay . But no matter what happen I real glad we deh :wavetowel:
Post by: Grande on December 09, 2005, 08:59:59 PM
One positive note is that we can prepare for their main strikers: Ibrahimovic and Larsson. Latapy and Dog play against Larsson a few times so they will have an idea what he is about. He only play a few games for Barcelona since he joined so his technique cyar change so much. Beenie was de one who bring Ibrahimovic to Ajax so he must have ah idea of what we can expect.  :beermug:
Title: T&T v Sweden
Post by: TrinInfinite on December 09, 2005, 09:07:55 PM
I keepin my team to post it last, what allyuh posting?
Post by: red rover on December 09, 2005, 09:50:24 PM
aye boy, yuh illiterate, yuh have a big modsec logo on de side deh, is modsec yuh went tuh school? no wonder, wha yuh know bout football, dah school doh even have a football team, allyuh like asja so breeze out
Post by: supaselectuh on December 09, 2005, 11:41:30 PM
i have ah friend from schoool here, and she is swedish, so i say we in war from now, she laugh
but i serious
Post by: FF on December 09, 2005, 11:49:03 PM
i have ah friend from schoool here, and she is swedish, so i say we in war from now, she laugh
but i serious

Supaselecta ah still waiting for de next setta football songs

yu giwee ah teaser last week gyul  :P

wey de rest??
Post by: cm103 on December 10, 2005, 12:45:59 AM
but i serious

selectuh

how she look??

Ah might have to volunteer to help maintain d relations between d two countries after we upset dem  :devil: :devil: :devil:

Ah go take one fuh d team if she look good....

Ah going to sleep dey to charge up...ah just have a feeling dem idle fans from we group go find dey way on d board over dis weekend..
Post by: JERSEY TRINI on December 10, 2005, 01:05:54 AM
I think that we could pull off a draw with Sweden :praying:
Say a pray for T&T fans in Germany , because them drunk English fans will be looking for fight :challenge: Our best hope for a win is Paraguay . But no matter what happen I real glad we deh :wavetowel:

Yeah i see that we played them in two friendlies back in 89 and drew both games.  I wonder what is the difference between them now.
Post by: cunninlynguist on December 10, 2005, 03:26:18 AM
but i serious

funny... :rotfl:

P.S.: I am trading/selling tickets to Match 35: Paraguay vs. Trinidad & Tobago on June 20, 2006 in Kaiserslautern, check my thread: http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=9046.0
Post by: warmonga on December 10, 2005, 11:04:37 AM
I actually love our chances against sweden,I honestly think we go out work them in midfield and jones,stern go surprise them.
lets see who is going to break down de Sweeden defence..
check de stats.. If TNT could hold sweeden from scoring TNT could pull of a tie...a victory against Sweeden will be very tuff..I fancy beating england if dey do not score from free kicks!!!!!!!(TNT doest defend set plays good at an international level)..
check sweeden stats..
12-Oct-05 SWE:ISL 3:1 (2:1) 
08-Oct-05 CRO:SWE 1:0 (0:0) 
07-Sep-05 HUN:SWE 0:1 (0:0) 
03-Sep-05 SWE:BUL 3:0 (0:0) 
04-Jun-05 SWE:MLT 6:0 (4:0) 
26-Mar-05 BUL:SWE 0:3 (0:1) 
13-Oct-04 ISL:SWE 1:4 (0:4) 
09-Oct-04 SWE:HUN 3:0 (1:0) 
08-Sep-04 SWE:CRO 0:1 (0:0) 
04-Sep-04 MLT:SWE 0:7 (0:3)
dats 32 goals for and 3 against ...This aint easy as everyone is mekin it to be..sweeden is a world class team wid wrl class defenders.. Dat shit TNT be doing in defence is not going to wrk against Sweeden.. sweeden will drop about four innah we rass  if fi defend like we does!!!!!!
warmonga....
Post by: dutchman on December 10, 2005, 11:14:51 AM
Whoever defender gets Zlatan please let him go to the GYM every day from now till June.
If we get beaten on football skills ok, but it would be sad if Zlatan just push us off and scores.
Also watch Hendrik so don't be 100% fixed on Zlatan, they will be expecting that.
Hendrik has a good head too.

BLOOD sweat & FETE
Post by: Trini Madness on December 10, 2005, 11:18:37 AM
ah feel it go be a high scoring game fellas. T&T 4 Sweden 3. T&T get de winning goal in injury time. it go be one tight game from 0:00 to 90:00. if a opponent score or T&T score,  nobody eh stoppin T&T. jus like de bahrain game at hasely. bahrain score one den 5 mins later a birchall L-A-S-E-R nobody eh stoppin we!!!!! GO T&T!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Teflon Don on December 10, 2005, 12:36:10 PM
what we need to find out is ...how did most teams score on sweden i n the last 2 yrs....what r their weaknesses....even the games they won and conceeded a goal or 2.......we shud find out how did that team score.

Lets try to get our hands on some match reports from any swedish games in the last 2 yrs
Post by: JDB on December 10, 2005, 01:08:49 PM
but i serious

Make sure to take some pics if two of allyuh start to fight and rip up each other clothes.
Post by: Jefferz on December 10, 2005, 01:16:30 PM
aye boy, yuh illiterate, yuh have a big modsec logo on de side deh, is modsec yuh went tuh school? no wonder, wha yuh know bout football, dah school doh even have a football team, allyuh like asja so breeze out

ey red rover can you actually juggle a ball?      stop talkin about man illitarate an shit... stewps tell dah tuh men like hardest nuh? "yuh could play football?"    go have people hate you somewhere else nuh
Post by: Baygo Boy on December 10, 2005, 01:17:03 PM
T&T all de way. T&T 2 - Sweden 1.
Post by: firebun on December 10, 2005, 05:35:08 PM
people, start praying from now!! prayer does work!
Post by: firebun on December 10, 2005, 06:01:25 PM

Put dis idiot on ignore, people.  he is the biggest Waggonist on the board ever!  no negative bullers on this site,  Rover d dog. >:(
Post by: oconnorg on December 10, 2005, 06:21:16 PM

Put dis idiot on ignore, people. he is the biggest Waggonist on the board ever! no negative bullers on this site, Rover d dog. >:(

And people questioned the need for AWATT... Look at disrespect.. Look... Ah hope allyuh liking dat...Geeezan ages.. look how dis red rover geyin orn...
Title: Re: T&T vs Sweden
Post by: chunk-a-loonks on December 10, 2005, 06:39:39 PM
Fellas,,,,I looking for 4 points from this group.

I would like to think that we could pull off a win against Paraguay - this is no easy feat but if I was Beenie, this is what I would be aiming for.

Realistically, we don't have the pedigree, skill, strength, experience, depth or youth of Sweden or England. However, we have a great coaching staff and the art of strategy and a game plan will have to come in place.

I cross my fingers that between Sweden and England, by the luck of the Gods that we could pull off at least a drawer.

Just being realistic, guys and gals.
Post by: OutsideMan on December 10, 2005, 08:05:17 PM
Hey, i just came across by chance the Sweden vs Senegal game from the 2002 World Cup that I taped, and even though that was over 3 1/2 years ago, i believe that the Swedes employ the same basic style of play today.  Senegal won that game 2 - 1, and although I'm not saying that we are in the same class of the 2002 Senegal WC team, our styles of play are quite similar.  From what I see, the Swedes are strong in the air, but lack indivual creativity, and can be broken down especially with the short passing game.  Senegal were especially effective in the game by playing an attacking one, and not cynically laying back in defence and hoping only for counter attacks.  All in all, you have to go at them, and go at them hard, and not sitting back in defence hoping to counter attack, as they would expect us to do.   

Anyway, with some hard work and intelligent preparation, we could actually win that first game...among others.  I see no reason why we can't do it, or shouldn't at least go for it..

:afro:

Post by: PantherX on December 10, 2005, 08:20:42 PM
lets see who is going to break down de Sweeden defence..
check de stats.. If TNT could hold sweeden from scoring TNT could pull of a tie...a victory against Sweeden will be very tuff..I fancy beating england if dey do not score from free kicks!!!!!!!(TNT doest defend set plays good at an international level)..
check sweeden stats..
12-Oct-05 SWE:ISL 3:1 (2:1) 
08-Oct-05 CRO:SWE 1:0 (0:0) 
07-Sep-05 HUN:SWE 0:1 (0:0) 
03-Sep-05 SWE:BUL 3:0 (0:0) 
04-Jun-05 SWE:MLT 6:0 (4:0) 
26-Mar-05 BUL:SWE 0:3 (0:1) 
13-Oct-04 ISL:SWE 1:4 (0:4) 
09-Oct-04 SWE:HUN 3:0 (1:0) 
08-Sep-04 SWE:CRO 0:1 (0:0) 
04-Sep-04 MLT:SWE 0:7 (0:3)
dats 32 goals for and 3 against ...This aint easy as everyone is mekin it to be..sweeden is a world class team wid wrl class defenders.. Dat shit TNT be doing in defence is not going to wrk against Sweeden.. sweeden will drop about four innah we rass  if fi defend like we does!!!!!!
warmonga....

The most sensible thing anyone has posted in this entire thread.

Is like allyuh startin' to believe iin yuh own hype oui!
Post by: Trini Madness on December 10, 2005, 08:33:03 PM
Hey, i just came across by chance the Sweden vs Senegal game from the 2002 World Cup that I taped, and even though that was over 3 1/2 years ago, i believe that the Swedes employ the same basic style of play today. Senegal won that game 2 - 1, and although I'm not saying that we are in the same class of the 2002 Senegal WC team, our styles of play are quite similar. From what I see, the Swedes are strong in the air, but lack indivual creativity, and can be broken down especially with the short passing game. Senegal were especially effective in the game by playing an attacking one, and not cynically laying back in defence and hoping only for counter attacks. All in all, you have to go at them, and go at them hard, and not sitting back in defence hoping to counter attack, as they would expect us to do.

Anyway, with some hard work and intelligent preparation, we could actually win that first game...among others. I see no reason why we can't do it, or shouldn't at least go for it..

:afro:

is there a website where i can see dat game?

whey sah me eh see anything like dat.........AWATT organize immediate execution
Post by: OutsideMan on December 10, 2005, 08:45:22 PM

is there a website where i can see dat game?

)

I don't know of any websites where you can see that particular game.  I apparentely have the game on videocassette.  I hadn't realized that I taped so many of those games from the 2002 WC (lol)
Post by: skins on December 10, 2005, 10:42:20 PM
We beating sweeden. I kind of happy we playing them first
Post by: Flex on December 11, 2005, 01:36:17 PM
Just realise Brent Rahim is based in Sweden.... maybe he can scout for us...  :rotfl:
Post by: Trini/Sverige on December 11, 2005, 02:24:17 PM
well well well the country of my birth against the country i live in, i dont know what the score will be but i really want us to win and even more so after all the shit they writing and saying about tnt in the swedish press a man write and say that we was in bago and the only way to get a newspaper was to trade three mangoes for the papers and being a proud trinidadian stuff like that hurts but for all you all this is the link of the swedish players some are names that are not popular but by where they are playing you can obviously know if they are good are not http://www.svenskfotboll.se/t2vm.asp?p=98551
Post by: Teflon Don on December 11, 2005, 02:29:05 PM
well well well the country of my birth against the country i live in, i dont know what the score will be but i really want us to win and even more so after all the shit they writing and saying about tnt in the swedish press a man write and say that we was in bago and the only way to get a newspaper was to trade three mangoes for the papers and being a proud trinidadian stuff like that hurts but for all you all this is the link of the swedish players some are names that are not popular but by where they are playing you can obviously know if they are good are not http://www.svenskfotboll.se/t2vm.asp?p=98551

Air Force ones....can u tell us how most teams score on sweden? Any trends in the kinda goals that are scored on them?
Post by: d00d on December 11, 2005, 02:42:48 PM
trade mangoes for newspapers? best dem did say we does eat food out of plantain leaves!! oh yea...we do...hmm...
Post by: AB.Trini on December 11, 2005, 02:48:41 PM
I say Warrior Nation invade de Swedish blondes; see how much mangoes dem women could handle? Two sapodillas and  big mako plantain; Bring it on.
Post by: warmonga on December 11, 2005, 02:56:14 PM
I say Warrior Nation invade de Swedish blondes; see how much mangoes dem women could handle? Two sapodillas and  big mako plantain; Bring it on.
LAWD have mercy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: firebun on December 11, 2005, 05:13:01 PM
T&T needs to have their game face on at the onset.  No smiling at anyone until we buss dem up.  We out for WAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Ah only hope dem Refrees don't sabotage we. :-[
We could beat anybody if we only believe!
Post by: Birk on December 12, 2005, 03:30:11 AM
 Sweden conceded 4 goals in the WC qualification. 1 from the penelty spot, 1 from a freekick and two shots from outside the box. I think Sweden scored most of their goals from open play.
Post by: marcovbasten on December 12, 2005, 05:10:06 AM

tnt-england 0-1
tnt-paraguay 2-0
tnt-sweden 1-1

thru to the next round

tnt-germany 1-0

and then

tnt-holland

should be great!!!

Title: T&T v Sweden
Post by: Irishman Don on December 14, 2005, 09:42:47 AM
Hay, congratulations to you all on a splendid achievement in making it to the World Cup finals. He is one Irishman who will be supporting you all there. Good luck!
The president of the Trinidad and Tobago FA was interviewed on the BBC the other day and he said that the WC games against England and Sweden will be the first time T&T have played against these nations. Whereas the game against England will be the first ever meeting (and I am confident you could cause an upset), I seem to remember a game against Sweden sometime in the 1980's. Am I right? If so would someone have the T&T team that played that day.
All the best in Germany and I hope that you are the surprise team of the tournament (there is always one!!)
Title: Re: T&T v Sweden
Post by: Themanfriday on December 14, 2005, 09:51:03 AM
yes and that could be us :devil:
Post by: Girl Warrior on December 14, 2005, 09:57:22 AM
Thanks man, we aprreciate all the support. I'm sure the team will be very prepared to meet Sweden and England and Paraguay
Post by: Sentinel on December 14, 2005, 10:13:09 AM
Can't exactly remember the team....but I do know...yes...T&T played Gothenberg....I attended the game and remember Gothenberg were in colours...Blue and Yellow...and they scored with a few headers...

Oh Well....the old man brain kinda slow....lol

Luv U T&T
Post by: che on December 14, 2005, 10:15:54 AM
I think that game was in 83, and we lost 5 nil  :-[
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 14, 2005, 10:21:53 AM
don thanks for the support.tnt will definitly be the team to cause some heads to roll.
Post by: firebun on December 14, 2005, 10:30:06 AM
Hay, congratulations to you all on a splendid achievement in making it to the World Cup finals. He is one Irishman who will be supporting you all there. Good luck!
The president of the Trinidad and Tobago FA was interviewed on the BBC the other day and he said that the WC games against England and Sweden will be the first time T&T have played against these nations. Whereas the game against England will be the first ever meeting (and I am confident you could cause an upset), I seem to remember a game against Sweden sometime in the 1980's. Am I right? If so would someone have the T&T team that played that day.
All the best in Germany and I hope that you are the surprise team of the tournament (there is always one!!)

thanks man for d support.  Doh worry when we buss up Sweden, England and Paraguay in the first rounds, you are invited to the T&T celebration/party/fete in Germany.  As well as all we other foreign friends.  We go find a place to celebrate!  All yuh go see how sweet a Trini celebration is! :beermug:
Post by: Irishman Don on December 14, 2005, 11:56:41 AM
Hay man if I make it to Germany I will certainly hook up with the giant T&T party there and I'll make a bet now that it will be the place to be for all the fans in Germany. Have a really, really great time there, y'all.
Title: Sweden keeper Isaksson ruled out for rest of year
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2005, 12:05:33 PM
Sweden keeper Isaksson ruled out for rest of year
STOCKHOLM, Dec 14 (Reuters) - Sweden goalkeeper Andreas Isaksson will be out of action at least for the rest of the year with a thigh injury, Swedish public television SVT reported on Wednesday.

Isaksson was injured playing for Stade Rennes against Paris St Germain in the French first division at the weekend.

The 24-year-old, Sweden's first-choice keeper, is expected to keep goal for his country at next year's World Cup finals in Germany, where they have been grouped with England, Paraguay and Trinidad & Tobago.

Title: Re: Sweden keeper Isaksson ruled out for rest of year
Post by: Themanfriday on December 14, 2005, 12:06:27 PM
sty injured I know I bad mind
Title: Formation against Sweden
Post by: palos on December 17, 2005, 09:05:07 PM
Sweden plays 4-4-2 and T&T for the most part, except against Bahrain in Bahrain, plays 4-5-1

Do people think we should continue with the 4-5-1 against Sweden to try and compete in midfield?

Should Latas start against Sweden knowing that on the defensive side of the ball, we will be effictvely using 4 and not 5 midfielders?

Should Latas' replacement (if he doesn't start) be a defensive midfielder to help protect the central defenders a la Makele seeing that the 2 Swedish strikers in question are Ibrahimvoich and Larsson, rather than a Kenwyne Jones?  Will this defensive midfielder conflict with Yorke's new role?

I'm referring to tactical strategies for the Swedes rather than personnel although in the case of Latas, playing him from the start has a direct effect on the tactics to be employed.

On another note, I saw Zamora for 90 minutes for the first time today.  I've seen snippets of him before but this was the first time I actually watched him play a full 90.

My opinion, if he is elgible, he is more than welcome to try out for the T&T team.  I know it's tough to judge someone on one performance, but for me he doesn't bring anything more to the table than either Kenwyne Jones OR Jason Scotland.  In my opinion, he won't make the team.

Post by: trinidad badboy on December 17, 2005, 10:36:32 PM
Trinidad and Tobago taking that game   1-0   

done talk
Post by: Jah Gol on December 18, 2005, 09:58:52 AM
What a team does in qualification is very different to what they do in the finals. We have an opportunity to improve leaps and bounds before playing Sweden next June. Apparently some of us have forgotten that Leo took over the team after 3 games had already been played. I'm fairly satisfied with the plans for the World Cup and I think the team will improve before the first game. I think the inculusion a few new players could change the face of the team altogether not that its bad now in any case.

Its the World Cup and all that matters is how we play on the day nothing else. We can't approach these games expecting to lose or playing for a draw. Let us play the game in the spirit of the game and work for victory. Anything else would be an embarrassment for the people of this country and mockery of the beautiful game of football.

We must believe that we can beat these teams. We must make our mark on the World Cup.
Title: How will we fear against Sweden
Post by: kappy on May 02, 2006, 01:32:15 PM
Do yu think we have a good chance against a team tha seems to have the same concerns as us ... an inconsistent back line, good middle, but a much stronger front line.  Although Beenie has coached Ibrahimovic.  Ah think we go poison dem ....
Title: Re: How will we fear against Sweden
Post by: Peong on May 02, 2006, 01:34:09 PM
You mean fare not fear. 

We goin wit NO FEAR!
Title: Re: How will we fear against Sweden
Post by: kappy on May 02, 2006, 01:36:24 PM
right ....
Post by: duscam on May 02, 2006, 02:28:28 PM
sweden 2 tand t 0
by the way anybody have extra tickets for sweden game?
Post by: trinidad badboy on May 02, 2006, 07:34:17 PM
amm...

tnt
Post by: Behbehman on May 03, 2006, 12:32:32 PM
Boy Zlatan is a real hater
we hadda rest some hard jam on him to have any chance
a warm up game against Norway should be in d cards to practice playing against a European side

As my Dutch colleague here would always say to me...in football the ball is round.  Anything could happen.
Post by: real-warrior on May 03, 2006, 04:57:36 PM
yeh das tru! but dog go take care uh he!
Post by: Trini Madness on May 04, 2006, 06:41:31 AM
i think swedens defense isnt as strong as ours.

yeh das tru! but dog go take care uh he!

hadda watch out for larsson also,  sometimes he does come outta nowhere. if we stop ljungberg from making plays we good to go.
Post by: kappy on May 04, 2006, 12:34:11 PM

TnT 1 vs Sweden 0 .... by the way USA go end up 2nd in the Group behind Czech Rep.
Title: SWEDEN'S WC SQUAD
Post by: Grande on May 12, 2006, 01:49:32 PM
Sweden's WC Squad for Germany

GK:
Andreas Isaksson
Jon Alvbåge
Rami Shaaban

Defenders:
Olof Mellberg (captain)
Mikael Nilsson
Erik Edman
Teddy Lucic
Kalle Svensson
Petter Hansson
Fredrik Stenman

Midfielders:
Nicklas Alexandersson
Kim Källström
Daniel Andersson
Tobias Linderoth
Freddie Ljungberg
Anders Svensson
Chippen Wilhelmsson
Johan Elmander (can play as Forward)

Forwards:
Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Henrik Larsson
Marcus Rosenberg
Marcus Allbäck
Mattias Jonson (can play as Midfielder)

Reserves:
Bengt Andersson
Christoffer Andersson
Kennedy Bakircioglu
Fredrik Berglund
Mikael Dorsin
Tobias Hysen
Daniel Majstorovic
Max von Schlebrugge
Alexander Östlund
Title: How can T&T cope against Larsson and Ljungberg?
Post by: behind-de-bridge on May 17, 2006, 02:56:55 PM
Watching these guys tonight, can we defence cope when we play Sweden?
Title: Re: How can T&T cope against Larsson and Ljungberg?
Post by: duscam on May 17, 2006, 02:58:47 PM
i was more interested in half the england defence playing for assnal..who lorse  :rotfl: :devil: :devil:..but anyways sol campbell is a boss..de man like a rock and he fast....but we doh know and thats why we play the game
Post by: pioneertrini on May 17, 2006, 03:14:54 PM
boi Ibrahimovic is the real hassle for we. Trinidad 8/1 for the win. I feel ill put ah £10 on.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 17, 2006, 03:45:02 PM
You don't ever approach a game with fear but with respect. Larsson and Ljungberg did not anything out of the ordinary. They are good players but we know what to expect from them. As the coach said we will have the best possible preparation. Sweden will be our first opponent and I'm certain that the coach knows what that team plays. All 3 game will be very difficult for us but I see know reason to panic.
Post by: elan on May 17, 2006, 03:45:56 PM
Man markers. Avery John and Whitley, or Birchall through the middle.
Post by: Jefferz on May 17, 2006, 04:06:19 PM
Man markers. Avery John and Whitley, or Birchall through the middle.
Whitely and Birchall will be key in the defensive sectors...Carlos Edwards will be facing down Ljungberg... with that said... Carlos have the speed but the man have to put on some extra muscle for Freddie and Cole.

Our defenders central defenders unlike our wing backs dont have the speed so they will need to sharpen up their figurative machettes and make up for the speed factor with crunching, well calculated tackle.

simple as that.
Post by: pioneertrini on May 17, 2006, 04:13:26 PM
or we could give them food poisoning  :devil: has worked in the past  :D
Post by: Big Magician on May 17, 2006, 05:16:25 PM
deal with them easy..... dog and lawrence
Post by: thane on May 18, 2006, 02:45:05 AM
it's good to be patriotic...but common ppl..... :rotfl:
Post by: kappy on May 18, 2006, 12:48:14 PM
or according to the bbc ... we cud wok some obeah on dem ... :devil:
Post by: LICKS4SO on May 18, 2006, 08:29:47 PM
i think dem spanish kinda have we number..paragry will be tough
Post by: elan on May 18, 2006, 08:47:16 PM
Men we have to real. Being real does not make you a waggonist. These players are so quick it's not funny. The fastest we have in the defence probably Avery John. What we to do is undersatnd these guys strenghts and their weakness. For Larsson, we cannot mark him to close we have to close himdown and force him to pass, but we cannot dive in, just stand him up. Let Ljungberg shoot from 20-25yds out, not inside the 18yds box. Try stop him from turning or from receiving the second ball on the run. It will be hard guys, really hard. It's not a fairy tale, the cinderella story ended when we qualified, now is everyone dancing at the ball.
Post by: WARRIORKING on May 19, 2006, 12:35:53 AM
well i agree with one fella  freddie Ljungberg will give the most problems  with his powerful runs towards goal and his persistance.ibrahimovich should be controlable but its not gurantee cause he can make us pay if the defense slip up
Post by: marcel on May 19, 2006, 03:13:52 AM

make the field small
sweden can not play in little spaces
they want to use the long ball to zlatan
if t&t can do that they make a chance

same with tjechie
Title: Problems for Sweden (from bbc.co.uk)
Post by: boss on May 26, 2006, 04:13:48 AM
Problems for Sweden 
By Nathan Mercer
BBC Sport in Gothenburg 

England scouts would have been encouraged by Sweden's faltering performance in Gothenburg on Thursday in their penultimate warm-up game before they travel to Germany.

The Swedes, who will be in England's group at the World Cup, played out a goalless draw with Nordic neighbours Finland.

It was met with murmurs of discontent from the 24,000 Swedish fans inside Ullevi. BBC Sport takes a look at how one of England's key opponents is shaping up.

TOOTHLESS IN ATTACK
The World Cup squad selected by coach Lars Lagerback appeared to signal a more offensive approach than in previous tournaments.

Yet without their star names of Freddie Ljungberg, Henrik Larsson and Zlatan Ibrahimovic for Thursday's friendly, Sweden looked toothless in attack and ponderous in possession.

The Swedish media has praised Lagerback's desire to attack teams and many saw it as a move away from the stubborn, workmanlike image that has been a corner stone of the Swedish style in years gone by.

And with young talents Johan Elmander, Marcus Rosenberg, Kim Kallstrom and Christian Wilhelmsson in the starting line-up, much was expected of their new breed of stars to fill the breach left by their nations' hereos.

But they showed precious little creativity going forward and were comfortably kept at bay by Roy Hodgson's tidy Finland team.

FITNESS
One problem Lagerback must contend with is the condition of his squad.

The Swedish league - Allsvenskan - only began in April and will not restart until after the World Cup in July, meaning many of the current squad are lacking in match fitness.

That, along with the strenuous seasons of those in the Premiership and the rest of Europe, has provided a tricky balancing act for Lagerback and his coaches in training.

Aston Villa and Sweden captain Olof Mellberg believes that the squad have yet to find their rhythm.

He told BBC Sport: "This week has been relaxed in training and we all come from different situations as some people have come from playing a lot of games and some have come from playing hardly any.

"So it was more important from an individual point of view. Some needed a game and some needed a rest so we didn't look too much at the score today."

THE IBRAHIMOVIC FACTOR
The Swedes are now left pinning their hopes on big names to inspire their talented youngsters.

And, just as England's eyes are on Wayne Rooney and his fitness, so Sweden's fortunes are being rested squarely on Zlatan Ibrahimovic's shoulders.

Lagerback has rounded on the Swedish media, branding them pathetic for their criticism and expectancy levels of the talisman.

And he was keen to relieve some of that pressure on Ibrahimovic by leaving him on the bench.

But despite calls from the fans for his introduction, Lagerback persisted with his new front-line pairing of Rosenberg and Elmander and when the change up front did come, it was former Aston Villa striker Marcus Allaback who took to the field.

But Ibrahimovic's absence only further reinforced his importance to the side instead of dampening the hype and expectancy surrounding him.

Former Tottenham left-back Erik Edman told BBC Sport: "We didn't play that well but we know we can do a lot better next time and of course we miss those players who were not playing.

"If you have three or four good players missing, it affects a squad like Sweden because it's not like England where you have 22 players who are all big names and players."

MOVEMENT AND TEMPO
Midfielder Niclas Alexandersson knows the pace England will play at after he had spells with West Ham and Everton, and he called on his team-mates to raise their tempo.

He told BBC Sport: "It was a slow pace and the tempo was a bit low. We need this game to get the tempo up. Most of the players have had a week or two where they haven't played a game so that's maybe why we were slow.

"The attacking will come but we were standing still playing today and there was not so much movement. To create more chances we need to have better movement."

CONCLUSIONS
Sweden's last match was against Republic of Ireland in March where they were outplayed and easily brushed aside 3-0.

Lagerback described that as the worst showing since he took charge eight years ago and Thursday's lacklustre draw will have done little to give him and his camp confidence ahead of their opening match with Trinidad and Tobago.

Sweden's final World Cup warm-up match is against Chile on Friday 2 June but on this showing England will have little to fear when the two sides meet in three weeks.
Title: England,Paraguay and T&T smell Blood as Sweden experience Problems.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 26, 2006, 06:56:30 AM

England scouts would have been encouraged by Sweden's faltering performance in Gothenburg on Thursday in their penultimate warm-up game before they travel to Germany.

The Swedes, who will be in England's group at the World Cup, played out a goalless draw with Nordic neighbours Finland.

It was met with murmurs of discontent from the 24,000 Swedish fans inside Ullevi. BBC Sport takes a look at how one of England's key opponents is shaping up.

TOOTHLESS IN ATTACK

The World Cup squad selected by coach Lars Lagerback appeared to signal a more offensive approach than in previous tournaments.

Yet without their star names of Freddie Ljungberg, Henrik Larsson and Zlatan Ibrahimovic for Thursday's friendly, Sweden looked toothless in attack and ponderous in possession.

The Swedish media has praised Lagerback's desire to attack teams and many saw it as a move away from the stubborn, workmanlike image that has been a corner stone of the Swedish style in years gone by.

And with young talents Johan Elmander, Marcus Rosenberg, Kim Kallstrom and Christian Wilhelmsson in the starting line-up, much was expected of their new breed of stars to fill the breach left by their nations' hereos.

But they showed precious little creativity going forward and were comfortably kept at bay by Roy Hodgson's tidy Finland team.

FITNESS

One problem Lagerback must contend with is the condition of his squad.

The Swedish league - Allsvenskan - only began in April and will not restart until after the World Cup in July, meaning many of the current squad are lacking in match fitness.

That, along with the strenuous seasons of those in the Premiership and the rest of Europe, has provided a tricky balancing act for Lagerback and his coaches in training.

Aston Villa and Sweden captain Olof Mellberg believes that the squad have yet to find their rhythm.

He told BBC Sport: "This week has been relaxed in training and we all come from different situations as some people have come from playing a lot of games and some have come from playing hardly any.

"So it was more important from an individual point of view. Some needed a game and some needed a rest so we didn't look too much at the score today."

THE IBRAHIMOVIC FACTOR

The Swedes are now left pinning their hopes on big names to inspire their talented youngsters.

And, just as England's eyes are on Wayne Rooney and his fitness, so Sweden's fortunes are being rested squarely on Zlatan Ibrahimovic's shoulders.

Lagerback has rounded on the Swedish media, branding them pathetic for their criticism and expectancy levels of the talisman.

And he was keen to relieve some of that pressure on Ibrahimovic by leaving him on the bench.

But despite calls from the fans for his introduction, Lagerback persisted with his new front-line pairing of Rosenberg and Elmander and when the change up front did come, it was former Aston Villa striker Marcus Allaback who took to the field.

But Ibrahimovic's absence only further reinforced his importance to the side instead of dampening the hype and expectancy surrounding him.

Former Tottenham left-back Erik Edman told BBC Sport: "We didn't play that well but we know we can do a lot better next time and of course we miss those players who were not playing.

"If you have three or four good players missing, it affects a squad like Sweden because it's not like England where you have 22 players who are all big names and players."

MOVEMENT AND TEMPO

Midfielder Niclas Alexandersson knows the pace England will play at after he had spells with West Ham and Everton, and he called on his team-mates to raise their tempo.

He told BBC Sport: "It was a slow pace and the tempo was a bit low. We need this game to get the tempo up. Most of the players have had a week or two where they haven't played a game so that's maybe why we were slow.

"The attacking will come but we were standing still playing today and there was not so much movement. To create more chances we need to have better movement."

CONCLUSIONS

Sweden's last match was against Republic of Ireland in March where they were outplayed and easily brushed aside 3-0.

Lagerback described that as the worst showing since he took charge eight years ago and Thursday's lacklustre draw will have done little to give him and his camp confidence ahead of their opening match with Trinidad and Tobago.

Sweden's final World Cup warm-up match is against Chile on Friday 2 June but on this showing England will have little to fear when the two sides meet in three weeks.

Post by: kappy on May 26, 2006, 07:15:07 AM
hahaha ... the cracks are beginning to show ...  :devil: ... in Beenie we trust
Post by: Pasdah Beatz on May 26, 2006, 08:15:28 AM
Folks all i have tuh say is dat we coming out we group and facing Germany second rounds...
Remember you hear id here first on SW.com
Post by: Benjie on May 26, 2006, 10:15:21 AM
Isn't Ljungberg out the game against Us?
Post by: fire on May 26, 2006, 01:35:21 PM
Small Mag, what is the source of the article?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 26, 2006, 01:38:01 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/sweden/5018834.stm