Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on February 08, 2006, 03:30:35 PM

Title: The Hooligan Thread
Post by: Sam on February 08, 2006, 03:30:35 PM
Green Street Hooligans

Fellas this is a good one..You need to buy or rent this DVD, it is selling all over the States and should not be hard to find, this story and show is excellent, trust me...

Green Street Hooligans (http://www.warnervideo.com/greenstreethooligans/).

Title: Re: Green Street Hooligans
Post by: Andre on February 08, 2006, 03:37:47 PM
is not a "brokeback mountain" kind a thing i hope.
Post by: Pointman on February 08, 2006, 03:39:00 PM
Fellas this is a good one..You need to buy or rent this DVD, it is selling all over the States and should not be hard to find, this story and show is excellent, trust me...

Green Street Hooligans (http://www.hooligansthefilm.com/).

ah hear bout dis, bout ah yankee who join ah english football hooligan posse. Ah go check it out. ;D   thanks
Title: Re: Fellas this is a good one..
Post by: FF on February 08, 2006, 03:40:04 PM
is it ah football movie?

somewhat...

Is about ah youth man (Elijah Wood) who get kick out of Harvard wrongly and gone England by he sister... He then fall in with she brother-in-law... who is de leader of ah "firm" (hooligan gang).... Is ah WestHam firm....

If yuh like scramble fight and nigg-arate (bottle and stone)... yuh go like this one.... de storyline decent too...
Post by: Pointman on February 08, 2006, 03:47:20 PM
is not a "brokeback mountain" kind a thing i hope.

cough ...cough boy yuh have meh choking wid dat one :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Mr Mc on February 08, 2006, 03:53:01 PM
He then fall in with she brother-in-law...

more brokeback buisness again..
Post by: Sam on February 08, 2006, 03:56:06 PM
Hush allyuh ass nah, if Sam tell yuh it worth watching then go with de word, it eh no brokeback buisness...

PS: Allyuh ever drink Puncheon and suck cane for chaser. Well doh fack with Sam.   :devil: de movie wicked, it reminds me about the passion I have for the greatest sport in the world.
Post by: Pointman on February 08, 2006, 03:57:02 PM

nah, nah is not dat :rotfl: :rotfl:  allyuh killing meh wid dat :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: FF on February 08, 2006, 03:57:07 PM

fall in with... NOT fall in love with

yuh jackass!... allyuh is real kicks yes  :rotfl:
Post by: Mr Mc on February 08, 2006, 03:59:00 PM

I aint so sure nah, watch how elijah only watching the man in the clip, look like he want to take him camping up brokeback mountain....
Post by: Pointman on February 08, 2006, 04:03:12 PM

I aint so sure nah, watch how elijah only watching the man in the clip, look like he want to take him camping up brokeback mountain....

Post by: Cowen on February 08, 2006, 04:13:15 PM

allyuh is real jokers sah ....  :rotfl:
Post by: E-man on February 08, 2006, 04:20:37 PM

Yuh seen brokeback to the future?
http://youtube.com/w/Brokeback-to-the-Future?v=zfODSPIYwpQ&search=brokeback%20to%20the%20future
Post by: Carib-Briton on February 08, 2006, 04:30:10 PM

Post by: Star Child on February 08, 2006, 05:14:33 PM
I saw that movie Sam, BOSS movie...
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on February 08, 2006, 05:20:14 PM
i go check it out...
Post by: Star Child on February 08, 2006, 05:24:09 PM
If FIFA see that movie they may never host a World Cup in England, them holigans is no joke. Them white boys in England and Scotland real hard and have no fear.
Post by: Collin Mcsamuel on February 08, 2006, 05:53:24 PM
That movie is so terrible it's painful to watch haha. Elijah Wood as a footbal hooligan is so funny and all this movie does is make people think it's cool to be a thug at a football match. Utter garbage.
Post by: Carib-Briton on February 08, 2006, 06:03:50 PM
That movie is so terrible it's painful to watch haha. Elijah Wood as a footbal hooligan is so funny and all this movie does is make people think it's cool to be a thug at a football match. Utter garbage.
Very True
Post by: Peong on February 08, 2006, 07:24:42 PM
A better hooligan movie is Football Factory (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0385705/)
Title: Hooligans at the World Cup....Priceless!
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 31, 2006, 06:00:58 AM
Football hooligans hand over passports to police

LONDON (AP) - More than 3,000 people designated as soccer hooligans had until 1700 GMT yesterday to hand their passports over to British police to prevent them from travelling to the World Cup, the Home Office said.

As well as surrendering their travel documents, the 3,286 people subject to "football banning orders" will also be required to report to their local police station each time England plays.

The orders, given to people who cause or contribute to violence or disorder at soccer matches, are aimed at preventing England's most serious soccer hooligans from going to Germany for the June 9-July 9 tournament. People who are subject to the orders and who travel anyway could face fines or jail time.

Riots at the 1998 World Cup in France and the 2000 European Championship in Belgium and the Netherlands prompted the government to take tougher action to stop known troublemakers from travelling to England games.

The government began negotiations with German authorities on security two years ago to make certain security arrangements were in place.

Along with the banning orders, local police and prosecutors will also travel to Germany to keep an eye on the 100,000 fans who are expected to support the England squad.

England plays in Group B at the World Cup with Sweden, Paraguay and Trinidad and Tobago.

Title: Re: Football hooligans hand over passports to police
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 31, 2006, 06:01:37 AM
So the tnt football fans safe.
Post by: oconnorg on May 31, 2006, 06:10:35 AM
ahahah this is funny.. but good going by British babylon
Post by: jub02 on May 31, 2006, 06:38:44 AM
That is a small minority.. the rest are allll GoooooooooD. Watch out for Germans & Spanish
Post by: oconnorg on May 31, 2006, 06:41:32 AM
That is a small minority.. the rest are allll GoooooooooD. Watch out for Germans & Spanish

3000 is still enough to cause trouble wont you think ? lol
Post by: Blue on May 31, 2006, 06:59:16 AM
Now read this one (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2006/03/19/nfooty19.xml&sSheet=/news/2006/03/19/ixnewstop.html)....

1,000 English hooligans to be allowed to go to World Cup after bans expire
Daily Telegraph, UK

One thousand known English football hooligans will be allowed to travel to the World Cup in Germany this summer because their "banning orders" have expired.

The thugs were considered so dangerous that they were prohibited by the courts from attending matches in this country or going abroad to watch England play. But the bans have been steadily expiring since the summer of 2004 and have not been renewed.

Fears of violence at the World Cup grew last week with the stabbing of three Middlesbrough fans in Rome. British police blamed the clashes on an "organised group of Italian thugs".

A convicted football hooligan Andy Nicholls, whose banning order expired last year, confirmed that he would go to Germany and said he expects others in his position to do the same: "I should imagine a lot of people who have been banned are going to go out, whether it be for the football or other activities. Anyone who comes straight off a ban and causes trouble is going to be a bit daft - but there's a lot of daft ones out there."

Despite the threat, the head of Britain's World Cup policing operation said hooligans whose bans had run out would be treated no differently to any other fans. Assistant Chief Constable Stephen Thomas of Greater Manchester Police, who will lead a team of 79 British officers in Germany during the tournament, said: "We hope they want to go back to watching football and will not make the same mistakes again. We won't be targeting them, because they have served their penalty and served their ban."

Up to 100,000 English supporters are expected to travel to the World Cup. Organisers fear clashes between the English and gangs of Germans, Poles, Czechs, Serbs and Croats.

A record 3,500 Britons will be subject to banning orders during the event. They must surrender their passports and report to local police stations on England match days. The courts can extend the orders to individuals who are judged to pose a continuing threat, but have done so for only 12 of the 593 orders that expired between January 2005 and February 2006. A further 185 banning orders will expire between February and June this year, while an estimated 240 expired in the second half of 2004, making a total of around 1,000.

A Home Office spokesman said: "Renewal orders are only sought if there is evidence that the subject continues to pose a risk of violence or disorder at football matches."

Mr Nicholls, 43, was banned for two years in 2003 for his involvement in a pub fight between Everton and Aston Villa fans. He maintains that he was only helping injured victims to escape. He now claims to be a reformed character. He has recounted his violent exploits in his book, Scally - The Shocking Confessions of a Category C Football Hooligan. He said: "I was a hard core hooligan, I don't deny that. I deserved a ban, I took it on the chin, I've done my time and I've learnt my lesson."

Post by: Blue on May 31, 2006, 07:06:47 AM
And another one (http://football.guardian.co.uk/comment/story/0,,1786256,00.html) from today's UK Guardian (a very well respected newspaper)

Is hooliganism inevitable at this World Cup?  

Wednesday May 31, 2006
The Guardian

Yes
Dougie Brimson

I think the fact that the World Cup is taking place in the centre of Europe is going to be important because it means everyone can get there easily. This, coupled with everybody's main fear - of Polish and Croatian hooligan groups - means it is almost inevitable that something is going to happen.

While I agree that supporters from Poland and Croatia pose the big threat, I think there is also a potential problem from hooligans from the former East Germany. There is an element who are affiliated to the far right and, for the first time, fans from all over the world are on their doorstep. In general, racism in former Eastern Bloc countries has not been addressed.

What worries me is that England fans may become the target of other groups. Although many countries have domestic hooligan problems, very few export them. Traditionally England has, and the fans could be a target because of that reputation. Other hooligans traditionally consider the English "the best", so there is the temptation to seek them out and try to match themselves.
In the south and east of Germany there have also been rumours that local far-right groups will be targeting black and Asian supporters, and this leaves some English fans vulnerable.

Of the group games, the obvious potential trouble spot is Germany v Poland. In the past, rival Polish hooligan groups have declared an alliance and I believe it has happened again - although there is also the danger of fighting between groups from the same region. For example, Croatian hooligans from Hadjuk Split and Dinamo Zagreb really hate each other. Also, nobody knows how Croatians and Poles living in Germany will react if trouble starts. In the unlikely event that Croatia meet Serbia, the problem could be uncontainable.

You can also expect Russian fans to go to Germany even though their team did not qualify. Ironically, many will be following England. They see English hooligans as the "model" and have been to London to meet English groups. The World Cup is football's party and it's the first time they have had the opportunity and income to go, so their team's failure will not deter them.

I think the German police are as on the ball as they can be. With England fans, the key will be how they are treated. The shift in demographic among our fans and the success of 4,000 banning orders has helped change the atmosphere among those travelling to away matches - from "invading army" to more of a "barmy army", like the cricket fans. The hard work of individuals to re-brand and educate England supporters has also helped. Police know that England are not necessarily a threat any more; the challenge is not so much to contain them as to protect them. Hooliganism is often caused by atmosphere - if it's relaxed it should be OK.

If the police give England fans breathing space - they don't like aggressive policing - then we can be optimistic that the fans won't cause trouble. The danger is that if they are targeted, there is an element among them who will not back down.

Post by: Carib-Briton on May 31, 2006, 07:40:33 AM
LOL @ 2 last posts after Trinimans one
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 03, 2006, 05:00:51 AM
Hooligans at the World Cup....Priceless!

Last night on british TV there was a program about hooliganism at the world cup. Apparently this tv show, Panorama (so that is where we got it from…lol), sent in under cover reporters to join in with the yobs and dem, and get into the life of a british football hooligan.

People, I laugh till water come out meh eye! Dem yobs dotish bad. I know it involved violence but it was too funny. It just confirmed my suspicions, dat yob culture stems from a lack of education. They real “thick” as the brits say.

Imagine you get yuh teeth lick wey confronting police and fall down and sprain yuh knee and ting, but boasting bout it and recalling it as though yuh just come back from a hike up Paria Falls. Priceless I tell you!

But de best was de yobs themselves. I had no idea all dat violence and ting went on at the world cup. The clash between the polish and german fans was the best! Police move in to stop de clash, separating them with several dozen police men in between the two groups. Dem men get vex and join up to fight de police, because they couldn’t get to fight each other! Hilarious!

Dem british yobs in a league by themselves. At least the germans and the polish had the excuse of world war 2 to use for their feuding. But the british yobs were attacking and fighting anybody. Imagine man running into BRAZILLIANS trying to start a fight! And when the british camerman and reporters trying to stop them, de fella telling them they are traitors and “unbritish”. Mad I tell you.

And de best character was a man who makes his money by organising pre-arranged fights/clashes between opposing hooligan sides across Europe. He was complaining that the german police policy of arresting people who they suspect going to make trouble early on was ruining his business…lol. De police keep getting tipped off about the pre-arranged fights and arresting the main hooligans before the fights could take place.

But the highlight for me was when the program spoke about what the games should be about and how fans should behave. Guess who were used as the example of the perfect fans? You guessed it – Soca Warriors fans! Yeah!!!!!!!!

They had a piece on the cricket match between the Warrior Nation and the England Fans, as well as highlights of the mini carnival through Nuremburg, and of trini fans feting after the matches. Take a bow my people. We are now the yard stick by which football fans’ behaviour will be judged.

Title: Re: Hooligans at the World Cup....Priceless!
Post by: jub02 on August 03, 2006, 05:36:52 AM
i saw dat 2. it was really freaky . some of dem english fans just are thick but wen u say dey was attacking anyone..it was sometin about these brighton boys had a grudge on any turkish people..after liverpool won de champions leauge in istanbul.2 supporters were killed by some turkish. so i hear on the programme the ppl they was havin fite with they mistake for turks.. :o  :-\

the cricket match was an example of de nice fans.. jus some yobs gett on my nerves..i hav 2 say tho..i didnt no the germans wer that bad.

Post by: Pompey on August 03, 2006, 05:48:06 AM
I didn't see the programme, but there is a lot of talk about it on the boards.

I find it a shame in to ways. It's a shame that these idiots still exist. I blame the welfare system, it means that people like this are able to breed, if we took away their welfare they wouldn't have kids and future generations would be protected.

It's also a shame that a TV crew are so desperate to create a documentary they need to give these idiots publicity, still, a documentray about the 350,000 fans who behaved themselves and had a good time would be boring.
Post by: Dutty on August 03, 2006, 06:35:37 AM
Sooo...yuh sayin dem is not de kinda fellahs ah 'redtrinigirl' would invite home to meet mummy and tantie and dem right?  ;)
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 03, 2006, 06:38:56 AM

I find it a shame in to ways. It's a shame that these idiots still exist. I blame the welfare system, it means that people like this are able to breed, if we took away their welfare they wouldn't have kids and future generations would be protected.

It's also a shame that a TV crew are so desperate to create a documentary they need to give these idiots publicity, still, a documentray about the 350,000 fans who behaved themselves and had a good time would be boring.

True boy, I saw they had lil 8 and 10 year olds singing their yob songs and joining in the cursing and ting. They are bringing up yet another generation of hooligans.

But one thing though. These hooligans seem to come from the lowest reachest of middle england. They are obviously either uneducated, or barely so. So their job prospectscannot be that good. Not to mention that the places where these people come from are usually the lowest paying regions in the UK.

So how come they could afford to go abroad, and fight and get on bad, EVERY time england playing abroad? Where are they getting the money from? They don't seem to be the type to save religiously waiting to travel every two years.
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 03, 2006, 06:40:12 AM
Sooo...yuh sayin dem is not de kinda fellahs ah 'redtrinigirl' would invite home to meet mummy and tantie and dem right?  ;)

Dutty, doh start meh, yuh hear!....lol ;D

Definitely not walking dat across the street, much less bring home.
Post by: jub02 on August 03, 2006, 06:40:29 AM
Most likely these type of people dont go on holiday anywhere...probably some caravan park..so they could get the money from their benefits.
Post by: Touches on August 03, 2006, 06:54:50 AM
While it may seem these characters are uneducated these "attacks" are usually well orchestrated.

May I suggest a book called...How Soccer explains the world an unlikely theory of globalization by Franklin Foer.

Check out the few opening chapters are see how well educated these groups are, and how they are used by the government, political groups, businessmen etc. to do their dirty work.

Post by: davidephraim on August 03, 2006, 07:01:49 AM

True boy, I saw they had lil 8 and 10 year olds singing their yob songs and joining in the cursing and ting. They are bringing up yet another generation of hooligans.

But one thing though. These hooligans seem to come from the lowest reachest of middle england. They are obviously either uneducated, or barely so. So their job prospectscannot be that good. Not to mention that the places where these people come from are usually the lowest paying regions in the UK.

So how come they could afford to go abroad, and fight and get on bad, EVERY time england playing abroad? Where are they getting the money from? They don't seem to be the type to save religiously waiting to travel every two years.

Maybe they are being funded by Iran and Syria.... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: Jefferz on August 03, 2006, 07:02:23 AM
ha... I lived with them.
Post by: Pompey on August 03, 2006, 07:20:39 AM

that's kind of my point. Take away their welfare and they can neither breed or travel.

(For the record, I am not a right wing biggot, I appreciate some people genuinely need welfare, but that should be to survive, not to travel europe causing trouble)
Post by: Pompey on August 03, 2006, 07:22:54 AM
an interesting, if somewhat alarming article

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/3693885.stm
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 03, 2006, 07:35:13 AM
I have my theories onthe whole hooliganism thing. It is similar to the ward rivalry that takes place in spain. It's just as fierce there.

Maybe as civilization took precedence over the years, the need for war between rival tribes and clans went out the door. Some of these tendancies may still be in the blood of certain descendants, and they have to find some way to express this need for fighting. I mean, it's not like they have to fight over land, grazing territory for their herds, women, water holes, etc. So they "clan up" behind their football clubs, and use it as an excuse to have their rivalry and fights.

Yes, crazy I know, but what else explains it?  :-\
Post by: Dutty on August 03, 2006, 07:56:48 AM

Wait nah...I thought all hooligans are in the 18-25 range

You mean to tell me big hard back old men in their 30's trying to play hooligan??

Why dem fellahs doh stay home and drink tea or tend their garden or someting
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 03, 2006, 08:01:46 AM

Wait nah...I thought all hooligans are in the 18-25 range

You mean to tell me big hard back old men in their 30's trying to play hooligan??

Why dem fellahs doh stay home and drink tea or tend their garden or someting

Boy, on the show last night, was nuff "ex-hooligan" men was giving interviews. Men in they forties and ting. I didn't realise it had retirement plan for hooligans. ;D
Post by: Pompey on August 03, 2006, 10:14:00 AM
There was a spate of books last year written by "Ex-Holligans". the one that springs to mind was Rolling with the 6:57, because it was about the Portsmouth hooligan element.

Portsmouth has had more then their fair share of hooligans in the past and to an extent we still have them. After the derby with Southampton at Fratton Park in 2004 there was a riot after the game and something like 100 arrests were made.

The ages of thise arested varied, but the alarming thing, is that kids as young as 12 were given banning orders. Mainly for things like throwing bricks at police. In the Police report afterwards, it mentioned how most of these kids were being encouraged by older, middle aged people who should have known better.

Thankfully there has been no repeat of this since, but I still see youngsters who would like to copy their forebears and start up their own "Crew".
Post by: Ocky on August 03, 2006, 05:57:05 PM

But the highlight for me was when the program spoke about what the games should be about and how fans should behave. Guess who were used as the example of the perfect fans? You guessed it – Soca Warriors fans! Yeah!!!!!!!!

They had a piece on the cricket match between the Warrior Nation and the England Fans, as well as highlights of the mini carnival through Nuremburg, and of trini fans feting after the matches. Take a bow my people. We are now the yard stick by which football fans’ behaviour will be judged.

I need to correct a few mistaken things that have been written here, although I do agree that this programme did highlight a few problems that we have. Firstly we need to distinguish between the term British and English, they are not the same thing. Secondly they also stated that 99% of English people attended the World Cup and did do as the slogan stated 'a time to make friends'. If you use the Home Office figures for the amount of English people who travelled to Germany, they quote a figure of 350,000, then that's a lot of people enjoying themselves and behaving peacefully.

Thirdly the whole programme was a biased and misrepresentation of what happened in Germany and has provoked quite rightly a stream of protests. If the undercover crew were that good then how come they managed to get themselves arrested and locked up with the rest of the so called hooligans?? And how come the only people they interviewed in Germany were some young teenagers from Huddersfield who came in a gang of 3??

If you must poke fun at the English football supporters then please get your facts right first. In the programme they showed the cricket match, they also showed English fans attending a school in Cologne to make friends with the schoolchildren and they also showed another group of England fans  attending the Documentation Centre in Nuremberg and discussing the centre with the Chief Scientist to help understand how Nazism grew in that part of Germany.  Now I've watched this programme 4 times, I was interviewed for the documentary as well and I've yet to find any commentary that says that the Socca Warriors are the example of how we should behave. How come you are the yard stick by which we should be measured?

If you really are interested then heres the link;

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/programmes/panorama/default.stm

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 03, 2006, 08:56:43 PM
me eh know nuh
but to leave home with intent to cuff ah man in he face and possibly get meh teeth lick out jes doh seem like entertainment to me
Post by: Pompey on August 04, 2006, 03:24:42 AM
why were the German police "Shocked" at the England fans for singing about the war? it's something that always happens when ever we play Germany "Two world wars and one world cup". We conveniently forget the fact that they have won the world cup more than us and beaten us pretty consistently since, but lets not let facts get in the way eh?

We also sing "If it wasn't for the English you'd be krauts" to the Dutch and "what's it like to lose a war to the Argies".

I've never really thought about the pros and cons of it before, but I would be interested to hear the thoughts of a "Neutral".

Post by: Midknight on August 04, 2006, 03:32:23 AM
A neutral would probably say sport and politics shouldn't mix...
Post by: Pompey on August 04, 2006, 05:15:35 AM
A neutral would probably say sport and politics shouldn't mix...

indeed it shouldn't, but it nearly always does.

Celtic v Rangers and Roma v Lazio as simple examples.
Post by: superoli on August 04, 2006, 05:36:37 AM
I have to say that the program was not like portrayed in the first post. At no pint did the commentator use us as an example of how fans should behave. They were actually using the cricket match to highlight how the offical england supporters club are trying to project a positive image. As I constantly remind people there were 100,000 - 150,000 english supporters there and at most (the steps part) there were about 200-300 idiots thats about .02 - .03 % of the fans.

I was in Nuremberg and experienced no problems nor did any in of our group about 50-60 nor did i see anything ! The only fights I saw were Dutch fans fighting with Germans in Frankfurt so that shows how isolated these incidents can be.

Post by: Weh-it-is on August 04, 2006, 01:47:22 PM

that's kind of my point. Take away their welfare and they can neither breed or travel.

(For the record, I am not a right wing biggot, I appreciate some people genuinely need welfare, but that should be to survive, not to travel europe causing trouble)
So they does use thee money to travel to make trouble wah thee ass is this? So is like man from thee Beatom saving they money to go Tobago to start fight for ah football game match! Am I missing something here?  ??? Them must be reale stupid! I never went England right but I never thought It had low down people like that out they an in such large amounts. I'm not a racist ok.. is the majority white,black people or mixed? ???
Title: *GREEN STREET HOLLIGANS* football movie
Post by: johnny_ringo on August 28, 2006, 12:46:13 PM
I jus watch GREEN STREET HOLLIGANS with meh boy FRODO (elijah wood). Is a really good football movie based in England. It's bout West Hamm United's "firm" (group of football holligans/supporters)
Anyof allyuh ever see this?
Do them english teams really have firms?
Title: Re: *GREEN STREET HOLLIGANS* football movie
Post by: Jahyouth on August 28, 2006, 12:50:07 PM
that show wicked.  I see it a couple months ago.  The football vibe real sweet in the show.

Regarding "firms", yeah man.  I hear plenty about that kinda thing.  I remember back in the day when Milwall was playing big football that people used to fraid to go in there to suppost their team.  The stadium was called The Den I believe.
Post by: jub02 on August 28, 2006, 04:31:17 PM
DId anyone actually click de " green street " link ting at the top.... :-\ :angel:
Post by: morvant on August 28, 2006, 05:46:11 PM
DId anyone actually click de " green street " link ting at the top.... :-\ :angel:

i now click on de blasted link

sam yuh ketch meh again ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 28, 2006, 07:19:10 PM
de movie real good.it shows how de english really love they football,also havin ah reputation and an image to uphold.
Post by: football prof on August 28, 2006, 07:39:01 PM
Yeah good movie. You really have to luv football to enjoy this movie.
Post by: morvant on August 28, 2006, 07:53:25 PM
what shyt allyuh does be talkin boy

stupessssssssss

that movie aint have shyt to do with football

one or two clips ah football and pure fight

yuh have to love fight to lke that movie
Post by: Pompey on August 29, 2006, 06:31:21 AM
Saying Green Street (Or football factory for that matter) is about football is like saying the Warriors is a New York tourist information film.

These films show an era that has long since passed. Watch if you will, but don't think Football in England is like this
Post by: Dutty on August 29, 2006, 06:54:06 AM
what shyt allyuh does be talkin boy

stupessssssssss

that movie aint have shyt to do with football

one or two clips ah football and pure fight

yuh have to love fight to lke that movie

well arrite..and sam self is de man give it two thumbs up

Post by: Flash7 on August 29, 2006, 11:18:03 AM
looking at the movie trailer, it doesn't really seem like this movie has alot to do with football, more like football fans,
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOrvmGwfbpI
Post by: Carib-Briton on August 29, 2006, 12:07:53 PM
I still haven't seen Green Street to this day, I need to see this, my friends always make me laugh when they tell me about it :rotfl:
Post by: ladywarrior on August 30, 2006, 11:29:30 PM
I saw it. I would have to say that it was entertaining probably more so because I am a fan or the game and just came back from World Cup.
It helped me understand the madness behind the "hooliganism."
More to do with territorial rights that the game itself.
Title: Film: Green Street
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 14, 2006, 11:12:51 AM
I know I'm late but I just had to say that this film is sick I thought it was gonna be really silly typical just shove any ''hard'' looking English Guys in a film and have lots of fights, like football factory, I liked football factory but that was because it just made me laugh.
The end was emotional, I didn't expect the film to have a kind of happy ending at all.

It actually showed how people could influence you, I just wanted to ask people who have seen it

Do you think you could ever get dragged into a situation like that or have you? (I never have but could have been easily with the type people who were in my school, not football hooliganism though)
Did you think the man (Yank) was right for joining up after they saved his ass or was he just mentally weak?
In the end if it wasn't for being involved he probably wouldn't of know how to get his own back.

And overall what did you think of the film? for me:

Entertainment wise I could give it a 10/10
Educational (yes I thought it was educational) 7/10

Also was good because it showed that Football Hooligan are not all Working Class people, even though it was obvious most of them were working class or wc at one stage of their lives.

Oh yeah, I love to hear Black people with Northern English Accents especially being a Londoner :devil: :rotfl:
Post by: ZionYouth on September 14, 2006, 06:54:41 PM
Evreybody talkin about dis movie ah might have tuh check it out,but did anyone see ''Goal'' yet, yuh know dat football movie, ah just buy it today, but i ent look at it yet...
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 14, 2006, 06:56:01 PM
Evreybody talkin about dis movie ah might have tuh check it out,but did anyone see ''Goal'' yet, yuh know dat football movie, ah just buy it today, but i ent look at it yet...

Green Street Is Massive. Go and watch it, Please.
Post by: Phensic on September 15, 2006, 11:28:56 AM

Green Street Hooligans (http://www.warnervideo.com/greenstreethooligans/).

Boss! I checked out that movie lastnight on cable...riviting dread!  This was really interesting insight into that subculture if I can call it that. I liked how they played on the typical "Yank" sporting values vs a Britt, especailly around the word "soccer".  Great film!

Post by: PantherX on September 16, 2006, 11:28:27 AM
I thought it was a good movie but apparently it's viewed as a joke by the English....at least the one's on the football forums I frequent.
Post by: ribbit on August 18, 2008, 11:52:04 AM
anyone see the movie?

rise of the footsoldier (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0901507/)

???

i heard it's along the same lines as green street hooligans.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 18, 2008, 12:04:01 PM
There's your Famous! There's your Famous! There's your Famous G.S.E!

Boss f**king show...Saw it a while ago..and got my friends to watch it...they all liked it too...
Title: Green Street Hooligans 2
Post by: triniairman on June 18, 2009, 06:23:34 PM
Well my first thread about goal 3 was merged, but it's all good. I bring you Green Street Hooligans 2  ;D

Following the deadly climax of "Green Street Hooligans," several members of the West Ham firm and numerous members of Millwall end up in jail. The GSE quickly discover the brutality of life on the inside, as they are constant targets of the superior numbers and better-financed Millwall crew.

http://www.megavideo.com/?v=RLY9YUY2 Enjoy!!! MODS show some love with this one please.
Title: Re: Green Street Hooligans 2
Post by: Quags on June 18, 2009, 06:54:52 PM
Wow lol @firms...Seen that ,don t know what happened after they had to go save the thing ,missed that part .
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 28, 2011, 07:59:21 PM
Warrior Nation in Hooligan Documentary

Just watching this documentary on the hooligans in WC 2006 and see warrior nation pop up in the clip...not sure if it was posted before
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9WpaDXBDt4&feature=player_embedded#at=382

Title: Re: Warrior Nation in Hooligan Documentary
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on April 28, 2011, 08:02:39 PM
came up after about 6 mins 20 sec
Post by: soccerman on April 28, 2011, 08:14:56 PM
Who were the WN members on the clip? Anyone on this site? Ah see we had a rasta pace bowler representing...
Post by: Tallman on April 28, 2011, 10:09:23 PM
Who were the WN members on the clip? Anyone on this site? Ah see we had a rasta pace bowler representing...

Yeh, ah remember dat day well. Dat was in Nuremberg when we play ah windball cricket match against de English supporters. De Mayor and all pass thru and take ah small lime.

De rasta who bowling is de one and only Brian Williams.

Some of de members in de clip are me, Feliziano, Controversial, Fli!, and Hyperhot J. Trinity Cross, what is yuh Indian pardna name again?
Post by: weary1969 on April 28, 2011, 10:43:52 PM
I leave wit d intetion of reaching dey and neva reach.
Post by: Preacher on April 28, 2011, 10:45:21 PM

So which Hooligan is you?   ;D
Post by: weary1969 on April 29, 2011, 01:40:29 AM

So which Hooligan is you?   ;D

Post by: Observer on April 29, 2011, 06:36:46 AM
Tallman is the Rasta waving he rag walking out
Post by: College on April 29, 2011, 07:20:35 AM
so who won the cricket match??

Post by: truetrini on April 29, 2011, 07:42:30 AM

Yeh, ah remember dat day well. Dat was in Nuremberg when we play ah windball cricket match against de English supporters. De Mayor and all pass thru and take ah small lime.

Some of de members in de clip are me, Feliziano, Controversial, Fli!, and Hyperhot J. Trinity Cross, what is yuh Indian pardna name again?

Stephen Mungalsingh
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2011, 09:29:17 AM
so who won the cricket match??

we buss dey tail twice.

Read more:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17394.0
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=17674.0
http://www.thewarriornation.com/content/view/58/36/

Stephen Mungalsingh

He wild too bad when he ready :rotfl:

Post by: truetrini on April 29, 2011, 10:07:27 AM
especially with liquor in he system...lol
Title: Hooligans Thread.
Post by: Flex on November 12, 2013, 03:07:40 AM
Just what T&T needs: hooliganism
By Christophe Brathwaite (Express).

Hooliganism, not secondary schools football was the real winner at the recent Big Five football final. Whilst sport commentator Andre Errol Baptiste and ex-FIFA referee Ramesh Ramdhan chose to focus and demonise the referees competency, the issue is bigger.

It is possible that the referees decision to award a goal to Presentation College of San Fernando could have been an error, but the abhorrent conduct of players, parents, supporters and team officials of the opposing St Marys College smacked of the hooligan behaviour that no sport should encourage.

There is enough lawlessness around the country for us to tolerate the smallest sign of it in sport and in student related activities in particular. After all, this defeats the purpose of friendly, but competitive rivalry between schoolboys.

Hooliganism is of not new to sport. It is a term used to describe disorderly, aggressive and often violent behaviour perpetrated by spectators at sporting events.

And, there is no better term to describe the events at the Big Five final: hurling of water bottles at match officials by the St Marys players; verbal assault of the referee by team officials; refusal of the St Marys players to receive their second-place medals; and verbal abuse of the linesman by parents, players, and supporters at  at the game.

It was Matthias Krug who wrote an editorial for CNN entitled Soccer violence: Referees under siege in which he reported these acts of hooliganism: in the USA a referee had been punched and later died; in Europe, a linesman had been beaten to death while his son looked on as a member of the opposing team; in Germany a match official had to be hospitalised after being attacked by spectators; and as recent as 2013 at a football game held in La Liga between Getafe and Deportivo La Coruna a referee was verbally abused by fans for the entire game because he sent off a home player.

All the while, in every instance there were small children who sat nearby listening to the verbal abuse and witnessing the unruly mobs display of primordial conduct unbecoming of human beings actions to one another.

This is not the objective of sport, recreation, and collegiate rivalry. The conduct of the St Marys players,  officials, parents, and supporters signals the prospect of this culture seeping into our schools and penetrating other activities within and between schools. It also points to the risk of a deepening of the lawlessness in the society once a new round of perpetrators has been recruited; descending to the depths considered by Krug may not be far fetched.

The sporting body responsible for football discipline at this level must act immediately. Indeed, governing bodies are expected by government to recognise their broader responsibilities partly by virtue of the recognition of their governing body status by the State.

Accordingly, whoever is to blame, the SSFL must send a clear message that this type of behaviour shall not be tolerated. It is their responsibility as the recognised governing body at that level to ensure a just and appropriate outcome.

Moreover, if this behaviour is left uncorrected, unchallenged, and unfettered the consequences will be twofold. First, it will send a message of acceptance to the present generation and second, it will confirm to future generations that aggressive behaviour from participants in and supporters of sport is the norm. The SSFL must levy sanctions on St. Marys and its supporters in the expectation that punishment will send a strong message to both parents and syco-fans.

Even before this, one wonders why the principal of St. Marys has not come out publicly and denounced the behaviour of his charges? Why has he not stood up and said this is not the behaviour that is expected of our students? In the absence of such a reprimand, parents of prospective St Marys students may reconsider their plans for sending their boys to this prestige school.

In Krugs CNN report, he also disclosed that the Spanish Football Federation acknowledged that parents have become some of the worst culprits in aggressive behaviour towards referees in Spain. One of the techniques used to address such a problem was to move spectators further away from the touchline, thereby reducing the parents access to the referees.

But this technique fails to address the root of the problem. Given this countrys challenges with law and governance, corrective action cannot be cosmetic. We must insist on what is right and set the right examples when it comes to behaviour, ethics, and principles. How else are we to fight this society consumed by lawlessness? The police must get involved when disorderly behaviour and colourful language are put on display at public events.

There is no question that the law can be enforced at these sporting events. Grayson wrote in Sport and the Law: A Return to Corinthian values that, all non-accidental injury causing acts during sport are contrary to the rules of the game and should be punishable by the criminal law.

And Grayson is absolutely right. There is no place for unsanctioned violence on or off the field of play. In the celebrated case of R v Lloyd, the Court explained that, sport is not a licence for thuggery. The behaviour of the St Marys players, parents, officials and supporters was tantamount to thuggery and hooliganism, and must have broken the law.

Causation is irrelevant to the offence. There is no excuse for the acts of hooliganism. We must act to remove aggressive and disorderly behaviour from sporting events. Talent, creativity, discipline and fair-play must always win when schoolboys come out to play. These special characteristics of sport are supposed to encourage and define our cultural existence, not destroy it.

Christophe Brathwaite is an attorney at law who specialises in commercial, corporate, intellectual property, entertainment and sports law.

Title: Re: Just what T&T needs: hooliganism.
Post by: Coop's on November 12, 2013, 03:48:17 AM
Excellent article  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: if we have this at school level one can understand why the country is the way it is.
Post by: dotless007 on November 12, 2013, 05:59:45 AM
This is horribly biased and slanderous article. Not trying to justify the actions of the cic players staff and supporters, but this seems like some seriously one sided journalism. There was no mention of the pres supporters launching water bottles and other random shit at the cic technical area and into the cic supporters area. And also the reason the cic players didn't go for their medals in my opinion, having been there, was that the prizes were being given out in an area of the stadium that the cic players would have had to walk through the pres supporters in order to get there ( i think Jason Edwards made mention of this in his apology).

Where was this journalist throughout the years when teams like Mucurapo would have their supporters starting fights, and robbing cic supporters. Throughout my seven years there I can't remember a time when going to a mucurapo game didn't mean an inevitable fight/attack/ robbery on at least one of our players or supporters. Why was this never the subject or a full article written by a seemingly bitter cic hater.

Post by: Football supporter on November 12, 2013, 08:11:20 AM
This is horribly biased and slanderous article. Not trying to justify the actions of the cic players staff and supporters, but this seems like some seriously one sided journalism. There was no mention of the pres supporters launching water bottles and other random shit at the cic technical area and into the cic supporters area. And also the reason the cic players didn't go for their medals in my opinion, having been there, was that the prizes were being given out in an area of the stadium that the cic players would have had to walk through the pres supporters in order to get there ( i think Jason Edwards made mention of this in his apology).

Where was this journalist throughout the years when teams like Mucurapo would have their supporters starting fights, and robbing cic supporters. Throughout my seven years there I can't remember a time when going to a mucurapo game didn't mean an inevitable fight/attack/ robbery on at least one of our players or supporters. Why was this never the subject or a full article written by a seemingly bitter cic hater.

I understand where you're coming from, Giles. But to me, biased or not, the article was about curbing the violence. Your comments are appreciated as we now can see that the violence was actually worse than described in the article.
But we have to be less partisan, if possible, when addressing these issues. No team has a monopoly on bad supporters. But it is like a cancer that will spread surprisingly fast if we do not move to stop it now. Now that we have seen larger support groups enter the Pro League, we have to start to review matchday security.
As I mentioned in another post, there have been two incidents in the past few weeks at Ato Boldon involving Pro League teams. In one, a referee had his tyres slashed after a game and another time a car window was smashed.
Post by: Sam on November 13, 2013, 11:08:30 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/lKiu_7GtnuQ&feature=share
Post by: Bakes on November 13, 2013, 01:11:31 PM

Christophe Brathwaite is an attorney at law who specialises in commercial, corporate, intellectual property, entertainment and sports law.
Post by: dwolfman on November 13, 2013, 03:58:10 PM
Act immediately by doing what though? My problem with his article, and maybe I'm being a bit defensive, is his description paints a picture of an unruly and unrestrained mob. Unsavory as the behavior was I find his description exaggerated and misleading. If we are really seeking improvement shouldn't we approach matters like these as dispassionately as possible? These weren't a bunch of hooligans fighting and destroying all in their path. What was the crime? Not accepting medals? At worse that is poor sportsmanship. Besides the verbal abuse and an unsightly physical display (by the coach) what did the CIC boys do to have this man condemn them so severely? The spectators? Saving the worst for last, the technical staff?

If we are truly interested in improving discipline at sporting events then the first thing is to calm down on this post-match witch hunt. We also need to be a bit more understanding so that when the corrective action is being taken it will be measured and reasonable rather than just punitive. We are not talking about someone forgetting to put up a sign or was some other way careless, we are looking at a reaction to perceived unfairness. What then is an appropriate response in that situation? That should be made clear because they aren't the first team to feel cheated by a ref's decision and they won't be the last. How do we impress upon them that sport, the great imitator of life, is going to have disappointment and what marks true character is our response to it? That is no small task because I don't know where you can find a practical example in football to show these young men how they should have dealt with the ref's decision.

This man's job simply ensures that his point will be well stated. It doesn't make it reasonable or balanced, which it's not.

Post by: Bakes on November 13, 2013, 04:43:59 PM
Act immediately by doing what though? My problem with his article, and maybe I'm being a bit defensive, is his description paints a picture of an unruly and unrestrained mob. Unsavory as the behavior was I find his description exaggerated and misleading. If we are really seeking improvement shouldn't we approach matters like these as dispassionately as possible? These weren't a bunch of hooligans fighting and destroying all in their path. What was the crime? Not accepting medals? At worse that is poor sportsmanship. Besides the verbal abuse and an unsightly physical display (by the coach) what did the CIC boys do to have this man condemn them so severely? The spectators? Saving the worst for last, the technical staff?

You seriously asking what the "crime"?  You don't think confronting the ref in such a manner as to prompt police action is suggestive of a protest that went overboard?

Pres cops Big-Five title, St Augustine takes girls equivalent.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Guardian).

...The match took a halt as officials of St Marys College protested in unison, questioning both the referee and his assistant. They, including a furious head coach Jason Edwards and assistant Ryan Shim, were sent to the stands.

The end of the fixture brought jubilation to the hundreds of Presentation supporters, but it also brought a flock of players and football staff of St Marys to the faces of the referees, prompting police action. One police officer pulled out a baton, while a St Marys player questioned the official.

(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/sp2183.jpg)
Post by: dwolfman on November 13, 2013, 05:53:45 PM

You seriously asking what the "crime"?  You don't think confronting the ref in such a manner as to prompt police action is suggestive of a protest that went overboard?

Pres cops Big-Five title, St Augustine takes girls equivalent.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Guardian).

...The match took a halt as officials of St Marys College protested in unison, questioning both the referee and his assistant. They, including a furious head coach Jason Edwards and assistant Ryan Shim, were sent to the stands.

The end of the fixture brought jubilation to the hundreds of Presentation supporters, but it also brought a flock of players and football staff of St Marys to the faces of the referees, prompting police action. One police officer pulled out a baton, while a St Marys player questioned the official.

(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/sp2183.jpg)

while a St Marys player questioned the official
You are making my point for me. Again I ask, what is the crime? Questioning the officials? You have not named something a CIC player (or member of the technical staff) did that warranted being labelled a crime. Isn't the official's hand in the CIC player's face in that picture? All that quotation states is that there was police involvement, it does not show that this involvement was even necessary. I might even argue that the police involvement made the situation worse, but that's a debatable position. Besides, that's not even my point, because I am neither excusing nor defending the Saints reaction to the ref. I am questioning the accuracy of the picture painted by the writer and also his intentions in writing his article this way. Making an "example" of the CIC players for the actions of players in the US, Germany or Spain will not address the problems we face in T&T. If there is behaviour to deal with, then let us deal with that. We can't solve Europe's problems for them and it is unfair to penalise the CIC team for someone else's behaviour.

Again I ask, coming off of the controversial goal you now have a match ended after 3 minutes added on instead of the expected 5. What is the expected response from these boys? If different, what is the acceptable one?
Post by: Bakes on November 13, 2013, 10:37:06 PM
You are making my point for me. Again I ask, what is the crime? Questioning the officials? You have not named something a CIC player (or member of the technical staff) did that warranted being labelled a crime. Isn't the official's hand in the CIC player's face in that picture? All that quotation states is that there was police involvement, it does not show that this involvement was even necessary. I might even argue that the police involvement made the situation worse, but that's a debatable position. Besides, that's not even my point, because I am neither excusing nor defending the Saints reaction to the ref. I am questioning the accuracy of the picture painted by the writer and also his intentions in writing his article this way. Making an "example" of the CIC players for the actions of players in the US, Germany or Spain will not address the problems we face in T&T. If there is behaviour to deal with, then let us deal with that. We can't solve Europe's problems for them and it is unfair to penalise the CIC team for someone else's behaviour.

Again I ask, coming off of the controversial goal you now have a match ended after 3 minutes added on instead of the expected 5. What is the expected response from these boys? If different, what is the acceptable one?

Keep selectively reading...

but it also brought a flock of players and football staff of St Marys to the faces of the referees,

You are the one using the word "crime"... police don't have to wait until a crime is committed before they act.  In this case they are there specifically to keep the peace.  What did you seriously expect the police to do as "a flock" of irate, emotional people got in the faces of the officials?  What they doing getting in their faces in the first place?  That to me is a disciplinary issue that the SSFL and the school needs to address just as the author suggests.  I have no rooting interest between Presentation and CIC, I am indifferent/antipathetic to either equally.  I dislike that crowding the ref thing as I said from jump.  It needs to be stamped out. Period.
Post by: KND2 on November 16, 2013, 09:01:39 PM
Cic men soft ..........this must be transfer men who just come to play football if cic men is bad john nowadays country gone to the dogs
Post by: Coop's on November 17, 2013, 03:35:49 AM
Cic men soft ..........this must be transfer men who just come to play football if cic men is bad john nowadays country gone to the dogs
      You have a point in what u are saying there,i coached St Mary's one season back in the day when Nakhid,Skeene etc  was playing,almost after every game it always had guys waiting by the gate to beat them up i just don't know for what,the culture there is always a descent bunch of guys.
Title: Tragedy at Algeria match
Post by: de_redman on August 25, 2014, 05:58:21 AM
Tragedy at Algeria match

www.trinidadexpress.com (http://www.trinidadexpress.com)

Cameroonian footballer Albert Ebosse has died after being hit by an object which was thrown from the crowd at a league match in Algeria on Saturday.
The 24-year-old JS Kabylie player was fatally struck on the head at the end of his teams 2-1 loss to USM Alger in Tizi Ouzou. Ebosse had earlier equalised from the penalty spot before USM Alger scored a late winner.
JS Kabylie confirmed Ebosses death in a statement on the clubs website and revealed that an investigation has been opened.
It read: The Ministry of Interior and Local Government, speaking through minister Tayeb Belaiz, has given an instruction to open an investigation into the circumstances surrounding the death of Albert Ebosse. The JSK player succumbed to a head injury after being hit in the head at the end of the meeting with USM Alger.
And the Confederation of African Football says action must be taken after Ebosses tragic death. CAF president Issa Hayatou said: My thoughts go out to the family and friends of this young man, who enjoyed his job peacefully and went further to pursue his passion for football abroad.
African football cannot be the breeding ground for hooliganism whatsoever. We expect exemplary sanctions to be taken against this grave act of violence.
Ebosse played for Coton Sport FC, Unisport Bafang and Douala AC in his homeland before moving to Malaysian club Perak FA in 2012, and then joined JS Kabylie in July last year.
Title: Re: The Hooligan Thread
Post by: ribbit on August 25, 2014, 09:07:56 PM
Tragedy at Algeria match

www.trinidadexpress.com (http://www.trinidadexpress.com)

Cameroonian footballer Albert Ebosse has died after being hit by an object which was thrown from the crowd at a league match in Algeria on Saturday.
The 24-year-old JS Kabylie player was fatally struck on the head at the end of his teams 2-1 loss to USM Alger in Tizi Ouzou. Ebosse had earlier equalised from the penalty spot before USM Alger scored a late winner.
JS Kabylie confirmed Ebosses death in a statement on the clubs website and revealed that an investigation has been opened.
It read: The Ministry of Interior and Local Government, speaking through minister Tayeb Belaiz, has given an instruction to open an investigation into the circumstances surrounding the death of Albert Ebosse. The JSK player succumbed to a head injury after being hit in the head at the end of the meeting with USM Alger.
And the Confederation of African Football says action must be taken after Ebosses tragic death. CAF president Issa Hayatou said: My thoughts go out to the family and friends of this young man, who enjoyed his job peacefully and went further to pursue his passion for football abroad.
African football cannot be the breeding ground for hooliganism whatsoever. We expect exemplary sanctions to be taken against this grave act of violence.
Ebosse played for Coton Sport FC, Unisport Bafang and Douala AC in his homeland before moving to Malaysian club Perak FA in 2012, and then joined JS Kabylie in July last year.

Apparently ebosse led the league last year in goals. Tragic.
Post by: soccerman on August 25, 2014, 10:22:36 PM
That is sad! Hope the culprit is found and pays the price.
Title: PSG fans stabbed after Barca match Story
Post by: Spursy on December 12, 2014, 03:03:43 PM
Trinidad Express Reports

Created: Dec 11, 2014 at 8:49 PM ECT
Two Paris St Germain (PSG) fans were stabbed after leaving the Nou Camp following their teams Champions League group game against Barcelona on Wednesday. One supporter was stabbed with a knife by two suspects in dark clothing and wearing balaclavas, Spanish police said yesterday.
The victim who was accompanied by other PSG fans was taken to hospital where he remains with an injury to his lungs. In a separate attack a fan was stabbed with a knife and taken to hospital but he has since been released. Police are working to establish the full facts of what took place and detain those responsible, the statement added.
A Deportivo La Coruna fan died following apparently organised fighting near Atletico Madrids stadium before a league game on November 30. Spanish football authorities and the government have vowed to banish ultras from stadiums and clamp down on offensive chants.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/PSG-fans-stabbed-after--Barca-match-285560591.html
Title: Re: PSG fans stabbed after Barca match Story
Post by: Spursy on December 12, 2014, 03:07:42 PM
Two PSG Fans Stabbed After Barcelona Champions League Match
By Nick Akerman , Featured Columnist Dec 11, 2014
(http://img.bleacherreport.net/img/images/photos/003/192/008/hi-res-f9e3eb81d718653484f6e3768cb197ae_crop_north.jpg?w=630&h=420&q=75)
Two Paris Saint-Germain supporters were hospitalised after being stabbed following Barcelona's 3-1 Champions League victory over the French side on Wednesday.

Catalan police have confirmed an investigation into the incidents which happened outside the Camp Nou, as translated by Reuters (via The Guardian):
Two Paris Saint-Germain supporters were hospitalised after being stabbed following Barcelona's 3-1 Champions League victory over the French side on Wednesday.

Catalan police have confirmed an investigation into the incidents which happened outside the Camp Nou, as translated by Reuters (via The Guardian):

The first incident occurred around 11 at night in the vicinity of Camp Nou. A French citizen who left the game was approached on Felipe de Paz street by two individuals, in dark clothes and balaclavas, and was stabbed.

[...] A little later on and near to the site of the first (incident), there was another similar incident on LAvinguda Madrid de Barcelona. Three young people who had also come to watch the game were assaulted by several individuals.
(http://img.bleacherreport.net/img/article/media_slots/photos/001/868/917/hi-res-06bb5d834abd4ff3bb1f7a3653e79b02_crop_exact.jpg?w=650&h=434&q=85)
The original Mossos d'Esquadra statement was released on the police force's website. Although the stabbing victim of the second incident has been discharged, the first individual to be attacked "remains" in hospital, per The Guardian. Police are actively working to detain those responsible.

This incident arrives just days after a Deportivo La Coruna fan was killed after clashes outside Atletico Madrid's Vicente Calderon, reported by The Guardian. Although Wednesday night's stabbings are yet to be linked to football, they come at a time when Spanish authorities are upping measures to eliminate disturbance from the nation's game.

The LFP is reportedly set to charge Barcelona and Real Madrid after their fans were heard singing offensive chants during their last La Liga matches, per Juan Jimenez of AS. Los Blancos have already issued stadium bans to 17 supporters for such offences, noted by Marca, as "economic sanctions" will now be delivered as punishment.
(http://img.bleacherreport.net/img/article/media_slots/photos/001/868/946/hi-res-1edd5bf42bdc1ae4f9ea275ebfd00dfe_crop_exact.jpg?w=650&h=434&q=85)
News of the stabbings overshadows a thrilling Champions League tie in Barcelona. Both teams had already qualified heading into the final group stage tie, but set out to clinch top spot with a victory.

Barca fell behind to a clinical Zlatan Ibrahimovic strike before upping the ante with goals from Lionel Messi, Neymar and Luis Suarez. Plenty of chances were missedwith PSG missing simple opportunities when trailing by onebut it was Barca who topped the group by two points at the end of play.

Both Barca and PSG have confirmed a place in Monday's last-16 draw, but the French side will now have to deal with the difficulty of facing a group winner. Bayern Munich, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid and Chelsea are among the teams PSG will want to avoid, with Barca likely to enjoy a slightly easier pairing.

Further information on the aforementioned stabbings can be expected soon.
Source: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2296558-two-psg-fans-stabbed-after-barcelona-champions-league-match
Title: Re: PSG fans stabbed after Barca match Story
Post by: Deeks on December 13, 2014, 12:18:58 AM
A French citizen who left the game was approached on Felipe de Paz street by two individuals, in dark clothes and balaclavas, and was

Of all the names.  The man was stabbed at Philip of the Peace street.
Post by: Spursy on December 13, 2014, 12:13:01 PM
weys... we have ah hooligan thread>>  :rotfl:
Post by: Spursy on December 16, 2014, 04:03:07 PM
Police arrest two for death of Deportivo fan before match v Atletico
Madrid-
Spanish police say they have arrested two men for the death of a football fan following a brutal street fight between rival radical fan groups before a match in Madrid two weeks ago.
Spanish police wrote on their official Twitter account that "32 ultras arrested in Madrid, Avila and Toledo for the violent incidents at Manzanares, among them, 2 alleged perpetrators of the homicide."
On Nov. 30, a large clash between Atletico Madrid and Deportivo La Coruna "ultra" groups led to 43-year-old Deportivo fan Francisco Javier Romero Taboada dying later from injuries after he fell into the Manzanares River during the fight.
http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/police-arrest-two-for-death-of-deportivo-fan-before-match-v-atletico-121614 (http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/police-arrest-two-for-death-of-deportivo-fan-before-match-v-atletico-121614)
Title: Football Rivalry gone too far?
Post by: de_redman on April 21, 2015, 11:15:45 AM
(http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/150414130759-beheading-belgium-medium-plus-169.jpg)
In Belgium, fans of football team Standard Liege unfurled a giant banner depicting the severed head of an opponent on January 25, 2015. The club condemned their actions as "totally unacceptable."